Timdogg's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Kliq Nation Reviews: 125
7.8Avg. Review Rating

8.0
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #1

Mar 16, 2016

In a world dominated by superheroes and major crossovers, A&A: The Adventures of Archer & Armstrong is a breath of fresh air. The friends that argue and fight together, stay together. The backdrop of all this taking place inside a mystical satchel elevates the entertainment level. I'm looking forward to seeing what craziness happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
A-Force #1

May 19, 2015

There is a lot to love with this comic. Co-writers Marguerite Bennett & G. Willow Wilson take the opening pages to introduce the cast. We have heavyweights like She-Hulk and Captain Marvel, along with younger heroes Nico Minoru and Ms. America.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Action Comics (2016) #957

Jun 8, 2016

Patrick Zircher's art has a touch of realism to it. Even with bright colors and larger-than-life characters, his line work is very clean and consistent. Just when I start to take it for granted, Zircher breaks out a splash page of Superman taking flight in his full red-and-blue's to remind me how epic he can get in his visuals.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Adventures of Supergirl #1

Jan 25, 2016

Publishing Adventures of Supergirl as a Digital First comic is an inventive way to market to a larger audience. Hopefully an audience that is a fan of the hit CBS show Supergirl. As a comic it should allow a different look at the life of Kara Zor-El, while staying true to its television source material.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Adventures of Supergirl #2

Feb 8, 2016

Another wonderful chapter in the Adventures of Supergirl. More revelations were introduced as the story progresses. Rampage is still on the loose, and it looks like she has a right to be angry at the DEO and Alex.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Adventures of Supergirl #3

Feb 22, 2016

The first arc in Adventures of Supergirl comes to a conclusion. What I enjoyed was the parallels between Supergirl and Rampage. Bengal brought vibrant energy to his artwork that set the hopeful tone for Supergirl. Sterling Gates gives Supergirl humanity, which makes the reader pull for her. I'm ready to see what the next story arc involves.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
All-New Ghost Rider #1

Mar 18, 2014

I was very pleased with All-New Ghost Rider #1. The mystery surrounding the circumstances of Robbie Reyes becoming the next Spirit of Vengeance and the creative team ofFelipe SmithandTradd Mooreall combine to make this new addition to the All-New Marvel NOW! a comic to watch out for.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
All-New Invaders #1

Jan 21, 2014

Without having any interest inAll-New Invaderscoming into this comic, there is enough here to have me curious to keep reading. I want to see how the first story arc plays out. After that, I'll see if there's enough of a hook for future readings.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
All-New Marvel NOW Point One #1

Jan 7, 2014

If you want a look at what many of your All-New Marvel NOW! titles will have in store, then you should check this out. There are some comics not featured (New Warriors, All-New X-Factor, etc.) so there is still much to look forward to over the next few months.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New X-Factor #1

Jan 7, 2014

I welcome the addition ofAll-New X-Factorwith welcomed arms. This looks to be a fun team dynamic with a unique direction that opens the door to all sorts of story possibilities. With an up-and-coming artist inGiandomenico and a veteran writer in David, this book has a bright future in front of itself.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New X-Factor #2

Jan 21, 2014

As the recap page displays, we have three more members ofAll-New X-Factorto introduce. I have faithPeter Davidwill keep the dialogue light while also leaving room for intrigue as to the real motives of Serval Industries and the team members interacting amongst themselves.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
All-New X-Men #27

May 13, 2014

I can see the this new incarnation of the Brotherhood being a thorn in the side of the original X-Men for the foreseeable future. Besides wanting to send the original X-Men back to their timeline, there has to be another goal they are trying to accomplish. As with everything, I'm sure it will come down to the fate of Jean Grey hanging in the balance.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New X-Men #28

Jun 10, 2014

We find out what the deal is with future Beast, and what the Brotherhood's real beef is with the X-Men. Charlie Xavier and Raze make a pretty good team. I wouldn't mind seeing more of them in the *ahem* future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New X-Men #40

Apr 21, 2015

I can appreciate that the original X-Men are taking what they've learned about their older, future selves and are deciding to make real changes. Besides the Iceman reveal, there is still the matter of the "Utopians" to deal with. This is Bendis' final issue of All-New X-Men I believe (I could be wrong). And there is Uncanny X-Men #600, which will be Bendis' last X-Men story. According to Axel Alonso, the ramifications of Iceman being gay will be felt throughout the Marvel universe, and will involve the current-day Iceman.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New X-Men #41

Jun 2, 2015

One thing All-New X-Men can boast is they've had A-list art throughout its run. Mahmud Asrar was the perfect choice to replace Stuart Immonen. The color hues that Marte Gracia adds brings extra emphasis to the panels. I love the panel layout choices, which change the reader's eye from group shots to close-ups.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2014) #3

Jun 24, 2014

As Amazing Spider-Man #3 comes to an end, Black Cat and Electro appear to be forming an alliance. Our mystery woman is getting close to revealing herself. Not to mention Anna Maria Marconi knowing the secret behind Peter/Otto/Spider-Man, and J. Jonah Jameson's new job offer.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2014) #4

Jul 22, 2014

Wonderful story mostly revolving around Silk's origin. Her being involved in Spider-Man's origin is a nice setup. We catch up briefly with Black Cat, one of the antagonists in this opening arc. Could Silk and Spider-Man form a new partnership, taking the place of the one Spider-Man had with Black Cat? Or could she turn out to be a new foe? We have to keep reading to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2014) #9

Nov 4, 2014

Amazing Spider-Man #9kicks ofSpider-Verseby assembling our heroes and villains. The ending even takes us to one of the most popular Spiders to be introduced in recent memory. We have to assume there will be more twists and turns to come as the story progresses. And not every Spider will make it out ofSpider-Versealive.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2014) #14

Feb 10, 2015

Not a bad crossover event, all things considered. It reintroduced readers to Spider-Men long forgotten, and even created new ones which will go on to star in their own series (Silk, Spider-Gwen). There will be epilogue issues placing the chess pieces where they need to be to tell their own stories going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2014) #17

Apr 1, 2015

The next issue is the end of the 3-part The Ghost and Black Cat stories. Can Parker Industries recover from this corporate takeover? What happens when Black Cat's story crosses over into the life of Peter Parker? Will Anna Maria keep covering for Peter/Spider-Man? We should find out these answers and more next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2014) #18

May 6, 2015

This is the last issue of Amazing Spider-Man before Secret Wars. It is not the cleanest ending point for Spider-Man, but some of that can be accredited to Spider-Verse taking up so much publishing real estate. We will have to wait and see if there is a place for Parker Industries in the post-Secret Wars Marvel Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Aquaman (2011) #26

Jan 4, 2014

This was an average debut for Jeff Parker on Aquaman. I'm going to give it the benefit of the doubt and hope that once his story gets going, it will rival what Geoff Johns was doing on the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Aquaman: Rebirth #1

Jun 8, 2016

While I was underwhelmed with Aquaman Rebirth #1, I still have high hopes for Aquaman overall. This will be my first time reading a story arc pitting Aquaman versus Black Manta. Hopefully we'll get Black Manta's son Kaldur'ahm since he appeared in DC Universe: Rebirth #1.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Avengers (2012) #25

Jan 21, 2014

Aside from the tease regarding the fate of a certain Avenger above, Hickman is putting his personal spin on original teams being transplanted in the present. A murder mystery is afoot!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Avengers (2012) #29

May 13, 2014

Yes, we have seen Captain America vs. Iron Man done before (Civil War). The circumstances are different this time however. While we have internal strife amongst The Avengers, the issue ends in a rather peculiar place. Hickman is building to something big in AvengersandNew Avengers, and the spark starts here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers (2012) #35

Sep 16, 2014

The shocking revelation at the end of the issue leaves me hyped for what is in store the upcoming months, leading into 2015.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers (2012) #44

Apr 28, 2015

At the core of the issue is Rogers vs Stark. Just as "Everything Dies", everything has been building to this confrontation. I love that during their battle, we were reminded of their initial discussion while creating the Avengers machine. Great way to reward your loyal readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Avengers World #1

Jan 8, 2014

If you want your Avengers book to give insight into the personalities of the heroes and deal less with the big, epic storylines, then Avengers World is the book for you. From interviews its been made clear that Nick Spencer is the featured writer, with Jonathan Hickman overseeing the project to make sure everything meshes with his Avengers books. It's only a matter of time before Avengers, New Avengers and Avengers World get caught up in some company-wide crossover event, or perhaps even a smaller one confined to these core Avengers comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #28

Feb 13, 2014

The women in Batman's life played a large role inBatman #28. Catwoman, Harper Row, and even the mysterious figure in the Batcave all have key roles in the future of Batman. As good as “Zero Year” has been, its length lends itself more to a trade than single-issue reading. This break in “Zero Year”, even for one issue, was a much-needed breather. So many things to look forward to in the next year of Batman books.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2011) #49

Feb 10, 2016

By the end of Batman #49 we are one step closer to Batman reclaiming his real identity. We get answers to questions regarding Batman's immortality that have been flowing through past issues. I'm curious to see how an "all-new" Batman takes the fight to Mr. Bloom.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman (2011) #52

May 11, 2016

The New 52 era of Batman ends on a personal, quiet note. Fans are used to big, sprawling epics that eat up many issues. I applaud James Tynion IV, Riley Rossmo, Brian Level, Ivan Plascencia, Jordan Boyd and Steve Wands for creating a story that hits on an individual level. While highlighting Batman's past, it also looks ahead to his bright future.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman And Robin Eternal #1

Oct 7, 2015

Batman & Robin Eternal #1 is a strong opening salvo into our next weekly Batman series. This gets a nod over Batman Eternal because the Robins will be front and center. What secret has Batman hidden from Dick Grayson? How dangerous is Mother? Who is Cassandra Cain? Over the next six months, these questions and more will be asked and hopefully answered.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Rebirth #1

Jun 1, 2016

Batman: Rebirth #1 is just a tease of what Tom King and Mikel Janin have in store for the Dark Knight. Scott Snyder is along to help hand off Batman to King. If you've read any of King's previous work, then you know Batman is in good hands. Just when you're in awe at Janin's stunning visuals, King comes at you with a story that's just as entertaining. And if you're still nervous at a new creative team on Batman, then think of this quote from Bruce Wayne inside the pages of Batman: Rebirth #1 -- "We come back better each time, too."

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Widow (2014) #1

Jan 7, 2014

Black Widowgave me vibes of the soloHawkeyebook. Both follow the adventures ofAvengersaway from the team. While Clint Barton finds himself in trouble by accident, Natasha Romanoff goes looking for it. With the creative team on board, this could be a surprise hit for All-New Marvel NOW!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bloodshot: Reborn #1

Apr 14, 2015

Speaking of art, Lemire takes a stab at contributing in this issue. I won't spoil what it is he does, but it did a lot to bring some humor to an otherwise serious comic. What I can say is these scenes are setup as a way to include supporting characters to an otherwise solo book. Plus it raises questions on whether Bloodshot is hallucinating or are these

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Book Of Death #1

Jul 14, 2015

Book of Death #1 was a fine first chapter to Valiant's summer blockbuster event. Having an artifact from the future that foreshadows events to come is always a nice avenue to change the status quo. The fallout from the Book of Death will surely have repercussions throughout the Valiant Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Broken World #1

Jun 2, 2015

By the end of Broken World #1 we are left with many mysteries. Upon further inspection, tiny seeds are planted that are sure to blossom as the series marches on.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Chrononauts #1

Mar 17, 2015

Over the last two years,Mark Millarhas made a concerted effort to bring the comic book reading audience more of his creations. Publishing his comics through Image allows Millar to work with some of the best artists in the industry today. ForChrononauts,Millar is teaming with co-creatorSean Gordon Murphyto document the adventures of Corbin Quinn and Danny Reilly as they become the world's first time travelers. The twist " the world is watching.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Chrononauts #3

May 13, 2015

If you are a fan of comics that are fun and don't take themselves too seriously, then Chrononauts is for you. Corbin and Danny have the type of bromance that all-star comedic pairings are made of. Toss in the time travel aspect and you have a recipe for greatness.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cyborg #1

Jul 27, 2015

Cyborg #1 has the potential to be much more than a superhero comic. Cyborg can touch upon social issues by being a black superhero and connecting with people with disabilities, like the crowd protesting outside of S.T.A.R. Labs. However, with this being a superhero comic, there has to be the right mixture of action mixed in. While this was absent in issue one, the hope is David Walker crafts a compelling rogues gallery for Cyborg, while also not neglecting the man Victor Stone. - See more at: http://www.thekliqnation.com/2015/07/review-cyborg-1/#sthash.qR27HJxT.dpuf

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Cyborg #2

Aug 26, 2015

As Cyborg is experimenting with his new upgrades, a mysterious group interested in that tech has found its way to Earth. Those wishing for more action in the series may soon have their wish. Still, David F. Walker and Ivan Reis have made sure to tell a personal story with Cyborg. This is a comic that focuses not just on the technology, but the man inside it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
DC Universe: Rebirth #1

May 24, 2016

Its a brand new day at DC. DC Universe: Rebirth #1 is a breathe of fresh air for the publisher. Threads from Justice League #50 and Superman #52 are alluded to, along with setting up years worth of upcoming storylines. Buy it. Read it. For $2.99 you get 80 pages worth of superhero goodness.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deadly Class #1

Jan 22, 2014

I've found a new favorite Image Comic in Deadly Class. The story is so simple, yet complex. How will Marcus adjust to this new life? Where did this school come from? Why are they recruiting Marcus in the first place?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Death Of Wolverine #1

Sep 2, 2014

I am intrigued by the storySoule has crafted for this four-issue goodbye to Wolverine. Someone has put a unique hit out on Wolverine. Normally a bounty would want the person terminated, but this one sees Wolverine more valuable brought back alive. The person behind the bounty is familiar to Logan's history. Things will only get more bloodier before its culmination.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Death Of Wolverine #2

Sep 9, 2014

Since this is coming out weekly, before we know it we will be in a world without Wolverine. Maybe the rapid succession of issues will numb us to it. The story is adding people from throughout Logan's history (Viper, Sabretooth, and the guest-appearance at end) which will hopefully conclude with an impressive sendoff. Each issue we've learned a differentclue: who has the bounty out on Wolverine, and that there is someone targeting Weapon Plus members. What will we learn after issue three?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Descender #1

Mar 3, 2015

Descender is high-concept with cosmic exploration and discovery. Tim-21 is the last of his kind (that we know of). It should be fun to follow his adventure of how this came to be, along with what happened to his family and what the deal is with the Harvesters.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Descender #5

Jul 7, 2015

There is one more issue to go in the first arc of Descender. We've had many developments and secrets revealed. The only question is where will Tim-21, Bandit, Driller, Telsa, and Dr. Quon be left before the second arc picks back up. And you know there will be one more big surprise dropped on readers before the arc comes to an end. The anticipation has been building. I can't wait to find out what it is.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Descender #6

Aug 11, 2015

With each issue of Descender, more and more mysterious pile up. Even when questions are answered, more questions are presented to the reader. Even though Dr. Quon says Professor Solomon is gone, it would not surprise me to see him pop up down the line. The surprise at the end is just the latest mystery in what has been a great six issues. Even with a comic starring a robot boy, Jeff Lemire and Dustin Nguyen are able to sprinkle in emotion and bring real heart to the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #934

Jun 8, 2016

Man is the art lovely to digest on each page and panel. You can tell Eddy Barrows is having fun playing with the shadows and panel layouts. Colorist Adriano Lucas teams with Barrows to make the shadows just as much a part of the overall aesthetic as the heroes are. Batman and Batwoman in particular get grandiose poses from spotlights and swinging from rooftops.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Diesel #1

Sep 9, 2015

Diesel #1 is a strong comic with an enthusiastic lead character. Dee's personality leaps off the page. Even though she believes she is ready for the job of Captain, the seeds have been planted that she still has some things to learn. Add to the fact that there appears to be more to her than meets the eye, and BOOM! Box has a solid addition to their roster.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Empress #1

Apr 6, 2016

Empress is an adventurous cosmic series set to the backdrop of family drama. The fun will come in delving into the past of King Morax and Queen Emporia and learning what soured their shared love. What's great is the powerhouse art team bringing this tale to life. I look forward to what's in store.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Empress #2

May 4, 2016

The sense of adventure and drama continues in Empress #2. I love the contrast between the heroic Dane, the determined Emporia, and loyal Aine. One minor gripe is King Morax being absent from this issue. There was enough progress in the story that his absence didn't take away, but I want to see more of the king and queen's courtship flashback. To reference that final page again -- I can't wait to see how they get themselves out of this danger.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Flash (2011) #44

Sep 23, 2015

Writers Robert Venditti and Van Jensen are telling a family story in The Flash. Barry and Henry Allen, Nora Allen's killer Professor Zoom and his complicated family life. With the numbers not in Flash's corner, let's hope for a Wally West Kid Flash/Impulse to even the odds.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Flash: Rebirth (2016) #1

Jun 8, 2016

The Flash: Rebirth #1 should be a vital book in the Rebirth initiative. The Flash was heavily involved with Flashpoint, which kicked off the New 52. Barry Allen now knows there's a higher power in play. He's one of a handful of heroes who can investigate.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Furious #1

Jan 28, 2014

I believeFuriousis a limited series. It looks to touch on real world subjects like fame and anger-management. The first issue is enjoyable. Bryan J.L. Glasswill be looked to build on the foundation and let readers learn more about Furious' past, and how she plans to go about turning the public in her favor.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Grayson #15

Dec 9, 2015

Robin School is in session in Grayson #15, Part 2 of "Robin War". As headmaster, Grayson proves how he's one step ahead of everyone. The master manipulator. But all for a good cause. Even if it wasn't tying into "Robin War", Grayson is one of the highlights from DC Comics each month.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Grayson #18

Mar 23, 2016

All hell breaks loose in Grayson #18. As spies battle outside the halls of St. Hadrian's Finishing School, inside is where the real drama is at. Resurrections are front and center. While we say goodbye to the creators that ushered in a new era for Dick Grayson, he is still in capable hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Harley Quinn (2013) #20

Sep 16, 2015

Harley Quinn's time in Los Angeles goes about as well as one would expect. There are many stereotypes just ripe for exploitation. Issue 20 only takes a few of these and places Harley smack in the middle, to hilarious results.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2013) #27

Apr 27, 2016

Amanda Conner and Jimmy Palmiotti took a good-natured dig at Marvel with Red Tool. He does fit into the Harley Quinn story and doesn't feel shoehorned in. John Timms and Alex Sinclair's art feels like something out of an animation studio. Red Tool could be just a special guest star, but its clear the writers have more plans for him. He's left Harley with a special "gift" and is looking to take their new relationship to the next level.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Huck #1

Nov 17, 2015

The real hook for the series happens in its final pages, when Huck's secret is revealed to the world. It should be fun to watch him try to navigate this new status quo. Mark Millar and Rafael Albuquerque bring a real innocence to Huck. That innocence could be on the verge of cracking.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Inhuman Annual #1

May 6, 2015

One theme that can be taken away from Inhuman is of people that are different, coming together as a family.There will be those who have their own agendas. But there is strength in numbers, especially for those who are different. Luckily, thanks to the Inhuman creative team, they have guided Medusa on her new journey as leader of the NuHumans. This version of their story may be ending now, but in essence, it is just beginning.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Invincible Iron Man (2016) #1

Nov 8, 2016

Tony Stark's armored boots look to be in safe hands. Riri Williams' past and present are on full display. I'm excited to see Riri pick her superhero name (Ironheart) and navigate the Marvel Universe with her new A.I.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Joyride #1

Apr 18, 2016

Joyride is setup to be one entertaining ride through the cosmos. To, Lanzing and Kelly have space as their playground. Uma, Dewydd, and Catrin are free from government oversight. Which can only mean that eventually things will not go as planned on their adventure. Then the real fun begins.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jupiter's Legacy Vol. 2 #1

Jun 29, 2016

The criminal uprising begins in Jupiter's Legacy Vol 2 #1. With so many new characters to introduce we don't spend lots of time with our main cast. However, there is a level of excitement as Chloe's criminal gang is assembled. Millar and Quitely are setting up all the chess pieces and now we can watch how they'll be moved across the board.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League #43

Aug 19, 2015

The 3rd installment of "Darkseid War" moves the chess pieces across the board and sets up one Justice Leaguer with God-like status while removing it from another.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League #44

Sep 30, 2015

"Darkseid War" has not disappointed. Each issue adds an additional layer to the complex story. Geoff Johns and Jason Fabok are flexing their collaborative muscles and bringing the absolute best out of each other. Can the Justice League (Gods on Earth) hope to contend with actual Gods from the cosmos? We have to keep reading to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League #45

Oct 26, 2015

Before we pick back up with Justice League #45, there will be six one-shots highlighting different members of the Justice League and their new transformations into God-like beings. Will they be able to harness these new powers for good, or will our heroes become corrupted?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League #47

Dec 30, 2015

Justice League: The Darkseid War is hitting on all cylinders. Just as we wrap our brains around the Justice League taking on Darkseid AND the Anti-Monitor, the Crime Syndicate comes into play.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League #48

Feb 24, 2016

"Darkseid War" is shaping up as my favorite DC Comics story/event of all time. It feels like it's been going on forever, and I don't mind at all. Each issue has been excellent. Part eight is no exception.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League #49

Apr 27, 2016

The surprises keep coming in "Darkseid War." I don't know what to expect from the finale in issue 50. There has to be lasting ramifications for the Justice League and the DC Universe going forward. Who will come out on top? The Crime Syndicate? Mobius? Grail? Or the Justice League? It remains to be seen.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League vs. Suicide Squad #1

Dec 21, 2016

he real draw of this issue (and event) is the villains that will eventually bring the Justice League and Suicide Squad together on the same side. If you've managed to avoid spoilers, I won't reveal who the mastermind is and who this person has on their side. But it raises many questions on where these characters have been. There are references to being "forgotten" and the world needing fixing. Fixing from what? From who? Is this all tied to the greater mystery behind Rebirth?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League vs. Suicide Squad #2

Dec 28, 2016

Just when it looks like the fight between the teams is coming to an end, Williamson throws a curveball at readers. This helps extend the story, which is necessary to hit the six issues that are solicited for the miniseries.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Kennel Block Blues #1

Feb 2, 2016

I totally enjoyed Kennel Block Blues #1. There are so many characters to latch onto. Oliver leads the way, as he just wants to go home to his loving family. Yet he's making the most out of a bad situation. Eternal optimism. I can appreciate that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Legendary Star-Lord #1

Jul 1, 2014

Legendary Star-Lordattempts to set Peter Quill on a solo journey filled with swashbuckling and space exploring. While I have enjoyedCyclopsmore for how it's taken an Earth boy and relocated him out in space,Legendary Star-Lordshould find a nice audience. Especially for fans ofGuardians of the Galaxyand inevitable crossovers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Magnus: Robot Fighter #1

Mar 11, 2014

Dynamite Comics has me intrigued with their Gold Key purchase. Will all the series' tie together to form one shared universe? Or will they be off to tell their own stories? Either way, I will keep readingMagnus: Robot Fighter. The creative team ofFred Van LenteandCory Smithare enough of an attraction for this reviewer.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Martian Manhunter (2015) #3

Aug 19, 2015

The creative team on Martian Manhunter sure know how to close out a comic. The mystery had been building on just what the deal is with Mr. Biscuits and Agent Wessel. Mr. Biscuits I ended up being right about, but I had no clue it went deeper than just him. You have to wonder is everyone who they really say they are.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ms. Marvel (2014) #1

Feb 10, 2014

Tying Ms. Marvel to "Inhumanity" is a smart move. Marvel has big things planned for the Inhumans franchise. Linking Ms. Marvel to them solidifies that once her origin story is established, Wilson can either carve out her own legacy in the Marvel universe, or have Kamala go on a journey to discover her Inhuman roots. - See more at: http://www.thekliqnation.com/2014/02/review-ms-marvel-1/#sthash.fyGFt5eI.dpuf

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
New Avengers (2013) #19

Jun 11, 2014

The New Avengers/Illuminati have gone down a dark path with no end in sight. Can they remain heroes, or must they do horrible things in order to save our world? Do they really have it in them to destroy another world? And what happens now that Captain America and the Avengers know of their scheming?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
New Avengers (2013) #33

Apr 28, 2015

Majority of New Avengers #33 is a three-person story (Doctor Doom, Doctor Strange, and Molecule Man). We get many answers before Secret Wars begins. Some of these answers will make you say "HUH?!" Make sure to read this before opening Avengers #44.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
New Suicide Squad #17

Feb 10, 2016

All eyes will be on the "Suicide Squad" brand in the upcoming months. With a feature film slated for August 2016, there's no better time to dive into the New Suicide Squad comic than now. Tim Seeley and Juan Ferreyra have interesting plans for Task Force X and Amanda Waller. Their opening salvo is worth paying attention to.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
New Warriors (2014) #1

Feb 18, 2014

I'm all in onNew Warriors. I really hope this comic finds an audience and has a sustained run. For anyone new to Marvel comics looking for a team book to subscribe to, I recommend giving this a try. It is an eclectic group of heroes joined by a talented creative team ofChristopher YostandMarcus To. So you already know the stories will be compelling and the artwork will jump off the page at you. To quote Speedball, “Get Your War On!”

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Old Man Logan #1

May 26, 2015

Old Man Logan #1 sets Logan out on an adventure across Battleworld. A mystery is the catalyst for this, so there is the tease to see what this leads to. Plus, this is the first comic to feature a version of Wolverine after he was killed in the 616 universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Original Sin #1

May 6, 2014

This has the potential of launching so many new stories and taking characters in directions no one could ever guess.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Original Sin #3

Jun 3, 2014

This is one crossover event where I am looking forward to reading the ancillary comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood / Arsenal #7

Dec 9, 2015

As far as tie-ins go, Red Hood/Arsenal #7 is as flimsy a tie-in as one can get. If you want important ramifications, stick to the main series. However, if you have been enjoying Red Hood/Arsenal since it launched, and favor "buddy-cop" team-up stories featuring renegade outlaws and their zany adventures, with amazing art, then this is the comic book for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Robin War #1

Dec 2, 2015

Robin War #1 is similar to many Batman crossovers of the past. We are made to believe that reunions are happening, when they've taken place in other comics. If you are stepping into Robin War as a new reader, this is fine. However, having read the lead-ins up to this #1, it raises some eyebrows. - See more at: http://www.thekliqnation.com/2015/12/review-robin-war-1/#sthash.SP7KiPqg.dpuf

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Robin: Son of Batman #4

Sep 16, 2015

Robin's adventures have been entertaining so far, but I am hoping there is an upcoming twist in the story soon. Adding Ducard as a supporting character is an added bonus, along with his companion Goliath. They make a discovery on the final page. However, it didn't come across as shocking, since this is something we have seen many times before.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rocket Raccoon #1

Jul 1, 2014

Overall,Rocket Raccoon #1is one enjoyable comic. There is no need to know convoluted continuity, or every aspect of Rocket's past. Just sit back, relax, and savor the craziness. Rocket has to get to the bottom of who has potentially framed him. This adventure is sure to be filled with nonstop action and guns a-blazing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rocket Raccoon #3

Sep 3, 2014

As the issue comes to a close, Rocket is finally confronted by the raccoon impersonating him. Will we find out this impostors' origin? What is his end goal? And what does he have against Rocket?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
She-Hulk (2014) #1

Feb 11, 2014

Charles Souleis quickly becoming one of my favorite superhero writers. FromThunderboltstoRed Lanterns, I find myself adding more and more of his books to my reading list. She-Hulk is an under-utilized character, but with Soule andJavier Pulidoembarking on this new journey with her, it's a can't miss. Entertainment inside and outside the courtroom is on deck. To quote Ms. Walters, “COME ON!”

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Silver Surfer (2014) #1

Mar 25, 2014

Silver Surfer #1soars to comic book stores this week. This should scratch a different itch forDan Slottthat he doesn't get to on his Spider-Man work. I'm curious if this will stand on its own, or start to crossover with other cosmic titles. I predict issues being light on action, but rich in character moments and comedy. If you are a fan of the creative team and of Silver Surfer, then this will be a book you want to pick up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Skyman #1

Jan 14, 2014

Skyman #1left me satisfied as a reader. Even though the setup was quick, I couldn't find much else to ask for out of a first issue. I'm curious to see if Eric remains as a government operative as Skyman, or if he realizes he's being used and tries to be independent.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Sons of the Devil #1

May 26, 2015

As with most horror stories, there is enough sprinkled in Sons of the Devil to have readers curious to see where the story will lead to. Travis seems like a genuine dude that has had some bad luck. I am curious to see how he is connected to the bad people we are introduced to. If you are a fan of horror tales, then I would recommend giving this a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spread #1

Jul 8, 2014

In interviews Jordan stated that right now, his plans for Spread are to have it go 60 issues. Along with that number would be fill-in issues with guest-artists to help fill out the world that Spread exists in. Basically world-building. Even finding out different variations of the infected spread. We could find out what caused the disease, how No is immune to it, and how Hope is the possible cure. I look forward to following along.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Starlight #1

Mar 4, 2014

IfMark Millaris planning on tying all his comic book franchises together under his “Millarworld” label, thenStarlightis a worthy first step. Duke is a protagonist readers can root for, and the sci-fi concept offers a lot of story possibilities. Hopefully Millar keeps these titles coming out on a consistent schedule so we can learn how everything ties together.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Storm #1

Jul 28, 2014

Overall, not a bad opening issue forStorm. My hope is that the threats start to escalate as the series continues. It is great to see more diversity across the Marvel line. As long as the stories are compelling, the readers will demand more and more.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Superior Spider-Man #26

Jan 28, 2014

Before reading Superior Spider-Man #26 make sure to read Superior Spider-Man Team-Up #9. It plays a key factor in the build-up to "Goblin Nation" and starts to answer important questions. As for Superior Spider-Man #26, chess pieces are shuffled across the board. The final end game is being prepped.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Superior Spider-Man #27.NOW

Feb 11, 2014

Superior Spider-Man #27moves along plot points, and Otto discovers how the Goblin Underground has escaped his sights for so long. Has Otto's narcissism allowed him to be one up'd by the Green Goblin? Plus, Peter continues his saga to recover control of his body.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superior Spider-Man #30

Mar 25, 2014

Magneto as the bad guy I can deal with. But do we have to go back to him utilizing the same lackeys (Blob, Pyro, Toad) over and over again? Give them a new name (X-Force), but it's still the Brotherhood of Evil Mutants.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Superman (2011) #44

Sep 30, 2015

With Superman's identity no longer a secret, more threats are gunning for him. The reasoning behind the reveal of his secret identity could have been handled in a better fashion. It makes me wonder if the true story is more about what happens after the secret is out, and not about the road to get there.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Superman (2011) #45

Oct 28, 2015

I am intrigued to see how Superman participating in the Mythbrawl plays out. Howard Porter joining the comic as an artist is a huge plus in my book. Each issue we see Superman's secret identity being known to the public unfold in a new way. Gene Luen Yang appears to have a plan in place that is slowly improving issue after issue. - See more at: http://www.thekliqnation.com/2015/10/review-superman-45/#sthash.BLgbIrho.dpuf

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Superman: American Alien #2

Dec 16, 2015

After thoroughly enjoying Superman: American Alien #1, issue two has failed to follow in its footsteps. This isn't your typical Superman story of goody two shoes farm boy. Be prepared to see Clark Kent dealing with problems an ordinary teenager should never have to worry with. The most interesting part was the one page epilogue, which I imagine will be followed-up on in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman: American Alien #4

Feb 22, 2016

Superman: American Alien #4 brings us closer to Clark Kent becoming Superman. You can tell how much fun Max Landis is having taking segments of Clark's origin and spinning them into brand new tales. The final pages really demonstrate the intensity Jae Lee brings to his pages. Prominent DC characters provide building blocks to the creation of Superman. Their inclusion is what made me really enjoy this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Superman: Lois and Clark #1

Oct 19, 2015

What most intrigues me about SUPERMAN - LOIS AND CLARK is the possibility that the pre-New 52 Superman could come into contact with his New 52 counterpart. It's only so long personalities the likes of Lois Lane and Clark Kent can truly stay hidden from the world. Especially when they have a curious growing boy to take care of.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman: Rebirth #1

Jun 1, 2016

Bye bye Superman. Hello Superman! Superman: Rebirth #1 puts to rest the idea of New 52 Superman returning (for now). O.G. Superman reconnects with one of his closest friends in Lana Lang. Even though things ended on a sour note during "The Final Days of Superman", Superman's future in Rebirth looks promising.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Swamp Thing (2016) #1

Jan 6, 2016

Longtime fans of Swamp Thing should find enough here to gratify them. For new readers, the setup is satisfactory. However, I wonder if the story is intriguing enough to keep them coming back for more over the coming months.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Fix #1

Apr 6, 2016

I haven't LOL'd so much reading a comic in a long time. The Fix is set to be one of my favorite series of 2016. Nick Spencer and Steve Lieber's collaboration is a true partnership. Spencer's words wouldn't have the same impact without Lieber's ability to display comedic acting in his art. The Fix is crooked cops and politicians looking for the next score, and the only thing that can stop them is a drug sniffing dog. Comedy gold!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Fix #2

May 11, 2016

I feel like I can't say enough good things about The Fix. I love a good comedic comic book and this is it. Just when you think Roy and Mac have gone too far, they show you just how wrong you are.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Sheriff Of Babylon #4

Mar 2, 2016

After my initial fears, I believe I successfully conveyed my feelings towards Sheriff of Babylon. While some things go over my head, overall they don't take away my enjoyment of the product. By the time Sheriff of Babylon #4ends our main cast appears to be coming together with a common goal. We learn Nassir and Saffiya have history with one another. I wonder how long it will be before we meet the villains. However, many of the characters exist in shades of grey. Which mirrors the results of war.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Valiant #1

Dec 9, 2014

If you are new to Valiant, The Valiantis THE perfect jumping on point. This four-issue limited series will lead intoValiant Next, Valiant's newest initiative going into 2015. The repercussions felt here will reverberate throughout every comic going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Woods #1

May 6, 2014

I heard going in that there would be horror elements inThe Woods but it still shocked me to see actual deaths. The main characters' personalities were fleshed out, and we got to witness a small percentage of this world that our cast will explore. Consider me intrigued to see where all this is heading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Thor (2014) #1

Sep 29, 2014

Readers will have the best of both worlds inThor. We can follow Odinson's journey back to worthiness, while experiencing what it is like for someone new to carry the responsibilities and mantle of the God of Thunder. Can she handle familiar threats to her predecessor? Make sure to let us know in the Comments section below your guesses as to who the new Thor is? Along with letting us know your overall thoughts.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Titans Hunt #1

Oct 26, 2015

I'm intrigued to see if Titans Hunt drastically changes things for the current Teen Titans franchise. Perhaps there is room for another Titans book with the in-their-20's heroes. Fans of the Titans of the past should definitely check this out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ultimate Comics Spider-Man Vol. 2 #200

Apr 1, 2014

What a great way to celebrate not only the life of Peter Parker, but ofUltimate Comics Spider-Manoverall. We got a look at the past, present, and possibly future. Peter Parker may be dead, but the Ultimate version of Spider-Man will continue to live on.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Uncanny Avengers #22

Jul 29, 2014

I am still lovingUncanny Avengersbut #22 was not as epic as I had hoped it'd be. With the conclusion, some lingering questions were answered and new questions arose. The Unity Squad will not have time to rest on their laurels, because Red Skull and the march to AXIS is upon us.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncanny Inhumans #0

Mar 31, 2015

Uncanny Inhumans #0 continues the story told in Inhuman, but from Black Bolt's perspective. We see some of the supporting cast, the villain, and teases for things to come. With the "Uncanny" adjective and the Free Comic Book Day cover revelation that The Human Torch, Johnny Storm will be a cast member, there are many things to look forward to for fans of Inhumans.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #23

Jul 15, 2014

Not much happens inUncanny X-Men #23. This is the opening part of “The Last Will and Testament of Charles Xavier”, so we have mostly setup and teases of a new character who could play a part in the proceedings. Bendis has said in interviews that the secret will have lasting ramifications for the X-Men line of books. That alone is enough to to pique my interest.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #24

Jul 29, 2014

I am ready to find out what the big secret from Charles Xavier's will is. I hope it really does change the status quo across the X-Men line of comics. Will it tie into this new Matthew character? How does he play into everything? I need answers!!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Unfollow #1

Nov 4, 2015

I love the premise behind Unfollow. It should be fun to see just what a person would do if they had the opportunity to hit the lotto (more or less). It gets down to human nature, and letting the strong survive. My hope is it will still dive into what social media has done to us as a society.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wayward #1

Aug 26, 2014

Wayward #1showed readers just enough to leave them wanting more. Rori Lane is placed in a foreign land that she must navigate. Along with starting a new school and meeting new friends, mysterious attacks on the street and the case with the cats must be investigated. And what's up with the probability skills she showed? I'm ready to learn more next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
We Are Robin #3

Aug 26, 2015

This was a very explosive issue of We Are Robin. The stakes have been raised. We have to see if the team can rally around the loss of a teammate, or if they let that tear down what they've built so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
We Are Robin #7

Dec 16, 2015

We Are Robin #7 is a fun installment in the "Robin War" crossover. While the only time we really spend with the core cast is with Duke Thomas, it doesn't take away from the overall enjoyment of the story and art. Besides, we get to see from Duke's POV how insane the world of Robin really is.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
We Are Robin #10

Mar 23, 2016

What's scary is there are youths who believe in what Smiley is preaching. Just as the We Are Robin group is splintered, the Jokerz are coming together. By the end of We Are Robin #10 Smiley has made a very public move. Will Duke Thomas and the rest of the Robins reunite to save lives and take the Jokerz down? Issue 11 should bring us answers.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wolverine (2014) #1

Feb 4, 2014

Wolverineis very much a “wait-and-see” book for me. I was never much a reader of his solo adventures; only in one of the primary X-Men books. It will depend on how longRyan Stegmanremains as the artist. If history repeats itself, he'll be rotating story arcs until the big rumored surprise happens inWolverine #12.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman: Rebirth #1

Jun 8, 2016

Rucka shows Diana questioning everything she knows. I love the thought process Diana goes through in her head. I even learned a thing or two. For example, I didn't know staying on Themyscira kept the Amazons young. By deciding to leave the island, Diana sacrificed her eternal youth.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

December

November

More