Corwin C. Crowl's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Comic Addiction Reviews: 93
7.2Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Amazing Spider-Man #611

Nov 14, 2009

While the interior artist does imitate the cover artist Skottie Young he falls a bit short. His heads and faces bother me as they are a bit too elongated. His cartoony style is solid but I almost feel like it does not fit this kind of story. I am almost tempted to say that I am not a big fan of the art style but I particularly loved Skottie when he drew the New X-Men title. Maybe it is because that title starred teens while this is Spider-Man. I expected something more realistic. For me this was the melding of peanut butter and jelly, mayo and tuna fish, bacon and eggs but I can understand if some people are not overly enthused with this issue. The silly jokes, antics and Deadpool’s breaking of the fourth wall are not for everyone. On its own this is a nice fun single story with small roots to the upcoming Amazing Spider-Man story arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Blackest Night #1

Jul 16, 2009

While I am selfishly a little disappointed I cannot deny the hard work and accessibility of this issue. Johns made sure that unlike Final Crisis, Blackest Night is completely new reader friendly. Anyone can start reading this and will not feel completely lost. If you have yet to read Green Lantern #43 I implore to pick that issue up. Like this issue it is totally accessible and really gets into the head of Black Hand who is one of the main villains in this story. This event is going to be huge and possibly change the landscape for the DC Universe for a very long time. Welcome to the end of all that is. Beware the darkness for the dead have arrived to feast on your heart and soul.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Blackest Night #7

Feb 26, 2010

Ivan Reis’ art gave this issue two extra points.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Blackest Night #8

Apr 1, 2010

Most of what I recapped was only half the issue. The remaining half concentrated on the recently returned heroes and villains as well as the others who were not as fortunate. The repercussions of Blackest Night have not only given many characters a second chance but also the DC editorial team as a whole. They now have a clean slate to jump start their titles and wipe away the mistakes of the past. The Hawks have finally seemed to catch a break and now maybe DC can move them forward leaving their convoluted past alone. The Martian Manhunter has returned and yes. Aquaman has both hands. However not everything is all peaches and cream. Maxwell Lord is back as well as Captain Boomerang and Jade’s return is going to seriously complicate Kyle’s life. If you look carefully you will even notice one character has managed to keep what looks like a White Power Ring. In the middle of all of this the comedic Larfleeze manages for once in his life to give something away.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Blackest Night: Batman #3

Oct 17, 2009

Ardian Syaf is not slouching on his job either. He brings a heavily energetic style similar to Andy Kubert and Ed Benes. If one was not careful they may even mistake his interior art for Andy who drew the cover. While I am not familiar with him Ardian looks like he may be a comic veteran. He has a very confident and capable style. As I said before this issue is very energetic and Ardian did not shy away from detail even with all the heavy action. As a stand alone series it did its job. It told a story about Batman and his entourage that was personal, action oriented and gently related to Blackest Night. If a Batman fan was only reading Blackest Night and this title they would be pleased. Myself? I'm not a huge Batman fan but I was hoping for something a bit deeper tied into Blackest Night. While it is only about to hit the halfway mark I hope something from this series spills over into the main book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Blackest Night: Superman #1

Aug 22, 2009

Hopefully James Robinson will justify the existence of this series by giving the readers plenty of answers. Eddy Barrows also does great on the pencils giving us a creepy Black Lantern Superman. Kudos to Ethan Van Sciver for the character design, the five fingered cape is a wonderful design piece that creates an unmistakable silhouette. Getting back to Barrows, his art style kind of reminds me of Mark Bagley but he has a much different (and IMO better) style when it comes to faces and facial features. If you are Superman fan and enjoyed Infinite Crisis then this story is definitely for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Blackest Night: Tales of the Corps #2

Jul 22, 2009

Overall this issue was okay but much like the first issue of this series only one story held any kind of relevance. While interesting on by themselves the two minor stories do not seem to have any importance in the face of Blackest Night. Hopefully these characters will be have some kind of significance in the long run that will make these issues worth while. As of right now I can only recommend buying this issue if you are a hardcore Green Lantern fan. On a positive note it is great to see Geoff Johns and Peter Tomasi work with some of today’s great pencilers. That alone boosts this issue's grade up a point.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Blackest Night: Tales of the Corps #3

Jul 30, 2009

I said to myself as the next page was the penciled version of FCBD: Blackest Night #0. Quickly flipping through the white and gray pages I hoped for something more, at least one other story but my hopes were crushed as I reached the end of the issue. This issue was really coasting on an average level until I reached the reprint. With only eighteen pages of story and twelve pages of reprints for $3.99 it is impossible to pass this issue off as a buy unless Arisia or Kilowog is your favorite character. At the very least a common theme ran through both stories. Each character lost someone important to them and each will probably return in the blackest of night.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Brightest Day #1

May 11, 2010

As I stated before I do not feel much affinity for the returned characters. As of right now the story is stretched in so many different directions it is hard to say if it is good. Is it intriguing? Yes. Is there action? Yes. Am I dying for the next issue? No. However it is really early in the run so Johns and Tomasi have plenty of time to start bringing things together. Roughly twenty five issues but I get the feeling by issue twelve I will have the cravings I once felt for Blackest Night. The real challenge for Johns and Tomasi is not to increase the quality of the story or to tie everything up by the end. They have more than proven their capability to do this in the Green Lantern titles. Their real challenge lies in makes some of these old characters exciting again and making us like and care for them.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 8 #32

Feb 6, 2010

I am extremely pleased with this book and moments like this makes me want to go pop in a DVD and re-watch some of my favorite moments. Unfortunately I have more reviews to write...and miles to go before I sleep.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Daredevil (1998) #500

Aug 22, 2009

Initially I thought I would take the time to comment on Marvel's re-numbering system but this issue was so much fun I do not think it warrants anything more than a passing mention. Daredevil was re-launched with a new number one and after one hundred and nineteen issues, Marvel reverted the title back to its original numbering. If this book can keep up the great writing, art and add some ninjas! from time to time, I will back for five hundred more...in the oversized hardcover edition of course. Congratulations on the anniversary!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dark Avengers #9

Sep 19, 2009

By the bystanders are not only shocked at his size but also the huge battle axe draped across his back. I am sure Deodato had some fun drawing this issue. His big two page spreads are playful and full of kinetic energy as the panels themselves quake at Ares' might. The third and second to last pages also had a shocking event that was never telegraphed or hinted at. It was totally a surprising by shock ending no one could have seen coming.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dark Avengers #12

Dec 19, 2009

Getting back to the point, the promise of hidden meaning keeps me reviewing this book and hopefully it is not all in vain. I just wonder if there is a reason for the "group" Molecule Man created for himself. Someone mentions that he feels he belongs in this group but I feel there may be more to it than that. Can one of them be real? Luckily for our heroes Molecule Man is not quite right in the mind but if he ever does return I am sure it will be with a vengeance. And will there be any lasting affects from him tampering with Osborn's brain? One this is for certain Norman dodged another bullet but at the end of the issue we see he has another monkey on his back weighing him down, sinking him into deeper water. While the Dark Avengers is not a completely original idea it does work in the Dark Reign era of the Marvel Universe. And if sales numbers are any indication the Thunderbolts' formula of villains masquerading as heroes has not grown old with the masses. I know it has not for

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dark Avengers #16

May 16, 2010

Victoria Hand.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dark Reign: Elektra #1

Mar 25, 2009

With the plethora of Dark Reign mini series coming out it may be hard to pick out the gems in the bunch. This makes my job of reviewing a lot more satisfying as I can point you in the direction of some series that deserve your attention. Take my word for it, pick up this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Dark Reign: Elektra #2

Apr 22, 2009

Clay Mann also brings his soft penciling style to the book. He has a way of making everything natural. The slightly muted colors of Matt Hollingsworth also help build on this look but for some reason I expected the color palette to change once we left the helicarrier. Maybe mentally I imagined fluorescent lighting inside the carrier but everything outside of it feels like it needed to be a litter brighter. Speaking of bright, the cover artist Lee Berme-Jo is simply stunning and will have everyone picking up the issue just to get a closer look.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Dark Reign: Mr. Negative #3

Aug 22, 2009

One of the hardest working man in comics, writer Fred Van Lente, is joined by new artist Gianluca Gugliotta who also inked his own pencils. For his first published comic work Gugliotta shows tons of potential that by passes some artists that have been in the industry for years. Naturally there is room for improvement but once he develops his own style he is going to be a force to be reckoned with. (And his Betty Brant is nothing to sneeze at!)

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dark Reign: The Hood #1

May 26, 2009

If you have read the original Hood series then this book pays off in more ways than one. Kyle Hotz makes a return to the character he helped create and his art is a welcome change. His exaggeration of oddly thin legs can get some taking used to but his style dark really fits the mood of the book. While certain characters may seem oddly thin, Hotz varies body types as we see some big muscular villains in the club scene. The colorist also uses a muted pallet to give the story a very dreary grey feel that again works with the story being told. I am curious to see how readers who have not read his first series relate to this book. There are so many different directions this story can take that it makes it hard to know if this series will be worth the five payments of $3.99. But I can say so far it has been an interesting ride and I will be there to see what life has to throw at Parker Robbins next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dark Wolverine #82

Jan 23, 2010

This issue can potentially be the perfect balance of all the previous Dark Wolverine issues. Maybe Daken will get his wish and become a king amongst men only to realize it is not what he wants. If there is one thing that may take away from the issue is its relevance. The shock ending reeks of a possible future that is going to be rewound back and offer Daken a different path. Hopefully I am wrong with that one and this series can justify its relation to Siege. If the story therein is true then this may be one of the most important issues of Siege...but I doubt it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Deadpool (2008) #1

Jan 1, 2009

I was honestly worried that Deadpool would be portrayed as a bumbling idiot, especially with his P.O.V (Pool-O-Vision) and multiple voices. It is refreshing that he comes off as competent, deadly and a bit unstable. We also receive very little insight behind his actions up until the very end of the issue. It makes for a great cliff hanger but also makes the book feel like a light read. A double sized issue would have given us a better rounded story. At least Marvel recognizes this shortcoming and is publishing the next issue in two short weeks.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deadpool (2008) #3

Jan 1, 2009

What? Homework? Dude, you are so old. Tell you what folks, I’ll give you a little hint about the “random element”. Go read a certain ‘Misses’ in the ‘Marvel’ Universe who just turned 31.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Deadpool (2008) #4

Jan 2, 2009

The majority of the issue is drawn by Carlo Barberi whose style is very similar to that of Paco Medina who closes out the issue. While I prefer Medina, Barberi draws Deadpool’s facial expressions through his mask with much better detail. His use of lines in the final four panels of page 7 gives us a clear view of Deadpool’s expressions through the blackness of his mask. I am not particularly thrilled his portrayal of Deadpool’s face once the mask comes off but other than that Barberi makes an excellent fill in artist for the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Deadpool (2008) #5

Jan 2, 2009

If you are curious about the whispering conversation Deadpool has with himself let me save you time. I found a trusty magnifying glass and to my disappointment the sentences were just a bunch of jumbled letters.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Deadpool (2008) #7

Jan 3, 2009

Once more Way shows that even through his wild hallucinations and wittiness DP is still cunning and pays attention to the fine details. This issue was a quick read and while not terribly lacking it still seemed kind of bland when compared to previous issues. Paco Medina still brings his excellent semi Anime style to the table. However, with a crossover on the horizon I am bit worried about the art styles. The Thunderbolts artist has a more realistic, dark and gritty style which may not mesh well with Medina. Overall Way and Medina have a consistent style and flow that makes this book something to look forward to every month.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deadpool (2008) #8

Mar 4, 2009

Of course things never work out as planned for our beloved merc’ with a mouth. As he reaches his desired floor Norman is nowhere in sight but the new Thunderbolts welcome him with open axe. Honestly there is not much else to say about the issue. It is twenty three pages of non stop destruction and mayhem with a side of anti social remarks and insults that continues in Thunderbolts #130. Daniel Way is tucking this title under his arm and charging down field dodging tackles and stiff arming the competition. Eight yards down Mr. Way, keep your mind and eyes focused on that goal line. All the Deadpool fans are cheering you along.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deadpool (2008) #9

Apr 1, 2009

They share some back and forth banter as well as some punches and kicks and as weird as it may seem the Black Widow was actually enjoying herself. Putting the fun and joking aside, she retains her loyalty to Osborn as she lays a trap that captures the wrong Deadpool. Way keeps the laughs coming as Deadpool naturally pushes his and other people’s limits. He learns to multi-task while talking on the phone, shooting at the Thunderbolts and flying a plane with his feet! The multiple voices in his head continue to push the story along while providing comic relief in interesting ways. I am mostly interested in seeing how this all wraps up because even though Deadpool is seeking love it will not stop him from collecting the money he feels he is owed. He can easily switch from being goofy to dead serious when his money is threatened. Osborn and the Thunderbolts are in for a big surprise once they figure out that there are two Deadpools. Magnum Opus concludes in Thunderbolts #131.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deadpool (2008) #10

May 6, 2009

Combining Way and Medina on this book is pure, unadulterated, adrenaline fueled explosive fun!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deadpool (2008) #11

Jun 10, 2009

As you can expect their fight continues to be one of fun and surprises in a Texas Chainsaw Massacre kind of way. There really is not anything I can say that I have not covered in last issue’s review. Daniel Way and Paco Medina take us on a roll coaster ride of mayhem and meat? Yeah I may have forgotten to mention that Hawkeye takes Deadpool to a meat processing plant to off him. So what do you get when you mix a slaughter house, exploding arrows, Hawkeye, sharp objects, Deadpool and meat? Tons of fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deadpool (2008) #12

Jul 18, 2009

I just wonder what Deadpool is going to do about his damaged reputation. The whole world thinks he defected and joined the Skrulls during Secret Invasion.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deadpool (2008) #16

Oct 7, 2009

Before I go take a good look at the center of the cover. Could Pearson be some how dropping a clue?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deadpool (2008) #18

Dec 10, 2009

Paco Medina illustrates a fun and fantastic romp through out the city of San Francisco. Whether showing the entire city from a roof top or the underground train system he keeps the art consistent and fun. Every background character has a unique look and clearly has had some thought or inspiration in their design. One thing that I did notice was a lack of background on most of the action scenes. I do not know if he was pressed for time but the art could have really been pushed to a higher level with the appropriate background. Overall Daniel Way and Paco Medina have produced another high octane, no holds barred, adrenaline rush of a story that continues to make Deadpool a must read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deadpool: Suicide Kings #3

Jun 2, 2009

Carlo Barberi came as no surprise as the penciler of this series. His style meshes so well with the ongoing series artist Paco Medina that he even stepped in to lend a hand for half an issue. This creates a great consistency between both Deadpool books as they will seem familiar to readers. If you read one book and liked it, you will be more than willing to pick up the second. Like Medina, Barberi he has an almost Manga look to his pencils but without the large eyes or too much exaggeration. He keeps his characters and objects well grounded and realistic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doomwar #2

Mar 20, 2010

Scot Eaton is reaching all new highs with his artwork and the wonderful inking talents of Andy Lanning and Robert Campanella does not hurt either. However the colorist Jean-Francois Beaulieu also brings something to this group that should not be overlooked. First of all this book is dark. There are really heavy shadows that are balanced out perfectly by what looks like digital water colors. This art team is simply perfect. I can see them easily heading up Marvel’s next big mini series. If you are not reading this book you are seriously missing out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Final Crisis: Rage of the Red Lanterns #1

Oct 29, 2008

If I had to find something to complain about it would be the title. Final Crisis: Rage of the Red Lanterns. So far I have yet to see how this ties into Final Crisis. At the release of this issue Final Crisis is up to issue four. So far the Alpha Lanterns have had an important role and I am nervously anticipating seeing either the Red or Blue Lanterns show up. Hopefully DC has bigger plans than just slapping Final Crisis on the cover of this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2005) #21

Jul 6, 2007

I’m glad to see Ivan Reis back on the pencils. He has the attention to detail necessary for drawing an intergalactic war waged by members of various species and a clean line work that provides plenty of clarity. He is well on his way to becoming a superstar like Alan Davis and Bryan Hitch: two artists with whom he shares a similarity in style. I just wish he could keep up with a monthly schedule.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2005) #22

Aug 6, 2007

Johns really gives us a look at the motivating force behind a few different characters. The Guardians claim to want to rid themselves of all emotion to prevent it from clouding their judgment. While their intentions are good it can often frustrate members of the Corps. Hal wants to stop Sinestro and rescue his missing friends while the Lost Lanterns are looking for the Ion entity. Amon Sur wanted to be a Green Lantern like his father but the Power Ring chose Hal instead. After failing to kill and replace Hal he was drafted by the Sinestro Corps. Cyborg Superman's distaste for life gives rise to his desire for the eternal peace of his own death and Parallax creates strife because he feeds on fear. Johns clearly shows that everyone has a different reason for their actions and the overall story is richer for it. Reis continues to impress with his fight scenes and especially his splash pages. The page with the invading Lost Lanterns is particularly exciting. Chapter three may be over but t

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2005) #23

Sep 3, 2007

Finally hitting the halfway mark of this crossover you have to wonder what else could they have planned. How much bigger can it get? Geoff Johns and Ivan Reis have begun to weave all the plot elements into something cohesive. It seems the final battle ground has been chosen but the majority of the Corps is either on OA or battling out on Mogo. While the Lost Lanterns return Ion to the Guardians, Sinestro has already begun moving his most powerful members into battle. Cyborg Superman and his Manhunters are bringing the Central Yellow Battery into battle, Superboy Prime has been sitting on the moon ready for action and now Parallax threatens Hal’s family. Amidst all this chaos Ganthet and Sayd are banished from the Guardian council. While the Guardians refuse to act directly can Ganthet and Sayd help save Earth?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2005) #24

Oct 8, 2007

Let us take some time to look at this from a bit of a different perspective. Arguably Superman is the most powerful Meta-Human in the DC Universe while it has been stated that the Green Lantern ring is the most powerful weapon. So what happens when you get a Superboy, half a Superman and a Yellow Lantern together? A lot of trouble for the planet Earth. Then to top it all off they bring the Anti-Monitor? How are the heroes supposed to stop such an incredible foes?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lantern (2005) #25

Nov 19, 2007

Green Lantern: the Blackest Night Summer 2009."

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lantern (2005) #26

Dec 1, 2007

I have to admit Geoff Johns has made this issue very accessible for new readers. Each character shines under his pen with very distinctive personalities and motivations. You get a very real feel of all the characters quickly and almost immediately feel a longing for more. Laira's rage caused her to strike down a Sinestro Corps member who willingly surrendered. The new law of lethal force against the Sinestro Corps seems to be leading to trouble. It will be interesting to see how this will affect Laira's standing in the Corps, as I am sure the Guardians will not be pleased. Mike McKone’s art is also a welcoming sight. I lost track of him after he left Marvel’s Exiles but he brings a very solid style to the book. While not as detailed as Reis, McKone is an experienced penciler whose consecutive art tells a concise story that is easy and fun to follow.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lantern (2005) #27

Jan 30, 2008

Mckone continues to impress but I am beginning to miss Ivan Reis. For years he was the main artist on the book and his style is grittier and more realistic. Do not discount Mckone’s skills though! He may have simpler more cartoony style but once again his layout and kinetic action easily draws the reader into the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lantern (2005) #28

Mar 5, 2008

What I really like about this issue is that Geoff Johns has set things up with a lot of gray areas. The Guardians in their infinite wisdom still have problems seeing obvious things that are right in front of them. I am sure there is more to the Alpha Lanterns than they have revealed but more importantly what if Sinestro is right? What if the Guardians have spent all this time trying to prevent the Blackest Night prophecy from coming true when they should be preparing for it? Sinestro himself has some redeeming qualities even though he has committed countless acts of mayhem and murder. It goes back to that gray area I was talking about. I truly enjoy how he and Hal have this mutual respect even though they have been enemies on the battlefield numerous times. Okay, I know I have rambled on about that in the last couple reviews so let us move on. The scarred Guardian returns to the council as a flash of red light gains their attention. She mentions the name of Agent Orange while the Contr

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2005) #36

Jan 2, 2009

It is not as flashy or powerful as the other oaths, nor does it really inspire hope but I like how Johns incorporated two other Corps in the Oath. The first is fear or the Sinestro Corps who are the opposite of Blue Lanterns in function while rage or the Red Lanterns are opposite in color. Sinestro’s importance to the Universe is yet again mentioned by Ganthet but a skeptical Hal refuses to believe he is capable of any good. Agreeing to help with the rescue Hal leaves with Walker and Warth. During their journey he learns more about the power of the Blue Lanterns but ultimately he learns of certain plans for him that has already been set in motion. Back on Ysmault Atrocitus taps into the occult and completes a blood ritual to find Sinestro’s weakness. Something that he has kept hidden from everyone and something that may yet make him feel fear.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lantern (2005) #37

Jan 21, 2009

There is still the air of mystery as we learn more of the different Lanterns and what their relationships are. Blue Lanterns seem to charge Green Lanterns while draining Sinestro's. With two other Corps yet to be introduced the War of Light has yet to begin but we are again treated to four different Lantern Corps battling it out. Within the last sixteen pages we receive four big surprises that easily would have worked for the climax of this issue. This story proves why Johns and Reis are the top of their class. Now I am off to see how much Ivan Reis is selling the art for that last page.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2005) #38

Feb 25, 2009

As Scar closes the Book of Black we see some prophetic images of Hal and Sinestro fighting back to back, Katma Tui returned from the dead, Black Hand bowing to someone and the Guardians have captured Alan Scott, a Lantern named Torquemada and one other who I am guessing are all magic users.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2005) #39

Apr 8, 2009

It looks as though Agent Orange may be only one Orange Lantern after all.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lantern (2005) #40

Apr 29, 2009

This issue falls a little short and feels like a light read. Green Lantern #38 was similar but the Origins & Omens backup story more than made up for the few pages taken away from the main story. Geoff Johns did keep things compelling but there was just something missing from this issue. I cannot put my finger on exactly what but the ending alone will keep many readers coming back. Philip Tan also brings some of his best work to the issue. His Larfleeze at the end of the issue is wonderfully towering and threatening. For the most part his art, panel layout and motion are rendered beautifully but there are some points where people and faces look awkward.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern (2005) #41

May 28, 2009

This issue seems to fly by at a quick pace. There are a few interludes of other things happening within the Green Lantern universe. Sinestro and even Ash make a few brief appearances to remind us what they are up to. The origin of Agent Orange works well in finally explaining why the Vega System has been off limits to Green Lanterns. It also probes deeper into the Guardians need to hide or ignore the truth. This was not the first time they encountered the Orange Lantern and it is strongly hinted that the box they wanted back contained a captured Parallax. If these things are true then it should come as no shock to the Guardians that the other colors of the spectrum are beginning to manifest. Whether hey have intentionally forgotten certain parts of their history or if it was accidental remains to be seen. The presence of Parallax was somehow hidden from them yet, they remember Agent Orange. Johns has kept things very intriguing but the Guardians are looking more and more gullible as

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lantern (2005) #42

Jun 24, 2009

Philip Tan continues to improve his artwork with issue. It is obvious that he is becoming more comfortable with the characters and it would have been interesting to see how his art would of progressed if he stayed on the book. Together with Barrows and Geoff they have crafted a story that will influence the Green Lantern legacy for decades to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern (2005) #44

Jul 22, 2009

Overall this was a solid issue with solid art. The whole issue seems to past by quickly with some great “buddy cop” moments between Hal and Flash. Scar even gets a few pages to finally state her purpose while she incapacitates the remaining Guardians. I am really greatful that the Black Lanterns seem to have their personalities in tact. Martian Manhunter really played some deep psychological games that threw our heroes off tract. Unfortunately in the face of Blackest Night this issue seems kind of light and unnecessary. Most of it feels like set up for things that are going to happen in the main book but I am hopeful Johns will make this title work on its own. Actually in hindsight I would not be upset if DC collected the Green Lantern issues together with Blackest Night.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lantern (2005) #46

Oct 1, 2009

Johns and Mahnke deliver a great story which is beginning to approach the greatness of the Sinestro Corps War. Every issue comes jam packed with great excitement that I have yet to find in other books on a consistent basis.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lantern (2005) #48

Nov 28, 2009

Geoff Johns really fills in the gaps between the Blackest Night issues with this title. Yet, he still stays true to the direction of Green Lantern as he concentrates on War of Light and has finally united all the Corps against the Black. Their differences have been put aside as the Universe looms ever closer to demise. It really seems like this should be the final stretch of the story but we have only just past the half way point. There is definitely something else waiting to be revealed and with it a larger source of conflict. Furthermore the ending caption also deserves attention as it states, “The New Guardians Charge Up in Blackest Night #5!” Can we really be looking at the future of the Green Lantern mythos? I’ve honestly lost count of the Guardians but in the aftermath of Blackest Night could there be a single Guardian for each of the different Corps?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2005) #50

Jan 30, 2010

If I had to complain about something else it would be the panel layouts. Now Mahnke does a wonderful job of giving us a story we could follow but it lacks real creativity and playfulness. Now two or three times he does break panel borders and plays with our perception. Most notably the diagonal panels as the Spectre is overwhelmed but for the most part the issue is filled with standard square and rectangle panels. It would have been wonderful to see what Mahnke could have created with an additional three or four weeks.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2005) #51

Feb 20, 2010

Doug Mahnke takes over the full penciling and inking chores on this issue. In the past he has had up to four different inkers on his work. Yet in this issue he inks himself and it still looks a bit uneven. Some pages obviously got more attention than others but Mahnke still provides a more than serviceable job on delivering great art. He especially excels at the dark and macabre. The scenes inside the Black Lantern Spectre are creepy and eerie. I just hope we get to see him tackle the Black Hand again before Blackest Night is over.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lantern Corps #14

Jul 16, 2007

As always, Patrick Gleason continues to do wonderful work on Green Lantern Corps. His figures are powerful and dynamic, and he does a great job conveying the characters’ emotions through their facial expressions. His Sinestro looks cunning and fierce; Natu appears confident and beautiful; and Green Man is physically powerful, yet he has a warm demeanor. Also, Dave Gibbons delivers one of his better scripts on the series to date. It helps that the issue mainly focuses on Natu, Sinestro, and Green Man, and not an overwhelming amount of characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern Corps #15

Aug 20, 2007

The build up of the last few issues finally explodes into the second major battle. Gleason and Unzueta once again split the art work but this time their styles blend together better. Gleason does however get most of the action scenes including the great two page splash that turns the book in a clockwise direction. As the two Corps are battling it out the panels slowly turn clockwise forcing you to turn the issue clockwise as you follow from panel to panel. I am not sure if I have ever seen this before but Gleason gets a lot of points for his storytelling. Gibbons also gives us a well paced story showing the brutality of the War. Arkillo proves to be absolutely vicious in battle and proves to be a challenge for Kilowog. Hopefully the two will meet again as their battle was cut short. The break neck pace of the story has returned and I am enjoying every second of it! We truly now have a crossover as elements from the Green Lantern book are picked up in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern Corps #16

Sep 17, 2007

This book may read quickly but the all out action is paced so well with the story beats that you feel satisfied. Gleason and Unzueta are joined by a third inker in this issue. I am not entirely sure if it is the inkers but Unzueta’s art is blending better with Gleason’s. You can still tell the difference between the two but it does not feel as jarring as it used to. It is getting harder to rate these issues on their own because so much is happening and carrying over from the previous parts. It all starts to merge together in your mind. After another quick glance through the issue I have to commend Gibbons on keeping the recaps to a minimum. You learn all you need to know from the character’s dialogue and he does not make it campy or forced.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern Corps #17

Oct 22, 2007

I was also really disappointed with the final Kilowog and Arkillo battle. I yearned for a bigger more epic fight like the first round they had on the surface of Mogo. Even with all the fighting this issue felt like more setup than actual story progression. I am not sure what Dave Gibbons could have done with the story to make it feel more robust but it just seemed like he had to bring everything from point A to point B. Not a bad issue overall but the art could have been a lot better.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lantern Corps #18

Nov 5, 2007

Peter Tomasi jumps on this issue as the new writer while leaving his editor position over at Green Lantern. He balances the flashback and current day sequences especially well keeping you hooked until the end of the issue. This issue is also the pay off to last issue’s set up but its importance is still yet to be seen. There is no story progress with Sinestro or any views of what is going on around the world. While totally enjoyable it lacks a certain connection to previous events. Of course I could be wrong, maybe Prime or Ion will play a vital role in winning the war.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern Corps #19

Dec 1, 2007

Editor turned writer Peter Tomasi proves to us that he knows his Lanterns. Each is written well in character but Kyle and Guy receive more story time than the others. Kyle ponders a job offer for an art director position but ultimately cannot figure out what why he does not jump to take the position. I really like Tomasi on this book. I am not sure how much writing he has done in the past but I am looking forward to where he is going to take the Corps. There is such a large cast of characters that he can choose from. Patrick Gleason draws the issue with six different inkers. I am surprised that each page is consistent with this art style. The inkers did a terrific job of keeping things consistent.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern Corps #29

Oct 8, 2008

Peter Tomasi shows us his writing prowess as this storyline seems to be weaved and interconnected in seen and unseen ways. Since the Sinestro Corps he has spotlighted Kyle, Guy and Ion. Speaking of Kyle, since his separation from the Ion entity he immediately jumped back into being a regular Lantern. He seems happy with this decision but after giving up that much power it makes me wonder if he misses it or if he is just lonely. Since his move to OA he has been a bit disconnected but there could be a budding relationship between him and Natu. They seemed to make a real connection back in issue 27. Patrick Gleason also returns as artist after a brief hiatus to remind us that he was born to draw this book. I am glad that he is back from his break as his work is fresh and energetic. For the first time we see the recruitment and painful transformation of a Star Sapphire. A Sapphire who will have a large grudge against the yellow ring bearing Mongul. Remember what I said about "seen and unse

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lantern Corps #30

Nov 12, 2008

Without Ganthet or Sayd in the council the Guardians have begun shifting their suppression of emotions unto the Green Lantern Corps. I am sure this new law will create great discord within the Corps but I really wonder what is going to happen to couples who are already members of the Corps? I can see where the Sinestros targeting the families of Lanterns can cause problems but as old and wise as the Guardians are supposed to be I do not understand how they can view this law as a good idea. How is Kyle going to react since he and Natu seem to have some feelings for each other? Tomasi and Gleason really have turned up the excitement on this book and have me dying for the next issue. The focus they are placing on Guy, Kyle and even Ion is paying off as the quality of this book keeps rising every month. The debate between the Guardians and the Zamarons was handled superbly and is easily my favorite part of this book. Each side possessed good points and I cannot decide who was more accurate

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern Corps #31

Dec 10, 2008

Okay let me state the obvious. Sapphire Miri is going to save the day. With the way things have been building it just makes sense. Of course I have been wrong before. Kryb on the other hand is one of the creepiest and unsettling Sinestros I have seen and her new ability is repulsive. She honestly gives me the creeps. In contrast to the last two issues we get a lot of heavy action as Tomasi gives Gleason some room to flex his muscles. The battles are easy to follow and some pages have as little as one word balloon. The horrid looks of disgust after the Lanterns are sprayed are only out weighed by the ugliness of Amnee’s huge eyes and teeth. Rany Mayor’s colors are particularly effective in the underwater scenes. The man has superb skill in his use of color during the battles. While the Kryb battle is not as entertaining as the Guardians’ trip to Zamaron in the last issue it still is a great competent story that is building to conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern Corps #32

Jan 14, 2009

The battle is vicious and takes the combined powers of the Green Lanterns and a Star Sapphire to subdue Kryb. Unfortunately someone makes a bad decision and it costs them most dearly. The third new law in the Book of OA is also announced to all the Green Lanterns receive the update from their rings. As Kyle and Natu reveals their feelings to each other the irony of the situation sets in. Now a family of three Matoo and Amnee decide to resign from the Corps. On OA, the child Amnee saved last issue finally reaches Salaak in a green bubble as other green lights begin to appear. In a sudden rush hundreds of Green Lantern rings fly past Salaak as Lanterns begin resigning in opposition to the newest law. The little cameos of Mongul in the past few issues finally lead somewhere as he sets his sights on Daxam, the home planet of Ion.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lantern Corps #33

Feb 11, 2009

Much like the book of OA and the book of Parallax the scarred Guardian has begun to keep record in the book of Black. As she begins oozing black liquid from her eyes, nose and fingers it forms images in the book. She claims her purpose is to feed his children to be. Next we see Guy and Kyle begin to prime a building to be painted. Kyle refuses to use his ring to do the job as he wants to put his own blood and sweat in the job. Slowly other Lanterns want to join in the job and soon Kyle and Guy are supervising teams of painters. The issue ends with a collage of prophetic images in the book of Black. As Guy is knocked backwards by a Green Lantern symbol Saarek meets up with Ash. Kyle embraces Natu while his dead girlfriend Jade returns. Sodam and Arisia face great challenges while Kilowog argues with a Guardian. Finally in the middle of the collage are children dressed in Sinestro Corps uniforms. Could it be the children Kryb kidnapped have return?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lantern Corps #34

Mar 11, 2009

Back on Daxam the battle between Arkillo and Mongul rages on for the leadership of the Sinestro Corps. It is a bloody and fierce battle but it ends quickly and decisively. Gleason’s blow by blow panel by panel structure gives their battle an almost beautiful choreographed grace. Tomasi then begins to unfold other plot points that are sure to become of larger importance in the future. Kyle and Natu waste no time getting comfortable with each other even though it is against the third law created by the Guardians. Things like this never seem to end well for Kyle.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lantern Corps #35

Apr 15, 2009

It is a weird feeling to have a palpable excitement for a book every month. I am not talking about the usual excitement of finding out what happens after a cliff hanger either. I am talking about the rush of possibilities that invade your mind as you look at the cover. I am talking about the urge to devour the contents of the book as quickly as possible to satiate the gaping hole in your gut. I am talking about Peter Tomasi and Patrick Gleason. They make me look forward to this book every month and every month I give them praise in these reviews for the energetic, dynamic and thought provoking stories told within the pages of the Green Lantern Corps. It really should come as no surprise that they are often at the top of my Wednesday stack of comics to read. The same thing can be said about Goeff Johns and whichever A class artist he is working with on Green Lantern. While Johns mainly concentrates on Hal Jordan and John Stewart, Tomasi has hundreds of Green Lanterns to play with even t

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern Corps #36

May 13, 2009

It is amazing to see some of the events that happen in this book with the big Blackest Night event right around the corner. Even though she only has a single panel appearance in this issue Scar has thoroughly screwed over the Green Lantern Corps from the inside out. Her sabotage knows no bounds as the Green Lantern Corps may have lost their most powerful soldier right before they would need him the most. Tomasi also punches up the drama at the beginning of the issue with the father daughter interaction of Soranik and Sinestro. I cannot help but to admire Sinestro’s corrupted arrogance. Even as he shows concern, pride and a touch of love for Natu it pierces his every emotion and action. He is steadfast in preventing the prophecy and protecting the Universe. While I can understand the need to expand on the big reveal of last issue, dedicating nine pages to it seems a little excessive. The two double page splashes of the riot begged for more attention but with family ties story thre

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern Corps #37

Jun 10, 2009

Tomasi and Gleason bring us the penultimate chapter of the six part Emerald Eclipse. This issue is certainly not the place for new readers to jump on and I can see where long time readers may grow weary of waiting for Blackest Night but I love how Tomasi is giving us multiple climaxes while still building to something bigger. The massive undertaking of intertwined plotlines as well as sharing events from Green Lantern creates a great sense of cohesion. The three major plotlines in Emerald Eclipse are framed around different members of the Green Lantern Corps. As each story bears fruit it intensifies the drama and suspense making you wish for and dread the ultimate climax at the same time. While I cannot deny that certain plotlines are more interesting than others I also cannot deny the scale of everything that is happening. In the Green Lantern universe something is happening everywhere and I get the feeling it is all going to tie together in the most unexpected way during Blackest Nig

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lantern Corps #38

Jul 7, 2009

Putting aside the conjecture, Gleason has blazed a heck of a trail since taking over this book after the Sinestro War. Each story arc has been as stepping stone to bring the Corps to this point. The ensemble of characters he has been balancing all appears in this issue reminding us that Oa is not figuratively the center of the Universe. Soranik and her partner Iolande mull over the revelation that Sinestro is Soranik’s father. The battle on Daxam proves to be too much for Mongul and his Sinestro Corps so the retreats to another planet that will serve his needs. So much is going on at the same time it is exciting to ponder where all the paths will cross. As always Gleason’s art is solid but one thing was really off. The opening page shows a group shot of the Corps and they don’t look any worse for wear. What happened to them barely winning the battle? They all look clean and rested. No torn uniforms, injuries or dirt appear on the Lanterns left standing. They do not ev

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lantern Corps #39

Aug 15, 2009

Once again Tomasi continues to juggle multiple storylines as Arisia learns why Sodam hated his people, Kryb’s children cry out in her absence and Mongul makes Krougar his base of operations as he names his followers the Mongul Corps. I can tell that there is going to be plenty of back and forth between the different stories until ultimately they all intersect. It is going to be interesting to see if Tomasi can manage to give most of the Green Lanterns equal attention, balance the other plotlines and make the story work as a whole. Honestly he is not off to a bad start. Since the Sinestro Corps War every issue he has written has slowly built onto the next. Guy, Kyle, Natu, Arisia, Sodam and Mongul all have been spotlighted over the past few months so maybe soon we will find out where he has been leading us.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern Corps #41

Oct 16, 2009

It is great to see Tomasi pick up on story points that were planted in the Tales of the Corps mini but I am hoping for a bit more. As impossible as it may be I want him to really give most of these Lanterns their time to shine. I was happy to see Isomat and Varth get some face time but it was sorely limited and they just get trounced. The cover reveals a little of the ending of the issue but it raises more questions than answers. This surprise out shines the second surprise that actually ends the issue but the real question is where did these children come from? Could the children of Kryb have been killed only to be resurrected? What about the children Sinestros we have seen in the Origins and Omens issue? And where are Salaak and the Alpha Lanterns? Their presence is sorely missed after the important face off they had last issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lantern Corps #43

Dec 19, 2009

In the last few years Peter Tomasi really has built a wonderful home for the Green Lantern Corps. Everything that has happened in the past has built up to this moment and beyond. Miri returns to shine violet light in Kyle and Soranik's life once again, Guy finally loses control of his anger and we get more brief appearances from Vath and Isamot. There is no way I cannot say something about Patrick Gleason's art. He has kept a great consistency with his art work but I can tell the deadlines are tight and not for the reason you think. Normally Gleason has a real playful and exploratory style to his panels. In this issue we get two pages of this as Guy forces the Black Lanterns to feel his rage but every other panel in this issue is straight forward and square with many one third page panels. Again there is nothing wrong with this but it does stray from some of the zany and wacky angles and shots Gleason usually provides. Even though this is still the Blackest Night Tomasi and Gle

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern Corps #44

Jan 23, 2010

For an issue with four inkers and two colorists I have to say they have maintained an excellent consistency. It is hard to tell which pages were inked by different artists. Even more impressive is that this issue may still be consistent with the last. (It has been a month since I have read it so please forgive me if I am mistaken.) I know the deadlines may be piling up on Gleason but he has not shied away from giving us expansive two page spreads with great detail. I think right after Blackest Night he may have to take a break but with only two issues left I hope he can make it. I really do not have anything new to say about Tomasi's writing that I have not said in previous reviews. He has created a great story pulling in pieces from the last few years of the title. I think the shift from the Black Lanterns to the new Red Lantern is a welcome and unexpected change of pace that really works to keep interest in this book high.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern: Sinestro Corps Special #1

Jun 27, 2007

Tales of the Sinestro Corps: The Greatest Once, The Greatest Again

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Immortal Iron Fist #24

Mar 25, 2009

Duane Swierczynski crafts a wonderful single issue story that is filled with tragedy, action, death and war. It holds all the ingredients for a well rounded story that is ripe for the television screen. I am sure he must have watched a Kung Fu movie or two get his mind in the correct place before writing. The art by Kano is perfect for the time period and carries a real authentic eastern style. The colors a bit muted which adds to the timely authentic feel.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
New Avengers #59

Nov 28, 2009

Bendis continues rolling forward with his Avengers master plan that began in Secret War and Avengers: Disassembled. How much more abuse can he have planned for these characters? Which of his favorites is going to feel his wrath next? With the bookend event Siege on the horizon I am really excited to see what he has planned. Now is one of the best times to be an Avengers fan so what are you waiting for? Jump on!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
New Avengers Annual #3

Dec 10, 2009

While I can sing praises to Bendis' writing I have to give more credit to Mike Mayhew's art. I do not know if it is Andy Troy's colors but this issue looks fantastic! It has a life like painted feel and while in most cases that translates into static and stiff images they absolutely break the rule here. The best testament of Mayhew's art is the character faces. Each has a totally unique look to where you can tell the difference between Ms Marvel and Mockingbird just from the neck up. Both have blonde hair and blue eyes but the shapes of their faces, noses and lips are totally different. I am absolutely smitten with this art and could only pray for a monthly book from him. I do not know if Mayhew is monthly artist but I would gladly fork over $3.99 for even a nineteen page book from him. Seriously, who else can draw Norman Osborn's curly waves and make them look realistic?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Planet Skaar Prologue #1

May 20, 2009

Dan Panosian's art has a very flat feel that is similar to John Romita Jr. but it lacks a certain something to make it excel. He has not built a unique style that separates his work from the other artists. His panel layout, action and general storytelling proves Dan is a comic artist veteran and hopefully Planet Skaar can give the attention needed to elevate his status.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Prelude to Deadpool Corps #3

Mar 20, 2010

Overall this issue was average. Victor Gischler is really starting to grow on me in the Merc With a Mouth book and Philip Bond does a serviceable job on art but I think the character more than anything turned me off. If you are skipping the Prelude to the Deadpool Corps books then you are not missing much with this issue. However if any of the upcoming issues is anything like issue two then you will be missing out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Secret Six Vol. 2 #11

Jul 7, 2009

Secret Six is a book about a group of questionable characters who take up odd jobs for money. Lead by Deadshot the team consists of Bane, Ragdoll, Catman, Scandal Savage and a sixth character named Banshee, I think. (DC can definitely benefit from a recap page or at the very least character introductions for the unschooled such as myself.) Carrying over from last issue, which currently has gone unread, the team is working for a wealthy business man named Mr. Smyth. Smyth seems to live on an island where he is building a new society founded on the backs of criminals and slaves. Somehow he has enslaved a few Amazons including Artemis who has been bound and drugged. The real conflict of the issue centers around the six and the roles they must play. For a team who is supposed to depend on each other their moral ambiguity leads to dissention. Some members consider themselves professionals and once their word is given the job must be completed no matter how much their feelings may play into

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Siege #1

Jan 7, 2010

Bendis teams up with his House of M collaborator Olivier Coipel who delivers on the art. His style is slightly cartoonish and his layouts really portray a fast and frenzied story once the action picks up. He really flexes his story telling muscles in a two page splash that brings Loki into Asgard to wake King Balder. What could have taken four pages to progress the story is chopped down to two yet this issue's pacing feels like it suffers in other places. Did I mention the issue felt short? This is really weird since there is only one ad in the issue and a six page preview of Hulk #18. Overall not a blockbuster of an issue but a very solid start to what can be one of the greatest Marvel stories ever told.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Siege: Spider-Man #1

Apr 28, 2010

This is not your usual face off between Spidey and Venom. In a lot of ways they sound like old sparring buddies from the same gym. The wise cracks and irony run at an all time high but then there is a little extra spice added to the gumbo. Namely the cosmically powered Ms Marvel who has recently had a date with Spider-Man. They have an interesting dynamic that I hope we can see more of. In one corner you have got the tough, military driven Carol Danvers and in the other you have the sarcastic science wiz Peter Parker. At first it does not seem like the two would mesh well but there certainly is some chemistry there. Now outnumbered two to one Venom does the only thing he can to a cosmic foe. The symbiote takes over Ms Marvel!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Siege: Young Avengers #1

Apr 19, 2010

Reading this issue made me realize how much we need a Young Avengers monthly book. These characters have been stuck in limbo for a bit too long. An event mini series here and there does nothing substantial for them. I understand why Marvel wants to wait for the original blockbuster creative team of Jimmy Cheung and writer Alan Heinberg. However with Heinberg being a television/movie writer his main focus is not comics. I love the creative team but I think I love the characters more. With the recent announcement of the YA: Children's Crusade Marvel will have their wish and I hope afterwards they will move the characters on and if necessary away from their "parents".

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Siege: Captain America #1

Apr 19, 2010

There is so much wrong with this issue that it hurts. An extra three or four pages in Siege could have effectively summed up Bucky's state of mind making this issue obsolete. It all just seemed pointless especially for $2.99. I can understand wanting to dedicate time to certain characters during Siege but the concept of this family falling into the Siege battle zone is extremely weak. The family gets too entirely too much panel time. It does not make sense to spend time developing who this family is when any generic mother and child in danger would yield the same results.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Skaar: Son Of Hulk #11

Jun 2, 2009

I truly expected something very different from this book. I assumed Planet Skaar would have its star journey through the Marvel Universe as he hunts his father. So far Greg Pak has been able to connect with Skaar’s inner child and shows us the grief he feels from loosing his home Planet. Things are building up into an interesting story but I cannot predict where things are going. This makes things exciting in some ways but equally the risk of disappointment is compounded. The Hulk’s sudden appearance is a perfect example of where the story may sink or swim. Ultimately the ending of Planet Skaar will determine whether or not the journey was worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Thor (2007) #603

Oct 3, 2009

Thor #603 catches us up with all the players on the table. Thor has recently been reunited with his love Sif and is now trying to help her adjust to their new life style and the Warriors Three decide to become new owners of a restaurant. The laughs pretty much end there as Loki and Dr. Doom become the centerpieces of the book. Individually they are a formidable force but together I'm not sure what can stop them. Dr. Doom seems interested in the Asgardians immortality and wants it for himself. Loki on the other hand wants Thor defeated and dead. It looks like they both may get what they want as Doom readies a new model of Doom bots to attack Donald Blake, Thor's human host. One thing that does trouble me is Loki's knowledge of Thor's weakness. He recently sought out Dr. Strange to help repair his hammer Mjolnir and in the process poured his Odin Power into the Mjolnir. They now have a new shared bond where their fates are intertwined. How can Loki already know this? I hope the Dr. Stran

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Thunderbolts (2006) #126

Jan 1, 2009

De La Torre continues the tradition of Deodato Jr. with very dark brooding art. His facial expressions and details are exquisite. He even inks his own work and from all the blacks used in this issue I am sure it was a lot. Even outside scenes are colored in very cold hues. I am not sure where De La Torre has come from but I can tell he is going to go places. The cover artist Mattina also deserves great praise. I cannot tell if his work is a mix of photography and digital art or just digital art but it is captivating. His sense of design makes for a very interesting cover that will pique anyone’s interest.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Thunderbolts (2006) #130

Mar 25, 2009

Bong Dazo is an excellent artist. He has a cartoony layout and dimension to his art that is similiar to Ed McGuinness but has a very proper and realistic take on detail such as muscles and fabrics. Just take a look at the Widow's skin tight uniform on page twelve. The line detail to her suit actually looks like real skin tight material stretching to cover her frame. I have never seen a style quite like Dazo but my exposure is quite limited when compared to other writing staff. My only worry is that when this crossover is read back to back the art change from Paco Medina to Bong Dazo may take away from the overall enjoyment of the story. The adventure continues in Deadpool #9.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Thunderbolts (2006) #131

Apr 29, 2009

While Magnum Opus was not a spectacular mind blowing story it was still entertaining and fun. It was something akin to a summer blockbuster movie with bullets flying, big explosions and even a stolen kiss or two. Dazo continues to impress with his striking character poses and insane muscular detail. As I stated earlier the choreography of his fights are noteworthy and exciting. You almost feel like you want to dodge punches that are being thrown. The colorists also deserve a lot of praise. They really build and bring new dimension to the Dazo’s art. Diggle has proven he has a talent for writing morally corrupt or confused characters. His Deadpool is witty and I loved how Osborn suddenly and drastically changed. The scripting of all the characters dialogue was completely on point. I have to say crossovers like this work well when they are infrequent. I did not mind spending the money on two issues of another book but I want this story to have lasting effects on those involved. I h

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Thunderbolts (2006) #132

May 18, 2009

Roberto De La Torre handles the art chores and brings back the dark and gritty look to the book. I really like his art but at times his backgrounds have a bit too much of a photoshop feel. You can tell where a photo was used and manipulated for the background and the figures that are drawn in do not feel the weight of the scene. Maybe he was in a rush but with a little more experience I am sure Roberto will master balancing his art. Given the right amount of time and some room to breathe this book will easily grow to become one of Marvels best books on the shelves.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Thunderbolts (2006) #133

Jun 24, 2009

the riot panels make some of the characters seem like midgets and other character’s limbs look skewed. However upon closer inspection I think it may just be a very realistic take on it even though it looks off. I would not be surprised if he used photo reference. I just hope Marvel does not pull him off this book for something with a higher profile. So strap yourself in and get ready for a wild ride with the darkest jewel in Norman Osborn’s crown. You will believe lightning can strike twice.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
World War Hulks: Hulked Out Heroes #1

Apr 14, 2010

Humberto Ramos is the perfect choice for artist on this series. His art delivers the action and the cartoony aspect that feels right at home with the subject matter. His imaginative designs and layouts make the mixture of super heroics, time travel and pirates believable. Throw in some dinosaurs, monkeys, cowboys and Hawkeye and you get a hodgepodge of comic goodness that any reader young or old can respect. How could a writer effectively mix all of these things together? Read and find out. I must confess these types of stories are not what I really like to read but I have to admit that Parker and Ramos make H.O.H. spell F.U.N.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More