Brandon Lawrence's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Black Nerd Problems Reviews: 148
8.5Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Action Comics (2016) #1001

Jul 25, 2018

This comic was a fun read, as well as a solidly written and drawn piece of work.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Action Comics (2016) #1002

Aug 22, 2018

Admittedly I am biased towards Bendis' style, so I enjoyed this book immensely. Counter-balanced with the cosmic-level action of the "Superman" title, "Action Comics" has a more reserved, subtle plot. It's a welcome change of pace for a powerhouse like Clark Kent.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Action Comics (2016) #1003

Sep 25, 2018

The other creative talents on this book — led by Yanick Paquette — shine just as bright, especially through a handful of DC Easter eggs (half of which I probably would've missed if not for years listening to 40+ year-old comic fans). Otherwise, references like "Sugar and Spike" would be lost on me. My favorite pages would have to be Clark's episode. Feeling weak and sick, the panels are warped to simulate the imbalance the character experiences. I really appreciate the medium being played with like that, and continue to anticipate the next issue this team puts together.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Action Comics (2016) #1004

Oct 25, 2018

And the art. The perfect god Cyclops, the art. OH THE ART! Sook takes Bendis' story and just makes magic. The lines are sharp. And the faces, OH THEN FACES; he captures expressions and the momentum of any given scene so well. Then, of course, he get a couple of action scenes where he gets to cut loose and excel. I have absolutely no complaints.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Action Comics (2016) #1006

Jan 2, 2019

I'm back on comics, and Action Comics #1006 is a great place to come back to.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Action Comics (2016) #1007

Jan 30, 2019

It speaks to the quality of the comic how entertained and downright moved at one point I was. I'm not surprised, since I'm definitely a Bendis fanboy. But I want to give some serious props to Steve Epting, especially in the dialogue with Lois and her father.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Action Comics (2016) #1008

Feb 27, 2019

Bendis strikes again with the smooth voices he's found in these characters. This book was particularly fun to read because of all the different back and forths. Bones and Strange. Lois and Clark. Waller and Lane. They all had these different dynamics but that pithy Bendis wit was all there. Not to be outdone, Epting drew himself a badass comic. The lines are clean and kudos to Anderson for some dazzling colors. There's something to be said about a book where the shot with the most emotional weight centered on a skeleton in a suit.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Action Comics (2016) #1009

Mar 27, 2019

All of this is to say that despite not knowing all the history of these characters, Bendis puts this comic together in expert fashion not to leave readers like me behind.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Action Comics (2016) #1010

Apr 24, 2019

It's a credit to Bendis how many directions he's able to take this story and have it still feel coherent and compelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Action Comics (2016) #1011

May 22, 2019

Is "Leviathan Rising" coming to fruition and an end? I have no idea. Bendis could keep this going for months, adding nostalgic figures from all over the DC universe. As long as Epting draws the hell out of this comic and Bendis keeps up the pithy dialogue, I'll likely enjoy it all the way up to the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Action Comics (2016) #1012

Jun 26, 2019

For a comic with more development than action, it was one of the most exciting I've seen in this run.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Action Comics (2016) #1013

Jul 24, 2019

This is a solid Super-Bendis book that I've become accustomed to. Kuoranski continues to prove himself a capable artist.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Action Comics (2016) #1014

Sep 1, 2019

Another thing to note is how this book plays with the panels' borders. During Thorn's fight they used an appropriately themed border that they've done with her character before. During Superman's they used an unconventional one that added a bit of spice to the scene.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Action Comics (2016) #1015

Sep 27, 2019

The book rounds out with some action towards the end and promises a confrontation between Naomi and a frequently appearing villain in Action Comics. The best part of the conclusion of this book is Superman throwing shade at the villain in "disappointed father"-ly form. Why can't you be more like Naomi, bad guy?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Acts of Evil: Ms. Marvel Annual #1

Jul 5, 2019

Lastly, it wasn't lost on me that Lam gave this book an anime feel. An otaku at heart, I'm always ok with my American comics feeling like manga.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #16

Mar 1, 2019

This is only my second Amazing Spidey comic since Spencer took over. I'll keep an open mind but my interest is already waning.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #17

Mar 17, 2019

brilliantly colored and created a painfully intense fight scene. I wasn't, and I'm still not blown away by the Hunted plot but in this issue, I was blown away by the structure of the opening three scenes. It began with Kraven, then Spider-Man, and finally Blackcat. They all had their respective introspections tied into the situation at hand. That artistic choice really impressed me and alongside Ramos' art made this a comic to remember.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #18

Mar 29, 2019

I have no doubt in my mind that the lack of empathy so many people have for the incarcerated wouldn't allow many of then to endanger their lives for "worthy causes". In fact, we have a lot of history (much of it more recent than you'd think) in which that actually happened. In the same second I think "Have you no faith in humanity?" and "Yea, people = shit". Slipknot references aside, Spencer weaves together a compellingly structured story that's so good, that you can't even force yourself to knock it because of the depressing tone.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #18.HU

Apr 7, 2019

What Brian Michael Bendis did for the Armadillo and Tom King did for Kite Man (Hell yea) Spencer has accomplished with Gibbon.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #19

Apr 14, 2019

Now, this story is solid. An interesting plot, a wide array of characters and the return of Spider-Man's black costume are doing it for me. That said, it doesn't feel big enough for the attention Marvel is giving it. It reads like a 4-book arc that's being extended 12 issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #19.HU

Apr 21, 2019

Nick Spencer is doing something wonderful in these .HU issues. The moving delves into the individual characters, in turn, fosters emotional investment in them during the main story. Not to be outdone by his work on Gibbon (Madame Web rest his soul) Lizard's fascinatingly tragic history is woven into his mission through inner monologue masterfully. Unlike many villains who embrace their lifestyle through justification, malice or denial Lizard is truly racked with guilt, self-loathing and dedication to redemption.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #21

May 18, 2019

I won't lie, I'm getting into the game Kraven's trying to play. If he wants to push Spidey to violence, it makes sense that he keeps putting him in the black suit. Another thing that really carries this issue is the melancholy of Dr. Curt Connors and his son. It really shines as some of the most compelling work in this series. The incredible interaction between Curt Connors and Peter Parker cuts deep when the Lizards pulls out a "tell me about responsibility when you have a kid”. We'll see what a berserker Lizard with a history of filicide does to this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #22

May 31, 2019

Humberto Ramos continues the theme of murder by just killing this art. This book's theme-appropriate darkness accentuates the villains' menace and also Spider-Man's in his black suit when he starts to beat Kraven's ass. There's a small panel that spoke to me for some reason that was solid white with Kraven punching Spidey in the face with "KRAK". I can't wait for the (presumably) last issue of this arc. I'm either going to be devastated or relieved but there will probably be tears.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #23

Jun 14, 2019

Ottley definitely has a particular style. In his linework, Mary Jane with her red hair looks a lot like Eve from Invincible — while Kraven and his manly facial hair resembles Mark's dad from the same book. If nothing else, it made me nostalgic for the amazing book that has since ended. In terms of Spencer, he's left a lot of possible ways forward. We'll see what he has in store.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #25

Jul 14, 2019

Among all the Spider-craziness, I really hope this theme of mid-life self-improvement and reflection remains a center in this Spider-Man saga.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #26

Jul 25, 2019

I'm looking forward to following more of Boomerang. I've noticed that in Spider-Man comics there are is an occasional theme of reforming villains. Prowler comes to mind, as does that amazing work with Rhino some years back. When confronted by his sordid past, I'm curious whether Spencer will have him virtuously pull through, sink back into his old habits, or die. Pretty sure those are the only options.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #27

Aug 18, 2019

The Six, of course, play the aggrieved women. They recall experiences of being underestimated and overlooked for job prospects. Boomerang plays the "Bro" well. He even mansplains mid-fight after the six make it clear that it his toxic masculinity is a big reason he's being hunted. Spider-Man fills the role of an "Ally". He does his best to seems to breath in facts and breaths out inclusivity. The result is a cringeworthy word salad that left me cringing. All in all, Spencer and Walker have found some great voices and faces.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #28

Sep 1, 2019

8 " 'Nice', Disintegrating Repulsor-Wielding Girlfriends" Out of 10

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #29

Sep 15, 2019

Props to Francesco Manna. This book was fresh. A lot of the book was dialogue and the faces here were crisp. The colorist, Carlos Lopez deserves credit too. The beginning of the book is very bright colored as Spider-Man converses with Mary Jane and Aunt May. Later, when the villain is introduced the book switches to a dark hue and it creates a visual shift to go along with the tone. The book does have some action scenes that are nothing to scoff at. There's a full page back and forth between Spider-Man fighting A.I.M and Mary Jane waiting that was well mapped and cinematic. Next month, we get one of the most terrifying Spider-Man villains of all time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Avengers (2018) #1

May 4, 2018

I'm not blown away by the direction Avengers #1 is going especially being part of the generation that grew up with Bendis' New Avengers #1. I'm old, crotchety, and hard to please. But if there's one thing I've learned in my decade and a half of comic reading, it's that if you see Jason Aaron and Ed McGuiness on a book, you give that book some time to develop.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers (2018) #2

May 20, 2018

Ed McGuinness' art tempered my cynicism into childish glee. The man draws a beautiful comic. Between the characters and the landscapes, the art in this book is God-tier. One particular highlight was Jennifer Walters aka She-Hulk glowing red from the fire of Ghost Rider's car; a subtle nod to the Red She-Hulk. For all the criticism that a "big-threat" cliche in these kinds of books gets, it undeniably allows talented artists to shine.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers (2018) #3

Jun 23, 2018

Ed McGuinness and his creative team give us some captivating visuals. The coloring and the line work just pop, especially with the pulsating action throughout the book. A beautiful team pose with a cityscape backdrop (albeit missing a key Avengers member) paralyzed me with awe. It also inspired an "aww" with poor Ghost Rider WAY in the back posted up on his car. The MVP scene in this book was when Thor decides to confront Odin in Asgard, bringing along one other member in case things get froggy. It makes me shake my head grimace just how absolutely sick this panel is.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers (2018) #4

Jul 6, 2018

I touched on it but I can't stress how beautiful this book is, visually. Ed McGuinness and his creative team have tapped into a style that is heroically colorful and expertly detailed. This is slowly but almost surely growing into my favorite Marvel book. Kudos, team.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers (2018) #5

Jul 20, 2018

This opens up a promise of an epic confrontation between the Avengers and the Dark Celestials. Aaron has a wonderful grasp on these characters. The more I read, the more these Avengers feel right. The cynicism of seeing them as "cash grab" choices because of the movies really fades before the quality writing of Jason Aaron.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers (2018) #6

Aug 23, 2018

The whole creative team put together this crisp, colorful visual journey worthy of the finale of the first Avengers arc since the Infinity War movie came out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers (2018) #7

Sep 7, 2018

It was great to get a little taste of Sara Pichelli. She really got to play around with the medium in a story of dank caves, snowy tundras, and flaming mammoths. It was just amazing to look at. There's a fair amount a conversation between the hero and villain which worked out because Pichelli puts a lot of dynamism in the characters' faces. You can feel the tension of the scene and it makes the comic that much better. It's a shame she won't continue on the book in the upcoming arc but it was great while it lasted.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers (2018) #9

Oct 11, 2018

The heart of this book is definitely a social commentary about environmentalism, refugees, and diplomacy. Where the Dark Celestials were a simple, punchable threat Namor provides a problem needing a scalpel rather than a hammer (to be fair, though, Thor definitely tries to hit him with his hammer). The book parallels the tricky landscape of providing assistance to people from a country hostile to your aid for good reason. How the Avengers navigate this daunting task promises to challenge their and the readers global world view.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Avengers (2018) #12

Jan 10, 2019

This book continues to dazzle not only due to the creators' uncanny storytelling ability but in the directions and focuses they're willing to go. Instead of going from adventure to Earth-shattering adventure there is a strong connective tissue, first in the flashbacks and references to the Avengers' ancient incarnations and now in the introduction of the Agents of Wakanda. I mean, who wouldn't be excited for a character they last saw in Warren Ellis' amazing Thunderbolts run or the widely acclaimed Immortal Iron Fist from Ed Brubaker and Matt Fraction. I'm seeing a swelling opportunity for the rest of Marvel Comics to pay close attention to what's going on in these pages. It has the potential to be a strong heart and guiding star for the whole 616.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers (2018) #13

Jan 24, 2019

Similar to the ancient Ghost Rider issue, these 1,000,000 BC books have a finer lining to them and soft colors in contrast to the bright and bold art style of the present day Avengers. I'm curious where the creators are leading with these looks into the prehistory, but for now we'll worry about next issue. . . VAMPIRE CIVIL WAR!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers (2018) #14

Feb 9, 2019

David Marquez is back on the book showcasing his artistic talents in a few exciting action shots and poses. Black Panther and Iron Man's double solar attack offered a dazzling scene that offset the darker aesthetic of most of the book. A fiery scene featuring Ghost Rider also served as a highlight, albeit a terrifying one. The newest Avengers book continues to be solid and dynamic take on Marvel's flagship team.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Avengers (2018) #15

Feb 22, 2019

This issue was connective tissue for the arc, formally introducing the Legion of the Undead when Shadow Colonel gives a brainwashed Ghost Rider an orientation. I'll give props to the creativity of the Colonel having a "Boy-Thing" he grew from a piece of the Man-Thing in order to have an endless supply of wooden stakes. The only important mystery left is Dracula's plan after voluntarily surrendering himself into Russian custody. That part of the book was pretty dialogue-heavy and personally, I'm tired of anything regarding Iron Man's family. If you really want to impress me, regale me with stories of Sarge and his healthy, supportive Hellhound parents.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Avengers (2018) #16

Mar 11, 2019

As always, Dave Marquez and the colorist, Erick Arciniega, craft clean and beautifully vibrant pages. Once again the mix of red hellfire and cold blue prison walls makes for amazing juxtaposition. I can't stress enough how bad you should be reading this and how I hope the rest of the Marvel Universe takes this book's lead and tie into it in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers (2018) #17

Mar 21, 2019

Firstly, can we sit back and appreciate the amazing cover of this book? The inside doesn't disappoint as this is the team brawl we've been waiting for this arc to get to. Needless to say, Marquez tears this book up with amazing action shots of Wakandan lightsabers, vampire Optic Blasts, and exploding rats. Not to be outdone, Aaron looks like he's having a ball with the mid-combat barbs and Blade's inner monologue (seriously, he calls T'Challa the Black Pope!). My absolute favorite is the couple panels where Blood Baroness shouts off Nazi rants and Captain America essentially says, "Ya Basic". The book ends with a couple of open directions to go in the future. We'll get more vampires eventually and definitely more Ghost Rider (Yea, that one). But next arc looks like it features your favorite DC ripoffs. Enter the Squadron.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers (2018) #18

Apr 26, 2019

The issue begins rattling off the characters: Hyperion, Power Princess, Nighthawk, Whizzer and Doctor Spectrum are all summoned to handle an attack by Frost Giants by none other than Agent Coulson. A deeper look into their past shows some shady training by the U.S. government. The Squadron shows its loyalty is to the United States as they take a "not our problem" stance when the Giants are driven north to Canada.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers (2018) #19

May 24, 2019

I give Aaron a lot of credit for the web of characters, teams, and motivations that he's creating. The Winter Guard, the Legion of the Unliving, and especially the Agents of Wakanda have provided a variety of possibilities Aaron is looking to explore. I can only imagine that this book has been designed with years of plots in mind. I adore it when a minor character is focused on to move the story along. Let's not forget what a giant like Ed McGuinness can do with such a dynamic book. There are some great shots, including Luke Cage with a battle hammer and Carol Danvers flying alongside a flying boat. Depending on who's drawing the rest of the War of the Realms books, I may have to pick the series up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers (2018) #21

Jul 14, 2019

This comic shines in its laying out the insecurities of the characters along with the external threats that are looming. At the same time, the dialogue is often light and hilarious. The tension between the two reminds me of Infinity War and Endgame. The dread is definitely there, but it's funny as hell.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers (2018) #22

Aug 1, 2019

Let's not forget that the subplot of the book leans into the idea of "Ancient Avengers.” I'm a big fan of the stage Jason Aaron has set in 22 issues. Between the Ancient Avengers, Ghost Rider: King of Hell, Dracula's gang, the Russians, Namor, and the Squadron Supreme, it's insane how he was able to do it. Caselli has proven to be a solid follow up to Ed McGuinness. This issue was an improvement on last month's. The characters were clean and crisp, even when the shots are panned out. The scenes with Ghost Rider's car spewing flames are dynamic and exciting. Stefano Caselli is with us through this Ghost Rider story so we'll be sure to get plenty more impressive art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Avengers (2018) #23

Sep 1, 2019

Now I don't know when Frank Castle got the Power Cosmic AND the Spirit of Vengeance but I won't lie. It sounds like the creation of a drunk Stan Lee and I am here for it. The book continues to impress with Aaron's pulling on several threads laid down in earlier issues. Here the Ghost Rider story intersects with the concept of the ancient Avengers whom we got a few stories about. The creme filling here is in Hell. Caselli's hellscape is beautifully terrifying. It had the unfortunate side effect of reminding me how much I prefer Ghost Rider's original design, especially in the hands of a capable artist. Keep this book in hell for as long as you guys need!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers (2018) #24

Sep 27, 2019

We're met at the onset by ages of former Ghost Riders. This opening spread is fantastic; littered with Spirits of Vengeance from various decades. There's 1950's Madmen Ghost Rider. Circus Ringleader Ghost Rider? Great Depression era newsboy with a baseball bat Ghost Rider. Oh shit! Is Ghost Rider wearing a turban? My only complaint with the hellish plethora is that each one of them has a traditional flaming skull and it reminds me how much I dislike the newest one's design.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II #1

Dec 5, 2017

This team of Tynion and Williams has set up a hell of a story and I cannot wait to see where it goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II #2

Dec 21, 2017

Two books in and this comic continues to live up to the hype set by the first mini-series. If you love Batman and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles there's no reason you should have needed this review to tell you to pick it up so good for you!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II #3

Jan 17, 2018

I can never give Freddie Williams II enough praise for the amazing art he does in this book. The detail is just delightful. I venture to say this is one of the most visually beautiful books on my pull list right now. If the cover of next month's issue is any indication, we're going to want to keep an eye on Donatello.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II #4

Feb 21, 2018

This book glows in no small part because of Williams' art. I look forward to it every month. This fight-heavy issue really lets him fly off the handle with some dazzling action scenes. The gold star of this book is actually the unique use of panel boxes. Several of the panel outlines use a stylistic, non-symmetrical design akin to an ink-covered calligraphy brush. Choices like this make the book dynamic and a treasure to read. Who can be upset when there is an off panel stare-down between Batman and Bane among the chaos? This title continues to be one of the most fun books being created right now and I don't know if I'll survive an entire month before the next one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II #5

Mar 22, 2018

My favorite time of the month has come. Batman / Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II came out this week! The talented creative team of James Tynion IV, Ryan Ferrier and Freddie Williams II continues to bring one of the most fun stories being published. The fifth installment of the "A Knight in New York" finds Donatello on a Venom-fueled rampage against the Foot Clan. Donnie has been struggling with feelings of inadequacy and inferiority this entire story. Against the warnings of Batman and the Turtles (minus Raphael), Donnie hopes Venom will be the key to defeating Bane, The Foot Clan, and his own weakness. Meanwhile, the team is reaching out to the rest of the Bat-Family in Gotham to potentially use another dangerous substance to save Master Splinter.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II #6

Apr 20, 2018

Bane quickly grabs control of the Foot Clan and boosts their power with his patented Venom. Donnie is so desperate to rectify his mistake he resorts to taking the Venom himself to launch a one-turtle assault on Bane's forces. Batman and Leonardo are able to break through Donnie's rage-fueled barrage of violence and monologuing with the power of a scientific formula (think of the science nerd's version of Lois Lane waking up Superman). Now we get to see the Purple Professor's master plan turned into action as the Turtles — backed up by the Bat-family — try to take New York back from Bane.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Creature of the Night #1

Dec 6, 2017

This creative team of Kurt Busiek, John Paul Leon, and Todd Klein put together a hauntingly beautiful comic about trauma and wonder, connecting on a visceral level to the comic book fan. This comic could very well have been a one-shot and I would be satiated. Our cup runneth over, though, as this creative team will bless us with a full miniseries. A comic like this is pure perfection and the standard by which I hold all others.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Creature of the Night #2

Dec 27, 2017

Leon's art is expertly executed. The bright, carefree undergrad environment; the dark garage buzzing with criminal activity; the meticulous office of Uncle Alfred. Every environment shows thoughtful design and amazing detail. This book continues to be a masterpiece, rivaling the best books out now. Pick this comic up and let Busiek and Leon sweep you up into this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Creature of the Night #3

Apr 20, 2018

This book is a creative masterpiece. Kurt Busiek continuously displays his storytelling expertise. John Paul Leon delivers a delightful, 80's aesthetic to the book. The character designs, landscapes, and action scenes continue to deliver a unique display of mastery unlike any other book I'm reading today. I've said it before and it continues to be true. This is the sort of book that sets the standard for top tier work.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Black Panther and the Agents of Wakanda #1

Sep 22, 2019

This is a standard early super team book with a special charm because of how underutilized these characters are.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Black Panther and the Agents of Wakanda #2

Oct 17, 2019

There's a bit of humor in this book in that the title character in this book isn't faced with any inner demons. The reason given is protection he receives from the Black Panther suit but I'm skeptical. It could have been for the sake of time, but my preferred theory is that it's hard to think of something a mature Black Panther would be convincingly shaken by. The conflict is resolved as all should be; energy blasts, hammers and eating. Next issue promises to utilize Broo and Gorilla Man so I'm all the way psyched.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Crowded #1

Aug 16, 2018

Recent technologies are sprinkled throughout the book as Vita and Charlotte get to know each other while simultaneously repelling murderous attacks. My favorite has to be the man in a self driving car with his feet up, just chillin'. We also get a fast food spot seemingly without any employees, only automated service and a smart screen imbedded in the table.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Daredevil (2015) #596

Dec 14, 2017

The first issue was heavy on the dialogue and lighter on the action. There is nothing wrong with this approach, especially when the back and forth is a well-written word tussle between Matt Murdock (Daredevil) and Mayor Wilson Fisk. Issue 596, though, explodes with excitement as Daredevil finds himself on the wrong side of the law in Fisk's New York City. We see Murdock and law enforcement in true crisis mode, trying to make sense of a peculiar set of orders regarding the Man Without Fear. As emergency orders demand, everyone has to act and react with no time to catch their breath. In real time, the comic can't be covering more than a ten minute time period and that pace is felt by the reader.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Daredevil (2015) #597

Jan 12, 2018

Dan Mora and Romulo Fajardo drew a great main cover: Murdock and Fisk in the foreground exchanging a handshake while their shadows are locked in fierce combat. The art teases what could have been an impressive, twenty-something pages. With a different artist scheduled to continue the next chapter of our tale I'm hopeful for a solid, all-around book in February.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Daredevil (2015) #598

Feb 8, 2018

This week brings us Daredevil #598 written by Charles Soule and drawn by Ron Garney. We continue the term of Mayor Wilson Fisk aka The Kingpin. The honorable mayor's plans to crack down on New York City's superheroes have been interrupted by the escaped super villain, Muse. The faceless dissident has taken to vandalizing government buildings with superhero-inspired art, opposing Mayor Fisk's hardline stance against them. Matt Murdock, the newly appointed deputy mayor and veteran hero known as Daredevil, has his work cut out for him. He has to utilize his legal expertise as well as his heroic gifts to push against Mayor Fisk's administration and Muse's dangerous presence.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Daredevil (2015) #599

Feb 27, 2018

Ron Garney's work compliments an art-centered story arc well. It has a painter's aesthetic and does amazing things with light, especially during the night scenes. I particularly like the way the light hits Daredevil and Blindspot's black costumes. The colors contribute substantially to the feel of this book. Matt Milla, the color artist on this book, deserves praise for the work he put into this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Daredevil (2015) #600

Mar 29, 2018

There is a special feeling when a book's writing and drawing are both on point and create a masterpiece worthy of a number like 600. This creative team is golden.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Daredevil (2015) #601

Apr 20, 2018

It's my favorite time of the month! Daredevil by Charles "Goddamn" Soule came out this week. Number 601 brings a new artist into the world of Matt Murdock — Mike Henderson. An obvious question for this book: the 600th issue milestone gave us a Defenders-plus roster of heroes and concluded the Mayor Fisk storyline. How do you follow that up? "Mayor Murdock" . . . OK, then. Daredevil #601 begins Matt Murdock's unexpected role as mayor of New York City. With Wilson Fisk incapacitated by means of ninja arrows, Murdock finds himself as the leader of the city during an invasion by The Hand.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Daredevil (2015) #602

May 20, 2018

This book continues to kick a blinding amount of ass, and I recommend it to any and all Daredevil fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Daredevil (2015) #603

May 31, 2018

We're getting to the crescendo of the Hand attack. You might be able to guess from the cover. I couldn't help but shudder from flashbacks of "Fear Itself". It was telegraphed REALLY big, too. When Murdock starts to dramatically monologue about how brave and resistant to fear New Yorkers are, there was only one direction the plot could go. I'm going to spend the next month praying to Jesus? Soule? (Hell, the Goddamn Beast if it works): that this story doesn't dissolve into a cliche salad.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Daredevil (2015) #604

Jun 23, 2018

This book continues to excite and impress me between the striking story directions Soule makes and the beautiful scenes Henderson and Milla craft. Next month promises to intrigue as readers say, "Oh yea, he WAS here all along!" See you then.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Daredevil (2015) #605

Jul 12, 2018

The glowing sword horseback sequence feels like the epic cumulation of the feel of this arc. I continue to have a ton of fun reading and looking at the book!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Daredevil (2015) #606

Aug 9, 2018

Phil Noto's style is impressive. The story's back and forth between mild-mannered conversation and dynamic action allows him a lot of opportunities to show his versatility. He does faces very well. Playing to his strength he throws in a lot of facial close-ups amongst full body action shots. All in all this book was a pleasure to behold and read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Daredevil (2015) #607

Aug 23, 2018

The book opens with a history lesson of Mike Murdock, the fake twin brother created to convince people that Matt Murdock is not Daredevil. It's as ridiculous as it sounds but Soule does well to channel an acknowledgement of said ridiculousness through Daredevil's retelling the story. " . . . seems like everything was more elaborate back then", Daredevil muses.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Daredevil (2015) #608

Sep 14, 2018

The icing on the cake in this book comes at the end when a character from recent Marvel history enters the stage. None other than Parker Robbins a.k.a The Hood. All the play he got from a very formative time in my Marvel Comics reading made him the perfect choice to get me excited about the direction this weird story is going. So bring it on, Soule. Let's see what you got.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daredevil (2015) #610

Oct 31, 2018

Phil Noto absolutely murders this book art-wise. The first page has Murdock and Nachos embracing, with a backdrop of the night's cityscape and an illuminated silhouette around them, and it sings. There's a deliberate blue and red hue throughout the scene permeated by Daredevil's radar. The rest of the book is also expertly done. Different color palettes are used in various scenes and the attention to detail is just glorious. More so than Daredevil's apparent death at the end of this series, I'm most terrified at the possibility of Phil Noto not drawing Daredevil.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Daredevil (2015) Annual #1

Sep 2, 2018

The story closely follows Misty Knight but Daredevil just pops up as a plot device throughout the story to move it along. It's fun when a title hero's book can be used to tell a story with the focus on a different character. This is actually the kind of classic move that can get readers interested in different characters. With the short livedFalcon run over and the glow of a potential Daughters of the Dragon focus in the next season of Iron Fist, I can smell the opportunity for a lot more Misty in upcoming comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Daredevil (2019) #1

Feb 9, 2019

Marco Checchetto does a damn good job with the art here. Cleanly lined characters popped in front of artistically hazy backgrounds. My favorite panels played with the light in Murdock's apartment. In one scene a shadow hits his eyes like a blindfold. The other uses shadows to create the illusion of prison bars, illustrating the figurative jail Murdock describes feeling. It looks like this team is with us at least for this first arc. If this issue is any preview of the continued quality of the book, I'm optimistic for Daredevil's future adventures.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Daredevil (2019) #2

Mar 1, 2019

This comic does everything right. The driving storyline has so much potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daredevil (2019) #3

Mar 29, 2019

In the current level of accountability (current in that more people are actually paying attention to it) for police and their to the communities they serve, I sympathize with Cole. He doesn't get the god's eye view of Daredevil that a comic book reader does. There are times where even the reader should be weary of an unchecked Murdock " remember when he was possessed by the Beast? The debate danced in my head while reading this comic. By the end, another ethical conundrum is all but promised. This comic does perfectly what all art should. It simultaneously takes you out of the real world in a fantastical story, while reflecting upon societal realities.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daredevil (2019) #4

Apr 21, 2019

Checchetto continues to murder this art. The amazing contrast between the cover and the last page alone is enough for me to recommend the hell out of this book. His crowning jewel is the apex of the Daredevil vs Punisher fight amidst the fire and fury of an explosion (one that may or may have not been caused by a stupid show of bravado by Murdock). Reading this book continues to be my religious experience for the month.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daredevil (2019) #5

May 18, 2019

The scene between Daredevil and Spider-Man was the best part of this book. The interactions between the two tend to emphasize Spider-Man's goofiness and Daredevil's annoyance. This issue highlights how highly Daredevil thinks of Spider-Man, and how seriously Spider-Man takes superheroing. Between the intense dialogue and the beautifully intimidating shots of Spider-Man in the shadows, I'm closer than I've ever been to thinking Daredevil is done being a hero.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Daredevil (2019) #6

May 31, 2019

By the end of this comic I thought, "Zdarsky, don't hint at Black Girl Magic if you aren't ready to commit".

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Daredevil (2019) #7

Jun 21, 2019

All in all, the story Zdarsky is telling continues to be impressive. Daredevil, Kingpin, Detective Cole and now Janet all have compelling stories that I can't wait to see intersect.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Daredevil (2019) #8

Jul 20, 2019

One thing I'll mention with no context to get you to read the comic: Murdock knocks the leg out from a chair and causes an old woman to fall and break her hip. That is all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Daredevil (2019) #9

Aug 7, 2019

The story was just beautiful. Zdarsky really brings Daredevil to a familiar, yet exciting place.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Daredevil (2019) #10

Aug 22, 2019

The book had a delightfully old school vibe. There are panels that feel like they're from the 70's Bill Everett era and others that could've came from Frank Miller. I especially liked the panels with a blood red background and the scenes in the holding cell with a black background and red bars that look like Daredevil's billy club. I don't see this style being a new norm for this book, but it inspired some delightful nostalgia.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daredevil (2019) #11

Sep 15, 2019

Zdarsky's seamless transition from a comedic to a dramatic writer is truly a work of art. Speaking of works of art, MARCO CHECCHETTO! His art is great but what I missed the most was his backgrounds. Some of his panels have an abstract, opaque backdrop that I adore. Marco, please don't leave us again.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Daredevil (2019) #12

Oct 3, 2019

Checchetto Brings the SmokeIt's a pleasure to have Checchetto back on this book, stylistic haze and all. My favorite panels had to be the rooftop fight. Murdock's makeshift costume, the Daredevil copycat (I'm serious about cosplaying it), and good 'ol Foggy; brawling with the Po Po. It was fantastic. And with the appearance of [SPOILER ALERT!] Elektra, I noticed the choice of making her hair curly. I thought "Yea, that makes sense". She's Greek and if My Big Fat Greek Wedding taught me anything is that they can have lovely curls. Now I'm wondering how often her hair is portrayed straight vs curly because I feel like it's straight most of the time. Most importantly though, the new issue promises a training montage!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doctor Strange (2018) #1

Jun 9, 2018

This comic Waid and Saiz have weaved together took me through a wave of emotion. Excitement with the flashback introduction. Disappointment with the "Loss of Magic" plot device. Intrigue with the choice of space travel. Throughout it all, the art and dialogue are unmistakably impressive.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Doctor Strange (2018) #2

Jun 24, 2018

Waid proves himself a talented wordsmith, well matched with Saiz's art. The dialogue between Strange and his new cell mate, is quick and witty.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doctor Strange (2018) #3

Jul 6, 2018

There are all sorts of feels to be had in Doctor Strange #3, this week. Mark Waid and Jesus Saiz continue the good doctor's intergalactic journey to rekindle his magical ability with his ally, Kanna. The book opens with a montage of the duo's explorations to a handful of worlds, followed by a scene where the two begin to share the details of their pasts. In four pages, the creative team propels the budding relationship between Strange and Kanna to a more intimate level.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doctor Strange (2018) #4

Aug 16, 2018

Mark Waid treats it well having the interacting characters call him out on his questionable and damning choice in this issue. At the same time the door is open for Strange to expand his abilities even beyond what we're used to by asking the question, "What if Dr. Strange had access to Thor-level magical weapons?" This story continues to grip and keep the reader engaged.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doctor Strange (2018) #6

Oct 5, 2018

Pina captures a little of the realism displayed in the first arc but brings more of a traditionally modern comic book style. That said, the precision and color are impressive. It's a good thing when a talented artist gets a book like Doctor Strange and is allowed to play with the fantasy genre. This second arc continues to draw me in and hold my emotional investment in Strange but also, more importantly, demons.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Doctor Strange (2018) #10

Feb 1, 2019

The only criticism I have is the side stories. I feel like Marvel wants to have its cake and eat it too. You can continue a character's ongoing title and celebrate landmark numbers like 400 but if you want to attract new readers with a #1 re-release you shouldn't get to. All the stories really did was distract and bring down my spirits that were so high after the main story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doctor Strange (2018) #11

Feb 22, 2019

Saiz's realism-driven comic style is welcome alongside the fun story. Simultaneously dark and colorful, the book is ominously dazzling. In a book full of demons and aliens (well, one alien) it is impressive how seamless such a realistic style works with the comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Event Leviathan #1

Jun 12, 2019

In this comic, Oliver Queen has an air in between Batman's seriousness and complete comic relief. It promises a fun dynamic. All of this framed by Alex Meleev's iconic artistic style makes Event: Leviathan a must-read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Event Leviathan #2

Jul 10, 2019

I think what makes this comic particularly impressive is the blend of the familiar and the foreign. I am a long time Bendis and Maleev fan and a long-standing Bat-Family fan. The Question is a character I have superficial knowledge of, but I've always been curious about. Lastly, loyally following the Leviathan story I am completely intrigued, especially with this take from the perspective of characters very different from Superman.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Event Leviathan #3

Aug 15, 2019

Bendis do what Bendis do in this book. I forgot how brightly he shines in a group discussion.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Event Leviathan #4

Sep 11, 2019

With only two issues of this book to go, I'm filled with the bittersweet anticipation of a great story reaching its crescendo. Permanent detective team book by Bendis and Maleev? Pretty please?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Event Leviathan #5

Oct 9, 2019

I'm enchanted by the creative destruction of existing systems, especially when the systems are rooted in white supremacy. A side effect of my political leanings is that I'm genuinely curious about what Leviathan's plan is. Sure, if he wants to brainwash and subvert everyone in classic villain fashion I'll be rooting for Superman to deliver a righteous and plot-foiling punch to the face. But I'm open to a New World Order and that makes this plot interesting because with the amount of inequality and injustice in the world millions of people are open to the kind of radical change Leviathan promises in the real world.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Invincible Iron Man (2016) #595

Dec 27, 2017

Alex Meleev's unconventional art in this portion of the comic has been some of the most impressive and fun to look at in my entire pull list. Stefano Caselli has had a more traditional design in the main story and it is easy to overlook alongside Meleev but it is some clean, impressive work. I'm looking forward to these two stories to blend into something magical.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Invincible Iron Man (2016) #596

Feb 4, 2018

In all, let's enjoy the last months of Bendis' run of Iron Man, a title he's been so attached to for years.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Invincible Iron Man (2016) #597

Feb 28, 2018

The quippy dialogue between the Wrecking Crew is some of that classic Bendis writing. Bendis really shines when answering the question, "What do heroes and villains talk about between epic fights and adventures?". His answer is often hilarious and always entertaining. Tacked onto the glorious art of Alex Maleev makes this one of my favorite creative teams of all time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Invincible Iron Man (2016) #598

Mar 29, 2018

All of the creators on this title have been doing delightful work for so long that it gets easier to nip pick and critique but we can't forget that we've gotten consistently solid comics out of them for quite a while now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Invincible Iron Man (2016) #599

Apr 26, 2018

But nippicking aside, this book continues to be a pleasure to read and sets up for a potentially exciting finale to the Bendis era of Iron Man and the rest of Marvels

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Invincible Iron Man (2016) #600

May 24, 2018

You don't direct the flow of the Marvel Universe for a decade without making bold and sometimes questionable decisions. This spirit is captured in the book's self aware narration. He concludes with an optimistic spirit, though. Bendis' world has been exciting and refreshing, disruptive and jarring. As this chapter of Marvel's history comes to an end I have no doubt that a generation of comic book readers will remember the Age of Bendis. Bravo.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Magnificent Ms. Marvel #2

Apr 21, 2019

Jung captures the tone of the book expertly in the emotional reactions of the characters. I took note of Ms. Marvel's fight with Discord where I think it is the first time she enlarges to a Hulk-shape. I came to the realization that it must be fun for a good artist to draw Kamala. Jung utilizes are variety of Ms. Marvels abilities to shrink, grow, contort and the like during the comic. It makes for dynamic fight scenes that I'd love to see choreographed in animated form.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Magnificent Ms. Marvel #3

May 31, 2019

The book has the potential to be incredibly relevant to Western foreign policy, as Kamala finds herself in the middle of a conflict between a despotic ruler and a group of rebels with a name that reminds the reader of the "Free Syrian Army". I look forward to seeing this story fleshed out and watch where Ahmed takes us.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Magnificent Ms. Marvel #5

Jul 25, 2019

This comic did a fine job walking that line between talking about death realistically without being gratuitously macabre.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Magnificent Ms. Marvel #6

Aug 22, 2019

Ahmed and Jung continue to impress me as a creative team.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Man Without Fear (2019) #1

Jan 4, 2019

This creates shifts in tone that, instead of jarring distraction, serve as attention grabbing tension. Combined with the twisted visuals of Murdock's comic history, the dialogue was well crafted and made for a sickeningly satisfying read. If you're going to do this kind of book every so often it might as well be as creative and interesting as this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Man Without Fear (2019) #2

Jan 10, 2019

I mentioned last time that this is a regular part of the Daredevil ebb and flow. The journey from low point to fighting shape is a normal hero troupe but it is always the perfect time for a reflection on the core of the character. While long time readers can tire of this, I'm glad newer comic nerds inspired by the Netflix show get to experience it here. The highlight of this rendition is the same as last issue in the horrifying embodiment of Daredevil's fear. The low point is the artist's decision (bizarrely unlike the last issue) to make Foggy look exactly like the Netflix show's character. Creative choices aside, though, I enjoy taking the trip through this super hero journey's trough.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Man Without Fear (2019) #3

Jan 17, 2019

The expert storytelling was aided and amplified by the art of Coello. There have been quite a few different artists in this mini series and so far Coello has dominated the list. The style and clean detail were perfect for a Daredevil and the Defenders story. Most impressive was the intensity of emotion he was able to convey throughout the book, especially towards the end. If he could take the head of drawing these characters in the future I'd be ecstatic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Man Without Fear (2019) #4

Jan 24, 2019

These two facts about these two characters collide in an ending that betrays the tranquil hospital setting. I enjoyed this so much that I'm concerned that MacKay couldn't possibly top it in next week's finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Man Without Fear (2019) #5

Feb 1, 2019

So Daredevil's back in action. February marks the re-release of the title series on the heels of this book. We already knew that this series was to be the return of Daredevil rather than his death but most of it was beautiful and compelling. Being the last issue, the cliche comes full circle so it's hard to be wow'd. This comic would be fine with its poetic montage if not for the distracting art. I know Matt has been down and out but in his recovery issue he shouldn't look like his subconscious pain and fear monsters. That said, the creative team won me over with a panel of Daredevil's rogue's gallery drawn in the style of the Last Supper painting. The only thing that'd fill me with more glee would be if Stilt-man was in Jesus' chair instead of Kingpin but a boy can dream.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ms. Marvel (2015) #38

Feb 15, 2019

I want to pay special attention to the last few pages by Saladin Ahmed, Minkyu Jung and Juan Vlasco. The first two of them will be the creative team behind Ms. Marvel's main book. Their pages were delightfully narrated and softly colored, making for a warm and heartfelt conclusion to the book. I look forward to discovering what directions they decide to take this Magnificent character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #32

Dec 21, 2017

I need to take the first few seconds of your reading to address the cover of this comic. Wolverine hailed by a barrage of throwing stars, arrows, and shurikens in an unphased action pose. Deodato outdoes himself with this tribute to awesomeness. In all seriousness, the cover conveys much of what makes a "Wolverine vs. Ninjas" story impressive. Ninjas are plentiful throughout the Marvel universe (and the comic universe at large). There's doubtless fun watching Spider-Man contort himself between arrows or seeing Iron Fist skillfully dodge a series of sword strokes. Seeing a spear crumble against Luke Cage's body affords a certain satisfaction. Only with Wolverine can you get a fight that ends with the victorious hero a pincushion of ninja equipment. The cover of the latest Old Man Logan expresses that visceral feeling.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #33

Jan 15, 2018

This story has been the equivalent of mixing everything good, pure and awesome from your childhood in a boiling cauldron, drop kicking it into a wall and allowing the crash to create a beautiful mural. Ed Brisson writes a solid story allowing for all those wonderful troupes. Samurai, Ninjas, Damsels in Distress, Drugs, Long Lost Loves. What more could you ask for?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #34

Feb 4, 2018

All things considered, this is a fun book to read if you are a fan of Wolverine fighting ninjas and good artwork (so pretty much all of you).

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #35

Feb 19, 2018

The second half of the book wraps the story up in a clean, if not clich fashion reminiscent of "The Wolverine" story (so nothing special).

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #36

Mar 15, 2018

First, I must address the art. Despite Old Man Logan's watered down storytelling, the art has been glorious. Seeing Mike Deodato Jr.'s work on the cover compared to the work on the inside was a disappointing couple of opening pages. The art in this book was not impressive. The character drawing was middle of the road, which could be forgiven if the backgrounds were at all inspiring. A noticeable portion of the backgrounds were solid color with no dynamism. This can be a solid artistic choice in contrast to detailed, complex layouts alongside it but the more detailed scenes of this book were not what I've come to expect from a good comic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #38

Apr 12, 2018

All in all, the connection to one of my favorite comics and a couple interesting villains weren't enough to save this comic. It has been dropped.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Pearl #1

Aug 16, 2018

A book heavy with conversation with an explosion of action creating a tense dialogue is where Bendis shines. Comically amusing when it needs to be and terrifyingly tense when necessary. This is what happens when a writer has the freedom that comes along with a world created from scratch. Gaydos explodes in this book. There is an admitted boredom seeing characters drawn as they're just talking. Gaydos overcomes this difficulty with a masterful capture of emotion in close up facials and a color scheme that is simply entrancing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Pearl #2

Sep 18, 2018

Whether this is metaphorical or something supernatural, I loved it, and I can't wait to see where the story goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2018) #1

Jul 11, 2018

Superman may end up being the perfect fit for relationship and conversation-prone writer like Bendis and an artist who knows their way around poster-quality action scenes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2018) #2

Aug 8, 2018

The next book promises a lot of excitement in the form of multiple super-powered threats Clark's going to have to deal with. I'm curious if the dialogue will be toned down to focus on the action, however, I get the feeling the balance will be striking.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2018) #3

Sep 12, 2018

Ivan Reis and the rest of the creative team deserves so much love for the art in this comic. It's just beautiful. Given the opportunity to play around with Earthly backgrounds and Phantom Zone landscapes, the art does not disappoint in any regard. The colors, faces, and everything else all pop with a level of expertise that immerses you in the story. This book is just a glorious display of creative ability.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2018) #4

Oct 10, 2018

This book reads super smoothly. It's hard to explain the feeling when a book flows like a television show. Before you know it, you're on autopilot devouring the story and flipping the pages. Part of that is Bendis' impressive voice in Superman; an authoritative voice with a heroic modesty. Reis' art is the other half of the equation with a fantastic display of the chaos Earth is going through. I hope to the comic gods that we'll see Superman's plan unfurl next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2018) #7

Jan 16, 2019

Clark and Lois are predictably flabbergasted by Superboy and we get a couple of touching moments of reunion. The visuals accompanying Jon's adventure are stunning; dynamic and appropriately colorful. My personal favorite is a tense and oddly philosophical faceoff between Jon and that bastich, Lobo. The comic also makes a powerful statement about Superman's importance with Lois' encounter with aliens while wearing his symbol. The comic rounds out with a solid cliff hanger around Superman's father. It's too soon to say whether Bendis will capitalize on his choice to age Superboy but as a post-reveal of a twist, this comic does it right.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Superman (2018) #8

Feb 13, 2019

There are some punch-happy, space laser-filled action scenes that just sing in their detail and dynamism.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman (2018) #9

Mar 13, 2019

There is beautiful terror in the visuals. The team does an uncanny job of being able to tell such a dialogue/monologue heavy story but seamlessly weave in stunning art. There is a panel with Ultraman grabbing Jon's head and screaming at him where the fury and terror radiates off the page. This recap only does this book so much justice. It's definitely a book you should read and read slow.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2018) #10

Apr 10, 2019

With the ending of this book promising an epic battle, I'm actually a lot more excited about where this leaves Jon in the DC universe (What's up Teen Titans? He's definitely old enough, now!).

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2018) #11

May 15, 2019

Reis proves over and over that these outrageously detailed battles are a place where he thrives. The strength of this issue is how feelings in the characters faces are conveyed. There are a few pages where the faction leaders are clearly in awe of Superman when he stops the fighting. My favorite panel was a silent look Superman gives his father before they get a chance to talk that says, "Oh we will have words". This book proves to be an all-around powerhouse of design and worthy of DC's greatest hero.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2018) #12

Jun 14, 2019

Bendis and Reis do a great job conveying the action and love of the House of El (most of it, at least). This title continues to be at its best when following Superman's thought process mid-fight. Not a lot of characters allow for Bendis' tendency for the verbose during a fight while keeping realism in mind. Reis, as always, draws some amazing action shots. The creative team has designed a crisp, colorful, fun comic to behold. The MVP panel in this book is the post-fight shot of Superman, Superboy, Supergirl, and Krypto finally getting the chance to embrace warmly in an almost full-page spread. The accompanying panels capture Jor-El's isolation from the family and a contrasting sadness. It was easily the most compelling page. Despite not really being into the "Real Death of Krypton" they keep coming back to, this creative team excels in storytelling so this is a comic I always look forward to.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2018) #13

Jul 10, 2019

Brandon Peterson and Ivan Reis are both powerhouses.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2018) #14

Aug 30, 2019

My favorite part of this comic was definitely Superman and Zod fighting Rogol. Ivan Reis murdered those pages. I felt that double uppercut and the glare that they give Rogol is deliciously visceral. I had a flashback to the team-up fights with Naruto and Sasuke. It is refreshing to have a Bendis book driven primarily by the art. That's not to say I didn't enjoy Jor El continuously trying to be the voice of pragmatism just to be utterly ignored by Superman.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2018) #15

Sep 18, 2019

The book was just an all around delight to consume.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Superman (2018) #16

Oct 9, 2019

I haven't read Superboy and Robin interact in quite a while, but I don't remember enjoying them this much. Wayne was being his normal condescending self, and now I'm curious if they were this warm by the end of that series. The initial reunion was hilarious with Damian losing a point of pride, being a year older than John. I remember when he tried to give him shit about joining the Teen Titans because he wasn't technically a teen yet. After a tense beginning, the two patrol the Gotham night and catch up. It was delightfully reminiscent of catching up with a long distance buddy as a teenager. The two depart after John reveals the plan to spend time in the 31st century with the Legion of Superheroes. He says his final goodbye to his father before heading to check the future out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2018): Leviathan Rising Special #1

May 29, 2019

This book was beautiful, funny, and thoughtful. Even the Supergirl portion, who I am all but completely ignorant about was personally compelling. But Lois Lane was the MVP in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wakanda Forever: Amazing Spider-Man #1

Jul 2, 2018

Reading Amazing Spider-Man: Wakanda Forever was the first time in a long while that I was surprised by the difference between the adaptation of a character in a show or movie vs the comic book. The last instance of this I remember was learning that the Venom Symbiote was not brought to earth on a space shuttle piloted by J. Jonah Jameson's son (Why would you lie to me, 90's Spider-Man cartoon?)

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
X-Force (2018) #3

Mar 3, 2019

Being able to pause the murder-porn for a second and have a "I know you're both my mentor and my mentor's murderer so I need you to work with me to make this work" was the second most intense Cannonball action I've seen (The first, of course, being when he punched way up taking on Gladiator). Keep stuff like that coming and maybe bring Scott Summers into the action somehow and this book has the potential to scratch a much needed X-itch.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
X-Force (2018) #4

Mar 17, 2019

This was a foreseeable conclusion to a classic X-Force story. People torment mutants, X-Force kills them, enter a new challenger. Last week's issue had a touching moment with Kid Cable and Cannonball. This issue didn't have much except a rant from Domino about being honest with your team. We're going to delve more into Kid Cable's history in the next arc, "The Origin of Kid Cable". I'm really hoping for something fantastic because if you're going to kill off a badass like Cable, I'm going to need a little better than this.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
X-Force (2018) #6

Apr 14, 2019

Cable. A war. Stryfe. Apocalypse. Time travel. We've been here before. I can't help but feel offended. Did they think we wouldn't notice because Cable's young?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men: Black (2018): Magneto #1

Oct 4, 2018

It's definitely nice to get a Claremont story worthy of his legacy as the most influential X-Men creator of all time. This story was tuned in directly to the veins of X-Men lore and current relevance in society. A favorite theme of Magneto that Claremont addresses is when his hatred for humans runs against homo sapiens who are innocent and even straight-up courageous.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Red (2018) #5

Jun 10, 2018

There is a lot to relate to and respect in this comic, although all of the social commentary in the world will never distract from Nightcrawler's epic goatee.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Red (2018) #6

Jul 20, 2018

I just have to say it. If I wanted to introduce someone to the X-Men in 2018 it would be X-Men: Red. X-Men Red #6 by Tom Taylor and Carmen Carnero came out this week and I don't think I've ever read a story as analogous to the original themes of hatred and acceptance through such a modern lens. This issue finally has our team leader, the newly resurrected Jean Grey, confronting Cassandra Nova. Professor X's twin sister, I remember just how terrifying a psychic can be from New X-Men forever ago. Dedicated to wiping out all mutants and using people's existing fear and anxiety of the unknown to do it, Nova provides a dramatic counterweight to Jean Grey's quest to win over hearts and minds across the globe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Red (2018) #7

Aug 23, 2018

Jean Grey and her team counters this approach by coming to the immediate aide of Sub-Mariner and his city against the Hulk-level threat (Ok . . . maybe not quite Hulk-level). The best thing about this fight was the work that Nezhno Abidemi puts in. After his tragic backstory last issue, I'm really rooting for Gentle to overcome the mental block holding his power back as Jean Grey suggests. You better believe I was grinning after a one-two combo between Gentle and Storm saves the day.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Red (2018) #8

Sep 30, 2018

Taylor and Carnero have a good dynamic of visuals and dialogue that tell a compelling story. There are a couple of insane spreads of Trinary and Storm's apexes of awesomeness. With an ending of Blue and Gold for the classic Uncanny X-Men and X-Men titles it is unclear whether this socially relevant flavor of X-Men will stay with us for long but I hope the hell it does.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More