Theodis Wright's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Batman Universe Reviews: 14
6.1Avg. Review Rating

7
Batman/Superman (2019) #7

Feb 28, 2020

If you, like me, were turned off by the Batman Who Laughs/Infected arc, you will find some relief in this new arc from Williamson and team. Zod breaking his truce and returning to Earth as well as Ra's presence is bound to bring some good action over the next few issues. One can only imagine the role the resurrected Kandorians will play. Knowing the characters Bruce and Clark are dealing with, I would expect a swerve at some point before this arc is over.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Catwoman (2018) #19

Jan 9, 2020

One continuing question I will always have as I'm assigned this title is how much juice it has left in it. Most of the Bat-books are in sync with the greater Batman Universe and specifically life post-City of Bane. At some point, Selina Kyle needs to finish her business with Villa Hermosa and come home.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Catwoman (2018) #23

Jul 16, 2020

Issue #25 can't get here quick enough. Catwoman has been lost in its own world from the start, despite it being a spin-off from Tom King's Batman run. It needs some true cohesion that hopefully, its inclusion in the Joker War will bring.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Catwoman (2018) #24

Aug 19, 2020

So Selina is now back in Gotham (as seen in the Catwoman 80th Special) and next month's issue #25 brings us a new creative team responsible for bringing Catwoman through Joker War and beyond. While I have serious questions about the gaping holes between Villa Hermosa and the return to Gotham, I am cautiously optimistic that Ram V will bring us a good story that will now fit into the events of Joker War and the greater Batman Universe. Let's see where things go…

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Detective Comics (2016) #1020

Feb 26, 2020

As someone who has always been a fan of Peter Tomasi, especially since his run on Batman and Robin, I initially found it difficult to review this issue in a positive manner. Now over a year since arriving on Detective Comics, I'm still stuck trying to figure out where Tomasi is trying to take Batman. While it seems he is trying to put more “detective” into Detective Comics, it didn't come across right on the first read. I can only hope that this will improve and things flow smoother moving forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Detective Comics (2016) #1021

Mar 25, 2020

After enjoying the first issue of the arc, I see Tec taking a step back in moving the overall story forward. It seems Tomasi is still trying to find his way with Detective Comics. I still read the book as a fan of Batman, but I hope I don't get to the point where it becomes more of a chore than entertainment.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Detective Comics (2016) #1022

Jun 2, 2020

As we get closer to the event, I am hopeful that we will finally see the two books (if not the entirety of the TBU titles) line up with one another again. Things have been out of whack for quite a while, which could make reading quite nerve-whacking.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Detective Comics (2016) #1023

Jul 7, 2020

As we get closer to the events of Joker War, I still find myself looking and hoping for solid cohesion between the Bat-Family books, particularly its two flagship titles. The glimpses are visibly there, and the missing pieces are there for the taking. I continue to remain hopeful that Tomasi's experience will get it together.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Detective Comics (2016) #1024

Jul 21, 2020

Now comes the Joker War, where hopefully we see things all tied together. And then it's on to issue #1027, making it a great time to be a fan of Detective Comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Detective Comics (2016) #1025

Aug 11, 2020

This was a well-written story from Tomasi and Rocafort. We also get an issue of Detective Comics that ties in with the main Batman book, something I and others have asked to see for quite a while. I hope that this continues through the remainder of the Joker War and beyond.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Detective Comics (2016) #1026

Aug 25, 2020

Next issue is the epic Detective Comics #1027, celebrating one thousand issues of Tec involving Batman and the Bat-Family. This being the case, I would expect (hope, actually) that this special will outdo what we received in Tec #1000 last year. I would also hope as we come out of this grand issue that Tomasi can continue building Batman in line with the rest of the Batman Universe. We shall see in three weeks.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Detective Comics (2016) #1027

Sep 15, 2020

Lastly, I can't say enough about how honored I am to be doing this review for this book, for this character, this monumental issue. One thousand issues. That's a great feat that can only be claimed by one other hero. But here, on this site, and definitely to this reviewer, he doesn't matter.Batman for another one thousand issues and for life.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Gotham City Monsters #1

Sep 12, 2019

The first issue is a basic intro story with a nice mixture of action sprinkled in. It's the art, however, that gives the issue a higher rating. On the other hand, I am hopeful we see things progress as the story moves forward. There's definitely enough to keep my interest for now.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Gotham City Monsters #2

Oct 10, 2019

Gotham City Monsters remains a good, quick read. We've already been treated to one twist in the plot. If there's an issue at this point, it is that it's only a six-issue series. It will be interesting to see how Orlando ties the story up. Then again, no one was expecting to see more of Monstertown after Night of the Monster Men. Perhaps we're due for more in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More