Derek Hoskins's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Nerd Initiative Reviews: 37
9.2Avg. Review Rating

8.5
Akogun: Brutalizer of Gods #2

Jun 12, 2024

This book is great, plain and simple. The story and art blend together in a way that few creative teams can achieve. With each issue of this story I have become more and more intrigued and I have found a curiosity for the folklore and mythology of this region that I have never had before. This truly is God of War meets Conan the Barbarian!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Avengers (2023) #4

Aug 9, 2023

This was a fast paced, action packed issue that somehow managed to include meaningful character motivations and back story without hurting the pacing. When I finished reading I wanted nothing more than to pick up the next installment to see where the story goes next. This is cliffhanger storytelling at it's best. Make sure you pick this one up, you will not regret it!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Avengers (2023) #5

Oct 2, 2023

Once again, this creative team has dropped a fantastic book for the readers. The action, plot, and desperation of this series continues to ramp up as The Avengers find themselves in the middle of an impossible situation. The final pages left me with goosebumps and a fist pumping as I said aloud with them, “NO!” The Avengers are in capable hands and I'm so very excited to see where this story goes next!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Avengers (2023) #8

Dec 6, 2023

While it was a bit of a slow start, The Avengers #8 built into a fun ride full of great action, solid character beats and amazing art work!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Avengers (2023) #9

Jan 10, 2024

With great writing, impeccable art, and a fantastic cliffhanger, The Avengers #9 is a near perfect comic book. I am excited to see where the story goes and I can't wait to see where MacKay and the rest of the team take this group of Earth's Mightiest Heroes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Avengers (2023) #10

Feb 7, 2024

The story is coming back around to Kang, a welcome change that shows that the creative team are building to something epic. The art and character work were top notch with the art team being the big stand out here. On top of everything else this this issue has going for it, I am always on board for a Kang temper tantrum full of passing the buck of his own failures to somebody else. This was peak whiny Kang!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Avengers (2023) #11

Mar 6, 2024

Any story involving Edwin Jarvis gets a few points to begin with. However, I'm happy to say that this issue would have gotten by on it's own merit.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Avengers (2023) #13

Apr 24, 2024

As far as event tie-in books goes, this is top notch. If a reader has not been keeping up with the ‘Fall of X' storyline, this issue and the last issue were enough to bring them up to speed so they could enjoy the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Avengers (2023) #14

May 8, 2024

I went into this issue without high hopes due to the fact that it's a tie-in to an event that I am not reading. However, excellent character work and fantastic visuals pulled me through and kept me entertained. I didn't care that I didn't know the whole story, it's just cool to see The Avengers tearing through vampires in fun and inventive ways! I'm really looking forward to the next few issues in this event, and I may just have to give Blood Hunt a chance after all…

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Avengers (2023) #15

Jun 12, 2024

What a ride these Blood Hunt tie-ins have been! I came into these issues, not excited in the least, now I'm dreading the return to the normal team of Avengers. This is a credit to great writing and incredible art work. If you have been holding out on these because they are tie-ins, you are truly missing out!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Avengers (2023) #16

Jul 10, 2024

This was a great story set in the middle of an event that I am not reading. I should not, by all reasoning, love this arc as much as I did. However, great writing, wonderful art, and deep cut references made me fall in love with this story and this team. I really hope to see more of this team in the near future.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Avengers: Twilight (2024) #1

Jan 17, 2024

Avengers: Twilight feels like it is going to be a book that is discussed for years to come. The social commentary, incredible art, and hopeful final page makes this one for the ages. Top all of that off with a wonderful back up story and behind the scenes look and this was truly a breath of fresh air. This is what comics are about!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Avengers: Twilight (2024) #2

Jan 31, 2024

Great writing, solid action, and fantastic artwork make this another near perfect comic book issue. The only downside is that it suffers from being a middle chapter in a story and is burdened with a fair amount of set up for what is to come ahead. I have no doubt, however, that what is to come ahead will be nothing short of magical.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Avengers: Twilight (2024) #3

Feb 28, 2024

This story has been a wonderful, if wholly dark and depressing, read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Avengers: Twilight (2024) #4

Mar 13, 2024

Avengers: Twilight continues to be a must read, in my opinion. The pacing, the story, the art, the incredible covers, this story is what we need right now. This creative team is building toward something big. This book is a constant reminder why superhero stories will never go out of style, in a world full of fear, they will always give us hope.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Avengers: Twilight (2024) #5

Apr 17, 2024

I have said this from the beginning of this series and I will continue to say it, this is an important book. It is so important because, it is a warning against what can happen to a society that gives up it's freedom and basic human rights because of fear and a false sense of security.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Avengers: Twilight (2024) #6

May 29, 2024

Perfection, pure and simple. This book has been excellent since issue #1 and it ended so strong that I wish I could stay in this world longer. At various moments in this issue I cheered, I cried, and I found myself hopeful that, if this fictional world can change for the better, maybe our real one can as well. I've said from the beginning that this series felt important. I can safely say now that it truly is, this is a cautionary tale that leaves the reader with a sense of hope for the future. Heroes are important, hope is vital, and comic books continue to exist as an avenue for us to see both.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Invincible Iron Man (2022) #9

Aug 25, 2023

This series is one that I was nervous about going into. I knew that it would be tied into the events of the Mutant story lines and I am years behind on those titles. I was concerned that Iron Man would be a supporting character in the own book. However, this creative team has crafted a story that has captivated me and proven that, not only is this an Iron Man focused story, but it is shaping up to be one of my favorite runs of my favorite character! Please, if you are an Iron Man fan, do not miss this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Invincible Iron Man (2022) #10

Oct 1, 2023

This issue was perfection! I tried to find a single flaw or nitpick and I came up wanting. With some solid twists and turns, familiar characters, and incredible art, this team is firing on all cylinders. While I am predisposed to enjoy any title with Iron Man at the center, I can say without a doubt that you will be hard pressed to find a more enjoyable single issue of any comic. I know that I have been saying this before, but if you are not already reading this please don't wait, start now!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Invincible Iron Man (2022) #11

Oct 24, 2023

This issue is perfection! I am enjoying this series more and more with each installment. The story, writing, and artwork all came together in one phenomenal issue that I read at break neck speed and was so disappointed when over. Each month I find myself wanting more and that is the sign of a great team and a great comic!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Invincible Iron Man (2022) #12

Nov 22, 2023

While not a perfect book, issue 12 was a great step toward the coming battle. The creative team keeps teasing us with the reveal of Tony's new armor and I feel like a kid on Christmas morning being told to wait to open my presents! I want to see it! I am enjoying this ride and I am so happy that the creative team are taking their time and allowing this story to breathe. Well done to all involved, this series has been one win after another and I can't wait to see what kind of wild ride I am taken on next month!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Invincible Iron Man (2022) #13

Dec 6, 2023

With multiple surprises, excelent character interactions, fun action, incredible artwork, and another fantastic cliffhanger ending, The Invincible Iron Man #13 is a masterpiece!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Invincible Iron Man (2022) #14

Jan 17, 2024

Another wonderful issue that pleased this long-time fan to no end. Solid writing, fun character interactions, and a hook for what is to come makes this a must read. I am excited to see more from this team and cannot wait to see the Mark 72 in all of it's glory next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Invincible Iron Man (2022) #16

Mar 20, 2024

The incredibly quick pace was almost jarring, however, it did not take away from my enjoyment of the issue. On the contrary, I am impressed that a story that took me so little time to read was just as impactful as a dialogue heavy drama.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Invincible Iron Man (2022) #17

Apr 10, 2024

This story continues to take it's time to unfold. At no point has this creative team rushed or allowed the momentum stall, leading to a series of books that are put on the top of my pull list each month. Fantastic writing, a great guest artist, and a cliffhanger ending put this in the “Must Read” category!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Invincible Iron Man (2022) #18

May 1, 2024

Another solid outing that promises to lead to a larger climax, this issue is a must read for Iron Man fans. I am at the point where I want the story to come to an end because I am so invest in it, but I would be happy to continue this storyline for months to come. It is a testament to the entire creative team when the reader isn't ready to move on to the next chapter in the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Invincible Iron Man (2022) #19

Jun 19, 2024

This was so close to a perfect issue! My only real downside was that I wasn't ready for it to end. This book flew by at breakneck speed and didn't let up until the very last page. With fantastic art, impeccable writing, and a couple of great setups for what is to come, this book is an absolute must read!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Invincible Iron Man (2022) #20

Jul 17, 2024

This was a great end to a great run that I am sad to see come to an end. As I have said from the beginning, if you are even a passing fan of Iron Man and his world, read this series. You will not be disappointed!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Iron Man (2020) #15

Feb 28, 2024

This book is perfect, plain and simple. From the writing, to the art, to the final page that sets up an exciting ride to come, this issue is a huge win.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Iron Man (2020) Annual #1

Aug 16, 2023

This was an interesting and fun read overall. Even though I have not been reading any of Storm's stories I was not lost on her motivations or her actions in this issue. Also, I had no context of the Contest of Chaos story going into this book, however, I was able to follow along without a problem and now I want to go back to read part one and continue on with the story after this. That is the mark of good story telling, it makes me want more! Whether you are reading Contest of Chaos or not, I highly recommend giving this issue a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Star Wars: Hyperspace Stories (2022) #8

Aug 30, 2023

Overall, this was a fun story set in the sequel trilogy. The characters were well written and the art served the story well. However, with Hyperspace Stories being an anthology series, it is hard to get really excited for a story knowing that it will not continue and that did dampen my enjoyment of the issue. This is, however, a good time for fans of Star Wars and for any fan wanting to learn more about Kylo Ren and the First Order.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Rocketeer (2023): In The Den Of Thieves #2

Aug 23, 2023

The Rocketeer should always be, at it's heart, a fun action story in the vein of swashbuckling adventures. This book is shaping up to be just that. While my only history with the character is the film adaptation, I never felt like I was lost or needed to go back to figure out any other comic backstory.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Uncanny Avengers (2023) #1

Aug 16, 2023

I have not been reading any of the Fall of X story. I was concerned going into this book that I would be lost and have a hard time following the story. However, between the summary at the beginning of the issue and excellent writing throughout, I was never lost. I found myself wanting to pick up other X titles and catch up on everything. That is what you want, you want a story to grab you and want more. I'm very happy to have read this issue and I cannot wait to see where the story goes from here! Do yourself a favor and don't miss out on this one. Even if you're behind on the mutants in the Marvel Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Uncanny Avengers (2023) #2

Sep 24, 2023

While I'm not reading any of the other X-Men titles, this book continues to give me the information that I need to not be completely lost. It is no easy feat to bring a reader into a part of a larger story without them feeling lost. However, with masterful writing and fantastic artwork, Uncanny Avengers is doing just that! If you have not picked up this title, do yourself a favor and check out the first two issues. You won't regret it, and you will be frothing at the mouth for the next chapter of the story!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Uncanny Avengers (2023) #4

Nov 15, 2023

With incredible story telling, great action, and cover to cover entertainment, Uncanny Avengers #4 is an absolute win! All of that plus a final page reveal, that I won't spoil here, that left me excited, confused, and terrified for this new Unity Squad. This issue, as well as, this series is pure Marvel Perfection!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Uncanny Avengers (2023) #5

Dec 20, 2023

At the end of the day, Uncanny Avengers is a great read that I wish was an ongoing story. This creative team did a great job of delving into a diverse group of heroes and I would love to see more from this team and the Avengers Unity Squad in the near future!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Usagi Yojimbo (2023): Ice and Snow #1

Sep 27, 2023

This is one of my favorite books of 2023. If you are a fan of Usagi Yojimbo, samurai, action, or Saturday Morning Cartoons, do yourself a favor and read this one! I cannot wait to see where this story goes next and I can say that I will be picking up every Usagi Yojimbo title going forward. This issue created a fan!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More