Max Byrne's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Dark Knight News Reviews: 15
8.5Avg. Review Rating

8
Batman (2016) #88

Feb 5, 2020

A thoroughly entertaining issue and a real page turner, Batman #88 is another very strong entry into Bat-canon. With more rogues than anybody could wish for, the book is fully loaded. Where we go from here remains to be seen and I truly hope that the reveal of The Designer lives up to the build up. Based on what we've had so far, hope springs eternal that it's going to be something very special and well worth investing your time and money in.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman's Grave #1

Oct 9, 2019

ConclusionOne of the best debut issues in recent memory, The Batman's Grave #1 is a vital and thought provoking book that bodes very well for the next 11 issues. With a creative team that is firing on all cylinders, this could end up being a contender come the next awards season. This comic helps prove that the Batman character is evergreen and without doubt the standard bearer for DC Comics. We're are all going to be in for a great ride with this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman's Grave #2

Nov 13, 2019

This is an issue that gives the reader their fix of action in its first half, and then a more measured, cerebral approach in its second half. The creative team of Ellis and Hitch have hit the ground running and have created a title that promises much. With mysteries yet to come and more of an explanation in the pipeline for the graveside scenes in Issue 1, this run should send the reader on a journey that involves many twists and turns.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman's Grave #3

Dec 12, 2019

Another high class issue, The Batman's Grave #3 is a must have purchase amongst this week's offerings from DC. Despite walking down some well worn paths, there is an inherent freshness and spontaneity to it that draws the reader in and provides a lot of intrigue. With pacing that is done to perfection and the aforementioned perfect combination of action and thought, this is shaping up to be one of THE titles of the last 12 months.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman's Grave #4

Jan 15, 2020

The Batman's Grave #4 is a worthy addition to the series. Full of life and certainly one that all action junkies will enjoy, this series is shaping up to be a highlight of 2020. A visual feast, there's something for everybody to enjoy here. Action, detective work and genuine moments of levity, roll on issue #5.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman's Grave #5

Feb 13, 2020

Another hugely enjoyable issue, The Batman's Grave #5 is consistent with the preceding four issues. A perfect storm of mystery and fisticuffs, humour and straight talking, it really does cover all the bases. Ellis' take on the Batman as a kickass yet articulate and erudite chap feels just right and proves his affection for the character. Ending this issue with an event that makes issue 6 even more of a must have is a smart move indeed, as we should all now be on the hook for next month's release. We need it now!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman's Grave #6

Mar 11, 2020

Where the plot ultimately leads in the end remains to be seen, but I have the feeling it is going to be something we can remember for a long time to come

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman's Grave #7

Jun 9, 2020

This is a book that everybody needs to invest in, you'll be glad you did.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Suicide Squad (2019) #1

Dec 18, 2019

So, whatever you do, don't get too attached to anybody"

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Suicide Squad (2019) #2

Jan 29, 2020

Suicide Squad #2 is a high quality continuation of the sterling work done by Taylor et al in issue #1. Fast paced and fun, with a deeper level of pathos underneath the body count, I am extremely optimistic for the future of this book. With the title once again becoming a hot property, it won't be long before it is up there with our favorites as a true flagship title for DC.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Suicide Squad (2019) #3

Feb 27, 2020

With the promise of a certain Aussie character returning in issue 4, the team is shaping up very nicely indeed. For a veteran title, the re-invigoration here has been tangible and Suicide Squad is certainly worthy of a seat at the top table.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Suicide Squad (2019) #4

Mar 26, 2020

Another high bar entry in this hugely entertaining title, Suicide Squad #4 is a hugely entertaining read. Action packed, fun and also poignant, the stage is set for issue #5 to give us ringside seats for one almighty scuffle. With the extremely welcome return of Boomer to the proceedings, everything feels energised and elevated. With so much uncertainty in the world at this time, it's good to know we can always rely on Task Force X to deliver the goods… and then some!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Suicide Squad (2019) #5

May 28, 2020

Based on the cliffhanger ending, where we go from here is anybody's guess. I simply cannot wait for the next instalment, add it to your pull lists!!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Suicide Squad (2019) #6

Jun 24, 2020

Tom Taylor has taken this veteran title and breathed fresh life into it, pushing it to the top of the tree. It never fails to put a smile on my face and with so much more to come, the ensuing weeks are going to be a golden period for this run. Bravo!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Year of the Villain: Black Mask #1

Aug 21, 2019

Year Of The Villain " Black Mask #1 is a perfect entry point for readers not overly familiar with the character, though long-time devotees will love it too. With the promise of more to come for Black Mask down the line, the web of intrigue being woven here has reeled this fan in with both feet.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More