Alex Bisignaro's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comicsverse Reviews: 37
8.5Avg. Review Rating

9.2
Astonishing X-Men (2017) #1

Jul 25, 2017

ASTONISHING X-MEN #1 is a fantastic first issue. While a bit chaotic at times, Charles Soule assembles a unique cast in an intense situation. Jim Cheung's artwork assists this story with its beauty and pristine detail.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batgirl (2016) #14

Aug 23, 2017

BATGIRL #14 is the beginning of "Summer of Lies." In this issue, we learn about a new past between Barbara and Dick. Hope Larson gives us confusing romance and a bit of a murder mystery, while Wildgoose and Lopes give us very cohesive artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Champions #5

Feb 1, 2017

CHAMPIONS #5 continues to build upon the morals of our characters while bringing real world issues into the mix. Humberto Ramos and Edgar Delgado's art is as fun and expressive as ever, complimenting Mark Waid's storytelling wonderfully.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Civil War II #8

Dec 29, 2016

CIVIL WAR II #8 delivers beautiful art of epic proportions but sadly falters a bit with its overall conclusion. Bendis' final battle is missing some elements, but the repercussions should leave readers wanting to see more of the unraveled threads in this tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
East of West #30

Dec 29, 2016

If you've been interested in where this story has been going, you're going to enjoy this issue tremendously. It once again makes War, Conquest, and Famine relevant with purpose, and their aged appearancesonly make them appeareven more deadly. In Hickman style, there are many plot lines that are being addressed slowly. But if his reputation of writing impressive epics continuesin this series, it's safe to say that all of our questions will be satisfactorilyanswered inthe conclusion of “The Apocalypse: Year Three.” Based on what issue #30 shows me, I believe we as fans are about to witnessa true war to end all wars.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Gamora #1

Dec 21, 2016

GAMORA #1 isn't the most breathtaking first issue, but it sets the stage to make Gamora an even deeper and thought-provoking character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gamora #2

Jan 18, 2017

GAMORA #2 isn't as interesting as the first issue in regards to plot, but it continues to build Gamora's past up and that's important in an origin story like this. I'm disappointed both Thanos and Nebula failto make an appearance in this issue, but the fact Gamora mentions both of them at different times is a sign that their presence in the universe is important. I'm very curious to see where this story arc goes, what with Gamora's mission to find the final heir to the Badoon Royal Empire being temporarily halted by an approaching black hole and all. But, if some of these characters being introduced are going to be sticking around in the series (or eventually the Marvel Universe as a whole), I'm very excited for what's to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Gamora #3

Feb 16, 2017

GAMORA #3 is a solid chapter in this origin story. The artwork from Marco Checchetto and Andres Mossa brings a lot of these characters to life, while Nicole Perlman's writing and characterization of Gamora is absolutely wonderful.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Gamora #4

Mar 22, 2017

GAMORA #4 is another fine installment in Gamora's origin story. The plot Nicole Perlman weaves is filled with such deep and rich characters, and the artwork delivered by Marco Checchetto and Andres Mossa is absolutely stunning.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Infamous Iron Man #4

Jan 25, 2017

INFAMOUS IRON MAN #4 is a fantasticissue. I was hesitant to begin reading this series when it was first announced, but I'm very happy I decided to get on board. Bendis has a knack for writing complexcharacters, and while I found his depiction of Iron Man to be good but slightly over the top, his portrayal of Victor is, in my honest opinion, very unique yet interestingly true to the character. I'm excited to see where this series leads Doctor Doom on his new quest.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Infamous Iron Man #5

Feb 22, 2017

INFAMOUS IRON MAN #5 gives us wonderful dialogue from the many strong characters that have been in this series. Bendis' plot that finds Victor playing the protagonist continues to work, and the artwork from Alex Maleev and Matt Hollingsworth is on point once again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Infamous Iron Man #6

Mar 29, 2017

INFAMOUS IRON MAN #6 has fantastic action and stellar artwork. Brian Michael Bendis continues to take Victor down a path of redemption, while the artwork of Alex Maleev and Chris Hollingsworth makes this journey aesthetically pleasing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Infamous Iron Man #8

May 25, 2017

INFAMOUS IRON MAN #8 is one of the strongest issues in this series. Bendis does an excellent job pacing his plot with dialogue-heavy scenes, and the artwork of Maleev and Hollingsworth assist the tension amongst characters well. This issue is a must.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Infamous Iron Man #9

Jul 2, 2017

INFAMOUS IRON MAN #9 by Brian Michael Bendis is another stellar issue in the series. The plot continues to be incredible. While some of the characterization of minor characters is off, it's very much on point for major characters. The artwork from Alex Maleev and Matt Hollingsworth continues to impress as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Old Man Logan (2016) #13

Nov 16, 2016

Overall OLD MAN LOGAN #13 was just above mediocre. It was everything you can hope to expectin an average issue, where future stories are set up and the overall theme and message are continued. Much of this issue, largely because of the artwork, reminded me of Wolverine during Bendis' HOUSE OF M storyline due to intense flashbacks and universal parallels. OLD MAN LOGAN #13 proves that his greatest hindrances as a character " his troubled mind and twisted past " prove to be what shapes him to be the warrior (or should I say samurai?) he truly is. While I was happy to see this storyline come to its five-month conclusion, it left me itching for more expansion and exploration in the life of Old Man Logan.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Old Man Logan (2016) #14

Nov 30, 2016

Overall, this issue of OLD MAN LOGAN left me wanting. I honestly believethere could have been better plot development and internal dialogue from Logan himself. While I have no idea exactly where the next issue or so will lead, I can't help but think this will be a fast story arc with too many missed opportunities. OLD MAN LOGAN #14was the kind of comic that you can skim through in about five minutes, and while that's not necessarily always awful, this series has too much potential to produce mediocre stories. As I said previously, the potential for the next issue is high, but if it's rushed like this one, I don't foresee the Howling Commandos and Dracula being fully utilized properly.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #16

Jan 4, 2017

OLD MAN LOGAN #16 ends on a cliffhanger that could lead almost anywhere, but it's clear that this series still has staying power. After a mediocre story arc taking place in Romania, OLD MAN LOGAN returns to the Wastelands with compelling art and an intriguing predicament for our protagonist. It's no surprise to me that the artistic break Sorrentino and Maiolo took during the Romanian arc tainted the series, but that's just how comics work. With the inclusion of Alpha Flightadding a nostalgic touch, I'm hopeful to see what Kang's involvement will lead to. I believe it's safe to say that OLD MAN LOGANwill continue its solid run as long as this creative team stays intact.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #18

Feb 16, 2017

OLD MAN LOGAN #18 concludes the "Return to The Wastelands" storyline with a reveal that is both obvious and surprising. Jeff Lemire's utilization of other 616 Marvel characters is refreshing, and the artwork of Andrea Sorrentino and Marcelo Maiolo continues to be captivating. If you're a fan of The Wastelands, you're going to love this issue, especially its conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Old Man Logan (2016) #19

Mar 8, 2017

OLD MAN LOGAN #19 is part one of "Gone Real Bad." It's a fun issue that brings on the semi-new artwork of Filipe Andrade and Jordan Boyd. Jeff Lemire's dialogue is absolutely wonderful, and the guest stars make this issue extremely entertaining.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Old Man Logan (2016) #20

Mar 29, 2017

OLD MAN LOGAN #20 concludes "Gone Real Bad" by sending Logan to the past! Jeff Lemire's plot devices are brilliant, and the artwork from Filipe Andrade and Jordan Boyd create a very rough and serious tone. This issue is a must!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Old Man Logan (2016) #21

Apr 15, 2017

OLD MAN LOGAN #21 is a somewhat emotional issue that takes Logan through his past lives. Writer Jeff Lemire crafts another great comic, and artists Eric Nguyen and Andres Mossa portray Lemire's words wonderfully.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Old Man Logan (2016) #24

Jun 7, 2017

OLD MAN LOGAN #24 is a touching issue. Jeff Lemire writes some tearjerking scenes. While the artwork from Eric Nguyen and Andres Mossa is choppy at times with characters, the overall tones and shades work for the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Old Man Logan (2016) #25

Jun 16, 2017

OLD MAN LOGAN #25 hits the ground running as the new creative team of Ed Brisson, Mike Deodato, and Frank Martin take over. The characterization is spot on and the art adds a new twist to the series. While the plot is a bit overused at this point in OLD MAN LOGAN, the potential is high.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Royal City #1

Mar 2, 2017

ROYAL CITY #1 by Jeff Lemire is a heavy start to what's hopefully going to be a long and prosperous series. This issue focuses heavily on characterizing the Pike family, and the art Lemire produces alongside his fantastic dialogue is raw and emotional. Definitely give this series a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sex Criminals #17

Mar 16, 2017

SEX CRIMINALS #17 has some of Matt Fraction's funniest writing, and the artwork of Chip Zdarsky is as on point as ever. The characterization of Kegelface is great, and the story being told from her perspective is a solid change of pace.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Mighty Captain Marvel #1

Jan 18, 2017

Despite my personal gripe with the ranger scene and the assumed gripes new fans will have with the lack of introduction, THE MIGHTY CAPTAIN MARVEL #1 is a solid first issue. I'm happy that Marvel is continuing to have a woman write this title, as I believe the representation in that department is important, especially with a popular character like Carol. If this series can build upon Alpha Flight and continue to make it a relevant space team, I foresee a lot of potential in its relevancy within the Marvel Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Walking Dead #161

Dec 8, 2016

Overall, THE WALKING DEAD #161 is very much a setup issue. That isn't to say it is a filler piece or one you can breeze over, but rather it is an issue thatplaces characters in integral positions that will allow this series as a whole to continue going. Rather than focus on one story arc at a time, we see Kirkman and Adlard always building and expanding, and that's very much evident in this issue. Despite death's lack of shock value (we get it in other ways), I was pleased with this issue. Some of it actually caught me off guard because of how smoothly things went. But that's what I enjoy about Robert Kirkman: he keeps you on your toes. It's just a bit morose to realize that surprise in this series comes from a character living rather than dying.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Walking Dead #163

Feb 3, 2017

For Image's 25th anniversary, THE WALKING DEAD #163 has the looming dread that fans have grown to love about this series. The artwork from Adlard is as compelling as ever, and Kirkman's plot appears to be capable of going in any direction.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Walking Dead #166

Apr 8, 2017

THE WALKING DEAD #166 furthers the drama as the fate of Andrea is slowly revealed. Robert Kirkman's characterization is golden, and his plot continues to add threads. Charlie Adlard's depictions of raw emotions is absolutely stunning as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Walking Dead #167

May 5, 2017

THE WALKING DEAD #167 deals with the consequences of Andrea's heroic actions while saving Eugene. This is perhaps the saddest issue of the series, but it will be one you read over and over again. Kirkman's dialogue is on point and Adlard's artwork is so raw and emotional.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
The Walking Dead #168

Jun 13, 2017

THE WALKING DEAD #168 is a transition issue that fans of THE WALKING DEAD should be accustomed to. Robert Kirkman writes Negan flawless, and the artwork of Charlie Adlard paints characters in such emotional manners that it feels like they're really alive.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
The Walking Dead #169

Jul 9, 2017

THE WALKING DEAD #169 is a needed issue that transitions the plot from one phase to the next. Robert Kirkman reveals what he's been planning, and it will have long-term fans excited for the next step. Charlie Adlard's artwork expresses all of this wonderfully as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
The Walking Dead #170

Aug 5, 2017

Robert Kirkman's epic adventure continues in THE WALKING DEAD #170. In this issue, we see fantastic character and plot development, while Charlie Adlard shows off his talent as usual.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Walking Dead #171

Sep 12, 2017

THE WALKING DEAD #171 focuses entirely on the group heading for Ohio. Robert Kirkman introduces a quirky new character, and the drawings and inks from Charlie Adlard and Stefano Gaudiano are as stellar as ever.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.7
The Walking Dead #172

Oct 11, 2017

THE WALKING DEAD #172 isn't the most striking issue, but the character development is key. Kirkman shows some humor while also hammering home crucial themes. The artistic duo of Adlard and Gaudiano continues to flex their skills.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Weapon X (2017) #1

Apr 15, 2017

WEAPON X #1 is a wonderful first issue. Writer Greg Pak depicts Old Man Logan in great fashion, and the artwork from Greg Land and Frank D'Armata paints the Pacific Northwest beautifully. If you're looking for an X-Men book to jump into, this is the one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
X-Men: Blue (2017) #1

Apr 12, 2017

X-MEN BLUE #1 is another installment in Marvel's ResurrXion line. Cullen Bunn does a wonderful job of recreating the chemistry amongst the time-displaced X-Men, and the artwork of Jorge Molina and Matt Milla seems natural to these characters. While this isn't the easiest issue for new fans to jump aboard, it lays the groundwork for an exciting series.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

October

September

More