Shawn Warner's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Geekery Magazine, Comic Bastards Reviews: 16
8.0Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Action Comics (2016) #987

Sep 13, 2017

Dan Jurgen's finally pulls back the curtain enough to reveal just who the man called Mr. Oz is and in that one answer a thousand new questions arise. This is truly the biggest story to hit the DCU since Rebirth opened the door to these new possibilities. Geoff Johns has set the stage for the entire DCU to be forever changed in the twinkling of an eye and Dan Jurgen's has proven himself more than up for the task with this first part of The Oz Effect arc. He is able to satisfy and excite all at once as the huge revelation sets the stage for huge things to come. The artwork is imaginative and innovative if on the brink of visual overload at times, Bogdonavic does a sloid job of keeping pace with Jurgens' kinetic tale of chaos. Overall this is a fantastic start to one of the biggest Superman arcs since Rebirth began. 4/5

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Astonishing X-Men (2017) #1

Jul 24, 2017

If Cheung was committed for the foreseeable future of this book I would have no problem proclaiming Marvel again and at last has a solid, impressive and worthwhile X-Men series on their hands, but I guess we will have to be happy to have Astonishing X-Men in its current from for as long as we have it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman/Elmer Fudd Special #1

Jun 28, 2017

Lee Weeks' art is as subtle as a shotgun blast and equally effective in blowing one's mind and popping one's eyeballs. Weeks plays the tone of his gorgeous art completely straight, there are no real sight gags to speak of, but that doesn't matter at all, the work is so beautiful and emotive a gag would be about as effective as a one-legged man in a scooter race.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Briggs Land: Lone Wolves #1

Jun 15, 2017

The politics of this series has been a driving force since page one of the first series creating intrigue and keeping us engrossed in this family's tumultuous life. The art is poetic and lavishly details the settings as well as the characters of this modern Shakespearean drama. I love this series and can't say enough good things about it, however the first issue of this new series was a bit short in the word count for me and because of that I was finished reading it before the gravity of the events had settled upon me that is the only reason I scored this otherwise perfect debut issue of the second series a 4 instead of a 5.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cave Carson Has A Cybernetic Eye #9

Jun 21, 2017

Rivera and Way work extremely well together, although admittedly I am a bit lost at this point as to Way's actual involvement in the writing process, I'm not sure if he plotted it out and then maybe phones some dialogue in, either way the result is, to quote 90's pop icon Matthew Sweet, 100% fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dark Days: The Casting #1

Jul 14, 2017

All in all this issue does a superb job of continuing the thread started in The Forge and building the anticipation for Metal, what could be the most innovative Batman event we have seen. The creative team on this book made very few missteps, the only extremely minute complaint I have is the abrupt changes in visual style and feel due to such drastically diverse artists. However, when the rest of the book is this good I can overlook a bumpy transition.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dark Nights: Metal #1

Aug 16, 2017

This is truly the big event book of the summer, it feels like the real thing because it is the real thing. Dark Nights: Metal captures the thrills of a Hollywood blockbuster and the no holds barred fun of a trip to the amusement park all without ever leaving the confines of your mind, now how's that for the price of admission?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Darkseid Special #1

Aug 30, 2017

Overall these Kirby one-shots have been truly wonderful and this one was one of the best. All the contributing creators brought something to the work that was uniquely their own but inspired as it were by Jack Kirby.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Dastardly And Muttley #1

Sep 7, 2017

Overall I have to say that Ennis was able to tell an engrossing story with the help of some first-rate visuals from artist extraordinaire, Mauricet. There were some narrative lulls, but the kinetic energy of the fantastic artwork proved more than enough to carry the issue when the need arose. I like the DC/Hanna-Barbera offerings, however I am happy this is a six issue mini because I don't see enough in this particular iteration of these characters to justify an ongoing series, that being said I will certainly stick around for the entirety of this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Divinity #0

Aug 21, 2017

All things considered, most zero issues aren't really that big a deal and offer little to get excited about, but here we have a creative team that really raises the bar. Matt Kindt and Renato Guedes give us a story we can sink our teeth into with art that is a feast for the eyes. There is ample content to hold returning readers attention and to pull new readers into a world that is full of original characters and creative stories as well as some darn good storytellers, as is evidenced here.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doom Patrol (2016) #7

Aug 2, 2017

This might not be Morrison's Doom Patrol, but its darn close, it's the differences that make this series uniquely Gerard Way's Doom Patrol. It still has the same eclectic tone and chaotic magic that captured this Gen Xer's imagination 29 years ago. Way takes the big chances that, when they pay off, define not just a comic book, but an era. I will be the first to admit Doom Patrol is not for everyone, it may not be for most, but I have to believe that if you pick it up and give it a chance you will be changed, on some level you will begin to question the boundaries that you have placed on your comic book reading choices and maybe you will widen that field of potential pull list pick ups. Issue seven of Doom Patrol is on the racks now, why not try opening your third eye.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #1

Aug 10, 2017

At its core Mister Miracle is the story of a man who has reached a perceived plateau in his professional and perhaps what's worse, his personal life. He feels this so deeply in fact that the only thing left for him to escape from is death itself. Tom King and Mitch Gerads have teamed up again to bring us an engrossing, frightening and deeply poignant tale of one man's journey through self-destruction. It's gorgeous, smart and one hell of an entertaining read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing: The New Order #1

Aug 24, 2017

Beyond being simply a future tale of little consequence set outside current continuity as is the case with many of these type of stories, The New Order is vital and exciting. It gives us a gripping tale to keep guessing at the next twist and reunites Nightwing with the writer who knows him perhaps even better than his creators, Kyle Higgins brings magic to this character and judging by this first issue he still has plenty of tricks up his sleeve.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Secret Warriors (2017) #4

Jul 13, 2017

Secret Warriors is one of those books that is bursting with potential but, needs to dial it in just a bit more. Matthew Rosenberg's story and dialogue are solid while Javier Garron's artwork is the stuff of a fan boy'ssequential art dreams.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Sisters of Sorrow #1

Jul 19, 2017

Overall this is a solid first issue. The vengeance tale is one that has been told a thousand times and will be told ten thousand more because it appeals to us on a very base level; an eye for an eye. It's a trope that has been with us for as long as stories have been told. Sutter and Alameda don't reinvent the wheel here, but they do a solid job of introducing a brand new property that holds much potential to expand on the wheel, in this case that wheel is attached to a speeding motorcycle ridden by a Sister of Sorrow.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Zombie Tramp: Origins #1

Jul 6, 2017

Glenn Danzig once owned Verotik Publishing and the company specialized in the worst type of schlock, purely exploitative, rape fantasy crap, Zombie Tramp is not as bad as that, but only by degrees.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

September

August

More