Kevin Carley's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: CourtOfNerds Reviews: 99
7.9Avg. Review Rating

8.8
Action Comics (2016) #976

Mar 23, 2017

So, great conclusion to the "Superman Reborn" and I look forward to seeing if a giant blue dong makes an appearance soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Amazing Spider-Man: Renew Your Vows (2016) #1

Nov 9, 2016

This comic has it all, and though it costs $4.99, It's one of those books you'll want to keep and go back to.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Amazing Spider-Man: Renew Your Vows (2016) #6

Apr 13, 2017

This comic hit's all the high notes. Buy this book. Buy this series. Then buy it in hardback. This kind of book is what Marvel Comics needs right now more than ever.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Animosity #1

Aug 3, 2016

So this comic might be derivative, but who cares? It's allot of fun and I may even learn a lesson from all of this.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Aquaman (2016) #12

Dec 10, 2016

Come back next month for what promises to be a bitter-sweet conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Aquaman (2016) #15

Jan 19, 2017

This was not a comics wide event, but it should have been. Tens of thousands, if not hundreds of thousands, of US citizens died and the eastern seaboard was destroyed. This is momentous. This is society changing. This is what you get when you have Dan Abnett write a story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Aquaman (2016) #26

Jul 19, 2017

I don't know how many times I have to say this for this series, but I will do it one more time:

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Aquaman (2016) #29

Oct 18, 2017

That said, the slide on the art quality should turn you away from this comic series. Its still top notch storytelling and now that long hair Aquaman is done with his emo phase, we can get into his kicking ass phase.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Aquaman: Rebirth #1

Jun 9, 2016

Like most of the Rebirth books, much of this comic is exposition. However, the reveal at the end makes it all worth while.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman: The Red Death #1

Sep 23, 2017

While this book doesn't really add much to the narrative of Metal, it was still a welcoming distraction to the fact that Scott Snyder's next issue won't be out till October 11th.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Betty Boop #1

Oct 6, 2016

Lagace's art, as I have said before, is amazing. She was the perfect artist for Dynamite to tap for Betty. Her characters emote in ways I didn't think two dimensional cartoons could. So, if your at NYCC this week, stop by in artist alley or visit the Archie booth and buy some of her prints, you won't regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Booster Gold / The Flinstones Special #1

Apr 2, 2017

The art is sublime. The story wacky and yet poignant, in a crazy way. It's fun, funny, and is combines two of my favorite things: Booster Gold Comics and old Hannah Barbara cartoons.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Brik #1

Jul 14, 2016

I am sure I know where the next few issues will be taking its readers... I'm just not sure it's worth the journey.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.5
Cannibal #1

Oct 8, 2016

I don't normally give horrendous grades for comics, but in this case, I'll make an exception. Image Comics, I expect better.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Captain Kid #1

Jul 27, 2016

The bar has been set high for the first comic of this series; I can't wait to see how they raise it!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Catwoman: Election Night #1

Nov 5, 2016

While the Catwoman comic was fine, it was merely a means to get to Trigger Warning. Both comics benefited by being associated with each other. You should buy this comic, even if you don't agree with the agenda, because having more satirical political comics is never a bad thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Chew: Demon Chicken Poyo #1

Apr 20, 2016

This comic maybe the craziest thing on the shelves right now, but its also one of the most fun as long as your not reading this on the train... then people may look at you funny.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Civil War II #0

May 18, 2016

After all this bitching I bet you think I'm going to give this comic a bad grade. Well, guess what, I can't. It's illustrated well. The dialog is fine and even nuanced at times. The problem is that very little happens. This is a #0 comic. A set up. A means to get our heroes from Point A to Point Kicking the Shit out of Each Other. I can't blame a Ford Fiesta for being a Ford Fiesta. It does what it is meant to do. You just hope that there is Bugatti Veyron in the parking garage down the street.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Civil War II #1

Jun 1, 2016

Again, you might think reviewing this comic is strait forward. The dialog is stilted, with some of the worst Spider-Man quips ever written. The story is based on events we never see. The great art cant off set this, right?

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Civil War II #3

Jul 13, 2016

This is the low point for me, on this series, which was pretty low to begin with.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Civil War II #6

Oct 27, 2016

Half of this comic is people crying. And the other half is people hugging. And that is literally all there is to this book other than a few panels with questionable dialog choices.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Civil War II #8

Jan 1, 2017

It's over. It's finally over. An event reviled by so many that Marvel went ahead and ruined the ending four months in advance hoping we would all move on. And we did... to DC Rebirth.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Dead of Winter #1

Aug 2, 2017

The comic is funny, and welcome departure from the similar comic fare.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deadpool & The Mercs For Money (2016) #1

Jul 22, 2016

In the end, I will hold out hope that this run will surprise me and help divert me from Civil War II continuity. Maybe I will be surprised next month. It might just be better to wait for the TP for this DP comic though.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deadpool: Back In Black #2

Oct 21, 2016

In short, you dear reader need to buy this series. Not just for the amazing writing and art, not just for the cooky off the wall antics of deadpool, not just for the insane premise of the comic, but because we all need more Katie Powers blowing up space lizards.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Doom Patrol (2016) #1

Sep 15, 2016

In the end, I have a hard time telling anybody to buy this comic other than the Doom Patrol fans or people board of cognitive concurrence. This comic is also NSFW, but anybody buying it would know that anyway. When the story comes together in a hardcover or a paperback it will be much more worth while and you will not have to wait till the narrative puzzle pieces are glued on to the page. I also can't really give it a bad grade because this is a good kind of weird. 

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Ducktales #1

Sep 29, 2017

So, much to my regret, I will have to say to the reader: don't spend money on this comic. Let your kid look at it in the store to see if it's worth a pick up. It's not terrible, but there are allot of "not terrible" books that my son has more interest in that doesn't require me using a Donald Duck speech impediment.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dungeons & Dragons: Frost Giant's Fury #1

Jan 11, 2017

I am so happy to have these heroes back in the comics. This book is great read even if you hadn't read the previous series... but you should read them because they are great. Young and old adventures should pick up this brilliant comic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Eclipse #1

Sep 7, 2016

So, I'm intrigued enough to pre-order the next issue of Eclipse, but we will see if this creative team can keep up the mystery and intrigue after that. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Flash (2016) #21

Apr 26, 2017

If you can still find Batman #21, pick it up with Flash #21 and get ready for next week, because this story is going to be... timeless.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Grayson Annual #3

Jul 1, 2016

This book wasnt necessary, but it was fun. We get to relive some of the amazing adventures that Grayson and Bertinelli have gone through over the past three years. Its cathartic in a way. We left Dick and Helena in a rather heart wrenching break up scene when last we saw them. I much rather remember them diving off a Gotham building looking for adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Green Lantern (2011) #51

Apr 6, 2016

This ends up making me ask myself why I keep buying Green Lantern. If I have to ask myself that question, than I shouldn't expect anyone reading this review to start buying it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Green Lanterns #24

Jun 10, 2017

So hats off to Sam Humphries for a super short story. Job well done to Carlo Barberi and Matt Santorelli for some terrific artwork. Congratulations to Ulises Arreola Palomera for bringing it all to life. If your not reading Green Lanterns, now is the perfect time to pick up the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #21

May 24, 2017

If you collected the previous six comics, you're going to want to pick this up; but if you just wanted see a satisfying conclusion than you will be sorely disappointed. I'll let a few months go by before checking in on Hal again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hawkeye (2016) #1

Dec 15, 2016

So, do I like this comic book? I'm not a big fan of Leonardo Romero's artwork, but it's not a deal breaker. I like the message, but not really how it's delivered. But, it did make me think and question. Despite how you feel about the use of legacy superhero character names, this book is worth reading, and you might be better off because of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Heathen #3

Apr 20, 2017

So, I'll say again. Buy. These. Books. The next one comes out May 17th.  Catch up before then.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.5
Helena Crash #1

Mar 26, 2017

Now, I only tend to save this kind of mean for Brian Michael Bendis, but this book really disappointed me. This might be the lowest I'll ever score a comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Infamous Iron Man #9

Jun 30, 2017

It's clear I haven't learned the lesson everyone is trying to teach me. It's clear my id has it out for my higher cognitive functions and wants my brain filled with garbage to elicit an emotional response... but I am incapable of anything other than an exasperated sigh and an eye roll at this point. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League of America (2017) #12

Aug 12, 2017

I've been waiting a long time to wrap up The Atom Rebirth story line, and I'm glad we are finally getting there. I love that Steve Orlando is writing it too. If you are not familiar with him, read all of this. The mood is fun and campy. The story is faced paced. The dialogue compelling and hilarious.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America: The Atom Rebirth #1

Jan 4, 2017

In the end, this is still a good book and a fitting start to what might be a good series, maybe I'll just temper my expectations and hope for some microverse action to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League of America: The Ray Rebirth #1

Jan 19, 2017

So buy this comic. Give it to friend that might need some encouragement. Give it to someone who might be afraid. Help be a light in the darkness.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Kingpin (2017) #1

Feb 8, 2017

Despite these short comings, the story still interests me; albeit just barely. I will probably pick up next months issue to see if any of this worth pursuing and I'll let you know if you should forgo this series or maybe wait for the trade paperback, because I'm not recommending you buy this issue... yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
M.A.S.K.: Revolution #1

Oct 2, 2016

Buy this book is only to relive your youth, but keep buying to get an unexpectedly good story.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Man-Thing (2017) #1

Mar 8, 2017

So, no, I can't really recommend this book. Marvel fumbled again. We don't even get the phrase "Whatever knows fear, will burn at the touch of the Man-Thing" inside the actual comic. Maybe it's coming, but I won't be around to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Micronauts #1

May 1, 2016

The end result is a comic which i can appreciate for it ties to the past, without getting bogged down in the minutia by it. The only downside is that even with all that this book has going for it, it still will not have the mass appeal that Voltron or the Shadow have. 

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #1

Aug 9, 2017

So maybe you should just go buy this book and not let me ruin anything for you. Know that I can't wait for the next issue to come out. Know that Tom King and Mitch Gerads are at the height of their powers and it shows.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #2

Sep 13, 2017

Just... Bravo... Well done Mr. King. Expertly illustrated Mr. Gerards. The sardonic humor, to the trippy story line, to snarky dialog. It's just perfect. It's hard for me heap enough praise upon this series. 

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #3

Oct 11, 2017

So continue buying this series... then buy it in hardcover... then again in trade paperback to give to your friend. This is the best series going on in comics right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
New Superman #1

Jul 14, 2016

While I not sold on the overall concept yet, I would like to see more until I recommend a pass on this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Nighthawk #2

Jun 25, 2016

Overall, this book may or may not reach the pop culture levels to which I alluded to earlier. Watchmen is appreciated more now that it was at the time of release, so maybe in five years time with some perspective we may appreciate this comic more. Yet, if it manages to make a few people think harder about race relations and police power, then we can still consider this comic a success.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #10

Dec 9, 2016

Over all, this comic points Nightwing in a familiar direction; a direction that feels more like a homecoming than a fresh start.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #20

May 3, 2017

This is what Tim Seeley nails. He has helped move their relationship from Mentor/Brother to Friend/Confidant. It is really quite amazing. It is believable because it is so relatable. More than anything this is what I have been missing from Bat-Family comics... the feeling of family. We know that some day Damian will surpass Dick, if he hasn't already, and will be the heir to the Mantle of the Bat; but now it doesn't seem like there will be any challenge for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Nightwing (2016) #30

Oct 4, 2017

So, all in all, a great start to a new story arc of the best butt in comics. It's good to see connections being made and I'm anticipating a big payoff in the end. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing: The New Order #1

Aug 23, 2017

Despite all the well earned praise I am heaping on this book, I am still uneasy about the story. I have to tell myself this isn't continuity... it's a "what if" like Mark Miller's Red Son, but I'm still uneasy. Maybe that is the intention of DC. I want this story resolved, even if I might not like the outcome. That's good writing, and good writing is good for sales. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Nova (2016) #1

Dec 7, 2016

So buy this book, even if nothing of import really happens. It's just plain fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Odyssey of the Amazons #1

Jan 25, 2017

The dialog as well as narrative can be a bit disjointed at times. Despite that, the character motivation is pretty well established, which is commendable. The main problem I have with this comic is that it is a "historical" story about the Amazons. Wonder Woman and the Amazons have had many ret-cons over the years... some I have loved like The Legend of Wonder Woman and some I haven't (Earth One Wonder Woman). The story can change, but it has to be grounded in history. It has to take place in a specific time or place.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Pestilence #1

May 4, 2017

So buy this book, but it's not for the faint of heart. If your not offended by concept of exposed mammary glands and brains on blades, you will enjoy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Power Man and Iron Fist (2016) #1

Feb 18, 2016

Despite being underwhelmed by the visuals of this book, I will continue the series because it is so damn interesting and involving some of the most memorable "B-list" heroes around. Hopefully in the next issue Danny gets to run his mouth a bit more.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Prowler #1

Oct 26, 2016

So here we are at the end of the review and I have to admit that this isn't a bad comic... it might even have some potential like on the Spider-Man side of The Clone Conspiracy. I'm just not willing to buy anymore single issues to get there. 

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Punisher (2016) #1

May 4, 2016

The only real good thing I have to say is that at least Frank isn't a resurrected angelic agent again. While the trench coat with access to celestial weapons was cool, it wasn't what The Punisher is all about. This comic does capture, in the briefest glimpse, of how brutal Frank Castle should be... it just can't cover up the bad story telling.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Raven #1

Sep 22, 2016

The only bad thing I can say is that I wish this was more than a six issue series. I'm sure by the time the sixth book is in Tim Drake will be found and the Titans will be back to their old habits. Until then, I will enjoy the "hell" out of this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) Annual #1

Aug 30, 2017

One thing that has always stood out with Red Hood and the Outlaws is the artist holding the pencil. Tyler Kirkham is great at depicting action sequences... like Jim Lee level good. I mean just look at the panel above... Mmmwhah! Beautiful!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Red Hood and the Outlaws: Rebirth #1

Jul 28, 2016

Wait... Jason is going to kill somebody and Batman is going to come after him... again.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Secret Weapons #1

Jun 28, 2017

I'm not saying this is a great book, because something that is this derivative shouldn't be considered great unless it truly excels in all areas. But it is a good book. One worth buying if only to see where this story might be going. It could just be going into familiar territory, but if it is done well... who really cares?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Trek: Deviations #1

Mar 15, 2017

If that doesn't capture the TNG ethic, I don't know what else can. His words encapsulate the hopeful futurism that secular humanism wishes to promulgate. A naive idea maybe, but one which we should all aspire to hold. An idea that filled me with awe once a week as a child while watching television with my mother. In a world of alternative facts, scientific knowledge and humanitarian ethics will eventually win the the day.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Super Sons #1

Feb 15, 2017

I believe that is what we are going to get, as long as narrative direction stays on target, but when I see that there are three authors listed on this comic... it scares me a little. I have faith in Peter J. Tomasi and Chris Burnham, but I never really liked Dennis Culver that much. I hope this doesn't become a "too many cooks in the kitchen" kinda story. But until that happens, I will recommend this book based on just the strength of the characters involved. I'm ready to be taken off on a super adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Super Sons #9

Oct 18, 2017

So, if you havent picked up the previous four issues maybe wait for the trade paperback. Its good, but Id wager it will read better with a proper denouement, which wont come for another month.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman (2016) #1

Jun 15, 2016

This is a comic that fully deserves "#1" on it's cover. It's a new start for all of those involved. We have a new protagonist in Jon "Smith" who has allot of growing to do (maybe Damian Wayne and him can buddy up). The Justice League will have to get to know this new (old) Superman as well (that's gonna drive Bruce crazy). So buy this book and wear the colors proudly, because Superman is back and that is all that matters!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman (2016) #6

Sep 7, 2016

As a new series begins and we get to see Jon and Damian team up and the new Trinity come together, I would like to take a moment to say a heart felt "thank you" to Tomasi, Gleason, Gray, and all of DC Rebirth. This has been great. I look forward to the future. You have rekindled my love of SUPERMAN.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Superman (2016) #32

Oct 4, 2017

I have to conclude that this short story arc did keep me entertained, even if it didn't surprise me. I look forward to seeing how Waller fits into future issues and hopefully some larger surprises await.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Superman (2016) Annual #1

Dec 1, 2016

So in the end, I can't give this book a terrible grade because I loved the art so much, but I really was expecting more from DC for the first annual of Superman Rebirth.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Superwoman #1

Aug 10, 2016

I very much look forward to seeing how Lana reacts to everything that has transpired. I feel we have the making of great, and much better than the original, Dawn of Supermen/women.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sweet Lullaby #1

Nov 30, 2016

It's this perfect blend of story, dialog, setting, and artistry that makes me want the next comic in the series right away. This comic made me look at more of the comics coming out of Darby POP, which is what every publishers goal should be. 

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teen Titans (2016) #1

Oct 26, 2016

It you can't tell by now, this is a comic series that is set up for greatness. It's the series that you pick up every issue of and read multiple times with a smile on your face. It's the series you bag and board and then buy the hardcover when it comes out so you have something for coffee table. It's that good, and you are missing out if you don't pick this book up. 

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans: Earth One #2

Aug 16, 2016

Overall, I'm a bit at an impasse. If you own all the other Earth Onevolumes then you do need this book. If you only only Earth One: Teen Titans Volume Oneand you liked it, you may want this book. It's better than what Grant Morrison gave us for Earth One: Wonder Woman, but for $22.99 for the hardcover and $14.99 for the digital version you could get some of the other great Earth Onebooks... like the ones written by Geoff Johns.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Thanos (2016) #1

Nov 16, 2016

In the end, I thought I was done with Thanos. I, like allot of the comic community, have been having some serious hangups with some of the story choices Marvel has made over the past year and was looking forward to some self correction in 2017. Yet, after reading this comic, I think I have it in me for one more story about the Mad Titan.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Thanos (2016) #2

Jan 5, 2017

I'm hoping this book was just a bridge from a really promising start to some compelling action, but I can't rate this this as high as I did the previous one. See you next month in hopes I was right.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Deep #1

Jan 16, 2017

So, in the end, I'll not buy the next comic in this series... but if you have it on your coffee table I may just read it. 

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Fall and Rise of Captain Atom #1

Jan 4, 2017

If you don't know much about Captain Atom. I have read allot of comic books over the past year. I loved much of what DC has done with Rebirth. But this might have me as excited as the return of OG Supes. This series might have me more excited than anything else DC, or any publisher for that matter, has on the table. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Fall and Rise of Captain Atom #2

Feb 1, 2017

This might be the most interesting, and honestly unexpected, stories coming out of DC right now; and that is saying allot. So buy this book, or continue to buy it. It's that good.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Forevers #1

Sep 16, 2016

Black Mask Studio's has a winner with this comic. If you haven't picked it up, do so before the second run if you can find it. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Great Lakes Avengers #1

Oct 12, 2016

This is the comic Marvel needs right now. Let me say that again. MARVEL NEEDS THIS COMIC. With all the very serious goings on in Civil War Part Duex going on, Marvel needs more comics to lighten the mood. If they have to lean on Squirrel Girl more to do so, I'll take it! So buy this book. Buy all the GLA books, if not for yourself, do it for Val who likes expensive Chicago style pizza.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Great Lakes Avengers #2

Dec 1, 2016

If you are not reading this book... what is wrong with you? Buy this book!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Mighty Captain Marvel #1

Jan 18, 2017

So, while I liked this book, and I plan on buying the next few to see where the story goes. I can't totally recommend this book if you already have a full slate of comics. Maybe pick it up when it hits trade paper and save yourself some money and room in your longbox.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Unworthy Thor #1

Nov 2, 2016

So, if you miss the old Thor and are routing for him to get a mystical smashy stick back, this could be a good series for you. Even if you like new Thor, you may like to see another doing his own thing. I, am actually interested to see where Odinson's story will go... once it really gets started.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
The Unworthy Thor #5

Mar 22, 2017

I don't know. Maybe all three. So while the art in this comic series is pretty good at times and the writing is a mixed bag; I can't really recommend it. It just will kinda sit there... like that puppy in shelter that nobody wants and will eventually be put down if nobody takes him. 

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Trinity (2016) #1

Sep 21, 2016

In the end, I guess we did "need" this #1 to start us off on what ever adventures the "Trinity" will uncover. I feel that it could have been done in 4 pages, though, and not 17. We would have at least have got to see what was hiding in Clark's barn. This book is trading on my faith that the series will be great at some point, not on what it has given me thus far.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Trinity (2016) Annual #1

May 31, 2017

The art is great. The action incredible. YOU GET TO SEE SUPERMAN FIGHTING A GIANT DEMON. It was fun, and that is what an annual is supposed to be all about.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ultimates (2015) #7

May 11, 2016

The only thing that could be construed as a downside is that very little really happens in this issue other than setting up new story lines for the future. This book is the perfect jumping on point new readers to the series and may even get you to buy the previous books after reading it just like I did.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ultimates (2015) #11

Sep 29, 2016

If you haven't been collecting these books, I guess you can always wait for the trade paperback.The Ultimatesis a great comic that continues to keep me interested despite all the shenanigans going on elsewhere.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Ultimates 2 (2016) #1

Nov 24, 2016

The breakdown of this comic is simple for me: after it sheds all the Civil War 2 epilogue, we have the makings of a great story. A story that we embarked on a year ago before Bendis took all of Marvel Comics for a ride nobody wanted. Al Ewing's writing is great, the story is compelling, and the scope is COSMIC!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ultimates 2 (2016) #2

Dec 22, 2016

But, this is still a great book. A book you should buy. A series you should buy if you liked Hickmanesque Space drama's with Cosmic Beings. More of this Marvel. More of this.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Ultimates 2 (2016) #4

Feb 22, 2017

I still do though, but maybe you should pick this up in trade paperback instead of buying all the single issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Violent Love #1

Nov 11, 2016

There is literally nothing I didn't like about this comic. The story, dialog, pacing, and illustration are all just about perfect for my taste. Everything comes together in such a cohesive manner that even though I normally would be more critical of the art styling, it works so well in this setting that I can't complain. I found myself audibly gasping as turned the pages, and as a long time comic book reader, that is rare.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Warhammer 40,000: Will of Iron #1

Oct 13, 2016

Leaving all that aside, it's great to see Warhammer 40K back on the comic shelves state side again. If you love the lore as I due, there is no question that you are going to buy this book. For those of you who are unfamiliar with 40K and you are turned off by the steep learning curve or the intimidation factor of nerds like me getting... nerdy... about the subject matter, then I understand that this may not be for you. Maybe pick it up when it gets a hardcover. 

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Wolfcop #1

Oct 26, 2016

So, be your own judge. If you need senselessness violence by monsters in your life, this might be the book for you. If not, well you knew what you were getting into with a comic titled Wolfcop.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wonder Woman: Earth One #1

Apr 12, 2016

Should you buy it? If you own the other Earth One books or are a Wonder Woman fan, than yes. But $22.99 is allot for a book, and if you aren't either of the two mentioned, I will say a tepid maybe. It's not bad if you ignore all the little things wrong with it. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
World War X #1

Dec 21, 2016

The writing is great, the art is fantastic, and there is an old school horror/mystery component that is hard to find anywhere else. Do yourself a favor and pick up this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-Men: Gold (2017) #1

Apr 7, 2017

It's not bad. Nor is it good. I am interested to read the next comic, which is what the goal of the comic should be, but it better prove it's worth quick or I'll drop it like I've dropped every X-Men comic over the past five years. This can be could good.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

October

September

More