CJ's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: But Why Tho? Reviews: 29
9.1Avg. Review Rating

10
Agents of Atlas (2019) #1

Aug 14, 2019

Agents of Atlas #1is an excellent reimagining of an obscure superhero team, with a creative team willing to do the work when it comes to proper representation of Asian superheroes. Even though this is a limited series, I look forward to the remaining issues and hope that sales are strong enough to justify a transition to an ongoing series; Pak and Leon more than deserve it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman (2016) #74

Jul 10, 2019

Even though the final issue of "The Fall and the Fallen" is hampered by a meandering script, the artwork is a visual treat and the last four pages are a perfect example of how a good creative team can bring out the best in each other.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman (2016) #76

Aug 7, 2019

Batman #76 is an extremely conflicting issue; the stellar artwork is hampered by a plodding, aimless script. Comics are a team effort and everyone should be bringing their A-Game to the table. If even one element is off, it can affect the entire issue. Good art can only carry you so far and I hope that King picks up the pace in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) #1

May 8, 2019

Batman and The Outsiders #1 is the result of a talented writer, an amazing artist, and a brilliant colorist working together, much like the Outsiders themselves. Each person brings a different skill to the table and the end result is nothing short of magnificent. Hopefully, future issues will continue this trend.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) #2

Jun 12, 2019

Despite a cover snafu,Batman and the Outsiders #2is an action-packed issue that manages to raise the stakes and plays to the strengths of its creative team. I cannot wait to see what Hill, Soy, and Gandini bring to the third issue as it will feature a prominent Batman villain.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) #4

Aug 14, 2019

Batman and the Outsiders #4 is a stellar piece of character work from a stellar creative team. Next issue concludes the "Lesser Gods" story arc, and I hope that Hill, Soy, and Gandini close it out in style.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) #5

Sep 11, 2019

Batman and the Outsiders #5 closes its first story arc with plenty of character development, hard-hitting action, and a jaw-dropping ending. I am extremely excited for what Hill, Soy, and Gandini have in store for the next story arc, and I know they'll continue to turn in issue after amazing issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III #1

May 1, 2019

Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III looks to be a treat for both Batman and TMNT fans. It looks like Tynion, Williams, and Eastman are going to close out this crossover trilogy in style.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III #2

Jun 5, 2019

Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III #2 will be available June 5th wherever comics are sold.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III #3

Jul 3, 2019

Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III #3 reminds us that for all the fight scenes and crossover highs, it's emotion " first and foremost " that keeps us invested in these stories. And now that we're at the halfway point, I hope that emotion continues to be a driving force behind this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III #4

Aug 7, 2019

Even though it's light on plot development and action, Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III #4 has plenty of thrills for Batman fan and TMNT aficionados alike. The stage is set for a battle of epic proportions and I cannot wait to see how Tynion and Williams handle the last two issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III #5

Sep 4, 2019

Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #5is a heartfelt examination of the bonds that connect Batman and the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles to their allies. The issue is packed from beginning to end with amazing artwork. I've been enjoying this series and I cannot wait to see how the creative team wraps it all up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III #6

Oct 2, 2019

Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III #6is a stellar conclusion to an amazing crossover. Tynion, Williams, Eastman, and Napolitano managed to not only come up with a solid story and amazing artwork, but they also poured a great deal of heart into the series. Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III and its predecessors are a great example of how to do a comic book crossover.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ghostbusters: 35th Anniversary: Ghostbusters #1

Apr 3, 2019

Personally, I highly recommend this comic. It manages to be spooky, funny, and action-packed all at once, just like the first movie. I definitely will be checking out the ongoing series by Burnham and Schoening, as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ghostbusters: 35th Anniversary: Extreme Ghostbusters #1

Apr 25, 2019

Overall, I quite enjoyed this one shot. It managed to capture the spirit of the show, and that's important as this is one of the more beloved parts of the Ghostbusters mythos. Hopefully we will continue to see the Extreme team in action.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Go Go Power Rangers #16

Jan 8, 2019

If there was one setback, it was that the Rangers' color switch didn't last as long as I thought it would; fortunately, the last page sets up a new story arc that is poised to yet again answer deep-seated questions about the Ranger mythos-which is what this series excels at.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Go Go Power Rangers: Forever Rangers #1

Jun 19, 2019

Go Go Power Rangers: Forever Rangers #1 is definitely worth your time if you've been following Go Go from the beginning, or if you're a huge Power Rangers fan. Hopefully, Parrott and Mortatino continue this stellar work in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #30

Aug 28, 2019

Justice League #30 masterfully brings several plot threads together while giving equal focus to both heroes and villains. It is also stunningly illustrated by one of the best artists in DC's roster. Given how the issue ends, I am more than eager to see the events of the Justice/Doom War and what effect it might have on the larger DC Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #31

Sep 4, 2019

Justice League #31not only re-introduces a fan favorite team to the forefront, but it also shows what comics are capable of as an artistic medium. Based on the last few pages, it seems like the creative team is only scratching the surface of an epic story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2018) #33

Oct 2, 2019

Justice League #33starts ramping up the stakes as the Justice/Doom War marches toward its conclusion. With the appearance of a certain character at the end of this issue, I can't wait to see what Snyder and Tynion bring to the table in future installments. They've proven that they are willing to embrace even the craziest of concepts and that's what makes good comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2018) #34

Oct 16, 2019

Justice League #34raises the stakes in every imaginable way, ending with a jaw-dropping cliffhanger that leaves our heroes in a dark place. I cannot wait to see how the Justice/Doom War concludes next issue, especially since Perpetua is at her full might.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #34

Dec 19, 2018

Bennett handles the massive action sequences, that the book is packed full of, and the emotional beats with equal grace.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #40

Jun 27, 2019

Mighty Morphin Power Rangers #40is the perfect jumping on point for readers who left the series or readers who are looking to get into the series. Parrott and DiNicuolo are a creative team to be reckoned with, and given how the issue ends, they more than intend to leave their own mark on the Power Rangers mythos.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Once & Future #1

Aug 14, 2019

Though Once and Future #1 is light on action, it immediately hooked me due to its snappy dialogue, well fleshed out characters, and a fresh twist on an old legend. Gillen and Mora are crafting quite a tale and I can't wait to see what future issues bring to the table.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Once & Future #2

Sep 18, 2019

Once and Future #2 builds on the momentum of the first issue by continuing to highlight its brilliant premise and the talent of its creative team. It also reinvents the legend of King Arthur as a dark fantasy. Given where this issue leads off, I expect issue three to be action-packed while delivering more acerbic dialogue and twists on familiar myths.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Once & Future #3

Oct 17, 2019

Once and Future #3continues to impress with its inversion of Arthurian lore, insanely engaging characters, and a creative team who is firing on all cylinders. I can't wait to see what else Gillen, Mora, and Bonvillain do with this lore.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Self/Made #1

Dec 3, 2018

Overall, Self/Made is a wonderful entry into the fantasy/sci-fi genre, put together by a top-shelf creative team. I'm looking forward to what Groom and Ferigato bring us in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spawn #300

Dec 31, 1969

Despite a superfluous prologue and epilogue, Spawn #300is a solid celebration of the hellish antihero. The next issue will seeSpawnbecome the longest-running independent creator title, and I hope that McFarlane can continue to keep the character going for another hundred issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Vampirella vs. Reanimator #1

Dec 12, 2018

Vampirella/Reanimator #1 is not a bad comic; not by any means. But it lacks the spark of engagement between its title characters, and in this day and age, you have to give your readers a reason to come back and I just don't see it here.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More