Paul Shanly's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Batman Universe Reviews: 70
6.0Avg. Review Rating

4.0
Archie Meets Batman '66 #3

Sep 26, 2018

This is a fun issue. There's no doubt about it. But the creative team still has to tell a compelling story that moves the plot forward and this issue feels like it wastes the momentum it built up in the previous two issues. Let's hope it recovers next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman (2016): Secret Files #1

Oct 31, 2018

I would have preferred that if they were going to make this a Secret Files book, I think there should have been more connective tissue between the individual stories. Batman Secret Files #1 stands with the other recent anthology books that DC has published, and while I dont think that every single story was a home run, theres enough value to make this book worth the time to read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #23

Aug 23, 2018

Despite some structural issues with how this book was put together, an interesting take on a classic Bat-villain had me enjoy this issue quite a bit.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II #1

Dec 6, 2017

Its a fun read that sets up an interesting return to what was established in the previous series. Grab some pizza and enjoy the ride. Thats what I did.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II #2

Dec 20, 2017

Im really digging Freddie Williams' art in this series, and I feel that his cartoony yet detailed and kinetic style is perfect for a story featuring the mutants of the Turtles world and the more straightforward superheroes of Batmans world. I especially like his imposing take on Bane, especially in the final scene with Bane leaning over Baxter Stockman with biceps three times the size of Stockmans head.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II #3

Jan 17, 2018

This series continues to be a straightforward and wildly entertaining book that shows clear reverence for both sets of characters. If you arent reading it, Damian would probably say something condescending and insulting here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II #4

Feb 21, 2018

I continue to really enjoy this series. And while I did find this issue a little short, I also have to consider it might also be because I simply wanted more. But seriously DC, stop giving away the end of an issue with the cover.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II #5

Mar 21, 2018

Pacing issues aside, this series has been very entertaining and I look forward to seeing how it all wraps up next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II #6

Apr 18, 2018

I enjoyed this series as a love letter to the TMNT, as it made me remember when I was a kid, as well as the overall treatment of Bane. Go throw on Vanilla Ices Ninja Rap and enjoy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman/The Shadow #5

Aug 23, 2017

This book continues to be a compelling story filled with atmosphere and tension as it nears its conclusion. Im looking forward to reading the complete story next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman/The Shadow #6

Sep 27, 2017

A satisfying conclusion to what has been the best Batman series Ive read this year. Im looking forward to next month when Steve Orlando and Giovanni Timpano start Dynamites The Shadow/Batman mini-series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Damned #1

Sep 19, 2018

I've always looked forward to any book that pairs Azzarello and Bermejo but this book is so far shaping up to be something special, a book that makes use of the lack of the usual restrictions to tell a unique story. The bar has been set very high for DC's Black Label.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Nightwing vs. Hush #1

Jun 6, 2018

This book feels like it wanted to do something original and explore Nightwings connection to Batman in a new and interesting way, but got tangled up in its own themes and as a result, falls flat on whatever face Hush happens to be wearing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Harley Quinn vs. Joker #1

Jun 27, 2018

These wedding prelude issues have been very hit or miss for me, but I enjoyed this issue and thought it was an interesting progression for Harley Quinns character. Now on to the wedding.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Robin vs. Ra's Al Ghul #1

May 30, 2018

Books like this are meant to be character pieces, with a clear build to the big event of Batman #50 where the Joker looks to be getting ready to do something horrible. While I can appreciate some of the ideas that this book wants to play with, I just don't feel they are conveyed or executed well.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Red Hood vs. Anarky #1

Jun 20, 2018

This book suffers from a severe lack of focus. Is this an Anarky story, a Red Hood story, or is this just about Catwoman getting a night of dancing? I'm honestly not sure.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Batgirl vs. The Riddler #1

Jun 13, 2018

This was a tight and well-executed issue. I love this take on Riddler and I hope we see more stories like this in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batwoman (2017) #17

Jul 19, 2018

While I miss the globe-trotting take on the character, this is a solid issue. Ill be sure to see where the next issue is going. You should too.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batwoman (2017) #18

Aug 16, 2018

Its weird to argue that a comic book would have been better served to have the main characters go for a coffee instead of punch a supervillain, but I think it would have served what I think the creators wanted to accomplish better than what is presented here. That being said, I think that this series ends with Batwoman and her world at a good place. With a TV series on the horizon, we have certainly not seen the last of Kate Kane.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Cursed Comics Cavalcade #1

Oct 12, 2018

This book was a bit of a mixed bag. There are some stories such as the Batman, Wonder Woman, Black Lightning/Katana, and Zatanna which I thought were very strong, and others that seemed out of place or were just poorly executed. I like that DC puts out these holiday-themed offerings and theres enough good in this book to recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
DC Beach Blanket Bad Guys Summer Special #1

Jul 27, 2018

This was an enjoyable anthology special featuring some strong short stories. The standouts for me were the Mr. Freeze and Gorilla Grodd stories, but the whole book from start to finish was entertaining. This is a worthwhile read for a summer afternoon.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
DC/Looney Tunes: The Joker/Daffy Duck #1

Aug 31, 2018

This was a fun read, if a little forgettable, which is where I think the bar usually is set for crossovers like this. While I think a bit more care would have resulted in a stronger story, once again, this a comic book about a homicidal clown meeting a cartoon duck. So Im also just kind of glad that this is a thing that exists.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #49

Sep 6, 2018

Im not advocating for a Darkness, No Parents take on Harley Quinn that would get old fast. If this was some sort of limited series, Harley vs the DC Universe, I would say buckle in and enjoy the ride. But in the Harley Quinn ongoing series, I think that the character deserves more than whats presented here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America (2017) #12

Aug 11, 2017

JLA seems to be rebounding in its last couple issues. This issue is a tight story that balances the quiet moments with an action heavy second half and I enjoyed reading it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nightwing (2016) #24

Sep 7, 2017

This title continues to be an entertaining read. While I found the wrap up of this issue a little forgettable, the personal stakes ended the story on a strong note and Im looking forward to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Nightwing (2016) #29

Sep 21, 2017

Im not generally a big fan of tie-in issues as they take away from the larger story and usually end up feeling like a cash-grab. There are, however, some legitimately good ideas and interesting concepts in this issue and I find myself frustrated that they werent more of a focus of the issue. While I wish the creative team had executed things a different way, this crossover has me interested enough to want to read to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nightwing (2016) #30

Oct 5, 2017

You can tell that Seeley is moving pieces around the board to wrap things up before he leaves the book, and its an enjoyable read. Ill be interested to see when its all said and done, if any of the elements of this story will remain when Sam Humphries takes over in December.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Nightwing (2016) #31

Oct 19, 2017

The ending of a thirty plus creative run on a book should have the feel of an event, with the issues building to a big finish and I just dont get that sense from this book. The characters seems to just keep circling each other without any sense of building urgency. Seeley has had a lot of good ideas throughout his run, and its a shame to see his time on the book ending this way. At this point, Im looking forward to this run being over and to the creator change in December.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Nightwing (2016) #32

Nov 2, 2017

As a grand finale, this book continues to underwhelm. It just doesnt feel as large or foreboding as it should be and I think that the blame continues to fall at the feet of Raptor not succeeding as a big enough, or compelling enough, threat for Nightwing. With two issues left, its double that much will improve before this story line wraps up and a new creative team takes over.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nightwing (2016) #33

Nov 16, 2017

This issue does a good job of keeping the action going and the story moving. Although I wonder if the book will stick the landing based on whats set up here, its a fun issue and I enjoyed reading it.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Nightwing (2016) #34

Dec 7, 2017

Its a shame that Tim Seeleys time on the book had to end this way, because there were elements in the series that worked very well, but very few of those elements came to play in this finale. Dick Grayson is a fantastic character that deserves better than whats been given here. I look forward to what Sam Humphries and Bernard Chang are cooking up for the series going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #35

Dec 21, 2017

This book is a cool and crazy crime comic and I cant wait for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #36

Jan 4, 2018

Humphries and Chang have turned Nightwing into a neon tinted noir thriller and frankly, Nightwing hasnt been this good in years. More please.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #37

Jan 18, 2018

Despite some issues with the art, I continue to be impressed with this new direction for Nightwing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #38

Feb 8, 2018

This book continues to be energetic and insane and yet still a gritty crime comic. Its a fun read. Go pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nightwing (2016) #39

Feb 22, 2018

Ive enjoyed this story arc so far, despite having issues with the reveal of Nightwings history with the Judge. Im interested to see where things go from here. I cant help but be a little disappointed that this is going to be Humphries only arc since a new creator has just been announced for the title.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Nightwing (2016) #40

Mar 8, 2018

This story arc came out swinging and while Ive enjoyed the story as a whole, I find its starting to lose steam. It will be interesting to see how this all wraps up next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nightwing (2016) #41

Mar 22, 2018

Despite some elements that I found to be too derivative of other work and some story gripes, I really enjoyed this run on the book and I think that Humphries and Chang put a lot of elements in to play. Im disappointed that those elements probably wont be paid off as the book goes forward with a new creative team.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Nightwing (2016) #42

Apr 5, 2018

This is a story that is a better idea for a story then it is in its execution. I can't imagine what someone whos never read an issue of Nightwing before would think about this story if they leaped onto the book for this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #43

Apr 19, 2018

Some of my favorite issues of Batman are the standalone issues that Alan Grant and Norm Breyfogle tended to favor in the early 90s. Those stories were more about the character than about plot and this story reminded me of those issues. Monthly comics seems to be focused on 6-12 issue epics that play better when collected in a trade and while those are great too, they dont all need to be big long-form stories. I hope to see more stories like this in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nightwing (2016) #44

May 3, 2018

This story had some interesting ideas and some nice character moments. And while Im not sure if this story is one that is particularly well suited to Nightwing, Im interested to see where things are going.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nightwing (2016) #45

Jun 7, 2018

I enjoyed this issue, which I found to build well on the last issue and Im looking forward to the next one. Also, I may want to go watch Batman Forever now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #22

May 10, 2018

This was an enjoyable and emotional issue, that did a great job of paying off a storyline that paid off the story arc of Bizarros rise and fall in a touching way that didnt feel forced or false. Lobdell continues to show that he has a good handle on who these characters are and gives you characters to root for while driving the story forward. More, please.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #25

Aug 9, 2018

It is mindboggling that a comic book with Bizarro would continue to give me the feels, but here we are. This has consistently been one of DCs best books. Go buy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #24

Aug 25, 2017

I enjoyed the action-thriller tone of this story. Its not a perfect story but Im interested to see where things go from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #25

Sep 15, 2017

This story had a lot of promise but opted for a quick, uncomplicated, and boring resolution that doesnt pay off all that build up in any sort of meaningful way.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #26

Sep 29, 2017

Much like with most crossover events, I find that this issue, and Gotham Resistance as a whole, cant be judged as an issue of the series it takes place in, be it Suicide Squad or anything else. This issue improves on the previous two issues of Gotham Resistance and Im looking forward to the story continuing in Green Arrow.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #27

Oct 13, 2017

This story is a bit of a mixed bag, but there are some interesting ideas. The series has been very up and down and Im curious to see which way the next issue will go.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #28

Oct 27, 2017

There are some nice touches in this story that play in the early history of the DCU, but ultimately the story would have benefited from fleshing out the main plot. Well see where this goes next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #29

Nov 10, 2017

This is an uneven story with some fun, movie inspired moments. I feel like this book is at its best when its just letting the team go off on an adventure, but that it gets bogged down in making sure it stays true to being a Suicide Squad story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #30

Nov 24, 2017

A well paced and action history issue. It isn't perfect, but I enjoyed it.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #31

Dec 15, 2017

This arc has gone on way too long and continues to confuse and frustrate. My biggest problem with this storyline, is that I just dont particularly care how they get out of this one. Do better folks, the readers deserve it.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #32

Dec 29, 2017

This is a book that continues to play it safe and as long as that is the case, its never going to be more than mediocre.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #33

Jan 12, 2018

The issue is quick and action heavy and while I thought it was a bit on the nose, I enjoyed it.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #34

Jan 26, 2018

This issue was pointless and I didnt enjoy the unrelenting negative tone of the story. Juan Soria may not belong in this story, but neither does anyone else.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #35

Feb 16, 2018

I like the new story arc and Im curious to see if there are any long-term effects or consequences that are going to spin out of this story. Im very curious to see how this creative team handles the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #36

Mar 2, 2018

This issue was, just fine. It did its job in moving the story forward, but story problems keep it from being more than that. I do however like the idea of all of Wallers secrets either exposed and destroyed, and for a book that I feel has played it far too safe over its run so far, I think there is a real opportunity to hit the reset button and do something new with this title, but we will have to wait till next issue to see if the creators are willing to push it.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #37

Mar 16, 2018

This could have been a very interesting story of revenge and past mistakes coming back to haunt Captain Boomerang. As it stands, all it has done is make me want to watch Tron.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #38

Mar 30, 2018

This book feels like it is just marking time until No Justice gives it a creative restart. Id recommend that anyone looking to jump on to this title Dont Just Dont.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #39

Apr 13, 2018

This is a fairly solid issue in a mediocre storyline. It seemed like the book was headed for a creative change with the No Justice relaunch coming next month but that doesnt appear to be the case. Ill be interested to see if this book turns a corner once this storyline is done. At the very least Batman will be guest starring on the title in May.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #40

Apr 27, 2018

This book is uninspired and has no interest in stretching passed its formula and is in desperate need of a reboot.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Shadow/Batman #1

Oct 4, 2017

This book is well thought out, compelling, and beautifully drawn and continues to maintain the very high bar that the Batman/The Shadow crossover set for this series to follow. Books like this are the ones that keep me reading Batman every month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Shadow/Batman #3

Dec 6, 2017

This series continues to impress, with Orlando and Timpano delivering well thought out and layered story. More please.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Shadow/Batman #4

Jan 3, 2018

This continues to be a well written and expertly drawn series and I'm looking forward to seeing where this is going as it moves into its final two issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Shadow/Batman #5

Feb 7, 2018

This story started off extremely strong, and while I do feel that they have had some trouble executing some of the more interesting ideas in the book, the series still has my attention, and I'm looking forward to the last issue and seeing how this story ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Shadow/Batman #6

Mar 7, 2018

This series started out strong but didn't quite stick the landing for me in its final issue. It was still an enjoyable read and I'm sorry to see this story end.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Titans (2016) #24

Aug 10, 2018

While I feel that this story should have larger in scope, there are some interesting ideas and Im curious to see where the story is going.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Titans (2016) #25

Sep 14, 2018

I don't particularly enjoy the Titans vs random imaginary friends direction that the book has taken. I like this line up of characters, but I think that the writer is still figuring out what to do with them. Nightwing is about to undergo some pretty big changes in his own title, so I have to wonder if the direction of this book is going to be taking another turn shortly.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Titans (2016) #26

Sep 28, 2018

I like a lot of elements of this book but it still seems to be floundering. Change might be coming though. It still remains to be seen how the series is going to be handing the new status quo that Nightwing is going to be going through over the next few months.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Titans (2016) #27

Oct 12, 2018

Team books are all about how the characters interact with one another, and with a team with as much history as the Titans, I want the book to take the time to tell smaller stories like this. I also want the book to just be better then whats presented here.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

More