Robert Struble's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Watch, Shoot The Breeze Comics Reviews: 93
7.2Avg. Review Rating

9.5
Batman: Lost #1

Nov 15, 2017

Snyder, Tynion, and Williamson craft an amazing story drawing from almost a century of Batman stories to take us into Bruce Waynes darkest nightmare. Its a story about losing all hope which is the running theme in the Dark Nights Metal story. Its engaging and horrific all at the same time. But if youre not up to your Batman lore, have an internet search site handy.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman: The Devastator #1

Nov 3, 2017

Its worth a read (to get the complete story), but dont get your hopes up. Batman: the Devastator is by far the weakest of the Metal one-shots. The art is amazing, but it doesnt fit the subject matter and the story itself jumps around too much, preventing itself from really reaching that fever pitch the other books have managed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Who Laughs #1

Nov 23, 2017

Metal can do no wrong. Weve been waiting for months to find out how the Batman Who Laughs came to be and this issue doesnt disappoint. It may feel a little rushed at times, but the issue does the trick. The Batman Who Laughs may be one of the most terrifying villains ever and his origin is the best yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Cable (2017) #1

Jul 3, 2017

I want to give this one a higher rating. I really do. I'm looking forward to the rest of the series, but I think for a premier issue"there just wasn't enough happening here. Not enough hints dropped. Not enough development.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Cable (2017) #2

Jul 3, 2017

I want to like this issue. I really do. But I do read comics for the story and right now, we're not getting much. The art is awesome, but we're no different now than we were at the start of issue #1. It's a little frustrating. I haven't given up hope (get it? Hope?) but issue #3 better give me more than just Cable kicking ass.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Cable (2017) #3

Jul 30, 2017

I was pleased with this issuebut not entirely blown away. Im hoping were moving in the right direction. This one is a definite improvement over the previous two, even if the wings on the soldiers were silly. But Conquest??? Really?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Cable (2017) #4

Aug 27, 2017

Admittedly, this one has a bunch of Cable being Cable. So if you dont care for Cable, you probably wont enjoy this book, no matter how much I did. But lets face ithe takes on about 20 guys on horseback with futuristic weaponsand kicks their collective behinds. Its a fun romp and while its not a terribly deep story, its fun seeing Cable back. Still, I wouldve given it a higher score if this didnt feel so 1990s.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Cable (2017) #151

Dec 17, 2017

Brisson is clearly a fan of X-Men comics as he draws from the last three decades of X-Men and X-Force comics for his story, but it still feels unnatural and forced. It's like taking a trip down memory lane but just being given snippets that make almost no sense out of context. It's fun and all, but it's missing that real "wow" factor.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Cable (2017) #152

Jan 2, 2018

Brisson flounders a bit as he breaks a cardinal rule of stories involving time travel. And still no Blink! The story itself is fun but as a whole, it lowers the overall quality of the arc. Cable may be on his last leg unless we can get something amazing next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Cable (2017) #153

Jan 16, 2018

It's a decent enough issue, and better than the last one, but if you're a fan of either Selene or Blink, you'll be disappointed. Already reading Cable? Might as well pick this one up. But if you haven't started? Probably best to skip it.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Cable (2017) #154

Mar 1, 2018

The 90s werent all great and while Brisson started out giving us some great nostalgia, he ends up reminding us what was wrong with the 90s. Its an action-packed episode that leaves more questions than answers and ultimately feels like a wasted opportunity.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cable (2017) #155

Apr 2, 2018

A new creative team brings back the Cable we all know and love! Cable and Hope are together again and its definitely a story Cable fans wont want to pass up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cable (2017) #156

May 7, 2018

Nadler and Thompson continues what is turning out to be one of my favorite Cable stories as they offer what is possibly the most human version of the future mutant soldier.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Cable (2017) #157

Jun 2, 2018

Despite a fun glimpse into the past, future, and alternate realities, this entry into the newest Cable arc feels a little bland. Maybe Nadler and Thompson should focus more than a single issue during each time period.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cable (2017) #158

Jun 27, 2018

Nadler and Thompson toss us in a time machine, taking us back to 1991 and, for many of us, our childhood, revisiting one of the teams that made the 90s so memorable. Its a fun book, with tons of nostalgia, and a great chapter in this arc. Ill definitely be sad to see them go!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Cable (2017) #159

Jul 26, 2018

Its not often you find a writer (or writers in this case) that tell a more human story of Cable thats not all guns-a-blazing shoot everybody, talk tough with a cigar hanging from his mouth, but thats exactly what Thompson and Nadler have done here. Im sorry to see this creative team go as this was one of the best Cable stories Ive read in years.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Cyber Force (2018) #5

Sep 12, 2018

Its a bit of a mixed bag with a book that has some outstanding art but the storytelling is difficult to follow. Its got some room for improvement but Im liking the direction of this series so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Cyber Force (2018) #6

Oct 4, 2018

This new Cyber Force is really taking off as the team is starting to come together. Its a bit of a letdown art wise, but the story and colors more than makeup for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Damage #1

Mar 18, 2018

The perfect way to bring back a franchise. Transformers Generation One is an amazing story, revitalizing the Transformer name, giving us the best of good versus evil and the best of both Optimus Prime and Megatron. Forget what you remember from the old comics. This one is truly more than meets the eye!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Dark Knights Rising: The Wild Hunt #1

Feb 21, 2018

Grant Morrison joins in on a book that may be labeled as a tie-in but is more essential reading and therein lies the problem. Its pretty standard for Morrisons craziness but his style of writing does not fit with the tone of the rest of the Metal series. If youre a die-hard Metal fan, youll read it regardless, but you may regret your time and money spent on this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dark Nights: Metal #4

Dec 29, 2017

All hope seems lost, and even though we're far from over, Snyder gives us that glimmer of hope, that small sense that all is not gone, that the heroes will win. It's a wonderful issue, with some odd choices from the pantheon of DC villains, but they don't distract much. We get a glimpse into how the rest of the DC Universe is handling the crisis on Earth and we get a lot more from Dream!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Dark Nights: Metal #5

Feb 7, 2018

Its your standard set-up piece, designed to get everything in motion for the grand finale. But unfortunately, its nothing more than that. No real revelations, no real shock, nothing that weve come to expect from the Metal series. Its a good book, but if youve been a big fan of the rest of the series, you might find yourself wondering is that it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dark Nights: Metal #6

Apr 5, 2018

Snyder and Capullo deliver an outstanding finish to one of the biggest events in recent memory. Its an amazing story and (for once) filled with hope for our heroes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Firefly (2018) #1

Nov 22, 2018

I normally dont enjoy comic books based on TV shows or movies. Typically they lack the feel of the source material, lack the magic. But Greg Pak on Firefly has definitely changed my mind! It feels like the show in all the ways that matter and he has done Joss Whedon proud.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2016) #26

Aug 10, 2017

Theres nothing new with this issue. Its decent enough, but weve seen this done before. Hard to say if Hitch will do it better than writers before him, but for now, this issue just felt a little flat to me. Still, the pacing was good, and some of the scenes were fantastic, so its worth a read. Just dont expect to be blown away.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Justice League (2016) #27

Aug 18, 2017

I already dont like the Junior League. Im seriously unimpressed with Hitchs storytelling here. Im hoping it gets interesting, because I think theres something going on with Hunter and hes the only one I really care about at this point (which is odd because Wonder Woman and Superman were never my favorite of DCs heroes). If I werent stubborn, this book would be enough to make me stop Justice League. But I know they all have bad issues and bad arcs. Im just hoping this isnt indicative of whats to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Justice League (2016) #28

Sep 6, 2017

After such a great ending to last issue, I expected to finally get more. But instead we get just talking. And talking. And more talking. There are ways to balance out action and dialogue and to move the story along, but this just fails at it. And that cover. Oh, that cover! Still, we get some build-up, so this story wasnt a complete loss.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2016) #29

Sep 21, 2017

Its a step above what came before. And while still has its major flaws, this is the first exciting issue of this arc. The first one thats kept me wanting more. And now Sovereign, the best part of #26, is poised to make an entrance with most of the League incapacitated. For the first time, Im eagerly awaiting the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2016) #30

Oct 6, 2017

Just like last issue, Im left actually wanting to read the next book, eagerly awaiting Wednesday in two more weeks. The action is enjoyable, some of the twists are fun to see, and the drama between Aquaborg and family, especially where Sovereign is concerned, is intriguing. It wasnt a mindblowing issue, but considering what Hitch has cranked out so far, this was above the rest.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2016) #32

Nov 4, 2017

Could've been stronger. Made some missteps. All in all, a slightly above average book. If youre not already reading Dark Nights Metal, you can skip it, but if youre a fan of all things Metal, then this book is definitely worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2016) #33

Nov 25, 2017

An enjoyable read, but I can only really recommend this if youre either already reading Justice League (and, like me, too stubborn to put it down), a fan of all things Metal, or a fan of Cyborg. If you werent reading Justice League before now, this one probably wont be enough to make you start.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Justice League (2016) #34

Jan 29, 2018

A fairly uninteresting story does not bode well for Priests first arc. Ill give it a chance but if I werent so stubborn, Id be dropping this title from my pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2016) #35

Feb 1, 2018

While I understand and can appreciate Priests desire to give us a story more grounded in reality and more personal than weve seen for a while, this one isnt working so far. The overall theme of the arc is still not working as a believable story. Still, some of the character development is nice and so its worth a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2016) #36

Feb 2, 2018

After two lackluster issues, Priest finally starts to show us what his mark will be. He tackles a topic thats been done before, but possibly not with as much depth and Justice League is finally getting interesting!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #37

Feb 4, 2018

Priests run has taken shape and Im liking what Im seeing. Still room for improvement, but the commentary on celebrities is great to read and for the first time in a long time, Im looking forward to the next Justice League issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Justice League (2016) #38

Feb 18, 2018

Just as Priest seemed to be moving forward, we take a giant hit as Priest takes us back to the same problems I have with the first issue of this run. The art is good, we get some nice development from Cyborg, and some great monologuing from the Flash, but ultimately, this issue feels like every bit of improvement over the past few issues was just thrown out the window.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #39

Mar 12, 2018

Churchill gives outstanding pencils as Priest puts us into a twitter barrage that reminds us how the League would fare in the real world. Its more of an openly political issue than we might normally see from comics, but its definitely a fun read, even if we dont see Superman super-punching anybody. And it most definitely will make you think.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2016) #40

Mar 19, 2018

Priests interesting commentary is hamstrung by poor art and some needless filler pages. Its a good story, but horrible to look at. I wouldve preferred a traditional book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League (2016) #41

Apr 3, 2018

Its probably the most thought-provoking issue yet with some good humor mixed in. If you love Priest, youll love this issue. If youre not a big fan of Priests workgive this issue a shot. It may turn you around.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League (2016) #42

Apr 20, 2018

Priest provides a simple solution to a complex problem. This issue will have you cheering for the bad guys and leave you clamoring for the next issue. And it will probably make you want to pick up Priests Deathstroke run as well (it sure did for me).

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2016) #43

May 5, 2018

Priest bids farewell as the League is all set to take up residence in the new Hall of Justice. Its supposed to be an ending filled with the promises of tomorrow, but it feels hollow, almost as if this isnt the ending Priest wanted, but its the ending we get to set up No Justice.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #1

Jun 11, 2018

Snyder and Cheung give us the Justice League we've been wanting. It's as good a start to an author's run as any I've read and now I can't believe I have to actually wait for part two! This month is going to be difficult!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2018) #5

Aug 10, 2018

Snyder takes a break to give Tynion a chance to explain how Luthor formed the Legion of Doom and its a well drawn and interesting tale, even if a little confusing to follow.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Justice League (2018) #6

Aug 29, 2018

If youre a casual reader, you may find this book difficult, filled with dialogue and narration boxes, but if you can stick with it, this may be one of the best League stories yet. And that ending wow.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Justice League (2018) #7

Sep 15, 2018

The Totality arc ends in as epic a fashion as it started and Snyder and company leave me wanting more. Its epic and weve only just scratched the surface. This issue leaves me eagerly waiting to find out whats next.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2018) #8

Sep 27, 2018

Another one-shot with guest writer James Tynion IV leaves me wanting with lackluster art and color and about a third of the book a little boring to read. Still, a good chunk is worthwhile and fans of the Batman Who Laughs should still get plenty of enjoyment.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.4
Justice League (2018) #9

Oct 10, 2018

Its a fun look at the League and how theyre dealing with the fallout of the Legion of Dooms attack and attempted theft of the Totality. Its an enjoyable issue but unfortunately, its probably a fairly forgettable one.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.6
Justice League (2018) #11

Nov 10, 2018

A needlessly epic story, another pointless end of the world story, and dull art combine to make this crossover rather boring. I wonder if Snyder hit his peak some time ago.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Justice League (2018) #13

Dec 5, 2018

Snyder may have set the building blocks but Tynion has really given us the depth into the Legion of Doom that we need to make them a feared adversary. The Justice League isnt anywhere to be seen in this issue and thats not a bad thing as Tynion gives us a brilliant Joker who isnt one to mess with!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League: No Justice #1

May 21, 2018

Scott Snyder, James Tynion, Joshua Williamson, and Francis Manapul give us an action-packed new Justice League that has excited me for the first time since Rebirth. Its a fun ride and fans of the League wont be disappointed to pick this book up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League: No Justice #2

May 27, 2018

Its more of the same from Snyder and company. Theres nothing really new in this issue, but its still a fun read and if youre just not feeling it, youve either become too jadedor comics just arent your thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League: No Justice #3

May 30, 2018

I have mixed feelings because the art is hard to swallow, but ultimately, this book really shines, especially for Starro fans. Snyder, Williamson, and Tynion are really giving me a fantastic Justice League story and I cant wait for next weeks finale!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League: No Justice #4

Jun 7, 2018

At the end of the day, the story is forgettable and the ultimate threat just doesnt feel threatening enough, but its a good issue and does a good job preparing us for the next series of Justice League books. So by that metric, the story is a success, even if you could pass it up and not miss much.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Phoenix Resurrection: The Return Of Jean Grey #1

Dec 28, 2017

Rosenberg and Yu give us a near perfect start to the resurrection of one of Marvel's most popular characters. The art is beautiful, the story is mesmerizing, and all I can think is how glad I am I only have to wait one week for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Phoenix Resurrection: The Return Of Jean Grey #2

Jan 4, 2018

Rosenberg does it again, deepening the mystery. Theres some concern he can wrap it up in 3 more issues, but so far, hes established himself as one of the better miniseries writers for the X-Men in a long time. The second issue does what I didnt think was possible, and provides a near perfect follow up!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Phoenix Resurrection: The Return Of Jean Grey #3

Jan 15, 2018

Rosenberg is giving us an amazing story as he begins to tease at the answers but still leave us wondering what's next. And I'm more excited than I have been in a long while to find out. Two weeks is way too long to wait!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Phoenix Resurrection: The Return Of Jean Grey #4

Jan 25, 2018

Matthew Rosenberg gives us many of the answers weve been clamoring for in another outstanding outing for the Phoenix. Issue #4, like the other 3 before it, will leave you wanting more, upset that it will still take a whole week to find out how it turns out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Phoenix Resurrection: The Return Of Jean Grey #5

Feb 2, 2018

Its a rollercoaster of emotions but Rosenberg handles it perfectly, giving us the Jean story we needed, even if its not the one many fans wanted.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) #9

Jan 2, 2018

I will never look at librarians differently. Soule gives us a fantastic story of betrayal and shows that even the old librarians know how to kick ass. If youre not reading Darth Vader but are a fan of Star Wars, this is a series you should definitely pick up. Soule has demonstrated that he knows these characters and he knows what makes Star Wars so enduring.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) #10

Jan 16, 2018

Who knew there was more to Darth Vader than just a big bad guy? Apparently, Charles Soule knew! Such a great issue exploring Darth Vader's insecurities!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) #11

Mar 8, 2018

In a clear example of mediocrity, Soule gives us the Vader story we really couldnt care less about. Some enjoyable parts, some nice dialogue, but nothing that made my jaw drop, that made me excited for the next issue. Still, its only the first issue in a new arc. Im willing to see where this will take me.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) #12

Mar 17, 2018

It may not be as wild as the other issues, but its definitely more thought-provoking, giving us some great insight into how Vader establishes his dominance. Its a well-told story and any Darth Vader fan is sure to love this! Heck, any Star Wars fan!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) #13

Mar 27, 2018

A Darth Vader story with only a little Darth Vader. It's nothing outstanding, and if it's your first foray into this series, don't get discouraged. If Soule has proven anything, it's that he understands Vader and we can expect this arc to pick up next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) #14

Apr 21, 2018

Once again, we find very little of Darth Vader in this book and that seems odd considering the title is Darth Vader. Its a good story, plenty of fan service (much like the previous issue) but how long until we get to see the Lord of Sith in some real action with some real development?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #1

Dec 13, 2018

Snyder takes us back to what he does best: a Batman book. Its a thoroughly amazing horror story that makes you root for the bad guy. Snyder, Jock, and Baron have crafted a masterpiece.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Totally Awesome Hulk #19

Jun 24, 2017

It's a fun book. Not a great one. But fits in perfectly with the tone Pak set in the first three Weapon X issues. It's definitely one worth reading, but if you loved it when Hulk got all "Hulk Smash!" then you might have an issue"especially if you haven't seen anything of Cho as Hulk.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Totally Awesome Hulk #20

Jun 29, 2017

It's a good issue. Not much action, but a lot of moral dilemmas and reminder of the racism that exists in the X-Men's world.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
The Totally Awesome Hulk #21

Jul 21, 2017

Pak continues his ethical discussion and I'm thoroughly enjoying it. But this issue was mostly a set-up issue"and so were the previous 2 issues. I would have preferred something a little more fast paced. At least now that they've reached Weapon X, something is gonna hit the fan. Probably the Hulk.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The Totally Awesome Hulk #22

Aug 20, 2017

I feel like the ending of the Sopranos. Such a long and enjoyable show and the finale just cuts to black without any real resolution. Heres hoping it picks back up as Weapon X follows Weapon H.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Weapon X (2017) #1

Jun 20, 2017

With the first issue underway, I think its too early to fairly critique this series but this issue definitely gives me hope. Its building up. Where to, I have no idea, but Im interested enough to stick with it. Especially with the promise of Warpath and Domino! Sure, its pretty much like X-Force (a bunch of killers on the same team) but if it works, why mess with it?

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Weapon X (2017) #2

Jun 20, 2017

I was torn on this issue. I actually love Warpath. Been a fan since his Uncanny X-Men days and his later X-Force outing, but nowit feels like Pak is just trying to make a Wolverine team. I was disappointed in this issue, despite having it start out strong. The overall arc so far is compelling though, so I have no problems sticking with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Weapon X (2017) #3

Jun 22, 2017

This was really a fun issue. It's nice to not be so serious and having Logan and Sabretooth team up reluctantly to save Domino? Definitely a good time. Especially with Logan and Sabretooth bickering like an old married couple. You won't be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Weapon X (2017) #4

Jun 24, 2017

Another solid outing"hope it lasts.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Weapon X (2017) #5

Jul 13, 2017

I loved this issue. It's not filled with action, but just seeing the humanity in one of the scientists made the difference. Starting and ending the issue with Jenny was a masterful move by Pak and I really found myself caring about her. Plus, we got to get more Domino. That's always a plus!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Weapon X (2017) #7

Aug 26, 2017

Were back to just the mutants. And Im glad. After Weapons of Mass Destruction, Im cautiously optimistic about the path were now taking and definitely curious in the future developments of Weapon H.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Weapon X (2017) #8

Sep 18, 2017

This is one of those series that I really want to like. It started out as one of those undiscovered gems that nobody was buying but everybody should. But the problems I had with this book have been for the past several issues. I actually love the new Hulkverine and I love Logans role in this, but you could drop everybody else and we wouldnt lose much from the story. Heres hoping we get a bit more development as we go.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Weapon X (2017) #10

Nov 20, 2017

Im bored with this story. The issue itself is decent, but I found myself wanting to skip ahead a month to read the new arc that would be without Hulkverine. If youve stuck with it this long, youll probably want to buy this bookbut if youre new to the series and wondering if its worthwhile? Wait four weeks.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Weapon X (2017) #11

Dec 6, 2017

Pak gives us a good wrap up to a story that's taken way too long to get to this point. It's a fun issue and while the storyline has a whole has just dragged on and gotten tiresome, this book is fast paced and doesn't waste time. Check it out knowing that the Weapon H story is finally behind us and we can move on now!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Weapon X (2017) #12

Jan 1, 2018

If you havent read Weapon X yet, dont pick this book up. If you stuck with Weapon X through the entire Weapons of Mutant Destruction storyline then youre like me and too stubborn to drop it and this book probably wont tip the balance for you. But dont get excited for it. Theres nothing jaw-dropping about it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Weapon X (2017) #13

Jan 25, 2018

Mediocre art combines with some fun storytelling to give us an above average PSA about the dangers of drugs and the benefits of a non-interventionist foreign policy. Plus, we get to see Nuke and Sabretooth side by side! Pak gives us an enjoyable bit of action and proves that even if his plots arent filled with substance, he knows how to write these characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Weapon X (2017) #14

Feb 20, 2018

Pak gives us a nicely wrapped up end to the arc and perfectly sets up the next one. Some fun character development from several of them leaves me thinking this might be the first story with Nuke Ive actually enjoyed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Weapon X (2017) #15

Mar 19, 2018

Greg Pak and Fred Van Lente deliver a Wolverine-centric Weapon X story and Im happier with it than I thought possible! Its a story of Logan versus Sabretooth that really gets into nuts and bolts of the relationship. Maybe its been done before, but its never left me so excited to read the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Weapon X (2017) #16

May 2, 2018

Fans of Logan and Sabretooth wont want to miss it. Its definitely enjoyable, but unfortunately, comics are a visual medium and you may not be able to look past the art. Still, Pak gives us an insightful glimpse into one of the most dysfunctional bromances. Of course, Pak also gives us the furball special so Im not sure if this is a win or not.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Weapon X (2017) #17

May 9, 2018

Maybe not perfect, but pretty darn good. Good art, good characterization, and fantastic interactions between Sabretooth and the rest of Weapon X. Its an overall fun issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Weapon X (2017) #18

Jun 8, 2018

Omega Red is backand despite the fact that its Omega Red, Pak and Van Lente (helped with some outstanding art by Yildiray Cinar and colors from Frank DArmata) give us an unexpected treat of a story. Its more fun than I expected and worth the read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Weapon X (2017) #19

Jun 20, 2018

Pak, Van Lente, and Cinar deliver another fun book. Its definitely an enjoyable read with plenty of action and drama. Its all leading somewhere and if youve been unsure about Weapon X in the past, you may want to give this arc a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Weapon X (2017) #20

Jul 14, 2018

What could have been a fun story is done in by bad art. Its happened before and itll happen again. Lets just move on and hope Weapon X #21 is better.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Weapon X (2017) #21

Aug 9, 2018

What may have been a fun book is once again mired by artwork that, good or not, does not belong in this type of book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Weapon X (2017) #22

Aug 26, 2018

If you havent read Weapon X yet, this is the issue to start. If you stopped, this issue would be a great one to jump back on. Its a fun issue and what the title should have been from start to finish.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Weapon X (2017) #23

Sep 21, 2018

Its a mostly forgettable story with fantastic characters. Sabretooth and crew save this issue from being just another boring slugfest. If you like the characters, you wont regret checking this one out.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Weapon X (2017) #24

Oct 11, 2018

With a good replacement for Cinar in the art department, I was hoping for more with this issue, but Pak and Van Lente fail to deliver in almost every part of this chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Weapon X (2017) #25

Nov 12, 2018

The dynamic duo of Pak and Van Lente, along with the exciting art from Pizzari and the dynamic colors from DArmata have resulted in an extremely fun issue. Its a shame this series is almost over but maybe Marvel can be convinced to put this foursome on Weapon X-Force on a regular basis.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Weapons of Mutant Destruction #1

Jun 26, 2017

Don't think of this as the start of the arc. If you haven't already, start at Weapon X #1 and read them in order. Because then this book definitely fits in well.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More