Karcossa's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Graphic Policy Reviews: 132
8.5Avg. Review Rating

8.5
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #1

Mar 16, 2016

The art here is also very solid, which is honestly something that doesn't surprise me given the talent that's responsible for the comic.A&A: The Adventures Of Archer And Armstrong #1is a very good comic that's absolutely New Reader friendly (and I'm saying that from the perspective of a new reader to these characters). I may not be as familiar withArcherorArmstrong as I am with the immortal's brothers,Ivar (Time Walker) and theEternal Warrior, but if the rest of the series is as good as this issue then I'm along for the ride all the way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #2

Apr 13, 2016

A&A: The Adventures Of Archer And Armstrong #2 retains the sense of fun from the last issue, and it's like getting your favourite cold beverage after a week in the desert. With all the deeply dark and grim comics released these days, this is a lovely change of pace " not that I don't enjoy those comics, but sometimes I'd rather a hot chocolate instead of a cup of tea.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Airboy #4

Nov 15, 2015

Airboy is a comic about James Robinson hitting rock bottom, both professionally and personally, just as much as it is about the character of Airboy himself. If you're not reading the series because of the contents of issue #2, I'm not going to try and dissuade you from your decision. What I will say, however, is don't judgeRobinson's future work on an acknowledged mistake.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
All-New Classic Captain Canuck #0

Mar 6, 2016

This is a great collection that is worth the price of admission, especially with the promise of issue #1 around the corner.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Andre the Giant: Closer to Heaven #1

Nov 17, 2015

This is just a brilliant book from cover to cover, and if you have even a passing interest inAndr "The Giant"Roussimoff then you owe it to yourself to buy this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Archie (2015) #1

Jul 8, 2015

The all newArchie #1does a fantastic job of bringing Archie and the gang into the 21st century without, I imagine, changing too much from the original comics. As a jumping on point for new readers it's fantastic. I'm a big supporter of the idea thatyou should have fun when reading a comic, and I had a blast with Archie #1.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2011) #43

Aug 13, 2015

This is a solid entry into the next phase of theBatman mythos, and it is wellworth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman (2011) #44

Sep 10, 2015

A Simple Case is a good Batman story, and it's entirely possible I'm as excited as I am about it because I miss the adventures of Bruce Wayne when he is under the cowl, but I also think that Batman #44 is the strongest issue featuring Batman since the mechanized suit debuted. On top of that, whileJock's layouts and art work are spectacular, and well worth any and all praise, it's the work ofLee Loughbridge that elevates this comic to the next level.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #1

Dec 10, 2015

With the ending of issue #1, I can't wait to get my hands onthe second issue, because the first issue had something that too many comics don't these day: fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #3

Feb 15, 2016

So far it has lived up to my hopes and dreams, which is good because I'd be buying it anyway.LikeLeonardosays “this here is a. TOTALLY AWESOME TEAM-UP!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Blood Feud #1

Oct 10, 2015

Blood Feud #1took me by surprise, and (as you can probably tell) I really enjoyed the comic; I'll be adding this to my ever-growing pull list when I next go to my Local Comic Shop. Hopefully you'll do the same.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bloodshot: Reborn #6

Sep 18, 2015

The funny thing aboutBloodshot Reborn #6is that I started reading the comic expecting not to enjoy it based on a preconceived notion of the character; I felt that I didn't need to read about yet another unstoppable killing machine. However by the time I had read the last page, even though the comic didn't wow me like almost every other Valiant comic has done in some form or another lately,I still found that I enjoyed the issue quite a bit. I was surprised to find that there was a lot more to both the comic and the character than I had anticipated, which shouldn't be a surprise since I haven't really had any exposuretoBloodshotup untilreading this comic, and in all honesty I wasn't expecting greatness from this issue. It was a reminder to me not to judge a book by it's cover.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bloodshot: Reborn #7

Oct 7, 2015

Bloodshot Reborn #7is another solid comic book from Valiantthat is well worth picking up but you should read at least the previous issue; as a standalone or jumping on point this isn't an ideal comic. When read as the second part in an ongoing story arc, however, it shines. It's not quite perfect, but I expect that when this story is inevitably collected into a trade, then that's where this part will shine.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bloodshot: Reborn #8

Nov 16, 2015

Bloodshot Reborn #8is another solid comic book from Valiantthat continues the current story arc brilliantly. As it stands, this is a story that's worth picking up whether in single issues or the inevitable trade, but with the finale yet to come, the final verdict on this arcwill have to wait till next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Bloodshot: Reborn #9

Dec 23, 2015

Bloodshot Reborn #9is afitting conclusion toa story about a man coming to grips with who he has to be, whether he wants to or not. Whether you pick this up in trade, or hunt for the back issues, this is a story that's worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Bloodshot: Reborn #10

Jan 26, 2016

If you're already readingBloodshot Reborn, then you shouldkeep reading it. If you're not, well, why not try?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bloodshot: Reborn #11

Feb 22, 2016

Whether you read The Analogue Man in single issue form or trade paperback, with two issues in, this has the potential to be an absolute blinder of a story.This is well worth the price of admission.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bloodshot: Reborn #12

Apr 19, 2016

The same is just as true of this issue as well. You need to read this series, for the art if nothing else.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Book Of Death #1

Jul 13, 2015

This may be billed as the eulogy for the ValiantUniverse as we know it, butBook Of Death #1 opens the four issue miniseries with a bang. If you're only slightly familiar withValiant and their heroes, don't be afraid to dig into the comic. You don't need an encylopedic knowledge of the publisher to be able to enjoy this comic.In fact if you've never read anyValiant before, then make this your first comic. Valiant have a rich universe filled with some fantastic characters, andBook Of Death #1provides an excellent first glimpse at many of them.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Book Of Death #2

Aug 18, 2015

Book Of Death #2 is on sale August 19th, and I'm already counting down the days until issue #3 come out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Book Of Death #3

Sep 21, 2015

Although I'm looking forward to the conclusion next month, it'll be a bittersweet comic for me as it'll signify the end of theBook Of Death story line that I've enjoyed so much this summer.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Book Of Death #4

Oct 19, 2015

Book Of Death #4is a great way to bring a close to an event that took me by surprise with the first issue (I never expected to enjoy it as much as I did), and the consistent quality of both the writing and art never let up from that opening salvo.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Book Of Death: The Fall of Harbinger #1

Sep 30, 2015

At the end of the day, Fall Of Harbinger just doesn't add enough to the main Book Of Death story line to justify my recommendation.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Book Of Death: The Fall of Ninjak #1

Aug 25, 2015

You don't need to read this comic book in order to follow along with the mainBook Of Deathstory arc, but by skipping this comic you'll miss out on a great standalone story that takes place far intoNinjak‘s future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Book Of Death: The Fall Of X-O Manowar #1

Oct 19, 2015

As the final chapter to the life of Aric of Dacia, this is a great story; there's a sense with Fall Of X-O Manowar that really feels like an epilogue to the life of a great character. Is it required reading to enjoy the main Book Of Death series? No, but then none of the tie-in one shots (or the hard to find Legends Of The Geomancer) are required to get the full picture. What this is, however, is a well constructed comic that should be read by any fans of the main series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Book Of Death: Legends Of The Geomancer #1

Jul 14, 2015

The first issue of this monthly series is out on the 15th of July. If you get a chance to read Book Of Death: Legends Of The Geomancer #1, then take it. This is a beautiful comic that deserves your attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Book Of Death: Legends Of The Geomancer #2

Aug 19, 2015

If you do get a chance to read Book Of Death: Legends Of The Geomancer #2, then take it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Book Of Death: Legends Of The Geomancer #3

Sep 22, 2015

If you do get a chance to read Book Of Death: Legends Of The Geomancer, then take it. It's well worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Book Of Death: Legends Of The Geomancer #4

Oct 26, 2015

If there is a chance for you to readBook Of Death: Legends Of The Geomancer, then take it. It's well worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
C.O.W.L. #11

Jul 22, 2015

C.O.W.L. #11is an absolutely brilliant comic book that caps off a series where the creative team clicked right from the beginning. I maybe waiting a long time before another series pulls me in the same way this one did, but it was worth every issue. If you haven't read C.O.W.L.thenI strongly encourage you to read the series; I can't recommend it enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Conan: The Avenger #16

Jul 29, 2015

Conanis a character that threatens a deadly violence whenever his blade is drawn. He's been one of, if not the most familiar sword and sorcery characters for many of us for decades, and if you're looking to start readingConancomic books, thenConan The Avenger #16is as good a place as you'll find to jump into the action packed ongoing series. You'll find the start of a story arc, a character that you don't need to know his deepest darkest secrets in order to follow, and a solid comic book that offers the start of astory arc, a character that you don't need to know his deepest darkest secrets in order to follow, and a solid comic book that's easy to enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dead Vengeance #1

Oct 5, 2015

Dead Vengeance may not sound like it'll be up your alley, and maybe it isn't but if nothing else you should still flick through the pages when you go to your comics retailer; who knows, maybe you'll be intrigued. This concept " that of a (possible) murder victim solving their own murder " is one that may not be entirely original, it is presented here with a fresh take and enough humour to make it worth adding to your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Detective Comics (2011) #43

Aug 6, 2015

The most interestingfacet to this iteration ofBatman continues to be (for me anyway)Harvey Bullock. I'm thoroughly enjoying seeing this new world through his eyes, and if I'm honest that's pretty much the only reason I'm continuing to pick this up.Detective Comics #43 is a solid story set against a backdrop of a city that has lost it's hero, and strives to fill that gap, but the comic itself seems like it's merely treading water untilBruce Wayne eventually returns.Yes, it's a decent comic book – and many may really enjoy it – but this wasn't really for me. It was okay, but it wasn't great.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2011) #50

Mar 13, 2016

I hope that we get to see more of this type of story featuringJim Gordon asBatman without the mech-suit before Bruce returnsbecause the past three issues wereso much more interesting than themech-suit issues that preceded them. If you were on the fence aboutBat-Gordon before, thenDetective Comics #50may just leave you a fan of the latest man to wear the cowl.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Divinity II #1

Apr 24, 2016

Divinity II starts stronger than the previous series did, and I can't wait to see how this story plays out over the next three issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Drive #1

Aug 25, 2015

This four part miniseries is something that you're going to want to jump rightin and enjoy the ride. Pun intended.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Eccentrix (One-Shot) #1

Jun 28, 2015

As a standalone digital only comic book,Eccentrixis very enjoyable. Yes, it may lack a bit of the polish of the big publishers, but the comic isstronger, and more vibrant because of that. Offering a fresh take on super teams once the big bad is defeated,Eccentrixleft me wanting to read more. At the end of the day isn't that what we want from our comics?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Enormous (2014) #7

Jul 26, 2015

Whether you're a fan of giant monsters and post apocalyptic tales or not, publisher 215 Ink has something special on their hands here. Don't let it pass you by.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Faith (Mini-Series) #3

Mar 30, 2016

You may have noticed that I've pointedly avoided mentioningFaith‘s plus-sized stature so far in this review. That's because while I am over joyed to have representation of honest to goodness female body sizes in comics, I didn't want to encourage you to read the comic because of that – indeed her body size doesn't really matter to me when it comes to my love of this series. You should read this comic because it's brilliant, and becauseit also features acharacter that we need to see more of.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Farlaine the Goblin: The Twistlands #4

Sep 17, 2015

Farlaine The Goblin #4 is, in all honesty, and without any exaggeration,probably the best comic I've read all week. The issuewill be released to the racks on the 30th of September, and you can also order the previous issues online, here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Gregory Suicide #0

Jul 28, 2015

TheGregory Suicideone shot will be available exclusively on ComiXology on August 5th for $0.99.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hank Johnson, Agent of Hydra #1

Aug 27, 2015

Hank Johnson: Agent Of Hydra #1is a breath of fresh air amidst some the more gloomier comics that are spinning out ofthe main arc right now, and while there's barely any reference toSecret Wars throughout the comic,itreally will have you looking at faceless henchmen in a whole new light.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Hero Hourly #1

Sep 30, 2015

Hero Hourly #1 is part one of a three part miniseries published by James Patrick‘s new publishing company21 Pulp, that is absolutely worth your time and money. Originally funded as part of a Kickstarter campaign, the digital copiesof the first issue have already been distributed to backers already, and with print copies scheduled to hit the racks on November 18th, now is an ideal time to let your retailer know you want to add this comic to your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Hero Hourly #2

Jan 15, 2016

It is, somewhat surprisingly, perfectly possible to readHero Hourly #2as a standalone issue, despite being the second part of a three issue miniseries. What that means is that if, for some inexplicable reason, you haven't read the first issue that you can still enjoy the second issue when you pick it up at your favourite comic book vendor.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Howard The Duck #5

Aug 12, 2015

If all that wasn't enough to encourage you to think about picking Howard The Duck #5up, the this retailer note from Marvel's preview page probably won't help, either.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Howard The Duck (2015) #1

Nov 6, 2015

There have been some great comics released this week, and this ranks right up there among the best.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Howard The Duck (2015) #2

Dec 5, 2015

A back-up strip worth the price, and a comic with a surprising amount of emotional punch? This just shows why Howard the Duck should be on your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Howard The Duck (2015) #3

Jan 4, 2016

When all is said and done, there have been some great comics released this week, and for me, this ranks right up there among the best.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Howard The Duck (2015) #4

Feb 9, 2016

When all is said and done, there weresome great comics released lastweek, butfor my money Howard the Duck #4 was among the best of the bunch.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Howard The Duck (2015) #5

Mar 18, 2016

Overall, while this may not be the best jumping on point (and next issue is the second part in a two part crossover with The UnbeatableSquirrel Girl #6, so that may also not be ideal unless you also read that issue…) it's a fitting conclusion to a story that has been the right kind of madcap crazy fun sprinkled with a deceptive ability to get you right in the feels.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Husk #1

Jul 23, 2015

I'm glad I decided to look past my bias when reading this, but even more so that I read it all the way through.Husk #1may not be the kind of story you would regularly read on face value, butdon't let that stop you from picking this comic up (of course,if you're a huge fan of sci-fi thenHusk #1may be right up your alley, in which case add a point to the score).

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Hyperion #1

Mar 29, 2016

With Hyperion being yet another character deposited in "our"Marvel Universe after the events of Secret Wars, and this is another comic about a character new to the world after theirs was destroyed, and this is one of the better first issues I've read since Marvel's latest renumbering happened. I'm not going to fully commit just yet, however, so I'll probably check out another issue before adding this to the pull list indefinitely. Although if the consistency keeps up that's an inevitability at this point.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Imposter #1

Jan 22, 2016

Imposter is a very well written, brilliantly illustrated comic with a central plot point that I want to talk about that I want to discuss in at least a small amount of detail, but that'll be in another review. To get a feeling of this series, the opening issue has an almost Batman mixed with one of the pulp vigilantes sort of flavour, and yet the comic transcends that comparison in so many ways.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Ivar, Timewalker #9

Sep 14, 2015

It's no secret to any who have read any of the reviews I've written aboutValiant‘s offerings over the past few months that I've become a fan of the publishers comics, often recommending that you read or buy them as and when you can; this issue is absolutely no exception to that rule.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ivar, Timewalker #10

Oct 20, 2015

This is only the second issue of Ivar, Timewalker that I've read, but I'm hooked already. I've become a pretty big fan ofValiant over the past few months, which I'm sure you've noticed if you've read any of the reviews fromValiant I've written lately,and the past two issues of this series have been some of the most enjoyablyfuncomics that I have read in a long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ivar, Timewalker #11

Nov 25, 2015

Ivar, Timewalker #11is a great read. It may not be as new reader friendly as other issues, but that just means that if you want to hop on board this series then you've got issue #9 and #10 to enjoy as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Ivar, Timewalker #12

Dec 16, 2015

Ivar, Timewalker #12is a great read, but it's far from new reader friendly. As a single issue, it's good, but when read as the finale to the Ending History arc it's stunning.Do yourself a favor and read this.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Johnny Red #1

Oct 30, 2015

At the end of the day, whether you love it as much as I did (and I hope you do) is a question that only you can answer.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Johnny Red #2

Dec 2, 2015

At the end of the day, this is probably the best non-superhero book on the racks that I'm reading right now, and it's certainly one of the better comics, too. Whether you love this series as much as I do, however, is a question that only you can answer.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Johnny Red #3

Jan 6, 2016

Johnny Red is, for me, the best non-superhero book on the racks right now, and it's one that I firmly believe you should be checking out. Whether you love this series as much as I do, however, is a question that only you can answer.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
King: The Phantom #4

Jul 11, 2015

Although King: Phantom #4 didn't resonate with me as a Phantom story, at the end of the day, Brian Clevinger and Ryan Codystill produced a good actionstory that's worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Klaus #1

Nov 8, 2015

If the idea of a reinvented origin for Santa Claus seems even remotely interesting to you, then pick up this comic. It's awesome.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Klaus #3

Feb 3, 2016

Despite the at times incredibly bleak and cold art from Dan Mora, Klaus is a comic that has a good feeling about it. No matter how dismal things looking right now for the town's people, there's a genuine sense of hope given to both the reader, and the oppressed citizens under Lord Magnus's rule by the man who will become Santa. It's an almost tangible thing that reaches beyond the printed page; no matter how bad things get, they can get better.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Klaus #4

Mar 22, 2016

At this point it may be easier to wait for the collected edition of the comic, as opposed to hunting out the back issues (I think – but I could be wrong) as some of them are sold out, or on their second printing, but this is a story that you should pick up and read. Don't be fooled by the Christmas undertones,Klaus is more than a seasonal story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Limbo #1

Nov 13, 2015

Limbo #1 has a great feel to it, and it's that feel that struck a cord with me more than anything else. The more you immerse yourself into the pages, the more you'll get out of it. This is a comic that has, for lack of better term, a soul to it. Limbo will be aseries to keep an eye on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Lobster Johnson: A Chain Forged In Life (One-Shot) #1

Jul 27, 2015

I really enjoyed this comic, and while I have no previous exposure to Lobster Johnson, I found that Lobster Johnson: A Chain Forged In Life is a comic book that doesn't bog you down in previous story history, or deep character knowledge. Instead, this is a comic about a vigilante tracking criminals told largely from the criminals' perspective. This is an interesting take on the classic story, and while it isn't an entirely original concept, it is done very well here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Moon Knight (2014) #17

Jul 16, 2015

While this issue isn't the best in the series (that title belongs to theGarth Ennis penned issue #5), it is still a brilliant comic that requires no knowledge of previous issues to enjoy it. Treat yourself toMoon Knight #17. It's agood read with some excellent artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Moon Knight (2016) #1

Apr 17, 2016

Overall this is a decent start to the series, but there is still certainly room for improvement.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Negative Space #2

Sep 25, 2015

Although there have only been two issues released so far, as a series Negative Space is proving to be a very interesting proposition; when read just as a comic it's good " it's really good, but when taken as an exploration of the effects of our emotions and the impact depression can have, it's something else entirely.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Ninjak #6

Aug 24, 2015

Overall, this is a solid issue. It's not a great jumping on point for the series, but it is a very good one, and if you're at all curious aboutValiant‘s purple clad ninja, then this is a decent place to start reading the monthly series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ninjak #7

Sep 9, 2015

Overall, this is a solid issue, and although it wasn't what I hoped it would be, I'd be lying if I told you I didn't enjoy the comic. If you're at all curious aboutValiant‘s purple clad ninja, then you may want to start with the last issue, as the current ongoing story arc makes adecent place to start reading the monthly series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ninjak #8

Oct 18, 2015

Ninjak #8is another solid comic from one of the best publishers around right now.If do want to start readingaboutValiant‘s purple clad ninja, then this may not be the best comic to start with – it is in the middle of a story, and while you can certainly pick issue #8 up and enjoy it as the first comic you read in the arc, you may want to start with issue #6, as you may pick up some details about The Shadow Wars during the last two issues that'll allow yo to enjoy the later issues a bit more. Either way, thestory arc is worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Ninjak #9

Nov 2, 2015

I don't want to spoil anything about this comic, but there are some great… look, Ireally don't want to spoil anything here, so I'm not saying anything about it. Whether you read the trade or the individual issues – and honestly I'd recommend the issues myself, as that way you get to read the comics as they were originally printed – this was one hell of a ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Ninjak #10

Dec 8, 2015

I'm genuinely looking forward to reading the rest of this arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ninjak #11

Jan 10, 2016

As expected from the highly talented creative team, this is another solid issue that builds very successfully off the ground work laid in the last issue, and gives us some jaw dropping sequences.For a story arc that I wasn't too thrilled about when I first read the synopsis before last issue hit, I'm beyond happy at how this is taking shape.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ninjak #12

Feb 11, 2016

Matt Kindt, Doug BraithwaiteandJuan Jose Ryp have given us one of the best issues in the current run ofNinjak. Do yourself a favour and read the full arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Ninjak #13

Mar 8, 2016

Which brings us to a close; Ninjak #13 isn't a bad comic, but as a concluding part in Operation: Deadside it's nowhere near the quality of the first, second or third parts of the story, which is a genuine shame. Still, this is worth a read if you've already bought the past few issues, because there is a potential for a sequel to this arc down the road which will hopefully be able to maintain a consistent quality throughout the arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ninjak #14

Apr 4, 2016

Overall, this is one of the stronger issues ofNinjak I've read in some time, and as the opening chapter to a new story arc, it's a very accessible one to new readers. Whether the arc continues to build on the promise shown here only time will tell, but I'll be along for the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Old Man Logan #3

Jul 23, 2015

Old Man Logan #3 is connected by name to a great Wolverine story, and it doesn't quite measure up, but it is still a decent story that can be read outside of the main Secret Warsstory.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Old Man Logan #4

Aug 28, 2015

This is a fantastic horror tinged issue featuring everybody's favourite zombified Marvel characters, and regardless of whether you're readingSecret Wars or not, Old Man Logan #4 is an absolute blast to read, which is more than I said for the prior issue. Should you read that before picking this one up? Maybe. Maybe not. If you're a fan of Wolverine, then this issue is worth a read regardless of whether you've been following the series it has spun out of, or even this miniseries. Contrary to what I said about the previous issue, the second volume of Old Man Logan has become one of the highlights of the summer for me, and I can't wait to see where the old man ends up next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #1

Jan 29, 2016

I am acomplete and utterWolverine fan, I know that. I'm not ashamed to admit it. So even despite my high expectations, this first issue delivered for me.Whether the series will continue to do so, I have no idea, butOld Man Logan is off to a bloody strong start and I have high hopes for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Old Man Logan (2016) #2

Feb 14, 2016

And the last two page spread? Oh boy. The layouts and colouring here give you a fantastic primer for what'll happen on the final page. It's glorious, not entirely unexpected, but so fantastic when it arrives. Normally I'm loath to commit to bi-weekly comics, prefering instead to space my comic budget out over multiple different issues each month, butOld Man Logan is probably the best book thatMarvelare producing right now, and I'd be buying it weekly if it was as consistently great as the last two issues have been.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Old Man Logan (2016) #3

Mar 5, 2016

Old Man Logan is an absolutely brilliant comic that, as a long time fan of Wolverine (indeed, the character is the reason I read comics) I am loving. Despite my initial fears of the quality of the series, especially after the just-above-average tie-in miniseries of the same name from last year, Jeff Lemire, Andrea Sorrentino and Marcello Maiolo have put out the best three issues of a Wolverine solo that've read in a long, long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #4

Apr 9, 2016

Although I had problems with this comic, it certainly wasn't terrible. When you look at the first four issues as a whole package (especially if read prior to the start of Extraordinary X-Men) then you've got a solid start here that drops off from the consistent quality of the first three and a half issues drastically toward the end.Now that this series has caught up, so to speak, with the X-Book, and establishedOld Man Logan is aware where he is isn'this past, it'll be interesting to see which directionOld Man Logan takes in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Rai #10

Sep 14, 2015

As I already mentioned, the artwork in this issue is absolutely worth absorbing, so on the off chance you don't want to read the series, at least look through it when you see it on the racks. However, as Valianthave been producing some of the most consistently great comics from any publisher over the past few months, it should come as no surprise thatRai #10 is worth reading (even if you may also want to pick upRai #9, if you haven't already).

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rai #11

Oct 22, 2015

Rai #11 is one of the best looking comics to hit the racks this week, that it's also a well written comic only makes it that much better. Valianthave been consistently producing some of the best series from any publisher lately, and this is no exception to that. Whether you hop on board now, pick up the first two chapters in the arc or wait for the next arc to begin, make sure Rai is on your radar.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rai #12

Dec 23, 2015

I'm wondering if that'll arrive next issue, but if it doesn't, I'm content to wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Red Thorn #1

Nov 21, 2015

Red Thorn #1 is abrilliant example of the talented creative team working with a synchronicity that you wouldn't ordinarily expect from the debut issue in a series.I can't wait to see what elseDavid Baillie,Meghan Hetrick and Steve Oliff have up their sleeves.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Red Wolf #1

Dec 2, 2015

While I applaud Marvel for their attempt at diversifying their line with the All New All Different relaunch, it's hard to imagine this comicreaching too high on the sales charts. IfRed Wolf is cancelled it won't be because fansdon't want to read a comic about a Native American character, it'll be because the comic isn't worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Rivers of London #1

Jul 21, 2015

This was an excellent first issue, and I can't wait to read more of the story. Roll on issue #2!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Trek/Green Lantern: The Spectrum War #2

Aug 14, 2015

While non fans may want to consider flicking through the preview pages before picking this issue up, fans of either franchise should definitely check this out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Dresden Files: Down Town #1

Sep 17, 2015

Overall, this is a really enjoyable collection, both for fans of the novels and comic fans who may have never read a novel ofThe Dresden Files, and I'm really happy that I was able to give it a read. I've mentioned already thatThe Dresden Files: Down Townhits all the points that you'd be looking for in a story set inHarry Dresden‘s world; it's not an adaptation of a previous novel, and for that, I'm glad. It meant I wasn't comparing it to a novel that I had already read and enjoyed, and so I was able toallowthe graphic novel to stand alone on its own merits.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Fox #5

Aug 4, 2015

Although Dark Circle Comics provided Graphic Policy a FREEcopy of issue #5 forreview, I purchased it anyway.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Goddamned #1

Nov 12, 2015

The Goddamned #1 has quite a bit of pace to it, with minimal text and speech for a majority of the pages within he comic; I like how the pages with minimal text impacts the way in which the story is told, just asI'm looking forward to seeing how the series will pan out five, six, seven or more issues down the road.Jason Aaron has earned a reputation of being a great writer of comics, and part of that is his ability to plot out a long story, and I can't wait to see where he'll take us withThe Goddamned.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
The Goddamned #2

Dec 18, 2015

Jason Aaron has rightly earned a reputation of being a great writer of comics, pick upThe Goddamned and find out why.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
The Goddamned #3

Feb 24, 2016

Without beating around the bush, The Goddamned probably isn't safe for younger readers (okay, it's really not), but it's a refreshingly brilliant comic that has absolutely no spandex in sight.There's a lot of detail within these pages, everything from the words a character uses, to their speech patterns to the art itself. We're still two issues away from the first trade paperback (which will be released in June), so it's still too early to tell if the series will be one that's highly recommended years down the road, but as it stands, I wouldn't be surprised if that's the case.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
The Hangman #1

Oct 28, 2015

I'm not ready to give up on The Hangman just yet, however, and hopefully the series will hit its stride with the next issue. If it does, I'll let you know.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Paybacks #1

Aug 6, 2015

There are too many things about this issue that I loved, but I don't want to give too much away here. If you're looking for a comic that's an absolute treat to read, then look no further. The first issue of The Paybacks is a joyride from start to finish that you don't want to miss out on. This comic is a blast of fresh air in a genre that frequently takes itself too seriously, and while the chaotic violence is certainly present, it never seems over the top.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Paybacks #2

Oct 1, 2015

The first issue of The Paybackswas a joyride from start to finish, and so is the second. This is a series that youdon't want to miss out on; it's a blast of fresh air in a genre that frequently takes itself too seriously.Whether you ask your Local Comic Shop to hold a copy of this comic for you the next time you visit, or add it to your pull list on ComiXology,The Paybacks #2(released on sale October21)will be a fantastic addition toyourpull list

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Paybacks #3

Nov 17, 2015

This is a series that youdon't want to miss out on; The Paybacksis a blast of fresh air in a genre that frequently takes itself too seriously.Whether you ask your Local Comic Shop to hold a copy of this comic for you the next time you visit, or add it to your pull list on ComiXology,this is a series that you should be paying attention to.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
The Shadow (2015) #1

Aug 5, 2015

More of a crime noir storythat just happens to feature a masked vigilante than an outright superhero story,The Shadow Vol 2 #1is a good comic book. It's not quite a great one (although the potential for the story to cross that line is certainly here), but if you're at all intrigued by the character then it is worth checking out. However, with this comic being priced at a dollar as an introductory offer, thenthe recommendation below bumps up from Read to Buy. For a dollar you really can't go wrong with thiscomic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Shadow (2015) #2

Aug 30, 2015

The last issue, I recommended you buy it if you were half interested in the synopsis and the character; for a dollar, you really couldn't go wrong. This issue, however, is a great comic book in it's own right. It's not quite a standalone issue in that reading The Shadow Vol. 2 #1 may be advantageous to your enjoyment, but it's certainly not required. Compared to the prior issue, this is head and shoulders above it, and if the series continues on this trajectory then now is the time to hop on board.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
The Shadow (2015) #3

Oct 12, 2015

Dynamite‘s currentseries may not propel himback into the public eye (at least not over night), but it is a series that you should be reading if you're at curious about the character. This series has been improvingwith each release, and although I'd suggest you start with the first issue, even picking up issue 2 would give you a fair idea of what's happening here.The Shadow Vol. 2 just keep getting better and better.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
The Shadow (2015) #4

Nov 11, 2015

I've been a fan of many of the older pulp era heroes from the early 30's for some time, and I've loved Dynamite's comics over the past few years featuring those characters, and The Shadow Vol. 2 has been a favourite of mine on the weeks it is released. Yes, the series didn't start out as strongly as I'd have liked, but a lot of that was down to issue #1 being the second issue in the series (issue #0 being released several months before), and needing to fill readers in on previous events. Since the initial stumble the series has gone from strength to strength, and if you're not reading the series now, I'd keep an eye out for the trade.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
This Damned Band #1

Jul 12, 2015

The first issue of This Damn Band is a must read not only for fans of Paul Cornell's writing, or fans of rock music, or comic books, but also for anybody who wants to experience comic book story telling in what promises to be a unique and interesting way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
This Damned Band #2

Sep 3, 2015

As a stand alone comic, you could read and enjoyThis Damned Band #2, but when read as it is intended to be – the second part in a six issue series – the comic really shines, and that's what the scores below are based on.Yes, you can still enjoy this issue by itself, but if you can track down the first issue, then do so; this is a refreshing take on the excesses of rock music that continues to be an absolute delight to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Unity #24

Nov 9, 2015

Unity #24was an enjoyable, if not spectacular comic, and althoughit wasn't quite as good as some of the other single issues from Valiant that have come out lately,it's a great popcorn comic and one that should be enjoyable to new fans (so long as you also pick up issue #23).

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Unity #25

Dec 8, 2015

Writers:Matt Kindt, James Asmus,Donny Cates & Eliot Rahal, Justin Jordan, Elliot Kalan, Daniel Kibblesmith, Micheal Kupperman, and Tom ScharplingArt: Matt Kindt, Diego Bernard, Kano, Micheal Kupperman, Karl Moline, Pere Perez, Rafer Roberts, Dan Schkade, and Bart SearsOverall: 7 Recommendation: Read

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Vikings vs. Unicorns #1

Apr 7, 2016

What it comes down too, honestly, is that this won't be a comic for everyone, and it's going to have those who love it and those who think it was written by an acid tripping sleep deprived writer.If the title intrigues you at all then give it a whirl; if you think the title is stupid then there's not much within that's likely to change your mind. If you do give this a chance, and I hope you do, then this is a comic that tells a story unlike anything from Marvel or DC, and that's refreshing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Voracious #2

Mar 9, 2016

If you're looking for a comic that has a dash of science fiction flavoring cooking with no hint of spandex around then look no further. Voracious is the series you never knew your were looking for.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
We Stand On Guard #1

Jul 1, 2015

This was one of the comics I was most looking forward to reading this week, and I certainly wasn't disappointed. We Stand On Guard #1 can be read as a standalone comic, but with the promise shown in this first issue, why stop at just issue #1? I'll be adding this comic to my pull list in the very near future, which will make it the first non superhero comic in a long time I've been so enthusiastic about.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
We Stand On Guard #2

Aug 5, 2015

This was one of the comics I was most looking forward to reading this week, and I certainly wasn't disappointed.We Stand On Guard #2can be read as an introduction to the story, but you may be a little bit lost with some of the characters, but nothing that's going to drastically loose you in the story. I wouldn't wait much longer to jump on board, though, and I highly recommend adding this comic to yourpull list in the very near future. I'm really taken with this series, making it the first non superhero comic book series in a longtime that I've been looking forward to each month. There's something about the underdog nature of the series Canadian resistance, and almost impossible uphill struggle they face that I'm really enjoying. I hope you do too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
We Stand On Guard #3

Aug 31, 2015

This issue is not a good jumping on point; if you're not readingWe Stand On Guard by now, then you should start at the beginning. This is a series that you should absolutely read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
We Stand On Guard #4

Oct 16, 2015

It's good stuff, and well worth reading, but as the six issue mini series is starting to wind to a close, thisissue is not a good jumping on point; if you're not readingWe Stand On Guard by now, then you should start at the beginning. However that being said, whether you wait for the trade or pick up the individual issues, this is a series that you simply must read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Will Eisner's The Spirit #2

Aug 4, 2015

I fully admit that I have a soft spot for many of the pulp heroes, or crime noir style heroes, and almost any story set around the 30's and 40's, andWill Eisner's The Spirit #2has the feel of an old timey story that is being told today. There's a lot going on in this comic, and while the action and the pacing is fantastic, the story never suffers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Will Eisner's The Spirit #3

Sep 16, 2015

This is a fantastic series thus far, and I'm enjoying every page.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Will Eisner's The Spirit #5

Nov 25, 2015

I've enjoyed every issue ofWill Eisner's The Spirit that I've read over the last four months, and this issue is no exception. It's a fun, entertaining and very enjoyable comic book series that you should absolutely check out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #1

Oct 28, 2015

Simply put, this is a comicyou must read if you have any interest in the Eternal Warrior.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #2

Dec 14, 2015

Whether you're interested in reading more about the Eternal Warrior, or you just want to read a good comic, this isa series that you should look out for.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #3

Jan 18, 2016

Whether you're interested in reading more about the Eternal Warrior, or you just want to read a great series, you should look out for Wrath Of The Eternal Warrrior.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #4

Feb 16, 2016

As an arc that explores just how much the Eternal Warrioris willing to risk in order to help guide the Earth's destiny, the question thatVenditti is asking isjust what would you sacrifice to do the right thing?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #5

Mar 15, 2016

This is a fantastic issue (and I'm pretty sure it's the only comicI have ever given full 10s)thatI love almost entirely because of the art and layouts – but that shouldn't take anything from the writing which is also top knotch. It's a perfect example of a great comic thatanyonecan read regardless of their knowledge of The Eternal Warrior. There's asaying that any comic could be a person's first comic, and you could do a lot worse than reading this.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #6

Apr 12, 2016

As a prelude it's great, but as a conclusion in a two part story this issue not only stands alone (honestly, you don't need to read#5 to enjoy this one) but actually surpasses the last issue in terms of my enjoyment, and this is where my biggest problem lies. I scored the last issue 10's across the board, and with this being better… I see now why I only rarely score anything that well; there's no room for improvement issue to issue. That said, I loved this issue, so…

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-O Manowar #39

Aug 10, 2015

X-O Manowar is a fascinating character, and if you have any speck of curiosity in you at all about him, then grab this comic from the racks the next time you're in your Local Comic Shop, or perusing ComiXology. It's an excellent jumping on point for the series and a good starting point forValiantcomics in general.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-O Manowar #40

Sep 2, 2015

As far as the story itself goes, I can't say that I was genuinely surprised by how well the story carried on, because that would be a bit of a lie; what I will say, however is thatX-O Manowar #40met my already high expectations for the issue, which is something I'm excited about.I'm not going to say much more about the story as I'm afraid of giving too much away for those who are yet to read it, but I'm really enjoying the arc so far, and I can't wait to see where it ends up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-O Manowar #41

Oct 17, 2015

This has been a fantastic story arc so far, one that has focused less on balls to the wall Micheal Bay like action, and instead focuses on a more cerebral story that has yet to rely overmuch on explosions and fight scenes (although there has been enough action over the past few issues to highlight the power wielded byAric)which is something Im excited about.Im not going to say much more about the story as I always try to be mindful of just how much I'm giving away for those who are yet to read it, but Ihave thoroughly enjoyedthe arc so far, especially the focus on the relations between humanity, the Vine, and X-O Manowar rather than three comics with nothing but mindless action.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-O Manowar #42

Nov 23, 2015

Confession time: a few months ago, I honestly felt thatX-O Manowar was an idiotic concept, admittedly it was one that I really knew next to nothing about until I started reviewingValiant‘s comics, but it never really resonated with me until I started reading Exodus. I can now see just how wrong I was only six months ago by judging a character based on a preconceived notion because in the right hands, he's a rich character that is rife with great story telling opportunities.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-O Manowar #43

Jan 5, 2016

Overall this is far from a bad comic, but it's not quite as good as someX-O Manowarissues have been lately. It is still early in the arc, however, and there's enough here that makes me want to read the next issue. Worth reading, if nothing else.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-O Manowar #44

Feb 2, 2016

It's not the best X-O Manowar issue, but it is better than the last issue. I'm hopeful that The Kill List will end on a high note.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
X-O Manowar #45

Mar 21, 2016

In conclusion: not the bestX-O Manowar issue but when it comes to being a part of a whole, this may be the fulcrum the story hinges on.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
X-O Manowar #46

Apr 18, 2016

Remember how I mentioned this felt more like a prologue than a conclusion? That's because of the final couple of pages that are bound to factor heavily in the series as it wraps up with issue #50. As a conclusion this wasn't great, but as a prologue? It's still kind of intriguing, and at the end of the day I never felt the comic wasn't worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-O Manowar: Commander Trill #0

Nov 30, 2015

Scoring this is a bit of a conundrum; if you're already readingX-O Manowar, then you can add another half point to the overall score and switch my recommendation to a read for this comic. If you're not already reading the series, then I'd highly encourage you to start, but probably not here; so pass, for now, on this comic. Instead look for either issue #39 (the start ofExodus) or issue #43 (the start of the next arc). You don't necessarily need to read the first trade (I haven't) to get an idea of the characters origin asValiant do a bang up job of catching you up on that with their recap pages.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More