Philip Clark's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Dark Knight News, DC Comics News Reviews: 26
8.7Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Batgirl (2016) #19

Jan 27, 2018

Overall, this issue starts off as a lighthearted look into Barbara's life as Batgirl, before taking a slightly more serious turn midway through as she goes full Batgirl. It has reinvigorated my love for the character, and I look forward to finding out what's happening to Burnside and who, or what, is behind this freak snowstorm. I've certainly missed Barbara and her mentality on the world.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batgirl (2016) #20

Mar 1, 2018

Barbara hasn't always been in the spotlight, but with the news of a solo movie in the works that is surely going to change. I feel that Barbara needs to start cropping up in more comics across the DC universe. Hopefully, Larson's run on Batgirl continues as she proves to be an incredible talent. It is obvious through her writing that Larson has a lot of love for the character and this translates into a fantastic story. The artwork continues to be sublime, which is refreshingly gorgeous.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl (2016) #21

Mar 31, 2018

Everything about this comic screams brilliance.Batgirl is quickly becoming my favourite title at the moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl (2016) #23

May 23, 2018

The artwork is yet again sublime in this issue. Minkyu Jung and Jose Marzan Jr do a brilliant job bringing Batgirl and her mind to life.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batgirl (2016) #24

Jun 28, 2018

I would quite happily read a continuation of this story arch. I'd love for Aldridge to have a lengthy run withBatgirl.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #41

Apr 6, 2018

Overall, this is a fine conclusion to the "Angry Bird" story arch. With Harley back in her old stomping grounds, with her crew back in toll and a lesson well-learnt. That she can't do what she does alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #42

Apr 22, 2018

"Old Lady Harley" is a great one-off story. It offers a nice respite from Harley's main timeline. This comic is crazy, weird and wonderful. Much like the main character herself. A definite pick up for those hardcore Harley fans, or those that enjoy an apocalyptic adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harley Quinn (2016) #43

Jun 8, 2018

I loved this issue ofHarley Quinn and look forward to Sebela's run on the comic. The story is fantastic. The artwork is beautiful and compliments the writing style perfectly. All round this is an excellent read, I would recommend you pick this up now. I can only imagine how good the next few are going to be!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harley Quinn (2016) #44

Jun 22, 2018

Yet another strong issue from the creative team. Sebela writes an interesting story, with characters that are easy to relate to. The artwork is great in this issue as well. I thoroughly enjoyed the comic and look forward to where the story goes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #45

Jul 6, 2018

Overall, this is a fantastic issue. The story is definitely one that I look forward to reading more. I'm curious to find out what Humprhies has planned for Quinn on the chaotic, fiery world of Apokolips.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #44

May 4, 2018

This is one of the best comics I have had the pleasure of reading in quite a while. The new creative team have started something fantastic and I am looking forward to the future of this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #45

Jun 8, 2018

The creative team working onthis run ofNightwing are doing an excellent job. Seriously, I cannot give enough praise to Percy and Mooneyham. They are doing a sublime job on this run and I look forward to seeing their run extend beyond this story arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #46

Jul 5, 2018

Benjamin Percy has done a brilliant job with this story so far. It has been an absolute pleasure to read. The journey has been an incredible adventure, straight from the get go. I've loved this series and only hope that Percy is given a good run onNightwing, he has certainly earned it I feel.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Suicide Squad (2016) #33

Jan 10, 2018

Si Spurrier has sky-rocketed himself to a writer that I look forward to reading more of. I sincerely hope that Fernando Pasarrn and Oclair Albert stay on this story as the artwork they have produced in this comic fits Spurrier's writing perfectly. This is a must read if you want a fresh new look at the narrative of a comic and the standard tropes that can be found in comic books.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Suicide Squad (2016) #33

Jan 10, 2018

Si Spurrier has sky-rocketed himself to a writer that I look forward to reading more of. I sincerely hope that Fernando Pasarrn and Oclair Albert stay on this story as the artwork they have produced in this comic fits Spurrier's writing perfectly. This is a must read if you want a fresh new look at the narrative of a comic and the standard tropes that can be found in comic books.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #34

Jan 27, 2018

Once again, the creative team absolutely kill it with this issue. The writing and artwork match each other brilliantly, and as the conclusion to the two-parter they had taken control of, they do a fabulous job of leaving you wanting more of their work. I will be very sad to see them go.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #35

Feb 17, 2018

Overall, a fantastic issue with much room to grow.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #36

Mar 2, 2018

Williams brings back a character and completely tips them on their head. The writing in this issue is fantastic, Williams does an excellent job yet again. The art in this issue is nothing to be scoffed at either, with Pansica and Ferreira back at it again. The expressions that are conveyed by each character feel real, instead of the same face plastered on all the characters that some comics have been guilty of.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #37

Mar 26, 2018

Rob Williams does an excellent job at tying up the mini series in this issue, bringing to conclusion Hack's story line. At the same time he starts anew arc for The Wall. The switch from action to emotion in this issue is what sells it for me. We see that, as much as they deny it, the squad actually care for each other. The art team changes yet again, and with it comes another stunningly drawn comic. I do however, wish that DC would stick to one art team and let them run with the issue. Overall, another solid comic from Williams and crew.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #38

Mar 31, 2018

I'm looking forward to seeing where the comic goes from here and what Williams has planned for Taskforce X.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #39

Apr 13, 2018

With a new issue, comes yet another artist. Neil Edwards adds his unique art style to this issue. The action panels in this comic are brilliant. I'd just like to see an artist be given a decent run on this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #40

Apr 27, 2018

Continuing the trend, a new issue brings with it a new artist. Jack Herbert lends his artistic talent to this issue ofSuicide Squad and he does a brilliant job with the action panels. This issue however, could have done with an artist more suited to facial expressions. This issue was wrought with emotion, but sadly, the art didn't accompany the writing or feel of the comic. Still an excellent conclusion overall though.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #41

May 9, 2018

Suicide Squad has gone from strength to strength over the last few issues and Williams has produced yet another stellar comic. We see the return of Amanda Waller at her best; the cold-hearted woman we all know and love to hate, proving herself to, yet again, be unwavering in her convictions that, no matter what, Taskforce X are the worst of the worst and should be treated as such. Tensions are rising in the Squad's ranks and decisions are made in this issue that will certainly continue to have impact on the team further down the road.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #42

May 23, 2018

Please DC, give the comic a run of good artists. It is currently the only thing this run is missing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #43

Jun 14, 2018

Once again the artwork in this issue is the only thing stopping it from getting full marks out of ten. The artist changes halfway through the comic. With Philippe Briones drawing the first half and Hugo Petrus drawing the second. Both are obviously very capable artists. However, I feel that Briones' art style fits this issue a lot better than Petrus'. The art in the second half of the issue, unfortunately, lets the whole issue down.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Suicide Squad (2016) #44

Jul 12, 2018

This was everything it could have been. It was the perfect conclusion to one of the best stories I have read in a very long time. This was genuinely perfect. I loved everything about it. The art, the writing. More like this please!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More