Nicholas Finch's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Batman-News Reviews: 83
6.2Avg. Review Rating

8.5
Anniversary 100-Page Super Spectacular: Joker 80th Anniversary #1

Jun 9, 2020

Wow, holy crap. This might be the best anthology issue I've seen from DC yet, where almost every comic has brought its A-Game to the table! I counted seven out of ten stories that I'd consider genuinely good reads, and only one short that I actually thought was bad. That's a ratio I haven't found in the other anniversary specials, personally. I'm not sure if any of this will bring you back around on Joker if you need a break on him; but if you're in the mood to read some short but sweet stories about one of the greatest villains around, you can not go wrong with this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Anniversary 100-Page Super Spectacular: Robin 80th Anniversary #1

Mar 19, 2020

In any case, while (like all anniversary issues) I disagree with the importance of some of these stories, you're getting a lot of good content in this issue " the great stuff is fantastic, and it's just a matter of if you think it's worth the price of the overall package. For me, though, I think I needed the reminder of why Robin is so important.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Batman (2016) #91

Mar 19, 2020

Yes, I did just spend my one chance reviewing the mainline Batman comic to be negative " but I promise my intentions are constructive! I like this book " genuinely like it " and want to see it keep momentum, and to see it improve as it continues. While Tynion's Justice League could get a bit exhausting from the constant high stakes, I'm hoping he can take the lessons he learned from that book and apply them here: if it pays off, we might have something special on our hands. Thanks so much for paying attention to me for a little while " back to Josh!

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Batman vs. Ra's Al Ghul (2019) #1

Sep 4, 2019

It's hard to score a comic like this, because I DEFINITELY enjoyed myself reading it (despite my issues). It's a fun book, and definitely easier to swallow than its predecessor so far (hence my positive slant in this review) " yet that virtue doesn't make it a great book. The problems with this comic aren't small in any respect, but the art and wackiness factor are enough to keep me invested enough to stick around. Look forward to my sanity slowly deteriorating over the next few months, yeah?

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Batman vs. Ra's Al Ghul (2019) #2

Oct 10, 2019

I have to say, the score of this book is a little arbitrary. It's a low score because I don't think the quality of the writing or the artwork is particularly high. Not to mention, figuring out the issue and then piecing those thoughts together for this review was aggravating. But" I'm smiling as I write this conclusion, and I was smiling an awful lot as I read the comic. And isn't that what these books are kind of about? Either there's something to enjoy here, or I really am losing my mind.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Batman vs. Ra's Al Ghul (2019) #3

Nov 28, 2019

How the hell do I score this book? This is a question I've been asking myself for three months now. I keep finding myself giving low scores for a book that, sure, clearly has a lot of problems" and yet still ends up being the comic book I'm most invested in from month to month.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Batman vs. Ra's Al Ghul (2019) #4

Feb 13, 2020

I can't say I hope Neal Adams " comic book legend, need I remind you " reads my takedown of his story. I'm not kind on this book, on account of it being" bad. But what I would hope he knows through all of this is that it comes from a place of love: love of his work, love of the characters and, indeed, love of this book. This is a more palatable form of Batman: Odyssey, and you can't ask for better (or worse) than that.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.5
Batman vs. Ra's Al Ghul (2019) #5

Mar 19, 2021

What can I truly learn if I dig beneath its wild, frenetic surface, save for a level of forbidden knowledge no man should be privy to gain? Like the inner workings of Lovecraft's Outer Gods, is there truly any insight the human mind can gleam from this masterful disaster unfolding from page to page, without falling into the clutches of insanity? I fear the answer, and so I hope not to seek it.

View Issue       View Full Review
1
Batman vs. Ra's Al Ghul (2019) #6

Apr 23, 2021

Prestige should not be a hall pass, and while this book is ironically charming, it doesn't deserve praise for being just that, and nothing more.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Batman: The Adventures Continue #1

Jun 17, 2020

Mediocre books are often the most heartbreaking kinds of books. Reading a mediocre book isn't fun like an outrageously bad book, or a spectacularly good book; it just reminds you of what could have been one of those things, but just couldn't find its place. But I'm not so disappointed when I read this book, as compared to some of the other comics that have crossed my radar. After all, I knew what this book was: like so much popular content we live to consume, this comic is a method of boosting the sales for action figures. Nothing more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batman: The Detective (2021) #4

Jul 14, 2021

It's a nice feeling to review a book I genuinely like. These types of comics are good, because they make me feel like I have something to say about them that feels substantive, without taking away from the fact that the overall product is a good time. Taylor and Kubert have made a miniseries that I certainly don't think is perfect, but represents a great example of Batman's character, his values, and what he'll do to save the people he's sworn to protect. I'm curious and excited to see how it culminates!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman: Three Jokers (2020) #1

Aug 25, 2020

I honestly don't think I could have asked for a better start to what's sure to be the biggest Joker story of the year " and perhaps, if it continues at this level of quality, a classic comic in its own right. This is a dark, enthralling mystery of a Batman story: with a cast of characters sharing an electric chemistry, a trio of charismatic and sinister villains, and an ending that's both shocking and cathartic, yet leaves you wanting so much more. I'm happy to say that this book receives the highest rating I've given a comic so far: you'll want to be paying close attention to this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Batman: Three Jokers (2020) #2

Sep 29, 2020

This is one of the hardest reviews I've ever had to write, because it wasn't until writing this sentence at 5am on my birthday morning that I managed to crack how to score this beast of a comic. This is not a bad book on a technical level, and I must reserve some judgment for how issue 3 plans to tie this all together. I didn't dislike this book at all, in fact; but it's got problems that I believe persist from beginning to end, and it's going to need a bombshell of a conclusion for me to call this book the masterpiece it's trying its hardest to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Batman: Three Jokers (2020) #3

Oct 28, 2020

This is a decent Batman story masquerading as a masterpiece, which honestly makes it worse in my eyes. There's a lot to like here, from the pacing to the storytelling on a technical level. If it were in a vacuum, I might rate the story higher" but it's not. This, like it or not, is the final chapter of Rebirth " and somehow, it manages to end with both a bang and a whimper. Despite the art's best efforts, the story doesn't matter. The protagonists don't matter. The Jokers don't matter. As much as I hate to admit it after five years of waiting" Three Jokers isn't special.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Dark Knight Returns: The Golden Child #1

Dec 11, 2019

I won't pretend there aren't things to enjoy from this book, but I can't find myself liking it as a full package. Despite the wonderful artwork, all I can think of is how ironic it is that this story is much like many politicians: full of sound and fury, signifying nothing.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Dark Nights: Death Metal: The Secret Origin #1

Dec 23, 2020

The fight against stagnation and repetition in comics loses at the end of The Secret Origin " time, like the world of DC Comics itself, is presented as nothing more than a flat circle.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Dark Nights: Death Metal: Speed Metal #1

Sep 23, 2020

If there's anything I've said in this review that was inaccurate, I am happy to defer to the knowledge of those heavily invested in Williamson's Flash saga. I am only able to review this as a casual reader: one who is familiar with everything in Death Metal, but less so with some character arcs operating at the fringes. As it stands, it's perfectly readable, and might have greater value for those with more of a stake in the story! Hell, even I might like this more if I come back to it in the future. For now, however, I remain worried about if the promises of this issue hold any weight: or if, like Rebirth, they're unable to make it to the finish line.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Dark Nights: Death Metal: Robin King #1

Oct 20, 2020

I would like to end this review with an apology " I know that I come across as very critical at times, and there's an argument to be made about how much of that is really necessary. If you liked this issue, I'm very happy that you did, and I'm sorry if I come across as attempting to invalidate that. But I can't write anything other than how I feel" and how I feel when I read this book is sad. Angry. Frustrated that we could have had something different: something that focused on character over slapping an evil Bruce Wayne in the book and calling it a day. Paying customers deserve more. This event deserves more. I want it to live up to its own expectations, but it doesn't. I don't like Robin King #1, and I don't like Dark Nights: Death Metal.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
DC Pride (2021) #1

Jun 9, 2021

None of these stories are perfect, but all of them make me feel good " about DC, about diversity in the comic book world, and about myself.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Endless Winter (2020): Justice League #1

Dec 1, 2020

Obviously we aren't above a few zingers in this review, but there's definitely some potential in this comic (I certainly see some). I don't particularly expect anything special from it, but when you separate your feelings on a good story from your fatigue with crossovers, then we could hopefully have a solid comic to last us through the winter season. Or Summer, if you live in upside-down land like me.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Endless Winter (2020): Justice League #2

Dec 29, 2020

Endless Winter is something of a stocking stuffer in DC's library " not insulting, but clearly an event made to pad for time before Future State and Infinite Frontier. I liked parts of it, and the ending is good enough" but I sincerely hope this is the last "filler arc" we get in Justice League for some time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Future State (2021): The Next Batman #1

Jan 7, 2021

Future State makes me excited to read comic books again, and I wish it lasted longer " but for the time I have with it, I think I'm going to enjoy it (the good books, anyway). This is a great start, and I'm excited to see what issue two holds " and where this takes the comics I love going into the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Future State (2021): Justice League #1

Jan 12, 2021

Jinny Hex Special #1 is a delightful read. Visaggio makes the most out of these characters, building their pasts while also giving them a bright future. The art is beautiful throughout, making this special the complete package. Those who want a fun one-shot should pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Future State (2021): The Next Batman #2

Jan 19, 2021

This book is particularly irritating in that it was a triple threat of stories I didn't love, hitting me one after another with content that left me wishing it was more.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Future State (2021): Justice League #2

Feb 10, 2021

On the one hand, you have a book that seems to tiptoe the line between Future State and the current DCU " on the other, you have a book that ATTEMPTS to embrace Future State, only to be held back by the same issues that plague mainline continuity. This is a great reminder that, while a change in characters and creators can be good, it doesn't automatically mean a positive uptick in quality " even though this book could have been a whole lot worse.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Future State (2021): The Next Batman #3

Feb 3, 2021

I think for this purchase to be worth it, then you have to be interested in every single one of these comics " and I can't suggest you buy this book if you aren't. If you are, however, then I think you'll find yourself with a compelling and exciting reading experience, with what I hope to be a decent payoff to its main story when The Next Batman comes to a close.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Future State (2021): The Next Batman #4

Feb 17, 2021

It's a genuine shame to say this " especially when there are merits to each story here " but I'm very happy to be done with reviewing The Next Batman.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Harley Quinn & Poison Ivy (2019) #1

Sep 4, 2019

I've said a lot about a story that is, for the most part, setup " but important setup, nonetheless. There's potential for greatness in Harley Quinn and Poison Ivy, and the more it impresses and surprises me, the more it'll bloom into just that. My score for this issue is the same as my gaydar for this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Harley Quinn & Poison Ivy (2019) #2

Oct 10, 2019

I want this book to succeed! These are two characters I really like to read, from a team whose work I really enjoy. It's a shame that what I loved from issue one just wasn't as prominent in this issue, and I hope that it gets those things back in the issues to come. You could do great things with this comic, and I want to see them happen.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Harley Quinn & Poison Ivy (2019) #3

Nov 14, 2019

Reviewing this series has actually been one of the most challenging tasks I've had on this website so far: in finding new things to say about each issue, addressing critiques in a constructive manner, and establishing how I score my reviews. This is not a fantastic series, but it's in no ways a bad one either. It walks that nebulous middle ground that's hard to rate" but not hard to recommend if you have some spare time and love the characters. If you don't? We'll see how the full miniseries pans out.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Harley Quinn & Poison Ivy (2019) #4

Dec 12, 2019

It's an inoffensive book with the occasional genuinely fun moment, but it's not much more than that; your mileage will vary entirely on how much you want to see these characters interact. I enjoy the two as a pair, even if I'd prefer to see them as a couple, so I'm having a good time with this! I just hope that in the future, Houser and Melo can feel like they can take more risks with books like this. There's some genuinely good stuff here, and I want to see it shine.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Harley Quinn & Poison Ivy (2019) #5

Jan 9, 2020

This book is a good time if you want to relax and read something that's low-stakes, fun and wholesome " however wholesome former villains turned sort-of-heroes can be. I just don't think this issue in particular is completely solid, and I hope that the final issue has the development time it needs to be a satisfying conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Harley Quinn & Poison Ivy (2019) #6

Feb 13, 2020

This book has had a series of ups and downs for me, but it also means a lot on a personal level: this is the first series I have reviewed to its conclusion, for better or for worse (better!). I have to thank Jodie Houser and Adriana Melo for giving me so much to talk about, and for being incredibly kind enough as to notice my review of their first issue together. I can't give this book a strong recommendation, but if you're looking for an extended episode of Batman: The Animated Series that stars these two and manages to stick the landing, you can't find much better than this.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
I Am Batman (2021) #0

Aug 11, 2021

If you're not a fan of Jace Fox, this book isn't going to show you anything overly badass that'll convince you that he's suddenly the best character of all time. What it will show you, though, is something a little more subtle: a man who's slowly working to better himself, claiming the title of Batman to help do that. Whether that's the right thing for him to do seems to be a question that the book poses going forward, and withFear State on the horizon, we're on the precipice of finding out just what this new Batman is really made of. Hopefully, it takes what we've started with here and does something great with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
I Am Batman (2021) #1

Sep 15, 2021

I'm not sure there's ever been a higher volume of Batman content in comics than right now " probably hyperbolic, but it feels especially difficult when you're on a team that has to review it all. As such,I Am Batman needs to do a good job of convincing you to buythisbook over others. It does this by introducing a Batman who feels like he speaks for the people, more than he speaks for himself " and personally, I'm going to keep reading. But a story lives and dies by its art" so let's see if this holds true come next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Joker/Harley: Criminal Sanity #1

Oct 10, 2019

This is a very "my mom just bought a new crime novel and she's reading it aloud at night" kind of story. It's not particularly intriguing so far, beyond how any crime story is intriguing: there's a murder and you want to catch the guy. Harley isn't that interesting here, Gordon isn't that interesting here, and I'm not really seeing many other characters stepping in to fill that void. Hopefully in future issues, we'll see the series go beyond that, but judging by the scenes trying to convey emotion in this issue, I'm not sure if we're going to see it pay off.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Joker/Harley: Criminal Sanity #2

Jan 2, 2020

To my eye, I definitely felt like there was an improvement in this issue from the previous one, though I only really felt it the second time I read it with a clearer head. I think it can grow into something quite good, and it's quite possible that the entire story will be better than the sum of its parts " but I think some clichs and ineffective storytelling methods currently hold it back, at least for now. I'm glad to see it's getting more people into crime stories, though!

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Joker/Harley: Criminal Sanity #3

Feb 5, 2020

I don't feel great about giving a book a low score, especially considering it's rather proficient on a technical level. I'll ask some of my fellow reviewers what they think of it, but to me, it's a shame that the intriguing premise is marred by generic crime-solving tropes, self-indulgent quotes and a lack of compelling characters, instead of standing out on its own.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Joker/Harley: Criminal Sanity #4

May 5, 2020

I understand that people have disagreed with me on my assessment of this series, but I hope I've been able to articulate how I feel about it; at least, well enough for people to understand where I'm coming from. While I'm still not a big fan, this issue gives me hope that I'll have a good time with the rest of the series " if it embraces the fact that the "realism" of the story isn't where I'm having fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Joker/Harley: Criminal Sanity #5

Sep 9, 2020

I really do feel like I'd have a better time suggesting this as a trade " ultimately, it's not like the story is harmful in any way, and for those who can step back and enjoy what the issue is actually offering, you'll likely have quite a good time. But for me, it might be too late. Not only do the spotty release dates of this comic hinder its potential as a complete and satisfying story " one where the plot details are less egregious " but by the very nature of reviewing this book, my attempts to overanalyse might have soured me on it from the start. Now, I'm in too deep " and despite the effort that the creators have put into this detailed puzzle, I can't help but want the pieces to be taking a different shape.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Joker/Harley: Criminal Sanity #6

Nov 18, 2020

There are points where I have an acute understanding of what the comic is going for, and it's technically hitting its marks" but it doesn't hit them with the punch it should have, in order for me to be emotionally invested.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Joker/Harley: Criminal Sanity #7

Jan 27, 2021

Honestly, I think this issue is a marked improvement from previous issues " it leans into the elements of the book I find genuinely thrilling, and it gives me hope that the final entries of Criminal Sanity will wrap this tale up in an exciting and satisfying manner. That being said, the snail's pace of a release schedule doesn't do anything to help my feelings towards the thriller; no matter how good or bad the story gets, you're better off waiting for the trade.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Joker/Harley: Criminal Sanity #8

Apr 7, 2021

Despite everything " despite the tone, the violence, the murder and abuse and the overwhelming edge " Joker/Harley: Criminal Sanity is a very safe book, with a very safe conclusion. It's able to wow you at points " and if you liked the first issue, it definitely continues to satisfy that itch " but it's not particularly interested in going in unexpected directions, or justifying why its characters had to be Joker and Harley outside of their aesthetics. If you're going to read it, do it in a collected edition " then get back to me on if you liked it more than I did. As it stands, the journey that I began in 2019 ends here: with an abrupt, underwhelming and thoroughly expected climax.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Joker/Harley: Criminal Sanity: Secret Files #1

Jul 22, 2020

Alright, you got me; I REALLY liked this issue. I still have inherent problems with Criminal Sanity, and this is obviously a very different style to the rest of the story" but if you want to sell me on the world you're constructing, as well as convince me that you know what you're talking about? This is the way to do it, and I'm really impressed with what the entire team has made here. Right now, you have my full attention, and while I have some scepticisms that I plan to mention next review, I'm interested to see what you do with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Justice League (2018) #40

Feb 5, 2020

I'm not sure if I'll love this run or not, but I can appreciate a comic that grows on you, and this one certainly did.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Justice League (2018) #41

Feb 19, 2020

I think the more of DC you've read, the more rewarding this comic might be for you. Not because of the events that take place inside it " it's nothing new for a superhero comic " but because if you've read every other story that takes place before and after it, you know how much each character has been going through. So do these creators, I think, and the issue really feels like they're giving both the characters and the audience some time to take it in.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Justice League (2018) #42

Mar 4, 2020

The novelty of a refreshingly small-scale story on Justice League is beginning to wear off, though it's not without its charm all the same. I hope that when we get into further arcs of Venditti's story, he either develops these small stories with a deeper sense of style and individuality, or gives us a stronger through line to keep us invested.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Justice League (2018) #43

Mar 19, 2020

Bringing this review back to my initial analogy, I don't think that there's anything wrong with a writer's run beginning with something small like this: a DM never knows how much time they really have with their team, and should prioritize a good time over a long time. And this book is a good time! It's a shame to know that Venditti's run won't last long, and that I likely can't expect much of a larger scale from him " but I'm hoping that he manages to dive a little deeper into the characters while he's here, so that we can all say that he made the most of the time he had.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League (2018) #44

May 12, 2020

I don't particularly mind if the rest of the arc doesn't hold up as well as this issue in the coming weeks: I can't see myself finding this story bad, and in a worst-case scenario, it'll still probably be a decent read like Venditti's Eradicator arc. What I'm happy about is, in this issue at least, I had a great time with the visuals that the writer, illustrator and colourist have worked together to bring to the table. They've managed to make me invested in a story that I know isn't important in the grand scheme of things, and that's always a good job!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Justice League (2018) #45

May 27, 2020

Character drama is at the heart of every story, whether you're dealing with a conflict between neighbours or gods. Making this story stem from Jim Corrigan's internal conflict " and how that manages to affect the world around him " gives this book a weight that the previous arc did not have for me. This story feels important, even if it isn't an event, which speaks to the quality of the book. I'm actually really interested in seeing where things go from here!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Justice League (2018) #46

Jun 10, 2020

When this is all taken into consideration, I start to wonder if Venditti's work is going to come home in his final arc. While this arc is certainly fine on its own, will he bring something substantial to the table in his final issues? Or is he content to stick with his other books, leaving Justice League with a pleasant, if anticlimactic, conclusion? Time will tell; but I'd still suggest this arc if you have a moment (and expendable income).

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Justice League (2018) #47

Jun 25, 2020

You're not missing out on much if you skip this, but if you can check it out, I think you'll enjoy a story that manages to keep the League grounded while presenting a conflict of impressive, yet proportional, scale.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Justice League (2018) #48

Jul 8, 2020

I think the premise is decent for a one-off story, and it definitely could get better. But it's even more expensive than ever to get DC comic books here in Australia, and that weighs on my mind more and more every time I read a mediocre issue of a book that continues to hit me with directionless content.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.5
Justice League (2018) #49

Jul 15, 2020

There's some interesting work here regarding the lore of the planet they're ruling, and I continue to like Lopresti's designs, but that's nowhere near enough to carry a story that already felt old last issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Justice League (2018) #50

Aug 5, 2020

when I see a book that feels like it's made by mandate rather than creative expression, I in turn feel disheartened. Reviewing one of them is annoying. Reviewing two of them is frustrating. Reviewing three of them is sad. And seeing as this is the tenth issue of Justice League treading water but refusing to swim, I can't encourage anyone to spend money on taking the dive.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League (2018) #51

Aug 18, 2020

Check it out if you can, as it is exactly what I've been asking for from this book: an arc that doesn't overstay its welcome, and knows the most important story it wants to tell with the time it has. That's the kind of story I can recommend spending money on, and I REALLY hope Part 2 sticks the landing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League (2018) #52

Sep 2, 2020

I think that these two issues have been my favourite Justice League issues in a long while " up there with some of my favourite moments with Snyder and Johns' runs. That might be a little unfair, considering this is essentially a comic about Batman hidden within a team book " but it's a story that commits to its message, and is confident in what it wants to say. I honestly wish we had more of it, and saw what each of the member of the Justice League experienced under the effects of the Black Mercy. I hope to review more from this team, who made an excellent first impression on me by calling out the tiresome nature of endless comic book conflicts.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Justice League (2018) #53

Sep 16, 2020

Doom Metal is ramping up to be my favourite Death Metal content I've read so far" not that the bar is particularly high. Whether I end up enjoying the final product or not, I'm just happy to be reading a comic that is trying to tell a smaller story with some of my favourite characters " even if they're stuck in a cosmic epic that I have no real investment in.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Justice League (2018) #54

Oct 7, 2020

I gotta say, I dunno how I got stuck with some of the genuinely good Death Metal tie-ins. I have a lot of issues with the main story " a lot " but the concepts that all of these creators have been throwing around have potential, and it's been nice to read a story that's happy to follow-through with some of those concepts, without seeming like they're rushing them beyond belief. Genuinely excited for the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League (2018) #55

Oct 20, 2020

This is everything I like about Death Metal wrapped into an issue, and it's been making for a very enjoyable bi-weekly read. There's legitimate merit to wanting to make an event that tries to tackle all of continuity, ambitious as it may be: it shows a respect for the intelligence and commitment of the reader, and makes it feel like the time they invested was worthwhile. When you can do that while still making it accessible for those who haven't read everything, then you have something special on your hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Justice League (2018) #56

Nov 4, 2020

This is a comparatively short review, because a lot of what I want to say about the work going into this comic has already been said, several times, by me. That's a good problem to have, though! It shows that this book is providing a consistent level of quality, to the point where all I can do to voice my approval is nod and say "carry on". I might have more to say about the concluding issue, but for now I'll leave things at a hearty "nice work". This is one of the best tie-ins I've reviewed for this website so far, and it's nice to feel good about reading Justice League!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Justice League (2018) #57

Nov 18, 2020

I think that if you're reading Death Metal, it's essential that you read this tie-in to ground yourself in the world " even if the ending is a bit hasty to get back to business.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Justice League (2018) #59

Mar 17, 2021

I see a lot of potential in this comic; even if it isn't realized, it's nice to be reviewing a comic with an ongoing story again. There's a cool new angle to the mainline Justice League, and a fun new subject matter for Justice League Dark " and if you can get over the price, both have the makings of a good story. I'm looking forward to talking about each new development as Bendis and Ram V's visions unravel" whether or not I like what their final picture is.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Justice League (2018) #60

Apr 21, 2021

As a consumer, I might not have gained much from this issue " but as a creator, I appreciate that this book can take its time. It's not in a rush to wow you, and because of this, it allows us to enjoy the ride for what it is. Justice League and Justice League Dark make a great combo package " even if I disagree with them being saddled together in the first place.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Justice League (2018) #61

May 19, 2021

I haven't been giving Justice League outrageously high scores, nor have I given it low ones - overall, I've been pretty favourable towards them, even if I haven't been particularly blown away by what I've read. There's a value to that consistency, though " and sometimes, a book that has good issues from start-to-finish can be a lot better to a read than a book that fluxuates in quality with every chapter. I'm holding out hope for this to be a fun run, at the very least - and the creators haven't given me reason to doubt me yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Justice League (2018) #62

Jun 2, 2021

Growing up, one of my favourite books to read was Streets of Gotham! That had both a strong main story and a really cool Manhunter backup, both of which eventually collided and crossed over with one another. That's the same formula for this book " but I like it a lot less when the backup outshines the main comic, and we're forking out more and more money to read a book that shouldn't be sidelined to the final pages of Justice League.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Justice League (2018) #63

Jun 23, 2021

It's frustrating to see that Bendis' first arc seems to spend all its time trying to get a feel for these characters and their interpersonal relationships, yet really struggles to sell any of them. I think Naomi's story is good enough to carry the issue, but this really is a Naomi story above all else " and it's hard to recommend this arc outside of that.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Justice League (2018) #64

Jul 7, 2021

This is getting frustrating. I can't keep spending every second week telling you to wait on a story that I genuinely think is really good" but how can I recommend you buy this when I don't think the main comic is worth the time? That might be a question you have to answer for yourselves. As for me, I'm going to keep making a fuss until Justice League Dark goes back to being the solo title it has a right to be. Just make sure to buy it, if and when that happens.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Justice League (2018) #65

Jul 21, 2021

The Eternal Knight wasn't as good as last issue, but United Order wasn't as bad as last issue (though I still felt it was decidedly mediocre). Honestly, there's a part of me that wants Bendis to do something weird with this book, and I'd like to think he's capable of doing that without committing character assassination in the process. I really liked his Action Comics for a time, and want to see him do that sort of thing with his Checkmate plot, if we're really going to be following that in these pages. Let's just hope that happens soon " and let's hope V and Kumar can get their own damn book.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Justice League (2018) #66

Aug 4, 2021

I always say my reviews on these comics won't be long, and they almost always go over a thousand words anyway. It's inevitable with two books in one, really " even if I don't like the comic that headlines this release, there's still plenty to say about it. At this point, my only hope is that these complaints are heard " because there's a great book here that's being paired with one that I don't think is up to par, and wallets are suffering as a result.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Justice League (2018) #67

Sep 17, 2021

Please, Lord, give Ram V and Sumit Kumar their own book. I can't recommend their story if it means you have to buy the rest of this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Pennyworth (2021) #1

Aug 11, 2021

Okay, DC. This is not the kind of book I expected to read when I heard about aPennyworth comic " but when I finished the first issue, it felt like I was an idiot to be skeptical. This creative team has come right out of the blue to deliver a book that's surprising in all the right ways, and you have me excited to review what happens next!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Tales From The Dark Multiverse: Flashpoint #1

Dec 9, 2020

I had a really good time with this one! Parts of it reminded me of the limitations of Flashpoint " really, what can you do with Wonder Woman and Aquaman " but it's not like this is a story about them anyway. This is about Reverse Flash, his need for control and supremacy, and what happens when his nemesis is taken away from him. Give this a read if you want a "What If?" that knows what it's asking the audience " and has an answer that's disturbingly satisfying.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Tales From The Dark Multiverse: Dark Nights: Metal #1

Dec 30, 2020

Tales from the Dark Multiverse is a series with a lot of potential, held back by its own premise: you can only do so many "What If?" stories if they're destined to end in tragedy, and I'm not sure the series ever got better than its opening issue. However, if you're going to make a story that seeks to break that cycle, it's a good thing it's this one: because it's delivered with all of the impact and emotion it needs to be a worthy ending to the series. Great read, all-around " it's nice to finish a story that gets me excited about the world of comic books again.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Tales From The Dark Multiverse: The Death of Superman #1

Oct 30, 2019

I have to say, I started this review thinking the book was only good " and to some extent, I stand by that. I feel there's a bell curve for quality of fiction, and while most comics don't reach that high end, a lot do fall close. When I had a chance to see the art in a higher quality, it sold me on the fact that the book isn't trying to be anything but more of what you might expect from The Death of Superman " and I appreciate books with clear goals such as that. Check it out if you want a treat on the eyes!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Tales From The Dark Multiverse: Batman: Hush #1

Nov 3, 2020

Hush presents an interesting, compelling universe focused around one of my favourite villains " Heart of Hush was one of the first comics I ever bought physically, and it's made me soft on the character ever since. Here, we see a fun continuation of that tone, and I'm happy that the Dark Multiverse line has returned with the same standard of quality that it had during its run last year.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Tales From The Dark Multiverse: Infinite Crisis #1

Nov 28, 2019

I really can't imagine this story being very satisfying for readers who haven't read Infinite Crisis " but there's no reason that it needs to be. This entire series is based on showcasing darker endings to iconic stories " the fact that Tynion and Lopresti commit to the story without compromising it for new audiences honestly makes it all the better. If you're a long-standing fan of DC history, or you're fresh off a binge-read to prepare for the next event, then I can't give this anything less than a strong recommendation.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Tales From The Dark Multiverse: Batman: Knightfall #1

Oct 17, 2019

One issue in, and we're already tackling so many fascinating questions: what if we never got over the violent murder-Batman of the 90's? What if the savior to the Multiverse was hiding in a doomed timeline? What the hell are they gonna call the next crisis when Final Crisis was already taken? All of these questions are things that I am here for. If you want to be here for them too, and you want to encourage DC to let more creators tell weirder and weirder stories, I highly suggest you pick this up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Tales From The Dark Multiverse: Blackest Night #1

Nov 14, 2019

I plan to read all of Johns' Green Lantern run when I have a moment, and I can't help but wonder if my opinion on this book will change when I revisit Blackest Night and check out its tie-ins. Have I missed something about this book? Not sure! But I'm happy to say that it works either way, and adds another solid entry to an extremely creative assortment of books. If Infinite Crisis and The Judas Contract bring this series home, you'll have a must-buy trade on your hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Tales From The Dark Multiverse: The Judas Contract #1

Dec 11, 2019

This isn't really a bad book; the dialogue is fine, the action is good and the artwork was enjoyable. What bothers me about it is that it's just not what it could have been; it doesn't live up to the standards of the other books in this series, and doesn't push beyond the limitations of its source material. I hope they make more Dark Multiverse stories " but I also hope they take these criticisms to heart if they do. It's sad to see the "What If?" tales I was so excited about finish with this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Year of the Villain: Joker #1

Oct 10, 2019

I would absolutely love to see more from this team, if the quality is about at the same level as this. I wouldn't call it a masterpiece, as it doesn't do anything to blow my mind " but for a first outing, it's a strong standalone that gives you a refreshing one-off story about the Clown Prince of Crime. If they continue to make stories together about this villain, I don't think I'd be feeling fatigued any time soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Year of the Villain: Black Adam #1

Oct 24, 2019

This is a book you don't really need to read; it's really just a fight that explains a little more about King Shazam, and gives an excuse as to why Black Adam isn't that involved in Year of the Villain. But for what it is, it's good! It gives me pleasant memories of 52 and does a nice job of presenting Black Adam as a hero " stories we need if we want the world to know how nuanced he can be when his movie arrives. Here's to more like it!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Year of the Villain: The Riddler #1

Sep 11, 2019

Recommended If:You've been a fan of Year of the Villain so far, and how it seeks to reinvent its antagonists.You like a comic that doesn't take itself too seriously.You enjoy Lex Luthor monologues, because who doesn't? (Other than Superman.)You want a Riddler story that doesn't begin and end with him in the same place as before, and goes beyond his usual games.You love King Tut as much as you god damn should.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More