Chad Derdowski's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Mania Reviews: 204
8.0Avg. Review Rating

8.4
Abandoned Cars #1

Mar 18, 2010

But the bottom line is that it’s also just a bunch of good stories told by a very unique talent. If Tim Lane was just an author, he’d have a very compelling voice that would be worth paying attention to, but the fact that he works in pictures as well as words makes it that much sweeter. Each and every story contained between these covers is a good one, but having finished it, I find my mind reeling with a variety of pictures and mood, even two days after the fact. Like the myths that it is inspired by, Abandoned Cars lingers long after reading and grows in stature as you re-live and re-tell it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Action Comics #875

Mar 13, 2009

B+. It was a nice little set-up issue, but I’m more interested in getting to the meat and potatoes next month. If this issue is indicative of what a world without Superman is like, then I’m not necessarily hoping he comes back in a hurry.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Adventure Comics (2009) #1

Aug 17, 2009

Yeah, I liked it and yeah, I’ll buy the next issue. I actually haven’t read a lot of Connor Kent stories, so the character is somewhat new to me. This relaunch feels like a perfect jumping-on point. And while I’ve always thought the Legion was sweet, they’ve always been just outside my radar. So again, I’m finding this to be a nice jumping-on point and am looking forward to the co-feature as well as the main story. I also liked the fact that while elements of this story are connected to recent events in the Superman Family titles, it doesn’t have the little S-Shield numbering thing going on, so it’s sort of unconnected to the bigger picture. At least for now.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Adventure Comics (2009) #3

Oct 16, 2009

Well written but lame. Not great, but not so bad that I wanted to slit my wrists. I’ll give it a C bordering on a C-.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Afrodisiac #1

Dec 10, 2009

If any of this stuff sounds appealing to you, I’d highly recommend you check it out. Hey, and while you’re at it, pick up a copy of Street Angel too. Both books kicked my ass and they’ll likely kick yours too.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #595

May 29, 2009

Marvel’s flagship character is also their most bland. While there was nothing in this issue that I found terribly offensive or so off-putting that I’d give it a failing grade, it didn’t really do anything to wow me either. It’s a casebook example of a C book: very middle-of-the-road. I haven’t been much of a fan of Spidey in recent years, but I think I’m going to try to stick this storyline out and see if it ends up getting any better. If the rest of the arc is on par with this issue then I think it’s finally time to take the “Amazing” out of the book’s title.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #597

Jun 12, 2009

If you’ve been reading anything I’ve written about Spider-Man lately, you may have noticed I’m not a huge fan of the book right now. While I enjoy the general direction the book is taking, it just isn’t clicking for me: too many bad jokes and spotty characterization. But I have to admit that I really enjoyed this issue, most likely because it was basically all action and the terribly annoying supporting cast wasn’t there to make me want to claw my eyes out. I’m not prepared to issue a proclamation declaring the triumphant dawning of a glorious return to awesomeness for Spider-Man, but I will give it a B, which is pretty darn nice. The fact that it’s still only $2.99 was also pretty nice.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #612

Nov 23, 2009

Oh yeah, there was a backup story too that I didn’t really care much for one way or the other. It was about the Black Cat. Been there, done that. Yawn.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #645

Oct 18, 2010

Meh. Honestly, my complaints are few. I’ve been enjoying this Origin of the Species storyline and I’m looking forward to the conclusion next month or next week or tomorrow or whenever the next issue comes out while Spidey’s on this weird schedule.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) Annual #36

Jul 13, 2009

I enjoyed it and I’m giving it a B. It was a great “Annual story” – it stands on it’s own as a good story but is something that will undoubtedly have quite a bit of impact down the road. It’s got me geeked for this whole American Son storyline to wrap up so we can see what’s coming next. Good stuff, and I wish the regular Amazing Spider-Man book was this good.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
American McGee's Grimm #1

Mar 17, 2009

I’m giving this book a B-. It was a fun read and it exceeded my expectations. If I had seen this sitting on the shelf, I most certainly would’ve passed it by and I don’t usually go in for comic books based on video or computer games; but reading it gave me a different perspective. Dwight MacPerson and Grant Bond worked within the boundaries of a licensed property to give readers 15 solid minutes of humor. Maybe 17 if you read slow. Maybe only 10 if you read faster.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Astro City: The Dark Age Book 4 #3

Apr 5, 2010

For as dull as Astro City has been lately and as long as this story has dragged on, I finally felt like Busiek is really bringing it all home here. I’d been considering dropping the book but now I’m thinking that when The Dark Age wraps up with the next issue, it’s probably going to be time to re-read the whole series. Good stuff.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batgirl (2009) #1

Aug 24, 2009

I enjoyed the book. It was nothing to write home about, but if you like the Bat Family and you’re a Batgirl fan, you’ll probably dig it. Heck, if you’re a Birds of Prey fan you’ll probably dig it too since Barbara Gordon is going to be playing the same sort of Oracle role in this book too. All-in-all: even though the issue didn’t leave me feeling like I had to buy the next one, I probably will anyway. It was a decent set-up issue and was promising enough that I’ll give the next few a shot to see where it goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Batman and Robin #2

Jul 6, 2009

I know that a lot of people don’t always like Morrison’s writing (at times, I am one of them) but if you liked his work on All-Star Superman, you should pick this one up as well. It’s sort of the same idea: a post-modern look at the Silver Age Batman. It’s fun and wild and full of life and color and POW and WHAM but it’s also a lot more thoughtful and introspective than the books of that era. Imagine the 1960’s TV show all grown up and pumped up on steroids and LSD. There’s no camp and little humor but it’s the most fun I’ve had reading Batman in years.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Batman and Robin #3

Aug 31, 2009

I don’t want Bruce to come back. This is way too much fun. It’s a sick, twisted kind of fun that generally leaves me feeling kinda grody, but its fun nonetheless. I believe it was Mania’s Ben Johnson who said this first over in the Spinner Rack, but I’m gonna second his emotion: it’s everything All-Star Batman and Robin should’ve been. Only it’s not, because rather than Bruce & Dick under the masks, we get to see how Dick handles the role of the father figure and we get a whole new outlook on the Dynamic Duo and I, for one, hope that we’ll continue to see this outlook long enough that it becomes stale and old. I’m lovin’ it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Batman and Robin #4

Sep 18, 2009

Another issue of Batman and Robin = another A.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Batman and Robin #9

Feb 26, 2010

Meh. It gets a C. That’s a passing grade. I didn’t hate it, but it did little for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman and Robin #10

Mar 15, 2010

Now get Frank Quitely back on art duties ASAP!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Blackest Night #1

Jul 16, 2009

And it’s got creepy-ass intergalactic super-zombies, which is really freakin’ awesome. I give this issue an A and I’m dying for the next one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Blackest Night #3

Sep 17, 2009

Another great issue of the biggest event of the past few years. Not “event” like the ones that are shoved down your throat and run rampant through a company, stealing away your favorite titles for an issue or two, but an “event” like the kind that will be remembered years from now as one of the finer moments in the history of comic book storytelling. Of course, we’re only three issues in and everything could change at the drop of a hat, but using Johns’ previous Green Lantern epics as a barometer, I think it’s safe to say that we don’t have to worry. Each successive issue of this series ups the ante and gets my heart racing more than the last. This one, with all of its exposition, explanation and “oh shit” moments, keeps the pace and keeps on kicking my ass. It gets an A.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Bob Howard: Plumber Of The Unknown #1

Nov 8, 2010

This book was an absolute blast and my only real beef with it was that it left me wanting more. Bob Howard, Plumber of the Unknown is just a whole lot of fun and satisfied my love of monsters and appealed to my funny bone. While it didn’t quite match the comedic talents of guys like Harold Ramis, Bill Murray or Dan Aykroyd, the book had a very “Ghostbusters” vibe to it, which I I appreciated along with the subtle (and not-so subtle) nods to H.P. Lovecraft. All-in-all, it was just a really good time. Check out the website and give it a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Brightest Day #0

Apr 20, 2010

I also appreciated 48 pages with no ads for $3.99 as well as Fernando Pasarin’s artwork. The guy just has that classic lookin’ superhero style that suits a story like this really well. And since the book is bi-weekly, I won’t have to wait long to find out if I appreciate the entire story or if it’s just a decent premise that gasses out in a few weeks. I kind of doubt it though. This first issue has me hooked and I’m looking forward to the rest of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Brightest Day #2

May 25, 2010

It’s like there are a number of really interesting stories going on in these pages, but I either didn’t get enough to satiate me or they just didn’t play out in a captivating way. And honestly, I’m finding that for as interesting as some of these stories may be, the whole mystery-of-the-risen-heroes thing is just sorta “been there, done that… for the past 5 damn years!” Meh.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Brightest Day #7

Aug 10, 2010

On the whole, I guess I am enjoying Brightest Day. It’s not a “A” story, by any means, but it’s serving its purpose and keeping me entertained and relatively interested. Probably not worth 3 bucks every other week, but not so bad that I’ll give it a poor grade. It’s worth a C+, which might be the “low end of good” but certainly isn’t terrible. This issue has given me hope that the story is actually going somewhere and that I might actually find some interest in these characters, which seems to be the point of the series. Let’s hope it holds up from here on out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Brightest Day #12

Oct 25, 2010

All-in-all, I’m happy with this issue and pleased to see Brightest Day continue its forward momentum as the story progresses. We’re what, halfway through the story right now? And at this point, I’m definitely in it for the long haul and can’t wait to see where the story goes from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Captain America (2004) #49

Apr 21, 2009

As I said earlier, if you’re interested in Cap but have stayed away because of long complicated storylines, this would be a good issue to pick up. If you’re one of those folks who dropped the book when Steve Rogers died, this might be the one where you start reading again. I’m not entirely sure where this storyline will lead, but it did seem to have something to do with that teaser image Marvel ran in their comics a couple weeks back.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Captain America (2004) #600

Jun 22, 2009

And if you haven’t been reading Cap or you’re one of those people who quit reading it when Steve died, now’s the time and this is the issue. Pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Captain America (2004) #602

Jan 21, 2010

But that’s neither here nor there. Sorry folks, don’t mean to start an argument, but damn if it doesn’t always come up every time a Captain America story gets a little political. Figured I’d just cut to the chase and try to nip it in the bud. What was I talking about again? Yeah, Cap #602. It was a good issue! The fine people of Boise, Idaho might not care for the way they are portrayed, but I’m giving it a B+ and enjoying Bucky-Cap while I can because I’m pretty sure he’s not coming out of Siege alive.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Captain America 70th Anniversary Special #1

Apr 2, 2009

I haven’t spent all this time singing this book’s praises to give it a bad grade. Due to the fact that it’s “just an anniversary issue” and the previously mentioned mild cheese factor of the main story, I might’ve given it a B. However… Martin & Rodriguez, baby. If you don’t like Cap, just buy the book and look at it without reading the captions or word balloons. It’s gorgeous! And if you do like Cap, you’re in luck because it’s a pretty cool story too.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Captain America: Reborn #1

Jul 3, 2009

Much like Mary Worth or the humdrum of a 9 to 5, it’s not bad by any means. But it gets boring.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Captain America: Reborn #2

Aug 10, 2009

I’m looking forward to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Captain America: Reborn #3

Sep 22, 2009

Anyway, it was a good read and a lot of cool stuff happens. I give it a B+.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Captain America: Reborn #4

Nov 10, 2009

This was another solid issue. If you’re not reading it by now, I’m guessing you’re not going to read it anyway, because why would you start reading a 5-issue series with the fourth issue? I kind of feel like the story lost some of its momentum a while back, but that doesn’t mean it doesn’t continue to be an enjoyable read every month. I’m giving it a B-. I would’ve graded it higher, but honestly – that art really messed it all up for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Captain Britain and MI:13 (2008) #12

Apr 9, 2009

Obviously Paul Cornell has some skill as a writer because the characters personalities did shine through and they were compelling, but I found the story itself to be pretty uninteresting and largely incomprehensible. I’m giving the book a D+. It wasn’t bad enough to deserve an F, but I had heard such good things and had a lot of high hopes for this book, only to find them dashed upon the rocks. Captain Britain does have a really cool costume though, and that also helped me hate it slightly less.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Captain Moral Authority #1

Oct 8, 2009

If you’re looking for a sci-fi comic that is definitely left of center and offers a little more than standard superhero fare, you might want to give Captain Moral Authority a shot. The first issue can be ordered through IndyPlanet.com or by contacting the creator at CaptainMoralAuthority@gmail.com

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Chew #1

Jun 8, 2009

If you enjoy gritty cop stories with a dark sense of humor, Chew might be up your alley. I guess I’d have to say I enjoyed everything in this book, from the characterization to the panel layouts to the coloring. It all seemed to fit together really well to create a perfect package and it felt like a completely original idea, something that often seems quite rare in comics. I’m already a fan and I’ll be back for the second issue. I’m giving this book an A and recommending that you check it out too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Chew #4

Sep 8, 2009

If you’re not reading Chew, start now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Chew #6

Nov 26, 2009

The detective side of the story wrapped up a bit quickly with little real detecting going on, but since this issue was largely set up for the larger story, it’s hardly something to complain about. All-in-all, we got another great issue of a great book, with a new cast member and a new dynamic. It’s no surprise to anyone who has been reading it, but this issue cements the fact that Chew isn’t just a one-note joke about cops eating dead people. The wacky concept draws you in and the fun stories and satire keep you entertained, but it’s the well-rounded characters that will keep us coming back again and again. We’re at a point in the series now where the character of Tony Chu is getting more and more fleshed out and I’m eager to see the continued interaction between Tony and John as well as the overall conspiracy about the poultry flu. And what the hell is with that pineapple?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Chronicles Of Conan Volume 19 #1

Jun 10, 2010

if you like this sort of stuff, you’ll like this collection.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Comic Book Comics #4

Nov 13, 2009

Not only does it provide a lot of insight into the goings-on of the day, it also provides a great example of how differently comic books are perceived in different cultures. So you’re not just getting a bunch of facts, you’re seeing how cultural taboos and politics influenced the maturation of the art form in America and abroad. It’s fascinating stuff.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Criminal Macabre: Cell Block 666 #1

Dec 17, 2009

Long story short… you like crime comics? You like horror comics? Enjoy flawed heroes who might not always do the right thing but are definitely on the side of justice? You’ll probably dig Criminal Macabre and you’d do just fine starting with this volume. I’m giving it a very solid B.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Dark Avengers #12

Dec 21, 2009

So it gets a C+. It was either a very well written, yet boring and anti-climactic story or it was an exciting way to get from Point A to Point B without giving us an actual issue. Either way, it was good but certainly not worth the $3.99 cover price.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Dark Tower: The Fall of Gilead #1

May 15, 2009

My advice: if you’ve been reading it thus far, you should keep on doing so. And if you are unfamiliar with the Dark Tower series, go to your local library and check ‘em out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dark Tower: The Fall of Gilead #3

Aug 3, 2009

This issue gets a B. As I said earlier, it didn’t knock my socks completely off, but it continues the tradition of solid storytelling that fans of the Dark Tower have come to expect.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dark Tower: The Fall of Gilead #6

Nov 27, 2009

Well done: I’m actually going to go ahead and give it an A+.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Dark X-Men: The Beginning #1

Jul 14, 2009

Had any one of these stories been used as a Dark Avengers (or similar title) back up feature, Id probably be complimenting Marvel for giving fans more for their money. As it is, this felt like highway robbery.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daytripper #5

Apr 19, 2010

I am looking forward to the final 5 issues and the eventual re-reading and reinterpretation that will likely come on a regular basis in the years to follow. With art and color that match the majesty of the story, Daytripper is already on my list of absolute must reads. I have no doubt that it will be on yours as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
DC Universe Legacies #1

May 24, 2010

You guys know the drill by now… I’m a big sucker for the old-school stuff and even though I might rag on fans who are overly obsessed with continuity, I do enjoy it quite a bit myself. Even moreso than the history of these shared universes, I enjoy the history of the medium, so I get a kick out of seeing such great talents re-telling these stories and re-establishing a (hopefully) cohesive history for the DCU as well as expanding upon the philosophies of the universe. The first issue of Legacies didn’t exactly grab me by the collar, slap me in the face and demand that I buy the next issue, but it was a solid read and it was awfully pretty to look at. If you have similar inclinations, you might want to give it a look-see.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
DC Universe Legacies #2

Jun 22, 2010

Two issues in and a series that was great from the get-go is already improving. I love the fact that they’re really living up to the Legacies title, with a father-and-son art combo and two stories that mimic the style of the day, only updated with decades of knowledge and mastery of the craft. This series is looking like a masterpiece in the making.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
De: Tales #1

Oct 11, 2010

Obviously, I liked it quite a bit. I’m a huge fan of Fábio Moon and Gabriel Bá and if you share my love of their art and the type of stories they write, you’ll definitely want to check out De: Tales. These are stories in which the brothers wear their hearts on their sleeves, observing, living and above all loving the joys that life provides for us.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Detective Comics #854

Jun 25, 2009

Both stories were really good, but they both felt a bit like I was only getting the first 15 minutes of an hour-long program. When we’re talking about an eight-page story, that’s awesome, but not so much for a full-length tale. But as I said, it’s a fine introduction that comes highly recommended. I will definitely be back next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Detective Comics #866

Jun 28, 2010

Anyhoo, I thought this was a great comic. It’s especially nice to see a guy like Dennis O’Neil step back up to the plate and show these kids how it’s done. His style hasn’t changed much since the old days, which just goes to show you how talented he is. There’s a word to describe him, and a comic book like this, and that word is classic. I hope to see more issues like this in the future. I’m a fan of the self-contained story that wraps up by the end of the issue. It seems to be a growing trend in comics these days but there’s not a lot of guys that can do it this well. Here’s hoping that the new generation continues to take lessons from the old.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Doctor Voodoo: Avenger of the Supernatural #1

Oct 9, 2009

I thought Rick Remender did a fine job of setting up the world of Doctor Voodoo, even if it was a bit jam-packed. I appreciate the fact that Palos art wasnt traditional superhero artwork and I cannot stress enough how much I enjoyed the various aspects of voodoo tradition that were shown in this issue. The Hoary Hosts of Hoggoth are still making their presence felt, but now theyre alongside the Barrier Crows of Legba and Petro Loa. Its a nice melding of two supernatural worlds and Im looking forward to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Dungeon Quest Book One #1

Apr 16, 2010

But for all the humor and nods and winks to both stoner and geek culture Dungeon Quest contains, the book would be nothing if it wasn’t held together by a legitimately good story. Joe Daly has a real knack for creating interesting characters, hilarious situations and especially amazing dialogue. He’s undoubtedly the Shakespeare of action/comedy-stoner/philosophy comics. My only complaint with the book is a double-edged sword, as it is also the thing I’m most excited about: it is labled as Book One. While I was upset that we didn’t get to see the story reach its conclusion, I’m really looking forward to seeing more of these characters and the world Joe Daly has created.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Echo #10

Mar 6, 2009

I love this book and I'm trying to support it by buying the individual issues, but I think the harsh reality has finally set in: I'm better off reading it in trade. In a perfect world, Terry Moore would be able to get an issue out every month and I'd be a happier reviewer, but we're clearly not living in a perfect world. The book still gets a B+ because it's awesome, but its awesomeness is tempered by its lack of monthliness and my brain's lack of rememberability.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Fantastic Four (1998) #570

Aug 27, 2009

Not only did I not find fault with the writing and art in this issue, it was fun as hell! I had an absolute blast reading it and a smile on my face the entire time. I like Jonathan Hickman quite a bit but I wasn’t sure if he was a “big, cosmic” guy. Turns out he has either been channeling the spirit of Jack Kirby and communing with Stan Lee on the astral plane or he’s been eating a whole lot of mushrooms lately – he jumped in with both feet on this title and seems to be enjoying the hell out of it. Obviously, I did too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Fantastic Four (1998) #572

Oct 30, 2009

A long, long time ago, the Fantastic Four was Marvel’s flagship title. It bore a banner which read “The World’s Greatest Comic Magazine” and it deserved it. It is a title that tends to go through hot and cold streaks but more often than not, it’s in the cold. I’m very happy to say that the new team has brought the heat back to the book. Hopefully fans will take notice. This book is a ton of fun and it doesn’t have any of the doom, gloom or legal ramifications that a lot of other Marvel books have.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Fantastic Four (1998) #575

Feb 1, 2010

Anyway, I’m giving this one a B+. I love the high-concept stuff and I love seeing old villains given new life. I love that Stan Lee and Jack Kirby are always given props and I love Hickman’s blockbuster movie approach to the FF. It all wrapped up a little quickly and I was never quite sure what the purpose of the Fantastic Four going underground was anyway. But it set the stage for an interesting new adventure and I’m looking forward to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Fantastic Four (1998) #579

May 28, 2010

awesome book. Thank you, Mr. Hickman, for bringing the fantastic back.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Fantastic Four (1998) #583

Sep 27, 2010

The only problem with this book? It hurts. My stomach is knotted up in anticipation of the next issue and I’m left with a sense of physical pain waiting for a month to go by. That’s fantastic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Fear Agent Vol. 5 #1

Dec 24, 2009

Long story short: this here’s some good stuff. While this wasn’t my favorite story arc of the series, it certainly wasn’t anything to scoff at either. If you’re looking for good old fashioned genre action that pulls no punches, look no further than Fear Agent. It’s 110% pure escapism and it’s always a blast to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Flash (2010) #4

Aug 2, 2010

All-in-all, if you like superhero stories, they don’t come much better than the Flash. Four issues deep and the title is rising up to the point where it is ready to sit up on the higher shelf with Green Lantern as two of the best straightforward tights n’ flights comics on the shelves. I’m diggin’ the future-crime timeline, the renewed threat of Captain Boomerang and the Rogues and the subplots Johns has been laying down throughout. Another great issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Flash Gordon Comic Book Archives Vol. 1 #1

Jul 29, 2010

Are these the best Flash Gordon stories out there? That depends. As I stated earlier, if you’re comparing them to the newspaper strip, they just can’t hold a candle – they’re certainly not as pretty and they’re a bit more dull. But it should be noted that in the era in which these books were being published, comic strips were put on a much higher pedestal than they are today while comic books were sort of the red-headed stepchild of sequential art. Judging them by that standard, these stories should be commended for the level of excitement and adventure they supply. And of course, your first exposure to a character is often the one you hold most dear. If you were a child when these comics were originally published, and these were the first Flash Gordon stories you read, then you’ll be amazed at what you find here and you absolutely must pick this collection up. Dark Horse has lovingly reprinted these classic tales in a handsome hardcover forma

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Flash: Rebirth #1

Apr 7, 2009

I’m giving it the grade of B- and writing “please see me” in the margins - I want to discuss. I definitely liked it and I’ll definitely be back for the next issue and for that matter, the entire series. While the story didn’t punch me in the gut and leave me swooning, it has stuck with me since I read it yesterday. As I said in “The Bad”, it was really a lot of set up and very little actually happened; but the things that were set up were so fascinating, I can’t imagine missing an issue from here on out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Flash: Rebirth #2

May 8, 2009

Oh, and you guys that didn’t like it… you’re not really stupid. I was just teasing when I said that. You’re wrong, but you’re not stupid. It was rude of me to say that.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Flash: Rebirth #3

Jun 11, 2009

That being said, I did enjoy it. It wasn’t a poorly told story, it was more that the buildup from the last issue had me geeked to the gills and this one sort of nipped that excitement in the bud. However, the last panel has once again got me chomping at the bit waiting for the next issue and it looks as though the mysteries of the series are set to unfold and business is about to pick up. I kind of feel bad giving it a C+, because overall Flash Rebirth has been a great read, but I’m reviewing this issue on its own merits and it was a letdown.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Flash: Rebirth #4

Sep 1, 2009

If Johns and Van Sciver can continue to keep this level of quality up on the final two issues (and the ongoing Flash book), they’re going to have another sleeper hit on their hands much like the Sinestro Corps War was a few years back. If the long-term goal is to break the stranglehold the Trinity has had on the DCU and move both Flash and GL into the upper echelon of superheroes, I’d say this issue was a step in the right direction.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Franken-Castle #17

Jun 7, 2010

The continuity is the same, the character progression is the same but the packaging is brand new. And I couldn’t be happier. Viva la Franken-Castle!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Franken-Castle #19

Aug 3, 2010

But mostly it’s just fun. Tons and tons of fun. I was brought on board because of the re-teaming of the Fear Agent creators and the absurdity of the whole Franken-Castle idea. I stayed on board because I loved the way these guys referenced everything from Universal Monsters to Toho movies to Marvel’s cheesy-ass ‘70s horror comics. At this point, I’m just hooked – line and sinker. No matter what the age, all men have a 12-year-old boy lurking within their soul. Moore and Remender manage to extract that young spirit and distill its essence into 22 pages of violence, humor and gore. God bless them.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Franken-Castle #21

Sep 30, 2010

So there you have it. What was easily my favorite Marvel storyline of the past year has come to a close and it couldn’t have ended better. It took the Punisher in a vastly different direction while staying true to the core of his character, firmly entrenching him in the monster side of the Marvel Universe and then returning him to his street-level roots without missing a beat. And with this issue, it absolutely ended on a high note. This story has been a perfect example of why I love comics!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
G.I. Joe: Cobra #1

Mar 19, 2009

After the awesomeness of Larry Hama’s G.I. Joe: Origins, I figured the Joe relaunch had hit its peak. Obviously Hama is the Master, but it’s looking like the writing team of Mike Costa and Christos Gage are going to be strong contenders to his title and G.I. Joe: Cobra may even be the better book. I love Larry Hama so much, it actually hurts me to say that, but … wow.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
G.I. Joe: Cobra #4

Jun 18, 2009

If you haven’t been picking it up monthly, do yourself a favor and buy the trade when it’s released. And then lend it out to your friends; especially the ones who think that G.I. Joe (and/or comic books) is kids stuff. I really can’t say enough good things about it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
G.I. Joe: Cobra II #1

Feb 2, 2010

Folks who like to justify expensive comic books by saying “the quality level is so high that I don’t mind paying the extra dollar” need to read this book. THIS is a book worth paying an extra dollar for!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
G.I. Joe: Origins #1

Mar 3, 2009

I was going to give the book a B+ because some of the art looked a little weird and because I’m trying not to just throw out A’s willy-nilly. But then I re-read it and… you know what? I’m going to go ahead and give it an A anyway. The thing is, there’s nothing particularly wrong with the art (it’s better than a lot of stuff I’ve seen), it just isn’t my style. Maybe an A- would be more appropriate, but my overwhelming love of G.I. Joe and my excitement over reading a book that gives me the same feeling I had back when I was a kid cancels out any problems I have with the art. G.I. Joe fans, the time to rejoice has come. The movie might suck, the new books might not be great, but at least for the duration of this mini-series, G.I. Joe is back.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Giraffes In My Hair #1

Oct 29, 2009

And yes, they do explain the title in the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Green Lantern (2005) #39

Apr 10, 2009

I’m diggin’ it. This managed to be a great set-up issue for the “Agent Orange” storyline and continued the build up to this Blackest Night business I’ve been hearing so much about. It only showed glimpses of the Orange Lanterns while giving us all the info we really need to know what they’re all about. And Hal Jordan’s refusal to believe in hope is compelling reading as well. Action, adventure and emotional drama – an all-around good read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Green Lantern (2005) #46

Oct 1, 2009

You dig space operas, science fiction and superheroics? Codes of honor and moral conviction? New Age-y metaphysics, crystals and stuff like that? Hot shot bad boys and beautiful women? Do you like to have FUN? It’s all in Green Lantern and Blackest Night. Do yourself a favor and read it. If you don’t want to start something in the middle, go back and buy all the trades. You will not regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Green Lantern Corps (2006) #43

Dec 22, 2009

Meh. It’s a C, but a very solid C that could’ve borderlined on C+ or even B- if not for the fact that this title often feels like 10 pounds of crap stuffed in a 5 pound bag. As I said earlier, as solid of a writer as Tomasi is (and credit should also be given to talented penciller Patrick Gleason, even if he does make Kyle look too much like Keanu Reeves), Green Lantern Corps often feels like the runoff book. “We gotta make sure these certain story elements get introduced, but Johns doesn’t have time or space to do it in the GL book. Tomasi! Here’s a list of things you have to include.” It’s fun and exciting and if you like Green Lantern, it’s definitely worth reading; just not so much with this one. But a C is a passing grade.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
GRUNTS #1

May 26, 2009

They say that war is hell, but I enjoyed the hell out of this comic. If you dig big, shoot-em-up action movies and war stories featuring severed fingers, exploding eyeballs and lots and lots of dynamite, there’s gotta be something in here for you. Whether it’s the high-octane action laced with humor or the camaraderie of the soldiers, Grunts should appeal to readers who enjoy stories that feature both war and gore.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Grunts: War Stories #1

Jan 13, 2010

You like war stories? Then you’ll like Grunts: War Stories. It’s not often you find an anthology that is so solid throughout: I don’t think there was a single story in this book that I disliked. It’s a book that manages to be a fun read while still having a lot of emotional impact. It’s well worth your time and only $14.95 for over 100 pages! Go ahead and ask your retailer for it already!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Guardians of the Galaxy (2008) #14

Jun 1, 2009

Abnett and Lanning should be commended. This is how you do cosmic. It’s a grand space opera on an epic scale with lots of little personal moments. Action, adventure and swashbuckling abound but even in the heat of battle, it never gets too heavy. It’s got all of those classic Marvel 1970’s cosmic characters, yet it is totally accessible for folks unfamiliar with them. There’s interplanetary magic and stuff, but it never gets all bogged down with too much deep thinking or cosmic deities; this is “cosmic” with a little c. And for all that awesomeness, it gets an A from this reader. (Actually an A-, but hey, an issue without Rocket Raccoon is not a perfect issue, I’m sorry.)

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Guardians of the Galaxy (2008) #18

Sep 28, 2009

This book is filled with such a sense of excitement, I have to imagine that the creators sit around smiling and laughing as they write it. That sense of fun and wonder definitely shines through while I’m reading it. If you aren’t reading this title, you need to start. It’s a blast.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Guardians of the Galaxy (2008) #19

Nov 2, 2009

A great wrap-up to a great storyline. I really don’t have any complaints and I feel like this book keeps getting better and better. I appreciate the extensive use of Marvel history and continuity that these guys have been throwing into this book every month as well as the sense of humor and fun. And a talking dog with a Russian accent never hurts. I feel like I’m reading a kooky comic version of an old Republic serial every month. Good stuff.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Hellboy in Mexico #1

May 6, 2010

Hellboy in Mexico is a great self-contained story that is definitely worth your time. I love it when Mignola delves into Hellboys mysterious past and unveils a nugget of Hellboys history that we havent seen before and I especially love it when he does it with such a sense of humor and adventure. And if I cant get a full length issue illustrated by Mike Mignola, Richard Corben is certainly one hell of a consolation prize! Youll never hear me complain about getting more of that guy. All this for only $3.50? Thats a steal by any definition and it comes just in time for Cinco de Mayo.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Immortal Iron Fist #25

Apr 24, 2009

I must admit that you’d probably be better off picking up the trades rather than just buying a random issue. You’ll obviously get a much more satisfying read that way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Invincible Iron Man #11

Mar 12, 2009

I liked it. I didn’t love it, but I liked it. I’m giving it a very solid B. For a book about a man on the run against impossible odds, it wasn’t filled with a lot of tension, but it was a solid read and I felt that I got my money’s worth. I may even be back for another issue next month. Kudos to the team of Fraction and Larroca for making the Marvel U’s biggest jerk into a guy I might be able to root for… someday.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Invincible Iron Man #14

Jun 19, 2009

I’m really digging this storyline and am ready to be baptized into the Church of Fraction. The guy hasn’t let me down yet and he’s even got me into Iron Man, a character I really haven’t been interested in for a long time. There really isn’t an aspect of this story that doesn’t interest me, from Tony to Pepper to the Black Widow: its good all-around (except for the fact that I can’t recognize anybody until someone calls their name). And it’s only $2.99, a factor that will soon be as outdated as the armor Tony is wearing in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Invincible Iron Man #17

Sep 4, 2009

The other cool thing is that you could probably just pick up any old random issue and pretty much know what’s going on. Seriously – I started reading this “World’s Most Wanted” storyline around part 3 or 4 and it was totally easy to figure out what was going on right from the get-go. Then again, maybe that’s a bad thing because of the whole “you’re dragging it out way too long” factor I was discussing earlier.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Invincible Iron Man #21

Dec 14, 2009

Oh yeah, and the last few pages, where the deed is done that will presumably bring Tony back? Super sweet. Super, super sweet.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Invincible Iron Man #22

Jan 18, 2010

Meh. It’s still a good story, but lately Iron Man hasn’t been kicking the same sort of ass that I’ve grown accustomed to from Matt Fraction.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Invincible Iron Man #25

Apr 30, 2010

Despite my dissapointment with a continuing lack of action in what is supposed to be one of Marvel’s premire books, I must say that Mr. Fraction is one hell of a storyteller. I kept turning the pages and I didn’t pause for an instant. While I didn’t get exactly what I wanted, I must admit that what I got was good. And a B- is not a bad grade; it’s still a good one. The grade reflects my expectations rather than the talent of the people behind the scenes. But if you’ve been thinking about reading Iron Man, this is the perfect place to start and I’ll still be back next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Invincible Iron Man #29

Aug 13, 2010

Again, I won’t take anything away from Matt Fraction’s ability as a storyteller and if you like your books about costumed heroes fighting evil to feature dudes in wrinkled suits talking about the latest imaginary tech, this is your book and he handles it well. But if you like your books about costumed heroes fighting evil to feature costumed heroes fighting evil, you’ll find that Iron Man sucks.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
JENNA BLUE #1

Sep 2, 2009

Judging by the way this book ended, there’s room for a sequel. There’s actually plenty of opportunity for a prequel, should the fates be so kind. If so, I will be there to read it them.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Joe The Barbarian #1

Jan 22, 2010

But honestly, for a buck you can’t go wrong. It’s only a dollar, folks.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Jonah Hex #46

Aug 11, 2009

Anyway, this issue is cool. As I said earlier, there’s a nice balance of everything I like about Jonah Hex. If you aren’t reading this book, you should be!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Jonah Hex #47

Sep 7, 2009

This issue, like the book in general, is cool as hell and reads like a modern-day successor to the Spaghetti Westerns of the 1970’s, only without the poor dubbing (even though some of that kind of adds to the fun of the movies). In general: I can’t imagine any fan of Clint Eastwood wouldn’t love the hell out of this comic book. To be specific: Even if you never read a single issue before or after, this one was a great ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Jonah Hex #55

May 11, 2010

A disgustingly disfigured bounty hunter with a heart of gold in a series of one-and-done comics that should appeal to any fan of good westerns and stories with ambiguous morals - it amazes me that DC didn’t give away an issue of Jonah Hex on Free Comic Day, especially with a movie coming out. But then, the movie doesn’t exactly look like it’s going for the same tone as the comic, so maybe I’ve already got my answer. Anyway, this issue is another good one. I was going to give it a B+ because I wasn’t really in love with the art (not that it was bad, but I’ve become so accustomed to Jordi Bernet’s work on the serires that Alcázar was kind of a shock to my system) but I love revenge stories so much, I’m going to bump it up to an A-.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Jonah Hex #56

Jun 15, 2010

So it was going to be a B+ or maybe even an A- but we got less story and less glory and as a result, I am only giving it a B. Come on guys, really?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Jonah Hex #57

Jul 13, 2010

It’s another great issue in a long line of great issues, one that perfectly captures our fascination with the heroes of the old west and gives us a touch of the harsh truths that film,novel and comic book often choose to overlook. What can I say? Every cliché applies, and if you’re not reading Jonah Hex, you should be.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Justice League of America (2006) #30

Feb 24, 2009

Bah! I haven’t really been enjoying this book and I don’t think I’ll buy another issue past this point. When is James Robinson’s Justice League title starting?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League of America (2006) #32

Apr 23, 2009

Some folks like to see a JLA made up of A-listers, sort of a Super Friends-type book. They want the big guns fighting the big fights. But if you’re someone who prefers a team made up of the B-team, then you might want to go ahead and pick up this issue, as it gives the players who usually sit on the bench their own chance to shine. It’s also a perfect jumping on point that kicks off a new storyline and serves as a really excellent introduction to each character. Good stuff.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Justice League: Cry for Justice #1

Jul 2, 2009

The first issue was as good as I’d hoped and it left me expecting even better from the second. This was a perfect setup and if the rest of the series follows suit, Justice League is quickly going to be moving to the top of my read pile every week.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice Society of America #29

Aug 4, 2009

It gets a B and even if this book wasn’t on my pull list, I’d still be back for the next issue to see where it goes from here. One issue in and the Willingham-Sturges-Merino team appear to be worthy successors to the throne.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Justice Society of America #31

Oct 5, 2009

It was a pretty good issue, but it wasn’t anything to write home about. I’m hoping that it’s just a matter of Willingham and Sturges getting their feet wet and once this initial storyline is wrapped up, they’ll be settled in and on their way. It’s not that their run has been bad at all; it’s just been sort of run of the mill. Good, but good in a run of the mill sort of way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
King Of The Flies Vol. 1 #1

Feb 10, 2010

Hallorave is listed as being the first in a trilogy of graphic novels. I’m not sure if this means we’ll see the same characters popping up again this summer when The Beginning of All Things is released or if this will be a trilogy that is connected more in terms of the spirit rather than the narrative. Either way: sign me up for the sequel… and for that matter, I think it’s time to hit up a few book stores and find other work by these two creators.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Lucky In Love #1

Sep 13, 2010

Lucky in Love is both a humorous and often naïve look at our past as a country and as sex-obsessed teenagers. It is a deadly serious story about the fantasy and the reality of war and heroism. It’s drawn in a unique style that it reminiscent of classic Disney or Golden Age comic strips and is filled with hopes, dreams, fantasies and often unfortunate realities. It’s a great coming-of-age story and history lesson that shouldn’t be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Magic Of Shazam! #14

Apr 1, 2010

Ha! What am I saying? Kids don’t read comic books. But if they did, I think this is one they’d like to read. And if you happened to be the parent or older brother of some kid who might happen to be reading comics, the good news is that you can read this book too.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Magic Of Shazam! #15

Apr 27, 2010

All-in-all, it was another great issue of a series I’d highly recommend to anyone who enjoys a lighthearted superhero story or to someone who is looking for a title that they can enjoy with their kids. Baltazar and Franco prove that they’ve got the chops to write an honest-to-goodness superhero story (as opposed to the funny stories they tell in Tiny Titans) and Mike Norton continues to grow as an artist. I enjoyed this story from cover to cover despite being an adult male who loves his PunisherMax and Walking Dead. If you like good comics, you’ll like Billy Batson and the Magic of Shazam! too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
New Mutants (2009) #1

May 7, 2009

Nostalgia trips aside, it was a well-paced 34-page story that had all the key ingredients of a good first issue. A bit of set-up, a dash of action and a couple scoops of intrigue to leave a nice aftertaste in your mouth. And yeah, it was 34 pages, so you actually get something for that extra buck! Zeb Wells and Diogenes Neves have given me back a little piece of my childhood and taken a book that I had little to no interest in and made me very interested. Very interested indeed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
New Mutants (2009) #2

Jun 4, 2009

Hell, if you just want to read a good team book, look no further. You don’t even have to be well-versed (or even poorly-versed) in X-lore to pick this book up and enjoy it. With the exception of Legion, everything in it is fairly self-explanatory (or at the very least easy to figure out) and reminds me of the old days when villains used to do dastardly deeds and heroes swooped in to save the day. Good stuff.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
New Mutants (2009) #5

Oct 2, 2009

There’s just enough nostalgia to keep an old-school fan interested and enough story and character progression to keep them coming back for more. This book ties into the greater X-Universe with appearances from Cyclops and Rogue but also maintains its own unique identity. I suspect that the choice of an artist like Zachary Baldus was done to evoke memories of Bill Sienkiewicz and the unusual artwork he provided for New Mutants back in the day. Baldus is no Sienkiewicz, but the fact that he isn’t another Jim Lee wanna-be is much appreciated. Will his style work well in future issues? Only time will tell, but if writer Zeb Wells continues to bring this level of storytelling to the table, I’ll be here to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
New Mutants (2009) #9

Jan 8, 2010

All-in-all, it was a pretty solid issue but nothing to write home about. Which is odd, because I’m writing a review of it so I guess it clearly was something to write home about. Or at least, something to write to Mania about. Anyway, it was good but not great. I’m tempted to give it a C+ but I think I’m going with a B- because I really do enjoy the way Zeb Wells writes these characters. If you’re a New Mutants fan, I assume you’d like this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Newwave! The Underground Mini Comix Of The 1980s #1

Jan 20, 2010

If you are a student of the history of sequential art, Newave! feels like a must-have for your collection. It seems to be as perfect of a collection of mini-comix as you could ever find and it is informative as well as entertaining. It’s also the type of book that challenges your artistic side as well so that’s another bonus. It’s a tough book to grade: as perfect as this collection is and as much as it seems like an obvious A, there’s plenty of stuff in it that just didn’t appeal to me. In some cases, it was more like the idea of it was better than the actual work. Then again, there’s some pretty amazingly kick-ass work in this book too. I’ll split the difference and give it a B+ and recommend that you check it out if anything I’ve said in this review appeals to you.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Nova (2007) #23

Mar 27, 2009

Oh, so back to the Nova review. It was a solid issue and it left me wanting to read the next one. That’s what a good comic should do. I’m giving it a B-. It was really good, but not awesome. Also, I don’t read superhero books to see people in street clothes stand around talking. Was Brian Bendis’ name listed as writer? No, it wasn’t. Let’s see some tights and fightin’ next issue, huh? Still, it was a good book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Nova (2007) #26

Jun 30, 2009

Once again, it proves that this isn’t a Marvel earth, it’s a Marvel Universe; and the best stories in that universe are taking place off-planet.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Nova (2007) #28

Aug 28, 2009

It’s a treat to watch the character of Richard Rider continue to grow as both a hero and a leader as the series carries on and an additional treat to see each of the members of the Nova Corps do the same. If Abnett & Lanning can keep it up, I’ll be with this book for the long haul.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Nova (2007) #32

Dec 7, 2009

Anyway, I was leaning toward a C+ but instead I’m giving it a B-, due in part to the fondness I will always have for Nova and the New Warriors. It’s good to see the Sphinx and it’s also good to see… well, that would be telling. Like most issues of Nova, it’s a consistently good book that never quite becomes a great book. It’s always worth your time when you just want an old-fashioned superhero book.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Nova (2007) #35

Mar 22, 2010

However, I will give them credit for making Richard Rider a consistent and consistently interesting character. At the very least, they’re still getting that part right, which brings the book up from a D to a D+. Hopefully the next issue and the return to Earth will also signal a return to the quality storytelling fans of this book have grown accustomed to.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Prince Valiant Vol. 2: 1939-1940 #1

Aug 5, 2010

Ah, but it isn’t all about the art! I mean… yeah, it’s mostly about the art, but these are some fine tales as well. I guess I must’ve been a pretty stupid kid because for the life of me, I can’t imagine how I could’ve ever found these stories boring (though I’ll admit that being able to read two month’s worth of strips in an afternoon probably helped a little bit). I couldn’t put the thing down and had to tear myself away from it, as I quickly found myself carrying the book around with me and devouring it during every moment of free time. If you like adventure and you like art, you gotta pick yourself up some Prince Valiant. It sets the standard for both.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Prison Pit Book One #1

Oct 27, 2009

Take a look at the cover: it speaks volumes in regards to what you’ll find inside. If the artwork appeals to you, then buy it and enjoy it. It’s a really good time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Prison Pit: Book 2 #1

Aug 16, 2010

I think the point is that for as juvenile and simplistic as Prison Pit may be, it’s pretty clear that Johnny Ryan knows exactly what he’s doing. As for me, I just laughed my ass off the whole time and reveled in the repulsiveness. Prison Pit is not a book for everyone and it very likely isn’t a book for most, but I certainly can’t bring myself to say anything bad about it. These days, a lot of comics aspire to reach new literary heights and just come across as though they’re trying too hard. Prison Pit succeeds largely because it doesn’t seem to be trying at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Punisher (2009) #3

Mar 20, 2009

I liked it. It was somewhat confusing, being the third part of a story arc. Considering I hadn’t read the first two chapters, it was pretty easy to figure out what was going on though, so I won’t hold that against it. If I was a bigger Punisher fan, I might give it a higher grade but as it is, I’m giving it a B. It was a solid read, but not freakin’ amazing or anything. I’d probably pick up the trade.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Punisher (2009) #11

Nov 20, 2009

Long story short: this is just the sort of bizarre twist I enjoy and if you do too, you might want to check it out. I can’t wait to see where this one goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Punisher (2009) #14

Feb 18, 2010

Beyond that, it’s just plain fun. Has been ever since it started and it just keeps getting better. I understand that some folks just can’t (or won’t) get it and that’s fine: their loss. As a fan of monsters, Munsters, EC and Warren Publishing, Godzilla movies and those weird-ass Marvel monster-heroes, I just can’t get enough of this series. There’s a really great nod to the Creepy and Eerie mags in this issue that sent me to the moon and had me explaining to my wife, probably in far too much detail, just why I love this book so much. It’s a beautiful love song for anyone who digs that kind of stuff and comes equipped with a sense of humor and wonder. I feel like a kid again every time I buy another issue and as long as Remender is writing this title, I hope we never see the “classic” Punisher again!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Punisher (2009) #15

Apr 2, 2010

At the end of the day: it’s awesome. It’s slightly less fun than previous issues in this arc, but what it lacks in fun it makes up for in bloodshed. So I’m going with a B+ on this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Punisher Noir #1

Aug 21, 2009

It might be the type of book that reads really well as a collection. If that’s the case, then I wish Marvel would’ve just cut to the chase and put out the book as it should have been and printed on cheap paper with a lurid cover depicting dames, thugs and the promise of violence. As it is… meh. It gets a C – good effort, but no dice.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
PunisherMax (2009) #1

Nov 16, 2009

Going back to my Punisher + Sopranos comment if you like that sort of thing then you might dig this book. I happen to like that sort of thing quite a bit, so I thought this book was a lot of fun. Gruesome, but fun, and Ill probably be back for the next issue. Though it did tend to fall a bit on the clichd side of things, it was entertaining in sort of a no-brainer, action movie sort of way. And I really enjoyed seeing a version of the Punisher that is still a Vietnam Vet, ages in real time and is totally unconnected from the Marvel Universe. It might not be totally original, but it was an exciting read. And its not like the Punisher was a totally original idea in the first place.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
PunisherMax (2009) #2

Dec 15, 2009

That, and all the people getting their brains blown out. I gotta admit, that was pretty cool too. Lots of violence, lots of gore, a bit of character development and even some boobs. All-in-all, thats not a bad issue of The Punisher.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
PunisherMax (2009) #4

Feb 12, 2010

So yeah, I liked it. Again. And if you enjoy a good mob story and like seeing dudes with knives in the toes of their boots kick a guy in the crotch, then the Punisher Max is the book for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
PunisherMax (2009) #5

Mar 12, 2010

And on that note, I’m going to go watch some cartoons. Maybe play with some Care Bears or something… PunisherMax is fantastic, but this storyline left me feeling like I bashed a sack of kittens against a wall.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Rasl #4

May 1, 2009

So why aren’t you reading this book? You’ll definitely want to pick up the first three issues to catch up, but as long as you’re not in a huge hurry and you like good comics, you’ll enjoy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Rasl #6

Jan 25, 2010

So those are my feelings on the series as a whole. This particular issue? I dig Tesla and I’m interested in some of his crazier notions, so I really liked that he is becoming a larger part of this book. I like the comparisons between he and Frankenstein and the idea of misunderstood geniuses being ostracized by the masses who only see madness and fear the things they don’t understand. And we’re seeing now how his ideas form the basis of the technology that is utilized by our protagonist. There’s not a huge amount of progress in this one, but mostly a lot of backstory. That’s fine too, as this is a tale that needs a bit of explanation. Overall – it’s another fine issue from a fine creator. If you aren’t reading RASL and any of this stuff appeals to you, pick up those collected editions and add it to your pull list. From what Smith has been saying in the letters pages, this book is going to go bi-monthly so it should be easier to k

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Red Herring #1

Aug 11, 2009

I’ve heard that writer David Tischman has described the book as “X-Files meets The Daily Show”. After reading the first issue, that seems entirely fitting. I enjoyed it quite a bit and will likely pick up the second issue. There was a lot of set-up in this issue that left me scratching my head and wondering what comes next – which will very likely lead me to buy the second issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Red Monkey Double Happiness Book #1

Dec 2, 2009

I was unfamiliar with Daly’s previous work when I came across this hardcover graphic novel, but I’ll definitely seek him out in the future. I found the Red Monkey Double Happiness Book to be a pleasure to read, with memorable characters, beautiful artwork and one hell of a fantastic sense of humor. I highly recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Rise of the Black Lanterns: The Question #37

Feb 9, 2010

But how often do you get a superhero story asking existentialist questions and featuring kung fu battles and reanimated corpses? I’ll deal with it and give this one a very solid B. Oh, and I should probably mention the Cully Hamner cover too, ‘cause I think Cully Hamner is the cat’s pajamas.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Rise of the Black Lanterns: The Power of Shazam #48

Jan 15, 2010

It’s not a must-have for Shazam fans and it likely isn’t going to have any major impact on Blackest Night as a whole. But I’ve enjoyed these characters quite a bit in the past and I felt it was a good read. Not great, but good: hovering somewhere in the midst of a C+ to B- range and given the higher grade because I like bittersweet but happy endings and I love the Marvel Family.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Rise of the Black Lanterns: Weird Western Tales #71

Jan 11, 2010

On a more positive note, I will say that as a big ol’ fanboy who loved himself some Who’s Who back in the day, it was cool to see all these weird and obscure characters. It was also really cool to see a Bill Sienkiewicz cover! Other than that, the best part of this comic was the preview for Brian Azzarello and Rags Morales’ First Wave comics. Man, Morales looks like he’s going to outdo himself with this one. That guy keeps getting better and better with every project he works on and… what? Oh yeah, Weird Western Tales. Just don’t bother.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Secret Six Vol. 2 #9

May 14, 2009

This one is the perfect place to start, as it is a stand-alone story that features everything that makes the book so enjoyable. The characterization, the humor, the ass-kicking: it’s all here. And beyond all that, it’s a really cool look at Batman’s impact and the ripple-effect that his death has caused, which I appreciated.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Secret Warriors #2

Mar 5, 2009

Well, despite my complaints about Marvel predictably pulling the rug out from under us or the lameness of a team of youngsters under Nick Fury’s watchful eye, this was a story that was very well told, however familiar it might have been. I was captivated from the very first panel all the way to the last. It gets a B, and I’ll definitely be back for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Secret Warriors #5

Jun 26, 2009

But overall, I’ve been very impressed with this first storyarc and if Hickman can keep it up, I’ll be in for the long haul. I’m giving the issue a C+ due to the whole “2 minute read” thing. It was still fun, and doesn’t deserve a failing grade, but it did not live up to expectations and didn’t feel like it was worth $2.99. I’ve read worse; I’ve read better.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Sherlock Holmes #1

May 5, 2009

Keeping all of this in mind, I’m giving the book a B-. There was a bit to complain about but all-in-all I found myself really drawn into the story and looking forward to reading more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Spider-Man: Fever #1

Apr 9, 2010

If you’re a traditional comic fan who has become bored with the day-to-day battles of supeheroes and want something a bit left of center, I’d definitely recommend this title. It’s like taking a time machine back to the olden days of the Marvel Universe, as seen through the eyes of the stoned-out hippies and college students who were reading them back in those days. Naturally, it’s a lot of fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Spider-Woman (2009) #1

Sep 24, 2009

All-in-all, I was pleasantly surprised. Despite liking it a whole lot, I immediately got the impression that this series, like their work on that old hornheaded hero from Hells Kitchen, will read much better once it is collected in trade. But then, doesn’t most stuff read better in trade anyway? Well, that’s an argument for another day. It was a good issue and I’m giving it a B+.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Spider-Woman (2009) #2

Oct 26, 2009

Two issues in and I still like this book, but I’m still wondering why I don’t just wait for the trade. It reads fine in single issues but it just seems like it would be more appropriate collected. Either way, it’s a good read and I don’t think you lose whichever route you choose. I’ll give it a B.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Star Wars: The Thrawn Trilogy #1

Feb 3, 2010

So if you already are a fan of the extended universe, you don’t need me to tell you this series is good; you already know. But if you’re a skeptic who has always been dying for more Star Wars but maybe feels a little uneasy about trying this stuff out, I would definitely recommend starting right here. We’ve got a great story, (mostly) great artwork and a great price! What more do you need?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Stephen King's N. #1

Mar 5, 2010

I suppose what I’m saying here is that if you like scary stories, you oughtta like this comic book. It’s very rare to find a horror comic that actually manages to have you jumping at shadows and turning on an extra light or two when you make that final trip to the bathroom before bed. With its beautiful illustration and unsettling story, Stephen King’s N is such a comic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Strange (2009) #1

Nov 12, 2009

That being said, it didn’t exactly offend me with its terrible quality either. I didn’t throw the book in the trash with disgust after trudging my way through it. I just wasn’t that impressed. It’s terribly clichéd and totally predictable, but still a decent read if that makes any sense. If you’re just looking for a book that doesn’t have all the dark n’ dreary stuff usually associated with Marvel (and magic) comics, then maybe Strange will be a good fit for you. Personally, I think the character deserves better, especially considering what he’s been through recently.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Strange Science Fantasy #1

Jul 19, 2010

Apparently, there will be 5 more issues of Strange Science Fantasy, each one featuring an all-new story and characters which may or may not combine to create a larger, more cohesive story. I fully intend to be back for each and every one. It was familiar yet completely new and original and showcases a very unique vision in the world of sequential art. Strange Science Fantasy #1 was, beyond a shadow of a doubt, the best book I’ve purchased this month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Strange Suspense: The Steve Ditko Archives Vol. 1 #1

Dec 3, 2009

This book is labeled as volume one of the Steve Ditko Archives. I sincerely hope that means we’ll be getting a lot more of these in the years to come. Strange Suspense is an absolute must have for any student of sequential art history and at $39.99 for 238 pages it’s actually not a bad price either. It’s an excellent collection of long lost work from a man whose importance cannot be overstated. There’s really no other grade to give it than an A.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Supergirl (2005) #40

Apr 28, 2009

Supergirl is one of the most consistently entertaining superhero books on the shelves right now. Never thought I’d say that, but it’s true. I’ve been reading it since Sterling Gates took over and I haven’t read a single issue that I’ve disliked. This one is no exception. It’s not universe-spanning and it doesn’t involve every hero and villain in the DCU. It features a female protagonist in a skimpy outfit, but there’s nothing cheesecakey or exploitative about it. It’s just a good superhero book with well written characters and action. Can’t ask for a whole lot more. A solid B.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Supergirl (2005) #41

May 26, 2009

I’ve said it before so why not say it again? Supergirl is one of the most consistent books on the shelves. You always know you’re going to get a solid story, good characterization and nice art (despite the myriad of different artists assigned to the book). Normally, you won’t hear me complain about a book that is so dependable, but this issue made me take the “glass half empty” approach. The book is consistently good, but it’s also guilty of being consistently not-great. I don’t know exactly what was lacking, but there needed to be an extra little bit of “oomph” to this issue and I just wasn’t feeling it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Supergirl (2005) #45

Sep 29, 2009

It was a good issue, but I’m rapidly losing interest in the bigger picture and it’s making me lose interest in this book as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Superman (2006) #685

Feb 27, 2009

And yes, I know I’m a big weenie. Feel free to mock my tender heart in the comments section!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Superman (2006) #687

May 4, 2009

I am interested in all of the characters and where they’re going and I am pleasantly surprised at how much I’m enjoying the book in the absence of the main character. While the book didn’t have me salivating and turning the pages as fast as I can to find out what happens next, I will definitely be back next month to see what happens.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Superman (2006) #689

Jun 29, 2009

Long story short: fun issue, bland series.

View Issue       View Full Review
1.6
Superman (2006) #700

Jun 24, 2010

I’m not entirely sure I have enough adjectives to describe my dissapointment with this issue. I’m tempted to enter “pile of crap” into the search engine on Thesaurus.com and provide a link for you guys, but I think you get the point by now. I sincerely hope none of you bought this and if you did, feel free to drop me a line. Maybe we can start a support group or something?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superman: Secret Origin #1

Sep 25, 2009

Good intro and I’m looking forward to the rest. I give it a B.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Superman: Secret Origin #3

Nov 29, 2009

Every issue of this book just keeps getting better and better. For those wondering if we needed to see Superman’s origin retold yet again: read it. These guys know Superman inside and out and their affinity for the character shines through. For those who don’t much care for the character: read it. This series is redefining the most important and iconic superhero archetype of all time. It’s almost like a history lesson that’s being written as we speak and if you’re into superheroes, it’s not an option: you have to read Johns and Franks’ Superman Secret Origin.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Sweet Tooth #1

Sep 3, 2009

Hey, if you are looking for something different, why not jump in on the ground floor and buy the first issue of Sweet Tooth? I can guarantee its at least one dollar cheaper than every other book youre thinking about buying this week.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Sweet Tooth #4

Dec 8, 2009

As usual, Jeff Lemire gives us one hell of a good story that has a lot of heart as well as a lot of balls. Its action packed and violent while maintaining a true gentleness that sets it apart from other books with a style that falls somewhere between a pretentious underground comic and Jack Kirbys Kamandi with some real gritty grindhouse stuff thrown in for good measure. If you arent reading it, you should be and theres no better place to start than this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Sweet Tooth #7

Mar 8, 2010

But it was another good issue of a book that I’ve come to look forward to every month. I’ve come to love Gus for his good-natured simplicity and hope that I’ll come to respect Tommy Jeppard once he comes to his senses and follows his heart. And the overall mystery of just what the hell is going on in the world and where all these animal kids came from is enough to keep me coming back. I’m giving this one a B and I’ll definitely keep Sweet Tooth on my pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Sweet Tooth #8

Apr 13, 2010

Whether it was Gus’ creepy dreams or Jepperd’s pathetic desire to die, this issue packed an emotional wallop that kept me riveted from the first page to the last. If Sweet Tooth has any major fault, it’s the fact that up to now, the story has been fairly by-the-numbers. This issue felt as though many of the threads that author Jeff Lemire has left dangling were finally being woven into something larger and the bombshell that he dropped on the last page left me drooling over the prospect of next month’s issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
The Apocalypse Plan #1

May 14, 2010

The Apocalypse Plan is available now through Transfuzion Publishing’s website. I’d definitely recommend that you check it out by following this link.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Art Of Emily The Strange #1

Jan 27, 2010

So yeah, if you like Emily the Strange, this is a definite for your bookshelf. I’d actually go so far as to say it’s a must have. Even if you’re not a fan of Emily in particular, you’ll probably want to give this a shot. I’ve spent hours pouring through the artwork and I’ll likely spend hours more. It’s fun, it’s whimsical, it’s thought provoking … it’s just plain cool.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
The Brave and the Bold (2007) #32

Mar 19, 2010

It’s not like they just picked a couple of names out of a hat on gave them pencils; Saiz is talented as hell and JMS’s reputation is well-earned (and while I’m at it, I should point out Trish Mulvihill’s striking colors, which really make the artwork pop). It’s great to see these two talents put out such a classic superhero adventure and it’s great to see DC take a chance on a book like this. I’ll definitely be picking up the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
The Brave and the Bold (2007) #34

Jun 1, 2010

Are you a long time reader who enjoys continuity but isn’t bound to it? Do you like corny costumes and self-referential humor? Obscure characters and old favorites? Big action and dire stakes? Awesome artwork? The Brave and the Bold is the book for you. As always, I’m looking forward to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
The Brave and the Bold (2007) #35

Jul 20, 2010

The Brave and the Bold probably isn’t for everyone, but if your tastes tend to run outside of continuity and toward solid fun, it might be the book for you. It’s honestly one of my most anticipated titles every month. This issue was no exception.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Bulletproof Coffin #1

Jun 8, 2010

All-in-all, it adds up to a very weird mix that I found quite appealing. I actually read the book cover to cover twice (a fairly rare occurance when buying single issues) and the story stayed with me for a while after putting it down. Though we’re only one issue in and it’s a bit premature to put the whole thing into a larger context, it seems safe to say that artist and writer have each found a match made in heaven and The Bulletproof Coffin is a book worth paying attention to.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
The Culture Corner #1

Mar 24, 2010

Given the volume of work collected here (including, as stated earlier, all published Culture Corner strips) as well as the sketches and roughs (which, I should add, were astonishingly preserved by their creator), it seems impossible to give this book anything less than an A. No, the wacky sense of humor not going to be for everyone, but it’s something that funny book historians and humor enthusiasts will definitely want to add to their collection.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
The Goon: Chinatown #1

Dec 9, 2009

Reading the introduction from Eric Powell, I was told that this story isn’t a typical Goon tale. I guess the majority of his stories are filled with (in his words) funny poop jokes. I hope the guy can write a poop joke as well as he can write a tragedy, because I definitely plan on picking up some more Goon comics in the future. Creating art with a nonpareil voice, Eric Powell has crafted a world I look forward to revisiting occupied by characters I can’t wait to get to know better.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
The Great Anti-war Cartoons #1

Dec 16, 2009

In the end, it’s obviously a book that’ll stick with me and would make a worthy addition to your collection. It’s a coffee table book that’s sure to be a conversation starter and would make a great holiday gift for the right person on your list. While the main thrust of this book seems a bit on the depressing side, at the end of the day I actually found it to be uplifting as well. It seems that since the dawn of time, humankind has been on a mission to eradicate itself from the face of the earth, a point which is illustrated on every page of this book. But at the same time, The Great Anti-War Cartoons illustrates that for as long as we’ve been killing each other, there have always been individuals dedicated to pointing out the eternal folly of war. It’s easy to get down on humanity for all of our atrocities and crimes, but to express the desire for world peace through art? That’s something to be proud of.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
The Last Days of American Crime #2

Apr 28, 2010

And of course, I’d be remiss if I didn’t at least mention the fact that Radical gives readers 48 pages of story, plus an additional 11 pages of sketches, script and breakdowns for only $4.99. That’s an absolute steal and hopefully other publishers will take note.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
The Marvels Project #1

Aug 14, 2009

Ive said it so many times I probably just sound like a broken record at this point: Me likey the old-timey. I love the thrilling tales of the glory days even if they were my grandparents glory days and not mine. No matter how many times you re-tell the stories of the Golden Age of Comics, Ill always be there. As long as its done well, of course. And of course its done well! Its Brubaker and Epting. If you dig the same kind of stuff, this book (or the eventual trade) will probably be worth your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Marvels Project #3

Oct 15, 2009

You could not have picked a better team than Brubaker, Epting and Stewart to retell the earliest days of the Marvel Universe. Theyve managed to take a bunch of stories that youve read a million times, tie them all together into a cohesive tale and make the whole thing seem fresh and new. Its the perfect birthday present to Marvel.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
The Marvels Project #5

Jan 14, 2010

Much like Geoff Johns and Gary Frank’s Superman: Secret Origin series, The Marvels Project magically manages to redefine a story you already know so well and make it even better. It’s like a tender hug, a soft blanket and a cup of warm milk that sums up all the salient points about these characters and reminds you why superheroes are so awesome… like a tender hug that kicks Nazi ass!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Marvels Project #6

Mar 1, 2010

All-in-all: it’s good. And even though I said I wouldn’t repeat myself, I’ll say once again that if you aren’t reading The Marvels Project and you’re a fan of the history of the Marvel U, go ahead and pick this up when it’s collected in a fancy hardcover a few months from now. I find it very impressive that these guys can continue to find new ways to tell a story that we’ve all read several times already.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Troublemakers #1

Nov 19, 2009

Long story short: I dug it enough to give it a solid B rating. If you dig stories about people double-crossing each other for money and the double-crossers getting double-crossed by other folks who will inevitably be double-crossed in the end, youll probably dig this book too. You like gunfire, crime, exploitation flicks and enormous breasts? This book has all that too. Check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Walking Dead #63

Jul 20, 2009

Walking Dead hasnt been this good in a while. I really like the addition of these new characters (Eugene, Abraham and that lady whose name I keep forgetting). The dynamic has shifted and with the passage of time were not just watching people deal with a totally messed-up zombie world, were starting to see the long-term effects of living in said world. Which I guess is sort of the same thing but well anyway, its a good book and it was a good issue. Not mind-blowingly awesome, but a solid B.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
The Walking Dead #65

Sep 21, 2009

Who woulda thunk that a zombie book would still be this good, this far along? Especially after that loooooong, slow period around the time they were in the prison. But hey, here we are at issue 65 and I’m still diggin’ it. As a matter of fact, this was one of the best issues in a long time and we finally got a nice “Oh hell yeah!” moment from Rick. This book is filled with so much doom and gloom (naturally), and we rarely get to see the protagonists acting like badasses and getting their just desserts. We’ll see how it turns out next issue (I have a strong feeling that we can’t trust Gabriel), but for now – it felt good to cheer for the heroes for a change. Another great issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Walking Dead #66

Oct 20, 2009

I can’t say enough good things. Well done, guys. I’m dying for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
The Walking Dead #70

Feb 25, 2010

This issue is more of the good stuff from Kirkman and Adlard. A new storyline is opening up and so far we’ve got the promise of intrigue, tension, trust issues and most likely, a whole bunch of zombies and slaughter. Oh who are we kidding? There’s gonna be a LOT of zombies and slaughter. Wouldn’t be The Walking Dead without it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
The Walking Dead #71

May 4, 2010

For 71 issues, we’ve seen Rick & company play the role of the good guys and the victims and now it seems like they aren’t going to be so passive. Granted, Rick didn’t exactly say that he’s planning any sort of attack on the townspeople, but that look in his eye was downright terrifying and he has never been so aggressive before. The fact that he was so calm and collected while telling Andrea how simple it would be to take the town for their own… that’s crazy right there. Rick’s lost it and that only means that we’re in for an even wilder ride than the one we’ve already been on. Can’t wait until next month!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
The Young Offenders #1

Nov 5, 2009

You can find more information about The Young Offenders on their website as well as on Myebook.com and Facebook.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Tiny Titans #15

Apr 17, 2009

It doesn’t matter how old you are: if you’ve got a funny bone, Tiny Titans will tickle it. And it doesn’t feel like one of those crappy Marvel Adventures books or something that’s been dumbed down for kids. You get the impression that Art Baltazar and his collaborator Franco are just big kids themselves and they’re writing stuff that they think is funny. Turns out they’ve got a great sense of humor and I actually found myself chuckling quite a few times. I wouldn’t hesitate to put this book in the hands of any child and to take it one step further I feel that anyone who has ever been a fan of DC Comics characters (especially the Wolfman/Perez-era Teen Titans) will get an enormous kick out of this book. This is an all-ages comic in the truest sense of the word.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Tiny Titans #17

Jun 23, 2009

Don’t lie to me. I know you. You’re already spending like, 5 extra dollars a week on those Marvel books that went up to $3.99. But it’s cool and it’s worth it ‘cause it’s your hobby and it’s fun, right? Well, so is Tiny Titans. As a matter of fact, Tiny Titans is at least 75% more fun than any other comic you’re reading this month, and at $2.50, it’s at least 49 cents cheaper! Statistically speaking, you really ought to be reading this book. I give this issue a solid A and look forward to next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Tiny Titans #26

Mar 30, 2010

I guess if I had any complaints, it would be that this book doesn’t come out bi-weekly. Tiny Titans is a welcome breath of fresh air to the world of humor comics and not only strikes a chord with my because of my love of superheroics, but also fills a hole in my heart left by the passing of men like Charles M. Schulz and the absence of daily strips like Bill Watterson’s Calvin and Hobbes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Turok Son of Stone Volume One #1

Mar 23, 2009

Go ahead and buy it. Fans who grew up with these characters will be overjoyed to find these issues collected and readers who are interested in the history of the medium should pick these books up for a bit of a history lesson. It isn’t a fluke that these characters keep coming back year after year: There’s a timelessness to these stories, and I’m not just talking about the dinosaurs.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Twelve: Spearhead #1

Mar 11, 2010

I’m giving this one a B+. I had a really good time with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ultimate Comics Avengers #2

Sep 14, 2009

I love a good World War II story and conspiratorial government cover-up stuff, so this story is working pretty well for me so far. I’m hoping that future issues will shed a little more light on the Red Skull and I can’t wait to see the team that Fury assembles to bring Cap in. Long story short: big fun, loud explosions and sweet action. I had a good time with this one and I’ll be back for the next.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Ultimate Comics New Ultimates #1

Mar 9, 2010

This issue has a lot of really fun ideas and good concepts, but it’s all lost in the shuffle. I can understand some of you might think giving it a C+ is a bit too generous, but I feel that a lot of credit has to be given to Frank Cho’s talents. You can talk all you want about how a good story is the most important thing in a comic but the art is fully ½ of what makes graphic storytelling work. Cho conveys the story so well, you don’t even have to read it if you don’t want to – the pictures get the message across pretty damn well on their own. Not only does he draw cool, he draws well, capturing the essence and cutting through Loeb’s bullshit to tell a great story. So C+ it is.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Ultimate Comics Spider-Man #1

Aug 18, 2009

I was going to give the book a B+ but then I sat back and reflected on the past few months of Amazing Spider-Man. I’ve tried to like that book and I’ll admit that it’s gotten better… enough that I’ve given it a B- or two. But reading this comic reminded me of what Spider-Man is supposed to be and it bumped the book up to an A-. Well done, guys. You actually deserve the title of “ultimate”.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Ultimate Comics Spider-Man #3

Oct 13, 2009

Despite my many complaints, overall I did enjoy the book; I just didn’t enjoy it a ton. A C+ seems like a fair grade. It had its good points, it had it’s bad but it just didn’t have any big zinger moments that made me want to jump up and dance.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Ultimate Comics X #1

Feb 5, 2010

I also got a real kick out of seeing the Ultimate Universe start to take some risks. You’re not tied down to 70 years of continuity… live it up! Kill Wolverine, split up the Fantastic Four, make the Red Skull Captain America’s son! You don’t have to sell pillowcases or t-shirts, so just cut loose and have a blast! While this book wasn’t exactly Loeb and Adams cutting loose, there was a great deal of groundwork being laid. Frankly, the team depicted on the cover does nothing for me, but the issue was solid enough that I’ll probably check out the next issue or two just to see what it’s all about. I’m giving it a B-. It might’ve gotten a B, but the $3.99 price tag knocks it down a peg. Sorry, it was a good book, but it was not four dollars good. So B- it is.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Uncanny X-Men (1963) #522

Mar 29, 2010

In the end, it gets a C-. If I was a teacher and this book was one of my students, I would not fail him or her. The grade is passing, but just barely and there’s plenty of red marker in the margins instructing them to do better next time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
WE THE PEOPLE #1

Aug 26, 2009

Costumed avengers rising up to act as the voice of the people in order to take on “The Man”? Be still, my bleedin’ liberal heart. I liked the concept, the story and the characters and I’d definitely be back for the next one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Wednesday Comics #1

Jul 9, 2009

I’m giving it an A+, for stretching the medium in different directions, for challenging fans to think outside the 22-page format and for helping us to remember our roots. Well done, DC. Well done indeed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Wednesday Comics #7

Aug 25, 2009

Once again, kudos to DC Comics for such a bold direction. Viva la Wednesday’s Comics!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Werewolves Of Montpellier #1

Jul 12, 2010

No, this isn’t a book for those of you who think comics require flying men and ray guns. If you’re of the mind that animals in comics have to be silly, you might want to avoid Jason’s work altogether. But if you’re looking for a unique experience in sequential art, something that will make you both smile and think, give this one a shot. Jason is a perfect example of an artist who truly understands the medium of comic books and puts it into practice. Werewolves of Montpellier was my first experience into Jason’s world and I can guarantee it will not be my last.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
West Coast Blues #1

Jan 12, 2010

I opened this comic, got sucked in and blew through it in one sitting. Then I went back a few weeks later, in preparation for this review, and re-read it. I found that I liked it even better the second time around, as I was able to spend a little more time with it and take in the subtleties of the work. I suspect I will read it again soon and I would definitely recommend it. Fans of great artwork and crime stories should give this book a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wolverine: Weapon X #12

Apr 12, 2010

I’m giving it a very solid B. I had a lot of fun and I’ll be back next issue. Jason Aaron and Ron Garney, consider your mission accomplished.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Wonder Woman (2006) #600

Jul 5, 2010

So how was it? It was pretty good. Not knock-your-socks-off good, but it was a fitting tribute to an icon (as well as featuring some of the today’s great women creators) and a nice way to showcase that Wonder Woman, like all of the females I’ve known in my life, is a creature with many different sides to her character. A mother, a fighter, a mentor, a guide, a feminist and one of the damn sexiest ladies I’ve ever seen. And there’s a whole lot more to come. The only thing really missing from this book was a Batman team-up, but I can deal with it. Not every story was an absolute winner, but none of them were particularly bad either, and I feel that the sum total was worth the price and honored the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
X-Men Origins Wolverine One-Shot #1

Apr 30, 2009

As much as I’ve bashed the book, I didn’t absolutely hate it, so I’m giving it a C-. It’s a passing grade, but not one that any student with any sense of self-respect should be proud of. It was a decent, if misleading read that didn’t ruin my day or hurt my feelings. It wasn’t the worst book I’ve ever read in my life, but it was definitely the worst book I’ve read this week. The bottom line: don’t waste your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
X-Men: Legacy (2008) #235

Apr 26, 2010

Now if the rest of the X-Books could follow suit, Marvel just might be able to make a believer out of me again. But I’m not holding my breath.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More