Andy Hall's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Crusaders, Geekery Magazine Reviews: 93
8.0Avg. Review Rating

9.0
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #10

Dec 31, 1969

Rafer Roberts (Harbinger Renegades) and Mike Norton (B.R.P.D.: Hell on Earth)are juggling a lot of balls in this story. Few other people would bring all these clashing concept and characters together. In other hands, the wheels would be coming off this thing by page three, but Roberts and Norton balance the story out so that is easy to follow despite all the different elements. The jokes are actually funny and come in a mix of visual gags, weird situations and the verbal clash of personalities among the good guys as well as the villains.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Action Comics (2016) #986

Aug 23, 2017

There are a lot of theories floating around out there over the real identity of Mr. Oz. I haven't been taking part in them, mainly because, so many of them would be so disappointing if they turn out to be true. Williams drops another clue in this issue as he makes it clear that Mr. Oz is smarter than Luthor and there are so few characters who fit that bill. It looks like all the wild speculation will end next month when it looks like Mr. Oz will reveal himself.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Action Comics (2016) #987

Sep 13, 2017

This really is one of the best opening acts of a mainstream character's storyline in a long time. Jurgens and Bogdanovic are really starting strong with all the prologue actions.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All-New Guardians of the Galaxy #1

May 5, 2017

Is this a perfect issue? No. But, this issue has almost everything that you would want from a Guardians books. The team is back together again and while they fight and bicker among themselves like old times, there are a lot of changes that they will have to face among each other. This is a good read for while you are in line or waiting for the trailers when you go see the Guardians' movie this weekend.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Alters #3

Dec 23, 2016

If you are reading books like Ms. Marvel and Faith, you should be adding this to your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #28

Jun 9, 2017

This has been a quick and fun story arc that Slott and Immonen have put together. It doesn't have the operatic complexities of Slott's Clone Conspiracy story, but by focusing on the anger Peter Parker and Norman Osbourne have for each other, the rest of the battle just become a proxy for their ideals which are quickly lost in their own fight. The first issue of the arc was a little shaky for me, but the end is well worth it. Go back and read all four together.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
American Gods: Shadows #2

Apr 13, 2017

This is not to say that Russell's art is bad, it is good throughout most of the story, but it is just lacking that spark of something. And in this case, where the art

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Anno Dracula 1895: Seven Days in Mayhem #1

Mar 24, 2017

If you didn't pre-order this book, you should definitely consider picking up a copy from the shelf when you visit your comic book store this week. Even if you aren't a big horror fan, there is enough going on to grab you.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Anno Dracula 1895: Seven Days in Mayhem #2

Apr 19, 2017

Once again, Paul McCaffrey's art does a lot of the world building in the details of many of the scenes. Look for what the background characters are doing and the ads he places on walls to get a real feel of the horror of trying to keep your humanity when all around are monsters.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Avengers (2016) #9

Jul 6, 2017

I get that Waid and del Mundo wanted to explore what is happening with Thor, but couldn't they have had a way to work in any other Avengers? I love Thor and read her title regularly, but when I read the Avengers I want all the Avengers not just the solo story of one of them.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Back to the Future: Biff to the Future #1

Jan 26, 2017

This book is a fun read. It is funny and filled with double crosses. It is clear that everybody is looking out for themselves in this book. I just think I wanted to like the book more than I actually did.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #16

Feb 3, 2017

King's work on Batman has been impressive since he took it on. I really want to see where he is going.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #17

Feb 17, 2017

The art remains fantastic throughout the book and really sells the menacing tone of this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2016) #18

Mar 3, 2017

Even with King's misstep with parallelism, this book is still at a level that few others are touching. I can hardly wait for the two weeks until the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #7

Apr 28, 2017

While I think that the League of Assassin needs to all go on a cruise and take a vacation from all the Batman books for a while, I am intrigued to see where this story is going.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Battlestar Galactica: Gods & Monsters #4

Feb 16, 2017

I really wanted to like the series. Maybe I wouldn't be as hard on the comic if I never saw the show, but I have to figure that they are writing the comic for fans of the show and not just trying to develop a new fan base from scratch. Either way, the readers deserve to get something much better than what is being served here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ben Reilly: The Scarlet Spider #5

Jul 28, 2017

While, I've found that the previous Scarlet Spider books had their ups and downs, bring the clones together for this fight was worth it. This was the first issue of the series that I really liked from beginning to end. I have to say that if it wasn't for the creepy mask, I'd almost prefer Ben's new costume, but there is something wonderfully 90s about his classic outfit.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Big Trouble In Little China / Escape From New York #3

Dec 7, 2016

This has been a really fun and enjoyable series so far and I am looking forward to seeing how the second half of it turns out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Big Trouble In Little China / Escape From New York #6

Mar 1, 2017

If you haven't figured out how it ends, well then you never saw either of the cult classics this series is based upon. Because even though Jack never drives faster than he can see, Lo Pan gets one last twist in. And it's a doozie.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Big Trouble In Little China: Old Man Jack #1

Sep 20, 2017

Unlike some of the other comics, you don't have to have seen the movie in order to enjoy this book. It sets itself up pretty well as an independent story. But for those who know and love the movie there are additional payoffs. If you are looking for something enjoyable and fast to read, this could be the fun book for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Panther (2016) #12

Mar 24, 2017

I am sorry that this is the last Black Panther book where Stelfreeze will be the main artist for a while. But I am excited to see what the combination of Coates storytelling and Wilfredo Torres' art will bring starting next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Widow (2016) #12

Apr 4, 2017

I'm not completely sold on the tidy wrap up at the end, but I'd love to see Samnee and Waid take another turn at telling a Black Widow story again. This has been a fun series and a good focus on a character that everyone seems to love, but is so rarely used well.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Bloodstrike (2015) #1

Jul 26, 2017

This book is a good look at the excesses of the 90's and is interesting for a number of reasons. If you are a Liefeld fan, you probably already have this. If you want to find out what all the fuss is about when people talk about 90's comics, this is a prime example of the good and bad. Now, if you'll excuse me, I've got to dig out some old Jesus Jones and Blind Melons cds to complete this trip down memory lane.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Britannia: We Who Are About to Die #3

Jun 21, 2017

There is only one more issue to go after this one. Now that Axia has solved most of the mysteries, can he save his beloved Rome from the threat that it has brought upon itself?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Cable (2017) #2

Jun 29, 2017

Clearly, if you are curious about the X-Men or haven't read one of their books for a long time, this series is one place to start. I'm not sure how much of the other X-Men we'll see, but you'll at least get to know one of their cornerstones. If you have been missing Cable, this should be a natural pull for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cable (2017) #3

Jul 31, 2017

Have to say that I like it when comics do stuff like this. Just hop from one world to another in each issue. They give you enough to understand the basics of this world, but always leave you wanting more. I hope they continue with this even after Cable wraps up this story line. I don't care if Cable ever ends back in "modern" New York.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Cable (2017) #4

Aug 25, 2017

Well there is only one more piece of the time sword left and thanks to some Celestial tech using Mayans, Cable has a better idea of where it is than Conquest. Looks like this story arc is going to draw to a close with a bang.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Captain America: Steve Rogers #15

Apr 10, 2017

I'm really struggling to find something I like about this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Centipede #2

Aug 10, 2017

It is disappointing, in a way, that they could have done almost anything in turning this game into a story and yet they chose the most basic one. Even setting it on a distant planet and in the future are elements that they have introduced, but fail to take advantage of in any way.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Civil War II: The Oath #1

Jan 30, 2017

I understand that they want to get a jump-start on Secret Empire, but did anyone really think this was the way to do it?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Conan: The Slayer #8

Apr 26, 2017

If you are looking for a good place to start a Conan Story this issue is a good place. You really don't need the first chapter of the story, as that isn't as important to the set up as this one is. And it looks like next issue should really ramp up the action with Conan hunted by the Turanian army and everyone hunted by the devil in iron.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cyborg (2016) #7

Dec 26, 2016

The action packed train-ride of this story arc is quickly coming to an end and I can't wait for the next issue to see how this ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
D4VEocracy #4

May 31, 2017

I can only hope that the 4m3rich4n people end up with a president who can lead them out of this mess. It makes you look back in fondness at the President Roombo administration.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Darkseid Special #1

Aug 30, 2017

This book offers a great insight into Kirby for readers who have never read one of his books. While both of the original stories subvert some of the greatest characters that Kirby created for DC, they do so in a way that truly honors his stories and what he was about. And as a comparison they are juxtaposed with two shorter stories that Kirby himself wrote on similar themes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Death of Hawkman #4

Jan 10, 2017

This issue leaves the table set for the return to the first issue of the book with the Thanagarian invasion of Rann. (See what I mean about all the flash-back-forward stuff?) That leaves out heroes with the full plate of defeating the more powerful than ever Despero, stopping the planetary invasion, rebuilding Thanagar and fixing Adam's marriage. And they only have two issues to do it in.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #953

Mar 28, 2017

Christian Duce (Justice League, Wonder Woman '77) and Fernando Blanco (Midnighter and Apollo, Army of Darkness) take full advantage of the chaos in the story to lay out three separate incredibly kinetic fights. Each fight is visually different in terms of layout and style but they all work together in service of the story. And they put Gordon in a Hawaiian shirt.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dirk Gently: The Salmon of Doubt #3

Dec 8, 2016

I like the way that IDW has come at publishing the Dirk Gently comic books. Instead of running one long series going from mystery to mystery, they instead break each story up into five chapters and publish them as mini-series each with their own titles. This makes it easy for readers to know where they are in any particular story and if they want to pick up the rest of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doctor Who: The Eleventh Doctor: Year Two #15

Dec 21, 2016

Overall, this issue wraps up this adventure with the Doctor well and leaves the reader ready to hop in the TARDIS to see where Spurrier will take us next.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Doctor Who: The Twelfth Doctor: Year Three #2

Apr 27, 2017

The quality of the Doctor Who books varies greatly between all the books from teams that get their Doctor and his adventures spot on to ones like this book which is hit or miss. You really have to find a team that you like and follow them across the books rather than follow the version of The Doctor you like on television.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Eclipse #7

May 18, 2017

Kaplan, Timpano and Dispenza work together like a great trio. They seem to be feeding each other ideas and inspiration. It is especially impressive since both Kaplan and Dispenzea are new comers to comics. If you aren't reading this you should be. The first couple issues are available in trade for a quick catch up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ether #5

Mar 15, 2017

This is a book where the rational and the irrational are at constant war with each other. It is clear that Boone would always side with the logical, the real question is, can he remain true to his commitment to it?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Generations: Banner Hulk & The Totally Awesome Hulk #1

Aug 3, 2017

I was not a great believer in the Generations idea when I first heard it. But this book has really turned me around on it. I almost wish that there could be a Hulks mini-series that could take place during one of the many times that General Ross had to be pulled back to the Pentagon to explain how he could lose 100 helicopters and 300 tanks in a "training" exercise or what ever excuse he kept giving.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Generations: Captain Marvel & Captain Mar-Vell #1

Sep 15, 2017

I really enjoyed this story and how it brought the Marvels together " without compromising the tragic death of Mar-Vell. (I re-read that story right after my first read of this issue). If there is anything that does bug me, it is that Stohl's dialogue for Mar-Vell is more stilted than under Roy Thomas or Starlin. But that is a small quibble.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
George Perez's Sirens #6

Dec 14, 2016

This book is worth a read and it would pay to go through the bins to find the other issues of the series as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Godshaper #4

Jul 12, 2017

Only two chapters left after this to see if Ennay, Bud, Sal and Sarge can escape the Chicago mob and the Demonstrators. Will they make it to San Francisco? Can they ever find acceptance?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Grass Kings #3

May 10, 2017

If you are a fan of Briggs Land, Postal or even TV's Riverdale or Twin Peaks, you should be picking up Grass Kings. It has that small town with an unseemly underbelly vibe down pat. But I wouldn't write this off as a knock off of those other works. Kindt has something up his sleeve and I want to be there when he starts to pull out the aces.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Hornet: Reign of the Demon #4

Mar 1, 2017

I want to see Baal and Augusto keep on working on future Green Hornet series, but I would like to see them paired with a writer who is interested in doing more with the characters. Poor Kato is so underused in favor of the bland Swashbuckler that I really felt sorry for him. If you've gotten this far in the series, you might as well pick this issue up for completeness, but if you didn't read the previous issues, I'm not sure what is here for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Grrl Scouts: Magic Socks #3

Jul 21, 2017

As much as it mocks the comics of the 80s and 90s, Mahfood clearly loves them too. You should pick this book up. If you aren't reading it, get the first two issues of Grrl Scouts along with this one. You won't regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Guardians of the Galaxy: Dream On #1

Apr 21, 2017

This is a fun one-shot that is a good read, especially if you want a good Guardians story to get yourself psyched for the upcoming movie.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harbinger: Renegade #3

Jan 19, 2017

I really can't wait to see how Roberts is going to pull this all together.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harbinger: Renegade #6

Aug 9, 2017

How this story plays out into the coming war between the Renegades, the psiots under Solomon, and Omen's H.A.R.D.Corps will be interesting to see. It looks like they are clearing the game board of any unnecessary pieces in order to launch the second Harbinger War. It will be interesting to see who is going to make it to the start of the war. If anything, last issue proved that Roberts can be brutal in his housecleaning.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harrow County #18

Nov 29, 2016

The problem with this issue is that it can't stand on its own. It is solely an interstitial chapter in the ongoing tale that is Harrow County. As part of a larger story of Emmy coming to learn more about herself and the world around her it is fine.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Intertwined #3

Dec 30, 2016

The expressive way that Juan uses Wing Chun does recall Bruce Lee. But while there are references to Bruce Lee, Juan is his own character and more flawed that Lee was in any of his movies. I really enjoy watching Juan overcome those flaws on his way to be worthy of becoming the Spirit of the Earth. The biggest mystery I am left with in this issue is which spirit fixed Juan's window between issue 2 and 3.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Intertwined #6

Apr 5, 2017

The series clearly shows its roots in Bruce Lee movies, anime and other martial arts comics, but like the characters in the story, they have intertwined these elements and come up with something new. This is especially impressive in light of the clear missteps that occurred in Marvel's Iron Fist series on Netflix. Sapolsky and Chuong avoided the pitfalls to bring an interesting and new story to life.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
John Carter: The End #1

Feb 9, 2017

Will John Carter be able to reconcile with his wife? What will he find when he confronts his son? I guess we'll find out together.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
John Carter: The End #3

Apr 12, 2017

I am interested in seeing where this story leads. It is an interesting take on the ideas that Burroughs presented in the Barsoom stories without being a complete retread of the more traditional swashbuckler takes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jughead (2015) #11

Dec 5, 2016

While letterer's don't usually get much recognition for what they do, Jack Morelli really sells the Sabrina cut and paste spell joke well. I loved the old-school labels. It helps make the book such an enjoyable read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Kamandi Challenge #6

Jun 30, 2017

Orlando and Tan go a great job on both the first half and the second half where all the action and danger live. However they only have one page to introduce us to Renzi who is the mcguffin at the heart of the second half. The quick change of all the cast around Kamandi leave both him and the readers with abandonment issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Khaal #1

Jan 11, 2017

As I said, superficially Khaal can read a bit like Heavy Metal meets Conan. And it embraces those tropes, but there is something interesting if you want to look deeper at this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Kingsman: The Red Diamond #1

Sep 8, 2017

If you only know the Kingsmen from the movie, this six issue mini-series is a great place to meet the originals. If you are a fan of Millar's comic, there is plenty going on here that you can dig through and enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Lazarus: X+66 #2

Aug 24, 2017

If you've heard about the Lazarus series and were wondering if you'd like it, these one shots of the X+66 may be your perfect way in. Each comes with an introduction of who the characters are and their importance to the main story, but they each stand alone so you can get a real feel for this world. It might be worth spending the $3.99 before deciding on whether or not to go for the trades.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Magnus #4

Sep 21, 2017

Higgins and Fornes have really done something interesting in their interpretation of what was really a boring Gold Key hero. It is an engaging story. One that will keep you coming back with new questions about this world and it's hero. Hopefully they have some answers just as interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Masked #1

Nov 23, 2016

Crety's art references everything from Blade Runner to the Silver Surfer and Batman the Animated Series to 1984. But as with the writing, these add to the fun of re-reading this book. It is a book you will want to read again and again.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mister Miracle #1

Aug 11, 2017

This book is an interesting start to the limited series. I think that Kirby would enjoy what this team is doing with one of his characters. Scott was always one of Kirby's most morally complex characters, a feature that often got downplayed by other writers as they tried to separate him from the Fourth World mythology. I look forward to seeing the rest of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.8
Penny Dreadful #3

Jun 7, 2017

I am not sure who will be more disappointed in this story, hardcore fans or people who have heard so much about Penny Dreadful and try the comic to see what all the fuss is about.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Planet of the Apes / Green Lantern #1

Feb 1, 2017

Really there is a much simpler and better story to tell. What if Abin Sur had crashed on the Planet of the Apes and given his ring to Cornelius? You could have Sinestro trying to teach him how to use the ring as well as Cornelius trying to prevent the destruction of his world.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Postal #20

May 3, 2017

Is time drawing nigh for this small town of XXX people? This story arc may signal the end of Eden or of Laura's iron-fisted rule. There is only one way to find out for sure.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ragnarok #11

Jan 5, 2017

Simonson has used this series to explore what message are behind the Norse myths. They are not just a bunch of stories for children, but they have something important to show us about ourselves. He also is great at subverting our expectations of these characters and giving them real depth and pathos in this half-life of a universe. I can't wait to see how he will bring this all to its end.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Royals #6

Aug 18, 2017

Ewing and Libranda have clearly done a great deal of research into the Inhumans' history and they are using all of their various past adventures to play into this one that risks the very future of their race. They are laying the groundwork for a very big pay off as the series goes along. So far, the series is paying off each issue, lets hope all these issues lead to something different and unexpected for the Royals.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Satellite Falling #5

May 17, 2017

I really do hope that IDW gives Horton another chance to tell more stories set on Satellite. I would like to see what happens when he doesn't have to suddenly cram everything together. I think this issue could have been great if it had more room to breathe and not have to shortcut itself.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Savage #2

Dec 29, 2016

Two more issues left and I'll be getting them for the art, but I hope the story starts to pull through as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Savage #4

Feb 15, 2017

This series had real ups and downs for me, but I think that the second half of the series really improved on the set up in the first two books. If you skipped this series for some reason, it really pays off to see if you comic book dealer still has the back issues on the shelves. If not, then there is always the inevitable Valiant collection of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Secret Weapons #1

Jun 28, 2017

Despite these flaws, the book is an exciting read. Dealing with the continued fallout of Harada's fall, Secret Weapons looks at those who have been made the most vulnerable in the aftermath. It ends on a great cliffhanger that will leave you wanting the next book right away.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Secret Weapons #2

Jul 21, 2017

There are still plenty of mysteries to unravel, as wounds are healing, not the least of which is who are the real secret weapons and what is their target. This book continues to stand out on my pull list and I cannot wait for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sh*t My President Says #1

Aug 16, 2017

This is a funny book. You can't help seeing the images of the little child Trump in his big boy clothes trying to boss everyone around and not laugh. But underneath there is a real insight into the president that I don't think would be available in a standard biography. The tweets seem to offer a fascinating, unwitting insight into the differences between Trump's public and private personas.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spider-Men II #1

Jul 17, 2017

So now that Mile's romantic interest Barbara knows that the wild school rumors of Miles' running an underground casino, selling mutant growth hormone and /or being a 21 Jump Street cop are all fake will she figure out what he really does when he sneaks out of the dorm? Will Pete convince Miles to hang up the tights forever? Will Miles and Miles team-up?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star-Lord (2016) #2

Jan 23, 2017

I just hope that they keep the series grounded for a while before Alpha Flight decides to give Quill a spaceship and send him on his way.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.8
Superwoman #10

May 16, 2017

Perkins has a lot of experience with the various Super- titles and this seems like a slight stumble after a strong outing last issue when she took over the title. Let's be honest, this title has been a mess for a while and she has a big job on her hands turning this around. I really want to give her the benefit of a doubt and see if she can make this a consistently compelling title.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Tarzan on the Planet of the Apes #3

Nov 30, 2016

My one complaint with the series is that the first issue had a story line set in a different timeline where Tarzan protects the humans from the apes on the Planet of the Apes. This story seems to have been dropped from the second and third issues. I am hopeful that Walker and Seeley can tie that thread back in. They have two issues left.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Tarzan on the Planet of the Apes #5

Jan 25, 2017

I can't say enough about how much I love Fernando Dagnino's (Suicide Squad, Justice League: Generation Lost) art through the whole series and he doesn't let up at the end. Everything is lush and vibrant. His ape faces are great. I could tell the difference between Zira, Cornelius, and Caesar in every panel they were in. They all looked like individuals, which is often hard to do with humans in comics, let alone our simian cousins.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The Assignment #1

Jan 4, 2017

I will say that I found the art and color work to be the highlight of this book. The plays of the violent splashes of red against the dark and usually dull colors of the rest of the books are great and startling. The art really kept me going through this book. I am probably going to get the second issue with the hopes and Hill will be able to turn this around.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Black Beetle: Kara Bcek #1

Sep 7, 2017

In some ways, I prefer to catch The Black Beetle stories in the collected form due to the semi-irregular publishing schedule of the book. And this series certainly benefits from keeping the cliff hanger endings of each chapter, while letting the reader indulge in binge reading each addictive chapter. While having a slightly different feel than other Black Beetle stories, Kara Bcek is a great place to read the Black Beetle and decide if these adventures are for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Chimera Brigade #3

Dec 13, 2016

Gess' (L'Esprit du 11 janvier) art also reflect the sources of the time having strong Modernist elements throughout. His strong use of black and shadows reminds me of Alex Toth's art. It always draws your eyes to the point he wants to make.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
The Mighty Thor (2015) #17

Mar 17, 2017

If you haven't been reading Thor, I'd recommend not only picking up this issue, but grabbing the last two from the back issue shelves of your comic book shop. You'll appreciate the great work.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Mummy #2

Dec 23, 2016

I love the way that Freire mixes the classical elements of London architecture with the Egyptian elements in the visions and the cultists. It is a clever interplay of styles, especially after his dark vision of the Egyptian afterlife as the book opens.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The XII #1

Mar 23, 2017

The XII is being distributed digitally by Alterna Comics. At this point, I don't see that they have put this on their schedule of comics on newsprint for physical distribution.+

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Think Tank #1

Jan 5, 2017

They have succeeded in making me interested in checking out the trades to see more of the story. Although I am still open to the idea of a 21st Century version of Inspector Gadget…

View Issue       View Full Review
4.8
Torchwood (2017) #2

Mar 8, 2017

The problems with this book and series are the most common ones that plague adaptations of TV shows and movies. I really had hopes they would have overcome them. Sadly, they didn't.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Turok (2017) #1

Aug 2, 2017

I have to confess that I really haven't followed Turok since I was a kid, which was the Gold Key run, I think, and saw occasional books with him pop up. I know that everyone from Valiant to Dark Horse and even Dynamite have tried to revive and re-launch these characters. I don't know how successful this run will be, but this strange mix of technology and races may prove to be a version that can last.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Valerian #15

Apr 5, 2017

This book is a fun adventure and one of the better more recent Valrian and Laureline adventures. If you seen the trailer for their movie this summer and want to get to know more about them this is as good a starting point as any. After all, the series spans roughly 40 years of publication.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman '77 Meets the Bionic Woman #3

Mar 15, 2017

Pick this up from your local comic book store for a good, fun read.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #30

Sep 13, 2017

I really want to see where Fontana plans on taking Wonder Woman from here. The art, however, has really been the downfall of this run. I would score the book higher, but honestly I am getting tired of DC and Marvel not paying attention to a fundamental element of their books.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-O Manowar (2017) #3

May 24, 2017

If you haven't been reading Valiant or X-O Manowar, this series is an excellent jumping on point. You get to learn what takes Aric from being a savage Visigoth to becoming the most dangerous man in the universe, with or without his armor. That is a trip worth taking.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

September

August

More