RobF's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: 411Mania Reviews: 114
6.8Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Action Comics (2016) #1000

Apr 26, 2018

Action Comics 1000 is worth picking up for the nostalgia, the collector value, or for the quality of the stories. There is no "Whatever Happened to the Man of Tomorrow" but there is enough here for the old or new fan to enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New Guardians of the Galaxy #1

May 11, 2017

In essence there is nothing new about this team as the story focuses on the core 5 but Gerry Duggan has a strong grasp of the characters and their interactions.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-Star Batman #1

Aug 18, 2016

To its credit All-Star Batman has nothing in common with its predecessor other than the name. Snyder and Romita Jr are off to a fast start with a great combination of story and art. I can strongly recommend this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-Star Batman #2

Sep 22, 2016

I would have picked up this series for the artwork alone, but Scott Snyder is killing it here. The action, the villains: this one has it all.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Aquaman: Rebirth #1

Jun 16, 2016

Of all the Rebirth issues to date Aquaman falls to the bottom of the list. (Green Lantern has been the worst in my opinion) It is by no means bad but for seasoned readers like me there is nothing I haven't read before. In comparison to the other stories this one doesn't hold a candle to them.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers (2018) #1

May 10, 2018

With the movie fresh in the public consciousness the spotlight is on the Avengers. This comic is a great jumping on point for new readers with enough nostalgia for us old school fans. I highly recommend this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Avengers: Back To Basics #1

Mar 15, 2018

The comic harkens back to a time when plots and characters were simpler. While some may find that refreshing it is my least favorite time of comic history. I cringe when I read some of the early issues and while this is a fun issue I can't fully endorse it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: Who Laughs #1

Nov 23, 2017

The Batman Who Laughs is easily one of the best stories of the year and one I will not soon forget. In my opinion Batman was one of the most dangerous threat in the DC Universe. With no restraints he shoots to the top of the list.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Ben Reilly: The Scarlet Spider #7

Sep 21, 2017

Peter David is trying hard to make us care about this ersatz Spider-Man, to make him different from the original. I'm not sure this series has long term potential but right now it deserves a little attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Black Panther vs. Deadpool #1

Nov 1, 2018

I liked this story and I want to read more but I hope Ortiz can tone the facial expressions down. I'm not sure if the humor and action can survive 5 issues, but I'm willing to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Champions #1

Oct 13, 2016

Whereas I can appreciate the message this comic represents the lack of a strong villain and the artwork make this issue difficult to recommend. I think over time this comic has potential but Waid has to do a better job challenging our heroes.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Civil War II #2

Jun 23, 2016

This Civil War lacks the impact that its predecessor had but in the end it may be a better story. It's been a slow moving tale but it looks like it's picking up steam.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Civil War II #6

Nov 3, 2016

With CW expanded to 8 issues it's surprising that Bendis didn't take advantage of the space to enhance the story. Instead he chose to stretch out an already thin plot. One can only hope the climax is worth the wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Civil War II: The Oath #1

Feb 2, 2017

Nick Spencer does what he can to add depth to The Oath but it can't overcome the feeling that this issue was simply Marvel's way of launching the Secret Empire event. Timing is everything and this one missed out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Civil War II: Kingpin #1

Jul 14, 2016

Like the legendary phoenix the Kingpin again rises from the ashes of obscurity to once again plague the Marvel U. Of all the Civil War tie-ins this one has the most promise. Let's hope Rosenberg can keep the momentum going.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Cosmic Ghost Rider #1

Jul 12, 2018

I'm not sure this comic has the longevity of Spider-Man or the X-Men, but it could be a fun read. Frank Castle, with this kind of power at his fingertips, could reap some serious vengeance upon the Marvel U.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Damage #1

Jan 25, 2018

I'm not sure why this book was chosen to kick-off a new comic line. Looking at some of the other characters I think this one should have been launched somewhere in the middle. If this is the best the New Age has to offer I have little hope for the rest.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Damnation: Johnny Blaze - Ghost Rider #1

Apr 5, 2018

While this doesn't compel me to seek out the original Damnation series, the Ghost Rider/Johnny Blaze dynamic does make want to pick up the next issue of this one. It's Grindhouse-like feel is right up my alley and I want to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
DC/Hanna-Barbera: Green Lantern/Space Ghost #1

Apr 6, 2017

In the end Space Ghost/Green Lantern is a fun crossover with future possibilities. If it wasn't for the Ruff and Ready backup and the hefty price tag it could be considered a near perfect comic. Let's hope we get more down the line.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dead Man Logan #1

Dec 6, 2018

Henderson's fight scenes are fun to look at. It's like action movie. His facial expressions are top notch as well, which is important because there is some heavy dialogue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Deadpool & The Mercs For Money (2016) #1

Jul 28, 2016

Like Wolverine and the Punisher before him, overexposure is never a good thing. With all these appearance maybe it's time to let the Merc with a Mouth have a long overdue vacation.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Deadpool (2018) #3

Aug 9, 2018

It's near impossible to recommend Deadpool while the superior Deadpool: Assassin is in print. Young clearly misses the target with his jokes and the plot leaves a lot to be desired. If you need a Merc with a Mouth fix grab Assassin and read how Deadpool should be.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Deadpool v Gambit #1

Jun 30, 2016

Following the successes of Deadpool vs Thanos and Deadpool vs Hawkeye the expectation is high but unfortunately Deadpool v Gambit falls flat. It fails to properly set the stage by relying on the past rather than the present. The authors need to pull it together and focus on the title character and move the story forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Deadpool vs. Old Man Logan #1

Oct 26, 2017

The combination of OML and Deadpool should be a natural combination: Their conflicting personalities are perfect for conflict. But Shalvey took the safe route with a story we have heard many times and done better. Disappointing to say the least.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deadpool vs. The Punisher #1

Apr 20, 2017

In the end this comic does not break any new ground but it has the potential to be a fun series if the chains are off. Van Lente is the right man for the job, let's hope he can get the job done.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Defenders (2017) #1

Jun 22, 2017

The overall quality of the Netfilx shows (IF the only exception to me) leaves Bendis and CO some Large shoes to fill. So far, this book shows promise. Let's hope the show is good as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Despicable Deadpool #287

Oct 19, 2017

In the end I think Wade was fighting a losing battle with goodness; he just wasn't cut out for that type of life. Now he has the opportunity to be himself, to unleash his true nature and the world should beware.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Despicable Deadpool #290

Dec 21, 2017

Deadpool's return to the dark side has been a slow burn but Duggan and Co. have made it a fun ride. It is an interesting story with some great artwork and I am anxious to see where it ends up next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Doomsday Clock #1

Nov 30, 2017

If any writer/artist combination is going to tackle the herculean task of following up the greatest comic ever written I put my money on Johns and Frank. They have the pedigree to create a classic and the first issue of Doomsday Clock is a great start.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Elektra (2017) #1

Mar 2, 2017

As much as I enjoyed her previous series I feel this one is a misstep. It feels too formulaic, like all the boxes were checked in order to create the story. I think Elektra deserves better.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Exiles (2018) #1

Apr 19, 2018

Exiles is off to a good start. Saladin Ahmed has a strong handle on the characters and dialogue and the art hits the mark. I certainly recommend this issue and look forward to more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Fantastic Four (2018) #1

Aug 16, 2018

I can be honest in saying that I didn't miss the FF nor was I looking for their return. I am a fan of Slott's so I decided to give it a shot and I can say I was pleasantly surprised. I want to see if Slott can revive the FF like he did Spider-Man.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
G.I. Joe: A Real American Hero vs. the Six Million Dollar Man #1

Mar 8, 2018

Nostalgia buffs and fans of either series will find this an enjoyable issue. For me, I was hoping for a little more plot. It's still something I would recommend, I'm hoping as the series moves on it gets better.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Generations: The Unworthy Thor & The Mighty Thor #1

Aug 31, 2017

This is easily the best of the Generation titles so far. The combination of Thors plus the mystery of the Odin/Phoenix relationship makes this a must read and makes me long for Marvel: Legacy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Generations: Wolverine & All-New Wolverine #1

Aug 24, 2017

Of all the Generation issues this one has been my favorite so far. This comic really makes me miss "Ol' Canucklehead" even more and appreciate the New Wolverine a bit more.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Generations: Banner Hulk & The Totally Awesome Hulk #1

Aug 10, 2017

Hopefully the other Generation titles will be better. Pak tries to pull on the nostalgia heartstrings but ends up with a boring, strangely designed story.

View Issue       View Full Review
1.0
Ghost Rider (2016) #1

Dec 8, 2016

Stories like this make me long for the Johnny Blaze/Danny Ketch days. Marvel badly wants to launch the Ghost Rider but I'm not sure Felipe Smith is the man for the job. I see cancellation in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Godzilla: Rage Across Time #1

Sep 1, 2016

I think this series is made for the die-hard Godzilla fans only. The art is impressive but the story is not very strong. Perhaps next issues visit to Ancient Greece will improve the narrative.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Guardians of the Galaxy (2015) #11

Sep 8, 2016

Overall this issue doesn't do much to advance the CW storyline. It seems like they could have either provided more insight on the Guardians or showed their direct involvement in the conflict. Bendis usually delivers but this issue is a misstep.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Heroes In Crisis #1

Oct 4, 2018

I cannot wait for the next issue: I can only imagine what the other seven issues will bring. King and Co (or the King's court if you prefer) have crafted one of the best stories to date. If you don't love this story then you don't love comics (in my opinion).

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hulk (2016) #1

Jan 5, 2017

For a Hulk issue there is no appearance of a Hulk. No Hulk smash. Anything. A bit disappointing. For many years we were subjected to the rampaging/savage She-Hulk. How we get to focus on Jen and her struggle overcome devastating losses and regain her sense of self and I think we have the right team for that.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Hunt For Wolverine #1

May 3, 2018

All the excitement generated by a Wolverine return has been somewhat muted. Some questionable decisions hurt this issue. I still want to check out the mini-series, but this seems like an wasted opportunity.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hunt For Wolverine: Dead Ends #1

Sep 6, 2018

While it's a slow burn, 'Dead End' quickly picks up the pace and delivers some answers while adding a new layer of intrigue. How it all comes together is what makes me want to pick up the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hunt For Wolverine: Mystery In Madripoor #1

May 31, 2018

Of all the Hunt for Wolverine mini-series this one is good, not great. I like seeing the ladiestogether and I think once you get to the actual story it starts to pick up. And the art is great. I can recommend this issue and I look forward to the next one.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Immortal Hulk #1

Jun 14, 2018

This relaunch harkens back to the Kirby days when the Hulk was monstrous and the lines between good and evil were blurred. The questions concerning his revival and possible immortality scream for answers and I look forward to finding out the answers.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Infamous Iron Man #1

Oct 27, 2016

It's always a challenge to make a villain the lead character in a comic: most writers are not up to the challenge. Bendis is one of the few that actually stand a chance but it is an uphill climb. I have my hiking gear on but I am cautiously climbing along.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Infamous Iron Man #7

May 4, 2017

Infamous Iron Man is a strong comic because it avoids the standard "bad guy turns good" clichs. Bendis is doing some of his finest work here. From the devastation of the villains to the jaw-dropping climax, IIM is an easy comic to endorse.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Infamous Iron Man #8

Jun 8, 2017

Infamous Iron Man is one of the best comics on the market today. Bendis has taken the Reed Richards/Doom relationship (as well as the Doom/Stark one) and turned them upside down, shook them up, and produced a great story. Let's hope it lasts.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Infinity Countdown: Prime #1

Mar 1, 2018

I'm not sure how necessary it is to have this issue: It seems more like a preview of what is to come. I liked the history of the gems, I had forgotten some of the events surrounding them. But I think we could start with Infinity War and not miss a step.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Invincible Iron Man (2015) #12

Aug 11, 2016

Bendis and Co. used this issue to wrap up some lingering issues while incorporating Civil War to the narrative. In that aspect it was successful. But in the end the execution is where it ultimately failed.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Iron Fist (2017) #1

Mar 30, 2017

What this comic lacks in originality it makes up for with stunning artwork. While the plot isn't groundbreaking the combination of Ed Brisson and Mike Perkins make Iron Fist a decent read with potential to be more.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Iron Fist (2017) #75

Dec 14, 2017

Iron Fist suffers from a lack of a true rogues gallery and a series of similar storylines. The addition of Sabretooth saves this issue from being a complete waste. Hopefully Brisson and Co. will bring more to the table in future editions.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
IvX #1

Dec 22, 2016

After a lackluster Civil War II, the Inhumans vs X-Men starts off strong. Both sides have made a case for their existence and neither will back down. Let's hope the momentum continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
John Wick #1

Dec 7, 2017

Even with the so-so beginning I have high hopes for this series. There is enough here for a good story, hopefully Pak and Co. will flesh out this story enough so we can see what made John Wick who is he now.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League / Power Rangers #1

Jan 19, 2017

I'm sure my lack of familiarity with the Power Rangers partially led to my rejection of this issue. But I would like to think Taylor could have created a stronger plot to bring the 2 teams together. Perhaps it will improve but I will not be here to see it.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League of America: Rebirth #1

Feb 16, 2017

I would have thought with a Justice League of America Rebirth issue spearheaded by Batman would be a surefire hit. But this book lacks a compelling plot or great characters. Perhaps it will improve but I will not be here to see it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League: No Justice #1

May 17, 2018

No Justice can take any blockbuster fatigue and show it the door. It starts strong and doesn't letup. I an anxious to see how the teams shake out as well as the personality conflicts. Luckily, we have only one week to wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Kick-Ass (2018) #1

Feb 22, 2018

In the end there is little to recommend her, unless you are a die-hard Romita completist. While It has a new character, she is hardly a character to root for nor is the action a must-see.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Luke Cage (2017) #1

May 25, 2017

If you are a fan of Luke Cage, new or old, there is something for you here. A classic villain, action, intrigue; it would be hard not to recommend this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Man of Steel (2018) #1

Jun 7, 2018

The Man of Steel is off to a very good start. Bendis does a decent job, preferring the slowburn to the huge impact. Only time will tell whether this is just another story or one of the classics.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Man-Thing (2017) #1

Mar 16, 2017

Stine took some serious risks here and in doing so he created a polarizing story; you will either love it or you won't. If you are looking for a story with a retro feel this one is for you. Otherwise steer clear.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Marvel Legacy #1

Oct 5, 2017

To this point Legacy has lived up to the hype. I want more, particularly involving Wolverine (and the Thor cover really got me) and Deadpool. Marvel's future looks good, let's hope it lasts.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Marvel Two-In-One #1

Dec 28, 2017

The books spawned from Legacy have been hit or miss, but MTO has the potential to be a hit. The Fantastic Four situation needs to be addressed, and Zdarsky and Co. look like the right team for it. Hopefully a regular series is in the cards.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Marvel Two-In-One #4

Mar 22, 2018

Marvel Two-in-One has been a welcome surprise in the Marvel U. Grimm and Storm continue their search for their family and it will be interesting to see what other universes and characters they will run into.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Mighty Man (One Shot) #1

Apr 13, 2017

This one shot is a good read and an easy access point for new readers. It was good to see Freak Force again; it was one of my favorite series. I hold out hope that this comic leads to more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mister Miracle #1

Aug 17, 2017

Mister Miracle is a master entertainer. There is not one trap he cannot escape. But the one thing he can't escape is his destiny. This is a side of Scott Free that no one has ever seen before and I have serious doubts that he will come out the other side whole. This series has all the ingredients to be a modern day classic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Monsters Unleashed #4

Mar 9, 2017

This series has the ability to revert me back to my younger days where kaiju ruled. Add them battling Marvel's best and I am in comic heaven. I only hope when the series is over the monsters find a permanent place in the Marvel U.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Monsters Unleashed #5

Mar 23, 2017

Monsters Unleashed wasn't the greatest series but it certainly had its moments. The fun quotient was turned way up and the plethora of guest stars made it a worthwhile read. Now let's see if the regular series can keep the momentum going.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
New Superman #1

Jul 21, 2016

Yang has an exciting opportunity here: he has no history to bog him down so he can build his own legacy. Kenan has no idea what he has involved himself in and little time to adjust. It will be interesting to see what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Old Man Hawkeye #1

Jan 18, 2018

While I think 12 issues is excessive for OMH, this limited series starts off strong. Let's hope for more cameos and details about the fall of the heroes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #9

Aug 4, 2016

Old Man Logan is easily one of the best comics on the market today. The artwork, the writing: this one has it all. If you're not reading this book you are missing out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #50

Nov 8, 2018

With Wolverine back in the Marvel U there is only room for one Logan. OML was a fun ride, I'm sorry to see it go.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Planet of the Apes / Green Lantern #1

Feb 9, 2017

Although it does start slow I think Green Lantern/Planet of the Apes has the potential to be an interesting series. While it appears to be an odd pairing there is enough story to keep me engaged for another issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Punisher (2018) #1

Aug 30, 2018

While Frank has gone back to his roots the consequences have rose higher than anyone could have imagined. His actions have put him in the crosshairs with heroes and villainsalike. How he navigates these choppy waters should make for a good read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Revolution #1

Sep 29, 2016

Was this book worth picking up? Definitely. The 10 yr old boy in me was excited from the moment I heard about it. And there is enough of a story to make me want to read further. IDW has a hit on its hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rogue & Gambit (2018) #1

Jan 11, 2018

In the end think this story is secondary to Rogue and Gambit's complicated relationship. Their rollercoaster ride is one worth taking, this book should be on your 'buy' list.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
ROM vs. Transformers: Shining Armor #1

Jul 27, 2017

I enjoyed this issue much more than I thought. Rom and the Transformers on paper seem like a natural combination but in the hands of Gage, Barber and Miline you have a bonafide hit.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Secret Empire: Brave New World #1

Jun 15, 2017

This SE tie-in suffers from some poor writing and execution. Out of the three stories I could only recommend the first, the Namor story the only true SE link.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sentry (2018) #1

Jul 5, 2018

The similarly between Superman and the Sentry are there but while Superman is about control and clarity the Sentry represents the opposite. Jeff Lemire has brought his 'A' game to this title and Marvel has a hit on its hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spider-Man/Deadpool #6

Jul 7, 2016

SP and DP 6 is a pleasant interlude, successfully holding serve until Joe Kelly reclaims the title. It doesn't mess with the status quo nor does it have some long term effects. With all the heaviness attached to Civil War II it's nice to have some light fare for a change.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Spider-Man: Master Plan #1

Jul 20, 2017

When it's all said and done Spider-Man: Master Plan is low on plot but high in art. The inclusion of the ASM #2 reprint took up some of the real estate that the main story could have used. While I do understand that decision I think it hurt the main story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Spirits of Vengeance (2017) #1

Oct 12, 2017

The one thing I can say about this series is that I am glad that the Ghost Rider is the Johnny Blaze version. He has always been the best version in my opinion. I like Blade as well. The generic nature of the story is it's downfall, there just isn't enough here to keep me reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Squadron Supreme (2015) #11

Sep 15, 2016

As we have seen with several other Marvel comics, this is a Civil War crossover in name only. It really is more about the potential return of Namor and less about Ulysses and his soothsaying. Spider-Man appearance makes this a decent issue but I'm waiting to see if Namor actually returns.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star-Lord (2016) Annual #1

Jun 1, 2017

Chip Zdarsky ends his run on Star-Lord with a warped western with a shocking guest star. Djibril Morissette's art fits the subject matter well, and I liked this Annual as a cool one-shot and also as an ending to the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Super Sons #1

Feb 23, 2017

Tomasi clearly shows he understands these characters well. This is one of the more interesting interpretations of the Batman/Superman relationship. The chemistry between Damien and Jonathan is strong and I can see them growing up together in the DC Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2018) #1

Jul 19, 2018

Superman needs a purpose, something other that battling villains. Bendis and Co. are exploring this search. It's a strong start with the potential for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Tarzan on the Planet of the Apes #1

Oct 6, 2016

Seeley, Walker and CO. has crafted a story that stands out from most crossovers. It will be interesting to see how the rest plays out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Thanos (2016) #2

Dec 29, 2016

Thanos has been dead before and has resurrected several times. Is this time any different? Only time will tell, but his family has a vested interest in his demise. I wouldn't be surprised if others from the Marvel U join the crusade.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Thanos (2016) #10

Sep 7, 2017

German Peralta's style is perfect for this type of story. His depictions of a weakened Thanos are spot on and with Rachelle Rosenberg's colors make this a great looking issue. Thanos is one of the few villains that, written correctly, can carry a series. The Marvel Universe is better with him in it, scheming and plotting its demise. Let's hope there are plans to continue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Thanos (2016) #14

Jan 4, 2018

Thanos has battled just about everyone in the Marvel Universe. He may be facing his toughest battle to date, the fight against fate. As the saying goes, be careful what you wish for you just might get it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Black Order #1

Nov 22, 2018

I'm not sure where the Black Order fits in to the Marvel U-heroes, villains, something in between-but I am curious to see where they land. There is potential here and I want to seemore.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Fall and Rise of Captain Atom #1

Jan 12, 2017

In the end this mini-series is not covering any new ground. CA's powers go out of control; heroes need to intervene to save him. Been there, done that. It will be interesting to see if Bates and Co. can bring anything new to the table.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Fallen #1

Aug 25, 2016

Is Bruce Banner/the Hulk truly dead? Does anyone in comics stay dead? Probably not, but if it is the end it was a proper sendoff.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Great Lakes Avengers #1

Oct 20, 2016

Overall this is a good issue. Not all the jokes land but there were enough laughs to make it a worthwhile read. GLA purists (if there are any) will balk at lack of Squirrel Girl but it's a fun and lighthearted comic with some future potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The Mighty Captain Marvel #1

Jan 26, 2017

I can't say this issue has enticed me to read further. The plot, the art: none of it screams must read. After CW II Captain Marvel has all the momentum needed to drive a series I'm just not sure this is the one.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Silencer #1

Feb 8, 2018

I have to say I have more faith in The Silencer than I did in Damage. In my opinion DC should have lead with this issue because it has the potential to be good. I am curious to see where Romita and Abnett take this and I want to know more about Honor.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Unworthy Thor #1

Nov 10, 2016

Ever since this comic has been announced I have been anxiously awaiting its arrival. Jason Aaron and Oliver Copiel have proven they know the Thunder god inside and out. When it's all said and done I think we will be mentioning Aaron's run with the same reverence as Walt Simonson's.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Unworthy Thor #2

Dec 15, 2016

The Unworthy Thor is one of the best books on the market right now. The Odinson is at his lowest point searching for redemption and I can't wait to see what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Wrong Earth #1

Sep 20, 2018

It was wise for AHOY to base their first story around 2 veterans like Ingle and Peyer. They have the pedigree to make this work. With a little backstory this could have been an even better issue. I will be on the lookout for issue 2.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Thor (2018) #1

Jun 21, 2018

This Thor is a perfect amalgam of movie Thor and Marvel Thor. The humor and the action are dialed up and I for one cannot wait to see what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Thor vs. Hulk: Champions of the Universe #1

Sep 14, 2017

I have always thought Thor had a slight edge over the Hulk with Mjolnir and his battle skills being the deciding factors. I don't think we will get an answer in this mini-series but I can guarantee it will be fun. Whitney has the correct amount of action and comedy to make this series a good read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Thor: Where Walk The Frost Giants #1

Nov 2, 2017

Macchio proves he has not lost his touch. This story is an entertaining throwback to a time when our Thunder God was an arrogant jerk (and a man) who fought for what's right. Frankly, we need more stories like this, an occasional break from frequent special events Marvel and DC are famous for.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Tony Stark: Iron Man #2

Jul 26, 2018

It will be interesting to see what Stark feels is 'missing' and how he will go about fixing it. The various subplots add to the mystery and I for one want more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Trinity (2016) #10

Jun 29, 2017

Any book featuring Batman, Wonder Woman and Superman instantly garners attention as well as high expectations. So far, this has been an enjoyable comic. Trinity is proving to be a welcome edition to the DC family.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Venom (2016) #1

Dec 1, 2016

After a slow start the first issue of Venom picks up. Costa has an interesting take on an old character with the potential for more. He has never had a moral dilemma like this and it will interesting to see which direction he takes.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Venomverse #2

Sep 28, 2017

I expect more from Cullen Bunn. This series is filled with one dimensional characters with Spider-Man the only standout. Its saving grace is the artwork. I'm not sure where this series is headed but I would like to think there is more story coming.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
VS #1

Feb 15, 2018

In the end I enjoyed this issue, enough to want to seek out the second. With some plot improvements and characterization, it could be a hit.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Weapon H #1

Mar 29, 2018

A story that shouldn't work does work due to combination of Pak's writing and the above average art. It needs some fleshing out but there is enough here to recommend and make me want to read more.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Weapon X (2017) #1

Apr 27, 2017

A title such as this should have started with a bang not a whimper. The story is uninspired and the artwork is messy and the combination makes for a tough read. Sorry Weapon X you will not make my pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Weapons of Mutant Destruction #1

Jul 6, 2017

After suffering through several issues of Weapon X Pak and Co. finally have gotten it right. Weapon X comes off like a legitimate menace and the team is primed and ready to fight. I am definitely interested in what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
What If? (2018): Spider-Man #1

Oct 11, 2018

I have fond memories of the What If series. There were some hits or misses. This, in my opinion, was a miss. The emphasis is on the wrong character whichmakes for an uneven story. I think Conway could have done better.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
WWE: Then. Now. Forever #1

Nov 17, 2016

After years and years of dreadful attempts they finally got it right. BOOM! Studios has taken the beloved characters of the WWE and firmly established them in their own universe. Is it sustainable? I don't know, but they are off to a good start.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
X-Men: Gold (2017) Annual #1

Feb 1, 2018

In my opinion this is largely for completists only. It's a fine issue but it really has no lasting impression. You'll read it, smile, put it down and never think of it again, which is not necessarily a bad thing. If your looking for some depth this comic is not for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Zombies Assemble #1

May 18, 2017

When I first heard about this I wondered if the world needed another Marvel Zombie comic. I was wrong. The author does a great job of mixing the Japanese and American styles. Great characterization, fine artwork, some wicked humor, this one has it all.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More