Travis Tucker's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Shoot The Breeze Comics Reviews: 38
8.5Avg. Review Rating

10
Batman (2016) #48

Jun 7, 2018

This is a smashing entrance for the Joke at this time in Bruce's life, the way the art and writing come together is something rare to behold. Its not often I'm thinking about how good the cinematography in a comic book is. I'm very much curious to see where this story is going and I'm taking my seat for the ride. I highly suggest getting this comic for any collector looking to keep a piece of one the most important weddings of the decade!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #49

Jun 21, 2018

This issue was amazing. It was a great set up to the wedding coming soon. The way King is steering this series and its characters more into the cerebral and existential feels like a fresh take on these very old characters. I am very much excited for what the wedding has to tell us and the last prelude before the big day. I highly recommend picking up a copy of this if you can.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #51

Jul 19, 2018

This Cold Days arc is starting off quite nicely with subtle but large reveals to the direction Tom King has decided to take Batman and company. It shows us a side of Bruce that we always know is there but is never acknowledged. Being the beacon symbol of justice he's striving we see a chance for Bruce to grow in a way that may generally lend to his shining example as one of the greatest heroes in comics. If it's going the way I see it going, we may have an entirely new hero's journey for Bruce to embark on.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman (2016) #52

Aug 2, 2018

This issue was amazing, even if it has me wondering how "heroic" Batman is, I find myself lost in the story and compelled to learn more of what's to come. This is some uncharted territory for Batman, a zone that King has proven time and time again that he is comfortable in.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #53

Aug 15, 2018

This was a great read, I personally recommend all Batman fans read this arc if you're not now. Its essential to what Batman could be, but certainly should be. His influence on the people is something unshakeable and must be respected and treated with care. Having the people support your exploits as an abuser of the downtrodden with the system behind you that's a problem, and Bruce know that. It's very much refreshing to see him actually being written to pay attention to that

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #54

Sep 5, 2018

Sometimes filler is good. From my experiences, King has always excelled in this area. This specific issue I have a soft spot for. Growing up with Batman reading his comics to now having the great honor of reviewing them for you there has always been one constant the dynamic duo that pulls at my heartstrings. The importance of not allowing yourself to face the pain alone, no matter how much you think you have, having at least one shoulder to lean on can a big difference. No matter how super of a hero you are you're going to feel it. When the time comes, having someone break your fall can make the difference between being a dark knight or psycho killer clown.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #55

Sep 20, 2018

Tom King is consistent in rattling cages, the way he sets us up for the emotional dumps that you will inevitably experience reading this issue is almost not fair. He's breaking the rules of comics so to speak, and that's a very good thing if done correctly. It's clear that Bruce is not yet finished with his hardships for as long as King has the reigns on his story. In tandem with the almost pastel gothic style of the art, we are delivered are a very hard punch to the heart. Frankly, I'm not sure how to even rate this properly without seeing the repercussions. At least a 20 for impact as it is now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #56

Oct 3, 2018

I'm excited to see how this particular conflict concludes. Bruce having almost this new drive for this particular case seems to have breathed new life into Batman doing what some would call impossible in the name of what is very blurred justice and vengeance. We'll see how Bruce handles this issue when the man who shot his first son is presented before him.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2016) #57

Oct 18, 2018

Hopefully, soon we will have more meat and fewer potatoes with these coming issues from King, the whole thing feels like he now cares about this new crisis. When Batman audiences were told these hundred issues would be the change Batman needs. So far, we've been given a 25+ issue tease of a relationship that never actually went how it was foreshadowed, 3 issue of amazingly critical and self-aware writing of the Batman that hasn't ever really been seen, and this would some up the past six months. I can't help but feel lied to. The only change that has been shown even remotely feel like a diary entry from King himself, in which the consequences of such haven't come to fruition. Disingenuous I'd say. I need some more from my Batman guys.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman (2016) #58

Nov 7, 2018

PICK THIS ISSUE UP, I am beyond hyped to see what comes of this arc. ITS ABOUT TIME TOM.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016): Secret Files #1

Oct 31, 2018

The five separate stories were very refreshing in comparison to the sort of dragged out long-winded over arcs in the main stories. This was a very nice distraction from wondering what's going on with Bane and why he's hanging out with Psycho Pirate since Batman #50.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman: Damned #1

Sep 23, 2018

This first issue of the series is a very strong start to what feels like is going to be one of the much darker arcs we've ever seen from Batman in a while. I gotta be honest with you readers, a little bit about me, I'm a HUGE metalhead. Not your hair band or hard rock type of stuff, death metal, blast beats pig squeals and a punch in the face. So I'm more than excited for this coming darkness, the art is a wonderful juxtaposing heretically biblical art with the Dark Knight was one of the smartest ideas ever. I'm a bit of a fanboy though. So go check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman: Kings of Fear #1

Sep 4, 2018

This was an awesome issue, full of nostalgia for what exactly I love about Batman. While also holding up a very critical lens to the character and what he does (feels like a theme throughout his publications of late). I'm excited to see what's in store for the next parts of this series and eagerly await more phenomenal iconography in the issues to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman: Kings of Fear #2

Sep 28, 2018

This mini-series is starting slow for sure but has great promise for the future. So far for what seems to be a gallery for Batman rogues and iconography, it's pretty good. Until things pick up I won't say go grab this just yet, maybe wait for an issue or two.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Kings of Fear #3

Oct 25, 2018

Kings of Fear is turning out to be a fun ride of nostalgia, humor, and thought-provoking to the fans. I recommend this for any hardcore Gotham reader. This series cuts to the chase and makes sure the chase isn't boring or complex for the reader. With the classic and iconic artwork of the series to help out, what else could you want?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Red Hood vs. Anarky #1

Jun 20, 2018

I liked this comic, but if you're new to the Prelude issue, don't pick this one up first. its a little hard to get through even with Jason and his typical antics. The illustrations to me are the redeeming trait in this issue, keeping me curious during the short lived action panels with exposition just heaped on top of it. For me this wouldn't have been so bad is the information we were given wasn't old news repackaged and was actually resolved. Not this time, feel like Jason's edginess was used this time solely to close off some already meh dialogue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Robin vs. Ra's Al Ghul #1

May 30, 2018

Overall, this issue was very good. It was quite nice to see such a brazen character be brought back to an area that is actually relatable to the fanbase. The art was exceptionally complimentary to the thought provoking writing, I am elated to see what this and the wedding will hold not only for Damien Wayne, but the entirety of the Batfamily. This issue certainly gets the deep story cogs turning.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Batgirl vs. The Riddler #1

Jun 13, 2018

This is was good overall, it felt like the folks who filmed Whip It had a hand in the direction of the illustrations. Barbara was on point the entire issue handling her business in a concise yet elegant manner. I just wasn't digging Riddler's rhymes, in the past they strayed away from it and honestly they should go back, it kind of bogged down the issues overall readability for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Harley Quinn vs. Joker #1

Jun 30, 2018

I greatly enjoyed this issue, the connection between Harley and Joker has always been tumultuous at best. This issue seems to make great effort to put everything out on the table for the clowns. Now with only the wedding to wait for, this can only get more exciting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Nightwing vs. Hush #1

Jun 6, 2018

This is turning out to be a great arc, if I'm being honest with spoiling. What's coming to the family is something old but with a very new take on things. Its geared up to be one of the higher quality Gotham stories we've seen lately the next one in two weeks should be awesome as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #984

Jul 12, 2018

I love this arc with Black Lightning and Batman so far, Bruce admitting he can't properly teach them I feel is a great step in the right direction for the rest of the Batfamily to shine individually as their own characters. They do very well in the plot to tell you what type of threat we are dealing with and how skilled they really are. Making Cass Cain sweat is not an easy feat in the slightest, and frankly it excites me for what s next to come in this arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Detective Comics (2016) #985

Jul 25, 2018

This issue was rather droll in comparison to the ones that lead to this. Its just exposition stacked upon exposition with no real payoff. I enjoyed reading it but I just can't give credit to something that we've seen Batman do countless time be repackaged in an uninteresting way. The issue feels like it was more so the readers have something to chew on while waiting for the climax of this arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Detective Comics (2016) #986

Aug 11, 2018

All things said and done, I liked this issue. It's a good way to bring the action up for the final showdown between Bruce and his Karma. The family's adamant need to disobey Bruce's direct orders is a nice touch, I just that maybe someday soon Bruce will come to appreciate the help and support that he is bestowed. Jefferson coming in as a teacher may be the McGuffin for that subplot so time will only tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Detective Comics (2016) #987

Aug 26, 2018

I liked this read, made me feel that maybe it's getting close to time for a Batman to take the wheel as support in most cases these days. Even though he's triumphed it becomes quite obvious that he needs to do something to keep his edge as the dark knight. With all of these different comics forcing Bruce into the retirement corner, I wouldn't be surprised if he's forced to do so by some grievous injury.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Detective Comics (2016) #988

Sep 14, 2018

I'm starting to fall for the idea of Bruce showing actual emotion in this recent issue, he's becoming more of a reserved, don't talk about issues kind of person and we are being shown how that can be a detriment to someone in general. Whether it throws you off your game, makes you lash out, or cut yourself off from your loved ones depression can affect us all. Even the coldest heroes need to get it all out, we are very lucky to live in a time where we can see the Batman be able to actually process his tragedy and not just take in out on the face of crime in Gotham.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Detective Comics (2016) #989

Sep 27, 2018

I liked this issue, but it was still quite slow and rather cliche if I'm being honest. I like the emotion that Batman is getting but honestly with how slow paced this new arc is I can't but feel like this is just run of the mill filler, and will ultimately have no impact.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Detective Comics (2016) #990

Oct 16, 2018

Its still a little for me to really judge this new arc, the past few issues were very enjoyable. However, it feels like back to back filler. Which slows my enthusiasm to find out what's going on. Filler needs to be captivating in my opinion, otherwise its just dissatisfying build up which is what we've got the last two issues of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Detective Comics (2016) #991

Oct 24, 2018

The arc is approaching its close and its doing very well to build the suspense to get there, between raided precincts and blown up hideouts. I'm excited to see what's next in store for Gotham. Pick up this issue as soon as possible, you don't want to miss it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #992

Nov 16, 2018

Definitely pick up this arc, Harvey, and Bruce fighting side by side at first had me beside me. Now, I'm in love. This is one of the most fun novelty issue in y honest opinion and should be picked up ASAP

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Murder Falcon #1

Oct 23, 2018

Definitely impressed with this first issue. Not only am I able to closely relate to the material, but it's also clear to see that not metalhead readers can pick this up and feel the same jolt you feel when you know its time to ride the lightning.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Shadowman (2018) #1

Apr 23, 2018

Everything said and done this new series looks gritty, dark, and full of all the voodoo that we all love.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Shadowman (2018) #2

Apr 27, 2018

This miniseries is turning out better than I had hoped. Little set ups that have had big payoffs. My only problem is that these issues are paced very quickly. not leaving much time for the reader and the characters to reflect.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Immortal Men #1

Apr 20, 2018

This first installment makes hyped for more, but I am a bit skeptical of how the over-arcing conflict and storytelling will play out due to its youth. All in all, Immortal Men: The End of Forever has a clever way of hooking you in and bold ambition as a new series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
The Immortal Men #2

May 11, 2018

So far its still quite young, as much as I am personally compelled it does not have the clout just yet to be great. However its making the steps need to be such.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Immortal Men #3

Jun 17, 2018

This issue took the time to provide a bit of background for the heroes we've been following, and even then it feels like its just go go go in the pacing. For a month to month series, I think we need slightly more time to take in such vital informartion. Outside of that this was a great issue, the little bits of background we did get were very nice, and the ones that weren't rushed have me really asking question about what we will see in the coming issue. The illustrations feel extremely reminiscent of WildC.A.T.S. so you old comic buff out there can pick this up along with the newbie and be a part of this new age of heroes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Immortal Men #4

Jul 14, 2018

I can't help but be further and further impressed with this developing series. Certainly, a great way to kick off a new age of heroes. Jim Lee and James Tynion seem to be on the same wavelength with how well the illustrations go with the writing. Every issue has a way to leave me hanging off of the cliff begging for more and more information on this secret society of immortals before I drive myself nuts, Alas, I must wait until next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Immortal Men #5

Aug 13, 2018

All in all, this was a great follow up to last week's compelling and heartfelt assault on what's left of our heroes. We now have reason to actually hope that the House of Action has a chance at turning the tide of this war, and with these five rag-tag superhumans, this will be a glorious and heartfelt battle. These last few survivors have a lot of justice to deliver.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Immortal Men #6

Sep 15, 2018

GO READ THIS SERIES, DO IT!! I can't explain to you enough how much I love this series, I'm far more than interested in what's to come of this series with how suspenseful it turned out so far, the cliffhangers are great, the attention to detail is great, this neo-WildC.A.T.S. feel is amazing. Jim Lee is bringing it this time around. With where this issue ended this is the time to get into the series. Just before anything really huge goes down. GO PICK THIS UP!!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

More