waltgator's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Weird Science Marvel Comics Reviews: 65
7.1Avg. Review Rating

7.5
Age of X-Man: Omega #1

Jul 17, 2019

Well, the book obviously had its ups and downs. I enjoyed the dialogue and liked how we got to see everyone from the books. But at the same time, I would have preferred more characters from NextGen and X-Tremists. The issue felt like a nice closure but at the same time, wow! The art was not that good! Juan Frigeri should have been on art. Would not recommend this book at all if you are not caught up on all of the Age of X-Man books.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Age Of X-Man: NextGen #5

Jun 19, 2019

Well this miniseries did have some good issues! And if we do get X-men books besides the ones that are already been announced, really hope we get Ed Brisson back on to write this young team. That Uncanny run, at one point I was hoping they would kill off these young mutants, but now I enjoy them! Now only did I enjoy this team but also Department X, a team who I have yet to enjoy in their own book. The art really made the issue enjoyable as well!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Age Of X-Man: Prisoner X #1

Mar 10, 2019

Later back at dinner, Gabby actually snitches to Beasts about talking to Bishop, causing him to show him a beat down. Bishop was able to hold his own against Beast for a little while until he started to have flash backs of Beasts as an x-men which confuses him and lets Beasts get the upper hand. The guards send the two of them to their own cells, where he closes his eyes and gets a vision of his past villains taunting him about how the fun isn't over with him yet. He wakes to find a note on the floor saying to believe the dreams because everything else is fake.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Age Of X-Man: Prisoner X #4

Jun 7, 2019

With this being the penultimate issue, I have one thing I want to answer next issue… who is their benefactor? Can't be X-man, due to fact Legion and X-man were fighting each other back in real world. Some things felt out of place and just there. The art overall did really good job at painting us a story. Every scene, besides the scene with Dani and Lorna talking about what happened before, could have just read the scene by the art and not the dialogue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Age Of X-Man: Prisoner X #5

Jul 3, 2019

If you have been following along with the Age of X-Man books then you know what you are in store for. As well, this is by far the best of the Age of X-Man books with an ending that makes me excited for the Omega special. The positives to this issue is that it has some great artwork, great action scene, and great dialogue. Only downside is that not enough from Dani and Gabby. My recommendation would be buy this issue and even when it comes out in trade, buy the trade for a friend.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Age Of X-Man: The Amazing Nightcrawler #2

Mar 21, 2019

Later that night, Kurt heads to where Meggan told him to go, only to be recognized by some sketchy girl telling him to go right through this door and it will blow his mind. When Kurt goes through the door he walks right into a basically a club where people can go to dance, kiss, and have some fun! Rule is to wear a mask so people don't know its you. Would be a good idea except as soon as Kurt gets in there, he recognizes someone who is already in a mask and his own appearance is not easy to miss. He freaks out and leaves the building as he poofs out on her again. Twice in one day. As he returns home, he enters his room to find none other than, Mystique telling that she is here to explain everything!

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Age Of X-Man: The Amazing Nightcrawler #3

Apr 29, 2019

They go and find Celeste who helps them track down the young girl. She may be my favorite character in this book, has spunk. The little girl's name is Tenia Jean. Kurt and Meggan teleport to Kurt's room where he gathers a few things even though they are in a hurry due to the fact they are going to be moving Tenia soon. Before they do anything they get interrupted by Irma, who Celeste told her what is happening and she arranges a press event the next day in which we can assume is a mall. Unfortunately the rival had a similar idea and arrived at the mall to start some trouble, we end the issue with a fight about to begin.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.3
Age Of X-Man: The Amazing Nightcrawler #4

May 22, 2019

Well amazing art! Can't really say much positive about it. It's such a shame that Frigeri art isn't getting paired with someone stronger of a writer than McGuire. Only last few pages of this issue progressed and the reveal came true to who is the villain of this mini. Each issue felt like the plot of the overall story is different, and this issue isn't different. Some of the reveals felt completely out of left field. Too much information all at the end plus confusing information, feels like they were rushing in some parts.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Age Of X-Man: The Amazing Nightcrawler #5

Jun 19, 2019

Well the issue wasn't worse in the run, but didn't redeem itself by the end. I will say this, the art always did it's job! I was impressed and enjoyed each panel. However, this issue had some parts that felt rushed and other things felt like we are just repeating ourselves. The ending was okay, it was just how they got there with the dialogue was my biggest issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Age Of X-Man: The Marvelous X-Men #5

Jun 12, 2019

While this mini series, wasn't one I was always looking forward to each issue, the ending really nailed it! We get a sense that the books are all going to get getting connected by the end of their run in a way. As well as seeing more of what Nature Girl can do which now I'm hoping we see her when Hickman takes over. The change in art really did a great job to let us know when a time shift has occurred as well as help tell the story!

View Issue       View Full Review
3.5
Age Of X-Man: X-Tremists #4

Jun 1, 2019

With being the last issue before it comes to an end, so much happened that just happened out of nowhere. So when you are fired from the team, you just get your mind wiped and you still stay on the team, even though couldn't they have done that to Colossus in the way beginning instead of sending him to prison. The dialogue for Bobby is just wow awful! Leah better not be on any future Iceman books. The stuff about Jubilee came right out of left field and just flowed terribly. The art couldn't even save this issue. Some panels the characters don't even have faces.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Age Of X-Man: X-Tremists #5

Jun 27, 2019

Well probably my favorite issue in the mini! It explained a few things and actually made me curious to keep reading. Something this book has failed to keep doing. Was relief when I saw come continuity connections between this book and NextGen. The dialogue didn't hate it as well! Pretty good dialogue and good artwork, I'd say pick this up!

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Agents of Atlas (2019) #2

Oct 23, 2019

What is this story about because I have no idea and really from what I have read, nothing is telling me that this book should even exist. It has some awesome characters but we don't even get much from any of them. Unfortunately, even the art wasn't all that great in the book. I feel like Greg Pak really could care less about this book. Otherwise, he would write at least a decent story. I would not recommend this book at all! Nothing about this book is even interesting and it is a shame that these characters are being wasted away.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Agents of Atlas (2019) #3

Oct 23, 2019

What is this story about because I have no idea and really from what I have read, nothing is telling me that this book should even exist. It has some awesome characters but we don't even get much from any of them. Unfortunately, even the art wasn't all that great in the book. I feel like Greg Pak really could care less about this book. Otherwise, he would write at least a decent story. I would not recommend this book at all! Nothing about this book is even interesting and it is a shame that these characters are being wasted away.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.3
Agents of Atlas (2019) #4

Nov 15, 2019

Well, we have one issue left and really feel like this should have been a three-issue mini-series. No clue if Greg Pak just cashed in a favor from Marvel so he could write whatever he would like even if it is garbage. Because that is what this story really is. Not much as really happen and the only thing that would entice me to come back is what Shang-Chi finds out later on in the issue. But overall it is quite sad that we aren't getting much from fan favorite's Amadeus or even Silk. We're not even getting much for readers to be new fans of some of these characters. The artwork varies throughout this issue from eh okay to actually pretty.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Annihilation - Scourge: Nova #1

Dec 5, 2019

Well at first I was a bit nervous going into this book. I thought I was going to be lost. But, I was surprised that I did just fine! However, as much as I enjoyed the story, the art just didn't seem to work for me in this issue. Besides the art and the "Yancy Street incident", I thoroughly enjoyed the issue. The dialogue was good and the backstory on Nova really helped me dive into the issue comfortably. This series has only sparked my interest in Nova and I would love to see Rosenberg on a Nova series in the near future. I would highly recommend this issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Fearless (2019) #1

Jul 25, 2019

I am shocked that I liked this! Thought it would have been forced girl power and how awful men are. First story was pretty good except for one part with bad dialogue and another with bad art. First story has me hooked on. The second story, would advise anyone to skip it because felt like it was oddly placed in this book. The third story, quick but such a tease that can't wait to see what Kelly has in store! Would I recommend this? Oh yes I would!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Guardians of the Galaxy (2019) #5

May 15, 2019

This book was a very quick read! Unfortunately, wanted to get more about the team we have but only ones who talked were the ones who have been doing most of the talk so far in this story. They are few characters who I know nothing about that I was actually looking forward to get invested in. I will admit the page with Cosmic Ghost Rider about to lay waste did look wicked! Hoping to see more of him. The art on some panels looked good while others looked alright, nothing I would brag about. The twist kind of saw coming. Again hoping this book gets it's groove after this first story gets done.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Guardians of the Galaxy (2019) #7

Jul 24, 2019

For being the first issue of a story arc, I am okay with being a bit confused because it only intrigues me to want to read more. But, that is all we got from this issue. I am intrigued about the enemy and the cliffhanger, which are the two big things in my opinion. The art was very good! The dialogue was good from what we got, even though it felt like we didnt get much talking from a couple of our team members. Overall, we get a good jumping on point for those who skipped the first arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.8
Invisible Woman (2019) #2

Aug 7, 2019

While I enjoyed the last issue, this issue just didn't do it for me. Some of the dialogue was off and it doesn't even feel like Susan Storm. The art is pretty good but some of the scenes took longer than they should have. The issue has more negatives than positive. Hopefully next issue sways me differently. I would not recommend this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Meet The Skrulls #1

Mar 8, 2019

We cut back to a field trip with a school that could possibly be doing a butterfly field trip. There, some girl that one can assume is Skrull just the way she is being all weird like, is playing with a caterpillar. Unfortunately, this outcast is being bullied by some of her classmates due to her stalking one of the popular kids. Personally, at this point I thought the Skrull was going to attack the bullies just out of rage but a teacher came by and for a split second that got the Skrull to quickly leave the situation while the teacher punishes the two bullies for not paying attention. Instead we see a butterfly fly off and leave the building to go on travel, which obviously is a Skrull. At this point, there has been no narration at all, which is quiet surprising but it only adds a bit of mystery as to what is going on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Meet The Skrulls #2

Mar 21, 2019

Once again we get another issue with no narration, no clue if this is what the writer is known for but it isn't an issue with this issue, everything was real straight and forward. Really enjoying what we get with Alice, Madison, and the dad Carl. Still wish had more information on the mom, Gloria. I will give Niko and Robbie this, they really do one great job as a team! If you weren't already invested in the family, you would be invested due to the cliffhanger.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Meet The Skrulls #3

Apr 28, 2019

Final ThoughtsSo we finally get the result of the battle of last week's cliffhanger, something that I have been looking forward to since issue one, and the result was a bit disappointed that we don't see any of the battle. The artwork though was a bit off in this issue on a few panels. But other than those two things, issue is a great. Been saying this for a while even though there is no narration boxes, this book doesn't need them. It is straight forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Meet The Skrulls #4

May 2, 2019

The team of Thompson and Henrichon is really making this book stand out! Most books I feel like the return of Ivy would have been forced but this felt more natural in a way. This could easily be one of Marvel's best miniseries of 2019! I am looking forward to the exciting conclusion of this miniseries!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Meet The Skrulls #5

Jun 6, 2019

I will give this book credit, before I started reading this run, could careless about Skrulls. Now I will admit now I am looking forward to next time we see a Skrull, mainly Alice. The issue isn't too complicated, mainly just straight to the point. And the art really works well with the book. Book was good amount of action as well!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Miles Morales: Spider-Man (2018) #3

Feb 22, 2019

What a quick end to the first story arc! Unfortunately feel like it was a bit too quick and easy! Not much of an inner battle between the trio! Another issue or two would have made the story a bit better as well as maybe some adult henchmen for Snatcher. But overall hope to see more team-ups with Miles and Rhino or Miles and Rhino. Art was beautiful and the dialogue was great! Just needed to be a bit longer of a story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Miles Morales: Spider-Man (2018) #4

Mar 21, 2019

Later, the gang heads to the movies where Ganke is the one that ruins the mood between Miles and Barbara when he shoots Miles a text giving him a heads up that Vice Principal Lyle is out looking for him. Which seems like a lot of time has passed since Vice Principal Lyle banging at the door to now. The gang quickly and successfully beats Vice Principal Lyle back to school. That night, we see Miles in bed writing to his journal about a wonderful day he had all right before realizing that now he may actually be sick.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Miles Morales: Spider-Man (2018) #6

May 23, 2019

This book feels so much like a Spider-Man character without being Peter Parker. Both the art and the writer is superb to when it comes to Spider-Man! However, I need more from Miles life. The deal with Barbara needs more explanation and give Ganke more time with his buddy! That friendship is squad goals! Do like the new character Starling and hopefully we see her soon whether it's a cameo or for longer. Highly recommend this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Miles Morales: Spider-Man (2018) #7

Jun 19, 2019

We really don't get much here in sense of pushing forward with story or character moments really. We get a snippet of scenes from Miles life. Both super and normal life. This felt more like a breath issue after last story arc. The issue however, does plant some seeds for future stories. The dialogue was good! But it was the art that weakened the book. Saladin Ahmed does a great job so far with new characters and this new character that Miles faces off against, seems to be a great foe for Miles. Bring on the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Miles Morales: Spider-Man (2018) #8

Jul 10, 2019

This issue felt a bit of a downer. A bit of what is happening in this story arc without actually telling us the main plot points. While I enjoyed the artwork, would have preferred some dialogue or narration to give me more on the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Miles Morales: Spider-Man (2018) #9

Aug 14, 2019

This issue definitely was a hard one to review since I really loked the story, but kept stumbling with the art. However, the dialogue was great and the action scenes did have me pumped. Overall, I would recommend it

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Miles Morales: Spider-Man (2018) #10

Sep 11, 2019

The trail leads Miles to come face to face with the Ultimate Universe's Green Goblin. However, it's strange that Miles doesn't remember who he is at first. They both go at it and what seems like could be a draw, ends up being a handicap match until someone steps on Miles. Someone who calls himself Ultimatum but has a face like Giant-Man.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Miles Morales: Spider-Man (2018) #11

Oct 9, 2019

I will admit, first time reading it I read it fast but the second time when I read it I enjoyed it so much more and appreciated Ahmed's work better. The art is once again, amazing! I was expecting this book to answer some questions about Ultimatum but hoping this is a 5-6 issue story. If that is the case then I am okay waiting for an issue or so. Highly recommend! The dialogue, story, and art proves why this book is happening.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Miles Morales: Spider-Man (2018) #12

Nov 6, 2019

While this issue doesn't really push the overall story forward much, I really enjoyed it. I still hope we get more about Ultimatum soon, but I truly can recommend this issue to anyone who likes good action, character development, Miles, and amazing art. Go check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Miles Morales: Spider-Man (2018) #13

Dec 11, 2019

While this issue really didn't do a lot for the overall story, I still enjoyed it a lot. It was action-packed with good, snappy dialogue that keeps everything moving at a nice pace. This issue comes highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Mr. and Mrs. X #11

May 25, 2019

Now with only one more issue left, this issue felt rushed in some parts. Issue does show the love that they have for each other is strong, although isn't that all we have been getting in this series as well. The artwork is amazing but wish they draw Rogue to look a bit older, not a fan of her looking like she is still in middle school. The issue was a bit underwhelming, but hey let's hope it closes strong!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Mr. and Mrs. X #12

Jun 26, 2019

Well the book is all done and I am quite sadden. The book had so much potential and this issue alone is a great example for it. Kelly Thompson does wonders with these two. Can make you feel for the characters and we get great action scene in this issue! Only downside would be something felt a bit rushed.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Old Man Quill #8

Aug 7, 2019

I liked this issue but felt like it was not needed as much. The issue could have been shortened a bit. Things were answered but I wish they did stuff to actually progress the story. The issue is a bit of a side story and not needed. The art was pretty good and I enjoyed the dialogue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Runaways (2017) #21

May 23, 2019

At first I thought it was going to be a boring issue, but turns out to be an issue with great feelings that makes you excited for the future and some great humor! The art really compliments the writing and makes it easier to read. For a one-shot issue, it definitely is adding on for future storylines.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Runaways (2017) #22

Jun 26, 2019

This issue does another great job to get you with the feelings! Especially from with Nico and Karolina as well as with Chase! All of the scenes were great with artwork as well as with the writing, except for with Gib and Molly. She didn't bring her Molly charm that we are love when they were talking, thankfully she brought some of it later one. The battle scene with the Runaways vs. Doombot had some great moments that make you realize, why you enjoy this team!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Runaways (2017) #23

Jul 31, 2019

The art is enjoyable… but really the book feels stale and this issue just proves it. Nothing is happening and the characters aren't doing anything. The run started out good but mainly because they had a common goal. Typically, they have a five-issue story arc so this would be the last issue in the story arc. However, I'm hoping we have one more issue left. The only good I can see from this issue is the set up for a Karolina and Nico comic as well as a spin-off for two more of the characters. Molly's character hasn't done much, so she and Gib are basically being wasted. I would not recommend this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Runaways (2017) #24

Aug 30, 2019

Well this seems to be a recap issue. But done nicely. The art was very good with great scenes. But someone who has been reading all of the issues, will agree that this run feels stale now and not as good as when the title first came out in mid 2000's. Now that we have a recap issue, hopefully we get a better story. Would recommend this issue to anyone who has either not been reading the recent issues or someone who wants to jump on the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Runaways (2017) #25

Oct 2, 2019

Well, it seems like the book is finally doing something! The first problem I have with this issue is that the team was forced to leave their homes. It could have been just something simple and natural. Also, what's going on with Gib? He needs to go. Other than that, a thoroughly enjoyable issue! The art is very good. This issue actually now has me excited for whats to come. This may be the jumping on point that this book has been waiting for!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Runaways (2017) #26

Oct 30, 2019

Not much action happened here, just a good amount of dialogue. If this book is actually planning what I think they are planning then I am so looking forward to more of what is to come. This is a book that for the longest time has gone nowhere. But if we are setting up something new and adventures for our Runaways, then this could be the saving grace that the book has been waiting for. The art is very good! Dialogue, on the other hand, is a mix. It has some great parts and others felt forced and out of the blue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Runaways (2017) #27

Nov 13, 2019

I really enjoyed this issue! It had Great dialogue, great scenes and great artwork! There was that odd part with Gib, but still, I recommend this issue as we move forward with some big changes.8.5/10

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Spider-Gwen: Ghost-Spider (2018) #8

May 1, 2019

Final ThoughtSeems like the Ghost Spider part of her name was only to draw in new readers and really not change a thing about the character. Unless the Symbiote will have some changes coming up. Well the cliffhanger sure got me looking forward to next issue which I must say, might be the first time I have been looking for a Spider-Gwen issue. The artwork unfortunately needs to stay consist because some of the pages were terrible and not worth looking at! McGuire is doing fine on writing but he needs a new artist.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Spider-Gwen: Ghost-Spider (2018) #10

Jul 3, 2019

Finally! Ghost-Spider is here! We get her calling herself that, even though felt odd. I do prefer this way of how she thought of the name than how she thought of the name in Spider-Geddon which felt forced. Well I know one thing for sure after reading this, Seanan better not be writing any Spider-Man in the near future! The artwork was eh okay, like a 6.5. But after reading this issue, I asked myself, would I give this issue to someone? Strangely, yes I would. A nice one-shot that tells you a little about Gwen. Be a good issue to read before reading her new series in August.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Spider-Man: City At War #3

Jun 1, 2019

Well, was not a fan of the Miles and MJ's section of the video game and was not fan of them getting each an issue in this mini-series. While the art is great, if you have already played the game then no clue why you would pick this up. If you didn't play the game, then you will not be a fan of this issue because it was centered on MJ. Would have been nice to see some background on Mary Jane.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Spider-Man: City At War #5

Jul 17, 2019

Only real downside to this issue was not enough Sinister Six. With one issue left, really hope we are in for some real nice fight scenes. With one downside, this issue did quite a bit for it's upsides such as the time jumps worked well with the book, did a nice jump on setting things up for sequels, the art was good (not great that would brag but wasn't awful, it did it's job), and the dialogue thoroughly enjoy. I get it that it isn't the books fault for making MJ like a Iris West but not as good so can't fault the writer.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Spider-Man: Velocity #1

Aug 29, 2019

Well I feel like my hype was what kind of left me a bit disappointed. Seems like we are getting quite a bit of information but just too soon. Some wasted panels and pages that could have been used to set things up and shown us a better issue. The dialogue, I guess is good. This is a different Earth so they can be not what we are used to. The art mixes between good and just okay. Needs progress. Nothing really on this issue to make me brag about to others. Hopefully issue two gets me excited again for this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Spider-Man: Velocity #2

Sep 25, 2019

Well started off actually great! Besides the whole time skip. But it wasnt a major time skip like City at War. Art has improved in some panels and other panels basically stayed the same. Can tell which panels were rushed. Would I recommend it? Leaning towards yes but next issue better make me psyched for following issue with an awesome cliffhanger, one we got didnt do the trick.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Spider-Man: Velocity #3

Oct 24, 2019

Final ThoughtsIt might be the first issue that I thoroughly enjoyed! Was it perfect? No, far from it but it had moments that were great and it progressed the story well while including a cliffhanger that I actually want to read about! Art was pretty solid and I would easily recommend this issue to anyone!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Spider-Man: Velocity #4

Nov 20, 2019

Was the last issue's high score a fluke? I think so! This story easily could have been a 3 issue mini-series. So many scenes occurred in this issue that took up more space then they did, while other scenes that we got progress on the story, ended too short. Like the last page where Spider-Man is on the screens and he has quite a bit of dialogue, the dialogue was just wasted. It's strange that the City At War story so much happened, but in this story, not enough has happened. Dennis also really needs to start working on his cliffhangers. If she dies, so what? Hopeless has done nothing to make me actually care for Haley. The art is eh pretty solid. Really hoping that Dennis has a trick up his sleeve for me to win me over on the last issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Star Wars: Age Of Resistance: Rey #1

Sep 18, 2019

As much as I enjoy Tom Taylor's work, this issue didn't do the trick for me. The art was very good for most of the issue but this just feels like a wasted opportunity. It Could have done so much more to show why we all love Rey, but this certainly does not. Would I recommend this issue? Not really.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Star Wars: Age Of Resistance: Rey #1

Sep 20, 2019

As much as I enjoy Tom Taylor's work, this issue didn't do the trick for me. The art was very good for most of the issue but this just feels like a wasted issue. Could have done so much more to show why we all love Rey, but this certainly does not. We had some scenes that went on for quite a while and other scenes that were just cut off too soon. Would I recommend this issue? No. Not even if you are a die-hard Star Wars fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Superior Spider-Man (2018) #6

May 30, 2019

The issue started off with a parallel of two encounters Otto and Strange had, which ultimately did nothing for the story. The issue did a little bit better with the pacing than last issue, which felt like it took forever to read to read. The issue did have one time that dragged on but after, was enjoy to read! With great dialogue, the banter between the two doctor's had me hoping we see more of them. The art team did great job except for the flashback scene. Even though it did feel like a flashback, the art was a bit off on some of the panels. Overall, book is defiantly one to pick up!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Superior Spider-Man (2018) #8

Jun 27, 2019

I know nothing about the War of the Realms book, and I thoroughly enjoyed this issue! The big thing that I pulled out of this, Gage should totally do a West Coast Avengers book. That and I need to start reading that book! This book could be my favorite issue in the Superior run yet, had great laughable moments and some character development for Otto. If had to grab any two books from Marvel, it would be this and last issue of this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.8
Tony Stark: Iron Man #11

May 25, 2019

Finally the long story arc is done! This issue isn't one to gaga over. Art was okay and dialogue ranged from good to forced. Did enjoy seeing the Champions there, might actually start reading them now. The final battle scene felt rushed and I know Tony Stark has a big ego, could have had him work more with his team. It's great to see Jan staying on the team and hopefully she gets more time in the books.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Tony Stark: Iron Man #14

Jul 24, 2019

I do love how we get forward progression this month, but a lot of what we get is a bit forced to get there.  The set up with Arno is really good and there is potential for a great villain here. The art was solid and I'll check out the next issue to decide whether I'll continue reading the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Uncanny X-Men (2018) #17

May 2, 2019

We see Scott giving a speech at the funeral as he is the first of few as Logan tracks down who killed Wolfsbane. While at the funeral, Scott, Jamie, Moonstar, and Illyana takes turns mourning and giving a speech to everyone who attended the funeral. And one thing I have got to say, these Stan's Soapbox pages are getting quite annoying, give respect to the guy but the page feels at this point like an advertise page.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.3
Uncanny X-Men (2018) #18

May 16, 2019

Well hoping this turns into a Suicide Squad type book where now any character can be killed off. Other than that this issue is mainly just a book with nice action scenes and rushed events that makes me question if they have a game plan or just throwing things together. Art could have been better. If you want an issue about action scenes then pick this up but if you want more than that in an issue then keep on looking.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Uncanny X-Men (2018) #19

Jun 7, 2019

At first I thought this was the penultimate issue, glad we still have three more issues. Otherwise would have hated it! We get a nice history of how things got here, unfortunately it could have been better. Had some scenes that felt pointless or could have been cut down while some scenes could have been bit more to explain. The art however was great and the action scenes were great to view!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Uncanny X-Men (2018) #20

Jun 20, 2019

Feels like it has been quite a while since truly enjoyed this book! For a while it has only been the art that got my interested in this book, this issue got hooked right from first page. Not much action happens but a lot does happen and can't wait for next issue when it hits the fans! The team has got smaller which is great! Helped the book in a way, too big of a team especially majority of them no clue who they were and the book didn't do anything to get me interested in them.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Uncanny X-Men (2018) #21

Jul 3, 2019

Well it is the penultimate issue and let's start off with the negatives. Last half of the issue seems a bit rushed and somethings happened that just happened. Nothing to build up to something things in the issue that seemed to be a big thing. But now the positives. It seems like the stakes are going up an extra few notches for next issue. That is one thing the book hasn't done, maybe since X-man first arrived on scene in the beginning of this run. The art wasn't bad but wasn't so great.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Uncanny X-Men (2018) #22

Jul 17, 2019

Well that is it, the closing issue on the Uncanny run of 2018-2019. Was glad that we did get deaths at the end of the series, could actually feel the risks after each issue.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More