Clint Theron's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Watch Reviews: 95
8.4Avg. Review Rating

8.8
Are You Afraid of Darkseid? (2021) #1

Oct 5, 2021

Ultimately, Bloody Mary is a fun short story that should delight any horror enthusiasts out there. It's a great blend of lighthearted humor and kid-friendly horror that Are You Afraid of the Dark? did so well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Artemis: Wanted (2022) #1

Jul 19, 2022

A fantastic and essential follow-up to Trial of the Amazons, this one-shot explores three very popular yet strangely underutilized Wonderverse characters: Artemis, Donna Troy, and Cassandra Sandsmark. Fans have been begging for more interaction between these characters, and Vita Ayala delivers that and more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Avengers (2018) #55

Apr 20, 2022

As a Serpent Society superfan, I enjoyed the issue. Javier Garrn absolutely kills the art with a fantastic double-page spread that blew me away. And those butts... get Garrn onNightwing immediately!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Black Widow (2020) #11

Sep 15, 2021

BLACK WIDOW is turning into quite the team book with a focus on the fascinating relationship between Natasha and Yelena. And we get two new fun enemies in the form of androgynous Twins who give us Tomax and Xamot realness in their dialogue!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Black Widow (2020) #12

Oct 27, 2021

Black Widow #12 is a thrilling and beautiful issue that explores Natasha's longing to see her family again all while dressing her up in a glamorous gown for the Golden Gate Gala. Black Widow has been a solid team book for a while, but the super-spy takes center stage as she uncovers a suspicious scheme that puts her right in the path of an enemy from her past. It's a set-up issue, but a very fun set-up issue and I can't wait to see what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Black Widow (2020) #13

Jan 6, 2022

Fear is the real enemy, and Black Widow is definitely afraid of the Living Blade. This issue is action-packed with Natasha forced on the defensive against a formidable assassin who won't let her catch a breath. Kelly Thompson's superb writing mixed with outstanding art from Rafael T. Pimentel and Jordie Bellaire easily makes for one of the best Black Widow comics I've ever read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Captain Marvel (2019) #40

Aug 17, 2022

While I can't say this comic has transformed me into a Captain Marvel stan, I really enjoyed when Kelly Thompson is bringing to the superhero. With stellar art by lvaro Lpez and Juan Frigeri, this is certainly a comic run to pay attention to.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Catwoman (2018) #38

Dec 21, 2021

This issue is a great introduction to new readers while also setting up future stories. If you've ever thought about reading the current Catwoman, start now! Beautiful art, thrilling stories, and a crafty cat burglar are what you should expect when opening up a Catwoman comic!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Catwoman (2018) #39

Jan 19, 2022

Catwoman #39 is off to an intriguing start. I'm definitely in it for the long haul, and I'm very excited to see where Catwoman's adventures lead her next (as long as Duchess is by her side).

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Catwoman (2018) #40

Feb 23, 2022

Tini Howard, Nico Leon, Jordie Bellaire and Tom Napolitano are absolutely killing it on this run ofCatwoman. It's only been two issues, but I can't see the series going anywhere but up with this level of storytelling. Catwoman is compassionate while remaining sassy, fun and badass.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Catwoman (2018) #41

Mar 15, 2022

If you're still reeling from Zo Kravitz's stellar performance as Catwoman, this series by Tini Howard and Nico Leon is a perfect entryway into the comic version of the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Catwoman (2018) #42

Apr 19, 2022

Tini Howard and Nico Leon have done impressive work with the start of their run on Catwoman. These four issues are a perfect glimpse into Catwoman and what makes the anti-heroine tick. If you're interested in the character but find her comic history jarring, start here! You won't be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Catwoman (2018) #43

May 17, 2022

I love a good gal pal story, but this issue felt like a completely different series from what Tini Howard and Nico Leon created a few months ago. I'm not sure if DC Comics pushed Harley Quinn onto the creative team or if Howard chose to bring in ol' Killer Quinn herself, but it didn't work. The cliffhanger brought my excitement back for the series, however, as it features the first appearance of a villain who originated in Batman: The Animated Series, much like Harley Quinn did.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Catwoman (2018) #44

Jun 21, 2022

I was pretty disappointed with this issue, despite the introduction of Red Claw into the main DC Universe. The villain wasn't very intimidating or formidable, and Harley Quinn really dragged the whole story down.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Daredevil (2019) #34

Sep 9, 2021

I now realize there was a Daredevil-shaped hole in my heart. Chip Zdarsky and co. have filled it right up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Daredevil (2019) #35

Oct 27, 2021

Daredevil #35 depicts an epic battle of strength and wits between Elektra and Bullseye which culminates in a pretty satisfying conclusion. While I wish the early scenes of Elektra fighting the Bullseye Boys would have been easier to follow, the main event felt exciting and tense until the very end, when everything just sort of worked out conveniently.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Daredevil (2019) #36

Dec 1, 2021

Prison has changed Matt, and seemingly for the better. Love is the way forward, or at least contentment as Daredevil hopes he can get Kingpin out of his unkempt hair for a while. Chances are slim, but I'm really enjoying Matt's growth throughout this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Daredevil: Woman Without Fear #1

Jan 11, 2022

I found Elektra: Woman Without Fear #1 to be an enjoyable read, but my expectations are high that in the next few issues we will see the dependency of male relationships and interactions with Elektra explored, especially as we'll see her form a new one with a famous super-villain.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Daredevil: Woman Without Fear #2

Feb 2, 2022

While new villain Aka hasn't really caught my eye as of yet, I'm excited to see more of Elektra's history with this criminal. And until we get that final confrontation, there's still plenty more Kraven the Hunter to go around.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Daredevil: Woman Without Fear #3

Mar 2, 2022

Have you ever wanted to see Elektra battle Kraven the Hunter? Well, then check out last month's issue. Have you ever wanted to see Elektra battle Kraven the Hunter twice? Then pick up this issue as well. It's not all recreational hunting, however, as Chip Zdarsky delves deeper into the mysterious enemy Aka and the Hand's intentions. Great stuff as always.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Dark Crisis: Worlds Without A Justice League (2022): Wonder Woman #1

Sep 13, 2022

This one-shot is by no means essential reading, but if you're a fan of Elseworlds-style stories with beautiful artwork, give this one a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Elektra (2022) #100

Apr 13, 2022

Whenever Marvel celebrates a major milestone for a superhero comic book, like a 100th issue, I expect greatness. And greatness is what we get here, particularly in Ann Nocenti's story. Elektra's relationship with Typhoid Mary is one of her most compelling, and what we didn't get in the mainDaredevil title is explored here. I strongly recommend this special for fans of Elektra, Daredevil, Typhoid Mary, or the recent Devil's Reign storyline.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Gambit (2022) #1

Jul 27, 2022

I was thrilled when Marvel announced plans to have Chris Claremont return for a Gambit mini-series. Claremont's more recent stories have received mixed receptions, but he's still a legend among the comic book field. I liked this first issue more than many of his other attempts over the past few decades, but it does need a little work. It still feels like a slice of nostalgia and you just can't be mad about that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Godzilla vs. The Mighty Morphin Power Rangers #1

Mar 23, 2022

If you're a fan of Godzilla? Check this out. If you're a fan of Power Rangers? Check this out. If you only enjoy super-serious comics about realistic dinosaurs fighting realistic dragons and you hate alien witches saying "take me to your leader" or men in green spandex with pronounced bulges then I don't want to know you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Iron Fist (2022) #1

Feb 16, 2022

Iron Fist #1 is a great introduction to Lin Lie as the titular hero. Even if you know nothing about the character (who first appeared in 2018), this issue will fill you in on the need-to-know details. While longtime fans of Danny Rand may be disappointed to see his title given to a new character, Rand continues to remain a prominent character. This series definitely has promise, and I'm excited to see more from Wong and YG.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Knights of X (2022) #2

Jun 2, 2022

If you're anExcalibur stan, this series is for you. If, like me, you have passing knowledge of Merlyn and Otherworld and Mad Jim Jaspers, you might be a bit confused. Make sure you have Wikipedia handy!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Mighty Morphin (2020) #12

Oct 6, 2021

The Eltarian War is right around the corner, and I couldn't be more excited. While I wasn't in love with the early story arcs of Mighty Morphin, the creative team has certainly stepped up their game with gripping plots, interesting adversaries, and intense moments that literally leave me with my mouth agape.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Mighty Morphin (2020) #13

Nov 10, 2021

A lot happened in this issue ofMighty Morphin, maybe even too much. But "The Eltarian War" is only just beginning. Things look bleak for the Power Rangers, but as Lord Zedd says, "...something will happen."

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Mighty Morphin (2020) #14

Dec 11, 2021

In times of great crises, a leader steps forward to pull the troops together. That leader? Baboo of the Evil Space Aliens. Who would have thought he had it in him? We also get more of Billy's quest to find Zordon, and the rest of the Rangers plot an attack on Zartus's forces. This is an exciting story arc by Ryan Parrott, who manages to give every character a chance to shine in one way or another.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Mighty Morphin (2020) #15

Jan 13, 2022

This comic series continues to impress with it's high-stakes plot, flashy action and exploration of a classic villain from the TV series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Mighty Morphin (2020) #16

Feb 9, 2022

Zordon fans unite! This crossover has been the perfect opportunity to get to know Zordon's past, with key figures like Zartus and Zophram having huge impacts on his existence. Zordon even gets a body and gets to kick major butt.The Eltarian War is a true love letter to the Power Ranger's mentor, breathing new life into our favorite giant floating head.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Mighty Morphin (2020) #17

Mar 9, 2022

Mighty Morphin #17 is a great start for Mat Groom and Moiss Hidalgo, with focusing on an underdeveloped character like Rocky DeSantos and bringing in a villain who was mentioned in the TV series but never actually appeared. The future looks bright for our favorite teenagers with attitude!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Mighty Morphin (2020) #18

Apr 13, 2022

Aisha notes that she's finding her groove, and writer Mat Groom and artist Moiss Hidalgo are doing the same as they develop a friendship between Rocky and Matt that will hopefully last for issues to come. And if that wasn't enough, we have the promise of King Aradon's arrival on Earth to look forward to for next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Mighty Morphin (2020) #19

May 12, 2022

Three issues in and Mat Groom has found his groove, giving us a fantastic character-driven plot with Rocky DeSantos, one of the most underrated Power Rangers in the franchise's history.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Mighty Morphin (2020) #20

Jun 8, 2022

The last few issues ofMighty Morphin have been a blast, but I was slightly disappointed with this one. The conclusion to several major story arcs are wrapped up quite abruptly. However, we still get some fantastic Rocky moments which allowed the underdog to gain some much-needed depth.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Mighty Morphin (2020) #21

Jul 7, 2022

While Kimberly has been in the background for the past few issues, Pink Ranger fans can rest easy as she's the primary focus of this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Mighty Morphin (2020) #22

Aug 3, 2022

Mat Groom's work on Mighty Morphin is short but sweet, and I'd love to see him and Moiss Hidalgo return to the franchise in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers (2022) #100

Sep 28, 2022

An amazing sendoff to one of the best runs thePower Rangers franchise has seen,Mighty Morphin Power Rangers#100 is action-packed yet remains full of heart.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers (2022) #101

Oct 27, 2022

This issue gives me great hope that we are in for some fantastic Power Rangers stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers (2022) #102

Nov 23, 2022

Melissa Flores and Simona di Gianfelice make for a great pair, and I'm dying to see what they have in store for us.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers (2022) #104

Jan 18, 2023

Mighty Morphin Power Rangers #104 is the best yet from writer Melissa Flores, who brilliantly continues Rita Repulsa's evolution from the campy villain-with-a-headache to full-fledged empress of evil.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Nubia & The Amazons #1

Oct 19, 2021

What better way to prepare for the Trial of the Amazons then by reading its prelude, Nubia & the Amazons? If you're interested in Wonder Woman's corner of the DC Universe, especially the Amazons, Doom's Doorway, or Themyscira in general, this book is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Nubia & The Amazons #2

Nov 16, 2021

This mini-series is the best thing to happen to the Amazons of Themyscira in decades. Gone are the days of Amazons Attack! This prelude to Trial of the Amazons has filled me with hope and confidence for the creative team to bring their A-game to the upcoming Wonder Woman event.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Nubia & The Amazons #3

Dec 21, 2021

Even though I wasn't blown away like the first two issues, this is still a very strong companion piece to the Wonder Woman title. I see all the webs being weaved to set up Trial of the Amazons, and while the impatient side of me wants the epic crossover to start, like, yesterday, the Wonder Woman superfan in me is savoring every moment of amazon greatness.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Nubia & The Amazons #4

Jan 18, 2022

Nubia & The Amazons #4 is perhaps the best chapter of the mini-series yet, with gorgeous art and a powerful message of compassion and forgiveness. What more could you ask from aWonder Woman tie-in?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Nubia & The Amazons #5

Feb 15, 2022

This mini-series continues to be impress with a fierce battle between Queen Nubia and Medusa, ultimately leading to the themes of compassion and forgiveness that is vital to the Wonder Woman franchise. I'm devastated that there's only one issue left, but I hope that Nubia (and the new additions to Themyscira) continue to gain spotlight post-Trial.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Nubia & The Amazons #6

Mar 8, 2022

For the second part of the Wonder Woman event,Nubia & The Amazons #6 is a wholly satisfying end to the mini-series and early continuation of theTrials of the Amazons. I'm very excited to see more Nubia stories throughout 2022 and beyond, hopefully with this creative team.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nubia & The Amazons: Coronation Special #1

May 3, 2022

I was already blown away by how greatNubia & The Amazons was, butNubia: Coronation Special #1 (by much of the same creative team) is even better. A complete celebration of the character of Nubia, this one-shot explores Nubia at various points in her life and cemented her as one of the top Wonder Woman family characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Nubia & The Justice League Special (2022) #1

Nov 29, 2022

Have you ever wanted to see breakoutWonder Woman character Nubia interact with Green Arrow, Black Canary, and Martian Manhunter? Well, look no further as this issue has it all. I'm crossing my fingers that we truly do get more of Nubia in the pages ofJustice League, if not in her own solo titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Nubia: Queen of the Amazons #1

Jun 7, 2022

I've said this before and I'll say it again: I haven't been this excited about a character in years. This first issue takes everything fromNubia & The Amazons and theNubia: Coronation Special and expands upon it, revisiting most of the new amazons while also placing Queen Nubia at the forefront of the story. And there's Kangas!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Nubia: Queen of the Amazons #2

Jul 5, 2022

If you were a fan of the glimpse into Zahavah's story fromNubia: Coronation Special #1, this mini-series is a must-read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Nubia: Queen of the Amazons #3

Aug 9, 2022

It's a shame this is just a mini-series, as it feels like an ongoing series with heaps of potential for future stories. There's only one issue left to go, and I'm praying to Sekhmet for DC to give us more Nubia in the coming months.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Nubia: Queen of the Amazons #4

Sep 9, 2022

The past year has been kind to the character of Nubia and her fans. We've had some of the best comic stories featuring the often-underutilized Wonder Woman character, and I'm hoping the strength ofNubia & The AmazonsandNubia: Queen of the Amazons leads to more adventures featuring the intelligent and powerful Amazon Queen.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Olympus: Rebirth (2022) #1

Aug 23, 2022

If you're a Wonder Woman fan, this story is essential reading. There are many plot threads set up for future issues of the main title, and you get to see what Hippolyta has been up to after the Trial of the Amazons event. I know there's also several fans who love the scheming and politicking of the Greek Gods who should find joy with this one-shot. Pick this up -- you won't be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Power Rangers (2020) #11

Sep 15, 2021

Power Rangers features some of the best Power Rangers stories out there, and this action-packed issue is packed to the gills with great character moments, surprises, and of course, death and destruction.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Power Rangers (2020) #12

Oct 13, 2021

The creative team of Power Rangers continues to impress. Great character-driven moments that far surpass anything from the 90's TV series makes this a must-read for Power Rangers fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Power Rangers (2020) #13

Nov 17, 2021

Bringing the Omega Rangers straight into the Eltarian War at a breakneck speed has its pros and cons. On one hand, we're able to jump straight into the action as the Omega Rangers and the Mighty Morphin Power Rangers unite to defend Earth. On the other, one of Power Rangers' greatest strengths was its ability to devote precious page-time to the characters and allow them to develop and evolve. Regardless, the creative team has me hooked and I'm sure Power Rangers fans will be talking about The Eltarian War for years to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Power Rangers (2020) #14

Dec 29, 2021

In perhaps the most exciting issue of this epic crossover yet, we see the Power Rangers finally get the upper hand. It's great to see the teenagers with attitudes finally win a battle even if the war isn't over just yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Power Rangers (2020) #15

Jan 19, 2022

This issue is sure to be a hit with longtime fans of the Power Rangers franchise with only three words: White Tiger Dragonzord.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Power Rangers (2020) #16

Feb 16, 2022

Ryan Parrott has been such a gift to the Power Rangers comics, helming both this series andMighty Morphin and crafting two incredible joint storylines.The Eltarian War is his big send-off, and I have a feeling this one will go down in Ranger history as one of the top events alongsideShattered Grid.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Power Rangers (2020) #17

Mar 19, 2022

It's lovely to see Ryan Parrott, Marco Renna, Walter Baiamonte and Ed Dukeshire stick around for this half of the Power Rangers titles. The Omega Rangers continue to be in great hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Power Rangers (2020) #19

May 18, 2022

Power Rangers #19 is a powerful issue filled with comedy, action, and sadness. How Parrott and Renna are able to masterfully explore vastly different emotions and themes in just a few dozen pages, I'll never know.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Power Rangers (2020) #20

Jun 16, 2022

We're one step closer toMighty Morphin Power Rangers #100, and there are so many exciting plot threads left to unfold. But it's not about the destination, it's about the journey, and this continues to be one fantastic, nostalgic ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Power Rangers Unlimited: Countdown To Ruin #1

Jun 29, 2022

This is essential reading if you're a big fan ofPower Rangers In Space, Andros, or Zhane. It's not completely essential if you're just reading the main Power Ranger titles, but it's definitely a good idea to get this one so you're able to know what makes Andros tick. It's a great character-driven one-shot that spotlights one of the most popular characters from the franchise. And I'd love to see Marguerite Bennett work on more Power Rangers stuff.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Power Rangers: Universe #1

Dec 29, 2021

I'm always interested in exploring the origins of classic Power Rangers characters and delving deep into the lore. However, this issue spends far too much time with a bunch of new faces that I found myself feeling a bit lost. This will surely read better when I can fully digest all 6 issues, but issue #1 didn't grip me like I was hoping it would.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Power Rangers: Universe #2

Jan 26, 2022

The action is certainly picking up in Power Rangers Universe #2, but I still find myself a bit lost. Longtime Power Rangers fans can surely pick up pieces of lore that I cannot, but I'm still invested in learning more about the Phantom Ranger as well as Dark Specter.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Power Rangers: Universe #3

Feb 23, 2022

Power Rangers Universe #3 picks up on the action and the familiar Power Rangers costumes, but it still suffers the problem of focusing on a bland teenage cast of characters who talk a lot about very little. The Phantom Ranger continues to feel like a glorified cameo character instead of the main premise of the mini-series. I'm not trying to be too harsh, however, as there's a lot of fun action to see in this issue, and seeing the different suits used is a great highlight. And oh, that cover... truly gorgeous.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Power Rangers: Universe #4

Mar 23, 2022

This is definitely one of the weaker issues of the mini-series so far, with only the final few pages being of note. With only two issues left, I'm a little concerned on how quickly the story will wrap up (and how slowly we're reaching the Phantom Ranger's identity), but I'm strapped in nevertheless.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Power Rangers: Universe #5

Apr 27, 2022

Power Rangers Universe #5 introduces some great concepts and brief action sequences, and Dark Specter is freakin' cool. But a lackluster revelation and the dragging out of the Phantom Ranger's identity is frustrating. If you're like me and not invested in this new group of Power Rangers, you'll likely feel the same. But there's only one issue left, so I'm cautiously hopeful that this creative team will find a way to wrap the story up in a cohesive and fulfilling manner.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Power Rangers: Universe #6

May 25, 2022

Unfortunately, this mini-series does not live up to its premise. The Phantom Ranger is barely a guest star here, and the story wraps up far too quickly to leave a satisfying taste in my mouth.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
She-Hulk (2022) #3

Apr 6, 2022

I felt that issue #2 focused more on Jack of Hearts than She-Hulk, but this issue evened it out by putting Jennifer center stage as she struggles with her new job, rekindling old friendships (including fan-favorite Awesome Andy!), and investigating Jack's mysterious reappearance all while looking fabulous and eating the best Sicilian pizza in New York City. I love this title so much.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
She-Hulk (2022) #4

Jun 29, 2022

While the Jack of Hearts storyline seems to be dragging on a bit, I'm a huge fan of what Rainbow Rowell has done with the character of She-Hulk and the worldbuilding for this series. Backed by great art from Luca Maresca and superb coloring from Rico Renzi, thisShe-Hulk run is already one of my favorites featuring the jade giantess.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
She-Hulk (2022) #5

Jul 20, 2022

The first four issues ofShe-Hulk were a very impressive start, but this entry has me worried that the series is becoming repetitive in its dialogue and plot. I'm ready for the mystery of Jack of Hearts' return to be over.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
She-Hulk (2022) #7

Nov 2, 2022

Rainbow Rowell'sShe-Hulk continues to be a blast, with surprise characters popping up at all times and a strong romantic interest with Jack of Hearts. While the villains for this issue don't thrill me, my faith is in Rowell's competent hands to make them work in the story she's ultimately crafting.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
She-Hulk (2022) #8

Nov 16, 2022

Perhaps the weakest issue in Rainbow Rowell's otherwise stellar run so far,She-Hulk #8 takes a break from the titular hero to focus on the main supervillain(s) of the story. It's great to see the plot moving forward, but I wish the central antagonist felt a bit more original.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
The Death of Doctor Strange: Avengers #1

Nov 3, 2021

The Death of Doctor Strange: Avengers#1 is slightly misleading as Iron Man takes center stage for most of the issue. While the threat of several Juggernauts is very cool on paper, the plot is quickly resolved without much fanfare, and we're left with a cliffhanger that just isn't as fun as a pack of Juggernauts trampling right towards the heroes.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Tis The Season To Be Freezin' (2021) #1

Dec 14, 2021

The Blue Snowman is one of my personal favorites, so I was ecstatic to see them given a chance to shine in this holiday special. Despite being labeled as a team-up, however, it was very clear that Harley Quinn was the star of the show with Blue Snowman tacked on for a wintry theme. Regardless, it's a fun adventure that bonds two completely unrelated characters. And who knows, maybe we'll see them together again in the future? (Probably not.)

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Trial of the Amazons: Wondergirl #1

Mar 22, 2022

While this entry into the "Trial of the Amazons" recaps a lot of Yara Flor's storyline, it's still a beautiful issue that also brings in Cassie Sandsmark who is determined to find Hippolyta's killer. The first half of the issue might border on superfluous with its recaps, but Jolle Jones and Jordie Bellaire manage to push all those thoughts away with their stunning art and colors.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Women of Marvel: 2022 #1

Mar 7, 2022

I hope Women of Marvel continues to be an annual celebration so we'll continue to get stories about female heroes by female creators. This one is a mixed bag of successes, but definitely worth a read if you're a fan of Marvel's cast of female heroes. I do wish the cover reflected the characters inside, or vice versa (would've loved to see a Storm or Wasp story), but casual fans will catch glimpses of characters like Silver Sable or Shanna the She-Devil that they might not know.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Wonder Girl (2021) Annual: 2022

Aug 30, 2022

Wonder Girl 2022 Annual is a stunning issue well worth the cover price. Expanding on characters from the ongoing series, this Annual features some of the best artwork seen in modern comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Wonder Woman (2016) #781

Nov 9, 2021

Cloonan and Conrad, now joined by Marcio Takara, continue bringing their A-game to Wonder Woman. This issue sets up several storylines while never losing my interest. And when Doctor Psycho is in the mix, you know you're in for a good time. I'm strapped in for the long haul as this is the most exciting the Wonder Woman title has been since 2017.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Wonder Woman (2016) #784

Feb 8, 2022

Villainy Inc. would've been enough to sell me on this issue, but we also get a fantastic battle sequence between Wonder Woman and the Image-Maker. We also learn the identity of the Shining Knight. All before Diana leaps head-first into theTrial of the Amazons! The future is bright for our amazon princess.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Wonder Woman (2016) #789

Jul 12, 2022

I've been such a big fan of Cloonan and Conrad's work on theWonder Woman title, and this issue proves they have staying power. This level of quality storytelling is everything I hope for when opening a comic featuring the Amazon superhero.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Wonder Woman (2016) #790

Aug 9, 2022

The verdict is in: "The Villainy of Our Fears" is a hit! The creative team continues to deliver some of the best modern Wonder Woman stories in her 80+ year history.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Wonder Woman (2016) #791

Sep 13, 2022

While the cover is slightly misleading,Wonder Woman #791 is a fun espionage romp featuring a very fashionable Diana Prince.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Wonder Woman (2016) #792

Oct 11, 2022

While "Feral" is seemingly only a two-parter, the story arc opens up several plot threads that will surely continue as we reach closer towards Wonder Woman's milestone 800th issue next year. With art by top-tier talent like Marguerite Sauvage, this title is in great hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Wonder Woman (2016) #793

Nov 8, 2022

This issue serves as a great intermission for majorWonder Womanstorylines. Fans of the Trinity will be happy to see some great character moments, while Trinity naysayers can take comfort in this being a one-and-done story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Wonder Woman (2016) #794

Dec 13, 2022

Cloonan and Conrad once again knock this issue out of the park. Dine on that godflesh, Cheetah!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wonder Woman (2016) #795

Jan 10, 2023

Wonder Woman has a lot on her plate for the "Before the Storm" story arc, so it's only fitting that she calls in some help from the newest Wonder Girl, Yara Flor. While some fans might have wished for Cassie or Donna, the issue did a great job presenting the conflict between Yara and the manipulative god Eros.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Wonder Woman (2016): The Adventures of Young Diana #1

Oct 13, 2021

It's such a wonderful time to be a Wonder Woman fan, as we're able to not only have an amazing solo title by Becky Cloonan and Michael W. Conrad, we're able to explore more of what makes Diana and her world tick.The Adventures of Young Diana is a perfect entryway for young Wonder Woman fans to read more about this loving and compassionate superhero.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Wonder Woman Day (2021): Special #1

Oct 19, 2021

The Lies is one of the definitive stories for Wonder Woman and Cheetah, propelling the relationship of the two enemies in a new and fascinating way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Wonder Woman: Black & Gold (2021) #4

Sep 28, 2021

Wonder Woman: Black and Gold #4 is truly a treat for any Wonder Woman fan. Get lost in Nicola Scott's gorgeous art, or go on an adventure with Diana to defeat the manipulative Hypnota. Each of the five stories presented here bring something different to the table, giving the reader a slice of various aspects of the Wonder Woman mythos.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Wonder Woman: Black & Gold (2021) #5

Oct 26, 2021

Wonder Woman: Black and Gold #5 is another fantastic entry to this anthology series exploring the different facets of Wonder Woman and her mythology. We get a grand adventure to Hell with Hellzapoppin', solve a ghostly mystery with Beyond the Horizon, a fun Silver Age battle with How the Wonder Woman Was Brought Low by a Mouse But Captured the Stars, a glimpse into Antiope's history with Diana in Feet of Clay, and revisit a long-forgotten foe-turned-friend in Memories of Hator. Next issue is the last and I'll miss this series terribly.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Wonder Woman: Black & Gold (2021) #6

Nov 23, 2021

Wonder Woman: Black and Gold comes to a close with this final issue, but what a joy it has been to see a diverse collective of writers and artists celebrate Wonder Woman's 80th anniversary with this anthology series. This issue features two of the best stories in the entire anthology with "A Lesson in Truth" and "Role Model".

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Wonder Woman: Evolution (2021) #1

Nov 16, 2021

Because this issue is largely a setup issue, I'm hesitant to comment too deeply on Stephanie Phillips' writing. But while Mike Hawthorne is a critically-acclaimed artist, I found his art style for Diana to be too rough, too jagged, and not nearly as wonderful as the superheroine is meant to be. Hawthorne's art worked with the rest of the story, but Wonder Woman is the titular hero so I cannot recommend this story to longtime Wonder Woman fans. I do have a feeling this story, like Brian Azzarello's and Cliff Chiang's, could be popular outside of the Wonder Woman fandom and hopefully bring in new fans.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

February

January

More