Paul Shanly's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Batman Universe Reviews: 12
6.5Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Batman/The Shadow #5

Aug 23, 2017

This book continues to be a compelling story filled with atmosphere and tension as it nears its conclusion. Im looking forward to reading the complete story next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman/The Shadow #6

Sep 27, 2017

A satisfying conclusion to what has been the best Batman series Ive read this year. Im looking forward to next month when Steve Orlando and Giovanni Timpano start Dynamites The Shadow/Batman mini-series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America (2017) #12

Aug 11, 2017

JLA seems to be rebounding in its last couple issues. This issue is a tight story that balances the quiet moments with an action heavy second half and I enjoyed reading it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nightwing (2016) #24

Sep 7, 2017

This title continues to be an entertaining read. While I found the wrap up of this issue a little forgettable, the personal stakes ended the story on a strong note and Im looking forward to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Nightwing (2016) #29

Sep 21, 2017

Im not generally a big fan of tie-in issues as they take away from the larger story and usually end up feeling like a cash-grab. There are, however, some legitimately good ideas and interesting concepts in this issue and I find myself frustrated that they werent more of a focus of the issue. While I wish the creative team had executed things a different way, this crossover has me interested enough to want to read to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nightwing (2016) #30

Oct 5, 2017

You can tell that Seeley is moving pieces around the board to wrap things up before he leaves the book, and its an enjoyable read. Ill be interested to see when its all said and done, if any of the elements of this story will remain when Sam Humphries takes over in December.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Nightwing (2016) #31

Oct 19, 2017

The ending of a thirty plus creative run on a book should have the feel of an event, with the issues building to a big finish and I just dont get that sense from this book. The characters seems to just keep circling each other without any sense of building urgency. Seeley has had a lot of good ideas throughout his run, and its a shame to see his time on the book ending this way. At this point, Im looking forward to this run being over and to the creator change in December.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #24

Aug 25, 2017

I enjoyed the action-thriller tone of this story. Its not a perfect story but Im interested to see where things go from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #25

Sep 15, 2017

This story had a lot of promise but opted for a quick, uncomplicated, and boring resolution that doesnt pay off all that build up in any sort of meaningful way.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #26

Sep 29, 2017

Much like with most crossover events, I find that this issue, and Gotham Resistance as a whole, cant be judged as an issue of the series it takes place in, be it Suicide Squad or anything else. This issue improves on the previous two issues of Gotham Resistance and Im looking forward to the story continuing in Green Arrow.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #27

Oct 13, 2017

This story is a bit of a mixed bag, but there are some interesting ideas. The series has been very up and down and Im curious to see which way the next issue will go.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Shadow/Batman #1

Oct 4, 2017

This book is well thought out, compelling, and beautifully drawn and continues to maintain the very high bar that the Batman/The Shadow crossover set for this series to follow. Books like this are the ones that keep me reading Batman every month.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

October

September

More