Paul Shanly's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Batman Universe Reviews: 29
6.4Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II #1

Dec 6, 2017

Its a fun read that sets up an interesting return to what was established in the previous series. Grab some pizza and enjoy the ride. Thats what I did.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II #2

Dec 20, 2017

Im really digging Freddie Williams' art in this series, and I feel that his cartoony yet detailed and kinetic style is perfect for a story featuring the mutants of the Turtles world and the more straightforward superheroes of Batmans world. I especially like his imposing take on Bane, especially in the final scene with Bane leaning over Baxter Stockman with biceps three times the size of Stockmans head.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II #3

Jan 17, 2018

This series continues to be a straightforward and wildly entertaining book that shows clear reverence for both sets of characters. If you arent reading it, Damian would probably say something condescending and insulting here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman/The Shadow #5

Aug 23, 2017

This book continues to be a compelling story filled with atmosphere and tension as it nears its conclusion. Im looking forward to reading the complete story next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman/The Shadow #6

Sep 27, 2017

A satisfying conclusion to what has been the best Batman series Ive read this year. Im looking forward to next month when Steve Orlando and Giovanni Timpano start Dynamites The Shadow/Batman mini-series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America (2017) #12

Aug 11, 2017

JLA seems to be rebounding in its last couple issues. This issue is a tight story that balances the quiet moments with an action heavy second half and I enjoyed reading it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nightwing (2016) #24

Sep 7, 2017

This title continues to be an entertaining read. While I found the wrap up of this issue a little forgettable, the personal stakes ended the story on a strong note and Im looking forward to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Nightwing (2016) #29

Sep 21, 2017

Im not generally a big fan of tie-in issues as they take away from the larger story and usually end up feeling like a cash-grab. There are, however, some legitimately good ideas and interesting concepts in this issue and I find myself frustrated that they werent more of a focus of the issue. While I wish the creative team had executed things a different way, this crossover has me interested enough to want to read to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nightwing (2016) #30

Oct 5, 2017

You can tell that Seeley is moving pieces around the board to wrap things up before he leaves the book, and its an enjoyable read. Ill be interested to see when its all said and done, if any of the elements of this story will remain when Sam Humphries takes over in December.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Nightwing (2016) #31

Oct 19, 2017

The ending of a thirty plus creative run on a book should have the feel of an event, with the issues building to a big finish and I just dont get that sense from this book. The characters seems to just keep circling each other without any sense of building urgency. Seeley has had a lot of good ideas throughout his run, and its a shame to see his time on the book ending this way. At this point, Im looking forward to this run being over and to the creator change in December.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Nightwing (2016) #32

Nov 2, 2017

As a grand finale, this book continues to underwhelm. It just doesnt feel as large or foreboding as it should be and I think that the blame continues to fall at the feet of Raptor not succeeding as a big enough, or compelling enough, threat for Nightwing. With two issues left, its double that much will improve before this story line wraps up and a new creative team takes over.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nightwing (2016) #33

Nov 16, 2017

This issue does a good job of keeping the action going and the story moving. Although I wonder if the book will stick the landing based on whats set up here, its a fun issue and I enjoyed reading it.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Nightwing (2016) #34

Dec 7, 2017

Its a shame that Tim Seeleys time on the book had to end this way, because there were elements in the series that worked very well, but very few of those elements came to play in this finale. Dick Grayson is a fantastic character that deserves better than whats been given here. I look forward to what Sam Humphries and Bernard Chang are cooking up for the series going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #35

Dec 21, 2017

This book is a cool and crazy crime comic and I cant wait for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #36

Jan 4, 2018

Humphries and Chang have turned Nightwing into a neon tinted noir thriller and frankly, Nightwing hasnt been this good in years. More please.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #37

Jan 18, 2018

Despite some issues with the art, I continue to be impressed with this new direction for Nightwing.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #24

Aug 25, 2017

I enjoyed the action-thriller tone of this story. Its not a perfect story but Im interested to see where things go from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #25

Sep 15, 2017

This story had a lot of promise but opted for a quick, uncomplicated, and boring resolution that doesnt pay off all that build up in any sort of meaningful way.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #26

Sep 29, 2017

Much like with most crossover events, I find that this issue, and Gotham Resistance as a whole, cant be judged as an issue of the series it takes place in, be it Suicide Squad or anything else. This issue improves on the previous two issues of Gotham Resistance and Im looking forward to the story continuing in Green Arrow.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #27

Oct 13, 2017

This story is a bit of a mixed bag, but there are some interesting ideas. The series has been very up and down and Im curious to see which way the next issue will go.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #28

Oct 27, 2017

There are some nice touches in this story that play in the early history of the DCU, but ultimately the story would have benefited from fleshing out the main plot. Well see where this goes next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #29

Nov 10, 2017

This is an uneven story with some fun, movie inspired moments. I feel like this book is at its best when its just letting the team go off on an adventure, but that it gets bogged down in making sure it stays true to being a Suicide Squad story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #30

Nov 24, 2017

A well paced and action history issue. It isn't perfect, but I enjoyed it.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #31

Dec 15, 2017

This arc has gone on way too long and continues to confuse and frustrate. My biggest problem with this storyline, is that I just dont particularly care how they get out of this one. Do better folks, the readers deserve it.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #32

Dec 29, 2017

This is a book that continues to play it safe and as long as that is the case, its never going to be more than mediocre.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #33

Jan 12, 2018

The issue is quick and action heavy and while I thought it was a bit on the nose, I enjoyed it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Shadow/Batman #1

Oct 4, 2017

This book is well thought out, compelling, and beautifully drawn and continues to maintain the very high bar that the Batman/The Shadow crossover set for this series to follow. Books like this are the ones that keep me reading Batman every month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Shadow/Batman #3

Dec 6, 2017

This series continues to impress, with Orlando and Timpano delivering well thought out and layered story. More please.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Shadow/Batman #4

Jan 3, 2018

This continues to be a well written and expertly drawn series and I'm looking forward to seeing where this is going as it moves into its final two issues.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

January

December

More