NumidianPrime's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics: The Gathering Reviews: 14
7.5Avg. Review Rating

7.0
Star Wars (2014) #56

Nov 7, 2018

Overall it’s a solid issue that sets up a promising arc. I’m looking forward to seeing SCAR some more and the end of the issue sets up some pretty interesting ideas that seem like will be sticking around for at least most of the arc. I can’t wait to see where Gillen takes the series after this because we know he has a grander story mapped out. I’ve been enjoying the series but I’m starting to get more and more excited about new issues releasing

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars (2014) #57

Nov 21, 2018

It’s still a lot of setup for the rest of the arc but it’s fun setup that I enjoyed reading, so I’m OK with that. It’s a refreshing and original arc in a series that has been and seems like it will continue to be fast paced, so I’m ok with slowing down for a beat. I’m really excited to see SCAR Squadron come to the moon soon and it looks like Luke might be getting a temporary romantic interest. The solicits yesterday also gave us a tease of the next arc and therefore how this one ends, and I’m excited to see where the series continues to go. I wouldn’t be surprised if the next arc or two are the last ones before we catch up to Empire Strikes Back. No matter what, I’m excited to keep reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars (2014) #58

Dec 5, 2018

It’s pretty clear where the rest of the arc is going to go from the solicitations and I’m looking forward to seeing it play out. I’m happy that we got this arc as a breather between two big important arcs. Hope Dies was interesting because it was such a big event in the timeline but I’m surprised to find that I’m enjoying this arc more. This is probably the most I’ve enjoyed the series since Aaron’s second arc, and if the rest of the arc goes well it could become my favorite. Can’t wait to see where it goes next!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Star Wars (2014) #59

Jan 9, 2019

It’s an OK issue overall. Probably my least favorite of the arc so far, but I’m still really enjoying the arc overall and I’m excited for whatever plans Gillen has for the future. I’m hoping my opinion of SCAR’s return improves next issue and even if it doesn’t I’m sure it’ll be a fun read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars Adventures #15

Oct 31, 2018

The art was pretty good in both the main and back-up stories. I especially liked the art in the back-up, I think it suits the series. Overall, it was an enjoyable issue. Nothing really notable but still fun. The main story is more or less what I expect from the series, just a quick read that’s nice but doesn’t have anything that memorable. I’m enjoying the Flight of the Falcon line much more than I thought I would when it was announced and I think Moreci’s writing is a decent part of that, I’m enjoying the comics side of the line more than I’ve enjoyed the book side so far. The hook at the end of the back-up has me especially excited for the next issue, I have a really good feeling about it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars Adventures #16

Dec 19, 2018

The series isn't for everyone but when it's of this quality, it's definitely for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars Adventures: Tales From Vader's Castle #2

Oct 10, 2018

I did have some fun with the story though. It was cool seeing Obi-Wan and Adi working together and I enjoyed Dooku. I’m also pretty interested in the present day plot. Mustafar and especially Vader’s Castle itself is an interesting location, and I’m already familiar with Lina from Scott’s past work so I’m liking seeing more of her. I do enjoy a lot of Scott’s work so I’m still looking forward to what other stories this series has to tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) #22

Oct 20, 2018

I'm looking forward to seeing where the rest of this arc goes over the next few months. Momin is making some very interesting promises to Vader that he seems certain he can keep. Judging by the previews, the final issue of Tales from Vader's Castle from IDW will be featuring the Mustafarians attacking the castle in a story and the solicitations for the next issue of this series hint at the same thing, so maybe we can expect some connectivity between the two series. Can't wait to find out!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) #24

Nov 28, 2018

Camuncoli's art is still solid in my opinion, I think it fits the series well. Overall, it was a pretty solid issue. Despite Momin's death, it doesn't feel like too much was advanced or answered. I'm still looking forward to the big finale, though I'm slightly concerned because I didn't think the ending to Soule's other ongoing, Poe Dameron, was as satisfying as it could have been. No matter what, I'm still hyped for Soule's next projects, which he seems to be especially excited about.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) #24

Nov 28, 2018

Camuncoli's art is still solid in my opinion, I think it fits the series well. Overall, it was a pretty solid issue. Despite Momin's death, it doesn't feel like too much was advanced or answered. I'm still looking forward to the big finale, though I'm slightly concerned because I didn't think the ending to Soule's other ongoing, Poe Dameron, was as satisfying as it could have been. No matter what, I'm still hyped for Soule's next projects, which he seems to be especially excited about.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) #25

Dec 19, 2018

It's definitely a very satisfying conclusion to the run that solidifies it as one of my favorites, if not my actual favorite, so far. I think it'll read even better when the entire series is reread from beginning to end, because it's clearly a planned out and plotted story with arcs and bookends. I'm really excited to see what Soule does next. He clearly has some other project in the works and you can see seeds for it throughout the last couple arcs of this series. Can't wait to find out!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra #25

Oct 24, 2018

The ending of this issue sold me on the entire arc and made me appreciate it more. It was good, especially after this issue, but the ending really elevated it in more ways than one. After the ending I went back to read the earlier issues in this arc, there’s some excellent foreshadowing that helps the twist not feel like it’s out of nowhere. I’m more excited for this series than I’ve ever been,I cannot wait to see where the next arc goes now because the ending of this issue set up some really interesting ideas for the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra #26

Nov 14, 2018

Overall, it’s a pretty solid issue and a fun start to what I presume will be a great arc. It’s moving at a pretty fast pace and while I have a couple guesses about where the story will go, I’m certain that it will end up surprising me just like the last arc did. I’m really looking forward to finding out!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra #27

Dec 12, 2018

The art continues to be great. I’m still glad to have Laiso back after he was replaced for The Catastrophe Con. Overall, it’s a good installment in this story. The ending initially wasn’t a huge surprise to me but then they threw in another thing I wasn’t expecting that makes me even more excited to see where this goes next. Can’t wait to find out!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

January

December

More