John Pumpernickel's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: 411Mania Reviews: 46
8.1Avg. Review Rating

8.5
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #795

Feb 8, 2018

A fun issue with some neat storytelling and excellent art. Give this one a read!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #796

Mar 1, 2018

With everything Spider-Man has become, he's due to have off-issues. Slott and co-writer Christos Gage miss on this one and with one issue left, I'm wondering how they'll stick the landing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Avengers (2016) #675

Jan 18, 2018

While not quite "Must Read", "No Surrender" is a solidly good book with a twist of "hope things pick up next issue".

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #44

Apr 19, 2018

It would be easy to sleep on this issue but I've found it to be one that has remarkable re-reading mileage. A hearty endorsement to grab this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman (2016) #50

Jul 5, 2018

Without spoiling anything, Batman #50 isn't the finale but a chapter in Catwoman and Batman's life together. In the world they live in it makes sense and is a nice reminder of what's at stake and how well they know one another.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #54

Sep 6, 2018

In a world filled with multi-issue, mega-crossover books, this was refreshing and much needed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II #1

Dec 7, 2017

Batman/TMNT II #1 is best for purists and fans of each but don't be surprised if you get deja vu while reading it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: Creature of the Night #1

Dec 14, 2017

Creature of the Night is a satisfying book, even if you're not a Batman fan or think you've seen every type of Batman story told before.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Catwoman (2018) #1

Jul 12, 2018

Catwoman #1 is an interesting issue and one that helps make the adjustment to the her new surroundings. After anticipating a life with Batman, audiences will quickly take to the new arc Selina is about to take on. Solid issue and I'm definitely anticipating the second issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dark Nights: Metal #4

Dec 28, 2017

Dark Nights: Metal is overly ambitious but well worth the price of admission.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Domino (2018) #1

Apr 12, 2018

Simone crafts an excellent story and one that I'll easily follow as it looks like Domino will finally come out and be able to shine without the aid of her more famous Liefeld created siblings.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Doomsday Clock #4

Mar 29, 2018

This is a more personal issue than the ones before and Doomsday Clock #4 deserves several re-readings but based on the first go around, we're in the midst of something special.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Doomsday Clock #5

May 31, 2018

While I've read some are waiting to get this as a collected book, there's something to be said for reading this in chapters, letting the story marinate until the next issue. Doomsday Clock is sprinkled with brilliance waiting to be discovered.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Doomsday Clock #7

Oct 4, 2018

Doomsday Clock keeps the intrigue high and another issue that builds excitement for the conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Exit Stage Left: The Snagglepuss Chronicles #1

Jan 25, 2018

That's just the tip of the iceberg and this story is begging to be read and relished. I'll keep it simple: Pick up this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Fantastic Four (2018) #1

Aug 9, 2018

Like I mentioned, I'm a huge Fantastic Four fan so I'll be back in issue two but this is a pretty solid stumble out the gate for the book. I'm really hoping things pick up considerably in issue two.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lantern (2018) #1

Nov 22, 2018

This issue does plenty of juggling but sets up the series on a path that I want to travel. A solid tweak for old fans and a welcoming new start for those just discovering Green Lantern for the first time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #34

Feb 1, 2018

Having just picked this book up with no background, I found it"OK.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hawkman (2018) #1

Jun 21, 2018

Hawkman #1 more than delivers in setting up the new status quo and making you care about the character and the next issue. For the first time in my life I can say that I'm a fan of Hawkman.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Infinity Wars (2018) #1

Aug 2, 2018

For now I'll give a begrudging thumbs up and a half-hearted "wait and see".

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Infinity Wars (2018) #2

Aug 30, 2018

While I'll be coming back for issue 3, the luster is definitely dimmed on the series but nothing that can't be fixed. Is this issue essential reading? No. And for a storyline this grand, that's not a good thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Invincible #144

Feb 22, 2018

A final issue isn't hard to rate. If you were a fan of Invincible at any point in its run, you owe it to yourself to pick this up. If you haven't heard of the book or ever read it, you owe it to yourself to pick up an issue and find out what you're missing. Either way, #144 is a worthy send off to a great superhero.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Invincible Iron Man (2016) #600

Jun 7, 2018

Like him or not, Bendis believes in his vision and created a number of "moments" in his stories. He set the table properly for the next writer to have a lot of fun with and the reader's with a sense of hope for entertaining future adventures.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Justice League (2018): Drowned Earth Special #1

Nov 8, 2018

A good first issue, even if uneven, and I'll be back for issue 2.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lockjaw (2018) #1

Mar 15, 2018

This is a pretty funny book. Writer Daniel Kibblesmith and artist Carlos Villa give it light tone that delivers where it counts. A refreshing read in a glut of overly serious and glum comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Mister Miracle #5

Dec 21, 2017

Find the first issue and get caught up on one the best series that you can't escape from.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Mister Miracle #7

Apr 5, 2018

I've had a hard time recommending this book to friends because it comes off as so much hype that the book couldn't possibly live up to it. All I can do is implore you to start from issue #1 and find out for yourself.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Old Lady Harley #1

Nov 1, 2018

I enjoyed Old Lady Harley #1 thanks to its entertainment factor and the books commitment to not take itself too serious.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Phoenix Resurrection: The Return Of Jean Grey #1

Jan 4, 2018

While a book about Grey might find success in the future, it most likely be from the ashes of this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Return of Wolverine #1

Sep 20, 2018

Like any first issue, The Return of Wolverine #1 is more about set up than answers. It's good for what it is but I wouldn't rush out for this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Shatterstar #1

Oct 18, 2018

Shatterstar #1 takes a character with tons of possibilities and sets up an interesting premise that has me excited for the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Shazam! (2018) #1

Dec 6, 2018

This book is an easy recommend and represents a high mark in the history of Shazam.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shuri (2018) #1

Oct 25, 2018

A solid first issue with great promise for the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Spider-Man (2016) #1

Jul 19, 2018

Perhaps the biggest "surprise" is the return of Mary Jane as a romantic interest. Too soon to call and something that will play huge in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) #12

Mar 22, 2018

I was surprised how much I enjoyed this issue and it's stirred to to seek out some previous issues to see how they handle Vader. Surprisingly solid!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Star Wars: The Last Jedi Adaptation #1

May 17, 2018

If it came out before we could at least get a look at what to expect. This book just falls flat and is an easy pass. Unless you're a hardcore Star Wars fan who needs to own every piece of Star Wars literature out there.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2018) #2

Aug 16, 2018

If you've been on the fence about Bendis' Superman, do yourself a favor and pick up this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Mighty Thor (2015) #706

May 3, 2018

Even if you haven't been keeping up on the Mighty Thor, issue #706 is the kind of story that can stand on its own. Anyone who has lost a loved one will connect with it. A fine piece of literature that speaks to the heart of each of us.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Terrifics #1

Mar 8, 2018

Once the team finds their legs and their identity away from Metal, this could be a solid book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Walking Dead #175

Jan 11, 2018

Kirkman does give us a great set up, including the new "baddie" in Stephanie, and a pretty awesome reveal at the end. A great issue to jump in if you've been away.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Titans (2016): Special #1

Jun 14, 2018

I don't want to give anything away as far as plot points but this is an easy recommendation and delivers real excitement for the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Tony Stark: Iron Man #1

Jun 28, 2018

Tony Stark: Iron Man #1 is a good, if not great, issue but it still holds plenty of promise.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Venom (2018) #1

May 10, 2018

A hearty thumbs up and another one to add to the pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Venomized #1

Apr 26, 2018

I'm torn on this book. I'll give it a hesitant thumbs up and will give it another shot next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Red (2018) #1

Feb 15, 2018

It's a different line-up but it works well and it's a mix that I look forward to following. X-Men Red is definitely worth a read and you should pick it up at your local book shop!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
X-Men: The Wedding Special #1

May 24, 2018

Anthology books are a tough sell. Usually you get one good story and a lot of filler. I'd rather they go all in one well done tale from a special creative team instead of breaking it up and squandering the opportunity.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More