Tim Hartnett's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 192
6.7Avg. Review Rating

9.0
1602 #1

Aug 18, 2003

I'm very pleased at Mr. Gaiman's ability to distribute such a grand story in the utmost detail. And what more, it's 32 pages of story for $3.50, unlike Born and Thor: Vikings, which are only 22 for that same price. Definitely worth picking up, but you'll probably have trouble finding it by now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Action Comics #809

Nov 13, 2003

Be sure to read my Superman column in the Silver Soapbox, right here at the Internet's Most Diverse Comics' Webzine!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Adventures Of Superman #617

Jun 13, 2003

This is a very good Superman adventure. A comic doesn't have to be dark and controversial to be good, and Joe Casey has proved it once again. Comic fans will continue to be pleased with Casey's proper drafting of the Man of Steel for a treasured length of time. (Thank God I'm done typing, "Mxyzptlk" for the time being.)

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Adventures Of Superman #618

Jul 10, 2003

It gets the four silver bullets because it's different, fun, and has a lot a ton of thought & effort. Furthermore, it's not Superman trying to stop another alien invasion (at least not in the usual sense). In addition, the Man of Tomorrow is one of my favourite characters, and when a writer and artist combine to make a memorable story, I certainly know. You might want to pick this up if you hadn't already done so. Live a little---stop reading Marvel for a few moments.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Adventures Of Superman #619

Aug 17, 2003

Again, there's nothing particularly new here, but it's not WHAT the comic's about, it's HOW it's done. I know I'm certainly going to miss the way Joe Casey does it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Adventures Of Superman #620

Sep 15, 2003

We all know of the upcoming creative changes, but Im really going to miss Joe Casey. He tells stories reminiscent of classic Superman with a modern twist, ones that dont rely on gimmicks.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Agent X #12

Jun 29, 2003

There really isn't much else to say about this issue, as is the case with many Marvel issues this week. I just hope next week is a better month for comics in general.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Agent X #13

Sep 2, 2003

A ton of fun and a classic feel; this is certainly an X-book that is more deserving of your money than a lot of the others. Now if only we could get Gail on Uncanny

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Amazing Spider-Man #500

Oct 28, 2003

It's very clever of JMS to conclude this book with the scene between Uncle Ben and Peter. It gives a sense of completion to the last 500 issues, and provides a non-gimmicky milestone which will be remembered for a long time. I remain a bit disheartened by the fact that Marvel does not make any "Thank you for 40 great years" or even acknowledge issue 500. Then again, that's nothing out of the ordinary these days.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Amazing Spider-Man #503

Feb 17, 2004

It's not that this is hopelessly unsophisticated or anything, it's just horrible. Appalling. Severely dreadful. Stay away.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man Vol. 2 #56

Aug 18, 2003

I've never read anything by Fiona Avery, but I can truly say that she's written one of the best Spider-Man stories I've read in awhile. Stay tuned to this title, as it approaches #500 within the next few months.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Arrowsmith #2

Aug 27, 2003

A very clever, if somewhat predictable brainchild of Mr. Busiek; so true to itself that even the paper feels like a canvas. It's difficult to sell this book on what we have so far, as the main conflict has yet to be fully established, but I do hope there is much unexpected in store for us.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Arrowsmith #3

Sep 24, 2003

Very imaginative and well-intended, as the reader can tell Kurt Busiek spent a lot of effort and time on these characters. However, the story comes off a bit childish in the end, mostly due to the predictable formulas and simplicity of the plot.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Avengers (1998) #69

Aug 18, 2003

So it comes to what you're willing to settle for. If this kind of drawn out, poor attempt at action is what you're looking for, then you'll probably get excited beyond belief. But when I read a comic, I demand a lot more than what Mr. Johns is presenting to back up the action. Chuck Austen may actually do some good for this book if he gives these characters some personality and let them have some fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Avengers (1998) #70

Oct 6, 2003

Speaking of ultra-intensive commentary, there's no better place for that than David Gallaher's Paper Golems column! Read all about David's theories on the comic book art, in ways you never though possible!

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Avengers (1998) #71

Oct 24, 2003

The plot makes sense in the end, even if it's held together by scotch tape and latex (sorry, had to go there). I mean I guess the story's possible; but you don't get your money's worth with the Avengers these days, with a story even I could tell in five pages, and a premise that's as immature and desperate as the "Red Zone." If you want to read the definitive review, see Ray Tate's take, somewhere else on this site.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Avengers (1998) #77

Jan 9, 2004

Not an overwhelmingly earth-shaking debut, but enough to immediately place Austen over Geoff Johns and bring me back to Avengers that's been long in need of a scribe like Chuck Austen.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman #615

Jun 3, 2003

Batman will continue to top the sales charts with its unique approach, and universally pleasing story.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Batman #616

Jun 28, 2003

The art is perhaps the letdown this time around, as the creative team moves into their ninth month. It's getting a bit weary month after month waiting for the next issue of this highly-slow moving arc, which is consistently unentertaining and substance lacking. Last issue was a better effort---I can only hope Jeph Loeb took a break this month only.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman #617

Aug 1, 2003

One of the most amusing panels in the book is Robin launching himself at Catwoman in the middle of page seven. It's one for the ages.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Batman #618

Sep 2, 2003

Batman #618 will serve a better purpose on the toilet paper racks than on the ones you find at your local comic store. It's light, durable, and flushable.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Batman #619

Oct 1, 2003

*Actually, you should pick up a bunch of them to sell later for lots of money to people who don't know any better. They'll serve a better purpose that way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman #620

Nov 4, 2003

I have no problem with the more adult take on this title, I just wish DC would take off the Comics Code symbol before some parent screams about what Azzarello's putting into their child's mind. All this creative team has to do now is move the plot along with the same feel and they got it going. A very welcome take on the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Adventures #5

Aug 20, 2003

My fellow reviewer, Ray Tate, often remarks that this book shows the most respect for the Batman character, and I clearly agree with him after reading the title. It's a fast, fun adventure which is not the least bit derivative of Batman's overused aspects. There's even a backup piece here to supplement the story, which you won't find many other places for that price.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman/Superman/Wonder Woman: Trinity #1

Jun 21, 2003

This is definitely a story suited to the prestige format. With the pace Wagner has chosen, this would not have worked in the periodical pamphlet. Wagner has quite a unique voice in comics and his take on three of the greatest superheroes of all time in their early years does justice to their creators vision, as well as Wagners own spice.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman: Death and the Maidens #1

Aug 11, 2003

This is a potentially spectacular miniseries from Greg Rucka, but unfortunately there's not enough for me hear to say very much yet. I hope that Mr. Rucka start moving things along more quickly, or he may lose me sooner than planned.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Birds of Prey (1998) #56

Jun 21, 2003

Ok, so its good, by why will this be one of my all-time favorites? Because simply put, I predict that Simones run will be highly memorable by its own right. This will be the issue that started it all. I havent looked forward to a title coming out this much since 1991. Simone hasn't just reenergized the value of an interesting superhero team, but also has created a signature feel that readers will love to return to What a great start by the new creative team---truly will appeal to the masses!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Birds of Prey (1998) #57

Jul 25, 2003

So it's not the glimpse of perfection I was hoping for in a second issue, but it does its job just fine. I'm still looking forward to the coming months ahead; I have the feeling that this run will be just as memorable as it started out to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Birds of Prey (1998) #58

Aug 20, 2003

There's no way I couldn't enjoy a Gail Simone-written issue. It just seems as if the more dramatic elements of the story are starting to outweigh the sheer genius of Ms. Simone's wit and humor. You should probably pick up this title, but you may not find much new here.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Birds of Prey (1998) #63

Jan 25, 2004

This title has caught me so far off guard recently that it has quickly moved to my favorite, beating out Ultimate Spider-Man. As I said earlier, there's something for everyone here, and no one I know of can achieve this level of wonderful catastrophe better than the salon-lurking comic scribes.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Black Panther (1998) #62

Jul 25, 2003

So there you have it, the end of Black Panther, Volume 2. As stated in the back of the book, the adventures of (the original) Black Panther continue in the Avengers, and the adventures of White Tiger continue in The Crew.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Brath #6

Aug 22, 2003

It's a coliseum fight involving a beautiful warrior fighting vicious animals, and a classic Barbarian/Empire saga. With Chuck Dixon at the helm, what more could you want? Be here next month for the return of Brath.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Catwoman (2002) #21

Aug 4, 2003

This is the "Book of the Month" in Wizard, and my curiosity as to why that is has proved profitable. Fashions like these tend to raise the bar when it comes to reviewing other comics. It doesn't matter if you're a Catwoman fan or not---if you enjoy a brisk, rewarding story told in an exuberant manner, then this is written for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Catwoman (2002) #22

Sep 8, 2003

This remains a simple, yet realistic title which I have absolutely come to love. Even the coloring places a dark feel on the reader, and it will leave you coming back not only for the story, but also the general aura and the characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Daredevil (1998) #47

May 30, 2003

By no means is this work in vain. It's another Brian Bendis tale, which won't disappoint with his mastery of situational dialogue and entertaining story, but there is little unexpected in this drawn-out comic strip of the Man Without Fear---wherever he may be

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Daredevil (1998) #48

Jun 20, 2003

Marvel Knights is supposed to be on the edge---a selling point of our mutual friend, Joe Quesada. But the TV show is starting to lose its demographic. Maybe they should change the format to "Bendis says the darndest things."

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daredevil (1998) #50

Aug 20, 2003

This issue is so good, it redeems the ones leading up to it. It's the Daredevil character at his best, which can't be put into words, so you better pick it up to see what I'm talking about. Unfortunately, David Mack picks up the title soon, and I don't know if I want to be around for that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Daredevil (1998) #56

Jan 25, 2004

Not the homerun I was expecting, and far too little happens, but hopefully we can get things moving soon. Although, I find myself saying that a bit too many of Bendis' books these days.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dr. Fate #1

Aug 10, 2003

While the story has yet to get much underway, I'm tremendously pleased at the thoughtful direction this is taking. Even though the concept isn't cutting-edge or groundbreaking, Messrs. Golden and Kramer have given us a script and a story that is. This is the best book this week, and a wonderful addition to the recent ranks of DC's finest titles. And the fact that's it's fun too, makes it all the better.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dragon's Lair #1

Aug 22, 2003

This work is not groundbreaking, and is rather simple, but well told and beautifully drawn. I know I will be back next month to follow the adventures of Dirk, and this is the sort of title you should try if you're looking for something new, yet refreshing and uncomplicated.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
El Cazador #1

Sep 21, 2003

Not terrible, but way too obvious to be engaging for the cover price. It sounds like pretty much everything else Chuck Dixon has done for CrossGen, and we all know there's plenty of that already.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Elektra (2001) #24

Jun 8, 2003

Thus far, this revamp is a misfire. Rodi needs to produce focused stories or arcs, or face the same downfall Joe Casey did with Uncanny X-Men. A general disappointment, but perhaps enough ideas are present for future ventures.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Emma Frost #1

Jul 11, 2003

So it's another Marvel title they're starting about one of their characters. I guess it works, but I really don't see the need for it. It will be interesting to see how this creative team builds the bridge between Emma's early life and later. And let's hope Mr. Bollers doesn't forget too much continuity along the way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Emma Frost #2

Aug 18, 2003

So if you want to be surprised with an absolutely well-done story, than buy this book. Or if you want to buy it for the Greg Horn pinup, that's ok too. I'll say it again: a comic doesn't have to be dark and cutting-edge to be great, and Karl Bollers has proved that to me once again.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Emma Frost #3

Sep 15, 2003

Try Emma Frost if youre looking for an unlikely alternative. Its very entertaining and well paced, and satisfies the reader for a weeks effort.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Emma Frost #4

Oct 28, 2003

While #4 is certainly better than average with Karl Bollers' clever take, it comes off as slightly contrived in the end with some of its more important elements. It's not a must read, but certainly something to try if you're looking for a break from less worthy titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Empire #1

Aug 4, 2003

Mr. Waid and Mr. Kitson are the master of creating "feels" for books, and he has done it much more with his own creation. This is a fantastic new (limited) title for DC's universe, and I am glad that Messrs. Waid and Kitson have a second shot at this. A brilliant achievement.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Empire #6

Jan 9, 2004

The only thing that saves the issue from total disaster is Barry Kitson's beautiful artwork, which I'm glad will be seen soon in Marvel. Other than that, it's best just to stick with the first five issues of Empire's DC incarnation and wonder what this could have been. A terrible bail-out ending.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Fables #14

Jun 15, 2003

A delightful month for Fables! Offbeat, and packed with precision, it will have you coming back for #15. Just ask Goldilocks.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fables #15

Jul 10, 2003

It could use some captions to reaffirm the story, but other than that, this is a nice addition to the Fables library. This might not be the best week to jump on board for new or recently departed readers, but to those who have been following the book continuously; it's a nice little treat.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Fables #16

Aug 18, 2003

As stated before, this won't really appeal to those who crave action comics, or maybe even some new readers, but if you like intelligent directions and the unexpected, this is certainly the book for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Fables: The Last Castle #1

Oct 1, 2003

*Although Steve Hamilton was credited as the artist in the credits section of my review, I accidently wrote in Steve McNiven as the artist in the body. I regret the error.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fallen Angel #1

Jul 11, 2003

This is a really good start to the book, and although it's obviously not something in my normal repertoire, I'll be back next month to pick it up. You should do the same.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fallen Angel #2

Aug 17, 2003

This is really off to a great start, and I have every hope and assurance that Mr. David will continue to please. The Fallen Angel is one of those heroes that is so well done, you can't wait to follow them on their next adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Fantastic Four #69

Jun 3, 2003

Five years ago, in early 1998, Scott Lobdell and Alan Davis got a crack at the Fantastic Four in issues #1-3 of Volume Three in by far the best run (if short) of the last ten years. It was a back to basics, simple, but comical approach to the then-worn down characters. Only Mark Waid has come close to matching the grandeur and nostalgic feel of their run thus far.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fantastic Four #499

Jun 29, 2003

Thus Mark Waid has achieved what he's trying to do with this team in crafting a fun take on the team that anyone can enjoy. This is the last of the Mohicans---the only book left that Bill Jemas and company haven't turned into a dark, "cutting-edge" farce which exists only through current trends and big breasts, only to take itself too seriously. Unfortunately, this is soon to go, so appreciate it while it's still here.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Fantastic Four #500

Jul 10, 2003

***CONGRATULATIONS ON 500 ISSUES!!! THANKS FOR 42 GREAT YEARS!!! HERE'S TO THE NEXT!!!***

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Fantastic Four #501

Aug 1, 2003

The issue isn't too offensive, but the reason it only gets ONE AND A HALF SILVER BULLETS is simply because it doesn't do much for Mr. Waid's run (this was written before he was fired.) The changes are rather predictable, and some things are more bizarre than entertaining. What started out as such a fun, great run has turned into a failed Disney flick which has worn out its welcome.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Fantastic Four #502

Aug 17, 2003

I wish there were more in store for Marvel's first family than an overly-serious seven issue romp, but I am glad it's all over. Here's hoping Mr. Waid will return to the feel he created at the start of his run, instead of trying to make us all feel like we're at a funeral.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Fantastic Four #503

Sep 2, 2003

Now that "The 5th Wheel" is over, I'm glad we can finally move on with something worthy of the Four. The team of "imaginauts" appears to be having an adventure once again---but unfortunately, that will be coming to a close in a few months

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Fantastic Four #509

Jan 25, 2004

This is quite a rare treat and an exceptional venture, and it's good to see that we got this instead of what's going to be going on in 4 soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (1987) #200

Jul 31, 2003

We get a preview of next month's new artist, Alberto Dose on the final two pages. Look for the strong change in style!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Formerly Known As The Justice League #1

Jul 4, 2003

This book is the perfect template for any writer, artist, inker, letterer, or anyone trying to break into the business. The creative team is one of the most talented ever (re)assembled---this is reminiscent of days when comics were still be considered great, even if they weren't dark or controversial. I thoroughly enjoyed this Justice League, and so will you. It had me smiling, shaking my head, and oh, you have to love the scene between Max and Beatriz. That scene alone could go up on my refrigerator. I only wished the current JLA---heck, most comics in general, were this much fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Formerly Known As The Justice League #2

Aug 10, 2003

The jokes may be a bit repetitive, and some simply not funny, but for the most part, this is as good as it was last issue. There are so many reasons to come back to this book, and I'm very pleased that DC has allowed a second miniseries to go ahead.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Formerly Known As The Justice League #4

Oct 6, 2003

Wanna see what you should be reading this week? Michael Diaz can show you over in What Looks Good?! And then be sure to check my, as well as the other reviewers' take on his picks in the reviews each week.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Gotham Central #11

Sep 15, 2003

This is certainly one of the best books of the week as the premise is one of the most welcoming status-quos Ive read in awhile. Id also recommend you try out the related Bat-books as they are equal in their storytelling quality. Marvelous.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Gotham Central #12

Oct 24, 2003

I had a lot of fun with Gotham Central this week, and you should have too. There's everything you could possibly want in a comic book; you know you're going to get your money's worth with this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hip Flask: Elephant Men #1

Sep 21, 2003

Quite an exposition from Comicraft, be sure to check out Hip Flask: Elephantmen as well as the Hipflask: Unnatural Selection hardcover, now on sale at your local comic shop.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Hulk: Gray #1

Oct 23, 2003

It's not horrible (especially compared to Loeb's Superman/Batman) but I don't see the need to spend 64% more money for a predictable retelling of the Hulk story in the Jeph Loeb manner, which means six issues to tell ten minutes worth of an overdramatic, dark derivative.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Incredible Hulk (1999) #55

Jun 13, 2003

This story is neither attention-grabbing, nor innovative. It packs B-movie clichs into a pamphlet designed to attract interest to Marvel, in which it fails to just that, as well as please fans already on the title. The ability of the Absorbing Man is presented as a clever avoidance to the simple plot device of "mind control". The villain is flat and unbelievable, there's no Hulk, and the quality of story and dialogue is a hoodwinking charade.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Inhumans (2003) #3

Jul 25, 2003

It's ordinary, predictable stuff, really, and very few new readers will be bowled over by the concept. This week has come and gone; I just hope a bit more happens in next month's issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Inhumans (2003) #4

Sep 2, 2003

This is a good book, if you like that kind of stuff. And while it's labeled Inhumans, you've seen it before, somewhere, somehow. Since it's taken us four issues to establish a conflict, you might want to try something else.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Iron Man (1998) #69

Jun 13, 2003

A nice conclusion to the arc, but the reader may be weary of waiting five months for it. The creative change to Laws is not a bad choice, and writes Iron Man the way it should be---nothing too serious, adventurous, and maybe a subplot or two (Happy and Pepper in this case). Tom Brevoort and company also did something rare these days by including a letters section. Definitely work picking up if you like superheroes and long adventures.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Iron Man (1998) #70

Jul 10, 2003

It should have gotten four silver bullets, except for a somewhat mediocre climax. Consider it a B, but this creative team gets many accolades for a wonderful effort.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Iron Man (1998) #73

Oct 13, 2003

It's a book which adults will enjoy for the maturity, Tim Hartnett will enjoy because it's what I like to see in modern day superhero books, and kids and younger adults can take to with the action. You can tell Miller is a talented writer because he's doing his job the right way---a fresh, intelligent, take, on a historically unremarkable character, but most of all---one that respects and adds to the traits of the character and not just a story which could fit any character. It gets extra points just for being able to keep me interested, because for this title, that's quite an accomplishment.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
JLA #83

Aug 1, 2003

Memo to the Justice League: Freedom Fries will no longer be served in the mess hall. Thank you.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
JLA #84

Aug 17, 2003

Doug Mahnke and Tom Nguyen try to make up for this with their strong artwork, but unfortunately nothing can redeem this issue. This is the kind of book that discerning readers like you and I need to avoid. I'd say more, but it simply doesn't deserve our time.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
JLA/Avengers #2

Oct 28, 2003

You know you're gonna buy this, and there's nothing I can say to stop you from doing that. It just seems that Kurt Busiek has a bit too many horses in front of his cart, and the story's management suffers a result. With a slight sense of completion, it appears next issue starts a whole new story, and it may rectify the current chaos.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
JLA: Scary Monsters #5

Jul 27, 2003

The story is really fun; it is REALLY enjoyable what Mr. Claremont is doing here, and still continues to do elsewhere. It's not the best story ever conceived, and it MAY be a bit dragged out, but what makes this book worth it is the tone. Make sure you watch for Mr. Claremont's upcoming JLA run with John Byrne(!) and Jerry Ordway; I know it will be a treat for all of us, super-humans or not.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Johnny Dollar: The Brief Candle Matter #1

Jan 26, 2004

For those of you who enjoy a fun, fast-moving murder mystery with an intruiging conclusion, Johnny Dollar is certainly a good place to start, especially if you're looking for one in a well-executed comic book form!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League Adventures #22

Aug 10, 2003

Everyone should try this one out, if only for the pleasing direction. Where else are you going to get a self-contained story for $2.25 each week, that you know is going to be true to the characters and not the writer's prerogative? I know of very few, and this is certainly one I can always count on. Hell, it's better than what Joe Kelley did last week

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Losers #1

Aug 4, 2003

While the book is a far cry from a worthwhile thriller, the action scenes are quite unrestrained, even if they are not very innovative. The only readers who will return to this book are those who enjoy mediocre drawing and poorly-lit action sequences told with some mildly exciting words. There's enough books out there that already do that, though. For less than $2.95.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Losers #3

Sep 2, 2003

But I'm sure this book will be popular, due to the stereotypical "fanboy" crowd that digs this sort of stuff as a substitute to their sex life. For the rest of us though, maybe we can stop forgetting about this dud that pretends to be on the "edge." I won't be back for this "C"-grade book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mark of Charon #5

Aug 22, 2003

What I'm trying to say is: BUY THE DAMNED BOOK!!! (Negation, I mean.) It SICKENS me to know that this rests in the 100s of the Diamond sales list while less worthy titles are higher simply because of the characters involved. This is adventure and storytelling in its highest, and with the War coming up soon, you'll certainly want in on this early. Spread the word, CrossGen's books are the future!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Marvelous Adventures of Gus Beezer & Spider-Man #1

Jan 9, 2004

It really is a wonderful book, and unfortunate that Simone will not be doing many of these in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Mega Man #1

Sep 19, 2003

It's hard to recommend this or not. At first, it may seem too expensive and obvious, but it is fun at the same time, if in a "cutesy" way. If you're a hardcore Mega Man fan, definitely pick it up; otherwise, preview it before you act. You never know.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mystic #39

Aug 22, 2003

The thing that really shines through in this book is Giselle's characterization. As Richard Ho of Wizard would put it: "she has the sass to back up the ass!" Even with the plot aside, her characterization is so fun and welcoming that I would come back just for that. Where else are you going to find a girl using her bra to break out of jail?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Negation #20

Jul 21, 2003

Like most CrossGen books, this one doesn't take a bunch of back issues to figure out what's going on. The reader is immediately pulled into Mr. Pelletier's astounding vision of this Universe. It really is quite a ride, and certainly a treat if you're hung up on another inconsistent monthly title.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
New X-Men #141

May 30, 2003

Keep making the X-Men and comics great, Grant; thanks for the continually memorable run.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
New X-Men #142

Jun 8, 2003

This is as good as it currently gets with the X-Men. Old fans will be pleased with the intelligent direction, and newer ones will marvel at the over-the-top nature of Mr. Morrison. Another truly exceptional work from the New X-Men creative team.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
New X-Men #143

Jul 4, 2003

I look forward to finding out who Weapon XV was, and this looks to be another masterfully crafted Grant Morrison story. If only Phil Jimnez were around, and there was actually more to review

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
New X-Men #144

Aug 10, 2003

This is a fruitless, bloated story, with average execution and horrible artwork. Mr. Morrison needs to start adding more scenes to the book, and give the readers more to come back to. Sending three characters off on an expedition that's been done a thousand times before doesn't cut it in New X-Men. Mr. Morrison will probably redeem himself next time, but Mr. Bachalo's art won't do him any favors.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
New X-Men #145

Sep 8, 2003

Still, Id like to look at the future and see this as a means rather than an end, and hope Mr. Morrison has better things in store for us. Only eight issues left

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
New X-Men #146

Sep 15, 2003

New readers may have problems with the heavy Morrison continuity, and Morrison fans may be discouraged by the absence of oddities, but it certainly sets up an entertaining lead-in to the months ahead, which this longtime X-Men fan really needs. Hey, I need some fix of the mutants after dropping Uncanny after 430 issues, right?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
New X-Men #147

Oct 6, 2003

Require the services of an Answerman? How bout SBC's very own, the legendary Answerman of DC Comics, Bob Rozakis? Look for Bob's column every week, right here at the Internet's Most Diverse Comics' Webzine!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
NYX #1

Oct 13, 2003

A slightly interesting tale which loses some of its relevance in the mutant aspect; Quesada seems to once again want to reach out to a mass audience he'll never get. This book will end up in the hands of X-readers or other comic shop regulars, and maybe even some scantly dressed, teenage clubgoers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Outsiders #1

Jun 20, 2003

The Outsiders get a masterful start in a lighthearted, old-fashion superhero team, simply in existence to take on the villains of this world. Winick's third-person narrative is perfect for the feel, along with Raney's storytelling. In a week when comics haven't been this good in a long time, this is certainly one of the better books. Definitely worth a shot---if you can still can your hands on it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Outsiders #2

Jul 25, 2003

Face it, sports fan, this is how it's done. This is one of those comics where you have to count the pages to make sure the DC execs didn't make an error. There're no gimmicks to be found, and although it's a quarter more than some of the $2.25 titles, I'd pay a LOT more than that for it (but let that be our little secret, ok?) These are comic book heroes at their best, and Mr. Winick's status-quo is something I feel readers will cherish for a long time. Get this book before certain gorillas snatch it from you

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Outsiders #3

Aug 27, 2003

Judd's given me an early Christmas gift this year. I haven't read a comic this fun while still being filled with action, great one-liners, and a full range of emotion in years. You won't find many other superhero books these days which are hand-lettered, written with third-person captions and don't sound like movie scripts! With high-impact spreads from the geniuses of Tom Raney and Scott Hanna, this is certainly a book to watch in years to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Outsiders #4

Sep 24, 2003

It's quite understandable that this book won't appeal to a sizeable portion of the comic book reading world. But I am proud to see that sales are on the constant upswing, as it clearly shows that a large number of fans would like to see more of this kind of work. You certainly won't find Geoff Johns doing it in the sister title, Teen Titans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Punisher Vol. 6 #34

Oct 28, 2003

I've really been having trouble lately finding consistency in mainstream books, but Ennis' Punisher is one that has gracefully come to my list. A rather dark, entertaining, and flowing take with no stunts to cheat you out of $2.99, I can't wait until this is relaunched as a MAX series so Ennis can tell us what he really wants to say.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red #1

Jul 31, 2003

The problems with the book are mostly minor, and could end up doing more good than harmdepending on the direction Mr. Ellis takes. It's certainly a better cinematic experience than The Ultimates this week, so if you have yet to make it to the comics store, pick this one up instead.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Robin #116

Jul 27, 2003

I can't wait for next issue to see how this turns out. But moreover, the writing is what I will most come back for in #117. There's not many better ways I can think of to spend $2.25 than on titles like these; this really made me laugh after a very long day. And Batman can be scary, can't he?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Robin #117

Aug 20, 2003

I like to think of this title as another hidden wonder in the "All Ages" category that most people over 15 wouldn't be caught dead with. But it's stories like these I long for more of, and it is my every wish and intention that these creators find suitable work after their departure from this title. It sure has me hooked.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Robin #119

Oct 24, 2003

Even though his overall artwork needs a bit fine-tuning, Pete Woods continues to portray Robin as a young, handsome, intelligent person. It's slightly cartoonish take on the character suits the script well. Unfortunately, Bill Willingham is soon to take over the title with issue #121, and while I'm sure his take will be very rewarding, I will certainly miss what Jon Lewis has achieved here. Another lost gem in a pool of dark, bloated comic books.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ruse #20

Jun 8, 2003

The murder has taken place, yet the mystery has only begun as the reader returns next time to seek out more clues. A very inventive piece of work from Scott Beatty; look for it, as well as other CrossGen titles as an escape from your mainstream reading. It might become just that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Scion #36

May 26, 2003

Hats off to Ron Marz and company for yet another glimpse into the world of this Scion. The consistent quality and thrilling story will have you waiting quite a long time for issue #37. And if you have a friend or adversary who is not a comic lover, or fed up with another title's shortcomings, be sure to tell them to pick up a few issues of Scion. You can tell them I sent you.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Scion #37

Jun 20, 2003

Marz continues to combines the elements of fantasy and science fiction in a creative kaleidoscope. Although it is unfortunate the current creative forces are departing, Ian Edginton will present a new direction on the book, perhaps not a bad thing for this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Scion #38

Jul 25, 2003

I'm very thankful for the work of CrossGen, and Scion certainly reaffirms those beliefs. Reading issue #34 caused me to purchase the whole run, and I hope Mr. Edginton makes it worthwhile in the coming months.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Scion #39

Sep 21, 2003

Although both members of the creative team are leaving (including AWOL inker Don Hillsman II), we're sure to see them in upcoming works at CrossGen, so be sure to stay tuned for them.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Simpsons Comics #83

Jun 20, 2003

Even if you dont laugh out loud at this book, you still have to appreciate the clever story and timeless characters from Matt Groenig and company. This is in the top five of the most consistent comics on the market: the art is always the same, the stories all have a similar sense to them, the writing is always good, and of courseSideshow Bob. While this book is not destined to change the course of comics forever, it certainly is a nice accent to any trip to the comic's store. Just look for pictures of Homer.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Simpsons Comics #84

Jul 18, 2003

Face it; it's one of the most consistent comics on the market. And with the popularity of The Simpsons, there's no reason why this shouldn't at least be in the Top 100. So spread the word, and find out if Springfield Elementary can REALLY survive Principal Homer. I know I personally couldn't

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Simpsons Comics #85

Aug 22, 2003

The price did increase this week from $2.50 to $2.99, but I'd happily pay more for something this good. (Let that be our little secret, though, ok?)

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Simpsons Comics #87

Oct 23, 2003

There's not many comics where you get 27 pages of story for $2.99, and with the consistency and fun you'll have with this, there's no reason that it shouldn't be part of your comic book repertoire.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Simpsons Comics #90

Jan 26, 2004

It's always a pleasure to read something as consistent and gimmick-free as Simpsons Comics; it's certainly something the fans want to see more of in the mainstream.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sojourn #25

Aug 17, 2003

It's got both writing AND art which are worth picking up by themselves. CrossGen has me more enthused about comics than I've been in years---this is the WAY to be cutting-edge!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Solus #3

May 26, 2003

To quote Comix View, "George Prez's art truly has never looked better." That sums up the imaginative storytelling nature of this somewhat flawed comic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Solus #4

Jun 20, 2003

Anyone who has been reading CrossGen books from the beginning do "owe" it to themselves to read Solus. Not only does it tie up various loose ends of Andra Randiant's (a.k.a. Solusandra) story, but also the CrossGen Universe. Truly an entertaining read, worthy of the CrossGen label. Pick it up if only for Prez' artwork. Just make sure you take CrossGen 101 beforehand.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Solus #5

Jul 25, 2003

I honestly don't see the attraction to this one, as Mrs. Kesel has done this book no favors by making it so obscure. There's so much mystery involved, that things are beginning to get way out of hand, and the fact that Mrs. Kesel doesn't even resolve the stories half the time doesn't help either. Still, it is a good effort, and there's nothing particularly inoffensive or embarrassing about it. I just hope that if all this sigil business is ever finished, we can finally move on with some real stories about the characters involved.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Spectacular Spider-Man #1

Jul 10, 2003

I recently wrote something in the Silver Soapbox, "Reminiscing before my Time" (which you should check out if you hadn't already done sojust click Columns, and go to Silver Soapbox)---in which I respond to some of you who call me an "old-timer" for my love of consistent art styles. Well old-fashion I may be, but I long for the days when Venom didn't look like a mutated bull. I also long for the days when a relaunch usually constituted some new plot. Shame on you Marvel---you give the sceptics reason to call it a "pamphlet".

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spider-Girl #68

Jan 9, 2004

It won't change the way you look at the comics' medium, but the fact that it's a consistent, uniform effort makes it a comic we need more of. Keep it coming, Tom.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spider-Girl #69

Jan 25, 2004

Few books on the market are actually worth the $2.99, but decompression has no place in the Spider-Girl Universe. With all the references to Marvel characters, and the excellent storyline to appeal to All-Ages this is certainly the best and only true superhero book coming out of Marvel. But it's so much more than that, too

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Spider-Man/Doctor Octopus: Negative Exposure #1

Oct 6, 2003

By no means is the horrible effort, especially since it's coming from the office of Axel Alonso. However, I wish there was something that renewed my interest in the two characters, and didn't fail so miserably at updating the premise. Of course, when you over-promote a concept, I guess these "filler" things happen.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Superman #194

Jun 28, 2003

I picked this book up mainly because I like what Joe Casey's doing over in Adventures of Superman, and since Superman is one of my favorite characters, I thought I'd give this creative team another shot. While Seagle's stories aren't bad, McDaniel's art makes some parts of the book unreadable---maybe they should switch to a novel format instead.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Superman #195

Jul 27, 2003

It's passable enough not to be a complete failure, but unless you're a huge fan of the run so far, it's really not worth picking up. It takes itself way too seriously for a Superman story, and it's not interesting enough to keep you from falling asleep. And to think Steven T. Seagle wants you to think things are happening twice

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Superman #196

Sep 2, 2003

You best try something new, or just wait for Brian Azzerello and Jim Lee to come around. Poor Clark.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Superman #198

Oct 28, 2003

I feel like I have to be fair and review this for a younger audience, as it seems that Steven T. Seagle is going that route, or at least indirectly. In the end though, I do think the run was a misfire, as there was a sense that the creative team just could not find their voice with regards to the Man of Steel.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman #201

Feb 17, 2004

A nice little story with an impossible task for the protagonist, and a very delightful Lois Lane. It's actually an adventure unlike recent Superman stories, and something I'd like to see more of in comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Superman/Batman #1

Aug 11, 2003

The book will get me coming back, because it's Superman/Batman, but if it were most other books, I think the average effort would show through. Mr. Loeb appears to be bringing out the darker aspects of these characters too much, while dragging out a less-than-stellar story, which doesn't translate to a very exciting book. Less drama, more adventure, please.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Superman/Batman #2

Sep 19, 2003

You could have twenty-two blank, white pages licked by Jeph Loeb and this would still sell, but it'd be nice if his writing were more desirable than moist parchment.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Superman/Batman #3

Oct 23, 2003

$2.95 for this!? Avoid it like the plague.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2003) #1

Jul 18, 2003

It's a good start, although I don't know if it'll live to the initial mass hype with such an action-less start. But I am confident that this Titans has more than enough potential to match the original run, especially in the capable hands of Messrs. Johns and McKone. If the next issue adds conflict to the already nice equation, expect a review.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Teen Titans (2003) #2

Aug 18, 2003

I am very happy to see a book join the ranks of the Top 20, as it is certainly deserving of that position. However, I do feel Mr. Johns' shortcomings will spell problems for this book in the future. More time needs to be spent on the characterization, especially as the team moves into their first missions.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Teen Titans (2003) #4

Oct 23, 2003

And oh look, Eddie Berganza's the editor

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Terra Obscura #2

Jul 26, 2003

This is really a fun little read, and certainly an excellent example of the comic genre. While it's not something to run right out and grab, it's a nice alternative to a delayed title or if you simply enjoy well done comics. Just make sure you don't have any metal objects on you

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Thanos #1

Oct 6, 2003

*No purchase necessary. See SBC Shop for details.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Thanos #2

Nov 13, 2003

Even though the book may be a bit lacking as far as innovation is concerned, I'm more than happy that it is consistent in its concept. Hopefully, there will be no "bold new directions" or fill-in artists on this, and Starlin can stick to his grand vision, even if it is a bit square.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Thanos #5

Jan 25, 2004

Again, sounds a bit trite on the surface, but you can't help but marvel at the extraordinary display by Starlin and Milgrom.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Path #17

Aug 22, 2003

*Okay, so maybe not this month, but it was just once, right?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Thor (1998) #65

Jun 21, 2003

Jurgens offers a slightly outlandish but unique story, which unfortunately will be drawn out for over six months, like many things in the comic world these days. On the bright side, it will be fun to see how things play out; this storys appeal may lie in the fact that it is fantastical, and not realistic. Not the best from Jurgens, but a better Marvel title than some other books below the Top 30.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Thor (1998) #66

Jul 15, 2003

This has gone a little too far; Mr. Jurgens needs to come up with some new ideas, and stop toying with Armageddon. It's not good by any means, and I suppose it's not a complete failure due to some nice artwork. I just wish Mr. Jurgens would move on, and take Thor back to the days when everything didn't have to be off-base. He might just get those sales up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Tim Hartnett's Farewell Address #1

Nov 13, 2003

With my resignation, I also must put my Superman column on hold. It has been a major success thus far, and I promise to finish the columnarc (don't accuse me of "padding"!) when I get the chance. I also have a top secret SBC-related project in the works, which will be announced in due time.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Trouble #1

Jul 11, 2003

All right, so it's Trouble, it's EPIC, it's Mark Millar, it's the Dodsons, and it's finally here. It's also one of the most indecisive reviews I've written for the site yet. I guess it's worth picking up---that certainly won't get you in trouble.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Trouble #2

Aug 18, 2003

When all is said and done, I guess it's ok, but I don't really see the need to run out and get this book. And if this turns into the birth of Peter Parker, than you're gonna be looking at one pissed off reviewer.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Trouble #3

Sep 8, 2003

I dont see the appeal of this book, really. Especially since Mr. Millar has changed the course of the story from subtle to vociferous and back again several times, while taking several issues to establish any conflict in the first place. And can we please lose the Make-up and Hair references? I dont think anyones going to rush out and by the clothing and products of a lame French photo-op directed by Joe Quesada of all people.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Ultimate Adventures #4

Jul 4, 2003

Ultimate Adventures has a lot going for it; it's a shame it must be cancelled so soon. I guess that's what happens when you're a comic book born out of a mindless contest.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Ultimate Adventures #5

Aug 20, 2003

I can't see anyone picking this up, unless they've read the story up until this point, and want to see what's going to happen. But I think we must all face the fact that Adventures has worn out its welcome, and will fall into all the better projects that could have been. It's the "New Universe" of '03.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Ultimate Fantastic Four #1

Jan 9, 2004

Stan Lee and Jack Kirby had charm in their Four. I don't know what this contrived mess is. There's no sights to see, interesting characters to meet, and everything that happens you'll expect. Look to Mark Waid if you're looking for that modern sense of Fantastic Four adventuring.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ultimate Six #1

Sep 21, 2003

I'm sure Ultimate Six will turn out to be something really good, but taking the first issue in pure isolation, there's not many surprises or things to catch you off guard. And after awhile, I do get tired of the useless phrases in Bendis' characters' dialogue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Ultimate Six #3

Oct 13, 2003

STOP! Don't read another review until you've posted to the message boards!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Ultimate Spider-Man #36

Sep 15, 2003

New readers may have problems with this issue, as it certainly isn't something out of the status-quo, and already finds the story shifting to a different book. I just hope we can move on now with some new adventures, instead of taking up whole issues on predictable retrospectives.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ultimate Spider-Man #41

May 30, 2003

Bendis' Ultimate Spider-Man is superior to his Daredevil work with this smart, engaging read which leaves the reader with a smile, and the superhero sense honored. It brings an intelligent, fun tone; unfortunately not some other Marvels. No wonder this continues to be in the Top Five every month; Bendis and crew deserve it---all the way to the ages.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ultimate Spider-Man #42

Jun 8, 2003

What an extraordinary display of talent and professionalism from Bendis, Bagley and Thibert. This is the best comic book of the Marvel Universe, and the best Spider-Man related run in since 1990. This is the future of comics, sports fans, and as long as this creative team is around, I'll be relaxing in my chair, reading Ultimate Spider-Man.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Ultimate Spider-Man #43

Jul 4, 2003

So it's another Bendis story, which most people will like, and it continues to be a book with the potential of universal readership. Not as good as we've come to expect from Ultimate Spider-Man, but good enough to satisfy the cult Mr. Bendis has attracted, as well as 90% of other readers who pick it up this week.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Ultimate Spider-Man #44

Aug 11, 2003

This storyline, especially this issue, destroys any expectations I had for the title, and while I suppose it's not a complete failure, it's certainly homing in on one with the poor execution. It's comes down to a bloated mess of something that's trying to be shrewd and serious at the same time, while not doing either. It would've been better if this "arc" was two issues, not four. Truly a waste of money.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Ultimate Spider-Man #45

Aug 20, 2003

This has lost its title as my favorite book, and I hope Mr. Bendis returns to the more Parker-driven aspects of the book, instead of bringing in the X-Men for odd conversation and explaining May in an entire issue. The execution remains spectacular however, and you never know what Mr. Bendis has up his sleeve, especially as we approach issue #50.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ultimate Spider-Man #47

Oct 6, 2003

I love getting letters of praise and hate from all of you!!! If you have a comment on my any of my stuff, click on my name above. I will print your letter on the site at a later date, as well as a response from my heart of stone. If you do not want your e-mail address printed, please let me know! Thanks! ---Tim H.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ultimate Spider-Man #48

Oct 23, 2003

By far some of the best Marvel has to offer these days. My favorite comic book is now my favorite once again. It's amazing I pay $2.25 for this, yet $2.95 and $3.50 for Jeph Loeb efforts with the same amount of pages and a fifth less.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ultimate Spider-Man #49

Nov 13, 2003

I'm not going to blow the whistle for padding, as it is definitely present in this book with fifteen pages for a fight scene. This is certainly a well-thought out, consistent and uniform work which has become the trademark of the Marvel line. Here's hoping to an excellent fiftieth issue of the most sought-after series since the early 90s.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Ultimate Spider-Man #53

Feb 17, 2004

It does a pretty nice job of what it is, but the characters seem less dynamic being caught up in the same dilemmas over and over again. I hope the new direction this book takes next issue will resolve this.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Ultimate X-Men #34

Jun 13, 2003

This is an acceptable, likeable debut by Bendis on Ultimate X-Men. It plays well to Bendis' strength of dialogue and plot, yet leaves some of his weaknesses of pacing and redundancy expressed. Any fan, Ultimate or not, should pick it up. After all, it is the event of the summer.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Ultimate X-Men #35

Jul 10, 2003

(By the way, the ad in the back which superimposes the heads of the creators onto characters in the X-Men movie is priceless. Look for it.)

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Ultimate X-Men #36

Aug 18, 2003

So what else can I say about this? It's not horrible, but there just isn't much here. I can see readers coming back for the characters and Mr. Bendis' writing, but there's little substance or innovation, just substantial execution and artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Ultimate X-Men #37

Sep 15, 2003

Its still Bendis, so you know it will be a shrewd, quick read that all your friends will pick up too. But as a reader whos not a longtime buyer of Ultimate X-Men, I dont really see the rage.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Ultimates #10

Jun 3, 2003

This is certainly a title that belongs in the Ultimate line, as its quality is consistent with its fellow members. The engaging story and inventive developments thus far have only done wonders for the book; one hopes Mark Millar will execute the team's adventures in a way consistent with how he formed it. Not a bad $2.25, compared to some other titles this week.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Ultimates #11

Aug 1, 2003

There is quite the gratituous double-paged spread of The Ultimates in this issue---good if you like that sort of thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Uncanny X-Men #425

Jun 8, 2003

1The Meriam Webster Dictionary; 1995 ed.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Uncanny X-Men #426

Jun 20, 2003

Oh and by the way, I still don't retract my last review.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Uncanny X-Men #427

Jul 4, 2003

Mr. Austen still hasn't proved he can write X-Men stories. Unless you're a completist, or simply like Mr. Austen's style, than most likely you'll be sorry you wasted your money. This would have been better as an eight page backup, if Mr. Austen could actually accomplish that. I still don't get why Marvel allows these uninspired stores into this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Uncanny X-Men #428

Jul 18, 2003

Some will say this is an improvement, but to me, it's still classic Chuck Austen. I just don't what to say anymore. I guess the concept's okay, but I'm still not cool with the way this is being done. There's no need for half of it, really, and it's getting to the point where I may stop buying the signature title of my collection.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Uncanny X-Men #429

Aug 11, 2003

Well, for once, the X-Men appear to actually be on an adventure! And not only that, I feel like I want to follow them. This is by FAR not enough to redeem the past fifteen issues of the book, but it is an exponential improvement over what we've been getting. The grade this was going to be slightly lower, but I decided to bump it up a notch because of the plausible effort displayed. I'm proud of you, Chuck---let's see if we can keep it this way for more than a week

View Issue       View Full Review
0.0
Uncanny X-Men #430

Sep 8, 2003

I think Ive criticized this book enough these past few months so Ill keep it short. Its time to move on to better things.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Weapon X (2002) #12

Sep 21, 2003

From page 1 to 22, there's a non-stop romp of team-ups I couldn't wait to see all year. Cable vs. Kane (who makes the one of the most sacrifices I've ever seen), Marrow vs. Sabretooh, and pretty much everyone in the resistance vs. everyone from the Program. We don't get off very easily. One longstanding character switches sides in the end, and even though this is the end of the storyarc, there's a "too be continued", letting us know of more good things coming up. For a bit of a preview, check out my article with Frank Tieri here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Weapon X (2002) #15

Nov 13, 2003

I really can't say enough about Weapon X; it's still the X-Universe's best secret. There's not a book that's more fun coming out of Marvel right now. Look how well the X-Men are characterized compared to the other X-books. All we have to do now is get Frank Tieri on Uncanny X-Men and we'll be fine.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wizard: Zero #1

Aug 4, 2003

It was revealed this issue that those GI: Joe movie ads we saw a few months back in Wizard were fakes. It was April Fools' Month.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wolverine (2003) #1

May 26, 2003

Pick it up, bub. Or we're comin' for ya.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wolverine (2003) #2

Jun 21, 2003

Greg Rucka has continued his excellent run on Wolverine with this second chapter of the initial arc. Last month, the book surpassed Loeb and Lees Batman, and while it is tough to choose between the two, I have no problem with this being on top. It certainly earned its way there, Bub.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wolverine (2003) #3

Jul 18, 2003

Let me it put this way---If you haven't read this Wolverine yet, you're in deep, deep trouble. This is some of the most unique, intelligent storytelling ever told about Logan in a very stylish, welcome manner. You wouldn't wanna piss Wolvie off now, would you? After you read this book, I'd certainly hope not.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wolverine (2003) #5

Sep 21, 2003

Predictable and unremarkable, but mostly a satisfying end to a clever revamp of Wolverine. We still have 13 issues left of Greg Rucka's run, and here's hoping he doesn't decide to cater to the trade paperback crowd much longer.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (1987) #193

Jul 6, 2003

I won't say much more about this book, because of the short notice of reviewing it. But if anything this Wonder Woman arc stands out as something different---short haircut or not.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (1987) #194

Jul 25, 2003

I hope Mr. Rucka continues with a style that matches that of Mr. Simonson's. While we probably won't have something flying out of the universe as this one, it would be nice if this title continues to be as entertaining as it was this week. Wonder Woman was never my favorite character, but Mr. Simonson has certainly made me think of her as an entertaining hero from now on---haircut or not.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman (1987) #196

Sep 19, 2003

Even if Wonder Woman isn't your bag, you should be reading this book anyway, as she certainly will become one of your favorites. A perfect 5/5.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Wonder Woman (1987) #200

Feb 17, 2004

Not horrible as a whole, but can easily be skipped.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
World's Best Comics (Golden Age Sampler) #1

Oct 13, 2003

A rather unconventional story, the shortest of the sampler at seven pages (the rest are all thirteen), in which the hero doesn't come in until the last few pages. This has some of the best artwork I've seen from the Golden Age, as the opening page splash reminds me of certain detailing that wasn't seen regularly for forty years after its first publication. Truly a different take on the character from what we're used to.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men Unlimited #50

Jul 27, 2003

Look for some interesting pinups in the back of this title from various Japanese artists, as well as a very nice cover by Katsuya Terada.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Statix #11

Jul 25, 2003

The traditionalist in me wants to scream at this book for taking away the original X-Force, but in some odd, evil way, it was worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
X-Statix #12

Sep 2, 2003

This isn't bad, but it is disappointing, judging from what we're used to with this title. And you can be sure to have quite an analysis next time of the now-defunct Princess Di storyline.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
X-Treme X-Men #26

Jun 8, 2003

This is a nice effort by Chris Claremont to re-establish himself as a prominent name in X-Men creation. It is an entertaining piece, though not the best available when it comes to the X-Men. In addition, the value of a sequel will not be appreciated to the extent it would twenty years ago. Despite these lingering notions---nicely done, Chris.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
X-Treme X-Men #27

Jun 28, 2003

As much as the story is predictable, the Claremont style of storytelling is always welcome. Unless you're a die-hard fan of his stuff, or an X-Men completist, this title isn't for you. If God loves, one wonders why he lets man kill the credibility of such a great graphic novel.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
X-Treme X-Men #28

Jul 21, 2003

Mr. Claremont's execution is in much excess with this one, and the underlying story is just not enough to make this book worth it. Even Claremontites may be turned off by the direction this book has taken.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
X-Treme X-Men #29

Aug 11, 2003

This is turning out rather well, for a misconstrued move tie-in. As much as I am a fan of Chris Claremont, I wish the editorial would let him finish these stories sooner, and let his lengthy discourses tell the story, but then again, I'm no insider to the Marvel process. It is also my hope that Mr. Claremont tries relaxes a bit in the upcoming story arcs.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
X-Treme X-Men #31

Oct 1, 2003

Marvel's being very good to my wallet by releasing titles like this, but unfortunately I wish they'd maneuver Chris Claremont back to where he was c. 1980. There isn't anything new or amusing present here.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

April

March

More