Jamal Melancon's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Herotaku Reviews: 85
8.6Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Amazing X-Men #1

Nov 6, 2013

Although the focus of this issue may have left Nightcrawler before I knew it, I loved the issue. Without a doubt, it adds a real layer of depth and worthy history to Nightcrawler's character that fans can always cherish, while still giving readers an enjoyable read of the X-Men at Wolverine' school.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Amazing X-Men #2

Dec 4, 2013

I expect a lot more fun to be had in Amazing X-Men. McGuinness' art is overwhelming, and Aaron has great pacing and perceiving of beloved X-Men characters. If the book doesn't always take everything big and bad too seriously, it'll be more than amazing. Let the swashbuckling adventure continue!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Aquaman And The Others #1

Apr 3, 2014

The overall plot of this new series is terribly predictable so far, but there's a good amount of potential in the creative team's execution. This issue is definitely a rough start, but for such an interesting cast of characters, there's no harm in giving the series another chance. I've got a feeling the quality that the creative team delivers will only get better.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Archer & Armstrong #18

Mar 3, 2014

The organic and fluid work of writer Fred Van Lente and artist Pere Prez progress this crazy crossover in the right direction. It's taken a great first step forward, immediately showing that this cross over is meaningful, well-plotted, and overwhelmingly entertaining. This Valiant comic shows a comic book crossover in its best form.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Archer & Armstrong #19

Apr 2, 2014

Fred Van Lente and Pere Prez simply dominate and rule over this penultimate chapter of this crossover with ease. Colorist David Baron consistently breathes life into Prez's spectacular pencils, which combines with Lente's well crafted script and dialogue for a flawless, fun ride the whole way. Pick this Valiant comic up, Nation.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Archer & Armstrong #20

May 5, 2014

The creative team makes a penetrating dive into a new story arc, presenting new and exciting concepts told beautifully and creatively from Valiant's master storytellers.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Archer & Armstrong #21

Jun 10, 2014

A balance of crazy fun and an interesting developing plot makes Archer & Armstrong #21 nothing short of spectacular. Fred Van Lente writes engrossing content to take in, and Pere Prez's artwork glues you to the page.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Armor Hunters #2

Jul 7, 2014

The scope, presentation, and intrigue of Armor Hunters just doesn't disappoint. The creative team's quality work has readers begging for more, and with this epic event's amount of potential, things seem to be only getting started. I say keep up with all things Armour Hunters, Nation. This entry in the story continues to satisfy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Armor Hunters #3

Aug 12, 2014

This crossover yet again doesn't disappoint. Venditti and Braithwaite deliver possibly the most exciting entry yet, as the Armor Hunters conflict grows even bigger. Through all the captivating chaos, the creative team doesn't lose any sight of characters' core.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman/Superman (2013) Annual #1

Mar 5, 2014

With a clear grip on the artistic styles at work, characters at work, and the continuity in play, Batman/Superman Annual #1 presents an entertaining, compelling annual that is worth your buck, whether you follow the main title or not. Seriously, I only read the issue to read some Red Hood, and I was not disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Batman: The Dark Knight (2011) #23.4

Sep 26, 2013

This issue isn't so much a train wreck, as it is a failure for the train to launch. Readers can easily get lost in Duela's repetitive, crazy inner thoughts that really aren't at all interesting. We know she's ugly. Or readers can just lose track of any kind of Gotham or Batman related significance that comes from Duela's arrival because there is none. Her concept looked very amusing months ago, and now that she's arrived, she really is just a joke. I wouldn't recommend buying this issue, even if you think it'd be fun to laugh at it's low quality. There's nothing funny here, just nonsense. The Joker's Daughter is a sad excuse for a villain in every way possible.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bloodshot & H.A.R.D. Corps #0.2014

Mar 3, 2014

Bloodshot and H.A.R.D. Corps: Corps #0 is not only a jump-on point for new readers looking to get into Bloodshot, it's a great comic all by itself. The large amount of people that worked on this comic created an astonishing final product, from start to finish. "Three Decades of Destruction" equals three decades of awesome storytelling, in this case.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bloodshot & H.A.R.D. Corps #22

May 11, 2014

A potent story in Valiant Comics' Bloodshot and H.A.R.D. Corps doesn't disappoint or fall short. Issue #22 features nothing but attention-grabbing moments, and it increasingly captivates readers in its promising story with ambitious, well-executed plot developments.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bloodshot & H.A.R.D. Corps #23

Jun 9, 2014

The creative team wraps up the series in an entertaining and cohesive way, even if some execution and an overall farewell to the series feels a bit flat.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Cyclops (2014) #1

May 7, 2014

The stylish, brilliant storytelling by Greg Rucka and Russel Dauterman doesn't miss a step, as Cyclops #1 blasts its way through the character's first ongoing series, treading skillfully and carefully, as it creates an engaging and beautiful tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Damian: Son of Batman #1

Oct 31, 2013

The verdict is that Son of Batman is disappointing. Very disappointing. It's sad to say it, but there really isn't anything to look forward to in this miniseries, from what we've seen so far. The cliffhanger at the end didn't do anything to affect my opinion. The writing is just bad. I think I'm passing the rest of this miniseries up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Damian: Son of Batman #2

Nov 27, 2013

This issue tells a story that isn't unreasonable to accept as Damian's path to becoming Batman, which I'd say is a big accomplishment. Kubert's art is more than entertaining and more than enough of a reason to stick around. In round two, one could say the same for his writing. Stick around, nation. Fully witness Damian's "return".

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Damian: Son of Batman #3

Dec 31, 2013

If Kubert had just condensed his story's scope, a lot more could have been salvaged from this short tale that's nearing its end. Unnecessary and confusing characters and plot developments hold back from what could be a truly touching story with awesome art.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Damian: Son of Batman #4

Jan 29, 2014

Art-wise, the conclusion of Andy Kubert's miniseries shows the least errors, but the writing is a totally different story. Damian: Son of Batman may have some remarkable panels, especially when combined with the story's context, but the writing just does so much more harm than good. It would have been nice to see how the straightforward and predictable story in this issue could have played out if a majority of the dialogue didn't cloud the action packed art. Keep that pencil drawing, not writing Kubert.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Eternal Warrior #2

Oct 8, 2013

This is a great series in the making here, trust me. The creators obviously know what they're doing. Every page and panel serves some purpose, and it's obvious that a lot of time was put in to the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Eternal Warrior #3

Nov 20, 2013

The verdict is that this issue might just determine whether you'll keep picking this book up or not, but I highly recommend that you do. Eternal Warrior #3 clarifies its mythology, keeps delivering highly intimate moments, and takes some pretty big strides in the plot department, one of which may be a bit risky.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Eternal Warrior #4

Dec 15, 2013

Eternal Warrior #4 flawlessly capitalizes on its risky plot development last issue, naturally moving the story forward in a speedy pace. Greg Pak and Trevor Hairsine are a great duo, keeping the issue fresh and captivating, but Diego Bernard does drop his artwork in for a good portion of the issue. Accept that this series is going to deliver serious and superb stories across the time line, and you've got yourself a "must buy" book!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Eternal Warrior #5

Jan 23, 2014

A bit of a slow pace and unattended to plot points aside, this issue tackles a new era with the now eternal emperor, Gilad Anni-Padda. Because Greg Pak is still writing touching and entertaining dialogue, and artist Robert Gill is there to back him up this issue, one can't go wrong with continuing to read Eternal Warrior or deciding to just jump into it this issue. This series fitting pace and remarkable quality isn't going anywhere. On top of that, Emperor Gilad commands you to go buy it, like now.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Eternal Warrior #6

Feb 10, 2014

This new arc of Eternal Warrior is looking great so far, a captivating jump on point is followed up by some great plot and character development in Eternal Warrior #6. This Eternal Emperor is still kickin'.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Eternal Warrior #7

Mar 24, 2014

This second arc of Valiant's Eternal Warrior has only gotten better with each issue. The experience crafted by Greg Pak and Robert Gill in this penultimate issue isn't something to miss. What may be seen as a simple plot is overwhelmingly elevated by the stylish, astonishing execution of the creative team. Eternal Warrior never lets me down.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Eternal Warrior #8

Apr 23, 2014

Like the hiatus the title's going on, this issue of Eternal Warrior is bittersweet. By delivering sentimental, meaningful, resonating scenes all throughout this last issue, Greg Pak and Robert Gill overwhelmingly remind readers why we'll miss this great series so much.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fathom Annual #1

Jun 17, 2014

The verdict is that Fathom Annual #1 tells beautifully depicted, touching, and alluring stories with a great a sense of scope and variety. Although, less text and more complex short stories couldn't hurt. Regardless, this annual is a buy!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harbinger #0.2014

Mar 16, 2014

Like I said before, this issue is able to attract the reader in quickly and make them care about both the characters and the story. The creative team executes an intricate,visually striking experience that only makes readers behind on Harbinger want to catch up for these kind of stories. For ongoing readers, this is yet another entry into the Harbinger series that is oh-so worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harbinger #18

Nov 12, 2013

Everyone's "perfect day" may soon be coming to end, but the same doesn't go for the "perfect read" Harbinger is delivering. As someone who's never read Harbinger till' now, I'd highly recommend not missing this. I was quickly entranced by the meaning and entertainment the issue brought, and can only imagine what all the great character moments and interactions mean to avid readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League United #0

Apr 23, 2014

The creative storytelling of this book entertains readers, as they get peeks at the bigger and better things Lemire's got waiting for them in this unique title. McKone's beautiful artwork and Lemire's confident pacing already confirm Justice League United as a new, distinct title that will only be promoting fun and a breaking from the norm through nice execution. Pick this book up, Nation. - See more at: http://herotaku.com/blog/1/entry-11845-justice-league-united-0-review/#.U1fwWflGF8E

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Legendary Star-Lord #1

Jul 2, 2014

This first issue serves as an excellent introduction to Star-Lord's character and the fun to be had reading this series. Once the issue gets going, Humphries' writing is real entertaining, and Medina's pencils electrify content the whole way through. Don't be shy, Nation. Let the Legendary Star-Lord take you for an adventure in space.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Magneto (2014) #1

Mar 6, 2014

Writer Cullen Bunn and artsit Gabriel Hernandez Walta are able to deliver the right vibe in Magneto #1, offering some great suspense and action along the way, but when it comes to the entire package of the issue, not a lot of new content is presented, even if the premise still has so much potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Marvel Knights Spider-Man #1

Oct 2, 2013

All in all, give this issue a chance. I know lots of people still may have beef with Dan Slott's Doc Ock and all the craziness going on there, so let Peter be crazy for a bit. This isn't some one-shot, old school and back to the basics Spider-Man story. It's looking to raise the bar on Marvel Knights future as a whole, and show off the skills of awesome creative teams.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightcrawler (2014) #3

Jun 12, 2014

Minus the dialogue and repetitious hiccups, Nightcrawler #3 is a solid entry into the series, featuring lots of heart and overall refreshing content and execution.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nightcrawler (2014) #4

Jul 9, 2014

Excluding Todd Nauck's art, the depiction of most action panels in this issue boiled down to being silly, due to Claremont's repetitious narration. The conclusion of this story arc does provide a nice development for Kurt, but (again excluding the art team) I just can't say I enjoyed how the story got there in this issue. - See more at: http://herotaku.com/blog/1/entry-13149-nightcrawler-4-review/#.U74d-vk7u-0

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2011) #24

Oct 9, 2013

I was pretty satisfied with this issue. I hope Higgins and Conrad keep working together because the final product is always a treat. Although the finale could have been a bit better, hopefully the plans for the future will make up for it. The "buyer's remorse," that Nightwing feels for Zucco is a great addition to the series, and it didn't feel really forced. We saw Zucco's new character already, so all his actions in this issue flowed pretty naturally. He didn't betray Nightwing; he saved his life. Atta boy!'

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2011) #29

Mar 12, 2014

The touching, powerful content of this issue eclipses any hard feelings for the cover. Ultimately, Kyle Higgins' last issue on the series is a serious Nightwing story to remember, whether it's in context or not. Brought to life by Dauterman's stunning pencils and Pete Pantazis' bright colors, Higgins' story is major for the character. This is a story every Nightwing fan should read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nightwing (2011) #30

May 28, 2014

The script of Tim Seeley and Tom King could have been much better for the series' last issue, but the creative team did manage to deliver some potent content in part two and part three, although to a lesser extent. Overall, Nightwing #30 is a solemn goodbye to an aspect of Dick Grayson's character, and it executes this farewell with a few missteps but also a few surprising highlights.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Quantum and Woody #9

Mar 31, 2014

The presentation of Quantum And Woody #9 is definitely heightened by Kano's refreshing pencils. Combined with the awesome jump-on point opportunity, this issue really does feel like the start of a new beginning. Hopefully this new beginning will leave the stale jokes and repetitive coincidence trope behind next time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Quantum and Woody #10

May 12, 2014

While the overall story isn't all that exciting, Quantum And Woody #10 executes the journey better than ever with fresh content. James Asmus delivers new kinds of comedy and a cleverly used name-drop, as Kano's pencils prove impressive.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Quantum and Woody #11

Jun 1, 2014

The creative team have made an astounding Quantum And Woody issue. This is the kind of work that reminds comic book readers just how crazy and fun the medium can be. Don't miss out on this one, Nation!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Quantum and Woody #12

Jul 1, 2014

I can confidently say this is the best issue of the series. Quantum And Woody #12 produces nothing but laughs and fun with its awesomely outlandish content, expertly executed by the creative team the whole way through. You do not want to miss out on this fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rai #3

Jul 10, 2014

Rai #3 is a very interesting action/sci-fi series and in its relatively short publication time, I have to say that Valiant has put out another great comic you won't be disappointed to pick up if you haven't. I'm personally a big fan of sci-fi series like Ghost In The Shell and films like Blade Runner and I see some very good elements from those properties in Rai. This issue ended with a shocking revelation and I'm eager to see how it pans out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Red Hood And The Outlaws #23

Aug 21, 2013

Despite the inconsistencies and gripes with the art, Tynion is bringing it on with a very engaging story. I think Jason's path in life having to do so much with the League of Assassins is just brillant. At the end of the issue he's officially become their leader and vows to help them win the battle with the Untitled currently racing towards them. Roy's jokes are funny, amnesiac Jason is starting to feel more natural, and Starfire's strength and conviction are more than significant.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood And The Outlaws #24

Oct 16, 2013

The quality of this RHATO issue is more or less the same as the others. I'd say I went easy on the art this time, but I'm really getting annoyed with it. The writing is awesome, on the other hand. Tynion is tying plot lines together beautifully, and I can't wait for the real finale of the arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood And The Outlaws #26

Dec 18, 2013

James Tynion IV's consistency builds up to an awesome, climatic moment for his run in Red Hood and The Outlaws, while Julius Gopez finally delivers some above average art for his final issue. Even though Ra's Al Ghul wasn't used to his full potential and could even have seemed lame at times, the real Jason Todd definitely saved and stole the show. The truth of his trickery and why he might lose his fight against Ra's is coming up; the hype train is not slowing down.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Red Hood And The Outlaws #28

Feb 19, 2014

Tynion says farewell to Red Hood and The Outlaws by writing a highly enjoyable story that gives a great "final word" on his interpretation of Jason Todd. With a great art team of Stephen Segovia and Nei Ruffino to back him up, Tynion shows that he can easily write a smooth tale from start to finish for Jason and company, especially when Jason's in his right mind. All the great things that James Tynion IV has given to this title are on full display in this issue, at perfection. This one will be holding me over for a while, long after we read the title from the new creative team next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood And The Outlaws #29

Mar 20, 2014

If you're a reader that either hasn't enjoyed Tynion's run, dropped Red Hood and The Outlaws because of Tynion's run, or enjoyed Tynion's run but want a change of mood, this is the issue for you. Writer WIll Pfeifer is back and in great form for this series. This first issue of Red Hood and The Outlaws reads almost flawless with Rafa Sandoval's brilliant art Will Pfeifer's quality, fast-paced writing. Hop on board the new run, Nation.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood And The Outlaws #30

Apr 20, 2014

Even with excessive dialogue and inconsistent art, Will Pfeifer's second issue of Red Hood and The Outlaws is an adventurous success. Pfeifer's captivating dialogue and Rafeal Sandoval and RB Silva's beautiful pencils make a simple story an awesomely executed journey, and one can't forget Pfeifer's nice surprises.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Red Hood And The Outlaws #31

May 21, 2014

Overall, this issue's storytelling doesn't amount for the lacking story itself. Pfeifer's content for the Outlaws ends on a good note, carrying good memories of how he wrote for the team, alongside Sandoval's beautiful work, but it all doesn't end up being memorable in the long run of things, due to the story's little significance. - See more at: http://herotaku.com/blog/1/entry-12351-red-hood-and-the-outlaws-31-review/#.U34jvvlGF8E

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rogue Trooper #1

Mar 7, 2014

From Ruckley's writing to Tom B. Long's lettering, the creative team on IDW Publishing's Rogue Trooper delivers what looks to be flawless execution. From start to finish, this first issue is an awesome ride, an experience.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Scarlet Spider #22

Sep 25, 2013

Yost proves to us that he really knows Kraven and Kaine's character, and this issue uses great looking flashbacks and perspective oriented re-caps to lay the ground for the story. Unfortunately, the plot at hand isn't exactly as juicy as what we've seen before. No real surprises are in this issue, but I'd definitely recommend it, if you're looking to follow Kaine, until the end, and definitely if you're a Sergei Kravinoff fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Scarlet Spider #23

Oct 30, 2013

The verdict is to grab your webslingers and hurry up and read this issue. Kaine is becoming a star in his own right. If you're following the story and felt a bit let down by last issue, trust me. This one's a keeper. I'll be reading it again and again. It adds just that much to Kraven, Kaine, and their connection made in Grim Hunt.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Scarlet Spider #24

Nov 28, 2013

The penultimate chapter in Christopher Yost's Scarlet Spider really exhibits what fans might miss most from the series: its comedy. Yost, Burnham, and Baldeon really outdid themselves by totally going in the opposite direction of what one might expect, after a bloody last issue. This "webtastic" issue was the result.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shadowman #15

Feb 5, 2014

Coming off of Shadowman 13's jump on point, I can safely say that issue #15 was the best from the creative team yet. The issue is able to continue creating a cinematic-like experience for a setting I very much know and love. While Peter Milligan's dialogue can sometimes be choppy and his plot predictable for Shadowman #15, his captivating dialogue from the voodoo loa, great pacing, and interesting plot points and development easily overshadow the flaws. Go ahead and pick up this issue, Nation. The series keeps delivering that voodoo magic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Shadowman #16

Mar 15, 2014

The culmination of this arc's character development, plot, and sub-plot all work towards delivering a pleasantly executed conclusion, one that feels substantial and can be appreciated by how well woven plot-lines come together. Even with Milligan's minor errors, Torre and Baron's amazing art only elevate his writing, making for a real quality issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shadowman: End Times #1

Apr 26, 2014

The story in this book speaks to the Shadowman series' core, and the creative team's execution of it all makes for an outstanding mini-series debut. Shadowman fan or not, this isn't a Valiant title to miss. The storytelling delivers on every front.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shadowman: End Times #2

May 27, 2014

Peter Milligans moves a thrilling story forward with stylish dialogue and smart plot choices, even if the tale's art doesn't totally deliver. Readers will be captivated by the gloom and complexity of Jack Boniface's world, so craftily depicted.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shadowman: End Times #3

Jun 21, 2014

Even with all my qualms with Landro's art, I still believe this issue was pretty good. Some of Landro's more focused and horror-esque visuals did do the job, and Peter Milligan's impressive storytelling makes for a dark, emotional, and genuinely entertaining conclusion that provoke more thoughts. - See more at: http://herotaku.com/blog/1/entry-12891-advance-review-shadowman-end-times-3/#.U6Ybzvk7u-0

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2011) #32

Jun 27, 2014

I never thought I would love reading Superman this much. The creative team seems to have the story and pacing of this comic on lock, delivering some of the most entertaining type of content from a Superman comic. I'm officially on board this run, Nation.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2014) #1

Jul 16, 2014

If you're on the fence about giving this relaunched Teen Titans a chance, be assured that the book is worth it. Pfeifer writes a tight and fun story in this first issue that is marvelously executed by Rocafort's stunning visuals. The Titans are back, and they do not disappoint. I'm looking forward to reading more, Nation.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Three #1

Oct 10, 2013

With an awesomely interesting premise, I'm just going to go ahead and say I'm on board for the rest of Three. A letter by Kieron Gillen after the issue really helped me out with the context, and the series has gained my trust. I highly recommend this series to anyone who thinks they know a thing about the Spartans. Kieron Gillen has brought the challenge.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Three #2

Nov 13, 2013

For delivering a devastating battle in its first few pages and following up with some Spartan history and story telling that dragged for a bit,

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Three #3

Dec 11, 2013

Instead of throwing random fast balls for shock value, all the action from Three feels natural and well paced. Kelly and Bellaire continue to knock each panel of the pack, and Gillen doesn't hold back with the writing either, always creating an interesting aura and tone in the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Unity #3

Jan 14, 2014

Valiant Comic's Unity #3 is arguably the best issue in the series yet. Kindt and Braithwaite seamlessly deliver another captivating tale, but this one shakes the story telling up by executing compelling narration. Combine that with interesting characters and satisfying plot progression, and you've got yourself a must buy book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Unity #4

Feb 16, 2014

If you're reading Unity already, this is not an issue to miss or wait for. Unity #4 is a defining issue of the quality that Valiant continues to bring. I honestly envy those who have the opportunity to read all of Matt Kindt and Doug Braithwaite's first arc in one go this March.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Unity #5

Mar 11, 2014

Unity #5 serves as a good testimony to the series' bright future for Valiant Comics. By making up for any bumps in the road with seamless storytelling near the end of the issue, Kindt and CAFU deliver a compelling and interestingly developing first issue of this new arc of Unity.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Unity #6

Apr 9, 2014

There is currently no team-book on the superhero comic book line that gets me as excited as Unity. Matt Kindt's smooth and versatile storytelling continues, with artist CAFU knocking his script out of the park. I'm pretty sure this issue featured one of my favorite Valiant Comics action sequences yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Unity #7

May 20, 2014

Overall, Unity #7 delivers on all fronts in terms of execution; this execution encompasses its lacking ending. The thrilling storytelling captivates and puts readers into just such a classic and quality experience. At the end of the day, the ride to the end of Unity #7 is the biggest payoff, and I love it. Bring on the Armour Hunters, Valiant!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Unity #8

Jun 16, 2014

Unity #8 completely draws readers into the ongoing conflict through stellar writing and dialogue. Matt Kindt and Stephen Segovia deliver a thrilling story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Unity #9

Jul 14, 2014

The creative team amazingly do both the Armor Hunters event and the Unity series justice. Matt Kindt's powerful commitment to characters fluidly meshes with the current plot, and Stephen Segovia's visuals make for some memorable, captivating combat in the issue. Definitely continue to witness Unity's side of the Armor Hunters event, Nation.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Unity #10

Aug 13, 2014

The creative team takes readers for a breathtaking visual dive that pays off. Small and few steps in the story are taken, but excellent art execution drives the issues and keeps eyes entertained the whole way through.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Velvet #1

Oct 23, 2013

If you're a fan of Brubaker or Epting's work, you definitely won't be disappointed. Velvet shows to be a serious, stylish, book that's going deliver something new to the spy genre, and I absolutely love it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wolverine and the X-Men (2014) #1

Mar 6, 2014

Ultimately, artist Mahmud Asrar and colorist Israel Silva deliver fantastic visuals that readers' eyes will just be feasting on. Jason Latour keeps up the vibe of the previous Wolverine & The X-Men run, balancing the laugh and cry moments effortlessly. At the end of the day, a significant amount of readers' enjoyment is going to depend on just how X-Men savy they are, but that doesn't stop the new creative team on this title from keeping the series interesting, even if the main idea is predictable. The team's execution is what really works.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-Force (2014) #1

Feb 13, 2014

Spurrier and and Kim deliver interesting, high quality story telling for characters in the here and now. Out of all the titles Marvel has relaunched, X-Force is something totally different. Spurrier's special touch on the series looks promising, as he keeps the premise, more or less, simple. Spurrier and Kim brilliantly execute the tale to make X-Force #1 fine entertainment, well worthy of one's time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-Force (2014) #2

Mar 15, 2014

X-Force #2 seems to do so much great work in very little time. When Rock-He Kim's pencils are given the right moment to get moving, nothing but entertainment is brought to panels. Spurrier brings his classic vibe of rebellion and fresh material to pages, making for an awesome experience. Stay with this book, Nation.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-Force (2014) #3

Apr 18, 2014

If I had to describe this comic in one word, it'd be brilliant. Simon Spurrier and Rock-He Kim are delivering brilliance on the Marvel's X-Force title. Personally, I'll be ordering and eating up whatever this creative team serves, which is nothing but high quality.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-Force (2014) #4

May 9, 2014

And with one issue by Si Spurrier, just like that, I'm in love with Fantomex and his ridiculousness. Molina's stunning visuals make this issue the most enjoyable we've had art-wise, as Molina's technique really shines, and Spurrier's competent, interesting, and hilarious script create a fantastic issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-Men Legacy (2012) #17

Sep 18, 2013

This issue is more of a highlighted, slow-mo action scene with dire consequences happening in the end. Nonetheless, this is just another issue of X-men Legacy! It's nothing but great. I could never recommend skipping it. You get to watch Charles Xavier's crazy child attempt to take on Cyclops, Xavier's...legacy, I guess. Pham's art won't let you look away, and Spurrier's writing might just teach you a thing or two.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-Men Legacy (2012) #19

Nov 7, 2013

This dialogue heavy issue of X-Men Legacy's 19th issue is nothing to look over. David is really being put in the ringer, and I can't wait to see how he's going to make things better or how he's going to change.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-Men Legacy (2012) #22

Jan 18, 2014

-Men Legacy is so satisfyingly taking big steps but keeping great pacing in each and every issue, providing top-notch story telling all the way, and this issue is no different. Spurrier and Pham continue to dominate the X-Men universe with not Legion, but David Haller. Don't call him Legion.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-O Manowar #23

Mar 18, 2014

Venditti's paced story and neat script allow for some seriously, awe worthy visual moments from Bernard and Reber. The quality storytelling and new reader accessibility make this comic a must for those interested in Valiant's Armour Hunters.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-O Manowar #24

Apr 15, 2014

I can't explain how on board I am for Armor Hunters, after reading this issue, and it's not because of some gimmick. X-O Manowar's "Prelude To Armour Hunters" arc lured me in purely with awesome storytelling. Both the arc and the issue is an overwhelmingly job well done. The execution of the creative team is superb.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-O Manowar #26

Jun 22, 2014

The execution of this first chapter in a brand new arc of X-O Manowar is simply fantastic. The quality work of the creative team gives some serious weight to this all-new starting point and proves that the Armor Hunters story will only continue to be even more gripping. If you're interested in the Armor Hunters crossover event at all, do not be mistaken.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-O Manowar #27

Jul 30, 2014

The Armor Hunters' past proves to be as cutthroat as promised, and it's nothing but entertaining to witness. Although pretty straightforward plot-wise, the issue delivers an informative, interesting tale through excellent storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More