Ari Bard's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: DC Comics News, AiPT! Reviews: 74
7.7Avg. Review Rating

10
Batman (2016): Secret Files #1

Nov 4, 2018

A great collection of stories that has flaws just like the central character. I recommend any Batman fan read this to get some great perspectives of the character in five great stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
DC Beach Blanket Bad Guys Summer Special #1

Jul 26, 2018

This is a really fun read and a nice way to take a break from some of the heavier comics with your favorite villains.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
DC's Nuclear Winter Special #1

Nov 28, 2018

Overall, it is a solid collection of mostly great stories written by a great selection of writers and drawn by a great selection of artists. It gets bogged down a bit in the middle, but I would recommend it overall.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
DC/Hanna-Barbera: Green Lantern/Huckleberry Hound #1

Nov 4, 2018

While a little scattered and awkward at times, Russell crafts a masterful story that has something for everyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Electric Warriors #4

Feb 14, 2019

Electric Warriors #4 does a beautiful job emphasizing the importance of individuality and finding a family at a time when entire races live and die from the consequences of a single representative.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Electric Warriors #5

Mar 21, 2019

Electric Warriors #5 initiates an epic conclusion between the Electric Warriors and Lord Preceptor that leaves the fate of the Intergalactic Compromise in question.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2018) #2

Dec 5, 2018

A fantastic issue that is somehow able to balance a grand scale heist story with a close-up police procedural. There are also plenty of great additions to the DC cosmic universe in both the writing and the art.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lantern (2018) #4

Feb 10, 2019

The Green Lantern #4 brings the spaghetti western to comics in a spectacular cosmic fashion that defines the true meaning of the words Intergalactic Lawman.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #48

Jul 11, 2018

Its a great issue and a great introduction to the final arc of Venditti's run. I can't wait to see how this epic battle ends!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
High Level #1

Feb 22, 2019

High Level #1is a natural evolution to dystopian sci-fi that existentially ponders the limits of human existence and the balance of practicality versus philosophy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
High Level #2

Mar 21, 2019

High Level #2 continues to craft a captivating journey through a cyberpunk future that tests the strength of willpower and faith.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League Dark (2018) #1

Jul 26, 2018

I have never been more excited to review a series, and reading this first issue only builds my anticipation. I hope Tynion makes sure that Justice League Dark stays this well-written for a long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League Dark (2018) #2

Aug 22, 2018

For anyone that like a little scare in their comics, I fully recommend this read. Once it gets over the hump of exposition, we might be in for a golden age ofJustice League Dark.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League Dark (2018) #3

Sep 27, 2018

Tynion is doing amazing things with the magical DC Universe and the horror comic genre. This series is my favorite thing DC is putting out right now and I can't wait to see how it continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League Dark (2018) #5

Nov 22, 2018

Tynion to a step inward from expanding the magical mythology of the DCU in order to focus on character, and it really paid off.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League Dark (2018) #6

Dec 13, 2018

Justice League Dark continues to present itself as a beautiful, well-thought out exploration of the magical DC Universe, this time with a lot more characterization and heart along with it. Each issue has something new and always leaves me wanting more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League Dark (2018) #7

Jan 16, 2019

One of the scariest and most entertaining issues yet,Justice League Dark #7 is a great take on the classic horror comic that could serve to be a little less wordy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League Dark (2018) #8

Feb 14, 2019

Justice League Dark continues to be a terrific, horrific, and underrated series that more need to appreciate.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League Dark (2018) #9

Mar 13, 2019

Its difficult to discern whetherJustice League Darkis redefining magic within its pages or whether this creative team's transformative ideas are magically writing the comic for them.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League Dark (2018): Witching Hour #1

Nov 4, 2018

A fantastic conclusion to an event that seemed to do everything right. If you like horror, magic, fantasy, over the top battles between god-like figures, or strong character and world building, I recommend this book to all of you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League: No Justice #1

May 9, 2018

A fantastic introduction to a new large event. I am looking forward to how all of these characters are going to get to work together and I cannot wait to see more. Luckily, I'll only have to wait a week.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League: No Justice #2

May 16, 2018

That being said, I am still on the edge of my seat and will continue to look forward to this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League: No Justice #3

May 23, 2018

I am being harsh on this issue because the first two set such a high standard. Hopefully the final issue really hits home for this otherwise amazing miniseries.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League: No Justice #4

May 31, 2018

This is as close to a perfect comic book as I have ever seen. It is entertaining in its own right while promising so many entertaining stories to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League: Odyssey #1

Sep 27, 2018

I know some mystery, intrigue, and questioning is a good thing in comics, but it does not feel like much of a team origin here. While Sejic's art steals the show, the fact that Williamson is simply throwing these characters into a high stakes situation without warning or explanation and hoping reader go along for a ride, and that is not good storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Justice League: Odyssey #2

Oct 25, 2018

The visually stunning artwork is only more disappointing wants you realize it is only an exquisite husk for a relatively empty interior devoid of meaning

View Issue       View Full Review
1.0
Justice League: Odyssey #3

Nov 28, 2018

This is a book without purpose. The book lost its artist after two issues, and even Williamson himself is ditching the title after issue 6. I have faith Dan Abnett will be able to give purpose to this team as he has to Aquaman and the Titans. Until then, the my outlook on the title is quite pessimistic.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Justice League: Odyssey #4

Jan 3, 2019

One more issue 'til Abnett. One more issue 'til Abnett. One more issue 'til Abnett.

View Issue       View Full Review
1.0
Justice League: Odyssey #5

Jan 30, 2019

This was a forgettable arc that calls into question this books entire existence. I sincerely hope Dan Abnett will prove why it has one.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League: Odyssey #6

Mar 1, 2019

Justice League Odyssey #6 is a fresh start that shows the potential of the great cosmic odyssey the series could be. The book isn't quite there yet, but with Dan Abnett at the helm, we are well on our way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Little Bird #1

Mar 13, 2019

Little Bird is an outstanding debut comic from Poelgeest, Bertram, Hollingsworth, and Bidikar that combines the real and surreal to form a Dalian interpretation of our future in only the first issue. Soar with Little Bird as we reexamine elements from our past, present, and future in an action-packed comic sure to inspire shock and awe.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Man of Steel (2018) #1

May 31, 2018

The villain feels like an instant classic, but some other aspects of the writing and storytelling definitely do not. Maybe my expectations are unreasonably high for Bendis, but I hope to see some better Superman in the issues to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Man of Steel (2018) #2

Jun 7, 2018

This is a strange one because its like a meal with some of the best side dishes I've ever had, but a lackluster main entre.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Man of Steel (2018) #3

Jun 13, 2018

Bendis continues to surprise me with how quickly and easily he is grasping one of the biggest characters in comics. If only every writer could approve and adapt like he can.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Man of Steel (2018) #4

Jun 21, 2018

Amongst all the changes and big news surrounding DC's comics and movies right now, I hope that Bendis and Superman will stay constant for awhile.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Man of Steel (2018) #5

Jun 27, 2018

The positives are great and the negatives are things I can look past for the time being. What matters write now is that Bendis is confirmed a good choice.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Man of Steel (2018) #6

Jul 5, 2018

I cannot be more proud to say that this is the first series/miniseries/run that I have reviewed from start to finish. I did not immediately jump on board the Bendis bandwagon just because he started writing Superman, but boy he did not hesitate to win me over. I was overjoyed when Superman was given a family as a new layer to his story, in fact, that is what convinced me to pick upAction Comics andSuperman. Now Bendis is adding new dynamics with Superman learning more about his Kryptonian heritage than he has in a long time, as well as a further look into his relationship with Kara. I think this series is a start to the next evolution of Superman and I could not be more excited for what is in store.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Martian Manhunter (2018) #1

Dec 5, 2018

Orlando and Rossmo pull off a brilliant introduction to a character-defining origin retelling centering around the importance of being true to who you are. J'onn J'onzz may not be from Earth, but this series will make us all a little more human.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Martian Manhunter (2018) #2

Jan 11, 2019

A magnificent second issue that builds upon the first while introducing us to elements of tragedy and connecting us to characters from a world away who may not be so different after all.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Middlewest #5

Mar 19, 2019

Middlewest adds another stop on this epic quest that will capture your heart through rich emotion and palpable atmosphere.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Pearl #1

Aug 17, 2018

Hopefully the story can paint a direction more clearly next time, but I highly recommend giving this book a try for the visuals alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Pearl #2

Sep 20, 2018

I didn't think I would enjoy a crime drama told through this medium, but I could not have been more wrong. Pearlis only two issues in, and it is already one of my favorite miniseries ever.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Pearl #3

Oct 17, 2018

A little more convoluted than previous issues, but still a great example of visual and written storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Pearl #4

Nov 23, 2018

Beautiful written and visual storytelling that is being told at a pace that is slightly too slow.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Pearl #5

Dec 20, 2018

Pearl #5 iscaptivating story of pain, beauty, and the relationship between the two with excellent written and visual characterization from Bendis and Gaydos.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Pearl #6

Jan 24, 2019

Pearl #6is a thrilling and rewarding conclusion to the first arc of a fantastic story of young love and organized crime told through brilliant writing and breathtaking visuals.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Pearl #7

Mar 21, 2019

Pearl #7 illustrates the limits of comic book storytelling through the crime narrative. Extremely down-to-earth while including an incredible amount of detail, its an eye-opening looks at Pearl and her relationships. Despite the fact that Pearl is about to face a much larger world while on the run, we the readers know her better than ever. Its an amazing book that turns flaws, imperfections and alterations into art and beauty.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Sideways #1

Feb 16, 2018

This is a solid first issue to a funny and lighthearted series. Hopefully they will do a little more to keep readers invested, but for now I can say that I am pleased enough to warrant reading another issue. I look forward to a more meaningful connection with Derek in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Sideways #2

Mar 16, 2018

The comic is still a little dry, but I don't have a problem with them taking their time to set things up.Sideways #2 showed us some good emotion, and I am excited to see the rest of the characters develop. The artwork improved for me in this issue and I look forward to the future of this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Sideways #3

Apr 13, 2018

The comics is making improvements in some areas and taking steps back in others.Sideways #3showed some good action sequences, but the series really needs to manage its tone better. I am not giving up on this series, but I am hoping things settle down soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sideways #4

May 10, 2018

This issue shows why readers should get behind the New Age of Heroes initiative. The series has improved with each issue and Sideways #4 shows how great an original hero like Sideways can really be. I hope the humor and character development continue to be captivating.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Sideways #5

Jun 13, 2018

I love DC comics with all of my heart, and it pains me whenever I have to give a bad review. Unfortunately this is on the worse end of comics I have read, but I am hopeful that they can pull things around.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sideways #6

Jul 11, 2018

Best issue yet in a series that's been very up and down for me so far. I hope to see more of the same in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sideways #7

Aug 8, 2018

I do not give out 5 stars very often, but this is the best issue of Sideways yet and I can't wait to see where this goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sideways #8

Sep 13, 2018

The dialogue could use some work, but in general,Sidewayscontinues to amaze me.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Sideways #9

Oct 17, 2018

While the story represents a bit of a setback for me, the fantastic characterization supported by solid art really helps drive the story forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sideways #10

Nov 22, 2018

Overall, a fantastic homecoming for Derek, Rocafort, and all of the street level elements that make this series great.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Sideways #11

Dec 13, 2018

A perfectly satisfying issues that is building up to the beginning of the end. There isn't really anything special, but I am excited for what is coming.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Sideways #12

Jan 24, 2019

Sideways #12 is a series of collisions that just don't work. Whether it be the past and the present, two distinct art styles, the stale and the original concepts of this series, or the surprising yet flat finale,Sideways #12does its best but largely doesn't fit and fails to impress.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Sideways Annual #1

Nov 7, 2018

Derek James remains the one great consistency in a series that has been very up and down for me since the beginning. Hopefully the series can return, quite literally, to being more down to Earth and support Derek James going on more local adventures, which is what he does best.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Unexpected (2018) #1

Jun 7, 2018

Honestly, I don't know what to think of this yet. There is a lot of good and some bad, but no matter what I am along for this wild ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The Unexpected (2018) #2

Jul 5, 2018

This comic is going to take a little while to get going, but I am a patient man so it's okay. I know that something this unique will definitely be worth the wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Unexpected (2018) #3

Aug 2, 2018

Slow and steady improvement is all a comic needs to keep me going, and this comic delivered improvement in spades. I can't wait to see how a new arrival to the series impacts things.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Unexpected (2018) #4

Sep 5, 2018

I love where the story is going and I hope it builds up to something soon. Orlando always has a plan, and luckily, Hawkman's presence in next issue is a lot more warranted.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Unexpected (2018) #5

Oct 3, 2018

This story is monumental, multiverse-threatening story you never knew you needed. Continue reading to see how our heroes face off against some of the baddest and most powerful villains of the multiverse!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Unexpected (2018) #6

Nov 7, 2018

Besides sometimes not following through with guest characters,The Unexpectedkeeps getting better and better.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Unexpected (2018) #7

Dec 6, 2018

An epic final showdown that everyone is sure to remember with unbelievable art from Ronan Cliquet, Jeromy Cox, and Carlos M. Mangual, but some confusing treatment of a promising character in Alden Quench.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Unexpected (2018) #8

Jan 9, 2019

Albeit a little rushed,The Unexpectedfinale bridges together numerous important events across the multiverse through a beautiful allegory of creation and destruction that highlights the importance of the artists in this world.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Twins (2019) #1

Feb 14, 2019

Wonder Twins #1 evaluates youth and its relationship to being a hero in ways other series do not by recognizing that young characters have just as much to teach their peers and elders as they have to learn.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Twins (2019) #2

Mar 13, 2019

InWonder Twins #2, Mark Russell, Stephen Byrne and Dave Sharpe use Zan and Jayna's fresh perspective to make important and insightful commentary on the prison institution. It's the comedy, wit, and political commentary ofLast Week Tonightnicely packaged in a superhero comic in order to inform as well as entertain.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman: Earth One #2

Oct 21, 2018

A masterful narrative that transcends the comic book genre and has a lot to say about society and ideology.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Young Justice (2019) #1

Jan 9, 2019

There are numerous adjectives once could use to describe the magic and wonder inYoung Justice #1.I'd like to focus on the masterful use of energy, panel to panel, page to page, and issue to reader, that Bendis, Gleason, and Sanchez create from start to finish, only making you want to start again.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Young Justice (2019) #2

Feb 7, 2019

Despite some characterization issues,Young Justice #2is full of intrigue, touching character moments, and witty humor. Pick this one up soon, or you'll bewondering why you didn't sooner.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Young Justice (2019) #3

Mar 8, 2019

Young Justice continues to be an exciting read full of surprises and wit, this time, with two stories in one.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

March

February

More