John Pumpernickel's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: 411Mania Reviews: 75
8.1Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Age of X-Man: Alpha #1

Jan 31, 2019

Grab this one and enjoy from start to finish.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #795

Feb 8, 2018

A fun issue with some neat storytelling and excellent art. Give this one a read!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #796

Mar 1, 2018

With everything Spider-Man has become, he's due to have off-issues. Slott and co-writer Christos Gage miss on this one and with one issue left, I'm wondering how they'll stick the landing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #1

Jul 19, 2018

Perhaps the biggest "surprise" is the return of Mary Jane as a romantic interest. Too soon to call and something that will play huge in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #15

Feb 22, 2019

A good issue but, for me, Spider-Man is starting to lose his luster.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #16

Feb 28, 2019

Peter Parker/Spider-Man take a backseat but return to the front in an uneven backup story. At the end, fans of Kraven can take heart that he might be getting the story he's deserving. Good enough to grab this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Aquaman (2016) #43

Dec 27, 2018

This is a great issue to jump on and signals good things to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Avengers (2016) #675

Jan 18, 2018

While not quite "Must Read", "No Surrender" is a solidly good book with a twist of "hope things pick up next issue".

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Avengers: No Road Home #10

Apr 25, 2019

Avengers: No Road Home #10 is a good, not great issue, that wraps things up in the usual "event style" way: a set up for future stories. A soft recommendation.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #44

Apr 19, 2018

It would be easy to sleep on this issue but I've found it to be one that has remarkable re-reading mileage. A hearty endorsement to grab this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman (2016) #50

Jul 5, 2018

Without spoiling anything, Batman #50 isn't the finale but a chapter in Catwoman and Batman's life together. In the world they live in it makes sense and is a nice reminder of what's at stake and how well they know one another.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #54

Sep 6, 2018

In a world filled with multi-issue, mega-crossover books, this was refreshing and much needed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) #1

May 23, 2019

An OK issue that could have been awesome with a couple of tweaks.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II #1

Dec 7, 2017

Batman/TMNT II #1 is best for purists and fans of each but don't be surprised if you get deja vu while reading it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: Creature of the Night #1

Dec 14, 2017

Creature of the Night is a satisfying book, even if you're not a Batman fan or think you've seen every type of Batman story told before.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman: Damned #3

Jun 27, 2019

An OK book but never elevates itself to fulfill the promise it had.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Captain Marvel (2019) #1

Jan 17, 2019

Captain Marvel #1 is a nice, safe issue for new fans but the ending may throw them off the path in the name of keeping older fanboys intrigued. Good, not great, but even after all that, I'll check out the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Catwoman (2018) #1

Jul 12, 2018

Catwoman #1 is an interesting issue and one that helps make the adjustment to the her new surroundings. After anticipating a life with Batman, audiences will quickly take to the new arc Selina is about to take on. Solid issue and I'm definitely anticipating the second issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Cosmic Ghost Rider Destroys Marvel History #1

Mar 14, 2019

A swing and a miss for a book that I had high hopes for.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dark Nights: Metal #4

Dec 28, 2017

Dark Nights: Metal is overly ambitious but well worth the price of admission.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
DCeased #1

May 2, 2019

Mild recommendation and enough to bring me back next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Detective Comics (2016) #1005

Jun 13, 2019

When you also get a nice chapter in the Batman and Robin relationship, this one is an easy one to pick up at the comic book shop.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Domino (2018) #1

Apr 12, 2018

Simone crafts an excellent story and one that I'll easily follow as it looks like Domino will finally come out and be able to shine without the aid of her more famous Liefeld created siblings.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Doomsday Clock #4

Mar 29, 2018

This is a more personal issue than the ones before and Doomsday Clock #4 deserves several re-readings but based on the first go around, we're in the midst of something special.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Doomsday Clock #5

May 31, 2018

While I've read some are waiting to get this as a collected book, there's something to be said for reading this in chapters, letting the story marinate until the next issue. Doomsday Clock is sprinkled with brilliance waiting to be discovered.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Doomsday Clock #7

Oct 4, 2018

Doomsday Clock keeps the intrigue high and another issue that builds excitement for the conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Doomsday Clock #9

Mar 8, 2019

Avoid spoilers at all costs but make your way to your local comic book shop to grab this one now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Doomsday Clock #10

Jun 6, 2019

I can't say enough good things about this book or this series. While I'm down that it has to come to an end, I've loved the journey to get here. With two issue left, we still have more to cover and I can't wait!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Exit Stage Left: The Snagglepuss Chronicles #1

Jan 25, 2018

That's just the tip of the iceberg and this story is begging to be read and relished. I'll keep it simple: Pick up this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Extermination (2018) #5

Jan 3, 2019

As a series, Extermination answered a number of questions but did so in a way to set up what's next. Good, not great.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Fantastic Four (2018) #1

Aug 9, 2018

Like I mentioned, I'm a huge Fantastic Four fan so I'll be back in issue two but this is a pretty solid stumble out the gate for the book. I'm really hoping things pick up considerably in issue two.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Female Furies #1

Feb 14, 2019

Balancing present day action with flashbacks, this one issue lays out things on Apokolips for the audience better than just about any other series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lantern (2018) #1

Nov 22, 2018

This issue does plenty of juggling but sets up the series on a path that I want to travel. A solid tweak for old fans and a welcoming new start for those just discovering Green Lantern for the first time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #34

Feb 1, 2018

Having just picked this book up with no background, I found it"OK.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hawkman (2018) #1

Jun 21, 2018

Hawkman #1 more than delivers in setting up the new status quo and making you care about the character and the next issue. For the first time in my life I can say that I'm a fan of Hawkman.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Heroes In Crisis #5

Feb 7, 2019

I enjoyed Heroes in Crisis #6 and if you've been following the series, you will too.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Heroes In Crisis #9

May 30, 2019

Really like the series and can live with the ending. Solid work all around.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Infinity Wars (2018) #1

Aug 2, 2018

For now I'll give a begrudging thumbs up and a half-hearted "wait and see".

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Infinity Wars (2018) #2

Aug 30, 2018

While I'll be coming back for issue 3, the luster is definitely dimmed on the series but nothing that can't be fixed. Is this issue essential reading? No. And for a storyline this grand, that's not a good thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Invaders (2019) #1

Jan 24, 2019

Invaders is one of those books that could overlooked on the crowded stands but I'd give it a good recommendation as being a solid book. Good writing and art with a good look at a character that's destined for bigger things.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Invincible #144

Feb 22, 2018

A final issue isn't hard to rate. If you were a fan of Invincible at any point in its run, you owe it to yourself to pick this up. If you haven't heard of the book or ever read it, you owe it to yourself to pick up an issue and find out what you're missing. Either way, #144 is a worthy send off to a great superhero.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Invincible Iron Man (2016) #600

Jun 7, 2018

Like him or not, Bendis believes in his vision and created a number of "moments" in his stories. He set the table properly for the next writer to have a lot of fun with and the reader's with a sense of hope for entertaining future adventures.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Justice League (2018): Drowned Earth Special #1

Nov 8, 2018

A good first issue, even if uneven, and I'll be back for issue 2.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lockjaw (2018) #1

Mar 15, 2018

This is a pretty funny book. Writer Daniel Kibblesmith and artist Carlos Villa give it light tone that delivers where it counts. A refreshing read in a glut of overly serious and glum comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Major X #1

Apr 11, 2019

I found myself shrugging after reading this issue, thinking this was a number of rejected ideas from the 90s come back to remind us of the best (and worst) of that time period.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Martian Manhunter (2018) #1

Dec 13, 2018

This book is not what it seems and when I put it down my first thought was, "This book has no business being this great!" J'onn has long been a part of the DC universe but this is the first time I felt he truly belongs.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Mister Miracle #5

Dec 21, 2017

Find the first issue and get caught up on one the best series that you can't escape from.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Mister Miracle #7

Apr 5, 2018

I've had a hard time recommending this book to friends because it comes off as so much hype that the book couldn't possibly live up to it. All I can do is implore you to start from issue #1 and find out for yourself.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Old Lady Harley #1

Nov 1, 2018

I enjoyed Old Lady Harley #1 thanks to its entertainment factor and the books commitment to not take itself too serious.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Phoenix Resurrection: The Return Of Jean Grey #1

Jan 4, 2018

While a book about Grey might find success in the future, it most likely be from the ashes of this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Return of Wolverine #1

Sep 20, 2018

Like any first issue, The Return of Wolverine #1 is more about set up than answers. It's good for what it is but I wouldn't rush out for this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Shatterstar #1

Oct 18, 2018

Shatterstar #1 takes a character with tons of possibilities and sets up an interesting premise that has me excited for the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Shazam! (2018) #1

Dec 6, 2018

This book is an easy recommend and represents a high mark in the history of Shazam.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shuri (2018) #1

Oct 25, 2018

A solid first issue with great promise for the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Silver Surfer: Black #1

Jun 20, 2019

I can't say enough about the art and coloring, as it's the finest the Silver Surfer has looked in recent memory. A great start to what looks like what will be a great series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Spider-Man: Life Story #1

Mar 28, 2019

We all know how it goes. We know it by heart. Putting the "real time" frame on it gives old events a new twist. Chip Zdarsky and artists Mark Bagley and John Dell deliver a solid book but it never quite reaches the wow factor it's hook inspires. The flow of the book is uneven at points but there's enough meat on the bone to bring me back for the second issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) #12

Mar 22, 2018

I was surprised how much I enjoyed this issue and it's stirred to to seek out some previous issues to see how they handle Vader. Surprisingly solid!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Star Wars: The Last Jedi Adaptation #1

May 17, 2018

If it came out before we could at least get a look at what to expect. This book just falls flat and is an easy pass. Unless you're a hardcore Star Wars fan who needs to own every piece of Star Wars literature out there.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2018) #2

Aug 16, 2018

If you've been on the fence about Bendis' Superman, do yourself a favor and pick up this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Superman: Up In the Sky #1

Jul 11, 2019

Superman: Up in the Sky #1 is a smart move on DC's part as it's a story that needs to be read by more people. Grab it at your local comic book shop.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #1

Dec 20, 2018

Another near perfect issue from DC and another issue that you need to add to your pull list asap.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Batman Who Laughs (2018): The Grim Knight #1

Mar 22, 2019

I don't want to ruin the issue so it makes writing a review near impossible but suffice to say that the ?Batman Who Laughs: gimmick has more miles to run that you think.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Mighty Thor (2015) #706

May 3, 2018

Even if you haven't been keeping up on the Mighty Thor, issue #706 is the kind of story that can stand on its own. Anyone who has lost a loved one will connect with it. A fine piece of literature that speaks to the heart of each of us.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Terrifics #1

Mar 8, 2018

Once the team finds their legs and their identity away from Metal, this could be a solid book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Walking Dead #175

Jan 11, 2018

Kirkman does give us a great set up, including the new "baddie" in Stephanie, and a pretty awesome reveal at the end. A great issue to jump in if you've been away.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Walking Dead #191

May 9, 2019

I'm not spoiling this one but I marvel that this book still finds ways to make me gasp and tune in to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Titans (2016): Special #1

Jun 14, 2018

I don't want to give anything away as far as plot points but this is an easy recommendation and delivers real excitement for the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Tony Stark: Iron Man #1

Jun 28, 2018

Tony Stark: Iron Man #1 is a good, if not great, issue but it still holds plenty of promise.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Venom (2018) #1

May 10, 2018

A hearty thumbs up and another one to add to the pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Venomized #1

Apr 26, 2018

I'm torn on this book. I'll give it a hesitant thumbs up and will give it another shot next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
War of the Realms #2

Apr 18, 2019

While the issue feels like it's setting up the board, it gives you enough to taste to make you excited for what's about to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
WWE: Wrestlemania 2019 Special #1

Apr 5, 2019

While this doesn't hype this years Wrestlemania like you'd expect, it's a worthy pick up for fans of wrestling and shows how far we've come with capturing the fun it can be on the printed page.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Red (2018) #1

Feb 15, 2018

It's a different line-up but it works well and it's a mix that I look forward to following. X-Men Red is definitely worth a read and you should pick it up at your local book shop!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
X-Men: The Wedding Special #1

May 24, 2018

Anthology books are a tough sell. Usually you get one good story and a lot of filler. I'd rather they go all in one well done tale from a special creative team instead of breaking it up and squandering the opportunity.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Young Justice (2019) #1

Jan 10, 2019

The big drawback, which may or may not be a big deal, is that the Wonder Comics line is aimed at the younger crowd. It feels that way but it also has a lot of nostalgia that will attract longtime fans. It's a great jumping on point but I don't see this being the book that will open the door to the new masses.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More