Chris O'Connor's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Impulse Gamer Reviews: 33
8.2Avg. Review Rating

9.0
B.P.R.D.: The Devil You Know #1

Jul 24, 2017

I think one of the things that I really like about this comic is that it shows that even when you think you've survived the biggest threat there could possibly be" there is always work to be done and sometimes that work may prove to be even more challenging that the threat you originally got through.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
B.P.R.D.: The Devil You Know #2

Sep 11, 2017

As mentioned, that push and pull, one victory seems to give way to a new danger emerging tenseness of the story just keeps me engrossed. There is a palpable sense of the tide ebbing and flowing for the B.P.R.D. and the world at large. There are no guarantees as to what lurks just around the corner be it victory of defeat and the sense that it could go either way is ever present" that carrot to purchase the next issue is well and truly dangled temptingly in this issue. Certainly a good addition to your B.P.R.D. collection.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bane: Conquest #2

Jun 19, 2017

I'm a big fan of the Batman universe and it's always interesting to have situations that force enemies to work together. This particular scenario works on many levels and, as mentioned earlier, does a great job of showing just how different Bane and Bruce Wayne's approaches to problems are. One looking for the way to brute force a solution and the other looking for the clever way out, a way to possibly learn more about the captor in the meantime. Many of these comics arguably need to be read together to get the full picture in order to really enjoy the story in a more complete manner… in this case though I would actually say you can enjoy this one on it's own… it is absolutely part of a larger story but it actually has enough contained in these 32 pages to enjoy on their own.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #9

Jul 6, 2017

It's nice to see the handing over of the torch… more so when Bruce is still looking out for his replacement. It's all very well to have the gadgets, but the wisdom of years of fighting some of the worst criminals around means Bruce is still a few steps ahead of his closest challenger… but at his age is he able to get to Terry fast enough to help him win the battle… or will he be too late?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman/The Shadow #3

Jul 6, 2017

I would be quite happy to read more cross overs with The Shadow and Batman" two crime fighters not all that different from each other to start with" both able to complement the other's style quite well.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Bettie Page #2

Aug 27, 2017

If you want a bit of light hearted fun, cheesy 60's stereotypical schlock sci-fi with espionage and action thrown in… you may just enjoy this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bitch Planet: Triple Feature #3

Aug 27, 2017

While each story is relatively short, they do carry an interesting idea with each of them. Giving the reader a chance to think about events, groups, people in society and how they are viewed or treated but in a way that is both confrontational at times but also not, in as much as it's a comic so easier to keep at arms length from a sense of reality. It's a great little collection for the reader that doesn't want their library filled with only superheros and thrillers but wants something with a bit more of an intellectual bent, or a philosophical, societal examination theme. A bit different, but that's a good thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Conan: The Slayer #1

Jun 27, 2016

I am quite curious to see where this epic tale leads… Will Conan commit himself to helping more people in need or will he simply seek a good death in battle. Will he finally get rest or any sort of peace… there are questions that have been raised that I want answered… a great tease and introduction to this run.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Dante (One Shot) #1

Feb 2, 2017

To be honest… I'm keen to know what happens next… that is a pretty good state for a comic to leave a reader in. I'm not sure how that plays out as a one shot… but if they were to continue the story they have set it up so well with the idea of each tattoo representing an action that needs correcting. As mentioned earlier… Dante is not a character who is interested in redemption (not the way we are used to seeing that anyway)… but most of us can understand the desire to protect our families… and if Dante has to charge through hell to see them again, I have no doubt he will. A worthy title to add to your collection.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Dark Knight III: The Master Race #9

Jun 19, 2017

Overall it's a worthy end point. You may well literally breathe a sigh of relief when you finish it… there are some pretty intense moments and there is a lot at stake. It's good to have Batman back to his old (new) self… back where he belongs ready to fight crime at a moments notice.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
DC Bombshells #29

Jun 28, 2017

I was really pleasantly entranced by this comic… I didn't have any huge expectations going in (which always helps)… but from the moment I got a look at the bright images and visual style I was intrigued… then the story built upon that with a fabulous alternate World War 2 featuring some elements of that time that tie into the superpower story so well that it seems natural that they should be part of this world. The ending also does a great job of not so much leaving on a cliff hanger… but leaving at a point where you can feel that a change has occurred, there's a sense that something big may be on the horizon… but that this group is just getting started. A great fun read with familiar characters in a different but entertaining setting to what we are used to. Worth grabbing a copy to see what it's all about and there's a good chance you will want to get the next issue when it hits the streets both digital and physical.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Death Head #1

Jun 9, 2016

As someone who isn't immersed in comics but enjoys the format… I certainly look forward to the next installment of Death Head and that is testament to all those who put this comic together, great pace, wonderful artwork and great story development with characters that are intriguing and believable. I also need to say that the post script, the “Creator Essays” at the end is equally worth reading for anyone interested in the creative arts (they really resonated with me… to the point that I emailed one of the creators to say as much). If you like comics and or horror… do yourself a favour and grab a copy of Death Head… it's well worth it!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #959

Jul 12, 2017

Batman continues to hold his place at the top of my hero list…. this comic fleshes out the man behind the cowl some more and I like him even more for that fact. It's somewhat surprising just how much story has been put into these pages… we have a whole deep conversation between Batman and Zatanna… we have the team learning more about Azrael and the Azrael suit.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Empowered and the Soldier of Love #1

Feb 2, 2017

The whole concept of Empowered is giggle worthy. We're used to people pointing out the dangers of super hero capes and the absurdity of wearing underpants on the outside of outfits… but the notion of a super suit that is essentially dissolving and or tearing in front of our vary eyes both makes some degree of sense (wear and tear must surely be much more of an issue with supersuits than we are generally privy to) but also of course lends to the potential for many humorous events. When you get “attacked” with love… how can you possibly win? Tune in next time, same Empowered Comic, same Empowered Publisher and find out!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Executive Assistant Iris: Enemies Among Us #1

Dec 31, 2016

A great read for something a little different to the superhero stories. Strong females kicking butt and showing they are far from the weaker sex.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gold Key Alliance #1

Dec 26, 2016

It's tempting to divulge a certain aspect of this story to really express how clever it is in the way it brings all these characters together… but to do so would really spoil the moment. I will be somewhat vague (though probably not so vague that if you really thought it about it you couldn't figure it out)… comics frequently use the “multiverse” or “alternate universe” ploy to tackle new storylines… Superman Red Son being a great example of an alternate telling of a well known character. Gold Key Alliance takes that notion and weaves it into the story itself… no longer subtext… it is the text, but in such a way as to make sense and work as a great way to reboot the characters and their universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.4
Grumpy Cat/Garfield #2

Sep 17, 2017

I'm not sold on this comic… I can imagine some people enjoying it, certainly the younger audience may well find it entertaining but I think I suffered from broken nostalgia… I was looking forward to a more familiar style of writing and art and it just wasn't there. Well it was there in part but not in whole and I think that was what was really jarring for me. I wouldn't recommend this but as I said I suspect the younger audience might like it… so maybe find a copy they can have a read of and decided if it's their style and if so… go for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #23

Jul 6, 2017

At the end of the this story the working relationship between the Green Lantern's and the Sinestro Corp could still go either way" but we know a lot more at the end and that creates more questions... nail biting may be mandatory.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Harley Quinn (2016) #21

Jun 19, 2017

For someone jumping into the story with this issue… I think you may get a little confused. It can feel like the first few pages are accidental inclusions from some other comic and then the last few pages of the first story also seem a bit like they have been accidentally placed in from another story this has a lot to do with the art style changing from story point to story point. If you have been reading all the editions up to this one then I suspect you will have no trouble knowing what's going on and this will be a fun continuation of what you already know. As such I would suggest either grabbing the back issues to catch up or wait for a combined release so you can read it all through from start to finish.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: 1955 - Secret Nature #1

Aug 17, 2017

There is a story of a demon here" but for me it was more about the monster that lurks within some of our own species.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hellboy: An Assortment of Horrors #1

Aug 27, 2017

Even if I wasn't a Hellboy tragic" I think I'd still be quite drawn in by this collection. There are so many stories here that if one doesn't take your fancy you can move on to the next and still have a good chance of finding something you will like. If you are like me and are quite happy to voyage down that rabbit hole into the Mignolaverse and experience more of the world of Hellboy and the B.P.R.D. then this collection will be right up your alley. Certainly worthy of a purchase and adding to your collection (which would go very well on the bookshelf in your study next to framed art prints from the book if you could get them).

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hellboy: Into The Silent Sea #1

Apr 3, 2017

I'm a sucker for Big Red… I'm also fond of the old classic and tales of the paranormal and unusual. Hellboy Into The Silent Sea ticks so many boxes that it's just a great little read. It's not overly long so it's an easy read… but there's a decent bit of meat on those bones. I could just imagine sitting in a lovely old study… open fire roaring, an aged leather chair seated just so… taking this book off the shelf and sitting down on a stormy night on an cliff overlooking the ocean and as lightning flashes in the distance, thunder rolls… opening the book to enter Hellboy's world.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jupiter's Legacy Vol. 2 #1

Jul 11, 2016

It's hard not to be drawn into the events and want to know more" to learn just how bad things are and how those formally believed to be criminals can turn the tables and make things right. The movie version will certainly be interesting to behold but will no doubt be spread over a few films" there is just too much detail in these worlds that can't be left out for fear of ruining the richness of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Mighty Man (One Shot) #1

Apr 23, 2017

An interesting twist to the usual comic fair and I'm interested to see where it goes from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Nightwing (2016) #22

Jun 19, 2017

I really like the idea of Nightwing having to consider his options for what he's going to do while not donning the suit. We all have to eat and Crime Fighting isn't exactly a well paid job. Beyond the day to day life of Nightwing… we also see some events and machinations start bubbling to the surface. Tiger Shark sets some things in motion hinting at greater plans that are afoot… there's a lot compressed into these pages and it's certainly enough to keep you on the edge of your seat and keen to see what's going to happen in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Predator vs. Judge Dredd vs. Aliens #1

Jul 11, 2016

As I mentioned" this is not a combination I would ever have expected, but after reading this issue I am actually keen to see where it goes. The strange creatures that capture the Predator are odd in their own right" but then learning how they came about and the assumed power of their creator and the notion of what they might do with the genetic material of an Alien and a Predator" Stuff is going to go down!!! I would pity Dredd and his need to come between these forces" except I know how tough Dredd is and the way he is likely to deal with this is violently and no doubt very satisfactory to readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Prometheus: Life and Death #2

Jul 11, 2016

It's a long wait till the next movie, there are questions that were raised and waiting for an answer can be painful. Prometheus Life and Death may not answer those questions but it will be a pleasant distraction while time ticks away to the next film.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Sex #33

Dec 12, 2016

Clearly a story that works best in it's complete form but a curious read none the less. The multiple characters and their story arcs may well draw you in and have you asking what could possibly come next. Is a hero ever really able to retire? I'm the sort of reader that likes my story complete so jumping into a story somewhere in the middle can be frustrating.. but even with that caveat… there is something intriguing about this world and I am indeed curious to know what happens next. If you are looking for a comic that is more mature in nature this may well be worth checking out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sex Criminals #16

Mar 1, 2017

I was really interested in the way the story came out" as mentioned, it's tricky in this day and age to come up with a new "power" and perhaps even harder to create an origin of that "power". By marrying the "power" to sex Matt has given himself instant marketing bonus points but he's also shown that sex in comics doesn't always simply mean gratuitous nudity and hanky panky (though there is plenty of that too), that sex is just a part of the flow of the story and really creates an opportunity to look at intimate relationships without it being just a weak tacked on element to the story. But there's a big bonus to Sex Criminals" the letters page" there's a wealth of fan content there with responses from the creators themselves that are often hilarious.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sunstone #5

Jan 29, 2017

If you like BDSM, Latex, same sex relationships or simply great love stories, you should do yourself a favour and pick up a copy!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Darkness: Darkness/Batman Darkness/Superman 20th Anniversary Collection TPB Comic #1

Jul 16, 2017

I wasn't overly familiar with The Darkness before… I have a feeling I've seen him before but I don't think I've read any dedicated stories. After reading these stories not only do I have a very clear idea of who he is… I also have an interest in seeing just what else he gets up to

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Other Side #1

Sep 17, 2017

Having Dale Dye write the forward is almost as telling as the story itself. A man who has been there and done that and has a pretty unique perspective on it all, understanding that war is both a horror and unfortunately given our still arguably tribal ways, somewhat a certainty. It would be lovely to think that this book could help steer people away from war mongering… but I fear it will only reaffirm that belief in the readers who pick it up and those in power will continue to use people as mere pawns… lives throw to the wolves for the sake of nations claiming superiority over each other rather than working together for the betterment of us all.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War III #1

Jun 1, 2017

An interesting addition to the overall story for Dawn of War 3 but perhaps better served as a free bonus with the game rather than as a standalone comic. Having said that, this may just be best left until the entire story can be bought together as there are a few too many things going on in this one portion of the story to make it worthy of a stand alone purchase" get the story all together or perhaps just play the game.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

September

August

More