Lan Pitts's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Newsarama Reviews: 153
8.1Avg. Review Rating

4.0
12 Reasons To Die #1

May 13, 2013

Fans of the short-lived Creator-Owned Heroes or Rick Remender's Last Days of American Crime or even old-school Wu-Tang followers might dig this, and while the concept might have me coming back for more, this wasn't the best of starts.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
A-Force #1

May 19, 2015

If there was one thing dragging down A-Force from a perfect score its there doesn't seem to be enough time. We know who these characters are, sure, as well as how the team functions internally, but sometimes the chemistry between characters seem out of place or unbalanced; like we're missing a chapter and this feels like an in between story. A-Force is a triumph in itself, though, and something that should have been tried a long, long time ago.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Adventure Time 2013 Spoooktacular #1

Oct 31, 2013

There's not really any "bad stories" here, but Frazer Irving's "Secret Stache" didn't give a Halloween vibe as the rest of them. Not saying it's bad, just not as consistent. "Costume Party" by Jones Wiedle and "Bad Girl Gone Good" by Kevin Church and Jen Vaughn were equally delightful in this fun but not too scary anthology.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Adventures Of Superman (2013) #5

May 29, 2013

As aforementioned, not being as familiar with the digital series' layout, I expected it go longer, and wish it had as that's the only setback to this story. Adventures of Superman has done everything right in getting back to Supes' old feel without burdening readers with years of mythos and continuity. It's a fantastic series thus far and this story was no exception.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Adventures Of Superman (2013) #45

Mar 10, 2014

This arc elevates Shaner to mid-carder to potential main event player and proves Marz's ability that he's still one of the best storytellers on his generation. "Only Child" not only continues the Adventures of Superman's strong lineage, but something that Superman fans who never latched on to the New 52 can find solace in. The Adventures of Superman title has had a lot of great talent so far for such a freshman title, but given this story alone, is probably the Superman title you should concern yourself with.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
All-New Miracleman Annual #1

Jan 5, 2014

I think there is an audience for Miracleman, one that doesn't remember the old stories or doesn't have access to them since they're not really in print anymore, an audience that wants stories more fitting for a comic with the "All-New" banner attached. I wonder if this kind of book would be more fitting in an anthology format, but something more accessible than All-New Miracleman Annual #1. When you hype something as something as potentially big as "all-new" and deliver something like this, you can't help but feel a little disenchanted by it all.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All-Star Batman #5

Jan 3, 2017

It's gritty, but never dull and meshes perfectly with the over-the-top story Snyder had the chance to tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Amelia Cole #1

Jul 9, 2012

Having seen the previews for this book and I had hopes it would be something I'd rally for, but it was just overwhelming with all the otherworldly knowledge being tossed at you. Amelia Cole had unlimited potential to be a great read and something in the vein of Suburban Glamour, and I think could be with some slight trimming. There a great story here for any fan of the Harry Potter series, or even Vertigo's The Unwritten to appreciate and pick up. Here's hoping the sophomore issue holds up better because I want to be amazed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
American Vampire #22

Jan 3, 2012

With the original dream team that first made this book the hit it is back together, it makes you wonder how comics could get any more perfect. As mentioned, if you've heard all the buzz about this book but not sure where to start and intimidated by books in their double-digits, fear not. American Vampire #22 reads just as good and strong as it were a first issue. So hop in, buckle up, and enjoy the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
American Vampire #25

Mar 28, 2012

American Vampire #25 ends on a high note and a cliffhanger that leaves me with anticipation on how I'll make it to next month without knowing what comes next. This arc has been quite the high note for the series, and if you've been missing out, you might want to start here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
American Vampire #28

Jun 27, 2012

Now, I will say that American Vampire #28 is a terrific jumping on point. Everything is laid out for you to hop on and enjoy the macabre ride. The scene at the beginning works perfectly to hook new readers and to set the tone for what is to come in this arc. I just hope Raf can catch up to his older works.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
American Vampire: Second Cycle #1

Mar 24, 2014

Team A.V. comes out swinging with this re-debut and delivering a near-perfect knockout combo. Snyder's want for this issue was to be a jumping on point for new readers, and for the already established fandom to want to come back for more. For the more part, American Vampire: Second Cycle #1 excels in that aspect, but an ounce more for "Sugar Man's" motivations and where he lays in the Venn Diagram of this world might have made a little bit of difference. Though give it up to Snyder for laying the groundwork again and fueling our nightmares with the horrors that are about to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ant-Man #1

Jan 7, 2015

So I guess one of the big questions is, why another Ant-Man book? The simple answer would be because he has a movie coming out and they wanted fans to get reacquainted with Scott Lang and his world at large. Yet there's something else to be discovered here, and that's a father and daughter story, and being a dad in and outside his Ant-suit. What dangers and fun times ahead is unsure at this moment, but with this top-notch team on board, you need to score yourself a front-row seat.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Artifacts #13

Jan 9, 2012

The execution, though, is tremendous and trust me when I say you don't want to miss this. Whatever Marz has planned for the Artifacts ongoing, I will be on board for, but readers, you are in for something quite rare with this read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Artifacts #17

May 14, 2012

If you're not picking this one up, I can easily recommend it. It's not the easiest to follow along, but the recap page will ease the transition. The creative team is one of my favorites on the stands now, and can't wait to see what all goes down in the months to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Artifacts #18

Jun 6, 2012

A few hiccups with some delays haven't detoured me from continuing reading. The best thing about Artifacts is that while yes, it is a reboot of the universe, but we have one thing out of place and it's interesting to see key players slowly come around and how they're different, but to have Judge be aware of the changes around him is a nice creative call and it feels we're on the journey with him.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Artifacts #24

Jan 9, 2013

Artifacts has been the go-to book for characters outside of Witchblade and Marz has such a solid grasp of concept and familiarity with this world, everything else feels not up to par. While this book has gotten off track recently, this issue takes the series out of neutral and gets it back on the race track.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Artifacts #26

Mar 25, 2013

Reading this issue, fans are going to realize that simply wiping Jenny from this universe won't be the easiest thing to do so it can reset and go back to the old one. Sara's speech to Tom at the end of the issue was heartbreaking, but made sense. The restoration of the Top Cow universe as it was doesn't seem like a likely scenario for the time being, but as long Marz continues to breathe life into these characters, I'm in.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Artifacts #27

Apr 30, 2013

Artifacts #27 is a great jumping on point if you've been missing out. The "Progeny" arc just ended with the previous issue, and while things aren't really all nice and wrapped up, this issue gives a good example of what you're in for as well as the characters and the world at large.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Artifacts #30

Aug 7, 2013

Artifacts #30 is almost an issue you can dive into if you haven't been following along, but it doesn't give you an idea really of who these characters are aside from Finch and a glimmer of Tom. Marz has certainly been better at this series than here and if you hold out, you'll certainly see what this series is capable. Sadly, you won't in this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
B.P.R.D.: Hell On Earth: Exorcism #1

Jul 2, 2012

B.P.R.D.: Exorcism was the proper baby steps to get back in this great title. While it's only a two-parter and I'm not entirely clear on where the rest of the agents mentioned are, this particular issue is enjoyable and a great place to start if you're looking to give the BPRD titles a try-out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl (2011) #20

May 15, 2013

If anything, Batgirl #20 is a great jumping on point for readers who have heard the hype and looking to jump on board. The past few issues are recapped, but that doesn't slow down the pacing of the rest of the issue or the start of the new arc, even if the last issue's ending sort of repeats itself here.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batgirl (2011) #23

Aug 14, 2013

The thing about that Batgirl I just don't see is the constant overpraise and me feeling like I'm missing something. It could simply be a case of expectations versus realty, or it could be time for somebody else to carry Babs' adventures to new heights.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl (2011) #38

Jan 15, 2015

I like the clear social statement here: actions, even superheroic, have consequences.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey: Rebirth #1

Jul 20, 2016

We still have awhile until Batgirl: Rebirth #1 hits the stands, and it'll be interesting to see how that book ties in with Batgirl and the Birds of Prey as we are to assume that at some point Batgirl takes up the reins of the team. With Batman being in a handful of books himself, it's good to see the women of Gotham getting more than one spotlight act to give their fans, even if this debut could use just a bit more polishing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2011) #0

Sep 11, 2012

Batman #0 is a great example of how Scott Snyder and company have taken Batman to a whole new level. It's no wonder why it's the top-selling book of the company. There's more to this book aside from it just being Batman-related " it's opening a world that both a new generation and even older fans can enjoy. It's always fun to see where Bruce got all those wonderful toys and witness the man he was before donning the cape and cowl. While September is still early, this is a contender for the book of the month.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #5

Jan 18, 2012

Batman #5 has been a long time coming and the intensity has been building with each passing issue. The Court of Owls is still a mystery that Batman has yet to solve and us as readers are kept in the mystery, awaiting the finale. This is the best issue of the series thus far, and quite possibly, the best issue that DC has put out since the reboot.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2011) #7

Mar 26, 2012

Batman #7 is a strong enough issue that showcases properly the Court as a legitimate threat without repeating what's already been said. It's the perfect calm before the storm With the Bat-verse leading DC's first major cross-over, it's going to be a wild ride and I'm holding on the best way I can.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #8

Apr 18, 2012

Bruce fighting off the Court in just his night robe for the majority of the issue, shows you the fortitude this man possess. The Batcave is supposed to be his impenetrable fortress, but having the Court overwhelming Bruce, also displays their cunning and strength in numbers. With Snyder multitasking duties on books, you'd think he'd run thin eventually. Batman #8 proves that the best is yet to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2011) #9

May 8, 2012

While Batman #9 doesn't pack the punch of the previous issue, you can still feel the tension rise as Batman and company are in for the fight of their lives.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2011) #10

Jun 12, 2012

It's been almost a year since the relaunch of DC's publishing line, and Snyder was a good fit to lead the way and give this book a proper direction. Capullo is certainly a breakout star because of it, and the two work great together and have brought us something definitely new to Batman. I love the approach that there are certain things in the Batman mythology that are deemed unchangeable " well, Snyder here may have just laid a game-changer on us all.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2011) #11

Jul 10, 2012

Batman #11 gives its readers the finale to something nobody was really expecting: a year long arc that establishes not only a new villain, but a new premise about Gotham City. Bruce has been pushed to the edge and he still fights another day. It's a strong book and one certainly labeled a can't miss one to read. This might be the finale to "The Court of Owls," but it's not an end. Kudos, Team Batman. Kudos.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2011) #12

Aug 8, 2012

Issues like this are important in long runs like Snyder's and the rest of Team Batman. It gives a nice moment to get some air and enjoy a change of pace. Snyder has assured we'll see more of Harper, and hopefully that will happen soon. She's a great character to have around and was fun to read. I just can't wrap my head around the conflicting art contributions.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2011) #14

Nov 14, 2012

Team Batman is setting up a DC event here and the first steps always hit the hardest. With Batman #14 there's a sure sign that what lies ahead might be Bruce's hardest and most dangerous fight since he donned the cowl. Joker has never been this complicated, and possibly psychotic. Snyder definitely has something to prove with handling the first Joker story of the new DCU, but if this is where things start, this'll join the ranks of some of the great Bat stories ever written.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #16

Jan 15, 2013

It's hard to not sit back in awe after reading Batman #16. There's so much being thrown at you, but how Capullo constructs things, it's easy to swallow. It deserves another read the second after you finish it the first time, just to be sure you didn't miss anything. Possibly a third. Snyder and company have given us something comic fans will be talking about for years to come and possibly then some. Batman is often called the pinnacle of human perfection, and this issue gives the character and the legend justice.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2011) #22

Jul 15, 2013

Batman #22 is then topped off with another one of young Bruce's early adventures, done by James Tynion IV and Rafael Albuequerque. It goes into mild detail about Bruce's resourcefulness and cunning before heading back to Gotham with his quest in mind. The wispy colors of Dave McCaig give it a nice retro feel, too. The issue is bringing in all these characters and elements are showing us the early days of not just Bruce, but Gotham as well. Snyder writes Gotham at times like a living thing and here, that notion is still front and center. Stories like this is what the foundation of the New 52 should have been built upon, and it's about time we finally see something like this come to fruition.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2011) #33

Jul 28, 2014

Snyder gives Riddler and Batman a finisher worthy of the hype and wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2011) #36

Nov 17, 2014

Endgame, and especially in this issue, has already thrown in other homages to Batlore and that is hardly looking to end here. Endgame also has the potential to be one of the best Batman stories with a strong start thus far. Hopefully for Team Batman, it's executed well and doesn't seem more of just a "Hush" rehash, but something original and leads us down a path of the unknown.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2011) #41

Jun 9, 2015

With Batman #41 being the beginning of the changing of the guard, it's a testament of Batman's legacy not only as a character, but a symbol for criminals to live in fear of. It is comics after all, and nobody really stays dead, so this could be a phase, or this could be something long-term. In the end though, this is something different and strange, and something I'm ready to embrace.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman/Superman (2013) #1

Jun 26, 2013

Pak clearly has a vision in mind for these characters, and it would be great to see what he has in store down the line, especially aligning with a marquee name like Lee on board. We've seen how Superman works alone, how he works with this Justice League, and while the ending here feels sporadic, now we get a glimpse of what the future holds when he teams up with Batman. Here's hoping Batman/Superman packs more of a punch instead of the light slap later on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Catwoman (2011) #35

Oct 27, 2014

From cat suit to pants suit, Selina Kyle has got it going on. With some of the Batbooks recently aiming for a younger audience, Catwoman goes right in the opposite with a more "grown up" approach. This isn't really an issue about moments that move the story, but how Catwoman is presented. It's like Valentine and company have buried the previous installments and have started laying the ground work for a really nice mansion on top of it. Valentine's sensibilities give Selina the revitalization she was in desperate need of, and the start of something new that both new readers and longtime fans can embrace.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Catwoman (2011) #36

Dec 1, 2014

This really is a Selina Kyle book more than a Catwoman, but how long can they keep the two entities apart? Someone has already taken up the mantle of the Cat, but will Selina ever don it again? Well, we know she will eventually, but it's the build up that's been presented thus far that should keep you coming back. Catwoman hasn't forgotten its roots, but isn't afraid to do some replanting so new fruits can grow along the older vines. DC has had some shake-ups with other Bat-related books, and this might not have "bat" in the title, but it should be mentioned in the same breath as some of the best rebranding recently done.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Catwoman (2011) #40

Mar 26, 2015

If you haven't been following along, you might get lost along the way. It's sort of like being dropped in the middle of a really good Sopranos season. You know it's good, but if you go back and catch up, it becomes that much better.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Conan / Red Sonja #1

Jan 14, 2015

The biggest fault with Conan/Red Sonja is the ending. It just comes all of a sudden, and brakes on the pacing of the story pretty abruptly. Yeah, it gives you a reason to tune in for the next three installments, but it really doesn't the do the characters any favor. The duo come to an understanding and get in that one last snark with one another, and then eh. It's slightly cliche, and I expected slightly more with the marquee talents behind the script, but the issue as a whole is still a delight for the sword-and-sorcery crowd.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Courtney Crumrin #1

Apr 11, 2012

Courtney and her Night Things may have been out of our sight for a while, but she's coming back swinging to what could be her biggest adventure yet. Naifeh, while has been off doing other things, this is his world and where he shines the most. The best part is older fans of the series will feel right at home, and new readers can jump right in. As a long time fan, I hope you'll join me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Courtney Crumrin #3

Jun 28, 2012

As a fan of the Courtney Crumrin series, the fact that she is now in an ongoing is all the more better for my summer reading. However, this issue itself alludes back to certain events in previous books, and I could see where it might be hard for new readers to follow along. I had actually forgotten some elements of the third volume ("The Twilight Kingdom"), but it's great to see creator Ted Naifeh bring back some elements and characters from previous installments, even if for a moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Courtney Crumrin #4

Aug 2, 2012

Ted Naifeh has poured some serious work into these pages and mixed with Warren Wucinich's moody colors, it's gorgeous to admire. This whole collection can easily be described as the Empire Strikes Back of the series, as it ends one downer of a cliffhanger. Longtime fans of the series, consider this a warning to have some tissues ready at hand.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Courtney Crumrin #7

Nov 15, 2012

Ted Naifeh has always had a good eye for design for his creatures, and this issue is a primary example of the things rattling in his brain.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Courtney Crumrin #10

Mar 4, 2013

The final pages with Courtney and the Crumrin clan leaving Hillsbourough hits all the right notes and is something you would want from a final issue of a story. The very last page especially with Aloysius' ghost looking on from his home. It's haunting, yet comforting at the same time. Should Naifeh ever want to return to this world, he could, but from the sound of things Courtney's story has been told, and what a story it was.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Creator Owned Heroes #1

Jun 6, 2012

Something like this needed to be made a long time ago, but I'm more than thrilled we're getting to savor this now. In this day and age where the big two dominate the box office and the Diamond charts, Creator-Owned Heroes offers a slight reminder why we all fell in love with comics to begin with. It's worth much more than the cover price and I'm looking forward to what comes from this.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Creator Owned Heroes #2

Jul 5, 2012

It's difficult to catch lightning in a bottle twice in a row, but the guys over on this book know all the right moves.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Creator Owned Heroes #5

Oct 15, 2012

"I've been digging COH since day one, but I'd like to see something new and different from Palmiotti and Gray. They certainly know their audience and are great at these tales, but this book is all about taking chances. Let's see if they can liven up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Creepy Comics #16

Apr 11, 2014

Here we have a fine example of fun horror to downright classic gothic that shouldn't be missed by horror fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cyber Force #3

Feb 12, 2013

You have to hand it to Top Cow for asking the fans what they wanted and the fans responded loud and clear. While this issue might not be the absolute best to try to dive into, it's only the third issue in and since the first issue was free, I can't think of an adequate reason why new readers wouldn't want to try this one out.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Damsels #2

Sep 10, 2012

I'm keen to the idea of an action/fantasy story with a female perspective, more so if the idea is about the princess archetype being flipped on its head and calamity ensues from there. Yet Damsels leaves too many questions floating about and not enough intrigue for me to really invest more time in. Interesting concepts all around, but still, too much at once and nothing comes across as cohesive to really want to come back for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Danger Club #5

Apr 17, 2013

Fans of the likes of Avengers Academy, classic Titans, or even Avengers Arena might want to take a gander in Danger Club's direction. They might be teen sidekicks or heroes, but Walker and Jones don't tread lightly and go places you might not expect. As for the fans already reading, the cliffhanger might have been a great way of saving this spot in your pull boxes.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Daredevil (2014) #6

Jul 23, 2014

The thing about Daredevil #6 is that as a Daredevil nut, I liked it, yet it doesn't feel as strong as anything put before it. It's only been six issues (seven if you count the #1.5 issue) since the Marvel NOW! rebranding of the title and it feels like this issue is a mild jab to the shoulder compared to the strong right crosses to the face we've gotten so far. Waid and company haven't explored Matt's relationship with his mother and this could be a great time to do so, giving Waid new territory to explore under his direction, but I felt like this issue lacked the heart of the previous installments. Maybe we can find Matt's pulse next time around.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dark Corridor #1

Aug 6, 2015

Tomasso balances this retro crime feeling with his trademark indie sensibilities that distinguishes it from Image's other crime books in their roster.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
DC Comics: Bombshells #1

Aug 17, 2015

Bombshells is a win for both female characters and female creators, and that double victory is well worth celebrating. I know that this creative team isn't for the long run and it'll be switched out, but it's absolutely off to a grand start.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dead Body Road #1

Dec 11, 2013

As mentioned, Jordan has laid out the groundwork for what has the potential to be a great thriller and it looks great so far, but reads only mediocre so far. Dead Body Road has the ingredients to make a fine comic, but things need need to pick up some, otherwise readers could easily keep on driving after this first issue and past right by this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deadpool (2012) Annual #1

Dec 2, 2013

Deadpool fans are more than likely going to get this regardless, but for the casual Marvel fan, I want to recommend this to you as well. Deadpool's moral ambiguity aside, Acker and Blacker make this is a fun read that opens a lot about the character and gives him an almost compassionate side - even if your compassion is for somebody as psychotic as himself.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathmatch #2

Feb 4, 2013

It's hard not to love originality, even if the concept seems a tad redundant with similar products already out. Jenkins has the potential to really take Deathmatch anywhere it wants to go from here. It's the second issue in and you can see alliances form and the backstabbing begin, but the last panel is the real mystery of it all. If you're looking for over-the-top violence with and engaging story, check this one out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deathmatch #3

Feb 26, 2013

Deathmatch #3 isn't without flaws, but also not without its merits. The concept as a whole is captivating and with the last page being one hell of a doozy, it'll be interesting to see where Jenkins and company can go from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2011) #22

Jul 3, 2013

Detective Comics #22 might not have a lot of Wrath action in it as the cover might have promised, but what it does have is Layman still proving he's one of the best DC has to offer, with Fabok close behind. While this is just the beginning of something big, the unlimited potential is staggering. Be prepared.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dial H #15

Aug 13, 2013

As strong finales go, Dial H is given a proper send off and a vague conclusion that could lead to something later down the line with these characters. It's been an insane ride and definitely something different from the usual DC fanfare, if this was just a sample of what Miville has to offer for his Justice League issues, I could easily be down for that. True, this isn't the best issue to start with (what last issue really is?) but if you're looking for something bizarre, sci-fi heavy with a slice of super-heroics mixed in for good measure, go find the trades when they come out and hopefully you'll find the end just as satisfying.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Edge of Spider-Verse #1

Sep 10, 2014

It was weird to see what is usually a mini being condensed into a single issue. I wish there had been more time to explore certain things like where to Peter and Felicia stand now, Mary Jane and Peter's relationship as well, maybe more easter eggs and cameos. I love how Marvel started the event by going to the past first, and fans of the Noir-verse who have been seeking another round with Spidey will get their fix, even if it's just for a little while.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Empress #1

Apr 6, 2016

For the fans that loved the Buck Rogers homage that was Starlight, they might also love Millar's take on space adventures once more with Empress. Millar and his killer art team are out to give readers some good-old fashioned space adventures and intrigue, and this premiere issue definitely delivers the goods.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Five Ghosts #1

Mar 19, 2013

People looking for that next big thing, you might want to gaze this way. Five Ghosts has everything in it that a comic should have and then some. If you're wanting to try something a little different, but classic, check out this series pronto.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Five Ghosts #2

Apr 16, 2013

Five Ghosts is a rare bird these days that gives comic fans that old-fashioned adventure story without burdening the reader with diluted subplots and massive event-type stories that they can just dive right into and enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Five Weapons #1

Feb 27, 2013

Saying Five Weapons should not be missed is an understatement. For those readers that fell in love with the likes of the Harry Potter or The Hunger Games, or even anime fans, this comic should be right up your alley.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2011) #20

May 28, 2013

Buccellato's palette looks great on top of Manapul's inkwashed pages giving another layer of color and dimension from anything to skin tone to the Flash's costume to magnificent cityscapes. It all looks just so energetic and colorful, going with the theme of Barry's life somewhat getting back on track, but we all know his life is anything but slow and boring. Flash #20 was a great way to transition into this DC staple's world of super-science and mystery-solving. The creative team on this is one of the sharpest I've seen on any of the New 52 titles, and I hope things don't slow down from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash Gordon #1

Apr 9, 2014

With this being Shaner's first ongoing on his resume, I wish he was going to be on the book for the long haul but is currently scheduled for just the first four issues. Jeff Parker has a knack for bringing along some great underutilized talent to his books and everything seems pretty much in sync here for the most part. Where the book lacks is sort of where it acts as a crash course and gives the reader a lot of familiar faces to fans of Flash, but audiences who aren't as familiar might find themselves a tad confused with all the relationships within. Parker does throw some weight behind Dale Arden's character, as well as Flash's, but everybody else seems sort of left behind. It's nit-picky, but it holds it back from being perfection.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Frankenstein Alive, Alive! #1

May 8, 2012

This is obviously a labor of love for the two creators. I'm interested to see where they can take or possibly evolve the Monster's mythos and legend from here as it could go anywhere knowing the minds at work.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Fresh Romance #1

May 26, 2015

Three stories each with a unique take on love and romance in different eras and scenarios, but also a variety in characters across the board in race and sexual orientation. Readers have been wanting diversity in both of those, so combining them in Fresh Romance does just that and then some by making a romance comic feel contemporary and gives fans and readers something that feels familiar, but feels so groundbreaking at the same time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Future Quest #1

May 18, 2016

There's immense talent floating around these pages. Parker bringing ration and reason to former one-dimensional characters and having an art team that is a force all their own. Parker, Shaner, Rude and Bellaire are more than qualified in handling such a feat and it's a delight to see how this all comes together. DC has been needing some all-ages books that don't just cater to the elementary school crowd and Future Quest is that golden combination of story, skill, and heart that makes for a perfect read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns: Rebirth #1

Jun 1, 2016

Green Lanterns: Rebirth #1 is a solid, if somewhat wordy start that has unlimited potential to break through. While Simon Baz hasn't quite found his footing since his introduction, Jessica Cruz is the swift kick in the pants that this franchise needed, coming across as cool and contemporary without it feeling forced. Here's hoping the brightest days are yet to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Halloween Eve (One Shot) #1

Oct 15, 2012

The behind-the-scenes look at how certain characters evolved is fascinating. You can see that Montclare and Reeder really went into this with guns blazing and excited to make a comic that they wanted to do. I think that level of enthusiasm is sometimes lacking from creators going into certain projects. I just feel Reeder's art here only elevated this story so far and didn't quite mesh with Montclare's script. I think the main problem was that it's too condensed. Had this been a mini, it probably would have worked better giving the creative team a little more to expand on. Instead, we're given a box of raisins in our candy bowl. "

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2013) #0

Nov 20, 2013

Conner, Palmiotti, and Hardin have something fun planned (Harley's own words), and it will be good to see some actual fun in the DC Universe again. While Harley's habit of breaking the Fourth Wall was a one-time thing here to give the reader a feel of what the book is about, it's a near shame of the missed opportunities with the talent on board here that can't follow Harley into her ongoing.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
He-Man & The Masters of the Universe #1

Jul 5, 2012

I will give props to the art team here (all five members) as they carry the book and modernizes these almost 30-year-old characters, but even then, it's mediocre in the panel layouts and presentation. This book belongs in Snake Mountain's dungeon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
He-Man & The Masters of the Universe (2013) #2

May 20, 2013

Establishing Adora as a legitimate threat is a nice way to start this series off. With Skeletor out of the picture and Hordak on the horizon, it's a great way to give MoTU fans something they've never really seen before, even if we know how it all plays out in the end. He-Man and the Master of the Universe remedies what felt wrong with the other series and expands on the mythos and lore fans know and love.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
I Love Trouble #1

Dec 5, 2012

I Love Trouble has unlimited potential to be the next big thing. If you don't read comics, try to read this one. Symon's writing style has a TV flair to it, so it's easy to just dive in and enjoy. It's a crisp beginning for Symons and company and they've got me in for the long haul.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
I Love Trouble #3

Feb 11, 2013

More people should read this book. With Image having a renaissance of sort this past year, I Love Trouble is the epitome of superhero comics without limits. It can be clich at times, but I'm drawn in to where this leads. Symons and Robinson have a hit on their hands, I just hope readers catch on to what they've been missing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
I Love Trouble #4

Mar 7, 2013

This issue takes a bit of a swerve, but given Felicia Castro's life in general, I can't really say I'm surprised. Then again, originally I felt the last page came out of left field, but remembered a while back something like that might occur eventually, but to this extent.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
I Love Trouble #6

Aug 25, 2013

I Love Trouble had the potential to be a runaway hit, but something derailed the momentum and while Felicia leaves us burning down the house, but it should have been more of a straight up explosion, leaving her mark on comicdom. It's a shame Robinson wasn't here in the finale, but Team Trouble prevailed and I'd like to see Felicia and her world again down the line.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Invincible #89

Feb 29, 2012

Invincible is one of those books that are my go-to for recommending to new readers that want to get into comics. It's the perfect book for that. While I might have skipped an issue here and there, this one needs to be added again to my pullbox soon enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Invincible #100

Jan 29, 2013

While Invincible #100 might not be the issue fans were expecting, it does continue the tradition of being one of most solid superhero titles out there outside of the Big Two. There's a huge chunk of this issue that could have been trimmed, but any indie book that reaches this milestone always gives reason to celebrate.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Iron Fist: The Living Weapon #1

Apr 9, 2014

Now I'm sure the devil is in the details and more will be revealed later on, but as the first step into this new direction, yeah, it's ballsy, but something I'm really not sure about just yet. Andrews' certainly has a grasp for the tight, action-packed scenarios and gives something for the reader to latch on to, but without a stronger narrative, I think they might start to slip.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
It Girl and The Atomics #8

Mar 25, 2013

It Girls and The Atomics #8 is a fun issue and even if you're not sure where to start, this right here is a good enough place. Rich and Norton gives strong visuals and easily understood for new readers. It's good old-fashioned fun and something comics needs to push more of into the market.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
It Girl and The Atomics #10

May 20, 2013

It Girl and the Atomics and its title might give the impression of a superhero team in the same vein as a Fantastic Four or even Teen Titans type of book, but what they'll find is still a great story with comedic characters but still having an edge to them.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
It Girl and The Atomics #12

Jul 30, 2013

With this being the last issue, one can hope that while Rich and company may have closed the door for now, that they also cracked a window just in case they needed to come back in for a visit. It Girl and the Atomics was a fresh concept on an older, established, and to some probably unfamiliar, property but was made accessible to old and new readers alike. Cheers to you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jade Street Protection Services #1

Jun 29, 2016

Jade Street Protection Services stands out for a few reasons in the sea of releases, even outside of its fantastic diverse characters, it builds up this world just right and wants you to keep coming back and actually gives you a reason to. JSPS succeeds where a lot of these comics fail giving a lot of time with the main cast and really fleshing them out. True, that action of the issue doesn't come til near the end, but it gives you a strong first bite with an incentive to get eating.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Jem and the Holograms #1

Mar 24, 2015

IDW's Jem and the Holograms isn't looking to reinvent Jem's sound, but give it a well-rounded remastering. The bits of the origin are all there and some of the pieces are falling into place. Thompson and Campbell are on their way for this to join IDW's other Hasbro-related comics in being one of the books to pick up for young female readers, but there needs to be some slight tuning before that happens. While it's a solid introduction, or reintroduction in some cases I'm sure, but there's a missing element or note that fails to spark a bigger applause. Surely once the Misfits (possibly the Stingers?) come along and add more of a clashing element, it'll pick up. They've mentioned a few other changes along the way, and I look to see how Team Jem make their footprint in this beloved universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Jupiter's Circle #1

Mar 18, 2015

Jupiter's Circle is far from revolutionary and acts more as a TV pilot than a debut issue. The characters are all named in passing, but the history has yet to be written and it's not exactly the easiest to approach, so it's hard to feel for all of them. Torres' superb rendering and even how he handles some likenesses of celebrities of the time are where the charm lies here. Millar does deliver some good dialog along the way, especially between Blue-Bolt and a certain Hollywood starlet, but everything else just feels out of reach to fully enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League Dark #28

Feb 26, 2014

Forever Evil is near the end and things aren't really looking up for the JLD here, especially with a cameo from a certain spirit of redemption rearing his green-cowled head soon. DC has a long tradition of supernatural and arcane characters and it's great to know they have a title that is all of their own, especially for fans like myself, but the artistic direction here isn't all that magical.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League United #1

May 14, 2014

Justice League United #1 had the potential to shed a little light in the DCU, but instead feels more like the same ole same ole. There is potential to be had for sure, but if, going in, you’re expecting something new and different, you'll be disappointed. It's beautiful looking, but fans of Lemire's usual wit and heart (which lured me in) will barely find it within these pages. Hopefully Team JLU will find its way sooner or later because I want to have fun with this team. Lemire can strike gold if he wants, but right now he's missing the ore completely.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Kaijumax #1

Mar 10, 2015

It's a monster book for all ages and Cannon's cartoony style doesn't slack on the action or emotion of these creatures. He's added a sympathetic tone to the monsters here, which is a nice spin instead of them assaulting the world just because they can. Kaijumax is perfect for those looking to get something for a little monster of their own, or for the kaiju fan who doesn't feel like waiting for Pacific Rim 2.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lumberjanes #1

Apr 8, 2014

The thing about Lumberjanes is that it on first appearance, it doesn't look like it could be just for anyone. Sad thing is, that couldn't be further from the truth. Fans of Buffy to Adventure Time will enjoy this flat-out fun and entertaining issue with an awesome quick peek inside this world. Honestly, this title has the potential to be a new favorite cult hit. While it may have some elements of more established material, it's definitely its own thing with its own voice. I think if readers who occasionally wander outside their norm would pick this up, they might have a surprisingly good time. Stevenson, Ellis, Allen, and Laiho definitely deserve their merit badge for having me want more from this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Magdalena #10

Dec 19, 2011

I trust in Marz to deliver a solid execution in the end, but the ball started to roll so slowly. And while Blake's art did the job, I know he's capable of being more dynamic. I'd actually like to see Marquez have some fun and let loose for a bit. I'll definitely be on board for the next issue as there will be two of Top Cow's finest heroines team up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Magdalena #12

May 22, 2012

Magdalena might not be the Cow's top character, but ever since Artifacts she's certainly come out of the shadow of bigger names and made a name for herself to newer fans of that universe. While this issue isn't exactly a great place to start for the whole story, you can get a sense of who Patience is as a character. If you're looking for something supernatural to add to your pull box, give Magdalena a peek.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Marvel Knights: Hulk #1

Dec 11, 2013

I'm not the world's biggest Hulk reader, but enjoy the mythology and looking for something I could just dive into without worrying about feeling lost or overwhelmed. It might feel short on material compared to recent Marvel Knights additions, but I like Keatinge's direction here: basic Hulk, but still manages to be entertaining without going too deep in Hulk mythos. The intro is reels you in and doesn't waste anytime getting to the action. The hook is set with this minimal approach and one can only imagine what happens with Hulk finally does show up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #0

Jan 12, 2016

Mighty Morphin Power Rangers #0 doesn't break the wheel as it tries to reinvent it. It's a contemporary take without being considered "dark" or "gritty" like that fan film last year. Higgins and Prasetya take into consideration what fans appreciate about the series and leaves the cheese behind, but still hang on to what Ranger fans know and love about these teens with attitude.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #1

Mar 1, 2016

Mighty Morphin Power Rangers #1 brings the Rangers back to action and if this is the true starting point of the series, die hard Ranger fans will get exactly what they've been clamoring for for years: a reboot that's smart, accessible, and doesn't let go of what made us fans in the first place.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Moon Knight (2014) #3

May 12, 2014

Moon Knight #3 continues to have me hooked but it still leaves me wanting more, but in the wrong way. I feel like Ellis is trying to establish who Moon Knight/Marc Spector in the Marvel universe, but the story doesn't feel having been progressing at all. Shalvey and Bellaire's art is worth the price of admission alone, but don't be surprised if you find the show a little too short and without a post-credit stinger.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Morning Glories #18

May 9, 2012

From Spencer's consistent world-building and adding more mystique to the story, to Eisma's quiet depiction of a love-making scene, the emotion is running strong and Morning Glories fans are sure to be pleased, but newer readers may want to stay away from this issue for now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #1

Nov 28, 2012

The biggest fear adult fans are probably having is whether or not they'll "get" it. Is this geared towards them or the younger audiences? Simply put: both. Much like the nature of the show, it has comic sensibilities for the young and young at heart. Yes, there are mentions to other pop culture staples in here, but doesn't go overboard with them. Cook has made this first issue accessible to all sorts of readers. It's fun, magical, and captures your imagination. While I do think non-fans of the series would be a tad confused on who's who, fans of the show will love this to pieces, and with good reason.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #8

Jun 17, 2013

My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #8 is a satisfying end to the arc, but I'm already anticipating what Cook and Price come up with for the next few months to come. I'd like to see Mebberson come back eventually down the line, but hopefully something that plays to her strengths a tad more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
ODY-C #1

Dec 1, 2014

ODY-C is far from boring or unentertaining, and definitely fills the void that Saga fans might be looking to fill for their hard sci-fi needs while it's on hiatus. There are some parts that stick with you after you've put it down, but some might want to do an instant re-read just to be sure they've got it all, because there is a lot going on here. Fraction has proven himself a marquee name in recent years, but ODY-C gives him a chance to show off a newer, different and unproven side of his creativity.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Peter Cannon: Thunderbolt #1

Sep 10, 2012

I'm always on the hunt for new books to whet my appetite and Dynamite hit the spot with this one. Darnell and Ross hopefully have great things in mind planned for Mr. Cannon, and let's see where they can take us from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Punisher (2016) #1

May 4, 2016

There's absolutely room to grow and improve here. While you have to admire some of the dialog, as cliche it might be in some places, it might go over the head of some readers who are uninitiated with what exactly a Walsh Trophy is (it's a Marine Pistol Championship badge), even though it's that level of attention to Castle's other life that makes this feel so tangible. Cloonan, Dillon and Martin have given Castle another day to punish those who have it coming. It will be interesting to see how long Punisher is treated as this silent killer. A man void of heavy narration or guilt, but calculating and precise in how he chooses to end his victims. It's a bold choice that I'm sure the art team will get a lot of milage out of.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rat Queens #5

Feb 26, 2014

As mentioned, there can't be enough praise about Upchurch here. He's not only given each Rat Queen her own distinguishing look, but also goes along well with their voice and expressions, which are on a Kevin Maguire sort of level. Betty's smirk to Dee's eyebrow raising, everyone feels real here and it's a wonder why this book doesn't have a bigger following. True, despite Upchurch's animated look to this world and characters, it's far from an all-ages title, but fantasy fans looking for something fun and different from cape escapades should hunt down Rat Queens #5. It's a perfect jumping-on point for this rowdy and surprisingly touching book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rat Queens #6

May 7, 2014

With its certain style of R-rated antics and, at times, extreme violence, Rat Queens obviously isn't for everybody. Wiebe's writing style is both hysterical and entertaining, and while it might be weird to see a contemporary vernacular used in such a grand, fantastic setting, it's all part of the book's charm and appeal. I was certainly late to the game coming into this title, but I hope you don't make that same mistake.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Reed Gunther #10

Jun 19, 2012

There's just something about this book that's been hard to explain to other readers I've tried to get them reading. It's just old-fashioned fun. In a market with a lot of grim and gritty expressions and world-ending scenarios, Reed Gunther is like a smile that greets you in your pullbox. Sadly, there is a letter written by Houghton's that explains that this could be the end for a long while. So soak up what you can, and seek out the other issues for a ride I'm sure you'll enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rocket Raccoon #1

Jul 2, 2014

It might seem a little offbeat at first, but since the beginning Young has promised the series will be weird fun, and if this issue is any indication of things down the line, I say he's fulfilled that promise. Rocket Raccoon is PG-rated fun for anybody looking for something different without having to worry about accessibility or following tie-ins. Skottie Young deserves a 21-gun salute for pulling off what would have seemed like the impossible, or maybe just a firing of one really big gun.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #1

Mar 13, 2012

With 44 pages and no ads and $2.99 pricetag, it's more than a steal; it's almost a crime if you don't pick it up. 2012 is almost a quarter done, but I'm certain that Saga #1 has already established itself as one of the best comics to have come out thus far. I predict this will rocket Staples to the top of the art scene, and usher in new readers for those who haven't been introduced to Vaughan's work already.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Saga #2

Apr 10, 2012

Saga continues to weave it's magic on me and captivate me with far-out world, and monstrous creations. Honestly, if you haven't picked this up by now, you're more than just missing out"you're denying yourself a book that demonstrates the beauty of what the comic book medium can present to its audience.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #3

May 15, 2012

Saga is one of the books that has supercharged the comic market. In so little time, it's become one of my favorite books of the year, and the only limit is Vaughan's creativity. By the rare chance you aren't reading this, you are missing out on what is simply a must-read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #4

Jun 20, 2012

Saga #4 proves that this book has only really just begun telling its story, and with the pace it's keeping, it is surely one book not to be missed. Vaughan and Staples are quite the duo and bring to you a story of compassion, mystery, enchantment, teenage ghosts, anti-hero freelance mercenaries, and prostitutes that are just heads and legs. Thanks, comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Saga #5

Jul 23, 2012

I am not sure how many times I can express how good Saga is without overly gushing about it. It's completely enchanted me and to wait for the next installments are always a chore, but it's one of the best books on the market and one of the most original I've read in a long, long time. Saga sports some solid storytelling, great characters and visuals that stay with you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #7

Nov 14, 2012

Saga is a rare kind of book these days with rich, imaginative worlds and solid character development. The pacing hasn't let up and yet there is still so much left to explore in this universe. Here's hoping there isn't another delay in the near future. My sanity almost depends on it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #9

Jan 15, 2013

This book continues to wow me and while the main characters are nowhere to be seen except a brief mention, the so-called antagonists of the series carry the title well and hope to see more of their involvement down the line. Saga is the book to not miss out on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Saga #12

Apr 9, 2013

Some fans might write off this issue as filler, but the content itself is what the series as a whole is all about. Sure, it doesn't have the same impact others might have had, but the message is still clear: Prince Robot is out for blood.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Saga #14

Sep 25, 2013

I'm really not quite sure how long Vaughan plans on dragging out the flashback sequence since Prince Robot is on his way, but since we've already seen his POV back in Issue #12, it'll be interesting to see what happens next. While Saga doesn't have the momentum it had last year, it's anything but slowing down.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Scooby Apocalypse #1

May 24, 2016

Scooby Apocalypse was probably the most controversial of the Hanna-Barbera line when it was announced, as it just comes across as dated. It might have worked a decade ago right as steampunk is passe today, but there is something here that could be molded into actually something good. The last page had me excited for what the creators have in store, but it felt like a chore to get to the best part. That's not how a debut issue should work, and with the marquee names behind this, one would expect more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Secret Avengers (2014) #1

Mar 12, 2014

Secret Avengers is a book that has evolved from super serious, in-the-shadows, superhero warfare, to the more action-comedy we're presented with here. Kot does his best to stray away from a possible Hawkeye Team-Up vibe and maintains the course that is a team book with each character playing their supposed part. While it might be too soon for a relaunch (again), Kot and company did not waste anytime jumping back into serious action and serious fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Severed #6

Jan 12, 2012

There's masterful visuals that are as sharp as the Saleman's teeth, which keep the tension high and the blood pumping until you've reached the last page that will keep you edge waiting the next installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shinku #5

Oct 22, 2012

Shinku #5 is not really a good jumping on point, per se, but if you dig it, I say go back and check out the previous issues. But if the showdown between Shinku and a ton of vampire goons and Asano doesn't sell it for you, you have my sympathy. I think Shinku is a book that comes along that mixes genres together to create something shiny and new.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Skyward #5

Jan 27, 2014

Skyward fills the void in the market of a great fantasy comic with distinguishing characters and has an all-ages approach that doesn't feel like he's dumbing things down for his older readers. Fans of Avatar: The Last Airbender and Mike Weiringo's Tellos should definitely give this book a try, but I wouldn't necessarily recommend with this issue as your starting point.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Starlight #1

Mar 10, 2014

Millar and Parlov's portrait of Starlight is an easy one to grasp. It feels accessible and reads like a charm. Definitely a departure from Millar's recent hard sci-fi Jupiter's Legacy and pretty much world's apart from his ultraviolent works, Starlight is for fans hungering for a throwback adventure story, and for those who know that Millar is capable of delivering more than just twisted spins on superhero stories. Should Millar and Parlov keep this up, this book could be the next big hit for Image and given the impressive start, I don't know how it couldn't be.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Strayer #1

Jan 27, 2016

Strayer isn't weak, per se, but lacks a certain something that makes it the best book it could have been. The presentation and the visuals are there, as well as a well-defined story, but there's one or two key elements that needed to be injected to make you actually care about the characters instead of just following along.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Supergirl: Being Super #1

Jan 3, 2017

There's unlimited potential here for this four-part series that showcases the combined talent of Tamaki and Jones is a force to reckon with, but let's hope we don't lose focus on something more exciting in the meantime.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superior Foes of Spider-Man #12

Jun 9, 2014

I hear that this book isn't doing so well, which is a shame as it's probably one of the best books that the House of Ideas has on the shelves right now. In the same vein as Fraction's Hawkeye or Kot's Secret Avengers, Superior Foes of Spider-Man is a great balance of Marvel lore, villainy, and comedy. The characters, while even in grand costumes and super-powered, are still just grounded crooks looking for that big score who don't play well together. This book, and issue, come with a large recommendation. Unless you don't like fun. If that's the case, you're probably not reading it anyways.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Swamp Thing (2011) #7

Mar 6, 2012

If you've been wondering about getting into Swamp Thing but not exactly sure where to start, I say at the very least try here. The one flaw here is that it's all set up for the things to come, but you get the gist of what's going on and what's at stake. Snyder hasn't compromised the character's history, but condensed it to make it more tangible for readers unfamiliar with the Swampy universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Swamp Thing (2011) #8

Apr 4, 2012

Swamp Thing has been a great book thus far, but it seems almost a little dragged out at this point. This is a solid issue, but I feel that the last issue and this issue could have been a single issue. Now, the cliffhanger in this one gives an inkling that things could be wrapped up nicely in the next issue, but I doubt it. Then again, we've gotten so accustomed to 3-4 issue arcs, maybe one nice elongated run to things will spice things up and allow the story to breathe accordingly.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Black Beetle #1

Jan 16, 2013

Any pulp and classic noir fan will tell you, there are only a handful of books out on the market that really do the job. An original concept like The Black Beetle will surely give fans of the genre something to cheer for. It's been a long time coming for this title and it was worth the wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Sandman Overture #1

Oct 30, 2013

As a fan of the older series, I really like the vibe Gaiman and Williams are throwing out. The addition to original letterer Todd Klein is also a big win in my book. I think it's the coolest thing ever that there are new Sandman stories for a whole new generation that can serve as both a refresher's course for fans like me and sort of kiddie pool introduction for long-time comic readers who have been curious for years about the series and new readers who are looking for their niche in what they want out of their comics. Years ago this title broke the mold of what comics could do and tell visually, and with this sequel things are off to a great start. The last double-page spread is something I'd never thought imaginable, yet Gaiman has conceived a notion and added a new dimension to the Sandman character that has made this title a must-read for the year.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Shadow: Year One #1

Feb 20, 2013

Fans of Dynamite's Shadow ongoing series will want to check this out, even if they know the story; and it's also a good place to start for readers who know the character only from the Alec Baldwin movie and might be curious. While The Shadow: Year One doesn't give you all the answers you might want right away, it does give a good idea of the things to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Sheriff Of Babylon #1

Dec 2, 2015

Sheriff of Babylon isn't your usual Vertigo flare, but with the brand looking to redefine itself in the coming years, it works as a fine example of a creative team showing readers the best of what they've got. Wartime stories are usually reserved for the likes of the Cold War or WW II, but with the more contemporary setting, it's time for audiences to be treated to a whole new side these kind of stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Strange Talent of Luther Strode #4

Jan 10, 2012

I'm really looking forward to how things unfold, but this seems like it should have been maybe an issue ago as the halfway point. There are still some intense moments, but the payoff seems weird. Jordan and Moore have established a great story so far and I'm eager to see how it ends and I'm sure it won't be an easy clean up, but after this issue they really have to turn things up to 11.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #3

Mar 18, 2015

If you haven't figured it out by now, The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl is perfect book for any younger reader and for Marvel fans who might want a dose of light-hearted fun (there's that word again), but it's also shining a light on one of Marvel's more off-beat characters and giving her a platform to do some serious heriocs and giving us a few laughs in the process.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Unwritten Vol. 2: Apocalypse #1

Jan 27, 2014

As per usual, The Unwritten: Apocalypse answers some questions but then proceeds to ask a few more along the way. Carey and Gross are in top form here as they give fans, old and new, a reason to come back to this world they've created as well as a reason to want to turn the next page on this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Thor (2014) #1

Oct 1, 2014

The big issue some might have with Thor #1 is that it doesn't really deliver the big change until it's almost time to roll credits. True, there is still a mystery afoot on who exactly is the new wielder of Ye Ole Mjolnir, but hopefully that is enough to keep the readers on board who were all ready for the Goddess to come out swinging. Aaron and Dauterman have so much set up here, and surely has the bases pre-emptively loaded, we just need the new Thor to hit one out of the park.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Thor (2014) Annual #1

Mar 2, 2015

The new Thor Annual comes at a $5 stamp on the cover so I feel like it's only really intended for heavy duty Thor fans, as it's far from a must buy. It does give you non-canonical takes on the character and his/her legacy, but without any extra pages, that $5 seems even hefty and better off spent towards something you're really passionate about.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Tomorrowland #1

Apr 9, 2013

It's a shame really as their style could have really told a great story visually, but a lot the layouts just don't make sense. If they could learn a bit about crowd control, that could elevate the pages some, but that's if and only if. Fans of the festival might want to check this one out just for support, but even fans of Jenkins will more than likely steer clear.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Trillium #1

Aug 7, 2013

Trillium is hard sci-fi at its finest. While Lemire has dabbled with sci-fi elements before with Sweet Tooth, but this is on a whole new level. The run is only intended to be ten issues, but with what Lemire has laid out so far, I could only hope for a bit more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Venom: Space Knight #1

Nov 24, 2015

Venom: Space Knight is a fun offering from one of Marvel's newest titles, but not exactly one of the strongest. While there are little in the way of consequences for this light popcorn action, Thompson and Olivetti have this Space Hero business down to a T. Hopefully with Flash's new robot sidekick and his intergalactic sense of purpose, this creative team can flesh this out to something truly unique. This book is ready to launch, so let's see how high it goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Voltron #1

Dec 12, 2011

All the pieces are there for this book to be a solid hit, but I found the art to be not on par with the rest of the issue. The script sets something up that we've never seen concerning the Voltron universe. I'm going to hang around more issues because there is that other level to the Voltron mythos and I want to see where the story takes me and the super force of space explorers, specially trained, and sent by the Galaxy Alliance to defeat any threat to the universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Wheel of Time #29

Sep 10, 2012

One has to wonder how things are going to get when the more battle-heavy issues come around. We still haven't made it to the Eye of the World yet, and I hope the art team is up to the challenge to do the story justice. Dixon is doing a bang-up job, let's see what happens when you pair him with a worthy visual storyteller.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Wheel of Time #32

Jan 29, 2013

Most of the time, the characters look stiff and boarded and just at unease. Especially Mat, who, even though is still sick from the dagger he picked up, was still pretty jovial and a bit looser. While they did get the job done technically, a small list was running through my mind on who could have handled this a bit better.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Witchblade #151

Jan 5, 2012

The story's direction isn't bad, but it feels overcomplicated, like a completed puzzle that still has a few extra pieces. Bernard's art, though, is top notch. It's still weird to see Sara in this light again, but his attention to detail is strong and Sara's new world looks pretty good. I know it will probably take a while for Seeley to find Sara's groove, but this wasn't the first impression I had wanted.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Witchblade #170

Oct 29, 2013

Now on the big question: can you just pick up and the book and start here? Well, yes, you very much can. Marz has made this a pretty good jumping on point for fans how have been Top Cow curious. As I mentioned, the side characters are there, but not really explored but you get the gist of their relationship with Sara within this setting. It's definitely a new beginning for the Witchblade world and I'm ready to see where things go.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Witchblade #185

Nov 24, 2015

Witchblade #185 unfortunately isn't the strongest finale, but what a run overall. Sara Pezzini is one of modern comics' biggest success stories, ushering in a wave of fans that helped put Top Cow on the map. Her story as the Witchblade might have ended here, but it's just a matter of time before we check in with her again, hopefully. Maybe that time around, she'll have everything she wanted, much like how she gave her devoted fans everything they wanted.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wytches #1

Sep 16, 2014

Fans of Snyder's other horror book Severed might be attracted to this more than his American Vampire readers. It's a slice of Americana and family life through a nightmarish filter. True, Wytches makes no bones about being a legit horror comic in the vein as the 1950s EC books, but there's still a family element to it that gives this comic an even more grounded approach. And that might be the most frightening thing about it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Zero #6

Mar 19, 2014

The thing I've been digging about Zero the most is that it truly is unlike any book out there right now, visually or otherwise. The minimalist cast is intriguing, too, as that's far from anything as well. Kot has time to dedicate to each character, giving them their own distinct personality and voice, and not have to worry about cramming in another eight or nine characters per scene. Though this issue isn't exactly a strong jumping-on point, there's still time to catch up and enjoy some visual feasts as well as seeing a star in the making with Kot.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More