Manny Gomez's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Monkeys Fighting Robots, Florida Geek Scene Reviews: 72
9.4Avg. Review Rating

8.6
Angelic #1

Aug 13, 2017

Imaginative and beautiful, Angelic soars with storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Archie (2015) #20

May 16, 2017

If you haven't been reading Archie (or any of its satellite books) you're missing on one of the best and most effective relaunches ever. And as the starting point to a new storyline, this issue us a great one to start doing so. So go ahead and join the Riverdale gang already!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #1

Jul 5, 2017

Although both Joker and Riddler are written and illustrated amazingly in this arc so far, its Edward Nigma, in particular, that is the stand out for me. Not to play down the creative team, but the Joker as a character always carries a certain attitude and weight that is heard to screw up. However making the Riddler not only a major villain but also a major threat to both Batman AND the Joker, is no easy feat. Read on for 11 reasons its hard to pick a side in Batman #26, War of Jokes and Riddles Part 2!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #11

Nov 16, 2016

Although the book was a good read, it perhaps wasnt the best place to start fresh. There seems to be a lot going on, and its a bit offputting for new readers. Still, there is a strong atmosphere and great looking art, so that definitely holds an interest. At the very least this issue makes me want to go and pick up Kings first arc on the book, and play catch up. As I have no doubt he has a good story planned for Batman and his rogues' gallery.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #12

Dec 7, 2016

ArtMikel Janin, Hugo Petrus and June Chung are simply destroying on this book. This is some of the best Batman art I have seen. It not only perfectly fits the somber, more serious mood of the story, it also is inventive as hell. The continuing use of single page backgrounds with multiple renditions of Batman moving throughoutthe page to convey action is simply stunning. The level of detail is incredible and begs for multiple readings and flipping through. And the panels where colorist Chung uses that shade of yellow to highlight moments of action are especially effective. They pop too, giving the feeling of a cinematic quick cut. And thats the key word for the art here: cinematic. This book reads like a serious Batman film.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #13

Dec 21, 2016

This is still a solid book and a must read for Batman fans. The creative team is obviously laying groundwork for a long, slow burn story yet still dropping in enough attention to details and characters to make it rich and filled with substance. Its not boring by any means, but there is a meatiness and seriousness to this title that I havent found in any of the other Rebirth titles. I will continue to read Batman as long as King, Janin, Petrus and Chung are all involved. Lets see where the next arc takes us.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #14

Jan 4, 2017

I really enjoyed this issue, and found it a nice change of pace from the previous storyline. Tom King seems to be attempting to write a very fully realized and three demnsional Batman, and its working. He is also working with some fantastic artists that compliment each story perfectly. If you love Batman, it is a great time to be reading this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #15

Jan 19, 2017

I really enjoyed this two-parter, and this issue in particular was a pleasure. It was a nice change of pace from the heavier four part arcs that have been the norm for the title and gave it a nice break in rhythm. Ive said this before but this a great time for Batman fans to be reading this comic, so go ahead and pick it up. Next issue will begin a new arc titled I Am Bane so it looks like this ride is going to continue in full force.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #17

Feb 15, 2017

ConclusionIll keep it simple here. Just go out and pick up Batman. The title has been great for years, and Tom King and his revolving door of great artists are keeping that tradition alive. I will be in Gotham next month, and the month after that.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #19

Mar 15, 2017

Batman #19 was one of the most intense and expertly plotted comics I have read in a while. The pacing was relentless and the structure of the issue was fantastic. A sort of tour of Arkham and its inmates, it was the best use of Batmans Rogues Gallery I have read since both The Long Halloween and Hush. And the art was pretty much untouchable. With all of that in mind, here are 11 things to love about Batman #19.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #20

Apr 6, 2017

How this arc completely works as an endpoint to one longer, multi-part tale.The way the art team imagines the fight, bringing out the brutality and violence with even the smallest detail (blood drops, sweat, teeth).Page layouts that completely convey the claustrophobic nature of this close-up fight.Finchs ability to capture emotion in faces (especially rage in this issue).The frightening image of the Joker on page 7.Kings emotional and revealing interior monologue that works as the issues narrative.Batmans vulnerability.The sheer imposing SIZE of Bane.As Gotham burns, I will stand on one of your gargoyles.The amazing splash image on page 18.The quiet and powerful way the story ends. Yes, mother. I know.Without a doubt, this was one emotional ending to an intense Batman story. King has been showing us the many facets of Batman and what makes him one of the most complex characters in comics. And now, he has done the same for Bane as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #21

Apr 19, 2017

Believe the hype and be thankful for the wait folks, this was totally worth it and is very exciting. I haven't had this much fun reading 'Batman' in years! I for one can't wait for next week's second chapter in Flash #21. Bravo DC: Rebirth, what a way to live up to your word.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Batman (2016) #22

May 3, 2017

‘The Button” continues, now in itsthird chapter. Picking up directly where it left off in Flash #21, the story continues to be speed-force fast paced but takes an emotional bent with this issue that is much welcomed. Read on to find out 11 reasons Batman #22 is both packed with action and drama!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #23

May 17, 2017

Id been waiting months to read this issue, and what a payoff! Swamp Thing is one of my favorite characters, and teaming him with Batman usually makes for one of the best odd couple pairs in comics. This issue continues that great tradition with one of the best team-ups between the two I have ever read. This is pretty much a perfect done in one issue of comic book storytelling, and a master class in capturing the essence of a character. Read on for 11 reasons Batman #23 is without a doubt a must read this week!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #24

Jun 7, 2017

Without a doubt this is going to be a classic and much-discussed issue, no matter what your opinion of the reveal is. "Batman' continues to have what is a definitive run going on.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #25

Jun 21, 2017

In a nice bit of change, Tom King takes us into flashback territory with this issue. Having it be a first person narration by Batman puts both the reader (and Catwoman) in the frontlines of a very intense opening of what is sure to be a very explosive story. Read on for 11 reasons to join the war that starts in Batman #25

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #26

Jul 5, 2017

An excellent issue throughout. Tightly written, beautifully drawn, and vibrantly colored. This is the battle royal between two of Batman's best villains we have been waiting for.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Batman (2016) #27

Jul 19, 2017

A perfectly written issue that works as a single story but also gives the ongoing story higher stakes. This an intimate, powerful, tragic and at times darkly funny tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #28

Aug 2, 2017

Unique, powerful, explosive and compelling; This is a slow burn story peppered with breathtaking action scenes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #29

Aug 16, 2017

This is absolutely my favorite issue of 'The War of Jokes and Riddles'. It's a surreal sequence that feels almost Lynchian in its bizarreness and mood, working almost like the strangest short Batman film you will ever see. Like the great issue with Swamp Thing, this is one that will be remembered and collected whenever 'Best of Batman' stories are compiled. So sit down and devour it now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #30

Sep 6, 2017

King and company create a nearly perfect two-parter that elevates Kite Man from joke to tragedy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Blue Beetle (2016) #3

Nov 23, 2016

Blue Beetle #3 is what great comics are all about. The perfect marriage of pictures, words, layout, and color. I highly recommend you pick the book up if you are a fan of classic and fun superheroics. Its a nice change from the heavy doom and gloom that hangs over the Rebirth event, and I hope this book and creative team continue to tell stories together.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Blue Beetle (2016) #4

Dec 30, 2016

If you're a fan of old-school superhero comics, then this is the book for you. I can't think of another book on the stands right now that feels like this one (maybe Savage Dragon when it is at its best). With so many of DC's Rebirth titles falling on the gloomier and darker side, it's great to see the balance this comic brings. It's is most assuredly my favorite DCU title at the moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Blue Beetle (2016) #5

Jan 25, 2017

Enough is enough, just go ahead and pick up this title. You really wont be disappointed. Youll be reminded why we all were drawn to comics in the first place. They have a delivery that no other medium can provide. A synchronicity of story, art, and color that give you a particular type of experience. Pure. Good. Comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Blue Beetle (2016) #6

Feb 22, 2017

ConclusionBlue Beetle is delivering one of the best classic and pure comic book storytelling experiences available today. Old school funny book fans, and new school DC Rebirth readers, pick this up, sit back, and just ENJOY reading a comic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Blue Beetle (2016) #7

Mar 23, 2017

The Jack Kirby feel that crackles off the page.Keith Giffen writing the best and creepiest Dr. Fate in ages.The energy and caliber of the superhero battles. Old school and fun.Josh Reed's brilliant use of lettering for sound AND voice effects, a technique sorely missed in too many modern comics.Seeing Ted Kord as a man of action!Giffens excellent ability to bring characterization to his cast with dialogue.Thaaa-doooomScott Kolins pencils paired with Romulo Fajardo Jr.s colors. It is comic book art perfection.The books ability to convey high stake situations yet not succumb to doom and gloom.The inventive and energetic panel composition.That absolutely gorgeous last page cliffhanger.Seriously, folks, there are all sorts of great comics being done today, but this one just reminds me of why I fell in love with comic book narrative in the first place. Take a reality break and start reading Blue Beetle!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Booster Gold / The Flinstones Special #1

Mar 29, 2017

That Mike and Laura Allred cover! Nuff said!The Gotham City of 2472 (specifically the kid running around in the Joker mask).Holy Gygax! (All hail Dungeons & Dragons)The perfect balance of the seemingly light tone to make some very pointed and dark observations.Rick Leonardi, Scott Hanna, and Steve Buccellato creating some crisp, clean, and beautiful art.The bit with the ATM that has artificial intelligence.The banter between Booster and Skeets (never gets old!)The one-panel joke with the Batman Security guard on page 7 (check out his arm placement).The reaction the Flintstone gang has to Booster and his personality.Mark Russell actually created a tightly crafted, clever, meaningful and humorous time-travel story.Its theology, you wouldnt understandDont let the far out concept keep you from checking this book out. Its a total breath of fresh air, and one of the funniest books Ive read recently. Get on it now!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Cave Carson Has A Cybernetic Eye #1

Oct 26, 2016

Cave Carson Has a Cybernetic Eye is probably my favorite of the Young Animal titles thus far, and it's definitely the one I would recommend the most. It's easier to dive into than the other more out there titles, but still has plenty of weirdness to make it all original.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Chew #60

Nov 30, 2016

Its bittersweet to see any comic book series end, as it means we can no longer live in that particular story or world. But its a heavy testament to the power of these creators that even someone who wasnt a constant reader of this title, was able to get absolute pleasure from reading this issue. Do yourself a favor pick It up. Or better yet, start checking out the collected editions and give the whole series a shot. I know I am going to.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dark Days: The Casting #1

Jul 12, 2017

Another must read step toward 'DC: Metal'. This is fun, kinetic and extremely readable comic book storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dark Days: The Forge #1

Jun 14, 2017

A great start to what looks like a fantastic and fun crossover-STORY!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dark Knight III: The Master Race #7

Dec 28, 2016

It all ends on a cliffhanger, with the Kryptonians poised to battle the Amazons. Admittingly this is a great idea, but one I was hoping would be resolved in this issue. Dark Knight III keeps getting longer, and sometimes it feels a bit stretched out. But the series has hooked me, and I will continue to read it until the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Detective Comics (2016) #957

May 24, 2017

Having been a Spoiler fan for some time, I immediately grabbed this issue when I saw she was the focus of the story. Im glad I did because its one of the most fleshed out and best takes on Stephanie Brown I have read. The whole thing makes me long for a Spoiler solo series, which I think could work if shes written like she is here. Read on for 11 reasons to spoil yourself and pick up Detective Comics #957!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Doom Patrol (2016) #1

Oct 12, 2016

*I picked up the cover by Jaime Hernandez, which alone is worth the cover price.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doom Patrol (2016) #2

Oct 19, 2016

With its great storytelling and fabulous art, this is a book that is definitely going and staying on my pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doom Patrol (2016) #7

Jul 26, 2017

After a brief hiatus, Doom Patrol returns and its a fantastic issue! Not only do we get some gorgeous art from Mike and Laura Allred, we also get to finally see Niles Caulder go back on the field with the team in a very classically inspired Doom Patrol adventure. The ideas really explode out of this issue, and its energy and storytelling are exactly the kind of thing you want out of this title. Its also hysterical! Read on for 11 reasons Doom Patrol #7 is my favorite comic of the week!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Elsewhere #1

Aug 2, 2017

A high-concept book that succeeds not only on its set-up but on it's fun and solid execution.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Flash (2016) #21

Apr 26, 2017

With 'The Button Part 2', The Flash #21 continues a compelling comic book mystery.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Flash (2016) #23

May 31, 2017

If you haven't been reading The Flash, now is a GREAT time to start. Joshua Williamson is building something here, the Rebirth origin of The Reverse-Flash! And something tells me it will be a Scarlett Speedster story for the ages. On your marks, get set, GO read this book!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Flash (2016) #24

Jun 15, 2017

Man did this issue really amp up the tension, suspense, violence, and horror. On one side, we have the conclusion of a great and classic feeling superhero story with the Flash and GL team-up. And then we have Reverse-Flash. Eboard Thawne has ALWAYS been scary, but his sadism and psychosis in the current Flash run have been absolutely terrifying. Color of Fear is racing toward being a classic Flash story. Here are 11 reasons to read The Flash #24!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Flash (2016) #25

Jun 28, 2017

I really am loving what the team of Joshua Williamson and Carmine Di Giandomenico have been doing with Reverse-Flash. They have slowly been building him as a very unstable psychopath, but with this issue, they somehow find a way to not only humanize him a bit but also escalate him as a threat even more. Its an issue in the tradition of the classic Rogue-centric stories Geoff Johns was known for (and that made me LOVE Flashs villains) yet still feels different enough to run on its own. Read on for 11 reasons Flash #25 is one of this weeks must-read comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #27

Jul 26, 2017

SPOILERS! Joshua Williamson brings this action packed story to a close, ending it on a quiet and sad moment. And although this issue lacked a bit of the narrative drive this arc started with, it was still an important story and one that will seemingly affect the dynamic of the Flash and his extended family for some time to come and also leaves Barry with some new powers and abilities. Read on for 11 reasons The Flash #27 changes lanes and leaves the road open for some great upcoming tales.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Gasolina #1

Aug 30, 2017

A perfect hybrid of horror and crime, 'Gasolina' creates an intriguing story you want to keep reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Jughead (2015) #10

Oct 26, 2016

With this issue's great cliffhanger, I will definitely be getting Jughead #11, and maybe sticking around for a while. Id forgotten how much I love this character and this book reminded me.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jughead (2015) #11

Nov 30, 2016

Do yourself a favor and pick up Jughead #11. If you have been curious about the new Archie universe, its a great place to start. Its also a great book for people just getting into comics. Its funny, modern, and accessible. Grab a hamburger and sit down to read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Jughead: The Hunger (One Shot) #1

Mar 7, 2017

This is a definite must read, and another great example of how malleable the Archie property can be in the right hands. We need more of the Archie Horror books!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League of America (2017) #7

May 24, 2017

Although this issue is a step down in intensity from last months excellent chapter, it is still a solid entry in what is a refreshingly different and old school feeling JLA. By focusing on character beats and some quiet moments, Steve Orlando is able to flesh out these lovable misfits and b listers into characters you want to read about every month. Read on for 11 reasons Justice League of America #7 should be one of your pull list books this week!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mother Panic #1

Nov 16, 2016

So if you were hesitating to jump into this new imprint, I suggest you give Mother Panic a try. Itll be enough like a DCU book that you wont be put off, yet it will still give you a feel for the kind of comics Way and DC are trying to create with Young Animal; new, exciting, and experimental.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mother Panic #2

Dec 28, 2016

If you have been sitting on getting onboard with any of the Young Animal titles, Mother Panic is probably the best title to do finally do so. It will give you the unique experience that the comic book line provides, yet its accessible enough for mainstream fans as well. This creative team has introduced a new addition to Gothams mythology that I believe could be here to stay. I cant wait to read issue #3.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mother Panic #3

Feb 16, 2017

This could easily become a mainstay Bat-title, and you would be making a mistake not jumping on it now. Its got a larger connection to the DCU than any other Young Animal book, and that connection seems like a natural fit. Pick it up now.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mother Panic #8

Jun 28, 2017

All the Young Animal books are great in their own way, but Mother Panic may be the best way for regular readers of the DCU to wade into these waters. This is a more quiet issue than usual for the series, but don't let that stop you from picking it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mother Panic #10

Aug 23, 2017

'Mother Panic' #10 lacks a bit of action but has plenty of emotional punch. This is still a very good book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Namesake #1

Nov 9, 2016

CONCLUSIONNamesake is a solid first issue overall, and a nice addition to BOOM! Studios original, non-licensed work. As much as I have enjoyed those properties, it's great to see the publisher step out with more new and original work to put on the shelves. And at just four issues, it's an investment well worth your time. I'll stick around and see where this takes me and I think you should do.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Reborn #1

Oct 19, 2016

If I have one complaint, its the short length. I read the book fairly quicklyand wanted perhaps a few more pages once the reveal is made. Although the ending does serve as an emotional and narrative punch, I still could have used just a little bit more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Reborn #3

Dec 14, 2016

If you are looking for a comic that will transport you, entertain you, move you and leave you wanting more, then go ahead and pick up Reborn. Its one of the most purely joyful and readable comics on the shelves now, and also one of the most unique. Image and Millarworld have indeed done it again.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Reborn #4

Jan 24, 2017

This a fun, smart, and original fantasy comic that hasnt stopped delivering the goods. Image and Mark Millar are a marriage you can always count on. The book is also pretty accessible for new readers " something you dont get in many fantasy titles. If the pace keeps up like this, I will continue reading and reviewing this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Reborn #5

Mar 23, 2017

Personally, I can't wait for the conclusion of the series. Not because I want it to end because I want to see HOW it will end. Look for my review next month and pick up this book now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Reborn #6

Jun 6, 2017

'Reborn' #6 ends the first volume of this epic tale, and leaves readers both satisfied and wanting more. An action-packed, heartfelt and gorgeous comic for fans of any genre. Glad to see there is more to come from this creative team.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Regression #1

Mar 31, 2017

Image Comics has been releasing some of the best horror comics in the business, and now we can add one more to their ever growing list of fright. Regression by Cullen Bunn, Danny Luckert, and Marie Enger is one terrifying trip. Its expertly paced, shockingly gory, and straight up disturbing. Read on for 11 reasons that Regression #1 will give you nightmares!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Seven to Eternity #1

Sep 28, 2016

Fans of fantasy world building (think Stephen King's Dark Tower series) should find much to like here. This could definitely go places, and Remender and company have rarely failed to deliver (Rage of Ultron for Marvel being the only weak chain I can think of). With this book, Image continues to be the best publisher of mainstream comics in the business today. Give this book a chance.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shade, the Changing Girl #1

Oct 12, 2016

After two series, Young Animal is well on its way to becoming the line to keep your eye on. With so much convoluted New 52, Convergence, Rebirth bombardment, its great to see DC truly do reinvention and rebooting the right way.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shade, the Changing Girl #2

Nov 9, 2016

I really can't sing enough praises about this title, or Young Animal in general. This whole line has the potential to be a new Vertigo, but with an identity of its own, relevant to its place and time; reflectiveof a new generation of comic book creators and fans. Visit your local comics shop today and pick this book up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shade, the Changing Girl #4

Jan 6, 2017

Admittingly this may be the least accessible book from Young Animal, but I would not let that keep you away. Its a strange, challenging and unique book. But it is a comic well worth reading and giving a chance. It reminds me of the kind of books Vertigo released in its early days, which of course led to a revolution in the industry. I have a feeling the same is being done here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Shipwreck #5

Aug 23, 2017

Fans of dark sci-fi should check this out. It's creating an interestingstory. But the art is really the selling point for me and it makes me wish Phil Hester just did more work. This is a solid and unique book. Give it a chance!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Black Hood #2

Dec 22, 2016

This is a must add to your pull list. Dark Circle Comics are creating an identity with quality, sophisticated and grown up books. Black Hood is a definite read if you love stuff like Criminal, Kill or Be Killed, Stray Bullets, or Garth Ennis' classic Punisher runs.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Black Hood: Season 2 #1

Nov 2, 2016

If the rest of The Black Hood plays out this good, then there might just be a new contender in the world of crime comics (better watch your backs, Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips!). Kudos must also be given to editor Alex Segura for helping bring the package together.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
The Black Hood: Season 2 #4

Apr 19, 2017

This book can stand alongside the Brubaker/Phillips books as hard-hitting crime comics. Pick it up for something different, dark and disturbing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina #8

Aug 16, 2017

A great horror comic with mythology and atmosphere, steeped in the traditions of the genre and medium.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
The Hard Place #1

Aug 22, 2017

Well plotted and with strong characters, 'The Hard Place' is a crime ride you want to get on.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
The Shaolin Cowboy: Who'll Stop the Reign? #1

Apr 18, 2017

The Shaolin Cowboy: Who Will Stop The Reign?The absolutely gorgeous art. There really is not many artists like Darrow out there.Dave Stewart's brilliant coloring.The unbridled myth like story-telling.How Darrow places real world objects in this world. It's a nice touch that works as both a joke and social commentary.The effortless mix of genres that feels so natural you hardly notice. It could easily be jarring but it's not "You got a lot of Buddist hutzpah" The Trump radiation symbol on page 12. Funny and kinda frightening.Talking vultures as both a greek chorus, a source of exposition and humor.How Darrow balances pointed humor and actual pathos.The use of actual martial art techniques and philosophies.Darrow's ability to capture violence. It's gory yet beautiful.The Shaolin Cowboy: Who Will Stop The Reign?There you have it, folks. Pick this up when it hits stands for something different but fantastic. You won't be disappointed by this beautiful book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Unholy Grail #1

Jun 8, 2017

AfterShock Comics has been pumping out horror titles with regularity, and that, dear readers, is a good thing. Comics are a great medium for the genre, especially a high-concept hybrid like Unholy Grail, which is an ambitious and well-executed fusion of Lovecraftian horror with the classic tale of King Arthur. Telling a story like this in sequential art allows you to go full blast without having to limit anything. No image, setting, or concept is beyond grasp. This comic finds way to subvert this well-known myth in disturbing new ways and makes it feel new. Here are 11 reasons to pick up Unholy Grail #1 when it hits comic shops in July.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wild Storm #1

Mar 15, 2017

The second issue of The Wild Storm does not disappoint. It continues the excellent set-up, pacing, and narrative drive that was planted in the first issue. Its also spectacularly beautiful to look at. So far this has all the ingredients ofthe best of Warren Ellis past work. Check out 11 things that make The Wild Storm #2 a must read comic book this week.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

September

August

More