Travis Tucker's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: On Comics Ground Reviews: 71
8.5Avg. Review Rating

10
Batman (2016) #48

Jun 7, 2018

This is a smashing entrance for the Joke at this time in Bruce's life, the way the art and writing come together is something rare to behold. Its not often I'm thinking about how good the cinematography in a comic book is. I'm very much curious to see where this story is going and I'm taking my seat for the ride. I highly suggest getting this comic for any collector looking to keep a piece of one the most important weddings of the decade!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #49

Jun 21, 2018

This issue was amazing. It was a great set up to the wedding coming soon. The way King is steering this series and its characters more into the cerebral and existential feels like a fresh take on these very old characters. I am very much excited for what the wedding has to tell us and the last prelude before the big day. I highly recommend picking up a copy of this if you can.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #51

Jul 19, 2018

This Cold Days arc is starting off quite nicely with subtle but large reveals to the direction Tom King has decided to take Batman and company. It shows us a side of Bruce that we always know is there but is never acknowledged. Being the beacon symbol of justice he's striving we see a chance for Bruce to grow in a way that may generally lend to his shining example as one of the greatest heroes in comics. If it's going the way I see it going, we may have an entirely new hero's journey for Bruce to embark on.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman (2016) #52

Aug 2, 2018

This issue was amazing, even if it has me wondering how "heroic" Batman is, I find myself lost in the story and compelled to learn more of what's to come. This is some uncharted territory for Batman, a zone that King has proven time and time again that he is comfortable in.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #53

Aug 15, 2018

This was a great read, I personally recommend all Batman fans read this arc if you're not now. Its essential to what Batman could be, but certainly should be. His influence on the people is something unshakeable and must be respected and treated with care. Having the people support your exploits as an abuser of the downtrodden with the system behind you that's a problem, and Bruce know that. It's very much refreshing to see him actually being written to pay attention to that

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #54

Sep 5, 2018

Sometimes filler is good. From my experiences, King has always excelled in this area. This specific issue I have a soft spot for. Growing up with Batman reading his comics to now having the great honor of reviewing them for you there has always been one constant the dynamic duo that pulls at my heartstrings. The importance of not allowing yourself to face the pain alone, no matter how much you think you have, having at least one shoulder to lean on can a big difference. No matter how super of a hero you are you're going to feel it. When the time comes, having someone break your fall can make the difference between being a dark knight or psycho killer clown.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #55

Sep 20, 2018

Tom King is consistent in rattling cages, the way he sets us up for the emotional dumps that you will inevitably experience reading this issue is almost not fair. He's breaking the rules of comics so to speak, and that's a very good thing if done correctly. It's clear that Bruce is not yet finished with his hardships for as long as King has the reigns on his story. In tandem with the almost pastel gothic style of the art, we are delivered are a very hard punch to the heart. Frankly, I'm not sure how to even rate this properly without seeing the repercussions. At least a 20 for impact as it is now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #56

Oct 3, 2018

I'm excited to see how this particular conflict concludes. Bruce having almost this new drive for this particular case seems to have breathed new life into Batman doing what some would call impossible in the name of what is very blurred justice and vengeance. We'll see how Bruce handles this issue when the man who shot his first son is presented before him.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2016) #57

Oct 18, 2018

Hopefully, soon we will have more meat and fewer potatoes with these coming issues from King, the whole thing feels like he now cares about this new crisis. When Batman audiences were told these hundred issues would be the change Batman needs. So far, we've been given a 25+ issue tease of a relationship that never actually went how it was foreshadowed, 3 issue of amazingly critical and self-aware writing of the Batman that hasn't ever really been seen, and this would some up the past six months. I can't help but feel lied to. The only change that has been shown even remotely feel like a diary entry from King himself, in which the consequences of such haven't come to fruition. Disingenuous I'd say. I need some more from my Batman guys.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman (2016) #58

Nov 7, 2018

PICK THIS ISSUE UP, I am beyond hyped to see what comes of this arc. ITS ABOUT TIME TOM.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #59

Nov 21, 2018

Definitely pick up this issue as soon as possible. A bi-weekly release of each issue is good for us to keep, but that doesn't it's not flying by. Coming into thanksgiving you all should have very many Batman related things to think about.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #60

Dec 21, 2018

Batman #60 is a very good issue, in my opinion, its almost as if pride and the fall cometh at the same time rather that one after the other. This issue is gonna be one to remember for sure and I'm very much excited to see what comes next

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #62

Jan 11, 2019

Knowing Tom King, these issues won't really be filler, just that right now it seems that way. Pick up these issues so you don't get blindsided later on.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman (2016) #63

Jan 23, 2019

Maybe read this issue in the store while you pick up your copy of Justice League. It's meh all around in my book, I'm sure it will be in yours too. Too much emotional haze and not nearly enough answers to even want to deal with more and different tension.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Batman (2016) #64

Feb 6, 2019

This issue is a good one and ties into not only Heroes In Crisis but Detective comics as well. Worth knowing this level of depth between Flash and Batman. Perhaps not worht the cost of the direction of Batman's self titled comic. Especially since it ties into Detective Comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) Annual #3

Dec 17, 2018

You have to pick this book up, there's so much I can tell you about it without spoiling it for you, its a great issue. Trust me

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016): Secret Files #1

Oct 31, 2018

The five separate stories were very refreshing in comparison to the sort of dragged out long-winded over arcs in the main stories. This was a very nice distraction from wondering what's going on with Bane and why he's hanging out with Psycho Pirate since Batman #50.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: Curse of the White Knight #1

Aug 11, 2019

I'm honestly chomping at the bit for the next issue of this series, with everything put towards world-building in issue one. The stage is set for one of the most fun runs of our modern Batman lore.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman: Damned #1

Sep 23, 2018

This first issue of the series is a very strong start to what feels like is going to be one of the much darker arcs we've ever seen from Batman in a while. I gotta be honest with you readers, a little bit about me, I'm a HUGE metalhead. Not your hair band or hard rock type of stuff, death metal, blast beats pig squeals and a punch in the face. So I'm more than excited for this coming darkness, the art is a wonderful juxtaposing heretically biblical art with the Dark Knight was one of the smartest ideas ever. I'm a bit of a fanboy though. So go check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Damned #2

Jan 5, 2019

I am in love with Batman Damned thus far, any complaints about it would be specifically a contrivance for the sake of not my actual opinion. It's not for the faint of heart but I recommend this to anyone who likes some grimdark in their stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman: Kings of Fear #1

Sep 4, 2018

This was an awesome issue, full of nostalgia for what exactly I love about Batman. While also holding up a very critical lens to the character and what he does (feels like a theme throughout his publications of late). I'm excited to see what's in store for the next parts of this series and eagerly await more phenomenal iconography in the issues to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman: Kings of Fear #2

Sep 28, 2018

This mini-series is starting slow for sure but has great promise for the future. So far for what seems to be a gallery for Batman rogues and iconography, it's pretty good. Until things pick up I won't say go grab this just yet, maybe wait for an issue or two.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Kings of Fear #3

Oct 25, 2018

Kings of Fear is turning out to be a fun ride of nostalgia, humor, and thought-provoking to the fans. I recommend this for any hardcore Gotham reader. This series cuts to the chase and makes sure the chase isn't boring or complex for the reader. With the classic and iconic artwork of the series to help out, what else could you want?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman: Kings of Fear #4

Nov 30, 2018

This is a good comic. Not very grabbing of a story, but will be a great trade paperback when the time comes. When that happens, this series will be best used as an intro to Batman and Scarecrow. It covers all of the bases we normally see these two touch down on.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Last Knight on Earth #2

Aug 6, 2019

I'm head over heels for this series. The writer and artist combi here is legendary and for good reason. Adding this black label title to their files is nothing short of a great step in a staircase of great Batman publications for these two. Never a dull moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Batgirl vs. The Riddler #1

Jun 13, 2018

This is was good overall, it felt like the folks who filmed Whip It had a hand in the direction of the illustrations. Barbara was on point the entire issue handling her business in a concise yet elegant manner. I just wasn't digging Riddler's rhymes, in the past they strayed away from it and honestly they should go back, it kind of bogged down the issues overall readability for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Harley Quinn vs. Joker #1

Jun 30, 2018

I greatly enjoyed this issue, the connection between Harley and Joker has always been tumultuous at best. This issue seems to make great effort to put everything out on the table for the clowns. Now with only the wedding to wait for, this can only get more exciting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Nightwing vs. Hush #1

Jun 6, 2018

This is turning out to be a great arc, if I'm being honest with spoiling. What's coming to the family is something old but with a very new take on things. Its geared up to be one of the higher quality Gotham stories we've seen lately the next one in two weeks should be awesome as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Red Hood vs. Anarky #1

Jun 20, 2018

I liked this comic, but if you're new to the Prelude issue, don't pick this one up first. its a little hard to get through even with Jason and his typical antics. The illustrations to me are the redeeming trait in this issue, keeping me curious during the short lived action panels with exposition just heaped on top of it. For me this wouldn't have been so bad is the information we were given wasn't old news repackaged and was actually resolved. Not this time, feel like Jason's edginess was used this time solely to close off some already meh dialogue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Robin vs. Ra's Al Ghul #1

May 30, 2018

Overall, this issue was very good. It was quite nice to see such a brazen character be brought back to an area that is actually relatable to the fanbase. The art was exceptionally complimentary to the thought provoking writing, I am elated to see what this and the wedding will hold not only for Damien Wayne, but the entirety of the Batfamily. This issue certainly gets the deep story cogs turning.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #984

Jul 12, 2018

I love this arc with Black Lightning and Batman so far, Bruce admitting he can't properly teach them I feel is a great step in the right direction for the rest of the Batfamily to shine individually as their own characters. They do very well in the plot to tell you what type of threat we are dealing with and how skilled they really are. Making Cass Cain sweat is not an easy feat in the slightest, and frankly it excites me for what s next to come in this arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Detective Comics (2016) #985

Jul 25, 2018

This issue was rather droll in comparison to the ones that lead to this. Its just exposition stacked upon exposition with no real payoff. I enjoyed reading it but I just can't give credit to something that we've seen Batman do countless time be repackaged in an uninteresting way. The issue feels like it was more so the readers have something to chew on while waiting for the climax of this arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Detective Comics (2016) #986

Aug 11, 2018

All things said and done, I liked this issue. It's a good way to bring the action up for the final showdown between Bruce and his Karma. The family's adamant need to disobey Bruce's direct orders is a nice touch, I just that maybe someday soon Bruce will come to appreciate the help and support that he is bestowed. Jefferson coming in as a teacher may be the McGuffin for that subplot so time will only tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Detective Comics (2016) #987

Aug 26, 2018

I liked this read, made me feel that maybe it's getting close to time for a Batman to take the wheel as support in most cases these days. Even though he's triumphed it becomes quite obvious that he needs to do something to keep his edge as the dark knight. With all of these different comics forcing Bruce into the retirement corner, I wouldn't be surprised if he's forced to do so by some grievous injury.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Detective Comics (2016) #988

Sep 14, 2018

I'm starting to fall for the idea of Bruce showing actual emotion in this recent issue, he's becoming more of a reserved, don't talk about issues kind of person and we are being shown how that can be a detriment to someone in general. Whether it throws you off your game, makes you lash out, or cut yourself off from your loved ones depression can affect us all. Even the coldest heroes need to get it all out, we are very lucky to live in a time where we can see the Batman be able to actually process his tragedy and not just take in out on the face of crime in Gotham.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Detective Comics (2016) #989

Sep 27, 2018

I liked this issue, but it was still quite slow and rather cliche if I'm being honest. I like the emotion that Batman is getting but honestly with how slow paced this new arc is I can't but feel like this is just run of the mill filler, and will ultimately have no impact.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Detective Comics (2016) #990

Oct 16, 2018

Its still a little for me to really judge this new arc, the past few issues were very enjoyable. However, it feels like back to back filler. Which slows my enthusiasm to find out what's going on. Filler needs to be captivating in my opinion, otherwise its just dissatisfying build up which is what we've got the last two issues of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Detective Comics (2016) #991

Oct 24, 2018

The arc is approaching its close and its doing very well to build the suspense to get there, between raided precincts and blown up hideouts. I'm excited to see what's next in store for Gotham. Pick up this issue as soon as possible, you don't want to miss it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #992

Nov 16, 2018

Definitely pick up this arc, Harvey, and Bruce fighting side by side at first had me beside me. Now, I'm in love. This is one of the most fun novelty issue in y honest opinion and should be picked up ASAP

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Detective Comics (2016) #993

Nov 29, 2018

Pick this issue up, it has a lot of novelty in how unorthodox the approach to Harvey, Bruce and Commissioner Gordon as a group of people with a rich history. Not just reasons to hate each other. I liked that a lot.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #996

Jan 16, 2019

Pick this issue up, and each of the other two issues leading up to #1000 it's gearing up to be one for the ages.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Detective Comics (2016) #1000

Mar 27, 2019

A collection of 11 stories from well-known writers and artists. Commemorating the 80 years of Detective Comics that gave us the caped crusader we love so much. Go pick up Detective Comic #1000 today!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Detective Comics (2016) #1002

Apr 30, 2019

Pick up this issue guys, I feel this one is gonna be an unsung gem for sure. Not often do other mediums get their characters in the source material. So I hope they do the Knight very well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #1003

May 14, 2019

I'm excited to see what she does, to be honest. Because so far her capabilities are definitely there. I need more tension before the showdown too.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #1004

Jun 7, 2019

This is setting up to be a very exciting showdown. Astrid feels like the villain that not only Bruce but we the readers need. If done right, this could have some clout in the future. I can't wait to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Detective Comics (2016) #1005

Jun 24, 2019

I like this issue. However, to say I was not disappointed would be a stretch. I was really hoping to see a villain that Bruce has to fear and consider formidable. In truth, I want him to lose. Maybe that is a personal issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #1006

Jul 26, 2019

This pair up is rather intriguing. The spirit of vengeance and the dark knight. The contrast of methods is certainly going to come up and I can not be more excited if I'm being honest.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Detective Comics (2016) #1007

Jul 15, 2019

All in all, I think these last few arcs have been great bud very short lived. I find myself being enthralled in the story and after all that it ends unceremoniously. Don't get me wrong, I know not everyone is gonna go out that way. However, the Arkham Knight and The Spectre I feel deserved it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Detective Comics (2016) #1008

Aug 10, 2019

Tomasi is a very good writer so I have to give him the benefit of the doubt. Next issue should be rather interesting. Pop into your local comic shop to grab this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Murder Falcon #1

Oct 23, 2018

Definitely impressed with this first issue. Not only am I able to closely relate to the material, but it's also clear to see that not metalhead readers can pick this up and feel the same jolt you feel when you know its time to ride the lightning.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Murder Falcon #2

Nov 19, 2018

If you like metal or just decent, campy action. Grab a copy of Murder Falcon and give it a try. There are only two issues so now's the best time to grab one and go.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Murder Falcon #3

Dec 16, 2018

This book is too metal for one hand, I find myself in absolute love with this series as it's been unfolding. It's relatable and fantastic all at the same time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Murder Falcon #4

Apr 10, 2019

Keep bringing these great issues, Daniel. I'm excited to see where your mind keeps taking us on this journey. Brooticus is in good hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Murder Falcon #5

Apr 11, 2019

The story is developing like a very well thought out fantasy biopic comic about (insert band here) and I'm hyped to see this reach its climax. Not many issues left in this. Put this in your pull list ASAP.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Murder Falcon #6

Apr 12, 2019

This series has made me pick up my bass again. It's just that good. I can't recommend this any more than I already have because folks what we have here is a ringer. I suggest we all bang our heads and ride the lightning.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Murder Falcon #7

Apr 15, 2019

This series comes to an end next issue and nows your chance to catch up. It's a great series whether you listen to metal or not so come support this so we can have more metal comics in our futures.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Murder Falcon #8

May 28, 2019

I will certainly be buying a hardcover trade of this as soon as they have them released. Then, I am going to find my favorite panels and see what I can do in regards to a tattoo.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Resonant #1

Jun 6, 2019

Pretty strong start for this series. I have a serious feeling that this is gonna be the horror book for parents, no ifs, ands, or buts about it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Shadowman (2018) #1

Apr 23, 2018

Everything said and done this new series looks gritty, dark, and full of all the voodoo that we all love.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Shadowman (2018) #2

Apr 27, 2018

This miniseries is turning out better than I had hoped. Little set ups that have had big payoffs. My only problem is that these issues are paced very quickly. not leaving much time for the reader and the characters to reflect.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Sweetie #1

Apr 26, 2019

This comic is great to say the very least. Pick up this series as its releasing. Third party pubs need love for sure.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #1

Dec 14, 2018

Pick this comic up, its certainly worth its sand and has all of the grimdark, broody Batman stuff we can all enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #2

Jan 17, 2019

Pick up #2 as soon as you can, you will not be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #5

May 8, 2019

I'm loving this series I must admit. It's very much got me hyped all the way up. I'm sad it must end, but I think we all know this villain is too dangerous to be allowed to stick around.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #7

Aug 5, 2019

This was a wonderful series in my opinion. A great look into the real problems with Bruce not only as a hero but as an icon in the real world. The Batman we know is the worst one. Snyder just wants better for us.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Immortal Men #1

Apr 20, 2018

This first installment makes hyped for more, but I am a bit skeptical of how the over-arcing conflict and storytelling will play out due to its youth. All in all, Immortal Men: The End of Forever has a clever way of hooking you in and bold ambition as a new series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
The Immortal Men #2

May 11, 2018

So far its still quite young, as much as I am personally compelled it does not have the clout just yet to be great. However its making the steps need to be such.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Immortal Men #3

Jun 17, 2018

This issue took the time to provide a bit of background for the heroes we've been following, and even then it feels like its just go go go in the pacing. For a month to month series, I think we need slightly more time to take in such vital informartion. Outside of that this was a great issue, the little bits of background we did get were very nice, and the ones that weren't rushed have me really asking question about what we will see in the coming issue. The illustrations feel extremely reminiscent of WildC.A.T.S. so you old comic buff out there can pick this up along with the newbie and be a part of this new age of heroes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Immortal Men #4

Jul 14, 2018

I can't help but be further and further impressed with this developing series. Certainly, a great way to kick off a new age of heroes. Jim Lee and James Tynion seem to be on the same wavelength with how well the illustrations go with the writing. Every issue has a way to leave me hanging off of the cliff begging for more and more information on this secret society of immortals before I drive myself nuts, Alas, I must wait until next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Immortal Men #5

Aug 13, 2018

All in all, this was a great follow up to last week's compelling and heartfelt assault on what's left of our heroes. We now have reason to actually hope that the House of Action has a chance at turning the tide of this war, and with these five rag-tag superhumans, this will be a glorious and heartfelt battle. These last few survivors have a lot of justice to deliver.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Immortal Men #6

Sep 15, 2018

GO READ THIS SERIES, DO IT!! I can't explain to you enough how much I love this series, I'm far more than interested in what's to come of this series with how suspenseful it turned out so far, the cliffhangers are great, the attention to detail is great, this neo-WildC.A.T.S. feel is amazing. Jim Lee is bringing it this time around. With where this issue ended this is the time to get into the series. Just before anything really huge goes down. GO PICK THIS UP!!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

August

July

More