Clint Theron's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Watch Reviews: 31
8.5Avg. Review Rating

8.8
Are You Afraid of Darkseid? (2021) #1

Oct 5, 2021

Ultimately, Bloody Mary is a fun short story that should delight any horror enthusiasts out there. It's a great blend of lighthearted humor and kid-friendly horror that Are You Afraid of the Dark? did so well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Black Widow (2020) #11

Sep 15, 2021

BLACK WIDOW is turning into quite the team book with a focus on the fascinating relationship between Natasha and Yelena. And we get two new fun enemies in the form of androgynous Twins who give us Tomax and Xamot realness in their dialogue!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Black Widow (2020) #12

Oct 27, 2021

Black Widow #12 is a thrilling and beautiful issue that explores Natasha's longing to see her family again all while dressing her up in a glamorous gown for the Golden Gate Gala. Black Widow has been a solid team book for a while, but the super-spy takes center stage as she uncovers a suspicious scheme that puts her right in the path of an enemy from her past. It's a set-up issue, but a very fun set-up issue and I can't wait to see what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Black Widow (2020) #13

Jan 6, 2022

Fear is the real enemy, and Black Widow is definitely afraid of the Living Blade. This issue is action-packed with Natasha forced on the defensive against a formidable assassin who won't let her catch a breath. Kelly Thompson's superb writing mixed with outstanding art from Rafael T. Pimentel and Jordie Bellaire easily makes for one of the best Black Widow comics I've ever read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Catwoman (2018) #38

Dec 21, 2021

This issue is a great introduction to new readers while also setting up future stories. If you've ever thought about reading the current Catwoman, start now! Beautiful art, thrilling stories, and a crafty cat burglar are what you should expect when opening up a Catwoman comic!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Daredevil (2019) #34

Sep 9, 2021

I now realize there was a Daredevil-shaped hole in my heart. Chip Zdarsky and co. have filled it right up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Daredevil (2019) #35

Oct 27, 2021

Daredevil #35 depicts an epic battle of strength and wits between Elektra and Bullseye which culminates in a pretty satisfying conclusion. While I wish the early scenes of Elektra fighting the Bullseye Boys would have been easier to follow, the main event felt exciting and tense until the very end, when everything just sort of worked out conveniently.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Daredevil (2019) #36

Dec 1, 2021

Prison has changed Matt, and seemingly for the better. Love is the way forward, or at least contentment as Daredevil hopes he can get Kingpin out of his unkempt hair for a while. Chances are slim, but I'm really enjoying Matt's growth throughout this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Daredevil: Woman Without Fear #1

Jan 11, 2022

I found Elektra: Woman Without Fear #1 to be an enjoyable read, but my expectations are high that in the next few issues we will see the dependency of male relationships and interactions with Elektra explored, especially as we'll see her form a new one with a famous super-villain.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Mighty Morphin (2020) #12

Oct 6, 2021

The Eltarian War is right around the corner, and I couldn't be more excited. While I wasn't in love with the early story arcs of Mighty Morphin, the creative team has certainly stepped up their game with gripping plots, interesting adversaries, and intense moments that literally leave me with my mouth agape.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Mighty Morphin (2020) #13

Nov 10, 2021

A lot happened in this issue ofMighty Morphin, maybe even too much. But "The Eltarian War" is only just beginning. Things look bleak for the Power Rangers, but as Lord Zedd says, "...something will happen."

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Mighty Morphin (2020) #14

Dec 11, 2021

In times of great crises, a leader steps forward to pull the troops together. That leader? Baboo of the Evil Space Aliens. Who would have thought he had it in him? We also get more of Billy's quest to find Zordon, and the rest of the Rangers plot an attack on Zartus's forces. This is an exciting story arc by Ryan Parrott, who manages to give every character a chance to shine in one way or another.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Mighty Morphin (2020) #15

Jan 13, 2022

This comic series continues to impress with it's high-stakes plot, flashy action and exploration of a classic villain from the TV series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Nubia & The Amazons #1

Oct 19, 2021

What better way to prepare for the Trial of the Amazons then by reading its prelude, Nubia & the Amazons? If you're interested in Wonder Woman's corner of the DC Universe, especially the Amazons, Doom's Doorway, or Themyscira in general, this book is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Nubia & The Amazons #2

Nov 16, 2021

This mini-series is the best thing to happen to the Amazons of Themyscira in decades. Gone are the days of Amazons Attack! This prelude to Trial of the Amazons has filled me with hope and confidence for the creative team to bring their A-game to the upcoming Wonder Woman event.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Nubia & The Amazons #3

Dec 21, 2021

Even though I wasn't blown away like the first two issues, this is still a very strong companion piece to the Wonder Woman title. I see all the webs being weaved to set up Trial of the Amazons, and while the impatient side of me wants the epic crossover to start, like, yesterday, the Wonder Woman superfan in me is savoring every moment of amazon greatness.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Nubia & The Amazons #4

Jan 18, 2022

Nubia & The Amazons #4 is perhaps the best chapter of the mini-series yet, with gorgeous art and a powerful message of compassion and forgiveness. What more could you ask from aWonder Woman tie-in?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Power Rangers (2020) #11

Sep 15, 2021

Power Rangers features some of the best Power Rangers stories out there, and this action-packed issue is packed to the gills with great character moments, surprises, and of course, death and destruction.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Power Rangers (2020) #12

Oct 13, 2021

The creative team of Power Rangers continues to impress. Great character-driven moments that far surpass anything from the 90's TV series makes this a must-read for Power Rangers fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Power Rangers (2020) #13

Nov 17, 2021

Bringing the Omega Rangers straight into the Eltarian War at a breakneck speed has its pros and cons. On one hand, we're able to jump straight into the action as the Omega Rangers and the Mighty Morphin Power Rangers unite to defend Earth. On the other, one of Power Rangers' greatest strengths was its ability to devote precious page-time to the characters and allow them to develop and evolve. Regardless, the creative team has me hooked and I'm sure Power Rangers fans will be talking about The Eltarian War for years to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Power Rangers (2020) #14

Dec 29, 2021

In perhaps the most exciting issue of this epic crossover yet, we see the Power Rangers finally get the upper hand. It's great to see the teenagers with attitudes finally win a battle even if the war isn't over just yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Power Rangers: Universe #1

Dec 29, 2021

I'm always interested in exploring the origins of classic Power Rangers characters and delving deep into the lore. However, this issue spends far too much time with a bunch of new faces that I found myself feeling a bit lost. This will surely read better when I can fully digest all 6 issues, but issue #1 didn't grip me like I was hoping it would.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
The Death of Doctor Strange: Avengers #1

Nov 3, 2021

The Death of Doctor Strange: Avengers#1 is slightly misleading as Iron Man takes center stage for most of the issue. While the threat of several Juggernauts is very cool on paper, the plot is quickly resolved without much fanfare, and we're left with a cliffhanger that just isn't as fun as a pack of Juggernauts trampling right towards the heroes.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Tis The Season To Be Freezin' (2021) #1

Dec 14, 2021

The Blue Snowman is one of my personal favorites, so I was ecstatic to see them given a chance to shine in this holiday special. Despite being labeled as a team-up, however, it was very clear that Harley Quinn was the star of the show with Blue Snowman tacked on for a wintry theme. Regardless, it's a fun adventure that bonds two completely unrelated characters. And who knows, maybe we'll see them together again in the future? (Probably not.)

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Wonder Woman (2016) #781

Nov 9, 2021

Cloonan and Conrad, now joined by Marcio Takara, continue bringing their A-game to Wonder Woman. This issue sets up several storylines while never losing my interest. And when Doctor Psycho is in the mix, you know you're in for a good time. I'm strapped in for the long haul as this is the most exciting the Wonder Woman title has been since 2017.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Wonder Woman (2016): The Adventures of Young Diana #1

Oct 13, 2021

It's such a wonderful time to be a Wonder Woman fan, as we're able to not only have an amazing solo title by Becky Cloonan and Michael W. Conrad, we're able to explore more of what makes Diana and her world tick.The Adventures of Young Diana is a perfect entryway for young Wonder Woman fans to read more about this loving and compassionate superhero.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Wonder Woman Day (2021): Special #1

Oct 19, 2021

The Lies is one of the definitive stories for Wonder Woman and Cheetah, propelling the relationship of the two enemies in a new and fascinating way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Wonder Woman: Black & Gold (2021) #4

Sep 28, 2021

Wonder Woman: Black and Gold #4 is truly a treat for any Wonder Woman fan. Get lost in Nicola Scott's gorgeous art, or go on an adventure with Diana to defeat the manipulative Hypnota. Each of the five stories presented here bring something different to the table, giving the reader a slice of various aspects of the Wonder Woman mythos.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Wonder Woman: Black & Gold (2021) #5

Oct 26, 2021

Wonder Woman: Black and Gold #5 is another fantastic entry to this anthology series exploring the different facets of Wonder Woman and her mythology. We get a grand adventure to Hell with Hellzapoppin', solve a ghostly mystery with Beyond the Horizon, a fun Silver Age battle with How the Wonder Woman Was Brought Low by a Mouse But Captured the Stars, a glimpse into Antiope's history with Diana in Feet of Clay, and revisit a long-forgotten foe-turned-friend in Memories of Hator. Next issue is the last and I'll miss this series terribly.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Wonder Woman: Black & Gold (2021) #6

Nov 23, 2021

Wonder Woman: Black and Gold comes to a close with this final issue, but what a joy it has been to see a diverse collective of writers and artists celebrate Wonder Woman's 80th anniversary with this anthology series. This issue features two of the best stories in the entire anthology with "A Lesson in Truth" and "Role Model".

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Wonder Woman: Evolution (2021) #1

Nov 16, 2021

Because this issue is largely a setup issue, I'm hesitant to comment too deeply on Stephanie Phillips' writing. But while Mike Hawthorne is a critically-acclaimed artist, I found his art style for Diana to be too rough, too jagged, and not nearly as wonderful as the superheroine is meant to be. Hawthorne's art worked with the rest of the story, but Wonder Woman is the titular hero so I cannot recommend this story to longtime Wonder Woman fans. I do have a feeling this story, like Brian Azzarello's and Cliff Chiang's, could be popular outside of the Wonder Woman fandom and hopefully bring in new fans.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

January

December

More