vashmcdash's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Refueled Reviews: 98
8.3Avg. Review Rating

6.0
Action Comics (2011) #26

Dec 5, 2013

I really enjoy how Pak writes Superman, he makes him very cocky and very “human.” This was a good change of pace from all the recent Superman stories where his character comes out for one dimensional to me. I am not the biggest fan of Superman, but I can always enjoy him when Pak gets his hands on it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New Ghost Rider #1

Mar 28, 2014

This new Ghost Rider seems as it will deliver on all fronts. Smith, Moore, and Staples work very well together and I have high hopes for this series. As long as Smith brings more about Robbie in the coming issues, I see this turning into one of Marvel's new must read series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
All-New X-Men #23

Feb 13, 2014

With a great mesh of personalities, space combat, story, beautiful art and well placed humor this issue is has it all. And the best part is there was a great cliff hanger that is just killing me to read what is going to happen next. So definitely make sure you check this issue out, you will not be disappointed!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New X-Men #26

May 1, 2014

A story heavy issue with a lot of heart and good character developments w The ending shows a pretty sweet surprise leading into the next arc and I can imagine what new crazy twist Bendis has in store for us next!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Amazing X-Men #1

Nov 8, 2013

This issue is a great and action packed start to this new X-Men series. Any fan new or old should definitely rediscover or learn the great character that Nightcrawler is. Make sure you pick this issue up!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Animal Man #26

Dec 20, 2013

An amazing piece of work by Lemire, Hamner, and McCaig that simply keep me wanting more. If you are not reading “Animal Man” make sure you do so the entire series up to this point has been amazing and this issue is definitely my pick of the week.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Animal Man #29

Mar 22, 2014

I won't lie, I got a little choked up with the ending, as I found a superhero but is not as popular as all the rest but one that was a lot more inspiring to me. The entire series from start to finish was an amazing read and I hope Lemire brings the great story telling in Animal Man to Justice League United. I'm sad it had to end but I'm glad I was able to read a story such as this, make sure you guys check it out its worth the read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Archer & Armstrong #24

Sep 11, 2014

A good stand alone story to quell some of the hype before the big 25th issue. Bollers makes Mary-Maria a much more interesting character and I hope this much needed character development is used in future issues. With Henry's and Baron's strong art and the emotionally charged story, Archer and Armstrong fans have a good issue to hold them over till next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Avengers (2012) #23

Nov 21, 2013

An inspiring story with beautiful visuals worth just staring at for hours. With the final battle with Thanos and his army approaching, it can only go up from here. Make sure to pick this one up!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Avengers (2012) #24.NOW

Dec 24, 2013

A good but vague start to the "relaunch" to the Avengers series with an ending that seems to be putting Tony in the lead. The main attraction for this issue is the artwork and it's worth just staring at it to admire all the work these artist put into getting it done.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Avengers (2012) #29

May 19, 2014

Not the most powerful of starts for the Avengers tie-in but the ending did leave me with a good cliffhanger that I cannot predict where Hickman is going. While the minor inconsistencies with Yu's drawings, the issue was very good on the eyes but Gho's coloring stood out above the rest, making this issue a pleasure to look at.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Avengers World #1

Jan 8, 2014

An all around amazing start to the Avengers first All New Marvel Now! title and without a doubt this is going to lead to something great. Wonderful set up and beyond amazing art make this an issue everyone should pick up and my pick of the week, go check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Avengers World #3

Feb 19, 2014

There isn't enough words to deserve how awesome this book was for me. If this is any foreshadowing to how Shang-Chi's solo series will be then please count me in, this is one issue everyone should check out!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batgirl (2011) #26

Dec 12, 2013

Gail Simone is a wonderful internet troll (follow her on twitter she's hilarious) and an even better writer. Sampere, Glapion and Blond do some of the best artwork for this series since the relaunch and I couldn't have been more pleased. It took a while to get to the end but man was it worth it, this is definitely my pick for best issue of the week.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #24

Oct 11, 2013

What a great issue to bring me back from my Batman drought of Villains' Month. Synder, Capullo, Miki and Plascencia truly delivered on every level. So do yourself a favor when you're done reading this, get off the chair, go to your local comic book store and pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #29

Mar 12, 2014

Once again Synder and Capullo bring a well written story and all the great artwork to the dark knight. For me what I enjoyed the most is the story did not end in the manner we all can appreciate as this will lead into more great Batman issues in the months to come!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Eternal #1

Apr 10, 2014

I expected nothing less from this all-star creative team and the results were better than expected. We are definitely in for an excited and gripping story and I for one am no longer worried but much more excited to see a weekly comic series I can tell will not disappoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Damian: Son of Batman #3

Jan 1, 2014

Kubert is building the plot to lead to a big explosion in the last issue and the pace is constantly fast and the ending left me wanting more. There have been some interesting choices with the plot that I'm not a fan of, but the great artwork and the direction the story is going in is enough that I would recommend this for any Batman fan to pick up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Daredevil (2011) #33

Nov 21, 2013

Waid and Samnee have done it again, and this is definitely the series I constantly look forward to every month. With Copland's stellar artwork and the great writing its not hard to see why this series is so amazing. Honestly if you are not reading this series you are crazy and you should go and pick up these issues as soon as you can.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Daredevil (2011) #34

Dec 19, 2013

Short but sweet and it hit me in all the right places. With two more issues till the series reboot I'm excited to see where the end is going to lead us into the upcoming new series but Waid, Rodriguez, and Lopez are definitely the men to get it done is such a wonderful fashion.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daredevil (2011) #35

Jan 15, 2014

Waid and Samnee have set up everything to a point of no return for Daredevil and its given us some of the best told story out of any comic out today. This issue is leading up to a great pay off for next month's final issue and as I have always said, read the entire series it is beyond worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daredevil (2011) #36

Feb 19, 2014

A perfect ending to a perfect series. All the plots were closed up properly and the ending is a great set up for the All-New Daredevil coming soon, which is something everyone should be excited for. If you have not read Waid and Samnee's run of Daredevil you are missing out on one of the best series from any comic company out today, so take my word for it and check this out and the rest of the series today!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daredevil (2014) #1

Mar 19, 2014

Everything I loved about the last series is completely present in this one. The change of scenery is something I'm excited about and I can only hope Waid, Samnee, and Rodriguez have some great surprises in store for us for the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Deadpool (2012) #27

Apr 10, 2014

This was very disappointing for me as this series is normal very entertaining and brings fresh ideas. I found myself forcing through the issue but could not enjoy anything about it, the changing artwork in the short stories helped the issue but the story was not what I hope it was going to be and what I felt it should of been. This could of been something much more entertaining and used some good comedy but just didn't deliver at all in the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Death Of Wolverine #1

Sep 8, 2014

A very strong set up for the beginning of the end. Soule has left me with the feeling this is only a small scale of how intense this story will be in its emotional and action packed story telling. I personally don't think a better art team could have been put together for this than McNiven, Leisten, and Ponsor. Surprisingly, being that I've never been a big Wolverine fan, this story made me realize how sad I feel forthe character's impending death. At least I know he's going out with a very bloody and explosive bang with this creative team.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Death Of Wolverine #2

Sep 11, 2014

Soule definitely picked up the pace in this issue, but we still have no real idea what exactly is going to bring Wolverine to his death. McNiven, Leisten and Ponsor's outstanding art made me read the issue a number of times, just to admire the amount of work this teamput into this book. Anothher strong entry in the story and I am definitely sticking around to see it to the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Earth 2 Annual #2

Jan 29, 2014

Personally this is one of the better Batman origin stories that has been told. Earth 2 has been such an amazing read from day one and Taylor's turn on the series has not slowed down the momentum either. Rocha, Hanna, and Pantzais all do a wonderful job on their artwork to help keep Earth 2 one of the top DC comics you and everyone else should be reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Elektra (2014) #1

Apr 24, 2014

After reading this issue, my thoughts of how DC dropped the ball with Blackman screams loudly here and I hope this time around Blackman gets to tellthe story he truly wants. With Del Mundo and D'Alfonso on board with their powerful artwork, Elektra has quickly become a must read for everyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2011) #26

Jan 1, 2014

What a strong showing for the new duo taking on Flash and I couldn't have been more pleased. While it is a stand alone story and did not have any leads as to where they might go with the character, this issue clearly shows Barry is in some good hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2011) Annual #3

Apr 30, 2014

Part 2 of this gripping yet heartfelt Flash story has definitely left me wanting more. Wally has still yet to play any role, but who cares, we have the incredibly bad ass future Flash and I can't wait to see what his and Wally's role is going to be as the story moves forward. And oh yeah, did I mention that blue suit? Please DC lets keep that suit around in some fashion, I don't think I'm the only one who will enjoy the change.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Forever Evil #2

Oct 6, 2013

A decent issue with a lot of interesting set ups for future issues and the tie-ins. I know Johns is capable of amazing stories with great pay offs, so lets just hope this is no different.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Forever Evil #3

Nov 8, 2013

A lot of interesting facts were revealed and we finally know what exactly happened to the Leagues. With Luthor's plan slowly being revealed as well as his rag tag team coming together the action is definitely starting to pick up. Even with the problems I had with the issue, it's a solid entry and moves the story along in a great fashion.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Forever Evil #4

Dec 24, 2013

I believe this is the start to the story we have come to expect from Geoff Johns, with the plot slowly being revealed but then riddled with more interesting questions is keeping me pulled in. I will say the ending alone was completely worth the past few months of heavy story telling and reading it put a big nerdy excited smile on my face, making this issue my pick of the week.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Forever Evil #5

Feb 5, 2014

Solid action packed issue that lacked on a good chance to tell some story. We are coming to the end of the main story and we've been promised a huge change in the world of DC so the next two months will be interesting for all of us to keep reading!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Forever Evil #6

Mar 5, 2014

Well folks, we are finally reaching the home stretch for this crazy story arc and Johns is showing us he is planning on ending this on an extreme high note. Forever Evil has had its up and downs for me but I think this issue only has made it all worth it for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Forever Evil: Rogues Rebellion #2

Nov 20, 2013

An action packed issue with my new favorite rag tag group of anti heroes. Not too much story but an interesting seed was planted towards the end and a hilarious poke at everyone's new favorite tv show makes it an issue to pick up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2011) #30

Apr 2, 2014

Full of fantastic artwork from start to finish, and the battle picking up leading into the conclusion of this arc, this issue is another great read from Lemire and Sorrentino's run. If you think CW's ‘Arrow' is intense, they you would do well to pick up the Green Arrow comics, as this is one of DC's best comic out right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2011) #27

Jan 8, 2014

A great way to start Green Lantern in the new year and Venditti is getting better with every issue. Next month starts the new arc on the double issue with the Red Lanterns and as long as the story keeps this pace and the art is on par with what Eaglesham and Wright brought us, then Green Lantern is going to be the series to watch for in 2014!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2011) Annual #2

Nov 4, 2013

Venditti proved that the Green Lantern series is in good hands after the departure of Geoff Johns. With great artwork, a lot of good twists, ending plot lines and opening interesting new ones, and making all the major Lantern shine this issue was a great end to a solid story arc. I see great things in the future for all four lantern books and if you're not venturing into space with the lanterns make sure you do so.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lantern: New Guardians #24

Oct 18, 2013

This story is turning out a lot better than I initially thought. Full of action and great art, it seems that the world of Green Lantern is in good hands after the Geoff Johns era. So pick this one up and continue to follow this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lantern: New Guardians #26

Dec 19, 2013

Once again Jordan, Walker and the rest of the art team bring us another amazing issue of New Guardians. With the new story arc coming up and the ending leaving some interesting seeds in our heads, New Guardians should be your lantern book of choice.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Grimm Fairy Tales #91

Nov 13, 2013

Another solid entry in the long running Grimm series. With some great story telling and a lot of seeds planted, the upcoming story arc is building up to be something to look out for. And with their 100th issue coming up you can bet this is all leading to something big!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Guardians of the Galaxy (2013) #12

Feb 27, 2014

We're getting an understanding of where this story might lead and this issue is definitely building up to something strong in the next two issues. Both these series are great and they are even better together and this is one arc that should be on your radar

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Guardians of the Galaxy (2013) #18

Aug 27, 2014

Sadly I wish there was more I could talk about in regards to this issue, but if you're like me and itching to know what happened, anything I say about the story will spoil it. While Bendis didn't tell the whole story yet, his build up (which he's famously known for) truly paid off and I cannot wait to see the conclusion. Fan or not of the artwork, you have to appreciate what the team of McGuinness, Farmer, and Ponsor did for this issue. Calling this animation movie quality artwork doesn't even do this justice. Go get this now!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harley Quinn (2013) #0

Nov 20, 2013

For me this was the perfect issue, amazing story telling full with good comedy and funny inside jokes. As a fan it's great to see so many artists come to put together such a unique effort to help something great for the readers. Conner and Palmiotti are definitely great fits for this series and after reading this I'm more than excited to see what this series has in store. This is the must have issue of the week, go pick it up!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Indestructible Hulk #17.INH

Dec 20, 2013

The fact the Bruce is being pushed into the spotlight more than the Hulk in this current arc is very exciting and leaves a lot of room to go as far as Waid can take this story. Solid artwork and story make this a tie-in you want to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Indestructible Hulk Annual #1

Dec 6, 2013

A great buddy cop issue with Hulk and Iron Man, had an great balance of story, humor, and action. Even though I was kind of hoping this issue tied into the current story, it's a great stand alone story in it's own right and definitely worth check out!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Inhuman #1

Apr 7, 2014

Killer artwork andvillain-centric storycaught my attention to see where this new series will go. The lack of insight on the main character Dante bugged me but didn't take away from giving this issue a strong start and if you read any of Soule's other stories you'll know it definitely has potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Inhumanity #1

Dec 4, 2013

This issue had some of the most interesting story telling I've read in a while. It is nice to see something aside from mutants making a huge impact of the population and causing mass confusion. If the story telling and art can keep this pace this ‘Inhumanity' story arc will be great!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Inhumanity: The Awakening #1

Dec 12, 2013

The art could not hurt such a wonderfully written by Matt Kindt touching on a powerful subject being mixed with the huge Inhumanity event going on. The ending definitely left me wanting more and this is one tie in worth checking out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Injustice: Year Two #1

Jan 15, 2014

A solid start for the new year of Injustice and more of Superman being a jerk. With a great art team and story teller on board this new year looks like it will be just as intense as last.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Iron Man (2012) #15

Sep 6, 2013

Unless you're really invested in this arc then this issue is good enough to read at the store and move along. The action comes to a painful halt with all the dialogue. Looks like the pending world threat situation is something that Tony can put on hold to have some good old conversation.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League #27

Jan 23, 2014

It's good to see Cyborg get the spotlight but it could of been of something a bit more deserving. Johns probably has something in store with this cliffhanger and it seems Cyborg will get a lead role for the next issue which is very exciting and something we should all look forward to.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League #28

Feb 19, 2014

Johns has given us a new band of heroes we can actually care about and has definitely invested a good amount of time into their creation design and back story. With the end of Forever Evil closely approaching it seems we are getting small pieces to the overall bigger puzzle and it's starting to pick up some exciting speed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League Dark #25

Nov 27, 2013

This was the best Justice League issue out of all of the three different series this month. Even though I was a little disappointed to find out that Constantine's team is going to be fighting a different villain and not the Syndicate (at least maybe not for now) but the idea that Blight is based off of evil magic is a lot more fitting of the series. The amount of story in this issue was great and it has set up so many interesting points for the coming issues, so make sure to keep an eye out for this one!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League Dark #26

Dec 31, 2013

Once again DeMatteis and Janin have brought us a gripping story in the world of DC magic. While I've enjoyed a lot of the ‘Forever Evil' tie in's, ‘Blight' feels like its own stand alone event and has been far more entertaining to me than the main story itself. This event may span over a few different issues, but it's a story worth your time and money and is my pick of the week.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2013) #8

Oct 16, 2013

This was definitely a different start to the issue everyone was waiting for. I say pick this one up the story definitely is not terrible just different.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League of America (2013) #9

Nov 14, 2013

Even though I'm glad there are new characters being given the spotlight, this story is just not grabbing me. I know it's only two issues in but the direction I see this story going in is concerning me. Time will tell where this story will go but I feel in order to build Stargirl as a stand alone hero, there should be a lot more clear evidence that the events are really happening, not an illusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League of America (2013) #10

Dec 11, 2013

As I said before this is the story I have been waiting for and Kindt hit it right on the head. With a gripping story with a really strong ending that has put my mind in motion to where this story is leading. With wonderful art and color from the entire art team this has been one of the best JLA's issue since it's debut in the New 52, make sure to pick this one up!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2013) #11

Jan 15, 2014

The ending leaves us with a cliffhanger that will definitely bring you back for more. The art team brings such a realistic vision of a world in complete chaos and the heroes trying to put it back together. The story might have been bumpy but it's still worth picking up.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League of America (2013) #13

Mar 12, 2014

I'll give it to Kindt, he definitely gave me a character I can learn to care about and an action packed story that shined on characters who have not had much focus since the start of the ‘New 52′ and it helped that it was backed up with a wonderful art team. But the ending completely killed the effect the story had on me and made these two characters. Stargirl and Manhunter, into strong characters look very weak other all.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Loki: Agent of Asgard #1

Feb 7, 2014

This was a fantastic start to a series that is smart, clever and funny all at the right moments. Fan or not of Loki, or of Todd Hiddleston this is an amazing read for anyone wanting something a little different from Marvel and Ewing, Garbett and Woodard deliver just that.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Magneto (2014) #1

Mar 5, 2014

Another wonderful start to another solo series done right. This creative team seems to be headed in a good direction with the story and I can't wait to see what happens next!

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
New Avengers (2013) #13.INH

Dec 31, 2013

This issue felt like a throw away for me which I would of never expected from Hickman. I know his style is to leave all the juicy stuff for the end but even this way too out there. The rushed art didn't help much either and hopefully the next issue will clear up all the confusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Original Sin #1

May 11, 2014

Marvel has promised a murder mystery and that's what we got. What I noticed from this issue is that the series will not solely focused on the Avengers, which for me is a great thing. Characters like Moon Knight and Winter Soldier will be playing key roles which makes me excited. They deserve the the spotlight because have you read both their series lately? And with Fury taking the lead, being backed by powerful writing and artwork, ‘Original Sin' is shaping up to be another one of Marvel's classic events

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Red Hood And The Outlaws #26

Dec 19, 2013

A much better story from the rest of this arc and the coloring definitely stood out the most to me which made it a lot easier on the eyes. The artwork was shakey a lot which was a bit of a turn off. Next month is the end of this arc and it seems like Tynion has something big in store, I for one am very excited.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Red Lanterns #24

Oct 24, 2013

With the Green Lantern Annual being the conclusion to the story arc and all the main human Lanterns separated trying to save the universe in their own ways, this is only going to end up being a fun and chaotic read. This story has definitely held my interest and I'm excited to see how it will all end. Make sure to go pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Red Lanterns #25

Nov 27, 2013

A very slow and awkward start for the new story arc for the Reds. Soulem, Vitti andEltaeb have done such great work in the past I have faith that this is just a bump in the rode and things will definitely pick up the next couple of issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Lanterns #26

Jan 1, 2014

Soule has written a story that hit you on all points, there's action, sadness and even some funny dialogue between Bleez and Rankorr. With the story also progressing with Atrocitus and Dex-Starr, the Red Lantern series is really starting to pick up and everyone should be getting on this rage fueled ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Saga #15

Nov 4, 2013

If you are looking for an escape from your everyday caped heroes and villain stories Saga is the book to pick up. Each issue is completely fresh and original though the story right now might be a little slower than usual its building up for something pretty explosive in the future. If your not reading this you are missing out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #22

Sep 2, 2014

With Vaughan's great story telling and Staples insane and creative art once again show why Saga is one of Image's top series. All the current stories going on are definitely building to something huge and I for one can not wait to see the pay off.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Secret Avengers (2014) #1

Mar 12, 2014

A very pleasant surprise from the team of Kot, Walsh, and Wilson. This is a book that doesn't take itself too serious but is entertaining in many different levels that I just can't wait to read the next issue. This issue is my pick of the week, make sure you go and grab it!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sex Criminals #7

Aug 15, 2014

Sex Criminal may be a lot more on the mature side for comics, but it's a series every grown adult should be reading. What Fraction writes for this book is some of the most original content I've ever read for any story ever. Zdarsky and Becka compliment this wild story with some of the most beautiful artwork out there right now. So do yourself a favor, if you're up to date pick this issue up. If not go out now and buy this entire series and you'll thank me later.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
She-Hulk (2014) #1

Feb 13, 2014

This was a wonderful start to series to a well loved character. It's nice to see stories that aren't all about the world ending or alien invasions, but to the stories real people like you and me can relate to and even superpowered heroes have to struggle with the everyday problems.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Silver Surfer (2014) #1

Mar 26, 2014

This was a very solid start to a new series with a lot of potential. If you're a fan of Slott like me, know he will deliver and with Michael and Laura Allred doing the visuals, I believe this is going to be the new must read of the year.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Silver Surfer (2014) #2

May 1, 2014

Slott and the Allred's once again bring me to a new level of thinking with this month's Silver Surfer. With the influence Slott pulls from his love of Doctor Who and the Allred's old funky art style, Silver Surfer is turning out to be much better than I had hoped for.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sinestro #1

Apr 20, 2014

A great fresh start to a character who deserves to be in the spotlight more often. If Bunn can continue on the path this issue on, we can all aspect amazing thing, and with Eaglesham and Wright on board you know it's not only an intelligent read but one that is great for the eyes as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superior Spider-Man #21

Nov 14, 2013

Good laughs, great action, and Octvaius making fools of everyone, these are all the things you can expect from Superior Spider-Man. The ending has placed some interesting seeds for the upcoming ‘Goblin Nation' story arc and I for one am extremely excited to see what's next!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superior Spider-Man #24

Dec 18, 2013

Slott and Gage are definitely building up to an explosive ending with this arc and interesting set ups for the next ones to come. With the art and storytelling being stellar as always (even with my case of dejavu) and the ending left me wanting more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superior Spider-Man #25

Jan 15, 2014

Superior Spider-Man just keeps getting better with every issue and I can tell bigger things are still to come for the near future. With story telling and art this great is hard to not be following Spider-Man these days, without a doubt you need to check this issue out!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superior Spider-Man #31

Apr 16, 2014

A wonderful ending to a game changing series. ‘The Superior Spider-Man' actually revived my interest in Spider-Man and I can not thank Dan Slott enough for it. A lot of interesting plot twist went on in this issue (going to have to read to find out, too good to spoil!) and with all of this leading into the reboot of ‘The Amazing Spider-Man', I can say for a fact it's only the beginning of how crazy the world of Spider-Man will become. But no matter how many people said in the beginning of this series that making Otto Spider-Man was a terrible idea, they can not deny how much this did for the world of Spider-Man and that it truly was a “Superior” series!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superior Spider-Man #32

Aug 6, 2014

This all-star team went above and beyond for the return for the Superior Spider-Man and I couldn't be any happier with the results. This issue was full of twists and packed full of easter eggs and surprises. Whether or not you're are a hardcore Spider-Man fan, there is something to get excited about here as a comic book fan. If this is the story Slott and Gage started us off with, then we're all in for a treat when Spider-Verse begins in September! Read this issue. Period.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superior Spider-Man Annual #1

Nov 20, 2013

A solid issue worthy of the Superior Spider-Man. An action packed story, wonderful artwork and a bunch of seeds being planted for the upcoming ‘Goblin Nation' Spider-Man looks like he's going to have his hands full and I for one want to see what's next!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Swamp Thing (2011) #26

Dec 6, 2013

This has been one of the better Swamp Thing story arcs in the New 52 and I'm greatly enjoying it. The storytelling and the artwork has been stellar and it goes to show you don't have to go to any of the members of the Justice League to find amazing stories in the DC Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Swamp Thing (2011) #27

Jan 9, 2014

The ending wasn't enough to ruin a well thought out and told story that provided some of the best artwork this series has. The ending did leave an interesting question as well as an idea of what direction Soule will be taking the series in next.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Talon #14

Jan 1, 2014

Tynion and Simeoni have had a great run and closes up Calvin story nicely and hints an exciting direction he is now going in. It's a shame his solo series is coming to an end but Tynion has definitely made it known that this not the last time we will see the Talon Calvin Rose.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #28

Nov 29, 2013

Such an amazing and explosive end to the ‘City Fall' arc, I couldn't have asked for anything better to please my inner child. Whether or not you are or were a Ninja Turtle fan, this series is definitely a great getaway from the super hero caped norm of DC and Marvel. Make sure to pick up this issue and the whole series if you haven't you will not be disappointed!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The New 52: Futures End #1

May 11, 2014

A bit of a confusing start to this weekly series. The change in mood has been put into play and have faith in this all-star team to deliver an amazing story. My only hope is that the rest of the series is not as crammed as this issue was. I feel that for a weekly story,they could easily focus on one character's part at a time to help make the story clearer and a lot more exciting. I can't wait for my favorite version of Batman, Batman Beyond, to get more get air time.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Walking Dead #115

Oct 16, 2013

A slow but solid issue, I'm concerned if a big story will effect the overall telling of the story but it definitely looks promising. This is a quick read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Walking Dead #119

Jan 11, 2014

Another solid entry in the ‘All Out War' arc with another gripping cliff hanger. Thankfully image chose to bring this arc out bi weekly because every week the story just gets better and better and I can't wait to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Walking Dead #122

Feb 26, 2014

This story arc hasn't really caught me as much as I thought it would of but I feel as Kirkman normally does, he will keep us hanging till the last minute and blow everyone's mind. But if you are invested in this story line this issue has a lot of stuff to tease what comes in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Thor: God of Thunder #14

Oct 16, 2013

A very solid issue with the addition of a lot of colorful and interesting characters. Definitely an issue to go pick up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #13

Oct 18, 2013

Great issue with a lot of action and a few good twist finally being revealed. I have been enjoying this story and Bendis definitely know how to keep someone wanting more. Make sure to go pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wolverine (2014) #1

Feb 5, 2014

Cornell is quite possibly going to make me a fan of Wolverine if the story continues on the deep level it started out with. With the sick artwork from all parties making this a visual treat to look at Wolverine #1 is a nice starting point for any fan and a fresh new start to such an established and well loved character.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wolverine (2014) #2

Feb 26, 2014

This series is definitely becoming a must read for me and in terms of story telling it might even rival Waid's recent Daredevil run. The creative team on this book is perfect and I hope they stay together for a strong run or at least until the story they all want to tell is done.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men (2013) #6

Oct 16, 2013

Another solid entry with good action and some secrets revealed. It's coming close to the end of the crossover and I am hoping the pay off will be a great one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-Men: Battle of the Atom #2

Nov 4, 2013

This was definitely one story that completely paid off and planted a lot of great seeds for the future of all the X-Men teams. With a very action packed and heartfelt story that made me happy once again to be a long time fan of the X-Men. With the future looking bright, this is definitely the issue to pick up to become a fan all over again.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-Men: Gold #1

Nov 14, 2013

Marvel has been on such a roll lately with their X-Men stories, Battle of the Atom, Amazing X-Men and now Gold. Every single page of this issue is a work of art, fan or not you will enjoy it. If there's anything you read this week makes sure it's X-Men Gold, you will not be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

December

November

More