Adil Syed's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Batman Universe Reviews: 38
6.0Avg. Review Rating

7.0
Batgirl (2016) #14

Aug 24, 2017

This issue is a must read for those who are ardent shippers of the Dick-Barbara relationship or for those who enjoy Bat-Family history.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batgirl (2016) #15

Sep 28, 2017

In my opinion, the second issue of "The Summer of Lies" story arc doesn't quite build on the momentum established in the previous issue. One of the brightest spots in the first issue was the dynamic between Batgirl and Nightwing, and that isn't quite captured the same way in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batgirl (2016) #16

Oct 26, 2017

After a promising start, the Summer of Lies story arc has had a somewhat underwhelming middle act. There are still quite a few plot threads to tie up in the next issue. Of course, we are all eager to see how the latest potential development in the Babs-Dick relationship plays out. Hopefully Larson can tie up the loose ends and end the story with a definitive conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Batgirl (2016) #17

Nov 23, 2017

The conclusion of the Summer of Lies doesn't live up to the potential I felt it had after reading the first issue. The storyline with Ainsley ended up being less emotional than I thought it would be because I still don't know why Barbara or Dick feel guilty or responsible for what happened. There also wasn't a lot of synergy between this story and what was happening in other DC titles. I also felt that including the flashbacks made the present day story feel too rushed for four issues. Since the flashbacks were an integral part of the story, it would have been beneficial to expand the arc beyond four issues. Doing so would have also allowed the creative team to explore more of the early Barbara and Dick relationship that was the biggest bright spot of this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batgirl (2016) #18

Dec 28, 2017

In my opinion, this is a holiday issue that can't overcome the plot holes to deliver the light-hearted fun and holiday spirit that comes naturally to this collection of characters. However, the gorgeous artwork and colors give the issue a huge boost and is definitely worth a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Batgirl (2016) #19

Jan 25, 2018

This issue really didn't resonate with me. I struggled to get into the story and found the inconsistencies and plot holes to be distracting. In the next issue we should get answers about Penguin's potential ulterior motives as well as more information about Qadir's top secret job. So far we have no idea what the larger plan here is, but I'd be willing to bet that Penguin is trying to benefit somehow.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman and the Signal #1

Jan 4, 2018

This is a steady start to a mini-series dedicated to exploring the mystery of Duke's powers as well as the presence of other metahumans in Gotham. If you are like me and want to see Duke's character developed further, as well as explore what Gotham would be like during the day, this book is definitely for you. I hope we get more stories that build this character's history and present after this mini-series is over. Just as Nightwing has Bludhaven and Batgirl has Burnside, it would be great if Duke gets his own area of Gotham, but still interacted with the rest of the Bat-Family.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman and the Signal #2

Feb 22, 2018

This mini-series is drawing close to its conclusion with many questions still unanswered and a few concepts left unexplored. Unfortunately, this miniseries seems to be turning into the kind of generic detective story we see as filler in other comic series. Hopefully, it can finish off strong.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman and the Signal #3

Apr 26, 2018

When I got to the end of this story, I had to ask myself, What was the point?. While this three-issue arc is a decent detective story, I'm not sure it does anything more than that.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #17

Mar 1, 2018

Unfortunately, in my opinion, this is not a very well crafted issue. Many of the characters' actions do not match their motivations and there are more than a few inconsistencies. On the positive side, we are starting to see more characters from the classic TV show make appearances. That being said, Payback as the big reveal doesn't really do it for me especially when it's heavily hinted at that it is Kenny Stanton's father and not Kenny himself. It is very doubtful that Payback's motivations won't be fully explained in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #18

Mar 29, 2018

This issue was kind of underwhelming in my opinion. I've wanted to like this story because I've enjoyed Jurgens' work with Superman, but I haven't really been able to get past the plot holes. Between Stalker's quest to feed to his people and the emotional story of Kenneth Stanton's life, it feels like this story should have much more heart than it does. I expect the next issue will explore how Batman and Ten escape Payback. I'm sure we will also see Terry's reaction to Bruce letting Matt go out as Robin without consulting him. I'd also like to see some progression in the subplot regarding Melanie/Ten's relationship with Terry.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #19

Apr 26, 2018

A solid conclusion to a story arc that has had its ups and downs and perhaps went on a bit too long. This issue and story arc will always be remembered for being the first time we see Matt as Robin. It's still unclear as to whether this will be a full-time thing, but I'd guess that Matt retains the title of Robin going forward. I'm looking forward to seeing where we go with the next story arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #20

May 24, 2018

A solid start to what promises to be a very interesting story for Terry and Matt.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #21

Jun 28, 2018

A simple but visually appealing and fun read that keeps an interesting story moving along smoothly.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #22

Jul 26, 2018

An unevenly paced issue with continuity errors that continues to build the suspense for the conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: White Knight #1

Oct 4, 2017

People have speculated that this could be this generation's version of The Dark Knight Returns. If this first issue is any indication of what comes next, I would go so far as to say that this might even be better. This series has the chance to be to Batman comics what The Dark Knight is to Batman movies. I can't wait to read more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: White Knight #2

Nov 1, 2017

In the next issue(s), I think it's worth keeping an eye out for any mention of Robin and continuing to watch Jack to see how pure his motives really are. He seems to want to make positive change, but he's willing to use questionable methods to achieve it. I guess this makes him no different from Batman in the end. Perhaps that's the point he's trying to make.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: White Knight #3

Dec 6, 2017

This issue leaves us on a cliffhanger with Marian Drews entering a room filled with Gotham's greatest villains. Murphy has already said that more of her story will be revealed in the coming issues so I'm excited to learn more about her character as well as how she could potentially throw a wrench into Napier's plans. I'm also eager to see how Napier's partnership with Duke turns out as well as what his next move will be. It will also be interesting to see if Batman's relationship with his allies further deteriorates given his fragile mental and emotional state.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: White Knight #4

Jan 3, 2018

Obviously the big cliffhanger from this issue is the revelation that Victor Fries' father might have been a Nazi defector who had some kind of partnership with Bruce's parents. I'm going to wait until the next issue to get more information before I comment on that further, but suffice it to say that I am highly intrigued. As it is, I think I've said more than enough. In my opinion, this is the strongest issue thus far in a series that is an instant classic in the Batman mythos. Don't wait to read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: White Knight #5

Feb 7, 2018

The book concludes with major changes to Batman's role in the story. He has uncovered his familys association with Fries, he is now an outlaw in the eyes of the GCPD and his allies are slowly distancing themselves from him. I have to think we are close to the scene we saw in the first issue where Napier visits Batman in a prison cell. I'm looking forward to learning more about the Wayne family in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: White Knight #6

Mar 7, 2018

Yet another issue that continues a riveting narrative with gorgeous art. This issue has everything; including an incredible car chase sequence, a brutal fistfight, characters coming to terms with the consequences of their own actions and a fresh take on a classic villain. That's all without mentioning the cliffhanger and the potential return of the greatest villain of them all. An all-time classic Batman story moves gracefully into its final act.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: White Knight #7

Apr 4, 2018

One of the best issues in the series thus far. I highly recommend this book to any comic book fan. The next issue will sadly be the final issue of this story. Feel free to sound off in the comments or on Twitter about your thoughts on this story and any predictions for the final issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: White Knight #8

May 9, 2018

The conclusion to one of the greatest Batman stories ever. It's required reading for every Batman and comic book fan. This story features a fresh interpretation of Batman and Joker engaging with complex political and social issues while simultaneously exploring the natures of their own relationships. There's also enough action, humor, and romance to keep readers engaged. It's a timely and impressive addition to the Batman mythos.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Heroes In Crisis #1

Sep 27, 2018

A must read issue that delivers on the hype and sets the stage for what promises to be a thrilling story.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Nightwing (2016) #46

Jul 5, 2018

A story about the dangers of technology and mass surveillance that doesn't really live up to it's potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Nightwing (2016) #47

Aug 2, 2018

An action-packed issue filled with tech-related puns, plot inconsistencies, and technology that pushes the boundary of belief. It's ostensibly the finale to the Bleeding Edge story arc but doesn't conclude it in a satisfying way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #48

Sep 6, 2018

A superbly crafted issue with a very intriguing premise that delivers action that will have you on the edge of your seat.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nightwing (2016) #49

Sep 20, 2018

An anticlimactic conclusion that leaves many plot threads unresolved, but still features enough action and character moments to keep a reader entertained.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Nightwing (2016) #50

Oct 4, 2018

This is an issue with some great art and a story that feels inorganic and forced in so many ways. While I didn't always enjoy every part of it, it's still a shame Percy did not get to finish his story the way he wanted.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Nightwing (2016) Annual #1

Aug 30, 2018

An issue filled with clunky tech speak, bad puns, awkward dialogue, a poor characterization of the main characters, a heavy handed approach to the dangers of technology and a plot that is just spinning its wheels. Give this story arc a pass and pick up Percy's run on Green Arrow instead.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Teen Titans (2016) #20

Jul 27, 2018

A slower and more conservative story than the Teen Titans special issue. It doesn't take many chances, but it establishes the team and sets the stage for the main antagonist going forwards.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Teen Titans (2016) #22

Sep 21, 2018

The Roundhouse subplot lacks the emotional resonance it should have, but Swerve and the team growing together make this an issue that is worth a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans (2016): Special #1

Jun 29, 2018

A delightful issue that re-introduces key members of the Teen Titans while giving readers something more than just a primer for what lies ahead. A wonderful look into the minds of three sidekicks at crucial points in their careers. I wish there was a second special to introduce readers to the other lesser known members of the team, but I guess that will just happen in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Trinity (2016) #13

Sep 22, 2017

Not every meal you want in life has to be at a five star restaurant. Sometimes you just want a nice solid burger and fries. Thats kind of how I feel about this issue. Its a solid, but unspectacular issue. It sticks to developing the story line and doesnt make any mistakes in the narrative or art. Id personally like to see a story line involving both Trinities without magical influence, but this story arc is doing a decent job of working the magical element into things. In some ways it is reminiscent of the Justice League Dark animated movie that came out earlier this year.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Trinity (2016) #14

Oct 20, 2017

In my opinion, the plot appears to be unraveling a bit in this issue. However, the dialogue and character dynamics continue to be very strong aspects of this arc. The art continues to be excellent and there's also lots of great action and fight sequences. I'm optimistic that the arc can close on a higher note and tie up some loose ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Trinity (2016) #15

Nov 17, 2017

A lot of the fun character moments present in previous issues are absent in this final issue. There are also numerous plot holes and inconsistencies that make this issue get a lower rating than it should get. I hate to give such a low rating because I really appreciate the incredible amounts of hard work and dedication that comic book creators have to put in, but I really feel like there are some glaring problems with this issue and story that I cannot ignore.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Trinity (2016) #16

Dec 22, 2017

Not a lot of holiday spirit or payoff in this one shot story. It feels like a missed opportunity because this is a team book and Deadshot's relationship with his daughter is one of the more complex parent-child relationships in the DC Universe. I'm interested to see what a new creative team will bring to this series starting in 2018.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Trinity (2016) #17

Jan 19, 2018

Overall, this is a safe but unspectacular opening to a new story arc. The mystery of what is happening with Skartaris and Warlord is enough to keep me interested but there isn't anything here that truly amazes.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More