Chris O'Connor's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Impulse Gamer Reviews: 105
8.5Avg. Review Rating

9
Absolute Carnage vs. Deadpool #2

Sep 26, 2019

I don't think I could ever not like Deadpool… I love my “regular” comics… but it's just so nice to have someone who gets to exist in that same world but who is allowed to just be a total goofball. Someone that can be a hero but not at all act like it. It's just a refreshing break from all the more serious comics and is a great fun read no matter what mood you are in. Certainly grab a copy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Age of Conan: Valeria #1

Aug 26, 2019

I'm a big sword and sorcery genre fan so this was always going to be in my wheelhouse. As a character I was most familiar with her from the original Conan movie so I was quite interested in learning more about her own story. If you want to find out about one of the other legendary characters from the Hyborian Age… this is a great place to start, learn of her origin and her motivation to make her name known.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Agent 47: Birth of the Hitman #4

Mar 8, 2018

There's a lot going on in just this one comic, obviously to get the full scope of the story the whole collection is needed but there's enough in this edition to flesh out some of that important back story to agent 47 and to lead you into the next story. As much as a lot has already happened to our favourite balled self checkout fan, the future is still full of action and suspense. Who is in more danger, Agent 47 or anyone who would stand against him or in his way?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Amazing Mary Jane (2019) #5

Mar 2, 2020

If you've been following this series then you will probably get a lot more out of this issue than I did and you may well find this an important addition to your collection. If you haven't been following this series I'd say give this a miss" without the previous issues building up the stakes there just doesn't seem enough in this issue to make it really resonate.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
B.P.R.D.: The Devil You Know #1

Jul 24, 2017

I think one of the things that I really like about this comic is that it shows that even when you think you've survived the biggest threat there could possibly be" there is always work to be done and sometimes that work may prove to be even more challenging that the threat you originally got through.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
B.P.R.D.: The Devil You Know #2

Sep 11, 2017

As mentioned, that push and pull, one victory seems to give way to a new danger emerging tenseness of the story just keeps me engrossed. There is a palpable sense of the tide ebbing and flowing for the B.P.R.D. and the world at large. There are no guarantees as to what lurks just around the corner be it victory of defeat and the sense that it could go either way is ever present" that carrot to purchase the next issue is well and truly dangled temptingly in this issue. Certainly a good addition to your B.P.R.D. collection.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
B.P.R.D.: The Devil You Know #5

Jan 21, 2018

I both look forward to and dread to think of where this arc is going. To have the B.P.R.D. so stretched to it's limits but with no chance to even catch their breath. Each new mission is just as dangerous as the last, if not more so. I suspect there may be a lot more emotional ups and downs to come. Who will be left standing and who may yet fall in the fight for our world is yet to be seen.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
B.P.R.D.: The Devil You Know #8

Jul 16, 2018

This story has taken some twists and turns but it feels like this is a major turning point in the battle for earth. Hellboy is still very introspective but he seems to be taking more note of what is going on around him and the B.P.R.D. finally seem to have a lead that may help them make some headway.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
B.P.R.D.: The Devil You Know #9

Sep 3, 2018

This story has maintained an ominous tone for some time now and even with Hellboy getting back into the thick of things, there is no real indication that things are going to get any easier any time soon. While this tone might be a bit too strong for some… it does add some fear into a group that to a large extent have seemed at least resistant to death. All our main characters have faced their potential end and come back to fight again… but the tone of this story may have you wondering if their fates are so bright.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
B.P.R.D.: The Devil You Know #10

Sep 14, 2018

I've told myself time and time again that I don't like stories broken up into parts" reading a portion then having to wait ages to read another little segment" somehow it never occurred to me that that is exactly what I do with these stories" yet somehow, I don't mind. I don't know whether it's because I'm so familiar now with the greater Mignolaverse that each story holds extra meaning, or I am able to flesh out elements to make it feel more complete. Perhaps it's just the story writing is so good that it simply feels satisfying in bite size portions.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
B.P.R.D.: The Devil You Know #13

Feb 2, 2019

It would be very easy to simply fill this comic with action and horror, doing so would still make it a very enjoyable read" but the quieter introspection of Hellboy, Abe and Liz works both as a much needed contrast to the frantic scenes of the rest of the B.P.R.D. and also to show so much more depth in the characters, Hellboy specifically.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Bane: Conquest #2

Jun 19, 2017

I'm a big fan of the Batman universe and it's always interesting to have situations that force enemies to work together. This particular scenario works on many levels and, as mentioned earlier, does a great job of showing just how different Bane and Bruce Wayne's approaches to problems are. One looking for the way to brute force a solution and the other looking for the clever way out, a way to possibly learn more about the captor in the meantime. Many of these comics arguably need to be read together to get the full picture in order to really enjoy the story in a more complete manner… in this case though I would actually say you can enjoy this one on it's own… it is absolutely part of a larger story but it actually has enough contained in these 32 pages to enjoy on their own.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) #1

May 24, 2019

Exploring the dynamics Batman has with other heroes is inherently interesting. Famously working predominantly alone… you could argue Batman doesn't play well with others and has been known to use others for his own advantage without seeming to show much concern for what happens to others. Batman and the Outsiders #1 looks set to jump head first into what happens when Batman's motives don't strictly sit well with those he is working with. An intriguing start to what promises to be a thrilling story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman Beyond (2016) #9

Jul 6, 2017

It's nice to see the handing over of the torch… more so when Bruce is still looking out for his replacement. It's all very well to have the gadgets, but the wisdom of years of fighting some of the worst criminals around means Bruce is still a few steps ahead of his closest challenger… but at his age is he able to get to Terry fast enough to help him win the battle… or will he be too late?

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman/Superman (2019) #1

Sep 8, 2019

I really like where the story is heading, it's a terrifying concept… whether hero or not, to face a “mirror” evil version of yourself… to be tasked with stopping them would be quite daunting. The set up for the next issue is very well executed too so I've no doubt if you grab this copy (which you should) you'll want to continue… as a cliffhanger… it's a good lure to get you hooked.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman/The Shadow #3

Jul 6, 2017

I would be quite happy to read more cross overs with The Shadow and Batman" two crime fighters not all that different from each other to start with" both able to complement the other's style quite well.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Bettie Page #2

Aug 27, 2017

If you want a bit of light hearted fun, cheesy 60's stereotypical schlock sci-fi with espionage and action thrown in… you may just enjoy this.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bingo Love #1

Dec 19, 2017

With same sex marriage finally legalised in Australia and acceptance growing around the world it's still important to remember how far LGBTIQ+ rights have come. How far we've come in acceptance and arguably how much further there still is to go. This wonderful story strips away the name calling, the political point scoring and simply looks at two people who fall in love and the challenges they face to express that love. It would be interesting to have someone opposed to same sex relationships read this story and find out what they think afterwards. There are no real stereotypes here" nothing to grab on to and dismiss" it is simply two people, in love. There doesn't need to be any more to it than that. A lovely story that should be read by as many people as possible and maybe a few people will come to realise that indeed" love, is love!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Bitch Planet: Triple Feature #3

Aug 27, 2017

While each story is relatively short, they do carry an interesting idea with each of them. Giving the reader a chance to think about events, groups, people in society and how they are viewed or treated but in a way that is both confrontational at times but also not, in as much as it's a comic so easier to keep at arms length from a sense of reality. It's a great little collection for the reader that doesn't want their library filled with only superheros and thrillers but wants something with a bit more of an intellectual bent, or a philosophical, societal examination theme. A bit different, but that's a good thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Bitch Planet: Triple Feature #5

Oct 31, 2017

It's not uncommon in collections of stories to have some that just don't hit the mark or that fall a bit flat. I'm happy to say (for me at least) that this collection is all hits.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Bizarre Adventures #1

Oct 7, 2019

Bizarre Adventures is a fun mix of stories. I'm not sure Bizarre is the word I'd use to describe them… but I guess it does cover the mix pretty well. A fun collection if you want some variety in your comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Black Cat (2019) #7

Dec 18, 2019

If you've wanted to know more about Odessa Drake and how she came to be who she is, this is a great issue to purchase. If you just want lots of Black Cat action… this may not be quite to your taste… she's there and she does kick butt… but she's really ancillary to the main story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Captain Marvel (2019) #15

Mar 2, 2020

An interesting read and worth grabbing if you want to follow the whole story" it's a great method of arguably taking away the power of one of the most powerful heroes around" or at least constraining how that power can be used. Pick up a copy if you like a bit of philosophizing with your comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Conan the Barbarian (2019) #11

Dec 4, 2019

To meet your maker is one thing, to meet a god and stand before them defiant, challenging and determined to do what you feel you must regardless of their dictate… that is courage, that is Conan! How could you not want to get the issue in which Conan stands before his oft named God and holds his own? This really is a must have… it sits perfectly fine as a stand along story that fits within the larger Conan mythology and can be enjoyed at any time regardless of what other story arc you might be reading. Highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Conan the Barbarian (2019): Exodus #1

Aug 26, 2019

I quite enjoyed the story and the fantastic artwork. I did feel a bit left out when I was no able to read the minimal dialogue that does occur" but the images really do tell you pretty much all you need to know. If you are a fan of Conan, or even just lovely comic art (or art in general really), then you may well want to jump on board and grab a copy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Conan: The Slayer #1

Jun 27, 2016

I am quite curious to see where this epic tale leads… Will Conan commit himself to helping more people in need or will he simply seek a good death in battle. Will he finally get rest or any sort of peace… there are questions that have been raised that I want answered… a great tease and introduction to this run.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Contagion #2

Oct 19, 2019

I both do and don't want to know where this series is going. It's worrying seeing such well known heroes drop at what is more or less just a touch. Just when you think they are making some progress, things take a turn and things seem to get exponentially worse. I don't know how long this series will run for… but there are still plenty of Marvel characters that can be brought in to help… as to whether they are able, that remains to be seen. If you like your superheroes with a dose of horror… you need to be reading this series!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Dante (One Shot) #1

Feb 2, 2017

To be honest… I'm keen to know what happens next… that is a pretty good state for a comic to leave a reader in. I'm not sure how that plays out as a one shot… but if they were to continue the story they have set it up so well with the idea of each tattoo representing an action that needs correcting. As mentioned earlier… Dante is not a character who is interested in redemption (not the way we are used to seeing that anyway)… but most of us can understand the desire to protect our families… and if Dante has to charge through hell to see them again, I have no doubt he will. A worthy title to add to your collection.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Daredevil (2019) #14

Dec 18, 2019

There's a lot to take in from this issue but none of it feels overwhelming. A lot of ground is covered and some motivations are fleshed out whilst actions that are no doubt going to lead to some massive events in future issues are put in motion. A great issue and well worth adding to your collection.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Dark Knight III: The Master Race #9

Jun 19, 2017

Overall it's a worthy end point. You may well literally breathe a sigh of relief when you finish it… there are some pretty intense moments and there is a lot at stake. It's good to have Batman back to his old (new) self… back where he belongs ready to fight crime at a moments notice.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
DC Bombshells #29

Jun 28, 2017

I was really pleasantly entranced by this comic… I didn't have any huge expectations going in (which always helps)… but from the moment I got a look at the bright images and visual style I was intrigued… then the story built upon that with a fabulous alternate World War 2 featuring some elements of that time that tie into the superpower story so well that it seems natural that they should be part of this world. The ending also does a great job of not so much leaving on a cliff hanger… but leaving at a point where you can feel that a change has occurred, there's a sense that something big may be on the horizon… but that this group is just getting started. A great fun read with familiar characters in a different but entertaining setting to what we are used to. Worth grabbing a copy to see what it's all about and there's a good chance you will want to get the next issue when it hits the streets both digital and physical.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dead Man Logan #11

Oct 7, 2019

Every now and then it's nice to read a less “bright” story… something with perhaps a more gritty edge to it… something that doesn't pain the world as all roses. Dead Man Logan is definitely a comic that fits that bill. There is hope… so it's not all doom and gloom… but it is very much an up hill battle for our heroes and it doesn't look at all certain that they have a happy future ahead of them. Worth a read if you like your stories a bit darker and if you love brutal Logan!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Deadpool (2019) #2

Jan 16, 2020

It's an interesting premise to begin with" Deadpool as king of, well, anything. King of Monsters perhaps seems about right. The issues raised in this comic and the direction it's heading look to do what I really like about Deadpool comics" they can play the humour card left right and center, but at the same time cover some pretty serious issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Death Head #1

Jun 9, 2016

As someone who isn't immersed in comics but enjoys the format… I certainly look forward to the next installment of Death Head and that is testament to all those who put this comic together, great pace, wonderful artwork and great story development with characters that are intriguing and believable. I also need to say that the post script, the “Creator Essays” at the end is equally worth reading for anyone interested in the creative arts (they really resonated with me… to the point that I emailed one of the creators to say as much). If you like comics and or horror… do yourself a favour and grab a copy of Death Head… it's well worth it!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Detective Comics (2016) #959

Jul 12, 2017

Batman continues to hold his place at the top of my hero list…. this comic fleshes out the man behind the cowl some more and I like him even more for that fact. It's somewhat surprising just how much story has been put into these pages… we have a whole deep conversation between Batman and Zatanna… we have the team learning more about Azrael and the Azrael suit.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Detective Comics (2016) Annual #1

Feb 1, 2018

Tying this story together with the bookend of father and son is a great touch that really just drills home the tragedy of Basil's story. The desire to live up to your father can be a powerful motivator and when that father is larger than life to begin with it leaves some very big shoes to fill. Origin stories can be simple tales for the fans to have an “ahh… so that's what happened” or “oh so that's how they became….” moment. But every now and then they add a layer that just makes the character easier to sympathise with… or at least to feel sorry for in some way. Clayface's origin story does that, it takes what we know about him being an actor and adds more depth to that… depth that adds a degree of sadness that wasn't necessarily there before.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Detective Comics (2016) Annual #2

Jun 4, 2019

Though this is clearly part of a larger story, it works quite well as a self contained story too… there is a degree of resolution at the end that is open to the story continuing but not in a frustrating “cliff hanger” style that makes you feel unfulfilled. A dip into Batman's past is always a welcome addition to these stories and helps flesh out the character in a way that points out his human failings whilst also showing why he is the greatest detective… no case is ever simply “give up” on… it's simply waiting to be solved. A great read and a nice addition to the Batman library.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Dr. Strange (2019) #1

Jan 4, 2020

I'm curious to see how long Dr Strange can continue living a double life, my guess is not long. I have trouble managing the vents of a day with just family about" I can't imagine the strain of trying to balance high precision surgery and the need to see off invading forces. If you'd like to see where the Dr is headed this year, you need to grab this issue" it starts with a bang!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dream Daddy #3

Nov 21, 2018

It's nice seeing such variety in intellectual properties these days and as acceptance of different lifestyles and peoples increases we get to see more and more representation. But not everything has to have a message and arguably Dream Daddy #3 doesn't really have a message to it… it just wants to have a bit of fun and show a collection of people with their own unique personalities existing in their own (arguably exaggerated) world. Some pop culture references, obligatory dad jokes and a decent helping of heart make this a nice easy going comic to pick up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Empowered and the Soldier of Love #1

Feb 2, 2017

The whole concept of Empowered is giggle worthy. We're used to people pointing out the dangers of super hero capes and the absurdity of wearing underpants on the outside of outfits… but the notion of a super suit that is essentially dissolving and or tearing in front of our vary eyes both makes some degree of sense (wear and tear must surely be much more of an issue with supersuits than we are generally privy to) but also of course lends to the potential for many humorous events. When you get “attacked” with love… how can you possibly win? Tune in next time, same Empowered Comic, same Empowered Publisher and find out!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Executive Assistant Iris: Enemies Among Us #1

Dec 31, 2016

A great read for something a little different to the superhero stories. Strong females kicking butt and showing they are far from the weaker sex.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Gold Key Alliance #1

Dec 26, 2016

It's tempting to divulge a certain aspect of this story to really express how clever it is in the way it brings all these characters together… but to do so would really spoil the moment. I will be somewhat vague (though probably not so vague that if you really thought it about it you couldn't figure it out)… comics frequently use the “multiverse” or “alternate universe” ploy to tackle new storylines… Superman Red Son being a great example of an alternate telling of a well known character. Gold Key Alliance takes that notion and weaves it into the story itself… no longer subtext… it is the text, but in such a way as to make sense and work as a great way to reboot the characters and their universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Gregory Suicide #1

Oct 31, 2017

I love a bit of Science Fiction, the notion of what could be and perhaps the dangers that may come with that. Gregory Suicide is an interesting story that really grabs your attention from the moment you read that confrontational title.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.4
Grumpy Cat/Garfield #2

Sep 17, 2017

I'm not sold on this comic… I can imagine some people enjoying it, certainly the younger audience may well find it entertaining but I think I suffered from broken nostalgia… I was looking forward to a more familiar style of writing and art and it just wasn't there. Well it was there in part but not in whole and I think that was what was really jarring for me. I wouldn't recommend this but as I said I suspect the younger audience might like it… so maybe find a copy they can have a read of and decided if it's their style and if so… go for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Guardians of the Galaxy (2019) #9

Sep 26, 2019

Some comic series have issues that can stand on their own and be a decent story in and of themselves… some you really need to have at least a few of the other issues to get a good hold on what's going on… or to really enjoy the story that is being lain out. I feel this fits in the latter of those two categories. It's fine as a part of a story but I don't think this single issue is really enough to get into the meat of all that is going on. That isn't a bad thing… it just means that you will be left eagerly awaiting the next issue… which given how this one ends, should be quite a ride! If you've been following the series I'd say it's a no brainer… you will want this in your collection… if you haven't… maybe pick it up… or wait for a collection of the entire story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Gwenpool Strikes Back #1

Aug 26, 2019

Definitely a light hearted take on the superhero genre and a lot of fun! Grab your copy now!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Gwenpool Strikes Back #2

Sep 26, 2019

I love the merc with a mouth… but I think I love Gwenpool just as much. When you put those two together I'm thrilled, twice the fun with no one feeling left out. If you haven't already jumped into Gwenpool… this is a great chance to get onboard. Beautiful art, writing that will have you laughing all the way and just a lot of fun. Grab a copy now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Gwenpool Strikes Back #3

Oct 19, 2019

This series is just pure fun. It's very much a grab any edition series too which I like in it's accessibility. Not everyone has the time, or patience, to devote to a long running series. Here you can either collect every issue and read them in sequence as the greater story arc it is… or just as easily pick up a copy from somewhere in the midst of the run and enjoy that portion of the story as if it was a one shot. Having said all that, I'd recommend grabbing them all and certainly this one should be picked up and read if you want a good giggle with and at the Marvel line up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Gwenpool Strikes Back #4

Dec 4, 2019

Gwenpool remains absolutely relevant and in prime position for my interest. I continue to look forward to every issue put out and applaud her successful run at remaining an important character in the Marvel universe, totally deserving of her own series! If you enjoy laughing along with your heroes then you really can't go wrong with Gwenpool. If you just enjoy some good, off the wall storytelling I'd still say this is a great option! Jump in and hang on tight as the lovely Gwen takes you for a ride through the fourth wall and beyond!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Gwenpool Strikes Back #5

Jan 4, 2020

Grab this issue and if you haven't grabbed the rest… get them all together and read through from start to finish… then maybe read through again (in an endless loop).

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #23

Jul 6, 2017

At the end of the this story the working relationship between the Green Lantern's and the Sinestro Corp could still go either way" but we know a lot more at the end and that creates more questions... nail biting may be mandatory.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Harley Quinn (2016) #21

Jun 19, 2017

For someone jumping into the story with this issue… I think you may get a little confused. It can feel like the first few pages are accidental inclusions from some other comic and then the last few pages of the first story also seem a bit like they have been accidentally placed in from another story this has a lot to do with the art style changing from story point to story point. If you have been reading all the editions up to this one then I suspect you will have no trouble knowing what's going on and this will be a fun continuation of what you already know. As such I would suggest either grabbing the back issues to catch up or wait for a combined release so you can read it all through from start to finish.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Hellboy and The B.P.R.D.: The Beast of Vargu #1

Jul 20, 2019

Sometimes it's nice to have a short story" something that you can read in a quick sitting. But that doesn't mean the story is light on content or depth. The Beast of Vargu continues the job of filling in the life of Hellboy" the experiences that make him who he is. The second story is a lovely idea" Hellboy sitting and listening to the telling of a folktale that sounds quite familiar to his own experience of life. Certainly a worthwhile addition to the Hellboy collected works.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Hellboy and The B.P.R.D.: The Return of Effie Kolb #1

Feb 17, 2020

There's a lot of charm here in the old friendship we see at the beginning of the story, that warmth soon fades as we head towards what the future holds with the return to the Crooked Man's house, what is yet to happen...you'll have to read to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Hellboy and The B.P.R.D.: Saturn Returns #3

Nov 6, 2019

Certainly if you've been following this story, this is an obvious must buy" but I'd also say if you are a fan of Hellboy and Liz" this is an essential. I don't want to say any more than that" because it's really quite lovely and it's best if you read it yourself with out any spoilers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: 1955: Secret Nature #1

Aug 17, 2017

There is a story of a demon here" but for me it was more about the monster that lurks within some of our own species.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: 1955: Burning Season #1

Mar 8, 2018

The world of the paranormal is a large and varied field, add to that regional myths and legends that are less well known and modern conspiracies and unexplained phenomenon and the wealth of material for Hellboy and the B.P.R.D. to examine is generous to say the least. It's nice to be able to step off the main story lines and explore the odd specific phenomenon from time to time and when you add that Mignolaverse twist it means entertainment is guaranteed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Hellboy: An Assortment of Horrors #1

Aug 27, 2017

Even if I wasn't a Hellboy tragic" I think I'd still be quite drawn in by this collection. There are so many stories here that if one doesn't take your fancy you can move on to the next and still have a good chance of finding something you will like. If you are like me and are quite happy to voyage down that rabbit hole into the Mignolaverse and experience more of the world of Hellboy and the B.P.R.D. then this collection will be right up your alley. Certainly worthy of a purchase and adding to your collection (which would go very well on the bookshelf in your study next to framed art prints from the book if you could get them).

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Hellboy: Into The Silent Sea #1

Apr 3, 2017

I'm a sucker for Big Red… I'm also fond of the old classic and tales of the paranormal and unusual. Hellboy Into The Silent Sea ticks so many boxes that it's just a great little read. It's not overly long so it's an easy read… but there's a decent bit of meat on those bones. I could just imagine sitting in a lovely old study… open fire roaring, an aged leather chair seated just so… taking this book off the shelf and sitting down on a stormy night on an cliff overlooking the ocean and as lightning flashes in the distance, thunder rolls… opening the book to enter Hellboy's world.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Hellboy: Winter Special: 2018 #1

Dec 22, 2018

Every now and then it's nice to take a step back from the big stories, the end of the world tales, the hell trying to take over hearth stories" and have a smaller bite of the Hellboy universe. Hellboy Winter Special 2018 gives us just that, three stories that can be read all together or savoured over a few readings. The first story is classic Hellboy through and through" in the midst of a situation that can only be heading towards trouble and doing all he can to stop it along the way. Hellboy then eases out of the main frame for the second story and isn't even present in the third, but they are all part of his world and a nice little end to a pretty great year of stories. Treat yourself or someone you love and grab a copy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Hellboy: Winter Special: 2019 #1

Jan 16, 2020

I often find that with most comics the standard size isn't enough to convey a story completely enough to feel satisfying, story elements are left unfinished to entice you to read on to the next issue and beyond. In this comic not only do we get three different stories but they all feel complete and not lacking at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Incoming #1

Jan 4, 2020

Some people won't like these comics because they don't focus for long on any one hero/group but I think they are an excellent way of giving people a quick taste of what many of the heroes of the Marvel Universe are like, a feel for the art style and the writing they can expect when they buy their own story arcs. It's not a bad story itself so even if you just want a bit of a murder mystery it's still a bit of fun. If you've been following the Marvel 80th stories I'd say grab this one to continue your collection, if you want a heads up as to what might be set to occur in 2020.. again, probably good to grab this. If you just like a bit of variety in your comics, this is a good choice. So basically I guess I'm saying, grab a copy :)

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Invisible Differences OGN

Jun 17, 2020

I would heartily recommend this book for anyone who has Aspergers, who feels they might, who knows someone who has Aspergers or who has any trouble dealing with the world around them" I guess really I'm saying I think everyone can get something out of this book" there's a chance it might also sound familiar to some readers who previously hadn't connected the dots and if it can help them learn more about their situation and how to adjust their world accordingly then I hope that happens. A lovely book, well worth a read!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Jupiter's Legacy: Vol. 2 #1

Jul 11, 2016

It's hard not to be drawn into the events and want to know more" to learn just how bad things are and how those formally believed to be criminals can turn the tables and make things right. The movie version will certainly be interesting to behold but will no doubt be spread over a few films" there is just too much detail in these worlds that can't be left out for fear of ruining the richness of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Koshchei the Deathless #1

Jan 21, 2018

Who is the larger figure in people's minds, the seemingly unstoppable hero or the character who would fell such a larger than life person? Koshchei would be easy to write off as a horrible person for his attack on Hellboy… but here we learn of his own horrid story and how he came to be who he is now. Can Hellboy (or us readers) find sympathy for someone such as he? It's an interesting situation, a world that is full of killing and horrors, who do we side with and what crimes are we willing to look past and for what reasons? If you had eternity to spend with someone who was determined to kill you, could you forgive them? For the start of a series this is extremely compelling and certainly well worth adding to the collection!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Koshchei the Deathless #3

Mar 15, 2018

Possibly the strongest chapter in this story so far… and that's saying quite a bit. Definitely grab a copy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Koshchei the Deathless #4

Apr 14, 2018

I'm a sucker for Mignola's work… but normally that work features the forces of good battling evil… this whole series is about someone who has performed some of the most heinous acts imaginable… yet somehow Mignola makes us (or me at least) feel sorry for him. The notion that everyone has a story to tell apparently doesn't stop at those still living, if anything, those of the living dead or post passing persuasion may have even more fascinating stories to tell… certainly tales of greater highs and lows, of successes and defeats. Koshchei the Deathless is a fascinating story and well worth grabbing!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Little Josephine: Memory in Pieces OGN

Apr 26, 2020

This story won't be for everyone, but if you like a human story, something that is perhaps an equal mix of sorrow and joy then this is likely to be your cup of tea.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Magnificent Ms. Marvel #11

Jan 16, 2020

If you are new to Ms Marvel (as to a large extent I am, having only really known bits of her from peripheral material to date), it might be a bit like being thrown in the deep end with this issue, so it's perhaps not the best place to start your Ms Marvel journey. If you are a regular reader then you will probably want to grab this to continue your collection.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Mandela and the General #1

Nov 10, 2018

Many people are aware of the overall activities that lead to South Africa leaving behind apartheid, but to learn in greater depth about the process, and from the opposite side no less, is fascinating. In today's political climate, Mandela and the General also serves to remind us that it is far better to sit and talk with our opponent, to remove fears and to work together to find the peace that benefits all. It also shows that even the hardest of opponents can see reason, if they are just willing to listen. Mandela and the General isn't just a great book for the individual, it would serve as an exceptional book to have in every library and on the school curriculum.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Mighty Man (One Shot) #1

Apr 23, 2017

An interesting twist to the usual comic fair and I'm interested to see where it goes from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Mr Higgins Comes Home #1

Oct 19, 2017

It's not a terribly long book but it is certainly a bit of fun. The story is both one that you've heard the outline of before and yet in this telling it throws in a few twists to make it interesting and unique. I really enjoyed it, the art style and the humorous touches really kept it trotting along. I think this would work well as a little break between readings of Hellboy and the B.P.R.D. a little light hearted romp before marching back into Hell.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Murder #1

May 1, 2018

It's an interesting tale and certainly not something you're likely to have seen before.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
New Mutants (2019) #7

Mar 2, 2020

It's nice to have a bit of a light hearted read from time to time" it's even better when we can get that levity with characters that we love just doing their thing. It feels like this is more of a quiet point in a story line that could get a bit more frantic" but that just means this is a nice issue to slip into the story. Get to know the characters a little/more and have a fun read while you are at it. Worth picking up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Nightwing (2016) #22

Jun 19, 2017

I really like the idea of Nightwing having to consider his options for what he's going to do while not donning the suit. We all have to eat and Crime Fighting isn't exactly a well paid job. Beyond the day to day life of Nightwing… we also see some events and machinations start bubbling to the surface. Tiger Shark sets some things in motion hinting at greater plans that are afoot… there's a lot compressed into these pages and it's certainly enough to keep you on the edge of your seat and keen to see what's going to happen in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Old Man Quill #12

Dec 18, 2019

There's something about a revenge story that can be so satisfying when the end comes… but if you don't “stick the landing” all that build up can be for nothing. I'm happy to say this final part of the Wastelands saga is very satisfying. If you love Peter Quill or just a good revenge/western story then this should be right up your alley.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Paul is Dead (2020) OGN

Jun 17, 2020

For Beatles fans this might be a fun alternate history take on one of the legends that formed around the Fab Four. Just be prepared to potentially feel a bit let down by the ending. It's entirely possible I'm just being a bit harsh" but it really felt like the story was set up as one thing" then it became somewhat another, but there's still a lot to like regardless. So not a full recommendation from me, but a cautious one.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Predator vs. Judge Dredd vs. Aliens #1

Jul 11, 2016

As I mentioned" this is not a combination I would ever have expected, but after reading this issue I am actually keen to see where it goes. The strange creatures that capture the Predator are odd in their own right" but then learning how they came about and the assumed power of their creator and the notion of what they might do with the genetic material of an Alien and a Predator" Stuff is going to go down!!! I would pity Dredd and his need to come between these forces" except I know how tough Dredd is and the way he is likely to deal with this is violently and no doubt very satisfactory to readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Prometheus: Life and Death #2

Jul 11, 2016

It's a long wait till the next movie, there are questions that were raised and waiting for an answer can be painful. Prometheus Life and Death may not answer those questions but it will be a pleasant distraction while time ticks away to the next film.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Punisher Kill Krew #5

Dec 2, 2019

It's a hectic end to a story that has taken Frank Castle to places we might never have expected to see him go, to befriend (or at least work with) characters that would not seem at all like his usual cohorts yet here we are, the end of a mission of vengeance that finishes the way only a Punisher story could.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Sex #33

Dec 12, 2016

Clearly a story that works best in it's complete form but a curious read none the less. The multiple characters and their story arcs may well draw you in and have you asking what could possibly come next. Is a hero ever really able to retire? I'm the sort of reader that likes my story complete so jumping into a story somewhere in the middle can be frustrating.. but even with that caveat… there is something intriguing about this world and I am indeed curious to know what happens next. If you are looking for a comic that is more mature in nature this may well be worth checking out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Sex Criminals #16

Mar 1, 2017

I was really interested in the way the story came out" as mentioned, it's tricky in this day and age to come up with a new "power" and perhaps even harder to create an origin of that "power". By marrying the "power" to sex Matt has given himself instant marketing bonus points but he's also shown that sex in comics doesn't always simply mean gratuitous nudity and hanky panky (though there is plenty of that too), that sex is just a part of the flow of the story and really creates an opportunity to look at intimate relationships without it being just a weak tacked on element to the story. But there's a big bonus to Sex Criminals" the letters page" there's a wealth of fan content there with responses from the creators themselves that are often hilarious.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
She-Hulk (2017) Annual #1

Sep 8, 2019

It's one thing to manipulate someone externally… but to manipulate them from the inside out… that's quite different. But when the person you are manipulating is She-Hulk… you better be careful because you don't want to make her upset! A fun twist on an interesting concept make this a great read. It's self contained so it's not a long wait to get the full story and that also makes it great for a quick pick up and read when you have a few moments spare. A nice addition to the She-Hulk story catalogue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Star Wars: The Rise of Kylo Ren #3

Feb 17, 2020

If you are a fan of the movies, or someone who perhaps thinks they went off the rails" this might be a good comic for you. It develops the character of Kylo Ren in an understandable way. The story doesn't feel rushed or like it's trying to pack too much into the space it has.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Star Wars: The Rise of Kylo Ren #4

Mar 25, 2020

There are some pretty obvious beats throughout this story but they don't detract from the enjoyment of the experience. That enjoyment is thanks to a great writing and artwork. For anyone wanting to know how Ben became Kylo Ren this series is a must and this issue especially shows the pieces fall into place to create one of the darkest characters to light up the Star Wars stage for some time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Star Wars: Tie Fighter #5

Aug 26, 2019

I love a good space dog fight and I've yearned for a new space flight sim in the Star Wars universe (like the classic X-wing and Tie Fighter series)… but until we get a worthy addition of one of those… this comic series is a good substitute. Epic space battles and a new perspective on the battle of “good and evil” in the Star Wars universe. Grab this edition to complete the story arc or use it as an excuse to go back and by the earlier additions and this one and read them all in one sitting… for the Empire!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Starship Down #1

Mar 25, 2020

I'm intrigued enough to want to know where this is going. There are some well used tropes but there's also a compelling spin to it all that makes it seem fresh enough to draw me in. I'd recommend it for science fiction fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sunstone #5

Jan 29, 2017

If you like BDSM, Latex, same sex relationships or simply great love stories, you should do yourself a favour and pick up a copy!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Darkness: Darkness/Batman Darkness/Superman 20th Anniversary Collection TPB Comic #1

Jul 16, 2017

I wasn't overly familiar with The Darkness before… I have a feeling I've seen him before but I don't think I've read any dedicated stories. After reading these stories not only do I have a very clear idea of who he is… I also have an interest in seeing just what else he gets up to

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
The End: Captain America #1

Feb 11, 2020

If you are a big Captain America fan" perhaps this is still something you want to add to your collection. The fact it's a complete story, you don't need any other issues to get the whole story might be an appeal to some. For me, I'd let this one go, it didn't grab me or really add any interesting element to the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
The End: Miles Morales #1

Jan 16, 2020

This won't be to everyone's taste, as mentioned, if you are over the whole political debates and related issues then perhaps this isn't for you. If you like the age old story of fighting for what is right, standing up against the oppressive forces that want to destroy everything, then you just might enjoy this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
The End: Doctor Strange #1

Feb 5, 2020

I really enjoyed this one shot. It took me a little to get my bearings but once I did it was a fun ride with some great humour laced throughout. As with others in this collection of "The End" titles, there is a kick to that pulsing red muscle in the chest" but it's such a lovely one that you don't mind the emotional twitch it may cause. A great standalone title that is worth a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
The End: Deadpool #1

Feb 5, 2020

If you love Deadpool (and how can you not) then this is a great story, if you've never met Deadpool (where have you been?) then this is just as good as any a comic to give you a pretty decent idea of who he is. Highly recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
The End: Captain Marvel #1

Feb 5, 2020

For this peripheral Captain Marvel fan (I haven't done a deep dive but I like what I've read/seen so far)" this was a satisfying story. I'd recommend it to anyone who wants to get a greater feel for who Captain Marvel is and what she stands for.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Other Side #1

Sep 17, 2017

Having Dale Dye write the forward is almost as telling as the story itself. A man who has been there and done that and has a pretty unique perspective on it all, understanding that war is both a horror and unfortunately given our still arguably tribal ways, somewhat a certainty. It would be lovely to think that this book could help steer people away from war mongering… but I fear it will only reaffirm that belief in the readers who pick it up and those in power will continue to use people as mere pawns… lives throw to the wolves for the sake of nations claiming superiority over each other rather than working together for the betterment of us all.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
The Pervert #1

Apr 18, 2018

I'm not quite sure how to end this review… clearly the comic is not for everyone. There are bound to be people who find it offensive and far too graphic. There will be those who might pick it up out of curiousity. Others might read it for a greater insight and some may even find a resonance with their own life. This is one person in the billions of others on our planet but it is a life shared and for those who like biographical style comics you may well enjoy this… as long as you aren't uncomfortable with topics of a sexual nature.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Switch Electricia #1

Jul 25, 2018

An entertaining read and I'm sure the kickstarter backers will be pleased with the results.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
The Twilight Man: Rod Serling and the Birth of Television #1

Oct 24, 2019

I was quite fascinated to learn more about Rod Serling" I now know he was far more than just the creator of one of my favourite anthology shows. I yearn for the return of that style and am hopeful of the new series capturing some of that intrigue of the show I grew up with. Serling's story is one of bravery and integrity and is quite admirable in that manner. If you want to know more about one of cult television's most important voices then this is an absolute must read, even if you just want to know more about how television programming was shaped in the early days" this is a fascinating read. Highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Venom (2018) #21

Jan 4, 2020

The anti hero is an interesting character almost by definition. Someone who isn't clear cut black and white, they have their bad side but they try and do the right thing in the end. Eddie has had a pretty interesting time of late… but this issue clearly sets things up for some pretty big events and I'm not going to blow any of the reveals here, but you can practically feel the energy build on this one… grab this copy so you are ready for the storm that is coming.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wailing Blade #1

May 24, 2019

There's a lot to absorb in a first issue" or perhaps I should say, there's a lot to convey. Rich and Joe have done a great job setting things in motion here. Opening with a map of the lands of the Wailing Blade world instantly grabbed me (reminding me of reading Tolkien) and set my mood" following it with the harsh world the people live in and the order of things drew me in and made me want to know more. It's a heavy metal ride through a brutal landscape" crank your stereo and strap in for a future fantasy ride with Wailing Blade.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War III #1

Jun 1, 2017

An interesting addition to the overall story for Dawn of War 3 but perhaps better served as a free bonus with the game rather than as a standalone comic. Having said that, this may just be best left until the entire story can be bought together as there are a few too many things going on in this one portion of the story to make it worthy of a stand alone purchase" get the story all together or perhaps just play the game.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Web of Black Widow #2

Oct 19, 2019

There's quite a lot of mystery here… which is arguably just what you want from a comic about someone known for their espionage work. There's a lot for Natasha to work out and in some ways this issue presents more questions than it may have answered… but if you are in for the long haul… these are just cogs in the machine… filling their little story based roll in the big scheme of things. Grab a copy if you grabbed issue one and enjoyed it. If you haven't read any of this story arc yet… maybe wait for the next one to see if it's to your taste… it can be a bit confusing and a bit of context either side might help.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
X-Men (2019) #3

Dec 18, 2019

I like my action super hero comics… but I also love a bit of humour and this issue has a good deal of both (arguably leaning more towards the latter… but still both are present). The dialogue is easily the stand out… especially that banter between the intruders. What I also love about this issue is it can work as a stand alone story… it feeds into a larger arc, sure, but it doesn't end on a big cliff hanger or something that makes you feel you absolutely have to get the next issue. Perhaps that's seen as bad for longevity but personally I'm far more likely to pick up a comic if I don't feel like I've only been given a few pages of a much larger tome (I know I'm weird like that). This is certainly a fun addition to any comic collection.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
X-Men/Fantastic Four (2020) #1

Feb 11, 2020

It's a pretty bold start to a series to pit The Fantastic Four against the X-Men (or vice versa depending on how you view it). For anyone who likes a good deal of conflict in their comics" this series is primed and ready to deliver and this particular issue has it's fair share of drama.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Year of the Villain: Joker #1

Oct 24, 2019

As a one shot this works really well for anyone who wants to feel ill at ease. I guess with Halloween around the corner, now is indeed the perfect time for this story (and no doubt a big part of why Mr Carpenter's stab the the Clown Prince was released now). If you like The Joker or a bit of trauma to your comics, this should be right up your (crime) alley. If you are a bit squeamish however I'd suggest avoiding this issue as it's pretty full on in parts. Also animal lovers be forewarned there is a scene you might find traumatic.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

More