Shawn Warner's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Geekery Magazine, Comic Crusaders, Comic Bastards Reviews: 64
8.5Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Action Comics (2016) #987

Sep 13, 2017

Dan Jurgen's finally pulls back the curtain enough to reveal just who the man called Mr. Oz is and in that one answer a thousand new questions arise. This is truly the biggest story to hit the DCU since Rebirth opened the door to these new possibilities. Geoff Johns has set the stage for the entire DCU to be forever changed in the twinkling of an eye and Dan Jurgen's has proven himself more than up for the task with this first part of The Oz Effect arc. He is able to satisfy and excite all at once as the huge revelation sets the stage for huge things to come. The artwork is imaginative and innovative if on the brink of visual overload at times, Bogdonavic does a sloid job of keeping pace with Jurgens' kinetic tale of chaos. Overall this is a fantastic start to one of the biggest Superman arcs since Rebirth began. 4/5

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Action Comics (2016) #1009

Mar 27, 2019

Overall this is a darn near perfect issue of Action Comics. Bendis has brought his expertise in writing deeply moving, dramatic character driven narratives to Superman and it is reaping absolutely brilliant results. The stakes are high, the drama is completely consuming and the action is precisely paced. All this adds up to an amazing Superman story. If you haven't been reading Bendis' Superman and Action Comics runs, I recommend adding both of these titles to your pull list, especially before this Leviathan Rising arc wraps up. 5/5

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Adventures of the Super Sons #10

May 3, 2019

This is what comic books are all about, big action, high stakes and dynamic characters. Although this series is about to wrap up, I strongly recommend getting your hands on the back issues and joining in on the fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Aquaman (2016) #44

Jan 23, 2019

Overall, this book is as flawless as they come. The story grabs you and pulls you into a world breathtaking in its beauty as well as its potential for danger. The characters are strangely angelic, alien and magnetically mesmerizing. This is unlike any Aquaman story before and for that alone its worth checking out, however there is so much more to this book that its uniqueness. If you haven't read Aquaman before, jump on now, if you read Aquaman in the past and fell off, jump back on now. This is a new creative team with a new story to tell, jump on now. 5/5

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Army of Darkness/Bubba Ho-Tep #1

Feb 13, 2019

Vincenzo Federici's artwork is a pitch perfect match full of the same kinetic energy as Duvall's script. His take on the characters made famous by Campbell's rakish good looks come to life with just enough realism to make it work. There are no unwelcome easily identifiable traced images like those found in some of the other licensed properties, no there is just solid sequential art storytelling. The pages pulsate with energetic images exploding from one panel to the next in a cacophonous concerto of chaos, all that's missing is a raucous Rob Zombie soundtrack. Michele Monte's colors are vivacious, almost violently vibrant, every sequine on Elvis' jumpsuit sparkles with the promise of a little less conversation and a little more action.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Astonishing X-Men (2017) #1

Jul 24, 2017

If Cheung was committed for the foreseeable future of this book I would have no problem proclaiming Marvel again and at last has a solid, impressive and worthwhile X-Men series on their hands, but I guess we will have to be happy to have Astonishing X-Men in its current from for as long as we have it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Astonishing X-Men (2017) #4

Oct 6, 2017

Overall Soule and company may not be completely where they need to be in the sense that they still have some growing to do but, that just means that the best is yet to come for this extremely exciting chapter in Astonishing X-Men history. The writing, as with the vast majority of Soule's work, is engrossing, entertaining and pretty darn exciting, while the ever-changing visual style afforded by the top-tier artists working on the title so far keeps things fresh and eye-popping. Astonishing X-Men is one Marvel title I hope sticks around for the long haul. 4/5

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Avengers (2018) #6

Aug 27, 2018

Overall I love how Aaron uses the entire team to reach the resolution of this first arc. The narrative is paced at light speed so the plot unfolds quickly. There is not a single wasted panel as the team establishes themselves as suitable defenders of humanity and they do this while under fire from gigantic celestial beings. The Avengers team roster is versatile and fresh representing the diversity present in the Marvel Universe extremely well. If it's not already on your pull list definitely add it, you won't want to miss a single issue of this one. 5/5

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl (2016) #29

Nov 28, 2018

This issue of Batgirl is indicative of the caliber of storytelling we have come to expect from this title. The current creative team has knocked this one completely out of the park. The story is eloquently told both visually and textually with heart, soul and intelligence. I've been reading Batgirl since the Rebirth event series debut and this is a high point in a series that has consistently taken big swings and very often connected. 4/5

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl (2016) #30

Jan 3, 2019

Overall this is a super solid issue. Scott sets up the next chapter with a picture perfection final page reveal that leaves you not just wanting more, but wanting it now! The craft on this issue is impeccable, there is literally not one panel I would have changed, the story moves at a brisk pace and unfolds in an extremely satisfying fashion setting up the next beat with precision. I've been reading this series since its debut and it looks like it won't be coming off my pull list any time soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #55

Sep 24, 2018

Overall this is one of Tom King's most emotionally charged and high stakes stories. King has upped the ante again and I can't wait to see what happens when he cashes his chips in. So much hangs in the balance after this one folks, Gotham City won't be the same. 5/5

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman (2016) #68

Apr 11, 2019

While this issue is visually strong the artwork is not enough to salvage an overtly silly story. The comparatively light subject matter and rom-com like tone stand out for all the wrong reasons in King's Batman run.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Lost #1

Nov 8, 2017

Once again I find myself praising a Metal tie-in or one shot, and while I do count myself among the more devout Batman fans, its much more than that. DC has really put their top-tier talent on these books and given them the green light to tell the story they have envisioned with Scott Snyder at the helm. The fact that the secondary books have been so good is also a credit to Snyder for imagining such a complex plot that it can support these fully evolved backstories and concurrent narratives, that and inviting the degree of talented collaborators he has invited to the party doesn't hurt at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: The Devastator #1

Nov 1, 2017

Overall Batman: Devastator is the perfect Halloween book even if it didn't make it to the party on time. Tieri and Tynion may not leave you with a happy ending but you will certainly be happy you read this one, all treats and no tricks. It is a hard task to remove hope from a super hero comic and harder still to do it and leave it intentionally unresolved, but that is exactly what this amazing creative team has done to brilliant effect and in so doing they have crafted perhaps the strongest chapter in the Metal event.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: The Merciless #1

Oct 25, 2017

I don't always read every single tie-in when these big events come around, particularly when they have become so frequent and the cover prices continue to rise as high as Bruce Wayne's IQ, however Metal has been the exception to some many of the usual event rules. The Merciless stands on its own merits as a solid piece of complex storytelling with tons of mind-blowing visuals to feast your peepers upon.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Bolt #7

Nov 3, 2017

Black Bolt and Blinky are denied a happy ending, but it wouldn't seem right to get one here anyway. Instead we are given a cliffhanger worthy of another tremendous issue of this series that has quietly (no pun intended) risen to the top of my Marvel must-read list. The writing has been top-notch since the first issue, intriguing and imaginative, Saladin Ahmed has crafted the definitive Black Bolt saga. He has an understanding of the character that has eluded many of the previous scribes and through his unique approach to telling this story, he has given us a front row seat to the mind of the main character. 5/5

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Briggs Land: Lone Wolves #1

Jun 15, 2017

The politics of this series has been a driving force since page one of the first series creating intrigue and keeping us engrossed in this family's tumultuous life. The art is poetic and lavishly details the settings as well as the characters of this modern Shakespearean drama. I love this series and can't say enough good things about it, however the first issue of this new series was a bit short in the word count for me and because of that I was finished reading it before the gravity of the events had settled upon me that is the only reason I scored this otherwise perfect debut issue of the second series a 4 instead of a 5.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Catwoman (2018) #5

Nov 20, 2018

If you haven't been reading this series you need to stop looking at those car accidents on the way to your local comic book store and add Catwoman to your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cave Carson Has A Cybernetic Eye #9

Jun 21, 2017

Rivera and Way work extremely well together, although admittedly I am a bit lost at this point as to Way's actual involvement in the writing process, I'm not sure if he plotted it out and then maybe phones some dialogue in, either way the result is, to quote 90's pop icon Matthew Sweet, 100% fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Conan the Barbarian (2019) #3

Feb 6, 2019

Overall the third issue of Conan the Barbarian continues to entertain on such a visceral level, every aspect of this book is working to tell the best possible Conan story and what more could you ask for. If you haven't jumped on this series I would suggest adding it to your pull list as well as grabbing the three issues currently on the racks. This is going to be one for the ages, trust me True Believers. 5/5

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dark Days: The Casting #1

Jul 14, 2017

All in all this issue does a superb job of continuing the thread started in The Forge and building the anticipation for Metal, what could be the most innovative Batman event we have seen. The creative team on this book made very few missteps, the only extremely minute complaint I have is the abrupt changes in visual style and feel due to such drastically diverse artists. However, when the rest of the book is this good I can overlook a bumpy transition.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dark Nights: Metal #1

Aug 16, 2017

This is truly the big event book of the summer, it feels like the real thing because it is the real thing. Dark Nights: Metal captures the thrills of a Hollywood blockbuster and the no holds barred fun of a trip to the amusement park all without ever leaving the confines of your mind, now how's that for the price of admission?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Darkseid Special #1

Aug 30, 2017

Overall these Kirby one-shots have been truly wonderful and this one was one of the best. All the contributing creators brought something to the work that was uniquely their own but inspired as it were by Jack Kirby.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Dastardly And Muttley #1

Sep 7, 2017

Overall I have to say that Ennis was able to tell an engrossing story with the help of some first-rate visuals from artist extraordinaire, Mauricet. There were some narrative lulls, but the kinetic energy of the fantastic artwork proved more than enough to carry the issue when the need arose. I like the DC/Hanna-Barbera offerings, however I am happy this is a six issue mini because I don't see enough in this particular iteration of these characters to justify an ongoing series, that being said I will certainly stick around for the entirety of this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
DC/Looney Tunes: Batman/Elmer Fudd #1

Jun 28, 2017

Lee Weeks' art is as subtle as a shotgun blast and equally effective in blowing one's mind and popping one's eyeballs. Weeks plays the tone of his gorgeous art completely straight, there are no real sight gags to speak of, but that doesn't matter at all, the work is so beautiful and emotive a gag would be about as effective as a one-legged man in a scooter race.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deadly Class #37

Mar 6, 2019

Deadly Class is a brutally beautiful, vibrantly violent catastrophe ballet in which Remender weaves elements of high school drama, Gothic romance and Kung Fu Action theater to tell a story inspired as much by John Woo as John Hughes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Divinity #0

Aug 21, 2017

All things considered, most zero issues aren't really that big a deal and offer little to get excited about, but here we have a creative team that really raises the bar. Matt Kindt and Renato Guedes give us a story we can sink our teeth into with art that is a feast for the eyes. There is ample content to hold returning readers attention and to pull new readers into a world that is full of original characters and creative stories as well as some darn good storytellers, as is evidenced here.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doom Patrol (2016) #7

Aug 2, 2017

This might not be Morrison's Doom Patrol, but its darn close, it's the differences that make this series uniquely Gerard Way's Doom Patrol. It still has the same eclectic tone and chaotic magic that captured this Gen Xer's imagination 29 years ago. Way takes the big chances that, when they pay off, define not just a comic book, but an era. I will be the first to admit Doom Patrol is not for everyone, it may not be for most, but I have to believe that if you pick it up and give it a chance you will be changed, on some level you will begin to question the boundaries that you have placed on your comic book reading choices and maybe you will widen that field of potential pull list pick ups. Issue seven of Doom Patrol is on the racks now, why not try opening your third eye.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Falcon (2017) #1

Oct 13, 2017

This first issue of The Falcon succeeds on all fronts, engaging story, dynamic characterizations and gorgeous visuals, what more could you ask for in a comic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #54

Sep 12, 2018

Overall, Williamson and company do an extremely solid job of making The Flash one of DC's most consistent on-going titles. The current arc continues to captivate and entertain as it rolls toward conclusion. As someone who has been reading The Flash since Mike Baron and Jackson Guice kicked off volume 2 way back in 1987, I have found Joshua Williamson to be one of the most exciting and imaginative writers to take on The Flash. If you haven't been reading The Flash I recommend jumping on and catching up with the Scarlet Speedster.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #65

Feb 27, 2019

This crossover has been entertaining and imaginative without running the body count up any higher, something I know I appreciate.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #72

Jun 12, 2019

Overall The Flash #72 is sequential art perfection, visual poetry and perhaps more than anything else it's fun as hell. The synergy that exists between Howard Porter's images and Joshua Williamson's narrative is a viable force. There's a chemistry that enhances the work beyond the page and that magic is present throughout Williamson's Flash run. If you haven't been reading The Flash, I suggest jumping on with the first issue of Williamson's “Year One”. 5/5

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Gretel #2

Apr 17, 2019

Overall, this is an entertaining and engrossing chapter in a narrative that is complex and exciting. The characters are solid and well written. If good storytelling is the barometer you use when deciding what comic book purchases you ultimately make, I suggest giving Gretel a try. 3.5/5

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #9

Oct 9, 2018

If you haven't been reading Scott Snyder's run on Justice League I can only ask, what are you waiting for? this is what super hero comic books are meant to be, exciting, intelligent and fun. The dialogue is sharp, the pace is lively and the visuals are gorgeous. This is a perfect spot for new readers to jump on before Snyder and company hit the accelerator again, then who knows when the ride will slow down for noobs to get on. 5/5

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #10

Oct 22, 2018

Overall, this issue is just a tiny step on a universe spanning journey of cosmic proportions. Scott Snyder not only knows exactly where this is headed but, he has the course meticulously plotted out. For my money Justice League ,under the direction of Snyder, has been consistently the most engrossing, exciting and entertaining book on the racks and I'm going back to Metal. This is the way Justice League should always be handled, its big, epic tales of heroics with nothing less than the survival of the universe hanging in the balance.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #13

Dec 7, 2018

This issue is so much more than the sum of its individual parts, while each scene is spectacular in and of itself as a complete work this issue succeeds beyond that. The confrontation between Lex and the Joker is intense, but it's what is beneath that and the elements at work just out of sight that defines and enhances every panel of this issue and raises the stakes into the stratosphere, Under Scott Snyder's inspired vision and the brilliant collaborative effort of James Tynion IV the Justice League has become what it always should be, one of the best comic books to hit the racks on any given Wednesday. 5/5

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #25

Jun 7, 2019

Overall this book is even greater than the sum of its brilliant parts. Each of the individual elements does exactly what its supposed to do, Snyder and Jimenez continue to elevate their collaborative efforts creating an intensely satisfying and utterly entertaining conclusion to one of their most impressive Justice League arcs. Tynion and Fernandez provide a perfect preface to the upcoming Year of the Villain event while closing out the issue quite nicely. This issue is as close to perfect as it gets and pays off on Snyder's precisely crafted arc in spades.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Knights of the Golden Sun #1

Jan 30, 2019

Knights of the Golden Sun captures the bombastically over-the-top elements of anime, the universally pondered concept of good versus evil and the gorgeous visuals of a Raphael painting. London and Villarreal have tapped into the esoteric world of the Archangels to tell a story as old as humanity, written where God touches mankind with his infinite mercy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Leviathan #2

Sep 10, 2018

Leviathan is a love story at the heart of a Guillermo del Torro film with a soundtrack by Gwar. It has heart, humor and a hell of a lot of giant monsters. What's not to love? The character work is compelling while the narrative is completely engrossing you never forget just how much fun you are having. This is that one comic book you do not want to miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Major X #1

Apr 3, 2019

If you are looking for a trip down Memory Lane then I would certainly recommend picking this one up, however if you are looking to spend your money on good storytelling and first-rate artwork I would sit this one out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #1

Aug 10, 2017

At its core Mister Miracle is the story of a man who has reached a perceived plateau in his professional and perhaps what's worse, his personal life. He feels this so deeply in fact that the only thing left for him to escape from is death itself. Tom King and Mitch Gerads have teamed up again to bring us an engrossing, frightening and deeply poignant tale of one man's journey through self-destruction. It's gorgeous, smart and one hell of an entertaining read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nightwing (2016) #56

Jan 9, 2019

Overall this is a tough one to call. As I said the craft is truly and completely solid, but the plot is just so problematic. I don't feel the book is utterly without merit, however I can't in good faith recommend anyone add Nightwing to their pull list at this time. I am staying put for now as I want to see where things shake out after next issue's conclusion to this arc, but it's not because of any suspense that may have consequently been built up in the Scarecrow confrontation, its solely to see if Dick Grayson is still somewhere under all this flotsam and jetsam.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nightwing (2016) #57

Feb 20, 2019

Overall, this is a major step in the right direction. I can only hope that this is an indication that Nightwing's course is being corrected and smooth sailing is in the stars. As a huge fan of Dick Grayson, as Robin, Nightwing and as Batman I believe he deserves better than to be reduced to a shadow of himself by a sniper's bullet to further the fall of his mentor. Dick Grayson is more than a plot device, he is a beloved hero and hopefully we will be seeing that hero again very soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing: The New Order #1

Aug 24, 2017

Beyond being simply a future tale of little consequence set outside current continuity as is the case with many of these type of stories, The New Order is vital and exciting. It gives us a gripping tale to keep guessing at the next twist and reunites Nightwing with the writer who knows him perhaps even better than his creators, Kyle Higgins brings magic to this character and judging by this first issue he still has plenty of tricks up his sleeve.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Punisher (2018) #4

Nov 21, 2018

Overall, this issue is full of all the things we love about The Punisher. It's dark as heck, even despairingly so at times, but not to the point of being misery porn. There is a hopefulness to Frank Castle that can be hard to see through the swirling gun smoke and mounting body count, but Rosenberg and Kudranski are able to show us that hope. The kind of hope that surely must exist in foxholes and trenches, in burning buildings and in the jail cell of a wrongly convicted man. There is a hope borne of desperation, in fact in thrives in the face of adversity, in spite of it and that's the kind of hope Frank Castle will always represent to me and that's the Frank Castle we get here. If you haven't been reading this book I suggest grabbing all four issues and let the bodies hit the floor.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rick and Morty #50

May 30, 2019

Overall this book is an entertaining foray into the world of Rick and Morty via some of Morty's less than stellar moments. The heart and mind of the television show is captured here is word and picture. The sardonic wit, the razor sharp dialogue and the often dark humor are all represented in impressive fashion. If you are a die hard fan of the show and have not made the transition to the comic book, here's your chance. This issue is a perfect stand alone issue as well as a tailor made jumping on spot.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Secret Warriors (2017) #4

Jul 13, 2017

Secret Warriors is one of those books that is bursting with potential but, needs to dial it in just a bit more. Matthew Rosenberg's story and dialogue are solid while Javier Garron's artwork is the stuff of a fan boy'ssequential art dreams.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sideways Annual #1

Nov 8, 2018

Overall the issue does a very convincing job of furthering Derek James' journey to become, not only a part of the DCU, but a legitimate hero in his own right. Perhaps even more intriguing than Derek's narrative is the possibilities that now exist for the New 52 Action Comics Superman. Likewise, The Unseen now have new narrative roads open to them and I for one cannot wait to see where they lead. For an annual, this one delivers and then some, the only small detail I would have liked to see changed is to have had Morrison write the entire issue, particularly since the two narratives flow together seamlessly.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Sisters of Sorrow #1

Jul 19, 2017

Overall this is a solid first issue. The vengeance tale is one that has been told a thousand times and will be told ten thousand more because it appeals to us on a very base level; an eye for an eye. It's a trope that has been with us for as long as stories have been told. Sutter and Alameda don't reinvent the wheel here, but they do a solid job of introducing a brand new property that holds much potential to expand on the wheel, in this case that wheel is attached to a speeding motorcycle ridden by a Sister of Sorrow.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Spider-Gwen: Ghost-Spider (2018) #1

Oct 25, 2018

Overall, as a debut issue, this one is surprisingly action heavy while still setting up an engrossing narrative which is something that usually takes at least two issues to accomplish. This creative team is firing on all cylinders and reaching cruising altitude in record-setting fashion.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Spider-Man/Deadpool #45

Jan 31, 2019

Overall, this is a weak entry in a series that has remained on Marvel's roster long past its expiration date. I would love to see Robbie Thompson on a book worthy of his talent and let's face it one less Deadpool book is not such a bad thing at this point in time. I would much rather see Robbie writing a young Cable series or even a Spider book sans Deadpool.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars (2014) #57

Nov 23, 2018

Overall this is an exceptionally entertaining issue, engrossing and intriguing in ways that go beyond our familiarity with these characters and this saga. There is an excitement to this current arc that has been missing from some of the other Star Wars titles. Gillen and Unzueta have created one heck of a solid story and I can't wait for the next chapter to unfold.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2016) #28

Mar 20, 2019

This issue sets the stage for the events to come in the following chapters of The Terminus Agenda. It hits all the marks for a big crossover without all the superfluous tie-ins and needless one shots. This is the way to tell a story that spans titles and keeps the narrative sharply focused. I've been reading both titles since their respective debuts and while Teen Titans has had its ups and downs, Deathstroke has been arguably the best book DC has been publishing, yes including Batman. The Terminus Agenda is shaping up to be one heck of a good read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Teen Titans (2016) #30

May 17, 2019

Overall, Teen Titans #30 is an extremely satisfying ending to the Terminus Agenda, but even more than that it is an exciting beginning to the next chapter for the Tenn Titans. This is an emotionally charged issue full of complex story beats and deep interpersonal elements. Adam Glass delivers some superb character work, while Bernard Chang and company knock the visuals over the center field wall. 4.5/5

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Thanos (2019) #1

Apr 26, 2019

All in all this is an engrossing and exciting debut issue that could have easily fallen into the mindless movie tie-in category, However in the hands of Tini Howard it becomes a must read. The narrative delivers on multiple levels, the characterizations are complex, layered and authentic. The visuals are intense and imaginative, while the action is explosive at times, the pace ebbs and flows with precise dramatic timing. This is shaping up to be a solid next chapter in the ongoing Thanos saga.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #1

Dec 17, 2018

There is a nuanced beauty to the violence that only Jock could capture. His version of the Joker is straight out of the nightmare realm where evil creatures populate a city of shadows and woe. What he and Snyder have created is an operatic work of epic sadness and fear. One man's journey to truly meet his inner demons and somehow defeat them. This issue leaves you wanting more, but afraid of what is to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #2

Jan 16, 2019

Overall Scott Snyder and Jock continue to guide us down this rabbit hole and through the shadows of this dark narrative. Thematically this story borders on Gothic horror, the pace and the intensity of the action twist the dial back to the super hero setting. Snyder's narrative weaves the supernatural and super hero elements flawlessly into one heck of an exciting and entertaining issue with a final page reveal that will leave you floored.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Last Space Race #4

May 8, 2019

There's not a ton of big action, the tension and drama make up the lions share of the issue, but that's fine with me. If your looking for big action scenes and battles this is probably not the book I would suggest. However, if you are looking for a good read with a sci fi bent and great characters, this might be the book you're looking for.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Umbrella Academy: Hotel Oblivion #1

Oct 8, 2018

The first issue in this installment of The Umbrella Academy opus perfectly sets the stage and whets the appetite for more of this peculiarly delightful world. Without tipping their hand too much Way and Ba have invited us to stay at the Oblivion Hotel, at least for a little while. 5/5

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Thor (2018) #8

Dec 20, 2018

I've been reading Thor since Walt Simonson was at the helm and this is one of the most exciting arcs I have had the pleasure of following from the beginning. If you love exciting heroics on an epic scale, and who doesn't, you need to be reading this book. 5/5

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Web Of Venom: Ve'Nam #1

Sep 4, 2018

Cates and company succeed overall with a solid narrative and engrossing plot. Ve'Nam delivers some really great moments and some truly memorable dialog. As the first in a series of one-shots this book sets the bar fairly high for those to follow and begins the labor intensive work of building a Venom-verse inside the larger Marvel Universe. Not only do these books showcase Cates' ability to carry an ongoing series based on essentially a Spider-Man villain, but to do so without a single appearance of the aforementioned Web-Slinger is a testament to his character work as well as his storytelling. Take note Sony, this is how you build a Spider-Manless Venom-verse.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #66

Mar 15, 2019

Overall, G. Willow Wilson has hit her narrative stride with this issue. Her engrossing storytelling and endearing character work bring that same magic with which she wrote Ms. Marvel to Wonder Woman. Wilson is the type of writer who lives and dies by her characters. There is a realism to them even when they are exhibiting the most amazing of super heroics. I have been an avid Wonder Woman reader for years and during that time we have seen A List talent come and go, but there is something special about G. Willow Wilson's run. If you haven't jumped onboard as yet I recommend making room on your pull-list for Wonder Woman.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-O Manowar (2017) #26

Apr 19, 2019

Overall this is a fitting finale to one of Valiant's most consistently engrossing and visually stunning series to date. Writer Matt Kindt has done a fantastic job of bringing X-O Manowar to the forefront of what can be done in comic books and sequential art storytelling. The high standard maintained throughout the run is evident in the culmination of Kindt's epic narrative here in this issue. If you haven't been following X-O Manowar in single issues I highly recommend picking up the trades.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Zombie Tramp: Origins #1

Jul 6, 2017

Glenn Danzig once owned Verotik Publishing and the company specialized in the worst type of schlock, purely exploitative, rape fantasy crap, Zombie Tramp is not as bad as that, but only by degrees.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

June

May

More