Chris Wilson's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Major Spoilers Reviews: 167
6.9Avg. Review Rating

5.0
Action Comics (2011): Futures End #1

Sep 4, 2014

Once again, if you're looking for an Action Comics book with heavy ties to Futures End you're going to be disappointed. While we get a good story it's not the one I wanted. I wanted one explaining what Superman has been doing during Futures End and why. I've read three of the Futures End one-shots released this week and only one has decent ties to the event. Maybe I'm misunderstanding the purpose of these books but I don't know what DC is thinking. If this problem persists it is sure to piss a lot of people off.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Afterlife With Archie #4

Mar 6, 2014

If you listen to the Major Spoilers podcast (and if not, why?), you've no doubt heard Stephen sing Afterlife with Archie's praises. All that praise is deserved and this issue earns it. I would go so far as to say it's the best yet. The letter column's promise of Josie and the Pussycats appearing has me absolutely giddy. If you've yet to read Afterlife with Archie I feel sorry for you. You're missing out on a wonderful book and your life must be awful. I'm kidding of course. Zombies aren't for everyone but this book rocks!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
All-New Hawkeye #1

Mar 11, 2015

All-New Hawkeye #1 is a fantastic replacement for the previous series and even adds a bit more heart. With beautiful artwork as well it makes this a must buy.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.2
All-New Wolverine #1

Nov 17, 2015

All-New Wolverine #1 is not worth the high price point. All you get is an issue long action scene with average artwork. It's unfortunately a waste of time and money.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New X-Men #3

Dec 10, 2012

Bendis and Immonen (and everyone involved with the book) have now made me a reader of X-Men. This title appeals to a new reader like me, and is not bogged down by years of history and characters. I'm hooked and really can't wait to see more interactions between past and current X-Men. This issue provides a little more drama than the previous ones and promises what looks to be a big payoff at the end. It's a high profile book and should be the go to read for new and old X-Men fans alike. That's if you can deal with the wonky time periods. All New X-Men #3 gets 4 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-New X-Men #4

Dec 25, 2012

All New X-Men continues to be the best X-book out right now. The story concept and ideas are great and it's well written. Unfortunately, Bendis is stretching out a tale that could be told in fewer issues, something he often falls victim to. There's nothing wrong with this issue, it was just disappointing. We didn't get some big confrontation that was alluded to, and the plot was barely moved forward. The art continues to be wonderful and makes this book a buy alone. I'm still in, but at a $3.99 price tag, I expect more. All New X-Men #4, with a lot of help from the art, gets 3.5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
All-New X-Men #5

Jan 3, 2013

As an end to the first arc, this issue is satisfying but a little underwhelming. The energy from the first issues seems to have decreased and the major change to Beast is something we've seen before. I enjoyed this arc and everything is set up for what could be a truly awesome story. The art continues to be fantastic helping an average story be a satisfying read. It's still worth buying, and one of the best Marvel books on the stands. I'm hoping for something huge though.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Armor Hunters #2

Jul 16, 2014

Armor Hunters #2 is clearly continuing to set pieces up for the event and tie-ins. Its not a boring read at all, with tension present throughout and solid artwork as well. The action is too short but it looks like things will pick up next issue. If Venditti makes it as devastating as the first issues conclusion, this will have a major effect on the Valiant Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Army of Darkness/Re-Animator #1

Oct 25, 2013

Army of Darkness/Re-Animator is a great mash-up of the two properties, especially for those who love H.P. Lovecraft's original story. Mark Rahner wrote something new and different and mixed the two in a unique way. Fans of Army of Darkness may be somewhat disappointed as Ash is more a secondary character and the story is different than what one would expect. The art is suitable and the coloring is fantastic. Unfortunately, Dynamite is charging $4.99 for twenty-two pages of new material with the rest being a reprint, making it a hard sell for those who've already read Re-Animator #0.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Ash and the Army of Darkness #1

Oct 30, 2013

I really wanted to like this book. It had so much going for it: Steve Niles writing, a direct sequel to the movie and a fresh start for readers. Sorry to say, there's nothing new and the art is poor. It cleverly picks up after the movie and feels like an Army of Darkness book but I'm not interested in reading more. Fans who absolutely love the film may enjoy but I can't recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Atomic Robo: The Knights of the Golden Circle #1

May 8, 2014

Stephen has championed Atomic Robo for years and for a good reason. Its a great book and Clevinger and Wegener put everything they into each story. This issue has all the trademarks of an Atomic Robo story, historical setting and figures and a promises of some great action. Robo doesnt make much of an appearance and this is the first time that previous reading is required but it barely affects the enjoyment. Buy it now!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Avengers Arena #5

Feb 28, 2013

Avengers Arena is definitely a unique title. While the premise is not original, the storytelling and artwork are very well done and a lot of care went into creating this book. The problem lies solely with the reader and their investment in the characters. It will affect your enjoyment one-way or the other, both either positively or negatively. This issue was good but lacking in the tension the previous ones had. Kev Walker's art is extremely well done and makes up for any weaknesses the story has. Dennis Hopeless is taking his time building characters and, while appreciated, I don't see how this title can go on for very long. For now though, I'm having fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Bad Ass #3

Mar 21, 2014

Bad Ass #3 has so much thats been seen before that there is no need to read this. It wants to be a dark, quick witted, funny book but fails. The humor is juvenile, the story of a bullied nerd getting revenge has been done to death and, once again, Dead End finds himself fighting another villain. The art is fun and characters have fun designs but Im pretty sure that butler is offensive. Pretty sure

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2011) #32

Jun 26, 2014

Savage City and Zero Year have been an epic story in the making. Snyder, Capullo and team are doing amazing work in telling a Batman origin story that is still unique but true to the characters roots. This issue sees Batman actually outsmarted for a second time by the Riddler and has great action. Capullos art continues to be a knockout and makes the book a fun read by itself. The pacing has felt a tad slow but things are picking up and the final chapter is next. Im tired of waiting for the end. I want it now and Im dying to see where it leads us next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Batman (2011) #40

May 4, 2015

Batman #40 is a terrific ending to Endgame. If it was the last Joker or even Batman story ever I'd still be happy.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Batman: Eternal #52

Apr 3, 2015

Batman Eternal #52 ends the series well, showing Batman actually needing the people of Gotham. The art looks good, there's great action it succeeds in telling its story.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman: The Dark Knight (2011) #23.4

Sep 26, 2013

The Dark Knight #23.4 isn't bad, it's just an average, ok, run of the mill comic. It succeeds in introducing a new origin of the character, is new reader friendly and tells a self-contained story. Unfortunately, details in the story are unintentionally confusing, both in the art and writing, creating a reading experience much like those choose your own adventure novels. I don't feel like I understand the Joker's Daughter any more than when I sat down to read the issue. In the end, it's worth reading if you have the chance but I wouldn't be running around trying to find this issue. If you must own, save yourself the dollar and buy the 2-D cover. Of course, if you're buying a comic just for the cover you're probably not reading the story anyway. And no, we don't have any in stock.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bedlam #2

Dec 2, 2012

I believe in Zach's review of issue one he said to approach with caution and I have to say the same thing with this issue. If you're reading, chances are you enjoyed the first and know this is something you can handle. If you didn't like the first but are sticking around to see if your opinion changes, let me tell you, it won't. This issue continues great engaging storytelling. Though I miss Madder Red's personality, there is still enough here to entertain. Bedlam #2 receives a twisted 4 out of 5 stars. You may feel the need to shower after this one"

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Bedlam #3

Jan 28, 2013

Make no mistake Bedlam is a great comic. Spencer and Rossmo together are telling a twisted tale of someone evil attempting to stop evil. This issue unfortunately is a little by the numbers, giving us something that's been seen before, thus leaving a bland taste. The quality of Spencer's writing makes this book worth a read, but after two stellar issues, this one is a let down. The cliffhanger looks to be throwing a wrench into the works, so here's hoping things take an unexpected turn.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Before Watchmen: Dollar Bill #1

Feb 4, 2013

Before Watchmen Dollar Bill #1 is a fine story, one that I enjoyed. The problem is that it feels redundant and unnecessary. An extremely minor character in the original story, Dollar Bill's could have been better served as a backup in one of the main titles. At $3.99, the reader doesn't get much new material or insight to the character that isn't already given in Watchmen. Steve Rude's art is wonderful and makes the story much more enjoyable. Unfortunately, I fear, this issue doesn't make Dollar Bill an unforgettable character.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Black Market #1

Jul 21, 2014

Black Market #1 is a good start to a mini-series and offers up a cool concept. Ray is a great and sympathetic antagonist and Frank J. Barbiere writes his thoughts extremely well. The story maintains its pace and flow even with all the back and forth in time and ends with enough intrigue that Ill read the next issue. Some plot points feel glossed over and the art didnt work for me, but Im interested in where this one goes. Check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Bloodshot #0

Aug 22, 2013

Bloodshot #0 is a good, strong book but some of the storytelling elements are problematic. The overuse of violence toward women and children is unnecessary and excessive. Matt Kindt provides compelling ideas of whether a soul scientifically exists and if it can be recreated. ChrisCross, including having a great name, gives fantastic artwork, making it look like an action movie. While not quite living up to the quality the Bloodshot title has provided in the past, Bloodshot #0 earns a respectable 3 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bodie Troll #1

Mar 25, 2013

Bodie Troll is one of those gems that are for young and old alike. Fosgitt creates a world with unique and memorable characters and tells a short, fun story. The artwork is nothing short of amazing and is worth picking up by itself. Bodie Troll #1 comes out April 17 and I urge you to buy this book, it deserves to be an ongoing. If you're still on the fence, pick up Red 5's Free Comic Book Day issue, as Bodie will have a feature. Be warned though, if this sells like I think it will, that first issue will be hard to find. Bodie Troll #1 more than earns 5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bodies #1

Aug 1, 2014

I hate to compare or make statements like this, but I think Bodies could possibly be the next Wake. Once I finished I had the same feeling I did after the first issue of Wake. I cant wait to read more and Ive no idea where this will go. Vertigo is well known for trying new things and Bodies #1 is no exception. The concept, storytelling and brilliant use of multiple artists make this one book to keep your eye on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bodies #2

Aug 28, 2014

I find myself looking forward to each issue of Bodies more and more. It continues to be a wonderful twist on a murder mystery and Spencer writes each story within beautifully. Every artist does a great job with their section and Lee Loughridge's coloring is a standout. Bodies #2 continues to engage the reader and provides clues that add to the reading experience. I'm all in and strongly recommend that mystery fans go pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
BubbleGun #1

Jun 12, 2013

BubbleGun came out of nowhere and smacked me in the face with its unique flare. Mark Roslan has created a fun sci-fi world filled with cool characters and a comic different from many others on the racks. Mike Bowden's work only helps add to the flavor presenting designs that fit what Roslan has created. Fans of sci-fi, cyberpunk especially, owe it to themselves to buy this comic. At only a dollar, there is no reason not to give this book a chance.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
BubbleGun #2

Jul 13, 2013

I'm totally enjoying BubbleGun. Both issues I've read are telling a fun, intriguing sci-fi, cyberpunk story with a fast pace that never lets up. The whole issue is packed with drama, humor and action, but at no point did I feel that the story was suffering from it's pace. Sure there may be a few elements I'm not fond of, but some of that comes down to personal taste. BubbleGun is one of those comics that succeeds in standing out from others on the rack and I can't recommend it enough. Everyone involved with creating it needs applause in making something so entertaining and enjoyable. I'd say only cool people read this, but I like it, so that's not true.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
BubbleGun #5

Apr 3, 2014

BubbleGun was a fun ride all the way through and while a bit quick, the ending was satisfying. Im ready to read more and would just love a series where we see Mollis team pull off heists. Mark Roslan and team has done a wonderful job giving comic and cyberpunk fans a fun story brimming with originality. While I had issues with some of the story, I had fun and if Roslan gives more Ill check it out. If youre a fan of sci-fi or cyberpunk I suggest picking up the entire series, youll be pleased.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Citizen Jack #1

Nov 8, 2015

Citizen Jack #1 is an issue that is not only a great series introduction, but a character one as well. Along with sharp writing the issue is packed with fantastic artwork. This comic certainly gets my vote.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cobra #16

Aug 23, 2012

IDW's doing a great job with the G.I. Joe property and gives readers a nice variety to choose from style wise. I've yet to be let down by an issue of Cobra. Costa's writing mixed with Fuso's art just gel well together and this issue continues the trend earning 4 out of 5 stars. I just hope to see more of a focus on Cobra in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Convergence: Plastic Man and The Freedom Fighters #1

May 4, 2015

Convergence: Plastic Man and the Freedom Fighters #1 isn't a bad issue, just middle of the road in every respect. Both Plastic Man and Freedom Fighter fans will most likely be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Convergence: Plastic Man and The Freedom Fighters #2

May 30, 2015

While an improvement, issue two doesn't totally succeed. If you read the first one, this issue is worth checking out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Convergence: Swamp Thing #1

Apr 28, 2015

Convergence: Swamp Thing #1 knocks it out of the park in both story and art and provides a unique look at Swamp Thing during a year with his connection to the Green severed.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Convergence: The Flash #2

May 26, 2015

Convergence: The Flash #2 is a decent but middle of the road issue. There are some great character interactions and art, but suffers from “filler fighting”.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
D4VE (IDW) #3

Apr 20, 2015

D4VE #3 is a great continuation of a comic that is original, funny and makes fun of everyday life. It's quirky and comes highly recommended, especially for those having a midlife crisis.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Daredevil (2011) #18

Sep 24, 2012

Month in and month out I'm treated to a Daredevil book that is exciting not just for fans of the character, but fans of comics. Mark Waid and Chris Samnee have something really special going on and the accolades that the book has received are well deserved. It's a must read book for everyone and I look forward to where it goes from here. Daredevil #18 earns 4.5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Daredevil (2011) #19

Oct 23, 2012

There's not much else to say about Daredevil that hasn't been said before. Mark Waid and Chris Samnee continue to bring the goods, month in and month out. This issue is no exception as the action and tension is ramped up. If you're not reading Daredevil, I strongly urge you to start picking this book up and even get the previous trades (or hunt down past issues if that's your thing). You won't be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Dark Engine #1

Jul 23, 2014

I cannot recommend Dark Engine #1 in any way. It certainly isnt worth a buy and Im not sure even worth reading. Syms a strong female character but the issue is insanely confusing and one giant, violent fight between a woman and dinosaurs. If you want to see a character pee and living things ripped apart by various means, this might be the book for you. I dont have interest in reading fantasy stories and Dark Engine did nothing to change that. It might have turned me off more.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Deadpool vs. Thanos #1

Sep 7, 2015

Deadpool vs Thanos is silly, funny and enjoyable but at times feels like overkill, with everything being a joke and artwork that has small annoyances.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Deadpool's Art of War #1

Oct 19, 2014

While Peter David has an interesting idea, he never adds anything new and the issue reads just like a Deadpool comic we've seen before. There are a few standout bits and the art looks great for the story, but there is nothing of substance here that will make me remember this book in two weeks. Deadpool fans will want to read it but it isn't worth $3.99.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Death Sentence #1

May 30, 2013

I love the premise and ideas presented in Death Sentence and it definitely has me hooked. While this first issue didn't floor me, the problems don't deter me from wanting to read more. It will be nice to see the characters continue to cope with their predicament and, hopefully, use their powers to shed some of their negative qualities. Death Sentence is something truly unique and I suggest those looking for something different pick up the first issue when it's released.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Death Sentence #2

Nov 6, 2013

I had problems with Death Sentence's debut issue. The concept is wonderful but I didn't like the characters and some of the art didn't click. This issue improves in almost every way, showing why we should care for the characters (excluding Monty), provides a gripping cliffhanger and the art has wonderful action and detail. Where I was on the fence about picking up this issue, I'm now sure I'll be checking out the third. Death Sentence #2 earns 4 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Detective Comics (2011): Futures End #1

Sep 3, 2014

While Detective Comics: Futures End #1 has an entertaining story, it's one that could be told anywhere and ties to the event loosely at best. The mass amount of artists hurts the issue the most, making it appear thrown together at the last minute. It's a decent read but I wouldn't suggest spending money on it (certainly not $3.99 for 3-D covers). If you've got nothing else to read and have a chance to check this one out for free, do so. Otherwise, it's a skip.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Dexter #1

Jul 9, 2013

If you're looking to get into Dexter's dark world, this isn't the place to start. This comic requires you be familiar with the characters from the books. Even those only having seen the show will be somewhat lost as there are significant differences. As a first issue for a previous reader I found it a suitable start, if not all that thrilling. It succeeded in making me want to see where the story goes from here but failed to knock it out of the park. Lindsay's writing strengths come through here but so do his weaknesses. And while I enjoyed the book, I don't know that I could say the same for a new reader. That's unfortunate because Dexter is a great character we all should be disturbed by.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Drifter #1

Nov 19, 2014

Drifter #1 wants to tell a cool story that slowly unfolds but there are too many questions left to be able to tell if it will be something original. So far the story is fairly typical with some neat concepts but I felt like I had missed something crucial. That's not a great feeling to have for a first issue and does little to hook a reader. The ending has me a bit intrigued and I may give the second issue peek. Nic Klein's art is so great that it distracted me from the story's shortcomings and kept the issue from feeling like a disappointment. If you've got the time, Drifter #1 might be a fun read but I can't recommend a purchase.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Epic #1

Oct 3, 2013

Epic's hook is what will draw readers in. Tyler James has come up with an entertaining and humorous concept that is sure to please fans of the superhero genre. It also succeeds in showing the awkwardness that comes with being a teenager. While the issue starts wonderfully, it's hindered by the familiar origin story. The end revelation is spoiled by the very premise that is needed to draw readers to the indy title. The opening pages do promise much more original ideas to come and there are such fun and interesting things going on that I very much want to read more.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Fanboys vs. Zombies #6

Sep 17, 2012

Fanboys vs. Zombies has been nothing but gleeful fun since the start. It doesn't do much to change the zombie genre, but I don't know that it was ever meant to. It has humor, geekish references, and action that make it a great book for anyone just looking for a good time. This issue is light on plot and heavy on action, but does have a zombie rhino. That all may not justify the $3.99 price tag, but it still makes this a book for nerds, geeks and fanboys that are fans of the genre. Fanboys vs. Zombies #6 earns 3 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Flash (2011) #25

Dec 5, 2013

There was a lot of uncertainty had when I sat down to read The Flash #25, but I ended up enjoying the finished product quite a bit. It's a nice done-in-one story showcasing Barry Allen and what makes him heroic and a tie-in that succeeds in trying something different. While some plot points are weak and the shift in artists drastic, possibly because of the slight page increase (resulting in a $3.99 price tag), the issue is definitely worth a read. The Flash #25 earns 3 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Flash (2011) Annual #1

Sep 1, 2012

Overall I was disappointed. I've enjoyed The Flash but this issue seemed like a rush, something that needed more time to expand in the regular monthly title. In the end we get a disappointing explanation of the Rogues' powers, and a fight scene that just sets up next month's issue. $4.99 is too high a price point for what you get. I normally would have waited a month to purchase this on my iPad for a dollar cheaper, but even then that would have been too much. The art is what really saves this issue for me, but art is nothing without a good story behind it. Maybe they'll do better next year. The Flash Annual #1 gets 2 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Flash (2011): Futures End #1

Sep 27, 2014

Flash: Futures End #1 introduces Wally West's Flash character in an exciting way and it's great to finally see how he gets his powers. The issue has some surprises that will shock and enrage some I'm sure, but I had a blast. Readers who haven't been playing along won't be totally lost but it would help to have some reference before jumping in. There is some wonderful artwork as well, making this worth a purchase. Wally West is finally back people, so lets rejoice.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Forever Evil #7

May 23, 2014

Forever Evil #7 isn't a complete failure or disappointment though many will inevitably see it as one. Geoff Johns writes an exciting story that is strongest in the little moments and provides some nice twists. David Finch gives his best work of the series, though the delay is still maddening. My worry is if any of this will be addressed further. It's hard to believe Future's End will and it already seems to be ignoring the ending. There's a moment at the end of Forever Evil #7 where Luthor explains to his team of villains that under certain conditions their records will be wiped clean. Their response is to fly away laughing their asses off. Hopefully this isn't DC reaction to readers wanting to see consequences play out. It will no doubt be some reader's reaction to the ending. So is the nature of comic readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Forever Evil: Rogues Rebellion #1

Oct 17, 2013

Forever Evil: Rogues Rebellion #1 is a good start to a tie-in mini-series with a quick pace and great action. While the art makes a dramatic shift in the middle, both styles are strong. It's problem lies in the fact that it so far has no importance, other than to make DC more money. While it's nice to see how the main title is affecting the rest of the DCU, it's not necessary reading. That's the rub with tie-ins. You either pay for a story that has little importance, or spend more money to get the entire story that should be given in the main title. I enjoy self-contained stories but it all comes down to personal preference and should be taken into account before purchasing. But if you're looking for a fun tie-in starring some of the coolest villains, Rogues Rebellion is where it's at.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Frankenstein, Agent of S.H.A.D.E. #0

Sep 13, 2012

I can't say enough good things about this book. A great jumping on point and introduction to the character, wonderful art, everything is a win. It's an unusual concept, but everything works in my opinion and I'll be tracking down past issues to give them a look. I hope DC keeps this book going (I'm unaware of how sales are) because it would be a shame to see it cancelled. If everything remains this high quality for future issues I'll be adding it to my pull list. This outstanding zero issue of Frankenstein Agent of S.H.A.D.E. earns 5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Frankenstein, Agent of S.H.A.D.E. #13

Oct 15, 2012

I wanted to love this book and looked forward to its release. Unfortunately, I walked away with a lukewarm feeling to an issue that will probably become forgettable. Granted, it's the start to something larger and things could pick up, but as a beginning it does nothing to get me excited for what's to come. The art was as wonderful as before, but still can't save the book from an average story. Maybe I set myself up for a fall. Maybe things will get better. I really hope that's the case.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
G.I. Combat #0

Sep 7, 2012

I feel that this issued failed to do what it set out to do, which is make me want to come back for more. The need for the zero numbering was overall pointless and only put there to fit with the company wide event for the month. We're dropped in the middle of two tales that, while well written and enjoyable, leave a new reader confused. Both teams on art do a good job and earn the book a slightly higher rating. At $3.99 you're getting a little more bang for your buck, and while I liked what I read, I don't know that I'll return for more war adventures. G.I. Combat #0 gets 3 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Garbage Pail Kids Puke-tacular! #1

Dec 28, 2014

If you get even the slightest inclination to pick up Garbage Pail Kids Comic Book Puke-Tacular, don't! Nothing here is worth reading and there are better ways to waste $3.99. It's also been listed as a kid's title, but be warned: there is material, specifically language, inappropriate for children. A review should always find at least one thing positive about its subject but the only things I can is the art in one story at least resembles the original trading cards and some of the coloring is well done. Maybe I'm too old for Garbage Pail Kids, but I doubt it and there is no excuse for writing this bad. If I didn't work in a comic shop with hope of trading the book back, I'd probably be furious. My heart goes out to the other poor suckers who dropped money on this.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern (2011) #12

Aug 16, 2012

If you've been enjoying the Green Lantern title up 'till now, there shouldn't be any real reason why you wouldn't enjoy this issue. Though the reveal might not surprise some, it does set up some interesting things for down the road. Those who don't enjoy multiple artists on a book might not like this issue, but the differences are minor. I had a fun time reading this issue and while I'm not looking forward to another big Green Lantern event, I will still be picking up this title. Green Lantern #12 gets 3 out of 5 Stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Groot #1

Jun 10, 2015

Groot #1 is a fun buddy adventure comedy starring Rocket and Groot. Combined with fun artwork, it really is a great book for readers of all ages.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hack/Slash #20

Nov 13, 2012

This isn't a book just for horror fans. It certainly helps if you like the slasher genre, but I believe it can be enjoyed by anyone. Seeley's taken a genre and characters that could be one note and given them depth. This issue is proof of that, examining character's emotions and relationships. Add to it beautiful art and you get something special that should be read every month. If you're looking for something other than superheroes in tights, try Hack/Slash. I doubt you'll regret it. Hack/Slash #20 gets 4.5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hack/Slash: Son of Samhain #1

Jul 7, 2014

Hack/Slash: Son of Samhain #1 is a decent start to the new Hack/Slash series. The tone and characterization are nailed but the monsters feel out of place. The art is what shines the most and a joy to look at, even the bloody parts. Fans of Hack/Slash should definitely check it out and new readers wont be very lost. Moreci and Seeley can probably make it all work, Im just hoping it wont be another sequel not as good as the original.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Harbinger Wars #4

Jul 19, 2013

This issue, for those readers familiar with the term, is like edging. There's a great build up with no satisfying end. While the action is exciting, fast paced and drawn wonderfully the story suffers from little conclusion and change and a requirement that the reader pick up the next issues of Harbinger and Bloodshot. At the issue's end, the Bloody Monk tells Harada "No war truly ends." That's certainly the case here, but in comic book mini-series, it's nice to have one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harley Quinn (2013) #0

Nov 22, 2013

If Amanda Conner and Jimmy Palmiotti can maintain the quality, this will be a great, humorous and, more importantly, fun series. I was amazed at how much I enjoyed this issue and find almost nothing bad to say about it. The controversy was silly and shouldn't offend (though I'm sure someone will be). Hopefully the fourth wall continues to be crushed but I'll nevertheless be back for issue one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harley Quinn (2013) #1

Dec 20, 2013

Those on the fence about this book need to pick it up, especially if you're looking for a change of pace. Sure it's silly and none too serious but it's fun and while some may be turned off by its lack of realism, that's not really the point. The point is to enjoy the crazy ride. Hell, the art alone is well worth $2.99. Harley Quinn #1 earns 5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2013) #2

Jan 24, 2014

Harley Quinn fans will unlikely be let down by this issue and it continues to be a wonderfully fun read. While this issue has some problems in the story and the need for a supporting artist is unfortunate, it still manages to come out ahead. It continues to be a great alternative to other DC books and I can see the appeal for female readers. Thats wonderful as female readership needs to continue to grow. Harley Quinn #2 comes highly recommended and is worth a buy, just dont take it too seriously.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Harley Quinn (2013) Annual #1

Nov 3, 2014

Harley Quinn Annual #1 is the equivalent to a loud fart. It's funny, smelly but once the initial fun and amusement wear off, it's gone and forgettable. I had fun with the issue but found that the gimmick of sniffing the pages as well as anticipating the weed scent overshadowed my following of the story. Once you actually pay attention, much of the book is filler and an excuse to service the selling point. The artwork is fantastic and blends with the story nicely, making it the best element of the issue. It isn't worth spending $5.99 on a comic with mediocre story just to smell pot though. I can usually work a day at the store, have someone come in smelling like it and smell it for free. I'd probably get the same looks I got while sniffing the comic too.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.2
Harley Quinn Holiday Special #1

Dec 12, 2014

There's not much to expect from Harley Quinn Holiday Special #1 and not much is what you get. That's not to say it's horrible, just a by the numbers holiday comic. New readers may find more to love and it could be a good introduction to the character and her title but long time readers will find nothing new. Everyone involved with the art does a great job and it goes a long way to helping enjoy a rather bland book. I was neither disappointed nor pleased after reading Harley Quinn Holiday Special #1. I just shrugged my shoulders and moved on.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Hexed (2014) #1

Aug 14, 2014

Hexed #1 is a good start to a new series and does a nice job of hooking readers. Its biggest problem is the lack of clarity in the actions and motives of characters. While a little mystery is great, there's too much, leading to some distraction. With a little more backstory Hexed could be a really great book. The art and coloring are incredible, vibrant and a joy the whole way through. I had a blast reading it and have faith that this one's going to become a real winner.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Hit-Girl #5

Feb 10, 2013

Hit Girl was a great mini-series and this was a great issue. Everything gets wrapped up and sets the stage for Kick Ass 2. Unfortunately, you enjoyment of it will hinge on whether you've read the sequel. All of Millar's trademarks are on display so fans of vulgarity need not worry. Aside from a few design issues, the art's well done and services the story. And here comes the but. But you'll be shelling out $4.99 for this book. That's a steep price point for a story that doesn't seem much longer than any of the previous issues. In fact, much of the extra page count appears to be at the end, promoting "Millar World", future projects and the feeding of Millar's ego. Not only did we have to wait forever, but now are expected to shell out two more dollars for little extra content. It's Marvel's frustrating pricing at work, but that's a discussion for somewhere else. Price aside, Hit Girl #5 was a fun read earning 3 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Holy F*ck #1

Jan 25, 2015

Holy F*ck is fun even if a little juvenile and predictable.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Howard The Duck #2

Apr 15, 2015

Howard the Duck #2 continues with fun, wacky and hilarious story and art while also bringing some nice emotional moments.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Imagine Agents #1

Oct 23, 2013

I.M.A.G.I.N.E. Agents #1 started weak, looking like a M.I.B. clone, but threw in enough original ideas to make it stand on its own. Brian Jones has created a book with fun, humor and childlike innocence that comes with imaginary friends. Add on wonderful art by Bachan, Ruth Redmond's coloring and you get a standout comic. It's another great book from Boom! Studios that provides a nice alternative to guys and gals in tights. As long as the original ideas continue, and the M.I.B. similarities fade, I'll be sticking around.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Invader Zim #1

Jul 13, 2015

Invader Zim #1 is the return of the Irken everyone loved. Along with the art, it's as if the show never left our lives.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Iron Fist: The Living Weapon #1

Apr 10, 2014

I like that Marvel has been giving some of their lower tier characters their chance to shine. So far theyve been a success and Iron Fist: The Living Weapon #1 is no exception. Kaare Andrews has crafted a fun, creative opening issue that all readers should get a kick out of. There are a few similarities to other work that brings it down some, but its still worth a buy and Im going to be adding this one to my pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
It Girl and The Atomics #7

Feb 25, 2013

"The World Is Flat" is the title of this arc and, unfortunately, flat is how it feels. Although there are some good ideas to be found in the issue, it seems too straightforward for an It Girl comic. Maybe I expect something too strange but compared to the first story this one seems lacking. The artwork is wonderful, adding personality to the book and character. Hopefully things will pick up for It Girl! & The Atomics because I love the character as well as her title.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jem and the Holograms #4

Jun 28, 2015

Jem and the Holograms #4 continues to be a fun, modern update of the classic cartoon. While there are some issues with the story, it's enjoyable and appeals to all audience types.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League: Futures End #1

Sep 22, 2014

Justice League: Futures End #1 is a completely skippable book. It ties loosely to the Futures End event with a story that is continued from another title. Once again, the background events are more compelling than what takes place and would be more interesting to read. The artwork doesn't help any and is nothing what I would expect from a Justice League book. I'm sure the creative team had the best intentions but this issue doesn't work. If you see this one on the racks, just walk on by and skip it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League United #0

Apr 30, 2014

I was surprised by this book and had more fun than I was expecting. Jeff Lemire is bringing together unique characters in a cool story that is coming together naturally. Mike McKone does a great job with the art and the action is the standout of the issue. With the unique group and lighthearted tone, this is the best Justice League out. Even if they are Canadian. Sorry, couldn't resist.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League United #1

May 16, 2014

Jeff Lemire and company are giving their all with Justice League United. What was a good, enjoyable zero issue has been followed by an even better action story with some great humor. Both McKones art and Manguals coloring have been turned up a notch and improved. This book is strong, proving these characters are cool and deserving of a book. Batman and company can kick rocks, this has become my League. Now I need a Canadian passport

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Karnak #1

Oct 23, 2015

Karnak #1 is a good start to a cool start and an new reader friendly introduction to the character that provides just information to enjoy the issue. While the story may be too dark for some, it's got some great action and art and is my book of the week.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Krampus #1

Dec 13, 2013

Krampus! is a comic that will be most enjoyed by those well versed in Christmas lore. Brian Joines sprinkles history throughout in a subtle way that's accessible to all. There are great character designs from Kotz and the visuals match the humor. It will be interesting to see how Krampus handles his mission but I hope we see more of his wicked side. While not all the silliness works, it's a fun read and a must for Krampus and Christmas fans alike.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Legends of Oz: The Scarecrow #2

May 17, 2013

Legends of Oz: The Scarecrow succeeded in not just telling a great self-contained story but also making me want to read the original series. There are changes here that are original and never ruin the classic. With some great art and only two issues long, it provides a nice, short story with insight into the Scarecrow character. Now I just have to track down those original issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lenore Vol. 2 #8

Aug 2, 2013

I cherish Lenore so much I've gone so far as to get tattoos of characters. This issue of Lenore continues the quality Roman Dirge has brought for years. The extreme violence is shocking but chances are if you're a regular reader you'll be prepared and laugh along. Taxidermy is fleshed out and his origin is disturbing, especially the enjoyment the adults get out of abusing the children to see his "cute" smacks at parties. Dirge's art continues to grow and shine displaying all the work and love. This isn't an issue for everyone, but that's been the case with Lenore since the beginning.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Life With Archie #36

Jul 16, 2014

Im most certainly not the target audience for Life With Archie #36. Reading an overall look at Archies past and understanding why Archies the purest character didnt interest me. The book is extremely new reader friendly but Id much rather have read stories like the ones in the recap. The ending isnt much of a shock and I have no desire to go and read any more Archie books. The art is exactly what I expected and aside from some subtleties, nothing great. Longtime Archie fans will most likely love this because of its focus on Archie and the gangs history. Those just picking it up to see Archie die, which is unfortunately probably the majority, will end up disappointed. Plus, Betty or Veronica? Choose Archie damn you, choose!!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Lobo #1

Oct 3, 2014

Lobo #1 is a good setup issue that moves at a quick pace. The character is certainly a departure from his previous incarnation and old-time fans might be disappointed. While I would have liked to see more interaction between the two Lobos, as well as how they finally met, the action fun and Bunn does a good job jumping right into the story. It's worth a read, especially if you're a new fan with little familiarity with the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Marvel Now What? #1

Oct 30, 2013

I couldn't believe I liked Marvel Now What?! #1 as much as I did. The majority was funny and I liked most of the artwork. As expected there are a few misfires but Marvel succeeded in getting me to buy a $3.99 book, which is a feat itself and I felt like I got $3.99 worth of enjoyment. Those looking for a fun way to kill fifteen minutes (and maybe those mad at Marvel NOW) should pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Minimum Carnage: Alpha #1

Oct 4, 2012

If you're a Carnage fan you'll probably be picking this up, but for regular readers I would still suggest checking it out. It's a good introduction to a small event spanning two titles (three if you count the Omega book). The story is only hinted at here and leaves me wanting more. Minimum Carnage: Alpha was a good book that I enjoyed reading and I will continue to follow the story. Let's just hope Carnage's dialogue gets better"Minimum Carnage: Alpha gets 3 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Minimum Carnage: Omega #1

Nov 26, 2012

Minimum Carnage turned out to be something unexpected. What I thought was going to be typical 'Carnage kills people' turned out to be a fun little sci-fi story. I'm not one to continue paying money to read something I'm not enjoying. I paid $20 dollars to read this event, and while I can't say I completely got my money's worth, I liked it enough that I still walked away pleased. There are problems but it's something worth reading if you can find the issues in dollar bins, especially if you're a Carnage fan. Though things generally returned to the status quo, this issue wrapped the story up nicely and provided a surprise that, while I wish the writers had taken one step further, I didn't see coming. Minimum Carnage gets 3 out of 5 stars, as does its final issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Moon Knight (2014) #4

Jun 10, 2014

I both love and hate Warren Elliss Moon Knight. The stories are dark, engaging and the art is phenomenal, but something about it rubs me the wrong way. Any similar hero could be dropped in place of Moon Knight and it wouldnt change the story at all. Ive no problem with episodic tales, but Ellis seems to have so many ideas packed into an issue that he leaves little room for an end. It drives me crazy being entertained and dissatisfied at the same time. Maybe Elliss intention is to make the reader feel like Marc Spector? If so, well played sir.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Moon Knight (2014) #7

Sep 5, 2014

Brain Wood and Greg Smallwood succeed in keeping Moon Knight one of the better Marvel titles on the rack. There is little difference in the writing and art, and an average reader would be unable to tell the difference. It's a success all around and regular readers of the book shouldn't be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Moon Knight (2014) #13

Mar 19, 2015

Moon Knight #13 is a great start to the new creative team's story. The story is brutal and entertaining as well as new reader friendly. While the art has some minor problems, it's still a joy to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Nameless #1

Feb 11, 2015

Nameless #1 shoves you into the deep in of Morrison's crazy too quickly, leaving a bit of a sourness that distracts from the sweet.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Original Sin #3

Jun 6, 2014

So far Original Sin has impressed me more than I thought. Ive loved the storys dark tone and serious murder mystery which has made it stand out from previous events. This issues ending is a hum-dinger and alone makes it worth reading. The art is impressive but lacking in flow. While Ive become jaded enough that I still dont expect an ending, I will continue to go to whatever dark places Jason Aaron and Mike Deodato intend to take me. If I get suckered yet again, I have no one to blame but myself. Maybe thats my original sin?

View Issue       View Full Review
5.2
Original Sin #8

Sep 4, 2014

Original Sin is the first Marvel event I've read the entirety of since Secret Invasion. The lack of an ending and fact it was just a setup to Dark Reign soured me. Like the others, Original Sin started off strong but was unable to finish in a satisfactory way. The issue is confusing and leaves too many questions unanswered. I was fortunate enough to read this without dropping $4.99 but if I had I would be even more upset. The art is still impressive but has major continuity flaws. Original Sin #8 is worth a read but nowhere near worth the price point.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Outcast By Kirkman & Azaceta #1

Jul 2, 2014

Robert Kirkman seems to have another winner on his hands with Outcast #1. It's a compelling, if not completely innovating, start to a series that could become quite creepy and scary. Some of that will rely on the reader's belief in some elements but shouldn't hinder it completely. The artwork's tone is perfect and the unique panel usage makes the storytelling even better. At $2.99 and a high page count, there's little that should deter you from picking this chiller up. Let's just hope that Mr. Kirkman doesn't lose interest himself.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Prez #4

Sep 22, 2015

While this issue is a bit more somber than previous, it still has enough bite and wit to be entertaining and sets up some intriguing plot events.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Prez #6

Dec 6, 2015

Prez #6 packs a bunch of humor and satirical bite into the closing issue of the first mini-series. It's a satisfying conclusion but leaves me wanting more. I just hope there's more to be had.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Providence #1

Jun 2, 2015

Providence #1 is some of Moore's best work in a long time and the artwork is wonderful as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Punisher (2014) #1

Feb 6, 2014

Believe it or not, I was really looking forward to this issue. I like the Punisher and would love to read an original story that puts him in a new setting. This is not that book. The new city adds nothing to change the story and its much of whats been seen before. There are some great little moments, the best surprisingly in friendly conversations, but not enough to make me want to continue reading. Mitch Gerads fits for a Punisher title but problems in the art pop up throughout. Unfortunately, it seems the Punisher has yet to find a firm footing in the regular Marvel Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Punks: The Comic #1

Oct 12, 2014

I'm not sure whether I can recommend Punks: The Comics #1. It isn't about anything, and story is almost nonexistent. I know I enjoyed most of the book but it's so off the wall bizarre I don't know who it's aiming for. Clearly Fialkov and Chamberlain are loving every minute of its creation, but it reads like a fever dream. It's like nothing on the stands that's for sure, and Image is the perfect home for it. If you like weird humor and spot it on the racks, flip through it. If you're the right kind of crazy you'll be in for a treat.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Quantum and Woody #5

Nov 6, 2013

Quantum and Woody continues to be brilliantly absurd, never grating on the reader. This issue continues the success of the previous arc and does a great job of providing humorous repercussions while setting up another story. There are minor problems in both story and art but neither deter the enjoyment of the book. It's one of my favorite Valiant titles and I'm anxiously awaiting the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ragnarok #1

Jul 24, 2014

Ragnarok #1 is definitely one of this weeks top books. Walt Simonson is telling an epic adventure story that fans of the genre will enjoy. Norse mythology enthusiasts will get more out of it than the average reader which may hurt the book some. Even if you're not interested in the story you should buy this for the pretty pictures. And jawless Thor.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Reanimator #2

May 15, 2015

Reanimator is an engaging new story with a Herbert West closer to H.P. Lovecraft's original character. For fans of the stories and movies alike.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rocket Raccoon #1

Jul 3, 2014

I figured Id have fun with Rocket Raccoon #1 but wasnt sure how much. In the end it was quite a lot. The dialogue and story are funny and entertaining, the artwork is energetic and wonderfully well done. The book comes close to becoming too silly but will stand if handled right. Like his art, Youngs story wont appeal to everyone but those looking for an enjoyable introduction to Rocket Raccoon could do a lot worse.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rocket Raccoon #2

Aug 8, 2014

I have a rule against paying $3.99 for a comic put out by Marvel or DC but Rocket Raccoon #2 may have to be the exception. There's so much here to love and it's a plain fun book that doesn't take itself too seriously, which is a nice change of pace. While some of the parallels to the movie feel forced, the artwork and frantic energy more than make up for it. Even without a major motion picture, Rocket Raccoon's book would be a winner.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #9

Jan 18, 2013

I've said it before and I'll say it again: Vaughn and Staples together make magic. This book tells a wonderful, original sci-fi opera with artwork that is stunning and fans of great comics need not look anywhere else; Saga is where it's at. I rarely give out 5 star reviews (in fact I think The End Times of Bram and Ben was my first) but I can't think of anything wrong with this issue. Image Comics has been putting out some great, distinctive books lately and Saga is one of their best. But, since you should never trust reviews, go out and read it for yourself.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Scarlet Spider #10

Oct 12, 2012

ProsVenom loosing controlConsToo much space, too little content

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Scarlet Spider #11

Nov 12, 2012

I'm ready and eager to see the end of this event. I was extremely skeptical at first but Minimum Carnage has continued to surprise and please me. I have little idea where this story is headed and while I think I can predict where it's going, I wouldn't be surprised if it does something completely different. For once, I actually want to see more of a Carnage story, something that I didn't think would ever happen. Scarlet Spider #11 gets 3.5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Screwed #1

Jun 7, 2013

I certainly had preconceptions as to what a Zenescope comic is and wrongly brought them with me, though that sometimes is unavoidable. I have to say, I was wrong. Screwed #1 made me change my view, even though some of my issues with the company's output persist. Regardless, Screwed provides enough mystery and intrigue with its modern day Frankenstein hook that I'll be back for further issues

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Secret Wars #3

Jun 6, 2015

Secret Wars #3 may move at a slow pace and require additional reading to be fully in the loop, but has such great moments it's still an engaging read with fantastic artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Secret Wars #4

Jul 6, 2015

Even though some of it meanders, Secret Wars #4 has some great dialogue, art and a ending that makes it worth picking up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.1
Secret Wars #5

Aug 14, 2015

Secret Wars #5 may stall the overall story a bit and be redundant for longtime Avengers and New Avengers readers, but the answers provided help shine light on the events for those less informed. Esad Ribic's art is top of the line and is one of the strongest elements.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Secret Wars #6

Oct 12, 2015

Secret Wars #6 is a bit of a lull, confusing at moments due to story elements relying on tie-in titles too much, but the climax is a good one.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Secret Wars #7

Nov 15, 2015

Secret Wars #7 ramps up to the series conclusion with a burst of action and continues it's crowded story with fantastic artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sex Criminals #4

Jan 10, 2014

Matt Fraction and Chip Zdarsky deserve a good reach around for creating Sex Criminals. Its unlike anything Ive ever read and keeps getting better with each issue. With all the sexual acts and humor taking place it never feels forced and is appropriate for the story. From the storytelling to the art, issue four continues the greatness. I wish I could gush more but Ive shot my wad. If youre over 18 and not a prude you should be reading this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sex Criminals #11

Aug 3, 2015

Sex Criminals is a great, original book full of superb writing, Fraction and Zdarsky's trademark humor and colorful art. A must read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
She-Hulk (2014) #1

Feb 14, 2014

She-Hulk #1 does a great job setting itself apart from other Marvel titles but its uniqueness may be its downfall. As with anything, some will enjoy it, others wont. Rating it is actually hard as I loved the issue but can clearly see how others wouldnt. Charles Soule and Javier Pulido tell a great story, albeit one that could be without She-Hulk. It deserves to be read but I believe the majority of superhero readers will avoid this one. I have to go with my gut on this one and recommend that you buy it. At least you may be encouraging Marvel to try new things. They are All-New Now! after all.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
She-Hulk (2014) #7

Aug 8, 2014

Ive been enjoying She-Hulk and disappointed in seeing how few readers it has. Up till now its been the most non-superhero book starring a superhero. Charles Soule writes a more fantastical story this issue but it doesnt work and is basically Honey I Shrunk the Kids starring She-Hulk. Pulidos art style doesnt work with action and hurts the issue even more. This issue isnt going to change detractors opinions, thats for sure. Hopefully Soule will stick with what made this title special. Of course that could be the major turnoff for some, which is unfortunate because this is a title that deserves to last more than twelve issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Six Gun Gorilla #3

Aug 15, 2013

Six-Gun Gorilla continues to deliver a story more sophisticated than the title would have one believe. The ideas and statements made are stimulating and give the reader something to ponder about society. Stokely and Andre May's artwork are the highlights, providing a fun, animated style. The cursing is excessive and our titular simian feels like a secondary character and barely seen. Still, Six-Gun Gorilla is giving much more than an ape shooting people and issue three continues to intrigue.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Solid State Tank Girl #1

May 13, 2013

Solid State Tank Girl #1 has spunk and elements of a good Tank Girl story but unfortunately, that's not enough. The plot is something that we've seen numerous times before and the artwork's style is so unusual that it becomes distracting. There's not doubt that Martin and Johnson-Cadwell are enjoying what they're doing but it just doesn't work. Solid State Tank Girl #1 earns 1.5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Spawn #224

Oct 28, 2012

If you used to read Spawn and stopped a while ago or if you're a new reader and want something new I suggest giving Spawn a shot. While this issue is not a very good jumping on point, I suggest starting with issue 185 and reading on from there. The title has been given a breath of fresh air and the changes have been working. The reveals in this issue have me intrigued and extremely excited for Spawn again. And that's something that hasn't been true for a while. Spawn #224 gets 3.5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Spawn #250

Feb 9, 2015

Even though it's a bit bloated Spawn #250 should be a treat for long time readers who have been wanting to see Al return.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Spider-Man 2099 (2014) #1

Jul 11, 2014

Spider-Man 2099 #1 is a decent but bland introduction to the series. Plot is set up, theres some punching, then a cliffhanger to entice readers to come back. Its simple, only somewhat effective and not new reader friendly. Will Sliney and Antonio Fabel knock it out of the park on art duties which saves the book. Im interested in where Peter David will take it but another Spider title at $3.99 is hard to justify dropping cash on, especially if the story continues its current quality. Worth a read at least

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Spider-Woman (2014) #1

Nov 24, 2014

There's very few positive things I can say about Spider-Woman #1. Dennis Walker writes an okay, if somewhat bland story that is a good tie-in to Spider-Verse. Unfortunately that story happens in a character's debut issue of a new series, of which she is hardly in. Greg Land's art has all his weakness and few of his strengths. Readers following Spider-Verse may want to give this a read but I can't see it being important enough to drop $3.99. I was looking forward to becoming a Spider-Woman fan but this book let me down in so many ways. Turns out the controversy surrounding the issue was more interesting than the book itself.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Spread #10

Oct 5, 2015

Spread #10 continues with the evolving story and great artwork, but those sensitive to child endangerment, or with sensitive stomachs may want to steer clear.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.7
Star Wars (2014) #1

Jan 14, 2015

Chances are if you're a Star Wars nut, you'll be buying this regardless what I write. Hardcore fans are sure to enjoy but I don't think the average reader or fan will be blown away. It's a decent story but its fault lies in the lack of tension or stakes due to taking place in the middle of a story we know the ending to. We know who lives, dies and is brother and sister, leaving little new territory that Aaron can take us. The art is extremely poor and not what I expect from a high profile book and creator. Don't believe the hype surrounding Star Wars #1 and its selling of a billion, gazillion copies in the direct market. It pains me to say it but it's just another mediocre Star Wars story and can be skipped.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Star Wars: Darth Vader #1

Feb 16, 2015

Darth Vader #1 is a promising start, showing a new side to Vader and some things we haven't seen before.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Suiciders #1

Mar 3, 2015

Suiciders #1 provides a nice introduction to Lee Bermejo's story and world and though it may rely to heavily on dialogue, the art is gorgeous and the book shows great potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Superior Carnage #1

Jul 26, 2013

I was honestly taken aback by how much I enjoyed Superior Carnage #1. While I hold a soft spot in my heart for the symbiote family (I started my heavy comic reading in the 90's), I wasn't expecting much from a Carnage title. Shinick has me intrigued with this introduction, supplying great humor and horror throughout and Stephen Segovia's art blew me away. While there are tonal clashes and Carnage is relegated to a secondary character, this is still worth picking up. Even if you're not a Carnage fan, you might enjoy it as they're attempting something different. Superior Carnage #1 earns 3 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Supurbia Vol. 2 #2

Dec 16, 2012

What would Lois Lane do if she were dumped for a super-villain? How would the wife of Batman react if she knew of the homosexual relationship with Robin that so many people suspect? Supurbia is a book that looks to answer some of those questions. Not all the ideas are completely original, but the stories that come out of those ideas make for a compelling, fun read. Superhero comics are soap operas and Grace Randolph embraces it, providing drama worthy of daytime TV. I love the stories presented here and believe that readers who like superheroes but look for a new take on them will be happy with Supurbia. This issue continues the great storytelling of the first.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Survive #1

Mar 28, 2014

Maybe Im mad at Marvels solicitation but I cant recommend Survive #1 at all, even to those who read Ultimate Cataclysm. Anger aside, this issue is awful for new readers, giving them little information to previous events. If youre completely unfamiliar with the Ultimate Universe youll be even more lost. Maybe fans of Cataclysm will enjoy it, but I find that hard to believe as the issue is pretty boring. Plus, the idea of Young Ultimates seems a bit silly. Shame on me for not doing my research I guess, but live and learn.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Swamp Thing (2011) #0

Sep 9, 2012

This issue succeeded for me all around. It gives something for new readers to jump in on and old readers something to enjoy. While it is an origin story, it also adds and moves forward the current storyline. With wonderful art that is beautiful and horrific at the same time, this is an issue to go out and buy. While some may have problems with the violence, it is still a great story and I look forward to what Snyder and company have in store for Rotworld. Swamp Thing #0 earns 4.5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Swamp Thing (2011) Annual #1

Nov 2, 2012

This book really came out of left field and gave me something a hell of a lot better than what I expected. I would call it a love story but it still feels like Swamp Thing and provides a good motivation for him to kill Arcane. From the great storytelling to Becky Cloonan's art, this book is a must read for Swamp Thing fans. The final shot of ol' Swampy pissed has me extremely excited for Rotworld. 'Cause you really don't want a giant Swamp Thing pissed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Talon #0

Oct 1, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by Talon #0. I wasn't expecting to like it as much as I did. With an origin of a character that is likeable and appealing with beautiful art that complements the story, this issue was a great read. Whether you think another Bat book is needed or not, this is a book that should definitely be picked up. Give it a shot and you might just be surprised too. Talon #0 gets 4 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Terminator Salvation: The Final Battle #1

Dec 6, 2013

Terminator Salvation: The Final Battle #1 turns out to be a confusing and needless continuation of the Terminator franchise. Too many elements have been seen before and the reintroduction of time travel causes more problems than it's worth. There's also a lot of ambiguity to the issue, probably due to it being twelve parts long. This is likely for hardcore fans only, and even then keep in mind that you'll be dropping near fifty dollars to get the complete tale. Even with the art, I don't think it's worth it. Terminator Salvation: The Final Battle #1 earns 2 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Answer! #3

Apr 5, 2013

The Answer continues to be a fun read, if not slightly frustrating. There's big mysteries in this book, ones that needs significant answers. I have confidence that we'll get those answers but reading it is similar to watching an episode of Lost. I'm having fun, but I'm not sure all these questions can be addressed. Mike Norton's art is great and both he and Hopeless have created something very unique. I'm eagerly awaiting the final issue. The Answer #3 earns 3 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
The Black Bat #1

May 7, 2013

I was really looking forward to The Black Bat #1. The character looked cool and I've enjoyed most of the pulp characters Dynamite has been reintroducing. Unfortunately, The Black Bat is hampered by poor storytelling leaving more frustration than desire to read further. The artwork doesn't help much, unable to hook the reader. I might check out the second issue just to see how he gets that cool costume and those guns but at $3.99, that's a hard sell. Hopefully, this was just a faulty start. The Black Bat #1 earns 1.5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The Empty Man #1

Jun 13, 2014

There is enough in The Empty Man #1 for horror fans to try out. Much of the issue has been done before, but Bunn leaves a hint at the end that there will be some twists coming. Fans of bloody, disturbing scenes will have something to enjoy. Del Reys artistic style works with the story but I found it lacking. Im curious enough that Ill at least read the next issue and Im holding out hope for new things. It may not be worth dropping the money but readers wanting a creepy horror story should at least give this one a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The End Times of Bram and Ben #1

Jan 11, 2013

The End Times of Bram and Ben is a breath of fresh air. It's original, funny with some killer art and should be read by many. While it deals with a touchy subject, I doubt it will offend anyone, as the humor isn't focused on faith but rather the situation it presents. James Asmus and Jim Festante know how to tell a fun, witty story and I can't wait for the next issue. There needs to be more comics like this, and if this doesn't sell well that would be a goddamn shame. That's right, I blasphemed. It was worth it, the book's just that good.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The End Times of Bram and Ben #4

Apr 30, 2013

The End Times of Bram and Ben was superb all throughout. Asmus and Festante have a lot of story threads to tie up and they do so wonderfully, leaving an ending that feels like an ending. No loose ends are left dangling and all reveals feel true and satisfying. The artwork is as great as the story, showing evolution from just three issues ago. I loved this book so much that the only negative is that it ends. If that's the worst thing you can say about a book, well, you know it's something special. The End Times of Bram and Ben #4, and the mini-series as a whole, more than earn 5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Fade Out #1

Aug 23, 2014

Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips have struck gold with The Fade Out, crafting a compelling mystery with a dramatic setting. Those who love film should have a blast as the book is almost a movie within a movie. With fascinating backup material, you're getting more than your $3.50 worth. I can't recommend The Fade Out #1 more and it is one of the best books to come out this week. Based on how it's selling, I suggest you go get it now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Fade Out #2

Oct 6, 2014

I'm going to go so far as to say that The Fade Out is Phillips and Brubaker's best work yet. The story is mesmerizing, packing emotion and mystery throughout. The Hollywood setting is brilliantly used and Brubaker mixes in historical events, lending a realism to the book. Sean Phillips provides beautifully dirty looking work, wonderfully colored by Elizabeth Breitweiser, and feels like a noir film. Issue one hooked me but The Fade Out #2 has persuaded me to stay around. This is plain good comics and I highly suggest you go buy this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Fearless Defenders #2

Mar 18, 2013

Fearless Defenders has earned a place on my very slim pull list. It has a lot going for it: Strong female leads, the use of (for lack of a better term) "C-list" characters, and a general uniqueness that sets it apart from most other Marvel titles. Unfortunately, those very things also work against it. This is a solid book and needs to be read by many, so I beg you"BUY THIS BOOK. Support quality like this from the big publishers. This issue continues the joy that the first issue brought and earns 4 out of 5 stars. I really hope this book doesn't get cancelled.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
The Legacy Of Luther Strode #1

Apr 10, 2015

This book has great action and spectacular art. Action is the name of the game with over the top violence. A great start to the ending of a great trilogy.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Life After #1

Jul 13, 2014

The Life After #1 is a difficult read. There is nothing inherently bad about it, in fact there are lots of good ideas. The problem is the way the story is told will frustrate readers and those looking for an easy read will be walk away. I enjoyed myself even if confused most of the way (Im still befuddled on some things). If you can go outside your comfort zone and try an unconventional book, The Life After may be a good choice.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Multiversity #1

Aug 21, 2014

Multiversity #1 is overflowing with Grant Morrison concepts and storytelling. Fans of his will enjoy this but readers who dislike his style will want to stay far away. I enjoyed rereading the book, digesting all the crazy ideas and felt like I got my money's worth. I'm all in and will be picking up the rest of the one-shots. If you're still on the fence, answer the question I've been asking customers in the store all week: "Did you like Final Crises?" If the answer is no, avoid this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Multiversity: Pax Americana #1

Nov 23, 2014

Maybe not of the year but certainly the best in as long as I can remember. Morrison succeeds in using his unconventional storytelling in a way that manages to be intelligible. That's not to say this one won't leave you scratching your head but pay attention and give it a few go throughs. Quitely's art and ability to convey whatever is in Morrison's drug addled mind is amazing and makes the issue even more substantial. There are many similarities to Watchmen, not many of which bothered me, but that's to be expected with the Charleston characters. If the idea of engaging in a comic so intensely and numerously turns you off, this isn't the book for you. But ask yourself this: In a time when comic readers continue to be upset by pricing, doesn't engaging a single issue heavily make it worth $4.99? I think so.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Multiversity: Society of Super-Heroes #1

Sep 18, 2014

It's hard to justify spending $4.99 on any comic nowadays but the Multiversity has yet to let me down. With a hefty page count and incredible artwork along with the cool story, I have to say it's worth it. Grant Morrison's epic is continuing to play out in fun ways and I'm dying to see how it comes together, if it even does. I'm sure I'll have my mind blown either way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
The Multiversity: Ultra Comics #1

Mar 27, 2015

Grant Morrison delivers yet again with the latest installment of Multiversity. The art and writing are exquisite and the issue includes the reader with its crazy story. A must read!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #1

Jan 13, 2015

The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #1 is fun and lighthearted and though it may not appeal to everyone, it is the perfect book for the young and young at heart. If I had a daughter, this would be the superhero book I'd want her to read. The story and art are full of energy and positivity and never takes itself too seriously. It's also got a great, confident protagonist that girls can look up to. Readers looking for some silly fun have got a nice alternative to the typical Marvel books currently out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Wake #1

Jun 2, 2013

The Wake #1 is the perfect example of the Vertigo style. This is a fitting title for the publisher and a great alternative to your average superhero affair. Snyder and Murphy are at the top of their game, telling a story that's creepy, intriguing and mysterious. It looks like it will unfold slowly and I can't wait to see it all come together.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
This Damned Band #1

Aug 11, 2015

This Damned Band #1 is a good kickoff to a funny story with its toe slightly dipped in the pool of reality. I'm interested to see what the Devil has to say about all of this…

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Thomas Alsop #1

Jun 24, 2014

Thomas Alsop #1 has enough good ideas that it could turn out to be a really good mini-series. The look at a family curse through the past and present and the idea that Manhattan is a place for the supernatural are all nice. Unfortunately, Miskiewicz leaves so much of Thomass powers and position vague that its unclear just what it is were reading. Palle Schmidts coloring is great even if the art is a tad uneven. Ill read the next issue purely out of curiosity to see if things are cleared up more but I cant recommend it as a purchase.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Thunderbolts (2012) #8

Apr 21, 2013

I'm enjoying Thunderbolts quite a bit. I know it's no longer anything like it originally was but it's working. This issue while fun, slipped in quality, presented interesting ideas that were oddly implemented and made the story predictable. The whole subplot involving Deadpool, Punisher and Elektra continues to drag as well, taking up too much space. Phil Noto's pencils are great and give the book a very cinematic feel. I like Way's writing, but I fear I can see where this is going. Thunderbolts #8 gets 2.5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Todd, The Ugliest Kid on Earth #2

Feb 17, 2013

Todd: The Ugliest Kid on Earth is not a book for everyone. It's dark, twisted, full of unlikable characters but also original and strangely appealing. The humor is definitely an acquired taste but if you're into it, you'll get a unique story with a lovable main character. This issue has too much going on and while the series is running the risk of becoming needlessly excessive, it's still worth a read. Though not as good as the first, Todd: The Ugliest Kid on Earth #2 earns 3 out of 5 stars. I want to see where Kristensen and Perker will take us next. And that worries me.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Transformers vs. G.I. Joe #1

Jul 28, 2014

How much you will like Transformers vs. G.I. Joe #1 depends on two things: your love of the properties and feelings about the art. There's enough nostalgia here for old time fans to go nuts over but the art style is a deal breaker for some. Fans wanting to feel like a kid in 1984 again may want to pick this one up. I personally had a blast and will now be spending the next hour playing with toys.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.3
Transformers vs. G.I. Joe #2

Sep 1, 2014

Transformers vs. G.I. Joe #2 continues to be the book that is for the kid in the fans of the franchise. Every idea and moment is something that any child could have imagined while playing with Transformers and G.I. Joe toys. The story is fun and light-hearted while paying respect to the franchises and I loved the role reversal taking place. Tom Scioli's art instills a sense of the original comics but is very divisive. For everything that I liked about the art there was something that I disliked as well. It is certainly make it or break it for the reader but those willing to give it a shot will find something fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Transformers vs. G.I. Joe #3

Oct 15, 2014

Transformers vs. G.I. Joe #3 reads like a Transformers vs. G.I. Joe comic done by Jack Kirby. That's quite a statement to make and one I'm sure will fire people up but the similarities are there. Pages are filled with enormous ideas, events and characters and it's obvious Scioli is laying his heart out on the page. It's only the third issue and I feel like I've seen more action than some comics have in ten. The art continues to have its problems but I've noticed the fine details that Scioli is paying attention to, making me appreciate it a little more. I highly suggest Transformers and G.I. Joe fans pick up this issue at the least, it might be the coolest story combining the franchises ever.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Transformers: Robots In Disguise #8

Aug 9, 2012

This issue was fun enough but I feel that there could have been more going on. I'm still intrigued with the political drama that takes place in this title and would have preferred more politics rather than the extended Dinobots storyline. The art was great, as it has been with both the Transformers titles, and services the story well. Overall, this was just an average issue, which sort of disappointed me a bit. But Sky Lynx was in it. And that counts for something. Transformers: Robots In Disguise #8 gets 3 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Transformers: Robots In Disguise #17

May 28, 2013

I was worried that my love for Transformers, and Shockwave in particular, would make it difficult to remain unbiased. In actuality, I probably held this issue under more scrutiny than most, due to my love for the character. The additions to Shockwave's past are wonderful and reveal much about the character's personality while keeping his essence in tact. Livio Ramondelli's art has improved and converted me to a fan. This issue is a great character piece and once again proves why IDW is putting out some of the best and most original Transformers comics in a long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #3

Mar 14, 2013

Uncanny X-Men #3 is a good comic but somewhat redundant. All the aspects of the storytelling, from dialogue to art, are great but much of it has been done before. This argument of right or wrong doesn't need to be made again as most readers have chosen a side by now. I understand this may have been done for new readers but it could have been handled better. There is still great tension in the dialogue and Bachalo's art provides energy to an issue that might have been boring otherwise. Kudos goes to Bendis for giving us an issue where not a punch was thrown as the reader expected. Despite its flaws, Uncanny X-Men #3 receives a well-earned 4 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Venom #23

Aug 25, 2012

I'm in an incredibly difficult situation with this book right now. I loved what Rick Remender did, and am slightly worried that the new team may not live up to what came before. It's not fair to judge a book on what it's not though, and as a first issue of a new story arc it succeeds in setting up the story and characters. But the feeling of indifference and some of the issues with the art don't sit well with me. If I had to recommend this book, it would be to borrow it. I'll see where this is heading, but if my impressions remain the same I may have to drop the title. And that really is unfortunate. Venom #23 gets 2.5 out of 5 stars

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Venom #26

Oct 19, 2012

I'm enjoying Minimum Carnage more and more as the story goes on. Bunn and Yost are creating something fun and unique here, weaving an unusual sci-fi tale. It's the last place you'd think to find these characters but it works. This issue unfortunately is brought down half a star for poor art that could have, and should have been better. Venom #26 gets 2.5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Venom #27

Nov 19, 2012

If you've read this far chances are you've enjoyed the story and are going to read the final issue. I know I will, just to see how it all ends. I've been pleased so far and while I liked this issue, I was a little let down as well. The fight was enjoyable but the lack of clarity in some parts along with art that I'm not fond of brought this issue down. Here's hoping for a strong ending. Venom #27 gets 2.5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wildfire #1

Jun 13, 2014

Wildfire honestly shocked me with its quality. I knew going in that the concept was cool, but Matt Hawkins tells a compelling, neutral and enjoyable story so well that Im all in. The story leads the readers on the journey and allows them to decide how they feel. Linda Sejics art is good, but the digital nature makes the book flat and distracts. Wildfire #1 sprouts interesting scientific quandaries and is hard to put down. It will grab you and have you thinking afterward and is well worth your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wytches #2

Nov 14, 2014

The feeling I have after reading Wytches is the same that I had after first reading Walking Dead. This is some truly wonderfully original stuff and I want everyone to read this book. It's creepy, atmospheric and, most importantly, scary. Snyder and Jock have hit a nerve and like all good horror creators, continue to dig at it. Fans of sinister, slow burn horror absolutely need to buy this. Those who find mangled creatures, mysterious lumps on the body and the woods at night frightening may want to stay away. I take that back, this is the perfect horror comic for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
X-Files Conspiracy: Transformers #1

Mar 6, 2014

After hearing Matthews positive review of the TMNT issue, I held out hope for something fun. Though I like both properties, The X-Files: Conspiracy: Transformers just doesnt work for me. None of it is particularly interesting or exciting and I would much rather read a story with The Lone Gunmen themselves. The art looks good but the layouts make for a confusing reading experience. Those whove read this far will probably continue on but I have no interest in checking out previous or future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
X-Men: Battle of the Atom #1

Sep 5, 2013

I enjoyed X-Men: Battle of the Atom #1 but there isn't enough to make me want to buy more. The fact that this is part one of ten doesn't help. The hook at the end will have me read the next few parts but I can't justify spending money on it. There's too much familiarity here and gives very little not seen before. The art is fantastic and certainly the best thing about the issue, supplying an epic look that the story promises to deliver.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More