LaurenHoppyGeek's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Nerd Initiative Reviews: 47
9.1Avg. Review Rating

8.5
Animal Pound (2023) #2

Feb 21, 2024

All in all, if you love a good story about survival and moral conflict, with a hint of dark humor, this comic should be on your pull list!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Barfly (2024) #1

Jul 10, 2024

Barfly is about a sweet beer chugging fly man, who believes in anarchy and friendship. While he gets kicked around (literally and metaphorically) a lot, hes still got some sweet moves, and even sweeter friends. I cant wait to see if he will revisit his past, continue on his day to day grind, or find a life worth living.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Black Hammer: The End #3

Oct 25, 2023

While this story is part of a much larger story that Im not familiar with (yet), this third issue has been my favorite so far. Im truly starting to understand this bigger universe, and the level of the threat everyone is facing, while also dealing with their own issues. Whether looking for a single story or a whole universe creating story, Black Hammer The End should be on your pull list. You can be as much or as little invested as you want, and still enjoy it all.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Black Panther: Blood Hunt (2024) #2

Jun 19, 2024

If you haven't jumped on the Blood Hunt Comic Book train yet, this is the perfect comic to do just that. There is a lot going on (there's a list of comics at the end of this one), and you can enjoy a single story or all of them.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Boxed (2023) OGN

Dec 12, 2023

Overall, this is a fantastic story filled with real issues, moral dilemmas, and a ton of Greek mythology symbolism.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Count Crowley: Mediocre Midnight Monster Hunter #1

Nov 8, 2023

Overall, this story has mystery, monsters, modern day issues, and old school cheesy horror feels. I will definitely be tuning in for the next "FRIGHTFUL SHOW!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Crocodile Black (2024) #2

Jun 12, 2024

If you're looking for a mysterious thriller with some absolutely fantastic art, this comic should be added to your pull list. While Danny's father seems incredibly toxic, his mother and sister seem to want nothing but good for him. Is it nurture or nature that makes one break bad? Mostly likely a combination of the two. Maybe, we're all just waiting for a moment to trigger us, or maybe Danny just wants to be anyone but Danny.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Deadpool & Wolverine: WWIII (2024) #2

Jun 12, 2024

These characters are so lovable, not just because of how badass they are. It's also because of what they think they aren't. They're so much more than a Merc with a Mouth, and a berserker rage filled animal. This comic gave us a softer side of these two, but never lost who they actually are. I'm very excited to see where this story goes on many different levels, as there is a lot more going on as well. Whether you're a longtime comic reader, or just pumped for July 26th, definitely add this one to your pull list. SNIKT!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Edenwood (2023) #3

Dec 27, 2023

Were only three issues into Edenwood, and there is already so much going on. While there are time jumps, and no one seems completely trustworthy, the story still flows beautifully and keeps the reader engaged the whole time. Combining the supernatural with politics gives this story a unique edge. Nevertheless, the human element is what makes it so intriguing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Edenwood (2023) #5

Feb 28, 2024

All in all, so far Edenwood has been an entertaining, mystery filled, supernatural story that is beautiful to look at. If youre looking for a comic book outside the world of superheroes, I cant recommend this one enough. Its not your average demon/witch story, and its constantly surprising me. The more I learn about this world, the more I want to know.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Helen of Wyndhorn (2024) #3

Jun 19, 2024

I am absolutely loving the mysteries being pondered in both the past and the present. A widely popular fantasy story filled with mystery as to if there is any reality there is a unique and fun take on a fantasy comic. Issue 3 is really where the story begins to take off.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Klik Klik Boom (2023) #3

Aug 23, 2023

I have genuinely enjoyed all three issues. From beginning to end it kept my attention, and kept me wondering what was going on. I look forward to more of the relationship between Sprout and her grandfather. He suffers nightmares, and flashbacks from being a photojournalist during the Vietnam War, but its very clear hes doing his best with Sprout.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Klik Klik Boom (2023) #4

Sep 20, 2023

While this issue seemed lighter than the first three, its still filled with murder, mystery, and polaroids. Each issue gets me more attached to Sprout and the story behind her grandfather. Her pictures create puzzles that then explain and move the story along in a way dialogue couldnt.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Klik Klik Boom (2023) #5

Oct 18, 2023

As this is the last of this five issue run, we did get some closure, and the story came full circle. As with all great stories, though, it left me also wanting more. More backstory, more flashbacks. Overall this is a fantastic five issue run. It has mystery, action, heart, and a sprinkle of comedy. If you havent started it yet, I highly recommend heading over to your local comic shop and buying all 5 issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Life of Wolverine (2024) #1

Jul 3, 2024

The Life of Wolverine is literally the life of Wolverine perfectly summed up in one comic. Throughout the book, the art does a fantastic job honoring these classic stories, while staying consistent and making it all seem like one fluid story at the same time. If you find yourself wanting more, the comic ends with the comics that all these memories were pulled from.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Minor Threats (2022): The Fastest Way Down #1

Apr 3, 2024

This comic has combined two things I absolutely love: fantastic mob stories, and unique spins on superhero stories. It's Sopranos meets The Boys (but much less gory). If you're suffering from what many are now calling "Superhero Fatigue this is the comic to cure you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Minor Threats (2022): The Fastest Way Down #2

May 1, 2024

This comic really has all the ingredients for a fantastic new world of chaos. Fractured childhoods, teen superheroes who you truly hope fail miserably, revenge, humor, action, and a sock monkey used as a weapon. If you haven't dove into the world of Minor Threats yet, there is no time like the present.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Minor Threats (2022): The Fastest Way Down #3

Jun 5, 2024

If you're looking for a new comic world to explore filled with comedy, crime, generational trauma, and insanely unique super powers, all drawn with gorgeously detailed artthen this is the comic for you! Minor Threats, the Fastest Way Down, is beautifully uncovering layers of trauma.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Quick Stops (2022): 2 #1

Dec 13, 2023

Overall, even if you didn't see who was behind this story you'd know who wrote it. It's a warming story filled with kinks, religion, and out of it all is born the legend of Mooby. So if you're a fan of Kevin Smith movies, swing by your local comic book shop, grab a bag of chocolate covered pretzels, and enjoy! Snoogans!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Star Wars: Thrawn - Alliances (2024) #2

Feb 28, 2024

Every Star Wars fan needs more Thrawn in their life! He's so strategic and intelligent, it's just fun to see how his mind works. Seeing him next to Anakin/Vader is such a fun mix. One relies on instincts, the force and quick thinking, while the other calculates every single move, and always seems to be playing chess, while everyone else is playing tic tac toe. If you are a casual, or die hard Star Wars fan, you should definitely add this Thrawn run to your pull list!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Alternates (2023) #2

Oct 11, 2023

All in all, I'm still loving this story. We get very unique superpowers (which has to be getting harder to create these days), some back story, a mystery, a heartfelt story, and quite a few laughs! I never imagined seeing a room full of Octopuses running a submarine would make me giggle, and make me feel bad for a giant lobster man at the same time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Alternates (2023) #3

Nov 22, 2023

I giggled, I gasped, and I oohed at the art. This story continues to make me laugh aloud while enjoying and appreciating the actual intense storyline.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Alternates (2023) #4

Dec 13, 2023

Throughout this issue, we also got to see this team of misfits naturally work together for the first time. It was a great way to wrap up this story, while still leaving so much more story to potentially be told! The Alternates now seem more conflicted than ever before, however strangely more at peace as well. If you're looking for an out there, unique take on superheroes, The Alternates is the one to pick up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Cull (2023) #4

Nov 15, 2023

The first couple issues built mystery, and showed us who these teenagers are, and gave us an idea what theyre dealing with. It then took off in issue 3, and continued strong in 4. I have no idea how it will wrap up in one last issue, but I cant wait to see how.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Hunger and the Dusk (2023): Book Two #1

Jul 10, 2024

Over the past year, this has hands down been one of my favorite comics. After a hiatus, I'm so glad they're back and the story picked right up where it left us. Overall 'The Hunger and the Dusk' is a love story during a time where love is not a priority. War seems to be everywhere while the lands are dying. Resources are limited, and The Vangol keep closing in. In the end can anything actually save both human and orckind: Love, diplomacy, armies, healers?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Hunger and the Dusk (2023) #2

Aug 30, 2023

Issue #2 hits the ground running with our new unlikely pair: Callum the human, and Tara the orc. Callum quickly tries to make his new friend feel comfortable while being surrounded by a species that she has only ever known as an enemy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Hunger and the Dusk (2023) #3

Oct 11, 2023

I cant recommend this comic enough. In such a short time it made me feel fear, empathy, hope, and it made me smile. With so many stories out there these days, we often think we know where things are headed, and its such a breath of fresh air when were wrong.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Hunger and the Dusk (2023) #5

Jan 3, 2024

We're almost half way through this 12 issue run, and I cannot wait to see how it all plays out. I know who I'm rooting for, but much like life that is rarely possible. The Hunger and the Dusk continues to be my favorite current comic book run.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Hunger and the Dusk (2023) #6

Feb 14, 2024

If you've gotten this far, and haven't read The Hunger and the Dusk at all, you need to do so. This story has so many layers, and twists. Nevertheless, nothing feels done for shock value. The surprises all feel natural yet captivating.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Midnite Show (2023) #1

Oct 4, 2023

All in all, this is a hell of a fun and spooky comic. If youre a fan of classic monsters, and fun stories, this is definitely a comic to add to your pull list. So in the spirit (pun intended) of the season, light that pumpkin candle, pour a seasonal beverage, and enjoy this classic/not classic monster story!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Schlub (2023) #3

Oct 25, 2023

This story continues to grow. We keep getting deeper into the back story of Sarah and Roger. Meanwhile, the villains and superheroes get more and more interesting (and entertaining) with each issue. This story is both full of humor and emotion which isnt your typical run of the mill superhero story. This continues to be an absolute must pull!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Union Jack the Ripper: Blood Hunt (2024) #1

May 22, 2024

If youre expecting a howling commando type of story, that is not what youre going to get. This is more Deadpool antihero meets Supernatural, but with more blood. Vampires are taking over the Marvel universe is many different Blood Hunt stories right now, and this is a must grab book if youre a sucker (pun intended) for vamps and supes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Union Jack the Ripper: Blood Hunt (2024) #2

Jun 26, 2024

If you're a Marvel fan who loves vampires, then this should be at the top of your Blood Hunt pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wag (2023) #1

Sep 5, 2023

This first issue opened up a lot of mysteries. I look forward to learning more, and seeing how this all plays out. Clearly, Wag has a very interesting and dark past that needs to be told.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Weapon X-Men (2024) #2

Apr 10, 2024

While this story has some very sad and dark moments, it's not without a ton of humor. Zombie Wolverine has multiple hilarious one liners, while Jane Howlett is quickly becoming my favorite of the bunch. Seeing multiple different ways that Logan's life could have gone in a single comic, all while the story still progresses, was such a fun read! I was not at all ready for it to end, and I cannot wait for the next issue to drop.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Weapon X-Men (2024) #3

May 1, 2024

As someone who's all time favorite superhero is Wolverine, I truly can't get enough of this story. Multiple Wolverine origins in one, while watching a notoriously known grump argue with themself is entertaining and hilarious. Especially when one of them is an actual zombie.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Weapon X-Men (2024) #4

May 15, 2024

Issue 4 wraps up this Weapon X-Men story with a lovely bow. A bow I hope to untie one day, so I can see more of this band of Logan misfits. Any Wolverine fan MUST add this to their pull list. So much story, and so much Wolverine in just 4 issues, tying past stories together so seamlessly (complete with an index in the back), and introducing us to Jane Howlett. A character I would love to read more about.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Wolverine (2020) #43

Feb 14, 2024

All in all, if you're a Wolverine fan, you should definitely be reading this run, and there is literally no better time to catch up on Wolverine than right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Wolverine (2020) #46

Mar 27, 2024

This Wolverine run has consistently had action then comedy, mixed with surprises and amazing art, all while maintaining the Logan so many of us know and love.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Wolverine (2020) #47

Apr 10, 2024

With only a few issues left of the Sabretooth War, this story seems to be right at that spot where everything is about to get very intense. An angry Wolverine with a purpose can be unstoppable, and while Logan is not at his best right now, he's still the best at what he does, and Sabretooth is number one on his to do list right now. If you haven't jumped into this Wolverine run yet, it's time to add it to the list. SNIKT!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Wolverine (2020) #49

May 8, 2024

I have loved this art throughout the past 4 years of this series, however, this issue seemed to get a bit more dark and beautiful. We don't just see scenes going from panel to panel. We see the story being told in creative ways that keep the story flowing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Wolverine (2020) #50

May 29, 2024

All Wolverine fans need to read this comic from beginning to end! Wolvie has so many interactions with various characters throughout the 50 issues, and then it all wrapped up with his most annoying and arguably most evil nemesis: Sabretooth. It was a proper ending to a hell of a story. Ben Percy knows Wolvie inside and out, and wrote him so perfectly.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Wolverine: Deep Cut (2024) #1

Jul 3, 2024

I'm a sucker for a good Wolvie story, and these Uncanny X-Men spinoffs are just an extra level of fun. More than thirty years after this original comic came out this spinoff story seems more relevant than ever. If you loved Disney Plus' X-Men 97, then I can't recommend this comic enough. Chris Claremont is doing a fantastic job of keeping the Uncanny X-Men consistent, while having fun dusting off some of these stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Wolverine: Madripoor Knights (2024) #2

Mar 20, 2024

We get more of Madripoor, along with a team up that is all too perfect. Wolvie, Cap, and Nat are all heroes way out of their time who truly seem to care (even if they might pretend they don't). Yet each follows a different set of rules. Nevertheless they trust and respect each other. Whether they're in action or discussing their next move, these three play off each other perfectly.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Wolverine: Madripoor Knights (2024) #3

Apr 24, 2024

All in all I am absolutely loving the dynamic of this trio. Black Widow, Wolvie and Cap all just flow off each other with such action and respect. Whether they're simply talking or kicking ass, they're working together. You can see the history they have, and they use it as an advantage against their enemies. Any Marvel comic fan should add this to their pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Wolverine: Madripoor Knights (2024) #4

May 15, 2024

All in all this X-Men #286 spinoff has been non stop action, suspense, and fun. This trio of superheroes are turning out to be the best at what they do, even if their best doesn't always turn out how they hope. As we anticipate the next issue, we get a glimpse of what's to come, and it looks all too familiar, but with a dark twist.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Wolverine: Madripoor Knights (2024) #5

Jun 26, 2024

While this 5 issue story was action packed throughout, the best part was truly the relationship between these three, who could not be more different. As this issue (and overall story) wraps up, Captain America seems to struggle the most when the fighting stops. An American legend who fought Nazis and often sees things as good and bad, is learning things arent always so clear cut. However, that may not actually be a bad thing.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More