Elias Rosner's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Multiversity Comics Reviews: 52
7.3Avg. Review Rating

4.9
Adventure Time/Regular Show #1

Aug 7, 2017

A slog of a first issue that doesn't quite grasp the show's characters, which, as a fan, is disappointing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Assassinistas #1

Dec 21, 2017

Final Verdict: 7.8 " A Fantagraphics book at IDW, essentially. Read that however you believe it should be read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Black Bolt #2

Jun 12, 2017

A worthy second issue filled with mystery, dynamic characters, and wonderfully, grand artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Black Bolt #3

Jul 7, 2017

Another great issue, filled with excellent characters, color, horror, and a boss from Dark Souls. The Silent King may have had a mouth but now, now he must scream.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Black Bolt #4

Aug 4, 2017

A beautifully crafted issue soaked in questions, with no answers yet. At least, no easy ones.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Black Bolt #5

Sep 8, 2017

"Black Bolt" speaks volumes and I am all too willing to listen.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Black Bolt #6

Oct 6, 2017

Final Verdict: 9.4. Ward and Ahmed saved their A material for the end of their first arc and has cemented for me this run on my shelves. If they ever release an oversized, library edition of this, I will buy it no questions asked.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Black Crown Quarterly #1

Oct 27, 2017

A weird, not very cohesive quarterly that is more magazine than comic showcase. Still, check it out if you miss the old Vertigo or an imprint with a strong editorial voice and a position.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Black Hammer #10

Jun 26, 2017

The mystery deepens, the characters face tragedy, and we get a Liefeld tribute variant cover that sums up the 90s in a much better proportioned image.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Black Hammer #12

Aug 28, 2017

Another fantastic backstory issue that shows builds the world, literally.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Black Hammer #13

Sep 25, 2017

"Black Hammer's" most recent arc goes out, not with a bang, but with a KRA-KOOM!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Brilliant Trash #1

Nov 20, 2017

I am intrigued enough to continue but this feels like the first half of a pilot episode instead of the first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Clue #6

Nov 24, 2017

From Upton's snarky narration, to the constant playing with traditional whodunit narratives, this was a thoroughly enjoyable comic and this issue caps it off with an ending I certainly didn't see coming, even if it wasn't as satisfying as I'd have liked.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Dark Ark #1

Sep 21, 2017

A good first issue but one which could have been a whole lot stronger and a whole lot creepier.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Darkhawk (2017) #51

Dec 4, 2017

Nothing too original but a great, fun throw-back issue to a '90s Marvel property and a narrative homage to a series that Hasbro and Marvel really need to reprint.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Dept. H #20

Nov 27, 2017

Another strong example of why Kindt's characters are the highlight of his stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Descender #23

Aug 17, 2017

The stakes continue to raise as we head towards the mid-point. I, for one, am excited to see how they'll get out the situations they're all stuck in.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Giant Days #32

Nov 6, 2017

Exactly the kind of comic I need month to month. Sarin and Allison craft another highly funny issue while also continuing to let the characters grow.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Jimmy's Bastards #1

Jun 19, 2017

A decent first issue but will need to complicate its characters more in subsequent issues or it risks just being an NC-17-rated Bond parody. But I believe it can be done.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.9
Jughead: The Hunger (2017) #2

Dec 15, 2017

An unfortunately empty second outing to a promising new horror title. Hopefully the series finds its footing soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Low #19

Aug 11, 2017

A good end of the arc that would have benefitted from coming out closer to the previous issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.8
Moon Knight (2017) #188

Nov 10, 2017

A very well drawn but over-narrated and thinly characterized issue that fails as an introductory issue. This should have been the start of at least the second arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Moonstruck #1

Jul 21, 2017

Final Verdict: 7.9. Romance wafts through the comic like coffee even if it is overshadowed a bit by a burnt smelling prophecy.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.9
Not Brand Echh #14

Nov 17, 2017

Your mileage will vary; for me, it didnt get me very far.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man #6

Nov 3, 2017

A very strong, emotionally heavy issue of this comedy series, if not a little out of character for Peter. Plus, it all took place over dinner, which is something I never thought Id see.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.1
Runaways (2017) #3

Nov 13, 2017

A great continuation to a series that hasn't quite found its center yet. Anka, keep drawing those beautiful people and Rowell, keep writing complexly.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Slam!: The Next Jam #1

Sep 14, 2017

Julia may not be Fish but she brings a whole different feel to the world of SLAM! The track is set. Let the match begin!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Slam!: The Next Jam #2

Oct 16, 2017

A decent second issue but one with a few structural issues that I hope are ironed out next time. Also, poor Knockout and Cancan, they just can't catch a break.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Spider-Gwen (2015) #20

Jun 5, 2017

A solid issue, with a couple clarity issues, but just not what "Spider-Gwen" needed right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Spider-Gwen (2015) #21

Jul 3, 2017

Better than the last but still too much Murdock, not enough Gwen.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.1
Spider-Gwen (2015) #22

Jul 31, 2017

A busy issue but filled with great moments and welcome amount of emotional scenes.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Spider-Gwen (2015) #23

Sep 1, 2017

A return to form for "Spider-Gwen" and an issue that, even if you have no knowledge of the series prior, you should pick up, especially if, like me, you are a fan of Giant Days. Plus, a stellar cover.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.9
Spider-Gwen (2015) #24

Sep 29, 2017

After last months issue, this feels like one step forwards, four steps back. Still, Gwenom looks rad and Id be lying if I said I wasnt excited to see where this leads. Whether it disappoints me or not thats a whole 'nother story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Spider-Gwen (2015) #25

Oct 20, 2017

A return to form, even if it is a different form, for the ever changing Gwenom. Hopefully we dont ever have to see the Rhino again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sword of Ages #1

Nov 30, 2017

A visually stunning work that is held back by some impenetrable narration, although not enough to bar a firm recommendation.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.1
The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina #7

Jul 10, 2017

Archie Horror is back with a creepy beginning to a new arc (that will hopefully takes less than two years to complete).

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina #8

Aug 21, 2017

An issue that'll make you squirm in discomfort but you'll be unable to look away.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.1
The Mighty Crusaders (2017) #1

Dec 11, 2017

A boring opener to a standard superhero story that left very little impression on me. Nice, varied colors though.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
The Mighty Thor (2015) #21

Jul 24, 2017

The War Thor is loose and, as this issue proves, heaven help anyone who stands in his way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
The Mighty Thor (2015) #23

Oct 2, 2017

A stellar issue of grand scale and grand set up. A title worthy of the hammer.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Mighty Thor (2015) #700

Oct 23, 2017

A celebratory issue overflowing with talent that doesn't lose sight of the past while forging ahead into new territory. Plus, Throg, Frog of Thunder battles the Rats of Queens. 'Nuff said.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
The Rocky & Bullwinkle Show #1

Sep 18, 2017

A great issue for fans of the series but for those who are not, this may not be the best introduction. Still, an enjoyable ride for all ages.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl (2015) #22

Jul 17, 2017

"Unbeatable Squirrel Girl" continues to prove that it is funny, interesting and smart, all while being very accessible. It's a welcome comic to be on my pull list each month.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
The Wicked + The Divine #30

Aug 14, 2017

Wicked and Divine continues to be consistently great and is fast approaching what I believe will be an explosive and bloody conclusion to this arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
The Woods #35

Sep 11, 2017

Tynion and Dialynas have created a story where a lot has happened, especially since we started this final arc, and this issue is no exception. Balancing another series of character building flashbacks " filling in small details about Ben's character and the decisions he's made " with prepping for a war against a giant, green Isaac, as well as setting up the climax on Earth and deep beneath the mystery planet; this is no easy task and, for the most part, it is done well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Woods #36

Oct 12, 2017

"The Woods" is a bittersweet tale of mystery, woe and growth. It opened on death and horror and now ends in death and tears"and hope.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.1
TMNT/Usagi Yojimbo #1

Jul 28, 2017

A fun battle comic featuring the heroes in a half-shell and the long lasting samurai bunny that is more accurately titled, "Usagi Yojimbo ft. TMNT."

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Under: Scourge of the Sewer #1

Dec 18, 2017

A gruesome B-movie comic that doesn't do enough to move beyond that which inspired it. While it's setting may be creative, its story is anything but.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Underwinter: A Field of Feathers #1

Oct 30, 2017

A lot of great imagery and creepy visuals but light on plot and heavy on the empty space. Fawkes' fans will love it, others might have a harder time getting into it.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
War for the Planet of the Apes #1

Jul 14, 2017

For a comic called "War for the Planet of the Apes", it is surprisingly boring and doesn't have nearly enough apes or war.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.8
War Mother #1

Aug 24, 2017

A weak first issue that has a light at the end of the tunnel. Whether that's something good or just the sheen on Ignacio's face will be revealed, next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.7
Witchblade (2017) #1

Dec 7, 2017

A fantastic and intriguing first page attempts to hide the piecemeal, confusing first chapter of this new Witchblade series that really could have used a more coherent core and a second chapter directly afterwards.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

January

December

More