CJ's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: But Why Tho? Reviews: 79
9.1Avg. Review Rating

10
Agents of Atlas (2019) #1

Aug 14, 2019

Agents of Atlas #1is an excellent reimagining of an obscure superhero team, with a creative team willing to do the work when it comes to proper representation of Asian superheroes. Even though this is a limited series, I look forward to the remaining issues and hope that sales are strong enough to justify a transition to an ongoing series; Pak and Leon more than deserve it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #49

Oct 7, 2020

Amazing Spider-Man #850 is a perfect example of how to write an anniversary issue, celebrating the web-slinger's history and reigniting his deadliest rivalry. The upcoming "Last Remains" story arc promises to continue this trend, with Spidey and the malevolent Kindred finally coming face to face.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #50

Oct 14, 2020

Amazing Spider-Man #50 brings two years' worth of plotlines to a head while setting the stage for a confrontation between Spidey and Kindred. I can't wait to see how the story continues and how the other Spider-heroes factor into it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman (2016) #74

Jul 10, 2019

Even though the final issue of "The Fall and the Fallen" is hampered by a meandering script, the artwork is a visual treat and the last four pages are a perfect example of how a good creative team can bring out the best in each other.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman (2016) #76

Aug 7, 2019

Batman #76 is an extremely conflicting issue; the stellar artwork is hampered by a plodding, aimless script. Comics are a team effort and everyone should be bringing their A-Game to the table. If even one element is off, it can affect the entire issue. Good art can only carry you so far and I hope that King picks up the pace in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) #1

May 8, 2019

Batman and The Outsiders #1 is the result of a talented writer, an amazing artist, and a brilliant colorist working together, much like the Outsiders themselves. Each person brings a different skill to the table and the end result is nothing short of magnificent. Hopefully, future issues will continue this trend.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) #2

Jun 12, 2019

Despite a cover snafu,Batman and the Outsiders #2is an action-packed issue that manages to raise the stakes and plays to the strengths of its creative team. I cannot wait to see what Hill, Soy, and Gandini bring to the third issue as it will feature a prominent Batman villain.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) #4

Aug 14, 2019

Batman and the Outsiders #4 is a stellar piece of character work from a stellar creative team. Next issue concludes the "Lesser Gods" story arc, and I hope that Hill, Soy, and Gandini close it out in style.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) #5

Sep 11, 2019

Batman and the Outsiders #5 closes its first story arc with plenty of character development, hard-hitting action, and a jaw-dropping ending. I am extremely excited for what Hill, Soy, and Gandini have in store for the next story arc, and I know they'll continue to turn in issue after amazing issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) #7

Nov 13, 2019

Batman and the Outsiders #7kicks off a new story arc while continuing to build on threads from previous issues, even if the Dark Knight himself is mostly absent from the title. Hill taking a slow-burn approach with the plot allows the readers to stay invested in the characters and is a great way to further develop them, especially with Duke. Time will tell if the Signal continues to shine bright or if he succumbs to the will of Ra's al Ghul.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) #13

Jun 16, 2020

Batman and the Outsiders #13 is largely an exercise in table setting but features wonderful artifacts and an intriguing story hook. Now that the stage and story are set, hopefully, the next issue will feature more of the character moments and action sequences that make the series a standout.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) #14

Jul 7, 2020

Batman and the Outsiders #14 presses the pedal to the gas, darting back and forth between two different storylines with ease. Now that the story is starting to pick up speed, I'm eager to see how the Outsiders deal with Ra's doomsday weapon and what Lady Shiva's ultimate endgame is. Hopefully, Soy and Gandini continue to stick around for the rest of the arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) #15

Aug 11, 2020

Batman and the Outsiders #15 brings several plot threads to a close, setting the stage for an explosive final battle. With two issues left before the series ends, I'm definitely intrigued to see how Hill, Soy, and Gandini handle the final battle against Ra's and how the storyline wraps up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) #16

Sep 8, 2020

Batman and the Outsiders#16 concludes "The Demon's Fire" in grand fashion, and showcases the immense growth the team has gone through. As a fan of Black Lightning, I'm happy to see the work this creative team has done with him. The next issue is the series finale, and I hope Hill, Soy, and Gandini deliver a superheroic sendoff for the Outsiders.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) Annual #1

Oct 30, 2019

Batman and the Outsiders Annual #1 not only ties up a longstanding plot point from the series, but it also serves as a great stand-alone story that only strengthens the bond between Black Lightning and Katana. I highly recommend it for both newcomers and fans who are already following Outsiders.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III #1

May 1, 2019

Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III looks to be a treat for both Batman and TMNT fans. It looks like Tynion, Williams, and Eastman are going to close out this crossover trilogy in style.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III #2

Jun 5, 2019

Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III #2 will be available June 5th wherever comics are sold.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III #3

Jul 3, 2019

Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III #3 reminds us that for all the fight scenes and crossover highs, it's emotion " first and foremost " that keeps us invested in these stories. And now that we're at the halfway point, I hope that emotion continues to be a driving force behind this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III #4

Aug 7, 2019

Even though it's light on plot development and action, Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III #4 has plenty of thrills for Batman fan and TMNT aficionados alike. The stage is set for a battle of epic proportions and I cannot wait to see how Tynion and Williams handle the last two issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III #5

Sep 4, 2019

Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #5is a heartfelt examination of the bonds that connect Batman and the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles to their allies. The issue is packed from beginning to end with amazing artwork. I've been enjoying this series and I cannot wait to see how the creative team wraps it all up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III #6

Oct 2, 2019

Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III #6is a stellar conclusion to an amazing crossover. Tynion, Williams, Eastman, and Napolitano managed to not only come up with a solid story and amazing artwork, but they also poured a great deal of heart into the series. Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III and its predecessors are a great example of how to do a comic book crossover.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batman: Three Jokers (2020) #1

Jan 1, 1970

Despite a subpar story,Batman: Three Jokers #1 is a visual treat. I would recommend this for Jason Todd fans, as he remains the highlight of the book. With two issues left to go, I hope Johns picks up the pace and justifies this story's existence.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Commanders In Crisis #1

Sep 27, 2020

Commanders In Crisis #1 is a great twist on the event comic, featuring the kind of storytelling that has helped the superhero genre last throughout the years. Orlando, Tinto, and Cartenueto clearly have a deep love for the genre and know-how to shape it to their ends. I highly recommend this issue for comic fans old and new. The former will enjoy the new takes on old tropes while the latter may find some of their favorite heroes in Crisis Command.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Dark Nights: Death Metal: Robin King #1

Oct 20, 2020

Though its title character is wearing far too much plot armor,Dark Nights: Death Metal-Robin King #1 is a visual treat. Duke Thomas fans should pick it up for "The Quiet Ones" story alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dark Nights: Death Metal: Speed Metal #1

Sep 22, 2020

Dark Nights: Death Metal-Speed Metal #1 is the perfect love letter to Wally West, and a great stand alone tale that readers who aren't invested in the Death Metal story can enjoy. Flash fans definitely have to pick this book up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dark Nights: Death Metal: Trinity Crisis #1

Sep 8, 2020

Dark Nights: Death Metal-Trinity Crisis#1 continues the entertaining insanity of the main series, featuring blockbuster writing and art. Given how the issue ends, I'm hoping the Trinity can find a way to overcome this current crisis.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Fantastic Four: Antithesis #2

Sep 23, 2020

Fantastic Four: Antithesis #2 features larger-than-life action and mind-melting images while bringing the First Family's newest nemesis to life. The miniseries is officially at the halfway point, and it's showing no signs of stopping. And from the looks of the next issue's cover, it seems like the Four are in for another big twist in their lives.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Fire Power: Prelude OGN

Mar 23, 2020

FirepowerVolume 1: "Prelude" unites two of the top creators in comics for an amazing tribute to classic martial arts films. It was a bold move for Kirkman and Samnee to release the first story as a graphic novel, but one that will no doubt pay off and get fellow readers to check out the ongoing series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Fire Power #1

Jan 1, 1970

FirePower#1 flips the "chosen one" trope on its head beautifully, thanks to some amazing art and a solid script. While I do wish the issue was a bit more friendly to new readers, I highly suggest reading it and the graphic novel for the complete experience.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ghostbusters: 35th Anniversary: Ghostbusters #1

Apr 3, 2019

Personally, I highly recommend this comic. It manages to be spooky, funny, and action-packed all at once, just like the first movie. I definitely will be checking out the ongoing series by Burnham and Schoening, as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ghostbusters: 35th Anniversary: Extreme Ghostbusters #1

Apr 25, 2019

Overall, I quite enjoyed this one shot. It managed to capture the spirit of the show, and that's important as this is one of the more beloved parts of the Ghostbusters mythos. Hopefully we will continue to see the Extreme team in action.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Giant-Size X-Men (2020): Magneto #1

Jul 15, 2020

Giant-Size X-Men: Magneto #1 takes a new look at the Master of Magnetism and his role within the new mutant nation. Fans who prefer character pieces and Hickman's take on the X-Men will definitely want to pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Giant-Size X-Men (2020): Storm #1

Sep 16, 2020

Giant-Size X-Men: Storm #1 is the perfect standalone tale for one of Marvel's fan-favorite mutants, with top-notch characterization and artwork. I'm glad that Storm got the spotlight in this tale, and that it managed to be a standalone tale that helps advance the grand narrative ofDawn of X.Fans of the X-Men, and Storm in particular, will definitely want to pick this one-shot up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Giant-Size X-Men (2020): Nightcrawler #1

Mar 23, 2020

Giant-Size X-Men: Nightcrawler #1 boasts a compelling story and strong art, but does not focus on its titular character as much as it should. I feel like this book could have used a few more tweaks to center on Kurt as a character, but the deep cuts from X-Men lore and the mystery at play were definitely a plus.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Go Go Power Rangers #16

Jan 8, 2019

If there was one setback, it was that the Rangers' color switch didn't last as long as I thought it would; fortunately, the last page sets up a new story arc that is poised to yet again answer deep-seated questions about the Ranger mythos-which is what this series excels at.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Go Go Power Rangers: Forever Rangers #1

Jun 19, 2019

Go Go Power Rangers: Forever Rangers #1 is definitely worth your time if you've been following Go Go from the beginning, or if you're a huge Power Rangers fan. Hopefully, Parrott and Mortatino continue this stellar work in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lantern (2018): Season Two #1

Feb 12, 2020

The Green Lantern, Season Two #1 is not only a perfect jumping-on point for new readers, but it also manages to set up a new story for Hal Jordan utilizing existing mythology. I can't wait to see where Morrison, Sharp, and Oliff go from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lantern: Earth One #2

Aug 11, 2020

Green Lantern, Earth One, Volume 2 expands on the universe set up in the first volume and adds its own twist to fan-favorite characters. The story ends with a splash page that makes me eager for Volume 3. I hope that Bechko, Hardman, and Boyd continue to revamp more Green Lantern characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Iron Man (2020) #1

Sep 16, 2020

Iron Man #1 features a "back to basics" approach for the Armored Avenger, as the creative team peels back the layers of Tony Stark. This truly feels like a relaunch, and given the ending of the issue, it feels like Cantwell, CAFU, and D'Armata intend to push this book-and Iron Man-to their limit.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #30

Aug 28, 2019

Justice League #30 masterfully brings several plot threads together while giving equal focus to both heroes and villains. It is also stunningly illustrated by one of the best artists in DC's roster. Given how the issue ends, I am more than eager to see the events of the Justice/Doom War and what effect it might have on the larger DC Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #31

Sep 4, 2019

Justice League #31not only re-introduces a fan favorite team to the forefront, but it also shows what comics are capable of as an artistic medium. Based on the last few pages, it seems like the creative team is only scratching the surface of an epic story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League (2018) #33

Oct 2, 2019

Justice League #33starts ramping up the stakes as the Justice/Doom War marches toward its conclusion. With the appearance of a certain character at the end of this issue, I can't wait to see what Snyder and Tynion bring to the table in future installments. They've proven that they are willing to embrace even the craziest of concepts and that's what makes good comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League (2018) #34

Oct 16, 2019

Justice League #34raises the stakes in every imaginable way, ending with a jaw-dropping cliffhanger that leaves our heroes in a dark place. I cannot wait to see how the Justice/Doom War concludes next issue, especially since Perpetua is at her full might.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #35

Nov 6, 2019

Justice League #35 marks a turning point in the Justice/Doom War, as Perpetua reigns supreme. Even though it features universe ending stakes, this book stands out because of the investment it makes in its characters, both good and evil. If characters are the engine that drives a story, then the Justice League is going to need a tune-up before facing an eldritch goddess.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #37

Dec 4, 2019

Justice League #37 continues to redefine the limits of the comic medium, as well as serve as a reminder of why superhero stories have endured for as long as they have. With only two issues left in this run, I'm eager to see how Snyder, Jimenez, and Sanchez top it all off.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League (2018) #38

Dec 18, 2019

Justice League #38may be a place setting issue, but it features some stellar artwork and a wallop of an ending. With the finale to the Justice/Doom War, and subsequently the finale to Snyder's run on this title, I hope that he closes it the same way he began: in grand style.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League (2018) #39

Jan 29, 2020

Justice League #39ends Scott Snyder's run the way it began, with our beloved heroes standing strong in the face of evil. Although it isn't a perfect ending, I still love the work Snyder, Jimenez, Sampere, and other writers and artists brought to this title during their tenure. I hope that the new creative team of Robert Vendetti and Bryan Hitch can keep up that same energy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Killadelphia #7

Aug 31, 2020

Killadelphia#7 starts a new story drenched in the same blood, horror, and history that propelled the first volume. With every issue, the creative team continues to show why this series will stand among the great horror comics. I'm definitely interested to see where this goes, especially with the backup story introducing a new element of horror to this universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Killadelphia #8

Oct 3, 2020

Killadelphia #8 is an emotionally taxing comic, adding new twists to its lore while providing a character with closure for their past. Although the main plot hasn't advanced that much, this was still a good read and this book is slowly becoming one of my favorite stories on the stand.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Ludocrats #1

Apr 1, 2020

Despite its scattershot plotting,The Ludocrats #1gets by on its absurd charm and reality distorting artwork. If you enjoyMonty Python and the Holy GrailorRick and Morty,then this comic is for you. Hopefully, future issues will have a more coherent plot.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Maestro (2020) #1

Jan 1, 1970

Maestro#1 is the start of a gripping origin story, featuring one of the Marvel Universe's deadliest villains. I'm happy David gets to return to the world of "Future Imperfect" and show how it came to be. Hopefully, in future issues, we can see more of the post-apocalypse world

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #34

Dec 19, 2018

Bennett handles the massive action sequences, that the book is packed full of, and the emotional beats with equal grace.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #40

Jun 27, 2019

Mighty Morphin Power Rangers #40is the perfect jumping on point for readers who left the series or readers who are looking to get into the series. Parrott and DiNicuolo are a creative team to be reckoned with, and given how the issue ends, they more than intend to leave their own mark on the Power Rangers mythos.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #50

Jun 27, 2020

Mighty Morphin Power Rangers #50deftly brings the "Necessary Evil" storyline to a close while setting up future stories in the Power Rangers universe. After four years, this series still manages to capture the spirit of the television show while deepening the mythology. That is a testament to the creators involved, and I hope it continues to be the standard going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #51

Jul 16, 2020

Mighty Morphin Power Rangers #51 is the perfect jumping-on point for readers old and new and brings back a fan-favorite character. Parrott continues to prove that he is a worthy architect for the Power Rangers mythos, and Hildago brings his own artistic flair to the proceedings. I can't wait to see the new threat teased in this issue, as well as more of Lord Zedd.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Once & Future #1

Aug 14, 2019

Though Once and Future #1 is light on action, it immediately hooked me due to its snappy dialogue, well fleshed out characters, and a fresh twist on an old legend. Gillen and Mora are crafting quite a tale and I can't wait to see what future issues bring to the table.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Once & Future #2

Sep 18, 2019

Once and Future #2 builds on the momentum of the first issue by continuing to highlight its brilliant premise and the talent of its creative team. It also reinvents the legend of King Arthur as a dark fantasy. Given where this issue leads off, I expect issue three to be action-packed while delivering more acerbic dialogue and twists on familiar myths.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Once & Future #3

Oct 17, 2019

Once and Future #3continues to impress with its inversion of Arthurian lore, insanely engaging characters, and a creative team who is firing on all cylinders. I can't wait to see what else Gillen, Mora, and Bonvillain do with this lore.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Once & Future #4

Nov 21, 2019

Once & Future #4 continues to solidify this title as one of the best indie comics on the market, mixing dark fantasy with cutting humor and jaw-dropping visuals. If you're looking for a new title to start, especially if you're a fan of Gillen's work on DIE! or dark fantasy in general, you can't go wrong with this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Once & Future #5

Dec 20, 2019

Once & Future #5 continues to mix the high adventure of the Indiana Jones movies with a dark take on Arthurian lore and has set the stage for an exhilarating conclusion to its first arc. Considering how amazing this series has been, I expect that it will be nothing less than amazing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Power Rangers: Drakkon New Dawn #1

Aug 19, 2020

Power Rangers: Drakkon New Dawn #1 picks up where Ranger Slayer left off, continuing to delve into the mind of the Ranger Slayer and her quest for redemption. Since this is a three-issue miniseries, I'm curious to see how Kimberly continues to deal with being a ruler and working with her former friends turned foes (and in Zack and Trini's case, turned friends again). I also hope that this series will not be the end of this universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Power Rangers: Drakkon New Dawn #2

Sep 26, 2020

Power Rangers: Drakkon New Dawn #2considerably ups the stakes for its heroes as they face a threat that could spell the end of their existence. With one more issue to go, readers will see if the Ranger Slayer's reign either continues or ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Power Rangers: Ranger Slayer #1

Jul 23, 2020

Power Rangers: Rangers Slayer#1 is a look at the rocky road to redemption, and promises to expand on one of the most interesting parts of the Power Rangers comic book universe. Given where the issue ends, it's possible we could be seeing more of Kimberly's adventures.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Pulp (2020) OGN

Aug 3, 2020

Pulp reunites the creative team of Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips for a meditation on the last days of the Old West and the cost of violence. Brubaker's melancholy script is brought to life by Phillips' eye-grabbing artwork; fans of Westerns and true crime stories will definitely want to buy this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
RWBY: The Official Manga #1

Jun 21, 2020

RWBY: The Official Manga, Volume 1 is a surprisingly faithful adaptation of the television series. Hardcore Rooster Teeth fans and people looking to hop into RWBY will find a great jumping-on point with this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Self/Made #1

Dec 3, 2018

Overall, Self/Made is a wonderful entry into the fantasy/sci-fi genre, put together by a top-shelf creative team. I'm looking forward to what Groom and Ferigato bring us in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shang-Chi (2020) #1

Sep 29, 2020

Shang-Chi#1 is a perfect introduction to the Master of Kung-Fu and features a much-needed update to his background. Shang's popularity is set to grow next year with Simu Liu portraying him inShang-Chi And The Legend Of The Ten Rings; readers old and new will definitely want to pick up this series beforehand to get a crash course on the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Spawn #300

Dec 31, 1969

Despite a superfluous prologue and epilogue, Spawn #300is a solid celebration of the hellish antihero. The next issue will seeSpawnbecome the longest-running independent creator title, and I hope that McFarlane can continue to keep the character going for another hundred issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Spawn #305

Feb 21, 2020

Spawn #305 is an action-packed, fast-paced read that serves as both the end for one story and the beginning of another. From the way this issue ends, it seems like Spawn's actions may not be as benevolent as he thinks.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Stealth #1

Mar 11, 2020

Stealth #1is a stellar new entry into the world of superheroes, grounding its genre trappings with a moving story and striking artwork. With a feature film in development by Lee Daniels, it looks like Stealth may join other heroes in having a presence outside the printed page.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Resistance #1

Mar 11, 2020

The Resistance #1 is a timely, terrifying new beginning to AWA Studios' comic universe, and marks J. Michael Straczynski's return to comics. With a spin-off series, Moths, planned for release later this year, I hope to see more of this world and its superpowered antagonists, as well as its creators.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Rise Of Ultraman (2020) #1

Sep 9, 2020

The Rise of Ultraman#1 is an amazing update to the Ultraman mythos, courtesy of a creative team that has nothing but love for the character. Higgins, Groom, and Manna make an amazing team and I look forward to seeing more of this series, including Hayata's first transformation into Ultraman. As an Ultraman fan, I highly recommend this to fans both old and new.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Rise Of Ultraman (2020) #2

Oct 7, 2020

The Rise of Ultraman#2 continues to update Ultraman's mythos, featuring a new look at his origins and amazing artwork. The stage is set for Ultraman's first appearance, and the next issue may finally shed light on what happened in 1966.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Thor (2020) #5

Jun 24, 2020

Thor #5features a top-notch creative team delivering a story that is packed full of emotion and action. Thor has always been a character that creators have struggled to work with, but Cates and Klein prove that they are truly worthy of the task.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Transformers '84: Secrets & Lies #1

Jul 17, 2020

The Transformers '84: Secrets and Lies#1 is a wonderfully illustrated comic, but isn't exactly friendly to new readers. I would only recommend this comic to hardcore Transformers fans. I also suggest that new readers pick up the preceding Transformers '84one shot to further understand the story behind this series. Perhaps in future issues, we will hopefully see more familiar characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Vampirella vs. Reanimator #1

Dec 12, 2018

Vampirella/Reanimator #1 is not a bad comic; not by any means. But it lacks the spark of engagement between its title characters, and in this day and age, you have to give your readers a reason to come back and I just don't see it here.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wolverine (2020) #2

Jan 1, 1970

Wolverine #2is a compelling look into the mind of one of the greatest X-Men and features a creative team that is firing on all cylinders. Percy and Kubert have a deep understanding of this character and use that to craft a story that plays into his greatest fears and give him a new enemy. This is slowly shaping up to be one of the best titles from the Dawn of X and I can't wait to see what future issues bring.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
X Of Swords (2020): Creation #1

Sep 23, 2020

X Of Swords: Creation #1is an epic start to theX of Swords crossover, boasting story and art worthy of an event series. Fans of theDawn of Xstoryline will be in for a treat, and hopefully, this momentum is continued throughout all 22 parts of the event.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-Men: God Love, Man Kills Extended Cut #1

Jul 8, 2020

X-Men: God Love, Man Kills-Extended Cut #1 is a new look at one of the most influential, important X-Men stories. Readers looking to get into the X-Men will want to pick this issue up, as it's a perfect distillation of why these heroes continue to endure-especially in these times.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More