Chris Hassan's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: AiPT! Reviews: 132
8.5Avg. Review Rating

10
12 Reasons Why I Love Her #1

Feb 15, 2016

Wow, that's kind of bleak note to end on. But hey, that's real life.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New X-Men (2015) #14

Oct 19, 2016

Of course, as Inhumans vs. X-Men approaches, along with the inevitable tie-in stories, I may just find myself missing these solo stories in a few months.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New X-Men (2015) #15

Nov 9, 2016

However, with young Cyclops now a member of The Champions, I assume he and his fellow young mutants aren't going anywhere any time soon. I guess we'll just have to wait and see what the post-Inhumans Vs. X-Men world has in store for us.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
All-New X-Men (2015) #16

Dec 14, 2016

I'm also curious to see where Bagley will go once Marvel puts a period on this series. In my opinion, these past few issues have been some of the strongest work I've seen from this artist in a long time. It'd be fun to see him revisit Spider-Man post-Clone Conspiracy next, though he's always welcome in the X-universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All-New X-Men (2015) #17

Jan 18, 2017

Love makes us do crazy things. Good to see that's just as true for mutants and Inhumans as it is for ordinary humans!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
All-New X-Men (2015) #18

Feb 1, 2017

On a serious note, knowing that the next issue of All-New X-Men is the last definitely makes me realize just how much I'll miss this series. Hopeless and Bagley have taken some big risks throughout this series, but the characters " and especially readers " have benefited every step of the way. Truly, All-New X-Men has been a series worthy of its title.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All-New X-Men (2015) #19

Mar 29, 2017

Overall, Hopeless, artist Mark Bagley, Diaz and the series' other creators should be proud of their work on this volume of All-New X-Men. I was a big fan of Bendis' run and was pleasantly surprised " and relieved " to see Hopeless not repeat the formula, and instead take these young mutants' stories in exciting new directions.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
All-New X-Men (2015) Annual #1

Nov 23, 2016

Don't believe me? Just read this annual's Dani Moonstar-focused backup story by writer Rex Ogle and artist Andrea Broccardo, which focuses on the feelings that accompany panic attacks.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Astonishing X-Men (2017) Annual #1

Aug 15, 2018

The surviving original X-Men are finally reunited but it's the mysterious X who steals the show in this terrific annual!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Avengers (2016) #3.1

Jan 18, 2017

These days, more than a few comics have "All-New" or just plain "New" slapped on their covers. After reading Avengers #3.1, I don't think I'd mind seeing "Classic" instead. Hey, it worked for Coca-Cola!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Avengers (2016) #4.1

Feb 22, 2017

But don't cry too much – there's still one more issue of this series! I'm definitely curious to see how Waid wraps up the story of Avenger X and sets up her return in his other Avengers series – something that was hinted at in Avengers #1. It'd definitely be cool if Kitson returned to handle the art duties on that eventual arc! But we'll see.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers (2016) #5.1

Mar 29, 2017

A fitting end to a mini-series that's been a refreshing change of pace!

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Avengers (2016) #1.MU

Jan 25, 2017

I know Monsters Unleashed is meant to be a fun event " classic superhero mayhem. More Michael Bay than Civil War II. It's possible fans of MU's first issue will love this tie-in just as much. But from a cost perspective, I just can't justify this comic's existence. Maybe if this book had a $2.99 price tag, I'd be a little kinder. But $5?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: Rebirth #1

Jun 1, 2016

I think overall, my biggest complaint with Batman: Rebirth #1 is that I finished reading it in like five minutes. Which, I guess, means I wanted the experience to last longer. Which, ultimately, means I'll be back for Batman #1 by King and artist David Finch on June 15.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Champions #1.MU

Feb 22, 2017

If you've been enjoying the Monsters Unleashed event, or just like to see your favorite heroes go Ultraman, you'd probably enjoy Champions #1.MU. But if you've got a limited weekly comics budget, you might be better off purchasing a book (or two) that packs a bit more of a punch and doesn't have a $4.99 price tag. This definitely isn't required reading for Champions fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Deadpool & The Mercs For Money (2016) #7

Jan 18, 2017

Fortunately, Coello's art is nowhere near as offensive as Deadpool's jokes and is right at home in a comedic superhero book. His smooth pencils reminded me of the work of Paco Medina, who also spent some time illustrating Deadpool's adventures.I'm clearly not the target audience for this series, which in my eyes, just continues to overexpose Deadpool, Wolverine-style (and look what happened to him – he's dead). Storywise, this is the type of event tie-in that really doesn't need to exist, in my opinion. Deadpool & The Mercs for Money could have continued with their regular adventures without wading into the X-Men's battle (pun intended) and revisiting the tired, dark-future concept.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Deadpool & The Mercs For Money (2016) #8

Feb 1, 2017

And to all the Deadpool fans who hated my review … “None of this ever happened.”

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Death of Love #1

Dec 13, 2017

A man with an over-the-top response to his romantic troubles embarks on an over-the-top - and ridiculously violent - adventure. What's not to love?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Death of X #1

Oct 5, 2016

After 50+ years spent battling megalomaniacal mutants, bigoted humans and killer robots, Lemire, Soule and Kuder prove that the X-Men's greatest threat may just be a cloud – and the story's so good, that's okay.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Death of X #2

Oct 19, 2016

I'm not sure if there's such a thing as a good kind of car wreck, but that's what I'd compare Death of X to. You know it's going to end in tragedy but you can't help but watch.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Death of X #3

Nov 2, 2016

Let's hope Death of X #4 makes up for these minor missteps and doesn't meet the same fate as Cyclops (who I predict doesn't die and is instead captured by the Inhumans so he can return in time for Marvel's "Ressurxion" relaunch – not spoilers, just my theory (you read it here first!)).

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Death of X #4

Nov 23, 2016

Ultimately, Death of X is an optic blast to the heart–but a testament to the X-Men's resolve when facing impossible odds.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Doom Patrol (2016) #1

Sep 14, 2016

Overall, this is a solid introduction to not just Way and Derington's take on the Doom Patrol, but the untamed world of Young Animal as well. If the imprint's other titles have the same striking art, fresh ideas and sense of whimsy, DC's mature reader titles may just be experiencing their own rebirth.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Doom Patrol (2016) #2

Oct 12, 2016

At the same time, no one should be denied Derington's incredible art on a monthly basis. I'll admit, I wasn't familiar with the artist's work before Doom Patrol, but these two issues have ensured I will follow his career wherever his smooth and animated pencils go next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Extermination (2018) #1

Aug 15, 2018

Extermination never looked so good as Ed Brisson and Pepe Larraz bring their A-games to this X-Men epic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Extermination (2018) #2

Aug 29, 2018

Strong character moments and lush artwork steal the show in another solid installment of Extermination.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Extermination (2018) #3

Sep 26, 2018

Nonstop suspense and gorgeous visuals make this an X-Men event you're hooked to from beginning to end.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Extermination (2018) #4

Oct 31, 2018

The Extermination creative team keeps the quality high as this mini-series speeds toward its conclusion--and a cliffhanger everybody will be talking about.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Extermination (2018) #5

Dec 19, 2018

Extermination ends as it began--with stunning artwork, killer twists and emotional character moments.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Extermination (2018): X-Men #1

Dec 5, 2018

Fans of Cable, Hope and the Summers family, in general, will especially enjoy this one-shot that celebrates the life of Marvel's Askani'Son.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Extraordinary X-Men #15

Oct 26, 2016

While I'm more than happy to put this unpleasant Inhuman-tainted X-era behind us, I just hope Lemire's terrific character contributions aren't swept under the rug as Marvel embraces a more nostalgic approach to its X-line.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Extraordinary X-Men #16

Nov 30, 2016

In the art department, Ibanez continues to prove that his moody pencils are perfect for this fantastical story set in the always-dangerous Limbo. The artist's creepy takes on the manipulative Apocalypse and possessed Sapna make it clear this is what would happen if the X-Men were dropped into a horror film.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Extraordinary X-Men #17

Dec 28, 2016

Based on the information I have about next month's Extraordinary X-Men #18, Forge should be at the center of the action. I hope this is true, and I hope Lemire continues these character-focused tie-in issues for the remainder of IVX. This is shaping up to be a strong X-event, and I can't think of a better way to end this series, which has showcased terrific character work, than with personal stories from the Inhuman-mutant war.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Extraordinary X-Men #18

Jan 24, 2017

Feel-good X-Men comic of the year? I wouldn't go that far, what with the whole Earth-will-soon-be-uninhabitable-for-mutants scenario. But Lemire, Ibanez and Sorrentino definitely make me sympathetic to an X-Man I never cared much about. I'd call that accomplishment " extraordinary!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Extraordinary X-Men #19

Feb 22, 2017

You don't need to read this comic book to understand the larger IVX story, but it certainly helps provide closure to an important part of Lemire's overall Extraordinary X-Men run – which, surprisingly, spent a lot of time in the supernatural side of the Marvel Universe. But I guess that's par for the course when Magik's one of your series' stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Extraordinary X-Men #20

Mar 22, 2017

Marvel: Making the X-Men smile again.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Invincible Iron Man (2016) #2

Dec 21, 2016

If you were like myself – hesitant to get to know a brand new Iron Man – I recommend giving this book a chance. I know Bendis has it in him to tell strong stories, and when it's clear he's inspired, it's very easy to put your faith (aka $3.99) in him and blast off into the unknown.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Invincible Iron Man (2016) #3

Jan 18, 2017

The rookie-replacing-the-veteran-hero angle is something we've seen quite a lot of in the past few years. With that said, by injecting Riri into Tony's life, Bendis and Caselli have truly managed to make Iron Man fresh again. It also doesn't hurt that in just three issues, Riri comes across as more fully formed than some comic characters who've been around for decades.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Invincible Iron Man (2016) #4

Feb 15, 2017

Either way, if the cover to the next issue is accurate, it looks like Riri will partake in a good old-fashioned superhero team-up. Should be another fun entry in what's quickly become one of Marvel's most youthful and energetic series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Invincible Iron Man (2016) #5

Mar 22, 2017

Another fun entry in this youthful series, but the cliffhanger is what will make you read the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Invincible Iron Man (2016) #6

Apr 19, 2017

Fortunately, Invincible Iron Man has enough working in its favor in the writing and art department to help me move past the fact that Bendis is stringing me along with this possibly evil AI Tony plot.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
IvX #0

Nov 30, 2016

Soule, along with co-writer Jeff Lemire and artist Leinil Yu are talented creators, so I have faith in the quality of IVX beyond #0. But sadly, from a jaded fan perspective, it's hard to see this series as nothing more than the latest bridge between Marvel relaunches. I understand comics is a business, but it's not much fun if the people who buy these series - and have been doing so for countless years - have event endings spoiled by Marvel's marketing team and comic news outlets.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
IvX #1

Dec 14, 2016

In X-Men lore, extinction was always a far-off threat " something that would take place at the metal hands of Sentinels when Wolverine's hair finally starts to gray. But thanks to the Inhumans, mutants' extinction has never been so close around the corner. Some of Marvel's most cunning mutants understand this and " along with Soule, Lemire and Yu " guarantee IVX will be a page-turner X-fans will be talking about for ages.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
IvX #2

Jan 11, 2017

I will say, if you're reading this event's tie-in issues, go ahead and read IVX #2 first. If you're not, still read this comic first, then do yourself a favor and pick up Uncanny X-Men #17 by Cullen Bunn and Ken Lashley. The creative team takes a one-page beat in this issue and manages to spin a compelling tale out of it in their own book (my top comic of the week).As I'm one of those readers who prefers character-driven conversations over action, I didn't enjoy the second entry into this series as much as the first. It also didn't help that is was the length of a regular comic book (for some reason, I expected it to be as long as issue 1). But these are minor complaints – this is by no means a bad comic.Plus, based on next issue's cover, Magneto is going to face off against Devil Dinosaur. To quote Weezer's “El Scorcho,” “How cool is that?”

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
IvX #3

Jan 25, 2017

Overall, I find IVX #3 to be the weakest installment of the series. Something similar happened midway through this creative team's prequel mini-series Death of X. Starts with a bang, concludes with a bang, but events can't help but slow down in the middle of the show.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
IvX #4

Feb 8, 2017

In my opinion, the issues with this series are piling up and getting in the way of what could be an amazing event " one that maybe shouldn't be stretched to six issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
IvX #5

Feb 22, 2017

Anyway, I'm optimistic for IVX #6. Maybe it's that Leinil Francis Yu returns to handle the art, but more likely, it's that we can finally put this unnecessarily dramatic chapter of X-Men history behind us.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
IvX #6

Mar 8, 2017

But overall, I'm just very happy to put one of the darkest periods in X-Men history behind me and move on to the next story – even if it's a "back to basics" approach that could pander to longtime fans more than it X-cites.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Micronauts #1

Apr 26, 2016

I believe that Micronauts fans will get the biggest kick out of reading this new spin on a classic concept. That doesn't mean fans of Bunn's other work should be scared away by a comic based on a toyline.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #16

Jan 4, 2017

Hopefully I've made the case for Old Man Logan (Marvel, if you see a sales spike, you know who to mail that check to). This is truly one of the best books on the stands, with each arc as eclectic as Old Man Logan's life.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #17

Feb 1, 2017

From atwo-page, minimalist spread early on in this comic to panels in the shape of Kang's iconic face mask, Sorrentino proves he's committed to delivering a unique, visual storytelling experience. Just saying, there are more than one pages inthis comic that wouldn't be out of place in a modern art museum.One complaint I do have about this issue is the appearance of Kang and the kidnapped baby plot. Not just because Kang is currently dominating the first arc of Mark Waid's new Avengers series, but that the Vision kidnapped a baby version of Kang not too long ago. A little too much of the same too close together.But, too much Kang is a small price to pay for comics this good. The next issue,Old Man Logan #18, has the potential to be the best partof this current arc as itsmain plot stands revealed. So if you've only got enough cash for two comics in February, you might want to make it an Old Man Logan month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Old Man Logan (2016) #18

Feb 15, 2017

While it's easy to praise Lemire and Sorrentino's work on this issue, this month's MVP may just be color artist Marcelo Maiolo. The pink-purple psychic energy crackling around Jean, the dry heat of the Wasteland and the horror of reaching into the Brood's hive mind wouldn't be quite as powerful without Maiolo's touch.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Old Man Logan (2016) #19

Mar 8, 2017

Oh, one more thing. You may want to read Old Man Logan #19 with a copy of the Official Handbook of the Marvel Universe nearby, as the cliffhanger may leave you questioning just how much of a Marvel Zombie you truly are.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Old Man Logan (2016) #20

Mar 29, 2017

Think of Old Man Logan #19 and #20 as appetizers ahead of what will hopefully be a solid meal. It won't fill you up, but it also won't send you home before the main course arrives.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Old Man Logan (2016) #21

Apr 12, 2017

Classic Wolverine fans: line up to get your fix!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #22

Apr 26, 2017

Funny and heartbreaking, Old Man Logan #22 is a true Wolverine story!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #23

May 11, 2017

The book's called Old Man Logan but the sinister Asmodeus steals the show.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #24

May 31, 2017

An emotional end to Jeff Lemire's terrific exploration of Old Man Logan.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Phoenix Resurrection: The Return Of Jean Grey #1

Dec 27, 2017

Not many mysteries can be both unsettling and so satisfying, but Matthew Rosenberg pulls it off and leaves you wanting more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Phoenix Resurrection: The Return Of Jean Grey #2

Jan 3, 2018

This issue serves up everything you want in an X-Men comic -- beloved characters, cool action, humor and heart -- all wrapped in a visually stunning package.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Phoenix Resurrection: The Return Of Jean Grey #3

Jan 10, 2018

A surprise team-up and a nice nod to Scott and Jean's past helps this miniseries continue to deliver.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Phoenix Resurrection: The Return Of Jean Grey #4

Jan 24, 2018

Action, comedy, emotion--yep, sounds like a great X-Men story to me!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Phoenix Resurrection: The Return Of Jean Grey #5

Jan 31, 2018

The heart and soul of the X-Men returns in this instant classic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sentry (2018) #1

Jun 27, 2018

Both inspiring and terrifying, Sentry is as complex as the hero from which it gets its name.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sentry (2018) #2

Jul 25, 2018

Sentry's expert creative team combines skillful pacing with high stakes to create a tense, gripping read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Snotgirl #1

Jul 5, 2016

Personally, I find social media and its impact on society (both positive and negative) fascinating. So if Snotgirl provides its creators a chance to put this whole culture under the microscope, I'll definitely be along for the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Snotgirl #2

Aug 23, 2016

For me, Snotgirl is just like that annoying Facebook friend who you find yourself complaining about but just can't bring yourself to unfriend. FML.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spider-Man (2016) #1

Feb 3, 2016

If you're not feeling Peter Parker's Tony Stark-style makeover, Spider-Man #1 is the spider-book you've been waiting for!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Tarzan on the Planet of the Apes #1

Sep 26, 2016

You'll never see Tarzan battle ape soldiers on the big screen, so enjoy it here, free of the major studio intervention that's become all too common in modern blockbusters.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Discipline #1

Mar 2, 2016

We just might not be willing to admit where we've seen them before.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncanny X-Men (2016) #15

Nov 9, 2016

Next issue, Bunn's plotlines crash into the Inhumans Vs. X-Men event, so it'll be interesting to see how he keeps things moving with characters like Medusa and Karnak in the mix. But considering that he wrote the X-Men's Civil War II tie-in, which helped lay the seeds for IVX, I have faith in his master plan. Certainly more so than Psylocke in Magneto's.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Uncanny X-Men (2016) #16

Dec 21, 2016

Will that day ever come? Perhaps in the RessurXion era? No, that's just what Jean and the Cuckoos want me to believe"

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Uncanny X-Men (2016) #17

Jan 11, 2017

More so than Civil War II, IVX feels like a real war. And for fortunate readers, the spoils of war just so happen to be great stories via creators like Bunn and Lashley.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncanny X-Men (2016) #18

Feb 15, 2017

While it's nice to see a writer using Xorn (who can't help but be confusing due to his convoluted Marvel history), I wish Bunn had given Archangel more time to shine this month. I feel like there's still so much we don't know about the current iteration of Warren Worthington III. Hopefully, he'll receive the attention he deserves following all the IVX craziness.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Uncanny X-Men (2016) #19

Mar 15, 2017

Overall, Bunn's Uncanny X-Men run has been an interesting, but inconsistent one. There were some strong moments and character work (Sabretooth and M), mixed with appearances from obscure X-Characters (The Nasty Boys and Emplate). At the same time, certain arcs (like the one that set up Archangel's new status quo) further complicated characters who are already far too complicated to begin with.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Uncanny X-Men (2016) Annual #1

Nov 16, 2016

So while I'm not really a fan of the annual format, I can't really fault this particular issue as it's basically a regular installment of Uncanny dressed as an annual. Well played, Marvel, well played.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Uncanny X-Men (2018) #1

Nov 13, 2018

The X-Men receive the uncanny homecoming they deserve from three of Marvel's most talented writers and A-list artists.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Uncanny X-Men (2018) #2

Nov 21, 2018

Likable characters, witty banter, never-ending mysteries and dinosaurs--this is why people love the X-Men.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncanny X-Men (2018) #3

Nov 28, 2018

While this is another good issue of Uncanny X-Men, it's obviously a piece of a larger story that will be more impactful when read with the rest of the 10-part "X-Men Disassembled."

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Uncanny X-Men (2018) #4

Dec 5, 2018

From a megalomaniacal X-Man to an actual megalodon, this X-Men story is crazier than Legion and a blast to read!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Uncanny X-Men (2018) #5

Dec 12, 2018

While Uncanny X-Men #5 features moments of greatness, too many subplots keep this single issue from delivering a satisfying read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Uncanny X-Men (2018) #6

Dec 19, 2018

Uncanny X-Men takes an issue to zoom in on X-Man and his vision for the world in one of the more satisfying parts of "X-Men Disassembled."

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Uncanny X-Men (2018) #7

Dec 26, 2018

The already very complicated "X-Men Disassembled" takes an unnecessary trip to the Age of Apocalypse in this unfortunate chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Uncanny X-Men (2018) #8

Jan 2, 2019

As "X-Men Disassembled" rockets toward its conclusion, the insanity shows no signs of slowing down--and that's a good thing!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Uncanny X-Men (2018) #9

Jan 9, 2019

For X-Fans, there's just too much to love here to give this comic anything lower than a perfect 10!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Uncanny X-Men (2018) #10

Jan 15, 2019

Though more of a launch pad for new stories than a conclusion, Uncanny X-Men #10 does a good job of making readers want to pick up what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Uncanny X-Men (2018) #11

Feb 6, 2019

Imperfect times call for imperfect heroes, and Rosenberg and Larroca deliver.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Uncanny X-Men (2018) Annual #1

Jan 23, 2019

Ed Brisson and Carlos Gomez set Scott Summers up for one Hell of a second act in this very pleasing annual.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Venom (2016) #162

Feb 21, 2018

Venom #162 is the kind of '90s throwback that makes a long-time comics fan question whether he's outgrown comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Venom (2016) #163

Mar 7, 2018

Poison-X concludes by throwing shocks our way that carry no real emotional weight due to previous developments with the X-Men's fate.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
X-Men Prime #1

Mar 29, 2017

Everything new is old again with the X-Men's latest relaunch.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-Men: Blue (2017) #1

Apr 12, 2017

The Blue team always was the best - that tradition continues!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-Men: Blue (2017) #2

Apr 26, 2017

Bunn and Molina crank up the tension in a second chapter that manages to be better than the first!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #3

May 10, 2017

Despite two artists, X-Men: Blue #3 is another winner with a surprise villain and a scene sure to please Scott and Jean fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
X-Men: Blue (2017) #4

May 24, 2017

The Blue X-Men squad's next adventure begins - and it looks like it's going to be as great as their first!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #5

Jun 14, 2017

To Bunn's credit, I feel like this series, with all of its brewing subplots and mysteries, has been running for months " when, in fact, we're only on its fifth issue. The power of two issues a month " but mostly a testament to strong storytelling that makes each issue of X-Men: Blue worth that $3.99 price tag!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #6

Jun 29, 2017

Cullen Bunn slows down the pace so we can get to know Jimmy Hudson, but this series deserves more consistent art.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
X-Men: Blue (2017) #7

Jul 12, 2017

With terrific writing and art, this is an event tie-in that matters, and almost serves as a sequel to IVX.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
X-Men: Blue (2017) #8

Jul 26, 2017

This issue feels shorter than most, but so much happens to move the plot forward it's okay - also, amazing art!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #9

Aug 16, 2017

Despite a few minor issues, Cullen Bunn wraps up the X-Men's Secret Empire tie-in on a satisfying note while introducing a whole set of new questions.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #10

Aug 30, 2017

A story about magic that highlights the magic of X-Men Blue--wall-to-wall character development mixed with a classic Marvel feeling.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #11

Sep 13, 2017

While good, this very much feels like the middle of a larger story and isn't recommended for readers suffering from alternate-reality character fatigue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-Men: Blue (2017) #12

Sep 27, 2017

Blue's latest arc wraps on a demonic note while continuing to mutate this consistently fun X-Men series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-Men: Blue (2017) #13

Oct 11, 2017

Don't tell Mojo, but artist Jorge Molina's the real star of this X-Men adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #14

Oct 27, 2017

This formulaic and predictable X-Men adventure is a little too Saturday morning cartoon for my tastes.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
X-Men: Blue (2017) #15

Nov 16, 2017

It's a good issue, and the art's amazing, but I just can't get past how many issues we've wasted on this pointless Mojo crossover.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #16

Nov 30, 2017

A journey through X-Men history with your favorite mutants serving as tour guides? Sign me up!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #17

Dec 13, 2017

This is a solid comic, but mystery fatigue is starting to set in.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #18

Dec 27, 2017

If you enjoyed X-Men Blue #17, you'll enjoy this issue, which is more of the same--just with Generation X.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #19

Jan 10, 2018

Just when you thought you knew where X-Men Blue was going, Cullen Bunn throws readers a whole new twist.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #20

Jan 24, 2018

"Cross Time Capers" comes to a close in a very unexpected way that might change how readers react to this series moving forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #21

Feb 14, 2018

Forget the symbiotes--at its core, this is a solid story about the X-Men coming together to support Cyclops in his time of need.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
X-Men: Blue (2017) #22

Feb 28, 2018

Like our heroes, X-Men Blue has been overtaken by symbiotes. But this issue shows there's still good underneath all that... whatever symbiotes are made of.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-Men: Blue (2017) #23

Mar 14, 2018

Loyal readers are rewarded as Cullen Bunn brings together a series worth of subplots--and has fun doing it in the process!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #24

Mar 28, 2018

This issue's all about the action--with enough twists to keep you turning the pages.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #25

Apr 11, 2018

Magneto takes center stage, reminding readers why the X-Men follow his lead--and why he's a force to be reckoned with.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #26

Apr 25, 2018

Mothervine is terrifying and reminds readers why the world will always need X-Men.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-Men: Blue (2017) #27

May 9, 2018

The cover may say "X-Men," but Cullen Bunn reminds us this is very much Magneto's book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-Men: Blue (2017) #28

May 30, 2018

While some subplots wrap up a little too easily, enough new ideas are introduced to keep this series exciting.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #29

Jun 13, 2018

Venomized continues to have an impact on X-Men Blue, and what could be a great X-Men series suffers for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #30

Jun 27, 2018

The final pages of this issue will get you excited for X-Men Blue's big conclusion, but they're not enough to save it from overall mediocrity.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
X-Men: Blue (2017) #31

Jul 11, 2018

Take strong writing, stunning visuals and throw a vengeance-seeking Magneto into the mix and you have the makings of a terrific X-Men story!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #32

Jul 25, 2018

X-Men Blue #32 is a good reminder that no one throws a temper tantrum quite like the master of magnetism.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-Men: Blue (2017) #33

Aug 8, 2018

Fans of Cullen Bunn's Magneto series are in for a treat as the master of magnetism takes center stage.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #34

Aug 29, 2018

Cullen Bunn caps off years of excellent Magneto storytelling by defining the master of magnetism's future for years to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-Men: Blue (2017) #35

Sep 12, 2018

It's not often writers get to have two versions of the same character at different points in their lives interact, and Cullen Bunn doesn't let the storytelling opportunity go to waste!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
X-Men: Blue (2017) #36

Sep 26, 2018

X-Men Blue #36 is a bittersweet but triumphant finish to Cullen Bunn's excellent run.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
X-Men: Blue (2017) Annual #1

Jan 24, 2018

While this is a fun start to "Poison-X," I can't help but feel I'm suffering from both crossover and Venom fatigue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Red (2018) #1

Feb 1, 2018

Big ideas and heart rule the day as Jean Grey's X-Men strive to heal a world that hates and fears them.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-Men: Red (2018) Annual #1

May 30, 2018

Jean Grey is determined to save the Marvel Universe, and her mission begins here!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Worst X-Man Ever #1

Jan 4, 2016

Don't be swayed by this comic's clickbaity title " X-Men: Worst X-Men Ever #1 is a refreshing surprise that promises comedy, character, twists and a whole lot of heart. I'm rooting for you, Bailey!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
You Might Be An Artist If... #1

Jan 31, 2017

Thinking back to my earlier statement … I guess I gravitate toward works I can relate to, such as You Might Be An Artist If…, because they achieve what all great art should – help us remember we're not alone.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More