Jimbus_Christ's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Bloody Disgusting Reviews: 93
7.4Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Aliens Vs. Parker #2

Apr 12, 2013

Everyone wants to be Han Solo right? Everyone guy who grew up watching Star Wars believes in their heart of hearts that they can be that space hero. Were confident that when shit hits the fan in space, that we can surely answer the call. Well, Scheer and Giovannetti challenge those thoughts, by giving a group of everyday normal dudes that chance. So far, its not going so well for em, but its a damn fun read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Army Of Darkness Vs. Hack/Slash #1

Jul 26, 2013

Seeley shows from the get go that while this match may be made in heaven, these are people that thrive in hell. Ash and Cassie have agreed to team up, but as two lone wolves. I cant wait to see where next month takes our heroes. This book provides nothing but gore soaked fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Army Of Darkness Vs. Hack/Slash #2

Sep 4, 2013

Tim Seeley is doing something fantastic with this book. He is clearly the man to write Ashley J Williams, and is going to give Steve Niles new ongoing Army of Darkness series a hard act to live up to. Not to mention the story is a compelling chapter in Hack/Slash mythology. With a little more attention to Cassie this series could hit its stride.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ash and the Army of Darkness #1

Oct 30, 2013

Ash and the Army of Darkness welcomes new and old fans alike to enjoy the misadventures of Ashley J Williams in the 1300s with a fun, gore soaked, continuation of a beloved story. Bring on issue # 2!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Ash and the Army of Darkness #2

Dec 4, 2013

Right now the series fails to capture the zany insanity that the film is known for, and as it stands is my most major gripe. With a little more attention to the fun side of Army of Darkness and a little less time spent on moving the pieces into play for the longer game issue three might be able to capture the films magic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ballistic #1

Jul 11, 2013

Currently "Ballisitc" is set to run as a limited series. Rumblings about the further adventures of Butch have come up if the series does well. Repo City State has so much to offer that we cannot possibly let the character die. "Ballistic" is the beginning of a whole new world and its one I want to be part of for a long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ballistic #2

Sep 5, 2013

Ballistic is currently my favorite thing happening in comics. There is no better place to spend your money than on Repo City State. The book defies most conventions of the science fiction genre and masterfully blends biology with technology. There is so much under the surface of this book that multiple readings should garner something new each time. Dont miss it, and tell everyone you know about it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ballistic #3

Nov 6, 2013

Its so incredibly difficult to talk about this book and not discuss the plot. There is so much that goes into creating a world like this that most people wouldnt be up to the task. Instead Mortimer and Robertson make it look easy. Ballistic is an achievement on every level, and continues to be the most compelling series of the year. You cant miss this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Science #1

Nov 27, 2013

Remender tells a story unlike anything else, and shows us worlds no other can. Throw in a compelling hero, and incredible artwork and youve got the makings of a must have title. Black Science is a new masterpiece from a seasoned veteran who aims to take both this book and the comics medium to new and exciting places.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Science #2

Dec 18, 2013

Black Science is still wildly unpredictable and an absolute joy to read. The extra character beats this month solidify the world before the discovery and create an even more interesting interpersonal threat outside of the insane dimension our heroes have found themselves in. Making for another homerun issue that I cannot recommend enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Bloodhound: Crowbar Medicine #1

Oct 16, 2013

Right now it is more like a soft whimper. The elements are there for a good series, but this first issue fails to deliver on the promise of its premise. The story only really begins by the last few page when the shit hits the fan the book ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Buddy Cops One-Shot #1

Mar 15, 2013

“Buddy Cops” is a perfect world of sheer comic insanity that I cannot recommend heartily enough. For any fans of the buddy cop genre theyll find perfect winks and nods to their sensibilities, and for those of you just well versed in comics, youll find yourself having a ton of fun and laughing out loud the entire time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Buzzkill #1

Sep 18, 2013

By the end of the issue Cates and Shaw should have you hook, line, and sinker. Buzzkill manages to be fun, entertaining, and oddly dark. If youre looking for a wildly original take on the superhero genre look no further. This is as good as it gets.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Buzzkill #2

Oct 16, 2013

Buzzkill is unlike anything else you are reading. Its intelligent, action packed, and offers a realistic look at addiction. By the end of the issue youll find yourself fighting off the shakes in anticipation of your next fix.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Buzzkill #3

Nov 20, 2013

Cates and Reznicek make sure that it's not that easy. They dreg Ruben's past back to haunt him and we learn a fantastic piece of backstory that gears us up for the finale. With nothing left to lose, and no powers to speak of, Ruben heads to his demise. Of course, things won't be that cut and dry. They never are with this book. Now that Ruben has accepted his fate we head into what promises to be a fantastic and emotional battle.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Buzzkill #4

Dec 18, 2013

This series is a dissection of the superhero genre, addiction, and personal growth. Its a well-calculated examination of confronting our fears and becoming something better. I fear of a world without it on the stands, but know that the creative team will go on to make the comics market a better and more thoughtful place.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Curse #1

Jan 15, 2014

So far the story fails to do anything new with the werewolf as a genre, or concept. Were treated to some incredibly familiar elements that fail to bring anything new to the premise of a werewolf stalking a small town. However, Moerci and Daniel have crafted a script that is paced with a certain urgency that will leave you wanting more and still manage to find time for great character moments. The visual style is cold and unrelenting. Creating one of the most finely crafted first issues of horror that you'll find on the stands.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Drumhellar #2

Dec 11, 2013

For the time being its a beautifully rendered detective story steeped in the world of the weird. The art is absolutely stunning, and toward the latter end of the issue youll find yourself whisked away by Rossmos stunning use of wild lines. Drumhellar is something special, youll feel insane while reading it, and even more so for missing it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Drumhellar #3

Jan 8, 2014

The world of Drumhellar is rich and exploding with potential. There are not many things like it out there and the weird is allowed to have a beautiful home on these pages. I cant help but feel a little Canadian pride too, because a book called Drumhellar that contains dinosaur spirits rampaging around is something I never imagined wed get. But shhh dont tell anyone its Canadian.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
East of West #2

Apr 25, 2013

The dystopian future has never looked more appealing. Hickmans characters and story remain just as engrossing despite a slower pace for issue two. Hopefully Hickman can kick the action into high gear soon. “East of West” is wildly inventive, original, and a story that embraces the comic book medium. We very well may be on the ground floor of a new masterpiece here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
East of West #3

Jun 7, 2013

This month Hickman and Dragotta managed to kick things into high gear. I was skeptical that the story was ever going to make coherent sense, or pick up the pace. Yet, Im happy to report that both of these problems have been solved. Although Hickman could easily slip back into the crawl he was in before, I sincerely doubt it. The groundwork has now been laid, and the series is about to take off and rocket us into somewhere new. I loved this issue, and urge you to pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
East of West #4

Jul 12, 2013

“East of West” is still just as compelling as ever, and deserves your attention. The conflict is sure to blow up in only the most satisfying ways. Lets just hope the conflict finds that happy medium between action and dialogue next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
East of West #5

Aug 18, 2013

Death is infinitely powerful and any conflict he has found himself in, he has overcome with relative ease. For East of West to remain compelling it must focus more on action, and provide a challenge for Death that he may not be able to overcome. Perhaps that challenge rests solely on his sons shoulders. I just hope we get there next month. As this series is sorely lacking action and conflict.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
East of West #6

Sep 25, 2013

By taking the focus off of Death, East of West somehow regained its footing. The inconsistency of the narrative seems to be a result of the monthly delivery system. As a whole the story remains more imaginative and interesting than most other series. Wild focus aside, the book is still great. It just has some issues finding its voice.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
East of West #7

Nov 6, 2013

Hickman and Dragotta have set themselves up with the perfect Western. All the right themes have fit into place and the characters finally feel developed enough to carry their own plots. Westerns are typically quite slow, so it's nice to see the training wheels off after six issues. The narrative finally hits full stride and if it keeps up 'East of West' will be remembered for a long time to come...

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
East of West #8

Dec 18, 2013

However, the book continues to impress. The creation of the world alone is something to marvel at. Dragottas artwork is meant to be with Hickmans words. There is something prophetic about this book that you wont find much anywhere else. So again I find myself recommending it, but only if you have the patience of a saint.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Five Ghosts #3

May 20, 2013

Five Ghosts is an incredible tribute to pulp stories that you just cant find anywhere else these days. Baberie and Mooneyham understand the power of comics as a medium and “Five Ghosts” is an epic display of their mastery. They fully utilize their ideas in a way that could never translate to any other medium. Im so hooked I feel dependent on the book. I guarantee that by the end of the year, “Five Ghosts” is what everyone will be talking about.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Five Ghosts #4

Jun 27, 2013

"Five Ghosts" has been a thrilling ride, and doesnt want to stop. The story is firing on all cylinders and continues to be incredibly compelling. This is a story youll only find in comics (unless they pick it up as a film), and it shines through. The anticipation for the final chapter starts now. It cannot come soon enough, and at the same time I never want "Five Ghosts" to end.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Five Ghosts #5

Jul 30, 2013

I was devastated to believe that this was the end of Fabian Gray. However, like any good pulp hero, Barbiere reminds us that Fabian isnt done adventuring. “Five Ghosts” is a treasure. A truly incredible book that embraces the comic medium to its fullest. Wonderful characters, incredible art, and a one of a kind story make “Five Ghosts” the peak of the medium.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Five Ghosts #6

Oct 21, 2013

The final pages of the book offer an exciting tease about whats to come in the future. After this issue youll be certain that Five Ghosts is capable of just about anything. For most books this would be worrisome. However, for this book its the most exciting thing possible. I have no idea what part of the world well be traveling to next, but Im certain it will be a thrilling ride. Five Ghosts is back and I couldnt be happier. This series is a breath of fresh air, a real tour de force that provides adventures unlike any other. Get it on your pull list ASAP.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Five Ghosts #7

Nov 27, 2013

It should also be noted that Barbieres pulp bro Fabain Rangel Jr and Ryan Cody have a fantastic Doc Unknown backup in this issue. Rangel does a fantastic job at quickly introducing his protagonist for the uninitiated. Codys art is clean and echoes Bruce Timms work on Batman: The Animated Series. The story kicks into high gear almost immediately and serves as the perfect pulp dessert after the main course.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Five Ghosts #8

Jan 8, 2014

If you couldnt tell Five Ghosts is one of the most consistently amazing books out there. Barbiere and Mooneyham have crafted a masterful dedication to pulp that pushes the medium and never fails to entertain. Deep characters, amazing adventures, and incredible action await you with every issue. Dont miss this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
God is Dead #5

Jan 15, 2014

God is Dead has the most outstanding premise of any current comic that I can think of. It also embraces it wholly and fully. The result is one of the most progressive looks at the role of Gods and deities in the modern world, and a thoughtful reflection on what it means to be a God. Its also jam packed with action that never lets up. This issue manages to bring an already insane plot to a boiling point that will surely lead into an overwhelmingly awesome conclusion. Youre fucking crazy if you don't read this book and have any love for mythology, philosophy, or just plain amazing action!

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Godzilla: Rulers Of Earth #1

Jun 27, 2013

While the issue offers an incredible mix of Godzilla monsters and more than any other book I can think of, it does so without any reasoning or strong story. “Rulers of the Earth” is chock full of plot, but as it stands no story. Perhaps the story of Lucy will truly emerge within a couple of issues, but as it stands this debut issue failed to hold my attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Godzilla: Rulers Of Earth #2

Aug 8, 2013

Rulers of Earth continues to falter with little to no direction. The book hopes that you accept the gigantic monsters on the pages as the characters to root for. Yet, Mowry never provides any depth to their plight. Instead superficial flat human characters are meant to be rooted for, but usually just seem vapid and directionless.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Grindhouse: Doors Open at Midnight #1

Oct 2, 2013

There is a certain magic to Grindhouse: Doors Open at Midnight that you cant find anywhere else. Its important to support a book like this, because nothing quite like it exists, and as it goes on, itll allow a wide range of stories to be told that are nothing but fun. Check out Bee Vixens From Mars you wont be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Grindhouse: Doors Open at Midnight #2

Nov 6, 2013

Its admirable how good this second issue is. Really, the ability to communicate a story like this and not make it seem completely throwaway isnt easy. De Campi and Peterson forget the typical confinements of the genre and leave them in the dust. They embrace Grindhouse to its fullest and pull off one of the most enjoyable comics Ive read all year. I positively cannot wait to see what they do next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Grindhouse: Doors Open at Midnight #3

Dec 4, 2013

The best way to describe this series is sensual. In that it appeals to the senses. It will arouse, disgust, and shock you. The entire ordeal is a provocative and irresistible tribute to an era of cinema long forgotten. The nice truth is that this comic is the perfection of the idea. This comic can achieve things in the voice of grindhouse that the cinema equivalent could never due to budgets, actors, and special effects. So the result is something better than the idea that inspired it. Which is a hard task to achieve but De Campi and Fraser make it look easy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Grindhouse: Doors Open at Midnight #4

Dec 31, 2013

This is the type of book your parents would have had to buy in some scum ridden porno dungeon, but Dark Horse is brave enough to have it on the stands every week. This is a damn good thing, so we best all embrace it. God knows I have.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Hacktivist #1

Jan 22, 2014

Hacker stories are steeped in a world that most of society isnt privy to. Lanzing and Kelly make no attempt to make this strange world familiar, instead they push it into a realm of intangibility and hope that well hold on for the ride. Sadly Ive lost interest in the trust fund heroes who hack with absolutely no explanation of how they pull it off. Perhaps the answers Im looking for will come with time, but as far as first issues go Hacktivist leaves many things to be desired.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Judge Dredd: Year One #2

Apr 25, 2013

The final panel, oh the final panel, so great. If Smith can create a more interesting story in the issues to come, then this comic may indeed be worth your time. But, as it stands, nothing differentiates Smiths Year One from any other Dredd story out there. In fact, there are far better, more interesting Dredd stories out there. Heres hoping issue three will be better.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Liberator #1

Jun 20, 2013

“Liberator” # 1 has something for everyone. I usher you to check it out. Not only because doing so will help a great cause, but also because doing so will help Miner tell more stories of this nature.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Liberator #2

Jul 22, 2013

“Kick-Ass” with a cause.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Liberator #3

Sep 5, 2013

Its hard to speak about the meat of this issue without spoiling anything. Yet, Liberator # 3 seems to make a case for causes left behind. Damon doesnt save a single animal in this issue. He seems to forget about what made him don the ski mask in the first place. His pride is carrying him into dark territory, and its incredibly fun to read. Miners taken some time to explore the vices and virtues of taking justice into your own hands, and effectively creates the most compelling chapter in his series thus far.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Liberator #4

Oct 9, 2013

The end of Liberator isn't one dotted with finality, but a new hope. The final page will fill you with renewed vigor after the melancholy of the pages that preceded it. The silver lining here defies expectations because its not the one you originally thought you'd get. The result is a fantastic conclusion to a powerful and important series.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Lobster Johnson: A Scent of Lotus #1

Jul 26, 2013

Unlike most Lobster adventures, this one continues on next month. This is both a positive and negative. The book ends on a fantastic panel that will leave you wanting more, but feels so overstuffed with exposition and little to no resolution. A fun romp through Chinatown, but as it stands not a whole lot more. Lets see if next month is a more fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Lords of Mars #1

Aug 8, 2013

The promise of the book remains. If issue #2 picks the pacing up we may actually have the book we were sold. As it stands however, "Lords of Mars" fails to serve as an interesting chapter in either hero's journey. With a couple of tweaks and little more action the series could get much better. Approach with caution.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Miss Fury #1

Apr 4, 2013

“Miss Fury” # 1 is an impressive first issue with a protagonist that weve all seen before. Yet, an imaginative and original plot and some rather impressive art let this book stand out among the other number ones out there. If the frenzied pace keeps up, and the setup from this issue has proper payoff, were looking at one helluva great new series.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Mister X: Eviction #3

Jul 4, 2013

Without any exception, the reason to pick this book up is the art. Even the most text heavy pages are digestible when accompanied by such crisp drawings.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Pretty Deadly #1

Oct 23, 2013

Pretty Deadly is pretty damn unique. It is bold, dark, and engaging storytelling with a surrealistic flavor. The engaging characters and rich sense of history give the feeling of the gigantic sprawling narrative ahead. Its been entirely too long since we have had a book like this. While it certainly is in a league of its own, if you are a fan of good, dark, dream like storytelling than this is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Pretty Deadly #2

Nov 27, 2013

There is no denying the magic of this book. It is something truly special and beautiful. I remain hopeful that the narrative will become clearer as we press forward, but even if it doesnt Rios beautiful art will have me coming back.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Pretty Deadly #3

Dec 18, 2013

I have a feeling that Deconnick and Rios have a masterpiece on their hands. The gamble with the narrative in the first couple issues has now seemingly paid off to create a more coherent story that is in line with the beautiful art. Now, the final two chapters of the first arc will hopefully continue the threads sewn here to create an even more coherent sense of the journey. There are still characters I lust to know more about, and the world seems ripe with elements I have yet to experience. Show me more, tell me more, and teach me more. Im absolutely loving it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Pretty Deadly #4

Jan 22, 2014

The supernatural elements concoct this unique stew in the western world that cooks to perfection in this issue. Everything is tightly crafted. Deconnick and Rios always knew where the story was going, they just werent afraid to take the time necessary to get there on their own terms. Its a brave method of storytelling in this ADD second screen infused world. This book is beautiful, heart wrenching, and action packed in all the right ways.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sex Criminals #1

Sep 25, 2013

Sex Criminals manages to get just about everything right. The vulnerability of sexual discovery, the origin story, and the boundless limits of the comic book medium culminate into something truly original. I cannot recommend this book enough, and cannot wait to see where things go from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sex Criminals #2

Oct 23, 2013

Sex Criminals continues to be a modern classic. The candid look at sexuality combined with razor sharp dialogue and impeccable art make every single page an absolute joy to read. Youll never feel dirty as you pound through the book, but you may find yourself adjusting your pants a few times. This is tantalizing stuff.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sex Criminals #3

Nov 20, 2013

Easily my most anticipated book every month. Dont wait any longer and pick it up ASAP. You wont regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sex Criminals #4

Jan 8, 2014

I have no idea what the future holds for Sex Criminals. I trust that Fraction and Zdarsky will answer all of the questions they have posed. Im completely along for the ride. There is no other book that will make you laugh as much as this one, and no other book out there that is daring to play with the structure of its narrative so much. Every month another slice of the story is revealed and it proves to be more interesting than the last. I cant recommend Sex Criminals enough. Really, and truly to me this is the best book Image is putting out.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Shaolin Cowboy #2

Nov 13, 2013

Theres not much more to say than that. Story is non-existent here. Pick this issue up and marvel at Darrows work, but dont expect much more than a visual feast.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars #1

Sep 4, 2013

Finally, Rinzlers use of Luke Skywalker is fantastic. We have no idea who this character truly is yet, but it seems he has taken the mentor role. The script takes enough twists and turns through familiar territory without ever bordering on fan service. What results is incredibly original, weird, and a little overwhelming. In any event, it works more than it doesnt and is bound to get even more compelling with every issue. While a little dense, its nothing a second reading cant solve. I cant wait to see where things go from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars #3

Mar 15, 2013

As a whole, a solid issue that left me wanting more. If youre a die-hard Star Wars fan, but are worried about the future of the series, then do yourself a favor and pick up Woods “Star Wars”. Its a wonderful alternate take on Star Wars lore, which will keep you guessing with every page.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Station to Station One Shot #1

Aug 28, 2013

One shots are a hard to grade due to the enclosed nature of their stories. Yet, Station to Station benefits from having breakneck pacing. The story fires on all cylinders. Hardmans choice of paneling allows the story to capture all of the right moments, without focusing on the less interesting ones. As a result youll be reading this one shot hoping for more from the team. With an ongoing series used to explore the ideas on display here Bechko and Hardman could have a real winner on their hands. I cannot wait to see what the team brings us next.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The Deep Sea #1

May 23, 2013

The script provides an excellent setting to an ongoing world, and an interesting cast Id like to see more of. Combine that with some stellar art, and some truly incredible beasts of the deep, and "The Deep Sea" ongoing series could show a lot of promise. As a one-shot, it missed the mark.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The Last of Us: American Dreams #2

May 30, 2013

Overall “The Last of Us: American Dreams” is gearing up to be a worthy prequel. The first two issues do nothing but develop characters. Which is good, but even a flimsy plot would be nice. As it stands the story develops quite predictably, and doesnt do a whole lot to tell its own story in this world, at least not yet. The next two issues will truly be the testament to whether or not this story was worth telling. Yet, Im so engrossed in the world and the character of Ellie that I eagerly await the next two issues, just not as eagerly as I await the game itself.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Legend of Luther Strode #6

Aug 8, 2013

Justin Jordan has built an expertly paced series that prides itself on big moments. Yet, when it comes right down to it, he chooses to end it on something small. The result is impactful and memorable.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Memory Collectors #1

Oct 9, 2013

This debut issue shouldnt be missed. Its a deadly concoction of engaging characters in an enlightened and dangerous world. The entire thing is brought to life by breathtaking art. The Memory Collectors will get under your skin, into your brain, and have you looking over your shoulder.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
The Star Wars: Lucas Draft #2

Oct 2, 2013

In the end, the book still feels like an unproduced screenplay. The elements of a story are there, but they are too sporadic and unfocused to take us along for the ride. Sadly this reflects onto J.W. Rinzlers ability, however, we must remember that he was given the impossible task of bringing this screenplay to life. There are fantastic things within this book that deserve praise. The sheer fact that it exists is something to celebrate, and hopefully with a few more issues the story will find its footing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The True Lives Of The Fabulous Killjoys #2

Jul 11, 2013

Gerard Way and Shaun Simon have created an emotionally invested second chapter of their series that manages to develop the story in some really interesting ways. A few more moments with less exposition and more exploration of the world would have been appreciated, but the series maintains a decent pace.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The True Lives Of The Fabulous Killjoys #3

Aug 16, 2013

Killjoys is a solid read, start to finish. The issue adds some real depth to the characters that was vastly needed to keep the stakes of the narrative fresh. It seems the future of the plot may go a very traditional and predictable route, however, the book has surprised before. This wasnt as good as the debut issue, but a compelling chapter nonetheless. Im looking forward to more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The True Lives Of The Fabulous Killjoys #4

Sep 11, 2013

As Killjoys nears its conclusion, the quality only gets better. This issue manages to develop every characters motivation, build the world, and create new conflicts. Im afraid to leave this world behind; there is so much more story to tell and only two issues to go.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The True Lives Of The Fabulous Killjoys #5

Oct 30, 2013

Killjoys may be on the way out, but there is still one issue to go. Its been one hell of a ride thanks to killer writing, characters, and style. This is what comic books were designed for. I cant wait to see where the story ends up next month. Although Im sure it will be met with a feeling of melancholy, as this fantastic series will be over. If it manages to stick the landing it will easily be one of my favorite books of the year.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The True Lives Of The Fabulous Killjoys #6

Dec 31, 2013

With all that in mind, its important to remember that Killjoys was a fantastic miniseries that evokes a world unlike anything else that hit the stands in 2013. The team of Way, Simon, and Cloonan have created a truly original American manga that oozes with style with every page.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Walking Dead #111

Jun 13, 2013

The characters are progressing in interesting ways, and the inevitable conflict looms closer than ever on the horizon. I only hope, with all this buildup that Negan and Ricks confrontation is as glorious as these last few pages. Lets kill some characters and lets throw things under the bus again, its about that time isnt it Kirkman?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Walking Dead #112

Jul 11, 2013

The similarities between Negan and Rick are becoming more and more abundant. The two men look at the world around them in a very similar way. Negan acts because he has to; he ensures the safety of his group and those close to him. He does so out of necessity, and has a distinct code of honor. Rick is lost. He believes he has honor, but cant listen to anyone long enough to truly display it. He believes he is protecting his group, but seems to be damning them with each decision he makes. Both men seem to stand for the same things. Kirkman is doing some truly amazing work.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Walking Dead #113

Aug 16, 2013

Kirkman seems to have forgotten about Ezekiel and Jesus. The world of the book has become too expansive, and every character cannot be fully serviced with each issue. However, if the world of the forgotten characters clashes with the world were in here the book might hit its best stride in years.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Walking Dead #114

Sep 11, 2013

My fear is that Negans demise will simply be the tip of the iceberg. Ezekiel is a powerful and wise man, and once all other threats are eliminated, where does the violence stop? Kirkman has built an incredible depth to this new story, and things are surely to get even more intense. It is clear that this next year is going to be something truly special. Hopefully this increased pacing keeps up, and the plodding nature of The Walking Dead can be a thing of the past. Plus has anyone seen any walkers lately?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Walking Dead #115

Oct 9, 2013

To which I say bring it on!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Walking Dead #116

Nov 13, 2013

So far this arc is truly unlike anything Kirkman has done before. Which is no easy feat after writing the same series for ten years. With any luck the fantastic pacing will keep up and we'll be treated to a new gold standard of zombie story by years end.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Walking Dead #117

Nov 27, 2013

The added depth to Negan is much appreciated but the growing cast of characters leaves much to be desired. Too many characters are left in limbo with each passing issue. Which leaves many storylines completely hanging for months. All Out War continues to be paced with breakneck speed, but perhaps slowing down is just what the book needs.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Walking Dead #118

Dec 11, 2013

The Walking Dead has been a rollercoaster as of late. All Out War seems to push the book into an upswing that we wont soon forget. The losses have only begun in this issue, but there doesnt seem to be any end in sight.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Walking Dead #119

Jan 8, 2014

Kirkman has something huge planned for the end of this arc. That much is clear, exactly what it is may be beyond me, but I have a few ideas. Were not done with the reign of Negan just quite yet, and Rick is bordering on a heavy losses here. Next month well see a lot of casualties and the book will be better for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Walking Dead #120

Jan 22, 2014

So it goes with another chapter of All Out War. The narrative has yet to hit a slump but somehow still feels a little drawn out. The book always works better in collected format and Im sure this arc will be no different. Yet, for what it is worth #120 does feel like a pulse pounding race to the finish line that will begin the final chunk of this monumental arc. Im not entirely convinced that Kirkman will do anything drastic to break the mold of the book after everything here is concluded, but Im dying to see a major change. Already these past few issues have felt like a breath of fresh air into a book that was largely spinning its wheels since issue 100. Bring on #121.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The X-Files: Season 10 #1

Jun 20, 2013

In any event “The X-Files” has returned, and its fantastic. With Season 10 we can finally forget the horrors of season 8 and 9, and the last film I Want to Believe. More Season 10 cant arrive soon enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The X-Files: Season 10 #2

Jul 19, 2013

The X-Files is back and I want to believe its better than ever.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The X-Files: Season 10 #3

Aug 16, 2013

“Season 10″ is the culmination and evolution of everything before it. As much as I love the show, these issues are better. Walshs art gives every page a flow that allows the action to move with incredible speed. Harris script is smart, and weaves around the characters like a snake. Im so incredibly happy that this book exists, and even happier to report that it just keeps getting better.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The X-Files: Season 10 #4

Sep 18, 2013

If Season 10 continues to push the series in bold new directions there is no telling where this book will end up. Harris and Walsh seem to have grand plans for The X-Files, and were all going to have to hang on for the wild ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The X-Files: Season 10 #5

Oct 16, 2013

If this first arc is any indication Season 10 is off to an incredible start. Hopefully with a little more in the way of resolution the next arc will cement this series as a necessary read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The X-Files: Season 10 #6

Nov 27, 2013

With a little more attention to overarching plot and finding a way to create a deeper sense of danger this book could propel itself into must read territory, but as fans of the series will attest the only danger in these pages are for the supporting characters of the arc, which isn't enough for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The X-Files: Season 10 #7

Dec 11, 2013

The adventure is still fun in areas, but really feels like wasted potential. This series isnt about answers, but when it goes so far out of its way not to give them to you it can become distracting. Heres hoping that next month can bring back a renewed focus and sense of danger.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The X-Files: Season 10 #8

Jan 8, 2014

The X-Files has always been in this state of near progress. Were always treated to startling truths about the past that dont really change anything. For this series to truly succeed some forward momentum needs to be introduced that challenges and changes these characters. Far too often things are hastily dealt with and taken care of in tried and true methods. Harris, I dare you to give me a failure, show me what happens when nothing goes right. Put The X-Files program in danger again give me some real stakes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Three #2

Nov 13, 2013

There are not many comics like Three it straddles the line between history and historical fiction. The interviews featured in the closing pages show the incredible amount of research that went into the books creation. I heartily recommend this series for any lovers of history, especially the classical age, as this is a look at Sparta unlike any other.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Trillium #1

Aug 8, 2013

I cannot urge you enough to pick this book up. Trillium is changing the way we read comics, tell stories, and experience character. Get on board, and be part of the conversation.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Wild Rover and The Sacrifice One-Shot #1

Mar 21, 2013

Oemings one shot is a mixed bag. It begins with a fizzle and slowly mounts to something more interesting. The art in both stories is the draw here. Given a better focus, Wild Rover could be something, but as it stands its nothing to write home about.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
X-Files Conspiracy #1

Jan 15, 2014

This first issue of X-Files: Conspiracy fails to deliver on the promise of its premise. A conspiracy is completely lacking from the pages of this book. Instead were treated to hints at a viral outbreak that is somehow linked to several other properties in some completely unmentioned fashion. I would have loved to see some of these properties garner more than a mention, but I will stick around to see how they are handled in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

January

December

More