Ja-Quan Greene's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Black Nerd Problems Reviews: 96
8.3Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Batman: Last Knight on Earth #1

May 29, 2019

His journey is the stuff of cinematic legend. He punches his hand through the sand so we can all be blessed with that iconic shot of him walking through the desert. His lone companion is the severed talking head of his greatest enemy. Speed Force storms threaten livelihoods on each given day. Former Justice League powers fall into the wrong hands. It's all so beautifully dark and awe inspiring.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: Last Knight on Earth #2

Jul 31, 2019

Speaking of Batman, our boy is dealing with a lot. His nightmares are of the most chilling variety, and his conscience mind is always at war with this idea that he has caused this future that he inevitably inherited and has to rescue. I have a feeling the nightmares will come back around and mean a lot more. Love the allies that Bruce makes. Love the final page reveal. Omega is shaping up to be a serious force to be reckoned with, and I can't wait to see what else he has in store for the world. Capullo's incredible design gives the villain this menacing feel that feels right. Another stellar issue by him and Scott Snyder.Batman: Last Knight on Earthkeeps the high quality, jaw dropping panels coming.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: The Devastator #1

Nov 1, 2017

This issue has a few superhero cameos trying to stop the Devastator but is filled with way more superhero death. As each of these tie-in issues drops, we get more and more nightmarish Batmen giving our heroes the 2 piece combo with biscuits and greens. And we're here for all of it! Superb writing and phenomenal art make this another proper take on Batman turned villain.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman: The Merciless #1

Oct 25, 2017

The psychological torment we're put through adds a layer of greatness that could garner its own issue. The artwork is phenomenal. That end of the issue plot twist tho?! Maaaaannnn, when the last time you found this much joy in Batman beatin' the brakes off your favorite superhero? Not near never.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Batman: The Red Death #1

Sep 19, 2017

On point writing by Josh Williamson and a beautifully drawn battlefield by Carmine Di Giandomenico has me eager to check out the other 6 tie-in issues for this Metal series. That ending?! This issue finally gave us some concrete answers to Barbatos' grand plans for the multiverse, so I'm deservedly going high on this score.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Black Panther: Prelude #1

Oct 19, 2017

Not gonna lie, I'd consider this prelude issue for Black Panther lacking. I don't know if the writing by Coates has spoiled me rotten, but I ain't ever compromising on a Black Panther title. Nope. Better come correct or get up out the kitchen! Maaaan, I ain't even bangin' with the artwork, and I love damn near everything with lines and some color. Here's hoping that issue 2 come harder with that Fire Nation flame bending vibranium crack to get new readers excited for the movie.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.5
Black Panther: Prelude #2

Nov 17, 2017

I truly have no idea what Martello is doing with this Black Panther artwork. It's childishly bad at points and moderately acceptable at best. If this was meant to get people excited about the upcoming movie in February, they misjudged everything, fam. Luckily, everyone and their mom knows Black Panther will be that Wakandan wildfire, so they'll make boatloads of Benjis either way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Hit-Girl (2018) #1

Feb 21, 2018

We already know the adventure that Hit-Girl and Mano are gonna take us on will be a gut-splattering, epic journey. All that matters is how dope or formidable the bad guys will be in this 4-issue run. I'm so damn excited for these next 3 books for so many reasons. This Colombian location is going to provide so much for Millar and Ortiz to work with that. The power of the people seems to be a theme that may come to fruition and Bast knows how wild that would end up. Everyone reading Hit-Girl should be grateful that BOTH of these heroes murderers vengence filled professionals have hundreds countless lives on their hands, an unlimited supply of arms, and God tier body catching capabilities. Strap yourselves in, because Hit-Girl is about to get relentlessly savage.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Hit-Girl (2018) #2

Mar 29, 2018

Man, Mark Millar is having a blast with this Hit-Girl character and story. From start to finish, her levels of savagery are monumental. Yet you get these snapshots of geeky joy, nostalgia and humor that wash over you like a tidal wave of understanding and respect. The twists at the end of this issue were severely daunting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Hit-Girl (2018) #3

Apr 24, 2018

I've gone in at length at how glorious the gory aspects of this Hit-Girl comic is, but I haven't really dug into some of the details that make Ricardo Lopez Ortiz's work so damn phenomenal. He gives us great depictions and rich textures of the hoods, streets and tunnels of Colombia. The scars and expressions on the faces that so many of these characters are exquisitely drawn, while Sunny Gho does a beast job of coloring in each shade of red, black and brown properly.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hit-Girl (2018) #4

May 23, 2018

This was the wig snatchin, fade delivering, POC flooded, Geneva Convention banned, 007 gadget and tween rampage filled Hit-Girl comic book that Mark Millar fans deserved.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
House of X #1

Jul 26, 2019

From the periodic breaks in the story that provide context and explanations to Charles and Magneto finally coming to terms with their differing ideological opinions, House of X holds back nothing and is the start of so much greatness to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
House of X #2

Aug 7, 2019

House of X #2 is just as good, if not better than its predecessor, which is wild to think. After establishing the idea of Krakoa, then giving away the endgame centuries in the future, Hickman manages to keep things as interesting as they've ever been. Like many comic book characters and teams before, X-Men canon has been shredded and re-established. The big difference here; everyone that has given their blood, sweat, and time to the storytelling of mutants previously, have been honored in the most respectful and creative way possible.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Infinity Wars: Iron Hammer #1

Sep 30, 2018

Iron Hammer #1 was a fun issue that didn't require much any knowledge of the savage Gamora gauntlet move. Any reader could pick this one up and enjoy the ride without fear of missing out on any of the build up. Al Ewing comes through with a way to tell an origin story that doesn't feel forced and Rosanas crushes his amazing designs for the Asguardian x Iron suit look.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Infinity Wars: Iron Hammer #2

Nov 7, 2018

With a decent amount of action, good character development, and impressive storytelling, Iron Hammer was the treat I didn't know I needed right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Jupiter's Circle #1

Sep 15, 2015

This is the late 50's we talkin' 'bout. No public figure in their right mind with a family of political influence would ever come out of the closet during 1959, son. Just straight up didn't happen. It's a sad thing too. Why can't the homie save the world and sleep with whoever he wants? Because, Hoover, that's why.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jupiter's Circle #2

Sep 24, 2015

Unfortunately the issue feels ever so slightly incomplete. After Hoover hung Vanilla Iceover a balconyand threatens to bring down everyone around Richard, we flash forward to the gang mobbin at headquarters as Blue Bolt walks in flashin his pearly whites. They are surprised he is in such high spirits. He tells everyone that the head of the FBI relinquished his attack and sent him the negatives. Nobody asks any questions. Nobody explains a thing. All that happens is Fitz says some sly shit in response to Walter's digressive gay remark, then we get a flashback of Fitz gettin the dirt on Hoover and Tolsen in the bedroom. Turns out, Fitz may be a family man who's too paternal to have a long night of drinking, but don't count him out to handle his business if thehomies are in need.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jupiter's Circle #3

Oct 9, 2015

Overall, good issue that dove into an problem that has been plaguing our country for decades centuries ever. Adultery is a bitch man. Even superheroes succumb to it. The weak ones at least. Here's to hoping someone can talk some sense into The Flare before his flame gets put out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Jupiter's Circle #4

Nov 6, 2015

Sad and touching perspective on life and how even a superhero can make mistakes, lose his or her way and everything they've worked so hard for. Not even close to my favorite drawn and illustrated piece of Millar's work, but hey what can you expect when you change the illustrator midway through the series. I did however feel that the writing and morals in this issue greatly outweighed the inconsistent artwork and made for a good read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jupiter's Circle: Vol. 2 #6

Jun 29, 2016

We end this chapter of Jupiter's Circle with a shot of George in Nowheresville, America. Posted up at the diner straight chillin', sippin' some coffee, plottin'.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Jupiter's Legacy: Vol. 2 #1

Jun 29, 2016

Welp, Brandon and Walter's theory proves correct cuz their plan is to send in the big guns first. To start the fight off with this world's version of The Mountain in the 3ft 4in, not a day over 8 years old Jason. Ohh what a time to be barely over 5 and the most powerful person in the Eastern Hemisphere!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jupiter's Legacy #1

Aug 13, 2015

I'm looking forward to picking apart this world and sharing my first physical comic book obsession with y'all. With Millar and Quietly on the job, you know it's bound to be some amazing storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Jupiter's Legacy: Vol. 2 #2

Jul 27, 2016

Out in Wakanda Africa, the Anti-Asshole regime is continuously and tirelessly hunting and recruiting. Jason is not only one of the most powerful superheroes on the planet, but is also a technological mastodon who's meta gene scanner stumbles across the most major of keys. Hutch and the crew may have just located the creator of their hideout Headquarters. The original technology whizkid. The greatest supervillain of all time.George ‘Skyfox' Hutchence himself.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jupiter's Legacy #2

Aug 19, 2015

While revisiting this outstanding series, it's made clear that at its core, Jupiter's Legacy is a re-imagining of the imperfect superhero, or in this case, the super family. Miller does an amazing job of depicting what the real-world implications would be if history was graced with its first group of superheroes and what that would mean for future generations.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jupiter's Legacy #3

Aug 26, 2015

The Utopian is face to face with his son" and receives the most intense optical blast, at point blank range, that I've ever seen. The final image of The Utopian and his bone seared skull is chilling.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Jupiter's Legacy: Vol. 2 #3

Aug 31, 2016

Another banger from Millar and Quitely, not like you should expect anything less. For an issue that featured little to no combat, the dialogue and plot movement alone made it a hit.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jupiter's Legacy: Vol. 2 #4

Oct 12, 2016

This issue had a few big moments and left us with a pretty heavy cliffhanger. Quitely was solid but a little less stellar than usual, but Millar once again comes through with the 360 windmill tomahawk slam.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Jupiter's Legacy #4

Sep 2, 2015

Solid issue that does a good job of connecting that insane climax in Issue 3 to the new world we are introduced to.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jupiter's Legacy #5

Sep 11, 2015

Mayhem ensues, and Chloe shows the entire world at home watching the news exactly what it mean to put in that overdue time and a half WORK! Major Barnabus Wolfe's whole crew got the fade and the familia was up in smoke before a soul could try and follow behind. With all 3 members of the fam on the same page rebuilding the meta-scanner and recruiting a new team, Millar and Quietly leave us on a sick cliffhanger as we await the next 5 issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jupiter's Legacy: Vol. 2 #5

Jul 4, 2017

Brandon is still underestimating his sister's capabilities, so she shows him exactly what she's about and unleashes power he's never seen. Quitely must've done a backflip jumping for joy when he saw what Millar had planned for these final pages, because ya boy goes ALL THE WAY IN on these panels! About a mile away from Chloe and Brandon's brawl to end it all, Hutch and Walter stand toe to toe. Hutch is obviously at the disadvantage only possessing his power rod, but Hutch aint never been no softy. Walter hits him with the Shadow Clone jutsu finishing move and it's kill or be killed for Hutch.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Kick-Ass (2018) #1

Feb 12, 2018

The eye-gouging, nut punching action is just the cherry on top of the excellent facial expressions we get from a black super heroine all throughout issue #1. These two artists are off to a marvelous start and I can't wait to see where they take us.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Kick-Ass (2018) #2

Mar 20, 2018

Meanwhile, Romita Jr. is doing the Lords work bringing these bloody, brutal and outright vicious panels of emotion to your front door. When this Kick-Ass run is over, I believe this will be the issue that showed how much courage Patience truly had. We're cooking up a masterpiece here, and I can't wait for the main course.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Kick-Ass (2018) #3

Apr 17, 2018

Outstanding issue. Mark Millar's head splitting pace is so rewarding and the attention to detail in his writing is superb. Artistically, there is so much satisfying action and gore. Not to mention, we're left with a hell of a nail biting cliffhanger. This new Kick-Ass is a bloody good time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kick-Ass (2018) #4

May 16, 2018

You think it's about to be curtains for our girl. You ready to pour out one for the homie when BAM: “Night Stalkers never quit!!” That motto hit, and it's like she transforms into an incomparable beast. Of course, it takes a hell of a lot more than a motto to overcome a room full of6 trained killas and1 homicidal, unrelenting, raw, prison-loving, certifiably insane killing machine named Violencia!! Kick-Ass has stuck her neck out trying to save a cop who was simply doing his job. She has lost pints of blood, broken a bevy of bones and is being circled by sharks.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Kick-Ass (2018) #5

Jun 13, 2018

Issue #5 of Kick-Ass really takes a turn in pace and direction. Things slow down a bit, but Romita Jr. picks up the slack by delivering some top-notch artwork. The ending leaves our hero in the most dire situation she's encountered thus far. This next book is the final one of Millar and Romita's run, so you know we're about to see Patience Lee exhibit some of the most savage tactics she has up her sleeve.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kick-Ass (2018) #6

Jul 17, 2018

This ghetto Robin Hood tale was one that has been missing from big-name authors and comic book companies. There isn't another non-POC writer I would've chosen for the job. Kick-Ass has featured excellent storytelling and a good amount of drama on Patience's road to victory. As expected with Millar, all of it was based in real-world problems that people are dealing with right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Kick-Ass (2018) #7

Sep 18, 2018

As expected, the artwork takes a bit of a step down compared to the Lawds work put in by Romita Jr. Luckily, Frusin brings a certain level of grit and grime to the table that helps you appreciate this Pablo Escobar-ish side of the story. We're building toward a big showdown between Kick-Ass and the soon-to-be-released prison prom king, Violencia. Enjoy the carnage until then.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Kingsman: The Red Diamond #1

Sep 6, 2017

This looks to be an exciting Kingsman run. Love the shots at the movie version of Kingsman. Love the nerdy easter eggs sprinkled all throughout the issue. I really appreciate Williams giving all characters (good guys and bad) a geeky human side. It's the tried and true method of making any story you create relatable. Can't wait to see some of these Millarworld properties get the cartoon or live-action Netflix treatment.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Kingsman: The Red Diamond #2

Oct 12, 2017

The bulk of issue #2 revolves around this mystery figure and the hunt to reach him before Red Diamond's henchman can get his gorilla paws on him. Simon Fraser does workkk in the few areas he has room have some fun. Those Mach 7 Ramjet engine panels were straight flames and Rob Williams excels as he writes in that patented, crude Kingsman humor. Unexpectedly impressive writing and a roller coaster of fun all throughout this issue make this another step forward for the Red Diamond run.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Kingsman: The Red Diamond #3

Nov 8, 2017

As long as the impressive storyline continues, I'll keep looking forward to the next issue's details and handful of panels, where Fraser is given the room to put in that Frank Miller work.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kingsman: The Red Diamond #4

Dec 13, 2017

A good amount of this issue featured aerial scenes and Fraser does his dam thing with each panel. Drawing airborne movement is no easy task, but he really captivates you while the head-smashing, life-saving action happens in the sky. As the cover alludes to, this issue features the most violent sexy scene I've seen since Clive Owen and Monica Bellucci got their penetration game on mid-bullet hurling gunfight in Shoot Em Up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kingsman: The Red Diamond #5

Jan 11, 2018

The issue picks up with Eggsy demanding MI6 to go check on his mum. We quickly pivot to the main focus of locating Red Diamond and the gum-reppin, movie-loving Henchman of Diamond Dame. The map Eggsy and Kwaito nearly died over, fought over, and f**ked over is the key to finding this precious gem-coveting psychopath. But you already knew it wasn't going to be that easy! Kwaito and Eggsy really have to get their hands dirty on this mission, so it's reckless explosives being set off after brrrrappppp uzi shots fired after another!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kingsman: The Red Diamond #6

Feb 7, 2018

This culminating issue was a nice finale in the high stakes world of MI6. Did Rob Williams and Simon Fraser break much new ground or blow minds at every pages turn? Nah, but it was a hell of a fun ride. Eggsy is still a master of that crude humor that'll have you rolling your eyes, and charm that draws you right back into his antics. The supporting characters in this Kingsman run are arguably more engrossing than our MI6 agent. Red Diamond is a phenomenal villain and one that keeps you guessing what society shattering maneuver he'll pull next. Williams and Fraser did a nice job bringing this comic back to life.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Marvel Team-Up (2019) #1

Apr 10, 2019

Everything about Marvel Team Up: Spiderman and Ms. Marvel exudes lighthearted, wacky fun, and I'm excited to see Ewing and Vazquez take the training wheels off as this body swapping book continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Marvel Team-Up (2019) #2

May 2, 2019

Eve Ewing is having a blast writing these two characters. Readers should be enjoying every panel of hilarity, because you never know how long this team up will last.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Marvel Team-Up (2019) #3

Jun 7, 2019

By the end if this issue, Peter and Kamala go full on handicap match with Jackal while Dr. Yesenia is tied up and begging for help. The one liners and webs fly as Joey Vazquez and Moy R do a marvelous job of bringing the rich, detailed city and laboratories to life before our eyes. Ewing continues to carve out her impact on Marvel comics and I hope her next outing is even more ambitious and well written than the last.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Outpost Zero #1

Jun 19, 2018

Jean-Francois Beaulieu and Alexandre Tefenkgi have created quite a gorgeous world for us to dive into, while Sean Kelley McKeever has written a smart, captivating tale about a conceivable future with plenty of intriguing storylines that beg to weaved. The cliffhanger we're left with is a doozy. Outpost Zero is one comic you shouldn't forget to pick when it drops on July 11th.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Prodigy #1

Nov 7, 2018

Rafael Albuquerque is a monster, and I'm so glad he's the one who gets to depict the characters in this comic. The one test I always remain true to with my reviews, is an artist's ability to draw the hair of POC, and Black people in particular. Obviously, this comic features a Black man, so Albuquerque had to be extremely confident in his capabilities. Aided by the fire coloring skills ofMarcelo Maiolo, the hair textures are on point. Edison's fresh-cut game progresses and changes as he grows. When we get to the meat and potatoes of this story, we witness a couple different looks from the foreign governments he works for and the assistants that help him throughout the day. Candice seems to be his PR/social media guru, and his Alfred-type homie keeps Edison fresh while maintaining a cool hipster look.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Prodigy #2

Jan 9, 2019

After the global invasion information meet-up, they get to work on saving the world, starting with an insanely expensive visit to The Kremlin and ending with a trip to one of the most desolate, oxygen deprived terrains on Earth.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Prodigy #3

Feb 6, 2019

Prodigy #3 sets the world traveling tone of this series and explores the man Edison Crane has become. Strip away the publicity stunts, simultaneous world class chess opponents and his rockstar reputation, you find out how real Prodigy is. It's hard to make a suave, wealthy, genius feel so genuine but Millar is the one of the best to ever make a complex character completely relatable and endearing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Prodigy #4

Mar 13, 2019

In the end, we see things get sticky for the suave gentleman with a huge heart. Of course, this is just another cool moment to tell Rachel and his driver to be in a certain location in 90 seconds, after he takes care of a hundred career killers. While we didn't get much in the plot department, the action and suspense were certainly cranked up in issue #4 of Prodigy. With only 2 issues to go, we're sure to get more wild travels from Edison Crane and much more bloodshed from the 2nd Earth worshipers, while Rafael Albuquerque does an incredible job of giving life to it all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Prodigy #5

Apr 10, 2019

As expected, Rafael Albuquerque has been nothing short of excellent in his depiction of these Middle Eastern sites and characters. The colors remain true and the scale is always right. The action feels like a movie, and many panels are gripping. Millar is once again finding that balance of insanely proficient hero that is dam near untouchable, and just another human at the end of the day. The Prodigy finale is right around the corner, and it's looking like another superb ending for this planet conquering arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Prodigy #6

Jun 12, 2019

Prodigy has been filled with globetrotting adventures, high stakes poker games, seemingly impossible missions, near death escape plans, and Prodigy has come out on top of it all. Check out this final issue to see Albuquerque deliver some outstanding art and watch how it all comes together in grand Mark Millar fashion.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Reborn #1

Jun 27, 2017

There we have it! The first issue of Reborn. Great start to this series. Excellent place to leave a little cliffhanger. Already, I love the range of characters rich with personality, bravado, innocence, and naivety. So hype to see the various settings as intriguing as every new planet in the Star Wars franchise. Proper pacing and action. Let me just shut up and get to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Reborn #2

Jul 4, 2017

But if I'm keepin it a buck, General Frost is the character that gives me the most insight into this world. This cat is another one of Bonnie's old pets, but this feline is bathed in Dark Lands gloom. Ya see, General Frost didn't have the warm, loving life of eating ice cream in the park with Bonnie that Roy-Boy got. She didn't hold her cat through the night as he passed away. He got cat food and his balls clipped at the tender age of 9 months! My cats and dem don't forget!! Those memories have spawned a cold blooded killer in this life. A fur ball with a vendetta, and Golgotha is here for all of it. General Frost showcases his particular set of skills and capabilities by launching six ice daggers through the bodies of Golgotha's servants! Ice skewers. And with that, our issue ends with Lord Golgotha basically saying, "It's lit! Prepare a team of hitters."

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Runaways (2017) #1

Sep 14, 2017

Great return to Runaways glory with immaculate backstory on Nico, Chase and Gert… despite Gert's dead incapacitated state. Rowell did an excellent job of setting the stage for whats to come. She got me excited to find out who this new villain is. Did one of the Pride parents make it out of that underwater catastrophe?! Will it be a new player alert? We'll find out when issue #2 drops next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Runaways (2017) #2

Oct 12, 2017

Great, great, great dialogue in issue #2. With absolutely no action, besides Old Lace returning, this book proves that Rowell is a force to be reckoned with. After Chase reads Gert the time machine riot act, things immediately become sober and somber. It hits Nico and Chase that they really have lost every member of the team they called blood. This is the moment that I realized Rainbow Rowell shines brighter than a supernova. Her dialogue game is insanely proficient. Her prowess with the pen knows no bounds and I don't think anyone could've done The Runaways return any better.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Runaways (2017) #3

Nov 9, 2017

The colors of Karolina's true form are spectacular. The posters on the dorm walls were a nod to the true college experience. Love the subtle Easter Eggs too. The anger, the shock, the angst and all the other expressions on our heroes faces say everything. When you need zero words to understand what's happening in each panel, it's proof that Anka is a true beast to be reckoned with.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Runaways (2017) #4

Dec 14, 2017

Rowell caught me completely off guard by making this “getting the band back together” business a lot more difficult than expected. It's a testament to her literary strengths of building relationships between her characters. She seamlessly made us remember how much we loved this group of dysfunctional kids. You give a fuck about them. You're invested in seeing them back together. After the first 2 issues, my hype levels went from 0 to 100 and all I could think about was which villainous bastard was about to show up to give our squad problems. You don't hear me doe. It's deeper than that. Some of these kids have found their niche. They've become soccer teammates with new friends, enrolled in sunny colleges, and are just happy to have a steady home. You don't throw that type of security away, even for your old best friends.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Runaways (2017) #5

Jan 10, 2018

It's happening, y'all. Rainbow Rowell is writing her ass off and the gang is getting back together! We're so close!!! Kris Anka is on a vivid rampage. Every single page of this new series is beautifully drawn and all of our heroes look better than ever. While the TV adaptation does work in many ways, Anka and Rowell are performing a remarkable feat with this Runaways revival and every comic book fan needs to understand how great these first five issues have been.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Runaways (2017) #6

Feb 8, 2018

After months of setup, creepy grandmas, teary eyed reunions, robot head revivals, heartbreaking setbacks and telepathic cats, we finally have The Runaways back in full fighting force!! Issue #6 finally lets a few powers loose and gets over that “getting the band back together” arc that we've been watching unfold. I'm excited for what Kris Anka and Rainbow Rowell have in store for the future if this run. They both have blank canvases to work with, which makes this a phenomenal time to be reading Runaways.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Runaways (2017) #7

Mar 23, 2018

Issue #7 of Runaways steers clear of the dazzling array of powers and action that our heroes are always flexing and involved in. Instead, Rowell opts for the superb relationship building she's known for as our Runaways family dynamic gets that 2018 update.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Runaways (2017) #8

Apr 6, 2018

Anka and Rowell are a stellar tag team that is firing on all cylinders. Runaways is hitting their strideso all comic book readers and fans of the new Hulu show should dive into this run before they get left in the telepathic dinosaur dust.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Runaways (2017) #9

May 9, 2018

Runaways #9 was an issue that I straight up prioritized over my day job. Once the first laugh hit, I was hooked and never looked back.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Runaways (2017) #10

Jun 21, 2018

This was a really entertaining issue of Runaways and Kris “The Facial Expression Gawd' Anka is such a huge reason for that! No matter what the topic is, or how ridiculous the conversation gets, the man knows precisely how each and every character should be reacting. The eyebrow raises, contorted mouths, pride filled triumphs and feelings of sheer heartbreak are evident in all of his work. It's quite remarkable. Of course, he is working off the incredible story that Rainbow Rowell has bestowed upon us. Where can Runaways go wrong right now?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Runaways (2017) #11

Jul 20, 2018

Runaways continues to bear the fruit of Kris Anka and Rainbow Rowell's labor. You can tell each runaway and every panel is genuinely appreciated and worked on until just right.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Runaways (2017) #12

Sep 2, 2018

If these 3 can continue to string together jaw-dropping books like issue #12, they're going to elevate Runaways from a book you probably should be reading to absolutely necessary literature for fans of any genre.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Runaways (2017) #13

Oct 21, 2018

David Lafuente's artistic style is quite a departure from Kris Anka's work, that he's been crushing. I'm not a huge fan of drawing more cartoon like characters, and his depiction of our Runaway ladies could've been finessed way more, but Lafuente does a dam good job with pretty much everything else. The truest test is drawing Karolina, and she's as bright and gorgeous as ever. The action scenes are vibrant and exciting. The baddies are decently menacing and Lafuente really goes hard on the few panels where he can flex. Maaannnn all I know is that Rainbow Rowell has blessed us with the original Runaways squad + Victor and everything is better when the gang's all back together.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Runaways (2017) #15

Dec 13, 2018

Bast praise the return of Kris Anka! There's just something about the way he draws life into our team of misfits and reluctant heroes. That shadowy closing panel alone says so dam much! Matt Wilson has been the epitome of Anka's match made in heaven, because the vibrance of his coloring bodes so well for the art. I love myself a good origin story, and when done properly I like the expansion of said origin even more. Rainbow Rowell did that for the Runaways leader. She keeps finding new, inventive ways to keep this comic fresh and exciting. I don't know where they're going with this updated Staff Of One backstory, but I can't wait to find out. The possibilities are endless! Issue #16 drops next week, so check back in to see where we're heading. From the looks of the cover, it should be a Christmas spectacle!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Runaways (2017) #16

Dec 20, 2018

This was a well-paced Christmas issue of fun that spread lots of holiday cheer and romance. That's right, I said romance!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Runaways (2017) #17

Jan 3, 2019

In the end of it all, everyone's true character is revealed and the team is left in another painful predicament, thanks to you-know-who. Rainbow Rowell certainly knows how to finesse the comic book cliffhanger because I find myself itching for the next Runaways issue to drop every time I finish the one in my hands. Check back in February to see how the gang makes it out of this one alive.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Runaways (2017) #18

Feb 15, 2019

Smart, concise wrap up on this Runaways arc. Rowell leaves us with plenty to get excited, anxious, and skeptical about. Gib being left behind with the team could spell disaster, or he could become the newest member of the villain turned hero club. Will he be replacing the member of the team that bounces with Alex? Will Doombot be revived? Runaways continues to be a fun, beautiful and satisfying comic to look for each month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Runaways (2017) #19

Mar 16, 2019

On the visual side of things, we have seen our last panel from the wonderfully creative mind of Kris Anka, but low and behold, we have ourselves an unbelievable heir apparent, because Andres Genolet has provided us with one of the most seamless takeovers I've ever seen. Every Runaway has kept that shimmering glow about them and the hairstyles are still in full slay mode. Triona Farrell is also doing a phenomenal job on the coloring, taking over for Matt Wilson. Obviously, Marvel knew what they were doing when they looked for Anka's replacement because Genelot is crushing this gig like Thanos smacking around Hulk.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Runaways (2017) #20

Apr 25, 2019

Genolet is here and ready to flex! I don't know much about the talented young artist, but with his skills and Rainbow at the helm, I can see them continuing to bring Runaways stories to life long into the future. WhileRunaways #20 is more setup than action-packed, I'll take these simple building issues over unnecessarily violent comic books with no substance any day.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Runaways (2017) #21

May 24, 2019

Chase gets deaded on the regular bathroom, forcing him to resort to the creepy bathroom where he happens upon that tragic ending from last issue. What he ultimately discovers is something far worse, and very well may drive a wedge between the family he just swore to protect. Genolet has added a slick new look to this comic, while Rowell keeps the Eisner Award-nominated hits coming.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Runaways (2017) #22

Jul 1, 2019

It isn't until Victor goes to try and alleviate the tension that things get real dicey in this issue. I love Rowell's use of your typical teenage dramatics to push this story forward. It's not often you enjoy CW teen angst in a comic, but Rowell makes it works, and does so each and every issue! Victor has so many layers, and I'm excited to see where this methodical issue ending goes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Runaways (2017) #23

Aug 1, 2019

Perhaps I'm a sucker for touching queer moments, but I'd have to say that Nico and Karolina stole the show for me. Nico clapping back at Gert for taking offense to her advice about what to do with Victor was God-tier shade. Their progression from discussing Karolina's extra-curricular activities, to their joint decision to become one in this venture, was beautiful and makes me so excited to devour the next issue. Runaways #23 provided some outstanding jokes and funny shots you take at close friends and family. Despite the heavy nature of some conversations between our Runaways team, leveling things out with genuine comedy has been a constant for Rainbow Rowell. If the next issue's cover image is any indication, I'm very excited to see what Andres Genolet has in store for us.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shazam! (2018) #1

Dec 5, 2018

Issue #1 of Shazam is a comedic romp around Philadelphia as The Lightning League The Sparkly Friends The Thunder Squad they defend their home and win the hearts of Philly residents and world readers in the process. With the appropriate villain to spice things up, Shazam is looking like a comic on the rise.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Shazam! (2018) #2

Jan 23, 2019

This was a fun issue that displayed plenty of action in panels all throughout, and showcased more of those rich, kinetic colors we saw in issue #1. Johns moves the story along nicely, while peppering in bits of information necessary to understand this family, their magic, and the growing threats. With these mysterious new lands, the possibilities are endless, and the intrigue is helping to make Shazam one of 2019's DC titles to remain excited about.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Shazam! (2018) #3

Mar 7, 2019

We don't know how true King Kid's child abuse story is, but we'll have to take his word for it until we get more details. He clearly has some ulterior motives, though, being that he sicked his demented Mario-clown-janitors on the fam and jettisoned everyone to different Magiclands as soon as they made the decision to go home. Guess it's survival of the fittest time for the homies who just popped up in the Gamelands and Wildlands. Solid issue, but I think the artwork is carrying this book now that Johns has laid down the framework. I'm ok with that. This is a visual feast that should pull readers back as long as the creative team keeps their balance.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shazam! (2018) #6

Jun 2, 2019

While we don't get to see much of the Freddy and Darla in their death sentence predicament, Johns does an outstanding job of spreading the love and touching on everyone else this issue. Our artists do an excellent job of making you feel like the entire world is crumbling around our heroes. Issue #6 definitely moves our plot along in so many ways and I'm excited to see how it all goes down next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Superwoman #1

Aug 18, 2016

The issue does a lot to set up this Superwoman run, but also goes a tad too far into the realm of indulgence. I can get down with a lot being thrown at me, but the panels felt a bit crowded in my opinion. The saving grace for me was the actual art on the panels. Jimenez, Santorelli and Cox really did wonders with their illustration of the heroes in this issue. They did a great job highlighting how Superwoman gained her abilities and brought to life the powers that each hero possesses with impressive vibrancy. All of this gave me hope that this was a comic reviewing decision that I will be happy I made.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Best Defense: The Immortal Hulk #1

Dec 7, 2018

We've only gotten looks at 2 of our heroes and while Namor was a grand exploration of Atlantean lore, The Immortal Hulk hits all the right notes and is leading the pack by shining in tone and writing.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
The Best Defense: Namor #1

Dec 7, 2018

Chip Zdarsky is the brains behind this story that features some lofty ideas spanning vast seas, and Carlos Magno is the artist drawing this classic Marvel looking book, in a super stimulating era of comics. Zdarsky does a great job of capturing the internal battle that Namor is forced him to endure. Life isn't east as a half human Atlantean King and that thought process is explored in depth.Magno helps Namor: The Best Defense #1 separate itself from DC's King of Atlantis, for this take is unique in many ways. The ending really changes everything about Namor and his crusade to unite two kingdoms. More importantly, this ending means the Defenders are that much closer to uniting like Voltron, and I cannot wait until that goes down!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Magic Order #1

Jun 11, 2018

If you ever wanted an R rated version of the world outside Hogwarts, you'd be hard pressed to find a better story than this one. Every page contains details as juicy as a Kardashian rumor mill. The writing is ripe with tantalizing new ideas and concepts. The art is dark and wondrous.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Magic Order #2

Jul 16, 2018

What I find absolutely astounding though is that Mark Millar does not simply import and insert powers and spells that he's seen in movies, shows, and comics. He introduces us to completely unheard of possibilities and includes the most enticing new aspects to powers that we are somewhat familiar with. Then, you got Olivier Coipel aka Mr. Stay Low and Keep Firing, who is bringing all of these astounding new tricks, grand scale spells, and marvelous magic to life. It was widely believed that this comic would blow critics and fans away, and here we are picking our jaws up off the floor with every turn of the page.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Magic Order #3

Aug 14, 2018

Another great entry for Mark Millar and Olivier Coipel here. I really appreciate that there's always so many new aspects of this magical world to dissect and devour. We're getting outstanding battles, and impressive character building. The Magic Order should be on everyone's must-read list, because there aren't any signs of its momentum slowing down!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Magic Order #4

Oct 10, 2018

Back To The FutureOne of the coolest low-key things that Millar and Copiel have done is give us a glimpse at the Magic Order from generations past. Not only did we get to see Grandpapi Moonstone in all his regal glory, but we got to see it through the eyes of everyone's favorite misfit. I loved the overlap of the World War and what was going on in the magical community. Time travel is a hard concept to get right, but it's done so well here that you can just enjoy the panels and keep it moving.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Magic Order #5

Dec 12, 2018

He isn't scared to let a girl defy the odds and combat evil, but after this issue my G?! She's going to have to show a hell of a lot more tenacity if she wants to defeat Albany and the man behind The Venetian mask. Olivier Coipel's art continues to burst from the page. Bright panels are vibrant, dark panels are harrowing, and it all flows so beautifully. The Magic Order is hitting all the right notes at the perfect time, and the final issue can't come soon enough!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Magic Order #6

Feb 13, 2019

Mannnnn, all of this dope action, and I haven't even gotten to Olivier Coipel's phenomenal job on the artwork. Him and Dave Stewart combine to score big in this finale. When there are so many awe inspiring moments of mayhem and destruction deserved of praise, I like to highlight the subtle panels that wow. The first example popped out to me early in the issue, as Cordelia reveals her trump card. Madame Albany blurts out an absolutely stunned, “Oh no,” and Cordelia responds with a sly, “Oh YES” that was so minimal, yet so powerful. The panel features nothing but Cordelia's vibrant red lips replying with a wry, confident smile that made for a phenomenal tone setter.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Twins (2019) #1

Feb 13, 2019

Superman serves as the twins' mentor and adopted guardian. He shows them around the Hall of Justice and appoints them interns. The conversations he has with the Trinity are a great reflection of each of their personalities. Russell really captures the essence of Batman and all of his reactions or responses are knee slappingly hilarious.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Twins (2019) #2

Mar 13, 2019

Then, you pepper in the superhero's role in sending these small-time villains to the conveyor belt without even thinking of another option and you're officially making a splash and name for yourself in my book. Also, it looks like we're getting blessed with the introduction of Gleek! Can't wait to see how they handle him in today's comic world.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Twins (2019) #3

Apr 10, 2019

After Superman warns our unsuspecting twins that they're officially on the villain radar, they slack on being prepared and get captured by the Pee Wee Legion of Doom. Of course, this is all a part of the setup so that Gleek can show how useful a performance monkey can be. Does he wind up saving the day? Wind up being an undercover villain? You'll have to find out inWonder Twins#3 when it drops on Wednesday!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Twins (2019) #4

May 8, 2019

While out on the town, Zan and Jayna realize how horrible the teen date night scene is. Using the innocent minds of two aliens, Russell subtly dismantles so many stereotypes of men and women on dates, while at the same time reinforcing this sibling bond between our heroes.This comicis impressing on all fronts. Withback to back Eisner award nominations for Best Writer, Mark Russell is making a name for himself and it's only a matter of time before Wonder Twins gets the recognition it deserves. The writing is excellent, the artwork is consistent, and there's such a healthy balance of fun and depth that more people are bound to jump on this bandwagon soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Twins (2019) #5

Jun 12, 2019

By the end of this issue,thingshave changed drastically. You'll see another case of someone who deserved to be jailed, get off scot free. You'll find out how far a promising character will go to get justice for their broken heart. You'll remember that despite the heavy nature of the comic's content, Mark Russell never forgets to inject good doses of humor into many panels. You'll watch corporate America do what it does best and shake your head in disgust while it all goes down. Is it a perfect depiction of the injustices that happen across our nation? No, but it's another excellent outing by Russell and Byrne and I hope they continue to push the envelope every issue of Wonder Twins.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Twins (2019) #6

Jul 14, 2019

While I've been a bit critical of Byrne's portrayal of some classic heroes (like the big blue Boy Scout), something dawned on me this issue. Homie is extremely on point and a maven with the artistry when it comes to more detailed, up close images and characters. The long-distance shots fall a little flat for me, but the artwork and attributes that he is able to produce with large scale scenes and heroes are so aesthetically pleasing and well-done. Russell and Byrne have brought back the Wonder Twins and provided the ring slinging tag-team with a fitting ending to a wild and wacky story that parallels so many unfortunate aspects of today's society. And while this comic is definitely a vehicle used to tear apart so many ineffective policies and institutions the U.S. has in place, the jokes and comedic shots fired are never forgotten, and I truly appreciate that. The Wonder Twin powers will be activating again in September, let's hope they can keep this same energy.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

August

July

More