Ja-Quan Greene's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Black Nerd Problems Reviews: 24
8.3Avg. Review Rating

9.1
Batman: The Red Death #1

Sep 19, 2017

On point writing by Josh Williamson and a beautifully drawn battlefield by Carmine Di Giandomenico has me eager to check out the other 6 tie-in issues for this Metal series. That ending?! This issue finally gave us some concrete answers to Barbatos' grand plans for the multiverse, so I'm deservedly going high on this score.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Black Panther: Prelude #1

Oct 19, 2017

Not gonna lie, I'd consider this prelude issue for Black Panther lacking. I don't know if the writing by Coates has spoiled me rotten, but I ain't ever compromising on a Black Panther title. Nope. Better come correct or get up out the kitchen! Maaaan, I ain't even bangin' with the artwork, and I love damn near everything with lines and some color. Here's hoping that issue 2 come harder with that Fire Nation flame bending vibranium crack to get new readers excited for the movie.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Jupiter's Circle #1

Sep 15, 2015

This is the late 50's we talkin' 'bout. No public figure in their right mind with a family of political influence would ever come out of the closet during 1959, son. Just straight up didn't happen. It's a sad thing too. Why can't the homie save the world and sleep with whoever he wants? Because, Hoover, that's why.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jupiter's Circle #2

Sep 24, 2015

Unfortunately the issue feels ever so slightly incomplete. After Hoover hung Vanilla Iceover a balconyand threatens to bring down everyone around Richard, we flash forward to the gang mobbin at headquarters as Blue Bolt walks in flashin his pearly whites. They are surprised he is in such high spirits. He tells everyone that the head of the FBI relinquished his attack and sent him the negatives. Nobody asks any questions. Nobody explains a thing. All that happens is Fitz says some sly shit in response to Walter's digressive gay remark, then we get a flashback of Fitz gettin the dirt on Hoover and Tolsen in the bedroom. Turns out, Fitz may be a family man who's too paternal to have a long night of drinking, but don't count him out to handle his business if thehomies are in need.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jupiter's Circle #3

Oct 9, 2015

Overall, good issue that dove into an problem that has been plaguing our country for decades centuries ever. Adultery is a bitch man. Even superheroes succumb to it. The weak ones at least. Here's to hoping someone can talk some sense into The Flare before his flame gets put out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Jupiter's Circle #4

Nov 6, 2015

Sad and touching perspective on life and how even a superhero can make mistakes, lose his or her way and everything they've worked so hard for. Not even close to my favorite drawn and illustrated piece of Millar's work, but hey what can you expect when you change the illustrator midway through the series. I did however feel that the writing and morals in this issue greatly outweighed the inconsistent artwork and made for a good read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jupiter's Circle Vol. 2 #6

Jun 29, 2016

We end this chapter of Jupiter's Circle with a shot of George in Nowheresville, America. Posted up at the diner straight chillin', sippin' some coffee, plottin'.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jupiter's Legacy #1

Aug 13, 2015

I'm looking forward to picking apart this world and sharing my first physical comic book obsession with y'all. With Millar and Quietly on the job, you know it's bound to be some amazing storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jupiter's Legacy #2

Aug 19, 2015

While revisiting this outstanding series, it's made clear that at its core, Jupiter's Legacy is a re-imagining of the imperfect superhero, or in this case, the super family. Miller does an amazing job of depicting what the real-world implications would be if history was graced with its first group of superheroes and what that would mean for future generations.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jupiter's Legacy #3

Aug 26, 2015

The Utopian is face to face with his son" and receives the most intense optical blast, at point blank range, that I've ever seen. The final image of The Utopian and his bone seared skull is chilling.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Jupiter's Legacy #4

Sep 2, 2015

Solid issue that does a good job of connecting that insane climax in Issue 3 to the new world we are introduced to.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jupiter's Legacy #5

Sep 11, 2015

Mayhem ensues, and Chloe shows the entire world at home watching the news exactly what it mean to put in that overdue time and a half WORK! Major Barnabus Wolfe's whole crew got the fade and the familia was up in smoke before a soul could try and follow behind. With all 3 members of the fam on the same page rebuilding the meta-scanner and recruiting a new team, Millar and Quietly leave us on a sick cliffhanger as we await the next 5 issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Jupiter's Legacy Vol. 2 #1

Jun 29, 2016

Welp, Brandon and Walter's theory proves correct cuz their plan is to send in the big guns first. To start the fight off with this world's version of The Mountain in the 3ft 4in, not a day over 8 years old Jason. Ohh what a time to be barely over 5 and the most powerful person in the Eastern Hemisphere!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Jupiter's Legacy Vol. 2 #2

Jul 27, 2016

Out in Wakanda Africa, the Anti-Asshole regime is continuously and tirelessly hunting and recruiting. Jason is not only one of the most powerful superheroes on the planet, but is also a technological mastodon who's meta gene scanner stumbles across the most major of keys. Hutch and the crew may have just located the creator of their hideout Headquarters. The original technology whizkid. The greatest supervillain of all time.George ‘Skyfox' Hutchence himself.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Jupiter's Legacy Vol. 2 #3

Aug 31, 2016

Another banger from Millar and Quitely, not like you should expect anything less. For an issue that featured little to no combat, the dialogue and plot movement alone made it a hit.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jupiter's Legacy Vol. 2 #4

Oct 12, 2016

This issue had a few big moments and left us with a pretty heavy cliffhanger. Quitely was solid but a little less stellar than usual, but Millar once again comes through with the 360 windmill tomahawk slam.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jupiter's Legacy Vol. 2 #5

Jul 4, 2017

Brandon is still underestimating his sister's capabilities, so she shows him exactly what she's about and unleashes power he's never seen. Quitely must've done a backflip jumping for joy when he saw what Millar had planned for these final pages, because ya boy goes ALL THE WAY IN on these panels! About a mile away from Chloe and Brandon's brawl to end it all, Hutch and Walter stand toe to toe. Hutch is obviously at the disadvantage only possessing his power rod, but Hutch aint never been no softy. Walter hits him with the Shadow Clone jutsu finishing move and it's kill or be killed for Hutch.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Kingsman: The Red Diamond #1

Sep 6, 2017

This looks to be an exciting Kingsman run. Love the shots at the movie version of Kingsman. Love the nerdy easter eggs sprinkled all throughout the issue. I really appreciate Williams giving all characters (good guys and bad) a geeky human side. It's the tried and true method of making any story you create relatable. Can't wait to see some of these Millarworld properties get the cartoon or live-action Netflix treatment.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Kingsman: The Red Diamond #2

Oct 12, 2017

The bulk of issue #2 revolves around this mystery figure and the hunt to reach him before Red Diamond's henchman can get his gorilla paws on him. Simon Fraser does workkk in the few areas he has room have some fun. Those Mach 7 Ramjet engine panels were straight flames and Rob Williams excels as he writes in that patented, crude Kingsman humor. Unexpectedly impressive writing and a roller coaster of fun all throughout this issue make this another step forward for the Red Diamond run.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Reborn #1

Jun 27, 2017

There we have it! The first issue of Reborn. Great start to this series. Excellent place to leave a little cliffhanger. Already, I love the range of characters rich with personality, bravado, innocence, and naivety. So hype to see the various settings as intriguing as every new planet in the Star Wars franchise. Proper pacing and action. Let me just shut up and get to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Reborn #2

Jul 4, 2017

But if I'm keepin it a buck, General Frost is the character that gives me the most insight into this world. This cat is another one of Bonnie's old pets, but this feline is bathed in Dark Lands gloom. Ya see, General Frost didn't have the warm, loving life of eating ice cream in the park with Bonnie that Roy-Boy got. She didn't hold her cat through the night as he passed away. He got cat food and his balls clipped at the tender age of 9 months! My cats and dem don't forget!! Those memories have spawned a cold blooded killer in this life. A fur ball with a vendetta, and Golgotha is here for all of it. General Frost showcases his particular set of skills and capabilities by launching six ice daggers through the bodies of Golgotha's servants! Ice skewers. And with that, our issue ends with Lord Golgotha basically saying, "It's lit! Prepare a team of hitters."

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Runaways (2017) #1

Sep 14, 2017

Great return to Runaways glory with immaculate backstory on Nico, Chase and Gert… despite Gert's dead incapacitated state. Rowell did an excellent job of setting the stage for whats to come. She got me excited to find out who this new villain is. Did one of the Pride parents make it out of that underwater catastrophe?! Will it be a new player alert? We'll find out when issue #2 drops next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Runaways (2017) #2

Oct 12, 2017

Great, great, great dialogue in issue #2. With absolutely no action, besides Old Lace returning, this book proves that Rowell is a force to be reckoned with. After Chase reads Gert the time machine riot act, things immediately become sober and somber. It hits Nico and Chase that they really have lost every member of the team they called blood. This is the moment that I realized Rainbow Rowell shines brighter than a supernova. Her dialogue game is insanely proficient. Her prowess with the pen knows no bounds and I don't think anyone could've done The Runaways return any better.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Superwoman #1

Aug 18, 2016

The issue does a lot to set up this Superwoman run, but also goes a tad too far into the realm of indulgence. I can get down with a lot being thrown at me, but the panels felt a bit crowded in my opinion. The saving grace for me was the actual art on the panels. Jimenez, Santorelli and Cox really did wonders with their illustration of the heroes in this issue. They did a great job highlighting how Superwoman gained her abilities and brought to life the powers that each hero possesses with impressive vibrancy. All of this gave me hope that this was a comic reviewing decision that I will be happy I made.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

October

September

More