ToriBee's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics: The Gathering Reviews: 167
8.0Avg. Review Rating

4
100th Anniversary: X-Men #1

Jul 18, 2014

It is a huge disappointment in story that is only made up for in art. Masters’ renderings of what each character looks like in the future looks pretty badass. Scott without his visor, Wolverine sans his left eye (again) and sporting a regal top bun, Irma Cuckoo looking super punk, Emma’s flawless dress during inauguration night, and the list goes on. The story itself was hard to take in, but visually, it was incredibly pleasing to the eyes. (Of course my personal favourite piece of art to come from this is LaTour’s fantastic cover).

View Issue       View Full Review
9
A+X #2

Dec 2, 2012

As earlier mentioned, this series is basically all in good jest and just overall fun to read. There's no serious plot, and it's kind of nice to see our favourite heroes a bit more on the happier side. And for light reading, A + X is genuinely a pleasure, though maybe more of a pleasure if you actually like the paired up characters, seeing as the so called villains have been pretty harmless so far, you have to like the heroes beating them up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
A+X #16

Jan 9, 2014

Aside from the nostalgia factor, the first story has nothing to contribute to the usual good feelings that A Plus X usually offer, but it’s all about that second story right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
A-Force #1

May 20, 2015

Overall A-Force is a fun title so far which makes for a great first issue to warm readers up to the characters and premise, but it also leaves behind enough to show that a deeper story is being built here as well. Great cast, great art, great story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Abe Sapien #9

Jan 8, 2014

For a series about a “fishman”, Abe Sapien is a quiet favourite with how it consistently is so expressive in both art, script, and content, that it pushes readers without them fully realizing at times and are just immersed in a somewhat terrifying world and yet somehow with a protagonist like Abe, there still seems to be a glimmer of hope there.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Age of Ultron #1

Mar 6, 2013

Bendis, being a writer who's big on character and dialogue, he has a lot of opportunity here to get some darker stuff (dark for Marvel) out there and put everyone's beloved characters out on the ropes (there's bound to be at least one character that's your favourite in there), and it's this great potential for character development and boundary pushing that gives excitement for what Age of Ultron might entail. It's also lucky that Bendis has a great counter-part in this with Hitch as the penciller. Hitch is not unfamiliar to team books or action pages either so it all balances out incredibly nicely.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Age of Ultron #2

Mar 13, 2013

But they’re all fighters and there’s always hope. Hope doesn’t show until the last page, but it finally does, and to wait for the next issue to see just what they’re going to do provokes both feelings of exhilaration and anxiety.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Age of Ultron #3

Mar 27, 2013

If this issue doesn’t leaving you having at least a couple questions, congratulations in being far superior in your perceptive knowledge of storytelling that I ever will be.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Age of Ultron #4

Apr 3, 2013

Also Emma pulls through as a total team player with her telepathy and is just awesome in general and it makes me so happy to the point of near tears to see her have her telepathy that the issue could have sucked and I would still be happy with it. Luckily it was all around an excellent issue so I’ve saved everyone from an entire review that’s solely about Emma, and have just saved it for this paragraph at the end that everyone could skip.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Age of Ultron #7

May 1, 2013

Too much time travelling hurts my brain.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Alex + Ada #1

Nov 6, 2013

I have a well of praise for the art, and the facial expressions especially, but one must appreciate the delicate storytelling as well. Despite robots and advanced technology being second nature to all these characters, the underlying essence of what drives them so far is so incredibly human.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Alex + Ada #3

Jan 16, 2014

The art remains simple but purposeful in telling the story. There are no major action sequences, but that's what keeps it all very human and relatable, so we don't get carried away by the tech of it all because at it's core, it's a story about people and relationships, and it just so happens one of them might be artificial.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Alex + Ada #4

Feb 19, 2014

There may be a split among readers, some may keep Ada the way she is, and some wouldn't. It's easy to say Alex chooses, but what is harder to predict is the outcome of his choice to which readers are left on a very intense cliffhanger. Next issue can't come soon enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Alex + Ada #6

May 8, 2014

Ada overall seems to be adjusting well and is fairly happy. Unfortunately Alex has a little bit more on the mind that's troubling him; naturally it's only going to get even more complicated here on out. Luna and Vaughn once again manage to capture readers in an exciting issue that is both adorable, profound, and gripping in it's storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Alex + Ada #9

Oct 1, 2014

Like always though, Luna’s art is simple, yet responsive. Both Alex and Ada find themselves at the end of the issue stumbling across people they perhaps didn’t think they’d come across by choice, and while they are the main storytellers, so much is telling from the other characters as well, that this entire world that’s been created still remains so charming, that readers can’t help but need to know what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Alex + Ada #10

Nov 12, 2014

For a story about androids there’s so much revealed about the human condition and what it means to be human and to love.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
All-New Hawkeye #2

Apr 8, 2015

Hawkeye's latest series continues to be a strong series with it's creative team hitting every point out of the park, as the story itself only becomes more strange. Who are the mysterious children, and just how dangerous can they be? Kate has certainly developed an affinity for them, but whether it was wise of her to bring them to SHIELD has yet to be seen.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
All-New X-Factor #1

Jan 8, 2014

There’s nothing overtly midblowing about the debut of the All-New X-Factor team, but it’s fun, entertaining, and hilarious without seeming camp so let’s chalk it as a win, and see how David pulls off his first arc with his new team and Serval Industries.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
All-New X-Men #4

Dec 20, 2012

As stated earlier, this issue does give me some hope. There are personally emotional parts, and the artwork was stunning, and despite my hesitation to continue reading due to my lack of fondness towards a certain red-head, there’s a seamless weaving of narrative that does focus on other characters and is nicely giving us a glimpse of new characters that may come in with the sudden surge of new mutants appearing. There’s clearly going to be some huge developments of character occurring (especially with Beast and Cyclops) and I certainly wouldn’t stop anyone from picking up this issue or the next couple.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
All-New X-Men #5

Jan 3, 2013

We almost made it through the issue without Jean Grey drama. It just had to finish with Scott and Jean tensions, which I find unexplainable as to why she's so pissed. Here's hoping following issues follow what this issue did, and focus minutely on Jean and then go to everyone else. I'm dying for some attention on Warren; they've been keeping mum on him for too long. Some of us have had years of Scott/Jean tensions, it's time to move on guys.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
All-New X-Men #6

Jan 16, 2013

The writing and actual story may have been a bit disappointing but the art still made it interesting to get through, and I very much look forward to seeing what else Marquez gives us.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
All-New X-Men #7

Feb 6, 2013

It’s a Scott-centric issue, so it was emotional for me (I admit, I teared up a smidgen at the end there), but it could also be slow for everyone else. At least we know Mystique is up to something. That’s it. That’s the whole point of this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
All-New X-Men #8

Mar 6, 2013

It’s not all just emotional games though, that’s no fun. There is a fantastic moment in which both Kitty and Bobby imitate a conversation between Captain America and Beast. This makes the issue worth the pick up alone, I swear. But there is a lot of other really great stuff put into this issue and it couldn’t have had better timing on its release. For someone who normally gets pretty hung up on the X-Men, it’s nice to have those emotions evoked again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
All-New X-Men #9

Mar 21, 2013

With the multitude of X-Men titles occurring right now it gets overwhelming to pick through it all to find the ones of substance"good (interesting) story and great art. All New X-Men is one of the titles that has all that, and continues to pick up in story (after a couple of slower paced issues) and tension only continues to escalate.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
All-New X-Men #10

Apr 3, 2013

It’s well done, it’s balanced nicely, and nothing is black and white this time. All we can see is how events progress and how each team handles it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
All-New X-Men #11

May 1, 2013

Ps. I hate that there’s a certain team that gets drawn so beautifully every time they’re in a title that’s not their own.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
All-New X-Men #14

Jul 18, 2013

Something to keep in mind though is while All New has been marketed as an easy in for new readers into the X-Men genre, it certainly isn’t. This issue alone deals with a lot of the rich X-Men history not only concerning the Phoenix but other characters and their relationships with one another too. There are a good handful of flashbacks and references to older X-Men events that I can’t imagine it being easy for a new reader to grasp everything that’s occurring. It seems more like a fun journey for older X-Men fans (as there are constant nods to X-Men history) to take as we watch some X-Men grow up (it’s really touching to see Kitty being referred to as “professor”), and others have a second chance at growing up—maybe to be better than before.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
All-New X-Men #18

Nov 13, 2013

It’s a refreshing issue that’s light enough to let readers regain their footing after Battle of the Atom while not letting itself fall into a lull either.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
All-New X-Men #19

Nov 28, 2013

We’re also taking a break from Immonen’s work for a few issues, this being the first of Peterson’s minute run on the All New title. It’s not bad art; in fact technically speaking it’s quite good. There’s a lot of detail put into it and even in the more busy panels, there’s no shortcuts taken, but despite the overall talent within the art, it doesn’t fit into the flow of the All New atmosphere. A lot of it is mostly from the change in colourist as well, Marte Gracia’s colours are usually much more vibrant, and this issue seems much darker. It fails to compliment the light witty humour that the X-Men bring. The issue feels a lot darker and a lot more serious, but when reading the dialogue it doesn’t feel that way at all. It feels like a completely different All New X-Men issue that we’re used to.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
All-New X-Men #30

Aug 14, 2014

As far as filler issues goes, this one is well crafted and carries a huge character movement for a big Marvel character"which was surprisingly handled incredibly well and looked gorgeous at the same time.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
All-New X-Men #32

Sep 18, 2014

It’s a little slow paced and incredibly drawn out and the story doesn’t move forward at all but at least it’s pretty to look at. I’ll never have anything to say about Asrar’s talents and definitely nothing negative about Gracia’s colours either. The art is gorgeous as usual, up to the normal X-Men standards at this point, and it’s always interesting to see other artists take a jab at bringing Miles to life. There’s also a nice spread when we flashback through Miles’ memories that will ring familiar with readers that have been with All New X-Men since the beginning (hello new computer wallpaper). As mentioned earlier though, the only reason I love this spread so much is because I love Miles Morales’ character. Many readers may no next to nothing about him, so there’s no motivation to keep reading. Well here’s hoping that this quiet low only means the next issue is going to be that much more exciting.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
All-New X-Men #36

Feb 11, 2015

Overall there’s not much of a story this issue and it’s main purpose is to swiftly wrap up the arc with the Ultimates. It’s a rather self-contained, feel good kind of story with some very gorgeous art and minor action that may lead to bigger implications down the line and as far endings go for arcs within the series it isn’t all too cheesy so. As previously mentioned, it feels very much like a comfort issue almost after seeing the different X-Universes and having the Original 5 (or 4 at the moment), plus the sweet ending. Worth a good read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
All-New X-Men (2015) #7

Mar 30, 2016

There stands to be room for a little bit more light heartedness and story and perhaps more colour, but this will do for readers who enjoy more grit and pulp in their comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Amazing X-Men #1

Nov 6, 2013

The thing about Aaron’s writing is that for the most part it’s fun and quirky, fitting for the more campy and loving side of the X-Men, and while there’s going to be action and minor drama, don’t expect it to get too dark. It’s a fun read for those who want to see some beloved mutants go on amazing adventures.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Amazing X-Men #3

Jan 16, 2014

Altogether though it still makes for a strong read with high entertainment value because no one can say no to pirates, bamfs, and Nightcrawler along with the rest of the old team—granted we don’t see the whole team this issue, but one little step in the story at a time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Amazing X-Men #4

Feb 21, 2014

It's easy to roll your eyes at something titled 'Amazing' and okay corny line at the end of the issue alert. But it's also hard not to be amazed at something that honestly captures the essence of X-Men so strikingly well. This so far has been the X-Men title I've been waiting for.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Angel & Faith Season 9 #25

Aug 28, 2013

It was a fantastic 25 issue run that was fun for 2 years but the timing seems perfect as it ends. While the potential for Angel to carry out on a solo series is there, it could easily turn redundant and ring too similar to his television show as he helps the helpless but with an open ending like this, it finishes on a positive note. Doors are opened and possibilities are endless within the universe. Of course there’s a lot of rhetoric about making tough decisions and the strongest thing we can do is keep living no matter what life throws at us and it’s all fairly uplifting and mildly cliché in Buffyverse fashion. It’s a solid end to a solid series.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Astonishing X-Men #56

Nov 22, 2012

Perhaps on a more positive note, if you would consider this to be such, this was the conclusion for this story and perhaps we can look forward to going back to more invigorating plots with the Astonishing X-Men.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Astonishing X-Men #67

Sep 14, 2013

It’s a simple story and maybe even a little cliché with the crying at the end, but sometimes it’s nice to have just a little pick-me-up story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Avengers & X-Men: Axis #3

Oct 23, 2014

This has certainly been the best issue of Axis yet. I love the callbacks to some of the characters and their history with one another or otherwise, I love the spotlight on the villains, and their sassy nature, I love the art, and at the end there, I just really love when the X-Men are together.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Avengers (2012) #4

Jan 30, 2013

Like after reading every other issue of Marvel Now!’s Avengers, I’m very much looking forward to seeing what’s in store next. This issue is certainly no exception to the good direction that Avengers seems to be going.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Avengers Assemble #11

Jan 16, 2013

Remember that bet that Tony made with Bruce at the beginning of this entire ordeal. None of the Avengers have forgotten and the losers end up paying the price. (And it’s great).

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Avengers Assemble #12

Feb 13, 2013

I love where this arc is going, and I love that the focus is always with just a few members at a time. It’s going to be interesting to have these three have their shining moments coming up, it’s already so great having them team up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Before Watchmen: Minutemen #6

Jan 23, 2013

Nelson tells us his story of Hooded Justice, and while there’s a reveal as to who this character may be, there’s nothing to say it’s all just speculation and nothing really is definite. But that’s how it is with Watchmen, constant ambiguity, a questioning of character and moral and philosophy, so while we think we know who these characters are, there’s nothing saying that anything is concrete, although certain relationships and dynamics are hard to dispute, but as far as identities and histories, who’s to say what’s truth and what isn’t. (Watchmen for me is just really complex, okay). It’s just added another layer onto some of the Watchmen, and it’s nice to have all this additional information in your backpocket.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Black Science #3

Jan 30, 2014

Black Science is different than anticipated but Remender’s signature is laced throughout. A thrilling sci-fi adventure with stunning art, but at the very core a story with characters that everyone can relate to.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Cable and X-Force #1

Dec 12, 2012

It’s a strong intro issue and has already left us with the first piece of conflict (but was good enough to save it until the very end), ready to pick up the next issue. Ultimately a great read for any Cable fan (and who doesn’t like Cable?).

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Cable and X-Force #3

Jan 9, 2013

At first it seemed like their mission was maybe going to last just for the issue because, seriously Cable can see into the future and their foe is a fast food chain, it doesn’t particularly sound like a multiple issue problem, but Hopeless, Larroca, and D’Armata leave us with some good surprises at the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Captain America (2012) #2

Dec 22, 2012

Other dimensions are always an opportunity to get pretty wild. So far it’s all been pretty subtle, but this particular team is showing great potential and that’s the great intricacy of it all, still feeling real and relatable while other worldly.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Captain Marvel (2012) #10

Feb 20, 2013

I loved this issue as far as overall premise goes albeit its lack in originality is there but overlookable, and I’m absolutely in love with the art. And while Deathbird isn’t my favourite nemesis to come about—there are no strong feelings towards her that resonates but there’s this flow of energy throughout that keeps it feeling fresh enough to still enjoy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Cataclysm: Ultimate Spider-Man #1

Nov 13, 2013

Despite already having a point one issue for Cataclysm, Ultimate Comics Spiderman starts us off nicely into what we might be seeing from the Spidey side of things throughout the Ultimate universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Change #3

Feb 13, 2013

Change is truly a work of art, and even by the third issue, nothing is certain. There’s definitely the sense of an end coming, but how it’s going to end, you think you know, but I don’t think anything is going to be that certain with this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Comeback #3

Jan 16, 2013

Overall, Comeback is a great take on a time travelling plot that’s still able to lend surprises and there’s mild action so far to still entertain. There’s simplicity woven into both the art and the script that makes it easy to follow but not so much so that it’s boring. Definitely not boring.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Cyclops (2014) #1

May 8, 2014

I’m looking forward to seeing the journey that Scott takes, going further in the series, and it’s bound to be fun and full of great adventures (space pirates, duh) and as much as I’ll enjoy the undeniably warm moments that’ll come from Scott interacting with his dad, here’s hoping we’ll see more of the Starjammers in the future because nostalgia plays well for easily emotional fans like myself.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Damsels In Excess #1

Jul 24, 2014

What can I say, I’m a sucker for adorable girls in beautiful dresses with fierce attitudes. But so long as comics remain a part of the comic industry and I am entertained by the fact, the creator’s job is done here. But seriously. As simple as everything sounds, there’s a good heart underneath all of the work put into this series creation and once you start reading it, for some reason or another it hooks you in. There is absolutely nothing not to love about what’s been put into this issue you know continuing forward is just going to be a ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Damsels In Excess #2

Aug 28, 2014

There are so many reasons to pick up Damsels in Excess. Diverse characters, girl power, kick butt action, and a fashion frenzy. I don’t think I can talk up this series enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Daredevil (2011) #20

Nov 24, 2012

Essentially, this was the perfect precursor to what is about to be the conclusion of this little collection of “Blind Man Bluffed” and being left off on such an intense note at the end of this issue, waiting for the next to find out what’s really going on is going to be quite the task.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Daredevil (2011) #36

Feb 19, 2014

Daredevil has been a strong series since the get go with the unstoppable force of Waid and Samnee at the helm. While it’s not completely over, the series is lauching again next month with the very same creators, it’s a very new chapter in Daredevil’s life so who knows how it’ll turn out. But this final issue very much feels like just the end of a chapter. The story of course doesn’t carry as much gravitas as its preceding issues have but for a closing issue, it can’t, not without becoming overly so for the sake of melodrama, so Waid ends this chapter nicely with some high points instead for Matt, leaving a reader optimistic and ready to go for what’s next to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Deadpool (2012) #3

Dec 5, 2012

Maybe it’s all the (un)dead presidents but it’s kind of hard to really get into the series no matter how beloved Deadpool is. Beyond that there’s really not a whole lot to say about the subject. The only reason to continue getting this is to hold on to a fraction of the hope that the writers finally, finally, (once all these ridiculous presidents are rid of), get into the nitty gritty of Deadpool, the twisted humor and such. There’s nothing wrong with light humor and Deadpool, it’s Wade Wilson, he can pull anything off, but there’s also so much more to him as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Death Of Wolverine #1

Sep 4, 2014

Death of Wolverine so far proves to be multi-faceted and is certainly created in honour of the character with a lot of respect going into the creation of his character's final series. It no doubt will be emotional and fans of Wolverine will appreciate it for what it will deliver.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Death Of Wolverine #2

Sep 11, 2014

Soule's ability to weave Logan's rich history throughout the Marvel universe into this little series is bewildering, and leaves a strong impact on the reader. Each issue brings about many characters that are significant to Wolverine's story, many not for the better, and it's a shame that these are the characters that he's seeing on his final journey, but also incredibly typical.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Death Of Wolverine #4

Oct 16, 2014

Wolverine has touched lives, for better or for worse, but he will never be forgotten, and most will have mostly fond memories of him and even though this is the death for Wolverine, his spirit remains with his friends, his student, and even his enemies. He's clearly made an impact on the world and he will be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Django / Zorro #1

Nov 12, 2014

This is a nice little series to pick up if you're looking for something light to read. It's fun and simple enough to read, but engaging enough to not be boring. It's also great for Tarantino and Zorro fans looking for quick fix of action.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Edge of Spider-Verse #1

Sep 11, 2014

This issue is a solid recommendation for any Spider-Man fan, Spider-Man Noir fan, or for anyone who’s looking for an intro into the Spider-Man Noir universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Edge of Spider-Verse #2

Sep 17, 2014

Exciting is probably the best word to describe this issue. As previously mentioned its smooth action is gripping, but the character dynamics are also compelling. We all know who Gwen Stacy is, but this Gwen Stacy is much more multi-faceted and dynamic and it’s impossible to not want to see what she does next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Fables #133

Sep 19, 2013

So far only Bo Peep and Reynard have showed up to the round table, which is an interesting start to what Rose has in mind, and it’ll be exciting to witness who else decides to show and what they’ll be doing. Rose Red has big plans for some of the biggest and irredeemable scumbags to try and make them undeserving of, oh let’s say a sister’s cold wrath, or something similar. It’s not going to be easy, and she’s certainly not making it easy for herself either. It looks like both sisters have some difficult times ahead of them. The Camelot arc tugs at heartstrings just enough to get a reader to feel but doesn’t feel overly dramatic and overdone while also taking the story to some very interesting places.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Fairest #10

Dec 10, 2012

Fairest keeps the narrative of a fairy-tale, effectively suspending all levels of belief, and taking the reader to another world that has interwoven itself in the mundane (mundie) world and the art alone is spectacular. Adam Hughes’ covers alone are worth the issue (personally) but upon opening the pages, a reveal of great, great happenings presents itself. Overall, Fables and Fairest especially shouldn't be overlooked because it's a gripping series (particularly for those who enjoy fantasy or princesses kicking butt) and currently they're giving out a great story with Rapunzel that shouldn't be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Fairest #13

Mar 6, 2013

P.S. This issue has my favourite cover so far, which is saying a lot because Adam Hughes is a wizard of illustrations, but like the rest of the issue, there’s something incredibly captivating about this particular one.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Fairest #14

Apr 3, 2013

At any consolation, I was worried that the bar had been set high by the Rapunzel arc, but this little issue brought the bar back down again, so the next adventure is bound to look good.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Fairest #17

Jul 4, 2013

While entertaining, this issue just didn’t have the same energy as other Fairest issues. Though with the addition of more problems without even managing to solve current and original problems, there’s still a lot of exciting potential hidden for issues to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Fairest #33

Jan 7, 2015

Goldilocks finds herself missing the mundy world, readers will find themselves missing these Fables. There’s still a couple more issues left of the series Fairest spun off of, Fables and as this issue mentions at the end, the story continues on their graphic novel, so it’s certainly not the end of the story, not really.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Fantastic Four (2012) #3

Jan 9, 2013

Actually what's nice to see from the art though is just how colourful it all is. It's not dark or grayscale, but it's not a rainbow either. Maybe it matches with the more family themes that Fraction is trying to put it, but it's light enough as to not feel gloomy and a little more fun instead, which is great to see coming from a Fantastic Four issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Fantastic Four (2012) #4

Feb 13, 2013

While I’m not big on the love story so close to Valentine’s Day (not entirely my thing), I do like space, so I remain satisfied for the issue, and look forward to what’s to happen as the bonds of family are tested in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Fantastic Four (2012) #7

Apr 25, 2013

Fantastic Four #7 certainly seems to be an improving direction for the series, and a particularly good read for those mainly interested in the characters for being incredibly ingenious.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
FF (2012) #1

Nov 30, 2012

So far it seems like the first few issues are going to be a little bit more character based as everyone settles as a team, before some more of the action comes in. Currently the only driving force for picking up the next issue is if someone’s interested in knowing a little bit more about these characters. Though not necessarily a bad thing, it’s also not for everyone. It has great potential, it’s just not fully there yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Giant-Size Little Marvel AVX #1

Jun 3, 2015

Reading this isn't going to change your life, or effect the reading of Secret Wars in anyways, but what it will do is put a smile on your face and make your day a little brighter, because we all need a little fun now and then.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Gotham Academy #1

Oct 2, 2014

I’m waiting to see where the story develops a little more before I’m completely sold on it, it’s only natural for a first issue of this nature to raise more questions than actually begin to answer anything, but so far the entire creative team has sold me on the art (most definitely), and the concept and all I can say is that I’m very excited to see where it goes and how much this first arc will choose to explore.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Gotham Academy #7

Jun 10, 2015

This is such an innocent story it kind of just steals your heart away without you realizing it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Guardians of the Galaxy (2013) #3

Jun 13, 2013

Every issue so far feels like a small victory in a bigger battle that the Guardians will have to face, but it’s impossible to not fall in love with the team and cheer for them every step of the way. The fact that this all takes place in space is a very awesome bonus.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Harley Quinn (2013) #0

Nov 20, 2013

It’s a fun little, visual adventure meant to take us into the Harley Quinn series, and while the art is amazing and a pleasant tribute to artists alike in celebration of their talents and uniqueness, it’s a shame that it had to be bogged down by cumbersome writing, and at least they promised no more breaking the fourth wall.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Harley Quinn (2013) #9

Aug 14, 2014

Both Conner and Palmiotti make it clear they understand Harley, yet there’s also a constant serving of utterly ridiculous fanservice for an incredibly specific audience that it’s hard to forgive all the wonky parts for the pertinent parts. There’s good talent being used (especially in the art aspects) and there’s certainly a bigger picture being laid out, we just need to see more of that, to get a better series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Harley Quinn (2013) Annual #1

Oct 30, 2014

Overall, it’s a fun issue, it doesn’t really advertise to be anything but— scratch and sniff! So it’s certainly worth the pick up, just to have a good comic that’s a breather from everything else that might be a little more dramatic right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Harley Quinn and Her Gang Of Harleys #1

Apr 13, 2016

Harley Quinn as a character has so much potential, and it's clear they almost have the right idea when they introduced new characters with a similar potential, but then they take several steps back and reduce the story down to the obvious, cheap jokes, and sex appeal. It's mostly just disappointing to see.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Harley Quinn Valentine's Day Special #1

Feb 12, 2015

For a Valentine’s special, it hit its mark.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkeye Vol. 2 #7

Jan 30, 2013

Maybe I'm a sucker for stories about the goodness of the human condition. Though the entire series seems to be a good study of this, because we see Clint take on the world, big issues and small, and he's always the underdog (no superhuman powers and all) but he always tries to make the call to be a good person in the end. This issue focuses on that just like every other, and while we see it in Clint, it's also reflected in the rest of the people too.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Hawkeye Vol. 2 #17

Mar 13, 2014

Overall the story was cute and entertaining, along with the art"the three dogs that bear quite the resemblance to Clint's exes are a personal favourite. But ultimately it's the issue's timing that works against it, with the momentum of that type of storytelling not quite matching up entirely to what readers might be feeling. I'd say save the issue for a snow storming day when you're curled in front of a fireplace with a mug of hot chocolate, and in need of a story that'll warm your heart just a little too.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Hunger #1

Jul 24, 2013

Everything about this issue is enrapturing and is a decent jumping in point for any reader even if unfamiliar with Galactus or Marvel’s Ultimate Universe and will be sure to drag new readers into the Ultimate Universe and keep current readers excited about it. The Ultimate Universe is changing in a big way, and Hunger is the epic way to witness it firsthand as it happens.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Inhuman #2

May 28, 2014

Inhuman is a visual and bookish journey, perfect for readers who are looking to get a little more read from their usual superhero comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Inhuman #3

Aug 14, 2014

I find that I’m still fond of the series despite and apprehension that I seem to have but that’s mostly due to the fact that I’m already an Inhuman fan, and unfortunately a strong series needs more than that to keep it going. We’ll see how it goes—though I’d be in it for the art alone, so it certainly has that going for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Iron Man (2012) #3

Dec 6, 2012

Thankfully Gillen is around to salvage the series, but nothing is official yet on how strong this series is going to be. Like Imentioned earlier, we’re sort of having a slow burn to the climax, and that’s the hard hitter. If it falls short of expectations, it may not just hold up, while the pacing so far has been good, for it to continue would get tiring. It’s doubtful that it’ll happen, but it's always a possibilty.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Low #1

Jul 30, 2014

It’s all very warm feeling, which is incredible and kind of ironic, for a story about people who are living under the waters to escape from the destruction by the sun, these characters add a burst of sunlight into a story, catching readers and already gaining sympathy because everything about LOW so far is incredibly charismatic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Magneto (2014) #1

Mar 6, 2014

Often a solo title focuses on someone a little more ‘heroic’ and it’s nice to see a series that’s less so, though I imagine overtime as we spend more time with Erik, we’ll warm up to his line of thinking and start seeing him as less cruel and more just. After all, throughout all these years there’s one thing that has never changed about Magneto, he’s always been pragmatic.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Mara #3

Mar 6, 2013

While the first two issues had a bit of a slow start, by issue three, there’s definitely a pick up in where this story may be going. Mara has potential to be a great presence in her world and the series has potential as well, but if anything, it’s worth a look just to see each page's artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Miles Morales: Ultimate Spider-Man #2

Jun 5, 2014

While it's nice to see Peter back again, it's quite obvious that Miles is now Spider-Man and there is no longer any contest as to which Spider-Man the Ultimate Universe needs. And if what Miles has figured out at the end of the issue has any truth to it, his life running into Peter Parker(s) is only going to get more interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
New Avengers (2013) #2

Jan 18, 2013

Essentially it's this guilty pleasure of seeing a bunch of my favourite characters together (especially since they're throwing Beast into the mix!) and watching them control the world with an ambiguous morality (with the exception of Cap). It's dark, it's serious, it's smart, and leaves you with this sense of intrepidness.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
New Avengers (2013) #3

Feb 6, 2013

There’s definitely a bit of a shock at the end of the issue. That’s all I’m going to say.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Nova (2013) #1

Feb 20, 2013

There is a little bit of something for everyone though, even if you’re not totally into coming of age stories or angsty teenagers, as Sam’s dad retells his glory days, there are awesome spreads depicting the action in space. Honestly, McGuinness and co. have some phenomenal work and spreads of space depiction and it’s going to be incredibly exciting to see some more of space as Sam grows into his role as Nova, but for now, it’s a great balance between the two.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Nova (2013) #4

May 16, 2013

Overall though, Sam Alexander’s youth is a charming prospect to have as our new Nova. His brashness is what one would expect of a teen given the power of flight (among other things) and has yet to become tiresome as he tries to fill in not only his father’s helmet, but the rest of the Nova Corps.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Nowhere Men #2

Dec 19, 2012

Like any new series it’s hard to make any concrete verdicts and is probably worth to pursue for a few more issues in. Issue two still leaves us with questions that by no means will probably be answered next issue, but it’s still building enough curiosity just to see how this story may play out and doesn’t make any turns that would turn a reader away yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Original Sin #3

Jun 5, 2014

The pacing and plot isn’t perfect and certainly seems slower than other events, but for all we know it’s all about to blow up in out faces. Only time will tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Pretty Deadly #1

Oct 23, 2013

Honestly there’s nothing that’s not positive to say about this debut issue. Maybe it’s just excitement talking but there’s certainly merit to honest talent here as well. The first page is gripping and holds your breath all the way to the end when an exhalation of emotion lets itself out as it finishes with Kelly Sue herself laying her own heart and soul onto the pages as she writes about the creation of Pretty Deadly and how much a project like this means. It’s a bewitching journey for readers to take along with DeConnick and Rios as the story continues to unfold.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Pretty Deadly #2

Nov 28, 2013

I won’t pretend that I fully understand the story of Pretty Deadly, and can admit that it takes me about two or three read-throughs before I’m even half prepared to try and review it, but with each read-through it’s like learning a new experience within the story and unveiling a new layer to the story, and that’s probably my most favourite aspect of Pretty Deadly so far, it’s never a boring read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Prometheus: Fire and Stone #1

Sep 10, 2014

[ my rating stems a lot from a preexisting fan point of view to which i think this issue handled well within the overall franchise, looking at it as an individual issue or from a non fan point of view i'd say my score would objectively be a point or two lower ]

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Rachel Rising #25

May 2, 2014

Not only is this issue a happier point because of the warm family feelings, but Rachel's got some good tricks up her sleeve. What's always made her different from the rest of the witches is that every trick she knows always is for the purpose of saving people, not condemning them. So she's putting her skills to better everyone in her family. Not just herself and Johnny, but to Jet as well, and she even extends the offer to Earl and Zoe who don't have any visible signs of needing her assistance in context. It's as odd of a family bonding moment if there were to ever be one. Plus, they might have found themselves another clue as to whatever darker mess is dragging them along in the first place. It's not entirely a bright side, to know that there's more than just Lilith out there, but it's better than just walking into darkness without any idea of what you may be in for.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Rachel Rising #29

Oct 30, 2014

Terry Moore is on an incredible roll with Rachel Rising right now, and for those who are looking for something to pick up as we get to the end of October, you won’t be at a loss with this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Rat Queens #3

Nov 28, 2013

Wiebe has a good grip on his characters and it'll be interesting to see how they grow as the series continues. Paired with the delightful sketchiness and pastel colours of Upchurch's art, it's a mostly light hearted series so far, following a bunch of adventuring young woman, but of course there's always going to be more that meets the eye as they also try to solve their own personal problems as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Rat Queens #4

Jan 16, 2014

Rat Queens is back to being is action-packed witty essence that it’s mostly just a fun ride as a gang of extremely hardcore ladies (who seem to be breaking many stereotypes of hardcore lady warrior types) and while it’s nice to see some character work once in a while, it’s just as good to just enjoy the ride at a good brawl with some trolls.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Secret Avengers #36

Jan 11, 2013

There's about fifty things going on it feels like, and nothing feels like it's been solved or at least close to concluding, and it's a right mess at points trying to keep it all up. They're all good plots, truly, but all together it's cluttered and not the easiest to get through.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Secret Avengers (2013) #2

Mar 13, 2013

The art is smooth just like its story counter-part, and Secret Avengers is a great pick up for anyone looking for a good story without the crazy theatrics and antics of the grandiose super heroes. It’s a bit grittier but not dark and overly well-balanced.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Secret Avengers (2014) #1

Mar 13, 2014

It’s easy to see Secret Avengers being a hit, with it’s spy secrets and enigmatic cliffhangers, not to mention to see how M.O.D.O.K, plays out as a team member, looking forward to the next issue doesn’t even require a second thought.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Sex Criminals #3

Nov 20, 2013

Much like the characters themselves whose stories as more is revealed make them more likable, the same goes for Sex Criminals. Each page takes a reader further into the story, revealing either more about the character, or their relationship, or that one step further into the mysterious plot. Nothing about it is an in your face, look how original this is, so like it, kind of story. It’s a build of quiet intrigue and the journey is the best part of the adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Sex Criminals #7

Aug 13, 2014

Aside from the funniest panel ever, there’s a little less comedy dispersed throughout this issue as readers are normally used to—it’s still a good read though, but it definitely reads more sweet than funny proving that there’s a lot of heart to the series beyond the (butt stuff) and sex jokes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Sinergy #1

Nov 19, 2014

Of course Oeming’s art is eye catching as usual and incredibly well detailed for his typical style. Soma’s colouring only adds to the boldness of Oeming’s art using similarly bold colours, creating a visceral world that one can’t help but be absorbed by.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spider-Gwen #1

Feb 25, 2015

Based on Spider-Gwen's major success and fans' determination for more, the creative team behind it all has clearly put their all in one of the more entertaining series to date. It's humourous yet still with dramatic story and action, along with it's bright colours and overall distinct comic style makes for a remarkably pleasurable read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Spider-Woman (2014) #8

Jun 4, 2015

I’m actually really pleased with how this second arc went and how it wrapped up— finally finding its voice in the story they want to tell with Jessica and I think it’ll be exciting to see what happens to her character as this progresses.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Star Wars: Poe Dameron #1

Apr 6, 2016

So far Poe Dameron's adventure is off to a strong start and it's only just the beginning, because when you're as good as Poe is, you're bound to only get yourself into deep trouble.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Starfire #1

Jun 10, 2015

DC You is meant to be a service to its fans but Starfire doesn’t really cater to fans if all it gives us is a pretty face with no substance; it’s either a blow to readers or a stab at Koriand’r’s character. Either way, it’s not the best start a first issue could go.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superman/Wonder Woman #4

Jan 16, 2014

There's also a little bonus story tacked on at the end, Clark Kent trying to use his connection in journalism to try and get down to the bottom of the mystery of who leaked his relationship, as well as the rest of the world reacting to the leak. Not only do we see Clark and Diana trying to handle things (separately), but also glimpses of Lex, and good friend Batman. It's quite a generous add on, that follows the regular story of Superman Wonder Woman, but it's light hearted enough that the choice to make it separate doesn't seem too odd. And while it seems like things are just about to get rough for the power couple, one little extra story end positively giving a reader hope in their strength, not only as heroes, but as two people who care immensely about each other.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Activity #11

Jan 30, 2013

Maybe it’s this issue in particular due to their methods of problem solving, but that mix of unorthodox in an otherwise realistic and likely setting, creates an enticing atmosphere where the reader can’t help but keep turning the page.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Fearless Defenders #1

Feb 6, 2013

Truly, if Defenders carries on in the same direction as its premier issue, it’s going to do well. Sure, it’s a female-dominant cast, but they’re awesome for being awesome, not because they’re women.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Rocketeer / The Spirit: Pulp Friction #1

Jul 24, 2013

Rocketeer in Waid's hands is a full bodied story with a tremendous amount of fun thrown in and with the addition of the Spirit, it's like the fun and action doubles, which is an impressive feat on an already impressive story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Rocketeer / The Spirit: Pulp Friction #2

Oct 23, 2013

Fans of the Rocketeer will still enjoy the issue, as some of the excitement quiets down between the months it's not easy to get back into the swing of things, but by then end it's like no time has passed at all and readers are once again pulled in by all the charm and class of all the characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Rocketeer: Hollywood Horror #2

Mar 13, 2013

Seriously. Reading Rocketeer will charm your pants off.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Rocketeer: Hollywood Horror #4

May 8, 2013

As always they retro stylings of Langridge, J Bone, and Bellaire, make Rocketeer Hollywood Horror super entertaining and the fact that we’ve reached the conclusion is a sad moment indeed. Langridge definitely has a personal favourite take on the Rocketeer title and would love to see him tackle more in the future. But we also have the Rocketeer and Spirit team up to look forward to coming up in the next couple of months to look forward to.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The United States of Murder Inc. #1

May 14, 2014

It’s absolutely gripping and exciting, definitely a high point for both Bendis and Oeming. They’ve created intriguing characters, and developed a world completely unique. The United States of Murder Inc., is definitely going to be a hit and I genuinely can’t wait see what comes from it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Unwritten #44

Dec 23, 2012

For any classic literature fan, fantasy fan, and particularly for this batch of issues, Greek mythology fan, The Unwritten is a well woven story of Tom’s adventures, that while not on same level as other comics when it comes to cliffhanger endings, it’s the tie-in as a whole that keeps a reader going.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
The Unwritten #45

Jan 30, 2013

I was really looking forward to reading this, and I feel like I’ve been let down a little. Sometimes I'm even okay with picking up Unwritten for it's really nice covers, but oh macabre child-- not really my boat. I miss Tom Taylor. It’s fine to have his vampire friend tag along, I can deal with that, but I’m more interested in what Tom Taylor is getting up to.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Thor (2014) #2

Nov 12, 2014

After all the angst we’ve been dealt with the Odinson and Original Sin, it’s nice to bring in a new hero into a familiar territory and role, but to also bring some more lightheartedness into it and I can’t wait to see more of what this Thor is capable of.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Thor (2014) #8

May 13, 2015

Previous issues have led readers to try and figure Thor’s identity as the Odinson has. There seems to be a natural conclusion at this point so the Odinson demands the truth of her but naturally due to circumstances the reveal falls only to the readers eyes and none in the Marvel universe yet know her secret. As for the identity itself, as to not reveal spoilers, let’s just say this: she is undoubtedly worthy to wield such power, of this it’s no surprise, in fact it’s the most obvious surprise choice that could have been made with her rather intimate knowledge of both Asgard and Earth (and the previous Thor). After all the guessing games it might have been exciting to see a character that we were less familiar with— or not known at all, but out of all the characters who could possess the power of Thor out of all options already available, this is indeed the most worthy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Uncanny Avengers #4

Feb 27, 2013

Either way, I beg that everyone give this issue a chance because I think it’s finally reaching the hype and praise the title has been seeking after.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Uncanny Avengers #5

Mar 27, 2013

I’m not saying I’m quite giving up on this series yet, I’m too much of a fan of the handful of characters that are on it, but it’s certainly not being quite written to expectations especially when Remender has a pretty good rapport and this was one of the biggest titles Marvel was pushing with Marvel Now!. I’ll keep holding out in hopes that Remender is actually going somewhere with all this and everyone’s crazy kind of gets explained but if anyone decided to drop UA from this issue I wouldn’t blame them / be surprised.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Uncanny Avengers #8AU

May 22, 2013

Everything about this issue seemed to be a perfect fit and so complementary to one another, I honestly wouldn’t mind have an entire series of this—perhaps starting a little prior to this issue’s scenario (I’m intrigued by everyone’s backstory—more so than usual coming from AoU), but it’s definitely something I would have read more of if given to me.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #1

Feb 13, 2013

It's a ridiculously strong start for Uncanny X-Men, not at all slow moving, or an easy start. It's the flagship title for what's going to happen with the X-Men, and best to keep up because Bendis definitely isn't going to make it easy for anyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #2

Feb 27, 2013

My rating is on an incredibly personal note because I have invested a lot of time and fangirling into Emma and her relationship with Scott and concede that were this issue involving other characters, the rating would be significantly lower, mostly due to a somewhat glacial plot (which is sort of necessary to introduce us into the idea of the new mutants as well as the new school), the only action-y scene is a rehash of the first issue’s fight against the sentinels, and then a cliffhanger with hopes of something of a little more substance happening in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #3

Mar 14, 2013

This is hopefully going to be a series that will continuously keep us on our feet. Uncanny after all is a flagship title, and we will expect nothing but the best.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #5

Apr 25, 2013

The timing couldn’t have been better, a new plot before anything can get too boring. I for one am still looking forward to seeing what happens next and have yet to see this series have a dull moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #6

May 22, 2013

As a side note, for those keeping up with Marvel’s solicitations will know who showed up at the end to be SHIELD’s new insight into the mutant community, and I can honestly say I’m extremely excited to see what SHIELD is trying to do.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #12

Sep 18, 2013

This issue doesn’t really bring anything new to Battle of the Atom, but a personal attachment to the characters from any X-Men fan will make it a entertaining enough read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #13

Oct 17, 2013

Part 8 is a fairly solid issue of Battle of the Atom, and hopefully they can continue to hold onto this momentum as we get to the final two issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #14

Nov 21, 2013

It's not totally a filler issue, we're bound to need to know more about the new mutants joining the team sooner or later; but it's a very tame approach in doing so. It's kind of uplifting, and kind of sweet, and gives some other characters more page time (*cough*Emma*cough*) and in the end, there's that final statement that kind of makes you all sentimental about the X-Men in general. It's a warm fuzzy feelings kind of issue with just a small smattering of action and suspense because when you have mutant powers, things like that just follow, even for a guy like Benjamin Deeds.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #23

Jul 16, 2014

While the story of the issue itself was great, it wasn’t nice to be strung along in thinking that this issue was going to change the future of the X-Men’s dynamics. Hopefully more of that will be addressed in future issues to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Undertow #6

Jul 23, 2014

There’s an immense amount of world building involved, which even by the end, the potential to turn this into many miniseries or maybe even an ongoing, aren’t out of the question. For a series that is being highly regaled with positive feedback on both story and stellar art, they’ve gone out with a bang, leaving readers wanting more but holding no promises—which is a strong creative move that works out for everyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
What If? AVX #1

Jul 3, 2013

When picking up AVX last year I was expecting something along the lines of civil war but having it pit X-Men against Avengers, instead we get Marvel vs five mutants controlled by the phoenix force (oh no we've never seen that). But this time war has been declared and feels precisely how I feel AVX should have originally felt.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
What If? AVX #2

Jul 17, 2013

By the end of the issue, so far What If: AVX reads like a modern take on the phoenix saga, and it's a take that I'm for once not opposed to.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wolf #1

Jul 24, 2015

The storytelling feels really effortless when all pulled together and just makes for a smooth read. It feels less like a first issue of a new series, there are no gimmicks with this series, it just feels incredibly honest, and I think that’s why I enjoyed it so much.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wolverine and the X-Men #24

Jan 23, 2013

Admittedly it’s easy to start losing faith in the X-Men series with all the titles out and for a while it felt like Marvel was putting all their money into the Avengers (which given that there was a high demand for them from new readers post Avengers movie, it’s not a surprise), but it’s issues like this that make me feel like everything is going to be okay for the X-Men and remind me why I’m a fan to begin with.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Wolverine and the X-Men #31

Jun 13, 2013

I’m not entirely sure how I feel about the arc so far; I love the Hellfire Club, I love majority of the characters, but I’m not yet feeling incredibly moved by the plot, it’s light, which is what I normally enjoy from the series, but when dealing with the Hellfire Club I suppose I was expecting bigger dramatics. Maybe I’m asking too much to start with.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wolverine and the X-Men #33

Jul 24, 2013

I had my doubts with the Hellfire Saga at first, with the prelude and first issue, the second issue was certainly better, but it’s definitely this one that I’ve been sold on. The potential has been seen, and at this point we just need to see more of the actual Hellfire Club to make it complete, which I’m sure we’ll be getting soon enough. Despite the crazy of the Hellfire Academy, it looks like some people are going with some well earned lessons and at the heart of it, it’s life lessons we all could learn, which is the heart of WATXM anyways so all in all, consider this arc reaching its success. But don’t get me wrong, what comes to follow should be pretty amazing too. (Krakoa)

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Wolverine and the X-Men #35

Aug 30, 2013

It seems like the end of the Hellfire Saga has set into motion a lot of things Aaron wants to accomplish/plans to accomplish, Toad is kind of finding his backbone, Husk is on the road to recovery, Quentin and Idie are now in a relationship, Wolverine is apparently better tempered, and we’re starting to get glimpses from a much beloved character (this is the best part of the issue, and even if you didn’t like any other part of it, this character makes it worth the price okay). It’s lost a little bit of footing along the way, but post Hellfire, it looks like Aaron is about to gain some better ground again.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Wolverine and the X-Men #37

Oct 23, 2013

I'm torn when it comes to Battle of the Atom and this issue isn't helping. I'm desperate to want to like it because it involves some of my most favourite X-Men characters and yet at the same time I can't help but shout at every turn of the page because I'm clueless as to why any of this is happening. One thing to say about this is that it's certainly not not eventful. There are a lot of things happening, some good things, others are questionable things.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Wolverines #1

Jan 7, 2015

Wolverines could be good, but it has a whole lot of potential to be a lot better too, especially with the creative team it has. Either the new group steps up, or they step out, but for right now it isn’t working.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wonder Woman (2011) #20

May 16, 2013

The characters have been good and interesting—War is still this mysterious old man and Poseidon gives me the creeps and Hera is as fabulous as can be (considering that she’s mortal now), so it’s certainly one to keep a reader entertained, but this issue has certainly picked up from the last couple of issues. There’s good action and mystery and the pacing feels less choppy and more solidified. Certainly a great comeback issue for anyone who’s been in and out of Wonder Woman—it has enough pick me up action to feel justified in getting the issue. Not a dull moment this time.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Wonder Woman (2011) #22

Jul 17, 2013

The end of the issue gets an almost heartwarming family reunion, which can only (hopefully) mean that something big is going down. Maybe it’s the action sequences that I’ve been seeking lately from Wonder Woman. One can only hope.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Wonder Woman (2011) #23

Aug 24, 2013

Without spoiling anything, Diana’s actions have taken a turn that will lead her on a new chapter of her life and may prove to change her destiny in the world. What happens next is definitely going to be interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wonder Woman (2011) #33

Jul 23, 2014

This is certainly going to be an arc that goes down in Wonder Woman history.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Wonder Woman (2011) #35

Oct 29, 2014

Of course from such good collaborators there was almost no doubt that they were going to give us a grand finale. Strong characters, strong art, strong colours, strong ending. It’ll be sad to have such an able creative team move on, but they’ve set up Diana’s character and world building so well, that it’ll be interesting to see where Wonder Woman’s adventure takes her next.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Wonder Woman (2011) #36

Nov 19, 2014

It’d be easy to say that the new creative team comes in lacking because we were given such a strong run prior, but that’s when creators should bring their a-game and that just wasn’t the case here. The whole tone of the story feels off and not at all what one would expect from a Wonder Woman story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-Men '92 #1

May 27, 2015

What this series does is bring all of the fun of the 90s series into something that still reads a little more modernly which is a perfect balance. To be honest, I can't speak for how readers who are unfamiliar with the 90s series are going to take to this series. It's fun, a little campy, and extremely nostalgic and it's perfect for a fan like me.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-Men (2013) #1

May 29, 2013

With the Marvel universe being a slight hey-day with certain mutants crying revolution and most living out their own interpretation of Xavier's dream of peace, there's a lot of serious drama that seems to be happening, and it's nice to go to a series that seemingly focuses a little less on being right in the determination of what mutants should and shouldn't be doing, and simply being X-Men, being there for each other, saving the world, and doing what any good being would do in their circumstance.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
X-Men (2013) #2

Jun 28, 2013

Aside from that, it’s still going strong, and still feels very much like an X-Men book despite the fact that it’s predominantly female-lead. We have Beast playing his part, and there’s also a glimpse of the students as well, to serve as a reminder where they are, and even while they’re off fighting threats, their roots will always lie with the school. (Hellion is a sassy little thing and I personally enjoyed every panel he was in despite the fact that he doesn’t say anything. Pixie too. –-It’s just really great to see other X-Men members join the fray, really.)

View Issue       View Full Review
7
X-Men (2013) #4

Aug 24, 2013

For a filler issue, it’s pretty solid, with a story that’s not too heavy but still interesting that no one should be dropping the series before we get into Battle of the Atom here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
X-Men (2013) #5

Sep 14, 2013

So far Battle of the Atom isn't entirely disappointing. (My bias is tired of Jean Grey, but it's not an X-Men event without being about Jean so who am I to say.) There are a lot of interesting characters that show up and everyone seems to be hiding more than they let on, and it's certainly building up to something. Anyone who's been a fan of any of the X-Men titles involved up to this point, will probably enjoy it so far, the build into each of the next issues will at definitely hold a reader and bring excitement into the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
X-Men (2013) #7

Nov 21, 2013

It’s a slow start to this six part arc, with no major hooks as of yet, and a couple of stagnant pages that don’t quite fit into the overall story as of yet; a lot of it rides on Dodson’s aesthetics as well as the team roster. They haven’t done anything too spectacular since the first issue, (and then Battle of the Atom happened) but with names like Psylocke, Storm, Rachel Grey, Jubilee, Rogue, (with guest appearances from Beast), and now Monet, it’s hard not to keep wanting to find out just what they might be up to.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
X-Men: Battle of the Atom #2

Oct 30, 2013

Battle of the Atom left a lot of unanswered questions, (I'm still struggling with wrapping my head around what exactly happened to get Hank and Jean especially, of the future to turn into the Brotherhood. And whatever happened to Molly?!?) but it was a story told well enough to entertain and appease any X-Men fan and get them excited for what's to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Xena: Warrior Princess #1

Apr 12, 2016

This is a fun and light first issue to ease readers back into the world of Xena, with a promising future ahead.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Young Avengers (2013) #1

Jan 23, 2013

So far I think what will make readers keep coming back to YA is their love of the characters. The one action scene that happened was a two-page spread, while Billy and Teddy’s emotional back and forth got four pages. Maybe the action picks up later on, but based on first issue, this is what I’m getting.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Young Avengers (2013) #2

Feb 27, 2013

I’m not giving up hope yet. There was a flicker of light for me at the end, in which I was finally starting to feel something for what was happening. (It’s that Loki, he’s a charming bastard).

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Young Avengers (2013) #6

Jun 27, 2013

( Also major props to bringing back Prodigy—I’m never one to deny more ex-X-Men to join the fray )

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

June

May

More