CJ's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: But Why Tho? Reviews: 10
8.9Avg. Review Rating

10
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) #1

May 8, 2019

Batman and The Outsiders #1 is the result of a talented writer, an amazing artist, and a brilliant colorist working together, much like the Outsiders themselves. Each person brings a different skill to the table and the end result is nothing short of magnificent. Hopefully, future issues will continue this trend.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman and the Outsiders (2019) #2

Jun 12, 2019

Despite a cover snafu,Batman and the Outsiders #2is an action-packed issue that manages to raise the stakes and plays to the strengths of its creative team. I cannot wait to see what Hill, Soy, and Gandini bring to the third issue as it will feature a prominent Batman villain.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III #1

May 1, 2019

Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III looks to be a treat for both Batman and TMNT fans. It looks like Tynion, Williams, and Eastman are going to close out this crossover trilogy in style.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III #2

Jun 5, 2019

Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III #2 will be available June 5th wherever comics are sold.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ghostbusters: 35th Anniversary: Extreme Ghostbusters #1

Apr 25, 2019

Overall, I quite enjoyed this one shot. It managed to capture the spirit of the show, and that's important as this is one of the more beloved parts of the Ghostbusters mythos. Hopefully we will continue to see the Extreme team in action.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ghostbusters: 35th Anniversary: Ghostbusters #1

Apr 3, 2019

Personally, I highly recommend this comic. It manages to be spooky, funny, and action-packed all at once, just like the first movie. I definitely will be checking out the ongoing series by Burnham and Schoening, as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Go Go Power Rangers #16

Jan 8, 2019

If there was one setback, it was that the Rangers' color switch didn't last as long as I thought it would; fortunately, the last page sets up a new story arc that is poised to yet again answer deep-seated questions about the Ranger mythos-which is what this series excels at.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #34

Dec 19, 2018

Bennett handles the massive action sequences, that the book is packed full of, and the emotional beats with equal grace.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Self/Made #1

Dec 3, 2018

Overall, Self/Made is a wonderful entry into the fantasy/sci-fi genre, put together by a top-shelf creative team. I'm looking forward to what Groom and Ferigato bring us in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Vampirella vs. Reanimator #1

Dec 12, 2018

Vampirella/Reanimator #1 is not a bad comic; not by any means. But it lacks the spark of engagement between its title characters, and in this day and age, you have to give your readers a reason to come back and I just don't see it here.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

June

May

More