Kassim Mirza's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Blue Raven Comics Reviews: 52
8.1Avg. Review Rating

4
Animal Man (2011) #17

Feb 9, 2013

All of this being said, if you've been reading the Rotworld crossover and you're desperate for some closure, Animal Man #17 and Swamp Thing #17 deliver"in the most rudimentary and basic way. One gets the sense that everyone on board wanted the title to end because it really feels like there is no heart in it. This lack of care and enthusiasm towards the writing, coupled with the inconsistent and bizarre art choices, means I'm giving the Rotworld crossover a 4/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Artifacts #24

Jan 10, 2013

With all that being said, I really love the Artifacts comic line. It's a good break from super heroes and convoluted franchises. Ron Marz and Stjepan Sejic really just want to tell an excellent, well-paced story. And that's what they do.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Artifacts #25

Mar 2, 2013

All of this being said, Artifacts is still at the very least fun to read. I wouldn't pick Artifacts #25 up if you were looking for a really meaningful comic book experience. However, if you've been reading Artifacts and you've felt like it was time for something to actually happen, the story does finally start moving along.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Artifacts #26

Mar 21, 2013

It breaks down like this: Artifacts is still a great title if you're looking for something to break-up the normal super hero monotony. That being said, don't pick this title up and expect to be completely blown away. Expect to be entertained by excellent dialogue, a decent story, and compelling art.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman Beyond Unlimited #14

Mar 21, 2013

Okay, whew! That was a lot. If you're going to take anything away from this, it's that Batman Beyond Unlimited isn't just about Terry McGinnis, it's about the DC Universe in Batman Beyond's time. If you're a fan of the show and you want to get in on this, go for it! You should totally dig it! But don't expect it to be exactly like the show. If anything, it's a more in-depth and complex version. It's worth noting that you get nearly 50 comic pages (not adverts) of content in this book at only $3.99"I don't care where you're from, that's a deal. I'm extremely happy I took a chance on this book, you should try it too.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Constantine #1

Mar 21, 2013

When it comes down to it, fans of Hellblazer will most likely not enjoy Constantine #1 unless they're open to new things. If you've enjoyed Constantine from Justice League Dark, this might be up your alley. But don't expect more than a mildly entertaining story and almost non-existent conflict.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Cyber Force (2012) #3

Feb 14, 2013

My recommendation? This title is good. The story is fun. The characters are great. The art is on point. Oh, and the series is available for FREE on Comixology. Read it! It's a good change of pace from the whole mess of other titles out there and it's still early enough for you to catch up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daredevil (2011) #22

Jan 17, 2013

All-in-all, if you've been keeping up with and really digging the current Daredevil run, you won't be disappointed. If you've never read any of the current DD, but are at least marginally familiar with the character, this is a great jumping on point. 10/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daredevil (2011) #23

Feb 22, 2013

But the entirety of the comic is nothing in the face of the last two pages. I will say nothing about their content because it would only ruin their beautiful impact it would have. I will only say this: the last two pages of Daredevil #23 not only show that Mark Waid and Chris Samnee are great story tellers, but that they are masters of the comic book medium. If you've been waiting to start this title, wait no more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Daredevil (2011) #24

Apr 1, 2013

With all of this being said, Daredevil is easily one of the best titles out there simply because the line between Murdock and Daredevil essentially doesn't exist. This creates some very natural drama and tension in the series, Daredevil #24 especially. So if you've been picking this series up for a while, awesome! You have good taste. If you've been thinking about getting on the Hornhead train, Daredevil #24 is a good jumping on point; because after this, it's going to get crazy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Daredevil (2011) #25

Apr 19, 2013

Right off the bat, a new reader could pick this book up and completely follow everything. But I wouldn't recommend it. If you want the full narrative impact of what's been happening in Daredevil, pick up Daredevil #22 and start reading from there. If you're one of the folks who've been keeping up with this title, be happy. Because Daredevil #25 shows us it's a good time to be a Hornhead fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Daredevil (2011) #32

Oct 25, 2013

So all in all, Waid and Samnee have found a way to continually make Daredevil one of the best reads you can pick up on Wednesday. Was this issue the best? No. But it does set up some really interesting plot devices. That being said, Daredevil #32 might not be the best jumping on point for new readers. If you want to jump on this title, start from a few issues back, then read on.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daredevil: End of Days #4

Jan 10, 2013

However, it can't be stressed enough that Daredevil: End of Days is really a title for current Daredevil fans. The creative team behind it knows they aren't roping in any new readers; and that's ok. Sometimes you'll encounter characters in the story that are never directly named. Their identities are only obliquely referenced in relation to DD. In this issue, for instance, one character repeats an iconic line that would be lost on someone not familiar with pre-1990 DD. But for long-time fans of the franchise, little quotes and vague references is all that's needed. The End of Days team has utilized a powerful narrative technique"taking advantage of emotions already felt by the audience. Here, they take advantage of the reader's preconceived love for a character and his past.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daredevil: End of Days #5

Feb 9, 2013

Daredevil: End of Days is not for those who are trying to jump into a causal read. The title is really designed for Daredevil fans and, in my opinion, that's what makes it truly great. So, if you've been keeping up with this title, and you find yourself frustrated by the lack of answers and plot you've been getting, pick up Daredevil: End of Days #5"I wish more creators put as much effort into their books as this team has.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daredevil: End of Days #6

Mar 8, 2013

There are two issues left in Daredevil: End of Days, which means that (hopefully) all the mysterious and questions will be resolved and answered. But there's only one answer I'm interested in: who is the new DD? Thus far, Daredevil: End of Days has been my favorite reading experience of the past six months.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Daredevil: End of Days #7

Apr 19, 2013

I'll end this by saying that Daredevil: End of Days is for Daredevil fans. It's not one of those books you can just pick up off the shelf. It not only helps to be knowledgeable about DD mythos, but having read from the begging is really the only way to feel the full narrative and emotional impact of this mystery. If you want to get in on this (and you should!) hunt down the back issues or pick up the hardcover edition when it comes out. And, as always, if you've been reading this title, then I commend you on your immaculate taste. If you've been jonesing for answers, you'll get them"But not all of them. Hey, this is still a mystery after all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Deathstroke #16

Jan 17, 2013

So, if you're looking for a fun title that is entertaining and enjoyable, simply for the act of reading it, give Deathstroke a shot. It's not a story that will leave you pondering the mysterious of the universe; and that's just fine. I could use a break from that. Deathstroke is a title that delivers great action and leaves you excitedly waiting to see how Slade Wilson will solve the next problem that pokes its finger in his chest. 8/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Deathstroke #17

Feb 15, 2013

The rundown: Deathstroke #17 isn't going to change your life. In fact, the art really holds the title back; and as it stands, it isn't a title that would garner a lot of fans. However, if you're looking for a change of pace and are in the mood for something different (perhaps something filled with action and ninjas? Hmmmm?) then give it a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Deathstroke #18

Mar 15, 2013

So what've we got here? Good writing and not so good art. Is the title worth picking up? Honestly, the editorial sword of Damascus looming over Deathstroke would dissuade most people from taking a chance on it. But I'd say that if you're even remotely interested in a fun, quick, and entertaining read, pick up the previous release (Deathstroke #17) and then pick up this one since it isn't really a stand-alone issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Five Weapons #1

Feb 21, 2013

Here's the thing, I really don't have enough room to praise this title. It's smart, entertaining, stylized, and features an extremely methodical plot. But unlike other works that feature intricate stories, Five Weapons #1 isn't verbose or dense. It's a page turner. And it's something that should have all creator owned titles taking notice. Because in terms of creativity and style, Five Weapons #1 takes the ball and runs with it"then it does a backflip.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Gambit #8

Jan 25, 2013

At the end of the day, Gambit #8 is one of those comics I love because it's a character focus. The whole title has been like that so far. No matter what may be externally happening, Gambit is always able to make the story center around him through his charming personality and entertaining interactions with his surroundings. All-in-all, if you're looking for a fun title that isn't heavy handed and is really focused on character growth, pick Gambit #8 up. It's a good jumping on point.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Gambit #9

Feb 28, 2013

All in all Gambit #9 seems like a decent jumping on point if you're looking for something new from your comics. The creative team's take on Remy Lebeau is refreshingly removed from the rest of the over-marketed, over-hyped Marvel world. Gambit's voice is distinct and unique, which really propels the story, which also really makes this a comic worth keeping an eye on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Gambit #10

Apr 1, 2013

Gambit #10 (and the series in general) is great because it doesn't try to be something it's not. Regardless of the events in Gambit's life, he never takes anything too seriously, which is true to his character. The result is fun book that stands out in a world inundated with dark, gritty, or extremely serious titles. Also, if you were ever a fan of Gambit back in the day or from the television series, you can easily jump onto the book. Most of the books so far have done a good job of recapping past events.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Gambit #13

May 31, 2013

The long and short? If you're tired of heavy-handed Super Team books, or if you're tired of seeing the overabundance of Avenger and X-Men titles on the shelf, Gambit #13 might be for you. It (and the series as a whole) is a great, quick read that doesn't try and rewrite the history of time and/or Super Heroes or blah blah. It's just a book about a thief who continues to get himself into compromising situations because he's just too damn resourceful and charming for his own good.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Legends of the Dark Knight #7

Apr 4, 2013

So, if you love Batman, but aren't thrilled by the main Bat-books, give Legends of the Dark Knight #7 a shot. Also, if you were ever a fan of Batman: The Animated Series (I mean, who wasn't?) this series is for you. The episodic nature of Legends of the Dark Knight is in the same vein as Batman: TAS and will appeal to a wide variety of long-time and newer readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Lost Vegas #1

Mar 8, 2013

So the bottom line is this: Lost Vegas #1 is a great opener for what I'm hoping will be a fun ride. However, it'll need some polishing. If you're looking for a comic book that goes in a different direction (art and plot-wise) and if you're cool with lots and lots of caption boxes, check Lost Vegas #1. It's got strong potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Nightwing (2011) #16

Jan 25, 2013

So, if you're contemplating picking up Nightwing #16 for the Death of the Family crossover, awesome. If you're looking for a new title to get into and you aren't already a Nightwing fan, keep on looking. For me, Nightwing will never flourish as long as Dick remains in Gotham. Because as long as he stays, he'll always be another member of the Bat-family, as such, he'll never get the chance to really flourish and create his own voice. I am hopeful that this crossover really stirs thing up for Grayson's future so he can finally start exhibiting a proper personality. In closing I just want to say: the goal of a reboot shouldn't be to utilize what a character once was, but to redefine what they could be.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Nightwing (2011) #17

Feb 21, 2013

In the wake of my last review of Nightwing #16, it's hard to imagine Nightwing #17 being a title I enjoyed. But I really did. Grayson's persona and psychology are portrayed very well by Higgins. And Ryp's linework is just a pleasure to view. The title really fell flat on narrative though, since it only took three seconds for Grayson's rage to be assuaged. That being said, this title ended on a great note, showing us a character from Grayson's past. It was enough to ensure I'll be picking up this title again"since now I know Higgins isn't afraid to explore Nightwing's darker character traits.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Nightwing (2011) #18

Mar 22, 2013

The comic ends on an extremely positive note. Sonia reveals that someone who she and Grayson thought was dead is anything but. I won't give it away. But it's possible that Nightwing has finally found his own way in the Bat-family. Not only that, but it looks like he's found an outlet for all of this anger he's built up. I guess we'll find out when he gets to Chicago. That's right; Nightwing is getting out of Gotham!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Nightwing (2011) #21

Jun 15, 2013

Great action, witty dialogue, strong characterization, and one of the strongest arc's Grayson's had in a while.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Nightwing (2011) #24

Oct 16, 2013

If you're a Nightwing fan and you've stuck with this title since the beginning as I have, then I'm sorry. I feel your pain. Maybe we're all crazy? Maybe we all keep placing our hands on a hot stove, hoping it won't burn us, thinking it'll be different this time. Well, at this point, I'm honestly tired of burning my hand. But because of how Nightwing #24 ended (and in light of recent earth shattering events in Nightwing's life) it's possible that Nightwing might be heading in the direction it needs to make the Dick Grayson we know and love reach full potential. Well here goes nothing. I'm putting my hand back on the stove now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Nova (2013) #2

Mar 21, 2013

All in all, buy this comic if you are remotely a fan of Nova or the cosmic side of Marvel. If you're a new reader and you're looking to break into Nova and space, you can pick up this title as well! I'd recommend to both reader's that they also pick up Nova #1 since the future of the series really relies on reading from the beginning. Honestly, stop reading this review and go pick this book up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Nova (2013) #9

Oct 29, 2013

The change in creative team after Nova #5 didn't initially sit well with me. I thought Jeph Loeb (old writer) and Ed McGuinness (old artist) were absolutely amazing. Now, that's not to discredit Zeb Wells (current writer) and Paco Medina (current artist); but, in all honesty, Nova #6-8 weren't really doing it for me, and I was afraid one of my new favorite comics may have already been in jeopardy. Then I read Nova #9. Now all I can say is "damn" this book finally kicked into awesome-mode."

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Pathfinder #4

Jan 21, 2013

I need to clarify that Pathfinder #4 is in no way a jumping on point for the title. If you're a fan of the fantasy genre, and you want to read a good and entertaining comic book, pick up the back issues for Pathfinder. We're still pretty early on in the title so there isn't much catching up to do. And trust me, this feels like a comic worth sticking with.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Scarlet Spider #13

Jan 10, 2013

If you're looking for a title that isn't up to its neck in Avengers or X-Men and if you're looking for something really story driven as opposed to franchise driven, pick up Scarlet Spider.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Scarlet Spider #14

Feb 14, 2013

If you've been reading this title and you've been eagerly awaiting to see Kaine confront the monster we all know is inside him, Scarlet Spider #14 delivers. Similarly, if you're looking for good writing and strong character development, pick up a couple Scarlet Spider back issues and jump on the train. It's fixin' to be a wild ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Scarlet Spider #15

Apr 1, 2013

Scarlet Spider #15 ends by showing us the forces that Kaine has stirred and previewing how they'll affect him. It's safe to say that our favorite neighborhood spider-monster has a lot coming his way in the upcoming months. Is all of it exciting? Honestly, no. But that doesn't mean there aren't great things in the works for Kaine. However, the most important thing to take away from Scarlet Spider #15's ending is that Kaine seems more in-touch with his inner monster. In fact, he acknowledges that he IS a monster. This diverges from the clichd, happy-go-lucky ending one would expect. And honestly, it's this self-defeating aspect of Kaine that keeps me coming back to Scarlet Spider. It's an interesting character trait that keeps things fresh and unique.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Supergirl (2011) #16

Jan 25, 2013

On a final note, this might seem strange but the only thing that is hurting this issue is one of my favorite aspects of it: it's really not a title you can just pick up. This He'l on Earth crossover most likely has a lot of new people picking up Supergirl, which is great. But one can't get the full effect of this title unless they read Supergirl from issue #1. As such, I can't give this title a perfect score simply because it really resists one of comic books time honored tropes: serialization. That being said, pick up the trades or the back issues if you want to read one of the strongest DC titles out there. As long as Mike Johnson and Mahmud Asrar are attached to this book, I'll be picking it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Supergirl (2011) #17

Feb 22, 2013

If you're keeping up with the H'el on Earth Crossover event, Supergirl #17 is integral. If the event has no interest for you, but you just want to keep reading Supergirl, go for it. If you've been a fan of this title it still has all the things you've come to love. My issues with Wonder Woman's costume aside, Supergirl #17 is another really strong entry into Kara Zor-El's New 52 adventures.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Supergirl (2011) #18

Apr 1, 2013

So if you haven't picked up on it yet I wasn't a fan of this issue. Does it set up interesting events for Kara's future? Sure. But as I said, the scripting in this issue really leaves a bad taste in your mouth. The only consolation one can take away is that the writers will change again on Supergirl #20 (from Frank Hannah to Michael Alan Nelson). Asrar will also be back next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Supergirl (2011) #19

Apr 19, 2013

This Lex Luthor story line isn't extremely stimulating, but it does add a dash of complexity. It'll be interesting to see what happens to Kara and Karen. Will the paradox be allowed to continue? Will one of them have to take over the other one's role? I'm not sure, but I'm excited to see what happens. Supergirl #19 is a decent jumping on point for newer readers. Those who have been keeping up with the title will also find all the elements they've come to love from this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Superman/Wonder Woman #1

Oct 16, 2013

Superman and Wonder Woman #1 ends on a very powerful cliffhanger, which would have been more powerful if not for Daniels complete lack of sequential understanding. Regardless, I'm definitely going to pick up the next issue, and if you're at all interested in a fresh, character driven take on Wonder Woman and Superman, I suggest you give this book a shot

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Swamp Thing (2011) #16

Jan 11, 2013

All-in-all if you've been sticking with Swamp Thing's exploits in Rotworld and you've been feeling a bit underwhelmed, I think Swamp Thing #16 will finally give you the payoff you've been waiting for"especially with the way it ends. I know I'll be picking the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Swamp Thing (2011) #18

Mar 8, 2013

When it's all said and done, Snyder's run is over. The one thing that I did enjoy was the ending. It ends on a strong note, which sets up Swamp Thing very well for Charles Soule to take over. So, if you've been reading Swamp Thing and you have that itch for a conclusion, pick up Swamp Thing #18. If you want to start picking Swamp Thing up, just wait for Swamp Thing #19.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Swamp Thing (2011) #19

Apr 4, 2013

So it's like this: you have to approach Swamp Thing #19 with an open mind. If you pick this book up and expect something you've already seen, you're gonna have a bad time. But if you're receptive to new ideas and a new direction I think you'll like it. This advice is really meant for readers that are familiar with Swamp Thing, like me. If you're new to our favorite talking salad (Holland's words) then Swamp Thing #19 is a great issue to jump in on.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Venom (2011) #30

Jan 21, 2013

If you're looking for great character drama that's full of exciting action and that doesn't get bogged down in a convoluted story, give Venom a shot. It's a great time to jump on since the new arc is only three issues in; and the future is looking pretty bright from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Venom (2011) #31

Feb 14, 2013

So here's the deal. Are you looking for a character driven title with a protagonist that is both sympathetic and terrifying? Are you looking for a title that is not only filled with great moments of dialogue but with intense action? Then pick up Venom #31. It's a no-brainer.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Venom (2011) #32

Apr 1, 2013

So, if you've been reading Venom and you've been watching this meeting unfold (ever so slowly) this issue won't be your favorite. Its redundancies and overuse of captions and dialogue really hurt it. But for the sake of keeping up with the title in anticipation of the fight, I'd recommend picking it up, especially because it does contain small trace morsels of interest facts that will come into play. Funnily enough, if you've been wanting to jump onto this title, Venom #32 is perfect. It will catch you up with everything that's happened so you don't feel lost when Venom and Toxin finally meet"I mean, you know, if that ever actually happens.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Venom (2011) #33

Apr 4, 2013

If you're thinking about jumping onto Venom, Venom #33 may not be the place to do it. Sure, they try and recap everything that's happened in the very beginning of the comic, but you'll still feel a bit lost since you'll be jumping on in the middle. If you've been keeping up with this title and have been digging it, keep going! This issue is really setting up an interesting dynamic between Venom, Toxin, and the unnamed man.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Venom (2011) #36

Jun 15, 2013

It should be noted, this is a great jumping on point for people who want to get into Venom. And, I mean, you seriously should. This book is killing it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
X-O Manowar (2012) #10

Feb 21, 2013

At the end of the day, it's like this. X-O Manowar is easily one of the best titles out there right now for one simple reason: there's nothing else truly like it. That's thanks in part to the entertaining and commanding physical presence that Aric has through his actions and his words. In other words: Aric is a friggin' badass. And in the wake of the events from X-O Manowar, I'm more than excited for Planet Death Part 1.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-O Manowar (2012) #11

Mar 22, 2013

So, as far as the first installment of Planet Death goes, this issue delivers. Like, really delivers. Like a biker kicking down your door and giving you the delivery of burning your house down"while you love every minute of it. But at the same time, Planet Death Part One is going to be something much more complex and character driven than we've seen in a while. If you've been reading X-O and you've felt like the title may have been dragging its feet, pick up X-O Manowar #11. If you want to jump on, now is a good time as well. But I'd still recommend maybe trying to pick up or borrow the first 10 issues. All I can say is this, Planet Death is going to be a crazy ride.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More