Theodis Wright's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Batman Universe Reviews: 35
6.6Avg. Review Rating

7
Batman/Superman (2019) #7

Feb 28, 2020

If you, like me, were turned off by the Batman Who Laughs/Infected arc, you will find some relief in this new arc from Williamson and team. Zod breaking his truce and returning to Earth as well as Ra's presence is bound to bring some good action over the next few issues. One can only imagine the role the resurrected Kandorians will play. Knowing the characters Bruce and Clark are dealing with, I would expect a swerve at some point before this arc is over.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Catwoman (2018) #19

Jan 9, 2020

One continuing question I will always have as I'm assigned this title is how much juice it has left in it. Most of the Bat-books are in sync with the greater Batman Universe and specifically life post-City of Bane. At some point, Selina Kyle needs to finish her business with Villa Hermosa and come home.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Catwoman (2018) #23

Jul 16, 2020

Issue #25 can't get here quick enough. Catwoman has been lost in its own world from the start, despite it being a spin-off from Tom King's Batman run. It needs some true cohesion that hopefully, its inclusion in the Joker War will bring.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Catwoman (2018) #24

Aug 19, 2020

So Selina is now back in Gotham (as seen in the Catwoman 80th Special) and next month's issue #25 brings us a new creative team responsible for bringing Catwoman through Joker War and beyond. While I have serious questions about the gaping holes between Villa Hermosa and the return to Gotham, I am cautiously optimistic that Ram V will bring us a good story that will now fit into the events of Joker War and the greater Batman Universe. Let's see where things go…

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Catwoman (2018) #26

Oct 21, 2020

Great issue as Ram V continues to bring a truly confident Catwoman back into the Batman Universe. It's unfortunate, though, that it has to happen at the cost of Bruce and Selina's relationship. But Ram V has me committed to the ride for right now, and I'm on board to see where's he goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Catwoman (2018) #28

Dec 16, 2020

Ram V and team continue to impress and breathe some life into a once-dying title. We have two months of Future State (also written by Ram V) coming up next. However, considering that final panel, I am so ready for the return to Alleytown.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Detective Comics (2016) #1020

Feb 26, 2020

As someone who has always been a fan of Peter Tomasi, especially since his run on Batman and Robin, I initially found it difficult to review this issue in a positive manner. Now over a year since arriving on Detective Comics, I'm still stuck trying to figure out where Tomasi is trying to take Batman. While it seems he is trying to put more “detective” into Detective Comics, it didn't come across right on the first read. I can only hope that this will improve and things flow smoother moving forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Detective Comics (2016) #1021

Mar 25, 2020

After enjoying the first issue of the arc, I see Tec taking a step back in moving the overall story forward. It seems Tomasi is still trying to find his way with Detective Comics. I still read the book as a fan of Batman, but I hope I don't get to the point where it becomes more of a chore than entertainment.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Detective Comics (2016) #1022

Jun 2, 2020

As we get closer to the event, I am hopeful that we will finally see the two books (if not the entirety of the TBU titles) line up with one another again. Things have been out of whack for quite a while, which could make reading quite nerve-whacking.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Detective Comics (2016) #1023

Jul 7, 2020

As we get closer to the events of Joker War, I still find myself looking and hoping for solid cohesion between the Bat-Family books, particularly its two flagship titles. The glimpses are visibly there, and the missing pieces are there for the taking. I continue to remain hopeful that Tomasi's experience will get it together.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Detective Comics (2016) #1024

Jul 21, 2020

Now comes the Joker War, where hopefully we see things all tied together. And then it's on to issue #1027, making it a great time to be a fan of Detective Comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Detective Comics (2016) #1025

Aug 11, 2020

This was a well-written story from Tomasi and Rocafort. We also get an issue of Detective Comics that ties in with the main Batman book, something I and others have asked to see for quite a while. I hope that this continues through the remainder of the Joker War and beyond.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Detective Comics (2016) #1026

Aug 25, 2020

Next issue is the epic Detective Comics #1027, celebrating one thousand issues of Tec involving Batman and the Bat-Family. This being the case, I would expect (hope, actually) that this special will outdo what we received in Tec #1000 last year. I would also hope as we come out of this grand issue that Tomasi can continue building Batman in line with the rest of the Batman Universe. We shall see in three weeks.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Detective Comics (2016) #1027

Sep 15, 2020

Lastly, I can't say enough about how honored I am to be doing this review for this book, for this character, this monumental issue. One thousand issues. That's a great feat that can only be claimed by one other hero. But here, on this site, and definitely to this reviewer, he doesn't matter.Batman for another one thousand issues and for life.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Detective Comics (2016) #1029

Oct 27, 2020

After an off issue with Detective Comics #1028, Tomasi has corrected the course in providing a decent story that provides a mixture of emotion and action. I am looking forward (and praying) that by the time all is said and done, Tomasi does what he does best and fixes all the harm done to Damian's character. Bring Robin home.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Detective Comics (2016) #1030

Nov 10, 2020

Even with some pretty unforgivable missteps, I am still interested in seeing where things go with Tomasi's story, particularly as it pertains to Damian Wayne. For me, the art has to get better. It's workflow just does not work for me at this time. This Tec fan prefers either Brad Walker or Doug Mahnke (Walker returns for issue #1032).

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Detective Comics (2016) #1031

Nov 24, 2020

Clearly this issue was much better than issue #1030. However, I am still having major concerns with how Tomasi is depicting the Bat-Family in this arc. It is not good, and I hope is corrected by the time the arc ends. I am pleased to see, however, how Nakano is being developed and am loving the solo adventures of Damian.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Detective Comics (2016) #1032

Dec 8, 2020

I had a different “final thought” typed up before this weekend's news that Tomasi will be dropping off of the title after the next issue. As a big fan of his, I am sad to see him go. Here's to him and Brad Walker going out with a bang in issue #1033. I also hope his departure leads to better things, specifically a new Batman title (hint: it includes his son). Make it happen, DC.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Detective Comics (2016) #1033

Dec 22, 2020

I can only hope that this final issue is a sign we'll get more of Damian in the future as he travels the road to redemption (Joshua Williamson will have a two-part back-up story in the pages of Batman and Detective Comics in March). It will be tough not to see Tomasi and the team on Tec as I had such high hopes for the run. However, I look forward to the new direction with Mariko Tamaki.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Detective Comics (2016) #1034

Mar 23, 2021

Not counting Dark Detective in Future State, Detective Comics #1034 is a great start to Tamaki's run. All of the Bat-Books seem to be lining up as they should, and the issue's ending has me anxious to see what's next. It's truly unfortunate that Dan Mora can't stay on the book long-term because his work is masterful.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Detective Comics (2016) #1036

May 25, 2021

Tamaki's use of Bruce Wayne alongside Batman has been a welcomed change to Batman comics. Detective Comics' connection to the main Batman book has also continued to bring the universe together. Now that Huntress has been fully integrated into the main story, it can only mean some fun adventures between her and Batman for the remainder of the arc. Overall, this issue is better than a four, but less than a four and a half. It is that good.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Detective Comics (2016) #1037

Jun 8, 2021

Detective Comics continues to be the best of the books in the Batman universe. Tamaki's skills at putting together remarkable stories in both the main story and backups make for an overall wonderfully connected story that fills in questions as you go from one story to the next. I for one am not upset that Tec has returned to twice-monthly shipping.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Detective Comics (2016) #1038

Jun 22, 2021

Despite knowing there are more issues to come in this arc, this story ended like a penultimate issue. Considering how good it ended, I am most definitely on board with more. In looking at the trend with the backup stories in Detective Comics, it is going to be interesting to see the role Penguin plays in this plot.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Detective Comics (2016) #1040

Jul 27, 2021

Another very good story from Tamaki. While it didn't push the overall story far along as in other issues, that interaction between Bruce and the drunk with the flashback story was very enjoyable and worth the read. Welcome back, Dan Mora.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Detective Comics (2016) #1042

Aug 24, 2021

It's time for Fear State, and it will be interesting to see Tamaki's take on the event spear-headed by James Tynion. And with the news of Tynion's departure from Batman, it will be interesting to see if she can take the reins of the universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Detective Comics (2016) #1043

Sep 28, 2021

Detective Comics continues to be a strong title, but its rating this week suffers due to the backup story. Despite some pretty decent art, there is still little interest in the upcoming title. Now that the prelude is done, I am hopeful for a return to form.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Future State (2021): The Next Batman #1

Jan 5, 2021

This was a decent beginning overall. Ridley's story had a slow start but shows signs of promise. Jenkins has done a really good take on the Arkham Knight that Peter Tomasi could not achieve in his arc in Detective Comics. Brandon Thomas, however, gets the gold star of the issue as he has me interested in a Duke Thomas story. This is something previous writers have never been able to accomplish.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Future State (2021): The Next Batman #2

Jan 19, 2021

After a pretty strong first issue, The Next Batman takes a step back, primarily due to the quality of the back up stories. It suffers greatly from a lack of build, like most of Future State. The main story, however, improves from its slow start from the first issue. Let's hope this trend continues and flows over to the back-up stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Future State (2021): The Next Batman #4

Feb 16, 2021

What a way to end this story. While the previous installments of Future State: The Next Batman all had their fair share of weak stories, it was typically limited to one and the others held them up. This is the first issue where all of the stories were weak. At this rate, I really wish we would have gotten the full 5G event.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Gotham City Monsters #1

Sep 12, 2019

The first issue is a basic intro story with a nice mixture of action sprinkled in. It's the art, however, that gives the issue a higher rating. On the other hand, I am hopeful we see things progress as the story moves forward. There's definitely enough to keep my interest for now.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Gotham City Monsters #2

Oct 10, 2019

Gotham City Monsters remains a good, quick read. We've already been treated to one twist in the plot. If there's an issue at this point, it is that it's only a six-issue series. It will be interesting to see how Orlando ties the story up. Then again, no one was expecting to see more of Monstertown after Night of the Monster Men. Perhaps we're due for more in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Next Batman: Second Son #1

Apr 6, 2021

The Next Batman: Second Son does an excellent job at beginning to answer a lot of questions opened in the four issues of Future State: The Next Batman, while still providing more to keep the reader interested. Looking forward to the continuing chapters of the saga.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Next Batman: Second Son #2

May 4, 2021

Whatever issues that I have had with Future State: The Next Batman are slowly being answered. John Ridley has put together a great story that slowly shows Tim's/Jace's transition to the mantle. In doing so, he fills in plenty of the holes left by Future State. This has made the series much more enjoyable.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Next Batman: Second Son #3

Jun 1, 2021

Despite the weak artwork, Second Son continues to be a strong book in continuing Jace Fox's ascension to the mantle of the next Batman. Hopefully, Ridley can bring a bang to the final issue. Unfortunately, considering we will be getting another series this year from him, it's more than likely things will end on a whimper.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Next Batman: Second Son #4

Jul 6, 2021

After three great issues, Ridley ends Second Son on a flat note as he prepares for the next phase in his story of the Fox family and Jace's ascension to the mantle of Batman with I Am Batman. Hopefully, the story ends better than its predecessor.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More