Weird Science Jim's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Weird Science Marvel Comics Reviews: 41
7.3Avg. Review Rating

5.8
Alien (2021) #1

Mar 22, 2021

Alien #1 is a slow, disappointing start. Philip Kennedy Johnson and Salvador Larroca try to set up the atmosphere more than the characters and story, and it falls flat because of it. I hope it gets better, but such a dull start doesn't make me want or need this book on my pull list yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #63

Apr 7, 2021

Amazing Spider-Man is a setup issue that felt a little crowded at points as Nick Spencer continues putting his pieces in place for something big down the line.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Avengers (2018) #44

Apr 7, 2021

Avengers #44 gives us a new Phoenix, and while that's cool, does anyone even care? This ending and the whole arc felt like a means to an end, but at least it's over. Jason Aaron seems like he's in panic mode, turning to spectacle over a story and next up is Heroes Reborn. Hmmm

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Avengers (2018) #45

Apr 22, 2021

This issue encapsulates Jason Aaron's entire Avengers run. It's hardly the King in Black tie-in it promises on the cover, and instead of dealing with the vast thing that just happened in the book, Aaron sets up something else we may get back to later. This book always has its eye on something else, and I think I will finally have to follow suit.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Black Cat (2020) #5

Apr 14, 2021

We finally get to the New York City Thieves Guild Heist, and while it becomes more personal, it felt a bit forced. I am still a fan of This book, but this issue was disappointing after the long wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Black Widow (2020) #1

Sep 1, 2020

I loved this opening issue and can't wait to read more! Kelly Thompson starts her story without bogging it down with over narration and recap, making it feel fresh for new readers and seasoned Black Widow fans alike. It also keeps things moving fast, and when I got to the cliffhanger, I couldn't believe it was over! Elena Casagrande's art was excellent, and this one immediately jumped to the top of my pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Black Widow (2020) #2

Oct 8, 2020

Kelly Thompson continues the mystery of what the hell happened to Natasha, and I am enjoying it. Elena Casagrande's art is excellent, and the story is shaping up to not only be about saving Black Widow but deciding if she should be saved at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Black Widow (2020) #3

Nov 9, 2020

I am enjoying this series and liked this issue a whole lot. Kelly Thompson is pacing this well, and in a story like this, that is crucial. It feels like the right amount of time to get settled into Nat's new life, and now it's time to rip it all away from hermaybe. Elena Casagrande's art is the icing on the cake to a book I enjoy each time it comes out.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Black Widow: Widow's Sting (2020) #1

Oct 27, 2020

Black Widow: Widow's Sting #1 wants to feel like a classic, traditional Black Widow story, but it only succeeds at being bland, generic, and forgettable. It looks good, but there is no reason to buy this with so many actual classic stories available on the Marvel Unlimited app and the comic store shelf.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Captain America Anniversary Tribute (2021) #1

Mar 17, 2021

The amount of artists on this anniversary issue is impressive. Unfortunatley, it turned out to be less than the sum of its parts. There just wasn't any wow factor to this oversize issue, and if you have read these three stories before (which are 100% classics), you may find yourself bored before the end. However, if you haven't read them yet, this might be a good time to jump in, but I'd probably stick to the original classics.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Captain Marvel (2019) #27

Mar 17, 2021

Kelly Thompson continues writing Captain Marvel for Carol's fans, and as one, I am enjoying it. This issue sets up a big thing by the end but is more about helping out a friend who is down in the dumps, even if she doesn't think she wants help. Sure, it's a pity party, but it was nice all the same.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Champions (2020) #1

Oct 5, 2020

Champions #1 probably won't change anyone's mind over the Outlawed storyline. Eve Ewing does, however, set up a cool team that's in the fight for their lives against known and unknown enemies. To get there, though, the reader will have to get through a bunch of recap, but the Simone Di Meo art makes it all look great. Overall, this is a decent issue to get everyone up to speed, and I will be back next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Champions (2020) #5

Mar 17, 2021

While I was not a fan of the Outlawed story from the getgo, Eve Ewing does a nice job ending her time on the book. We even get a sneak peek of what is in store coming up from Danny lore, and it looks like a lot of fun coming our way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Daredevil (2019) #22

Sep 23, 2020

Chip Zdarsky and Francesco Mobili give Daredevil fans a setup issue, and while some may need a breather after all the crazy shit that's gone on in this book recently, it's not “must-read” material. It's “should-read” for sure, and I can't wait to see what happens with Daredevil from here on out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Daredevil (2019) #23

Oct 21, 2020

Daredevil is probably going to jail, and while I can't wait for the trial to begin, Chip Zdarsky is making the lead-up to it a "must-read." Add Marco Checchetto's stellar art, and I don't know why everyone isn't reading this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Daredevil (2019) #29

Apr 14, 2021

Daredevil is my favorite ongoing series out right now, and this issue should be able to convince anyone why. Chip Zdarsky's character work shines, and while most writers try for big wow moments, he goes bigger but in a way that doesn't feel forced. Everyone should be reading this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daredevil (2019) Annual #1

Aug 26, 2020

Chip Zdarsky changes the game for his Daredevil run without wiping out the importance of the preceding issues at all. No matter what you think of the "One More Day" on the cover (or Annuals), I think you will be surprised by what Zdarsky adds to his story, and I can't wait to see more. If you haven't been reading this run, there is no better time to start than now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Darkhawk: Heart of the Hawk #1

Apr 13, 2021

I went from knowing next to nothing about Nighthawk to looking forward to a future series from this 30th-anniversary issue. ‘Nuff said!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Deadpool (2019) #6

Aug 5, 2020

Deadpool #6 is a fun road trip to Krakoa with great art and a bunch of laughs. Deadpool may not have gotten what he wanted out of it, but I did, and I hope that continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Empyre #5

Aug 11, 2020

Empyre #5 is the penultimate issue to an event that should have been nothing more than an Avengers/Fantastic Four crossover. Al Ewing and Dan Slott have tried to convince readers otherwise, but their big talk can't hide their little story. We do get a nice bit here for fans of Hulkling and Wiccan, but it felt more like a plot device than something to celebrate, and while I did like Valerio Schiti's art, I can't recommend this to anyone.I am looking forward to the next issue, but only because it's the last one.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Empyre #6

Sep 2, 2020

Al Ewing and Dan Slott finish their “Event” by forcing an end to every threat, sometimes off-panel. Because of that, this finale makes the whole story feel smaller, and that's not sticking the landing. The art was great, but did we need 30+ issues to get a Kree/Skrull Alliance? If you think so, then you might be less angry than me at the moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Eternals (2021) #1

Jan 7, 2021

Eternals #1 has a simple story to kick off the series that manages to fill in a ton of blanks for new readers in an engaging and natural way. I like the art, the style, the tone, and the weirdly cosmic direction thats a refreshing break from the standard Marvel books out these days.If you can unsee Steve Buscemi as an immortal 12-year-old girl and you like weird, trippy sci fi, youll like this issue a lot.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Excalibur (2019) #13

Oct 21, 2020

Excalibur #13 gets us where we need to go by the end, and Tini Howard gives readers a couple of cool things on the way as well. R. B. Silva's art was good throughout, but I did have problems with the pacing, mostly from the heavy use of dialogue. This issue wasn't a deal-breaker by any stretch, but it was my least favorite X of Swords issue so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Heroes Reborn (2021) #1

May 3, 2021

Heroes Reborn is off to a good start with excellent art, fun mash-ups, and an intriguing story. If you planned on sitting this one out, you might want to check this out because I was surprised how much I liked it. Let's hope that feeling continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Iron Man (2020) #8

Apr 14, 2021

Christopher Cantwell shifts the focus entirely on Patsy Walker, and while her fans may appreciate it, it was a miss for me. Stories focusing on mental health are challenging since we all have different experiences, but this felt rushed and oversimplified. Besides that, it didn't progress the overall plot much, and as Patsy said herself, “Where the Hell is Tony?”

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Juggernaut (2020) #1

Sep 23, 2020

Fabien Nicieza and Ron Garney give Juggernaut fans, and those looking to become one, a street-level book that provides us with a peek at the man behind the Unstoppable.” It may not be what you expected, but it's better because of that.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Juggernaut (2020) #5

Jan 7, 2021

Juggernaut #5 wraps up the arc in a neat little bow, answering most of the mysteries and setting up the potential for a Juggernaut team to convert the wayward. The art has been excellent all through the arc, but while the big questions get answered, the answers were less than satisfying. Compared to the first issue, this was a mediocre ending at best.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Lords Of Empyre: Swordsman #1

Aug 19, 2020

Alex Paknadel again does a good job giving readers of Empyre a more in-depth look at two of the Event's villains, and as someone new to the Cotati, I appreciated it. Sure, the release's timing feels a little off, but the story and art made up for it. If you want to get a peek into the Cotati Swordsman's mind and see why Quoi would go along with his plan, check this out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Maestro: War & Pax #3

Mar 24, 2021

Maestro War and Pax #3 has a big and messed up wow moment, but there isn't much story progression overall. It's a quick read that looks great, and I am still enjoying the series. I only wish this issue was more than a twist ending with a cliffhanger we know isn't going to happen.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Magnificent Ms. Marvel #14

Sep 9, 2020

The Outlawed story continues here, and Saladin Ahmed does a good job of moving the story forward while giving fans of Ms. Marvel an issue that still centers on what makes the character great. I still am not a fan of Outlawed, but I am glad to have one of my favorite heroes back.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Miles Morales: Spider-Man (2018) #24

Mar 24, 2021

Saladin Ahmed gives Miles Morales (and Kamala Khan) fans a cooldown issue that ends with a Clone Saga cliffhanger. This may not seem like much to those just here for the upcoming story, but longtime readers of both Spider-Man and Ms. Marvel should enjoy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Non-Stop Spider-Man (2021) #2

Apr 17, 2021

Non-Stop Spider-Man promised a fast-paced mystery but instead felt like the book has ADHD. Joe Kelly hasn't set up anything correctly, which leaves the reader feeling disconnected and confused. Chris Bachalo does his best, but the “non-stop” nature of the book isn't doing him any favors either. There's still time to get better, but I don't have much faith after two subpar issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Power Pack (2020) #5

Apr 16, 2021

Power Pack #5 was a great ending to a great mini-series. As long as you like to smile, you will love this book. It's an excellent choice for anyone looking for an all-ages book because it brings out the kid in everyone reading it. I highly recommend it!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Savage Avengers (2019) #19

Mar 24, 2021

Savage Avengers ended up being a middle-of-the-road tie-in to King and Black. It had some okay moments, but overall, it was forgettable and entirely skippable. So, I guess it fits right in with most of what we are getting from this event.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Shang-Chi (2020) #1

Sep 28, 2020

This was a nice start by Gene Luen Yang, but I am afraid it needed to be more to get readers interested. Still, if you like the character of Shang-Chi or the writing of Gene Luen Yang, you should check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Star Wars: War of the Bounty Hunters: Alpha #1

May 3, 2021

The War of the Bounty Hunters is underway, and while this prelude felt rushed to get to the cliffhanger, I had fun with it. The art was great, and after reading it, I am excited about the crossover event.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Taskmaster (2020) #5

Mar 24, 2021

Taskmaster #5 ends Jed Mackay's story, and while the ending is a bit abrupt and forced, it didn't ruin the mini-series for me. It also didn't elevate it, but I can still recommend it for the excellent art and the fun journey that would have spawned a Lethal Weapon-like team-up book in a perfect world.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Rise Of Ultraman (2020) #1

Sep 8, 2020

Ultraman #1 is a great start to Kyle Higgins and Mat Groom's 5-issue mini. If you are not familiar with Ultraman, don't worry, you will not be left behind. Check it out for the great art, intriguing story, and giant Kaiju!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Thor (2020) #13

Mar 17, 2021

Donny Cates gives us the penultimate issue of his Prey arc, and it's damn good! We are in for a huge finale next month, and while most of what we get here sets that up, it's big, nasty fun with a ton of fantastic characters. I can't wait to see Donald Blake get his!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Way of X (2021) #1

Apr 21, 2021

Unfortunately, I doubt Way of X will resonate with the average X-Men fan, and I cannot imagine a new reader picking up issue #1 and understanding what is going on. It took me two reads to see that the identity of the Patchwork Man was Legion from the early mentions, and I didnt understand that Charles was thinking about his son in the early pages until the third read. This isnt an X-Men book for new readers, and I dont know how many more X-Men books hardcore fans can/will support. If Way of X lasts 20+ issues, Ill call it a significant success. Im expecting that well learn that this is a 6 to 12 issue maxi-series. I hope Im mistaken, but Ill enjoy this while it lasts.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Wolverine: Black, White & Blood #1

Nov 3, 2020

Overall, this is a book for Wolverine fans and is worth it more for the art, which is fantastic, than the stories, which are relatively basic fare. I don't think it will win new fans or convert detractors, but I don't think that's the point. Recommended if you already love Wolverine!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More