Gerry Green's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Batman Universe Reviews: 160
7.3Avg. Review Rating

6.0
Batgirl (2016) #20

Mar 1, 2018

This standard-fare Batgirl story has some nice touches that humanize Barbara Gordon with a straightforward action plot that wont thrill, but wont disappoint either.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl (2016) #21

Mar 29, 2018

Batgirl teams up with her father, Commissioner Gordon and the two solve a crime together in an emotionally satisfying one-shot story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl (2016) #22

Apr 26, 2018

A good story that puts Batgirl in real danger but also shows us a Barbara Gordon revisiting people from her past.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl (2016) #23

May 24, 2018

A well thought out issue of Batgirl trying to overcome a mind control weapon. She uses different tactics and plays against type to break free of her mental prison.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl (2016) #24

Jun 28, 2018

Solid first outing for the title in the post-Larson Batgirl. There are a few places that could be improved alongside some terrific elements. But overall a good book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl (2016) #25

Aug 16, 2018

This book is a number of short stories that serve to show the emotional state of Barbara Gordon. Also, a story arc is set in motion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl (2016) #26

Aug 30, 2018

Overall, if I wasn't reviewing this title I would still want to be reading it.Barbara Gordon gets into trouble. The stakes are high and writer Mairghread Scotts Batgirl has my attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl (2016) #27

Sep 27, 2018

Mairghread Scott is giving us a Barbara Gordon that is in deep trouble but keeps fighting for good. Combined with the efforts of a solid artistic team Batgirl #27 is a terrific read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl (2016) Annual #2

Aug 30, 2018

Barbara Gordon investigates murders that lead her to her serial killer brother James. This is an effective, creepy adventure among insane people with Batgirl solving copycat crimes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #14

Sep 14, 2017

Because the nature of this book is basically a one shot character tale, it is a perfect jump on point for new readers. If you have had any interest in any of these characters or like your super hero stories with strong interpersonal interaction, I recommend you take a look at Batgirl and the Birds of Prey series. Highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #15

Oct 12, 2017

Although I am concerned that there are too many characters to tell this story efficiently, I figure that it will focus on Batgirl and the Birds, but I hope we get a few classic nuggets from the other teams. Because of the terrific progress of the story I am inclined to forgive the problematic portions of the story. I absolutely want to see where this is going, but I will hold off on getting too crazy with my rating until I see more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #16

Nov 9, 2017

I am very glad that I got back onto this title, this is a book I look forward to reading. I typically dislike big team up stories like this but the Bensons display a deft hand managing the character's panel-time. Also, being a man, I appreciate things like Wonder Woman telling the sick men trying to help their comrades that they are heroes. The women's connection to men is clear: Catwoman is in love with Bruce, Harley doesn't look forward to a city without men, Ollie happily takes on a bit part as bait in the ladies' plan to get a vial of the virus. While male transgressions aren't glossed over, it is clear this story is about embracing not rejecting. It is a positive, entertaining tale that I look forward to reading more of. If it continues to be this good as the story progresses I will very likely begin to increase my rating for this. As it is right now, I'll give it a solid rating, but look forward to giving it more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #17

Dec 14, 2017

The Manslaughter arc of Batgirl and the Birds of Prey comes to an exciting end as Gotham's female heroes work together to defeat a deadly virus killing Gotham's men. Poster-worthy art abounds. Recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #18

Jan 11, 2018

This issue is a straightforward action issue that doesnt break any new ground but is an efficiently and effectively told story. I continue to like this title and am enjoying reading it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #19

Feb 15, 2018

This is a capable story with a dangerous antagonist. The drama and conflict within the team seems forced and the bad guy robot is inexplicably on fire. I strongly want to know who the girl Helena is and what the next issues story will be about.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #20

Mar 15, 2018

The stakes are getting raised in this story as things begin to get personal for Helena. Solid plotting and art combine to make a terrific book that deserves better attention than it is getting.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #21

Apr 12, 2018

This is a well-toldstory that is at its best when it deals with the relationship between Huntress and her mother. The bad guys and the main conflict are solid enough to keep things moving. Also, Poison Ivy and Catwoman pay a welcome visit.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #22

May 10, 2018

Batgirl and the Birds of Prey finish their run with a good team up that stresses their strength as a team and also as friends. What more can fans of these heroes ask for?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman '66 #24

Jun 24, 2015

Although this is a totally solid series I recognize that it lacks the gravitas and complex characters and storytelling that are the hallmarks of truly great modern comics. For that reason I am not giving it top marks. But as a tongue in cheek joyride through my childhood I can heartily recommend this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman '66 #25

Jul 22, 2015

So, if you are a fan of slapstick and corny LBJ era dialogue by all means pick up this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman '66 #26

Aug 26, 2015

This particular adventure isn't the strongest one in recent issues but it is serviceable and is a successful nostalgia delivery vehicle if nothing else. There really isn't much bad to say about it except that there really isn't anywhere this book can go. It will never deal with anything serious and so it will never be great. But it also is always entertaining and succeeds at its modest goals.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman '66 #27

Sep 23, 2015

The art in this issue seems a little less reminiscent of Adam West, Frank Gorshin and the gang than previous issues portrayed their '66 counterparts. I realize that may be a silly reason to knock this book but nostalgia is really it's raison d'etre so if it doesn't deliver an authentic experience it isn't really working. I'm going to give this issue a mediocre rating, I've given it more leeway in the past but this issue seems a bit less than what it could be.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman '66 #28

Oct 28, 2015

Since the top rating we give here is five batarangs I'll throw this one right down the middle. If you like this book you will probably enjoy this issue. If not, there isn't anything here to sell you on it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman '66 #30

Dec 16, 2015

I have been critical of this book in the past and have at times given it weak ratings when it has missed the nostalgia mark. The storyline here is par for the course but I am going to give it a very good ranking for its well thought out references to 50's and 60's television and the terrific artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman '66 Meets Steed and Mrs. Peel #1

Jul 6, 2016

If you have read my past reviews of the Batman '66 books you know that I am a bit of a sucker for these series'. I am disappointed to say that based on this first issue I can't recommend you buy this book. The story is perfectly fine but the art makes it a frustrating and uninspiring read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman '66 Meets Steed and Mrs. Peel #2

Aug 3, 2016

I'm not going to give this issue as bad of a rating as last month's because the execution of the story is at least broadly competent this time. However, I wouldn't recommend this mini like I did with the Man from U.N.C.L.E. or main Batman '66 title.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman '66 Meets Steed and Mrs. Peel #3

Sep 14, 2016

I am partial to the Batman '66 series seeing that I am in the target market for the nostalgia that is in the very DNA of the franchise. While I enjoyed seeing Alfred and Aunt Harriet their two panels don't make up for the low quality artwork and the increasingly absurd storyline. Because I don't think expectations are ever very high for the Batman '66 titles I am not going to rate this issue terribly low, but the title doesn't seem to be going anywhere.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman '66 Meets Steed and Mrs. Peel #6

Dec 7, 2016

I am a fan of the Batman '66 series and love the nostalgic aspect of the regular run and the mini series up to now. This particular story I can't recommend however because of the problems I have with the art. In 2017 however, Batman '66 meets Wonder Woman from the 1970s will be out in print which I am looking forward to.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman '66 Meets The Man From U.N.C.L.E. #2

Jan 13, 2016

I am not going to criticize this book for some of the cheesiness of the plot, characters and art. That is the bread and butter of this series. However, because of its pedestrian nature I also can't give it too high a rating like I did with the last issue of the regular Batman '66 comic. That one was a one-time nostalgia trip that can't be replicated. This is a good old fashioned WHAM BAM POW caper nothing more or less.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman '66 Meets The Man From U.N.C.L.E. #3

Feb 10, 2016

The shock ending of this issue will boost the rating a bit. Don't get the idea that this is a terrific book, but it sure is plenty of fun and a nostalgia trip for those so inclined.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman '66 Meets The Man From U.N.C.L.E. #4

Mar 2, 2016

This comic is what it is. If you are a fan of 60s nostalgia or just want a simple old fashioned Batman story you can't go wrong with the '66 series. Just don't expect too much and you'll have a good time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman '66 Meets The Man From U.N.C.L.E. #6

May 25, 2016

If you are considering getting caught up on Batman '66 Meets the Man from UNCLE I would recommend it. Even though #6 isn't the best issue in the series, overall it is a satisfying story from beginning to end with enough twists and turns to keep things moving. The winks at the audience are part of the Batman '66 charm and if you in any way enjoy a look back into the simpler Bat-world of yesteryear this mini will serve you well. Don't expect anything approaching realism or a plot that will stand up to a shower-long analysis.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman '66 Meets Wonder Woman '77 #3

Mar 22, 2017

My Take: It is no secret that I love the Batman '66 franchise. So far, this arc is the best of the ‘Meets' sequence. The story is totally solid up to this point. I also love Ra's and Talia as they make complex and compelling villains. But the best part about this issue in particular was the inclusion of Catwoman. I am a Bruce/Selina shipper and it was heartwarming to see Batman so sure of her innate goodness. They are two people naturally drawn to each other, but whose natures make a true relationship impossible. This story arc has been good for a third issue now so I am ready to goose the rating.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman '66 Meets Wonder Woman '77 #4

Apr 26, 2017

I have been rating this series well and I am going to continue to. Though, I wish Ra's wasnt such a jerk to leave Talia behind.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman '66 Meets Wonder Woman '77 #5

May 24, 2017

I like the Batman '66 franchise in general and the Wonder Woman story in particular is very good. I highly recommend it for other fans of Batman '66 or classic comics in general.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman '66 Meets Wonder Woman '77 #6

Jun 28, 2017

We have one more special in the Batman '66 line ahead, so we aren't totally at the end of the franchise, but this feels like a sweet goodbye. In my opinion it is the best of the Batman '66 Meets series. I can enthusiastically recommend this title to anyone who has the same connection to the old characters that I do.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman/Superman (2013) #20

Mar 18, 2015

The standout part of this story, though, is the conflict that the Phantom King sets up for Superman. As mentioned in the book, it is a very Joker-like problem for Superman to solve giving him only very bad choices with which to save the Earth. Superman overcomes his personal qualms about attacking his own family and only through this and the typically ruthless intervention of Batman the Phantom King is overcome.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman/Superman (2013) Annual #2

Apr 2, 2015

All in all, this is a very exciting and well constructed book. I'm looking forward to June to see where the story is going to go from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Catwoman (2011) #41

Jun 11, 2015

Though I'm going to ding the rating for these issues I don't want to take too much away from this story line. I think this is a series to watch and I look forward to the next installment, especially with Catwoman on the hunt for Batman.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Catwoman (2011) #42

Jul 9, 2015

I want to like this series since it is more complex than most books. However, the story needs to be told with a little more clarity to better bring out the characters and conflicts.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Catwoman (2011) #43

Aug 13, 2015

Also, the story seems to be heating up and you can really feel the tight spot Selina is getting herself into. The world here feels wide and well thought out finally so I am hopeful that this book is on the right track.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Catwoman (2011) #44

Sep 10, 2015

The art by Messina, Carlucci and Loughridge is surreal and unexpectedly realistic in a Ralph Bashki kind of way. Not exactly my favorite style as it is a little scratchy for my taste. But many of the backgrounds and the shadowing give the story an eerie quality that serve the menacing storyline very well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Catwoman (2011) #45

Oct 15, 2015

I rated the last few issues of Catwoman pretty highly and will continue this month. The story is solid if not my cup of tea. I know that many people really love Valentine's Catwoman run and I enjoy the book but because I'm not so much of a gangland story fan I can't really get too excited. However, it is solid Selina so I get why people enjoy it so much.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Catwoman (2011) #47

Dec 10, 2015

All in all I am going to give the new Catwoman a good rating. I enjoyed this issue as much as any of the old arc though there still needs to be supporting character development. This issue was a reintroduction to Selina the thief. I am hopeful that as the story progresses more characters and more complexity will develop.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Catwoman (2011) #49

Feb 11, 2016

While I'm normally not a Catwoman fan I am really enjoying Tieri's run so far. It is somehow brighter and more enjoyable that the previous arc, which I know many people really liked, but was a little dour for me. I prefer a wittier and engaging Selina rather than the tense and weighed down version of the character. Don't get me wrong, the stakes are high at the end of every issue here, but it is fun seeing Selina banter with Tesla and make short work of Riddler. I am going to give this issue high marks even just for the color work on the last three pages. I said it above and I'll say it again, the colors are lovelyand while I typically read Catwoman digitally I am planning to purchase the paper copy just to see if it is as beautiful.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Catwoman (2011) #50

Mar 10, 2016

I have mixed feelings about this issue. While the conclusion of the Frost Diamond story is fairly satisfying the weird narration at the end put me off a bit. I am not sure of the purpose of the other two stories, neither really packed a punch and seemed pointless. They were interesting in a way but seemed like filler, just the seed of other stories that could have been fleshed out into something more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Catwoman (2011) #51

Apr 14, 2016

I am enjoying Frank Tieris run with Catwoman and I will be sad to see it disappear once Rebirth begins. I dont know much about the False Face Society so I dont know how interesting they are. I do like stories that deal in the mysterious and hidden history of Gotham so that puts this tale right in my wheelhouse. The more color work I see by Eva De La Cruz the more I appreciate her aesthetic. She can control the tone of the story and keep things changing and moving forward in a way that I really enjoy. I hope that this arc gets a chance to be fully realized so we can give Catwoman the sendoff that she deserves.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Catwoman (2018) #1

Jul 5, 2018

Catwomans new post-engagement life starts off perilously as she is thrust into a new mystery while she tries to deal with the emotional fall out of her decision to skip her wedding.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Catwoman (2018) #2

Aug 9, 2018

Joelle Jones Catwoman has a few missteps but is otherwise an engaging look at an emotionally adrift Selina Kyle.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Catwoman (2018) #3

Sep 13, 2018

Joelle Jones' Catwoman is getting more intense. We see the lengths an adversary will go to to get what she wants and we get a hint of the purpose of Selina's visit to Villa Hermosa.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Catwoman (2018) #4

Oct 11, 2018

We get a compelling look into Selina and her sisters lives and learn more about how they ended up with the relationship they have. Selinas presence gets Maggie into more trouble.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Catwoman: Election Night #1

Nov 3, 2016

Overall, I enjoyed both stories in this comic, but I don't think that it was particularly exceptional. It is always good to see a solid Selina and I do miss seeing Beth Ross. For those reasons I will be lenient in my scoring, but thrifty buyers might do well to shy away from the $4.99 cover price.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Convergence: Catwoman #1

Apr 16, 2015

However, the story is clearly drawn and each of the segments are fun in themselves so it is an enjoyable enough read. Also, bonus points for Snake Plisskin references.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Convergence: Catwoman #2

May 14, 2015

So, while this is a big improvement over Convergence: Catwoman #1 and there are some excellent dramatic moments I think the plot holes keep this from being a great read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Convergence: Harley Quinn #1

Apr 10, 2015

The art is effective and clearly tells the complicated story. The final panel with Harley in full insanity mode is very well done. It is simple and stunning and one of my favorite pieces of art in the past few months. Now I am really looking forward to next month's battle.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Convergence: Harley Quinn #2

May 8, 2015

Also in this comic is a preview for the upcoming Section Eight series. I think it was a smart idea to include it with Harley Quinn as both have the same zany characters and dialogue. There wasn't really much of a story to relate, it was mostly just an introduction to the ‘heroes'. I look forward to trying out the new book.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Convergence: Suicide Squad #1

Apr 17, 2015

The art has an interesting color palette and bold lines and shadows but there is something wrong with the perspective in some of the panels. Also, I was having trouble keeping track of the action and who was who in some of the parts of the story. When I have to look closely at the art for subtle clues as to what the heck is happening in the plot it detracts from my enjoyment of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Convergence: Suicide Squad #2

May 14, 2015

Also, I am not a fan of how the flashbacks/flash-forwards are done here. It seems unnecessary and interrupts an already segmented story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
DC/Hanna-Barbera: Super Sons/Dynomutt Special #1

Jun 1, 2018

Jon Kent and Damian Wayne help Dynomutt save Blue Falcon in a heartwarming story that despite some plot issues, is reasonably successful in the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gotham Academy #7

Jun 11, 2015

Also, I found it strange that Batman hung around Wayne Castle in Inishtree centuries ago. Gotham Academy is supposed to be in continuity so I did a little research and found that in World's Finest Vol 1 #225 from October 1974 “Superman and Batman go to Castle Wayne in Inishtree Scotland to investigate a rumor of possessed children with great powers”.Ok, fair enough. I wasn't able to dig up that issue to verify the details but well done to the writing team for uncovering that nugget.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gotham Academy #8

Jul 9, 2015

All together this book is presenting another mystery that I can't wait to see unfold. What is the secret behind Olive's family? Who is the creature that attacked Tristan? And whats up with all the firestarting. I don't know but I am looking forward to next month to find out more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gotham Academy #9

Aug 13, 2015

Because I love this book so much I am going to be a little more critical ofit than I normally would be. Even with the relatively low score I'm giving this issue it is one of the best books on the newstands.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Gotham Academy #10

Sep 10, 2015

If you have been reading my reviews of Gotham Academy you know that I am a big big fan. However, I am getting a bit frustrated at the lack of progress of the storyline with the two relatively weak one-shots. I was willing to give it a pass last month but now I am getting antsy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gotham Academy #11

Oct 22, 2015

Last month I rated the book lower than usual for the monster of the week quality of the stories, but this month with the tale back in full swing I am going to boost the score. I highly recommend this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Gotham Academy Annual #1

Sep 1, 2016

Overall, Gotham Academy is my favorite current comic book. It has the highest artistic standards and some of my favorite characters. The writing team is doing a great job developing the kids and I can't wait for the new Semester to begin in earnest. Because of the inconsistencies in art and very high expectations I have for this comic book I am going to be a little harsh with my rating. If any other book was this good I'd give it a much higher rating, but I expect Gotham Academy to be the gold standard every time out, because it can be. I'm sure I'll make up for it when school begins.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gotham Academy: Second Semester #1

Sep 15, 2016

I am not going to even pretend that I am able to be objective about Gotham Academy. Gotham Academy is my favorite comic book and I am very happy it has returned. I am not going to over do my rating here as I think this comic will get even better. Yes, because I love this book so much I grade it on a curve which isn't really fair, but that's how it goes. If you like your mysteries classically spooky with a team of heroes that are committed to each other, you are going to enjoy Gotham Academy very much.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gotham Academy: Second Semester #2

Oct 13, 2016

Ok, ok, I know that I am a total Gotham Academy fanboy, it is my favorite comic book on the shelves. The Yearbook issues were creative but didn't have the moody art of the regular book. The Lumberjanes effort is fun, but doesn't have the beauty and relationship building we have here. Even the last issue lacked the interplay between the Detective Club characters. It isn't any one of these elements that I love so much, but the combination that works so well. I am so happy to have Gotham Academy back and in full form I am going to give the issue a half Batarang boost in my rating from last month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gotham Academy: Second Semester #3

Nov 10, 2016

I am enjoying Gotham Academy Second Semester very much. Month in and month out it has been a high point of my comics reading. I love the characters and the beauty of the art. Also, the whole setting of a creepy boarding school is right up my alley. I am going to resist rating it too high because I know this book isn't what everyone likes in a comic, but if you like quiet and creepy supernatural stories this one is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gotham Academy: Second Semester #4

Dec 15, 2016

If you have read any of my Gotham Academy reviews before you will know that I am a huge fan of this series. This issue doesn't disappoint. It strikes a wonderfully creepy note with one of my favorite settings the haunted carnival. I strongly recommend this issue particularly to first time Gotham Academy readers since it is a single issue story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Gotham Academy: Second Semester #5

Jan 12, 2017

Because of these issues I am going to downgrade this issue from the high marks I usually give it. Because of the strength of the plot I won't hit is as hard as I could but I would like to see some of these issues resolved.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Gotham Academy: Second Semester #6

Feb 9, 2017

I am a big Gotham Academy fan so I am going to be lenient in my grading, though I am not entirely pleased with how things are progressing. I am hopeful for the future of the story because there seem to be some big revelations coming. I also think that the mystery of Amy is clever and makes for fun speculation. The relationship between Olive and Maps needs to be strengthened however. Otherwise Olive is just a gloomy emo firestarter and Maps is a spunky but single note character. Their strength is in their relationship and we need to get back to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gotham Academy: Second Semester #7

Mar 9, 2017

It should be no secret to anyone who has read any of my Gotham Academy reviews that I love this title. It is a creepy old school with mysteries and secrets, this is my wheelhouse. There are still a few problems with this story arc, primarily the sidelining of the relationship between Olive and Maps. However, I am very hopeful that with Olive's personal, or should I say personality, problems that Maps will emerge to be her savior. In past reviews I have discussed the theory that Amy wasn't really ‘there' (as pointed out by fellow TBU comic reviewer, Ian Miller) but this was done in an even more interesting way than I had expected. I recommend this comic, though this issue isn't the best jumping on point.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gotham Academy: Second Semester #8

Apr 13, 2017

Seeing Olive, in her perfectly straight plaid skirt and knee socks, standing over a downed Batman gave me quite a chuckle. When Olive disappears from Batman's lasso, Pomeline looks at Bats and says ‘No! Shes gone' but I imagined that she followed by saying to him ‘…you idiot.' A fantasy perhaps, but that shows you how wrapped up I am in these characters and this story. If you are a fan of magic, mystery, and undying friendship I recommend this book to you wholeheartedly.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gotham Academy: Second Semester #9

May 11, 2017

I am not going to pretend to be objective in my rating. I am going to ding the score a little because of the couple of narrative missteps, but it still has my full recommendation. I love this book and if you like stories about spooky old schools, vengeful spirits and witchery, I think you will love it too.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Gotham Academy: Second Semester #10

Jun 15, 2017

This is a great comic book, but this issue wasn't its best. There have been a few I just happen to have exactly what we need to get out of trouble scenes over the last few issues (I'm looking at you Colton) which has been disappointing. However, I expect this is just a bump in the road and I am hopeful we are in for a pair of exciting issues in the Gotham Academy finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gotham Academy: Second Semester #11

Jul 13, 2017

I am going to give this issue a good rating because, for all the books problems, it is my absolute favorite by a lot and I'm just an idiot that way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gotham Academy: Second Semester #12

Aug 10, 2017

I don't want this to be the end of Gotham Academy, whether it gets another comic, an animated TV show, or a live action CW series I don't care. I am not ready for this to be the end of this terrific story.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Harley & Ivy Meet Betty and Veronica #1

Oct 5, 2017

If it wasn't for the cover and the basic concept of this book, I'd give it a lower rating. This feels like a missed opportunity to boost the profile of the Archie comics. I want to love this book so bad, but so far I don't.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Harley & Ivy Meet Betty and Veronica #2

Nov 2, 2017

I was very hard on this book in my review of #1 because Betty and Veronica didn't seem to like each other at all. In this issue that problem is much less prevalent. I feel like the story is setting up to be a good one, but isn't quite there yet. It appears that Selina is bringing Betty and Veronica to Gotham and the two River Vixens will get mixed up with Lenny the Lamprey and his cronies. Will they need to be saved or will they be able to handle things on their own? I am interested in finding out, but at this point the story is too meandering for me to be truly engaged. I'll keep reading and hopefully the story will keep getting better. I hope.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley & Ivy Meet Betty and Veronica #3

Dec 7, 2017

The Harley and Ivy body swap with Betty and Veronica is just what this title needed to kick it into high gear. I have previously been pretty hard on this book with regard to my rating. I'm going to turn it up this time around. The story is well underway and the problems seem to have been ironed out for now.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Harley & Ivy Meet Betty and Veronica #4

Jan 4, 2018

This is a comic with a lot of promise that inexplicably stumbles over issues of characterization, plot, and general storytelling. It is a shame, this could be a great book. Overall, I am being generous with my rating just because of how much I like both pairs of characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Harley & Ivy Meet Betty and Veronica #5

Feb 8, 2018

Harley and Ivy Meet Betty and Veronica #5 is a story that is fussily complicated without being compelling. I sadly cannot recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Harley & Ivy Meet Betty and Veronica #6

Mar 8, 2018

Harley and Ivy Meet Betty and Veronica #6 is a good finale to a story that is fussily complicated without being compelling. There are glimmers of a great story here, but it never gels into what it could have been.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2013) #16

Apr 2, 2015

Some of the characters have an almost Mort Drucker look to them, which serves the tone of this book very well.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2013) #17

Jun 11, 2015

All that aside, Harley is the insane kook I have grown to appreciate. She is sweet and dangerous, thoughtful and sexy, insane but resourceful. The series has some fine tuning to do but I'm confident that it will be enjoyable for some time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2013) #18

Jul 16, 2015

I am hoping that Conner and Palmiotti make the Gang of Harley's really come together. Develop some individual characters and build real relationships with the zany Harley at the center of it all. Come on guys, bring back the magic!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2013) #19

Aug 27, 2015

The good news is that we have a new adventure cooking, Harley will be going to LA to rescue the kidnapped girl. Hopefully this will shake up the status quo which has been a little stale since Convergence. I wonder if the gang will come west with her or will the comic abandon them. I hope they go with because I'd like to see Harley with a well developed team of sidekicks rather than just using the Gang as an on again off again plot device.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2013) #20

Sep 17, 2015

I'm going to rate this comic pretty highly, maybe more than it deserves but I'm a fan and that's just like my opinion man.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2013) #21

Oct 15, 2015

I liked this issue and I also liked the whole storyline so I am going to give it a good rating. I'm a little worried about what is up next for Harley. Will she go back to her reduced Gang or have some more solo adventures? If she goes back to Coney Island they need to get the Gang working better which I'm sure Conner and Palmiotti can figure out. Here's hoping.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2013) #22

Nov 19, 2015

While I continue to enjoy this book I wonder if it is starting to run out of steam. The situation with the Gang really needs to be sorted out, we can't have seven gang members and a myriad of supporting characters and still have time for plot and relationship development. I've said it before and I'll say it again: they should take Coach and maybe two other Gang members and create a Looney-Birds of Prey team up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Harley Quinn (2013) #23

Dec 17, 2015

I'm going to give this issue an ok rating. I like Harley as always and it was a fun enough read. But there seems to be some zing missing from the recent issues and I think it is starting to catch up with the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2013) #24

Jan 21, 2016

So I am now back to enjoying this book and will give it a better rating that I did last month. I hope that the improvement continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2013) #25

Feb 18, 2016

I am not going to even pretend to be objective about my rating for this issue. I don't like Harley together with Joker and it was very satisfying to me seeing her lay a beat down on him. I much prefer the relationship she has with Ivy and we got a very good slice of that here. I thoroughly enjoyed this issue and look forward to what looks to be a remaking of Harley's look. Hopefully she won't get skanked up but we will have to wait and see.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2013) #26

Mar 24, 2016

Though this issue didn't measure up to the last one I still enjoyed it. If you are a Harley Quinn fan I'd wholeheartedly recommend this issue. If you are thinking of getting into the title it would be a good one to start with as it is the beginning of a story arc, though keep in mind it does do a bit of housekeeping after the end of the previous arc. All in all it is a solid issue of a good comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2013) #28

May 19, 2016

I was slightly disappointed by the previous installment of HQ because I thought that Red Tool's feelings for Harley kind of came out of nowhere. Since that was already established last time I was able to orient myself into the plot and really enjoyed it. As I said above, I liked seeing Red Tool's affection for Harley. Her response to his overtures was predictably wary but then she began to warm up to him. The relationship arc was very satisfying, I hope we see more of Red Tool in issues to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2013) #29

Jun 23, 2016

I'm loving the fact that with Harley's Gang occupied in another book we get her with Big Tony and Bernie. Even Poison Ivy makes an appearance. These are the characters I prefer to see her with these days. Since this issue is pretty much a one shot, with just a few references to other issues, I'd recommend you pick it up if you are looking for a quick fix of Harley. It isn't her best issue but it hits all the usual buttons.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2013) #30

Jul 28, 2016

For my rating, the first time I read through this issue I had every intention of giving it low marks. The plot was scattered and confusing. The side activities seemed pointless. The ending didn't resolve in any substantial way. However, after looking more closely at this issue I found more and more to like. There is a full page with Harley and Mr. Woodson that is positively joyful. And as a Poison Ivy fan, I loved the closeness between the two compromised heroes. The closer I looked and more I read the more I liked the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #50

Sep 20, 2018

Harley Quinn #50 is an issue that showcases some talented artists, which means there is sure to be something for everyone to look at.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2016): Be Careful What You Wish For Special #1

Jan 11, 2018

Harley embarks on her final Conner/Palmiotti adventure crossing paths with a Genie who grants her unlimited wishes. Chaos predictably ensues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn and Her Gang Of Harleys #1

Apr 14, 2016

Overall, this issue gives me hope for a solid mini-series. By the end of the series I want to see at least one or two of the Gang members really blossom into well drawn characters which has been my main criticism of HQ book since the Gang was started. They all are ethnically different, and now have different costumes which are fine, but I want to hear individual voices by the time we are done. This is a good start though and I am looking forward to more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn and Her Gang Of Harleys #3

Jun 9, 2016

I am finding the series a bit uneven. This issue doesn't have either the highs or lows of the previous books but still isn't coming together. I know I'm like a broken record on this but the mini is the perfect opportunity to develop individual characters and it is beginning to feel like an opportunity lost. The Gang dress differently and have some individual quirks but that doesn't make compelling characters. Between Harley's old pals and the new Gang members there are just too many actors for anyone to get more than a bit part.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn and Her Gang Of Harleys #4

Aug 4, 2016

I have been a little hard on the past few issues so I'm going to be a little lenient on this one. The story is moving along very nicely. I've given up on having the Gang members develop as individual characters. Once I let that go, I've been able to enjoy the story more. My favorite page is the nearly full page of Sinn's island hideout. There are lurid reds on top of a dark wine sea full of danger. Looks like a cool place to hang out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn and Her Gang Of Harleys #5

Sep 1, 2016

I haven't been too high on this mini, or the Harley Gang in general, but this issue finally succeeds in breaking out one of the Gang which is just what was needed. Harlem Harley steps out from among the pack to be a singular character and leader of the team when Harley Q isn't around. When HQ finally tells the Gang that they ‘done good' I felt the same way myself. Coach was always going to be a particular character as was Harvey Quinn because of their physical uniqueness. However, Harlem has finally emerged as a smart and capable individual among the other Harleys. So, while this issue wasn't as good as some other books out there, I am going to be lenient on it because of this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn and Her Gang Of Harleys #6

Sep 29, 2016

The more this mini went on, the more I enjoyed it. I have criticized this and the regular Harley book for not developing the side characters, but that is no longer such a big problem. Big Tony in particular is developing into one of my favorite characters in comics, not only in this mini but the other Harley titles. The one thing that was somewhat of a letdown was the fact that Joker is involved at the end. I am not a Harley and Joker fan so I am not looking forward to future Joker/Sinn team ups. But I understand that (other) people do like him.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn And Power Girl #1

Jun 18, 2015

As a Harley fan I am looking forward to reading the rest of this series, full of smart dialogue and irreverent situations. I am hoping that Harley's main book can find a relationship as effective as this one between Harley and Power Girl. It really ties the room together.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn And Power Girl #2

Jul 24, 2015

Even if I wasn't reviewing this book I'd be sticking with it based on the strength of the first book and the writing team. You can't go wrong with Conner and Palmiotti and I look forward to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn And Power Girl #3

Aug 20, 2015

I know that, as a HQ and a HST fan, I am a ridiculous bulls eye for the target market for this book. However, I really appreciated Conner and Palmiotti's writing so I am going to give it a stupid good rating. I understand that someone who isn't in my demographic might not appreciate the gags like I did. But if you are a person with the right kind of eyes willing to follow these crazy ladies on a great shark hunt, I highly recommend you buy the issue and take the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn And Power Girl #4

Sep 24, 2015

I gave the last issue of this book a very high rating so I'm going to climb down off of that this time. Maybe I'm overcompensating. I don't mean that this has dropped in quality but the last issue was special to me. Many people I know that are also reading this title prefer this issue over last but they aren't the ones giving out Batarangs. If you are enjoying this series you will be pleased with this issue as the story passes its halfway point and looks to finish strong.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn And Power Girl #5

Nov 5, 2015

I will rate this book probably more highly than it deserves. It isn't the best in the miniseries but with one issue left the action kept things moving towards Harley and PG's (spoiler alert) return to their world which is in the next and last issue. Seems like Vartox is going to have his hands full in issue #6.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn And Power Girl #6

Dec 31, 2015

In terms of a rating it is hard for me to separate this issue from the series as a whole so I'm not going to try. As much as I like the regular Harley Quinn book generally, I liked this mini even more since the plotting and characterizations were more vivid and purposeful. Also, the color work in this series was very very good. Congratulations to the team that wrote this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Harley Quinn and the Suicide Squad: April Fool's Special #1

Apr 7, 2016

I know that this is supposed to be a silly April Fools issue and I shouldn't be taking it all too seriously, but this issue just didn't gel for me. I'm not a fan of Suicide Squad so I'm not sure if all of Amanda Waller's plans are this unlikely to succeed and I hate to think that this is going to be the start of a story arc for the Squad. The only reason I am not going to really slam this title's rating is because of Jim Lee's Man-Bat panels which I've been looking at over and over. But I didn't really enjoy the story or the five dollar cover price.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn: Road Trip Special #1

Sep 10, 2015

This aside this issue is a joyful cross country dash with all the fun we have come to expect from Conner and Palmiotti. The art has been done by a number of artists, primarily Bret Blevins who makes the ladies look gorgeous. The peyote sequence is by Flaviano Armentaro. Pasquale Qualand and Jed Dougherty also lend a hand.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley's Little Black Book #1

Dec 4, 2015

Overall, as a Harley Quinn fan I enjoyed this issue. It isn't groundbreaking and kind of feels like another issue of her main book. I'm not complaining but don't expect it to be out of the ordinary.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley's Little Black Book #2

Feb 11, 2016

As for my rating, I have been a little hard on some of the Harley titles recently. With Conner and Palmiotti working on so many Harley titles I've felt that some of the writing was losing its zip. This issue however gets Harley back in top form with naughty humor full of pop culture reference. I am hopeful that now that they have completed Harley Quinn and Power Girl that they will be able to team Harley up with new characters and see what kinds of trouble she can get into.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley's Little Black Book #3

Apr 21, 2016

As anyone that has read my reviews knows, I'm a Harley fan and as such really enjoyed this issue. I've never been a big fan of Zatanna, probably due to her nonsensical outfit, but I really enjoyed her character here. The Little Black Book series shows Harley interacting with other members of the DC universe and they are taking a warm, lighthearted approach to it. I was initially afraid that the other superheroes would shun Harley because of her annoying personality, but in each issue they warm up to her which makes it a very satisfying read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley's Little Black Book #4

Aug 25, 2016

While I'm not a Bombshells reader, this story makes that world seem like a wild ride. I really enjoyed this trip to the past. I would give this issue a good rating, but there is one tiny detail that gives it a slight bump. The Bombshells wait for the signal to attack the castle on the rooftop of Dar Cooke Haus. A closeup of the team repeats a portion of the name Dar Cooke a reference to the late great Darwyn Cooke known for such classic comics as The New Frontier and Trail of the Catwoman. Reminding me of one of my favorite creators is worth at least half a Batarang in my book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley's Little Black Book #5

Dec 29, 2016

As I have said in my past reviews for the Little Black Book series, this is my favorite Harley book out there. The additional month or two the creative team takes with each issues shows in the high quality of every aspect of the issue. The $4.99 cover price might turn some off, but at 38 story pages, it was worth it for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley's Little Black Book #6

Mar 30, 2017

I love the Harley's Little Black Book series and think it has had the highest quality of any of the Harley titles. This is the last of the run and I'm sad to see it go. I do recommend this issue even though the $4.99 cover price may deter some.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2016) #16

Mar 3, 2017

I typically don't read Justice League so I was more confused by some of the plot elements than regular readers would be. I can see that the story is interesting, though the big team ups of the JL are not my cup of tea. However, if you are a Justice League fan I think you will probably enjoy this issue and story arc. Even I will probably check in to see how Molly and the Timeless make out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2016) #17

Mar 17, 2017

Like I've said before, I'm not a regular Justice League reader so keep that in mind as you consider how to evaluate my rating. While this book isn't going to make me a regular JL reader I am enjoying the story line. The nature of these team books is that the story changes locations, with many different things happening to the disparate characters on the team. I find this frustrating and prefer to have a story exposed with many fewer threads. However, this story takes advantage of that 'weakness' and provides some insight into the pre-origins of Wonder Woman and Aquaman which I found compelling. I would heartily recommend this book to a Justice League fan and a soft recommendation to a non-fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2016) #18

Apr 7, 2017

As I have said in previous reviews, I am not a fan of Justice League. I do like the story here, however, though not enough to make me a regular reader. I didn't miss all the scenes with Flash, Cyborg, Green Lanterns et al since I felt those deviations, though necessary to the DNA of Justice League stories, broke up the flow of the plot. It is a weakness of team books that I personallydon't care for. However, I realize I am in the minority and if you are reading a Justice League review you are probably a fan and will enjoy this more than I did. Even so, I see that this is a solid story well told and drawn and I recommend it to Justice League fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League vs. Suicide Squad #1

Dec 23, 2016

I am not going to rate this book too highly, but I recognize that is because of my personal prejudice. If you are a big fan of the Justice League, Suicide Squad, or just like to see classic characters in print again I'm sure there will be a lot here for you to enjoy. The $3.99 cover price is a bit more than the typical Rebirth titles, though if this is up your alley you probably won't be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Lumberjanes / Gotham Academy #1

Jun 10, 2016

I have been waiting a while for this team up and I am not disappointed. I'm a big Gotham Academy fan and love to see DC, and Boom, expanding their appeal with team ups like this. I do have to say that I miss the GA art style. A crossover the opposite way, with the Lumberjanes coming to Gotham Academy would be something to look forward to.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Lumberjanes / Gotham Academy #2

Jul 15, 2016

I was a little generous out of a sense of surprise and excitement when I gave issue #1 such a good ratinglast month so I am going to overcompensate the other way this time around. I am still totally on board with this mini, but I think there is room to improve over issue #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Lumberjanes / Gotham Academy #3

Aug 11, 2016

I don't think this is a bad comic and the plot itself is good but one of my pet peeves is when the art gets in the way of telling a story. I don't mind bad art, or even experimental art that fails. But interfering with the plot and the connection to the characters is a no-no in my book. I absolutely loved issue #1 and had similar problems with issue #2 as I do here. On the strength of the promise of this book I am going to hold off one more time really hammering the score. At least this mini reminds me of how much I miss the main Gotham Academy book and the real Olive, Maps, Pom, Kyle and Colton. They can't come back soon enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Lumberjanes / Gotham Academy #4

Sep 16, 2016

Because of the good story and successful plot exposition I am going to give this issue a decent score even though the characters are hard to tell apart. This book got me through Gotham Academy's long hiatus, but now that it is back I expect I will be less enamored of this title in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lumberjanes / Gotham Academy #5

Oct 14, 2016

I am not sure, though, if Lumberjanes fans will understand what is going on here. Olive's firestarter powers haven't been discussed as far as I remember in this mini and I could understand if folks are confused by all the fire everywhere and what it means for the next issue. However, because this issue features my favorite comic book relationship, Olive and Maps, I am going to rate it pretty highly. It is just the breakout event I have been waiting for in this team up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Lumberjanes / Gotham Academy #6

Nov 11, 2016

I enjoyed this miniseries but found that it wasn't as good as I hoped. It did inspire me to buy some of the Lumberjanes trades which I enjoy very much. Maybe they could do future series with smaller groups of characters between the two teams. A Maps/Ripley book might be an amazingly insane comic. I also think that Jo and Olive had a good relationship and maybe the four of them could have adventures. I can dream, can't I?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Midnighter (2015) #1

Jun 4, 2015

All in all this is an excellent start to the series. I am going to ding the rating a bit for the confusing fight sequences but I expect that this is just the beginning of a very interesting comic. I look forward to more adventures with Midnighter.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Midnighter (2015) #2

Jul 2, 2015

In any event, Midnighter is still one of my favorite current comics. I am hopeful that the timeline bouncing in this issue is just a one-off experiment. It wasn't done in #1 so there isn't a reason to believe that it is a motif that is inherent to the storytelling. I look forward to #3 and also to find out who stole the God Garden tech and why.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Midnighter (2015) #3

Aug 6, 2015

If you like your heroes to feel like real people even if they are a little crazy and enjoy seeing some challenging and groundbreaking art you are going to love Midnighter #3.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Midnighter (2015) #4

Sep 3, 2015

So while I enjoyed this issue I'm a little disappointed because of how good it could have been. Admittedly, I have a high standard for this book. Still, the humor and playfulness of Midnighter and Dick needed to gel a little better as a story. I hope we see these two together again soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Midnighter (2015) #5

Oct 8, 2015

Those complaints being said, I do like this comic and will surely continue reading for as long as the quality stays high.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Mother Panic #1

Nov 10, 2016

While this book isn't my usual cup of tea there is a lot that interests me. I want to know more about Violet's back story and why she is going out at nights hunting bad guys. That is the mark of a good first issue so it is a success. I am not going to give it a glowing rating however because torturing people, particularly the implication of hurting kids, isn't something that I particularly like to read about.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Mother Panic #2

Dec 29, 2016

This book holds a lot of promise. The character of Violet is vivid and somehow likable. However, the topic and tone of the book are a little dark for my taste. Another issue I have with the art is that the flashback scenes aren't well defined. Sometimes I was well into a scene before I even thought to question when and where it was happening. There are clues, but they are subtle which can make for a confusing read. Last issue I gave the book a decent rating, but this time around I am going to be a little more critical about the problems. Don't think that I am dismissing it however, while it is a challenging read it also has tremendous potential and I for one will be sticking with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Mother Panic #3

Feb 16, 2017

I really enjoyed this issue much more that the last one. I have felt that the comic team on this book were really on to something from the start, but that it was going to take some time for it to come together. At this point I am feeling more and more that there is going to be a terrific payoff for some patience now. I am still going to be conservative with my rating, but I think I am going to need some room to go up. I recommend this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Mother Panic #4

Mar 9, 2017

I am enjoying Mother Panic much more than my rating might suggest. I am utterly fascinated by the character of Violet Page and already am looking forward to the next issue. The reason that I am still not rating this book higher has more to do with the clumsy change in story and art from the previous issues. I didn't realize the last story had concluded and expected the hunt for Gala to continue. Because of this I felt like I was starting over this issue and was pretty confused during my first read through. I am glad that I stuck with it and reread the story a few times to figure out what was happening.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mother Panic #5

Mar 23, 2017

I have enjoyed this and all the previous issues of this book but have held back on giving a high rating so I could see how things progressed. At this point the book has sustained five issues of strong plot and character development with two different, successful artistic approaches along with two different story lines. I am ready to crank things up a little as the team has earned some trust. I recommend that mature readers pick up this title, as I would be reading it even if I weren't reviewing it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mother Panic #6

Apr 27, 2017

In past reviews I was holding back on a high rating for this title, but I enjoy the way the story has progressed and I love the art so I am going to go higher. If you havent been reading it, I recommend you give it a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Mother Panic #7

May 25, 2017

However, I do recommend this book because of its strong emotional moments and the continuing slow reveal of Violet's past. Keep in mind, this is a book for Mature Readers, there is some R rated language along with a cover price of $3.99.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Mother Panic #8

Jun 29, 2017

Keep in mind, this is a book for Mature Readers. There is some R rated language and adult topics along with its cover price of $3.99.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Mother Panic #9

Jul 27, 2017

My Take: I love Mother Panic as a title, but have to say this issue was a let down. I didn't care much about the killer and while it was fun to see Batman supporting Violet, her heroic ending fell flat. I like the cast of characters that are being assembled around Violet with Dr. Varma, Violet's Mother, Ratcatcher, etc. Though I think we do need a little more personal life. Right now her biggest problem is getting an operation for her implants. What will happen after that?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Mother Panic #10

Aug 24, 2017

I have been a big fan of this book up to this point. The story arcs haven't been completely successful, but this one is the first issue that I feel myself getting impatient with the plotting. Violet's quest for vengeance doesn't seem to have a goal. It was an effective way to expose Violet's character, but now that we know something about her it seems like we are going to get just another ghost from her past. I think we need a change of pace.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Mother Panic #11

Sep 28, 2017

The rating for this issue is better than last, but this book needs a little texture to make it truly compelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Mother Panic #12

Oct 26, 2017

Mother Panic does create intriguing mysteries surrounding Violets past. I like being in this world and have a lot of questions about the characters I do want answered. However, more care should be taken with clearly telling the stories at hand. I am not going to ding this issue's rating too badly because of it because I am enjoying the title. But it is something I am concerned about for the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mother Panic: Gotham A.D. #1

Mar 29, 2018

In a grimy future Gotham, Violet Page struggles to put her life back together with danger lurking all around her and her accidental family.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mother Panic: Gotham A.D. #2

Apr 26, 2018

Mother Panic maneuvers through a very dark Gotham City to try to rescue her mother in Arkham Asylum. She meets potential friends and enemies in a story that feels like it has high stakes. But someone is going to have to do something about that Fennec Fox.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Poison Ivy: Cycle of Life and Death #1

Jan 21, 2016

I am going to give this a very good rating because of the story and characterization of Ivy here, but also because I think the mini-series shows great promise.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Poison Ivy: Cycle of Life and Death #2

Feb 18, 2016

Last issue I was very generous with my rating. This time however I am going to be more critical though I am still on board with this series and want to see it improve. I would like to see some more clarity.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Poison Ivy: Cycle of Life and Death #3

Mar 17, 2016

I enjoyed this issue much better than the last. The development of Ivy's personality is starting to gel and I feel like a good character arc is developing. I do wonder about that panel that showed Ivy holding her sporelings with a monster behind her. What is it supposed to be showing? Is this something the babies see? Something they are communicating with her about? Why doesn't Ivy take the break in into her apartment more seriously? Hopefully these questions will be answered satisfactorily but for now it is working.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Poison Ivy: Cycle of Life and Death #4

Apr 21, 2016

I am really enjoying this mini. The second issue was a bit of a drop off for me but since then the book has been getting better and better. I am going to give this issue a very high ranking mostly because I believe that Amy Chu's characterization of Ivy is becoming very strong. I am starting to understand her character in a way I never have before. Also, for as disturbing as the story is there is a lot of humor here which I really appreciate. I'm not a fan of grimdark comics and this book strikes a fine balance. Also, Selina plays off of Ivy in a way that allows Ivy's personality to shine. When Ivy is paired with Harley Quinn the dynamic tends to diminish Ivy but here she is allowed to…uh, flower.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Poison Ivy: Cycle of Life and Death #5

May 19, 2016

I am completely taken by this mini. Ivy has emerged to be a very interesting character and now that the sporelings are coming into their own I just want to see more of them all. I'm worried about what will happen to the girls in the final issue. I would love a monthly book about Ivy and her children and I hope they aren't killed off to wrap up the continuity. I can't help but think about stories with Aunties Harley and Selina visiting periodically. As I find myself thinking about these things I realize how effective this mini has been. I'm giving this issue a 4.5 rather than a full 5 Batarangs but if the final issue is this good I'd be inclined to give a perfect score. I highly recommend this miniseries.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Poison Ivy: Cycle of Life and Death #6

Jun 16, 2016

I have completely enjoyed this miniseries, so am going to give it high marks. It only misses a top score because of the inconsistent art, but even so I strongly recommend these books. I only hope that, with the ending left open, that we see more of Ivy and her Sporelings soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood / Arsenal #2

Jul 9, 2015

Maybe I'm just happily surprised at how much I enjoyed this comic, but I am going to rate it pretty highly. Oh, and if you could explain the disappearing mime panel in the comments below I'd appreciate it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Secret Six (2014) #8

Nov 20, 2015

I am going to give this issue a good rating but I'm going to hold back a bit because I suspect future issues are going to need some room to grow. Secret Six is turning into one of my favorite books published now and I look forward to the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Secret Six (2014) #9

Dec 18, 2015

The art by Tom Derenick and colors by Jason Wright work well together. I particularly liked the scene where the winged lions arrive as well as the humorous old timey getups the team gets into to go to creepy New England.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Secret Six (2014) #10

Jan 22, 2016

Like I said, I am going to give this issue a fairly low rating due to its ridiculous plot. There is hope that it will get better, but this is issue #10 and I've been hoping for back-to-back good issues for a while now.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Starfire #8

Jan 15, 2016

I like Ray McCarthy's art but I have to give a lot of credit to Hi-Fi's colors. The oranges and greens of the Florida Keys work very well with the vibrant colors they use for Kori herself. The concept of putting Kori in the Keys was a very good idea from a visual standpoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Suicide Squad / The Banana Splits Special #1

Mar 31, 2017

I expected a Suicide Squad-Banana Splits crossover to be silly and it was. I'd recommend this book to those that have nostalgia for the old show or just want a brainless fun ride. I wouldn't say that there is anything compelling here though and its $4.99 cover price may rightly dissuade some readers from getting the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Suicide Squad Most Wanted: Deadshot and Katana #1

Jan 29, 2016

This book is an obvious set up for the Suicide Squad Movie. It will be interesting to see how the stories progress and if other movie characters are integrated into the plots. Despite that, both stories are an enjoyable read.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More