wolfcypher's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Weird Science Marvel Comics Reviews: 48
7.2Avg. Review Rating

8.9
Absolute Carnage (2019) #1

Aug 7, 2019

This is a good start to what promises to be an unforgiving massacre of an event. Stegman and Cates' opening act to Absolute Carnage feels like both a natural continuation of the Venom book and a proper Marvel event.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Absolute Carnage (2019) #2

Aug 28, 2019

Absolute Carnage #2 continues it's campaign with the same quality combination of Cates' writing and dialogue along side Stegman and Frank Martin's darkly imagery. The bleaker this book gets, the more invested I get. Misery is my new drug, and Carnage is the supplier.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Absolute Carnage (2019) #4

Oct 16, 2019

Absolute Carnage #4 has Carnage bringing the party to our heroes and draws everything closer to its final hour. This is an event I can recommend with great praise, and it still has one more issue left!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Absolute Carnage (2019) #5

Nov 20, 2019

This was a solid installment. It leaves a lot on the table for future stories. If this was a television show, this really feels like the end of season one. As far as the event as a whole, this was a fun read. Even if I couldn't put my gripes aside towards issue 5, there's still too much good writing to have this event's main story feel derailed. So the whole of my review is, Absolute Carnage was a fun ride and I would strongly recommend this entire five-parter as a buy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Absolute Carnage (2019): Separation Anxiety #1

Aug 14, 2019

You don't need to be invested in Absolute Carnage to read this. If you just want to read a comic book thriller with horror aesthetics in spades, look no further. You'll have a good time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Absolute Carnage (2019): Symbiote Of Vengeance #1

Sep 11, 2019

Again, this is not too important for those keeping track of Absolute Carnage, but if you just want extra content, this issue was one of the better tie-ins. By the book's conclusion this issue serves a little more as a lead-in for the upcoming Ghost Riders title, so if you are a fan of Johnny Blaze, Danny Ketch, etc., you can treat this as a teaser.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Absolute Carnage vs. Deadpool #1

Aug 21, 2019

Deadpool interrupts the doom and gloom of Carnage's masterplan with his trademark shenanigans and becomes the next target of the dark symbiote. You got your humor in my horror, and I just so happened to like it! Don't worry about how much weight this will have on the event at large, treat yourself to some fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Absolute Carnage vs. Deadpool #2

Sep 11, 2019

Its a shame how much fun I got out of the first chapter to Deadpool's Absolute Carnage tie-in, because here, it didn't really capture me at all. The humor wasn't as strong as in its preceding issue, and the villains don't offer any oomph. Deadpool is definitely at his most Deadpool here, so if you're coming in here just for his brand, you might enjoy this more than I did.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Absolute Carnage: Avengers #1

Oct 17, 2019

So here I am in a rare instance of admitting, yes, this isn't too essential of a read for your Absolute Carnage reading, buuuut it doesn't get in the way of the bigger picture, it doesn't jumble up the sequence of events or drops the ball on any continuity. It's extra, and"I liked it. If you have the time and you're wallet isn't starved, I'll just say its one of the safer, better, non-disruptive tie-ins this event has spawned.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Absolute Carnage: Immortal Hulk #1

Oct 2, 2019

This comic serves to bridge the Shadow Base/Gamma Door arc from Ewing's Immortal Hulk book and Cates' Absolute Carnage event while explaining both when these two ongoing stories take place and how the Hulk gets involved in the latter. It doesn't serve a lot of Absolute Carnage fare, yet I still found this to be a very enjoyable comic to read. This one may cater more to the Ewing/Hulk fans out there.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Absolute Carnage: Lethal Protectors #1

Aug 28, 2019

This tie-in ties up some past Carnage-related stories and brings back an old player from Maximum Carnage in a new way. A serviceable installment, but with the event spawning so many books this month, this one feels kind of in the middle: better than some of them have been, not as good as the others.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Absolute Carnage: Lethal Protectors #2

Sep 18, 2019

Absolute Carnage: Lethal Protectors #2 actually gets around to bringing in the heroes we were teased to see on issues 1's cover. This book is an extra chapter for those who want to see some of the lesser Maximum Carnage heroes get enrolled in its spiritual sequel event, but it continues to be middle-of-the-road in the overall expansive Absolute Carnage tapestry.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Absolute Carnage: Lethal Protectors #3

Oct 23, 2019

This one is purely a popcorn action issue. Not really a necessary addition to those of you reading Absolute Carnage, but maybe serviceable for those nostalgic for a little Maximum Carnage Lite.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Absolute Carnage: Miles Morales #1

Aug 28, 2019

Easily the weakest of the Absolute Carnage bunch. The high-point of this issue happens in the main event book, so just read that.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Absolute Carnage: Miles Morales #2

Sep 26, 2019

Miles Morales continues to be the weakest of the Absolute Carnage tie-ins. Its all an Absolute Nothing.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.9
Absolute Carnage: Miles Morales #3

Oct 9, 2019

Miles turns things around for himself in the conclusion of his Absolute Carnage tie-in limited, and the story as whole finishes with an issue that is a step up from the quality I've seen from the first and second issue. If you've made it this far, you probably have decided to see this through to the end. Incidentally, for the rest of you, this one teeters between a "wait and read as a trade", to a "pass completely".

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Absolute Carnage: Scream #1

Aug 14, 2019

I'm happy to have Scream back, but this was not an interesting read. I can imagine how other readers who have no inclination towards a semi-obscure character (two characters if you count Scream and Patricia Robertson separately) might feel reading this. Maybe we'll actually get deeper into Patricia's head with the following two issues, but as of right now, Bunn brought back two forgotten characters in a forgettable fashion.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Absolute Carnage: Scream #2

Sep 4, 2019

Absolute Carnage: Scream #2 is progress, not only story wise for the characters within, but also quality-wise. What qualms I had with issue one are mostly resolved in this installment. I liked this issue more than its previous chapter, and while its nothing of a spectacular read, it has made me optimistically eager to finish it to its end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Absolute Carnage: Scream #3

Oct 16, 2019

I'm one of the very few people out there that has always been a legit fan of Scream, wishing that she as a character had gotten a stronger push long before now, and while I may have been down on this arc at the beginning, it has successfully won me over by the end. With Absolute Carnage having only one more issue left, I doubt Scream will manage to have much (if any) presence in the finale of the event, so I'll just wait and look forward to seeing more of her in her next (confirmed) limited series. Cullen Bunn and Gerardo Sandoval did a good job reviving the daughter of Venom.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Absolute Carnage: Weapon Plus #1

Nov 7, 2019

Exposition heavy at the start, popcorn-flick action towards the end, Absolute Carnage: Weapon Plus is an unnecessary recap of events prior to the event its branching from (it takes place before Absolute Carnage #1), and whatever hidden secrets its plot unfolds for our protagonist have little impact on said event. A filler story for the Absolute Carnage crowd, and a mere seed planted for a future Weapon Plus story.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Acts of Evil: Venom Annual #1

Jul 31, 2019

Overall, I didn't like this issue. I came out the end of this book with zero inclination to ever read this again. The fanatic in me had issues with how Venom was written, how he looked, and overall what role the symbiote and Eddie played in this book. I'm not excusing the fact that its a "one-and-done" story because I've read better one-and-done Venom stories before (we just had a great one in the previous Venom #16). What a waste.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #24

Jun 26, 2019

Final ThoughtsNick Spencer digs into some threads from as far back as the 90s to connect Mysterio and his newly christened Kindred and return my interest and attention to a book that took a dive for an arc. I hope we wont have to wait too much longer to return to this plot, because in what should feel like a nothing issue, I've become seriously reinvested in this mysterious Machiavellian menace.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #25

Jul 10, 2019

Long story short, the only story that mattered was the main story, and it wasn't up to par"story (there, I used that word four times in one sentence). Last issue set a standard where I was happy to jump on board as the Weird Science Marvel reviewer for this book, and this issue's follow-up, I thought, dropped that ball so quickly. The extra stories felt inconsequential, and I would say if it meant a lower cover price, we could all do without them. Twenty-five issues into a twice-a-month run is not much of a milestone accomplishment, and Amazing Spider-Man 25 wasn't much of a milestone issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #27

Aug 14, 2019

An improvement over last issue, although Spencer just can't seem to help himself but to give the spotlight to his toys, as this arc still feels like its being carried by Boomerang and the Syndicate (effectively the “new” Superior Foes). But Spider-Man isn't side-lined for most of this issue, and actually gets to be involved in his own book, thankfully, making up for the previous installment. A fun little issue, but Boomerang upstaging Spider-Man in his own book as of late might be off-putting to some.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #29

Sep 11, 2019

Personally, I'm always invested in the more grounded world around Peter. Seeing Peter and Mary Jane together, discussing how they can continue to move forward with their lives, even when life as Spider-Man tests them constantly. I think Nick Spencer does a great service when he gets to write moments like these.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #30

Sep 26, 2019

Nick Spencer keeps his creepy, mysterious Kindred in our purview, and brings the events of Absolute Carnage down to just Peter and Norman, taking things back away from symbiote gods, Venom, Dark Carnage, etc. to remind fans of the long-lasting animosity between Spider-Man and the original Green Goblin himself, despite who Norman may think he is.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #31

Oct 9, 2019

You don't have to have any interest in the current happenings over at Donny Cates Venom and Absolute Carnage books, and I still highly recommend you pick up Nick Spencer's Amazing Spider-Man #30 and #31.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #34

Nov 20, 2019

Nick Spencer's juggling act of storylines may promise to bring things together, eventually, but I'm starting to lose both patience and interest. If comic books could have ADD, this would be textbook.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #35

Dec 4, 2019

Nick Spencer's Chameleon/Doom/2099 arc reaches its forth chapter, and it may be the worst of the arc. This issue slowly drags us towards an indiscernible solution thought up by Spider-Man, until it just ends. How on earth does one make a Spider-Man/Dr. Doom story so boring is beyond me…

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Black Panther and the Agents of Wakanda #4

Dec 12, 2019

More an adventure book than a standard superhero/super-villain comic book, Agents of Wakanda will draw you in on the premise of seeing Black Panther lead a mishmash team of who's who(s) into an assortment of missions, but so far nothing I've read suggests this book should be taken too seriously.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
FCBD 2019: Spider-Man #1

May 9, 2019

The Venom story alone is all the reason you need to pick this (free) comic up, while the Spider-Man(s) story does no harm to the overall package.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Marvel 2099 (2019): Venom #1

Dec 4, 2019

This new take on Venom, 2099 or otherwise, was pretty lackluster. I really wish they found a way to simply keep and revamp the original Venom 2099. There was more material to work with, having the original Venom 2099/Kron Stone being the son of Alchemax's CEO and half-brother of Spider-Man 2099. This new Alea/Venom has nothing interesting about her, and I'm left wondering by the end of the book why she even wants to go forward with being the new Venom"

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Scream: Curse of Carnage #1

Nov 28, 2019

I hope the semi-obscurity of the title character doesn't scare anyone away, because right out the gate, this book is proving it has merits to give both Andi Benton and Scream every right to be leading character(s) in this new title. Even if you aren't a Venom/symbiote fan, give this a try. It deserves a read! Don't know who the hell Scream is? Get to know her here!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Spider-Man & Venom: Double Trouble #1

Nov 7, 2019

This book easily serves its purpose if you just want to find an age-appropriate comic for a young reader, or if you're hoping to introduce a little newbie into the world of comics, specifically Spider-Man.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Spider-Man & Venom: Double Trouble #2

Dec 5, 2019

Spider-Man & Venom's body switch comic continues with #2, providing a fun little alternative to their standard comicbook fare. Honestly not a bad pick for those looking for a sillier distraction.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Symbiote Spider-Man #1

Apr 12, 2019

While this book isn't focused solely on just Spider-Man, don't take that as a con. Its called "Symbiote Spider-Man", but the symbiote as of this issue doesn't play any role in the book. Maybe there's something planned for the next issues, but if you're okay with the alien costume having no significant role in this title (at least this first issue), you may enjoy this solid first installment. This was a good start to a limited series I'm looking forward to following, and a fun visit back to a great era of Spider-Man books.7.3/10

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Venom (2018) #11

Feb 21, 2019

Donny Cates, you are seriously winning me over. Not since the Rex arc (issues one through six) have I enjoyed this book so much.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Venom (2018) #12

Mar 20, 2019

If you've been enjoying Cates run so far, you wont change your opinion after reading issue 12. I'm staying patient, but I am more than ready for Cates to get back to the tempo he had during the first six issue, the Rex arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Venom (2018) #13

Apr 25, 2019

Final ThoughtsCoello and Bunn deliver their first chapter of a three part War of the Realms companion story that cranks up the pace of the ongoing, but leaves the most recent life-changing reveals and new questions Cates dropped on readers untouched. You'll have to wait until Cates returns if you're hoping for more in the way of the status quo his last arc left Eddie in, and its anyone's guess just how deep this three parter will weigh-in on the core event Jason Aaron has unleashed unto Midgar, but with what Bunn and Coello gave us, it was visually refreshing seeing Eddie do what he hasn't in so long…be Venom (well…a mock “Asgard” Venom…)

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Venom (2018) #14

May 23, 2019

Final ThoughtsThis arc puts the breaks on the big Knull (Absolute Carnage) storyline prior to issue 13 and places Eddie on his own in a corner of the War of the Realms event to play out his own personal God of War fantasies. Treat this loose event tie-in purely as a filler, but take away the fantastic art and treat yourself to some long overdue action. Yes, this arc may be spinning it's wheels until Cates returns, but I had fun with this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Venom (2018) #15

Jun 12, 2019

The concluding issue offers more of the same as its two preceding chapters; a story that relies on heavy action and brilliant visuals. This three-part arc may be nothing more than a filler from this book's actual ongoing saga, but I got my fun out of it (and I'll be forever grateful for Barbarian Eddie with a badass battleaxe). But the vacation is now over; its time to get back to work, Cates.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Venom (2018) #16

Jul 10, 2019

Donny Cates returns, but there's no Ryan Stegman to be found. Juan Gedeon gets the art duties, and he doesn't drop the ball. This issue feels like one final stall before everything kicks off with the next issues. Its nice to have a gritty street-level, down-to-Earth Eddie Brock story, neatly tucked between one chaotic War and an upcoming symbiote slaughter.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Venom (2018) #17

Aug 28, 2019

Don't expect a lot of Eddie in this one, folks. Or any type of Venom, Spider-Man, or even Carnage. It may sound like a tall order, but this is 100% a Venom/Carnage tie-in without virtually no Venom or Carnage. Its decisively a Dylan Brock/Maker installment of Absolute Carnage, but I dare say its worth a read. The art alone deserves to be seen, and this issue pairs well with the Absolute Carnage: Separation Anxiety issue. That said, it doesn't move the overall story as much as I had hoped.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Venom (2018) #18

Sep 11, 2019

Its no contest that the ongoing Venom book is the best companion book to the Absolute Carnage main issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Venom (2018) #19

Oct 30, 2019

Visually exceptional with its bright colors and fun expressive art, which only strengthens the writing. This issue not only gives us a different angle of the events of Absolute Carnage from another's point of view, it also teases some cryptic points that will surely be important come the rest of the Venom on-going even after this event is done.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Venom (2018) #20

Nov 27, 2019

This Absolute Carnage tie-in (the last of them) is actual deceiving. It has less to do with the events of Dark Carnage and the coming of Knull and more to do with shedding some serious light on the Maker and his true motives, which may prove to be worth even more investing than the upcoming threat of Knull's arrival. This issue feels like the beginnings of the next phase in the Venom ongoing.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Web Of Venom: Cult of Carnage #1

Apr 12, 2019

Final ThoughtsI walked away from this issue in an polarized way. On the one hand, it is a continuation of the seeds that have been planted, and are sprouting into the inevitable “Absolute Carnage” event that's going to spiral into the life of Venom in an expected big way. This feels like a necessary read if you've been following Venom and Web of Venom so far. On the other hand, at the same time it also left me feeling like I just read a filler issue; even with the “big bads” showing their faces and showing us just how grim things are about to get, it didn't get me any more fired up for the event. Its an all right issue and does its job of moving the plot along, but it just failed to create the sensation of hype I thought I'd get looking forward to the event its moving towards.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Web Of Venom: Funeral Pyre #1

Jul 25, 2019

The doomsday clock ticks a little closer to the coming Carnage, and worse, there's little time left as it is. One of many former symbiote hosts, Andi Benton fights a one-sided battle against a lunatic grasping at Godhood in one of the final preludes to “Absolute Carnage”. The full extent of Andi's hell powers doesn't come even close to a sampling of Carnage's new enhancements. If everything here is just a warm-up act for the full Carnage story, I'm ready for show to begin.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More