Nicholas Finch's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Batman-News Reviews: 36
6.2Avg. Review Rating

8.5
Anniversary 100-Page Super Spectacular: Joker 80th Anniversary #1

Jun 9, 2020

Wow, holy crap. This might be the best anthology issue I've seen from DC yet, where almost every comic has brought its A-Game to the table! I counted seven out of ten stories that I'd consider genuinely good reads, and only one short that I actually thought was bad. That's a ratio I haven't found in the other anniversary specials, personally. I'm not sure if any of this will bring you back around on Joker if you need a break on him; but if you're in the mood to read some short but sweet stories about one of the greatest villains around, you can not go wrong with this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Batman (2016) #91

Mar 19, 2020

Yes, I did just spend my one chance reviewing the mainline Batman comic to be negative " but I promise my intentions are constructive! I like this book " genuinely like it " and want to see it keep momentum, and to see it improve as it continues. While Tynion's Justice League could get a bit exhausting from the constant high stakes, I'm hoping he can take the lessons he learned from that book and apply them here: if it pays off, we might have something special on our hands. Thanks so much for paying attention to me for a little while " back to Josh!

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Batman vs. Ra's Al Ghul (2019) #1

Sep 4, 2019

It's hard to score a comic like this, because I DEFINITELY enjoyed myself reading it (despite my issues). It's a fun book, and definitely easier to swallow than its predecessor so far (hence my positive slant in this review) " yet that virtue doesn't make it a great book. The problems with this comic aren't small in any respect, but the art and wackiness factor are enough to keep me invested enough to stick around. Look forward to my sanity slowly deteriorating over the next few months, yeah?

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Batman vs. Ra's Al Ghul (2019) #2

Oct 10, 2019

I have to say, the score of this book is a little arbitrary. It's a low score because I don't think the quality of the writing or the artwork is particularly high. Not to mention, figuring out the issue and then piecing those thoughts together for this review was aggravating. But" I'm smiling as I write this conclusion, and I was smiling an awful lot as I read the comic. And isn't that what these books are kind of about? Either there's something to enjoy here, or I really am losing my mind.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Batman vs. Ra's Al Ghul (2019) #3

Nov 28, 2019

How the hell do I score this book? This is a question I've been asking myself for three months now. I keep finding myself giving low scores for a book that, sure, clearly has a lot of problems" and yet still ends up being the comic book I'm most invested in from month to month.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Batman vs. Ra's Al Ghul (2019) #4

Feb 13, 2020

I can't say I hope Neal Adams " comic book legend, need I remind you " reads my takedown of his story. I'm not kind on this book, on account of it being" bad. But what I would hope he knows through all of this is that it comes from a place of love: love of his work, love of the characters and, indeed, love of this book. This is a more palatable form of Batman: Odyssey, and you can't ask for better (or worse) than that.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Batman: The Adventures Continue #1

Jun 17, 2020

Mediocre books are often the most heartbreaking kinds of books. Reading a mediocre book isn't fun like an outrageously bad book, or a spectacularly good book; it just reminds you of what could have been one of those things, but just couldn't find its place. But I'm not so disappointed when I read this book, as compared to some of the other comics that have crossed my radar. After all, I knew what this book was: like so much popular content we live to consume, this comic is a method of boosting the sales for action figures. Nothing more.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Dark Knight Returns: The Golden Child #1

Dec 11, 2019

I won't pretend there aren't things to enjoy from this book, but I can't find myself liking it as a full package. Despite the wonderful artwork, all I can think of is how ironic it is that this story is much like many politicians: full of sound and fury, signifying nothing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Harley Quinn & Poison Ivy (2019) #1

Sep 4, 2019

I've said a lot about a story that is, for the most part, setup " but important setup, nonetheless. There's potential for greatness in Harley Quinn and Poison Ivy, and the more it impresses and surprises me, the more it'll bloom into just that. My score for this issue is the same as my gaydar for this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Harley Quinn & Poison Ivy (2019) #2

Oct 10, 2019

I want this book to succeed! These are two characters I really like to read, from a team whose work I really enjoy. It's a shame that what I loved from issue one just wasn't as prominent in this issue, and I hope that it gets those things back in the issues to come. You could do great things with this comic, and I want to see them happen.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Harley Quinn & Poison Ivy (2019) #3

Nov 14, 2019

Reviewing this series has actually been one of the most challenging tasks I've had on this website so far: in finding new things to say about each issue, addressing critiques in a constructive manner, and establishing how I score my reviews. This is not a fantastic series, but it's in no ways a bad one either. It walks that nebulous middle ground that's hard to rate" but not hard to recommend if you have some spare time and love the characters. If you don't? We'll see how the full miniseries pans out.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Harley Quinn & Poison Ivy (2019) #4

Dec 12, 2019

It's an inoffensive book with the occasional genuinely fun moment, but it's not much more than that; your mileage will vary entirely on how much you want to see these characters interact. I enjoy the two as a pair, even if I'd prefer to see them as a couple, so I'm having a good time with this! I just hope that in the future, Houser and Melo can feel like they can take more risks with books like this. There's some genuinely good stuff here, and I want to see it shine.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Harley Quinn & Poison Ivy (2019) #5

Jan 9, 2020

This book is a good time if you want to relax and read something that's low-stakes, fun and wholesome " however wholesome former villains turned sort-of-heroes can be. I just don't think this issue in particular is completely solid, and I hope that the final issue has the development time it needs to be a satisfying conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Harley Quinn & Poison Ivy (2019) #6

Feb 13, 2020

This book has had a series of ups and downs for me, but it also means a lot on a personal level: this is the first series I have reviewed to its conclusion, for better or for worse (better!). I have to thank Jodie Houser and Adriana Melo for giving me so much to talk about, and for being incredibly kind enough as to notice my review of their first issue together. I can't give this book a strong recommendation, but if you're looking for an extended episode of Batman: The Animated Series that stars these two and manages to stick the landing, you can't find much better than this.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Joker/Harley: Criminal Sanity #1

Oct 10, 2019

This is a very "my mom just bought a new crime novel and she's reading it aloud at night" kind of story. It's not particularly intriguing so far, beyond how any crime story is intriguing: there's a murder and you want to catch the guy. Harley isn't that interesting here, Gordon isn't that interesting here, and I'm not really seeing many other characters stepping in to fill that void. Hopefully in future issues, we'll see the series go beyond that, but judging by the scenes trying to convey emotion in this issue, I'm not sure if we're going to see it pay off.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Joker/Harley: Criminal Sanity #2

Jan 2, 2020

To my eye, I definitely felt like there was an improvement in this issue from the previous one, though I only really felt it the second time I read it with a clearer head. I think it can grow into something quite good, and it's quite possible that the entire story will be better than the sum of its parts " but I think some clichs and ineffective storytelling methods currently hold it back, at least for now. I'm glad to see it's getting more people into crime stories, though!

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Joker/Harley: Criminal Sanity #3

Feb 5, 2020

I don't feel great about giving a book a low score, especially considering it's rather proficient on a technical level. I'll ask some of my fellow reviewers what they think of it, but to me, it's a shame that the intriguing premise is marred by generic crime-solving tropes, self-indulgent quotes and a lack of compelling characters, instead of standing out on its own.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Joker/Harley: Criminal Sanity #4

May 5, 2020

I understand that people have disagreed with me on my assessment of this series, but I hope I've been able to articulate how I feel about it; at least, well enough for people to understand where I'm coming from. While I'm still not a big fan, this issue gives me hope that I'll have a good time with the rest of the series " if it embraces the fact that the "realism" of the story isn't where I'm having fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Justice League (2018) #40

Feb 5, 2020

I'm not sure if I'll love this run or not, but I can appreciate a comic that grows on you, and this one certainly did.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Justice League (2018) #41

Feb 19, 2020

I think the more of DC you've read, the more rewarding this comic might be for you. Not because of the events that take place inside it " it's nothing new for a superhero comic " but because if you've read every other story that takes place before and after it, you know how much each character has been going through. So do these creators, I think, and the issue really feels like they're giving both the characters and the audience some time to take it in.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Justice League (2018) #42

Mar 4, 2020

The novelty of a refreshingly small-scale story on Justice League is beginning to wear off, though it's not without its charm all the same. I hope that when we get into further arcs of Venditti's story, he either develops these small stories with a deeper sense of style and individuality, or gives us a stronger through line to keep us invested.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Justice League (2018) #43

Mar 19, 2020

Bringing this review back to my initial analogy, I don't think that there's anything wrong with a writer's run beginning with something small like this: a DM never knows how much time they really have with their team, and should prioritize a good time over a long time. And this book is a good time! It's a shame to know that Venditti's run won't last long, and that I likely can't expect much of a larger scale from him " but I'm hoping that he manages to dive a little deeper into the characters while he's here, so that we can all say that he made the most of the time he had.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League (2018) #44

May 12, 2020

I don't particularly mind if the rest of the arc doesn't hold up as well as this issue in the coming weeks: I can't see myself finding this story bad, and in a worst-case scenario, it'll still probably be a decent read like Venditti's Eradicator arc. What I'm happy about is, in this issue at least, I had a great time with the visuals that the writer, illustrator and colourist have worked together to bring to the table. They've managed to make me invested in a story that I know isn't important in the grand scheme of things, and that's always a good job!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Justice League (2018) #45

May 27, 2020

Character drama is at the heart of every story, whether you're dealing with a conflict between neighbours or gods. Making this story stem from Jim Corrigan's internal conflict " and how that manages to affect the world around him " gives this book a weight that the previous arc did not have for me. This story feels important, even if it isn't an event, which speaks to the quality of the book. I'm actually really interested in seeing where things go from here!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Justice League (2018) #46

Jun 10, 2020

When this is all taken into consideration, I start to wonder if Venditti's work is going to come home in his final arc. While this arc is certainly fine on its own, will he bring something substantial to the table in his final issues? Or is he content to stick with his other books, leaving Justice League with a pleasant, if anticlimactic, conclusion? Time will tell; but I'd still suggest this arc if you have a moment (and expendable income).

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Justice League (2018) #47

Jun 25, 2020

You're not missing out on much if you skip this, but if you can check it out, I think you'll enjoy a story that manages to keep the League grounded while presenting a conflict of impressive, yet proportional, scale.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Justice League (2018) #48

Jul 8, 2020

I think the premise is decent for a one-off story, and it definitely could get better. But it's even more expensive than ever to get DC comic books here in Australia, and that weighs on my mind more and more every time I read a mediocre issue of a book that continues to hit me with directionless content.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Robin 80th Anniversary 100-Page Super Spectacular (2020) #1

Mar 19, 2020

In any case, while (like all anniversary issues) I disagree with the importance of some of these stories, you're getting a lot of good content in this issue " the great stuff is fantastic, and it's just a matter of if you think it's worth the price of the overall package. For me, though, I think I needed the reminder of why Robin is so important.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Tales From The Dark Multiverse: Infinite Crisis #1

Nov 28, 2019

I really can't imagine this story being very satisfying for readers who haven't read Infinite Crisis " but there's no reason that it needs to be. This entire series is based on showcasing darker endings to iconic stories " the fact that Tynion and Lopresti commit to the story without compromising it for new audiences honestly makes it all the better. If you're a long-standing fan of DC history, or you're fresh off a binge-read to prepare for the next event, then I can't give this anything less than a strong recommendation.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Tales From The Dark Multiverse: Batman: Knightfall #1

Oct 17, 2019

One issue in, and we're already tackling so many fascinating questions: what if we never got over the violent murder-Batman of the 90's? What if the savior to the Multiverse was hiding in a doomed timeline? What the hell are they gonna call the next crisis when Final Crisis was already taken? All of these questions are things that I am here for. If you want to be here for them too, and you want to encourage DC to let more creators tell weirder and weirder stories, I highly suggest you pick this up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Tales From The Dark Multiverse: Blackest Night #1

Nov 14, 2019

I plan to read all of Johns' Green Lantern run when I have a moment, and I can't help but wonder if my opinion on this book will change when I revisit Blackest Night and check out its tie-ins. Have I missed something about this book? Not sure! But I'm happy to say that it works either way, and adds another solid entry to an extremely creative assortment of books. If Infinite Crisis and The Judas Contract bring this series home, you'll have a must-buy trade on your hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Tales From The Dark Multiverse: The Judas Contract #1

Dec 11, 2019

This isn't really a bad book; the dialogue is fine, the action is good and the artwork was enjoyable. What bothers me about it is that it's just not what it could have been; it doesn't live up to the standards of the other books in this series, and doesn't push beyond the limitations of its source material. I hope they make more Dark Multiverse stories " but I also hope they take these criticisms to heart if they do. It's sad to see the "What If?" tales I was so excited about finish with this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Tales From The Dark Multiverse: The Death of Superman #1

Oct 30, 2019

I have to say, I started this review thinking the book was only good " and to some extent, I stand by that. I feel there's a bell curve for quality of fiction, and while most comics don't reach that high end, a lot do fall close. When I had a chance to see the art in a higher quality, it sold me on the fact that the book isn't trying to be anything but more of what you might expect from The Death of Superman " and I appreciate books with clear goals such as that. Check it out if you want a treat on the eyes!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Year of the Villain: The Riddler #1

Sep 11, 2019

Recommended If:You've been a fan of Year of the Villain so far, and how it seeks to reinvent its antagonists.You like a comic that doesn't take itself too seriously.You enjoy Lex Luthor monologues, because who doesn't? (Other than Superman.)You want a Riddler story that doesn't begin and end with him in the same place as before, and goes beyond his usual games.You love King Tut as much as you god damn should.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Year of the Villain: Joker #1

Oct 10, 2019

I would absolutely love to see more from this team, if the quality is about at the same level as this. I wouldn't call it a masterpiece, as it doesn't do anything to blow my mind " but for a first outing, it's a strong standalone that gives you a refreshing one-off story about the Clown Prince of Crime. If they continue to make stories together about this villain, I don't think I'd be feeling fatigued any time soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Year of the Villain: Black Adam #1

Oct 24, 2019

This is a book you don't really need to read; it's really just a fight that explains a little more about King Shazam, and gives an excuse as to why Black Adam isn't that involved in Year of the Villain. But for what it is, it's good! It gives me pleasant memories of 52 and does a nice job of presenting Black Adam as a hero " stories we need if we want the world to know how nuanced he can be when his movie arrives. Here's to more like it!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More