Andy Hall's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Crusaders, Geekery Magazine Reviews: 137
8.0Avg. Review Rating

9.0
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #10

Dec 31, 1969

Rafer Roberts (Harbinger Renegades) and Mike Norton (B.R.P.D.: Hell on Earth)are juggling a lot of balls in this story. Few other people would bring all these clashing concept and characters together. In other hands, the wheels would be coming off this thing by page three, but Roberts and Norton balance the story out so that is easy to follow despite all the different elements. The jokes are actually funny and come in a mix of visual gags, weird situations and the verbal clash of personalities among the good guys as well as the villains.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Action Comics (2016) #986

Aug 23, 2017

There are a lot of theories floating around out there over the real identity of Mr. Oz. I haven't been taking part in them, mainly because, so many of them would be so disappointing if they turn out to be true. Williams drops another clue in this issue as he makes it clear that Mr. Oz is smarter than Luthor and there are so few characters who fit that bill. It looks like all the wild speculation will end next month when it looks like Mr. Oz will reveal himself.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Action Comics (2016) #987

Sep 13, 2017

This really is one of the best opening acts of a mainstream character's storyline in a long time. Jurgens and Bogdanovic are really starting strong with all the prologue actions.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Action Comics (2016) #990

Oct 25, 2017

I really want to see where this goes. Jurgens and Bogdanovic are well-practiced in comics and especially Superman stories. They have told some of the best and this is shaping up to join them.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All-New Guardians of the Galaxy #1

May 5, 2017

Is this a perfect issue? No. But, this issue has almost everything that you would want from a Guardians books. The team is back together again and while they fight and bicker among themselves like old times, there are a lot of changes that they will have to face among each other. This is a good read for while you are in line or waiting for the trailers when you go see the Guardians' movie this weekend.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
All-Star Batman #14

Oct 5, 2017

I'm glad that this is the end of this story arc and really want to see where we are going from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Alters #3

Dec 23, 2016

If you are reading books like Ms. Marvel and Faith, you should be adding this to your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Alters #7

Oct 11, 2017

I'm glad that while, Alters isn't giving up on trans issues, it is clear it will not be a book only about those issues. It has been a very inclusive book so far and I hope to see that continue as it tackles more issues that are usually shied away from in mainstream comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #28

Jun 9, 2017

This has been a quick and fun story arc that Slott and Immonen have put together. It doesn't have the operatic complexities of Slott's Clone Conspiracy story, but by focusing on the anger Peter Parker and Norman Osbourne have for each other, the rest of the battle just become a proxy for their ideals which are quickly lost in their own fight. The first issue of the arc was a little shaky for me, but the end is well worth it. Go back and read all four together.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
American Gods: Shadows #2

Apr 13, 2017

This is not to say that Russell's art is bad, it is good throughout most of the story, but it is just lacking that spark of something. And in this case, where the art

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Anno Dracula 1895: Seven Days in Mayhem #1

Mar 24, 2017

If you didn't pre-order this book, you should definitely consider picking up a copy from the shelf when you visit your comic book store this week. Even if you aren't a big horror fan, there is enough going on to grab you.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Anno Dracula 1895: Seven Days in Mayhem #2

Apr 19, 2017

Once again, Paul McCaffrey's art does a lot of the world building in the details of many of the scenes. Look for what the background characters are doing and the ads he places on walls to get a real feel of the horror of trying to keep your humanity when all around are monsters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Aquaman (2016) #29

Oct 18, 2017

I'll be willing to keep on following Aquaman if they can hold him to this new way. If they can break Arthur out of the continuing repeating story; if they can find a new path for Aquaman to follow; If Aquaman can be Atlantis' inspiration instead of it's king, then maybe it will lead to more kids diving into the ocean again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Atomic Robo: Spectre of Tomorrow #1

Nov 2, 2017

If you are familiar with Atomic Robo, you can be assured you are in for a fun ride with humor and adventure. Clevinger and Wegener are careful with their placement of humor so that it works to support the drama of the story and not undercut it. The advantage they have in building these five issue arc is that they make it easy for new reader to jump on board and join in the fun without having to worry about all the previous adventures. If they like the story they can always go through the back catalogue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Atomic Robo: Spectre of Tomorrow #4

Feb 1, 2018

One of the things that is great about the Atomic Robo stories is that new readers can pick up any story and have no problems following the five issue arcs. At the same time, each of these arcs, which can stand alone, pay off for people who are more familiar with these characters. Celvinger and Wegener have practiced this storytelling skill and it really pays off. It is a shame that Marvel and DC have lost this skill and sometimes make it such a high bar for newcomers to enjoy their stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Avengers (2016) #9

Jul 6, 2017

I get that Waid and del Mundo wanted to explore what is happening with Thor, but couldn't they have had a way to work in any other Avengers? I love Thor and read her title regularly, but when I read the Avengers I want all the Avengers not just the solo story of one of them.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers (2016) #673

Nov 3, 2017

As I wrote above, this is the third chapter in the six-issue story arc and next chapter is in the Champions coming out in two weeks, before shifting back to the Avengers. I'm not really a fan of these multi-title story arcs, but Waid is handling everything very well and giving each team their share of the spotlight.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Back to the Future: Biff to the Future #1

Jan 26, 2017

This book is a fun read. It is funny and filled with double crosses. It is clear that everybody is looking out for themselves in this book. I just think I wanted to like the book more than I actually did.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Barbarella (2017) #2

Jan 10, 2018

In a way, I am glad that Barbarella has been away from the world of comics for so long. The three decade break in her adventures allows her to be introduced to a new generation almost free from preconceptions. She gets to define herself as she pleases almost despite the adventures she is on. In many ways, that is Barbarella at her core.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #16

Feb 3, 2017

King's work on Batman has been impressive since he took it on. I really want to see where he is going.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #17

Feb 17, 2017

The art remains fantastic throughout the book and really sells the menacing tone of this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2016) #18

Mar 3, 2017

Even with King's misstep with parallelism, this book is still at a level that few others are touching. I can hardly wait for the two weeks until the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #7

Apr 28, 2017

While I think that the League of Assassin needs to all go on a cruise and take a vacation from all the Batman books for a while, I am intrigued to see where this story is going.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Sins of the Father #1

Feb 21, 2018

This book is a must buy. If you haven't added it to your pull lists pick up this first issue and you will be convinced. One of the best things about these limited Batman stories is that even if you haven't bothered with the character in the past or find the Bat-family drama too confusing, these stories drop all of that away and focus on what is important to the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Battlestar Galactica: Gods & Monsters #4

Feb 16, 2017

I really wanted to like the series. Maybe I wouldn't be as hard on the comic if I never saw the show, but I have to figure that they are writing the comic for fans of the show and not just trying to develop a new fan base from scratch. Either way, the readers deserve to get something much better than what is being served here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ben Reilly: The Scarlet Spider #5

Jul 28, 2017

While, I've found that the previous Scarlet Spider books had their ups and downs, bring the clones together for this fight was worth it. This was the first issue of the series that I really liked from beginning to end. I have to say that if it wasn't for the creepy mask, I'd almost prefer Ben's new costume, but there is something wonderfully 90s about his classic outfit.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Big Trouble In Little China / Escape From New York #3

Dec 7, 2016

This has been a really fun and enjoyable series so far and I am looking forward to seeing how the second half of it turns out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Big Trouble In Little China / Escape From New York #6

Mar 1, 2017

If you haven't figured out how it ends, well then you never saw either of the cult classics this series is based upon. Because even though Jack never drives faster than he can see, Lo Pan gets one last twist in. And it's a doozie.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Big Trouble In Little China: Old Man Jack #1

Sep 20, 2017

Unlike some of the other comics, you don't have to have seen the movie in order to enjoy this book. It sets itself up pretty well as an independent story. But for those who know and love the movie there are additional payoffs. If you are looking for something enjoyable and fast to read, this could be the fun book for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Panther (2016) #12

Mar 24, 2017

I am sorry that this is the last Black Panther book where Stelfreeze will be the main artist for a while. But I am excited to see what the combination of Coates storytelling and Wilfredo Torres' art will bring starting next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Black Panther: Prelude #1

Oct 19, 2017

This is a fun book that launches a new adventure for the character. If you are familiar with Black Panther, you get to see a story featuring the younger version and you can see where the brashness of youth will wear into the responsibilities of being a king. If you are new to the character and want to get a jump on it before the movie comes out, well this book is tailored for you. Fortunately it is well tailored and launches what appears to be a fun adventure story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Widow (2016) #12

Apr 4, 2017

I'm not completely sold on the tidy wrap up at the end, but I'd love to see Samnee and Waid take another turn at telling a Black Widow story again. This has been a fun series and a good focus on a character that everyone seems to love, but is so rarely used well.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Bloodstrike (2015) #1

Jul 26, 2017

This book is a good look at the excesses of the 90's and is interesting for a number of reasons. If you are a Liefeld fan, you probably already have this. If you want to find out what all the fuss is about when people talk about 90's comics, this is a prime example of the good and bad. Now, if you'll excuse me, I've got to dig out some old Jesus Jones and Blind Melons cds to complete this trip down memory lane.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Brave Chef Brianna #1

Dec 6, 2017

Many times, when people say that a comic book was written for kids but adult will enjoy it too, they mean that there are jokes that play at being kinda dirty, but will go over the kids' heads. Here is it just a fun story that everyone can enjoy because despite the fantastic (in both senses of the word) setting, the characters are charming and relatable to people of all ages.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Britannia: We Who Are About to Die #3

Jun 21, 2017

There is only one more issue to go after this one. Now that Axia has solved most of the mysteries, can he save his beloved Rome from the threat that it has brought upon itself?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Cable (2017) #2

Jun 29, 2017

Clearly, if you are curious about the X-Men or haven't read one of their books for a long time, this series is one place to start. I'm not sure how much of the other X-Men we'll see, but you'll at least get to know one of their cornerstones. If you have been missing Cable, this should be a natural pull for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cable (2017) #3

Jul 31, 2017

Have to say that I like it when comics do stuff like this. Just hop from one world to another in each issue. They give you enough to understand the basics of this world, but always leave you wanting more. I hope they continue with this even after Cable wraps up this story line. I don't care if Cable ever ends back in "modern" New York.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Cable (2017) #4

Aug 25, 2017

Well there is only one more piece of the time sword left and thanks to some Celestial tech using Mayans, Cable has a better idea of where it is than Conquest. Looks like this story arc is going to draw to a close with a bang.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Captain America: Steve Rogers #15

Apr 10, 2017

I'm really struggling to find something I like about this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Centipede #2

Aug 10, 2017

It is disappointing, in a way, that they could have done almost anything in turning this game into a story and yet they chose the most basic one. Even setting it on a distant planet and in the future are elements that they have introduced, but fail to take advantage of in any way.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Civil War II: The Oath #1

Jan 30, 2017

I understand that they want to get a jump-start on Secret Empire, but did anyone really think this was the way to do it?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Conan: The Slayer #8

Apr 26, 2017

If you are looking for a good place to start a Conan Story this issue is a good place. You really don't need the first chapter of the story, as that isn't as important to the set up as this one is. And it looks like next issue should really ramp up the action with Conan hunted by the Turanian army and everyone hunted by the devil in iron.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Curse Words #9

Oct 18, 2017

One other thing, if you are skipping the letter pages in these books, stop. Go back and read them. Usually, letter pages are places where the creators can either praise themselves through the letter choices or use them to explain away mistakes. Rarely, do the creators engage with their fans in such a fun way. It takes on the feel of a convention panel, down to the cosplay.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Curse Words: Holiday Special #1

Dec 20, 2017

While, nothing in this book is likely to impact the main story lines, it is a fun read. It manages to fill in a lot of holes that readers may have had about Sizzajee's court and how the rivalries got started. It is also fun to see how important the courtiers see themselves before Sizzajee makes sure each of them know they are under his thumb. Hope you don't name your main course Jane.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cyborg (2016) #7

Dec 26, 2016

The action packed train-ride of this story arc is quickly coming to an end and I can't wait for the next issue to see how this ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
D4VEocracy #4

May 31, 2017

I can only hope that the 4m3rich4n people end up with a president who can lead them out of this mess. It makes you look back in fondness at the President Roombo administration.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Darkseid Special #1

Aug 30, 2017

This book offers a great insight into Kirby for readers who have never read one of his books. While both of the original stories subvert some of the greatest characters that Kirby created for DC, they do so in a way that truly honors his stories and what he was about. And as a comparison they are juxtaposed with two shorter stories that Kirby himself wrote on similar themes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dastardly And Muttley #2

Oct 4, 2017

These and other questions are likely to become more and more irrelevant as the transformations continue. This is a really fun limited series. You really get the feeling that Ennis is getting to let loose with all the silliest ideas for ending the world that he couldn't figure out how to work into Preacher or Judge Dredd. As long as Jabberjaw will play a bigger role in the remaining four issues, I'm willing to see where he is going to take us, unless, of course, I get raptured first.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Death of Hawkman #4

Jan 10, 2017

This issue leaves the table set for the return to the first issue of the book with the Thanagarian invasion of Rann. (See what I mean about all the flash-back-forward stuff?) That leaves out heroes with the full plate of defeating the more powerful than ever Despero, stopping the planetary invasion, rebuilding Thanagar and fixing Adam's marriage. And they only have two issues to do it in.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #953

Mar 28, 2017

Christian Duce (Justice League, Wonder Woman '77) and Fernando Blanco (Midnighter and Apollo, Army of Darkness) take full advantage of the chaos in the story to lay out three separate incredibly kinetic fights. Each fight is visually different in terms of layout and style but they all work together in service of the story. And they put Gordon in a Hawaiian shirt.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dirk Gently: The Salmon of Doubt #3

Dec 8, 2016

I like the way that IDW has come at publishing the Dirk Gently comic books. Instead of running one long series going from mystery to mystery, they instead break each story up into five chapters and publish them as mini-series each with their own titles. This makes it easy for readers to know where they are in any particular story and if they want to pick up the rest of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doctor Who: The Eleventh Doctor: Year Two #15

Dec 21, 2016

Overall, this issue wraps up this adventure with the Doctor well and leaves the reader ready to hop in the TARDIS to see where Spurrier will take us next.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Doctor Who: The Twelfth Doctor: Year Three #2

Apr 27, 2017

The quality of the Doctor Who books varies greatly between all the books from teams that get their Doctor and his adventures spot on to ones like this book which is hit or miss. You really have to find a team that you like and follow them across the books rather than follow the version of The Doctor you like on television.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Eclipse #7

May 18, 2017

Kaplan, Timpano and Dispenza work together like a great trio. They seem to be feeding each other ideas and inspiration. It is especially impressive since both Kaplan and Dispenzea are new comers to comics. If you aren't reading this you should be. The first couple issues are available in trade for a quick catch up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Eleanor and the Egret #4

Oct 4, 2017

This is a great issue in what has been a really entertaining series, so far. If you are a fan of independent books, this one might have slipped under your radar. But if so, it would pay off for you to pick this up and enjoy the journey.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ether #5

Mar 15, 2017

This is a book where the rational and the irrational are at constant war with each other. It is clear that Boone would always side with the logical, the real question is, can he remain true to his commitment to it?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Eugenic #3

Dec 27, 2017

Tynion and Donovan certainly pack a lot of punch into their comics and this is no exception. If you like comics that really convey big ideas that will be churning in the back of your head all day, this is the book you want to read. Andy while this book serves as a definitive end to all three series, they have left themselves wiggle room to come back in for another look.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Fence #4

Feb 21, 2018

Nobody would expect the reader who pick up this book to understand or even be interested in the sport of fencing. But that is what is so impressive about the book. It takes a sport that most people don't follow, and invest its characters with so much drive and life that it makes you care.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Fu Jitsu #2

Oct 25, 2017

Aftershock keeps putting out interesting stories from different genres and from so many perspectives. It is good that they are not letting themselves be pigeon holed into one or two genres as many indie publishers are. They are quickly building a number of must follow series for comic book lovers willing to go beyond the DC " Marvel border. This book should be on your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Generations: Banner Hulk & The Totally Awesome Hulk #1

Aug 3, 2017

I was not a great believer in the Generations idea when I first heard it. But this book has really turned me around on it. I almost wish that there could be a Hulks mini-series that could take place during one of the many times that General Ross had to be pulled back to the Pentagon to explain how he could lose 100 helicopters and 300 tanks in a "training" exercise or what ever excuse he kept giving.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Generations: Captain Marvel & Captain Mar-Vell #1

Sep 15, 2017

I really enjoyed this story and how it brought the Marvels together " without compromising the tragic death of Mar-Vell. (I re-read that story right after my first read of this issue). If there is anything that does bug me, it is that Stohl's dialogue for Mar-Vell is more stilted than under Roy Thomas or Starlin. But that is a small quibble.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
George Perez's Sirens #6

Dec 14, 2016

This book is worth a read and it would pay to go through the bins to find the other issues of the series as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Godshaper #4

Jul 12, 2017

Only two chapters left after this to see if Ennay, Bud, Sal and Sarge can escape the Chicago mob and the Demonstrators. Will they make it to San Francisco? Can they ever find acceptance?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Godshaper #6

Sep 27, 2017

If you've been following along for the whole series this issue will pay off in spades. If you just picked this off the shelf out of curiosity about all the praise the series has been getting, go back to your comic store and rifle through the back issue shelves until you find the other five issues. You'll be so glad you did. You know what they say about a good ending leaving you wanting more? Not only does this do that, but you know what some of the more is yet to be explored.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Grass Kings #3

May 10, 2017

If you are a fan of Briggs Land, Postal or even TV's Riverdale or Twin Peaks, you should be picking up Grass Kings. It has that small town with an unseemly underbelly vibe down pat. But I wouldn't write this off as a knock off of those other works. Kindt has something up his sleeve and I want to be there when he starts to pull out the aces.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Hornet: Reign of the Demon #4

Mar 1, 2017

I want to see Baal and Augusto keep on working on future Green Hornet series, but I would like to see them paired with a writer who is interested in doing more with the characters. Poor Kato is so underused in favor of the bland Swashbuckler that I really felt sorry for him. If you've gotten this far in the series, you might as well pick this issue up for completeness, but if you didn't read the previous issues, I'm not sure what is here for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Grrl Scouts: Magic Socks #3

Jul 21, 2017

As much as it mocks the comics of the 80s and 90s, Mahfood clearly loves them too. You should pick this book up. If you aren't reading it, get the first two issues of Grrl Scouts along with this one. You won't regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Guardians of the Galaxy (2017) #148

Dec 7, 2017

Clearly, this book is powering it way to an action packed series end in two issues. It looks like the Guardians will play a major part in the Infinity event books that will follow. I have to admit that I have been dipping in and out of this series, so maybe it is time for the guardians to take a break for a while. Either way, this looks like it will be a do not miss finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Guardians of the Galaxy: Dream On #1

Apr 21, 2017

This is a fun one-shot that is a good read, especially if you want a good Guardians story to get yourself psyched for the upcoming movie.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harbinger: Renegade #3

Jan 19, 2017

I really can't wait to see how Roberts is going to pull this all together.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harbinger: Renegade #6

Aug 9, 2017

How this story plays out into the coming war between the Renegades, the psiots under Solomon, and Omen's H.A.R.D.Corps will be interesting to see. It looks like they are clearing the game board of any unnecessary pieces in order to launch the second Harbinger War. It will be interesting to see who is going to make it to the start of the war. If anything, last issue proved that Roberts can be brutal in his housecleaning.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Harbinger: Renegade #8

Oct 11, 2017

If you are following any Valiant titles, you really do need to be reading this series. If you aren't reading Valiant, you need to ask yourselves why not?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harrow County #18

Nov 29, 2016

The problem with this issue is that it can't stand on its own. It is solely an interstitial chapter in the ongoing tale that is Harrow County. As part of a larger story of Emmy coming to learn more about herself and the world around her it is fine.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Iceman (2017) #10

Feb 8, 2018

Next issue is the last one for this run of Iceman. And despite how this series wraps in that one, it has been an overall success. Iceman has often been the overlooked joker of whatever group he's in. This series has really given the character a chance to grow into a full person and dealt with a lot of issues that not only gay characters face, but ones that should resonate with all readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Imaginary Fiends #1

Nov 22, 2017

While it is too early to tell how the series will work out, Imaginary Fiends reminds me of the early issues of Harrow County. Even when everything is bright and sunny, you know there is something creepy in there, even if you can see it right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Intertwined #3

Dec 30, 2016

The expressive way that Juan uses Wing Chun does recall Bruce Lee. But while there are references to Bruce Lee, Juan is his own character and more flawed that Lee was in any of his movies. I really enjoy watching Juan overcome those flaws on his way to be worthy of becoming the Spirit of the Earth. The biggest mystery I am left with in this issue is which spirit fixed Juan's window between issue 2 and 3.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Intertwined #6

Apr 5, 2017

The series clearly shows its roots in Bruce Lee movies, anime and other martial arts comics, but like the characters in the story, they have intertwined these elements and come up with something new. This is especially impressive in light of the clear missteps that occurred in Marvel's Iron Fist series on Netflix. Sapolsky and Chuong avoided the pitfalls to bring an interesting and new story to life.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
John Carter: The End #1

Feb 9, 2017

Will John Carter be able to reconcile with his wife? What will he find when he confronts his son? I guess we'll find out together.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
John Carter: The End #3

Apr 12, 2017

I am interested in seeing where this story leads. It is an interesting take on the ideas that Burroughs presented in the Barsoom stories without being a complete retread of the more traditional swashbuckler takes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jughead (2015) #11

Dec 5, 2016

While letterer's don't usually get much recognition for what they do, Jack Morelli really sells the Sabrina cut and paste spell joke well. I loved the old-school labels. It helps make the book such an enjoyable read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Kamandi Challenge #6

Jun 30, 2017

Orlando and Tan go a great job on both the first half and the second half where all the action and danger live. However they only have one page to introduce us to Renzi who is the mcguffin at the heart of the second half. The quick change of all the cast around Kamandi leave both him and the readers with abandonment issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Khaal #1

Jan 11, 2017

As I said, superficially Khaal can read a bit like Heavy Metal meets Conan. And it embraces those tropes, but there is something interesting if you want to look deeper at this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Kingsman: The Red Diamond #1

Sep 8, 2017

If you only know the Kingsmen from the movie, this six issue mini-series is a great place to meet the originals. If you are a fan of Millar's comic, there is plenty going on here that you can dig through and enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Lazarus: X+66 #2

Aug 24, 2017

If you've heard about the Lazarus series and were wondering if you'd like it, these one shots of the X+66 may be your perfect way in. Each comes with an introduction of who the characters are and their importance to the main story, but they each stand alone so you can get a real feel for this world. It might be worth spending the $3.99 before deciding on whether or not to go for the trades.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Magnus #4

Sep 21, 2017

Higgins and Fornes have really done something interesting in their interpretation of what was really a boring Gold Key hero. It is an engaging story. One that will keep you coming back with new questions about this world and it's hero. Hopefully they have some answers just as interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Masked #1

Nov 23, 2016

Crety's art references everything from Blade Runner to the Silver Surfer and Batman the Animated Series to 1984. But as with the writing, these add to the fun of re-reading this book. It is a book you will want to read again and again.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mister Miracle #1

Aug 11, 2017

This book is an interesting start to the limited series. I think that Kirby would enjoy what this team is doing with one of his characters. Scott was always one of Kirby's most morally complex characters, a feature that often got downplayed by other writers as they tried to separate him from the Fourth World mythology. I look forward to seeing the rest of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mystik U #1

Nov 29, 2017

Still the core of this book is the students. While the first issue focuses on Zatanna, I'm hoping that we will see her friends Sebastian Faust, Enchantress, Sargon the (soon to be) Sorcerer and newcomer Pia Morales each get a chance to step to the foreground and not just be her Scoobies. It is interesting to roll these characters back and give the readers the story of how the come to be the characters we've become familiar with.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #38

Feb 7, 2018

Overall, this has been a really great story arc and I love the way that Chang and Humphries (Uncanny X-Force, Green Lanterns) have constructed the story. Despite some issues with it, I really appreciate the way that Dick want to be on his own and create an identity for himself outside Batman's shadow. This has been a really fun joyride, full of unexpected twists. I can't wait to see if and how Nightwing is able to get himself out of this.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.8
Penny Dreadful #3

Jun 7, 2017

I am not sure who will be more disappointed in this story, hardcore fans or people who have heard so much about Penny Dreadful and try the comic to see what all the fuss is about.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Planet of the Apes / Green Lantern #1

Feb 1, 2017

Really there is a much simpler and better story to tell. What if Abin Sur had crashed on the Planet of the Apes and given his ring to Cornelius? You could have Sinestro trying to teach him how to use the ring as well as Cornelius trying to prevent the destruction of his world.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Port of Earth #1

Nov 8, 2017

If you've tried Eclipse, you know you can trust Kaplan to deliver a great story. (If you haven't read Eclipse, open a new browser window to order it.) This book proves that he isn't a one idea wonder.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Postal #20

May 3, 2017

Is time drawing nigh for this small town of XXX people? This story arc may signal the end of Eden or of Laura's iron-fisted rule. There is only one way to find out for sure.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Quarry's War #1

Nov 30, 2017

There are plenty of comics I buy and end up on my "I'll get to you" pile. This is not one of them. It is deceptively simple in some places, but it is clear that this is only setting things up for a more complex follow through. Quarry may not realize that he's knee deep in trouble with this hit, but we do. All through subtle clues strewn throughout the issue. This is how a master storyteller begins a tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ragnarok #11

Jan 5, 2017

Simonson has used this series to explore what message are behind the Norse myths. They are not just a bunch of stories for children, but they have something important to show us about ourselves. He also is great at subverting our expectations of these characters and giving them real depth and pathos in this half-life of a universe. I can't wait to see how he will bring this all to its end.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Royals #6

Aug 18, 2017

Ewing and Libranda have clearly done a great deal of research into the Inhumans' history and they are using all of their various past adventures to play into this one that risks the very future of their race. They are laying the groundwork for a very big pay off as the series goes along. So far, the series is paying off each issue, lets hope all these issues lead to something different and unexpected for the Royals.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Satellite Falling #5

May 17, 2017

I really do hope that IDW gives Horton another chance to tell more stories set on Satellite. I would like to see what happens when he doesn't have to suddenly cram everything together. I think this issue could have been great if it had more room to breathe and not have to shortcut itself.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Savage #2

Dec 29, 2016

Two more issues left and I'll be getting them for the art, but I hope the story starts to pull through as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Savage #4

Feb 15, 2017

This series had real ups and downs for me, but I think that the second half of the series really improved on the set up in the first two books. If you skipped this series for some reason, it really pays off to see if you comic book dealer still has the back issues on the shelves. If not, then there is always the inevitable Valiant collection of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Secret Weapons #1

Jun 28, 2017

Despite these flaws, the book is an exciting read. Dealing with the continued fallout of Harada's fall, Secret Weapons looks at those who have been made the most vulnerable in the aftermath. It ends on a great cliffhanger that will leave you wanting the next book right away.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Secret Weapons #2

Jul 21, 2017

There are still plenty of mysteries to unravel, as wounds are healing, not the least of which is who are the real secret weapons and what is their target. This book continues to stand out on my pull list and I cannot wait for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sh*t My President Says #1

Aug 16, 2017

This is a funny book. You can't help seeing the images of the little child Trump in his big boy clothes trying to boss everyone around and not laugh. But underneath there is a real insight into the president that I don't think would be available in a standard biography. The tweets seem to offer a fascinating, unwitting insight into the differences between Trump's public and private personas.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Sideways #1

Feb 14, 2018

DIDio is better than this. I really have no interest in the next book and I am a sucker for a good origin story. If the plot doesn't get any better, all of Rocafort's great art will be wasted. If it does get better I may be tempted to pick up a future issue. It would take a lot of rave reviews for that to happen, but it is possible.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spider-Men II #1

Jul 17, 2017

So now that Mile's romantic interest Barbara knows that the wild school rumors of Miles' running an underground casino, selling mutant growth hormone and /or being a 21 Jump Street cop are all fake will she figure out what he really does when he sneaks out of the dorm? Will Pete convince Miles to hang up the tights forever? Will Miles and Miles team-up?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star-Lord (2016) #2

Jan 23, 2017

I just hope that they keep the series grounded for a while before Alpha Flight decides to give Quill a spaceship and send him on his way.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Stretch Armstrong and the Flex Fighters #1

Jan 31, 2018

If your kids love the cartoon and you are trying to turn them onto comics, you could start with this. But don't they deserve better?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Super Sons #11

Dec 21, 2017

I dislike when a story jumps from title to title. It forces readers to buy news books with the bait that they might like what is happening in a book that they don't read. Unfortunately what usually happens is that they get a story that fits one title best and leaves all the others hanging.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.8
Superwoman #10

May 16, 2017

Perkins has a lot of experience with the various Super- titles and this seems like a slight stumble after a strong outing last issue when she took over the title. Let's be honest, this title has been a mess for a while and she has a big job on her hands turning this around. I really want to give her the benefit of a doubt and see if she can make this a consistently compelling title.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Tarzan on the Planet of the Apes #3

Nov 30, 2016

My one complaint with the series is that the first issue had a story line set in a different timeline where Tarzan protects the humans from the apes on the Planet of the Apes. This story seems to have been dropped from the second and third issues. I am hopeful that Walker and Seeley can tie that thread back in. They have two issues left.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Tarzan on the Planet of the Apes #5

Jan 25, 2017

I can't say enough about how much I love Fernando Dagnino's (Suicide Squad, Justice League: Generation Lost) art through the whole series and he doesn't let up at the end. Everything is lush and vibrant. His ape faces are great. I could tell the difference between Zira, Cornelius, and Caesar in every panel they were in. They all looked like individuals, which is often hard to do with humans in comics, let alone our simian cousins.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The Assignment #1

Jan 4, 2017

I will say that I found the art and color work to be the highlight of this book. The plays of the violent splashes of red against the dark and usually dull colors of the rest of the books are great and startling. The art really kept me going through this book. I am probably going to get the second issue with the hopes and Hill will be able to turn this around.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Black Beetle: Kara Bcek #1

Sep 7, 2017

In some ways, I prefer to catch The Black Beetle stories in the collected form due to the semi-irregular publishing schedule of the book. And this series certainly benefits from keeping the cliff hanger endings of each chapter, while letting the reader indulge in binge reading each addictive chapter. While having a slightly different feel than other Black Beetle stories, Kara Bcek is a great place to read the Black Beetle and decide if these adventures are for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Chimera Brigade #3

Dec 13, 2016

Gess' (L'Esprit du 11 janvier) art also reflect the sources of the time having strong Modernist elements throughout. His strong use of black and shadows reminds me of Alex Toth's art. It always draws your eyes to the point he wants to make.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Demon: Hell is Earth #1

Nov 22, 2017

Like many an unwanted character, Etrigan demands that you pay attention to him as he acts out for the sheer joy of chaos and menace. While he has gone back to speaking in rhymes, they are not the cutesy bits of doggerel he has spat out in the past. Now he only speaks in rhymes when he is happy, as he is when he takes on other demons in battle. Now if only we can find out who brought Hell to Earth…

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Demon: Hell is Earth #2

Dec 27, 2017

Can the ghostly Jason Blood figure out how to stop the slow expansion of Hell throughout the southwest before his fraying leash on Etrigan gives way? Can he and Xanadu find a way to stop this spread of Hell on Earth? There is only one way to find out. Keep on reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The Jetsons (2017) #1

Nov 1, 2017

It is an interesting world that Palmiotti and Brito are building. I just wish they felt more confident that people could catch on with less spoon-feeding. There are a number of books looking at similar issues and doing it with better grace. If you find ideas they present interesting, check out books like Magnus where they are carried out in a more subtle way.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The Mighty Captain Marvel #9

Sep 28, 2017

I can only hope that, Carol Danvers starts to act like herself once she gets back in space. I really want to see where Captain Marvel is going. I just hope the trip is worth this price of admission.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
The Mighty Thor (2015) #17

Mar 17, 2017

If you haven't been reading Thor, I'd recommend not only picking up this issue, but grabbing the last two from the back issue shelves of your comic book shop. You'll appreciate the great work.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Mummy #2

Dec 23, 2016

I love the way that Freire mixes the classical elements of London architecture with the Egyptian elements in the visions and the cultists. It is a clever interplay of styles, especially after his dark vision of the Egyptian afterlife as the book opens.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Silencer #1

Jan 31, 2018

This is a gripping title launch and I'd be interested in seeing where this goes. I can't think of many comics that have been headlined by a woman killer who becomes determined to take the fight to her enemies, while trying to be a good mom.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The XII #1

Mar 23, 2017

The XII is being distributed digitally by Alterna Comics. At this point, I don't see that they have put this on their schedule of comics on newsprint for physical distribution.+

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Think Tank #1

Jan 5, 2017

They have succeeded in making me interested in checking out the trades to see more of the story. Although I am still open to the idea of a 21st Century version of Inspector Gadget…

View Issue       View Full Review
4.8
Torchwood (2017) #2

Mar 8, 2017

The problems with this book and series are the most common ones that plague adaptations of TV shows and movies. I really had hopes they would have overcome them. Sadly, they didn't.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Turok (2017) #1

Aug 2, 2017

I have to confess that I really haven't followed Turok since I was a kid, which was the Gold Key run, I think, and saw occasional books with him pop up. I know that everyone from Valiant to Dark Horse and even Dynamite have tried to revive and re-launch these characters. I don't know how successful this run will be, but this strange mix of technology and races may prove to be a version that can last.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncanny Avengers (2015) #28

Oct 13, 2017

If you've been curious about the Avengers (or at least this version), this issue is a good starting point. You get a good mix of character development and their histories, but doled out in manageable amounts and a little action to boot. If you aren't sure who the characters are and how they belong together, this issue will set you up pretty well for the future. If you are conversant with the current state of the various Avenger teams, this is a nice break from world-ending battles.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Valerian #15

Apr 5, 2017

This book is a fun adventure and one of the better more recent Valrian and Laureline adventures. If you seen the trailer for their movie this summer and want to get to know more about them this is as good a starting point as any. After all, the series spans roughly 40 years of publication.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Weapon X (2017) #13

Jan 18, 2018

Will the mutants survive? Will Logan's band of super-healing mutants be able to take on all the drug-fueled death squads? Will the government be overthrown? Will Domino get her payday? Will I care?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wild Storm: Michael Cray #4

Jan 10, 2018

We are only a third of the way through this 12-issue series, where Hill and Hama have managed to ramp the action each time. It doesn't take a genius to see where this series is going as Michael works his way up through the DC powerhouses. But where is leads Cray himself is another question entirely and I am all in for that ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Witchblade (2017) #3

Feb 7, 2018

If they can keep the plot's pacing moving in the upcoming issues, I would definitely say that this book should be on your pull list. As is stands right now, if you are curious about the title or have been an old fan of it, you should pick it up. It is still pretty easy to dive into the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman '77 Meets the Bionic Woman #3

Mar 15, 2017

Pick this up from your local comic book store for a good, fun read.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #30

Sep 13, 2017

I really want to see where Fontana plans on taking Wonder Woman from here. The art, however, has really been the downfall of this run. I would score the book higher, but honestly I am getting tired of DC and Marvel not paying attention to a fundamental element of their books.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #34

Nov 8, 2017

The art issues that Wonder Woman has steadily suffered lately may be due to the rush of having to produce this book twice a month. I would rather deal with having to wait two extra weeks, if it means getting better art in this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman/Conan #3

Nov 15, 2017

This is a much more compelling version of Wonder Woman than is currently in her own book. And if you are not following the Conan books by Dark Horse, here is a great introduction to a classic character. Take advantage of this series to become acquainted to these great heroes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman/Conan #5

Jan 17, 2018

This has been a great series so far, and with only one more chapter to go, we'll all have to wait a month to see how Simone and Lopresti are going to wind everything up. DC seems to have put a lot more thought into their team ups with other publishers and that has paid off in well-crafted stories that benefit the characters from both. Reader got to see another side of Diana and a side of Conan that is rarely brought to light in his stories. I hope this is something that they will continue to explore after this series ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Gold (2017) #15

Nov 9, 2017

I have liked how both the Gold and Blue teams have each shaped a different niche and identity for themselves. In some ways, I would have hoped they would have more time as separate teams before they were thrown in a big story together. In some ways, this story threatens to undo some of the work that has been done over the past year and just jumble all the X-men together and say "Look, they are all still buddies. We can mix and match as we like." I was enjoying the different feel the teams have and hope they can get back to that once this Mojowar is done.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-O Manowar (2017) #3

May 24, 2017

If you haven't been reading Valiant or X-O Manowar, this series is an excellent jumping on point. You get to learn what takes Aric from being a savage Visigoth to becoming the most dangerous man in the universe, with or without his armor. That is a trip worth taking.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-O Manowar (2017) #11

Jan 24, 2018

I have always admired Valiant's ability to tell individual stories that work within their universe as stand alone stories, but still function in their larger designs as well. This is a more coherent universe than either DC or Marvel at this point. It really is a shame that more people are not taking a chance on these books.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

February

January

More