Comics Are Not Dead's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Are Not Dead Reviews: 172
7.7Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Action Comics (2011) #13

Oct 13, 2012

Action Comics #13 is a great standalone issue, with some very touching moments littered throughout. Do NOT miss out on this if you're a Krypto fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Action Comics (2011) #19

Apr 6, 2013

Action Comics #19 is sort of a triumph. It was a very fun issue, despite it's flaws. Pick it up if you're a Superman fan looking for a good time.

View Issue       View Full Review
0.0
Action Comics (2011) #22

Jul 5, 2013

Action Comics #22 is a failure. I don't see why DC continues to give Lobdell work. I'm done. From now on, no matter how much I'm tempted to give his work I try, I'm staying away. If you thought Superman #13 was bad... Oh boy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
American Vampire #31

Sep 29, 2012

American Vampire is an astonishing series, that deserves to be a TV show as much as The Walking Dead. Despite some small nitpicking, this book is a  great example of Scott Snyder's writing skills.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
American Vampire #34

Jan 2, 2013

AV #34 is one of the slower issues of the runs, but it serves it purpose. The wait for issue 35  is going to be a long wait...

View Issue       View Full Review
10
American Vampire: The Long Road to Hell #1

Jun 13, 2013

The Long Road to Hell is one of the best books of the year so far. This is an absolute masterpiece. I can't recommend this enough. You don't have an excuse for NOT buying this. Don't have enough money? Drop Batman and Superman Unchained. Buy this instead. Not an American Vampire fan? BUY IT ANYWAY. I can't stress this anymore than I am now. BUY THE LONG ROAD TO HELL #1. You won't regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Animal Man #0

Sep 7, 2012

This is definetley a BUY this week, for fans of Swamp Thing too, as ST's archrival shows up in here too. As a quick closing comment: I would totally pay to see Chicken Thief 3.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Animal Man #13

Oct 19, 2012

Animal Man #13 is the superior Rotworld tie-in, and also a game-changer for the series, with some heartbreaking character deaths. Even though the artwork is slightly uneven, this is a book worthy of your cash.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Animal Man #14

Nov 9, 2012

Animal Man #14 is my pick of the week. The story is perfect, and the art slip ups somehow feel more forgivable.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Animal Man #15

Dec 7, 2012

Animal Man #15 is a winner book, and continues to stand out among the New 52 books, with its scary content, great characters, and Socks the Cat.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Animal Man #16

Jan 11, 2013

Animal  Man #16 is a surprisingly weak issue for one of my favorite series of 2012. I hope the conclusion to Rotworld is every bit as epic as I hope it well be, but the calm before the storm is only average/

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Animal Man #17

Feb 9, 2013

Animal Man #17 is one of my favorite issues of Animal Man yet. It serves as a reminder as to why Animal Man was my favorite series of 2012 in the first place.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Animal Man #18

Mar 8, 2013

Animal Man #18, while imperfect, is a great conclusion to the Rotworld saga, and the final two pages show us that Lemire and Pugh know how to kick your heart in the ass.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Animal Man #19

Apr 4, 2013

Animal Man #19 is a return to form for the series. It was good for the past couple of issues, but it's become great once more. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Animal Man #21

Jun 19, 2013

Animal Man #21 is a very good issue. It's one of the best in the series. It's unnerving, funny, creepy, and depressing. Plus, you get some very pretty looking pages.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Animal Man #22

Jul 22, 2013

Animal Man #22 continues the upward trend of Animal Man. The last issue was a gross good time, while this issue balances the horror and the drama flawlessly.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Animal Man Annual #2

Aug 2, 2013

Animal Man Annual #2 is my favorite comic of the week. Animal Man is a series that doesn't get enough love. While it's not in danger of being cancelled, it's just that it doesn't receive as much praise as it deserves. Animal Man Annual #2 is the kind of issue that makes you see the potential of comics. This is an issue I'm going to be keeping on my shelf for a long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Aquaman (2011) #15

Dec 26, 2012

Aquaman #15 is the worst issue of one of DC's best titles. I'm sad it had to be like this Mr. Johns but...

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers (2012) #1

Dec 8, 2012

The Avengers #1 isn't a complete home run, though I think it came  pretty darn close.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Avengers (2012) #3

Jan 25, 2013

The Avengers #3 is a letdown. I wasn't satisfied with it, and I know the creative team can do much better than this. Sorry guys.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Avengers (2012) #4

Jan 31, 2013

Most series take about 6 issues to lose momentum, but Avengers did it in 4. It started out as one of the most epic comics Marvel has published, and it could have been the best book on the stands if it improved. But this is just crap. It was a chore to read this travesty, and I now consider Avengers off of my pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers Arena #1

Dec 14, 2012

Avengers Arena #1 is an awesome book that successfully sells the HOPELESSness of the character's situation, and with great art like this, it's a definite buy.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Batgirl (2011) #20

May 18, 2013

Batgirl #20 is just bad. I mean, it's not even laughably bad. If I could go back in time, and find the trees that provided the paper for this sack of crap, and would cut them down, burn them, and spread the ashes around the world. But since time travel doesn't exist (YET), I would settle for just burning every copy of this atrocity.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman (2011) #0

Sep 21, 2012

So, Batman #0 is not worth your time or money, unless you want to fork over $3.99 for a good 10 pages. Plus, I'm going to try adding the BACKUP story as its own separate rating categoryfor this issue's verdict.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2011) #13

Oct 12, 2012

This issue of Batman is a winner. The Joker is back in Gotham, and he's ready to make up for his absence and more. If the story remains this quality, it just might be the next Killing Joke.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2011) #14

Nov 16, 2012

Batman #14 is a mixed bag of a half and half story, amazing arc, and another underwhelming backup. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2011) #16

Jan 19, 2013

Death of the Family is getting intense. Though the backup is disappointing, the meat of the book is freaking amazing. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2011) #17

Feb 15, 2013

Batman #17 won't live up to your expectations if you thought it was some massive story that would change the Bat-Family forever. But it does change the Bat-Family forever in a way, as you will never see Batman in the same way again.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman (2011) #18

Mar 15, 2013

Batman #17 is a surprisingly disappointing follow-up to the spectacular Batman #12. Poor Harper deserves a better story than this. And just why can't Batman accept her, even though she's saved his life twice, and kept him from going Bat-$#!@ insane? 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2011) #19

Apr 13, 2013

Batman #19 redeems Snyder and co. for the less-than-Snydertastic #18. The writing and art is up to par again, and even though the backup isn't does't match the level of quality as the main story, this is still an amazing issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman (2011) #20

May 10, 2013

Batman #20 is an issue you can easily skip, but if you buy it, you'll get two mediocre stories that you won't remember in about 1 hour. Wait, already forgot.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2011) #21

Jun 17, 2013

Batman #21 has very hit-or-miss writing, but the art is stunning and the backup is one of Snyder's best stories yet. If you're on a tight budget, skip it, but if you have $4 to spare, buy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman (2011) #22

Jul 14, 2013

Batman still soars over a lot of books DC is publishing right now, but this issue was a major bummer in terms of story. Zero Year is not the best story Snyder and Co. have put out, and while the story leaves something to be desired, the art astonishes. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman (2011) #23

Aug 16, 2013

Batman #23 came as a huge surprise for me. Probably because my expectations were greatly lowered after the last two issues. But still, I hope Snyder and crew can keep up this quality for the rest of Zero Year.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman and Robin (2011) #17

Feb 16, 2013

Batman and Robin #17 is surprisingly, one of my favorite issues this week. Everything rocked about it, and you should make space in your pull list to compensate for this. Welcome back to my pull list Batman and Robin. You deserve it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman and Robin (2011) #18

Mar 15, 2013

If DC publishes another collection of The Greatest Batman Stories Ever Told, this must be in there. This is more than just a comic, it's a masterpiece, Tomasi and Gleason's magnum opus.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman and Robin (2011) #20

May 11, 2013

Batman and Red Hood #20 could have been a great issue of it weren't for the artistic missteps it takes throughout. Pick it up, but don't expect to remember it for years to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Batman and Robin (2011) #21

Jun 20, 2013

Batman and Batgirl #21 is a MASSIVE bump in the road for this series. It's hard to believe, that 3 issues ago, it delivered an Eisner-award worthy issue that could bring grown men to tears. This book is easily a skippable chapter in the current arc. While this isn't the worst Batgirl story I've read (cough Batgirl #20 cough), this is still pretty bad.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Incorporated #0

Sep 28, 2012

Batman Inc #0 is a fun book. I absolutely loved reading every page of it, no matter how bad the art or writing is. However, one thing has changed from Batman Inc #6. The theme of Batman Inc #6 was crime and Batman are mirrors. Here, it is Batman is never alone in his war. And the book does a great job of enforcing it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman Incorporated #3

Aug 11, 2012

But the art is one of the best parts of the book. Chris Burnham deviates further from imitating Frank Quitely into his own art style. His figures are crisp and clean, and cartoony. It's just a delight to look at. And some of his facial expressions are just SPOT on to the point that they're laugh out loud funny.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Incorporated #4

Oct 31, 2012

Batman Incorporated #4 is both disappointing yet somehow fulfilling. I can't describe it, but I can tell you this: Batman Incorporated #4 is still worth your time and money.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman Incorporated #5

Nov 30, 2012

Batman Inc #5. BUY IT. This is definitely one of the best issues of Morrison's Bat-Saga. Even if you don't read, BUY IT. It will read fine as a single issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Incorporated #6

Jan 2, 2013

Batman Inc #6 was a very interesting issue. I think it's one of the best books this week, and I'm excited to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Incorporated #7

Feb 2, 2013

Batman Inc #7 isn't the best issue of Batman Inc, but it's far from the worst (Vol. 1 #8 I'm looking at you).

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman Incorporated #11

May 25, 2013

Batman Incorporated #11 was actually a pretty good comic... To bad it interrupted the main story at the worse time possible.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Incorporated #13

Aug 2, 2013

Batman Incorporated #13 is a poor wrap up to Morrison's Batman run, but it would have been an incredible issue if it weren't Morrison's last.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Incorporated: Special #1

Aug 31, 2013

Batman Incorporated Special #1 is a good time worth the price of admission. It comes with 3 great stories, 1 good story, and 1 very underwhelming story. When it comes to collections, that's actually pretty good.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman/Superman (2013) #1

Jun 29, 2013

Batman/Superman is a pretty good book, and despite giving it a lower rating that I thought I would have, I'm going to stay on for the intriguing plot set up, and the incredible art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Li'l Gotham #1

Nov 3, 2012

Li'l Gotham is a comedic run through Gotham, which is nice for a quick one dollar laugh. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: Li'l Gotham #2

Nov 16, 2012

If there's only one digital book you're buying, it should be this.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman: The Dark Knight (2011) #15

Jan 2, 2013

Batman: The Dark Knight #15 was a fun way to end David Finch's run on the series. It wasn't great, but it wasn't bad.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batwoman #0

Oct 5, 2012

Batwoman #0 is one of the most entertaining books I have ever read. It's also one of the best. Williams and Blackman have topped Greg Rucka's original Elegy story in almost every way, and have guaranteed I will return for issue 13.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batwoman #13

Oct 21, 2012

Batwoman #13 is a horror/superhero comic done right. In fact, I think this arc could give the first arc of Animal Man a run for its money if it stays at this caliber of quality.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batwoman #15

Dec 21, 2012

Batwoman #15 is a very average issue. It's nothing but boring filler, where the only thing that is accomplished is a few Asian guys getting shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Before Watchmen: Dr. Manhattan #1

Aug 31, 2012

So, if this is a light week for you, stroll to your comic shop, and maybe give this a try if you're curious, or willing to ignore the story and be rewarded with some great art. Alas, a final word. Beware of Dr. Manhattan's "smurf". It shows up in three panels.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Before Watchmen: Rorschach #1

Aug 31, 2012

Even better, Bermejo's art is spectacular, verging on the line between slightly cartoony and heavy realism. Everything looks beautiful in the way he's draws the panels. Unlike with Joker, Bermejo relies solely on his own inks instead of Mick Gray's, which gives the book an even keel, and keeps the style realistic . So pick up Rorschach. I beg you. This just might be the start of an amazing series. Hurm.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Before Watchmen: Rorschach #2

Oct 19, 2012

What is there left to say about Lee Bermejo's art? It's... Gorgeous. Breathtaking. Some of the best art you can lay your eyes on. If you don't like the story, get the book for the ART.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Before Watchmen: Rorschach #3

Dec 14, 2012

Rorschach #3 stumbles in the story department, but shines in its visuals.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Before Watchmen: Rorschach #4

Mar 8, 2013

Before Watchmen: Rorschach started out as a very promising series, but now, it's quickly deteriorated into a pile of junk and waste of an artist's talent.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Captain America (2012) #1

Nov 21, 2012

Captain America #1 is a fine read, with a well done story but meh art.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Constantine #1

Mar 21, 2013

Constantine #1 is a disappointing and underwhelming debut from Lemire and company. Though Lemire is killing it on Animal Man and Green Arrow, seems like Constantine is going to be the odd man out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daredevil (2011) #18

Sep 21, 2012

Daredevil #18 is worth your money. And yes, I know, a few weeks ago I was writing a rant on Marvel, and I'm giving this a better review than Batman #0, but this book is just that good.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Daredevil (2011) #19

Oct 19, 2012

Daredevil #19 is a knockout that "Battling" Jack Murdock would be proud of... Though, it's not like he'd want to see his son decapitated.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Daredevil (2011) #21

Dec 21, 2012

Daredevil #21 is a blast to read. I highly suggest picking this up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Daredevil (2011) #22

Jan 18, 2013

Daredevil #22 could have been one of the series best issues, if not for Not-so Superior Spider-Man. Thankfully, everything else about the book is pretty awesome.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daredevil (2011) #27

Jun 30, 2013

Chris Samnee's art is just awesome. The man is one hell of a storyteller, as he utilizes his Darwyn Cooke-esque style to the story's advantage. There are a lot of very subtle details that will make you go, "Hey, that was pretty cool!" I mean, you could take out all the dialogue in this issue, and you'd still have a coherent and engaging story. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Daredevil (2011) #29

Aug 2, 2013

Daredevil #29 is sort of like the recent Clayface arc in Batman. It's definitely not the best work from a very gifted created team, but it's still entertaining nonetheless.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deadpool (2012) #1

Nov 9, 2012

I can't believe it. Deadpool #1 is so much better than Uncanny Avengers #1, it's hard to put into words. BUY THIS BOOK. Or FDR is going to wheelchair you to death. Yes, wheelie.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deadpool (2012) #2

Nov 21, 2012

Deadpool #2 is pure win. It's the best book to come out this week which is  why it deserves the score I'm giving it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deadpool (2012) #3

Dec 7, 2012

I definitely thought that the book could be better, but I still enjoyed it quite a bit. Deadpool #3 is worth your money. Or chimichangas, if your comic book store is into that. 

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deadpool Killustrated #1

Jan 27, 2013

Deadpool Killustrated is a surprisingly good sequel to Deadpool Kills the Marvel Universe. It's easy to compare it to this month's Savage Wolverine, both of which are just comics meant to be fun, nothing else.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Detective Comics (2011) #14

Nov 9, 2012

Detective Comics #13 has a kick-ass main story, but an underwhelming backup story. I suggest that you buy this for the meat of the book, but not for the supplementary material.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2011) #15

Dec 9, 2012

Detective Comics #15 is another chapter in John Layman's Batman saga. I personally think that we have a classic story in the works right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Detective Comics (2011) #17

Feb 8, 2013

Detective Comics #17 was a major bummer. I was looking forward to a more gripping mystery story instead of an obvious bit of filler.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Detective Comics (2011) #20

May 4, 2013

Detective Comics #20 goes back to the basics of the first parts of Layman's run, and avoids the flaws made by his later issues. Well, most of them. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2011) #21

Jun 9, 2013

DC #21 is a true winner. Even though the art is hit-or-miss, you get Man-Bat, a fun standalone story, and Harper! What more could you want?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Detective Comics (2011) #22

Jul 5, 2013

The backup story is very good as well, this time around. Clarke seems to be going back to the darker style he had with the backups in the main Batman series, and Layman sets up a complex mystery here. And when the culprit is revealed in the very last panel, you won't believe who it is. 

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Fantastic Four (2012) #1

Nov 16, 2012

F4 #1 is a great #1 issue, despite the few gripes I had with it. This is a very light week for me, so if it's the same for you, I suggest that you buy this.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
FF (2012) #1

Nov 30, 2012

Matt Fraction and Mike Allred have crafted a new awesome series that I'm going to have to pick up next month. This book has a special charm that can't be found  in many other books, and excellently sets up the characters. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
FF (2012) #4

Mar 3, 2013

I'll be honest, my expectations for this issue were lessened when I saw the weird cover, but it turns out, I was in for one of my favorite chapters of FF so far. Be warned, the Doom plot takes a backseat, but if you like humor with your comics, you'll love FF #4.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Forever Evil #3

Nov 9, 2013

While quality wise, Forever Evil #3 is a mixed package, its packed to the brim with fun, good ol' comic book fun. Plus, Grid is the nicest mass murderer since Lotso from Toy Story 3.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Forever Evil #4

Dec 26, 2013

Forever Evil #4 continues Johns conquest of the DCU, with another slow, but steady issue. The art is greater than it has been before, and the story continues to heat up despite some pacing issues and continuity problems. 

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
G.I. Combat #5

Oct 5, 2012

G.I Combat #5 is fun here and there, but it  is not a worthy investment. It's better just to leave it in the shell!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Great Pacific #1

Nov 18, 2012

The Great Pacific is a very "meh" book. I might give the next issue a try on digital if it gets cheap, but for now, I'm declaring this book: Waste.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Arrow (2011) #15

Dec 8, 2012

Green Arrow #15 is a blast to read, but it ain't awesome. 

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Arrow (2011) #17

Feb 8, 2013

Green Arrow #17 could be the start of the definitive Green Arrow story. Everything about it is great. I mean, EVERYTHING.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Arrow (2011) #18

Mar 10, 2013

Green Arrow #18 is the bomb. If Lemire and Sorrentino keep up this level of quality, we'll have a classic Green Arrow story on our hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Arrow (2011) #21

Jun 9, 2013

This is what a simple creative team change can do. Lemire and Sorrentino have turned a book that almost everyone had given up due to the lapse in quality, into one of the best books on the stands. Move over, Batman, Saga, Daredevil and FF. Make room for Green Arrow.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Arrow (2011) #23

Aug 9, 2013

Green Arrow #23 is another win for Lemire and Sorrentino. To be honest, I think Green Arrow is better than Hawkeye (no bricks through my window yet? Good.). Green Arrow delivers a very cinematic experience, and the art is consistent every issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Arrow (2011) #25

Nov 11, 2013

Green Arrow #25 is the kick-ass tie-in to Zero Year I wanted. I didn't think that a flashback issue could hold any surprises, but it did, tons of them too. Buy this issue, you won't be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2011) #21

Jun 7, 2013

Green Lantern #21 is a great starting issue for Venditti's Green Lantern run. If he improves his writing from here, we could have a run that could be just as classic as Johns'. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Guardians of the Galaxy (2013) #0.1

Mar 2, 2013

Guardians of the Galaxy #0.1 was a surprisingly great issue. I think the upcoming film should model at least part of it off of this absolutely awesome book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Guardians of the Galaxy (2013) #5

Aug 2, 2013

Guardians of the Galaxy #5 is a fun space adventure. If the movie is even a LITTLE bit like the book, it's going to be pretty awesome. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2013) #1

Dec 21, 2013

All in all, Harley Quinn #1 was a very successful debut for a new series, one I can't wait to read more of. Now, if only DC could bring Cassandra Cain back, fire Lobdell and Nocenti, and put Tim Seely on Catwoman (Yes, that's right, I've read Hack/Slash).

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkeye Vol. 2 #11

Jun 29, 2013

Hawkeye #11 is one of the most unique and well done comics you will ever read. And it's quite the emotional roller coaster too. It will make you laugh your ass off, and then cry your eyes out, and then both at the same time. Just buy it. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hawkeye Vol. 2 #12

Jul 11, 2013

Hawkeye #12 (of course) doesn't live up to the Pizza Dog issue, which is something that people are going to inevitably compare it to. That doesn't mean it's good though, because it's still freaking awesome.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
I, Vampire #0

Sep 29, 2012

If you don't mind this being filler, I, Vampire #0 is an entertaining read, despite not reaching its full potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
I, Vampire #12

Aug 22, 2012

So, pick up I, Vampire for the story this month. If this is the same quality the first 11 issues were, I'm picking up the trade, no questions asked.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
I, Vampire #14

Dec 1, 2012

I, Vampire #14 serves to be a great, action-packed and visually pleasing book. I'm sad that Dennis Calero is replacing Sorrentino next month, so I'd milk as much enjoyment as I could out of this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
I, Vampire #16

Feb 1, 2013

I, Vampire #16 is very good. It's not great, but it's an obvious improvement from issue 15.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
I, Vampire #17

Mar 1, 2013

I, Vampire #17 is finally a great issue after Andrea Sorrentino's departure. It was just amazing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
I, Vampire #19

Apr 27, 2013

I, Vampire #19 isn't a perfect ending to this amazing series, but it's still a pretty damn good one. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Indestructible Hulk #2

Dec 20, 2012

Indestructible Hulk is the best book to come out of Marvel NOW! It's going to be real fun seeing where this book will go next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Injustice: Gods Among Us #1

Jan 31, 2013

Injustice #1 (or 1-3 for you digital comic readers) is well worth your money with its emotionally driven story, that's sure to give you a case of the feels.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jupiter's Legacy #1

Apr 27, 2013

Jupiter's Legacy is one of the best comics of the year so far. While I'm still a little hesitant on the score I'm giving, and I'm being cautiously optimistic about it, I loved Jupiter's Legacy #1. Buy it. Now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jupiter's Legacy #2

Jun 29, 2013

Jupiter's Legacy #2 isn't as good as the first issue, but it's still pretty damn good. Millar's story really slows down to focus on the characters, but there are some great character beats. And of course, Frank Quitely's art.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League #13

Oct 21, 2012

Justice League #13 is a very mixed bag, with an OK main story, and a backup that's a teaser for Justice League of America.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League #14

Nov 21, 2012

Justice League #14 is an okay buy, since the story is incredibly disappointing. However, the art looks AWESOME, and  the backup is interesting. 

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League #15

Dec 26, 2012

Meanwhile, Ivan Reis is a much more capable artist than Jim Lee is, as he keeps a very even feel through the book. Joe Prado's inks are solid, and gives the issue a very distinctive look. However, Reis' facial expressions sometimes look so overdone, it's almost  ridiculous. Case in point: Diana's face on the "Clark. It really works" panel.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League #16

Jan 25, 2013

Justice League #16 is a half-and-half book. Many people will love and hate it at the same time. Me? I'm still not sure.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League #20

May 26, 2013

Justice League #20 is an okay issue. It's still not as good as some issues of the series are, and I know Johns is capable of telling a better story. Thankfully, it's worth it just to look at Gene Ha's art.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League #21

Jun 30, 2013

Justice League #21 will defy your expectations. Whether you were, or weren't looking forward to this, doesn't matter. This is a real showstopper, and don't worry, I'm sure we haven't seen the last of Billy Batson. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League #22

Jul 10, 2013

Justice League #22 is one of the best issues of the series to date. Trinity War gets a magnificent setup, and the art is just beautiful.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League Dark #0

Sep 28, 2012

JLDark is back on track with issue 0! I'm excited to see where Lemire takes us  next on the journey of the team! Note: I love how Lemire  is one of the only writers who have made the 0 issue crucial to the current series arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League Dark #12

Aug 22, 2012

So overall, for JLDark, this is kind of a down week in terms of story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League Dark #13

Oct 31, 2012

Justice League Dark #13 is very action packed, very fun, very fast paced, and very good.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League Dark #14

Nov 30, 2012

Justice League Dark #14 wasn't as good as the last two issues of the story, but it served its purpose to reveal more about its main character, and provide us with a trippy adventure through the House of Mystery.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League Dark #15

Jan 2, 2013

JLD #15 is a real winner. Though I found a few flaws in the writing, it barely dampened the enjoyment I got from this issue. 

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League Dark #19

Apr 29, 2013

Justice League Dark #19, while flawed, is still a welcome return to form for the series, which is almost the level of Lemire's awesome  debut on the title, #9.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League Dark #20

May 27, 2013

Justice League Dark #20's story is highly improved from the past 6 issues, but the art suffers from a bad inker.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League Dark #22

Jul 25, 2013

Justice League Dark #22 just continues the epicness of Trinity War. This is how a hero-vs-hero themed  event should be. Suck it, AVX. I'm satisfied with not all of the story is spent making characters  punch each other, and there are some legitimate surprises.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League Dark #23

Aug 24, 2013

Justice League Dark #22 might be a slow issue, but its the best chapter of Trinity War yet. It's nowhere near as good as Lemire's other book that came out this week, but its miles above much of what I've read lately from Marvel in terms of events. 

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League Dark Annual #1

Oct 31, 2012

Somehow, Mikel Janin drew this and issue 13, and is still able to stay consistent. I'm pretty sure he'll need a pretty long break to catch up, but I'm fine with that. We need more Mikel Janin art right now!Justice League Dark  Annual #1 is absolutely perfect. I mean it. This is one of the best books to hit the stands this year!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League of America (2013) #2

Mar 22, 2013

JLA #2 is already much better than the main Justice League. It has a menacing villain, engaging story, great art, and an awesome backup. Pick it up, for 'MURICA!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2013) #4

Jun 1, 2013

While JLA #4 boasts one of Johns' better scripts in the New 52, Brett Booth's weak art holds this book back, and the backup story leans back a bit in quality as well. Story-wise this was a great issue, but overall, this is the series's weakest issue. I will continue to pick this up, but only in because Johns's story is so good.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League of America (2013) #5

Jul 1, 2013

JLA #5 is the worst issue of the series. Granted, I will be staying for Trinity War, so let's hope Doug Manhke can fix the art problems. But despite all the gripes I had with this, I am looking forward to Trinity War.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League of America (2013) #6

Jul 22, 2013

Trinity War just might turn out to be one of my favorite books this year if it keeps getting better like this. With good writing, and art that's more decent that Brett Booth's art, what more could I ask for?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Justice League of America (2013) #7

Aug 14, 2013

JLA #7 is the weakest chapter of Trinity War, but it's still a couple of notches higher than most events are (Cough cough, every last one event Marvel puts out). It's filled with action and some good character beats, despite the cheesiness and the somewhat lackluster art.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
New Avengers (2013) #1

Jan 4, 2013

New Avengers #1 is an underwhelming new series debut, that I'm not too enthusiastic about. If the series remains this quality, it'll be as lame as Bendis's New Avengers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2011) #16

Jan 25, 2013

Nightwing #16 was surprisingly good. Despite some flaws here and there, I must stay, great job Mr. Higgins and Mr. Barrows!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Nightwing (2011) #20

May 19, 2013

If Nightwing continues to get better, I think DC could have it's answer to Marvel's Daredevil in just a few months. It's THAT good.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2011) #21

Jun 17, 2013

It's simple. While Marvel has Hawkeye, DC has Green Arrow. Marvel has Dark Avengers, DC has Suicide Squad. And now, Marvel has Daredevil and DC has Nightwing. That's right. The series that started out as nothing more than an okay-at-best comic, has become a book just as good as an Eisner nominee. Thank you Higgins/Booth. 

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Phantom Stranger (2012) #1

Oct 13, 2012

The Phantom Stranger #1 is  just an okay buy because of a terrible story that takes up a majority of the issue, despite some nice art and a mind blowing twist. 

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Red Hood And The Outlaws #19

Apr 19, 2013

Red Hood and the Outlaws #19 is a major bummer, but not as much as the god-awful Avengers #4 or Superman #13. Tynion is better than this. This is not the same man who's writing Talon right now, and I know he's somewhere in the head of the generic writer behind this disaster.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Red Hood And The Outlaws #20

May 19, 2013

Red Hood and the Outlaws #20 is a fun read, albeit flawed and with some awkward art.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #7

Nov 18, 2012

Saga #7 got me hooked. I just opened my eyes to the series, and this is some of the best comics of the year, with Animal Man, Justice League Dark, Daredevil and (imo) Supercrooks.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #8

Dec 21, 2012

Saga #8 is another winner from Brian Vaughn. 8 issues in, and it's much better that Vaughn's Y: The Last Man, which was a very good series on its own.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #9

Jan 18, 2013

Saga #9 just might one of the best issues of this series yet. This is one of the most light-hearted chapters of Saga so far, so you are 100% guaranteed to have fun with this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #13

Aug 14, 2013

Saga #13, no, Saga overall as a whole, is one of those rare comics that come along once in a lifetime, that break the barriers of what comics are capable of. Now, I know that's some high praise, but this really deserves every last bit of praise it's given. There's a website called Comic Book Roundup, that gathers all the comic book reviews it can gather. When you check Saga under that site, you'll notice the lowest score it's EVER received is an 8 out of 10. And considering how picky critics are, that's an absolute miracle. Just like Saga is.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Stormwatch (2011) #17

Feb 9, 2013

Stormwatch #17 is an excellent book. I'm sad to see that it's not selling well, which could mean it's on DC's chopping block. We already lost I, Vampire, and I don't want to loose Stormwatch either. Show Apollo and Midnighter some love, people!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Stormwatch (2011) #19

Apr 3, 2013

Stormwatch #19 is not as good as Cornell's brief run on the book, but if it gets better from here, it could be.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Stormwatch (2011) #21

Jun 9, 2013

Stormwatch #21 continues the interesting new status quo. While I miss Jenny Quantum, Jack Hawksmoor and Etrigan quite a bit, I'm still willing to give the new team a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Suicide Squad (2011) #20

May 10, 2013

I hate Ales Kot for forcing me to add another book to my pull list. This is a very dark issue, but it's also one of the best books I've read this week.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Supercrooks #4

Aug 22, 2012

Supercrooks has gone out with a bang. I'll say that. But pick it up yourself.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Supergirl (2011) #20

May 16, 2013

Supergirl #20 is a sleeper hit. I'm surprised Michael Alan Nelson's first issue didn't get more coverage from DC, because this ain't bad at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Superman (2011) #13

Oct 31, 2012

Superman #13 is a disappointment. Lobdell's work in Red Hood and the Outlaws wasn't that good, and that is reflected here. Rocafort is usually a great artist, but he brought his D-game to Superman. The creative team just lost a potential new regular reader. I'm not coming back for issue 14.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2011) #23.4

Sep 29, 2013

Though the character's origin itself is pretty formulaic, Kuder tries to spice things up with a surprisingly well written one-shot, and some of the best art around. This special will suck $3 out of your wallet (I get standard copies by the way), but you won't mind.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Superman Unchained #1

Jun 14, 2013

Superman Unchained #1 is a disappointing, but entertaining read. The story is good, though it has its flaws, Jim Lee's art is hit or miss, but the back-up is pretty creepy, despite only being two pages long.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Swamp Thing (2011) #13

Oct 13, 2012

I hope Scott Snyder's gotten something bigger and better up his sleeve for the upcoming Rotworld issues, and Yannick Paquette BETTER keep drawing this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Swamp Thing (2011) #18

Mar 9, 2013

Swamp Thing #18 is an emotionally charged finish to Scott Snyder's saga. The ending will leave you satisfied, yet wanting more. Pick this up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Swamp Thing (2011) #19

Apr 6, 2013

Swamp Thing #19 is a step in the right direction for Swamp Thing. It faced an uphill  battle, but was able to win. This is an excellent new direction (for the most part) for the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Swamp Thing (2011) #20

May 1, 2013

Swamp Thing #20 is a major improvement from the good Swamp Thing #19. Soule and Kano prove that we don't need no stinking Snyder/Paquette, and the book will do fine without the two.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Swamp Thing (2011) #22

Jul 6, 2013

Swamp Thing #22 is a sickening, frightening, and blast of a ride. Pick it up, if you're looking for a good horror comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Talon #0

Sep 28, 2012

Talon is an AMAZING book, and my pick for the best comic of the week.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Talon #2

Dec 1, 2012

Talon #2 is an OK book. I might or might not pick up the  next issue if I have any change from my usual pull list next week, though I doubt it. 

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Team 7 #0

Sep 14, 2012

Overall, I can't recommend Team 7 #0. It has it's shining moments with art, but the story doesn't even play like a good parody of 80's action movies. It actually succumbs to the cliches without realizing it, and the art sometimes falters a little bit. Don't pick up this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Green Team #1

May 25, 2013

The Green Team #1 is a hit, and you can bet that I'm adding this to my pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Secret Service #4

Oct 12, 2012

The Secret Service lags a little bit in this issue, but still continues to shine. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Secret Service #6

Apr 13, 2013

Dave Gibbon's art has improved a LOT. He brings a lot of explosions and detail to the action scenes, and draws in a LOT of cameos in the big fight in the end. The gruesome laser-pen-knife kill couldn't be as hilarious and gut-wrenching as it is without Gibbons drawing it. Plus, I see he's resolved his facial expression crisis from the last few issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The True Lives Of The Fabulous Killjoys #1

Jun 13, 2013

The True Lives of Fabulous Killjoys #1 is a smash hit. While it is a little bit hard to understand, the characters, the plot, and the art make up what is sure to be the comic world's next big thing. Hopefully. 

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The True Lives Of The Fabulous Killjoys #4

Sep 15, 2013

Killjoys #4 is where the series finally gets awesome. If you dropped the series earlier, give it another chance. I'm serious. You won't regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Thunderbolts (2012) #1

Dec 7, 2012

Thunderbolts #1 is everything that you DON'T want from a debut issue. I'd pass on it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Trinity of Sin: Pandora #1

Jul 6, 2013

Pandora #1 defied all of my expectations, as 2 creators I do not like have made an awesome book. I'm interested in seeing where this book goes. 

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Ultimate Comics: Ultimates #25

Jun 9, 2013

The Ultimates #25 isn't the series's savior that I hoped it would be. I find it hard to believe that this is the same Fiakov that wrote I, Vampire, and Carmine Di Giandomenico's art doesn't suit the story at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncanny Avengers #1

Oct 13, 2012

Uncanny Avengers is a good read, but it's mostly just another cash grab. Seriously, almost HALF of the book is made up of ads, but it's worth getting for a fun story and great art, and because it's the flagship title of Marvel: Now. 

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #1

Feb 15, 2013

Uncanny X-Men #1 isn't the home run I was hoping it would be, but it didn't suck either. Let's hope the series will get better in the weeks to come (Come on, just release issue two next month! You're murdering my wallet in cold blood, Marvel!).

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #2

Mar 1, 2013

Uncanny X-Men #2 shows us that Bendis can give us a good book when he wants to, and that Chris Bachalo is a ridiculously talented artist.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #4

Apr 13, 2013

Uncanny X-Men #4 isn't the fun action story we've gotten from past issues, but it's still an enjoyable (though flawed) comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #6

May 24, 2013

With issue 6, Uncanny X-Men has found its groove. And it's groove is awesome.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #15.INH

Dec 20, 2013

While Uncanny X-Men #15.INH is by no means the worst comic I've read this year (coughcoughLobdell'sactioncomicscough), it is a bummer to read. At first glance it's a match made in heaven, with an entire issue dedicated to a somewhat lighter story, but in the end, its all just a huge bummer to read. Thankfully, the art is it's saving grace and is actually enjoyable, pouring over each page. 

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Wolverine (2013) #1

Mar 15, 2013

Wolverine #1 disappoints, but not on a massive scale. In terms of Wolverine books, I recommend Savage Wolverine over this, as that book at least has better looking art. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men (2013) #1

Jun 1, 2013

X-Men #1 was an awesome start to what could be one of my favorite new series. Brian Wood plants the seeds to what could be an epic story, and Oliver Copiel's art perfectly compliments the set up.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More