NumidianPrime's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics: The Gathering Reviews: 34
7.5Avg. Review Rating

7.0
Star Wars (2014) #56

Nov 7, 2018

Overall it’s a solid issue that sets up a promising arc. I’m looking forward to seeing SCAR some more and the end of the issue sets up some pretty interesting ideas that seem like will be sticking around for at least most of the arc. I can’t wait to see where Gillen takes the series after this because we know he has a grander story mapped out. I’ve been enjoying the series but I’m starting to get more and more excited about new issues releasing

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars (2014) #57

Nov 21, 2018

It’s still a lot of setup for the rest of the arc but it’s fun setup that I enjoyed reading, so I’m OK with that. It’s a refreshing and original arc in a series that has been and seems like it will continue to be fast paced, so I’m ok with slowing down for a beat. I’m really excited to see SCAR Squadron come to the moon soon and it looks like Luke might be getting a temporary romantic interest. The solicits yesterday also gave us a tease of the next arc and therefore how this one ends, and I’m excited to see where the series continues to go. I wouldn’t be surprised if the next arc or two are the last ones before we catch up to Empire Strikes Back. No matter what, I’m excited to keep reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars (2014) #58

Dec 5, 2018

It’s pretty clear where the rest of the arc is going to go from the solicitations and I’m looking forward to seeing it play out. I’m happy that we got this arc as a breather between two big important arcs. Hope Dies was interesting because it was such a big event in the timeline but I’m surprised to find that I’m enjoying this arc more. This is probably the most I’ve enjoyed the series since Aaron’s second arc, and if the rest of the arc goes well it could become my favorite. Can’t wait to see where it goes next!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Star Wars (2014) #59

Jan 9, 2019

It’s an OK issue overall. Probably my least favorite of the arc so far, but I’m still really enjoying the arc overall and I’m excited for whatever plans Gillen has for the future. I’m hoping my opinion of SCAR’s return improves next issue and even if it doesn’t I’m sure it’ll be a fun read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars (2014) #62

Mar 6, 2019

Solid issue overall. Nothing huge or surprising but still a good starter to an arc that I have high hopes for. Looking forward to seeing how Gillen finishes off his run!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars (2014) #63

Mar 21, 2019

As I mentioned before, the issue is primarily set up, but it's decent set up. No big surprises but a solid first act for what I'm hoping will end up being a great arc!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars (2014) #64

Apr 3, 2019

I'm looking forward to seeing where the next issue takes the arc. I'm especially excited to learn who will be taking over the series after Gillen leaves, which we should find out next week at Star Wars Celebration. I'm optimistic that it will be Charles Soule, who has been hinting at a big Star Wars project for a while. Either way, can't wait to find out!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Star Wars (2014) #65

May 2, 2019

It's a very middle of the road issue. I don't have any particularly strong feelings about it. This is an arc that, like most of Gillen's arc, I think will read far better in a trade when you can get the entire story in one go. Until then, I'll continue to read the issues one by one and hope that they catch my interest more and more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars (2014) #66

May 16, 2019

I'm looking forward to seeing how the arc ends. It hasn't been my favorite arc of Gillen's but it has been a reasonably satisfying conclusion to a story that's been running for just over a year and a half now. The final issue should bring a nice conclusion to the long run, and I wouldn't mind a bit of a lead in to Greg Pak's run on the series that starts with issue #68. I can't wait to see what he does with the series because I've been thoroughly enjoying his work on Age of Rebellion for the most part.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars Adventures #15

Oct 31, 2018

The art was pretty good in both the main and back-up stories. I especially liked the art in the back-up, I think it suits the series. Overall, it was an enjoyable issue. Nothing really notable but still fun. The main story is more or less what I expect from the series, just a quick read that’s nice but doesn’t have anything that memorable. I’m enjoying the Flight of the Falcon line much more than I thought I would when it was announced and I think Moreci’s writing is a decent part of that, I’m enjoying the comics side of the line more than I’ve enjoyed the book side so far. The hook at the end of the back-up has me especially excited for the next issue, I have a really good feeling about it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars Adventures #16

Dec 19, 2018

The series isn't for everyone but when it's of this quality, it's definitely for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars Adventures #17

Jan 30, 2019

Overall, the issue has a decent main story and a really good backup. Next issue is our last regular Flight of the Falcon story before the big one shot to tie the entire publishing line up, I’m really excited to see Moreci tackle what might be the biggest story of the line so far: how Ducain stole the Falcon. I’ll be sad to see the line come to an end, I’ve been enjoying it every issue. Really hoping to see Moreci on something longer in the future. I’ve had a hard time keeping up with physical comics lately but this is one trade I’m definitely buying. Next month is also the start of a trio of prequel team-up stories, I can’t wait to see how that goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars Adventures #18

Feb 20, 2019

Much as I like Milo and his crew, I'm sad that this is our last Flight of the Falcon story and things will be back to normal next issue. I could have taken another dozen of these stories. I still hope to see Moreci on more stories in the future, and I'm really excited to see how this run ends next month with the big one shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Star Wars Adventures #19

Mar 28, 2019

Overall, the issue has a solid, if not groundbreaking, primary story and a less-than-great backup story. I’m excited for the next issue featuring a primary story about Anakin and Yoda as well as apparently a backup story about Barriss Offee. I was surprised that Barriss would be chosen for a backup, considering her arc in this era, but there’s a lot of potential there and I’m looking forward to seeing what they do with her.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars Adventures #20

Apr 18, 2019

This was the final story in a trilogy of prequel trilogy-focused stories so the next issue begins our series of original trilogy-focused stories. The solicits for all three stories sound interesting so I can't wait to see how they turn out!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars Adventures #21

May 9, 2019

I think I'm looking forward to the next couple of issues a bit more because they will be set in the time period between Empire Strikes Back and Return of the Jedi, which is vastly more unexplored than the time period from this issue and has a bit more open storytelling potential. Still, this issue was a nice regular installment in a series that I look forward to every month. Not everything has to have big stakes or big implications, it's nice to have a series that's just for fun all-ages tales.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars Adventures #22

Jun 6, 2019

This was a solid, regular issue of Adventures. Definitely what I expect and enjoy from the series on average. The next issue really will be set after Empire Strikes Back, about Lando and Chewie on the Falcon, so I'm definitely really looking forward to that. Beyond that, we know of a couple stories based around the sequel trilogy coming up that sound really interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars Adventures: Flight of the Falcon #

May 2, 2019

I'm sad to see this run end. It's been consistently one of my favorites since it started. I'd be happy with this as an ongoing backup, considering how many eras and owners the Falcon has lived through it certainly has enough stories to last a lifetime. But all good things must come to an end. I'm very much looking forward to picking this run up in trade format in a couple months, and I hope to see Moreci and Florean on many Star Wars stories yet to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars Adventures: Tales From Vader's Castle #2

Oct 10, 2018

I did have some fun with the story though. It was cool seeing Obi-Wan and Adi working together and I enjoyed Dooku. I’m also pretty interested in the present day plot. Mustafar and especially Vader’s Castle itself is an interesting location, and I’m already familiar with Lina from Scott’s past work so I’m liking seeing more of her. I do enjoy a lot of Scott’s work so I’m still looking forward to what other stories this series has to tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) #22

Oct 20, 2018

I'm looking forward to seeing where the rest of this arc goes over the next few months. Momin is making some very interesting promises to Vader that he seems certain he can keep. Judging by the previews, the final issue of Tales from Vader's Castle from IDW will be featuring the Mustafarians attacking the castle in a story and the solicitations for the next issue of this series hint at the same thing, so maybe we can expect some connectivity between the two series. Can't wait to find out!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) #24

Nov 28, 2018

Camuncoli's art is still solid in my opinion, I think it fits the series well. Overall, it was a pretty solid issue. Despite Momin's death, it doesn't feel like too much was advanced or answered. I'm still looking forward to the big finale, though I'm slightly concerned because I didn't think the ending to Soule's other ongoing, Poe Dameron, was as satisfying as it could have been. No matter what, I'm still hyped for Soule's next projects, which he seems to be especially excited about.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) #24

Nov 28, 2018

Camuncoli's art is still solid in my opinion, I think it fits the series well. Overall, it was a pretty solid issue. Despite Momin's death, it doesn't feel like too much was advanced or answered. I'm still looking forward to the big finale, though I'm slightly concerned because I didn't think the ending to Soule's other ongoing, Poe Dameron, was as satisfying as it could have been. No matter what, I'm still hyped for Soule's next projects, which he seems to be especially excited about.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) #25

Dec 19, 2018

It's definitely a very satisfying conclusion to the run that solidifies it as one of my favorites, if not my actual favorite, so far. I think it'll read even better when the entire series is reread from beginning to end, because it's clearly a planned out and plotted story with arcs and bookends. I'm really excited to see what Soule does next. He clearly has some other project in the works and you can see seeds for it throughout the last couple arcs of this series. Can't wait to find out!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra #25

Oct 24, 2018

The ending of this issue sold me on the entire arc and made me appreciate it more. It was good, especially after this issue, but the ending really elevated it in more ways than one. After the ending I went back to read the earlier issues in this arc, there’s some excellent foreshadowing that helps the twist not feel like it’s out of nowhere. I’m more excited for this series than I’ve ever been,I cannot wait to see where the next arc goes now because the ending of this issue set up some really interesting ideas for the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra #26

Nov 14, 2018

Overall, it’s a pretty solid issue and a fun start to what I presume will be a great arc. It’s moving at a pretty fast pace and while I have a couple guesses about where the story will go, I’m certain that it will end up surprising me just like the last arc did. I’m really looking forward to finding out!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra #27

Dec 12, 2018

The art continues to be great. I’m still glad to have Laiso back after he was replaced for The Catastrophe Con. Overall, it’s a good installment in this story. The ending initially wasn’t a huge surprise to me but then they threw in another thing I wasn’t expecting that makes me even more excited to see where this goes next. Can’t wait to find out!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra #28

Feb 27, 2019

The character work continues to be great. For once it's Triple Zero's sentimentality that gets the duo into trouble, not Aphra's. Seeing the public relations department of the Empire was a fun turn I wasn't expecting, and it's interesting to see how they handle planets like Milvayne that have a relatively low Imperial presence.The art is as great as it always is, I hope that Laiso stays with the series for the long haul. His style really fits and the series demonstrably isn't quite the same without him.I don't have much else to say about this issue. It was enjoyable, no huge events to note yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra #30

Mar 28, 2019

Overall, it’s a pretty solid installment in what has been a pretty great arc. The issue leaves us on a big cliffhanger and I’m looking forward to see what ramifications the next issue will have for the characters and for the series as a whole.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra #31

Apr 25, 2019

This arc is most likely my favorite of the series so far, but I'll have to ensure that I do enjoy it as much as I'm expecting as a trade before I decide that for sure. I'm very much looking forward to seeing where the series goes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra #32

May 9, 2019

Overall, this issue wasn't too full of surprises and doesn't have too much more to talk about but it is a promising start to a promising arc. Can't wait to read more!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Star Wars: Galaxy's Edge #1

Apr 25, 2019

Overall the issue introduces some really interesting threads and ideas that I can't wait to see explored more both here and elsewhere, but suffers because of an unengaging flashback story. I almost wish the series was set entirely in the present. Part of me suspects the flashbacks are here because they aren't ready to dedicate that much time to exploring Black Spire Outpost in this time period yet until after the park opens.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars: Galaxy's Edge #2

May 23, 2019

I would say that this is a good example of an anthology story done right. A lot of the times the stories can come across as rushed or unimportant because they have a much smaller page count than a miniseries or ongoing but this was an engaging story that felt full and satisfying.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Tie Fighter #1

Apr 18, 2019

It's primarily character introduction and it's well executed character introduction. The characters don't feel stale and I'm looking forward to seeing them develop more. I've already started to develop theories about how different ones will wind up. Now I'm just looking forward to seeing the plot develop more!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars: Tie Fighter #2

May 16, 2019

Overall it's a solid second installment in a promising miniseries. I look forward to seeing it develop further and I look forward to seeing how Alphabet Squadron interwines with it shortly.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

June

May

More