Matthew Szewczyk's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: First Comics News Reviews: 122
7.3Avg. Review Rating

8.0
'68 Scars #2

Aug 12, 2012

Perhaps the thing I love the most is that the story is that it is told in a number of mini-series and one-shots instead of one ongoing series. This allows the focus to jump around to different people and situations with ease and everyone is is vulnerable to the threat of the zombies. If you are burnt out on the Walking Dead's formula of “meet new group, conflict, Rick causes character death/injury, revenge, repeat” then I highly suggest you give '68 Scars a try, I think you will find a new favorite Zombie series.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Action Comics (2011) #12

Aug 10, 2012

As bad as the last Superman movie was, this comic is many times worse and is quite frankly insulting to the readers. Word came out a few weeks ago that Morrison would be leaving Action Comics with issue 16 and that is probably for the best as he seems gassed on the characters. I know he is a great writer and will look for his future work but this issue shows that he just is not a good fit with the Superman character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New X-Men #1

Nov 15, 2012

It is also wonderful to see the classic X-Men line up of Cyclops, Marvel Girl, Ice Man, The Beast and Angel without all the baggage that they have been burdened with over the years. Stuart Immonen does a great job drawing the action and the difference between the classic versions of the character and the modern day equivalents are striking. Add in the fact the Wolverine does not appear at all in the issue and you are left with a fresh take on the X-Men and the first X-Men series in years that I am actually looking forward to reading the next issue of.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-New X-Men #5

Jan 5, 2013

The fact that the original X-Men are now in the present presents a number of issues that could cause the story to fall apart at any time but for now writer Brian Michael Bendis deals with them effectively enough. This series could turn out to be a great series of stories that radically shape the Marvel Universe or they could dissolve into time traveling head scratchers and I have no idea what will happen. Hopefully Bendis has a long-term goal in mind with the story and if he does then this really could turn out to be one hell of a series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Amazing Spider-Man #691

Aug 15, 2012

Just when you think the story has ended on a rather neat twist, we see the Kingpin and Hobgoblin in Shadowland preparing a new and improved Spider-Jammer before heading to Delvadia where Devil-Spider is in action and the stories final twist is revealed. It is a good twist that leaves us hanging and waiting for the next issue which is The Amazing Spider-Man's extra sized anniversary issue and it looks to be another great adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Amazing Spider-Man #694

Sep 27, 2012

While this was not a great storyline by an definition, it would have been nice to give readers a half-way decent ending to the four-parter for their time investment. As it stands, the best part of the story is the great cover tribute to the classic Superman/Spider-Man comic from the seventies. It is awesome. Everything else is just blah.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man #695

Oct 3, 2012

Overall the issue was good but you really get the sense that things are picking up now leading to some huge story lines along with the seven-hundreth issue in a few months. This is a great time to get on board with the Amazing Spider-Man series and enjoy the new stories, it is only going to get better from here!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man #696

Oct 24, 2012

As we close it on the promised epic 700th issue of Amazing, writer's Dan Slott and Christos Cage are really bring a sense of fun back to Spider-Man and it is a welcome return after a difficult couple of years. It feels great to be enjoying the marque Spider-Man title again after a very long absence and I hope that they continue their run for quite a while.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Amazing Spider-Man #698

Nov 23, 2012

The Amazing Spider-Man has not been a must-read for me since the late 1980′s but the series has elevated its game in the last year to the point where it is now one of my favorite monthly super-hero titles once more. Well done everyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Amazing Spider-Man #700

Dec 26, 2012

Do I feel the changes are permanent? Not really but then again this issue did not go as I had anticipated either so who can say for certain? What I can say is that the series has gripped me as a reader and made me look forward to each progressive issue like no other series has in years. This feels less of a cheap stunt (see: Heroes Reborn or the Death of Superman) and more like an opportunity to explore new stories and to give the character a shot of uncertainty. I think it is one of the best books of the year and one of the best super-hero titles that Marvel has published in years.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Archeologists of Shadows #1

Sep 19, 2012

Please, check this comic out even if the hard science fiction concept is not your thing. These kinds of creative endeavors must be encouraged and once you have given it a chance I think that you will find that it is worth much more than the asking price.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Archer & Armstrong #1

Aug 25, 2012

The relaunch of Valiant continues in very strong fashion and this is yet another one of their books that I will be looking forward to every month. That is great for them but not so much for my wallet.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Archie #637

Sep 24, 2012

The main monthly comic book from Archie is a true joy and you never know what you will get from month to month. The ability to utilize the characters into all the different stories that they have published this year is nothing short of amazing and Archie Comics has been on quite the roll. From Kiss to Occupy Riverdale they have made creative comic after creative comic and here is to hoping that they can keep it up!

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Avengers (2012) #1

Dec 5, 2012

If anything, this issue may have been a decent enough zero issue of some sort but as a first issue launching point for a new series it is a disappointment on almost every level. From the lame central story to the way the heroes were defeated to the now stereotypical last page this is Marvel at its worst. Last week saw more great “Marvel Now!” titles hit the shops which built up the excitement for this issue but they only made this title look worse by comparison. Its a shame that potential new readers picking this up will probably never come back and it is a wasted opportunity from all involved to expand the readership base.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Avengers (2012) #6

Feb 20, 2013

If you don't know, the White Event was what caused the New Universe to launch back in the eighties and Nightmask was one of the characters that was featured promenently in the universe. What does it mean? Not sure yet but I can tell you that my interest in the Avengers has increased greatly after this issue and it went from a five out of ten to a solid seven. That is how excited I am for this development.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Avengers (2012) #8

Mar 21, 2013

When giving the issue a rating I added two stars due to the New Universe portions so a five star rating jumped to a seven (barely) but I am hoping that the eventual payoff is worth the journey.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Avengers: Earth's Mightiest Heroes #4

Aug 20, 2012

The next eleven page short features Hawkeye and the Black Widow in a very enjoyable action packed adventure with a lot of humorous quips from the bowman. There are also a couple shorter stories and a great letters page featuring four pieces of artwork from younger readers aged four to seven. When I see that letters page I see the future of our hobby and I can only imagine the thrill the kids have gotten from having their drawings published. Lets hope Marvel keeps providing them with a reason to continue reading the adventures of their favorite heroes, this comic is a great start.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Avengers: Earth's Mightiest Heroes #6

Sep 14, 2012

Overall this one is a step down from the last couple of issues but still remains a great comic to share with the younger readers in your life and is one the low end of price at $2.99.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman and Robin (2011) #0

Sep 16, 2012

If you really were curious about Damian's history than you will probably find a lot to enjoy about this issue but it is completely skippable with no great impact on the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman Incorporated #8

Mar 1, 2013

Grant Morrison does have his fans but his runs on Batman and Superman have left me flat and uninterested in his takes on mainstream super-heroes. The fact that a major death happened in a B-list Batman title shows how much the heads at DC need to get sales of Batman Incorporated to rise. It sells between one-third and one-half that the main Batman books do and one cannot help but wonder if this was an attempt to get uninterested readers to pick up the book. If they did I doubt many will be staying around for long.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Before Watchmen: Rorschach #1

Aug 16, 2012

My biggest concern when this whole concept was first announced was if the creators would be able to make their stories feel like legitimate adventures that predate the original Watchmen mini-series or if they would come across as cheap imitations or, even worse, as parodies. I am very pleased with the start of the Rorschach series and feel as though any fan of Watchmen will be pleased as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Black Kiss 2 #2

Sep 6, 2012

Its one thing to paint a vivid picture of the seedy side of Hollywood in the early 1900′s and it is another to show women orally pleasuring a donkey or showing a man having his testicles bitten off. Some of Chaykin's best work is when some things are left to the readers imagination; to reveal them in the boldness of print takes the darkness of the stories and leaves a poorer impression on the reader.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bloodshot #2

Aug 24, 2012

Over halfway through the year and I have to say that the relaunch of the Valiant line is one of the best surprises of the year and they are quickly becoming my favorite publisher. That is a real achievement considering I never read the original line in the 90′s and I am completely in on the first two relaunched titles I picked up. I will be reviewing the rest of the launch series' over the next few days and I hope that they are as good as Harbinger and Bloodshot have been.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bloodshot #3

Sep 3, 2012

If you have not checkout out Bloodshot yet, this is the perfect chance with a mere three issues out. Less then ten bucks (if you buy the digital versions) will get you caught up on one of the best new series of the year and will probably make you a Valiant universe fan. Money well spent.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bloodshot #4

Oct 7, 2012

It is easy to see why the comic community is so excited about the relaunched Valiant line, they have all been top notch and this issue of Bloodshot is just as good as the rest of them. When I was finished with the last page I was already looking forward to the next issue and if that is not what comic books are all about, then what is?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bloodshot #6

Dec 8, 2012

If you are have not picked up this or any of the other Valiant titles the you are missing out on some of the best comic books being published today!

View Issue       View Full Review
12.0
Captain America (2004) #635.1

Aug 22, 2012

There is a nice ending that sets up stories to follow, gives the heroes a major new threat to deal with down the road and I am interested in seeing where they go with the story, if they continue it. A job well done by the creative team and a good one-shot issue for new readers to enjoy, what else could you ask for?

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Captain America (2012) #1

Nov 30, 2012

The storyline is downright bizarre, with alien run subways and alternate dimensions being the featured plot points and it seems so unlike the Captain America we are used to reading. Comic creators trying something new is always appreciated but not when the new ideas are so bad or just not interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Conan the Barbarian #7

Aug 9, 2012

What writer Brian Wood has done with this series is to make Conan multi-dimensional and interesting as a character and not just portraying him as an unstoppable killing machine. That in itself is an achievement but the story is also top notch and is sure to please both casual Conan fans and the hardcore alike.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Conan the Barbarian #8

Sep 9, 2012

Overall this will be a decent enough chapter in the collected trade paperback but as a solo issue it did not offer enough to warrant a purchase and you would not miss anything from the story by skipping it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Conan the Barbarian #13

Feb 12, 2013

If you saw the Conan movie last year and it piqued your curiosity or if you have always had an interest in the character then check out this issue, just be aware that there is not a lot of action to be had.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Creepy Comics #10

Oct 1, 2012

It is great to see Dark Horse continue the Creepy tradition of horror in both this continuing series as well as their archive collections. It's a good time to be a horror comic fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Cyber Force #1

Oct 18, 2012

The best thing about the issue is the price, it is free in both print and digital thanks to a very successful Kickstarter campaign. In fact, the first FIVE issues will be made available for free so if you have even a slight interest in the comic or you just want to read it so you can e-mail me about how wrong I am than there is really no reason not to. Just don't expect very much from this first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Daredevil (2011) #18

Sep 21, 2012

If you have not checked out Daredevil in a while then perhaps this would be a good time to see what the character has been up to, the comic is worthy of much more attention than it is current receiving.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
DC Universe Presents #0

Sep 23, 2012

This feels like a filler issue, jamming various cancelled comic books into one package and throwing an outrageous six dollar price tag on it just so they can be part of the zero issue series. It is a failed effort and unless you are a hard core collector of one of the heroes I would recommend that you skip this one as your money can be better spent elsewhere.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deadpool (2008) #59

Aug 15, 2012

Daniel Way and Silva Espin have crafted a fun story with the perfect combination of humor, action and story progression combined with artwork the compliments the story in every way. I never found myself rereading a section to understand what was happening or wondering why story elements were presented a certain way. It's just a top notch comic book and worth checking out if you're looking to add a little fun to your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
1.0
Deadpool Kills the Marvel Universe #4

Aug 22, 2012

Unless there is a sequel. Gulp.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Deadpool Killustrated #1

Jan 28, 2013

Perhaps the biggest problem with the book is that it seems to be a book without a purpose. I am not sure that there were any fans clamoring for Deadpool to take on the classics and it does not lend itself well to a mini-series or even a one-shot. Fans would have been better served with a book of pin-up covers spoofing the various “Classics Illustrated” editions instead of trying to tell a linear story with the premise. If Marvel really wanted another mini series then they could have expanded this issues scene of the villains realizing they may be heroes due to circumstances beyond their control. Imagine Deadpools aggravation if he had slaughtered all the heroes only to have the villains ruin his day by becoming heroes themselves. If nothing else, at least you would have had some pretty cool fight scenes as Marvels biggest and most evil villains fought it out with Deadpool. They would have presented more of a challenge then the characters in this issue do.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Detective Comics (2011) #0

Sep 5, 2012

I am not sure what to make of the “zero issue” concept, so far it seems like an editorial decision rather than a creative decision and it shows. This issue offers nothing important for Batman fans and we have FIVE more Batman titles getting zero issues this month, hopefully they get better from here on.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Detective Comics (2011) #15

Dec 8, 2012

It is nothing that has not been done before but it is solid enough with the backstory of the Penguins crumbling criminal empire adding depth to the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Doctor Who Vol. 3 #1

Oct 2, 2012

If you have not picked up a Doctor Who comic in a while or have been turned off by recent efforts, give this new “season 3″ first issue a try. It is a fun adventure and with it being a two issue arc, it is a cost low investment to try it out. If you happen to stumble upon the variant covers the TARDIS cut-out cover and the enemies of the Doctor cover are awesome.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doctor Who Vol. 3 #3

Dec 8, 2012

If you have been avoiding the IDW comics due to past experiences, I ask that you give this new series a try as I think a strong series is important to hold fans over during the mid-season hiatus.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doctor Who: Prisoners of Time #1

Jan 28, 2013

I was a little surprised to see that the preview for the next issue features the second doctor on the cover, the way the story ends this issue left me thinking that it would pick up directly from this one. As it looks like that will not be the case it will be interesting to see what they have planned and I am hopeful that the payoff at the end of the series lives up to the build up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Fantastic Four (2012) #2

Dec 12, 2012

This series will be exploring their adventures in time and space while the companion book "FF" will cover the replacement teams adventures on Earth and Matt will be writing them both so you can be sure of a strong synergy between them. I know one thing for sure and that is that they both will be at the top of my reading pile every time an issue comes out, they are the prime example of a refreshed Marvel universe that is doing it right.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
FF (2012) #1

Nov 28, 2012

Marvel Now got off to a rocky start with the Avengers and X-Men nonsense but now they seem to be hitting their stride and are constantly putting out engaging and creative titles. Add FF to the growing pile that also includes Thor, Fantastic Four and Amazing Spider-Man and you have a renaissance of the Marvel brand and universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
FF (2012) #2

Dec 19, 2012

The whole Marvel Now! half-launch has been pretty evenly divided for me. As much as I enjoy this series, Thor, Fantastic Four, Daredevil, Spider-Man and Hawkeye there are duds that balance it out like Uncanny Avengers, Captain America, Thunderbolts and X-Treme X-Men. While I wish that every series was at least decent, I guess it is worth dealing with the duds if we get a gem like this series. I am already looking forward to reading the next issue and many more after that, may this creative team have a long and successful run on this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
FF (2012) #3

Jan 24, 2013

The first issue of this new series got an 8, the second got a 9 and this issue was a 10. If they keep up this trajectory we will have to adjust our scoring system to accommodate higher scores. It may not be everyones cup of tea but this book is, no joke, an example of what is great about comic books and you are a damn fool if you do not at least try an issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Five Weapons #1

Feb 27, 2013

From the very first panel of the first page, the story will grab you and you will find yourself delving into this world of assassins in training with great interest. When the end of the story rolls around and the issues twist is revealed it will make you wish that the next issue was already available. I know that I immediately went back and re-read the issue with the knowledge of the twist and enjoyed the issue even more. I would be very surprised if this mini-series does not lead to other media opportunities such as a movie or TV show and I strongly suggest you check this book out before everyone else discovers how cool it is before you.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
G.I. Combat #5

Oct 4, 2012

The second story features the Unknown Solider and is a more conventional espionage story with lots of violence and a cyber-attack on the US Military for it's cliff-hanger. It is an alright story that is not nearly supernatural for my tastes, I much rather would have preferred either a different character or a crazier story. The Unknown Solider fighting terrorists is not something I had been waiting for.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Garfield #4

Aug 11, 2012

If you are looking for a great comic to share with your kids or you just want to enjoy the characters you loved growing up, I recommend checking this issue out, I think you will enjoy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ghostbusters #15

Nov 30, 2012

If you have been craving some more Ghostbusting in your life than this series should scratch that itch nicely. While it would be great to see another movie or cartoon show this is the next best thing to those and is a worthy treat for the movies fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Godzilla: Half-Century War #1

Aug 7, 2012

This is not a comic book for everyone. If you are not a fan this will do nothing to change your mind about the monster but if you are a fan of Gozilla you could certainly do worse and there is the curiousity of where the story will go from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harbinger #3

Aug 16, 2012

Prior to reading the first three issues of Harbinger to prep for this review I had not checked out the relaunched Valiant line of comics but if this is any indication of the quality of the line I will be catching up on the other series as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harbinger #4

Sep 10, 2012

Overall this issue is another top-notch comic from the relaunched Valiant Comics and proves that this series is here to stay. Please, please, please check this series out while it is still relatively early, you will thank me as it is one of the best comics being published today by any publisher.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harbinger #5

Oct 26, 2012

It's been an amazing run of work thus far from a pair of creators at the top of their game and hopefully readers of the comic will get to enjoy their efforts for quite some time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Haunted Horror #2

Dec 8, 2012

There are five pre-code stories and boy are they an awesome look back at the golden age of comic book horror. If you love stories of werewolves and witchcraft along with a healthy dose of Edgar Allan Poe then this 42 page comic is one of the best values in comics today.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hawkeye Vol. 2 #1

Aug 10, 2012

One thing that impressed me was that Hawkeye is not seen in his costume after the first two pages, this is Clint Barton being heroic without the costume or even his bow. For the creative team to pull that off is a treat and has me looking forward to where they go next with this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hawkeye Vol. 2 #2

Sep 7, 2012

At this point Hawkeye is becoming one of my favorite monthly super-hero books and is one of the best comics to be produced by Marvel. That is not bad for a comic that features a “Second-String” hero as the lead and I look forward to many more issues to come. Consider me a fan!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hoax Hunters #3

Sep 8, 2012

Typing that last paragraph makes it seem a lot weirder than it is, or perhaps it is so entertaining that I did not notice just how very odd the whole thing is. If you are a fan of the X-Files or are looking for something new and different than give this one a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
I Love Trouble #1

Dec 8, 2012

If all this sounds rather familiar then you probably have seen the movie Jumper which this comic pretty much takes from wholesale, with the exemption of making the main character a female.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Judge Dredd #4

Feb 19, 2013

As a longtime reader of Judge Dredd since the Quality days, the success that IDW is finding with this new series is very exciting. After the DC debacle a few years ago I thought that we would never get another shot at new Dredd stories in America but IDW is proving, as they often do, that they have their fingers on the pulse of what makes a property success and they exploit that better than any other publisher today.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Judge Dredd: Year One #1

Mar 21, 2013

It is nice to see the resurgence of the Judge Dredd character continue, after the on-going regular series and great movie it truely is a great time to be a fan of the character. Getting a double dose of Dredd for a few months is just the cherry on the sundae, enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League #0

Sep 20, 2012

7 Out of 107 Word Summary: A zero issue worth checking out. Finally.Justice League #0DC Comics – $3.99

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League #12

Aug 31, 2012

The issue ends with the heroes standing around feeling sorry for themselves and questioning everything they do which is neither heroic or exciting. The last two pages, though, reveal a new Justice League of America roster that includes the Martian Manhunter, Green Arrow, Hawkman and some other b-listers but will hopefully offer up new storylines to replace the ones dragging this series down.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Kevin Keller #4

Aug 5, 2012

For my money, Dan Parent is the best active Archie Comics storyteller in the business and his work here is top notch, full of vibrant action and pleasant characterizations. His Jughead scenes at the start of the issue in particular had me smiling broadly as I read. Perhaps the only thing lacking in the issue was an infusion of British scenery in the background of the panels. With the exception of one town center scene and the occasional union jack flag in the background there was very little to give the reader the sense that the story was taking place in an area rarely used in Archie stories. I could not help feeling that it was a missed opportunity and let down an otherwise very enjoyable issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Life With Archie #22

Aug 13, 2012

If you do check it out, the current story lines began in issue 19 and back issues are available through your local comic shop, the Archie Comic App and the Archie digital online story. Don't surprised if you find yourself with a new “must read” comic every month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Locke & Key: Grindhouse #1

Sep 1, 2012

If you have not had the chance to check out any of the previous Locke & Key stories then this self-contained one-shot is the perfect chance to jump on board and see what all the talk is about. If you like well written horror stories then run, don't walk, to your local comic shop and pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Mars Attacks #3

Aug 24, 2012

Be aware that the story is very graphic with plenty of severed bodies and heads, it is not for the weak of heart. I used to own a few of the original trading cards and the original set is a classic within the trading card community. I am pleased that this comic is a worthwhile followup and keeps both the tone and the style of the original product.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Mars Attacks The Real Ghostbusters #1

Jan 20, 2013

I am not sure how many fans will be picking up all the various crossover events in the Mars Attacks saga but at the least this one-shot was fun to read even if you are not a fan of one of the properties. Now I have to find the Mars Attack Cerebus variant cover and I will be a happy comic collector!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Masks #1

Nov 30, 2012

I had no expectations going it to this issue and when I was finished I was really impressed by the entire comic book and am looking forward to seeing where this story goes over the next seven issues. If you are a fan or pulp heroes or just want a good action packed story to sink your teeth into then this one is highly recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
New Crusaders #1

Sep 4, 2012

*** Note – for more New Crusaders check out the Red Circle Gazette podcast, available from the podcast menu above or subscribe through iTunes! ***

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nick Cardy: The Artist at War #1

Feb 16, 2013

In addition to the reproduction of the sketchbook, there is also an interview with the artist as well as a photo section and Post V-E Day section of paintings and photos. This is a fantastic book that has been lovingly put together and should find a happy place on any artist or history buffs bookshelf.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Non-Humans #1

Oct 6, 2012

Once I got past that part of the story, the issue really kicked in for me and I really started to enjoy what Glen Brunswick and Whilce Portacio are doing with it. It may take patience to get into it but I think that readers who find the concept interesting will love this series and I cannot wait until the next issue to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Pathfinder #1

Aug 16, 2012

If you are looking for a good adventure story or to get your role-playing fix away from the table this is a good choice. The comic also includes a dozen pages of character stats, information on the town, a poster and pull-out adventure map to use in the role-playing game. I would have to say that is a great deal for $3.99 and future issues should only get better.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Peanuts #1

Aug 18, 2012

It is very clear that from cover-to-cover the Kaboom staff has poured a lot of effort into capturing the flavor of the original comics and that they love and respect the history of the characters. The effort shows through on each page and I am sure that this comic book will delight readers of all ages.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Plume #1

Jan 7, 2013

Overall it is an average first issue, it seems like it will be a good first chapter of a collected graphic novel but the vague premiere does not give enough to hook unfamiliar readers into picking up the second issue. If you are a fan of the web series then it would get another star or two and I am sure that you will find it enjoyable enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Popeye #4

Sep 2, 2012

I am not that familiar with the Popeye character, with the exception of the old cartoons and the dreadful Robin Williams movie, but from what I understand this is a throw back to the type of stories that used to be published in the comics and newspaper strips. If that is true than I can start to see why the character has maintained his popularity over the years, this issue really entertained me. While not a comic I would have even thought to have picked up if I saw it in a comic shop, the sales success of the series speaks to the characters enduring popularity as well as the creators abilities to tap into that market. Well done, consider me a new fan!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Team #1

Feb 4, 2013

The writing in this book is unbelievable, in a great way. Garth establishes on the second page that the worst possible thing that could happen does but he slowly builds the suspense as the issue progresses until you feel a knot in your stomach as the issue comes to a close. The dialog is tight and believable and everything slowly builds to the last page and it then leaves you wanting more and isn't that exactly what a first issue of a new series should do?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Saga #8

Dec 26, 2012

If you are new to the series this issue is pretty much useless without the backstory. I would highly recommend you swing by your local comic show or go to Amazon and pick up Saga: Volume One for ten dollars and get the first six issues of the series, it is perhaps one of the best bargains on the market. Once you have started the series it will quickly become a favorite and you will be well positioned to enjoy the story as it unfolds over the coming years.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Savage Wolverine #1

Jan 20, 2013

One of the best things about the issue and one of the things I am looking forward to in coming issues is the dynamic between Wolverine and Shanna and how they work together. What little we got this issue is just a taste and I really want more of it, I am hopeful that Frank has some good things up his sleeve for the rest of the series. Even though this issue ends with Wolverine (once again) falling to earth from a huge height I have to give Frank the benefit of the doubt that the best is yet to come. If you have not read a Wolverine book in a while then this is probably the best jumping on point to get back into the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Savage Wolverine #2

Feb 22, 2013

The art is wonderful as usual from Frank, his characters are well defined and the action scenes are top notch. The story featuring Wolverine and Shanna as adventuring buddies in the vain of Romancing the Stone is an interesting idea and I am still not sure what the point of the book is. It is strange that I really want to like the book but it just is not clicking right for me. I will be sticking with it for a few more issues but I hope that the blend of action and adventure gels better in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shadowman #1

Nov 2, 2012

The first issue is all set up; the stage has been set, Jack has become the new Shadowman and now we will have to see what the second issue will give us. I have a feeling that the story will really take off next issue and give the readers more of the supernatural bloodshed they are looking for. I know that when I read the last panel of this issue I was not ready to stop reading and when I put the comic down I was already looking forward to the second issue. That I feel is the mark of a successful first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Sherlock Holmes: The Liverpool Demon #1

Dec 15, 2012

Overall it was an interesting issue that gave me enough that I would be inclined to pick up the next issue to see what story developments it held, it may not be the perfect Sherlock Holmes comic book but it is a good one.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Simpsons Comics #193

Aug 17, 2012

Sticking to under three dollars an issue, this is one of the cheapest kids comics on the market and is one that can be shared between comic fans of all ages. If you are not a Simpsons fan yet then I don't think this will change your mind but for fans of the show it will give you a fix while the show is on repeats for the summer.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Skullkickers #17

Aug 29, 2012

This is not a good issue for the first time fan to pick up but the good news is that the first five issues are available to be read online for free. I would suggest new readers check out those free issues by following the link at the end of the review and really get a good feel for what the series is all about. I think that you will find a lot to enjoy with this group of characters and their adventures.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Skullkickers #18

Sep 22, 2012

The next story arc is not scheduled to start until 2013 so you have time to get caught up on the pervious issues if you want and if you play D&D or Pathfinder then I think you will find a lot to enjoy in this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Trek #13

Sep 18, 2012

I am not the biggest Trekkie so I am not sure about continuity issues, minor character history or anything else of the sort but what I can say is that I really enjoyed the issue. It was engaging, interesting and told a story uniquely Star Trek without feeling like a rehashed story from the sixties and that is to the credit of writer Mike Johnson and artist Stephen Molnar. Well done guys, it made a fan out of me!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Star Trek: The Next Generation / Doctor Who: Assimilation² #5

Sep 25, 2012

The series is at the five issue mark and we are just getting the story started so it is a good thing that the potential makes it worth hanging in for.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars #1

Jan 2, 2013

It is a really good first issue that sets up three or four story lines and gets the foundation set for a very enjoyable series. It is a shame that it will not be able to see a multiple year run that they expected when the series was developed but hopefully the creators can give the readers some sort of conclusion when the series ends. As it stands now, I look at it as an extended mini-series featuring the characters I know and love and that is more than enough for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars #2

Feb 3, 2013

When I reviewed the first issue I gave it high praise and thought that it would be a favorite of Star Wars fans everywhere and that turned out to be true. The issue quickly sold out and now commands three-to-four times the cover price with more printings to come soon. Dark Horse is setting a standard so high with this book that Marvel will be very hard pressed to match it, never mind exceed it, when they take over publishing of the franchise next year. Dark Horse is going out with a bang and we all can be thankful for it and enjoy the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars #3

Mar 10, 2013

If you have been burned out on the many expanded universe comic book series or just want to rekindle that feeling of excitement that you had when you first saw Star Wars then I suggest you check out this series and enjoy Dark Horse's swan song before they lose the license.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superior Spider-Man #1

Jan 8, 2013

The final page is a big twist in the story and one that Dan Slott has been promoting for weeks, ever since the story in #700 leaked out. I won't spoil it for you but some readers will be happy and some will be annoyed but all will probably be getting the next issue to see where this is going. I know that I will be.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superior Spider-Man #3

Feb 6, 2013

This is a series that delivers surprises in every issue and when you are done reading it you feel like it is a great thing to be a comic book fan. If you have not checked this series out, please do so at your earliest convenience. It really is one of my favorite comic books right now and I cannot praise it enough. If you are tired of the same old stuff and want to regain that sense of wonder that you had when you read comic books as a kid then get this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Superman (2011) #13

Oct 24, 2012

The worst part is that it is all downhill from there, ending with a silly fight with a under-welming giant dragon and two pages of bickering with Supergirl. That readers are expected to continue reading this story in Superboy #14 and Supergirl #14 is an amazing testament to the power of the brand, this three issue story would cost nearly twelve dollars to read. No thanks, I will save my money for the next Superman relaunch is a few years.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Supurbia Vol. 2 #1

Nov 30, 2012

This comic has gotten quite the reputation as being a "Desperate Housewives" version of a super-hero universe and that description rather fits. There is adultery, backstabbing, drug use and the heroes often seem as back as the villains. This is the second mini-series of the title and if you have not read the first mini-series than you will be pretty lost starting out with this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Avenging Spider-Man #11

Aug 30, 2012

The entire line of Spider-Man titles seem to be leading up to a major event happening in Spider-Man #700 which is coming out in a few months, so perhaps when I look back on this issue I will see it in a “calm before the storm” type of manner. For now I am just looking forward to the more lighthearted stories that look to be returning with the next issue as Spider-Man and Deadpool go back to high school. I cannot wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Avenging Spider-Man #12

Sep 13, 2012

Avenging Spider-Man is probably the best Spider title being published right now if you are looking for a fun title that is a throw back to the eighties and is one of the few that you can share with younger readers without much hesitation.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Black Beetle #1

Jan 21, 2013

Francesco has defiantly created a hero that feels ripped from the pages of an old pulp novel, I went so far as to check the copyright information to confirm that this was indeed a new creation, that is how authentic it feels. They even went so far as to create 1940′s styled radio show posters that they feature in the editorial pages, it is obviously a labor of love. If you are looking for a good old fashioned pulp adventure featuring a new character uncluttered with decades of history then this is the book that you have been waiting for.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Creep #2

Sep 30, 2012

Writer John Arcudi is weaving a wonderful period piece set in the late 80′s that will give fans of hard boiled mysteries something to look for in their local comic shops. I am hoping that the comic can find its target audience before too many issues are out as it will be nearly impossible for readers to catch up later.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Legend of Luther Strode #1

Dec 8, 2012

Some of the art gets a little tough to follow at times but for the most part you will get to see people getting their heads ripped open and their hearts ripped out of their chests. Thank god that this is not in color of there may have been a shortage of red ink after this went to the printer!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Li'l Depressed Boy #13

Sep 17, 2012

9 Out of 109 Word Summary: Continues the emotionally engaging series in fine fashion.The Li'l Depressed Boy #13Image Comics – $3.99

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Pound: Ghouls Night Out #2

Oct 9, 2012

If you have not checked out this series than I suggest you pick it up and give it a try, there is no real barrier to entry and you will be caught up on the story in no time. I think you will enjoy it very much, especially if you enjoyed Buffy or the original Fright Night as they are similar in theme. They also offer the first issue of the previous mini-series for free from their web site so click on the link below to try it risk free!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Red Ten #1

Mar 10, 2013

While describing this book I may be using a lot of references to the DC universe but this really cannot be helped nor should it turn you off to the book. The creators themselves start off a text piece in the rear of the book by stating, “I'm never gonna get to kill the Justice League” and what this story is at its core is an independent publication of the ultimate Justice League mystery story and one that will appeal to fans of the DC heroes as well as readers of edgier independent fare.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Rocketeer: Cargo of Doom #1

Aug 21, 2012

The art by Chris Samnee does a good job during the action scenes but it is stylistically very different from the Dave Stevens art that I remember from the eighties. His Betty in particular does not have the raw sex appeal of the original series and that is something that is of particular importance for fans of the series. The opening splash page featuring a pin-up of Betty by Stevens does not help as it makes sure that the classic art is fresh in the readers mind when the story starts.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Rocketeer: Cargo of Doom #2

Sep 11, 2012

Mark Waid has written a worthy story to continue the Rocketeer legacy. I hope that this mini-series does well and proves that the often rumor reboot of the film franchise would be a great idea.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Shadow: Year One #1

Feb 17, 2013

I have been an outspoken fan of Dynamites excellent comic Masks, which is a team up of some of pulps greatest heroes, and the success of that title may have introduced readers to some of those characters for the first time. By offering an origin story, Dynamite has given those potential fans an easy way to get into one of the greatest characters ever created and the timing could not be better. Hopefully some of thousands of readers who picked up Masks last month but did not also grab the Shadow will pick this title up and with a little luck they will find themselves hooked.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Walking Dead #103

Oct 19, 2012

This issues cover also deserves a mention as it features a scene not present in the book in a literal sense but does capture the position Rick finds himself in when dealing with Negan. The cover with Negan standing over Rick and about to bring the bat down is an amazing figurative representation of the seemingly hopelessness of the Ricks position, at least from one of the characters point of view. It is very well done and is the best Walking Dead cover of the year.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Thor: God of Thunder #1

Nov 15, 2012

If you were introduced to Thor in the various movies or are a long time Thor fan who was turned off by recent story lines I think you will find a lot to enjoy in this first issue. I am not sure how well the three tiered story will work in future issues or where the story itself is going but I am very interested in finding out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Thor: God of Thunder #2

Nov 30, 2012

The way that writer Jason Aaron is tying the different ages of Thor together is wonderful and the threads that run through his entire life are interesting. Seeing the younger Thor leading humans into battle is something to witness and artist Eric Ribic does an amazing job chronicling the action. Pick up this series for a great fresh look at the classic character.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Thoughts on a Winter Morning #1

Aug 15, 2012

Kurt writes a two page epilogue of sorts at the end and explains the origins of the story and provides wonderful look back at his life when he wrote the story and what has happened since then. File this comic away and share it with friends who may or may not be comic book fans, I think they will all enjoy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
TMNT Color Classics Micro Series: Donatello #1

Mar 12, 2013

As a one-shot the story is perfectly contained and will please all TMNT fans, both old and new, as it includes all the hallmarks of a great turtle story; action, humor and heart. The new coloring is done very well and if you did not know that it was originally published in black & white you may not realize that it was added decades later. In fact, the color serves to help distinguish between the story, which is in full color, and the drawings that Kirby is producing during the adventure. They contrast better and make a great story even better.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Trio #4

Aug 28, 2012

This series may be flying under the radar as IDW is not traditionally known as a super-hero publisher but it is a series that Byrne fans and long time comic readers should find very enjoyable.

View Issue       View Full Review
1.0
Uncanny Avengers #2

Nov 30, 2012

This comic continues to be a wonderful train-wreck of an attempt to merge the X-Men and Avengers. The characterizations are inept, the story is lame and nothing in the issue comes across as authentic or interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Uncanny Skullkickers #1

Feb 25, 2013

This series is getting rebooted in order to give it a sales jumpstart and so far it seems to be working. Your local comic book store probably saw the Uncanny in the title and the issue number and ordered heavily. Don't leave those issues on the shelfs as it would not be fair to the store who did not pay that much attention to Previews or to the creators who are trying to get sales momentum or to you the comic book reader who really should give this series a try. Pick this issue up and everyone wins, that seems like a con't lose idea. right?

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Wolverine (2010) #312

Aug 23, 2012

This is one of those comics that just seems to keep going, year after year without anything really changing and having no one really getting excited about it. I would be willing to bet you could pull out an issue from a few years back and it would fit right in to where this issue was. If there was ever a need to reboot a character, I would suggest Wolverine as a prime candidate.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Wolverine (2010) #313

Sep 28, 2012

The character of Wolverine continues his slow slide into irrelevance, he is more a caricature of himself now then any sort of relatable fleshed out character. Hell, he does not even get past the first page before he says, “I'm Wolverine and I'm the best there is t what I do.” Oh, how the mighty have fallen.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wrath of the Titans: Force of the Trojans #1

Aug 26, 2012

I am not sure how much future issues will tie into the Clash mythos but this first issue is accessible to casual readers and fans alike, there is no real backstory to speak of and everything is clearly explained including the characters motivations and why the villain is doing what he is doing. A first issue that can be enjoyed by all comic book fans? Sounds like a great deal to me!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-O Manowar #5

Sep 12, 2012

X-O Manowar continues the Valiant revival with everything that I look for in a comic book series today; strong writing that has a purpose and momentum, art that compliments the story in an exciting style while being easy to follow, and characters that are well defined and interesting. If that seems like something you would be interested in reading then I urge you to go pick up X-O Manowar, or any of the Valiant titles, and enjoy some of the best comics being published today.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-O Manowar #6

Oct 17, 2012

Overall it was another very well done issue that continues to push the story forward in a logical fashion while providing comic fans with top notch action as well. That is a very tough balance to achieve but they nailed it again with this issue, if you have not checked it out yet then by all means give it a try. For the price of a new DVD you can get completely caught up on an amazing comic book series as it builds up to it's series contained event, Planet Death which is gets started in issue nine.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-O Manowar #7

Nov 27, 2012

If you are not reading this series by now I am not sure what I can do to get you to start now short of flying to your house and making you sit down and read it. The writing and artwork are top notch and once you get started you will find yourself hooked big time on one of the best comics coming out today. Big things are coming in the following months including the epic Planet Death arc and you do not want to be the last one on the block to be discover this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-O Manowar #9

Jan 23, 2013

If you have not tried out X-O Manowar yet this issue is the perfect jumping on point. There is a story summary on the first page to get new readers up to speed and once you try this action packed series I promise that you will have it in your pull box at your local comic shop the next day. Valiant is putting out some of the best comic books in the industry today and X-O Manowar is among the most enjoyable books being put out on a monthly basis. Give one of their titles a try and you will soon find yourself dropping one (or more) of the big twos books to make room for your new favorite comic books.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Young Avengers (2013) #1

Jan 24, 2013

One the other hand the creative team does a great job giving these characters feelings and making them feel real. As a forty year old male I probably am not the target audience for this type of book based on teenagers in love but when I was done I was curious enough to probably check out the next issue or two to see how it goes. As it stands, I recommend new readers swing by the Wikipedia page for the group, that is what I did and it gave me a much greater understanding of the characters backgrounds which I found to be really useful in reading the title. Long time fans of the group will probably find much to enjoy in the book and if I were such a fan it would easily have gotten another star to the rating.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

November

October

More