Michael Govan's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Multiversity Comics Reviews: 110
6.6Avg. Review Rating

8.5
Absolute Carnage: Immortal Hulk #1

Oct 4, 2019

It's scary to witness Hulk welcome Venom into the family.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Action Comics (2016) #1005

Dec 3, 2018

Bendis is great exploring the streets of Metropolis.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Action Comics (2016) #1011

May 24, 2019

"Action Comics" soars up, up and away this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Acts of Evil: Moon Knight Annual #1

Sep 13, 2019

Come on outside, Kang. The Moon Knights arent going to jump you, they swear.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Aero #1

Jul 4, 2019

Final Verdict: 6.0 – Welcome to the Marvel Universe, Aero (and Wave) – Hope you survive the experience!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Age Of X-Man: NextGen #1

Feb 15, 2019

If you wanted to read just this and ignore the rest of the event, you'll probably be a little lost. Still, "Age Of X-Man: NextGen" #1 manages to be one of the strongest releases of this event so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Age Of X-Man: Prisoner X #1

Mar 11, 2019

Here's hoping next month's 'War of the Realms' crossover turns out better.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Agents of Atlas (2019) #3

Oct 28, 2019

The new Agents of Atlas are short on gorilla-men but big on heart.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Alpha Flight: True North #1

Sep 9, 2019

Overall, a good showcase for all the characters involved and a good read.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #19.HU

Apr 22, 2019

While I have plenty of sympathy for his son, Billy, I can't stir up any for Curt. If the Lizard is one of the characters that meets his end in this 'Hunted' story arc, I doubt many would be distraught.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Annihilation - Scourge: Nova #1

Dec 6, 2019

Nova 'nopes' right out of the Negative Zone in a okay issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Archie (2015) #700

Nov 23, 2018

Spencer gets readers caught up so he can kick off mysteries in Riverdale.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Archie (2015) #704

May 13, 2019

Ladies continue to pursue 'Archiekins'"for reasons that are beyond me.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Archie: 1941 #5

Feb 8, 2019

For better or worse, everything is right in Riverdale.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Avengers (2018) #22

Aug 5, 2019

Ghost Riders, rev up your engines!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman (2016) #57

Oct 22, 2018

Batman's rumble in Russia is entertaining but not quite as epic as the build-up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III #2

Jun 7, 2019

"Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III" #2 is a wild ride, a thoroughly enjoyable read for the fans. The multiversal shenaningans are great and leaves the reader wanting even more. If we take Raph at his word, the next issue will be even bigger and weirder. I can't wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Betty & Veronica (2018) #2

Feb 4, 2019

"Betty & Veronica" shouldn't get hung up on Archiekins"

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Black Cat (2019) #3

Aug 12, 2019

It's even more fun if you hum the Mission Impossible theme.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Black Panther and the Agents of Wakanda #2

Oct 21, 2019

This team-up of very random characters just isn't doing it for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Black Panther vs. Deadpool #1

Oct 29, 2018

Comic book readers can basically guess how the conflict will play out without picking it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Black Widow (2019) #1

Jan 18, 2019

"Black Widow" #1's bite doesn't feel all that deadly.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Blossoms 666 #4

Jun 3, 2019

The Blossoms interfere in Archie's boring love life.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Border Town #3

Nov 9, 2018

Things are just heating up in Devils Fork!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Captain Marvel (2019) #4

Apr 15, 2019

The arena battle and comic as a whole is better thanks to the contributions of Carmen Carnero. The artist does a solid job on the artwork throughout this comic, drawing epic fight scenes and an intriguing post-apocalyptic world and resistance. It all has me very interested to see what comes next in this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Collapser #1

Jul 18, 2019

ALl of that hardly even touches on the jumbled chaos that occurs when Liam's black hole activates in his apartment. I could honestly be here all day detailing what I liked on the art side of things. “Collapser”#1 is fascinating from start to finish. I read about a man changing bedpans and it was as fascinating as a superhero battle. Things are probably only going to get weirder from here and I can't wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Cosmic Ghost Rider Destroys Marvel History #2

Apr 5, 2019

Maybe a bit more 'Cosmic Ghost Rider' and less 'Marvel History' next time...

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Daredevil (2019) #8

Jul 22, 2019

Seriously, Matt's a creep here.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
DCeased: A Good Day To Die #1

Sep 6, 2019

Not the best team-up but a pretty good issue for John Constantine.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Detective Comics (2016) #1008

Jul 29, 2019

Joker needs to work on his material.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Detective Comics (2016) #1010

Sep 2, 2019

This issue feels a lot like a trailer for the upcoming feature presentation. Still, that feature presentation is probably going to be awesome.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Doctor Strange (2018) #6

Oct 8, 2018

"Doctor Strange" #6 is a rough homecoming for Stephen and a rough transition for readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Doctor Strange (2018) Annual #1

Nov 1, 2019

"Darkness falls across the land, the midnight hour is close at hand, Creatures crawl in search of blood, To terrorize y'all's neighborhood..."

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Fantastic Four (2018) #7

Mar 1, 2019

The Fantastic Four fight Doctor Doom and Galactus again!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Fantastic Four (2018) #15

Oct 7, 2019

The heroes (and this comic) are finally exploring new territory.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Fantastic Four (2018): 4 Yancy Street #1

Aug 30, 2019

Everyday its been the same old thing on my block.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Flash (2016) #72

Jun 17, 2019

Please flash forward to something new...

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Freedom Fighters (2018) #1

Dec 21, 2018

The Freedom Fighters take the fight to those Ratzi thugs!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Friendly Neighborhood Spider-Man (2019) #1

Jan 11, 2019

"Friendly Neighborhood Spider-Man" #1 brings readers a Spidey for the people, by the people.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Giant Man (2019) #3

Jun 14, 2019

The Giant-Men are large and in charge.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Go Go Power Rangers #17

Feb 18, 2019

The page that shows the team's morphing sequence is especially great and worthy of note. I hope the title continues to be so solid and I'm eager to see where this book goes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Go Go Power Rangers #19

Apr 12, 2019

This issue was Morphenomenal!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Gunhawks (2019) #1

Feb 11, 2019

They don't call it the 'Wild, Wild West' for nothing...

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harleen (2019) #1

Sep 26, 2019

In "Harleen", Dr. Quinzel starts to dance with the devil in the pale moonlight.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Heroes In Crisis #4

Jan 4, 2019

"Heroes in Crisis" should focus less on murder mystery and more on...well, the heroes in crisis.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Heroes In Crisis #7

Mar 28, 2019

Final Verdict: 4.5 – Let's just Flash-forward to the last issue…

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
History of the Marvel Universe (2019) #1

Jul 25, 2019

Marvels history is truly a marvel to behold...its just a lot at once.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Invaders (2019) #8

Aug 19, 2019

Soon, Namor or the rest of the Invaders will sleep with the fishes.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Invisible Woman (2019) #1

Jul 12, 2019

Mattia De Iulis does great work here. It's always interesting to see how artists depict invisibility. Some do a white outline while others go the direct route and draw absolutely nothing at all. Iulis depicts Susan as see-through and transparent, an impressive feat in my book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Ironheart #1

Nov 30, 2018

Riri Williams rises to new heights in Ironheart #1

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Justice League Dark (2018) #5

Nov 26, 2018

Things are improving in the magic corner of the DC Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Love Romances #1

Feb 22, 2019

My cherie amour, lovely as a summer day...

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Magnificent Ms. Marvel #6

Aug 23, 2019

Kamala wants to shrink but life's forcing her to embiggen.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Marvel Comics Presents (2019) #4

Apr 26, 2019

Stop me if you've heard this one. Spider-Man, Wolverine and Moon Knight walk into a bar"

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Meet The Skrulls #1

Mar 8, 2019

"Meet The Skrulls" #1 is a very good opening issue to this mini-series. It does exactly what it's supposed to do. The issue introduces intriguing characters, sets up the plot and gets readers hooked and ready to see more. It will be really interesting to see the journey of these unique characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Meet The Skrulls #4

May 6, 2019

What will happen to our beloved Warners?! Tune in next issue to find out! Same Skrull-time, same Skrull-channel!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Merry X-Men Holiday Special #1

Dec 10, 2018

Many mutants (some good, some bad) means many stories (some good, some bad).

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Mr. and Mrs. X #7

Jan 7, 2019

Mojo's latest show is just so-so.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Mr. and Mrs. X #10

Apr 29, 2019

The southern belle and swamp rat fall flat.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mysteries of Love in Space #1

Jan 31, 2019

"Mysteries of Love in Space" offers the best of both worlds. It focuses on superheroes while giving a little taste of romance comics's long gone heyday. It's nice that this giant chooses to laser in on the positive aspects of the DC Universe, like friendship and love. It might be a little corny, but it's always appreciated. It makes the heroes more relatable, fleshes out their character. Somewhere in the multiverse, there's a reality where romance comics still reign supreme. Since we can't visit for the foreseeable future, this issue is as close as we're going to get.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Old Man Quill #2

Feb 25, 2019

It's worth it for the Piledriver joke alone"

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Old Man Quill #11

Nov 11, 2019

In this corner, we have the Devourer of Worlds with the might of the Shi'ar Empire! In this corner we have"well, we've got Quill. Just the one guy. If you can get off-planet, I'd go for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Oliver #1

Jan 24, 2019

“Oliver” #1 seems to be one of those adaptations that is inspired by the original work while being its own distinct work. There may have been some references to Dickens that I missed but I was never lost or confused about anything. It does a great job of immersing readers in this dark, new world and leaves readers with burning questions. What is Prospero hiding from Oliver? What is the state of society outside of the clones? How will Oliver change the world? I need answers and can't wait to see what's next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Once & Future #1

Aug 15, 2019

It's strange to say (they do fight a giant monster after all) but #1 feels like it's just scratching the surface of magic here. I'm eager to see the series go deeper into Bridgette's strange, twisted world.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Peter Cannon: Thunderbolt (2019) #3

Apr 1, 2019

I haven't grown terribly attached to these characters but I still felt for them. Especially because the art team depicts a truly brutal sequence. There's no mercy for any of them and sad as their end is, it all makes me more intrigued by the villain of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Punisher (2018) #6

Jan 14, 2019

Things slow down when the Punisher gets punished.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Punisher (2018) #13

Jul 8, 2019

Zemo was born better than this.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Punisher: Soviet #1

Nov 18, 2019

Rocky Balboa had his turn going up against Russia, now its Frank's.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Quantum Age: From the World of Black Hammer #3

Oct 15, 2018

It's Archive's turn to effectively show that 'Even an Android Can Cry' in "Quantum Age" #3.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Sasquatch Detective Special #1

Dec 17, 2018

While I found Tonya pretty amusing, the giant special was definitely too much of a good thing. If you disagree, if the small doses aren't enough, you're in luck. There's plenty Sasquatch to go around in this oversized issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sparrowhawk #2

Nov 12, 2018

The wonderland in "Sparrowhawk" is absolutely killer"figuratively and literally.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sparrowhawk #5

Mar 21, 2019

A great end to a great series.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Spider-Geddon #0

Oct 1, 2018

The cover promises the movie but readers end up with just the trailer instead.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Spider-Man (2019) #2

Oct 17, 2019

Not the worst but not the best stop on our trip through the Spider-Verse.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Spider-Man Annual (2019) #1

Jun 28, 2019

Spider-Ham's sizzling in this annual!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Star Wars (2014) #60

Jan 28, 2019

Maybe we don't need to know everything that happened a long time ago in a galaxy far, far away"

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Star Wars (2014) #63

Mar 25, 2019

A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away"some unimportant stuff happens between the movies.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Star Wars: Age Of Rebellion: Lando Calrissian #1

May 17, 2019

This issue offers a perfect take on Lando himself. It's a very good showcase for his character. He's smooth and charming, a constant smile on his face. He hustles, wheels and deals. At the same time, writer Greg Pak highlights that every step of the way,

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Star Wars: Tie Fighter #5

Aug 26, 2019

Did you see the trailer for The Mandalorian though? That's the Star Wars content I'm looking for.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Strikeforce (2019) #2

Oct 25, 2019

The best part of the issue is without a doubt Strikeforce's members and their interactions with one another. The writer, Tini Howard, picked some pretty interesting characters to team up and has a good handle on all of their characterizations.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Superior Spider-Man (2018) #12

Nov 4, 2019

Listen to me, no more Spider-Men making deals with Mephisto. We get it, "One More Day" was a thing. This is the last time, let it go.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Superman (2018) #3

Sep 17, 2018

The Last Son of Krypton shines in "Superman" but the shadow of the bland Rogol Zaar keeps this good book from being truly great.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Superman (2018) #7

Jan 21, 2019

Read all about Superboy's Lost"Day? Week? (It couldn't have been longer than a week).

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Superman (2018) #11

May 20, 2019

A teaspoon of fantastic art helps the so-so story go down.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Superman (2018) #15

Sep 20, 2019

Their personalities comes through in the artwork as well. Ivan Reis does a great job throughout the entire comic but the highlight is certainly the pages featuring the Legion. You can tell from their cheering, smiling faces how excited the teenagers are to witness the very first Unity Day, how much it means to them. The costumes all look great too. Some of my personal favorites are the ones on Lightning Lad, Timber Wolf and Brainiac 5. Each costume is unique but are also cohesive at the same time. They are all vibrant, colorful designs that denote a bright, shining future. In "Superman" #15, the end of the 'Unity Saga' is really a new beginning.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Macroseries #2

Oct 26, 2018

Ian Flynn and Michael Dialynas make a strong case for Michelangelo being your favorite ninja turtle.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Macroseries #4

Dec 14, 2018

Final Verdict: 7.0 " It's rough being Raph in the conclusion of this macro-series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Thanos (2019) #6

Sep 30, 2019

"Thanos" isn't 'inevitable' here"he's alright, I guess.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
The Black Order #1

Nov 16, 2018

The five dreadlords didnt quite fill me with dread.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
The Prodigal Sun: Guardians Of The Galaxy #1

Sep 16, 2019

The Prodigal Son returned but now he's gone. Let's just move on.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Tony Stark: Iron Man #12

Jun 10, 2019

I will say that I didn't much care for Tony's inner turmoil throughout the issue. In the virtual world, Tony drank alcohol. It's certainly an interesting concept, whether that actually counts or not, but the execution hasn't gripped me so far. Neither has the idea of Tony being a copy or 'clone' of the original. I don't dislike the ideas but I am indifferent to how it's playing out so far, an issue since it's the focus of the book. Still, overall a pretty fun and enjoyable issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Tony Stark: Iron Man #16

Sep 23, 2019

'Ultron Agenda' is already off to a shaky start.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Transformers (2019) #6

May 31, 2019

A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away...Optimus and Megatron actually got along.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Uncanny X-Men (2018) #15

Apr 8, 2019

'Uncanny' might be too strong a word...

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Uncanny X-Men (2018) #20

Jun 24, 2019

The plot itself doesn't feel terribly interesting. Characters act out of character to show that this is the 'darkest timeline' and the 'end of mutants' and all that.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Uncanny X-Men (2018): Winter's End #1

Mar 15, 2019

Seriously though, watch out for Daken.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
War Of The Realms Strikeforce: The Dark Elf Realm #1

May 2, 2019

This issue still wraps up very nicely but it sort of feels like maybe a page or two is missing. Still, the creative team does a fantastic job. It's so good I'm actually kind of annoyed with Marvel editorial. This has no business being just a one-shot, one-issue team-up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
War Of The Realms: New Agents of Atlas #1

May 9, 2019

The 'New Agents of Atlas' are (literally) on fire!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
War of the Realms: The Punisher #1

Apr 19, 2019

This is going to be an insane entry in Frank's war journal.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Web of Black Widow #2

Oct 11, 2019

This is a solid comic though I do hope the creative team goes somewhere new in the coming issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
West Coast Avengers (2018) #2

Sep 24, 2018

The creative team on "West Coast Avengers" makes babysitting B.R.O.D.O.K. a thoroughly fun time.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
West Coast Avengers (2018) #8

Mar 4, 2019

All in all, it was an alright issue of a so-far strong series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
What If? (2018): Magik #1

Nov 5, 2018

It's an enjoyable time for readers when a new sorcerer reigns supreme.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Winter Soldier (2018) #1

Dec 7, 2018

Its good to see the Winter Soldier do his very best to save lives instead of taking them.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Winter Soldier (2018) #4

Mar 18, 2019

Reunited and it feels so good...at least at first.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #58

Nov 19, 2018

Great Hera! Wonder Woman's new adventure starts off okay.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #71

May 27, 2019

Monsters and demigods run rampant in the wonderful world of Wonder Woman.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Year of the Villain: Sinestro #1

Aug 8, 2019

Sinestro, Lord of the Microns has a nice ring to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Yondu (2019) #1

Nov 8, 2019

With every #1, be it a mini-series or a regular ongoing, it's important to hook readers so that they will come back for more. On that front, I don't know if the comic is that successful. would I like to see more of the two Yondus bicker and fight? Sure. Do I care about what happens with the Herald's Urn? Not really. I'm not terribly interested in seeing why Yondu stealing it is so catastrophic to the time-stream either.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Young Justice (2019) #7

Jul 15, 2019

Young Justice hopes that the next leap will be the leap home.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More