Weird Science Jim's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Weird Science Marvel Comics Reviews: 68
7.1Avg. Review Rating

5.8
Alien (2021) #1

Mar 22, 2021

Alien #1 is a slow, disappointing start. Philip Kennedy Johnson and Salvador Larroca try to set up the atmosphere more than the characters and story, and it falls flat because of it. I hope it gets better, but such a dull start doesn't make me want or need this book on my pull list yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
All-Out Avengers (2022) #1

Sep 8, 2022

Im excited about this book as it provides readers a cinema homage as well as a relaxed Avengers team. SureArrok makes a pretty awesome villain and how she can consolidate her armythat is reminiscent of an Ant-Man maneuver. Again, this is a fun read and one in which any Avenger fan who wishes to lighten the load of a heavy dialogue comic can get into!

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Amazing Fantasy (2021) #5

Dec 8, 2021

In the end, Kaare Andrews' Amazing Fantasy was easy on the eyes but hard on the brain. This finale attempts to make sense of it all by throwing things at the reader, but it all falls flat. The covers have all been fantastic, though!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #63

Apr 7, 2021

Amazing Spider-Man is a setup issue that felt a little crowded at points as Nick Spencer continues putting his pieces in place for something big down the line.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #80.BEY

Dec 8, 2021

The Amazing Spider-Man #80.BEY is a big issue by the end but is a slog getting there. The issue looks great, but Cody Ziglar seems more intent on writing lame jokes than a gripping plot, and it just feels like a missed opportunity. However, the ending is big enough to recommend finding out what happens, but that's about it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #81

Dec 15, 2021

Amazing Spider-Man #81 kicks off Saladin Ahmed's Beyond story, and it was solid but didn't feel as big as I'd hoped. Carlos Gomez's art was good, but this did more to set up this week's Miles solo book than anything else. Still, I liked seeing Miles meet Ben, I just thought I would love it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #82

Dec 20, 2021

Amazing Spider-Man #82 is more of a one-shot horror story than anything else. That might be okay any other time, but not when Marvel is making fans buy double (or more) the usual amount of issues a month. The art fits the story, but I can't recommend it until I see that this connects to the overall Beyond story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #88

Feb 5, 2022

The art style in this issue isnt my favorite, but it didnt take away from an issue that makes you wonder how far Beyond will go (Marcus is in big trouble and I'm already trying to figure out how to combine his name with Rhizome – Marczome?), who is going to stop them and how will things get fixed afterward.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #88.BEY

Feb 12, 2022

Amazing Spider-Man #88.BEY was not only inconsequential to the overall Beyond story but was just not a good read by itself. It felt like a backdoor pilot for a Slinger's book I can only pray never happens. I liked the art enough, but the character work and story were just plain bad.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Avengers (2018) #44

Apr 7, 2021

Avengers #44 gives us a new Phoenix, and while that's cool, does anyone even care? This ending and the whole arc felt like a means to an end, but at least it's over. Jason Aaron seems like he's in panic mode, turning to spectacle over a story and next up is Heroes Reborn. Hmmm

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Avengers (2018) #45

Apr 22, 2021

This issue encapsulates Jason Aaron's entire Avengers run. It's hardly the King in Black tie-in it promises on the cover, and instead of dealing with the vast thing that just happened in the book, Aaron sets up something else we may get back to later. This book always has its eye on something else, and I think I will finally have to follow suit.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Avengers (2018) #59

Aug 12, 2022

I am a sucker for a new Avengers story, and I must say that I do like seeing homages to older concepts such as Phoenix or Starbrand. Mephisto is a consummate villain in the Marvel universe, and any timeyou can outwit the Devil is alright with me! Perhaps it is my eye for all things comics in knowing the Old West is a hot thing now, but if everyone is on board, then check out what Jason Aaron is doing in Avengers! Itll be interesting to see if there are any time casualties along the way!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Avengers Forever (2021) #1

Dec 20, 2021

Avengers Forever #1 wants to be big, but the formula here feels too familiar to get me excited. Everything looks great, but overall, this was a disappointing start to a book I wanted to love but barely even liked. If things pick up in the next issue, I'll be the first to recommend it, but that isn't the case right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Avengers Forever (2021) #2

Jan 28, 2022

Avengers Forever #2 takes some time (maybe a bit too much?) to show you how great and unique Robbie Reyes Ghost Rider is, but it's such an odd way to go about it. The pacing is way off and while the issue looks great, there isn't much here to progress the overall story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Avengers Forever (2021) #8

Aug 30, 2022

This story is reminiscent of those come to terms movies in how a hero reaches a pit of despair but battles back to be a better version of themselves.  It was a great break to give Thor arguably a more harnessed power without his beloved hammer.  But like any pet with a heart, Thor needs his hammer, and his hammer needs him!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Avengers: 1,000,000 B.C. #1

Aug 20, 2022

I want sharper art..sharper lines, but I am a McFarlane Marvel fan and want to see intricate lighting and artistic webbing no matter the book. This was a great seed planted, and I am a sucker for a #1 issue under any heading, no matter the publisher! Plus, I want to see Red Hulk Star Brand take on Bruce Banners great-great-great-great-great grandfather. Hey, it could happen!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Black Cat (2020) #5

Apr 14, 2021

We finally get to the New York City Thieves Guild Heist, and while it becomes more personal, it felt a bit forced. I am still a fan of This book, but this issue was disappointing after the long wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Black Cat (2020): Infinity Score #1

Dec 10, 2021

Giant-Size Black Cat: Infinity Score #1 is a nice ending to Felicia's solo exploits. While I thought things got a bit too cosmic for the character, Jed MacKay gives fans a twist to show why. C.F. Villa's art was great and while Infinity Stone followers might be a bit let down, this is an excellent issue for Black Cat fans. I am so much more the later so I really enjoyed it!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Black Widow (2020) #1

Sep 1, 2020

I loved this opening issue and can't wait to read more! Kelly Thompson starts her story without bogging it down with over narration and recap, making it feel fresh for new readers and seasoned Black Widow fans alike. It also keeps things moving fast, and when I got to the cliffhanger, I couldn't believe it was over! Elena Casagrande's art was excellent, and this one immediately jumped to the top of my pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Black Widow (2020) #2

Oct 8, 2020

Kelly Thompson continues the mystery of what the hell happened to Natasha, and I am enjoying it. Elena Casagrande's art is excellent, and the story is shaping up to not only be about saving Black Widow but deciding if she should be saved at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Black Widow (2020) #3

Nov 9, 2020

I am enjoying this series and liked this issue a whole lot. Kelly Thompson is pacing this well, and in a story like this, that is crucial. It feels like the right amount of time to get settled into Nat's new life, and now it's time to rip it all away from hermaybe. Elena Casagrande's art is the icing on the cake to a book I enjoy each time it comes out.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Black Widow: Widow's Sting (2020) #1

Oct 27, 2020

Black Widow: Widow's Sting #1 wants to feel like a classic, traditional Black Widow story, but it only succeeds at being bland, generic, and forgettable. It looks good, but there is no reason to buy this with so many actual classic stories available on the Marvel Unlimited app and the comic store shelf.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Captain America Anniversary Tribute (2021) #1

Mar 17, 2021

The amount of artists on this anniversary issue is impressive. Unfortunatley, it turned out to be less than the sum of its parts. There just wasn't any wow factor to this oversize issue, and if you have read these three stories before (which are 100% classics), you may find yourself bored before the end. However, if you haven't read them yet, this might be a good time to jump in, but I'd probably stick to the original classics.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Captain Marvel (2019) #27

Mar 17, 2021

Kelly Thompson continues writing Captain Marvel for Carol's fans, and as one, I am enjoying it. This issue sets up a big thing by the end but is more about helping out a friend who is down in the dumps, even if she doesn't think she wants help. Sure, it's a pity party, but it was nice all the same.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Champions (2020) #1

Oct 5, 2020

Champions #1 probably won't change anyone's mind over the Outlawed storyline. Eve Ewing does, however, set up a cool team that's in the fight for their lives against known and unknown enemies. To get there, though, the reader will have to get through a bunch of recap, but the Simone Di Meo art makes it all look great. Overall, this is a decent issue to get everyone up to speed, and I will be back next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Champions (2020) #5

Mar 17, 2021

While I was not a fan of the Outlawed story from the getgo, Eve Ewing does a nice job ending her time on the book. We even get a sneak peek of what is in store coming up from Danny lore, and it looks like a lot of fun coming our way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Daredevil (2019) #22

Sep 23, 2020

Chip Zdarsky and Francesco Mobili give Daredevil fans a setup issue, and while some may need a breather after all the crazy shit that's gone on in this book recently, it's not “must-read” material. It's “should-read” for sure, and I can't wait to see what happens with Daredevil from here on out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Daredevil (2019) #23

Oct 21, 2020

Daredevil is probably going to jail, and while I can't wait for the trial to begin, Chip Zdarsky is making the lead-up to it a "must-read." Add Marco Checchetto's stellar art, and I don't know why everyone isn't reading this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Daredevil (2019) #29

Apr 14, 2021

Daredevil is my favorite ongoing series out right now, and this issue should be able to convince anyone why. Chip Zdarsky's character work shines, and while most writers try for big wow moments, he goes bigger but in a way that doesn't feel forced. Everyone should be reading this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daredevil (2019) Annual #1

Aug 26, 2020

Chip Zdarsky changes the game for his Daredevil run without wiping out the importance of the preceding issues at all. No matter what you think of the "One More Day" on the cover (or Annuals), I think you will be surprised by what Zdarsky adds to his story, and I can't wait to see more. If you haven't been reading this run, there is no better time to start than now.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Dark Ages (2021) #2

Oct 8, 2021

I think the writing and pacing in this issue was a little weaker than the first, but I dont think anyonewho was on board for the concept should be shaken off continuing with the book for now. Coellosart is solid and is worth slowing down to appreciate. I look forward to seeing what Taylor can donow that things seem to be set up for the rest of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Darkhawk: Heart of the Hawk #1

Apr 13, 2021

I went from knowing next to nothing about Nighthawk to looking forward to a future series from this 30th-anniversary issue. ‘Nuff said!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Deadpool (2019) #6

Aug 5, 2020

Deadpool #6 is a fun road trip to Krakoa with great art and a bunch of laughs. Deadpool may not have gotten what he wanted out of it, but I did, and I hope that continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Devil's Reign (2021) #1

Dec 10, 2021

Devil's Reign #1 was a mild disappointment, and as a huge Zdarsky Daredevil fan, that sucks. However, I think I've come to expect a lot, and this felt rushed and a bit forced at points. Nevertheless, it looks fantastic thanks to Marco Chechetto's art, and while I was a little bit down here, I expect things to improve quickly.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Empyre #5

Aug 11, 2020

Empyre #5 is the penultimate issue to an event that should have been nothing more than an Avengers/Fantastic Four crossover. Al Ewing and Dan Slott have tried to convince readers otherwise, but their big talk can't hide their little story. We do get a nice bit here for fans of Hulkling and Wiccan, but it felt more like a plot device than something to celebrate, and while I did like Valerio Schiti's art, I can't recommend this to anyone.I am looking forward to the next issue, but only because it's the last one.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Empyre #6

Sep 2, 2020

Al Ewing and Dan Slott finish their “Event” by forcing an end to every threat, sometimes off-panel. Because of that, this finale makes the whole story feel smaller, and that's not sticking the landing. The art was great, but did we need 30+ issues to get a Kree/Skrull Alliance? If you think so, then you might be less angry than me at the moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Eternals (2021) #1

Jan 7, 2021

Eternals #1 has a simple story to kick off the series that manages to fill in a ton of blanks for new readers in an engaging and natural way. I like the art, the style, the tone, and the weirdly cosmic direction thats a refreshing break from the standard Marvel books out these days.If you can unsee Steve Buscemi as an immortal 12-year-old girl and you like weird, trippy sci fi, youll like this issue a lot.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Excalibur (2019) #13

Oct 21, 2020

Excalibur #13 gets us where we need to go by the end, and Tini Howard gives readers a couple of cool things on the way as well. R. B. Silva's art was good throughout, but I did have problems with the pacing, mostly from the heavy use of dialogue. This issue wasn't a deal-breaker by any stretch, but it was my least favorite X of Swords issue so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Hawkeye: Kate Bishop (2021) #4

Feb 13, 2022

This whole series has been a train wreck, but it at least started out as a fun ride. Thats not the case any longer as the only timer that matters for me is the countdown to this book being over!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Heroes Reborn (2021) #1

May 3, 2021

Heroes Reborn is off to a good start with excellent art, fun mash-ups, and an intriguing story. If you planned on sitting this one out, you might want to check this out because I was surprised how much I liked it. Let's hope that feeling continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Iron Man (2020) #8

Apr 14, 2021

Christopher Cantwell shifts the focus entirely on Patsy Walker, and while her fans may appreciate it, it was a miss for me. Stories focusing on mental health are challenging since we all have different experiences, but this felt rushed and oversimplified. Besides that, it didn't progress the overall plot much, and as Patsy said herself, “Where the Hell is Tony?”

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Juggernaut (2020) #1

Sep 23, 2020

Fabien Nicieza and Ron Garney give Juggernaut fans, and those looking to become one, a street-level book that provides us with a peek at the man behind the Unstoppable.” It may not be what you expected, but it's better because of that.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Juggernaut (2020) #5

Jan 7, 2021

Juggernaut #5 wraps up the arc in a neat little bow, answering most of the mysteries and setting up the potential for a Juggernaut team to convert the wayward. The art has been excellent all through the arc, but while the big questions get answered, the answers were less than satisfying. Compared to the first issue, this was a mediocre ending at best.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Lords Of Empyre: Swordsman #1

Aug 19, 2020

Alex Paknadel again does a good job giving readers of Empyre a more in-depth look at two of the Event's villains, and as someone new to the Cotati, I appreciated it. Sure, the release's timing feels a little off, but the story and art made up for it. If you want to get a peek into the Cotati Swordsman's mind and see why Quoi would go along with his plan, check this out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Maestro: War & Pax #3

Mar 24, 2021

Maestro War and Pax #3 has a big and messed up wow moment, but there isn't much story progression overall. It's a quick read that looks great, and I am still enjoying the series. I only wish this issue was more than a twist ending with a cliffhanger we know isn't going to happen.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Magnificent Ms. Marvel #14

Sep 9, 2020

The Outlawed story continues here, and Saladin Ahmed does a good job of moving the story forward while giving fans of Ms. Marvel an issue that still centers on what makes the character great. I still am not a fan of Outlawed, but I am glad to have one of my favorite heroes back.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Miles Morales: Spider-Man (2018) #24

Mar 24, 2021

Saladin Ahmed gives Miles Morales (and Kamala Khan) fans a cooldown issue that ends with a Clone Saga cliffhanger. This may not seem like much to those just here for the upcoming story, but longtime readers of both Spider-Man and Ms. Marvel should enjoy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Miles Morales: Spider-Man (2018) #33

Dec 15, 2021

Miles Morales Spider-Man #33 is a good issue that sets up a big (final?) confrontation between Miles and the Assessor. While an extended fight scene dominates the issue, Michele Bandini's art and more Shift than we've ever gotten makes this worth reading for fans of this book, even if this feels like we just got on the bus to the fireworks factory.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Non-Stop Spider-Man (2021) #2

Apr 17, 2021

Non-Stop Spider-Man promised a fast-paced mystery but instead felt like the book has ADHD. Joe Kelly hasn't set up anything correctly, which leaves the reader feeling disconnected and confused. Chris Bachalo does his best, but the “non-stop” nature of the book isn't doing him any favors either. There's still time to get better, but I don't have much faith after two subpar issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Power Pack (2020) #5

Apr 16, 2021

Power Pack #5 was a great ending to a great mini-series. As long as you like to smile, you will love this book. It's an excellent choice for anyone looking for an all-ages book because it brings out the kid in everyone reading it. I highly recommend it!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Savage Avengers (2019) #19

Mar 24, 2021

Savage Avengers ended up being a middle-of-the-road tie-in to King and Black. It had some okay moments, but overall, it was forgettable and entirely skippable. So, I guess it fits right in with most of what we are getting from this event.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.5
Savage Spider-Man (2022) #1

Feb 5, 2022

At the end of Non-Stop, Peter was injected with A+, and instead of getting smart, he turned into a monstrosity! Hes a Man-Spider now and its disgusting, but not in a fun way. He and Baron Zemo are stuck on the Island of Misfit Monsters and while Zemo talks trash, Spider-Man is feral and goingSAVAGE!!! We do see the bad guys behind it all and their hateful plan, but the only thing worth seeing is Rafa Sandovals art. Sure, I like this issue more than most of Non-Stop, but that is a low bar right there!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Shang-Chi (2020) #1

Sep 28, 2020

This was a nice start by Gene Luen Yang, but I am afraid it needed to be more to get readers interested. Still, if you like the character of Shang-Chi or the writing of Gene Luen Yang, you should check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Silk (2022) #1

Jan 31, 2022

Overall, this was a good (re)start for Silk and was a lot more fun than I expected it to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Star Wars: Crimson Reign (2021) #2

Feb 5, 2022

Star Wars: Crimson Reign #2 gives readers a bit of bounty hunter action with Ochi and Deathstick, but having a huge plot point from the Bounty Hunters series happening here feels odd. It looks great throughout, but this series has felt smaller than I thought it was going to be, but maybe that's me and my crazy brain hyping it up too much. Hopefully, there will be more to hook me in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Star Wars: War of the Bounty Hunters: Alpha #1

May 3, 2021

The War of the Bounty Hunters is underway, and while this prelude felt rushed to get to the cliffhanger, I had fun with it. The art was great, and after reading it, I am excited about the crossover event.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Strange Academy (2020) #14

Dec 15, 2021

Strange Academy #14 Review continues the story despite the Death of Doctor Strange, and by the end of the issue, this book might be back on track. I love everything about the kids in this book, but delays hit this book hard, and at points, it felt like we were getting the “field trip of the month” every issue. This still had that lingering feeling, but big things are afoot, and I am here for all of them.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Taskmaster (2020) #5

Mar 24, 2021

Taskmaster #5 ends Jed Mackay's story, and while the ending is a bit abrupt and forced, it didn't ruin the mini-series for me. It also didn't elevate it, but I can still recommend it for the excellent art and the fun journey that would have spawned a Lethal Weapon-like team-up book in a perfect world.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Death of Doctor Strange #5

Jan 27, 2022

The Death of Doctor Strange #5 was a good and fitting end to a cool event. It's a shame that Marvel spoiled the ending ahead of time, but Jed MacKay provides enough twists and turns to make it more about the journey… and the journey really is only just beginning!

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
The Death of Doctor Strange: Blade #1

Dec 11, 2021

The Death of Doctor Strange: Blade is an unnecessary tie-in issue that gets stuck between the event and showing more of Vampire Nation and does neither justice. Danny Lore gets very wordy for an issue without a lot going on, and even Dylan Burnett's art can't save it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Rise Of Ultraman (2020) #1

Sep 8, 2020

Ultraman #1 is a great start to Kyle Higgins and Mat Groom's 5-issue mini. If you are not familiar with Ultraman, don't worry, you will not be left behind. Check it out for the great art, intriguing story, and giant Kaiju!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Thor (2020) #13

Mar 17, 2021

Donny Cates gives us the penultimate issue of his Prey arc, and it's damn good! We are in for a huge finale next month, and while most of what we get here sets that up, it's big, nasty fun with a ton of fantastic characters. I can't wait to see Donald Blake get his!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Ultimate Spider-Man #8

Jan 31, 2022

This was a good start to the second arc of Ultimate Spider-Man with Bendis actually speeding things up a bit to establish Peters status quo and a new focus. Mark Bagleys art is great as usual, but he even steps things up a bit in Peters dream sequence which looked fittingly unique and awesome.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Venom (2021) #7

Apr 14, 2022

Venom #6 continues Ram V's slow-paced Dylan story. While that's not necessarily bad, I am still trying to grab onto something in this run to make me care, and watching a biker gang fight isn't it. Maybe the cliffhanger will lead to that, but only time will tell. Again, the art is excellent, but this story needs more forward momentum before I can recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Wastelanders (2021): Hawkeye #1

Dec 20, 2021

Wastelanders: Hawkeye #1 gives fans an Old Man side story that might not be essential but was still enjoyable. Ethan Sacks has fun with it all, while Ibraim Roberson's art makes it all look great.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Wastelanders (2021): Wolverine #1

Dec 13, 2021

Wastelanders: Wolverine #1 is not a necessary read for Old Man Logan fans, and while that's disappointing, the issue also wasn't very good. The paper-thin plot only serves to set up an obvious twist at the end, especially if you are an Old Man Logan fan. The art was good, but that's about all the positives I can give you.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Way of X (2021) #1

Apr 21, 2021

Unfortunately, I doubt Way of X will resonate with the average X-Men fan, and I cannot imagine a new reader picking up issue #1 and understanding what is going on. It took me two reads to see that the identity of the Patchwork Man was Legion from the early mentions, and I didnt understand that Charles was thinking about his son in the early pages until the third read. This isnt an X-Men book for new readers, and I dont know how many more X-Men books hardcore fans can/will support. If Way of X lasts 20+ issues, Ill call it a significant success. Im expecting that well learn that this is a 6 to 12 issue maxi-series. I hope Im mistaken, but Ill enjoy this while it lasts.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Wolverine: Black, White & Blood #1

Nov 3, 2020

Overall, this is a book for Wolverine fans and is worth it more for the art, which is fantastic, than the stories, which are relatively basic fare. I don't think it will win new fans or convert detractors, but I don't think that's the point. Recommended if you already love Wolverine!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More