Chad Waller's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: We The Nerdy Reviews: 195
7.5Avg. Review Rating

10
A.D.: After Death #3

May 11, 2017

Congratulations Snyder and Lemire. Youve hit Neil Gaiman levels.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Alien vs. Predator: Fire and Stone #1

Oct 3, 2014

The entire story is packed with an art style thats a gorgeous blend of watercolor and pastel. Everything looks so vibrant! The Xenomorphs are creepy, the crazy half-android named Elden is horrific looking, especially when he smiles, and watching them all kill and maim is absolutely fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Alien vs. Predator: Fire and Stone #2

Nov 6, 2014

AvP:FaS Issue 2 sees the continued chase between Elden and Francis, and it is one hellova chase. It's a real shame that the dialogue just comes off so poorly. Still, the comic is worth the read. It's brutal, quick, and even manages to be creepy at parts. I have no idea how this is all going to end, and that's also a plus. There's nothing predictable here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Alien vs. Predator: Fire and Stone #3

Dec 2, 2014

The aliens (Xenomorphs, predator, and super predator) are too alien to truly understand. I couldnt hope to place their motives.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Alien vs. Predator: Fire and Stone #4

Jan 14, 2015

But I also feel like its too little too late, not when the past issues have primarily focused on Elden being an insane entity and Francis being a sociopath. To see both switch gears and wax poetic about philosophy is just out of place, even if the conversation is a good one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Alien vs. Predator: Life and Death #1

Dec 27, 2016

AvP:LaD #1 is starting off with a bang, and I mean that in a very literal sense. There are explosions aplenty. Its a good thing, and while the horror elements this comic had in its beginning pages have all but left, were now in for an action treat.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Alien vs. Predator: Life and Death #2

Jan 25, 2017

I guess the good news is that #3 is going into not one but two cliffhangers, and itll be pretty explosive because of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Aliens: Dead Orbit #1

Mar 24, 2017

The sales pitch for Aliens: Deadly Orbit reminds me of the gameplay to Alien: Isolation, and the thing about horror is that it doesn't work unless the reader cares about the main character. If that's what the first issue is going to do, then I guess I'm willing to wait this out in the long term. I don't know James Stokoe, but I do know Dark Horse. I trust them.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Aliens: Defiance #1

Mar 31, 2016

Aliens: Defiance #1 is a damn good start to what I'm hoping will be a damn good series. I trust Dark Horse with the Alien property though, because even with a few misses in their Fire and Stone series last year, they still managed to publish something worthwhile. They have a good track record.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Aliens: Defiance #2

May 27, 2016

It's always wonderful when a spinoff series knows its source material and does everything it can to keep things fresh while also paying homage to what worked

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Aliens: Defiance #3

Aug 17, 2016

From the get-go, Aliens: Defiance was a strong, worthy entry into the Alien universe. Issue #3 continues that. Theres a lot to enjoy here, and its a shame well probably have to wait two or three months for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Aliens: Defiance #4

Aug 31, 2016

All in all, Aliens: Defiance continues to deliver. After such a short turnaround from issue 3, Im really hoping this becomes the norm. Ill gladly read this every other week.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Aliens: Defiance #5

Sep 28, 2016

As an fan of Alien and Aliens (and the other two films really but thats a conversation for another day), I couldnt be happier. Were getting awesome stories set in this universe on a regular basis. Its so a good thing. Like, you dont even know how good it is. So good.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Aliens: Defiance #7

Dec 9, 2016

Listen, I really enjoyed the Fire and Stone run last year, and Im digging the hell out of Dan Abnetts Life and Death run this year, but Aliens Defiance is the best the bunch. Its a driving plot with big characters and tons of horror in between.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Aliens: Defiance #8

Dec 28, 2016

Aliens: Defiance #8 is one of those bridge issues, the kind where we take a break from action and mayhem to regroup, get our bearings, and maybe talk some back story. As far as global pacing"reading the entire series in one or two sittings"that's well and good, though as far as individual pacing, it runs a little slow.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Aliens: Defiance #9

Jan 26, 2017

Alien: Defiance is an amazing Alien series. Ive said this a bunch of times now. Ive purchased the first volume. Im out of things to say, so unless #10 and #11 really do something amazing or awful, Ill probably skip reviewing them. I can only gush so much before it feels like Im being a fanboy (which I am) or disingenuous (which Im not).

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Aliens: Defiance #10

Mar 29, 2017

Basically, Aliens: Defiance is great. There are only two issues left now, and Im hitting that strange spot where Im sad its almost over, yet eager to see how it ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Aliens: Defiance #12

Jun 20, 2017

Ill end this review with reiterating the first sentence: Aliens: Defiance as a series will go down as one of the great Alien comics. Brian Wood has given us a great show of terror, tough choices, great characters, and enough subversion to keep me on my toes. Its been a joy to read and review.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Aliens: Fire and Stone #1

Sep 18, 2014

Genevieve was a bit too comedic for my liking though. She just seems too optimistic given everything that is happening, and I dont find her stance realistic.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Aliens: Fire and Stone #2

Oct 29, 2014

Alien: Fire and Stone #2 is a step down, but the last panel gives me hope for better things to come. If nothing else, I feel compelled to read it just to see how Russell's story effects the other stories in Dark Horse's shared universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Aliens: Fire and Stone #3

Nov 25, 2014

On the Russell front, he seems to have turned into a hermit. Hes still talking to someone, but Im starting to wonder if this whole ordeal is slowly driving him crazy and the only person listening to him is himself. Hes beginning to feel unhinged. My biggest complaint of this issue might be how little time we spend with Russell. he's clearly the star of this arc, but he didn't get much page space here.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Aliens: Fire and Stone #4

Dec 23, 2014

Im a sucker for questions. Prometheus is my favorite movie because of that, and every story in this Fire and Stone shared universe has followed in footsteps that remind me of Prometheus. But while Im stuck waiting for an Engineer-knows-how-long amount of time for Ridley Scott to create the sequel to my favorite movie, I dont have long to wait for Dark Horse to finish what theyve started.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Aliens: Life and Death #1

Sep 22, 2016

When it came to the Fire and Stone line, I found the Alien section to be the weakest. It started off strong but its setting and strange attempts at philosophy just didn't work, and I suppose I only cared for one character, if that. When it comes to Life and Death though, it's starting off strong as hell, and I care about every character. There's also no philosophy to be found in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Aliens: Life and Death #2

Oct 19, 2016

Listen: Dan Abnett's Life and Death series has thus far been nothing short of awesome. He's taking some of my favorite properties and kicking all kinds of ass, and I'll sing the praises from here to LV223 if I have to. However, Aliens: Life and Death #2 is looking to be our first miss. It's not a large miss, more of a stubbed toe instead of a fall or a sprain or something equally bad that befits this metaphor, but it isn't great like the previous"what, nine issues? Still, its a bridge, and I think #3 will be where asses start getting kicked again.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Aliens: Life and Death #4

Dec 21, 2016

Plot points happen, and the arc does end, but there's something missing. It's unfair to hold that against Abnett though as there are five issues left before this whole story is done, but I suppose I expected something more final seeing as this is a four of four.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Batman (2016) #2

Jul 6, 2016

I'm not sure reading this as a dark comedy is the way the author intended, but as long as this dynamic continues, I can dig it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Hammer #2

Aug 16, 2016

I leave Issue #2 with a lot of questions, most of them involving the world and the ongoing plotline, but I'm far from unsatisfied. Yes, in a "normal" superhero comic we'd probably be much further along in our plot, but that's to the detriment of "normal" superhero comics. How these characters are reacting and dealing with being stuck is far more compelling than why and how. Its what makes this comic absolutely amazing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Road #1

Apr 15, 2016

Black Road #1 is a beast of a comic, one that dives headfirst into the darker parts of Christianity while also treating the whole subject with a ton of respect. Complexity is everywhere, from the characters to the world to the artwork itself, and I'm damn excited to see where this goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Road #2

May 18, 2016

I'm curious to see where this comic goes, because minor tropes notwithstanding, I really have no idea what to expect. Maybe that's why it's captured me like a Pokemon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Road #3

Jun 22, 2016

I wish Black Road would captivate me more, would make me adore it like so many other Image comics I read, but it has yet to do that. I will, however, keep chugging along with it. The quality is perhaps too high to miss out on.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Road #4

Jul 22, 2016

Black Road is a fantastic comic that hasnt quite gripped me like it should, yet Im glad I get to read it anyways. Theres something just so amazing about its execution that I need to keep coming back. Plus, it makes all of those DC Rebirth issues look pretty bad (not that the bar was set all that high there).

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Road #6

Jan 19, 2017

I guess I really dont know what to make of this issue. Like the others, its doing what it wants to do very well, and as far as plot goes, Im game. I certainly dont know where this story is heading, and thats always a nice bonus. However, I cant shake the fact that this feels like a pretty big shift from the first five issues. I miss the silence and the cold.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dark Nights: Metal #3

Oct 11, 2017

I dont know if Dark Knights: Metal is good. Id wager it isnt, but when I think of all my favorite bad anime, I really never want to call them bad. There is always something there, something fun and wonderful and wholesome that keeps my attention despite the nonsense. That is this comic. It is pure, pure nonsense and spectacle, and I guess thats pretty cool.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Dark Souls #1

Apr 20, 2016

I cant speak for Dark Souls as a video game, but I bet its a lot better than the comic adaptation thus far. Maybe this will improve as it goes, but right now, this is only worth reading for the artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Dark Souls #2

May 31, 2016

Issue 2 hasn't changed my main stance on this series then: It's really only worth reading for the artwork, which is still jaw-dropping amazing. This might be the prettiest comic I've ever come across. As a story though, you can do better.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #938

Aug 10, 2016

Detective Comics #938 is everything I want from a superhero comic. Its got the crazy violence, the crazy characters, the humor, and the dark to balance it all out. Its good, and I want more.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Doctor Crowe #2

May 30, 2017

The thing with being bland and generic is that its worse than being outright bad. Ill remember an awful book, and I might even read one just to marvel at the poor writing or character work. Ill never remember a bland book. Ill never grab Issue #3 to see if the quality gets worse because by the time its out, Ill have forgotten I read #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Doctor Strange / The Punisher: Magic Bullets #1

Dec 16, 2016

It is a charming idea, and the Punisher is at least fun to be around. Give him some demons to shoot and I'm game for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Elsewhere #1

Aug 3, 2017

Going in, Elsewhere #1 has all the makings of a good comic. It starts off with a prison break, no one is vomiting text, and the artwork takes center stage. However, it doesnt take long for a lethargic flatness to settle in, with dialogue that doesnt feel real, boring characters, and artwork thats wholly serviceable. Its uninteresting to the point where Ill forget I read it by the time issue #2 comes out.

View Issue       View Full Review
1.0
Flash (2016) #4

Aug 11, 2016

Barry Allen is more earnest than Green Arrow, more annoying than Harley Quinn, and more up his own ass than Batman. Every word from his mouth is obnoxious or obvious, and he never stops talking. Ever.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Gasolina #1

Sep 21, 2017

Ill end this thusly then: If my plot summary up above sounds intriguing, give Gasolina a shot. Theres a lot of promise here. Im hoping this is just an issue of setup blues and with our characters and world established, things can get monsterish and interesting. If not, well, it'll still be better than Batman Metal.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Genius Cartel #3

Oct 20, 2017

I'll stand by Genius Cartel though. I think this is a good book. Some of that might be based too much on comparisons to other Top Cow books which generally aren't, but the fact that this book can play with tropes I tend to dislike and come out ahead says a lot about the quality of the writing and artwork. I'm a fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Glitterbomb #1

Sep 10, 2016

Glitterbomb #1 is a great comic that I fully expect to be the start of a great series. The question now is: Do I collect this in single issues or in trades?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Glitterbomb #4

Dec 8, 2016

Glitterbomb is, as we speak, at a crossroads in its plot. It could go in about a thousand different directions, and all of them would be pretty awesome. I'm game for whatever Mr. Zub brings.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Glitterbomb: The Fame Game #1

Sep 19, 2017

The first arc of Glitterbomb was fantastic, a gross, horrifying look at Hollywood and what that environment can do to a person. This second arc is off to a great start, ready to tackle similar themes but from a completely new angle. I am so, so happy this book is back.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Grizzly Shark #1

Apr 7, 2016

Intelligence will not save you from a grizzly shark. Thankfully there are plenty of guns.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
GWAR: Orgasmageddon #1

Jun 7, 2017

I wanted to like this. I wanted to appreciate the joke. But I can't. There's too much going on, too many people with too many jumping set pieces, and the jokes never vary. It goes vulgar => blood; vulgar => blood; fourth-wall break, and then vulgar => blood again. Once you've read the first three pages, you've basically read the next 20.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Harley Quinn and Batman #1

Aug 2, 2017

Harley Quinn and Batman #1 is Saturday-morning cartoons at its most mediocre. I didnt find it funny, but I appreciate the artistic callback to the cartoons I did watch, and I appreciate DC trying a version of Batman that isnt dour as hell and a Harley Quinn that isnt obnoxious. Its fine. For a buck, I really cant say no, since thats a dollar. I pay more for a cup of coffee, and that takes less time to drink than this does to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hawkeye (2016) #2

Jan 5, 2017

Listen, thus far Ive had some fun with Hawkeye. Its laid back and silly, which is nice, but we all know that my head canon is just that: non canon. Eventually shell super hero her way in an exceptionally super hero way, and Ill hate it. Itll be boring and derivative because thats just how this rolls. Right now though, Im having fun pretending Kates incompetent as hell, and Ill keep reading until that stops being a thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Hellblazer (2016) #1

Aug 24, 2016

Hellblazer #1 is good but not great, but it's a first issue. It had an almost impossible-level of work to do, and the fact that it pulls most of it off makes me happy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
How To Talk To Girls At Parties #1

Jun 23, 2016

So yeah. HTTTGAP is really, really good, the exact kind of thing I look for in a Neil Gaiman story. Its got what I want, yet it changes just enough to make it stand apart from his other works. Its normal until it isnt, and really, isnt that what we want from any story?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
I Hate Fairyland #1

Oct 15, 2015

Ill be heading down to my local comic book store to buy this one. I need it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
I Hate Fairyland #2

Nov 17, 2015

If you passed on the first issue, you really, really should reconsider. I mean, assuming this kind of humor is your thing. But even if it is, theres still an interesting story to be found here. IHF twists a lot of what we know about fairytales on their head, and its not every day we get a story from the perspective of a sympathetic villain.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
I Hate Fairyland #3

Dec 16, 2015

Ah hell, Im gonna trifecta this comic and give it another 9.5. It put me in an insanely good mood.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
I Hate Fairyland #4

Jan 20, 2016

Guys, I LOVE this comic series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
I Hate Fairyland #5

Feb 17, 2016

Because these characters are deep, and not allowing them to breathe would be doing them a disservice.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
I Hate Fairyland #6

Jun 14, 2016

Basically: this comic is back and that makes me stupid happy (I'm drinking to celebrate), so you should go read this one because it's just the best. And to toast in the new arc, let us continue our own running joke of almost-perfect review scores!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
I Hate Fairyland #7

Jul 20, 2016

Around Issue 4 or 5 I worried that this comic would eventually get old, that the humor style would outstay its welcome. Thus far, that hasn't happened. Each issue has something new to it, some little slice of mystery or character development or world building that keeps me going forward. There's way more depth here than you might realize by just looking at the cover of this comic, and IHF is way more clever than it has any right to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
I Hate Fairyland #8

Aug 16, 2016

As of now, Im going to hedge my bets that this is a good thing, that the darker Gertrude gets, the more interesting places this comic can go. But I am worried that Ill one day stop liking her as a character. Being funny can only cover up so many sins.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
I Hate Fairyland #9

Sep 21, 2016

But damn, I do not want this to be the direction this comic goes in. A five-issue arc? Fine. Lets take some breathing room and just fluff about, but without agency, this comic loses a great deal of what makes it great.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jeff Steinberg: Champion of Earth #1

Aug 2, 2016

I didnt know what to expect going into this comic, but I came away a fan. Theres a ton of fun here, and if you can stomach some low-brow humor and a handful of obvious jokes that youve seen before, then theres a lot to love. Theres a great cast of characters placed in a fun plot, and while I have a few inklings on where this will eventually head, Im excited to ride that ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Jeff Steinberg: Champion of Earth #2

Sep 13, 2016

One could argue that retreading old ground was a necessary evil for JS:CoE to officially move forward. I wont be making that argument, but Ill acknowledge that it exists. Regardless, this issue is still pretty funny and with it out of the way, well hopefully be diving into some very crazy, very uncharted territory next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Justice League of America: Killer Frost Rebirth #1

Jan 25, 2017

Its a shame too, because I think there are some good ideas to this character. I wish her last name wasnt Snow because thats way too on the nose even for DC (plus it makes me think shes one of Ned Starks bastards), and I wish pretty much the entire plot were different, but I guess on the whole this book is no more offensive than any other bad DC Rebirth issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Kaptara #1

Apr 24, 2015

On the positive side, the world of Kaptara is off to a great start, being filled with some nice monsters and a race of aliens that combine sci-fi tech with fantasy weaponry. I really like that kind of stuff, and the art style sells it all very well. I like the look of this comic, and the coloring is really spot-on. When it comes to new technology and monsters, Ive a feeling the art team here will deliver.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Kaptara #2

May 19, 2015

Everything else though? Its all solid stuff. This one, I recommend. The first issue is a little rough, but Ive a feeling this ride will be totally worth it. Bring on Issue 3!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kaptara #3

Jun 26, 2015

Perhaps the most interesting part of the whole comic is that the Prince of Kaptara is actually given some character development. The first two issues, he's seen as a self-entitled, momma's boy idiot, but here, he's got a bit more to him. I like that, and it turns him from the butt of jokes to"well, a sympathetic butt of jokes! That's an upgrade.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Kaptara #4

Aug 7, 2015

If you're cool with this kind of humor - vulgar, offensive, and immature - then you'll like this series. Issue 4 does nothing but deliver on that, and at present, it continues to work.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Kill Or Be Killed #2

Sep 7, 2016

Thankfully, this is only number two, so theres one more issue for me to enjoy this mindful indulgence of violence and depression. But if issue four is more of the same, Ill probably just be bored.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Kill Or Be Killed #7

Mar 14, 2017

All in all, this and the last issue feel like necessary evils. KobK thinks it needs more characters, and now we have them. With that out of the way, they can start interacting, and hopefully, well be back to me adoring this series for the twisted, dark, edgy glory that I know it can be.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Mechanism #1

Jul 27, 2016

Im certainly going to be checking out issue #2. Now that the world and characters are set up and out of the way, the only place left to go is up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
My Little Pony 2015 Holiday Special #1

Dec 8, 2015

If youre looking for a nice mix of holiday cheer and MLP:FiM, then this comic will more than fill that void. Its quite nice.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
My Little Pony Annual 2014 #1

Sep 25, 2014

Just remember, this is Adam West Batman and not Christian Bale Batman. If you go in hoping for the latter, youll be very disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
My Little Pony: Deviations #1

Mar 8, 2017

I guess hes just a bad character. Shame he has a full comic devoted to him.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
My Little Pony: Equestria Girls Holiday Special #1

Dec 16, 2014

And she also has to realize that once high school ends, most friendshipsno matter how greatfizzle out as people move on to college. But then, she did try and mind control a bunch of students to take over the world in the first Equestria Girls movie, so Im not sure shes ever working with long-term goals. I just can't help but think she's in for a depressing dose of reality come graduation day, though that might be true of everyone. Friendship isn't actually magic in the realm of humans. What happens when Rainbowdash gets a soccer scholarship to one college while Rarity goes to a fashion university half the country away?

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
My Little Pony: Fiendship is Magic #3

Apr 17, 2015

On the art front, the comic looks alright, though there's nothing here that'll blow you away. For being strange-looking creatures, the Sirens all look good, and as per Ponies, there are always some fun facial expressions to be found. But on the whole, I found the backgrounds to be fairly lifeless, and I certainly didn't feel the need to reread the comic to appreciate the art like I normally do.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #10

Oct 21, 2014

The only real upside to the comic is Rainbowdash, who at least understands how silly the whole premise is. She spends plenty of time laughing, and Ill admit to laughing along with her.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #11

Nov 13, 2014

MLP:FiM:FF #11 isn't perfect, and honestly, its generic plot hurts it quite a bit. But I'll be damned, the art style and execution here are both very charming. Art has always been a saving grace for MLP:FiM, and that continues here. Couple that with some fairly strong personalities, and yeah, I had fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #12

Dec 12, 2014

On the art front, the comic looks good. It didnt strike me, but Ive become used to well-done ponies. Their designs just lend themselves so well to different interpretations. There are a few high-energy moments that I found hard to follow though, yet that almost added to the joke of it all. Pinkie Pie is crazy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #14

Mar 3, 2015

Aside from an overall solid story, MLP:FiM:FF #14 also introduces quite a nice cast of characters, and I hope a few return. By the Books and Hard Case are the two main police ponies, and they embody the roles of good cop/bad cop to a comical level. Mina, a pink dragon, rounds out our cast as the owner of a comic book shop. Shes fond of shipping reformed villains together, and in general, is a highlight.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #20

Sep 11, 2015

Honestly, Im surprised this one came so well, and of all the MLP comics Ive read, this is the one that should be transferred scene-for-scene to the show.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #22

Nov 5, 2015

At the end of the day, MLP:FiM:FF #22 iswell, exactly what it wants to be. Its cute, its silly, but theres not much else going on. I dont mind that though, because the MLP series leaves itself room for this kind of story alongside the currently running arc of Sombras scary return. We can have our cake and evil too!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #24

Jan 8, 2016

Award-winning? No. Fun? Yes. If you like your ponies extra cute, this one is worth picking up. Because oh my gosh, Jay Fosgitts rendition of Gilda is wonderful.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #29

Jun 9, 2016

This is a good one. It isnt quite amazing like some of the other MLP:FiM:FF (someone please kill that acronym with fire) comics, but its a darn good character piece with a lot of sweetness thrown in on top. Like a cherry, I guess. Pretty sure thats a phrase. Probably.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #30

Jun 29, 2016

The Friends Forever line of MLPcomics either work amazingly well as character pieces or are complete bombs. This one is a nice character piece on a princess that was in desperate need of some development.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #20

Jun 24, 2014

Issue 20 isnt bad by any means, and the darker tone would have worked much better had the jokes been placed further apart. Thankfully, most of the jokes do manage to land on the funny side despite it all, and the art style never stops being wonderful. Every character gets a chance at an amazing facial expression, and the obligatory final battle is quite pretty.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #21

Jul 17, 2014

However, there are some good things to be had here. Trixie is back, and shes true to form. I also liked the reappearance of Babs Seed. Theres a police chief pony with a moustache that looks like he should be hidden somewhere in Gotham City, and Applejack does a fine job of looking unimpressed throughout the first few pages. I spent a fair share of the book smiling, despite my gripes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #22

Aug 14, 2014

I feel like the art is better in this issue than the last one, though there are a few images that dont look right. Rarity has some moments of not looking like herself yet, but its less of a problem this time around. They never brought me out of the experience.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #23

Sep 5, 2014

My only complaint is the lack of dialogue, which is understandable given the cast. But no talking means the comic reads very quickly. Its a contained story, but theres less here to grasp than previous issues. However, the art is top notch all the way through (save some clumsy renditions of Twilight Sparkle), and its easily worth a reread.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #25

Nov 21, 2014

Twilights endgame plan, which doesnt involve magic at all, was also terribly stupid and clearly wasnt going to work. I get that this is the first issue in an arc and that the first plan isnt supposed to work, but this was just too obvious.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #27

Jan 28, 2015

I wont spoil it, but Im impressed on how well its handled thus far. Every side has been given a fair look, and it seems like Twilight Sparkle has found herself in a predicament with no easy answers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #28

Mar 18, 2015

All of my praise of Issue #27 still stands here: The art is fantastic, and the writers have managed to juggle multiple characters flawlessly, giving everyone the right amount of personality without slowing the story down. There are also plenty of background gags to be uncovered. Spike and Rainbowdash also deserve a nod for being awesome.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #30

May 22, 2015

MLP:FiM # 30 is alright. I had some fun, and the ending is a good mix of cliffhanger and amusing, but its far from the best this series has offered. Worth a buy if youre desperate for a pony fix.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #31

Jun 11, 2015

Like Issue 30, the artwork is serviceable, though unlike Issue 30, the writing this time isnt.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #32

Jul 22, 2015

However, if you can buy into the premise, the spotty artwork is the only problem here. Everything else is just damn funny. It treads the line into stupidity a good handful of times, but always in the best way, and Im really, really glad I read this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #34

Sep 18, 2015

The issue really is a quick setup and then a battle that spans the rest of it, and going into further detail would spoil the end. I can say that the first two pages of spooky exposition aren't well written, which is a shame, but that's the only real fault here. Everything else is fairly solid (though perhaps a little standard if I'm being honest) with some quality gags, a great Dirty Harry reference, and top-notch visuals.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #35

Oct 21, 2015

And in true four-issue arc fashion, this one ends on quite the cliffhanger!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #36

Nov 20, 2015

The good news is theres one more to go, and given the cliffhanger ending to this one, were in for an explosive treat.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #37

Dec 16, 2015

The comics are the one place where the norm can be brokenbecause Hasbro knows it hasbut its never broken enough. Its always safe and easy and in some cases, lazy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #38

Jan 12, 2016

We're starting these comics off on a high note, which is good because the show is on a hiatus and I'll need my fix somehow.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #40

Mar 17, 2016

Regardless, the comic is good. Really good, even. Its one of the more mature issues Ive seen of MLP:FiM , but it works with its content in a way that melds itself well with its cute art style and world.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #41

Apr 15, 2016

This ones worth grabbing if youre into these comics. I had a good deal of fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #42

May 11, 2016

As someone who has been reading these MLP:FiM comics for a strangely long time now, this is the best they have to offer. Easily in my top three, if not my all out favorite of them.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #43

Jun 15, 2016

I do think that this little arc has potential to grow into something quite fun though. The last three or so pages cliffhanger the story in the perfect way, so Im looking forward to seeing where it goes. As an entry point though, its flawed. Heres to hoping things improve.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #52

Mar 22, 2017

This comic is not deeply cynical, and Twilight Sparkle isn't an alcoholic, but it's still fun and worth a look if you like this property. #52 is also a fine jumping on point to this trilogy, as I had no problems getting into the groove of the story at all. It's Ponies. This isn't rocket science. Its probably more fun than rocket science though.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #55

Jun 20, 2017

This is a fairly solid MLP comic. It's not perfect, but it works with the new lore fairly well, and the artwork is solid throughout. No surprises there as Agnes Garbowska knows how to draw ponies.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #56

Jul 12, 2017

To end where we began, in typical MLP:FiM fashion, weve ended on a sour note, and in typical MLP:FiM fashion, that neednt be the case were this a three or four issue arc instead of two. Nuance and logic go out the window when you only have 22 pages to solve a war.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.5
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #58

Sep 12, 2017

2017 has been a rough year for My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic. The shows writing has fallen, and the comics continue to be hit/miss. This is another one thats a miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
My Little Pony: Legends of Magic #1

Apr 11, 2017

At least Sunburst is in it. Remember Sunburst?! I didnt until he showed up. I like him well enough though, so bonus points for Sunburst!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
My Little Pony: Movie Prequel #1

Jun 27, 2017

My Little Pony: The Movie Prequel is a complicated piece of media. Its a prequel to a movie that isnt out yet that mostly works. I like the Storm King, though Im a bit worried about how dangerous he really is given some of the writing/framework that goes into this book. If MLP is going to get a full-blown movie, it needs a badguy to match. The Storm King? Well see. Thankfully the rest of the book is a lot of fun, and the artwork really sells everything it needs to.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
My Little Pony: Movie Prequel #2

Jul 25, 2017

MLP: TMP is starting to get its sea legs (yes pun intended), and its getting me excited for new world building and characters. Im still a bit worried about the movie itself, but the comic books? Smooth sailing ahead! (Ill stop now.)

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
My Little Pony: Movie Prequel #3

Aug 22, 2017

I imagine the goal of these movie prequel comics is to get people to want to watch the movie. Mission successful there. But really, this is more than a glorified commercial. The character work on display is some of the best Ive seen from this property, and the artwork is a nice mix of endearing, expressive, and adorable. Its really just a solid comic from start to finish.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Neil Gaiman's Troll Bridge #1

Sep 22, 2016

Troll Bridge is a wonderful piece of fiction thats not quite as fun or enthralling to read as it is to think about. Its one of those stories. That isnt so much a flaw as it is a fact, but the comic book lexiconand my bookshelfhas room for these types of stories. Theyre important. Theres a reason fables are remembered and passed down from generation to generation. This is one of those.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
New Superman #4

Oct 12, 2016

New Superman #4 is another great installment to a comic that I hope is getting the love it deserves. Its both fun and smart, which, you know, is what I want from a superhero comic. Fun first though! I have my priorities.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Nightworld #2

Sep 3, 2014

But Nightworld is up to something, or at least I think it is. Both issues have been filled with almost clever wordplay, and both issues have been nothing but dichotomy after dichotomy. Night is treated like the day, Plenilunio and Hot Spot are clearly opposites, Plenilunios design counters his attempt at acting human, the death of monsters makes more monsters, etc. Alongside that, there's something new going on with how this comic depicts demons, Hell, and deals with the devil. I'm curious to see where that goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
1.0
Nightworld #3

Oct 1, 2014

The only highlight of the issue is Hellena (I see what you did there Nightworld), who decides to exposition-vomit her life story for a distraction. Her motives are actually pretty cool, though Im not sure if thats an accident at this point. Nothing else about this comic is coolor good.

View Issue       View Full Review
1.0
Nightworld #4

Nov 4, 2014

I am honestly baffled at how awful this whole thing has been.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Plastic #3

Jun 21, 2017

At the end of the day, Plastic #3 is another twisted chapter in this very twisted tale. Its gross and brutal, but its also unique as hell and charming to boot. If youre not laughing, youre horrified in a good way, and sometimes your face breaks because youre trying to do both. Bring on issue 4.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Plastic #4

Jul 25, 2017

However, Im used to more than that from this comic. Its Edwyn killing bad guys that are way worse than him (and the author goes out of his way to make the bad guys really unlikable). Its nothing new. I feel like with only five issues to tell a story, each one should really strive to do something different, to make each chapter in the short journey memorable. This one doesnt do that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Predator: Fire And Stone #1

Oct 22, 2014

Theres a ton of action to be had here, though some fight scenes are a bit hard to follow. There are also a couple of bouts of very bad dialogue. Neither really hurt the comic, though the former slowed down the momentum some and the latter made me shake my head.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Predator: Fire And Stone #2

Nov 18, 2014

Like the previous P:FaS issue, the art is solid though sometimes hard to follow. I really like the jaggedness to everything. It feels dirty, yet in the best way possible.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Predator: Fire And Stone #3

Dec 17, 2014

The art remains as solid as ever, being gritty and grainy while also showing a lot of emotion. Theres one fight sequence thats a tad confusing, but much better than some of the previous sequences which really lost me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Predator: Fire And Stone #4

Jan 28, 2015

I went into Issue 4 of P:FaS hoping for some kind of twist, but there arent any. Theres a fight sequence that plays a bit too heavily on some Predator tropes at points, and then the issue ends, somewhat happily but still open enough for the final installment in two weeks. I wanted a bit more substance, but Im happy with what I got regardless.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Predator: Hunters #1

May 3, 2017

I am hoping that Hunters #1 just has a bad case of first-issue blues and the mini will really take off next time. Im not entirely sure it's capable of that, but Ill be around for the next issue just in case.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Predator: Life and Death #1

Mar 3, 2016

There are 16 more issues in this story, meaning 2016 is going to be a good year.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Predator: Life and Death #2

Apr 6, 2016

Im still hopeful for a turnaround though. The characters and dialogue are too well written for this to turn into a boring plotline.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Predator: Life and Death #3

May 6, 2016

While P:LaD #3 has some slipups in the middle, it's still a very solid comic with some very solid ideas and artwork. I like that it's breaking some molds to the series, and I'm excited to see how it ends and what series comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Prometheus: Fire and Stone #2

Oct 15, 2014

As far as shared universes go, this one is a bit too chaotic and messy as of right now. I really shouldnt know the end of this four-issue arc simply because I read the first issue of a different arc; however, the content here and in the first issue of P:FaS is entertaining. Im looking forward to more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Prometheus: Fire and Stone #3

Nov 11, 2014

As I look at P:FaS Issue 3, I cant help but wonder which Fire and Stone miniseries has the best art. Its hard to tell, as each has its own style, and each style is executed near flawlessly. I believe Juan Ferreyra does the Xenomorphs the best though, at least in terms of detail. They look spectacular.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Prometheus: Fire and Stone #4

Dec 9, 2014

If you haven't gotten into this whole Dark Horse shared universe thing yet, you really aught to reconsider.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Prometheus: Fire and Stone - Omega #1

Feb 11, 2015

Im going to sound like a hypocrite right now, because I didnt like the open endings of the previous Fire and Stone comics, yet Im quite fine with the way FaS:O ended. I feel like theres more reasoning here for an open ending, one where happiness isnt escape but a revelation. I wont blame anyone for feeling different on the matter, though.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Prometheus: Life and Death #1

Jun 7, 2016

Solid and fun. This went from a gung-ho marines vs. aliens story to a survival horror affair, and it did so pretty seamlessly. Thats cool.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Prometheus: Life and Death #3

Aug 9, 2016

P:LaD #3 brings back my favorite bits of Fire and Stone and keeps on chugging forward. Im really excited to see where this goes, because damn, theres a lot left in this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Prometheus: Life and Death #4

Sep 15, 2016

P:LaD #4 is awesome. It ends on a monster cliffhanger, but the next issue is right around the corner. I'm so very, very excited for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Prometheus: Life and Death (One Shot) #1

Apr 28, 2017

This Prometheus One Shot then, is just the falling action"a necessary evil"and one with no real emotional weight to speak of. That all happened last issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Quake: Champions #1

Aug 9, 2017

At the end of the day, Quake: Champions isnt a bad story, and the art is monstrous in its execution. I had some fun. But like with all video game tie ins, it falls short on the writing front, with some poor choices, poor dialogue, and simply too many words per page. A little less talking and a little more violence, please. This is supposed to be an arena shooter. The most we say is “GG” at the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rat Queens (2017) #5

Aug 17, 2017

I started this review comparing Rat Queens to I Hate Fairyland, but won't end by picking sides because we live in a world where both exists. That's pretty rad, right? Two awesome, hilarious fantasy books ripe for the reading!

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Reborn #3

Dec 14, 2016

Reborn #3 is so entrenched in bad high fantasy that only a complete genre flip could save it at this point. I dont see that happening though, because that would require something interesting to happen.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Reborn #4

Jan 30, 2017

And if I'm somehow wrong about that, well a big shift ten issues from now won't make issues two through four retroactively good. Bad writing is bad writing. This is bad writing

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Reborn #5

Mar 22, 2017

Reborn remains bad, and no one is surprised. So, let's continue the guessing game! #6 ends the series, and I predict these two things will happen: One, it will end on a dues ex machina; two, Bonnie's mother will be the evil chimera the big-bad is boning off screen.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Reborn #6

Jun 7, 2017

I tip my stupid looking biker/space helmet to you, Reborn. I then take that helmet off my head because it looks stupid.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws: Rebirth #1

Jul 28, 2016

Still, as far as Rebirth issues go, this is actually a good one. Its not quite Constantine or Wonder Woman levels, but it does what it needs to do competently enough. I had fun with it, at any rate.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red One #1

Mar 20, 2015

Red One is off to a fantastic start on every front imaginable. Here is a comic with something to say, and honestly, picturing our consumerist culture from the eyes of a poor communist is a shocking experience. We as a society need more works of art like this, because whether you agree or not isn't the point as long as you're prompted to step back and think about something more than vapid explosions and sex appeal.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Red One #2

May 1, 2015

But the worst of it all is the ending, which is a massive cliffhanger. As an Issue 2 goes, thats normally fine, but Issue 3 isnt going to be out until Spring of 2016. Thats an insane wait for a payoff that no longer seems to be worth the investment.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Rick and Morty #27

Jun 28, 2017

Now, the book itself isnt what Id call bad. The premise is fairly spot-on Rick-and-Morty shenanigans, playing off sitcom tropes and ending in the only way Rick and Morty can end. There are even references to Aliens. I had some fun. But the magic just isnt here, and Im more than patient enough to wait for the show to start up again. I dont need a Rick and Morty supplement.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rock Candy Mountain #3

Jun 8, 2017

On the whole though, Rock Candy Mountain is a swell comic that is, by and large, just really unique. The setting is rare–one thats probably been done before but not in anything Ive seen recently. I like the characters, I adore the artwork for its cartoon simplicity, and Im eager to see where it goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Romulus #2

Nov 30, 2016

By that logic then, I owe Romulus one more chance. But lets be real here: The bar I mentioned before is buying a house in mole people city because it knows its going to be living there forever.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Romulus #3

Dec 30, 2016

Thats our protagonist. Next issue shell do something plot-stupid and succeed because Mary Sues are gonna Mary Sue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Royal City #2

Apr 19, 2017

Royal City is…really, really good. It's so not the comic book norm–mostly in terms of quality–but man, wouldn't it be nice if it was?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Royal City #4

Jun 20, 2017

And that in itself is as real as a ghost can be. Growing up. Getting older. Dying. Existential dread. Letting go. The first four are easy, but how on Earth do you do the last one?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Royal City #5

Jul 20, 2017

Royal City will be going on a hiatus after this issue, and while this first arc isnt ending with a bang, Im still left satisfied and ready for more. For good or ill, Ive grown attached to these characters and this place, and I want to see them through this journey. I hope they find whatever it is theyre looking for.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.5
Samaritan: Veritas #1

May 24, 2017

Honestly, I wish these schlocky Top Cow books were just a bit better so theyd be amusingly bad and not just a chore to get through. I almost stopped at page 8, then again at page 14, and then again at page 20. Its funny to see so much bad storytelling in one place in theory, but in practice its really just depressing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Scales And Scoundrels #1

Sep 6, 2017

Scales and Scoundrels #1 is a perfectly fine first issue to a comic book I have no real interest in continuing. It's a kid's book, or at least masquerading as one, and while it has the art style and charm to draw older audiences in, it lacks the character work to make them stick. I don't expect to come back, but if you have kids who want a fun fantasy romp, this could be worth following. I'd say its a cut above the competition in that regard.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Spencer & Locke #1

Apr 11, 2017

Were this book in on its own joke, it might work. It isn't, though, and there's no joy to be had because of that.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Spy Seal #1

Aug 16, 2017

Perhaps this would have worked better as a webcomic.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Suicide Squad / The Banana Splits Special #1

Mar 30, 2017

I dont know who this book is for, and I dont know why it exists. Im not even sure why I Im here. Snagglepuss, I guess, but I could have just skipped to the ending like an actual adult. God knows I dont like the Suicide Squad or care about the Banana Splits. Perhaps deep down I had hoped for something really strange, stupid, and fun, but Im far too cynical to think DC could actually deliver on that promise.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Teen Titans (2016) Annual #1

Jun 2, 2017

I guess the TL/DR is that this is less of a bad comic and more one that shouldn't have #1 anywhere near it. It's not a #1. It's also not a one-shot annual which is usually what that word means. Annual. Once a year. There's plenty of plot from last week, last month, and last year too. More plot will follow next week.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Autumnlands #4

Feb 17, 2015

In the end, Issue 4 is good and worth your time. Its really nice to see Dusty get some major screen time, especially since hes supposed to be the storys narrator, and the Goodfoot/Sandorst sublot is still amusing, even if it doesnt tread any new ground. There are a lot of places TA;TaC could go, and I honestly dont know which is the most likely. Its nice to know there are plenty of surprises in store for us yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Autumnlands #5

Mar 25, 2015

I cant help but realize that all of this work is for something that, ultimately, is insignificant in the grand scheme of things. Goodfoot and the Buffalo Tribe are but minor problems in comparison to Learoyd being stranded in a place utterly foreign to him and a world thats rapidly losing magic. TA:TaC is looking like a series that will run for a long, long time, and if Kurt Busiek can keep the likes of a simple tribe of Bison interesting and threatening, then this comic is going to become an absolute masterpiece when something really devastating happens.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Autumnlands #6

Jun 4, 2015

If my biggest problem is, I want to read more, then I know Im engrossed in a good series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Autumnlands #7

Nov 11, 2015

So, there you have it. Im elated that this series is now back in my life, and I cant wait to get off work tomorrow and go pick this issue up at the local comic book store. Slowly but surely, well be heading somewhere awesome; I can feel it!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Autumnlands #8

Dec 18, 2015

Also, there are some Scottish speaking rams which is all sorts of fun. Come for the world building, stay for the Scottish speaking ramsthats my motto!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Autumnlands #9

Feb 10, 2016

So while our main plot hasn't moved much, one of our main characters is seeing some development. Plus, there's a whole village of adorable, talking sheep who like beer. That's worth some time, I should think! Oh, and the artwork is really good. Cant forget to mention that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
The Autumnlands #10

Apr 15, 2016

When you get right down to it, TA:TaC #10 is really good just like all the others. The story is going forward, and in this case, faster than normal. Awesome. But like with Wayward, I can only imagine that if you've made it this far, you're going to keep reading. This means that I'm giving this comic my big ol' stamp of approval and not reviewing any more of them. There's no point in drunkenly repeating myself over and over.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Black Monday Murders #2

Sep 16, 2016

I get that this review is kind of vague on the details, but I honestly dont know how else to talk about BMM. You kind of just have to read it. Which you should. Its great.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Black Monday Murders #4

Nov 22, 2016

Black Monday Murders is my monthly highlight. I both dont want this comic to go on forever because thats a big commitment, yet Im also glad its showing the potential for a sprawling story with more intrigue and magic in the background. I want to stay in this world awhile longer.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Black Monday Murders #5

Apr 28, 2017

The best part about BMM is that it has the page space to properly pace everything it needs to do. A conversation about black magic, blood money, and Judas can take six pages and feel natural. There's room for awkward looks away, room to stir a cup of coffee and think before answering, room to be bewildered but not show it at first, and room to finally agree because in this world, facts are as strange as fiction.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Damned #2

Jun 14, 2017

The Damned is a solid mobster book with plenty of charm and new ideas that set it apart from the genre it calls home. I'm happy to be reading it, and I'm hoping the rising supernatural elements allow it to keep me on my toes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Damned #3

Jul 27, 2017

I feel like when it comes to this comic, I dont have all that much to say. Its a fun story with a fun world. Its a nice bit of optimism crossed with cynicism. It does things right. Good enough, as this guy I knew who ran a library would say.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Hunt #3

Sep 28, 2016

This is a terrible review. I don't know how to make it good though, because reading The Hunt just puts me into a happy mood where I want to gush over it and not care that what I have to say is half-baked nonsense.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Hunt #5

Dec 20, 2016

The Hunt has always been a hard comic to talk about. I look at Wayward or The Autumnlands and feel compelled to analyze them, to break them down into their respective parts and examine everything; for this comic, I have no such inclination. I just want to read it. It's a fantastic story with some fantastic characters, and while it doesn't force any extra mental gymnastics, I don't see that as a flaw. Good fiction is good fiction.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl (2015) #1

Oct 27, 2015

I'll be honest, I'm not quite sure how to judge Issue 1 of The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl because I don't entirely know where it's coming from. It's hard to tell where the joke ends and an actual story begins, especially given that Doreen is now a New Avenger. She clearly has a bigger part to play than a one-beat joke. But as a one-beat joke, the issue certainly has charm, and I'm willing to follow it a little further to see where it might go.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Underwinter #2

Apr 25, 2017

As to the plot of the thing, well, all you need to know is that the four players have been invited back, and the money is just a little too good to turn down. Everything else is, well, fractals. We are protected. For now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Underwinter #3

May 23, 2017

That being said, the issue is great. Its got that skincrawling tension of the first two in spades, and the one action scene is wonderful in Fawkes art style. I hope we see more blood, because these water colors suit it well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Underwinter #4

Jun 27, 2017

Underwinter isnt a book for everyone. There are times when Im not sure if its actual high art or pretentious and really good at pretending, but I love it either way. Its absolutely brilliant.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Underwinter #6

Aug 22, 2017

Underwinter has been some of the best Lovecraftian horror Ive ever read. Ray Fawkes has truly added to the genre, and hes used every facet of the comic book medium to do so. Ill admit that this series comes with a learning curveit asks a lot of its readersbut for those up to the challenge, the reward is a comic unlike anything I've ever read yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Venom (2016) #1

Nov 23, 2016

There's your bookend for Venom #1. Everything in the middle is a big heaping pile of, "I don't care."

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wayward #1

Aug 27, 2014

The last few pages of this comic are actually straight text. The writers have set Wayward in Japan, and they want their audience to know more about the culture and the mythologies present. At first I frowned, wanting more comic over a history lesson, but it didnt take long for me to enjoy the information given. Mythology is fun, and from the sounds of it, Japan has an amazing lexicon to work with. Once again, I look forward to more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Wayward #2

Sep 24, 2014

A new character is introduced this time around, a boy named Shirai. Im not quite sure what role he will ultimately play, though he has his own strange powers to him. Im sure they come with a turbulent past as well. My worry is that hell become some kind of love interest and Wayward will devolve into teen romance. That worry is probably unfounded, but it is there.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Wayward #3

Dec 31, 1969

I also can't help but feel that Wayward is just genre savvy enough to pull all of this off too. There are little blips of internal dialogue from Rori that give me hope. There's also a nice little twist at the end that makes me think this comic series will veer into a direction I cannot predict, well-tread path or not.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wayward #5

Dec 18, 2014

And all of the action is great. Steve Cummings nails every aspect of the choreography, creating sequences that are both awesome to look at and easy to follow. Theres plenty of tension and spectacle, and I cannot find a fault with any of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Wayward #6

Mar 25, 2015

The art too, is still fantastic. The battle at the end looks great, and some of the strange paranormal events that Ohara experiences are all great looking. In terms of quality, nothing has changed here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wayward #7

Apr 29, 2015

I also want to give a quick mention to the essay at the end of the comic. Like the other six before it, Wayward features a small writeup about Japanese culture/mythology, but this one about Japan's Obon Festival is particularly compelling and well written. If you've skipped these in the past (for shame), make sure to not skip this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Wayward #8

May 28, 2015

I love Wayward, and Issue 8 doesnt change my opinion of that. Bring on issue 9.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wayward #9

Jun 25, 2015

Despite its somewhat confusing beginning, Issue 9 of Wayward is fantastic. This is how you do a buildup comic. You make me love the characters more, and then you make me worried that they're all walking into danger.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wayward #10

Jul 30, 2015

That all being said, the comic is fantastic, made even better by the last couple of panels when Rori and Shirai show up. The speech Rori gives is perfect in both how it ends the arc and how it encapsulates Wayward as a whole. This is American Gods set in Japan.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.8
Winnebago Graveyard #1

Jun 15, 2017

I feel like I have to reiterate that I dont mind strange or bad artwork. I adore Underwinter which is as distorted and surreal as you can get while still being coherent, and I do like Extremity. That book works well with its style. But at a certain point, distorted and vulgar stop working, and thats this book. Its unpleasant to look at. This makes it unpleasant to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Wolf #1

Jul 27, 2015

Starting off by comparing yourself to True Detective and Sandman is nothing short of ballsy. With only one issue under its belt,Wolf hasn't reached True Detective levels yet, and I certainly don't think it'll ever compare to Sandman, but that's okay. I don't think any other comics really will. So far, it's hitting Neverwhere levels though, and that should be high enough praise for anyone to go out and buy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wolf #3

Sep 23, 2015

Wolf is very much a comic that moves at its own pace and expects you to keep up. This has turned into one of its biggest strengths yet also one of its biggest weaknesses. Still, I look forward to Issue 4. Theres a lot of mystery left to unravel, and the new problems introduced in Issue 3 are only going to get worse.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wolf #4

Oct 22, 2015

As a comic series, Ive grown to like Wolf despite its strange story pace and its purposeful vagueness. The world the comic inhabits is still wonderful, and Wolfe is still an interesting protagonist. I do think, however, that this is a series best fit for a trade paperback, where you can have all the issues bound together in one book. Itll make it easier to flip around at your leisure if you get confused and need to cross-reference an older comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Wolf #5

Jan 21, 2016

Issue 5 of Wolf is the best issue this comic has had to date. I think this arc will pull ahead of the last one, which is really cool.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Wolf #6

Feb 24, 2016

But the big promise in Issue 7 could have realistically started in this issue, I think. Instead, we have to wait another month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Wolf #8

Jun 9, 2016

I missed out on a Wolf issue and somehow stumbled back into the comic with one of its strongest to date. Kind of funny, now that I think about it. Wonder when the trades come out

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wolf #9

Jul 21, 2016

As a comic, I really like Wolf. Its strange and confusing and not always pretty, but it has been a good read so far, and Im really excited to see where it goes. If youre reading, then you should be happy with this one, even if whats going on is about as clear asI got nothin. Pretend I just said something clever.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Wonder Woman: Steve Trevor Special #1

Jun 12, 2017

The whole thing reads like some drunken fever dream of plot and dialogue that only casually matches up. It's a speed dating of two different books. Half of it is trying to be smart and witty, with children that live forever and some supernatural shit, and the other half is just bad DC writing with Trevor playing the straight man alongside awful villains.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-O Manowar (2017) #1

Feb 28, 2017

Still, my few complaints here arent damning by any means, and I very much enjoyed my time with this comic. Its a great dose of action done up in some pretty artwork, and while the narrative isnt complicated, it makes up for that with stabbing and explosions. Sometimes thats all you need.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

October

September

More