waltgator's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Weird Science Marvel Comics Reviews: 13
7.3Avg. Review Rating

7.5
Age Of X-Man: Prisoner X #1

Mar 10, 2019

Later back at dinner, Gabby actually snitches to Beasts about talking to Bishop, causing him to show him a beat down. Bishop was able to hold his own against Beast for a little while until he started to have flash backs of Beasts as an x-men which confuses him and lets Beasts get the upper hand. The guards send the two of them to their own cells, where he closes his eyes and gets a vision of his past villains taunting him about how the fun isn't over with him yet. He wakes to find a note on the floor saying to believe the dreams because everything else is fake.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Age Of X-Man: The Amazing Nightcrawler #2

Mar 21, 2019

Later that night, Kurt heads to where Meggan told him to go, only to be recognized by some sketchy girl telling him to go right through this door and it will blow his mind. When Kurt goes through the door he walks right into a basically a club where people can go to dance, kiss, and have some fun! Rule is to wear a mask so people don't know its you. Would be a good idea except as soon as Kurt gets in there, he recognizes someone who is already in a mask and his own appearance is not easy to miss. He freaks out and leaves the building as he poofs out on her again. Twice in one day. As he returns home, he enters his room to find none other than, Mystique telling that she is here to explain everything!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Age Of X-Man: The Amazing Nightcrawler #3

Apr 29, 2019

They go and find Celeste who helps them track down the young girl. She may be my favorite character in this book, has spunk. The little girl's name is Tenia Jean. Kurt and Meggan teleport to Kurt's room where he gathers a few things even though they are in a hurry due to the fact they are going to be moving Tenia soon. Before they do anything they get interrupted by Irma, who Celeste told her what is happening and she arranges a press event the next day in which we can assume is a mall. Unfortunately the rival had a similar idea and arrived at the mall to start some trouble, we end the issue with a fight about to begin.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Guardians of the Galaxy (2019) #5

May 15, 2019

This book was a very quick read! Unfortunately, wanted to get more about the team we have but only ones who talked were the ones who have been doing most of the talk so far in this story. They are few characters who I know nothing about that I was actually looking forward to get invested in. I will admit the page with Cosmic Ghost Rider about to lay waste did look wicked! Hoping to see more of him. The art on some panels looked good while others looked alright, nothing I would brag about. The twist kind of saw coming. Again hoping this book gets it's groove after this first story gets done.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Meet The Skrulls #1

Mar 8, 2019

We cut back to a field trip with a school that could possibly be doing a butterfly field trip. There, some girl that one can assume is Skrull just the way she is being all weird like, is playing with a caterpillar. Unfortunately, this outcast is being bullied by some of her classmates due to her stalking one of the popular kids. Personally, at this point I thought the Skrull was going to attack the bullies just out of rage but a teacher came by and for a split second that got the Skrull to quickly leave the situation while the teacher punishes the two bullies for not paying attention. Instead we see a butterfly fly off and leave the building to go on travel, which obviously is a Skrull. At this point, there has been no narration at all, which is quiet surprising but it only adds a bit of mystery as to what is going on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Meet The Skrulls #2

Mar 21, 2019

Once again we get another issue with no narration, no clue if this is what the writer is known for but it isn't an issue with this issue, everything was real straight and forward. Really enjoying what we get with Alice, Madison, and the dad Carl. Still wish had more information on the mom, Gloria. I will give Niko and Robbie this, they really do one great job as a team! If you weren't already invested in the family, you would be invested due to the cliffhanger.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Meet The Skrulls #3

Apr 28, 2019

Final ThoughtsSo we finally get the result of the battle of last week's cliffhanger, something that I have been looking forward to since issue one, and the result was a bit disappointed that we don't see any of the battle. The artwork though was a bit off in this issue on a few panels. But other than those two things, issue is a great. Been saying this for a while even though there is no narration boxes, this book doesn't need them. It is straight forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Meet The Skrulls #4

May 2, 2019

The team of Thompson and Henrichon is really making this book stand out! Most books I feel like the return of Ivy would have been forced but this felt more natural in a way. This could easily be one of Marvel's best miniseries of 2019! I am looking forward to the exciting conclusion of this miniseries!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Miles Morales: Spider-Man (2018) #3

Feb 22, 2019

What a quick end to the first story arc! Unfortunately feel like it was a bit too quick and easy! Not much of an inner battle between the trio! Another issue or two would have made the story a bit better as well as maybe some adult henchmen for Snatcher. But overall hope to see more team-ups with Miles and Rhino or Miles and Rhino. Art was beautiful and the dialogue was great! Just needed to be a bit longer of a story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Miles Morales: Spider-Man (2018) #4

Mar 21, 2019

Later, the gang heads to the movies where Ganke is the one that ruins the mood between Miles and Barbara when he shoots Miles a text giving him a heads up that Vice Principal Lyle is out looking for him. Which seems like a lot of time has passed since Vice Principal Lyle banging at the door to now. The gang quickly and successfully beats Vice Principal Lyle back to school. That night, we see Miles in bed writing to his journal about a wonderful day he had all right before realizing that now he may actually be sick.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Spider-Gwen: Ghost-Spider (2018) #8

May 1, 2019

Final ThoughtSeems like the Ghost Spider part of her name was only to draw in new readers and really not change a thing about the character. Unless the Symbiote will have some changes coming up. Well the cliffhanger sure got me looking forward to next issue which I must say, might be the first time I have been looking for a Spider-Gwen issue. The artwork unfortunately needs to stay consist because some of the pages were terrible and not worth looking at! McGuire is doing fine on writing but he needs a new artist.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Uncanny X-Men (2018) #17

May 2, 2019

We see Scott giving a speech at the funeral as he is the first of few as Logan tracks down who killed Wolfsbane. While at the funeral, Scott, Jamie, Moonstar, and Illyana takes turns mourning and giving a speech to everyone who attended the funeral. And one thing I have got to say, these Stan's Soapbox pages are getting quite annoying, give respect to the guy but the page feels at this point like an advertise page.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.3
Uncanny X-Men (2018) #18

May 16, 2019

Well hoping this turns into a Suicide Squad type book where now any character can be killed off. Other than that this issue is mainly just a book with nice action scenes and rushed events that makes me question if they have a game plan or just throwing things together. Art could have been better. If you want an issue about action scenes then pick this up but if you want more than that in an issue then keep on looking.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

May

April

More