Adam Chapman's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Superior Spider-Talk, cxPulp Reviews: 116
7.6Avg. Review Rating

6.0
All-New All-Different Avengers #1

Nov 16, 2015

All-New All-Different Avengers #1 is a somewhat slow read, focusing on characterization over plot. The back-up story is the superior read, in terms of both story and art.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
All-New All-Different Avengers #2

Dec 8, 2015

A tighter script, better pacing and more nuanced characterization make this new issue of All-New All-Different Avengers a more enjoyable read than the first issue. Kubert's art remains excellent.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New All-Different Avengers #3

Jan 22, 2016

With each issue All-New All-Different Avengers has become more enjoyable and entertaining. There's a true sense of fun and excitement present in the book that spews forth from the writing and artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
All-New All-Different Avengers #4

Jan 28, 2016

All-New All-Different Avengers #4 continues to excel with its small-time action, character centric stories but the lingering question surrounding the Avengers' lack of funds continues to undermine the storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New All-Different Avengers #5

Feb 21, 2016

Waid manages to instill the issue with enough meaning and pathos, while also making it a fast-paced, enjoyable read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
All-New All-Different Avengers #6

Feb 24, 2016

All-New All-Different Avengers remains at the top of my read pile every week it comes out. It's an enjoyable, fun, if lightweight, team book that reads like a classic Avengers tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
All-New All-Different Avengers #7

Mar 27, 2016

Despite being part of an Avengers-line crossover, Waid's All-New All-Different Avengers remains an engaging and enthralling read, with a clear sense of character and plot, all expertly balanced.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
All-New All-Different Avengers #8

Apr 21, 2016

As a chapter of the currently unfolding "Standoff" storyline, this issue holds its own, but as an issue of All-New All-Different Avengers, it fails to capture the energy and excitement (and the focus on the title characters) evident in the first seven issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Alpha Flight Vol. 4 #0.1

May 19, 2011

Overall, this issue is an enjoyable one, and a great starting point for this new title, although why it couldn't have just been called #1 is beyond me. As far as weird gimmicky issue numbers go, 0.1 is even worse that #0, or the old-school #0.5 issues that Wizard used to publish as special giveaways back in the mid-to-late nineties. If you were thinking of giving the new Alpha Flight series a chance, this is of course the perfect place to jump in, it's extremely accessible, and is a fun read, despite my misgivings about its political content. Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Alpha Flight Vol. 4 #2

Jul 14, 2011

Despite my lingering misgivings about the heavy political aspect of the book, and how I don't think it really works in a Canadian context, there's no doubt about it that this book is a fantastic piece of work, with a great script by Pak/Van Lente and extremely enjoyable artwork by the always-enjoyable Dale Eaglesham. Editor Mark Paniccia has truly assembled a grade-A team here, and it shows in the great finished product. Also, for those not in the know, the title of the issue, Born on the First of July, is a nice take-off on the classic film Born on the Fourth of July, which works because July 1st is Canada Day, analogous to the US' July 4th. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Amazing Spider-Man #633

Jun 18, 2010

Coming into Grim Hunt, which starts next issue, I'm not sold on why we needed this arc so badly to occur first, nor why the Kravinoffs needed Spider-Man to face the Lizard first. The overall storyline and artwork is enjoyable, but I wanted more than that, and the finale unfortunately dragged it down a couple pegs on the whole.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man #635

Jun 24, 2010

Overall, I liked both stories, and can't wait to see just how Kelly plays the ending here, and if what we see is actually what we get, or what else might be going on, but I just hope that the characterization and portrayal of Kaine is improved somewhat, because it's terrible thus far.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man #639

Aug 5, 2010

I'm definitely interested in seeing what happens next in this story, especially given the last few pages here, and the questions that they raise. The artwork is beautiful as well, so that's yet another thing to look forward to here in the next installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Amazing Spider-Man #640

Aug 19, 2010

The first issue was really interesting, the second one less so, and the third chapter here is just downright disappointing. I hope that Quesada can pull things together for the final chapter, because at this point I can't imagine being that surprsied or entertained by where he seems to be directing the storyline and the resolution. This arc doesn't feel like it was three years in the making, and if anything the wait for this storyline and the answers it promised just makes it all the more unsatisfying and disappointing.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Amazing Spider-Man #643

Sep 16, 2010

As I said previously, this is a great issue, very enjoyable, with a fantastic sense of pacing to keep you thrilled and engaged. Hopefully the artwork by Azaceta will get better in the next installments, because I'd hate for the artwork to drag down the gem of a script that Waid has delivered.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Amazing Spider-Man #645

Oct 14, 2010

We're nearing the finish line not just for this storyline but for the era of Brand New Day as a whole, and I can't wait to see just what Waid has plans for the finale. Plus, I'm getting more and more stoked for the upcoming Big Time era of Amazing Spider-Man, and the promise and potential it holds for the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Amazing Spider-Man #646

Oct 28, 2010

On the whole, this was a very enjoyable storyline, and if you missed out but were thinking of picking up this storyline in trade format, I would recommend that you do so, because the script was quite enjoyable, a great read all the way through. Next issue is the official end of the Brand New Day era, and beyond lies Big Time... one can only hope it'll be as enjoyable and as entertaining as it promises itself to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Amazing Spider-Man #648

Nov 11, 2010

Overall, this was a very enjoyable, entertaining issue, as Big Time finally gets underway. If you've been looking for a good time to get back into Spider-Man, this is most definitely it, as it's a fantastic jumping-on point. Plus, the financial commitment of the title is now just two issues a month as opposed to three, and for those concerned about consistency of storytelling, because of Brand New Day having a writing team, this new era boasts just one writer steering the ship, and thankfully he's one who loves continuity, and really loves Spider-Man, his supporting cast, and his villains.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Amazing Spider-Man #655

Feb 24, 2011

Seriously, Dan Slott and Marcos Martin are comic book creator soulmates, as their work together surpasses their work with anyone else, in the vein of Brian Michael Bendis and Alex Maleev. This is a great issue, very enjoyable, with absolutely fantastic artwork and writing. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man #661

May 20, 2011

Overall, this is a great fill-in issue, which although slowing down the progress of the main plotline, also manages to tell a very enjoyable story about Spider-Man, his past as a teacher, what that means for him in the present, and just how different the jaded, cynical heroes of today are from Spider-Man himself, the teen hero of yesteryear. Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Amazing Spider-Man #664

Jun 30, 2011

This is a fantastic issue, which has a lot of different developments for various characters, both protagonists and antagonists, and packs so much content into this issue that you never feel like the price of $3.99 is too high. Slott makes this issue worth the cost, and gives the reader a great reading experience, and one which isn't over as quickly as in most comics these days, that are done in a more decompressed style. Highly Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Amazing Spider-Man #665

Jul 14, 2011

Overall, you still get a fair bit of Spider-action for your buck, and the back-up story definitely changes the status quo a bit, going into the summer blockbuster storyline Spider-Island. The lead story has a really strong script, which manages to fit a lot of elements in, and yet is still a very solid character-centric issue of Amazing Spider-Man. Despite lackluster artistic outings, the scripts manage to rise above, and provide a very solid reading experience.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Amazing Spider-Man #668

Sep 7, 2011

This issue is a terrific blend of high-concept story ideas and excellent characterization, as the story works on multiple different levels. Slott is telling a fun, energetic story here, and his script doesn't fail to match up to the task at hand. The artwork by Ramos is a perfect fit for this script and this storyline, as it has a great deal of energy and excitement in every single panel. I haven't always been a huge fan of Ramos and was skeptical of his joining the Big Time artistic rotation, but he has blown me away each and every issue that he has illustrated, and proven himself a perfect fit for illustrating Spider-Man's adventures as written by Dan Slott. This is a fantastic issue, a great deal of fun, and shouldn't be missed. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Amazing Spider-Man #673

Nov 4, 2011

Overall, this was a very enjoyable epilogue, deftly managing ongoing plot threads, as well as setting up new toys for Slott to play with in the future of this title. As for Kaine's future, as well as his likely certain turn as Scarlet Spider in the upcoming ongoing series... I'll just have to wait and see on that one, although I'm definitely not sure about it because of Kaine's drastic change in characterization. Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man Annual #38

Apr 8, 2011

For those following an ongoing series, it's sometimes a debate whether or not to bother with the Annuals, because normally they aren't related to ongoing stories, and are kind of set apart and aren't viewed as essential reading for the particular title or character. Although I can't necessary make the argument that it's essential, I think it IS worth picking up, as it has a great sense of humour, has good art, a good story, and brings back the concept of interlinking annuals, and managed to make me, the cynical, jaded comic fan./reviewer, excited to read the next two chapters in this year's annuals for Deadpool and Incredible Hulks. Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Amazing Spider-Man Presents: American Son #2

Jul 1, 2010

Overall, I feel that this mini-series is going in a slightly different direction than I originally would have expected, and I couldn't be happier about it, as it's more a surprise, and makes the series have a bit more depth and mystery to it. Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man Presents: Black Cat #1

Jun 18, 2010

A great new start, an enjoyable and compelling story for both Spider-Man and the Black Cat, and I look forward to seeing how they'll work together, both during Grim Hunt and this mini-series. A good start indeed thus far.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Avengers (2010) #2

Jun 24, 2010

The story concept that Bendis is playing with here is an interesting one, although not necessarily an entirely original one, but definitely has potential to be a great Avengers storyline. But the downside of this issue is that the characterization of the actual Avengers is just not all that good. What good is a great idea and concept if the characters aren't interesting to read, and don't even sound like themselves? I expected better than this, but there's still time for this storyline to really turn things around, if the characterization improves.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers (2010) #6

Oct 28, 2010

Now that the first arc is over, and we have a new team member joining the team next issue (Red Hulk), I hope that we finally get to see some more substantial characterization and exploration of who these characters are as Avengers, how they interact together, etc. There's so much potential here, I just want to see more of it utilized. Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Avengers (2010) #13

May 19, 2011

Overall, the issue is a bit of a dog and pony show, with Bendis serving up an issue's worth of somewhat empty characterization given his overuse of the narrative device chosen, but thankfully he's saved by some extremely solid, very much noteworthy artwork by Bachalo. I can only hope that next issue has more of a focus on actual plot development, instead of just replaying a scene which was already seen elsewhere, and then obliquely and vaguely talking about how bad things get later on, without just getting to something of greater substance instead.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers Academy #1

Jun 10, 2010

Overall, this issue was better than my expecations, and was a great read, and smoething I look forward to picking up next month when issue #2 comes out. The combination of the instructors and the new characters is tantalizing, and I loved how Gage brought things around and made it clear that the instructors he chose are connected to the theme of the issue and the reveal/concept, for the most part. I'm definitely intrigued and can't wait to read the next issue. Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers Academy #3

Aug 19, 2010

This issue was yet another home-run for the team of Gage/McKone, as Avengers Academy delivers with a third-straight fantastic issue. Just like its predecessor Avengers Initiative, this book is proving to be one to take note of, with strong character-work, great plotting, and fantastic visuals. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers Academy #4

Sep 23, 2010

This issue is thoroughly enjoyable and engaging, as I'm coming to expect from this title, as it hasn't yet disappointed me since its beginning. I hope that more readers will give this title a shot, as it's definitely a deserving title, and has some new characters that are being introduced into the Marvel Universe. This is Heroic Age's Avengers: Initiative, with a distinctive style and approach, both in the script and in the artwork, and worth of your time and money. Highly Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers Academy #5

Oct 8, 2010

Overall, this is yet another solid, enjoyable issue of this underrated yet highly enjoyable new addition to the Avengers franchise. If you haven't yet given this series a shot, you really should try out an issue, or try a collected edition when the first arc is collected, so that this book will be able to continue onwards, to progress and develop this varied cast of characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers Prime #2

Aug 6, 2010

The series is aggravating in the sense that it's slow, but the dialogue can be really good, and then you have Davis illustrating the crap out of the script. The artwork is never boring, and this issue shows an improvement in the script to keep you engaged and entertained.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers: Children's Crusade #5

Apr 8, 2011

This issue was a good step in the right direction, as the narrative became far more focused and character-centric, which is where the success of the Young Avengers franchise lies in the first place. It's the character work that Heinberg handled so brilliantly in the first series which made so many readers into fans of these characters, yet thus far we haven't had nearly as much quality character focus thus far in this series. Here's hoping that this issue is an indication of the quality and enjoyment to be had in upcoming issues. Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Booster Gold #35

Aug 12, 2010

This title is really starting to lose me as a reader, as my interest wanes, and the storylines no longer try to do anything that original or daring, seemingly preferring to be stale over being fresh.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Booster Gold #44

May 22, 2011

Overall, this was a bit of a weak tie-in to Flashpoint, it didn't really give too much new content or new insights into this new reality, and felt like it barely moved the overall plot ahead. And as much as it's nice to have Booster in Flashpoint, considering the likelihood that he won't really end up being part of the solution in the main book, it makes me wonder about the point of his book tying in, and what will ultimately come of it, as a repercussion, etc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Booster Gold #45

Jun 12, 2011

As I said previously in the review, I felt that the first part of this storyline was a bit slow and plodding, as we just got slow glimpses of the world around Booster, now that Flashpoint has occurred, but this issue ramped things up a few notches, and was far more interesting, engaging and enjoyable, and I look forward to how Booster and Barry's stories might eventually meet up and collide, given their parallel focuses.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Brightest Day #8

Aug 19, 2010

The scripting here was average at best, because although there was a highlight with the opening sequence with Hawk, Dove and Deadman, it quickly takes a nosedive as it delves further into uninteresting characters and storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Brightest Day #11

Oct 8, 2010

As this series progresses, I keep getting stuck on the question of "What is the point?", and "Why does all this matter?". It makes a series, let alone an issue, hard to be invested and involved in, when you have no real sense of why it even matters, where it might be leading, etc. At this point, the only real excitement I have on where it's all going is that it's going to eventually have an ending, so it'll finally be over. I find the series to be extremely frustrating, because it has an issue or two where I think it might turn things around, and that it might actually prove to have a plan and be interesting in resolving it, and then we get issues like this, where I just find it maddening how little we're actually progressing towards any discernable point.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Captain America (2004) #606

Jun 12, 2010

Overall, this was a fairly entertaining and enjoyable issue, and although I remain cautiously optimistic about Brubaker using Zemo here, I'm enjoying it thus far. Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Captain America (2004) #607

Jul 1, 2010

All told, Captain America feels like it's really getting its act together after a few issues that really did FEEL like filler, and I'm interested in seeing what Brubaker has in store for both Zemo and for Bucky. I'm not entirely sure who IS the new regular artist for this title, but hopefully it brings back the sense of stability that this series normally has in the artwork department. Recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Captain America (2004) #608

Aug 6, 2010

Overall, this book is once again a good issue overall, and for the most part Brubaker is really doing a fantastic job of reintroducing Helmut Zemo, and without totally forgetting who he used to be (nor who the Fixer used to be). Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Captain America (2004) #621

Aug 29, 2011

Although it still remains to be seen how this flashback tale will be significant in a current continuity context, it's impossible to deny how enjoyable and well-written this issue is, as Brubaker effortlessly delves into the history of Bucky, and spotlights elements of his past and his partnership with Captain America which fit so well into established continuity, adding further depth and substance. Highly Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Daredevil (1998) #509

Aug 12, 2010

This was a very enjoyable issue, in some ways more enjoyable than the issues that immediately preceded the beginning of Shadowland. There's a clearer narrative now, or at least it all feels a lot more streamlined and simplified. The issue has a great sense of pacing and flow, and I didn't even mind that the titular character wasn't heavily featured in a starring role.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deathstroke #1

Sep 15, 2011

This is a pretty enjoyable issue, fast-paced and entertaining, however it does suffer a bit from the fact that the issue DOES read more like a one-shot than the beginning of an ongoing book. But for now, Higgins and Bennett have delivered an engaging and enjoyable issue, which is well worth the read. Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2011) #1

Sep 7, 2011

Overall, this is a great done-in-one issue which definitely makes the reader interested to see what comes next, but also doesn't necessarily demand that you do get the next issue to understand this one. It might add greater context and purpose, but it isn't necessary to enjoy this issue, which definitely makes it a more enjoyable issue. Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fantastic Four #580

Jun 24, 2010

Overall, this is a fairly good outing, and I love the work being done with the Future Foundation, it's rich with potential and the characterizations of the various members are part of what make it such a treat to read and see more done with them. The series and this issue still have the nagging problem of being a tad uneven, but it doesn't ruin the enjoyment of the issue, thankfully. Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fantastic Four #584

Oct 28, 2010

Thus far Three is shaping up to be quite and enjoyable and entertaining storyline, and I can't wait to see just where Hickman is going to go next with this. I like the disparate plot elements that are going on all at the same time, it keeps the action moving, and we're getting some extremely solid characterization throughout the plot movements and developments. Highly Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Fear Itself #1

Apr 8, 2011

After reading this issue, I'm not excited nor highly anticipating the next issue, instead cautiously awaiting for the flood of tie-ins and mini-series, and hoping that they'll be good with more personal takes on particular characters throughout the course of the event. The art was quite good, but not enough to save the overall issue from being more than average at best.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Fear Itself #2

May 5, 2011

Thus far, I'm underwelmed by this event, as the script lacks the gravitas and stakes that past crossovers had that made what happened within the pages seem that much more crucial and important. The put-upon nature of this crossover, as one that was manufactured for this summer because of the Thor and Captain America movie releases is not lost on me either, nor is it forgotten. The script isn't bad, but it most definitely isn't good, and thankfully the art is here to elevate this from being the middling, almost indifferent read that it would be based just on the script.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fear Itself: Youth in Revolt #4

Aug 29, 2011

This is a great mini-series so far, chock full of strong character moments for Marvel's current crop of teen heroes, and it doesn't seem to be slowing down in the least. I can't wait to see what McKeever/Norton have planned for the last two issues of this engaging mini-series! Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
FF #4

May 26, 2011

For newer readers who've only jumped aboard this book since the relaunch, this issue and the last have hopefully been helpful in making the events that transpire make sense, but for those who have been reading Hickman's run since Dark Reign: Fantastic Four, this issue is a fantastic culmination of various story threads over the past two years, as we see how things connect, why and how, and the crap officially starts to hit the fan. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
FF #6

Jul 15, 2011

This issue felt like a bit of a waste, as it didn't focus on anyone from the Future Foundation, and at this point didn't seem to move the plot along in the least. And if this is the way to somehow resurrect Black Bolt, it is one of the most obtuse, complicated and convoluted ways of doing so. The script just wasn't up to the high standards that Hickman has set for himself, with the same being true of the artwork by Tocchini not matching the high level of artistic excellence I'm already accustomed to on this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Flash (2010) #4

Jul 29, 2010

Overall, this is still a fairly enjoyable read, it's just not quite the home run I was expecting, in either the writing or artwork departments. It's still got some promise and some potential, and it has a high-quality creative team, it's just not yet managing to fire on all cylinders.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2011) #1

Sep 30, 2011

This is a fun, fresh take on Barry Allen and his adventures, in-keeping with the general tone started pre-New 52, but at the same time representing a fresh beginning. The artwork suits the writing quite well, not surprising, again, because Manapul is both writer/artist on this series. Although I still have my doubts about the fate of the greater Flash-family post-Flashpoint in the New 52, when I move that from my mind and focus simply on this issue as presented, what's on the page and not what ISN'T, this is an enjoyable fun issue. Highly Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Flashpoint #3

Jul 10, 2011

Despite a fairly enjoyable script by Johns, and excellent artwork by Kubert, the issue doesn't land as hard as it should, because of how the overall storyline is playing out. It's ironic that an event that focuses on the Flash is moving along so slowly as the story develops, and it definitely affected my enjoyment of this issue. While it was good on a technical level, it just failed to fully deliver and capture myself as a reader.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Flashpoint: Kid Flash Lost #1

Jun 23, 2011

Overall, if you're a fan of Bart Allen you should definitely give this issue a shot, to see what will happen next for the character during this current storyline set in the far future. Unlike almost all of the Flashpoint tie-ins, this one features the present, current version of a DC character, and thus is a better touchstone than the various other mini-series that have recently started up. The art here is more enjoyable than the script, but that can be partly attributed to the over-abundance of obvious uninspired movie references, which interfered with my interest in the series and took me momentarily out of the issue, instead of keeping me riveted and glued to the page.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Flashpoint: Reverse-Flash #1

Jun 23, 2011

The big "cliffhanger" ending of this issue isn't really a cliffhanger at all, considering that it's already known what comes next, and it leaves the reader with less of a feeling of really wanting to read the next issue to see what comes next. For fans who were, like me, excited about seeing more of Reverse-Flash's involvement with Flashpoint, you're going to be disappointed, because as I said at the top this issue, and thusly this mini-series thus far, act much more like Flash: Rebirth prelude than as a Flashpoint tie-in. Kollins definitely does a nice job with the writing, it's just too bad that he treads on ground that's already been over-harvested in recent times.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2011) #8

Apr 13, 2012

I've been slow to warm up to this title, as I felt that it lacked true purpose or a sense of direction, but this issue definitely reinvigorated my interest in Hal Jordan and this title, and hopefully next issue's continued exploration into the secret of the Indigo Tribe proves to be worth the wait. Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lantern Corps #49

Jun 24, 2010

This is a fairly good issue overall, although it doesn't do anything particularly exciting. It does a serviceable job of progressing the story, re-introducing the villain, and putting the heroes in peril, but I hope that the conclusion does more than that, and takes it further to a different level.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Gwenpool Special #1

Dec 12, 2015

A somewhat uneven collection of stories featuring oddballs, new critical darlings, and an odd couple pairing of Hawkeye and Deadpool, this Holiday special manages to entertain despite some missteps along the way.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Invincible Iron Man #29

Aug 12, 2010

Overall, I am enjoying the series, and I'm enjoying the arc, despite its sluggish nature. It's not as solid a book as it once was, especially compared to its first arc, which was fantastic, but hopefully we'll get going soon, as the arc (hopefully) picks up some really necessary speed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Journey Into Mystery #633

Jan 16, 2012

Journey Into Mystery has become a very consistent and enjoyable book, which is head and shoulders above its sister-title Mighty Thor. Gillen has made terrific use of Kid-Loki, making him such an engaging and enjoyable lead character to read about that it only makes his inevitable aging back into Loki all the more tragic, because of how interesting and mufti-faceted a character he is now in his current iteration. This issue is a very enjoyable beginning of a new storyline, and I can't wait to see what comes next from the teaming of Hellstrom and Loki. Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Mystery Men #1

Jun 10, 2011

Although not the amazing first issue I was hoping for, this was still a worthwhile read, and could be a fun and interesting mini-series. But be warned if the most attractive element of this book for you is seeing Zircher's artwork, because it just simply isn't up to the standards set by his previous artwork. Here's hoping the artwork tightens up next issue, as we delver further into the mystery at the core of this fledgling new mini-series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
New Avengers (2010) #3

Aug 19, 2010

This issue has really turned me around with regards to the enjoyment level this book gives me, and I can't wait to read the next issue and see what Bendis has planned next, based on his great cliffhanger here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
New Avengers (2010) #5

Oct 14, 2010

When all is said and done, although I have issues with the characterization of Hawkeye, plus the relegation of the New Avengers to spectators in their own team book, and the overall wordiness here, and emphasis more on telling me than showing me, the script isn't all that bad. I would enjoy it far more if this actually were a Dr. Strange book, but that being said, some of the concepts are interesting, in spurts, and I am interested to see how the big challenge goes down, but I hope it's actually worthwhile, and not a rushed fight-sequence ending as many of Bendis' stories do, with great lead-up, only to falter in the execution of the climax. The artwork in this book is phenomenal, I just want Bendis to allow Immonen to do more, to really show off his stuff, so hopefully the fight next issue will allow him to do just that.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
New Avengers (2010) #6

Nov 11, 2010

Now that the first arc is over, the next arc promises to actually set-up who the New Avengers team roster consists of, which I always find a bit aggravating, considering there've already been six issues published and yet a proper team has not even been formed it. Hopefully the next arc will have a bit more focus, and the New Avengers themselves will play a bit more of a starring role, as opposed to this arc, where half of the time many team members were merely bystanders and spectators.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Point One #1

Nov 13, 2011

Overall, I think that Marvel's marketing department oversold this issue as something it most definitely wasn't. It's a launching pad for new ongoing books hitting in 2012 (although sadly a further set-up to the highly anticipated Winter Soldier ongoing wasn't included), but not quite a launching pad for the stories that will shape the Marvel Universe of 2012, save for the Phoenix-related story that helped start off this anthology. I'm hoping the storyline with the Watcher gets further developed, as it could be a really cool concept, especially if Brubaker takes the ball and runs with it (or passes it over to Warren Ellis, who could really do wonders with it if given the opportunity). Is this book worth your money? Overall, I think you get a hell of a lot of content, but I think this one is best answered based on how much you like these particular characters, and want to see the set-ups for their new books coming out soon. Recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Punisher (2011) #7

Jan 16, 2012

This is definitely a different take on Punisher, it's still violent when it needs to be, but it isn't over the top or excessive. Whereas the previous run on Punisher was more focused on Punisher's war, and his internal narration, this is a decidedly different beast. It's extremely well-written, and despite various different artists has managed to maintain a strong visual consistency. But because of its unique use of perspective, namely not taking Punisher's perspective, it may not necessarily be to everyone's taste. But for those who appreciate this departure from what is normally expected, and love the strong work by Rucka and Lark, this is an issue that shouldn't be missed. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
S.H.I.E.L.D. #3

Aug 6, 2010

Overall, I think that in some ways this is a better issue than last, because although the overall storyline doesn't progress that much further, at least we do get, for the most part, a pretty consistent narrative being told. I'm still not that sold or won over here, and think there's a lot of missed potential, but I want to enjoy this series enough to keep the course, and see what happens next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Scarlet Spider #4

Apr 13, 2012

This is an extremely enjoyable book, and one that feels quite different from other Marvel-published books. The decision to take Kaine away from New York City and set him up in Houston was an inspired one, as it takes him away from a pre-established environment, and into a totally new one, that Yost can play with and have fun with. It frees up the character as well, to be in a city where he's the only hero game in town, and he doesn't have to worry about running into Spider-Man or the Avengers. Yost and Stegman are crafting a real gem here, and it shouldn't be missed. Highly Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Secret Avengers #2

Jul 1, 2010

I feel that the first issue worried me a bit, because of the cliffhanger, but now that we're done with the second issue, I'm okay with the mystery of it, and the writing and artwork have truly excelled, as it's fantastic stuff. Highly Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Secret Avengers #3

Jul 29, 2010

The only real issue I have here is with the pacing of the storyline. The content itself is interesting, but it just needs to move along a little faster, and a bit more of a focus on the characters on the team would be nice as well, as we got a bit more exploration of the Archon than the cast in particular.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Secret Avengers #4

Aug 19, 2010

The first arc was enjoyable, for the most part, but there was a fair bit of missed potential throughout the storyline as well. But again, for the most part, this is an enjoyable title thus far, with an entertaining launch arc, and I look forward to where Brubaker will take this title and this team now that the team is aware of Nick Fury's involvement in the group that was involved in the events of this arc. Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Secret Avengers #12

Apr 28, 2011

This issue was hit and miss, in relatively equal proportion. There's so much potential here with these characters, but this isn't the best use of this book, and if you're only going to feature two of the Secret Avengers, and one of them in an action sequence set in the past, plus focus on a guest-starring antagonist, there needs to be far more meat on the issue's bones to whet the appetite of the reader.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Secret Avengers #13

May 28, 2011

For fans of this series since it began a year ago, this issue is a bit jarring considering how different it is from Brubaker's work on the title, plus the omission of Steve Rogers, Moon Knight, Sharon Carter, Black Widow and others. It's a good issue, but does little to convey where Spencer's going in the future, nor how he'll be able to handle the actual team, as the Point One issue and this issue both had such a narrow focus, at the detriment of showing how the group dynamic will actually function under his guiding hand. We'll see how the next issue unfolds, as well as how this issue's Fear Itself tie-ins end up going.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Secret Warriors #17

Jun 24, 2010

If this book were any other book, and were of lower pedigree and quality, I would really bust into its plot progression difficulties, but ultimately even when the plot barely inches forwards, the writing is still terrific, as Hickman really manages to make this book work not only despite its flaws but because of its flaws. Fury himself takes a step back here, and the focus is more on Sitwell and Dugan, as this series officially joins the Heroic Age. Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Secret Warriors #18

Aug 6, 2010

At times I feel like I'm getting comic-reading-whiplash with this comic, because one month it'll be slow and plodding, and the next it'll be fast-paced and exciting like this issue. But even the lows for this book are higher than some books' above average issues, and issues like this make it all worth it overall. Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Secret Warriors #26

Apr 14, 2011

Reading this issue is almost painful, because you want to read the next issue right away, and that wait is going to be pure agony. The ending here is well thought-out, and although it does give a typical cliffhanger, it's one which is really satisfying, as it contrasts so well with the original conceit and launching-pad for the series in the first place. The exploration and explanation of the original LMDs was also a fantastic touch, really cool and stylish an explanation for certain aspects of the story. As we get more of the reveal and the endgame, I really can't wait to see how it all ends up. Hickman is masterfully ratcheting up the tension and the anticipation, and I can't wait to see what comes next. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Secret Warriors #27

May 27, 2011

This issue is still very enjoyable, as is the norm for this series, but I do think that it tapered off a bit in the second half, and wasn't nearly as tightly plotted or put together, and seemed to ask more questions than a penultimate issue of a twenty-eight issue run probably should have. The artwork is fantastic, and Hickman's script in the first half of the book is absolutely stunning. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shadowland #2

Aug 6, 2010

I found this issue far more enjoyable than I would hav eoriginally expected, and the same goes for the Shadowland: Bullseye one-shot that came out this week as well. It looks like this mini-series is going to be far more interesting and enjoyable than I had originally thought, and I'm intrigued to see where exactly Diggle goes next with this. Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shadowland #3

Sep 5, 2010

This was a very good read, and continues a great overall reading experience for those following all of the Shadowland one-shots, mini-series and one-shots. I can't wait to see just what Diggle does with the last couple issues of this mini-series, and what the new status quo will end up being like when all is said and done. Hopefully the resolution will prove to be as interesting and entertaining as the first half of the crossover event. Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Shadowland Blood on the Streets #1

Aug 12, 2010

This is a great first issue for this mini-series, and as I stated previously, was far better than I would have initially expected. It's a well put-together issue, both in terms of artwork and writing, and I'm really interested to see just how the rest of this storyline plays out. Highly Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Shadowland: Bullseye #1

Aug 6, 2010

Overall, if you were originally planning on avoiding this one-shot, like I was, you should really reconsider your position, because you may just be surprised by how enjoyable the issue is. Even if you're not necessarily following the regular Shadowland mini-series or crossover, it's simply told enough to still be very enjoyable and engaging, not to mention accessible. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Shadowland: Daughters of the Shadow #1

Aug 19, 2010

This issue was a really nice surprise, just as Shadowland: Power Man and Shadowland: Blood on the Streets ended up being, or at least are so far as just the first issue of both series has been released thus far. I'm excited to see what will happen next, as this is a short mini-series with just three issues overall. Highly Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Shadowland: Daughters of the Shadow #3

Nov 11, 2010

Ultimately when reading and reviewing a mini-series, an important factor when reading the last issue is what did it all mean? What was the point of the mini-series, was it enjoyable and engaging, did it deliver on the series' promise, was it worth it? I would have to say with a resounding yes that this series was worth it, and I'm happy that I decided to go ahead and pick it up. It used the ongoing crossover when it needed to, without being too overly connected to it and how it's presented in the main Shadowland title, and as a result became a much more intimate, focused affair, about a woman who wants to know more about her mother, and what legacy her mother may have left, and how she can best shoulder that legacy moving forward in her own life. Henderson really nailed the writing here, and the artwork by Rogriguez was consistent and entertaining.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Shadowland: Ghost Rider #1

Sep 16, 2010

This was a fantastic one-shot, and continues the trend of Shadowland mini-series/one-shots being surprisingly (in some cases) entertaining and enjoyable. Of some of the tie-ins thus far, I think this is probably one of the most important to read, given what Ghost Rider does here, and what other possible actions he might take in the rest of the main Shadowland mini-series. You should take a chance on this one, it's a fantastic read with gorgeous artwork, a truly entertaining and enjoyable one-shot. Highly Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Shadowland: Moon Knight #2

Sep 23, 2010

Although I didn't enjoy the artwork or story as much in this issue as I did previously in the last issue, it was still an enjoyable and engaging read for the most part. I just wasn't as captivated as I had been previously. If you're a Moon Knight fan, you'll enjoy this issue, and how it deepens the saga of the Moon Knight and his struggle against Khonshu, but if you haven't really followed Moon Knight previously and don't know much about that struggle, etc, the issue may not be quite as enjoyable or as engaging and rewarding as it would be for a current Moon Knight fan. I'm interested to see just what the last issue might have in store for the reader, and hope it'll have more action than exposition, which is what I'm expecting from the issue, at least at this point.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shadowland: Power Man #1

Aug 19, 2010

This mini-series is a sleeper, I didn't expect much of it, but it really confounded those expectations and ended up being far more interesting and enjoyable than I would have initially expected. I can't wait to see what comes next, and see what the connection between Cage and the new Power Man ends up being. Highly Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shadowland: Spider-Man #1

Oct 8, 2010

Overall, I actually did find the one-shot quite enjoyable, not to mention very entertaining. I would caution fans who pick up this issue more for Spider-Man than for Shang-Chi, as it's the latter who gets more of the attention, and without a doubt the better characterization and personal journey throughout the issue. Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Steve Rogers: Super Soldier #3

Sep 19, 2010

[color=red]Ratings:[/b]

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Taskmaster #2

Oct 8, 2010

I was originally a bit on the fence when it came to whether I was going to pick up this mini-series, but I've been pleasantly surprised thus far by how much I've enjoyed the series. Hopefully the next three issues can keep up the pace, and I look forward to seeing how the twist at the end comes into play and directs the rest of the story. Plus, I can't wait to see what exactly next issue will be like, as the promo page in this issue merely says "Next Issue: A Village of Hitleres?!!"

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Thanos Imperative #3

Aug 12, 2010

Story: [star]4.5star]

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Thanos Imperative #5

Oct 14, 2010

With only one issue left, I'm really intrigued to see not only just how this series will end, but also what it will mean going forwards for the Marvel cosmic books, and what the status quo will be. As far as I recall, only an upcoming mini-series starring Groot and Rocket Raccoon has been announced, with no other books being mentioned, so we'll see what happens next for our favourite cosmic characters. I could be wrong on that, however, and if I am, please make sure to say so below in the comments section. Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Thanos Imperative #6

Nov 11, 2010

There's not a whole lot of surprise in this issue, it's all about pulling things to a close, showcasing some really cool moments, and then having an ending which closes it all out. There's an upcoming one-shot which will function as an epilogue to the happenings here, and I really don't think it should be missed. The denouement will likely be very satisfying, and really needs to be read, in my opinion, to put it all in context and make this read even more enjoyable. Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Thanos Imperative: Devastation #1

Jan 7, 2011

Overall, the issue does the job well of making the reader interested in the next phase of the cosmic story that Abnett/Lanning are telling, and seeing where it all might lead this time, and who might emerge as the next major new fan favourite, considering their success with the cosmic comics over the past few years at Marvel.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Thor (2007) #611

Jul 1, 2010

I'm just waiting for this title to start picking up any steam at all at this point, because this issue was a painful exercise, at best.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Thor (2007) #617

Nov 11, 2010

Overall, the issue just felt disappointing, as has Fraction's run in general thus far. I've just yet to really find myself excited by any of it, and the lackluster artwork and colors certainly doesn't help change my mind about any of it. Hopefully the storyline will pick up moving forwards, and that the artwork will be able to match it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Thunderbolts (2006) #145

Jun 24, 2010

This issue wasn't fantastic, but it showed some definite promise, and I'm interested in seeing where Parker leads it, and what kinds of squads he puts together, as he's said previously that the make-up of teams could potentially be flexible. I look forward to seeing how the book utilizes the supporting cast, including John Walker, and seeing how Juggernaut is utilized, coming off of his recent appearance in Amazing Spider-Man. It is, however, a shame that the character is once-again depowered, as his prior appearance to Amazing Spider-Man was when he got repowered up to the max during World War Hulk in the first place. Poor guy can't catch a break. There's potential here, that's for sure, and I look forward to reading more, once the title really starts to get going.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Thunderbolts (2006) #147

Aug 19, 2010

Overall, this title is definitely gaining some steam and momentum, as Parker uses his odd cast to his best advantage, and Walker keeps step with him every step of the way, as he matches each great script with some very good artwork. Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Uncanny X-Men #526

Jul 29, 2010

Hopefully the artwork will get better next issue, because it's just such a shame to have a great story ruined by lackluster, subpar artwork. There's great potential here, and I can't wait to see just where Fraction might be going with this new storyline.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Uncanny X-Men #527

Aug 19, 2010

Overall, the issue had some good moments, but ultimately although the script had some good moments, they just weren't enough to counteract the terrible artwork in this issue. Hopefully next issue's script is a tad more consistent, and the artwork needs to really step up from the work that Portacio puts in here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncanny X-Men #534.1

Apr 8, 2011

This issue was a very successful way to handle a Point One issue, as you get a very solid character-centric piece, which Gillen handles beautifully, plus you have enjoyable artwork, and some nice action thrown in for good measure. This was a pleasant reading experience, and I can only hope that Magneto will get more of the focus as Gillen continues, because he handled him beautifully in this iss.ue. On a final note, there's a nice preview montage of events coming up for the X-Men later this year, which definitely looks interesting, and makes me excited for what's coming up next for Marvel's Merry Mutants

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncanny X-Men (2011) #10

Apr 13, 2012

This is the first issue of this new volume of Uncanny X-Men that I have truly enjoyed from start to finish, with the story and artwork both being excellent. This was a great read, and what I was waiting for from this title and its creators.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Untold Tales of Blackest Night #1

Oct 14, 2010

Overall, there's far more good than bad to be had in these stories, with some of the stories being particularly engaging and enjoyable. You're getting a lot here for the price, as two regular-sized issues would provide similar page count but for $1 more. If you were a huge fan of Blackest Night, I definitely recommend picking this issue up, but if you weren't a huge fan, or were happy that it finally ended, you might want to avoid this one, it probably won't be as enjoyable to you as a reader. Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Venom #2

Apr 28, 2011

As with all new ongoing launches, I'm always scared at how long they'll actually last, given how Young Allies, Spider-Girl and Namor have all been canceled, and my concern is really quite high for this title, but I hope it does at least last a year, because the set-up is smart, I like the execution thus far, and feel that the portrayal and exploration of Flash Thompson is quite well thought-out. Highly Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Web of Spider-Man Vol. 2 #9

Jun 18, 2010

This was a great issue of a title that, unfortunately, will soon be canceled, but I'm enjoying its run in the meantime, as it finally found a format which I think makes it a far more enjoyable read (which isn't to say I didn't like the Gauntlet Origins stories, just that I think having an A-story that's in current continuity is preferable). Can't wait to read the next installments for both stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Web of Spider-Man Vol. 2 #11

Aug 19, 2010

The lead story squanders a potentially interesting premise with some terrible characterization and plotting, whereas the back-up story does a lot with only a few pages, as Jackpot is forced to make a difficult decision that she has to live with for the rest of her life.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Factor #206

Jun 24, 2010

I'm interested to see just where this title will go next, because David hasn't truly set the new status quo yet, as the past fwe issues have seen it jumbled and in flux. He's got my interest piqued, and I can't wait to see what he decides to do with these characters next, and if well see more of Mordo and that plot development. Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
X-Force: Sex & Violence #2

Aug 12, 2010

Between the uneven artwork and the uneven writing, this mini-series is a bit of a chore to read, because it's difficult going from some good writing/artwork to sloppy, loose writing/artwork. It's like comic book whiplash here with this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men Legacy #237

Jun 24, 2010

After twelve chapters, it's a little hard to believe that A) this storyline has been going on that long, and B) this storyline is already almost over. I'm really interested in seeing just what the ultimate outcome of the storyline will be, what the ramification or result will be, and what the page with someone returning through the time portal (or at least attempting to) really means, and what the ramifications are. Highly Recommended, a fantastic read!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-Men: Prelude to Schism #2

May 19, 2011

This was a very solid outing, and it made me happy that I decided to pick-up this mini-series in the first place. I had originally thought I would just pass on the mini-series, but I'm very glad that I decided to pick it up after all. Although the forward progression of the threat that'll likely be focused on in Schism is almost non-existent, here the characterization of the featured characters is far worth it, especially because there's a clear focus on one character, so as to not dilute the strength of the script. I'm interested to see what comes next in the third chapter of the mini-series, as it looks like this one will focus on Cyclops himself, with likely some introspection. If anyone can make those kinds of issues/scripts work, it's Paul Jenkins, as it's definitely in his wheelhouse.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-Men: Regenesis #1

Oct 14, 2011

Overall, this is a fairly interesting read, definitely an important read if you're looking to follow either branch of the X-books coming off of Schism, with some nice character work that makes up for the relative lack of it over in the latter mini-series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Young Allies #3

Aug 6, 2010

This series is sorely underestimated and neglected, and it's a real shame. The series is much better than most people might expect, and is definitely worth taking a chance on. The characters are relative blank-slates compared to more established characters like Captain America, Iron Man, Hulk, Thor, etc, and as a result there's a certain sensibility here that you won't get elsewhere, because there's more freedom for McKeever as a writer. Highly Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

April

March

More