Max Delgado's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Unleash The Fanboy Reviews: 163
8.2Avg. Review Rating

6
A Distant Soil #40

Jun 12, 2013

I'll be honest: A Distant Soil #40 is so geared towards the die hard that fan I won't be picking up #41. But I might go back and read the first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Abe Sapien #6

Oct 8, 2013

Even though Abe Sapien #6 feels like a bridge issue, it's a rich one, with plenty of good story and some beautiful art.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Abe Sapien #8

Dec 10, 2013

Issue #8 of Abe Sapien offers the best of both worlds — a tidy little one-shot for readers just discovering the series, and a bit more Mayan flavor for those who dug the most recent plotlines.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Abe Sapien #9

Jan 8, 2014

There's a lot to be excited about with Abe Sapien #9; the story already has legs, and I'm looking forward to seeing where it goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Akaneiro #1

May 22, 2013

There's still many miles to go before we see if Dark Horse can fully deliver on the promise of this launch, but as long as they keep story first and the tie-in second, I think they'll be okay.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Akaneiro #2

Jun 26, 2013

Akaneiro #2 offers a decent follow-up to a strong premiere issue. But in the end if mostly offers this: a great premise, but without the time to really make it work.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Angry Birds Comics #1

Jun 10, 2014

If you're an Angry Birds fan, then issue #1 will certainly deliver. If you're looking for the next evolution of this franchise, however, you're going to have to wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Angry Birds Comics #2

Jul 8, 2014

If you sit back and enjoy this series for what it is — a protracted marketing strategy — then it's not too shabby. It is, frankly, "good enough." But if you want more, keep looking.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Angry Birds Comics #3

Aug 6, 2014

For fans of the Angry Bird franchise, issue #3 offers more of what yo already love – but nothing new.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Angry Birds Comics: Holiday Special 2014 #1

Dec 9, 2014

Overall, the Angry Birds Holiday Special will delight younger fans — even if it missed the mark with older ones.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
B.P.R.D.: Hell On Earth #112

Oct 15, 2013

While B.P.R.D. Hell on Earth #112 feels like a bridge issue, its so much more — it's a recharging of two essential characters, and launch towards the conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
B.P.R.D.: Hell On Earth #114

Dec 18, 2013

Overall, B.P.R.D continues to impress, and prove that although Hellboy might be what draws fans in, it's the larger Universe that will make them stay.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Bedlam #9

Oct 1, 2013

If you've always wanted a cop drama with blood and guts, Bedlam issue #9 might have been written just for you. And it's worth checking out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Breath of Bones: A Tale of the Golem #1

Jun 12, 2013

Breath of Bones #1 is off to a strong start. If you want a title that seems intent on exploring the line between hero and monster, then go pick this up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Breath of Bones: A Tale of the Golem #2

Jul 10, 2013

Breath of Bones #2 is nearly pitch perfect. Well paced, carefully rendered, and thematically rich. Go get this thing. Now.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Breath of Bones: A Tale of the Golem #3

Aug 14, 2013

The creative team behind Breath of Bones had a tricky challenge on their hands when they first launched this title. Out of all the varied directions they could have taken this book, they landed in a perfect place: a horror story where Nazi's are the real monsters, the townsfolk are the real heroes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Clone #10

Sep 11, 2013

Even though the initial drama of Clone has been resolved, there's still plenty going on; this title has done a nice job of offering readers a book that seems capable of a lengthy and enjoyable run.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Danger Girl: Trinity #2

May 29, 2013

Danger Girl: Trinity #2 has a lot going for it — guns, and bombs, and car chases. But if it's not careful, kick-ass female protagonists won't be one of them.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Danger Girl: Trinity #3

Jun 19, 2013

Danger Girl: Trinity #3 delivers a little more of what it always promised. We still got sexy spies, but at least now they're smart ones, too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dia De Los Muertos #3

May 22, 2013

Dia De Los Muertos #3 is a strong issue, and marks the end of a compelling concept project. And one I'll miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Doomsday.1 #3

Jul 23, 2013

If Doomsday.1 were an on-going series, then issue #3 would be an engaging chapter. But as the climax of a four-part arc, it leaves you wanting more. And not in the good way.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Doomsday.1 #4

Aug 14, 2013

In the last page of Doomsday.1 issue #4 we get the little caption: "Doomsday.2." While it's easy to read this blurb as a promise the series will continue, I hope it also means the premise will get revamped to offer readers a stronger central story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dream Police #1

Apr 29, 2014

Dream Police #1 is an excellent example of how to launch a run — it's story first, and premise second. And I can't wait to read the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Dream Police #4

Aug 26, 2014

Dream Police #4 offers a promising start to what could be an awesome arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Drumhellar #2

Dec 11, 2013

Drumhellar is like nothing else out there. Really. So if you have a thirst for outstanding art, and a high tolerance for strange and spacey tales, this might be the book for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Drumhellar #6

Jun 17, 2014

After five good issues, Drumhellar has delivered a stellar one. This might be the best book of the series so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Drumhellar #8

Aug 26, 2014

I've read every issue of Drumhellar so far, and still can't neatly categorize it. But that doesn't matter. Because I'm loving it. And for now that's good enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Drumhellar #9

Sep 23, 2014

Go grab this thing today.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Drumhellar #10

Oct 21, 2014

Overall, a muted ending to a two-issue arc. But the art is worth the cover price alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Fairy Tale Comics #1

Sep 28, 2013

Overall, Fairy Tale Comics is an incredible treat. There's simply not one bad thing about it. And in fact, it's mostly wonderful.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Farlaine the Goblin #1

Jun 24, 2013

It's hard to know where Farlaine the Goblin will go, or if the writer/artist will be able to keep up the momentum of this title, or the anonymous mystery surrounding it. But as far as premier books go, this is something special.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Farlaine the Goblin #2

Oct 8, 2013

Farlaine the Goblin has been one of my most delightful discoveries this year. It's fun, engaging, and disarming"in just the right way. Go grab this thing today.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Farlaine the Goblin: The Racelands #3

Jan 2, 2014

Overall, I continue to be impressed with this series — it offers a sweet, rich, and imaginative universe. There's definitely something special going on here. Go grab a copy and see for yourself.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Five Ghosts #3

May 22, 2013

While issue #3 didn't push the story forward as far as it could have, it was still a treat.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Five Ghosts #4

Jun 26, 2013

With very little attention given to the central drama of this story, Five Ghosts #4 has painted itself into a corner. The concluding issue of this series will have to do a lot, and have very little time to do it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Five Ghosts #6

Oct 29, 2013

It's nice to have Fabian back, especially without the emotional baggage that weighed down some last season's arc. And so far, this new arc has a lot of promise.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Ghosted #3

Sep 11, 2013

Ghosted #3 is the best read of the series, but if you're looking more horror in your crime, it doesn't quite deliver. At least yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ghosted #4

Oct 8, 2013

Ghosted #4 brings a great dose of spookiness back to this title " something that was missing for a while, and wonderful to have back.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Ghosted #5

Nov 5, 2013

Ghosted #5 wraps up the first of an uneven arc for this new series. But the premise is so good, I'm looking forward to reading more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ghosted #10

May 20, 2014

Ghosted #10 wraps up the second arc of what has felt (at times) like an uneven series. But the premise is so good, I'm looking forward to reading more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ghosted #11

Jul 8, 2014

Great issue. Go grab this thing today.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Grindhouse: Doors Open at Midnight #1

Oct 1, 2013

Chris Peterson's art is pretty fucking awesome, however. It fits the Grindhouse style perfectly, offering everything in extra-large " from the buxom women to the gnarly car crashes. He has a simple and clear style, but gets into the messy details of blood gore quite nicely.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Grindhouse: Doors Open at Midnight #2

Nov 5, 2013

Grindhouse movies succeed in large part thanks to the big emotions they invoke. Too bad Grindhouse #2 only got me feeling one thing in a big way: bored.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Grindhouse: Doors Open at Midnight #3

Dec 4, 2013

After a subpar premier, Grindhouse: Doors Open at Midnight returns with a strong sophomore effort. Let's hope this good momentum keeps going.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Grindhouse: Doors Open at Midnight #4

Dec 31, 2013

Grindhouse: Doors Open at Midnight has yet to fully find it's groove. But it's getting closer everyday.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Grindhouse: Doors Open at Midnight #8

May 6, 2014

It's hard to know how this run will be remembered overall, but I know one thing for sure: I'll remember "Feast of Flesh" as my favorite story overall.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Grindhouse: Drive In, Bleed Out #1

Nov 11, 2014

Grindhouse: Drive-In, Bleed-Out #1offers a very strong start. Fingers crossed it keeps going this way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Grindhouse: Drive In, Bleed Out #2

Dec 23, 2014

Grindhouse: Drive-In, Bleed-Out started strong, and despite the shortness of this particular arc, it finished with a bang. Go grab this thing today.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Grindhouse: Drive In, Bleed Out #4

Apr 23, 2015

Overall, Blood Lagoon delivers everything the Grindhouse moniker promises " mostly blood, and a little bit of story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Itty Bitty Hellboy #2

Sep 24, 2013

Like many fans of Baltazar and Franco, I mourned the loss of Tiny Titans and Superman Family Adventures. But I'm delighted to welcome their work on Itty Bitty Hellboy. And it's as good as anything they've ever done.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Itty Bitty Hellboy #3

Oct 28, 2013

Itty Bitty Hellboy #3 offers another delightful installment of this five part run. Go pick it up today.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Itty Bitty Hellboy #4

Nov 26, 2013

But issue #4 offers a misstep that turns this comic from something that an adult might read with a kid, into something that's more suited for adult tastes and humors. Which is too damn bad.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Itty Bitty Hellboy #5

Dec 18, 2013

Like most comic fans, I'm grateful that Art Baltazar and Franco Aureliani exist. And that they're trucking along on this beautiful and spastic mission of theirs. But I also don't think Itty Bitty Hellboy will be remembered as their best work. That said, I'm already looking forward to their next project.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Kiss Me, Satan #1

Sep 17, 2013

Overall, Kiss Me Satan is a promising series, especially for those of us with a high tolerance for fantastical creatures and supernatural stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Kiss Me, Satan #2

Oct 22, 2013

Here's the good part: Kiss Me, Satan #2 is a quick, fun read — the narrative arc is tight as a drum. The bad part? Most of the characters are so one-dimensional that readers might not care.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Kiss Me, Satan #4

Dec 18, 2013

Kiss Me Satan delivers another satisfying installment of its inaugural five-part arc. But make no mistake about it: this is a comic driven by its supporting actors. Not the lead.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Kiss Me, Satan #5

Jan 14, 2014

It'll be interesting to see if Dark Horse launches this as a full blown series. Although this inaugural run felt rushed (and at times uneven) there's no doubt that there's a lot of possibility inherent in this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Millennium #1

Jan 21, 2015

So far Millennium #1 has a little bit for everyone. Go grab this thing today.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Millennium #2

Mar 17, 2015

So far Millennium is kicking ass. Go grab this thing today.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Millennium #3

Apr 1, 2015

Issue #3 of Millennium did exactly what it was meant to do: make me want to read issue #4. Go grab this thing today.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Millennium #4

Apr 14, 2015

One more issue left in this arc, and I can't wait to see where it all goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Miss Fury #3

Jun 5, 2013

Miss Fury #3 is worth checking out, but if Dynamite wants readers to stick around, they're going to have to start offering something other than a cool premise.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Miss Fury #4

Jul 10, 2013

Miss Fury #4 tries its best to make up for lost time by quickly answering some of the questions that it so delicately placed in earlier issues. But the result is uneven. And ultimately unsatisfying.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Miss Fury #6

Sep 24, 2013

Miss Fury #6 provides a breath of fresh air. For a title that was heading south a few months ago, issue #6 provides a strong upswing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Mister X: Razed #1

Feb 24, 2015

Mister X: Razed offers a great new start, to a beloved character. Go grab this thing today.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Nowhere Men #6

Oct 16, 2013

Overall, issue #6 of Nowhere Men offers another great example of why this title rocks. Go pick this up today.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Orphan Black #1

Feb 24, 2015

Issue #1 of Orphan Black offers little new to fans of the show, although it does offer a foundation to comic-only readers who might be discovering this premise for the first time. Whatever happens next will be the thing that determines if this series is worth hanging around for.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Rasputin #1

Oct 28, 2014

Rasputin #1 offers a very gentle start to this new title — short on words and action, yes, but loaded up with kick-ass art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Rasputin #2

Nov 25, 2014

Rasputin is full of promise and blessed and offers a wonderful premise. It's still too early to tell if it'll deliver.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Rat Queens #1

Sep 24, 2013

Overall, Rat Queens #1 is a strong first issue. If you want guts, magic, and a lovely overdose of femme fatale, go grab this thing today.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rat Queens #2

Oct 22, 2013

Rat Queens #2 has got it all: characters you care about; enjoyable team dynamics; a well paced plot; and mythical creatures getting drunk — a lot. Go pick this thing up today.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rat Queens #3

Nov 27, 2013

If you haven't fallen in love with the Rat Queens yet, just pick the book up and start reading. You will.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Rat Queens #5

Feb 25, 2014

Rat Queens is simply one of the best books out there. And it should be for a while.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rat Queens #6

May 6, 2014

Rat Queens keeps hitting it out of the park. If you want guts, magic, and a lovely overdose of femme fatale, go grab this thing today.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Rat Queens #7

Jul 16, 2014

Issue #7 offers another great installment of the Rat Queens. Go grab this thing today.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Rat Queens #8

Sep 30, 2014

Go grab this thing today.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rat Queens #9

Mar 4, 2015

Rat Queens #9 is worth every penny. Go grab this thing today.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Rat Queens #10

Apr 7, 2015

Rat Queens is trying to evolve to new places with issue #10. And I'm happy to join them.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Resident Alien: The Suicide Blonde #1

Sep 11, 2013

Resident Alien first appeared in Dark Horse Presents, and I'm pleased to see it's getting this shot at a longer run. It's got tons of potential, and a strong execution.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Resident Alien: The Suicide Blonde #2

Oct 8, 2013

It's too bad Hogan has effectively cleaved the murder mystery from the alien story in this first arc of Resident Alien. Together, these two elements might have offered a compelling new take on two very familiar narratives. But separated, neither is developed enough to stand on their own.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rocket Girl #1

Oct 8, 2013

Rocket Girl #1 is a very strong premier issue, with a hardly thing to complain about. This might be the start of something beautiful.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Rocket Girl #5

May 20, 2014

While the ending of Rocket Girl leaves a tad to be desired, it's still better than most of the stuff out there. And you need to support this creative team today.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Rocky & Bullwinkle #2

Apr 9, 2014

So far, so good: Rocky and Bullwinkle is working — and issue 2 works even better than the last — so check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rocky & Bullwinkle #3

May 6, 2014

Kudos to IDW, and this creative team. So far, this book rocks.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Rocky & Bullwinkle #4

Jun 10, 2014

Overall, Rocky and Bullwinkle #4 is a perfect end to a wonderful run. Go grab this thing today.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Rumble #1

Dec 16, 2014

Overall, Rumble #1 offers an enjoyable introduction to what promises to be a strange and quirky title. Go grab this thing today.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Rumble #3

Feb 17, 2015

Overall, an awesome series. Go grab this thing today.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sex Criminals #1

Sep 24, 2013

Bravo to Image for taking such a big risk with Sex Criminals #1. And congrats to this creative team. This is a book to keep your eye on.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sex Criminals #2

Oct 22, 2013

Sex Criminals #2 is a home run. And only promises to get better. Go grab this thing today.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Sex Criminals #6

Jun 17, 2014

Sex Criminals is one of the strongest comics out there. Let's hope that this new arc helps it stay that way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Shadow Hero #1

Feb 24, 2014

If you're interested in reading The Shadow Hero be aware that each individual issue will only be released digitally. First Second will release an old-school trade in July 2014.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shadow Hero #3

Apr 18, 2014

The Shadow Hero is shaping up to be a phenomenal book, and shouldn't be missed. If you're interested in reading The Shadow Hero be aware that each individual issue will only be released digitally (find details here). First Second will release an old-school trade in July 2014.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shadow Hero #4

May 20, 2014

Again, The Shadow Hero is shaping up to be a phenomenal book, and shouldn't be missed. If you're interested in reading The Shadow Hero be aware that each individual issue will only be released digitally (find details here). First Second will release an old-school trade in July 2014.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Son of Merlin #5

Jun 5, 2013

I wanted a little more from Son of Merlin #5. I wanted emotional closure, not just plot consistency. But if the last page is any indicator, it looks like Image might be giving it another try. And maybe soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Sovereign #2

Apr 22, 2014

Sovereign #2 continues to provide a tremendous amount of universe building, but so far not enough story to feel truly engaging.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Star Trek #22

Jun 26, 2013

This series has had enough bright moments that one can forgive the misstep of Star Trek #22. But let's all hope that Spock has sex soon so we can move on to better stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Stray Bullets: Killers #2

Apr 16, 2014

Go grab Stray Bullets: Killers #2 today. It's by far the best book I've read this month.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Stray Bullets: Killers #3

May 13, 2014

When Stray Bullets first hit the scene back in 1995 it captured the imagination of countless geeks "Lapham's character-driven opus was both violent and heartfelt. And with Stray Bullets: Killers we can fall in love all over again.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Stray Bullets: Killers #5

Jul 16, 2014

I'm so glad Stray Bullets is operating back in the universe again. May it go on forever!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Stray Bullets: Killers #6

Aug 19, 2014

Go grab Stray Bullets: Killers #6 today. It's rocks.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Stray Bullets: Killers #7

Sep 16, 2014

Go grab Stray Bullets: Killers #7 today. It's the best thing ever.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Stray Bullets: Killers #8

Oct 22, 2014

Go grab Stray Bullets: Killers #8 today. Despite it's flaws, it's Lapham. And Lapham is one of the best.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Stray Bullets: Sunshine and Roses #2

Mar 17, 2015

It's wonderful to have Stray Bullets back. Go grab this thing today.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Activity #11

Aug 7, 2013

My only criticism of The Activity is its tendency to ignore the human drama of the soldiers it so dutifully profiles. Yes, we get awesome action and in-depth insight into military strategy, but missing is the messy and heartbreaking humanity of people who kill people for a living. Again, consider Tara Chace, the complex heroine from Queen and Country as an example. It was Ruka's willingness to explore Tara's emotional fucked-up-ness that helped Q&C transcended the spy genre. And it's what made that title great. I'd love that for The Activity, too.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Activity #16

Dec 16, 2014

I know this seems like a harsh review, but the fact is this: if any other team had put this issue out, I'd be pleased with the result. But I've come to expect so much out of this title and this team that the bar is higher than the average monthly comic. And this time they fell short.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Colonized #4

Jul 17, 2013

Max Delgado is the founder and curator of The Longbox Project (@LongBoxProject), a memory project where comics are both inspiration and point of departure. You can check it out here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The Empty #1

Feb 10, 2015

Overall, The Empty offers a wonderful premise and fascinating start. Fingers crossed it stays that way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Field #2

May 13, 2014

So far The Field has been a joy to read. If you want a book that offers equal doses of violence and mystery, go grab this thing today.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Field #3

Jul 1, 2014

The Field is crazy fun. Go read this thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
The Field #4

Sep 16, 2014

The Field had a daring premise, but an underwhelming ending. But still, it was ride worth taking.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The Ghost Fleet #1

Nov 4, 2014

Ghost Fleet #1 offers a cryptic although strangely fascinating start. We'll see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Ghost Fleet #3

Jan 6, 2015

Ghost Fleet #3 offers a cryptic continuation it's inaugural arc. But it's still worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Green Hornet (2013) #6

Oct 1, 2013

Green Hornet is a man on the edge, and just when you think he can't be pushed anymore, Waid nudges him a little further. And issue #6 is delight to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
The Manhattan Projects #18

Feb 25, 2014

For longtime fans of The Manhattan Projects, issue #18 will offer a familiar romp full of gore. But for those looking for a story, try again next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Manhattan Projects #20

Apr 22, 2014

The Manhattan Projects continues to be a creative and engaging read. And I'm not embarrassed to say I continue to love the book even if I don't always know what the hell is going on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Manhattan Projects #24

Oct 7, 2014

While I'm a fan of Pitarra's art and Hickman's history-bending storytelling, I do think it's fair to say that issue in particular, with it's tongue-in-cheek and hyper-gory approach to JFK will *probably* rub some older readers the wrong way. But younger readers might be unphased. But it's a fun read regardless.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Mice Templar IV: Legend #4

Jul 3, 2013

With Volume 4, Mice Templar might be nearing a perfect game. And if so, then issue #4 is taking this book one step closer.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Mice Templar IV: Legend #7

Sep 18, 2013

Again, The Mice Templar offers another home run. This title might just be the best thing out there.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Mice Templar IV: Legend #8

Oct 29, 2013

The Mice Templar #8 does everything a great book should: it provides a major shift not only for the mega-arc of Volume IV, but develops its cast of characters as well. Go pick this thing up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Mocking Dead #2

Oct 1, 2013

Overall, Mocking Dead is a relatively funny title, offering a new twist to a genre that's become mainstream enough to parody. But the humor can be hit or miss, and this detracts from the read as a whole.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Mocking Dead #4

Dec 4, 2013

Max Dunbar draws awesome zombies. They drool, they growl, and they stumble in all the right ways. Again, Van Lente offers Dunbar some nice moments of dialogue-free action (mostly through the embedded clips of The Mocking Dead movie which he's peppered through the series " a cool narrative device in its own right). The result is strong moments of visual storytelling, and gag jokes that really amplify this title overall.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Mocking Dead #5

Jan 22, 2014

The Mocking Dead adds a new wrinkle this the zombie genre by mixing death with slapstick. The result is a mostly enjoyable read, with some definite misses, but its own share of some slam dunks, too.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Twilight Zone: Lost Tales One-Shot #1

Oct 14, 2014

While I love this title overall, this particular one-shot was more undercooked than I had hoped. But there's always next month".

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The Twilight Zone: Shadow and Substance #1

Jan 21, 2015

While the current Twilight Zone arc might take some of the shine off Dynamite's newest attempt to expand the boundaries of this franchise reboot, time travel is still fun. And depending on where issue #2 of Shadow and Substance goes next, it might be great.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Victories (2013) #2

Jun 5, 2013

It's fun to see Oeming branch out on his own again, and even though I'm excited about where this title is going, I can't help but feel a little nervous that the scope of what he's going for might be hard to manage. But I want to believe. And so I'll keep reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Victories (2013) #4

Aug 7, 2013

The Victories continues to catch me off guard. And in a good way. Just when I think I've figured this book out, Oeming shifts the ground and takes us somewhere new. And better.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Victories (2013) #6

Nov 5, 2013

The Victories #6 is a great read — creative, insightful, and beautifully strange. Go grab this thing today.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The X-Files: Season 10 #1

Jun 18, 2013

X-Files Season 10 #1 offers a strong start. Will it continue doing so? Well, I want to believe.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The X-Files: Season 10 #3

Aug 14, 2013

After a an overly busy issue #2 (which felt a bit like swallowing peanut butter) issue #3 goes down smooth. And it leaves you wanting more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The X-Files: Season 10 #6

Nov 26, 2013

After what felt like an uneven inaugural arc, issue #6 offers a delightful return to the X-Files we all know and love. Creepy, innovative and just plain fun to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The X-Files: Season 10 #7

Dec 10, 2013

While issue #7 doesn't provide a top-shelf story, it does provide a delightful trip down memory lane as readers get to revel in all the nastiness of Flukeman one more time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The X-Files: Season 10 #9

Feb 12, 2014

This latest dose of X-Files might be the best one yet. Go grab this thing today.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
The X-Files: Season 10 #10

Mar 12, 2014

Although IDW had originally promised a real Season 10 with the launch of this new series, X-Files: Season 10 feels like a meme at best.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The X-Files: Season 10 #11

Apr 29, 2014

Overall, X-Files #11 is a joy to read. Go grab this thing today.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The X-Files: Season 10 #12

May 27, 2014

So far, issue #12 offers the second installment of what might be one of the most satisfying arcs yet. Go grab this thing today.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The X-Files: Season 10 #13

Jun 24, 2014

From the beginning IDW claimed that X-Files: Season 10 would ostensibly be a continuation of the show that millions of geeks fell in love with back in the '90s. Well, with issue #13 it totally delivers on that promise.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The X-Files: Season 10 #18

Nov 11, 2014

Issue #18 offers the start of a new arc for X-fans. And so far, so good.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
The X-Files: Season 10 #19

Dec 2, 2014

Overall, X-Files Season 10 #19 offers a silly break from regular programming. Even if you weren't looking for one.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The X-Files: Season 10 #20

Jan 27, 2015

Overall, X-Files Season 10 #20 offers a silly break from regular programming. Even if you weren't looking for one.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The X-Files: Season 10 #22

Apr 1, 2015

The series finale is on the way — and I'm eager to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The X-Files: Year Zero #2

Aug 19, 2014

X-Files Year Zero is a surprise treasure, and one you should grab today.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The X-Files: Year Zero #5

Nov 25, 2014

Overall, X-Files: Year Zero will be remembered for the new monsters and heroines it introduced — but not the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Twilight Zone #1

Dec 31, 2013

Overall, this Twilight Zone reboot is off to a beautiful start. And I hope it stays that way.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Twilight Zone #2

Feb 4, 2014

This Twilight Zone reboot continues to be a blast. And I can't wait to keep reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Twilight Zone #3

Mar 5, 2014

Overall issue #3 feels offers some helpful backstory, but at the expense of momentum. Still, Straczynski is such a strong writer that even his mid-level work is better than most things out there.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Twilight Zone #4

Apr 9, 2014

So far this Twilight Zone reboot has been a delight to read, offering reader's exactly what we want: a story that's creepy…and compelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Twilight Zone #5

May 27, 2014

Overall, the second arc of the Twilight Zone is off to a beautiful start. And I hope it stays that way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Twilight Zone #6

Jul 1, 2014

Overall, the second arc of the Twilight Zone is off to a beautiful start. And I hope it stays that way.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Twilight Zone #8

Sep 2, 2014

While it's true that the Twilight Zone has always been a veiled morality tale, this latest arc forgot that one essential element: the creepy storytelling. What a bummer.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Twilight Zone #11

Jan 13, 2015

Overall, a solid continuation of what's been a solid run.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Undertow #1

Feb 18, 2014

Only one issue in and Undertow has hit the ground running. And I can't wait to see where it goes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Usagi Yojimbo: Senso #2

Sep 2, 2014

So far Usagi Yojimbo: Senso has been a delight to read. And I can't wait for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Usagi Yojimbo: Senso #3

Sep 30, 2014

Even though issue #3 offers many endings, it feels like a bridge issue. And I want to keep reading no matter where it leads.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Usagi Yojimbo: Senso #4

Nov 4, 2014

Hardcore fans will love Usagi Yojimbo: Senso. Even if they secretly suspect it could have been so much more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Usagi Yojimbo: Senso #5

Dec 2, 2014

Readers will love the new direction that Usagi Yojimbo: Senso has suddenly taken. It was worth the thirty year wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Usagi Yojimbo: Senso #6

Jan 6, 2015

Fans of Sakai will love this elseworld tale, even if they secretly feel it could have been so much more. But make no mistake about it: Stan Sakai is still one of the best things to happen to comics. Ever.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Vescell #8

May 15, 2013

Carrion deserves a lot of credit for conceiving of such an imaginative project. Vescell is definitely unique. But it could benefit from not trying so hard.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
X-Files Annual 2014 #1

Apr 17, 2014

Overall, X-Files Annual 2014 is an uneven attempt — but thanks to Dave Sim's work, it's one of the best comics of the week, too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
X-Files Conspiracy #1

Jan 14, 2014

The X-Files Conspiracy #1 offers a great read, hitting many of the notes you'd hope for when it comes to anything featuring the Lone Gunmen: humor, mystery, and eeriness. But the real accomplishment so far is that it comes in equal doses.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
X-Files Conspiracy: Ghostbusters #1

Jan 22, 2014

It'll be interesting to see how IDW juggles the next few issues of this crossover: the Transformers, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and The Crow are radically different titles and it seems the only thing they'll have in common (at least for now) is that they'll get a visit from our favorite geeks.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
X-Files Conspiracy: The Crow #1

Mar 12, 2014

The X-Files: Conspiracy: The Crow doesn't feel like a major contribution to this mega-arc. And might be worth missing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
X-Files Conspiracy: TMNT #1

Feb 19, 2014

While this crossover event has yet to fully satisfy, X-Files Conspiracy: TMNT is by far the best.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
X-Files Conspiracy: Transformers #1

Feb 25, 2014

Overall, X-Files Conspiracy -Transformers #1 is one of the best reads of this series yet.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

August

4th

July

June

More