Weird Science Jim's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Weird Science Marvel Comics Reviews: 16
7.5Avg. Review Rating

9.5
Black Widow (2020) #1

Sep 1, 2020

I loved this opening issue and can't wait to read more! Kelly Thompson starts her story without bogging it down with over narration and recap, making it feel fresh for new readers and seasoned Black Widow fans alike. It also keeps things moving fast, and when I got to the cliffhanger, I couldn't believe it was over! Elena Casagrande's art was excellent, and this one immediately jumped to the top of my pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Black Widow (2020) #2

Oct 8, 2020

Kelly Thompson continues the mystery of what the hell happened to Natasha, and I am enjoying it. Elena Casagrande's art is excellent, and the story is shaping up to not only be about saving Black Widow but deciding if she should be saved at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Black Widow: Widow's Sting (2020) #1

Oct 27, 2020

Black Widow: Widow's Sting #1 wants to feel like a classic, traditional Black Widow story, but it only succeeds at being bland, generic, and forgettable. It looks good, but there is no reason to buy this with so many actual classic stories available on the Marvel Unlimited app and the comic store shelf.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Champions (2020) #1

Oct 5, 2020

Champions #1 probably won't change anyone's mind over the Outlawed storyline. Eve Ewing does, however, set up a cool team that's in the fight for their lives against known and unknown enemies. To get there, though, the reader will have to get through a bunch of recap, but the Simone Di Meo art makes it all look great. Overall, this is a decent issue to get everyone up to speed, and I will be back next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Daredevil (2019) #22

Sep 23, 2020

Chip Zdarsky and Francesco Mobili give Daredevil fans a setup issue, and while some may need a breather after all the crazy shit that's gone on in this book recently, it's not “must-read” material. It's “should-read” for sure, and I can't wait to see what happens with Daredevil from here on out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Daredevil (2019) #23

Oct 21, 2020

Daredevil is probably going to jail, and while I can't wait for the trial to begin, Chip Zdarsky is making the lead-up to it a "must-read." Add Marco Checchetto's stellar art, and I don't know why everyone isn't reading this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daredevil (2019) Annual #1

Aug 26, 2020

Chip Zdarsky changes the game for his Daredevil run without wiping out the importance of the preceding issues at all. No matter what you think of the "One More Day" on the cover (or Annuals), I think you will be surprised by what Zdarsky adds to his story, and I can't wait to see more. If you haven't been reading this run, there is no better time to start than now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Deadpool (2019) #6

Aug 5, 2020

Deadpool #6 is a fun road trip to Krakoa with great art and a bunch of laughs. Deadpool may not have gotten what he wanted out of it, but I did, and I hope that continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Empyre #5

Aug 11, 2020

Empyre #5 is the penultimate issue to an event that should have been nothing more than an Avengers/Fantastic Four crossover. Al Ewing and Dan Slott have tried to convince readers otherwise, but their big talk can't hide their little story. We do get a nice bit here for fans of Hulkling and Wiccan, but it felt more like a plot device than something to celebrate, and while I did like Valerio Schiti's art, I can't recommend this to anyone.I am looking forward to the next issue, but only because it's the last one.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Empyre #6

Sep 2, 2020

Al Ewing and Dan Slott finish their “Event” by forcing an end to every threat, sometimes off-panel. Because of that, this finale makes the whole story feel smaller, and that's not sticking the landing. The art was great, but did we need 30+ issues to get a Kree/Skrull Alliance? If you think so, then you might be less angry than me at the moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Excalibur (2019) #13

Oct 21, 2020

Excalibur #13 gets us where we need to go by the end, and Tini Howard gives readers a couple of cool things on the way as well. R. B. Silva's art was good throughout, but I did have problems with the pacing, mostly from the heavy use of dialogue. This issue wasn't a deal-breaker by any stretch, but it was my least favorite X of Swords issue so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Juggernaut (2020) #1

Sep 23, 2020

Fabien Nicieza and Ron Garney give Juggernaut fans, and those looking to become one, a street-level book that provides us with a peek at the man behind the Unstoppable.” It may not be what you expected, but it's better because of that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Lords Of Empyre: Swordsman #1

Aug 19, 2020

Alex Paknadel again does a good job giving readers of Empyre a more in-depth look at two of the Event's villains, and as someone new to the Cotati, I appreciated it. Sure, the release's timing feels a little off, but the story and art made up for it. If you want to get a peek into the Cotati Swordsman's mind and see why Quoi would go along with his plan, check this out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Magnificent Ms. Marvel #14

Sep 9, 2020

The Outlawed story continues here, and Saladin Ahmed does a good job of moving the story forward while giving fans of Ms. Marvel an issue that still centers on what makes the character great. I still am not a fan of Outlawed, but I am glad to have one of my favorite heroes back.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Shang-Chi (2020) #1

Sep 28, 2020

This was a nice start by Gene Luen Yang, but I am afraid it needed to be more to get readers interested. Still, if you like the character of Shang-Chi or the writing of Gene Luen Yang, you should check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Rise Of Ultraman (2020) #1

Sep 8, 2020

Ultraman #1 is a great start to Kyle Higgins and Mat Groom's 5-issue mini. If you are not familiar with Ultraman, don't worry, you will not be left behind. Check it out for the great art, intriguing story, and giant Kaiju!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

More