Mike's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Marvel Disassembled Reviews: 196
8.0Avg. Review Rating

8.5
A+X #1

Nov 1, 2012

This is a pretty good start to what looks to be a fun series. Next issue Iron Man and Kitty Pryde, along with Spider-Man and Beast. Looking forward to that one especially.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
A+X #2

Nov 28, 2012

This was a greatsecond issue for A+X, and yet another reason to check out more Marvel NOW! titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
A+X #3

Dec 21, 2012

Next up is Gambit & Hawkeye. My wish for James Asmus to write Gambit wherever he appears might be coming true as he nails the character once again. However, there's some disconnect between the Hawkeye in this issue and the Hawkeye in his own series, though that might be just to have Hawkeye act as a foil to Gambit's character.The Gambit/Hawkeye short is definitely the stronger of the two in this weeks issue, though it still suffers from the samepredictabilitythat the series has been showing. Two good guys bump into each other, banter a bit, but eventually come together to defeat the somewhat generic foe of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
A+X #4

Jan 24, 2013

This is an enjoyable, old school, straight forward superhero comic book. Unapologeticallyembracing all the appropriate super hero tropes from crazy science fiction to time travel to evil Nazi robots. If you don't take this series too seriously, it's a good bet that you'll enjoy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
A+X #5

Mar 7, 2013

This issue of A+X might be a little too out there for some people. But if you haven't been taking the series too seriously, you'll probably still enjoy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Age of Ultron #1

Mar 7, 2013

Hitch's art is pitch-perfect for this series. It's gritty and really sells the dire situation everyone's in. The shot of Wolverine, Beast, and Emma together was cheesy but alright. It just screamed "Hey, this isn't just an Avengers book guys!"

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Age of Ultron #2

Mar 14, 2013

For a ten-part story, I feel this issue could've packed in more than it did.Considering his behavior and the fact that his apartment looked the way it did makes me question whether or not Ock is currently residing in Spidey's brain. Evidence of the series delay perhaps?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Age of Ultron #3

Mar 27, 2013

Bryan Hitch's pencils are the best thing about the series so far. The details he puts into the fallen New York and the facial expressions of the characters here (Luke Cage, especially) are really something to marvel at.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Age of Ultron #4

Apr 3, 2013

The series finally looks like it's picking up speed, which is good for a miniseries. Let's hope it doesn't drag on too long and wear out it's welcome. Heroes, I'm looking at you.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Age of Ultron #5

Apr 10, 2013

This was a decent issue considering all the heroes did was sit in a bunker and discuss time travel. But we're at the halfway mark now. The pace of the series should start picking up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Age of Ultron #6

Apr 17, 2013

For a story written two years ago, the series is not as bad as it could be, but it still suffers from inconsistencies in the way of plot and characterization.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Age of Ultron #7

May 1, 2013

At this point in the series, the story's kind of become a ‘What if Hank Pym had been killed?' story and less of a ‘What if Ultron took over the universe' story. My main concern is how this'll be wrapped up in three more issues. The first five issues took their time setting up the post-apocalyptic setting and as a result, it looks like the second half of the story is going to feel more than a little rushed.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Age of Ultron #8

May 15, 2013

This event has sort of just gone off the rails. Hopefully it gets back on track in the next issue in which, presumably, Future Wolverine stops Present Wolverine from doing the next stupid thing he plans on doing. Or something. Because so far, this whole event could be summed up by a phrase Robo-Tony mentioned in the first few pages – A “Fantasia of instanity”.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Age of Ultron #9

Jun 5, 2013

This issue is exposition-heavy more than anything. The good thing about it is that it brings the series back on track to stopping Ultron. Just in time too, as the next issue's the last. I don't think it's worth the four dollar pricetag though.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Age of Ultron #10

Jun 19, 2013

In closing, the event managed to accomplish what it set out to do, but the fact thatyou can boil down this entire series into a sentence or two and accomplish just as much as they did isn't the greatest thing you can say about a series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
All-New X-Men #2

Nov 28, 2012

This issue wasn't as great as the first. It moved a little too fast, sacrificing logic in some parts for action. Jean's sudden discovery of her telepathic abilities seems a little too convenient, for instance. But each individual member of the original X-Men's reactions to their future selves was brilliantly characterized. However, I really, really,reallywanted Past Warren to meet Present Hippie-Warren though. I sincerely hope that eventually happens. But I am really looking forward to their confrontation with Cyclops though.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-New X-Men #3

Dec 5, 2012

In closing, this issue fails to live up to the previous two,but it does have it's moments. The interaction between Scott and Magneto though, as he tells Scott to man up and take responsibility for his actions. The inclusion of a new mutant and a nice reminder from Bendis that not everyone in the Marvel universe hates mutants. Hopefully Bendis finds his way again, with All New X-Men #4.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New X-Men #5

Jan 2, 2013

Stuart Immonen's art makes up for the spots of Bendis' less-than-spectacular writing. His Jean Grey splash page, for example, is really amazing. But some of the panels in the book are hard to follow. I'm not exactly sold on Beast's new look either, but Immonen's personal sketches look more promising.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All-New X-Men #6

Jan 16, 2013

This was another great issue. It's not as action-packed as previous issues, focuses on the relationships between characters they're emotionally dealing with the situation they've all found themselves in. As an interlude, this issue was almost perfect. Itdealt with the majority of the original X-Men dealing with the modern world while seamlessly setting up the next arc. My only concern is that the "past preventing future" theme might get stale down the road, but as the next issue looks like it'll have more action in it, I don't think that'll be the case.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-New X-Men #7

Feb 6, 2013

All in all, it was a good issue. Not a stand-out one, but decent enough. I hope the Mystique angle ends up going somewhere, but since the next issue will feature The Avengers, I doubt it will be in this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New X-Men #8

Mar 6, 2013

The pace of the series seems to have slowed down a bit though. After teasing us with that brief scuffle between Past and Present Cyclops, Bendis might be going in a different direction altogether as it looks like we'll be seeing more of what Mystique has planned sooner rather than later. Hopefully it's that Ocean's Eleven heist thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New X-Men #9

Mar 20, 2013

This issue was pretty good, aside from the mentioned nitpicks and Bendispeak. Beast says he's going “old school” but was anybody really saying that in the '60s?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All-New X-Men #10

Apr 4, 2013

Can't wait for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All-New X-Men #11

May 1, 2013

Even still, this issue was packed so full of greatness, I'd swear someone out there read my mind and decided to grace me with everything I've ever wanted in an All New X-Men issue. Beast gets called out on his BS, Young Jean gets schooled in telepathy, it's reinforced once again that Kitty's HBIC, and Logan gets thrashed by Magneto.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-New X-Men #12

Jun 5, 2013

What follows is a ton of back and forth between the X-Men and Captain America. Eventually the two teams decide to just" part ways. This whole thing could have been solved with a phone call. But I guess Jean needed to have another freakout and Havok and Young Cyclops needed to meet up eventually. I'm just not sure this is how it should have happened. Unless you were dying to see Havok and Young Cyclops hug it out, you might want to save your four bucks and skip this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All-New X-Men #13

Jun 27, 2013

Immonen and the rest of the art team pull off the battle scene spectacularly well. It looks amazing. It's big moments like the last few pages that made the X-Men popular, and Bendis & Immonen manage to channel that in this series issue after issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New X-Men #14

Jul 17, 2013

There's a decent amount of comedy this issue. Much more so than last issue. Lots of action, wittiness and excellent displays of power from everyone involved. No one's panel-dressing here. Still, don't expect too much from this issue. While great, it's little more than one big fight scene.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-New X-Men #15

Aug 7, 2013

Chris Hansen would like a word with you, Professor McCoy.Is it just me or is everyone falling in love with Jean becoming a little too cliche at this point? I mean, I like redheads as much as the next guy, but jeez. First Wolverine and Scott, and now Beast?Cut to the city, where Bobby and Scott are impressing hipster chicks with their super cool mutant powers. They even manage to stop a car chase.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New X-Men #16

Sep 4, 2013

Though it does contradict with All New X-Men's seemingly open-ended and ongoing feel, through the story, Bendis does force the reader to realize that after sixteen issues, the Original X-Men have actually overstayed their welcome. He manages to enforce the urgency of the situation, both through the dialogue and the final reveal as well. But as “new reader friendly” as Marvel claims to be with their Marvel NOW! line, this crossover event might rub new readers the wrong way. Bendis manages to simplify the whole time travel aspect of the series through clever dialogue but the increasingly large cast of characters may overwhelm any casual readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-New X-Men #17

Oct 3, 2013

Magik, Young Iceman, and Beast travel through time and discover the truth behind the “Future X-Men” and their motivations. But their welcome's not exactly warm!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New X-Men #18

Nov 14, 2013

When it comes to the story, I like where this is going. It'll be cool to see how the original X-Men interact with the new recruits down the line. Especially Teen Scott meeting Emma. That should be interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Amazing Spider-Man #688

Jun 28, 2012

Peter is still feeling the effects of Silver Sable's death. The amount of character development is one of the few saving graces of Ends Of The Earth, and No Turning Back looks to be keeping it up as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Amazing Spider-Man #689

Jul 5, 2012

Dan Slott does a great job writing Spider-Man however, as his internal struggle and frustration over both the situation at hand and recent events (Silver Sable's death) isn't directly spelled out, it's inferred. All in all, this issue seemed to be filler if anything. Not great, but good in that it gets to where it needs to go, despite a bit of poor writing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Amazing Spider-Man #690

Jul 25, 2012

The issue closes on a cliffhanger regarding the fates of a few supporting cast members after one of them notices Connors is missing the wrong arm.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Amazing Spider-Man #691

Aug 15, 2012

But it's a decent wrap up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Amazing Spider-Man #692

Aug 22, 2012

One thing Slott did accomplish was making me dislike Alpha a little more every time he came in panel.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man #693

Sep 5, 2012

For anyone not familiar to Ramos' art, it takes a little getting used to. He deals in a lot of sharp angles and unrealistic poses He's improved a lot over the past few years, but every now and then it shows [Spider-Man swinging toward MJ's club on the second page]. It doesn't really bother me, personally, it's just one thing to take note of. Though I still have my qualms with Alpha as a character, this issue is a big step-up from the last.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Amazing Spider-Man #694

Sep 26, 2012

I'm sure we'll see him again though, as Peter mentions he still retains a fraction of the power he possessed as Alpha. I hope he returns as a villain. He'd be pretty justified to be cheesed off at Spider-man and the Avengers at this point.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Amazing Spider-Man #695

Oct 3, 2012

As for the future of Spider-Man, no new series has been announced just yet but there's a teaser for something labeled 'Superior'. New creative team has been announced but it's gotJanuary 2013 launch date that fits quite nicely as ASM is ending on December 26. I guess we'll just have to wait and see.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Amazing Spider-Man #696

Oct 24, 2012

As the 700th issue draws nearer, the action is ramping up as we're coming up on the conclusion of the series. I kind of feel bad for people who aren't keeping up with this series it's that great.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Amazing Spider-Man #697

Nov 14, 2012

After trying to kill him for the past two issues, Kingsley decides to let Phil Urich live and continue operating as The Hobgoblin as long as he forwards him a cut of all his profits. After Kingsley had been ranting about how Phil was sullying the “legacy” of the Goblins he flips on the issue and changes his mind because, well, the plot needs him to.Then it's revealed what Kingsley had been up to before reappearing in New York. Apparently, he'd been posing as differentsuper-villainsacross the globe, with Russia seemingly as his next destination. Kingsley leaves, Phil Urich keeps being The Hobgoblin, Norah Winters is saved and everything is fine again. C'mon, Slott. Seriously?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Amazing Spider-Man #698

Nov 21, 2012

Well played, Dan Slott. A masterfully crafted issue that'll no doubt leave just about every reader speculating for the next few weeks.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Amazing Spider-Man #699

Dec 5, 2012

If you've been dying for answers, this is the issue for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Amazing Spider-Man #699.1

Dec 13, 2012

If you're a fan of Morbius, there's no doubt you'll love this issue. The only bad thing about it is that it might disappoint regular readers who were looking to see more Spider-Man. I, however, am completely fine with the momentary shift of focus before issue #700.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Amazing Spider-Man #700

Dec 27, 2012

J.M. DeMatteis and Giuseppe Camuncoli bring us a pretty interesting future story while Jen Van Meter and Stephanie Buscema tell a fun, short story focusing more on Black Cat than Spider-Man. Both really nice additions to a less-than-spectacular issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers Arena #1

Dec 13, 2012

This is truly a love it or hate it type series.But I really dug the book, despite everything that's supposedly “wrong” about it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Avengers Arena #2

Jan 9, 2013

While the pacing of the story may be moving a little too fast for some (characters are dropping like flies, no pun intended), there's no denying the dialogue and storytelling aspects of the book are strong, whether you agree with the premise or not.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers Arena #3

Jan 9, 2013

Realistically, if you're three issues in, you've probably already made up your mind about the series. This is another great issue, but I wouldn't expect it to get any different. Better maybe, but don't expect the formula to change.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Avengers Arena #4

Feb 14, 2013

While this isn't a stand-out issue, it still serves to inform new readers who the characters are. But I'm not sure we'll get to see where it all leads.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers Arena #5

Feb 28, 2013

Kev Walker's art is still the best reason to read this series, as it's always on point. I'm glad he's back on duty. In summary, this issue was much better than last weeks. Hopefully, after all the background stuff is done, the pace of the book will pick up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers Arena #6

Mar 13, 2013

By the end of the issue everything's up in the air. The next issue could go anywhere, it's hard to tell after an issue with as many twists as this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers Arena #7

Apr 11, 2013

Alessandro Vitti takes over the art this issue and while I'm partial to Kev Walker's art, Vitti still does a magnificent job.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers Arena #8

Apr 25, 2013

This issue was great, in that it packed some action and loads of character development while still maintaining a pretty steady pace. I did not see that Apex twist coming at all though. I wonder if Kid Briton knew. And if he didn't, part of me wishes he were still alive so we could have a Crying Game scene or something. That would've made the issue for me, anyways.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers Arena #9

May 8, 2013

Kev Walker's art continues to be one of the best things about this book. The facial expressions are excellent specifically. Walker manages to convey exactly how every character is feeling at any particular moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Avengers Arena #10

Jun 6, 2013

There's already scores of readers who've dropped this book and now that this issue's out, it's only going to get worse. This was a weak issue, if only because of the plot holes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers Arena #11

Jun 26, 2013

This issue is more of a set up for the conclusion of the 'Game On!' arc, yet it still manages to whip a little character development in there before the last page. Previews for the next issue reveal Nico's still alive in one way or another so it'll be interesting to see how her return effects everyone. And Chris Powell is still M.I.A. so I'm expecting him to come back and shake things up as well. Lots to look forward to in the conclusion to this arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers Arena #12

Jul 10, 2013

If you've enjoyed the series so far, there's a good chance you'll dig this issue as well. And it looks like big things are right around the corner.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers Arena #13

Aug 14, 2013

I really believe Karl Moline should have been the second artist from the beginning. His work in this issue is really tight. And while it lacks the grit of Walker, I think it's still better than the other fill-ins we've had. I hope the series lasts long enough to get to the payoff.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Avengers Arena #14

Aug 29, 2013

Dennis Hopeless and Kev Walker return this issue and give us some much-awaited background on Cullen Bloodstone. It seems a little late in the series however. We're coming up on the 'Day 29" preview that started off the series and are still being provided backstory on main characters. I can only hope the story gains some speed and picks up soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers Arena #15

Sep 11, 2013

What I dig about this week's issue is that just about everyone gets their moment to shine. Nico, Reptil, ChaseHawk are fighting Cullen, while Cammi, Aiden & Nara find The One Ring That Will Save Them All.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers Arena #16

Oct 10, 2013

Karl Moline fills in for Kev Walker this issue, and while he does a fine job (his layouts and action panels are specifically cool) it's still hard not to miss Walker. There's a few individual panels that fall prey to the "too many cooks in the kitchen" trope due to all the inkers on duty this issue, specifically Arcade's pow wow's with Apex and Death Locket. But all the characters maintain their distinct looks so it's not too jarring as Avengers Arena heads toward it's promised "epic" conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Avengers Arena #17

Nov 14, 2013

All-in-all, a pretty decent issue, if not a little predictable.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers Vs. X-Men #6

Jun 21, 2012

Cyclops takes center stage as he represents not only the X-Men, but the entire mutant race throughout the issue. Surprisingly, the Phoenix Force seems to have calmed the more extreme views he's been projecting lately. In past issues I likened him to Anakin Skywalker in the third act of Revenge of the Sith, where his view had been twisted and corrupted by the dark side, but the Phoenix Force seems to have changed Cyclops for the better, ironically. So much so that you may find yourself doubting whether The Avengers were right and if the Phoenix Force really is bad for the Earth after all.Either way, we're left with a rather ominous cliffhanger. And it's obvious something big is coming.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers Vs. X-Men #7

Jul 4, 2012

Olivier Coipel's art really stands out this issue as well, though I initially mistook Tony Stark for Wolverine. It was probably the wifebeater. All in all, it's a very busy issue, but Fraction manages to pace the story well. My one complaint with the story is how all the other X-Men are blindly following Cyclops and the rest of the Phoenix Five. Though it's possible that Emma is using her abilities to control them. Considering thePhoenixForce and Scarlet Witch's unpredictability, it's clear big changes to the Marvel universe are coming. And with the upcoming "Marvel Now" initiative, one can't help but wonder; is this event building up towards aFlashpoint-style ending?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers Vs. X-Men #8

Jul 19, 2012

It feels as if we're beginning to see theunravelingof the Phoenix empowered X-Men, as well. Namor's outburst may have proven they're not completely in control of the power they wield. Either way, it looks as if the Avengers are pulling out all the stops. The series is definitely building towards something big. I can only imagine what the conclusion will be like.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Avengers Vs. X-Men #9

Aug 1, 2012

With three more issues, I'm not sure where we're headed at this point. It almost feels like we're sitting waiting and watching everyone get beat up until the end does arrive. Perhaps next issue will deliver something really significant.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers Vs. X-Men #10

Aug 15, 2012

But all in all, the series is really starting to pick up. The art was great this week (Especially the Hope/Cyclops scenes). Hopefully the long wait doesn't take away too much from the overall story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers Vs. X-Men #11

Sep 12, 2012

Per usual, the art is amazing. Olivier Coipel really goes to town this issue. He has so much to sink his teeth into as there's a ton of action and a range of emotions displayed from a variety of characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers Vs. X-Men #12

Oct 3, 2012

In closing, AVX #12 is a great ending to a decent event.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
AVX: Consequences #1

Oct 10, 2012

All in all, this is a good start to a good series. It does everything it sets out to do, and I'm looking forward to seeing where it goes from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
AVX: Consequences #2

Oct 17, 2012

But regarding Cyclops' fate, I'm assuming he'll live past the altercation and either escape or be released (I highly doubt it's the latter) after the panel at the end of Uncanny X-Men this week.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
AVX: Consequences #3

Oct 24, 2012

As the series movies along, it's clear it's focusing on Cyclops more than anything, but by the end of this issue it seems like it's becoming more of an X-Men title than a AVX title. I mean, yeah there's that Iron Man scene, but everything else is firmly focused on the X-Men and their circle. Seems like the Avengers got off easy this conflict.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
AVX: Consequences #4

Oct 31, 2012

All in all, this is easily the best issue of the series and I look forward to the conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
AVX: Consequences #5

Nov 7, 2012

All in all, this is a pretty good conclusion to a series that could have been pretty average but was surprisingly great.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
AVX: VS #4

Jul 12, 2012

The one thing I have enjoyed about the series is the random fun facts. They provide a good amount of information and I can't help but think that if they were incorporated into non-event titles, they might serve to create good jumping on points for new readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
AVX: VS #5

Aug 29, 2012

Anyways, next up, Black Panther takes on Storm in the biggest marital spat of the century. Black Panther's inner monologue justreeks of Bruce Wayne this issue. He even shows off some Batman-level contingency plans to take down Storm. Kind of a dick move, compounded by the act of pulling on her cape. For a master martial artist, BP isn't exactly honorable this fight. But Storm makes up for it by sucker-punching him after a kiss. The caption at the end says there's no winners but we all know who won that fight. Looks like that marriage is over.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Daredevil (2011) #14

Jun 21, 2012

In the end,Mark Waid leaves us with a heartbreaking cliffhanger that has me impatiently waiting for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Daredevil (2011) #15

Jul 19, 2012

Daredevil realizes he hasn't actually escaped after all and he's been taken back into the city, drugged, and held captive against his will. All of his senses have been dulled, including touch.Like anyone without senses, he is completely and utterly useless, but Waid makes you wonder as the book moves along: What exactly is Daredevils power? We know he has a heightened ability to sense interact with the world around him, but we are given the notion here that his actual power may be his brain. It may be a total red herring, but I got the feeling that Waid is trying to insinuate that Matts brain and its ability to cope is his true power. Without any of a persons usual senses Daredevil is able to gain a new set of skills in order to aide him. It is some really interesting depth to the characters ability, and something I would love to see more of.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Daredevil (2011) #16

Aug 1, 2012

It's finally revealed what's inside Matt's drawer too! His father's skull. Pretty grisly stuff. I'm anxious to see who actually framed Matt though. Just as he recovers, he loses his best friend and his job. It sounds as if someone out there is systematically trying to break him down. Man, he can't get a break these days.I personally am on the edge of my seat with this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Daredevil (2011) #17

Aug 16, 2012

Even though it's a one shot, flashback story, this issue is just wonderful.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Daredevil (2011) #18

Sep 20, 2012

Daredevil is one of those continually brilliant series that just doesn't falter.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Daredevil (2011) #19

Oct 19, 2012

By the end, Coyote's real identity is revealed and it's a shocker. One that I truly didn't see coming.I'm eager to find out just how he was able to pull off the tricks he's been plaguing Daredevil with lately (Thehallucination ofMilla Donovan in Matt's apartment for instance). I hope it doesn't go unexplained or is overlooked.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Daredevil (2011) #20

Nov 22, 2012

This series is just consistently solid. However I did think it was kind of lame how, after weeks of wondering who's been messing with Daredevil's life, it's revealed Coyote was behind everything, up until this issue at least when it's revealed someone else actually hired him. But I am eager tofindout who that is nonetheless.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Daredevil (2011) #21

Dec 19, 2012

This is a pretty great wrap-up to the Coyote arc, but it still leaves one question unanswered – who sent Coyote after Daredevil to begin with?I love the art, love the storytelling, it is fresh, exciting and new and the artwork is the most appropriate in terms of what goes on in in Matt's head.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Daredevil (2011) #22

Jan 17, 2013

The last page is just a kick in the gut. Regular readers might even tear up.Frankly, if you aren't reading this series, you should be. Amazing art plus an always-intriguing story? There's not much more you can ask for.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Daredevil (2011) #23

Feb 21, 2013

The thing about this series? It's consistent. Consistently good. Not one bad issue. Some are better than others, of course. But you'd be hard pressed to find a terrible issue under the team of Waid and Samnee.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Daredevil (2011) #24

Mar 20, 2013

Another standout issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Daredevil (2011) #25

Apr 17, 2013

Samnee is really hitting it out of the park, he and Waid are the perfect team.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Daredevil (2011) #26

May 23, 2013

Also, the back-up story was really touching and inspiring. Definitely worth the cover price.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daredevil (2011) #27

Jun 27, 2013

I'll admit, the final battle was a little anti-climactic. It reminded me of the last fight between Batman and Bane in The Dark Knight Rises. Both Matt and Bats get thoroughly trounced the first go around and then rise up to beat the final boss rather easily. Honestly, I understand it and it's completely practical. It had to go down this way. Limited pages means limited space to tell a story. Still – It was fantastic nonetheless and wrapped up fairly well. I honestly have nothing else to critique. This was that good.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Daredevil (2011) #28

Jul 11, 2013

This was a great kick-off to a new arc. What it lacks in action it makes up for in backstory and characterization. Nate's wardrobe for one. I mean, that bright orange suit tells me everything I need to know about Nate Hackett. So great.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Daredevil (2011) #29

Aug 1, 2013

Even still, every issue is a treat, both in story and writing. Each one is fun and entertaining and the art team on the series is perfect. This issue is just another reminder that it's one of the best Marvel series on stands right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Daredevil (2011) #30

Aug 22, 2013

If you're a fan of the Silver Surfer or just want to read a fun overall story, Daredevil #30 is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Daredevil (2011) #31

Sep 19, 2013

Samnee's art combined with Rodriguez's colors are one of the best things about the series. The vivid action panels in here are especially great too look at too. Hats off to Waid and Samnee for another spectacular issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Daredevil (2011) #32

Oct 24, 2013

But, in closing, to be completely honest, the only bad thing about this issue is that it ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Daredevil (2011) #33

Nov 21, 2013

That said, it was a decent issue, if a little off on characterization.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gambit #1

Aug 8, 2012

(Also to note " There's no Rogue. Good on you, Asmus.)

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gambit #2

Aug 29, 2012

I'm beginning to like Suicide Girl though. She's less annoying this issue.The good thing with Suicide Girl is at least it establishes she is no push over. She was smart enough to play the dark past card (pun intended) to get close enough to Gambit to throw him off the roof and I got a sense there was some truth to what she said but she simply used it to her advantage. Likewise, she was agile enough not to get run over and propose a mutually beneficial alliance while stuck to the windshield. The point is she, like Gambit, seems capable of attempting to exploit whatever advantage she perceives out a situation which bodes well for her as a foil. At the same time, I think a part of Gambit was drawn in by her cunning and resourcefulness while another part of himrealizedthe game she was playing because he has done the same to others.Very eager to see how far their relationship progresses through the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Gambit #3

Sep 26, 2012

The art got real busy due to all the action in the last few pages but it still holds up thanks to Mann's talents. Not quite as good as the last two issues. The pace of the book changed so suddenly, it's as if someone up top said "You gotta' have more action this issue!" and it was cranked up to eleven. Still another solid issue, though.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gambit #4

Oct 24, 2012

But all in all, it'ssolid, action-packed conclusion to the first story arc. Really great, and I can't wait for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gambit #5

Nov 14, 2012

I like where this arc is going as Cich really proves himself a clever and compelling villain rather than the simple bad guy mark he'd been portrayed as in the first issue.Diogenes Neves' art is similar enough to Clay Mann's that it didn't pull me out of the issue at all. A pretty well rounded issue that reads like a classic heist movie. Looking forward to the next one!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gambit #6

Nov 29, 2012

With Cich's plan laid out I'm eager to see how Gambit will manage to escape from under his thumb without blowing himself (and other things) up in the process.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gambit #7

Dec 19, 2012

The only weak parts of the issue was the art. Gambit's face looks really strange in some panels. And the creative use of Gambit's ability to paint graffiti on walls, but that's neither here, nor there.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gambit #8

Jan 23, 2013

While not terribly intriguing, this story was still fun. In the end we're left with a cliffhanger that might leave you anxious to read the next issue. Depends on how you feel about Joelle, the Suicide Girl pin-up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gambit #9

Feb 28, 2013

All in all I really enjoyed this issue, and I'm eager to see where it leads. But I don't buy Joelle's having a daughter story. Don't be a chump, Gambit! Don't fall for it!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gambit #10

Mar 27, 2013

This was another stellar issue, filled with tons of awesome moments. From Remy's “accidental architect” line to his Harry Potter dreaming and then the twist ending. From the beginning Gambit's been pretty much making up things as he goes along but here we see him planning, which is a great change of pace.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gambit #11

Apr 24, 2013

This issue was pretty great.Good banter, lots of action, fantastic art, and a surprise ending. Really enjoyable stuff.I hope the rumors of this series getting canceled aren't true. Because it's just getting intriguing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Gambit #12

May 15, 2013

This issue wrapped itself up nicely. Almost too nicely. So nicely in fact, that it feels a little anti-climactic. I hope Joelle's death has lasting effects on Gambit or it'll make this whole story more than a little forgettable. The fight between Joelle and Rogue felt a little forced as well

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gambit #13

May 30, 2013

While this might look and seem a little like a filler issue, Asmus' writes a regretful and guilty Gambit so well, it's hardly noticeable.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gambit #14

Jun 27, 2013

Gambit's suaveness isn't restricted to Earth women.Pete Wisdom shows up and pulls Remy back through a portal to England where he tells him just how much trouble he's in and then hires him to steal back the book. Lots and lots of fun banter between Pete and Remy as he manages to steal back Pete's “faerie grimoire” pretty skillfully.The last page is probably my favorite pages in this series yet.I do think it's strange Pete has a huge vault in his flat though. I mean that's just asking for trouble, man.This could really be a self-contained story as it's wrapped up nicely by the end of the issue. But as the series only three more issues to go it's most likely the last arc we'll see.It's a real shame this series got canceled. It was definitely one of my favorites.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gambit #15

Jul 25, 2013

This is a great set-up for the final arc of the series though. High stakes and what should be a large amount of character development when it's all said and done.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Gambit #16

Aug 29, 2013

Gambit uses his powers to escape only to discover that it's all in good fun and his father was only testing him.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Gambit #17

Sep 26, 2013

Like every other Gambit diehard, I'm sad to see the series ending. And although I have a feeling the last page's reveal will be used as an excuse for Gambit being in comic book limbo, the ending doesleave the door open for Jason Aaron to use him as a JGS staff member, even though it's not explicitly stated he'll be returning to teach.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Guardians of the Galaxy (2013) #0.1

Feb 28, 2013

Basically, if you're a fan of Marvel's more space-y titles, there's no way you're not going to like this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Guardians of the Galaxy (2013) #1

Mar 28, 2013

But in closing, Guardians of the Galaxy #1 excels at what it sets out to do – Reintroducing the characters to a new audience with a story that's not overly convoluted. But to everyone expecting a sweeping narrative or a complex plot you'll probably be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Guardians of the Galaxy (2013) #2

Apr 25, 2013

The series has been high on action so far, I hope it's pulled back soon to focus on the characters a little more, for the uninitiated at least.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Guardians of the Galaxy (2013) #3

Jun 13, 2013

Groot is having an existential crisis.They storm the bridge of the battleship and Peter sends a message to the entire Spartax fleet that his father's pretty much just a crooked politician. Naturally, his father is pretty steamed.McNiven's art is just amazing, as always. Rocket Raccoon's catchphrase is funny and all, but I hope Bendis doesn't overdue it. While the plot may be somewhat predictable, this series still delivers. It's the comic book equivalent of a big dumb action movie. Totally enjoyable and fun, but not overly complicated.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Invincible Iron Man #519

Jun 21, 2012

The main criticism with the arc lately seemed to be the juggling of the multiple story lines. This issue reads as if it's starting to steer them all towards one another, however.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Invincible Iron Man #520

Jul 5, 2012

The ending of the issue is the worst part. The Mandarin's eventual reveal seems a bit anticlimactic too. If he's been in Tony's head all a long, why would he have gone to such great lengths to try and kill him in every way except the obvious way?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Invincible Iron Man #521

Jul 19, 2012

However, this is definitely not a good place for new readers to jump in on. But that'll probably be remedied with the Marvel Now! relaunch.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Invincible Iron Man #522

Aug 1, 2012

We're treated to a nice scene between The Mandarin and Tony where Mandarin reveals a bit of his backstory. Whether he's telling the truth or not is yet to be revealed however, but I'm sure we'll find out soon. Matt Fraction continues to not disappoint as he ends with a cliffhanger that leaves me waiting to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Invincible Iron Man #523

Aug 22, 2012

All in all, it's another solid issue written by Fraction. Salvador Larocca's art is wonderful as always.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Invincible Iron Man #524

Sep 5, 2012

Stark builds he and his friends cool new suits to take on the Mandarin and his private army and just as it's all about to go down, the issue ends. Fraction, you tease!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Invincible Iron Man #525

Sep 27, 2012

Mandarin's end game is a little questionable. He plans to fire a missile into the Earth. Maybe it's his "back against the wall" plan. Perhaps he foresaw Stark's rebellion after all? If he did he definitely didn't show it up until that moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Invincible Iron Man #526

Oct 10, 2012

Anyways, that's it for “The Future” arc of Invincible Iron Man. There's one more part that'lllikely serve as an epilogue, but the main story looks to be done. A very nice end to an extremely fun and well-crafted story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Invincible Iron Man #527

Oct 24, 2012

Farewell Invincible Iron Man. It's been an incredible run. It's going to be hard for anybody to top it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Iron Man (2012) #1

Nov 7, 2012

In short, Iron Man #1 is a great opening issue, though not quite as drastic an overhaul of the Iron Man universe as Marvel NOW!'s promotions suggest.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Iron Man (2012) #2

Nov 21, 2012

I honestly have no freaking idea what happened this issue. I mean, I'm clear on the events that took place. Tony travels to an island, fights some crazy cultists in high tech suits and that's that. The pacing just seems to have abruptly slowed. Last issue it was all "Extremis is loose on the world! Gotta' stop it before it spreads!" And this week, in the first few pages no less, Tony's just chillin' by the pool (albeit working on a new AI). This issue just didn't really seem that spectacular.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Iron Man (2012) #3

Dec 6, 2012

Aside from the art issues, this is a solid issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Iron Man (2012) #4

Dec 13, 2012

Gillen certainly doesn't mind playing with foreshadowing though, as just about every issue has ended with a cliffhanger that may or may not tie into the over all story.Either way we'll find out in the next issue as Believe wraps up in Iron Man #5.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Iron Man (2012) #5

Jan 2, 2013

In closing, this was another decent issue. If you've been a fan of the series so far, you'll enjoy this issue, but classic Iron Man readers may finish wanting something a little more fresh.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Iron Man (2012) #6

Feb 7, 2013

Honestly, I wouldn't say this issue is worth the cover price.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Iron Man (2012) #7

Mar 6, 2013

It's like everyone shares the exact same facial features. It's a good thing the Shi'ard all have starkly (get it?) contrasting skin colors or there'd be no way to tell them apart.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Iron Man (2012) #8

Apr 17, 2013

Greg Land's art is the best it's been this series. But again, Iron Man's new armor looks ridiculously terrible. Which is surprising, as every other one within the series has been great. All in all, it's a decent ending to a decent arc in a decent series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Iron Man (2012) #9

May 1, 2013

I gotta say. I'm preferring Dale Eaglesham's art over Greg Land's. There's more expressiveness. When it comes to Tony, anyways. I got a good feel of what Hope's Pustule is like in three panels which is a testament to Eaglesham's attention to detail. The only thing I found weird was Death's Head fluctuating height. He seems way taller than he was drawn in the last two issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Iron Man (2012) #10

May 16, 2013

This was a great issue, but long time Iron Man fans might find themselves worrying just where Gillen's heading with this. Hopefully it's not too big a change.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Iron Man (2012) #12

Jul 3, 2013

I'm not entirely sure about the 'war deterrent' angle. I mean when you consider everything that's taken place on Earth within the Marvel Universe in the last sixty years, you'd think aliens would be wary enough of Earth as is. And where exactly was 451 during the Skrull Invasion? I can't help but think Gillen could have had 451 need to use Tony for something more unique than fighting off more aliens from taking Earth. He's been doing that most of his adult life. And to make such a big retcon to Tony's character to do so seems like a misstep.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Iron Man (2012) #13

Jul 18, 2013

Gillen has a talent for making characters you shouldn't like actually likeable, and here it shows. 451"s sinister side is beginning to show more and more while Death's Head's return is totally enjoyable. The cliffhanger at the end is very, very cliffhanger-y as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Iron Man (2012) #14

Aug 7, 2013

Here's a joke. Why does the robot need teeth? So Greg Land can draw him smiling. Cue rimshot!Love it or hate it, Greg Land does his thing this issue. I will say he draws 451 superbly. You can see there's coldness yet emotion behind him in every panel. It's pretty cool.There's little more to this issue other than the implied demise of Death's Head, a pretty fun character I hope returns somehow in the future. The issue does however serve as a reminder that behind the deadpan humor, 451 really is a malevolent being bent on carrying out his mission, at any means possible. You know… in case you forgot.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Iron Man (2012) #15

Sep 5, 2013

As the second arc in Gillen's run on Iron Man closes, it's clear he's got a great understanding as to the character of Tony Stark. The title's in good hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Iron Man (2012) #16

Oct 3, 2013

It's really Gillen's character work that continues to shine in this series and that, coupled with the art of Pagulayan, there's a lot to like here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Iron Man (2012) #17

Oct 24, 2013

The Secret Origin of Tony Stark comes to a very satisfying conclusion with this issue. And though I'm sure there's some cynics whole will claim this whole twist will be forgotten about in a few months, I know the series is in good hands with Gillen.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Iron Man (2012) #18

Nov 7, 2013

Not much truly happens here this week. It's more of a set-up issue than anything, but it does give us our first look at Tony and Arno's developing relationship with each other. I found Arno questioning his temperament refreshing. I was doing the same thing last issue, wondering why he's been so cool with being locked away from the world for his whole life. I think it's a great swerve on a situation that would typically breed a supervillain. Although there's a always chance that could be turned on it's head at a moment's notice. So, knock on wood.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Marvel NOW! Point One #1

Oct 17, 2012

The ending of the book is the low point. It's a cliffhanger that'll confuse you, rather than leave you on the edge of your seat. The $5.99 price tag might be a few people wary as well, but it's well worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mighty Avengers (2013) #3

Nov 6, 2013

Mighty Avengers is probably one of (if not the) best tie-in titles to Infinity right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Minimum Carnage: Alpha #1

Oct 4, 2012

Admittedly, I'm not the biggest Carnage fan. I think he's a remnant of the '90s "EXTREME" era that's best left forgotten. I wasn't sure what to expect when Minimum Carnage was announced, but this isn't a bad start to what looks to be an interesting arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Minimum Carnage: Omega #1

Nov 21, 2012

The pacing of the book this week felt a little rushed. I never really felt Venom or Scarlet Spider were in any real danger this issue. But it was a great miniseries altogether.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nova (2013) #1

Feb 21, 2013

All in all, the series is off to a decent, if somewhat slow, start. Don't let the cover art fool you though, the last page is pretty much the exact opposite.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Savage Wolverine #1

Jan 16, 2013

Other than that, the art is really on point. The action is well paced as Cho separates scenes into small, snapshot-like panelsreminiscentof David Aja's Hawkeyesolo series. While Cho's art is the main draw to the series, if you're not a fan of Wolverine, chances are you won't enjoy this. But if you like savage cavemen, vicious dinosaurs, and half-naked warrior women, this might be the Marvel NOW! book for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Savage Wolverine #2

Feb 20, 2013

In summary, it's a decent follow-up issue to what could have been a really terrible first issue that actually turned out to be pretty good.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Savage Wolverine #3

Mar 21, 2013

This was another good issue. Not amazing, but fun. Simple, not overly complicated, just fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Savage Wolverine #4

Apr 17, 2013

The fun thing about the series is that it doesn't take itself that seriously. With other writers, it really could have just been another dark, gritty, drama-laden, snikt-snikt-bub-filled Wolverine story. But there's just as much humor as there is slicing off limbs. It's a cool change of pace.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Savage Wolverine #5

May 30, 2013

In a word, this issue was an anticlimactic ending to a pretty good arc in a pretty good series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Savage Wolverine #6

Jun 12, 2013

As for the art? Well, it looks decidedly more savage than Cho's run.Madureira's thick outlines and rough style definitely suit the book. He nails Wolverine, for example. Gruff, short, and hairy. The three essentials to drawing Wolverine. His Spider-Man is great too. Skinny and awkward next to the Wolverine and Elektra, the clear contrast shows Madureira knows what he's doing. His pencils and Spidey's dialogue are definitely the highlights of this issue. But it's a great set-up issue nonetheless.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Savage Wolverine #7

Jul 18, 2013

Zeb Wells certainly nails the 'Savage' aspect of the series. So much so Wolverine comes off as more than a little overdramatic this issue, monologuing about how much of an animal he is throughout the entire issue. Wells might have overdid it here. But we do see some inner conflict within Wolverine in regards to his wanton murder of ninja folk, so there's that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Scarlet Spider #7

Jul 12, 2012

I find myself wanting to see more and more of Aracely too.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Scarlet Spider #8

Aug 9, 2012

It is,however nice to see Kaine embracing his more heroic side. Instead of running, he sticks around. Well so far, anyways.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Scarlet Spider #9

Sep 13, 2012

I actually don't have much to say about this issue (or the arc in general). It wasn't bad, it wasn't great, it was just" passable.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Scarlet Spider #10

Oct 10, 2012

It's an interesting issue, I just wish we were given more information on Carnage's little pals and at least a hint about what they're planning.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Scarlet Spider #11

Nov 7, 2012

This issue was the strongest issue of Minimum Carnage yet. Everything's laid out on the table, the stakes are revealed, leaving us anticipating the next part in this arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Scarlet Spider #12

Dec 13, 2012

In the end, his issue is a great jumping on point for new readers too. All you need to know about Kaine Parker in one issue, plusa cliffhanger that will most likely tie in to the end of Amazing Spider-Man somehow.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Scarlet Spider #13

Jan 9, 2013

But all in all, this is a very good issue and a great start of a new story arc. There's a lot of unanswered questions this issue. Unanswered questions and a cliffhanger that will no doubt leave you waiting for issue #14.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Scarlet Spider #14

Feb 15, 2013

I like where this is headed. This was a great issue that answered a ton of questions and still managed to move the plot along. Chris Yost should definitely be commended somehow.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Scarlet Spider #15

Mar 27, 2013

There's several different artists this issues and it shows in a lot of panels. But the fight scene is incredibly well done and the container of people baking in the desert was just ridiculously haunting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Scarlet Spider #16

Apr 25, 2013

This was hands down one of the best issues to come out of the series so far. Very funny, not too complicated and it still manages to set up a bunch of future plot points.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Scarlet Spider #17

May 22, 2013

But aside from that,I really enjoyed this issue. A lot of action and with well placed humor.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Scarlet Spider #18

Jun 27, 2013

This is a very underrated book. It's really one of Marvel's more solid titles yet somehow it manages to fly under the radar. Yost is doing great work here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spider-Men #2

Jun 27, 2012

As a big fan of Sara PichelliI have to say the art is amazing, particularly the way she details both versions of Mysterio. Bendis, a seasoned Spider-Man writer, captures both characters perfectly. From their back-and-forth dialogue to their different fighting styles, it's pretty fun read for Spider-Man fans of either universe. While crossovers usually don't live up to the hype, Spider-Menmay be the exception to the rule.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Spider-Men #3

Jul 12, 2012

The issue felt a tad rushed, which might be chalked up to how short the series actually is. This is issue 3 of 5. They've got a lot of ground to cover in two more issues in regards to the plot.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spider-Men #4

Aug 8, 2012

All-in-all, Spider-Men has been a really good crossover. And really good crossovers are few and far between.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Spider-Men #5

Sep 19, 2012

All in all, a great wrap-up to a solid miniseries.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
The First X-Men #1

Aug 3, 2012

The art here is somewhat inconsistent as well. Wolverine shifts between a buff looking guy to feral with really no step in between. The tech the guards use looks way too advanced for the period of time the series takes place in as well. All in all, I can't get behind the idea of pushing Wolverine this far into the spotlight by essentially stating that he beat Charles Xavier to the idea as well as paint the professor as somewhat inept.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The First X-Men #2

Sep 6, 2012

Still not a big fan of the art in this series. You'd be hard pressed to find a panel where someone doesn't have their mouth open. In one panel Logan and Sabertooth are in a helicopter. The next they're on the ground with no evidence that time has passed. There's another instance where everyone is eating inside Logan's cabin (There's literally a panel of Victor Creed eating a big sandwhich. That actually happens) and then Logan gets mad and suddenly they're outside, yards away from the house. Later,Magneto throws a tire at Wolverine, but unless there was some kind of metal in that tire it makes no sense at all. Just like this whole series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The First X-Men #3

Oct 10, 2012

I will praise the series for not inserting a ton of X-Men: First Class references and influences (aside from the Magneto hunting down former Nazis). It does have that going for it at least.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The First X-Men #4

Nov 15, 2012

The only good thing about this book is that it's ending with the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
The First X-Men #5

Nov 30, -0001

Like I said in my review of issue #1. I'm not sure why this series exists. I've got a strong feeling that eventually, this series will slowly but surely be placed outside continuity. I'm not even sure who to blame for this. Neal Adams seems like that eccentric grandpa who lucks into an expensive sports car and then says "Let's go for a ride!" and ends up getting pulled over by the police while Christos Gage facepalms in the passenger seat, clearly embarrassed by the whole situation. I wouldn't blame Gage if he never takes credit for or mentions this series ever again. I wouldn't.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncanny Avengers #1

Oct 10, 2012

Despite the few issues concerning the writing, I'm looking forward to seeing where this series goes. And I'll read anything drawn by Cassady. He's one of my favorite artists in the business right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #1

Feb 13, 2013

While this issue does serve as a great jumping on point, it still suffers from some sketchy dialogue and iffy character motivations.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #3

Mar 13, 2013

The art's a major step up from the last issue but there's enough lens flare to give JJ Abrams an erection. A little restraint goes along way, Bachalo.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #4

Apr 11, 2013

Chris Bachalo has toned down the lens flare by a lot. It's still there, though. The monochromatic page where Emma and the Cuckoos are discussing the 05 is really neat looking as isBenjamin's gradual transformation into Eva.What this series lacks in action, it makes up for in dialogue and a proper, detailed and in-depth plot. Hats off to Bendis for juggling as many titles as he is and not having them all suck.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #5

Apr 24, 2013

I really, really dig Irving's art style and I think it's a good fit for this series. His version of Darkchilde is by far the absolute best. Magik's face being all distorted and fiery, you really get the demonic feel from it. It looks fantastic. I'm still not a fan of Bald Magneto though. It's creepy that he's totally jocking Xavier's look. Not cool, Erik. Get your own look already.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #6

May 23, 2013

Frazer's action scenes are just amazing. Specifically Cyclops' optic blast.Admittedly, the fight scene feels a little incomplete without its resolution, but it was so epically rendered that it's hard to care.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #7

Jun 27, 2013

Frazer Irving's work is flat out amazing. He is the reason Uncanny X-Men is one of the best looking Marvel titles out right now. This is definitely a standout issue, in my opinion.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #8

Jul 11, 2013

In which Angel just doesn't get it.Seeing the Cuckoos interact with one another like normal sisters was great, as was Magneto's speech to Scott. I just hope this series gaims some steam soon. Cyclops revolution better pick up orS.H.I.E.L.D. won't have a reason to keep chasing after him.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #9

Aug 1, 2013

Who am I kidding? Of course she will. And slide right back into comic book limbo.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #10

Aug 15, 2013

This issue's well-paced, but there are a lot of big panels and splash pages, so it reads very, very quickly, particularly for a book with a $3.99 price tag.But I really enjoyed this it. The interactions between the characters were especially great.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #11

Aug 29, 2013

In short, this was another solid issue. It's awesome to see the newbies finally holding their own and I look forward to seeing more of that in the future. Bring on Battle of the Atom I say!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #12

Sep 19, 2013

Honestly a lot of this issue was retreading familiar territory. The "OMG, X-MEN FROM THE PAST! THIS IS ALL SO CONFUSING!" thing was just a little too overdone here, and it made the issue come off as filler and more of a set-up, than anything.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #13

Oct 17, 2013

With two full issues left to go in Battle of the Atom, I'm still not sure whether or not the Original Five X-Men are here to stay. Hopefully it's answered soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #14

Nov 21, 2013

All in all, this was a great character issue that was sorely needed. In one issue, Ben was taught by Emma to explore both the implications and the ramifications of his powers, came into his own as an X-Man, inflitrated a S.H.I.E.L.D office, and delivered a warning shot across the bow on behalf of Cyclops's revolution. Quite a bit of character development here, and it was great. It should also be noted that Ben's sexuality was revealed for the first time this issue as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Venom (2011) #26

Oct 18, 2012

In closing, this is the issue where the arc really takes off. It reads like a terrifyingly dark space epic and it's wonderful.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wolverine and the X-Men #36

Sep 26, 2013

In the end, this wasn't a terrible issue. The twist here feels like it came just a little too suddenly and could've been dragged into the next issue. It worked though.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wolverine and the X-Men #37

Oct 24, 2013

While this issue improved on the last's lack of information, the delivered answers feel like answers we should've been given issues ago.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-Men (2013) #6

Oct 10, 2013

While this crossover may seem a little long, the interaction between the characters, the strong writing, and the fantastic artwork by every team are enough reasons to keep reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men: Battle of the Atom #1

Sep 4, 2013

Animax was a highlight. I hope she pops up down the line somewhere because, in the little we saw of her, she was awesome. I don't know who came up with the idea behind the character but, whoever it is they should be commended.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Battle of the Atom #2

Oct 31, 2013

The different teams of writers for each epilogues was a excellent idea,since they've all been writing different chapters and a few are better suited/used to certain voices. The difference in the art midway through the issue is noticeable. Not a problem if you're a fan of both teams artists, but if not, it's pretty jarring.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More