wolfcypher's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Weird Science Marvel Comics Reviews: 11
7.3Avg. Review Rating

7.9
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #24

Jun 26, 2019

Final ThoughtsNick Spencer digs into some threads from as far back as the 90s to connect Mysterio and his newly christened Kindred and return my interest and attention to a book that took a dive for an arc. I hope we wont have to wait too much longer to return to this plot, because in what should feel like a nothing issue, I've become seriously reinvested in this mysterious Machiavellian menace.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #25

Jul 10, 2019

Long story short, the only story that mattered was the main story, and it wasn't up to par"story (there, I used that word four times in one sentence). Last issue set a standard where I was happy to jump on board as the Weird Science Marvel reviewer for this book, and this issue's follow-up, I thought, dropped that ball so quickly. The extra stories felt inconsequential, and I would say if it meant a lower cover price, we could all do without them. Twenty-five issues into a twice-a-month run is not much of a milestone accomplishment, and Amazing Spider-Man 25 wasn't much of a milestone issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
FCBD 2019: Spider-Man #1

May 9, 2019

The Venom story alone is all the reason you need to pick this (free) comic up, while the Spider-Man(s) story does no harm to the overall package.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Symbiote Spider-Man #1

Apr 12, 2019

While this book isn't focused solely on just Spider-Man, don't take that as a con. Its called "Symbiote Spider-Man", but the symbiote as of this issue doesn't play any role in the book. Maybe there's something planned for the next issues, but if you're okay with the alien costume having no significant role in this title (at least this first issue), you may enjoy this solid first installment. This was a good start to a limited series I'm looking forward to following, and a fun visit back to a great era of Spider-Man books.7.3/10

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Venom (2018) #11

Feb 21, 2019

Donny Cates, you are seriously winning me over. Not since the Rex arc (issues one through six) have I enjoyed this book so much.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Venom (2018) #12

Mar 20, 2019

If you've been enjoying Cates run so far, you wont change your opinion after reading issue 12. I'm staying patient, but I am more than ready for Cates to get back to the tempo he had during the first six issue, the Rex arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Venom (2018) #13

Apr 25, 2019

Final ThoughtsCoello and Bunn deliver their first chapter of a three part War of the Realms companion story that cranks up the pace of the ongoing, but leaves the most recent life-changing reveals and new questions Cates dropped on readers untouched. You'll have to wait until Cates returns if you're hoping for more in the way of the status quo his last arc left Eddie in, and its anyone's guess just how deep this three parter will weigh-in on the core event Jason Aaron has unleashed unto Midgar, but with what Bunn and Coello gave us, it was visually refreshing seeing Eddie do what he hasn't in so long…be Venom (well…a mock “Asgard” Venom…)

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Venom (2018) #14

May 23, 2019

Final ThoughtsThis arc puts the breaks on the big Knull (Absolute Carnage) storyline prior to issue 13 and places Eddie on his own in a corner of the War of the Realms event to play out his own personal God of War fantasies. Treat this loose event tie-in purely as a filler, but take away the fantastic art and treat yourself to some long overdue action. Yes, this arc may be spinning it's wheels until Cates returns, but I had fun with this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Venom (2018) #15

Jun 12, 2019

The concluding issue offers more of the same as its two preceding chapters; a story that relies on heavy action and brilliant visuals. This three-part arc may be nothing more than a filler from this book's actual ongoing saga, but I got my fun out of it (and I'll be forever grateful for Barbarian Eddie with a badass battleaxe). But the vacation is now over; its time to get back to work, Cates.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Venom (2018) #16

Jul 10, 2019

Donny Cates returns, but there's no Ryan Stegman to be found. Juan Gedeon gets the art duties, and he doesn't drop the ball. This issue feels like one final stall before everything kicks off with the next issues. Its nice to have a gritty street-level, down-to-Earth Eddie Brock story, neatly tucked between one chaotic War and an upcoming symbiote slaughter.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Web Of Venom: Cult of Carnage #1

Apr 12, 2019

Final ThoughtsI walked away from this issue in an polarized way. On the one hand, it is a continuation of the seeds that have been planted, and are sprouting into the inevitable “Absolute Carnage” event that's going to spiral into the life of Venom in an expected big way. This feels like a necessary read if you've been following Venom and Web of Venom so far. On the other hand, at the same time it also left me feeling like I just read a filler issue; even with the “big bads” showing their faces and showing us just how grim things are about to get, it didn't get me any more fired up for the event. Its an all right issue and does its job of moving the plot along, but it just failed to create the sensation of hype I thought I'd get looking forward to the event its moving towards.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More