Shawn Warner's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Geekery Magazine, Comic Crusaders, Comic Bastards Reviews: 27
8.4Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Action Comics (2016) #987

Sep 13, 2017

Dan Jurgen's finally pulls back the curtain enough to reveal just who the man called Mr. Oz is and in that one answer a thousand new questions arise. This is truly the biggest story to hit the DCU since Rebirth opened the door to these new possibilities. Geoff Johns has set the stage for the entire DCU to be forever changed in the twinkling of an eye and Dan Jurgen's has proven himself more than up for the task with this first part of The Oz Effect arc. He is able to satisfy and excite all at once as the huge revelation sets the stage for huge things to come. The artwork is imaginative and innovative if on the brink of visual overload at times, Bogdonavic does a sloid job of keeping pace with Jurgens' kinetic tale of chaos. Overall this is a fantastic start to one of the biggest Superman arcs since Rebirth began. 4/5

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Astonishing X-Men (2017) #1

Jul 24, 2017

If Cheung was committed for the foreseeable future of this book I would have no problem proclaiming Marvel again and at last has a solid, impressive and worthwhile X-Men series on their hands, but I guess we will have to be happy to have Astonishing X-Men in its current from for as long as we have it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Astonishing X-Men (2017) #4

Oct 6, 2017

Overall Soule and company may not be completely where they need to be in the sense that they still have some growing to do but, that just means that the best is yet to come for this extremely exciting chapter in Astonishing X-Men history. The writing, as with the vast majority of Soule's work, is engrossing, entertaining and pretty darn exciting, while the ever-changing visual style afforded by the top-tier artists working on the title so far keeps things fresh and eye-popping. Astonishing X-Men is one Marvel title I hope sticks around for the long haul. 4/5

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Avengers (2018) #6

Aug 27, 2018

Overall I love how Aaron uses the entire team to reach the resolution of this first arc. The narrative is paced at light speed so the plot unfolds quickly. There is not a single wasted panel as the team establishes themselves as suitable defenders of humanity and they do this while under fire from gigantic celestial beings. The Avengers team roster is versatile and fresh representing the diversity present in the Marvel Universe extremely well. If it's not already on your pull list definitely add it, you won't want to miss a single issue of this one. 5/5

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #55

Sep 24, 2018

Overall this is one of Tom King's most emotionally charged and high stakes stories. King has upped the ante again and I can't wait to see what happens when he cashes his chips in. So much hangs in the balance after this one folks, Gotham City won't be the same. 5/5

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Lost #1

Nov 8, 2017

Once again I find myself praising a Metal tie-in or one shot, and while I do count myself among the more devout Batman fans, its much more than that. DC has really put their top-tier talent on these books and given them the green light to tell the story they have envisioned with Scott Snyder at the helm. The fact that the secondary books have been so good is also a credit to Snyder for imagining such a complex plot that it can support these fully evolved backstories and concurrent narratives, that and inviting the degree of talented collaborators he has invited to the party doesn't hurt at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: The Devastator #1

Nov 1, 2017

Overall Batman: Devastator is the perfect Halloween book even if it didn't make it to the party on time. Tieri and Tynion may not leave you with a happy ending but you will certainly be happy you read this one, all treats and no tricks. It is a hard task to remove hope from a super hero comic and harder still to do it and leave it intentionally unresolved, but that is exactly what this amazing creative team has done to brilliant effect and in so doing they have crafted perhaps the strongest chapter in the Metal event.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: The Merciless #1

Oct 25, 2017

I don't always read every single tie-in when these big events come around, particularly when they have become so frequent and the cover prices continue to rise as high as Bruce Wayne's IQ, however Metal has been the exception to some many of the usual event rules. The Merciless stands on its own merits as a solid piece of complex storytelling with tons of mind-blowing visuals to feast your peepers upon.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Bolt #7

Nov 3, 2017

Black Bolt and Blinky are denied a happy ending, but it wouldn't seem right to get one here anyway. Instead we are given a cliffhanger worthy of another tremendous issue of this series that has quietly (no pun intended) risen to the top of my Marvel must-read list. The writing has been top-notch since the first issue, intriguing and imaginative, Saladin Ahmed has crafted the definitive Black Bolt saga. He has an understanding of the character that has eluded many of the previous scribes and through his unique approach to telling this story, he has given us a front row seat to the mind of the main character. 5/5

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Briggs Land: Lone Wolves #1

Jun 15, 2017

The politics of this series has been a driving force since page one of the first series creating intrigue and keeping us engrossed in this family's tumultuous life. The art is poetic and lavishly details the settings as well as the characters of this modern Shakespearean drama. I love this series and can't say enough good things about it, however the first issue of this new series was a bit short in the word count for me and because of that I was finished reading it before the gravity of the events had settled upon me that is the only reason I scored this otherwise perfect debut issue of the second series a 4 instead of a 5.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cave Carson Has A Cybernetic Eye #9

Jun 21, 2017

Rivera and Way work extremely well together, although admittedly I am a bit lost at this point as to Way's actual involvement in the writing process, I'm not sure if he plotted it out and then maybe phones some dialogue in, either way the result is, to quote 90's pop icon Matthew Sweet, 100% fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dark Days: The Casting #1

Jul 14, 2017

All in all this issue does a superb job of continuing the thread started in The Forge and building the anticipation for Metal, what could be the most innovative Batman event we have seen. The creative team on this book made very few missteps, the only extremely minute complaint I have is the abrupt changes in visual style and feel due to such drastically diverse artists. However, when the rest of the book is this good I can overlook a bumpy transition.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dark Nights: Metal #1

Aug 16, 2017

This is truly the big event book of the summer, it feels like the real thing because it is the real thing. Dark Nights: Metal captures the thrills of a Hollywood blockbuster and the no holds barred fun of a trip to the amusement park all without ever leaving the confines of your mind, now how's that for the price of admission?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Darkseid Special #1

Aug 30, 2017

Overall these Kirby one-shots have been truly wonderful and this one was one of the best. All the contributing creators brought something to the work that was uniquely their own but inspired as it were by Jack Kirby.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Dastardly And Muttley #1

Sep 7, 2017

Overall I have to say that Ennis was able to tell an engrossing story with the help of some first-rate visuals from artist extraordinaire, Mauricet. There were some narrative lulls, but the kinetic energy of the fantastic artwork proved more than enough to carry the issue when the need arose. I like the DC/Hanna-Barbera offerings, however I am happy this is a six issue mini because I don't see enough in this particular iteration of these characters to justify an ongoing series, that being said I will certainly stick around for the entirety of this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
DC/Looney Tunes: Batman/Elmer Fudd #1

Jun 28, 2017

Lee Weeks' art is as subtle as a shotgun blast and equally effective in blowing one's mind and popping one's eyeballs. Weeks plays the tone of his gorgeous art completely straight, there are no real sight gags to speak of, but that doesn't matter at all, the work is so beautiful and emotive a gag would be about as effective as a one-legged man in a scooter race.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Divinity #0

Aug 21, 2017

All things considered, most zero issues aren't really that big a deal and offer little to get excited about, but here we have a creative team that really raises the bar. Matt Kindt and Renato Guedes give us a story we can sink our teeth into with art that is a feast for the eyes. There is ample content to hold returning readers attention and to pull new readers into a world that is full of original characters and creative stories as well as some darn good storytellers, as is evidenced here.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doom Patrol (2016) #7

Aug 2, 2017

This might not be Morrison's Doom Patrol, but its darn close, it's the differences that make this series uniquely Gerard Way's Doom Patrol. It still has the same eclectic tone and chaotic magic that captured this Gen Xer's imagination 29 years ago. Way takes the big chances that, when they pay off, define not just a comic book, but an era. I will be the first to admit Doom Patrol is not for everyone, it may not be for most, but I have to believe that if you pick it up and give it a chance you will be changed, on some level you will begin to question the boundaries that you have placed on your comic book reading choices and maybe you will widen that field of potential pull list pick ups. Issue seven of Doom Patrol is on the racks now, why not try opening your third eye.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Falcon (2017) #1

Oct 13, 2017

This first issue of The Falcon succeeds on all fronts, engaging story, dynamic characterizations and gorgeous visuals, what more could you ask for in a comic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #54

Sep 12, 2018

Overall, Williamson and company do an extremely solid job of making The Flash one of DC's most consistent on-going titles. The current arc continues to captivate and entertain as it rolls toward conclusion. As someone who has been reading The Flash since Mike Baron and Jackson Guice kicked off volume 2 way back in 1987, I have found Joshua Williamson to be one of the most exciting and imaginative writers to take on The Flash. If you haven't been reading The Flash I recommend jumping on and catching up with the Scarlet Speedster.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Leviathan #2

Sep 10, 2018

Leviathan is a love story at the heart of a Guillermo del Torro film with a soundtrack by Gwar. It has heart, humor and a hell of a lot of giant monsters. What's not to love? The character work is compelling while the narrative is completely engrossing you never forget just how much fun you are having. This is that one comic book you do not want to miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #1

Aug 10, 2017

At its core Mister Miracle is the story of a man who has reached a perceived plateau in his professional and perhaps what's worse, his personal life. He feels this so deeply in fact that the only thing left for him to escape from is death itself. Tom King and Mitch Gerads have teamed up again to bring us an engrossing, frightening and deeply poignant tale of one man's journey through self-destruction. It's gorgeous, smart and one hell of an entertaining read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing: The New Order #1

Aug 24, 2017

Beyond being simply a future tale of little consequence set outside current continuity as is the case with many of these type of stories, The New Order is vital and exciting. It gives us a gripping tale to keep guessing at the next twist and reunites Nightwing with the writer who knows him perhaps even better than his creators, Kyle Higgins brings magic to this character and judging by this first issue he still has plenty of tricks up his sleeve.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Secret Warriors (2017) #4

Jul 13, 2017

Secret Warriors is one of those books that is bursting with potential but, needs to dial it in just a bit more. Matthew Rosenberg's story and dialogue are solid while Javier Garron's artwork is the stuff of a fan boy'ssequential art dreams.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Sisters of Sorrow #1

Jul 19, 2017

Overall this is a solid first issue. The vengeance tale is one that has been told a thousand times and will be told ten thousand more because it appeals to us on a very base level; an eye for an eye. It's a trope that has been with us for as long as stories have been told. Sutter and Alameda don't reinvent the wheel here, but they do a solid job of introducing a brand new property that holds much potential to expand on the wheel, in this case that wheel is attached to a speeding motorcycle ridden by a Sister of Sorrow.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Web Of Venom: Ve'Nam #1

Sep 4, 2018

Cates and company succeed overall with a solid narrative and engrossing plot. Ve'Nam delivers some really great moments and some truly memorable dialog. As the first in a series of one-shots this book sets the bar fairly high for those to follow and begins the labor intensive work of building a Venom-verse inside the larger Marvel Universe. Not only do these books showcase Cates' ability to carry an ongoing series based on essentially a Spider-Man villain, but to do so without a single appearance of the aforementioned Web-Slinger is a testament to his character work as well as his storytelling. Take note Sony, this is how you build a Spider-Manless Venom-verse.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Zombie Tramp: Origins #1

Jul 6, 2017

Glenn Danzig once owned Verotik Publishing and the company specialized in the worst type of schlock, purely exploitative, rape fantasy crap, Zombie Tramp is not as bad as that, but only by degrees.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More