Walt Kneeland's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: cxPulp Reviews: 128
7.5Avg. Review Rating

9
A+X #1

Nov 1, 2012

Ratings below for the whole of the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Action Comics #900

Apr 29, 2011

Generally recommended, given all that.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Age of X Alpha #1

Jan 31, 2011

If you don't want to be mired in tons of X-continuity or have to invest in a bunch of titles just to keep up...this seems a great story to dip your toes in and visit an X-universe that probably won't draw too many of your dollars away, as this should be roughly 11-12 issues in total, across several months.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
All-New X-Men #1

Nov 16, 2012

My core, primary, in-the-face problem with this issue is the price point. $3.99 is--without grumbling and self-rationalization/concession--far too much for what is only a 20-page chunk of what I assume will be a 120-page story in the end. I was hooked by the premise, talked myself into this, and barring something totally driving me away in frustration, I'm hooked for this arc--but if you're not chomping at the bit for this story, of seeing the classic X-Men interacting with the present-day and reacting to their older selves/fates...I'd encourage waiting a few months for the inevitable collected volume which will present the full story in one place, uninterrupted by ads and 14-day waits between chapters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Angel & Faith Season 9 #1

Sep 4, 2011

This will likely appeal most to those who've followed Buffy Season 8, though if you watched the tv series and don't mind knowing you've missed a "season," this isn't a bad place to jump in (or if you're a fan of Faith or Angel and feel like checking out a new series co-starring the two). I understand this series will complement the new series, Buffy Season 9, though the two series will be viable independent of one another. Though I'm not entirely convinced I'm going to follow the whole thing as single issues--the $2.99 price point being held is a great step in convincing me to plan on it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Archer & Armstrong #1

Aug 13, 2012

This is a great start to the fourth Valiant title, and very well worth getting whether you just want to try one book, or if you're going for the whole-Valiant experience. Personally, I'm going for the whole experience, and this issue continues to solidify for me the rightness of that--in some ways I'd forgotten what it was like to simply enjoy a group of comics the way I've been the Valiant relaunches.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Archer & Armstrong #3

Oct 12, 2012

I'm looking forward to the next issue to see what new trouble the Sect manages to cause (or not) as well as seeing how Archer and Armstrong deal with the situation...and generally, this issue just leaves me having enjoyed the story so far and wanting to keep on reading. This is a prime example of what I "expect" of all comics I read, and this definitely succeeds.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Avengers Academy #29

May 5, 2012

I can't speak to this issue's place in the ongoing Avengers Academy series, but once I got over my "well, WHEN did the mutant kids get gathered up for transport?" the issue in a whole was quite enjoyable, and I look forward to seeing further interactions between these two groupings of kids in coming issues, and am curious as to what role they're ultimately going to play in the overall event. Not a bad tie-in, but definitely side-story material dealing with how the main AvX story affects the "kids," at least for now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Avengers Vs. X-Men #0

Apr 1, 2012

This issue won't be for everyone...but it's enjoyable enough to grudgingly pay $3.99.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Avengers Vs. X-Men #1

Apr 4, 2012

This issue's not going to be for everyone, but while I see how it's rooted in current continuity, the conflict in general seems to be fairly sudden, so this issue's not a bad point to jump on and see what you think. I enjoyed this despite it being overly cinematic in the beginning, and really have to say that it's a relative rarity lately in being a Marvel comic that I just simply enjoyed, period. In fact, I'm very much looking forward to the next issue, and I'm actually tempted to snag tie-in issues just to get "more" story beyond just the "core" of this central mini-series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Avengers Vs. X-Men #3

May 5, 2012

A solid issue, worthwhile if you're following the event, with an emphasis on Wolverine and Captain America throughout.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Avengers Vs. X-Men #11

Sep 14, 2012

If you've not been following AvX, this definitely isn't the point to jump onboard; if you have, this is a solid "next issue" and doesn't seem in and of itself to have any reason to stop now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Avengers Vs. X-Men #12

Oct 4, 2012

All in all...this isn't a horrible issue. But bad as $3.99 is, $4.99 raises expectations for me all the more--and this didn't really feel like I got my $4.99-worth of reading. Maybe extra pages, but it's not like the story is all that dense. This ends the primary through-lines of AvX while leaving things open for the Consequences follow-up as well as Uncanny Avengers and the rest of Marvel Now. If you've been following this series--of course you're gonna get this. And if you haven't--no real point to grab this issue unless you just want to see the very tail-end of the main story in single-issue format.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
AVX: Consequences #1

Oct 12, 2012

All in all, while not a horrible comic book in and of itself--for my expectation, the pricing, and the tiny chunks of a bunch of plot threads--I'd have to say this is probably better left on the shelf until the inevitable collected edition comes out, where the plot threads will all have 5 times the space to really get their points across in "full" rather than single-issue bits. For my $3.99, this issue disappointed me, and I probably would have been better-served to bite the bullet and have put my $3.99 to Uncanny Avengers instead.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
AVX: Consequences #2

Oct 20, 2012

This series definitely comes directly from what went down in AvX, it'll be most appreciated with the context of having read AvX; but it doesn't seem to really change or shed any new light on those events; this is truly a series to read only if you really care to see what's going on with Cyclops specifically post-AvX, presumably transitioning him into whatever his new status quo will be in the Marvel Now age. Honestly, I'd counsel waiting for the collected volume as this is a limited series, and will probably read much better as a single story than broken across several weeks of story chunks.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
AVX: Consequences #3

Oct 28, 2012

I also maintain that $3.99 is a bit steep for this, even if there is a "Free Digital Copy Offer" as "part of" that $3.99.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
AVX: Consequences #4

Nov 3, 2012

Perhaps the highest praise I can give this issue is that the brief scene between Magneto and Storm leaves me all the more interested in delving back over the past few years to catch up on Utopia and the various other X-stuff I've missed out on that's come between Messiah Complex, Second Coming, and AvX.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batman #700

Jun 10, 2010

All things considered, I'm not all that thrilled with this issue. While there's stuff to like about it, I'm ultimately left uninterested in buying future issues nor seeking out prior issues. This works decently enough in terms of an anniversary issue, touching on past/present/future, featuring a bevy of creative talent, and including "bonus" (though we pay for it) content not found in everyday standard issues. $3.99 would be decent for this 32-page story. Unless you're particularly a fan of the writer, specifically following this title, and/or want the pinups and Batcave layouts--$4.99 seems a bit steep for this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batman (2011) #7

Mar 24, 2012

In a way, this is both epilogue to the previous issue (seeing Bruce get home with his new knowledge/recognitions of the situation) and prologue to the coming story (the revelation to Dick and the Court's initiating the next phase of their plan). So, whether you've read the previous arc and want to continue on; or if you're looking to jump in now in prep for the coming crossover, this is a worthwhile purchase.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman (2011) Annual #1

May 31, 2012

I quite enjoyed this issue in and of itself, and would highly recommend it to anyone interested in an extra-length but single-issue Batman story focused on a villain; or to those with any specific interest in Mr. Freeze and seeing the character's return (this is what initially caught my attention and interest when this annual was solicited months ago), and of course to those looking for the entirety of the Night of the Owls event/crossover. The cover price may be a put-off, but the story/content page-count are at least as good if not better value for the price than a standard $3.99 issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Earth One #1

Jul 8, 2012

Particularly if you just want a solid Batman story that isn't simply a 20-page single issue and you don't want to have to worry about lengthier continuity and such, this is an excellent volume to dive into. Though the ending teases elements for a continuing story, this one volume is the entirety of this character, this continuity at present. I'm already looking forward to any subsequent volumes.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batman: The Dark Knight #1

Jan 2, 2011

As a first issue, this is fairly take-it-or-leave-it; though seems it'd be well worth picking up if you're a fan of Finch's art in particular. As far as the story, and this being only the opening chapter...it's too soon to pass judgment on the whole of the story or this as a standalone, ongoing series. But based only on this issue, I can't help but feel that this is a generic Batman arc, and I'm not sure I'm interested enough in the story to stick around for another issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Batman: The Dark Knight (2011) #6

Feb 25, 2012

I'm thankful that--having spent my $3--I at least have a physical print-edition comic here. Had I paid $3 for a digital file, I'd be mad and wishing I could get my money back. As-is...I have no real intention of coming back for the next issue...I'll find some "classic" Bane material to read instead. Like this week's (Batman vs. Bane TPB).

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Bloodshot #1

Jul 12, 2012

I don't think I ever actually got to reading a full issue of the original Bloodshot, so coming into this fresh, I felt like this was very accessible. Whatever the original was, as with the other Valiant titles the last couple months, this is a fresh start that I'm enjoying. The subject matter and violence may not appeal to everyone (not that it's a selling point anyway), but as a first issue, as Bloodshot, as the latest new Valiant title, I'm more and more confident that this is a line of comics I'm interested in that seem to have a good focus on story...which is the way I like my comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Bloodshot #2

Aug 17, 2012

Assuming you can find the first issue, this is not a bad series to pick up. I still lack an actual reading-history with the character though I was aware of the original series in the '90s. Perhaps part of the enjoyment for me now with this title is knowing there's a history to Bloodshot, but for all practical purposes, this is an entirely new book for me, essentially original and not putting me off from interest in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Bloodshot #4

Oct 12, 2012

While I still don't like my comics to be $3.99, in the month or so since last getting new current Valiant issues, I've realized that "classic" Valiant issues were higher-priced than most of their peers...so getting these now on the same level as a standard Marvel is a bit less irksome than it would otherwise be. As this does seem to be the final issue of the first arc, I'd suggest grabbing the first three issues as well before jumping into this, or jump in with the next issue and presumably new arc while waiting for the collected edition of this arc. In general, this is a very solid issue, enjoyable and leaves me looking forward to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Captain America (2011) #1

Jul 15, 2011

The final, full arc will probably make for a very good, enjoyable graphic novel--with this writer/art team, I can't imagine it won't...but as a single issue, I feel like I've been burned yet again by "giving in" and trying a new series, particularly at the $3.99 price point.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Captain America: Patriot #1

Sep 19, 2010

I decided to give this a shot, just to check it out. It doesn't seem like a bad start, and looks like it'll be a good story when all's said and done...but the $4 cover price will keep me from buying any more as single issues. If you're looking for a short (this is a 4-issue mini rather than 6) story dealing with other people inspired by Captain America, set during WWII, this is certainly worth checking out, if only in waiting for the collected edition.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Chip n Dale: Rescue Rangers #1

Dec 3, 2010

Whether as a bit of nostalgia; revisiting these classic characters or as someone who's never seen the animated series, this is a great point to jump in. Brill seems to have a great affection for these characters and it shows through just as with the Darkwing Duck title.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Darkwing Duck #1

Jun 17, 2010

As first issues go, this ranks up there with the best of 'em. If you have any interest in the character--as a longtime fan or someone newly curious--I highly recommend checking this out. This was one of my most-anticipated comics this year--on par with anticipation for DC's Blackest Night #8 conclusion...and it held up to that expectation, and leaves me very interested in the next issue and where the story's going to go.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Darkwing Duck #2

Jul 22, 2010

As only the second issue of an ongoing (this was originally to be a 4-issue mini, but was recently "upgraded"--and the cover proclaims this boldly) it'd be well worthwhile to track down the first issue as well as this, and be in on the ground floor for some real magic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Darkwing Duck #4

Sep 23, 2010

If you're any kind of fan of Darkwing Duck, I encourage you to find this arc and give it a chance--whether as single issues, or (assuming imminent availability) at least grab the collected edition when that comes out. As in the past, my overall rating for this issue couldn't be contained simply by an average of the story and the art...it includes the overall experience of the story itself and what it suggests about the future of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Darkwing Duck #5

Oct 24, 2010

If you're a longtime fan, a new fan, or just curious about this Disney duck...I highly recommend giving this title a look-see.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
DC Universe Online Legends #1

Feb 6, 2011

All in all, I don't think this series is my thing...but there's plenty of potential for this for those who get into it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Deadpool: Merc with a Mouth #13

Jul 23, 2010

If you're reading Deadpool Corps only, you got what you need to know from the Prelude to mini-series. There may be some overlap to go back and read this series, though for the most part there was just that world-hopping issue that introduced Lady Deadpool and others. If you've been reading this series, this issue wraps things up in a satisfying manner, and even a bit of a surprise that made me smile seeing it. As the final issue of this series, this isn't for new readers in and of itself...while one might find some enjoyment to it, the greater appreciation will be had by those who have followed the last 12 or so issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Doctor Solar: Man of the Atom Vol. 3 #1

Jul 15, 2010

At "only" $3.50, and including the reprint of the original Doctor Solar comic, this is an excellent issue to pick up, if only to check things out for yourself. I was hooked at the Free Comic Book Day issue earlier this year...but this issue really has me interested in where things go. The book lives up to its hype. Whether it continues to remains to be seen...but you could do far worse than grab this for a look-see.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Doctor Solar: Man of the Atom Vol. 3 #2

Sep 10, 2010

Though Doctor Solar has quite a bit of history with at least two prior incarnations, this isn't hard to get into, and I'm enjoying it. If you can also find the first issue, it's well worth checking out this new take on the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Earth 2 #1

May 3, 2012

Worth checking out, but not likely to blow your mind.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Extermination #5

Oct 21, 2012

Despite waffling a bit above...I'm putting down my $3.99 for this and the remaining issues, having already invested in half the series--I want as full a story as possible, despite the now-limited nature of the series itself.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Fanboys vs. Zombies #7

Oct 9, 2012

While I can't recommend this as a jumping-on point in and of itself, if you happen to just pick it up, you probably won't be terribly lost. There's plenty of random zombies and mayhem, and subtle characterization that you'll likely either see yourself or someone you know, which puts you in the action; and no worse than turning on the tv and watching a random episode of something that catches your eye that you haven't been following in particular.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Fear Itself #3

Jun 2, 2011

Still, as a middle issue in a huge event, and my lack of tie-ins for context...not a bad issue, really.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Fear Itself: Uncanny X-Force #1

Jul 7, 2011

I do have to wonder a bit, though, at Marvel's pricing. The .1 issue a few months back, and now this mini (even this premiere issue!) are priced at just $2.99....while the main title is $3.99. Something's just a bit "off" about that.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Freelancers #1

Nov 4, 2012

Despite seeing ads for this for awhile now in other Boom! titles, I didn't expect to enjoy this as I did. It looked cheesey and over the top...but actually reading it, it had something to it that leaves me interested in where the first story goes, at the least. I'm a bit resistant to adding titles to my monthly pulls...but this has definite potential as an off-the-shelf title provided it doesn't sneak under my radar moving forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
G.I. Joe: A Real American Hero #156

Jul 22, 2010

If you're interested in G.I.Joe and don't want to invest in multiple titles, or have read/enjoyed the old Marvel series...this is a great issue to pick up. This may also be of interest if you're only familiar with any of the animated series or even the movie--Hama cultivates a very realistic, engaging environment for the characters, that draws one into the story itself. While you'll get a lot more out of it if you're familiar with the characters...Hama does a good job introducing the characters and what you need to know now about them, so one could come onto this book fresh without ever having read a G.I.Joe comic before and follow along.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Green Arrow (2010) #1

Jun 24, 2010

If you're a fan of the writer or art team, of Green Arrow, or Brightest Day, I recommend giving this issue a shot. If you're a completely new reader...Green Arrow's an interesting character, and this issue's worth picking up to check things out, and a reasonable jumping-on point.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Green Lantern (2005) #55

Jul 1, 2010

This isn't really a jump-on point for new readers, but ongoing readers--long-term, or following this book out of all the Blackest Night stuff--should find this a decent read, all told. If you're already reading this arc, I definitely recommend the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Green Lantern Corps #50

Jul 29, 2010

Recommended primarily for ongoing readers or Cyborg Superman fans, but cautiously for the brave new reader as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Harbinger #1

Jun 7, 2012

I mentioned the old Harbinger series above; the vague memories I have of that reading experience I'm sure partially informs my experience now, especially suspicions of Harada as well as where this series may be headed. However, that's on a more meta-level...this is a completely new series, a new take on that, and you don't need to have any prior knowledge of Harbinger at all to get into this new issue. I was generally aware of the old Valiant, but was never all that invested in it. That said, I really enjoyed this issue, and look forward to the next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Harbinger #2

Jul 15, 2012

I'm feeling very mixed in my feelings on this issue as a whole. There's stuff about it that I have problems with (in other comics or ideas of other comics) and yet I don't find myself terribly bothered by it. Even the loathed $3.99 cover price...maybe it's just the NEWNESS of these Valiant titles, the limited number of titles to "buy'em all," but it doesn't bother me the way it would for a Marvel issue. Story and art, there's a hint of the familiar but mostly just the freshness of new titles, new characters that I've not been seeing or reading for years, and I'm eager to find out what comes next in this small, shared universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Harbinger #3

Aug 20, 2012

Overall, another solid issue that leaves me interested in the next, as well as the rest of the line. Definitely recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Harbinger #4

Sep 14, 2012

All in all--I'm really enjoying the series, and look forward to seeing what I think's about to come with a group of characters in this title. In the meantime, we're getting some strong foundation that will hopefully lead to a lengthy, solid run of this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Harbinger #5

Oct 19, 2012

If you've not been reading this as singles, I definitely recommend picking up the (hopefully sooner than not) collected volume. And if you've been reading along...the last four issues have built the foundation for this issue, which pays off quite a bit, while leaving plenty for what's yet to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Higher Earth #4

Sep 3, 2012

All in all, a really good issue, and mid-to-late point of a first story. There's payoff to hints we've seen thus far in the series, and the reveals show there is so much potential for what's to come. The art's nice to look at, the characters seem to have practical designs, and the story's got me hooked and looking forward to Heidi's development, as well as seeing what's up with the Queen.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Higher Earth #5

Sep 28, 2012

I still don't like the $3.99 price point, and I'm sick to death of variant covers (just give me a pinup gallery, please!)...but as far as the art and story go, this is another very good issue of an interesting series; one that I continue to be curious about where things go and to know more about the world(s) of Higher Earth.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Higher Earth #6

Oct 28, 2012

I'll be around for the end of the series...at the very least, might as well see it through to the end, after coming this far.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Infestation #1

Jan 27, 2011

Beginning with this issue, it looks like the Infestation event--by way of 4 separate biweekly minis and a closing bookend chapter--is a ten-week thing, with a new chapter weekly. I'm on-board for the entirety of this particular ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Infestation 2 #2

Apr 12, 2012

This is definitely a "bookend" issue, and though it doesn't blow me away at all, it's a fitting second issue of two, and the too-short feeling has been the blessing/curse combo of the entire Infestation 2 event.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Infestation 2: Dungeons and Dragons #2

Feb 25, 2012

I have no idea what impact if any this'll have on any ongoing D&D continuity in IDW's books, and don't find much here to have this stand out in and of itself. However...I'm following Infestation 2, so this was an amusing enough glimpse into a world affected by the awakening of the Old Ones. Chances are this 2-issue mini's for the existing D&D comics fan, or the Infestation 2 fan following this series. Not really enough here to bring one in otherwise.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Infestation 2: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #1

Mar 8, 2012

I enjoyed this issue, and look forward to the next chapter. Whether you're a lapsed TMNT fan looking for a new story that's not going to require months of buying to invest in; or following the Infestation stuff, a fan of the ongoing series eager for anything to supplement the monthly dose of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles title, this is quite worth the look-see.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Infestation 2: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #2

Mar 24, 2012

If one is coming at this looking for the mythology and world-building of the new TMNT, that will be met with disappointment. As part of Infestation 2, or a random TMNT story, this is well worthwhile. You don't need to be reading the ongoing TMNT title to enjoy this...and whether you enjoyed this or not, you're not being "forced" into any ongoing title as a result of trying a self-contained 2-issue mini. Recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Invincible #73

Jul 1, 2010

I'm really looking forward to seeing where this series goes, and the possibilities for all the characters involved. If you can find them, jumping in with the Invincible Returns one-shot and then Invincible #71 & 72 gets you caught up with what you need for the current issues. If you have access to those, I recommend giving them a shot, as this is a great title if you're into superheroes but don't want to have to follow umpteen titles and crossovers to get a well-rounded story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Invincible Iron Man #27

Jun 12, 2010

If you've already got the first couple chapters--enjoyed them, and aren't intent upon waiting for a collected volume--I definitely recommend this issue. There's no denying the convenient timing of War Machine being prominent in an Iron Man book...but it's still a great read, and works very well within the ongoing story. This is the second time in as many years that I've read a huge chunk of a series in a collected volume and then read the singles for a time...in the way that Brubaker impressed me with the larger Captain America story, Fraction is doing with Iron Man.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Invincible Iron Man #28

Jul 16, 2010

I certainly recommend the issue to anyone already following the story/title. This isn't the most accessible issue by itself, so wouldn't be a particularly ideal jumping-on point...though if one can find #s 25-27 as well as this, together they're well worth picking up for anyone looking to get into the ongoing Iron Man story.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Invincible Iron Man #500

Jan 20, 2011

The lead story is 56 pages--meaning we do get more than double the content in this issue for only $2 more than the title's usual cover price and only $1 more than the frustrating $3.99 price point...so the value is there. But if you're not already following the title...there's really nothing here (other than a 467-number skip from the previous issue (#33) to the big 500) screaming that there's much significance to this issue. Additionally, the very next issue is part of the Marvel.1 thing--with Invincible Iron Man #500.1--that would seem to be the issue to jump aboard this title and making this almost an ending. Ultimately, I found this issue rather disappointing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Invincible Iron Man Annual #1

Jul 1, 2010

There's no "continued from" or "previously" page...there's no "to be continued..." blurb, either. The credits page--situated as the last page of the issue--informs us that the Mandarin will return in the pages of the ongoing title. But other than that...this is a completely self-contained tale, worthy of longtime/lapsed readers or newer readers discovering the Mandarin for the first time. If you can suffer the $4.99 cover price for the print edition of this 68-content-pages issue and have any interest in the Mandarin, I highly recommend it. (For folks going digital, I understand the price is basically $6...which is still well worthwhile, especially if you have a specific interest in this rather than "just checking it out").

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Joker's Asylum II: Killer Croc #1

Jun 25, 2010

If you have an extra $2.99 and want a nice single-issue tale fleshing out this particular figure from Batman's rogues gallery, I do recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Joker's Asylum II: The Mad Hatter #1

Jun 17, 2010

This issue was not what I expected--though I'm not sure what I did expect. I've enjoyed these one-shots...both the 2008 series and the current one. This issue is a worthy addition to the bunch, and well worth checking out if you're interested in the creative team, the Mad Hatter himself, Batman rogues, or simply a tale of a not-so-heroic character.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Jurassic Park: Redemption #1

Jun 26, 2010

Unless you're a huge fan of Jurassic Park and simply must have any chunk of story right now, I'd give this a pass.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League #1

Sep 1, 2011

If you want to be in from the beginning, and follow this launch of the new DCU as the issues are released...by all means, this is the place to get in. But if you're just looking for a solid story, of this new take on the Justice League, I almost hate to say it...but what doesn't work for me in this being a single issue will probably be part of a really fun collected volume when the story arc is complete.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Life with Archie: The Married Life #1

Jul 29, 2010

Despite the complaints...this is a publication I've been looking forward to for a couple months. The price alone makes it worthwhile for providing two comics' worth of new content. Aside from the extras that'll appeal to a much younger crowd, the heart of this magazine--the Archie Loves Veronica and the Archie Loves Veronica segments--make this a great product, well worth picking up, whether you're a teen, twenty-something, thirty-something, or older. Highly recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Life with Archie: The Married Life #2

Sep 12, 2010

While I wish this were simply a double-length, comic-sized publication...the magazine size and format allows better placement for this to reach a larger audience, as it's available outside the usual places one would expect to buy comics these days. So even if you don't buy this at your comic shop...if you see it in a check-out aisle or in the magazine section of some other store...it is well worth the $3.99 cover price...for the amount of content and current comics' pricing, this could be $5.99 and still be well within the realm of worthiness for purchase.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Mega Man #1

May 12, 2011

Though neither story nor art particularly blew me away...the simple enjoyment of reading the issue and seeing this start to the character earns it an extra point overall in my book. Highly recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
New Avengers (2010) #24

Apr 12, 2012

Something about AvX #1 left me interested enough in "more, ASAP!" that I opted to snag this issue, solely for the AvX logo on the cover...something I've pointedly avoided for prior modern Marvel events (Disassembled, House of M, Civil War, Secret Invasion, Fear Itself, etc.) I enjoyed this issue--seeing more of these Avengers characters, touching base with 'em, and generally experiencing more of the "whole picture" of this event thus far. All in all...I enjoyed the issue at least as much as I expected (and on further reflection as I word this review, I think I enjoyed it more). Despite the cover price, I'm glad I bought this, and look forward to more AvX in general; if all the tie-ins read the way this did for me, I think I'm in for a treat while my wallet weeps.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Ruse #1

Mar 18, 2011

As with any first issue, it's too early to tell exactly where everything is going...but there's something to be said about the nostalgia factor of this issue. It's been the better part of a decade since there's been a new Crossgen issue out...and something about that adds to the overall enjoyment of this issue--that the properties are coming back, and this is the ground floor for the current iteration.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Savage Dragon #163

Aug 28, 2010

I can't imagine this title is for everybody...but it's got a sense of epicness and "fun" that leaves me very interested to check out future issues...most likely the very next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Secret Avengers #29

May 29, 2012

All in all, a strong issue that I quite enjoyed, and I do look forward to seeing how things play out in the next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Shadowman #1

Nov 12, 2012

This issue is well worth getting and checking out--new fan or old. Or get it as something different, a character not set in New York or San Francisco, and that seems to be more of a supernatural character than super-hero.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Spawn #200

Jan 15, 2011

All in all...this seems an issue worth getting if you want to hold and read the 200th issue of this title, or are otherwise following the title. Otherwise, this feels more like an ending to the past couple years of issues, and it seems likely that the next issue would make a better jumping-on point for anyone looking to jump in and follow the monthly title.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Steel #1

Jan 6, 2011

As just one issue, with a focus on Steel and a very reasonable take on Doomsday...this is still well worth its $2.99.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superior Spider-Man #1

Jan 11, 2013

I encourage even those disgusted by the final Amazing story to give this series a chance--it's still a $3.99 book, it's still the same writer, and it's still the ongoing saga of the basic cast of characters. At the same time, if you've avoided Spider-Man for awhile, this is a great time to jump in on what--to me--promises to be a rather interesting ride. In fact, I'm far more interested in this after one issue than I've been in Spider-stuff in general for years.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superman #712

Jun 23, 2011

While neither story nor art alone get as high a rating, it's what makes a comic a comic--the blend--that earns this issue its overall rating.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Superman (2011) #6

Feb 25, 2012

This issue seems to be for those already following the title and moreso, the entire Super-corner of the new DCU. This is no jumping-on point (maybe the next issue will be as it begins a "new arc"), and if you liked whatever Superman's been up to since Superman #5 you might care to follow him (or Supergirl) into this issue to see how things turn out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Superman Family Adventures #1

May 31, 2012

I can't say that I'll pick this up every month--but it seems the sort of title ripe for picking up whenever, and being enjoyed on the single-issue basis with no need for waiting for a trade or for multiple issues to wrap an arc. At the least, if you're looking for something fun for yourself or someone younger, I recommend giving this a look-see to see for yourself if it's up your alley.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Superman/Batman #76

Sep 26, 2010

As this is basically a one-shot, you do not need to have read any previous issues in the series...and the specific story told in this issue ends in this issue (though the ongoing, overall story of the characters has continued in the various titles they all appear in). You also do not need to have read Final Crisis itself nor any of the tie-ins...the issue gives you everything you really need to know. For only $2.99, the issue is very worthwhile, whether you're a Superman fan, Batman fan, or a completist seeking all relevant stories to Final Crisis.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Superman: Secret Origin #6

Aug 26, 2010

At this point, if you've bought/read the previous issues and not entirely hated the series, you'll probably find this issue worthwhile. Otherwise...the collected edition will likely be out in less time than waits between single issues and you'll have the entire story in one book. As a whole, this will likely be--as a whole work--enjoyed most by newer fans of Superman, or returning readers not particularly invested in any particular take on the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #1

Aug 25, 2011

Sheer enjoyment increases my rating on this beyond simply story and art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #7

Feb 25, 2012

This is definitely my favorite issue of the week!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #10

Jun 2, 2012

Especially if you're already following/enjoying the series so far, I definitely recommend this issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #12

Jul 27, 2012

All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed this issue, and am already chomping at the bit for the next issue. TMNT as a whole is in great hands with IDW, and with the quality seen just in this first year, I'm totally on-board for the long haul.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #13

Aug 23, 2012

Definitely recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #14

Sep 28, 2012

At the rate of 4 issues to a collected volume/arc, this places us in the middle of the 4th arc, so this isn't exactly a prime jumping-on point in itself. But if you've read what's come so far this is definitely worthwhile. Whether a new or old fan of the TMNT, this continues to be a great series, as this continuity is incorporating many favorite elements from multiple prior incarnations of the TMNT as a unified whole--where stuff is there from the beginning, part of a foundation rather than something getting retconned or shoehorned in later.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #15

Nov 1, 2012

This IDW TMNT-universe is growing on me more and more with every issue, and the way it blends elements from numerous prior continuities and makes everything seem fresh yet familiar...this is pretty much my favorite title going at present, and that's as a TMNT fan going back to the original airing of the classic cartoon.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Annual #2012

Nov 1, 2012

Though it works with current continuity...I think this works extremely well as an original graphic novel. If you're already reading IDW's TMNT books, this is well worth getting--it's an extra-length story featuring most of the usual protagonists (particularly Raphael and Casey). But if you're not and/or have not read any of the IDW stuff--if you're a fan of classic TMNT and haven't read any TMNT in 15-20 years, even--this is well worth getting for a lengthy one-shot story. You need not have read anything to get into this...and there's no to-be-continued to try to get you to read anything after this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Micro-Series #6

Jul 27, 2012

If you're a fan of Casey Jones, or the overall TMNT story unfolding from IDW, this is an issue well worth getting. Even if you're not following the main TMNT series, even if you've not read any of the previous 5 Micro-Series issues, this one stands well enough by itself, giving you what you really need story-wise within the issue (the issue is of course very much enhanced if you have the context of the ongoing IDW continuity).

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Micro-Series #7

Aug 31, 2012

If you're not a fan of April, or only a fan of the classic cartoon April, this issue won't likely be of much interest for you. It's also not something to come into "cold," but you can probably enjoy it only having read the first arc of the main title. Of course, if you're like me, this is simply the next TMNT comic in current continuity, and well worth it for that alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Hypernaturals #4

Oct 4, 2012

In and of itself, if you're already enjoying the story, and the single-issue format and all--no reason to stop here. But if you're not already onboard, this definitely isn't an ideal jumping-on point, though you get some contextual details throughout.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Hypernaturals #5

Nov 4, 2012

While the first page "newsfeed" and "ads" for in-world stuff gives a bit of "flavor," I'd prefer something a bit less cutesy, and more story instead of the "ads." Still...a solid package all around. I could do very handily withOUT the high $3.99 price point and all the variant covers...but I'm more forgiving of $3.99 from smaller publishers, and do my darnedest to ignore all the variants (including a standing order with my local comic shop to just pull the "A" covers).

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Walking Dead #100

Jul 13, 2012

But as an issue of The Walking Dead, as the "next issue" after "the last issue I read," it's the usual solid story and art combo. The hugeness of the 100th issue makes this a bit too big for its britches, but should read just fine as part of the whole of the collected volumes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Tiny Titans/Little Archie #1

Oct 14, 2010

The "fun factor" of this issue bumps it into a higher overall rating, as the very premise of this book--at least forme--elicits a smile.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
TMNT Villain Microseries #6

Sep 13, 2013

Yet another fantastic TMNT comic, that leaves me (as always, it seems) looking forward to the next morsel of TMNT-verse as well as the next issue of this series in particular. Highly recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Transformers: Infestation #2

Feb 20, 2011

Despite the briefness of the story, it seems to actually matter, as we seem to have a character death...and the situation left by the Infestation touching the Transformers' Earth looks like it will remain in-continuity for the Transformers book. I don't know these characters all that well, but this 2-parter has been an enjoyable visit to the Transformers' continuity. I'm left interested in continuing to follow the continuing Infestation event...as well as checking out the Transformers' own story moving forward. And isn't that a win-win situation for an event like this?

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Turok, Son Of Stone #1

Oct 17, 2010

Whether you're interested in the writer's work, the artist's work, a chance to read the classic debut of the title character or check out the new version, this issue is quite worthwhile.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Uncanny X-Force (2010) #1

Oct 10, 2010

As first issues go, this is one of the better ones I've read from either of the "big two" lately, and I'm sufficiently interested in the story to at least consider looking for a collected edition even if I don't return for the single issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Uncanny X-Force (2010) #5

Feb 20, 2011

I am curious as to how long this arc will be, short as the previous arc was. If this is a similarly-sized arc, it has potential. As a full-size (6ish chapter) arc, I'll be very tempted to bail on the title. The largest part of that--and my main complaint for the issue--is its price...but so far there's something to this series that's kept me picking it up beyond its first issue. If you like the characters or concept of this series in general...or anything Deathlok-related, this issue seems quite worthy of picking up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Uncanny X-Force (2010) #11

Jun 3, 2011

While this return to the AoA is to the dimension and presently surviving characters (as opposed to a return to the era of the 1995 event), this will probably be of some interest to fans of the classic story--though there's little more than a glimpse of a handful of characters in this issue. Fans of this version of X-Force and this title itself will likely feel right at home. This isn't the greatest jumping on point ever, but it would not be insurmountable if you know anything of even a couple of the characters and have an interest in trying the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Uncanny X-Force (2010) #13

Aug 28, 2011

If you've been enjoying this title in general, and the beginnings of the Dark Angel Saga, it's certainly worth continuing. If you've not been following the title, this is the middle/late piece of an arc so unless you're also picking up the last couple issues, there's not much in this issue to qualify it as a particularly good jumping-on point despite the "previously page."

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Uncanny X-Force (2010) #14

Sep 4, 2011

At chapter 4, this issue's for the continuing/ongoing readers and not itself a specific jumping in point. However, if you're a fan of the more recent Age of Apocalypse stuff, and can locate the previous three chapters, this story isn't a horrible one to start with.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Uncanny X-Force (2010) #22

Feb 25, 2012

Mid-arc, this isn't a jumping-on point, but if you're already following the title, the story is moved forward with some revelatory exposition, so you might as well keep up with the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Uncanny X-Men: The Heroic Age #1

Jul 15, 2010

This issue has 34 or so pages--extra sized beyond a "standard" issue, which helps justify the cover cost. While probably not essential reading, this is a good place to jump in and get a feel for several of the characters as the X-Men join the Heroic Age.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Uncle Scrooge #392

Jun 11, 2010

This is a great issue, whether for regular readers, or to simply pick up as your first-ever. It should be of particular enjoyment to fans--new and old--of the classic DuckTales animated series. And at $2.99, the time one has to spend to read the entire issue provides a much better value than many comics on the market today. When considered beyond just the story and the art, the nostalgia factor heightens the overall enjoyment of this issue. Highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Uncle Scrooge #394

Aug 11, 2010

All told, If you're already following this title, the issue is worth snagging. Its standalone nature makes it a decent issue if one's just trying things out--if you know the characters from the cartoon, you ought to be able to enjoy this issue without context of the previous couple issues. If you're not specifically a fan of or interested in Scrooge and the DuckTales property, this does not seem an ideal issue to get you interested...better to hold out for a collected volume that will have a bigger chunk of story at once.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Uncle Scrooge #400

Feb 3, 2011

This issue is extra-sized and highly worth its $3.99 cover price...well worth checking out for new readers, and sure to be a huge treat in particular for longtime readers. And that Don Rosa cover? I'd love to have that as a poster...

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Wolverine (2010) #1

Sep 2, 2010

If you're a die-hard Wolverine fan, or otherwise willing to jump in with a likely investment of a dozen or more issues by the time all's said and done, this probably won't be a bad point to jump in. For the casual fan, not quite so bright an outlook. I bought this to give it a try--it's a fresh start, right? New number-one? Though I'm actually kinda interested in where this story is going, I don't see coming back for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Wolverine and Jubilee #1

Jan 23, 2011

If you're a fan of Wolverine, or of Jubilee, this is worth getting. Additionally, if you're following the entirety of things from the rise of the vampires and their war on mutantkind, this seems to be the primary fallout from that arc's end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
X-Men Legacy #249

May 31, 2011

All in all, a strong issue, and I'm looking forward to following this series for a bit and see if I can't be firmly convinced to stick around awhile. Especially if this remains at the $2.99 price point as its regular price.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
X-Men Legacy #250

Jun 14, 2011

On the whole, if youve been following this title, Id recommend keeping with itthis issue seems to transition from the Age of X stuff and its immediate aftermath to whatever comes next. As this is set firmly within recent continuity and events, its not the BEST point for a new reader to jump on, but its not a horrible point to try things out, either.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
X-Men Legacy #254

Aug 28, 2011

The story isn't bad in itself--Carey's got a good handle on these characters--it's just not the sort of story I tend to enjoy as much. The art's good, and fits with what I expect for these characters...no problems there. Overall, not a bad start to a new arc; though if you're not into X-Men-in-space adventures, this arc might be one you'd want to skip.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
X-Men Vol. 4 #1

Jul 9, 2010

It seems likely the story as a whole will be well worth reading once it's available as a single story instead of short $4 chunks. For now, though...unless you have no problem with the $3.99 price and are particularly interested in following the story in 22-paged chunks, I'd recommend holding off a few months, and getting the collected edition.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
X-Men Vol. 4 #2

Aug 11, 2010

I wasn't going to buy this issue--I'd intended to wait for the collected edition--but it's a slow week, so I opted spur-of-the-moment to spend the $4, which--while the issue's good--still seems really steep for a single issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
X-Men Vol. 4 #7

Jan 31, 2011

I'd planned to drop this book solely due to the $3.99 cover, but I once more find myself hooked by Gischler's story, and well tempted to overlook my dislike of the pricepoint. If you didn't like the vampire arc, this issue is a great jumping-on point for anyone interested in a new X-Men story or just checking things out. Recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
X-Men Vol. 4 #16

Aug 28, 2011

If you enjoy fun-ish team-ups or guest-starring situations involving the X-Men and/or Fantastic Four/Future Foundation characters, you'll probably find this to be pretty enjoyable aside from that annoying $3.99 price point. The issue may also be enjoyable for dealing with the current teams without the encumbrance of the Fear Itself event going on at present. Finally, this issue's cover would make a great poster.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
X-Men: Second Coming #2

Jul 15, 2010

If you've been following Second Coming, this is certainly worth getting. My main warning is that those who have bought only Second Coming intending just to follow this story and then bail again may find themselves enticed to stay with the books. I don't feel like this book is an ad in and of itself...but while capping off the main event, it does a lot to try to draw the reader into What Comes Next after Second Coming. Though this is a #2 of 2 issues and the end of this event, it wouldn't be a horrible place to jump in to gain some context if you're curious about the state of the X-Books coming next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
X-O Manowar #1

May 3, 2012

If you're a fan of classic Valiant, this is well worth checking out--it's new, but the spirit of the original is here. And if you're a new fan, this is a great premiere and way to get in at the beginning of this new Valiant universe..

View Issue       View Full Review
7
X-O Manowar #4

Aug 31, 2012

This is no jump-on point for someone not already reading the series, but (despite the above issues) it's a solid next chapter of the building story if you're already onboard. Venditti and Nord make for a great team on this flagship title, and I am looking forward to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
X-O Manowar #5

Sep 14, 2012

Still...I'm really digging X-O Manowar, and hoping this series lasts a good, long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
X-O Manowar #6

Oct 20, 2012

There's lots to enjoy in this issue and series...I'm very much invested in this whole new Valiant line, and with the quality of these first few months, I even forgive the $3.99 pricing and plan to be on board for quite some time to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Young Justice Vol. 2 #0

Jan 20, 2011

I actually enjoyed this issue more than I expected to, and highly recommend it to anyone who is--or plans to be--a fan of the cartoon...or who wants a fun Kid Flash/Superboy story set outside the traditional DC Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Young Justice Vol. 2 #1

Feb 20, 2011

The issue does leave off on a "to be continued" note...but somehow it doesn't bother me that this isn't a one-off "mini-episode" within the series. I enjoyed the #0 issue and enjoyed this, and have absolutely no qualms about the "necessity" of picking up the next issue as well.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

February

January

More